View Full Version : Elie Youan
22-07-2022, 08:05 PM
Jesus Christ go argue about Newell in one of the other 5,719 threads about him
Yeah that’s a good point. Youan is a way more interesting and positive topic.
22-07-2022, 08:07 PM
He seems to pick and choose when he can be arsed and that’s what bothers me about him. That and the fact he should score far more than he does. When he does get a chance it’s normally absolutely pathetic, with the odd exception of course.
There’s a very good player in there but if I was LJ I wouldn’t gamble on him being reliable or consistent.
I am not sure if you have ever played a sport before, but this is something that is totally normal. I played in countless games that I was 100% "up for" and motivated to do my best and ended up playing complete pish.
It's a cliche but if he was consistently good he wouldn't be at hibs.
23-07-2022, 04:18 PM
Is he likely to play tomorrow?
23-07-2022, 04:22 PM
Ffs. What an over exaggerated post…would get a game for every team outside of the OF
Aye so he would 🤣 😂 👀
23-07-2022, 04:23 PM
Yes talking about Newell. Goodwin would love to sign him ..
Good il drive him up to Pittodrie
Coach Jon
23-07-2022, 04:31 PM
Good il drive him up to Pittodrie
Just to warn you, he will get extremely uncomfortable having to face forward for 90 minutes, hopefully you have a hackney cab then he will be more comfortable sitting in a seat with his back towards the direction of travel.
23-07-2022, 04:33 PM
Just to warn you, he will get extremely uncomfortable having to face forward for 90 minutes, hopefully you have a hackney cab then he will be more comfortable sitting in a seat with his back towards the direction of travel.
That probably sounded funny in your head.
OldEast
23-07-2022, 04:38 PM
That probably sounded funny in your head.
I thought it was mildly amusing and a long way from some of the negative stuff written on here.
23-07-2022, 04:39 PM
Sorry thought this thread was about Youan? Must’ve accidentally clicked on Newell thread #150
OldEast
23-07-2022, 04:42 PM
Sorry thought this thread was about Youan? Must’ve accidentally clicked on Newell thread #150
Surely you've been here long enough to know better.
23-07-2022, 04:42 PM
I thought it was mildly amusing and a long way from some of the negative stuff written on here.
It's literally slating one of our own players.
OldEast
23-07-2022, 04:44 PM
It's literally a joke which refers to Newell's tendency to prefer the backwards pass. Lighten up.
cameronw-hfc
23-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Mental that defending Newell gets a worse reaction on here than almost anything else at the moment. I've more or less given up at this rate as there's a few posters that will make any topic possible a newell bash.
NC1875
23-07-2022, 05:06 PM
Hearts have just finished above us for the first time since Jesus was in nappies and Aberdeen have finished below us two seasons running. What makes you think he wouldn't be a key part of their squads?
Because he continually flatters to deceive and has one good game in 10 ?
It's literally a joke which refers to Newell's tendency to prefer the backwards pass. Lighten up.
Except he doesnt. I monitored a game last season where the consensus was JN passed back or sideways all the time and always took 3 or 4 touches before passing. Both were completely wrong, his average touch was under 2 and he passed forward, IIRC, 3 or 4 times more than he went back. Didn't fit the agenda though.
NC1875
23-07-2022, 05:24 PM
Except he doesnt. I monitored a game last season where the consensus was JN passed back or sideways all the time and always took 3 or 4 touches before passing. Both were completely wrong, his average touch was under 2 and he passed forward, IIRC, 3 or 4 times more than he went back. Didn't fit the agenda though.
Must have been one of his good games. I’ve watched him loads and although I don’t agree it’s always a backwards pass. It’s always a safe pass. And that’s where the lack of urgency comes from.
No drive, no taking the game by the scruff of the neck and getting the team going.
It’s safe pass, safe pass, safe pass. He doesn’t score goals, he doesn’t assist.
OldEast
23-07-2022, 05:26 PM
That's fine, thanks for that. I don't particularly mind Newell and think he can bring a lot to the team with more consistency. My aim was to try to get the easily offended types to just chill a bit and don't get so triggered.
Coach Jon
23-07-2022, 08:34 PM
Could you tell me which game this was that you monitored please, as I would like to check this. Thanks in advance.
23-07-2022, 08:40 PM
I was positive I clicked on the Elie Youan thread there...
LewysGot2
23-07-2022, 08:42 PM
I was positive I clicked on the Elie Youan thread there...
Aye I made that mistake too.
It's actually a "marking your observation of JN homework" thread 😂🙈
23-07-2022, 08:42 PM
Is he available for game time tomorrow?
23-07-2022, 08:43 PM
Aye I made that mistake too.
It's actually a "marking your observation of JN homework" thread 😂🙈
So it seems 🙄
Only mildly, too long, should have been shorter and sharper
Could you tell me which game this was that you monitored please, as I would like to check this. Thanks in advance.
I honestly can't remember but it was the whole 1st half and completely disproved the common understanding. There were plenty of comments on it at the time so someone else may remember.
HIBS NUTS
23-07-2022, 09:28 PM
If this guy is decent it changes our season, if he’s not we are in bother.
So know pressure on him then 😄
Must have been one of his good games. I’ve watched him loads and although I don’t agree it’s always a backwards pass. It’s always a safe pass. And that’s where the lack of urgency comes from.
No drive, no taking the game by the scruff of the neck and getting the team going.
It’s safe pass, safe pass, safe pass. He doesn’t score goals, he doesn’t assist.
Last Sunday he scored 2 and assisted 2, admittedly against poor opposition but still needed to be done.
23-07-2022, 09:30 PM
If this guy is decent it changes our season, if he’s not we are in bother.
So know pressure on him then 😄
Looked good in Portugal.
He ran in behind something Doidge rarely does.
Think he will be important for us but we need a midfield to supply him.
davemcbain
23-07-2022, 09:49 PM
Safe pass, safe pass, safe pass? Are you literally arguing that the guy isn't good enough because he passes the ball to his own teammates?
Maybe watch cricket - they always throw the ball to the other team
23-07-2022, 09:50 PM
Are you gonna watch the game back?
NC1875
23-07-2022, 09:56 PM
Safe pass, safe pass, safe pass? Are you literally arguing that the guy isn't good enough because he passes the ball to his own teammates?
Maybe watch cricket - they always throw the ball to the other team
It’s not a possession based training game. You need to take risks to score goals, goals win games.
It’s you who should stick to the cricket if you think Newells a player who’ll do well for us.
NC1875
23-07-2022, 09:58 PM
Last Sunday he scored 2 and assisted 2, admittedly against poor opposition but still needed to be done.
He was playing against a plasterer I know and a few other tradesmen. Come on
Sergio sledge
23-07-2022, 09:58 PM
Maybe part of the reason he was playing like this is because Maloney coached them to play safe and retain possession.
As fans if we want players to be positive and take risks then we need to accept that mistakes and misplaced passes will happen without the normal cascade of abuse and booing that follows a pass that doesn't find a Hibs player.
We've already got people writing off Kenneh because of some misplaced passes, when all I saw was a young guy trying to play positive passes and positive football making a couple of mistakes.
We can't have it both ways.
23-07-2022, 10:15 PM
Maybe part of the reason he was playing like this is because Maloney coached them to play safe and retain possession.
As fans if we want players to be positive and take risks then we need to accept that mistakes and misplaced passes will happen without the normal cascade of abuse and booing that follows a pass that doesn't find a Hibs player.
We've already got people writing off Kenneh because of some misplaced passes, when all I saw was a young guy trying to play positive passes and positive football making a couple of mistakes.
We can't have it both ways.I agree about Kenneh , most of his missplaced passes were down to teammates not having some ability to read his ideas ie they weren`t missplaced . Disagree about Maloney comment . Definitely didn`t want us to be a play safe team and if club had given him time I think we`d be looking forward to new league season and LC last 16 and beyond . Some of our new signings would have been the same ( McGeady , Marshall , etc ) and others interesting Anyway , that`s now in the past and we have to hope LJ can help us to progress .
24-07-2022, 10:13 AM
Has Youan had his work permit granted yet?
24-07-2022, 12:00 PM
Thought he'd be playing today as it's a friendly. Starting to get concerned it might not be approved by next week.
It’s a total disgrace this has taken so long.
We sign a player 6 weeks ago and still can’t play him.
I do hope our very junior admin department are able getting the support form the CEO to influence the home office.
JamesHFC
24-07-2022, 12:02 PM
Thought he'd be playing today as it's a friendly. Starting to get concerned it might not be approved by next week.
Even if it is then the chances of him starting are probably slim. Hopefully he’s fired up ready for the derby.. if the permit is sorted in time.
LewysGot2
24-07-2022, 12:03 PM
Not in the squad
Silky
24-07-2022, 12:24 PM
He can't play cos the match is in the UK. He didn't need the work permit to play in the friendlies in Portugal as he can ply his trade anywhere in the EU without a permit as an EU national!
24-07-2022, 12:27 PM
He can't play cos the match is in the UK. He didn't need the work permit to play in the friendlies in Portugal as he can ply his trade anywhere in the EU without a permit as an EU national!
He played a friendly last week in the UK (coincidentally against Norwich).
24-07-2022, 12:28 PM
It’s a total disgrace this has taken so long.
We sign a player 6 weeks ago and still can’t play him.
I do hope our very junior admin department are able getting the support form the CEO to influence the home office.
He was signed 4 weeks ago, the home office say the average wait time for a visa is 6 weeks.
Mcbizz1998
16-08-2022, 08:26 AM
I notice Youan got the blame for missing a chance at the end of the game on Saturday, when it was Bojang.
https://youtu.be/OeI2l0LLEAs
Damn that Cliff Pike, what a racist! [emoji6]
20-08-2022, 02:49 PM
Going to be a big player for us.
Torto7
20-08-2022, 03:03 PM
Going to be a big player for us.
Agreed. I hope it isn't a Clarke situation with his contract. He's such a powerful runner Tavarnier couldnt cope with him.
20-08-2022, 03:33 PM
Looks so much better on the left for me.
Get a centre forward that can link the play, is physical and with a bit of pace to allow Youan to play on the left.
20-08-2022, 03:34 PM
Looks so much better on the left for me.
Get a centre forward that can link the play, is physical and with a bit of pace to allow Youan to play on the left.
Said the same thing just now to a mate, looks better out wider. But I'd be taking that option right now
Sgt. Hartman
20-08-2022, 03:35 PM
I've already seen enough. Pay the fee and sign him to a long term deal.
20-08-2022, 03:36 PM
Had a good game today.
I'd have given him or Bushiri MOTM.
20-08-2022, 03:36 PM
Had a good game today.
I'd have given him or Bushiri MOTM.
Rocky? You’re having a laugh
Torto7
20-08-2022, 03:40 PM
No laugh the big man was superb again.
20-08-2022, 03:41 PM
No laugh the big man was superb again.Yep he was - penalty we can debate but outside that didn't put a foot wrong
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-08-2022, 03:46 PM
Nah, I thought he was brilliant today.
Defence was rarely troubled and he was a huge attacking threat towards the end.
He reminds me of Ambrose. I'd say the same if was white, ginger and covered in freckles.
20-08-2022, 03:50 PM
Youann reminds me a bit of Odsonne Eduard. Likes to drift into wide areas and is very cultured in his play, great technique and always seems to be relaxed on the ball.
20-08-2022, 03:51 PM
He was tremendous again, we've found a player here.
20-08-2022, 03:51 PM
He reminds me of Ambrose. I'd say the same if was white, ginger and covered in freckles.
Ambrose? Ambrose was unbelievable comfortable on the ball for a centre half, technically he was brilliant. I don't see any similarities there at all with Bushiri.
20-08-2022, 03:52 PM
Ambrose? Ambrose was unbelievable comfortable on the ball for a centre half, technically he was brilliant. I don't see any similarities there at all with Bushiri.
Bushiri has been really comfortable on the ball this season, a million times better than last season
20-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Agreed. What a strange assessment. I thought Rocky did well today but there were a couple of shaky moments. There were a few times in the first half where he could have driven forward 15-20 yards - but chose the safe square ball option instead. Absolutely nothing like Efe.
20-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Woaah, just glad I aint one thats ginger and covered in freckles, why does his colour make any difference?
20-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Agreed. What a strange assessment. I thought Rocky did well today but there were a couple of shaky moments. There were a few times in the first half where he could have driven forward 15-20 yards - but chose the safe square ball option instead. Absolutely nothing like Efe.
What were the shaky moments as i cant remember him having shaky moments(penalty apart)
20-08-2022, 03:58 PM
I like Youan, particularly when he drifts wide.
We need to unearth an out and out goalscorer from somewhere though as it doesn't look like that's him. If he hits 6 or 7 I think we'll be doing well.
20-08-2022, 04:00 PM
What were the shaky moments as i cant remember him having shaky moments(penalty apart)
He had a poor header in the box in the first half that he put square across the box to a hun player. We were lucky to get away with that. Second half, when on a yellow, he conceded a daft foul in front of the East when that Colak went down easily again. Rocky should have been standing off him that time imo. I thought he was good today. I’m not one of the Rocky lynch mob.
Roxyhibee
20-08-2022, 04:00 PM
Definite player. (Definite.!)
Got to get the best out of him now (Boyle’s movement will help that) and we need that standard he’s already displayed to be on show most weeks, regardless of opposition.
20-08-2022, 04:05 PM
He had a poor header in the box in the first half that he put square across the box to a hun player. We were lucky to get away with that. Second half, when on a yellow, he conceded a daft foul in front of the East when that Colak went down easily again. Rocky should have been standing off him that time imo. I thought he was good today. I’m not one of the Rocky lynch mob.
A bad header and giving away a free kick arent really shaky moments though are they, every player on the park would have had shaky moments of that was the case, his heading definitely needs improving though
Mikey_1875
20-08-2022, 04:05 PM
Get the right man in the middle of Youan and Boyle and we will be hitting similar numbers for the front three as the third place season under Ross.
As it is though they will still cause any defence in the league problems.
20-08-2022, 04:06 PM
Great player that’s going to be a huge star for us.
Stairway 2 7
20-08-2022, 04:13 PM
We need to unearth an out and out goalscorer from somewhere though as it doesn't look like that's him. If he hits 6 or 7 I think we'll be doing well.
KN still to come back, think he'll love youans set ups and find another purple patch
20-08-2022, 04:15 PM
I’ve been critical of his strength. I stand by that when he plays as a central striker. Left of front three, though, he’s outstanding. Some of his runs are really intelligent and quite often his teammates aren’t spotting them which is frustrating.
Sign him up.
20-08-2022, 04:15 PM
That lad we signed from a team in the Middle East looks like he could squirrel away 15-20 goals per season 🤔
20-08-2022, 04:27 PM
He strolled it today.
Why drive forward when he can pass the ball? He was also superb in the Rangers box at the end.
I loved Efe but he also had shaky moments, remember?
20-08-2022, 04:29 PM
Woaah, just glad I aint one thats ginger and covered in freckles, why does his colour make any difference?
Because if I don’t mention it and simply said he reminded me of Ambrose I would have been accused of being racist. It happens regularly on here, I’m sure you’ve noticed.
You probably also know it was a tongue in cheek dig at those folk, and pre-empting being called racist.
Woah?? Wtf??
20-08-2022, 04:40 PM
He strolled it today.
Why drive forward when he can pass the ball? He was also superb in the Rangers box at the end.
I loved Efe but he also had shaky moments, remember?
Please say you’re not being serious with that question?
20-08-2022, 04:48 PM
Whole team did their jobs today but Campbell or Busheri worthy of MOM
Rocky. 😍
Telling he stayed on my instead of Porto.
20-08-2022, 04:50 PM
Rocky. 😍
Telling he stayed on my instead of Porto.
Perhaps because Porto had a yellow
20-08-2022, 04:50 PM
Wasted up front, play him on the left or behind the front two where he can smoke people for fun, I love him
20-08-2022, 04:53 PM
Perhaps because Porto had a yellow
As did Rocky
LustForLeith
20-08-2022, 06:39 PM
When he leaves Hibs for another club he’ll go for millions
Watch this space
20-08-2022, 06:44 PM
For me he has looked much better on the left than through the center.
A goal will do him.good next weekend but thought he played well again today when he had the ball.
Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 06:46 PM
He’s a very good player but not a lone striker.
Him on the left, Boyle on the right and a proper number 9 and we’ll look good up top.
20-08-2022, 06:46 PM
There was a moment in the second half when he controlled a long ball on his chest whilst about ten feet in the air then back heeled it to someone putting them in down the left.
That was absolutely top class.:top marks
20-08-2022, 06:48 PM
There was a moment in the second half when he controlled a long ball on his chest whilst about ten feet in the air then back heeled it to someone putting them in down the left.
That was absolutely top class.:top marks
Was right in front of us :rockin:It reminded me a lot of a Zemmama backheel assist for Sproule i think it was, back in the day.
Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 06:52 PM
Was right in front of us :rockin:It reminded me a lot of a Zemmama backheel assist for Sproule i think it was, back in the day.
Is this the one at Dunfermline? Think he backheeled it to Murphy who crossed it in for a goal.
Outstanding piece of skill.
20-08-2022, 07:06 PM
I’ve been critical of his strength. I stand by that when he plays as a central striker. Left of front three, though, he’s outstanding. Some of his runs are really intelligent and quite often his teammates aren’t spotting them which is frustrating.
Sign him up.
Don’t think we have a chance in hell of signing him on a perm - will be some big clubs in for him next summer I think. He’s quality. Real quality.
20-08-2022, 07:13 PM
MagicSwirlingShip
20-08-2022, 07:15 PM
Don’t think we have a chance in hell of signing him on a perm - will be some big clubs in for him next summer I think. He’s quality. Real quality.
He have an option to buy as part of the loan, no?
Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 07:16 PM
We do but he can just knock us back.
20-08-2022, 07:25 PM
KN still to come back, think he'll love youans set ups and find another purple patch
I think your are spot on here.
If we get the KN back that was working back and linking play as well as sniffing out the chances in the box that front 3 will be something special.
A real shame he’s out for so long as it’s a lot of games to wait for him. LJ might be tempted to think of a loan signing to cover that slot in the meantime…not that finding the right quality of loan to do that will be easy of course.
But back on topic Youan looks a real find and with a bit more coaching could end up being pretty special.
20-08-2022, 07:26 PM
Can we not just terminate the loan and buy him now please!!
20-08-2022, 07:45 PM
Is this the one at Dunfermline? Think he backheeled it to Murphy who crossed it in for a goal.
Outstanding piece of skill.
You’re right. Wee genius.
20-08-2022, 07:51 PM
Youan = Special 💚
20-08-2022, 07:54 PM
He's class. Would love to get him on a longer deal.
20-08-2022, 07:56 PM
How did we find him? [emoji51][emoji1787]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-08-2022, 08:06 PM
Not sure what the deal is with him, option to buy right? We should be activating that asap!! He's the real deal.
You can see him & Boyle are starting to form a real partnership. Boyle will relish his turns of pace and pinpoint crosses thoughout the season. Also loved the passion at Boyle's equaliser, fistpumping right in front of us in the West Stand lower 😁
20-08-2022, 08:19 PM
You can see him & Boyle are starting to form a real partnership. Boyle will relish his turns of pace and pinpoint crosses thoughout the season. Also loved the passion at Boyle's equaliser, fistpumping right in front of us in the West Stand lower 😁
Two brilliant assists in two huge home games. He Honestly looks phenomenal.
20-08-2022, 08:38 PM
Also his reaction to the fans in the West after the assist for Boyle's goal was quality. Meant a lot to him.
Cuikyhibs
20-08-2022, 08:42 PM
Just needs a goal now, when Kevin is back do we go 3 upfront?
20-08-2022, 09:35 PM
Also his reaction to the fans in the West after the assist for Boyle's goal was quality. Meant a lot to him.
Yup, was good to see. He gets us.
20-08-2022, 10:23 PM
This boy is a tremendous player at this level and you can see he has a lot of improvement in him.
Recruitment has been criticised recently but this is an absolutely fantastic signing.
JammyDoidger
21-08-2022, 12:28 AM
Love his workrate, his quality, his attitude, he's special, long term deal pronto please.
Great player and a bond straight away with Boyle. Good to see.
21-08-2022, 07:05 AM
Special special player I can’t believe some were saying after one game considering all the pre-season games he had were right at the start and no league cup games
We should be arranging the permanent fixture now, guy is everything we want, speed, aggression, trickery, finesse and in yogi terms a bit of a maverick, at last someone like Boyle with a bit of personality that crowd can take too.
Well played Ian Gordon and co.
Just needs a goal now, when Kevin is back do we go 3 upfront?
Without any doubt!
21-08-2022, 08:10 AM
I think there’s still alot more to come from him.
I think he’s been good so far, not absolutely brilliant but some real quality moments and flashes of what he can do.
Sometimes I think he wants to do too much to beat his man and eventually waits too long and gets tackled. But, he’s only just getting going and once that sharpness and decision making is there he’ll be beating players in this league for fun. I love how he’s also not fussed if he gets tackled (which will happen of course) or has a bad touch, he just keeps going and has a real belief in himself.
If we can get him and Boyle on either wing constantly running at defences and threatening with their pace we’ll be very dangerous.
Cannot wait until he scores his first goal.
Looks a great find by the recruitment team, they deserve credit for him and Cabraja.
21-08-2022, 09:02 AM
Not sure what the deal is with him, option to buy right? We should be activating that asap!! He's the real deal.
Same as Henderson, when the loan express he's our player. Terms are already agreed etc.
He's outstanding, I'm amazed there's not been more noise about him from the media. I think once he scores he'll go on a run and will be huge for us this season. Youan and Boyle up front as a two or part of a three are genuinely going to be one of the most dangerous attacks on the league.
21-08-2022, 09:20 AM
Same as Henderson, when the loan express he's our player. Terms are already agreed etc.
He's outstanding, I'm amazed there's not been more noise about him from the media. I think once he scores he'll go on a run and will be huge for us this season. Youan and Boyle up front as a two or part of a three are genuinely going to be one of the most dangerous attacks on the league.
I didn't know this. Not sure how I didn't know know but there you are.
That is tremendous.
21-08-2022, 09:21 AM
Youan looks a much better player now that he's not through the middle.
Think our oft-criticised recruitment department gets a lot of credit for identifying and signing him.
Dr What If?
21-08-2022, 09:27 AM
I thought it was an 'option to buy' deal....so yes terms will have been agreed but as yet he is still a player on loan so not a given. Wasn't Henderson's contract up with Celtic at the end of the loan period making him a free agent? Won't Youan still be a St Gallan player?
chippy
21-08-2022, 09:28 AM
Youan looks a much better player now that he's not through the middle.
Think our oft-criticised recruitment department gets a lot of credit for identifying and signing him.
Do we actually need 3 up front when we have Boyle and Youan. Their pace and ability to drift wide left , right or centre make them so hard to pin down. It’s midfield backing they need to carve open defences, a quality no 10 and 8 higher up the pitch would do. Nisbet coming back could offer us a deeper lying 9 as an option
21-08-2022, 09:29 AM
I thought it was an 'option to buy' deal....so yes terms will have been agreed but as yet he is still a player on loan so not a given. Wasn't Henderson's contract up with Celtic at the end of the loan period making him a free agent? Won't Youan still be a St Gallan player?
Yeah think it’s a bit different. Was an obligation with Henderson but an option with Youan.
21-08-2022, 09:30 AM
It looks from the St Gallen website that he is contracted with them to 2024, is that right? So in May 31st 2023 (Hibs website says he’s with us till May 2022 which is clearly a mistake!). the loan to us comes to an end but we have an option to buy him with a year of his contract left still, is that right? And is that fee already been agreed or is it subject to negotiation? If it’s not pre agreed and he has a big an impact as we all hope, couldn’t he just go somewhere else that pays more?
Dr What If?
21-08-2022, 09:34 AM
Yeah think it’s a bit different. Was an obligation with Henderson but an option with Youan.
Grand, that is what I thought :aok:
Green Reaper
21-08-2022, 09:37 AM
It looks from the St Gallen website that he is contracted with them to 2024, is that right? So in May 31st 2023 (Hibs website says he’s with us till May 2022 which is clearly a mistake!). the loan to us comes to an end but we have an option to buy him with a year of his contract left still, is that right? And is that fee already been agreed or is it subject to negotiation? If it’s not pre agreed and he has a big an impact as we all hope, couldn’t he just go somewhere else that pays more?
That’s my worry, another Didier Agathe situation if he continues to impress. Would hate to lose him to one of the arse cheeks or down South. Would love some solid confirmation that this deal is watertight for us, not doubting what you are saying Matty.
JammyDoidger
21-08-2022, 09:39 AM
He looks so much better in wide positions, him on the left, Boyle on the right and a proper number 9 to hold up and bring them into the game would be superb, add a number 10 or Henderson hits form like he's capable off and what a front 4 we would be onto. I'm forgetting Melkersen he could potentially score a bucket load if he's in the middle of Boyle and Youan, exciting times from an attacking perspective.
21-08-2022, 09:41 AM
He looks so much better in wide positions, him on the left, Boyle on the right and a proper number 9 to hold up and bring them into the game would be superb, add a number 10 or Henderson hits form like he's capable off and what a front 4 we would be onto. I'm forgetting Melkersen he could potentially score a bucket load if he's in the middle of Boyle and Youan, exciting times from an attacking perspective.
Nisbet with Boyle and Youan either side and Magennis behind would be lethal I think.
21-08-2022, 10:00 AM
Really hope we give Melkersen a chance through the middle with Boyle and Youan out wide. Could be tasty.
Percy Vere
21-08-2022, 10:26 AM
Do we actually need 3 up front when we have Boyle and Youan. Their pace and ability to drift wide left , right or centre make them so hard to pin down. It’s midfield backing they need to carve open defences, a quality no 10 and 8 higher up the pitch would do. Nisbet coming back could offer us a deeper lying 9 as an option
Magennis!
21-08-2022, 10:46 AM
That’s my worry, another Didier Agathe situation if he continues to impress. Would hate to lose him to one of the arse cheeks or down South. Would love some solid confirmation that this deal is watertight for us, not doubting what you are saying Matty.
Its slightly different, but there will still be an element of the unknown.
If you remember the Bushiri deal, apparently the terms of the post loan transfer - even down to the Hibs salary - were agreed at the time of the loan.
Obviously in that case, if he hadnt played X matches the obligation expired.
In this case, I suspect that we have a pre-agreed purchase price with his clubs and probably a salary arrangement with the player, but only those that are part of the deal will know if anyone can walk away and when.
These things are pretty watertight, remember the Paul McGinn situation? He chose to trigger a contract option that required Hibs to give him another year - and if he hadnt been wanted elsewhere, he would still be on the payroll, even if we didnt really fancy him.
21-08-2022, 02:25 PM
This will be the same as the Kamberi deal I think. Just hope he doesn't leave us hanging on for weeks on end like Kamberi ended up doing though
For Kamberi's we'd agreed a price of £100k but terms had still to be agreed with Kamberi so he could have said "no thanks" and gone elsewhere. Effectively he held all the cards. Hopefully with Youan's being a loan with an option to buy it means everything has already been agreed between all parties and it's 100% Hibs choice on whether or not to buy. That said, you'd still want the player to be 100% happy with the terms when/if the time comes.
21-08-2022, 02:36 PM
Magennis!
Who he?
ClermistonGreen
21-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Who he?
He’s the son of Guinness 🍻
Who he?
I wanna know ooh ooh, if you'll be my girl.
Magennis!
Have you checked the fridge?
I watched him the whole second half. Was on the shoulder on the last defender so many times waiting for a ball over the top or through the middle. I hope that sooner rather than later our players start to spot these runs.
Then the fireworks will really start!!
22-08-2022, 03:14 AM
Have you checked the fridge?
I thought Magennis was meant to be drunk at room temperature?
hibee316
22-08-2022, 05:24 AM
I thought Magennis was meant to be drunk at room temperature?
If that's the case, I don't think we will ever see play for Hibs again!
22-08-2022, 07:24 AM
I watched him the whole second half. Was on the shoulder on the last defender so many times waiting for a ball over the top or through the middle. I hope that sooner rather than later our players start to spot these runs.
22-08-2022, 01:51 PM
I think they're well aware of the runs, but it's not always as easy as it looks to thread those balls through. He has proved already though that he'll cause damage.
What impresses me more is the way he's making hopeful long ball his. Absolutely priceless.
22-08-2022, 02:02 PM
I think they're well aware of the runs, but it's not always as easy as it looks to thread those balls through. He has proved already though that he'll cause damage.
What impresses me more is the way he's making hopeful long ball his. Absolutely priceless.
:agree:Absolutely. He's already shown a few times now his layoffs with his chest are his signature move, and hes decent in the air bringing others into play as well. Definitely not an easy player to push off the ball, someone commented he was a bit lightweight which i disagree with.
22-08-2022, 06:13 PM
Has worked hard since arriving at Hibs and no doubt he will get on the score sheet soon.
Something a bit like this on Saturday wouldn't go amiss.
https://youtu.be/ZHI2LbqiE1A?t=1017
22-08-2022, 08:01 PM
Looks a quality signing. Very direct matter of time before he starts scoring.
22-08-2022, 08:47 PM
My understanding is that it's agreed, so if we want him the rest is already signed and he'll be our player
22-08-2022, 08:49 PM
It's different. With Kamberi we'd agreed a fee but could have been scunnered on personal terms. The deals we're agreeing where it's a loan to buy mean that the player will sign unless we don't want to take them.
22-08-2022, 08:53 PM
My understanding is that it's agreed, so if we want him the rest is already signed and he'll be our player
That sounds ideal :aok: even if we just got him for the remaining year of his contract, fires in 20+ goals and brings the Cup home.
23-08-2022, 06:55 AM
It's different. With Kamberi we'd agreed a fee but could have been scunnered on personal terms. The deals we're agreeing where it's a loan to buy mean that the player will sign unless we don't want to take them.
This was Hibs announcement when he signed:
“A pacey-striker with an eye for goal, meet Élie Youan. The 23-year-old has signed on a season-long loan, with an option to buy in June 2022”
So I think we have the option rather than an obligation like what we had with the likes of Murphy and Henderson who were both out of contract iirc
23-08-2022, 06:56 AM
For Kamberi's we'd agreed a price of £100k but terms had still to be agreed with Kamberi so he could have said "no thanks" and gone elsewhere. Effectively he held all the cards. Hopefully with Youan's being a loan with an option to buy it means everything has already been agreed between all parties and it's 100% Hibs choice on whether or not to buy. That said, you'd still want the player to be 100% happy with the terms when/if the time comes.
I'd be comfortable with us making it permanent on 1/1/23 tbh.
23-08-2022, 08:16 AM
Looks a good player but, like any striker, I ‘d like to see him score a few goals before we sign him permanently. Surely just a matter of time?
23-08-2022, 08:19 AM
Looks a good player but, like any striker, I ‘d like to see him score a few goals before we sign him permanently. Surely just a matter of time?
While I agree, if he’s not scoring loads of goals, but getting an assist almost every week, then I’d be happy with his permanent signing
23-08-2022, 04:49 PM
This was Hibs announcement when he signed:
“A pacey-striker with an eye for goal, meet Élie Youan. The 23-year-old has signed on a season-long loan, with an option to buy in June 2022”
So I think we have the option rather than an obligation like what we had with the likes of Murphy and Henderson who were both out of contract iirc
Yes, that’s what i was saying. It’s up to us if we want to do it.
17-10-2022, 06:39 AM
There has been a lot of comment about how he'd be desperate for a goal, with McKirdy threatening his place and some grumbling from the support. Personally im delighted for him yesterday, a nice run behind and a smart finish and hopefully will give him confidence to add goals to his decent performances and assists so far.
17-10-2022, 06:48 AM
There has been a lot of comment about how he'd be desperate for a goal, with McKirdy threatening his place and some grumbling from the support. Personally im delighted for him yesterday, a nice run behind and a smart finish and hopefully will give him confidence to add goals to his decent performances and assists so far.
He did well for the goal. He also did well against Hearts & Rangers.
However, I think that shows that he needs the other team to be playing a high line rather than the 10 men behind the ball turgid pish that our opponents serve up most weeks.
Mikey_1875
17-10-2022, 07:08 AM
Has looked low on confidence the couple of games before so hopefully this will allow him to kick on with the goalscoring. Agree with the previous comments about him enjoying playing against a high line with plenty of space to run into however I would still start him on Friday night to see if he can get a run together.
Also got a chuckle when he made the shh gesture to the Celtic fans after the goal despite being 3-1 down!
17-10-2022, 07:27 AM
The Boyle / Youan second half partnership caught my eye a bit - they linked up well On a Few occasions.
17-10-2022, 07:30 AM
The Boyle / Youan second half partnership caught my eye a bit - they linked up well On a Few occasions.
They had it earlier in the season when it was the 2 of them up top, personally would go with those 2 but LJ seems to like the big centre forward with 2 out wide so might not happen often
17-10-2022, 08:04 AM
They had it earlier in the season when it was the 2 of them up top, personally would go with those 2 but LJ seems to like the big centre forward with 2 out wide so might not happen often
The problem in games like Saturday is the temptation just to launch it up to the big Ukrainian and essentially give the ball straight back to the opposition. I felt at times (to a lesser extent) we did the same at Tannadice.
17-10-2022, 08:06 AM
Just seen his goal, superb finish. Here’s to many more.
17-10-2022, 08:16 AM
Just seen his goal, superb finish. Here’s to many more.
Thought it was an excellent goal
17-10-2022, 09:18 AM
Mon the Youan!
17-10-2022, 09:30 AM
He did well for the goal. He also did well against Hearts & Rangers.
However, I think that shows that he needs the other team to be playing a high line rather than the 10 men behind the ball turgid pish that our opponents serve up most weeks.
It's not turgid.
17-10-2022, 09:38 AM
It's not turgid.
Yep wish we had done that on Saturday :greengrin
17-10-2022, 09:41 AM
Yep wish we had done that on Saturday :greengrin
Indeed, we were closer to torpid.
17-10-2022, 09:43 AM
Indeed, we were closer to torpid.
Turpid?
17-10-2022, 09:45 AM
Turpid?
Speak for yourself! :tee hee:
17-10-2022, 09:48 AM
The problem in games like Saturday is the temptation just to launch it up to the big Ukrainian and essentially give the ball straight back to the opposition. I felt at times (to a lesser extent) we did the same at Tannadice.
Yip agree, I'd love to see Boyle and youan running in behind defences, those 2 will give CHs a terrible time
17-10-2022, 09:50 AM
Apologies wrong choice of language :greengrin
Should've just left it at "pish"
Donegal Hibby
17-10-2022, 10:01 AM
Did Youan not score the goal from being on the right side ? As to were he normally plays on left.He took it well all the same.
Donegal Hibby
17-10-2022, 11:43 AM
Big game for Youan on Friday if picked which I think he will . Think it's probably another one of those games that might not suit him as well as other games though .
17-10-2022, 12:04 PM
Did Youan not score the goal from being on the right side ? As to were he normally plays on left.He took it well all the same.
His goal and two of his three assists have come from the right side of the box... :hmmm:
Donegal Hibby
17-10-2022, 12:24 PM
His goal and two of his three assists have come from the right side of the box... :hmmm:
That's what I've been wondering about at times I've felt when he's on the left he hasn't looked entirely comfortable , yet as you say his goal and two assists have been from the right maybe he's more suited to that side ?
HendoDelivered
17-10-2022, 12:30 PM
Brace on Friday night. Watch this space.
17-10-2022, 12:55 PM
That's what I've been wondering about at times I've felt when he's on the left he hasn't looked entirely comfortable , yet as you say his goal and two assists have been from the right maybe he's more suited to that side ?
Judging by his youtube reel most of his goals have been from the left, where hes lining up. When hes scored from the opposite side it seems to be more transitional goals when the play is stretched and hes probably got more space to move positions, i wouldnt read too much into it. Hes a predominantly right footed wide left player. Like all the great ones:greengrin
17-12-2022, 08:23 AM
I think he needs a spell out of the team. Apart from the odd flashes (e.g. he could have scored our goal of the season at Ibrox with his shot), I feel he's not contributing anywhere near enough. I feel his awareness of what's around him is poor.
Thoughts?
17-12-2022, 08:26 AM
I think he needs a spell out of the team. Apart from the odd flashes (e.g. he could have scored our goal of the season at Ibrox with his shot), I feel he's not contributing anywhere near enough. I feel his awareness of what's around him is poor.
Thoughts?
We won’t, or shouldn’t IMO, sign him. So time to start phasing him out and playing players who will be here next season. Be it McKirdy, Melkerson or the likes of O’Connor or Laidlaw.
17-12-2022, 08:33 AM
He's got ability but gets brushed aside way too easily. Another one nowhere near good enough.
Hibees1973
17-12-2022, 08:40 AM
He's got ability but gets brushed aside way too easily. Another one nowhere near good enough.
When presented with a gilt edged chance to put us 3-1 up on Thursday he bottled it. Not saying this was the whole reason why we lost but it was a major factor. From what I've seen of him he would need 20 similar chances to score one.
Yes, on my list along with at least 15 others who have been signed by Ron's son who should never have been signed by Hibs.
The amount of desperately below average players given the chance to put on a Hibs jersey in the last couple of years is a disgrace.
Bridge hibs
17-12-2022, 08:58 AM
When presented with a gilt edged chance to put us 3-1 up on Thursday he bottled it. Not saying this was the whole reason why we lost but it was a major factor. From what I've seen of him he would need 20 similar chances to score one.
Yes, on my list along with at least 15 others who have been signed by Ron's son who should never have been signed by Hibs.
The amount of desperately below average players given the chance to put on a Hibs jersey in the last couple of years is a disgrace.Bottled it ? Oh behave, it was a decent shot from an angle that forced Mcgregor into a save, yes he could have went near post, far post or even chipped the keeper but he hardly bottled it
The amount of desperately below average players given the chance to put on a Hibs jersey in the last couple of years is a disgrace.
I agree he's not good enough but he slips that through McGregor's legs we're raving about it, I think its just a decent save rather than a bottle job, I still find it crazy how he's starting games when McKirdy is available we've spent a fee on mckirdy and we're nearing half way through the season and I still couldn't tell you a thing about the guy
17-12-2022, 09:30 AM
I agree he's not good enough but he slips that through McGregor's legs we're raving about it, I think its just a decent save rather than a bottle job, I still find it crazy how he's starting games when McKirdy is available we've spent a fee on mckirdy and we're nearing half way through the season and I still couldn't tell you a thing about the guy
Think that says a lot about McKirdy. In the time I've seen him I'd have Youan ahead of him every time. Poor signing.
17-12-2022, 09:30 AM
Was amazed he played the full match considering we made 5 changes, can't see him being here next season
OldEast
17-12-2022, 09:46 AM
Bottled it ? Oh behave, it was a decent shot from an angle that forced Mcgregor into a save, yes he could have went near post, far post or even chipped the keeper but he hardly bottled it
Agree he didn't bottle it but it wasn't that tight an angle and his shot hit the keeper it didn't force him into a save. Unless you class closing his legs as being forced into a save. It was a terrible attempt with zero composure.
17-12-2022, 09:51 AM
Agree he didn't bottle it but it wasn't that tight an angle and his shot hit the keeper it didn't force him into a save. Unless you class closing his legs as being forced into a save. It was a terrible attempt with zero composure.
When I watch Youan, I really do wonder if he's played much football or just been picked from the 5-a-side pitch because he looks class on the ball. It looked to me that it was a bit of a "hit and hope" attempt. I'd expect a good striker to take the goalkeeper out of the equation and drill it low to the goalkeeper's left hand post. If the ageing McGregor saves it, then well done to him. However, it was a terrible attempt with zero composure as you state.
17-12-2022, 09:57 AM
He's rotten.
I said after the 1st game of the season he didn't look a natural finisher and we'd be lucky to get 5 goals out of him this season. 5 looks wildly optimistic right now.
What I did like about him early on was his work rate, desire to close men down and the wee bit trickery he had to get past players but that has largely dried up. I don't think he's a particularly difficult player to defend against, don't let him stand a man up one on one and he's doing nothing.
Another to add to the miss list on the transfer front and he'll be gone at the end of the season.
17-12-2022, 10:01 AM
He's rotten.
I said after the 1st game of the season he didn't look a natural finisher and we'd be lucky to get 5 goals out of him this season. 5 looks wildly optimistic right now.
What I did like about him early on was his work rate, desire to close men down and the wee bit trickery he had to get past players but that has largely dried up. I don't think he's a particularly difficult player to defend against, don't let him stand a man up one on one and he's doing nothing.
Another to add to the miss list on the transfer front and he'll be gone at the end of the season.
Not like you to be so critical of a player :faf:
Normally the person I look to for a balanced view of the situation, but........
He was shocking on Thurs, either jogging or strolling about, gave Cabraja zero help, gets pushed off the ball too easily and can't finish.
H18S NX
17-12-2022, 10:23 AM
I honestly don't see what he brings to the team.
17-12-2022, 10:53 AM
He's another in the list of players we've signed who are weaker than my sunday morning piss.
Along with the likes of Melkerson and Henderson and Tavarez, they are brushed off the ball like a cat playing with a mouse, and dont get me on about their shutting down or attemps at challenging an opponent, half hearted cowards who would only get injured if they actually went near enough to make contact.
17-12-2022, 11:19 AM
Think that says a lot about McKirdy. In the time I've seen him I'd have Youan ahead of him every time. Poor signing.
How many times have you seen him? He’s played the equivalent of 2 and a half games so far. Reply isn’t enough time to judge him as a poor signing.
Torto7
17-12-2022, 01:04 PM
Weird I quite like him and think he has potential.
thebausburst
17-12-2022, 01:12 PM
Work rate is poor as is finishing, never confident when he gets a good chance.
17-12-2022, 01:28 PM
I honestly don't see what he brings to the team.
I’m with you.
His touch, dribbling, final ball etc is all awful.
He runs at folk and very rarely beats them.
Based on the last couple of times seeing Tavares I honestly think he would have offered more. Even against Raith Youan done nothing, Tavares stood his man up and beat him repeatedly
17-12-2022, 01:29 PM
Petty aswell, but it really irks me every day we are playing he uploads a video on his Instagram of his previous game almost making out he was good.
17-12-2022, 01:35 PM
The finish was rubbish but I thought it was excellent movement and pace (not to mention a very good pass from Campbell) to earn it in the first place.
I thought he looked brilliant in August and showed the odd flash on Thursday but overall I don’t think he’s a player who plays a big role in a top 4 side.
HIBS NUTS
17-12-2022, 02:31 PM
The finish was rubbish but I thought it was excellent movement and pace (not to mention a very good pass from Campbell) to earn it in the first place.
I thought he looked brilliant in August and showed the odd flash on Thursday but overall I don’t think he’s a player who plays a big role in a top 4 side.
When you require every player to give one hundred percent, he is a man down, he’s anything but a team player.
17-12-2022, 03:59 PM
I said early door after seeing him play that the big issue would be he doesn’t look like someone who will score lots of goals
To date it’s one League goal I genuinely don’t see that changing much
So the question is does he contribute enough to the team to merit keeping him
Am really not that fussed if we do to be honest
scm70nyd1973
17-12-2022, 04:38 PM
He's another in the list of players we've signed who are weaker than my sunday morning piss.
Along with the likes of Melkerson and Henderson and Tavarez, they are brushed off the ball like a cat playing with a mouse, and dont get me on about their shutting down or attemps at challenging an opponent, half hearted cowards who would only get injured if they actually went near enough to make contact.
I’m confused- after a Saturday night with several beers my Sunday morning piss can be quite strong (removal of alcohol) to be honest - you must be a sensible HIBS fan 🤭 I wish I could be.
Totally agree on the brushed aside bit - just think of Shades and there you have the polar opposite. How soft can we get or could we get any softer - wish I hadn’t said that as it is a very fechin scary thought ☹️
He's here!
17-12-2022, 05:02 PM
He's rotten.
His pace, awareness, strength and skill when linking up with Boyle for that late leveller in the August derby all came together to create a moment of beauty. I thought we'd landed someone a bit special in that instant. Has he really been so poor since that we regard him as a write-off?
17-12-2022, 05:11 PM
For the minutes he's had on the pitch I can barely remember a meaningful contribution from him. 1 goal.
We've got so many in that bracket who have come in to address issues and have been nowhere near the level of a first team starter every week or up to the standard of the guy they're replacing. Recruitment has been so poor and I don't see how you sort it out in 1/2 windows.
It will take a red hot streak from Nisbet if we're going to be anywhere near it this season. I already think there's too many defeats on the board to realistically recover.
17-12-2022, 05:24 PM
His pace, awareness, strength and skill when linking up with Boyle for that late leveller in the August derby all came together to create a moment of beauty. I thought we'd landed someone a bit special in that instant. Has he really been so poor since that we regard him as a write-off?
I thought the first couple of games he looked handy and would be a threat, some good things about him and some poor - mainly his touch but I was willing to put it down to sharpness
For the amount of minutes he’s played he’s contributed very very little
If McKirdy, McGeady and Tavares play the same amount of minutes in the second half of the season I’ve got faith all of them would contribute more.
We struggle continuing an attack every time it lands at his feet as he loses it
17-12-2022, 05:31 PM
For the minutes he's had on the pitch I can barely remember a meaningful contribution from him. 1 goal.
We've got so many in that bracket who have come in to address issues and have been nowhere near the level of a first team starter every week or up to the standard of the guy they're replacing. Recruitment has been so poor and I don't see how you sort it out in 1/2 windows.
It will take a red hot streak from Nisbet if we're going to be anywhere near it this season. I already think there's too many defeats on the board to realistically recover.
Assisting Boyle’s last minute equaliser against Hearts?
Assisting Boyle’s goal against Rangers?
17-12-2022, 06:25 PM
I don’t think anyone would believe how little he would contribute over the next few months after his promising start.
It’s almost unfathomable.
HendoDelivered
17-12-2022, 06:28 PM
Major disappointment. Expected him to be much better.
17-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Major disappointment. Expected him to be much better.
Agreed. Thought we were on to something in his first few appearances.
17-12-2022, 07:45 PM
23 years old . Capped by France at under 17 , 19 and 20 level . Did well enough when on loan at St Gallen that they signed him full time . Did very well in his first games with us . Ibrox , people are talking about chance missed and rightly so though I have seen numerous much easier chances missed by our strikers in the last 50 odd years . Shot earlier in first half showed ability . Hopefully LJ or whoever is our manager for the rest of this season can get the best out of him .
17-12-2022, 07:49 PM
We’re not a top 4 side so that’s ok.
JammyDoidger
17-12-2022, 09:23 PM
Petty aswell, but it really irks me every day we are playing he uploads a video on his Instagram of his previous game almost making out he was good.
This. It's absolutely pathetic.
17-12-2022, 09:48 PM
Based on his current form, he couldn't really argue against being dropped. That Harry McKirdy might not be any better isn't really the point. Could be that neither of them are up to the standard that we need.
BoyledEgg
17-12-2022, 10:27 PM
I actually thought McGregor pulled off a good save. Yohan hit it low and hard and tried to go through the keepers legs, McGregor done well to move his feet as well as he did. More often than not those ones go in. Not going to lie though, he was absolutely woeful.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 08:18 PM
Had to laugh at a moment during the WC final today that reminded me of this thread.
The commentator is describing Thuram running through on goal before being taken down by Otamendi resulting in a penalty. Problem with that? It was actually Kolo Muani and this was in a World Cup final with world renowned players. Yet people on here were laughably desperate to declare Garry O’Connor racist for not being able to tell the difference between Youan and Bojang, two guys who it’s safe to assume he’d never seen before.
They were ‘like twins’ according to Garry and it’s safe to say Thuram and Kolo Muani were ‘like twins’ to the commentator on BBC seeing as he couldn’t tell them apart.
18-12-2022, 08:22 PM
Had to laugh at a moment during the WC final today that reminded me of this thread.
The commentator is describing Thuram running through on goal before being taken down by Otamendi resulting in a penalty. Problem with that? It was actually Kolo Muani and this was in a World Cup final with world renowned players. Yet people on here were laughably desperate to declare Garry O’Connor racist for not being able to tell the difference between Youan and Bojang, two guys who it’s safe to assume he’d never seen before.
They were ‘like twins’ according to Garry and it’s safe to say Thuram and Kolo Muani were ‘like twins’ to the commentator on BBC seeing as he couldn’t tell them apart.
They should listen to Hibs TV and hear them get most players wrong 🤣
Porteous and Cadden are often mixed up
Magennis and Campbell
Campbell and Nisbet
People will undoubtedly mix players up of similar ish appearance from a long distance.
cameronw-hfc
18-12-2022, 08:24 PM
Thuram and Kolo look vaguely similar, not much but at least vaguely. Bojang and Elie couldn't be further apart besides being black. Don't think anyone was accusing Gary of being a racist, more saying something racist by accident/ignorance.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 08:30 PM
Thuram and Kolo look vaguely similar, not much but at least vaguely. Bojang and Elie couldn't be further apart besides being black. Don't think anyone was accusing Gary of being a racist, more saying something racist by accident/ignorance.
Marcus Thuram has a beard and is noticeably taller. They also don’t have a similar face. They don’t look vaguely similar at all :faf:. Can we now declare you a racist? How is your ‘vaguely similar’ statement really all that different to Garry O’Connors statement? Don’t worry, you don’t need to answer that, because I know the answer. You were desperate to be offended.
When it comes to Youan and Bojang, despite being black, despite both having facial hair, despite having the same colour hair, despite both being the same height, despite both being athletic and playing the exact same position.
It was a nonsense accusation at the time, the type of nonsense accusation that actually works against the fight against racism and it remains a ridiculous accusation, one that Garry actually deserves an apology from the idiots who accused him of it.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 08:33 PM
They should listen to Hibs TV and hear them get most players wrong 🤣
Porteous and Cadden are often mixed up
Magennis and Campbell
Campbell and Nisbet
People will undoubtedly mix players up of similar ish appearance from a long distance.
Aye but that Cliff guy is incredibly racist against white people.
cameronw-hfc
18-12-2022, 09:02 PM
Marcus Thuram has a beard and is noticeably taller. They also don’t have a similar face. They don’t look vaguely similar at all :faf:. Can we now declare you a racist? How is your ‘vaguely similar’ statement really all that different to Garry O’Connors statement? Don’t worry, you don’t need to answer that, because I know the answer. You were desperate to be offended.
When it comes to Youan and Bojang, despite being black, despite both having facial hair, despite having the same colour hair, despite both being the same height, despite both being athletic and playing the exact same position.
It was a nonsense accusation at the time, the type of nonsense accusation that actually works against the fight against racism and it remains a ridiculous accusation, one that Garry actually deserves an apology from the idiots who accused him of it.
My vaguely similar was bases on me googling both of their names and looking at the first picture that came up. I wasn't desperate to be offended, I was actually saying GOC isn't a racist, but made a statement that can be seen as racist. Someone saying 2 black lads look the same is definitely something that can be seen as racist, but it doesn't mean they are a racist. It just means they've made a mistake, or didn't realise why their comment can cause offense.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 09:11 PM
My vaguely similar was bases on me googling both of their names and looking at the first picture that came up. I wasn't desperate to be offended, I was actually saying GOC isn't a racist, but made a statement that can be seen as racist. Someone saying 2 black lads look the same is definitely something that can be seen as racist, but it doesn't mean they are a racist. It just means they've made a mistake, or didn't realise why their comment can cause offense.
That’s really weird because when I google both them the first photo that comes up shows them looking nothing even close to ‘vaguely similar’. It shows Thuram in a France top with a beard and Kolo Muani in a Frankfurt top with no beard and much shorter hair. Faces look absolutely nothing alike. If you showed me the two of them I simply would have absolutely no doubt it’s not the same guy.
However, I can see why the commentator might have mixed them up, much like I can see why Garry might have mixed up Bojang and Youan, even more so considering he’d have no idea who they were compared to a commentator who has watched these guys god knows how many times.
If Garry O’Connors statement can be construed as racist (which it really can’t) then I’d argue yours is every bit as bad. But as I said, his wasn’t racist and neither is yours. The attempts to portray Garry’s comments as such were appalling. You posted at one point that Garry probably doesn’t have any idea how harmful his comments are. Well I’d suggest you (and the other person on this thread who was kicking and screaming ‘racist’) should take heed of that. Claiming someone has been saying racist thing when they haven’t is very harmful. Harmful for the accused and harmful for the fight against racism.
cameronw-hfc
18-12-2022, 09:22 PM
That’s really weird because when I google both them the first photo that comes up shows them looking nothing even close to ‘vaguely similar’. It shows Thuram in a France top with a beard and Kolo Muani in a Frankfurt top with no beard and much shorter hair. Faces look absolutely nothing alike.
However, I can see why the commentator might have mixed them up, much like I can see why Garry might have mixed up Bojang and Youan, even more so considering he’d have no idea who they were compared to a commentator who has watched these guys god knows how many times.
If Garry O’Connors statement can be construed as racist (which it really can’t) then I’d argue yours is every bit as bad. But as I said, his wasn’t racist and neither is yours. The attempts to portray Garry’s comments as such were appalling. You posted at one point that Garry probably doesn’t have any idea how harmful his comments are. Well I’d suggest you (and the other person on this thread who was kicking and screaming ‘racist’) should take heed of that. Claiming someone has been saying racist thing when they haven’t is very harmful. Harmful for the accused and harmful for the fight against racism.
Both comments were just as bad, I was only saying I can understand a little more as to why Thuram and Kolo we're mixed up than Elie and Bojang. I probably shouldn't have worded it as vaguely similar, even if I stressed its vaguely, but that's my bad probably racist on my part as well. Gary made a mistake, as did the commentators and probably myself as well, all it took was Gary to apologize and say he didn't mean it, nobody is claiming he's racist.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 09:28 PM
Both comments were just as bad, I was only saying I can understand a little more as to why Thuram and Kolo we're mixed up than Elie and Bojang. I probably shouldn't have worded it as vaguely similar, even if I stressed its vaguely, but that's my bad probably racist on my part as well. Gary made a mistake, as did the commentators and probably myself as well, all it took was Gary to apologize and say he didn't mean it, nobody is claiming he's racist.
I’m actually almost impressed that you’re that determined to persist with your original point so much that you’re now suggesting you have also been making racist remarks.
cameronw-hfc
18-12-2022, 10:12 PM
I’m actually almost impressed that you’re that determined to persist with your original point so much that you’re now suggesting you have also been making racist remarks.
Or, I realised I said something that could be seen in that light and held my hands up, despite it being unintentional.