View Full Version : 2022 Wimbledon
04-07-2022, 08:07 AM
Djokovic wins in 4 sets and plays Jannik Sinner in the quarter finals on Tuesday.
Should be a cracker.
Yes that will be a great game. Sinner looks an excellent talent.
04-07-2022, 11:27 AM
That forehand cross-court is a killer. Reminiscent of Andy in his prime. He's quite a slightly built chap too.
04-07-2022, 01:33 PM
Castle tortuous commentary in Kyrgios game. Over and over about Kyrgios incidents and not on the game.
04-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Looks like I missed a cracking day's play.
Kyrgios beat Nakashima in five sets and Cristian Garin pulled off a bit of a shock with a five set win v Alex De Minaur.
Kyrgios will play Garin in the quarter finals.
Taylor Fritz had a more straightforward victory in straight sets v Jason Kubler and he now plays the winner of Rafael Nadal v Botic Van De Zandschulp who play later tonight.
04-07-2022, 08:27 PM
Rafael Nadal is through to the quarter finals to play Taylor Fritz on Wednesday after a straight sets win v Botic Van De Zandschulp.
I got 6 out of the 8 quarter finalists correct but Garin surprised me against De Minaur and I thought Alcaraz would beat Sinner.
The quarter final line up is;
Djokovic v Sinner
Goffin v Norrie
Garin v Kyrgios
Fritz v Nadal
I think the semi finals will be;
Djokovic v Norrie
Kyrgios v Nadal
I think Djokovic v Sinner will be the pick of the bunch and as an outside bet don't be surprised if Fritz takes out Nadal.
Tomorrow Djokovic v Sinner is first up on Centre Court at 1:30pm and Goffin v Norrie is second on Court One so they should start about 3pm.
Once again I'll miss most of tomorrow's play which is a bit rubbish but here's to a good day of tennis.
He's here!
04-07-2022, 08:58 PM
Hopefully he'll send Novax packing.
He's here!
04-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Rafael Nadal is through to the quarter finals to play Taylor Fritz on Wednesday after a straight sets win v Botic Van De Zandschulp.
I got 6 out of the 8 quarter finalists correct but Garin surprised me against De Minaur and I thought Alcaraz would beat Sinner.
Djokovic v Sinner
Goffin v Norrie
Garin v Kyrgios
Fritz v Nadal
Djokovic v Norrie
Kyrgios v Nadal
I think Djokovic v Sinner will be the pick of the bunch and as an outside bet don't be surprised if Fritz takes out Nadal.
Tomorrow Djokovic v Sinner is first up on Centre Court at 1:30pm and Goffin v Norrie is second on Court One so they should start about 3pm.
Once again I'll miss most of tomorrow's play which is a bit rubbish but here's to a good day of tennis.
Nadal looked good earlier. Amazing if he could win three straight slams, but you're right Fritz will be tricky.
04-07-2022, 10:24 PM
Hopefully he'll send Novax packing.
Nochance!
04-07-2022, 10:58 PM
Nadal looked good earlier. Amazing if he could win three straight slams, but you're right Fritz will be tricky.
I'd love to see Nadal do the calendar year Grand Slam. Very tough ask but it would be an outstanding achievement.
Fritz will be a very difficult opponent though, he's a very good grass court player.
05-07-2022, 10:49 AM
Nochance!
Not so sure
05-07-2022, 11:09 AM
Djokovic v Sinner
Goffin v Norrie
Garin v Kyrgios
Fritz v Nadal
Djokovic v Norrie
Kyrgios v Nadal
Have a hunch that today could be the end of a great tournament for Norrie. Likely to be a close one though and could go either way.
05-07-2022, 11:47 AM
Castle tortuous commentary in Kyrgios game. Over and over about Kyrgios incidents and not on the game.
He’s a pain in the arse. Also thought Sue Barker (who I like) seemed awfy keen on wanting Kyrgios fined for wearing a red hat to walk off 😂.. but castle is on a different scale. Biased and annoying in most of his commentary.
Slightly less rational and one I can’t explain too well but Johanna Konta does my nut in too 😁
hibeg
05-07-2022, 01:11 PM
Have a hunch that today could be the end of a great tournament for Norrie. Likely to be a close one though and could go either way.
I thought that Norrie might struggle v Tommy Paul in the last round but he beat him easily
I think he will win today without too much trouble.
Hopefully get home in time to watch it !
05-07-2022, 01:35 PM
How the hell is Norrie not on centre court?
Anyway set 1 to Sinner!
05-07-2022, 02:07 PM
Sinner double break in set 2!
Rafa will be getting his hopes up. :wink:
05-07-2022, 03:08 PM
3rd set Djokovic and a break up in the 4th. Boo!
05-07-2022, 04:24 PM
1 set each in Norrie's match.
05-07-2022, 04:26 PM
Absolutely gutted I missed the Djokovic match, sounded like a classic.
Sinner sounds like he just ran out of steam but is a future Grand Slam winner for me.
Home now for Norrie - Goffin, seems like it's nicely poised!
05-07-2022, 04:50 PM
Norrie in some trouble, Goffin two sets to one up.
05-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Absolutely gutted I missed the Djokovic match, sounded like a classic.
Sinner sounds like he just ran out of steam but is a future Grand Slam winner for me.
Home now for Norrie - Goffin, seems like it's nicely poised!
No really , Novak was absolute garbage for 2 sets before he started playing , I actually thought he was ill as he was accepting getting beat at one stage , Not the normal smashing his rackets or moaning to his box or screaming at himself , He really did play brutal for 2 sets , Deserved winner in the end
Not everyones cuppa T but i like him and hope he wins the whole shebang , It's Nadal and picking his erse at every serve that does my heid in
Mon Nole !
He's here!
05-07-2022, 05:04 PM
No really , Novak was absolute garbage for 2 sets before he started playing , I actually thought he was ill as he was accepting getting beat at one stage , Not the normal smashing his rackets or moaning to his box or screaming at himself , He really did play brutal for 2 sets , Deserved winner in the end
Djokovic
Not everyones cuppa T but i like him and hope he wins the whole shebang , It's Nadal and picking his erse at every serve that does my heid in
Mon Nole !
Novax is the biggest tool in world sport.
I refuse to watch his matches but I see there was a lengthy 'comfort break' when he went two sets down...
Let's just say some remain unconvinced by his 'gluten-free' transformation from brattish also-ran who seemed to get 'injured' if a match wasn't going his way to multiple slam winner.
05-07-2022, 05:11 PM
Novax is the biggest tool in world sport.
I refuse to watch his matches but I see there was a lengthy 'comfort break' when he went two sets down...
Let's just say some remain unconvinced by his 'gluten-free' transformation from brattish also-ran who seemed to get 'injured' if a match wasn't going his way to multiple slam winner.
Like i say no everyones cuppa T , I like him
05-07-2022, 05:16 PM
Like i say no everyones cuppa T , I like him
Apart from his covid behaviour and stance, which I thought was/is particularly poor (albeit there are many like him in all walks of life!).. I don’t really get the hate for him either.
I do understand folk thinking he’s a knob since covid but I never get people trying to play down how brilliant a player he is because they dislike him.
05-07-2022, 05:22 PM
Apart from his covid behaviour and stance, which I thought was/is particularly poor (albeit there are many like him in all walks of life!).. I don’t really get the hate for him either.
I do understand folk thinking he’s a knob since covid but I never get people trying to play down how brilliant a player he is because they dislike him.
This is it for me , The guy is a sensational Tennis player , Unbelievable on his day , And (IMO) Will still win the most majors in history and overtake Nadal and for me will be the greatest tennis player of all time , All in my humble opinion of course , Queue the Federer fans :greengrin
05-07-2022, 05:29 PM
Norrie breaks to serve for the fourth set.
05-07-2022, 05:31 PM
Two sets all, we're into a decider!
He's here!
05-07-2022, 05:45 PM
This is it for me , The guy is a sensational Tennis player , Unbelievable on his day , And (IMO) Will still win the most majors in history and overtake Nadal and for me will be the greatest tennis player of all time , All in my humble opinion of course , Queue the Federer fans :greengrin
Aside from being an utter bellend, it's his anti-tennis 'style' which turns folk off. More of a tennis cyborg than a tennis player. Humanoid not human.
05-07-2022, 05:57 PM
I can appreciate Djokovic is a great player but I just can't take to him either.
I've never really had any feelings either way about him up until this year but couldn't explain why.
Then the 2022 Australian Open happened...
He will never be as universally adored by the tennis public in the same way that Nadal and Federer are and that really bothers him.
Considering his Grand Slam record he should be loved by everyone who loves tennis but he just isn't.
He's undoubtedly still a legend though.
05-07-2022, 06:15 PM
Norrie breaks to serve for the match!
05-07-2022, 06:20 PM
Norrie wins in 5 sets after 3 and a half hours.
Djokovic v Norrie in the semis on Friday.
05-07-2022, 06:22 PM
Well that just completed a wonderful day of sport.
05-07-2022, 06:30 PM
Fritz v Nadal second on Centre Court tomorrow so should be on around 3.30pm and Garin v Kyrgios second on Court One so should be on around 3pm.
He's here!
05-07-2022, 07:08 PM
Norrie wins in 5 sets after 3 and a half hours.
Djokovic v Norrie in the semis on Friday.
Very well done to Norrie. A lot of pressure on him today.
He's here!
05-07-2022, 07:16 PM
I can appreciate Djokovic is a great player but I just can't take to him either.
I've never really had any feelings either way about him up until this year but couldn't explain why.
Then the 2022 Australian Open happened...
He will never be as universally adored by the tennis public in the same way that Nadal and Federer are and that really bothers him.
Considering his Grand Slam record he should be loved by everyone who loves tennis but he just isn't.
He's undoubtedly still a legend though.
Unlike following a football team where ultimately you just want your team to win (though doing so in style is an added bonus) for tennis fans I've always felt it's about more than winning. It's about a certain grace and style of play and the way you carry yourself off court which underpins the greatest champions. Federer and Nadal have both in spades, Djokovic never has.
This was written pre-Australia but it's a decent analysis of why, despite the stats, Djokovic will always be unloved as a player:
https://www.joe.co.uk/sport/everybody-hates-novak-236650
05-07-2022, 09:03 PM
Aside from being an utter bellend, it's his anti-tennis 'style' which turns folk off. More of a tennis cyborg than a tennis player. Humanoid not human.
He’s not anti-tennis at all in my opinion, and you’re honestly the only person or poster I’ve ever heard claim this. He just happens to have been the only player to live with Nadal and Federer with any consistency . Plays as many remarkable attacking shots than Murray or any of our other favourites ever did, and I think you’d praise anyone else managing to stay in points/sets/matches like he does when he DOES need to grind it out. He’s a machine.. that doesn’t make him boring.
As for his conduct off the court, I always used to find him absolutely fine. Hasn’t he been called both a joker and a gentleman in his younger days? Enjoyed his impressions of other players 😀
However I do admit to going off him for his pandemic pantomime, I think he was behaving like a tosser and wouldn’t blame anyone for disliking him purely for that carry-on. That doesn’t change the fact that he’s an awesome tennis player who will retire with a claim to being the best ever and whose record should be greatly respected by all tennis fans.
Mon Rafa 😁
He's here!
05-07-2022, 10:41 PM
He’s not anti-tennis at all in my opinion, and you’re honestly the only person or poster I’ve ever heard claim this. He just happens to have been the only player to live with Nadal and Federer with any consistency . Plays as many remarkable attacking shots than Murray or any of our other favourites ever did, and I think you’d praise anyone else managing to stay in points/sets/matches like he does when he DOES need to grind it out. He’s a machine.. that doesn’t make him boring.
As for his conduct off the court, I always used to find him absolutely fine. Hasn’t he been called both a joker and a gentleman in his younger days? Enjoyed his impressions of other players 😀
However I do admit to going off him for his pandemic pantomime, I think he was behaving like a tosser and wouldn’t blame anyone for disliking him purely for that carry-on. That doesn’t change the fact that he’s an awesome tennis player who will retire with a claim to being the best ever and whose record should be greatly respected by all tennis fans.
Mon Rafa 😁
Re his style, if you follow tennis regularly you'll know my view is far from unique. The link I posted a couple of posts up sums it up well (while accepting that while not easy on the eye it has yielded plenty success).
And yes, mon Rafa (assuming Norrie doesn't reach the final).
Sergio sledge
06-07-2022, 08:28 AM
Federers single handed backhand is perfection and, in an age where the vast majority of players use the double handed backhand, set him apart as a step above everyone else in terms of style of play and talent.
Djokovic has been incredibly successful and will probably end his career as the most successful player of all time in terms of grand slams won, tournaments won and prize money won, but IMHO, Federer will always be the better tennis player due to his style of play and the range of shots he can make.
He's here!
06-07-2022, 08:41 AM
Federers single handed backhand is perfection and, in an age where the vast majority of players use the double handed backhand, set him apart as a step above everyone else in terms of style of play and talent.
Djokovic has been incredibly successful and will probably end his career as the most successful player of all time in terms of grand slams won, tournaments won and prize money won, but IMHO, Federer will always be the better tennis player due to his style of play and the range of shots he can make.
Novax could win 50 slams and he's still never be the all round champion Federer is.
06-07-2022, 03:35 PM
Rafa struggling with injury. He’s digging in for now but difficult to see him lasting long enough to get the 3 sets he needs.
He's here!
06-07-2022, 04:03 PM
I've rarely watched Kyrgios play as he doesn't often figure in the latter stages of tournaments but having seen a lot of him this Wimbledon I can see why Andy Murray describes him as the most naturally talented player in the game.
06-07-2022, 04:20 PM
Just in, Fritz two sets to one up. Nadal calling the trainer.
06-07-2022, 04:39 PM
Kyrgios through to the semis in straight sets.
6-4 6-3 7-6.
06-07-2022, 05:00 PM
Fritz breaks back - 4-4 fourth set.
06-07-2022, 05:13 PM
Nadal breaks to go 6-5 up and will serve to take us into a decider!
06-07-2022, 05:17 PM
Nadal wins the 4th set 7-5.
Decider it is!
06-07-2022, 05:56 PM
Nadal breaks first in the decider and is serving at 4-3 up.
06-07-2022, 06:01 PM
Fritz breaks straight back.
4-4.
06-07-2022, 06:17 PM
Final set tiebreak.
06-07-2022, 06:30 PM
Nadal wins in 5 sets.
Absolutely phenomenal effort, please take a bow!
Kyrgios v Nadal in the semis.
4/4 semi finalists correct!
Fritz is definitely a future Wimbledon champion though.
06-07-2022, 06:41 PM
I do struggle with the Rafa injuries usually coincide with the other guy leading. The wimbledon crowd also. embarrassing how they favour certain players. Sure Rafa will be at it in semi. Hope Kyrgios horses him.
Can't stand Kyrgios. Was gutted he won't today. I'll be backing Rafa next round.
LewysGot2
06-07-2022, 07:55 PM
Can't stand Kyrgios. Was gutted he won't today. I'll be backing Rafa next round.
Would be the case that most folk will be judging by crowd response today after Nadal’s match. Kyrgios’ support will also be affected by his pending court appearance for alleged domestic abuse. Can’t see many folk backing him against that backdrop. When you have the likes of Pat Cash and McEnroe saying he is a bad egg, it can’t be good.
Norrie v Nadal would be the final a lot of people will want. Novax v Kyrgios the tabloid headline writers dream.
He's here!
06-07-2022, 07:57 PM
Nadal wins in 5 sets.
Absolutely phenomenal effort, please take a bow!
Kyrgios v Nadal in the semis.
4/4 semi finalists correct!
Fritz is definitely a future Wimbledon champion though.
Living legend. Quite incredible.
Hope he's fit enough for the semi-final.
He's here!
06-07-2022, 08:08 PM
Why wouldn't the crowd favour Nadal? Probably the most exciting player in the history of the game. His swashbuckling style and (more so in his younger days) dashing looks tick all the boxes. Bottom line, he's a phenomenal sportsman.
He's had a long and battle-scarred career and had an operation shortly before Wimbledon. No surprise he's starting to feel it at his age.
The only top player who you could accuse of being 'at it' in that respect is Novax. Feigned injury regularly as a young player and remains notorious for calling the trainer in times of adversity. It used to do Andy Murray's head in. Lengthy trip to the toilets at two sets down yesterday only to re-emerge a completely new player.
He's here!
06-07-2022, 08:13 PM
Would be the case that most folk will be judging by crowd response today after Nadal’s match. Kyrgios’ support will also be affected by his pending court appearance for alleged domestic abuse. Can’t see many folk backing him against that backdrop. When you have the likes of Pat Cash and McEnroe saying he is a bad egg, it can’t be good.
Norrie v Nadal would be the final a lot of people will want. Novax v Kyrgios the tabloid headline writers dream.
Think Kyrgios might command some support. He's been sensational at this tournament. However the vast majority will be cheering on Rafa.
Part of me would like to see Kyrgios beat Novax in the final. He's bern outspoken in his criticism of Nivax down the years:
https://www.eurosport.com/tennis/australian-open/2021/australian-open-2021-i-just-cant-stand-him-the-nick-kyrgios-and-novak-djokovic-beef-explained_sto8114112/story.shtml
06-07-2022, 08:27 PM
Why wouldn't the crowd favour Nadal? Probably the most exciting player in the history of the game. His swashbuckling style and (more so in his younger days) dashing looks tick all the boxes. Bottom line, he's a phenomenal sportsman.
He's had a long and battle-scarred career and had an operation shortly before Wimbledon. No surprise he's starting to feel it at his age.
The only top player who you could accuse of being 'at it' in that respect is Novax. Feigned injury regularly as a young player and remains notorious for calling the trainer in times of adversity. It used to do Andy Murray's head in. Lengthy trip to the toilets at two sets down yesterday only to re-emerge a completely new player.
Rafa has done the same as Novak convenient injury breaks. Fair enough the crowd favouring Rafa but to that level was ridiculous imo. Not altogether sure his power was not enhanced let's say. His ridiculous routine before serving is bizarre some OCD issues I think.
It's not ridiculous to him and that should be enough to be okay no? It's hardly off putting to the other rplayer and takes seconds.
Are you saying he cheated? How do you mean his power was enhanced?
LewysGot2
06-07-2022, 09:36 PM
It's not ridiculous to him and that should be enough to be okay no? It's hardly off putting to the other rplayer and takes seconds.
And if he is OCD, that's okay too.
Yes that's what I meant
06-07-2022, 10:07 PM
Djokovic and Nadal both practice the dark arts, they are like Chiellini or Ramos, they definitely use ****housery to turn games in their favour imo
07-07-2022, 02:08 AM
Wimbledon is great isn't it? We're experts for two weeks a year, getting all self-righteous about the players' off-court behaviour and making venomous remarks about them.
It must be the greatest soap opera in sport. BBC Sport have got it now till 2027 and it's just as well because they've not much else in terms of live action.
He's here!
07-07-2022, 10:41 AM
Wimbledon is great isn't it? We're experts for two weeks a year, getting all self-righteous about the players' off-court behaviour and making venomous remarks about them.
It must be the greatest soap opera in sport. BBC Sport have got it now till 2027 and it's just as well because they've not much else in terms of live action.
I think that's likely to still be the case for some, but probably more so back in the day when Wimbledon was pretty much the only live tennis we had access to. When I was a kid I had only a vague idea that the other Slams even existed. You could also apply it to various other sports which the BBC afforded their moment in the sun once the football season had finished.
However, these days you can access pretty much any tennis, golf, cricket etc event you want to watch and I started following tennis a lot more seriously once Andy Murray started to make his presence felt. I probably follow it more closely than football these days (better all-round game IMHO) so my remarks about the likes of Novax are based on more than just what I see of him at Wimbledon.
07-07-2022, 01:48 PM
Alfie Hewett beats friend and doubles partner Gordon Reid in three sets to reach the men's wheelchair singles semi finals.
The pair are playing together in the men's wheelchair doubles event where they are attempting to win an incredible 11th Grand Slam title in a row.
07-07-2022, 01:55 PM
It doesn't look very promising for Nadal being able to play tomorrow based on the scenes of him practicing today and his general demeanour walking around the grounds.
07-07-2022, 03:04 PM
Ons Jabeur's hopes of becoming the first African women's singles Grand Slam champion are alive after beating Tatjana Maria in three sets.
07-07-2022, 03:48 PM
Yes I think he probably has over his career. Tennis is one of the poorest sports for testing of top stars. Fair enough about his OCD.
07-07-2022, 04:29 PM
Elena Rybakina has beaten Simona Halep in straight sets so it will be Jabeur v Rybakina in the Wimbledon ladies' final on Saturday.
I think it's slightly ironic, given Wimbledon's ban on Russian players in this year's tournament, that a Russian born player has ended up reaching the final!
07-07-2022, 04:59 PM
Yes I think he probably has over his career. Tennis is one of the poorest sports for testing of top stars. Fair enough about his OCD.
I’d argue Jim that it’s less fair to accuse someone of being a drugs cheat with no real grounds than to get annoyed by him pulling at his clothes!
He's here!
07-07-2022, 05:52 PM
It doesn't look very promising for Nadal being able to play tomorrow bases on the scenes of him practicing today and his general demeanour walking around the grounds.
Yes, think he'll give it until tomorrow morning but suspect he may reluctantly concede he can't continue.
hibeg
07-07-2022, 06:10 PM
Rafa withdraws, shame
07-07-2022, 06:17 PM
Absolutely gutted for him after he was going for the calendar year Grand Slam.
So Kyrgios v Djokovic/Norrie in the final now.
He's here!
07-07-2022, 06:55 PM
Absolutely gutted for him after he was going for the calendar year Grand Slam.
So Kyrgios v Djokovic/Norrie in the final now.
Really scunnered by that news too. The way he was playing a historic calendar slam did not look beyond him.
Also more or less hands the title to Novax I fear.
08-07-2022, 06:21 AM
I’d argue Jim that it’s less fair to accuse someone of being a drugs cheat with no real grounds than to get annoyed by him pulling at his clothes!
True. :greengrin
08-07-2022, 06:42 AM
I've just read an interesting stat that Nadal is only the third player in history (male or female) to pull out of a Grand Slam singles semi final.
The other two were Richard Krajicek in the 1992 Australian Open v Jim Courier and Chris Evert in the 1988 US Open v Steffi Graf.
Courier and Graf both went on to win the final in both events so that's a good omen for Kyrgios!
08-07-2022, 08:55 AM
True. :greengrin
😁👍
08-07-2022, 02:24 PM
Norrie breaks in the first game!
08-07-2022, 02:28 PM
Norrie breaks in the first game!
Djokovic breaks back in the second game!
08-07-2022, 02:41 PM
Norrie breaks again - leads 3-2 first set.
08-07-2022, 02:47 PM
Norrie breaks for a third time this set!
Serving for it at 5-2.
08-07-2022, 02:52 PM
First set Norrie 6-2.
Outstanding!
08-07-2022, 02:53 PM
Time for a 10 minute long toilet break for Novax I imagine.
08-07-2022, 02:53 PM
The game isn't going to continue like this. Djokovic can't play any worse can he?
08-07-2022, 03:36 PM
Second set Djokovic 6-3.
Djokovic will win this in 4 sets.
08-07-2022, 03:45 PM
Second set Djokovic 6-3.
Djokovic will win this in 4 sets.
Can't disagree and he's miles away from his usual standard. This is as poor a game as you'll see.
08-07-2022, 03:46 PM
Congratulations to Alfie Hewitt for reaching the men's wheelchair singles final.
He was 6-2 5-1 down to Gustavo Fernandez but came back to win in 3 sets.
Also great to see the match taking place on Court One.
08-07-2022, 04:08 PM
Third set Djokovic - too easy.
All over now.
08-07-2022, 04:16 PM
Djokovic breaks in the first game of the fourth set.
08-07-2022, 04:53 PM
Djokovic serving for the match.
08-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Game, set and match Djokovic.
Djokovic v Kyrgios in the final.
08-07-2022, 05:09 PM
I thought Novac was a preening, arrogant prick today. Eyeballing individuals in the crowd and mocking them. Idiot.
He's here!
08-07-2022, 05:18 PM
I thought Novac was a preening, arrogant prick today. Eyeballing individuals in the crowd and mocking them. Idiot.
That would be an apt description of him at all times.
Well done Norrie. Terrific championship.
08-07-2022, 06:57 PM
Brilliant match on BBC2 just now, delighted to see this being shown on mainstream TV and not just the red button.
Gordon Reid and Alfie Hewett serving for the first set in the semi finals of the men's wheelchair doubles.
08-07-2022, 07:05 PM
Reid and Hewett win the first set 6-3.
On their way to another Grand Slam final.
08-07-2022, 07:16 PM
Reid and Hewett broken - 2-0 down in the second set.
He's here!
08-07-2022, 07:22 PM
Brilliant match on BBC2 just now, delighted to see this being shown on mainstream TV and not just the red button.
Gordon Reid and Alfie Hewett serving for the first set in the semi finals of the men's wheelchair doubles.
The strength these guys have in their upper bodies is awesome.
08-07-2022, 07:36 PM
Second set's been a disaster - 5-1 down.
08-07-2022, 07:39 PM
The strength these guys have in their upper bodies is awesome.
Yeah I used to play it many years ago (although nowhere near Wimbledon standard!) and it probably doesn't look very easy to play and I can assure you it's even harder than it looks! :greengrin
08-07-2022, 07:39 PM
We're into a decider, Reid and Hewett lose the second set.
08-07-2022, 07:53 PM
Reid and Hewett broken at the start of the final set.
Their attempt to win an 11th Grand Slam title in a row is now in serious danger.
08-07-2022, 07:59 PM
Reid and Hewett break straight back!
08-07-2022, 08:18 PM
Never discount Gordon Reid and Alfie Hewett in a men's doubles Grand Slam!
They break in the final set to lead 4-2!
08-07-2022, 08:30 PM
Reid and Hewett broken when serving for the match.
5-4 Reid and Hewett.
08-07-2022, 08:47 PM
Final set championship tiebreak to decide the match.
08-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Outstanding - Reid and Hewett win 6-3 1-6 7-6!
Great match and a brilliant advert for disability sport.
Hope they can go on and lift the title tomorrow for their 11th Grand Slam in a row!
He's here!
08-07-2022, 10:09 PM
Outstanding - Reid and Hewett win 6-3 1-6 7-6!
Great match and a brilliant advert for disability sport.
Hope they can go on and lift the title tomorrow for their 11th Grand Slam in a row!
Great stuff. Hope Hewett can do the double.
Interesting to hear of your experience of wheelchair tennis. It's not just the strength and stamina involved which impresses me but the skill those playing at the top level possess too.
08-07-2022, 10:58 PM
Great stuff. Hope Hewett can do the double.
Interesting to hear of your experience of wheelchair tennis. It's not just the strength and stamina involved which impresses me but the skill those playing at the top level possess too.
The top players are full time professional athletes and training just as much as their able bodied counterparts.
I'm absolutely delighted to see the match tonight on BBC2 and also on Court 1.
Alfie Hewett voiced his frustrations yesterday that his singles match v Gordon Reid had only been on Court 14 and I think he had a point, especially when the invitational matches, which are effectively just exhibition events, were on the larger courts 2 and 3.
Seeing tonight's match live on Court 1 and live on BBC2 was a huge step forward for disability sport - these players deserve the exposure.
09-07-2022, 02:05 PM
Sadly Reid and Hewett got hammered in today's men's wheelchair doubles final.
09-07-2022, 02:59 PM
Elena Rybakina beats Ons Jabeur in three sets to win the ladies' final.
He's here!
09-07-2022, 03:34 PM
Really enjoyed the ladies final, which can often be a bit flat if it's won in two sets. Virtually no celebration from Rybakina but she spoke very well afterwards, as did Jabeur.
09-07-2022, 06:56 PM
Men's doubles final goes to a fifth set.
09-07-2022, 07:11 PM
Really enjoyed the ladies final, which can often be a bit flat if it's won in two sets. Virtually no celebration from Rybakina but she spoke very well afterwards, as did Jabeur.
Just watched the final, really enjoyed it.
And what are the odds Rybakina will get ko'd early in the US Open. Women's tennis really needs someone to make their mark. Every time someone looks like being the next heir to Serena's throne they disappear just as quick.
09-07-2022, 07:52 PM
And what are the odds Rybakina will get ko'd early in the US Open. Women's tennis really needs someone to make their mark. Every time someone looks like being the next heir to Serena's throne they disappear just as quick.
I think the same thing will happen in the men's game once Djokovic and Nadal have retired.
Women's tennis is certainly a lot more unpredictable in recent years - since 2000 there have been 33 different Grand Slam champions on the women's side, whereas with the men there have been just 20, and just 11 since Roger Federer won his first Wimbledon title in 2003.
09-07-2022, 07:58 PM
Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell beat Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic in 5 sets to win the men's doubles title.
09-07-2022, 07:59 PM
I think the same thing will happen in the men's game once Djokovic and Nadal have retired.
Women's tennis is certainly a lot more unpredictable in recent years - since 2000 there have been 33 different Grand Slam champions on the women's side, whereas with the men there have been just 20, and just 11 since Roger Federer won his first Wimbledon title in 2003.
Yeah I hope the men's doesn't turn out like the women's and I don't think it will. Sinner looks like the next big thing as far as I'm concerned and hopefully Alcaraz will develop into a major winner in the next couple of years.
09-07-2022, 10:17 PM
Elena Rybakina beats Ons Jabeur in three sets to win the ladies' final.
A slight irony there with all the controversy about banning Russian players
hibeg
09-07-2022, 10:34 PM
Don’t think Iga Swiatek will disappear.
She will be favourite to win US Open on the hardcourt and she has won 2 French Opens on clay already
I would expect her to practise more on the grass next year when ranking points are reintroduced
She will probably dominate for quite a few years
09-07-2022, 10:53 PM
A slight irony there with all the controversy about banning Russian players
Yes the irony wasn't lost on me at all!
I didn't really agree with Wimbledon's decision to ban Russian (and Belarusian) players from this year's tournament as one of the reasons given to justify the ban was that a Russian winner would have given the Russians a propaganda victory which Wimbledon wanted to avoid and yet we've ended up with just that with a Russian born player winning Wimbledon and Russia claiming it as their own victory.
Another reason to justify it was that Russian and Belarusian players hadn't condemned Russia's actions in Ukraine and therefore they were seen as being complicit and yet Rybakina said she "didn't understand the question" and "my English is not very good" when asked if she condemns the war in Ukraine.
And thanks to the ban and the subsequent decision of the ATP to strip Wimbledon of ranking points as a punishment, Nick Kyrgios should be ranked around 15th in the world regardless of the score tomorrow and therefore be seeded for the US Open but instead will be ranked 40th and therefore may be unseeded. Novak Djokovic will also drop from 3rd to 7th in the world even if he wins tomorrow.
For players further down the rankings who did relatively well at Wimbledon, such as Liam Broady, Heather Watson and Tatjana Maria, the consequences are even more severe. Based on how they all did at Wimbledon they should be straight into the US Open main draw but now they're all likely to need to go through qualifying.
As Liam Broady said I am failing to see how this is punishing Wimbledon - it just seems to be the players who are bearing the brunt of this decision which I think is unfair.
10-07-2022, 07:03 AM
Yes the irony wasn't lost on me at all!
I didn't really agree with Wimbledon's decision to ban Russian (and Belarusian) players from this year's tournament as one of the reasons given to justify the ban was that a Russian winner would have given the Russians a propaganda victory which Wimbledon wanted to avoid and yet we've ended up with just that with a Russian born player winning Wimbledon and Russia claiming it as their own victory.
Another reason to justify it was that Russian and Belarusian players hadn't condemned Russia's actions in Ukraine and therefore they were seen as being complicit and yet Rybakina said she "didn't understand the question" and "my English is not very good" when asked if she condemns the war in Ukraine.
And thanks to the ban and the subsequent decision of the ATP to strip Wimbledon of ranking points as a punishment, Nick Kyrgios should be ranked around 15th in the world regardless of the score tomorrow and therefore be seeded for the US Open but instead will be ranked 40th and therefore may be unseeded. Novak Djokovic will also drop from 3rd to 7th in the world even if he wins tomorrow.
For players further down the rankings who did relatively well at Wimbledon, such as Liam Broady, Heather Watson and Tatjana Maria, the consequences are even more severe. Based on how they all did at Wimbledon they should be straight into the US Open main draw but now they're all likely to need to go through qualifying.
As Liam Broady said I am failing to see how this is punishing Wimbledon - it just seems to be the players who are bearing the brunt of this decision which I think is unfair.
Yep, Wimbledon (or whoever put pressure on them to apply this ban) have had a howler here and hammered a host of players very unfairly.
10-07-2022, 01:46 PM
6-4 to Kyrgios first set.
10-07-2022, 02:22 PM
Second set to Djokovic 6-3.
Kyrgios should have won that last game.
10-07-2022, 03:11 PM
Third set Djokovic 6-4.
10-07-2022, 03:13 PM
Kyrgios has lost the plot. He has been playing well but now he has lost his concentration
LewysGot2
10-07-2022, 03:13 PM
Hard to see anything other than a Novax win now.
He's just remained fully focused at all times.
10-07-2022, 03:26 PM
Utter nonsense Djokovic can disappear for 10 mins at end of third set. Andrew Castle got to be better than him absolute torturous chat
10-07-2022, 03:45 PM
My wife has said to me that she would love to go to Wimbledon. Kyrgios hit one into the net and she shout oh ya ****er! I've explained that I don't think we can ever go
10-07-2022, 04:10 PM
I like Kyrgios, he's honest and says what other players won't. Heart on the sleeve and no false diplomacy.
He needs to take some responsibility for himself though. Everything isn't down to his box, the umpire, the ball boys and girls etc. He lost the one for himself as much as Djokovic won it.
LewysGot2
10-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Kyrgios has lost it mentally. And soon to be literally
Novax didn't even need to bring any real gamesmanship to the table today
10-07-2022, 04:11 PM
Djokovic wins in 4 sets to win his 7th Wimbledon title and 21st Grand Slam title.
Just_Jimmy
10-07-2022, 04:13 PM
I like Kyrgios, he's honest and says what other players won't. Heart on the sleeve and no false diplomacy.
He needs to take some responsibility for himself though. Everything isn't down to his box, the umpire, the ball boys and girls etc. He lost the one for himself as much as Djokovic won it.He's a dick.
Delighted he lost and I can't stand djokovic either.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
10-07-2022, 04:21 PM
He's a dick.
Delighted he lost and I can't stand djokovic either.
I like him - not sure his antics help him, but could be one of the most naturally gifted players we’ve ever seen …
LewysGot2
10-07-2022, 04:23 PM
Wow.
Asked if he wants more grand slam finals he says he's too tired? He didn't even have to play the semi final...
There's no way the top players of this generation would have said that even in jest ...
10-07-2022, 04:29 PM
Yas Novak , well deserved and here's to many more majors
Gaun yersel son !!
10-07-2022, 04:33 PM
Wow.
Asked if he wants more grand slam finals he says he's too tired? He didn't even have to play the semi final...
There's no way the top players of this generation would have said that even in jest ...
Course they would. Was just a wee light-hearted comment which most of the arena appreciated and laughed at.
His post-match interview was really good.
10-07-2022, 04:35 PM
I like him - not sure his antics help him, but could be one of the most naturally gifted players we’ve ever seen …
Absolutely. Imagine if he had the application and desire that someone like Murray did. He’s a hell of talent.
Tennis isn’t his favourite sport and that’s okay. He definitely has the talent to do great things though.
10-07-2022, 04:39 PM
Wow.
Come on! It was quite clearly a joke. Give the guy a break.
10-07-2022, 04:44 PM
Great match. Novak won when it came to the business end.
He's a master of spin and swerve and also masking the direction of his forehand.
10-07-2022, 04:46 PM
He's a master of spin and swerve and also masking the direction of his forehand.
I can't stand the guy, but he's phenomenal. His serve also gets nowhere near the amount of praise it deserves.
10-07-2022, 05:11 PM
Brilliant tribute to Sue Barker.
Wimbledon won't be the same without her.
10-07-2022, 05:25 PM
In the end Djokovic just about deserved to win it, but Kyrgios can only really have himself to blame. He looked dominant in the 1st set and part of the secind, but he needs to spend less time having 'discussions' with the umpire and shouting and swearing, because he's a really gifted tennis player, not just another guy with a big serve.
hibeg
10-07-2022, 05:26 PM
Well deserved win for Novak, a class above on the tennis court.
Nick was gracious in defeat and I think that he was delighted and surprised to get so far in the tournament
He's here!
10-07-2022, 06:18 PM
Two horrible players in the final so gave it a miss.
Rafa's injury made the men's singles such an anti-climax and unfortunately handed Novax the title.
10-07-2022, 09:50 PM
Brilliant tribute to Sue Barker.
Wimbledon won't be the same without her.
Agree, she is the ultimate professional and will be sorely missed.
10-07-2022, 10:51 PM
Agree, she is the ultimate professional and will be sorely missed.
Hopefully the BBC make a better job of replacing her on their Wimbledon coverage than they did at replacing her on Question of Sport.
23-08-2022, 05:18 PM
Nick Kyrgios: Wimbledon fan to take legal action against Australian - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/tennis/62644396)
A fan who Nick Kyrgios said was "drunk out of her mind" during the Wimbledon final is taking legal action against the Australian tennis player.
Kyrgios, who lost the final to Novak Djokovic in July, (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/tennis/62109725) said the woman looked "like she has had about 700 drinks" as he complained to the umpire about her.
Anna Palus has now instructed solicitors to bring defamation proceedings against Kyrgios.
She accuses Kyrgios of a "reckless and entirely baseless allegation".
"Not only did this cause considerable harm on the day, resulting in my temporary removal from the arena, but Mr Kyrgios' false allegation was broadcast to and read by millions around the world, causing me and my family very substantial damage and distress,"
23-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Nick Kyrgios: Wimbledon fan to take legal action against Australian - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/tennis/62644396)
A fan who Nick Kyrgios said was "drunk out of her mind" during the Wimbledon final is taking legal action against the Australian tennis player.
Kyrgios, who lost the final to Novak Djokovic in July, (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/tennis/62109725) said the woman looked "like she has had about 700 drinks" as he complained to the umpire about her.
Anna Palus has now instructed solicitors to bring defamation proceedings against Kyrgios.
"Not only did this cause considerable harm on the day, resulting in my temporary removal from the arena, but Mr Kyrgios' false allegation was broadcast to and read by millions around the world, causing me and my family very substantial damage and distress,"
She says she's not litigious.
She's a lawyer by profession!
23-08-2022, 11:31 PM
She says she's not litigious.
She's a lawyer by profession!
i can't even remember if her photo was in the media in the following few days after the game, is she just looking for publicity, she's just bringing all this out in the open again when everyone and their dug won't even recall what happened
24-08-2022, 06:18 AM
Incredible story. Attention seeking weird behaviour imo.
Just_Jimmy
28-08-2022, 06:20 AM
Incredible story. Attention seeking weird behaviour imo.Her and him should just pick up the phone and become mates. They're both weirdos.