View Full Version : Dundee Tuesday

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Torto7
10-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Harry Keane, Nesbitt, Doing, Doidge, Mcines, I cannae do it anymore I'm oot.

10-05-2022, 10:00 PM

😀

chippy
10-05-2022, 10:05 PM
Unbelievable this is what we’re considering.

Jesus mother Mary and the wee donkey. Please God no

NC1875
10-05-2022, 10:06 PM

Is that Roy’s laddie ?

10-05-2022, 10:09 PM
Bushiri is one of the worst defenders I can think of ever getting regular game time for Hibs.

10-05-2022, 10:10 PM
Harry Keane, Nesbitt, Doing, Doidge, Mcines, I cannae do it anymore I'm oot.Didn't you spell Christians name correctly?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

The Rebel
10-05-2022, 10:11 PM
Premature Jack-ulation?

I'll get my coat...

Well at least there’s one post that cheered me up. 😆

10-05-2022, 10:13 PM
Is that Roy’s laddie ?

Yes and Robbie is his mum..

Willis1875
10-05-2022, 10:15 PM
Yes and Robbie is his mum..

Steve’s his weird uncle

He's here!
10-05-2022, 10:19 PM
I'm definitely worried. He has the American big talk, but things are going backwards. I understand it will take time for him to understand how everything ticks, but we don't have time to keep regressing at such a pace. He needs to lead from the top and ensure the right people are in the key positions. The PR needs to be backed up now.

Wonder what the odds are on Hibs to be relegated next season. This all feels as rudderless as the Duffy and Butcher eras. As you say the pace at which we're regressing is scary.

10-05-2022, 10:27 PM
Passing Dens after watching the U18s

Passed Martindale followed 3 minutes later by Malky Mackay

That's interesting - have been quite impressed by Martindale personally.

10-05-2022, 10:36 PM
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/12610260/david-gray-hibernian-fans-right-to-be-frustrated

Hibs fans right to be frustrated says SDG

10-05-2022, 10:39 PM
That's interesting - have been quite impressed by Martindale personally.

Livi play Dundee at the weekend

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 10:46 PM
Wonder what the odds are on Hibs to be relegated next season. This all feels as rudderless as the Duffy and Butcher eras. As you say the pace at which we're regressing is scary.

We are rudderless :faf:

We're in the process of hiring a new manager. As for the 'odds are on Hibs to be relegated next season', dearie dearie me. Thought you were done with Hibs, weeks ago you stated that you were. I'd really like all of the guys who post that they're either 'done with the club' or 'not renewing next season' to also stop spreading their relentless negativity. If you're done with the club or not renewing why don't you just do one. :aok:

10-05-2022, 10:56 PM
I like Ron Gordon, I really do, I think he genuinely want's Hibs to be a success. Unfortunately as things stand we are a bloody shambles and confidence that he can change that is quickly ebbing away.
The sad thing from his ( and our ) point of view is that a personal fortune of 75 million quid is absolutely nowhere near the sort of money an owner needs in order to be able to chuck their own personal cash at the problem and not feel it. Tom Farmer was worth around 400 million when he bought the club and he never felt able to do it, lend money, yes, guarantee loans from the bank, yes .... give away money no, apart from to write off a few million near the end, I might even be wrong about that.

Perhaps now the biggest favour Ron Gordon could do Hibs is to seriously think about the remark he made ( in jest? ) a few weeks ago that he would be prepared to sell the club. I've always been of the opinion that these rich middle eastern and American guys who buy EPL clubs are missing a trick when it comes to football, for a small percentage of the money they would need to spend to buy a middle ranked EPL club with even then no guarantee of success they could take over the likes of Hibs and absolutely smash the decades old Glasgow duopoly making headlines all over the football world in the process.

That for me could be the one thing Ron Gordon could do that would ensure his legacy at Hibs and before anybody laughs at the idea how many folk would have put money on two Hollywood superstars buying Wrexham FC? Any owner of Hibs doesn't need to sell the club as such, they need to sell the idea of the possibility of this club overtaking the Ugly Sisters with a 5 year budget most EPL clubs spend in a season.

Turkish Green
10-05-2022, 11:01 PM

What you wondering about? Strange thoughts for a Hibs supporter. This season would have been worse if the other clubs were not as bad as each other. A 10th finish probably but next season is a fresh start.

G2T2H2

10-05-2022, 11:11 PM
We are rudderless :faf:

We're in the process of hiring a new manager. As for the 'odds are on Hibs to be relegated next season', dearie dearie me. Thought you were done with Hibs, weeks ago you stated that you were. I'd really like all of the guys who post that they're either 'done with the club' or 'not renewing next season' to also stop spreading their relentless negativity. If you're done with the club or not renewing why don't you just do one. :aok:

Because it’s a fans forum. A place for fans to give their opinions. Which people will continue to do wether you like them or agree with them or not

And if you can’t accept that other people have their own opinions, potentially it should be you who does one, as you put it.

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 11:14 PM
What you wondering about? Strange thoughts for a Hibs supporter. This season would have been worse if the other clubs were not as bad as each other. A 10th finish probably but next season is a fresh start.

G2T2H2

Very weirdo behaviour. Reminds me of those strange cardigan and brogue wearing residents down Currie, Balerno and Gorgie etc that are completely obsessed with us. What Hibernian supporter would wonder what odds the bookies were offering for us to be relegated next season. Pure weirdo.

10-05-2022, 11:16 PM
Very weirdo behaviour. Reminds me of those strange cardigan and brogue wearing residents down Currie, Balerno and Gorgie etc that are completely obsessed with us. What Hibernian supporter would wonder what odds the bookies were offering for us to be relegated next season. Pure weirdo.

Do you think he’s genuinely looking for odds? He’s obviously used it as a figure of speech in his post.

You’re getting a bit OTT/personal with your abuse.

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 11:21 PM
Because it’s a fans forum. A place for fans to give their opinions. Which people will continue to do wether you like them or agree with them or not

And if you can’t accept that other people have their own opinions, potentially it should be you who does one, as you put it.

Supporters are always welcome to post their opinions. I never see much 'supporting' from you though. You stated tonight that you were not renewing after tonight's dead rubber match and prior to hiring the new manager. Fan maybe, supporter no chance. I want to read much more of the real supporters on here that are behind the scenes putting their hard earned into the club thought's and opinions, not fans? like yourself who've already stated that they are out and won't support the club. Okay pal?

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 11:23 PM
Do you think he’s genuinely looking for odds? He’s obviously used it as a figure of speech in his post.

You’re getting a bit OTT/personal with your abuse.

You've stated that you're no longer willing to back the club. I have no interest in what you've got to say, okay pal?

10-05-2022, 11:35 PM
Supporters are always welcome to post their opinions. I never see much 'supporting' from you though. You stated tonight that you were not renewing after tonight's dead rubber match and prior to hiring the new manager. Fan maybe, supporter no chance. I want to read much more of the real supporters on here that are behind the scenes putting their hard earned into the club thought's and opinions, not fans? like yourself who've already stated that they are out and won't support the club. Okay pal?

I’ve pumped a lot of cash into the club and next season will be the first I’ve not renewed in years.

I’ve actually already stated on here that my main reason for not renewing is I now work weekends which means I won’t be getting the value out of a ST. I was still thinking about renewing but think this season has scunnered me.

Aye fair enough, not all of us can be Uber fans like yourself. I was wholly unaware you had to pay for a ST before you could call yourself a “supporter”

But I’ll continue to give my opinion regardless. Okay pal?

Did I do that right

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 11:41 PM
I’ve pumped a lot of cash into the club and next season will be the first I’ve not renewed in years.

I’ve actually already stated on here that my main reason for not renewing is I now work weekends which means I won’t be getting the value out of a ST. I was still thinking about renewing but think this season has scunnered me.

Aye fair enough, not all of us can be Uber fans like yourself. I was wholly unaware you had to pay for a ST before you could call yourself a “supporter”

But I’ll continue to give my opinion regardless. Okay pal?

Did I do that right

I've no doubt about it that I will be reading your constant negativity on here for years yet to come unfortunately. Okay pal?

10-05-2022, 11:45 PM
I've no doubt about it that I will be reading your constant negativity on here for years yet to come unfortunately. Okay pal?

There’s an ignore button for a reason pal you don’t need to read anything you don’t want to 👍🏼

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 11:54 PM
There’s an ignore button for a reason pal you don’t need to read anything you don’t want to 👍🏼

Ok Stuart93, nae worries, okay pal?

Turkish Green
11-05-2022, 12:30 AM
65% possession. Unable to score sufficient goals since Boyle departed and Nisbet got injured.

11-05-2022, 01:14 AM
65% possession. Unable to score sufficient goals since Boyle departed and Nisbet got injured.

And allowed a team with 35 per cent possession to score three times. Awful.

11-05-2022, 02:16 AM

We weren’t exactly flying when both Boyle and Nisbet were playing every week, albeit things have certainly worsened with them being unavailable.

11-05-2022, 06:32 AM
We weren’t exactly flying when both Boyle and Nisbet were playing every week, albeit things have certainly worsened with them being unavailable.

Look at who we brought in, in January, the transfer window is an opportunity for the manager to strengthen the team.

We brought in 8 players if i remember rightly, Clarke would be the only one i'd class as someone better than we currently had, and as for strengthening the squad/team, do me a favour, it made us worse.

The management commitee put players to the manager, it was clear Ross wanted McCart, we got wood, Ross wanted McGrath from St Mirren, from memory we got JDH. The manager at the time wanted players who would have made us better, he got players who didnt.

Maloney signed players the commitee put to him, player the commitee wanted Ross to sign too, it's no wonder Ross fell out with them, he was getting players he knew were not good enough, but not getting players he really wanted.

Maloney was not strong enough to tell them these players were not ready for 1st team football at Hibs, or if they will ever be good enough.

11-05-2022, 06:38 AM
Look at who we brought in, in January, the transfer window is an opportunity for the manager to strengthen the team.

We brought in 8 players if i remember rightly, Clarke would be the only one i'd class as someone better than we currently had, and as for strengthening the squad/team, do me a favour, it made us worse.

The management commitee put players to the manager, it was clear Ross wanted McCart, we got wood, Ross wanted McGrath from St Mirren, from memory we got JDH. The manager at the time wanted players who would have made us better, he got players who didnt.

Maloney signed players the commitee put to him, player the commitee wanted Ross to sign too, it's no wonder Ross fell out with them, he was getting players he knew were not good enough, but not getting players he really wanted.

Maloney was not strong enough to tell them these players were not ready for 1st team football at Hibs, or if they will ever be good enough.

What’s the excuse for Jack Ross pushing to sign James Scott? A horrible signing. Jamie McCart, as seen this season, is pretty *****. Saved us a good few hundred grand not signing him. We signed JDH at the end of June, he wasn’t instead of McGrath at all given we tried to sign him as well and ****ed it up.

We can’t make out JR was some transfer guru here. He made mistakes too and signed off on every signing we made.

11-05-2022, 06:41 AM

Having watched McCart this season we dodged a bullet in my opinion.

Yes Ross wanted McGrath, but he also wanted JDH, it wasn’t one or the other. He also thought getting Mueller was a real coup, wanted to bring in Henderson and sanctioned a new deal for Josh Campbell. None of these players have made us better.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2022, 06:45 AM
Having watched McCart this season we dodged a bullet in my opinion.

Yes Ross wanted McGrath, but he also wanted JDH, it wasn’t one or the other. He also thought getting Mueller was a real coup, wanted to bring in Henderson and sanctioned a new deal for Josh Campbell. None of these players have made us better.

Nail on the head.

And if anyone was expecting Maloney to give us a better squad in January of all windows when we had just sold the only really good player we’ve had then they’re absolutely off their heads. Selling Boyle was as good as writing off the season by the board. The minute he left there wasn’t a chance we were coming out the January window a better team than we went into it.

Jack Ross made an absolute mess of this squad along with the recruitment team. Maloney didn’t fair any better in terms of incoming and has also made a bit of a mess of the squad but he was also cut off at the knees when we sold the only player of note that we have as soon as he was in the door.

Also, I see McGrath has only managed 2 appearances for Wigan in League One. He doesn’t appear to have been injured so I’d question how much of an impact he would have made as well.

11-05-2022, 06:47 AM

What about Ross wanting McKay and Tait who haven’t kicked a ball for us despite us paying six figure fees? He gave Doyle-Hayes a new deal, Campbell a new deal. Or do we jut pretend that all the bad things were nothing to do with him?

The lot of them have made a complete mess of the squad.

11-05-2022, 06:51 AM
SDG continuing to play pish like Scott and JDH makes me think the back up/B team players must be horrific.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2022, 06:53 AM
SDG continuing to play pish like Scott and JDH makes me think the back up/B team players must be horrific.

The squad is horrific.

When people were moaning about Maloney persisting with certain players/systems I said at the time I didn’t really see any credible alternative to what he was doing.

Maloney is gone and we still have the same players, are still getting the same sort of results and performances and are playing roughly the same system because we don’t really have the players to play anything different. The squad is an abomination and would be relegation fodder over the course of a whole season now that they’ve not got Boyle being a one man team.

We could play Melkersen other than Scott but he’s not been any better. JDH is absolute dug **** but he was dropped yesterday and the team arguably put in its worst performance of the whole season because the replacements are just as bad or in Campbell’s case, considerably worse.

11-05-2022, 06:56 AM
I'm Sure David Gray was a brilliant leader in the pitch

Unfortunately, as we can see that doesn't instantly make them a brilliant motivator as a manager

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

11-05-2022, 06:59 AM
What’s the excuse for Jack Ross pushing to sign James Scott? A horrible signing. Jamie McCart, as seen this season, is pretty *****. Saved us a good few hundred grand not signing him. We signed JDH at the end of June, he wasn’t instead of McGrath at all given we tried to sign him as well and ****ed it up.

We can’t make out JR was some transfer guru here. He made mistakes too and signed off on every signing we made.

McCart is a huge upgrade on Rocky, and we would then probably had a back 3 of McCart Hanlon and Porteous, our shape would have been much better. You do know players can fit in with better players and up their game. We had seen previously how he'd formed a good partnership with Kerr before he left.

How do you know we tried to sign both, McGrath was the managers 1st choice, but we wouldnt pay the money for him, and it looked like he wanted to go south, we then signed JDH. Then when the McGrath transfer broke down he would have signed for us, Ross wanted him but as you say, we couldnt get it over the line, of course that was very convenient for the commitee.

Ross did not push to sign Scott, he signed him late on in the window, as the commitee failed to bring anyone else in, or get whoever the manager really wanted, Scott then became available near the end of the window, and we needed a forward.

11-05-2022, 07:04 AM
McCart is a huge upgrade on Rocky, and we would then probably had a back 3 of McCart Hanlon and Porteous, our shape would have been much better. You do know players can fit in with better players and up their game. We had seen previously how he'd formed a good partnership with Kerr before he left.

How do you know we tried to sign both, McGrath was the managers 1st choice, but we wouldnt pay the money for him, and it looked like he wanted to go south, we then signed JDH. Then when the McGrath transfer broke down he would have signed for us, Ross wanted him but as you say, we couldnt get it over the line, of course that was very convenient for the commitee.

Ross did not push to sign Scott, he signed him late on in the window, as the commitee failed to bring anyone else in, or get whoever the manager really wanted, Scott then became available near the end of the window, and we needed a forward.

You are wrong regarding McGrath. He was due to sign for an English team in the summer window, it was only when that deal fell through that we tried to sign him at the end. The deal with us was agreed, Mathie screwed it up. Nothing to do with us not paying the money. JDH had already signed before any of this happened.

JDH and McGrath are totally different type of players. Ross wanted them both.

11-05-2022, 07:12 AM

McCart would have been massively exposed in this Hibs team as he has been this season for St Johnstone. Brutal defender and I was one who threw my toys out the pram when we signed Wood as our second choice.

McGrath had no interest in staying in Scotland. When he did we tried to sign him. Therefore we tried to sign both. Nothing to do with not paying the money.

James Scott was a signing made on the insistence of Jack Ross. He was the man he wanted to bring in.

You can’t hide from the fact that JR signed off on all of these transfers and also sanctioned new deals for players miles away from being good enough. He’s not free from criticism.

11-05-2022, 07:20 AM
I fear we are on such a rapid downward spiral that it can only end one way; in an insolvency event in 2 or 3 years.

We have a winner. Away and boil yer heed.

11-05-2022, 08:41 AM
Our defence was all at sea last night. So much for Hanlon being the problem

11-05-2022, 08:59 AM
Five loan players featuring last night. Five.

11-05-2022, 09:06 AM
Five loan players featuring last night. Five.

All *****!

11-05-2022, 09:09 AM
Last season we had Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet scoring goals, Gogic and sometime Irvine giving us a bit of steel in the middle.

This season we had Boyle for half a season and a promising start from magennis.

Now we have no goals and a midfield who teams walk through again.

11-05-2022, 09:18 AM
Last season we had Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet scoring goals, Gogic and sometime Irvine giving us a bit of steel in the middle.

This season we had Boyle for half a season and a promising start from magennis.

Now we have no goals and a midfield who teams walk through again.

I feel bad for the strikers a lot of the time, there were a few moments in all previous games but especially one last night where the ball is played up to Melkersen and Scott in a 2 v 6 situation, the amount of time it takes our midfield to offer any support is truly staggering, eventually, you see them jogging into frame by which point the opposition have everyone back in position.

I am not saying the strikers have been great either, but when they are up there on their own vs 4,5,6 defenders, there is very little they can do other than a wonder goal.

11-05-2022, 09:58 AM
I feel bad for the strikers a lot of the time, there were a few moments in all previous games but especially one last night where the ball is played up to Melkersen and Scott in a 2 v 6 situation, the amount of time it takes our midfield to offer any support is truly staggering, eventually, you see them jogging into frame by which point the opposition have everyone back in position.

I am not saying the strikers have been great either, but when they are up there on their own vs 4,5,6 defenders, there is very little they can do other than a wonder goal.

I thought it was a feature of Maloney’s team but this season more than any other I’ve just been mystified by the positions the midfielders choose to take up.

12-05-2022, 02:59 PM
I thought it was a feature of Maloney’s team but this season more than any other I’ve just been mystified by the positions the midfielders choose to take up.

I watched Newell on Tuesday, he was fantastic at moving from being in space to where there were 2 or 3 opposition players. My thoughts were he does not want the ball even when in space, in effect hiding which is what the whole of our midfield do.

Hibiza
12-05-2022, 03:16 PM
I watched Newell on Tuesday, he was fantastic at moving from being in space to where there were 2 or 3 opposition players. My thoughts were he does not want the ball even when in space, in effect hiding which is what the whole of our midfield do.

Bang on Ringo . Can't move forward either square ball at best , usually backwards.

andrew70
12-05-2022, 03:18 PM

Billy big time, heart the size of a pea and nothing to back up his “hardman” image when going around booting players, mouthing off and not to forget his flying lunges. Hopefully he and his Wallyford mucker Doidge go back down south this summer.

12-05-2022, 03:18 PM

Sitting watching the other night, it was really apparent at times. At least half a dozen times he wandered away in to the left back area when Doig was on the ball. Doig was looking for a pass inside/forward and didn’t have one because Newell had just went in to the space behind Doig that Doig had moved out of.

Every so often Newell would have a wee burst of energy, close someone down or whatever which, to me, was just to make it look like he was really trying. The mad thing was that we got our goal from him playing the most simple forward pass in to the channel that you could possibly imagine.