View Full Version : Andy Goram RIP
22-04-2022, 04:20 PM
I know he isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but it has been revealed that Andy Goram is in hospital receiving treatment for cancer.
He’s still a former Hibs player and the disease a horrible one. Can only wish him all the best for a full recovery.
https://news.stv.tv/sport/rangers-legend-andy-goram-being-treated-for-cancer
22-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Sad to hear about anyone having this cursed thing, can only wish him all the best.
22-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Dreadful illness, I wouldn't wish it on anyone. Hope he makes a full recovery.
22-04-2022, 04:32 PM
That’s not good to hear, hope he beats it. A fantastic keeper and I still remember how excited I was when he signed for us. I couldn’t get to many games back then but I made sure I was there for his home debut against Dunfermline. A very good cricketer as well. All the best to him.
Coach Jon
22-04-2022, 04:33 PM
One of our best ever keepers, met him several times when he was here at ER, can only say he was a lovely guy and I wish him all the best.
hibeg
22-04-2022, 04:35 PM
Met Andy quite a few times when he lived near Glencorse Golf Club. He was a good lad. Best wishes to him fighting this horrible diseases
22-04-2022, 04:37 PM
Best wishes to him during this terrible time. Let's hope he makes a full recovery and gets the all clear. A brilliant goalkeeper, it's a shame he went nuts when he played for Rangers, but he wasn't only one who drank the loyalist kool-aid after signing for them.
22-04-2022, 04:41 PM
That’s not good to hear, hope he beats it. A fantastic keeper and I still remember how excited I was when he signed for us. I couldn’t get to many games back then but I made sure I was there for his home debut against Dunfermline. A very good cricketer as well. All the best to him.
Played for Penicuik , As you say a very good cricketer
Met Andy quite a few times when he lived near Glencorse Golf Club. He was a good lad. Best wishes to him fighting this horrible diseases
Yip ,Played him at pool on more than one occasion in the fishers tryst where he would just swan in and put his 50p on the table to play the winner
All the best Andy
Greenwich_Hibby
22-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Probably the best keeper I saw at Hibs.
All the best for a fully recovery Andy.
22-04-2022, 05:26 PM
Best goalkeeper I’ve ever seen, full stop. Wish him well.
22-04-2022, 05:33 PM
Best Hibs goalkeeper by a country mile
Get well soon Goalie
You’ve got this !
22-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Hope he beats it
LustForLeith
22-04-2022, 05:57 PM
One of my favourite ever players at Hibs
Roxyhibee
22-04-2022, 05:59 PM
Best Scottish keeper in my lifetime, was absolutely brilliant at Hibs and as far as I know, had nothing but respect for us. Pretty sure I saw him congratulating Alex Miller on the pitch after our 1991 1-0 Hampden semi final win over his new team, Rangers. That couldn’t have been easy. All the best to him and speedy recovery..
22-04-2022, 06:11 PM
Sad news. Get well soon
22-04-2022, 06:16 PM
I played in goals as a youngster when Goram joined Hibs, he was my first idol, I was a bit too young to appreciate Rough. On his day was truly world class, can’t say that about many players that have played through my time supporting hibs. Wish him all the best.
Hibeewilly
22-04-2022, 06:16 PM
Knew him well at ER great guy. Hope you beat this Andy
22-04-2022, 06:27 PM
Orrabest in your fight Andy - inspired signing by Miller.
Would be worth so much more these days.
22-04-2022, 06:34 PM
Total tosser in his time with Hibs through to the Rankers but I wish him all the best in his fight and recovery from cancer.
22-04-2022, 06:38 PM
Yip ,Played him at pool on more than one occasion in the fishers tryst where he would just swan in and put his 50p on the table to play the winner
All the best Andy
You just jogged my memory there.
Andy use to sometimes pop into the public bar of the old Barnton Hotel
He had an older pal there .
Would sit playing dominoes wae the auld yins for pennies.
Seen him a couple of times back then.
He got peace in there.No hassle aboot fitba.
Get Well Goalie !
PS
Did he not also represent Scotland at cricket,or was to, but fitba got in the way.
Hibiza
22-04-2022, 06:43 PM
All the best Andy , get well .
22-04-2022, 06:53 PM
I know he isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but it has been revealed that Andy Goram is in hospital receiving treatment for cancer.
He’s still a former Hibs player and the disease a horrible one. Can only wish him all the best for a full recovery.
https://news.stv.tv/sport/rangers-legend-andy-goram-being-treated-for-cancer
Hope he beats this horrible disease!
22-04-2022, 06:54 PM
Hope he beats this horrible disease!
Yes get well Andy.
LeithMike
22-04-2022, 06:57 PM
One of the best players at Hibs in my lifetime and by far the best goalkeeper. Wish him the best.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Used to play snooker with him back in the day, loved a gamble, bet on anything. Horrible illness and I hope he gets back to full health soon.
First time I saw him was in Ladbrokes on rose street one lunchtime a few days after he signed for hibs.
Played cricket in the same team as him once and occasionally socialised with him after the cricket
Bit of a lech with the women iirc
Great goalie, best I have ever seen but lost the plot when at rangers.
That said I wish him all the best and hope he fights this.
buktapurple79
22-04-2022, 07:20 PM
Best keeper we've ever had. Hibs legend before he ever went to them. Best wishes Goalie.
Auckland Hibs
22-04-2022, 07:45 PM
Best wishes to him.
Met him a few times, nice bloke - loved a punt and a pint.
Definitely the best keeper I've seen play for us. There was a save he made from a Dariusz Adamczuk header at a midweek game at Parkhead that I still smile about, it was incredible (IIRC we lost 3-1).
Gaffer1875
22-04-2022, 07:48 PM
Get well soon the Goalie
22-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Couple of talking points regards Andy
He of course will likely be remembered more for playing at the now defunct rAngers FC
As all the reports are referring to,but he played four seasons for us.
Andy's dad briefly played for Hibs.Also a goalie
Andy scored twice in his time at Hibs.
Once a loooong kick v Morton.
Am sure many here will recall that.
Another goal V Clydebank in a League Cup penalty shoot out.
He played 4 times for Scotland at International Cricket.
Batted with left hand, bowled with right hand.
Gleamed all this from wiki .So trust its correct !
22-04-2022, 09:02 PM
We only went for him because Celtic gazumped us for Ian Andrews. Andy Goram was the real deal, a genuinely world class player. Really sad how it turned out for him after he signed for Greyskull FC.
stu in nottingham
22-04-2022, 09:05 PM
Sorry to hear this news about Andy, a fantastic goalie - the best Hibs keeper in my lifetime, Scotland too.
Get well soon Andy Goram.
22-04-2022, 09:14 PM
I consider him the best goalie we've had.
Logie Green
22-04-2022, 09:35 PM
All the best Andy
He was in the Carnethy Roadhouse in Penicuik one Friday night towards the end of a season. Got poured into a taxi then made umpteen fine saves at Celtic Park the next day. A thirsty chap but a fine goalkeeper.
22-04-2022, 09:40 PM
He of course will likely be remembered more for playing at the now defunct rAngers FC
I found that annoying as well. Played 5 seasons for us and 7 seasons for them, but of course he’s widely described as just ex-Rangers player.
We never, ever matter to the west coast media.
22-04-2022, 10:04 PM
I found that annoying as well. Played 5 seasons for us and 7 seasons for them, but of course he’s widely described aScotland Well he was cappeds just ex-Rangers player.
We never, ever matter to the west coast media.
Got my sums wrong there.5 seasons.
Indeed his time with us i would suggest he would have had very many tougher games than with them and standing out and playing so good that they bought him.
Another two points .He was our club captain for most of his time with us.
Some media mentioning how many times the rAngers goalie was capped for Scotland
He was capped while with us and Oldham many times.
Anyway gloss over the other stuff and wish him a full recovery from this evil disease.
LewysGot2
22-04-2022, 10:24 PM
Definitely the best keeper we've had, albeit pushed hard by Leighton. He was brave, agile and had great hands. Possibly the best keeper Scotland have had, too. And all at a height that folk would baulk at deploying in the modern game. His technique and all round natural ability saw him put in displays to defy logic. I particularly remember the 10 man win at the Bus Shelter with Gordon Rae sent off early doors. Kano and Archigol netted for us and I think Hen Broon scored from a set piece for them but a major reason we won that day was Goram. He was exceptional and could only have been about 23 or 24 at the time. As good a performance from a goalie there as I've seen.
Obviously, there's a lot of unpalatable baggage that we can't ignore but wish him well in his fight against this horrible disease.
22-04-2022, 10:33 PM
Probably the best keeper I saw at Hibs.
All the best for a fully recovery Andy.
22-04-2022, 10:48 PM
Best goalkeeper I’ve ever seen, full stop. Wish him well.
Agree with you.
Hillsidehibby
22-04-2022, 11:09 PM
My Dad and his dad were mates. Played darts in Fairleys Leith Street before my dad played in the band.
sunshinejim
22-04-2022, 11:54 PM
We paid a mega transfer fee of £325 000 for Goram to Oldham which was unheard of back in the day for a goalkeeper per us. Worth every penny and pound though as he was immense. Rock solid. Only Jim Leighton came close to being in the same class as Roughie despite being a very good goalkeeper wasn't at the same level imo. Aye, I'd opine that Goram was the best ever keeper with Leighton a very close second. Budgie and Conrad Logan deserve a special mention too though.
Wish Andy Goram all the very best in the fight against cancer.
et_hibby
23-04-2022, 12:00 AM
Phenomenal stuff. All the best to him.
23-04-2022, 12:47 AM
A brilliant goalie during a time of brilliant goalies in Scotland. Get well soon Andy 👍
green with envy
23-04-2022, 12:50 AM
Was at both of those games that you are referring to when he scored.The first being the last game of the 1988 season when we were 1-0 down at HT,(won 4-1)at home to Morton, where he kicked it from hand right over Davie Wyllie's head. The reason I remember that particular game as it was my 2 year old son's second Hibs game. Incidentally, he'll be joining me tomorrow for the game at SM. The Clydebank game from memory was on a midweek and AG scored the winning penalty at the cowshed.
23-04-2022, 03:04 AM
You just jogged my memory there.
Andy use to sometimes pop into the public bar of the old Barnton Hotel
He had an older pal there .
Would sit playing dominoes wae the auld yins for pennies.
Seen him a couple of times back then.
He got peace in there.No hassle aboot fitba.
Get Well Goalie !
PS
Did he not also represent Scotland at cricket,or was to, but fitba got in the way.
He did, against Oz and I think he scored 4 runs.
He used to tell the story that one of their bowlers, Merv Hughes, thundered a bouncer at him an d Andy jumped out the way.
Merv stood with hands on hips staring at him and said..
“Stick to football, son”
23-04-2022, 05:53 AM
His save from Pierre Van Hoojidonk is one of the best I have ever seen. It's why I always get irritated when people say things like '£40M is too much for a goalkeeper'. Saves like that win you league titles.
The guy is clearly not without 'interesting' views but you can see how it happens when you move to a club like Rangers. He's still a human being and he's going through a difficult time and I hope he makes a full recovery.
23-04-2022, 06:40 AM
The best performance I have ever seen from a Hibs goalkeeper came to pass on a wet dreich windy night in Paisley 28/9/1988 in a match played in a gale
Gareth Evans gave us the lead then St Mirren threw the kitchen sink at us
Andy Goram was absolutely outstanding that night holding everything on the wet greasy surface and slippery ball as if he was wearing Teflon gloves getting his angles spot on every time repelling attack after attack on his own and loving every wet sodden minute with a big smile on his coupon
His only respite was Stevie Archigol’s ability to retain possession and hold the ball up the park
The Goalie left the field of play at the end of the ninety minutes after a 1-0 away win to a standing ovation from both sets of fans
Get well soon Goalie
McIntosh
23-04-2022, 07:01 AM
First thing, Andy get well soon. I was his guest when he played for Scotland against Australia at Cricket. He was and I am sure is a real character.
One of our greatest goalkeepers for sure, on a par with the magisterial Jim Leighton. As for the greatest goal keeping display, I think that must go to our beloved, Conrad Logan, I have never seen anything like it, particularly in the circumstances.
We all know how dreadful a disease cancer, some here sadly even more than others but I am sure Andy will fight it hard. All the very best to him.
23-04-2022, 08:30 AM
Got my sums wrong there.5 seasons.
Indeed his time with us i would suggest he would have had very many tougher games than with them and standing out and playing so good that they bought him.
Another two points .He was our club captain for most of his time with us.
Some media mentioning how many times the rAngers goalie was capped for Scotland
He was capped while with us and Oldham many times.
Anyway gloss over the other stuff and wish him a full recovery from this evil disease.
No mate your sums were right - played 4 seasons, signing in 1987/88 and leaving end of 1990/91.
23-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Was a fantastic goalkeeper brilliant reflexes and agility. Best I have seen in a Hibs jersey. Hopefully recovers from his illness.
23-04-2022, 09:35 AM
Hopefully he can make a recovery. Real quality player when we had him.
He was a great keeper.
Will leave it at that
23-04-2022, 06:17 PM
Fingers crossed he makes a full recovery. I think he's possibly the only keeper I've ever been excited about us signing and he fully justified it. The best I've seen playing for Hibs by a distance.
27-04-2022, 11:48 AM
Just finished reading the following article in The Scotsman about Andy. Link below
Does come across that Andy was very much enjoying being a Hibby,till he flitted to the twilight zone.
Alert !!
David Duff comments in article .. :rolleyes:
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/springs-in-legs-beating-john-parrott-andy-goram-ex-hibs-chief-sends-message-to-former-easter-road-and-rangers-keeper-3670131
27-04-2022, 12:00 PM
I heard at the time he played for us that he was a good snooker player had a century break.
All the best Goalie
Stonewall
29-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Had the pleasure of playing cricket with him for Linlithgow.
Loved being part of a team and was really friendly and approachable.
Interestingly he admitted to being a really poor catcher of a cricket ball because his hands automatically set up to catch a football.
Wish him all the best in his fight with cancer.
Gaffer1875
30-05-2022, 07:44 AM
News this morning he has terminal cancer and around 6 months to live. Keep fighting Andy!
30-05-2022, 08:45 AM
News this morning he has terminal cancer and around 6 months to live. Keep fighting Andy!
Despite his Sevco guff, he was a phenomenal keeper throughout his career and this is sad to read.
30-05-2022, 08:48 AM
Very sad to hear.
30-05-2022, 08:54 AM
Horrible horrible disease. Good luck Andy, I loved him here at the Hibs, simply brilliant but he only played for that Glasgow mob according to the article today.
30-05-2022, 09:22 AM
Must be terrifying for the guy and his family. Heart goes out to anyone in that position.
He's here!
30-05-2022, 09:29 AM
That's dreadful news.
I remember the late Tommy Burns (another taken by cancer far too young) saying after an Old Firm match in which Goram had been phenomenal: 'When I pass away it will say on my tombstone Andy Goram broke his heart'.
Mike Berry
30-05-2022, 09:56 AM
Sad news this morning. I knew he was ill but didn't realise how bad. He was the best keeper I ever saw play for Hibs, and probably the best I ever saw anywhere. At his peak he was astounding. Talented cricketer as well.
30-05-2022, 10:53 AM
He may have been a tosser (I said this earlier) but I would not wish cancer on anyone and can only hope he remains well, positive and fights on. Best goalkeeper I have ever seen at Hibs.
30-05-2022, 10:58 AM
Despite his Sevco guff, he was a phenomenal keeper throughout his career and this is sad to read.
Incredible goalkeeper for Hibs...a few of us even went to Love Street for a meaningless last game of the season to see his final game in a Hibs shirt. Amazing to think he was second choice for us and we only signed him because Celtic nipped in and signed Ian Andrews.
leith lynx
30-05-2022, 12:00 PM
Sending good wishes to Andy Goram, a great Hibs goalkeeper, sincerely hope he can stay strong without pain. Bloody horrible disease.
Steven79
30-05-2022, 12:08 PM
Incredible goalkeeper for Hibs...a few of us even went to Love Street for a meaningless last game of the season to see his final game in a Hibs shirt. Amazing to think he was second choice for us and we only signed him because Celtic nipped in and signed Ian Andrews.
Didn't Ian Andrews sign for Celtic a year later?
30-05-2022, 12:10 PM
Dreadful news, wouldn't wish this on anyone.
30-05-2022, 12:16 PM
Very sad news, keep fighting Andy😞
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 12:20 PM
Shame. What a generational keeper. Would be nice to get him on the pitch pre game if it was possible
30-05-2022, 12:28 PM
Awful disease. I hope he fights on. Don’t care what his political or religious views were, he was a great servant to our club and to the national team. He also got us a very respectable fee when he left us.
30-05-2022, 12:38 PM
Not that you expect chapter and verse,but he seems to have gone downwards really quickly.
green leaves
30-05-2022, 12:39 PM
Shame. What a generational keeper. Would be nice to get him on the pitch pre game if it was possible
So we can boo him?
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 12:43 PM
So we can boo him?
So be it if you want to boo someone with terminal cancer, we'd certainly make the front pages.
30-05-2022, 12:44 PM
Not that you expect chapter and verse,but he seems to have gone downwards really quickly.
Definitely. A month ago he was hosting a Sportsman's dinner with Frank MacAvennie at the Kirkhouse Inn in Strathblane.
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 12:47 PM
He obviously got caught up with the pish at ibrox, Terry butcher said it was easy to do as it was everywhere and he regrets it.
I think as he's not got long for earth, we can remember his football. Maybe easier for me to say as an atheist who things both Catholic and protestants are daft
30-05-2022, 12:55 PM
Sad news, sounds like he has a real battle in his hands.Awful for him and his family.
30-05-2022, 01:30 PM
Only 58. It's impossible to understand how someone must feel when given such news. The clock is ticking for all of us, but we don't want to be given a date when it will be all over. Damn shame.
At least it gives the family some time to come to terms with it; to say proper goodbyes and prepare. Personally, I've always found losing someone very suddenly and unexpectedly much more difficult to deal with. On the other hand, when someone dies suddenly there is no suffering or illness, but I think it's more difficult for those left behind.
Best of luck to Andy and his family in the time he has left. Make every moment special.
30-05-2022, 01:38 PM
deleting folks posts you dont agree with is bizarre as **** hes an anti catholic racist who hates everything our club stands for
But he played for us and did a brilliant job. Got sucked into the Loyalist craziness at Ibrox, sadly. Still, he's a dying man who deserves compassion.
StarryPloughHSC
30-05-2022, 01:40 PM
But he played for us and did a brilliant job. Got sucked into the Loyalist craziness at Ibrox, sadly. Still, he's a dying man who deserves compassion.
he is an actual racist mate but each to their own
30-05-2022, 01:44 PM
Does that apply that to any Rangers players or only ex-Hibs ones that we like?!
Can we say the same about their fans?
Perfectly normal, decent folk at their day jobs, but the 'craziness' of Ibrox turns them into bigots for 90 mins?
Seems like a convenient excuse.
30-05-2022, 01:44 PM
he is an actual racist mate but each to their own
Aye, I'm not saying he's my cup of tea at all.
StarryPloughHSC
30-05-2022, 01:46 PM
Perfectly normal, decent folk at their day jobs, but the 'craziness' of Ibrox turns them into bigots for 90 mins?
correct mate
StarryPloughHSC
30-05-2022, 01:46 PM
Aye, I'm not saying he's my cup of tea at all.
aye a gathered that mate
OldEast
30-05-2022, 02:06 PM
deleting folks posts you dont agree with is bizarre as **** hes an anti catholic racist who hates everything our club stands for
A Hibs legend, then as you say turned to the dark side. I wish him well.
I wonder why your post was deleted? Reported, or offended an admin? Either way it's censorship.
OldEast
30-05-2022, 02:07 PM
Catholics seem to show little compassion. Religion really is a pox, wish we could be done with it
Religion truly is the root of all evil
He's here!
30-05-2022, 02:08 PM
Some really pathetic posts on here, from one poster in particular. Suspect the thread may need to be shut down.
We can surely do better than this when it comes to expressing sympathy for one of Hibs (and Scotland's) finest players. Anyone who has been through the cancer journey with loved ones will see beyond the nonsense.
Another one stricken down by this awful disease, a disease that cares nothing for who or what you are.
My thoughts go out to his family.
If I hated any club that much I certainly wouldn’t play for them.
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 02:10 PM
Some really pathetic posts on here, from one poster in particular. Suspect the thread may need to be shut down.
We can surely do better than this when it comes to expressing sympathy for one of Hibs (and Scotland's) finest players. Anyone who has been through the cancer journey with loved ones will see beyond the nonsense.
Yep you wouldn't wish cancer on your enemy, having seen it as many others will. It's a horrible death and will effect his whole family. The sad thing is this is the kind of thread fans of other teams will look in on.
I wonder if celtics forum is similar
Steven79
30-05-2022, 02:14 PM
Yep you wouldn't wish cancer on your enemy, having seen it as many others will. It's a horrible death and will effect his whole family. The sad thing is this is the kind of thread fans of other teams will look in on.
I wonder if celtics forum is similar
I suspect it will be much worse.
hibeejeebies
30-05-2022, 02:16 PM
Sad news, wish him all the best.
30-05-2022, 02:21 PM
Having recently lost my best mate to caner, only about 10 weeks from final diagnosis to him passing, my heart goes out Andy and his family.
30-05-2022, 02:41 PM
On a thread about one of our old players who has been sadly diagnosed with a terminal disease we could do without highlighting the man's flaws. If you dislike him don't post, if you dislike his attributes and flaws as a human, don't post out of common human decency.
As my mum died a horrible death due to this disease I can only wish Andy Goram and his family well and hope they have the support to get them through what is coming ahead for them all.
30-05-2022, 02:43 PM
Horrible news.
Give it your very best shot Andy, hopefully there's light at the end of the tunnel for you.
30-05-2022, 02:46 PM
Not sure you are aware but AG went right down the whole Ulster Loyalist plughole.
http://webzoom.freewebs.com/talfanzine/Goram1.jpg
The low point being wearing a black armband for the mid-Ulster LVF leader Billy Wright.
He was a great keeper, best I've seen at Hibs, and I wish him all the best with his illness but there's no point glossing over the darker side to him.
30-05-2022, 02:46 PM
Religion truly is the root of all evil
Probably caused more premature deaths worldwide than any disease.
Mcbizz1998
30-05-2022, 02:53 PM
Not sure you are aware but AG went right down the whole Ulster Loyalist plughole.
The low point being wearing a black armband for the mid-Ulster LVF leader Billy Wright.
He was a great keeper, best I've seen at Hibs, and I wish him all the best with his illness but there's no point glossing over the darker side to him.
Nobody is glossing over anything though are they?
We are aware of the man’s faults but he has been told he has months to live, can’t we just wish him and his family the best?
30-05-2022, 02:56 PM
The double standards on this forum are nauseating at times.
Doesn't matter what the issue is. Racism, bigotry, drink-driving, whatever,
If 'one of our own' does it, they get a pass. Anyone else gets lambasted.
leith lynx
30-05-2022, 02:56 PM
it was deleted for stating some truthful facts about mr goram mate a man who wore a black arm band to commemorate billy wright, pat stanton is my idea of a club legend no racist bigots
I truly hope this horrible disease never darkens your doorstep. If you can't find compassion for a dying man, then please don't post, and by the way, your hero (and mine) Pat Stanton would definitely find some.
OldEast
30-05-2022, 02:57 PM
A measured post, thanks. I'm sure nobody actually wishes him ill, but whitewashing comments about his politics is wrong.
30-05-2022, 03:03 PM
He got pulled into all the hate nonsense by circumstance! That was never the measure of the man, he was/is an idiot who allowed himself to get caught up in it all but his goalkeeping displays were sensational. Best of luck to him in coming to terms with that horrible disease.
30-05-2022, 03:06 PM
Nobody is glossing over anything though are they?
We are aware of the man’s faults but he has been told he has months to live, can’t we just wish him and his family the best?
The post I was replying to tried to imply folk had a problem with AG just because he went to Rangers, which is very much glossing over things. I was just trying to point out in his case there's a lot more to it than that.
Anyway, it's obviously sensitive when the guy is suffering, so I'll shut up and, again, wish him all the best.
30-05-2022, 03:07 PM
He obviously has an addictive personality and is easily led. Would he have been running around with the IRA if he'd signed for Celtic? Probably. He's got serious flaws however the guy has been told he has terminal cancer. Imagine being told you had months to live. Bet none of us actually can. Horrific.
The Baldmans Comb
30-05-2022, 03:08 PM
There isn't getting away from the fact that in his autobiography Goram described Hibs fans as "The worst of all" as well as vocal and active support for terrorist organizations going as far as to wear a black armband in a match against Celtic when one of the terrorists died.
By all means show sympathy and concern for his health problems but is there any need to try to whitewash or worse censor any mention of his sinister past.
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 03:10 PM
Don't think anyone is whitewashing. It's obvious his faults. He went down the rabbit hole of the religion pish that blightens both sides of the arse cheeks. I doubt Dundee motherwell or Falkirk forums if they have a goram thread will be as grimm.
He's not got a cold he's dying a horrible death. Sectarian bigotry is cringe. Two sides of one religion dying over which version of a fairytale is the right one
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 03:11 PM
He obviously has an addictive personality and is easily led. Would he have been running around with the IRA if he'd signed for Celtic? Probably. He's got serious flaws however the guy has been told he has terminal cancer. Imagine being told you had months to live. Bet none of us actually can. Horrific.
Spot on. I think that goes for a good number of the support on both sides, no idea what they are singing about
30-05-2022, 03:25 PM
There were people sticking up for an ex Hibs player from the 70's recenty who was charged with stalking an elderly woman. He was just a poor guy who's lost his wife though. Been through a lot etc.
30-05-2022, 03:25 PM
Nobody is saying that. Goram has displayed disgusting bigotry and pro-terrorist views in the past, which nobody on here has said is okay. He did serve our club superbly before that, and the fact is the guy is dying. I've never met Goram and don't know whether he still holds appalling views, but, regardless, he and his family merit compassion during a terrible situation. It's easy to love your friends; loving your enemy is much harder.
30-05-2022, 03:30 PM
There isn't getting away from the fact that in his autobiography Goram described Hibs fans as "The worst of all" as well as vocal and active support for terrorist organizations going as far as to wear a black armband in a match against Celtic when one of the terrorists died.
By all means show sympathy and concern for his health problems but is there any need to try to whitewash or worse censor any mention of his sinister past.
Where is the censorship? Looks like one post from our pro IRA newbie was removed for trying to (successfully too) put an anti Catholic / racist element to the thread.
I hope no one mentions Anthony Stokes and the IRA (or Elvis) or I'll never be able to watch 2016 ever again.
30-05-2022, 03:35 PM
Nobody is saying that. Goram has displayed disgusting bigotry and pro-terrorist views in the past, which nobody on here has said is okay. He did serve our club superbly before that, and the fact is the guy is dying. I've never met Goram and don't know whether he still holds appalling views, but, regardless, he and his family merit compassion during a terrible situation. It's easy to love your friends; loving your enemy is much harder.
Well said
30-05-2022, 03:41 PM
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 03:47 PM
Brilliant
30-05-2022, 03:50 PM
There’s a time and a place for balanced debate, surely off the back of news about a terminal cancer diagnosis is not that time.
Sad news, wish him all the best.
30-05-2022, 03:53 PM
Great post
He was a top class keeper for us,sad news.
30-05-2022, 03:58 PM
Sad , Sad news
Goram was an unbelievable goalkeeper for us
30-05-2022, 04:03 PM
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2022, 04:08 PM
No many top keepers under 6 foot nowadays, think he was 5"11
LunasBoots
30-05-2022, 04:30 PM
Sad news, I might not agree with his views but he's a human being with a horrible illness, all the best to him
He's here!
30-05-2022, 04:35 PM
Where is the censorship? Looks like one post from our pro IRA newbie was removed for trying to (successfully too) put an anti Catholic / racist element to the thread.
I hope no one mentions Anthony Stokes and the IRA (or Elvis) or I'll never be able to watch 2016 ever again.
Indeed. Who would set their moral compass by what a footballer says or does? A great many of them aren't the sharpest people around and are easily led down the wrong road. A fair few Hibs players post-Goram would fit that bill.
30-05-2022, 04:39 PM
Sad , Sad news
Goram was an unbelievable goalkeeper for us
Agree totally
Edina Street
30-05-2022, 04:45 PM
I think it might have been Ian Colquhoun's book "From Oblivion to Hampden" I read it in. Apparently, Hibernian were in such desperate need of a striker during the 1989-90 season, Alex Miller actually considered puting Andy Goram up front and replacing him in goal with Chris Reid. If true, it just goes to show what an all-rounder Andy was. Cricketer. Amateur boxer. Goalkeeper, and striker.
I will always remember the look Wee Robbo gave Andy when Andy saved his penalty during the 1990 tennents sixes Semi-Final penalty shoot-out.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q71h87JNgp0
30-05-2022, 04:50 PM
Best keeper I’ve seen in goals for us . Horrible disease , bloody sin .
green leaves
30-05-2022, 04:55 PM
Cancer is an evil disease,having literally watched a relative effectively rot to death,a sight and smell I'll never forget.
If someone is a **** when they're alive then no malady will stop them being a **** when they're ill or pass away.
Bridge hibs
30-05-2022, 05:01 PM
His reflexes were unbelievable, also when he punched the ball, the ball screamed, as did the heads he leathered too !!
Always remember his goal too Vs Morton on 07/05/1988 in Scottish League (H 3-1)
30-05-2022, 05:32 PM
I think it might have been Ian Colquhoun's book "From Oblivion to Hampden" I read it in. Apparently, Hibernian were in such desperate need of a striker during the 1989-90 season, Alex Miller actually considered puting Andy Goram up front and replacing him in goal with Chris Reid. If true, it just goes to show what an all-rounder Andy was. Cricketer. Amateur boxer. Goalkeeper, and striker.
I will always remember the look Wee Robbo gave Andy when Andy saved his penalty during the 1990 tennents sixes Semi-Final penalty shoot-out.
I loved the answer he gave to the final question of the interview following the semi final win there.
Hibees1973
30-05-2022, 06:14 PM
Best goalie I've ever seen in a Hibs jersey and in my opinion the most talented Scottish goalie ever.
Was ahead of his time with the ball comfortable at his feet.
Hope Andy makes the most of the time he has left.
My best wishes to Andy and his family.
30-05-2022, 07:19 PM
Great Post, I met AG a few times while he was at Hibs and he certainly didn't express any of the nonsense he got caught up with at ibrox, he was a good lad and Great company aswell, not to mention the best keeper I've ever seen in a Hibs or Scotland shirt
30-05-2022, 08:24 PM
Great Post, I met AG a few times while he was at Hibs and he certainly didn't express any of the nonsense he got caught up with at ibrox, he was a good lad and Great company aswell, not to mention the best keeper I've ever seen in a Hibs or Scotland shirt
I was raised Catholic and I'm sure Goram in the past has sung songs celebrating the murder of people like me. I don't know whether he still does, but I forgive him anyway. I actually pity such a lack of perspective. It's an issue for the man and his conscience. As Martin Luther King said of white supremacists in America, "we will beat them with love." We all have regrets; none of us are perfect. We try to improve over time.
30-05-2022, 08:35 PM
It's almost frowned upon now, what with the fashion for playing out from the back but I thought it was a real advantage that where needed, Goram could kick the ball box to box from his hands.
ErinGoBraghHFC
30-05-2022, 08:43 PM
I was raised Catholic and I'm sure Goram in the past has sung songs celebrating the murder of people like me. I don't know whether he still does, but I forgive him anyway. I actually pity such a lack of perspective. It's an issue for the man and his conscience. As Martin Luther King said of white supremacists in America, "we will beat them with love." We all have regrets; none of us are perfect. We try to improve over time.
As was I, and I’m not a big chapel goer nowadays but my interpretation of the whole thing was to forgive, to love one another and to help each other and those most in need. Andy Goram is in need, and I forgive him. I don’t agree with the politics he seemed to get sucked into at Ibrox, I am disgusted by the arm band for Billy Wright. But at the end of the day, he’s a human being and if you’re wanting to get into the religious side of things… he’s Gods creation just like any of us. God bless Andy, all the best.
30-05-2022, 08:44 PM
It’s really sad and devastating for anyone to be battling such a challenging illness . I wish him and his family all the best .. fight strong Andy [emoji119][emoji120]
30-05-2022, 09:01 PM
Sad news. Keeper when I was going home and away so hardly missed a game he played. Best I’ve seen in a Hibs jersey. I remember moaning when Miller signed him thinking the money could be better spent strengthening the team elsewhere! Superb for us.
DIXIHIBS
30-05-2022, 09:03 PM
Sad news. I remember going to see hibs v oldham in the isle of man when it was rumoured we were interested in him. Meant to be a closed doors game but all the hibbies on the tour found out and there was hundreds of us at the game. Seemed a nice lad but went to the dark side.
30-05-2022, 09:04 PM
As was I, and I’m not a big chapel goer nowadays but my interpretation of the whole thing was to forgive, to love one another and to help each other and those most in need. Andy Goram is in need, and I forgive him. I don’t agree with the politics he seemed to get sucked into at Ibrox, I am disgusted by the arm band for Billy Wright. But at the end of the day, he’s a human being and if you’re wanting to get into the religious side of things… he’s Gods creation just like any of us. God bless Andy, all the best.
Well said. We are all flawed, some more than others, but we try to grow. As Samuel Beckett said in relation to all of us, "We try again, fail again, fail better." To be human is to fall short whilst trying to improve.
cameronw-hfc
30-05-2022, 09:15 PM
Met Andy as a kid at a coaching session for Keepers. Seen my Hibs top and told me "I played for the Hibees, your dad might know me! Wish I had a kit like that though".
He was brilliant, cracking jokes with the kids the full time and spent ages talking with some of the parents afterwards.
Never got to see him play myself but he came across a top guy. Shame to see the news and hope him and his family get through this.
Understand he's been controversial and had his downs in the media, but he was brilliant with me as a kid and just as good with the parents who were obviously all fans.
30-05-2022, 09:18 PM
I’ll remember the Andy Goram that was absolutely inspirational for me as a teenage Hibs fan, the one who as easily the best GK we ever had, the one who seemed to ride every bird in Edinburgh in the late 80’s and the same one who could’ve kicked my erse all over an Edinburgh park (after I called him a Hun) but chose to ask me to listen to his side of the story and was very complimentary about the Hibs.
The Rangers Andy Goram was pretty sickening to everyone who idolised him from his time at ER but I can send my best wishes to the Andy Goram that played for the Hibs.
hibbydog
30-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Sad news. Can only wish him peace. Awful for the guy and his family.
stu in nottingham
30-05-2022, 10:21 PM
Well said gents, these posts say it all for me. I'm glad to read them and yes I am a Catholic too. It is all about the forgiveness, we are all flawed.
30-05-2022, 10:26 PM
Some nice posts here after a difficult day, well done :aok:
Capt Mainwaring
31-05-2022, 12:16 AM
Such sad news and my best wishes to out to Andy and his family 💚
Best Hibs goalkeeper over the last 40 years by some distance
31-05-2022, 09:35 AM
MY best wishes to the goalie and his family.My mum had the same cancer but got six months more than the doctors predicted.
Best Hibs goalkeeper ever.
31-05-2022, 09:48 AM
Scott Crabbe's mullet :lolyam:
Actually, Scott Crabbe :lolyam:
That 6s pen is probably the only time he scored against us?
31-05-2022, 09:49 AM
Such sad news and my best wishes to out to Andy and his family
Best Hibs goalkeeper over the last 40 years by some distance
I think you could safely say best Hibs goalkeeper ever. Disagree about the distance though, Leighton and Roughie are pretty close behind him.
Some of the dross we've had to put up with since those 3 has been sair to bear!
31-05-2022, 10:52 AM
So be it if you want to boo someone with terminal cancer, we'd certainly make the front pages.
I suspect Goram would only want to walk out on to one pitch. And its not ER.
Stairway 2 7
31-05-2022, 11:00 AM
I suspect Goram would only want to walk out on to one pitch. And its not ER.
It would be daft to presume either way, but it would be classy to ask. I'm certain he would get a good ovation. It might be beyond him by the time the season gets going though
CL0762
31-05-2022, 11:40 AM
I’m positive he took part in a halftime penalty shootout at Tynecastle one derby?
Too young to have seen him play for Hibs but seen plenty of footage of him.
Horrible disease and without going into the personal preferences of his, hope he and his family can find the closure in this difficult time.
Have lost 2 Grandparents to this disease in the last 5 years and it’s horrific.
31-05-2022, 11:58 AM
I’m positive he took part in a halftime penalty shootout at Tynecastle one derby?
Too young to have seen him play for Hibs but seen plenty of footage of him.
Horrible disease and without going into the personal preferences of his, hope he and his family can find the closure in this difficult time.
Have lost 2 Grandparents to this disease in the last 5 years and it’s horrific.
I saw him home and away during his entire time at Hibs, was exceptional! His first game against the jumbos, Craig Levien with his ego and arrogance thought he could just kick the ball from kick off right over AG's head to score. AG plucked it out of the air with such ease and grace that we went on to win that day 2-1.
31-05-2022, 12:31 PM
This is such sad news to hear. What a keeper and character when he played for us.
For me Andy Goram is much more a classic daft footballer than anything else either malign or good. The stories about his behaviour are by any standards very odd in an impressively very wide range of circumstances. I think if he hadn't got himself into one ill judged set of problems he would inevitably have got himself into others. In the context of his having this terrible diagnosis all I care about is to wish him well, somehow.
G15 Hibs
31-05-2022, 12:32 PM
Scott Crabbe's mullet :lolyam:
Actually, Scott Crabbe :lolyam:
That 6s pen is probably the only time he scored against us?
Off topic, but Crabbe scored Falkirk's consolation goal on the last day of the 1998-99 season when we won 2-1 before being presented with the First Division trophy. He celebrated by running the length of the East Stand cupping his ear, resulting in the last few minutes of the game being played out to a background chant of "He's blue, he's white, he's First Division *****, Scott Crabbe".
As for Goram, a great keeper throughout his career. Whatever he got into in his life away from football's up to him, he who is without sin and all that. For what it's worth we met him in a pub in Arbroath of all places a few years back and he was more than happy to sit and have a laugh with us, get photos taken etc. Didn't seem any harm in him. I wish him the best.
31-05-2022, 12:49 PM
This is such sad news to hear. What a keeper and character when he played for us.
For me Andy Goram is much more a classic daft footballer than anything else either malign or good. The stories about his behaviour are by any standards very odd in an impressively very wide range of circumstances. I think if he hadn't got himself into one ill judged set of problems he would inevitably have got himself into others. In the context of his having this terrible diagnosis all I care about is to wish him well, somehow.
Exactly how I see it.
A bit daft at times, a bit easily led but almost all the people I know who know him speak highly of him.
Yorkshire HFC
31-05-2022, 01:17 PM
What does it matter that someone played football for a few years, what team he played for or whether he was good or not?
At the end of the day, he's just a man, like everyone else.
I can't begin to think how terrifying it must be to hear that news and I hope that he's dealing with it as best he can.
He's here!
31-05-2022, 01:24 PM
Off topic, but Crabbe scored Falkirk's consolation goal on the last day of the 1998-99 season when we won 2-1 before being presented with the First Division trophy. He celebrated by running the length of the East Stand cupping his ear, resulting in the last few minutes of the game being played out to a background chant of "He's blue, he's white, he's First Division *****, Scott Crabbe".
As for Goram, a great keeper throughout his career. Whatever he got into in his life away from football's up to him, he who is without sin and all that. For what it's worth we met him in a pub in Arbroath of all places a few years back and he was more than happy to sit and have a laugh with us, get photos taken etc. Didn't seem any harm in him. I wish him the best.
Crabbe missed a penalty in that game which would have put Falkirk 1-0 up. As you say his one and only goal against Hibs ended up being a meaningless consolation.
An unlikely pic from that game shows Paul Hartley being held aloft by the Hibs fans after the trophy presentation!
https://thehiblog.wordpress.com/2017/12/01/hibs-2-1-falkirk-8-may-1999/
Stairway 2 7
03-06-2022, 04:57 PM
Update from goram
Just a wee update..
As you know I took a wee turn for the worst Tuesday…
I had another scan Tuesday and unfortunately the cancer has spread far to quickly for normal…
The situation is that now the surgeon has let me know I just have between 4 - 6 weeks to go 😩
There’s lymph nodes in my neck that has been attacked by the cancer and I’m now going to the Beatson Monday to get a protector fitted ready for a session of radiotherapy on Tuesday to blitz it….
If been told that later next week I’ve got the first bed available for St Andrews Hospice to spend some quality time with my Son Danny and grandkids and of course my family…..and friends..
It’s a quality place with the best facilities and medication…
Tbh it’s the best place to be for my treatment and for R+R so I’m looking forward to getting there..
Thanks again for all your love and support and you really have no idea how much it means to me
03-06-2022, 05:03 PM
Yes, the prognosis revised to a few weeks left now, with the cancer spreading aggressively. He must be terrified; just imagine receiving that news....
03-06-2022, 05:04 PM
Update from goram
Just a wee update..
I had another scan Tuesday and unfortunately the cancer has spread far to quickly for normal…
The situation is that now the surgeon has let me know I just have between 4 - 6 weeks to go [emoji30]
There’s lymph nodes in my neck that has been attacked by the cancer and I’m now going to the Beatson Monday to get a protector fitted ready for a session of radiotherapy on Tuesday to blitz it….
If been told that later next week I’ve got the first bed available for St Andrews Hospice to spend some quality time with my Son Danny and grandkids and of course my family…..and friends..
Tbh it’s the best place to be for my treatment and for R+R so I’m looking forward to getting there..
Thanks again for all your love and support and you really have no idea how much it means to me
Sending love and respect to him S27….hope he enjoys every moment with family and loved ones . It must be incredibly difficult for him and those close to him ..hope they are together xx
03-06-2022, 05:07 PM
Update from goram
Just a wee update..
The situation is that now the surgeon has let me know I just have between 4 - 6 weeks to go 😩
That is horrendous, dreadful news and could happen to any one of us at any moment.
I can't even begin to imagine how I'd feel with hearing that and knowing I only had weeks left to live.
Thoughts are with him and his family.
03-06-2022, 05:09 PM
Yes, the prognosis revised to a few weeks left now, with the cancer spreading aggressively. He must be terrified; just imagine receiving that news....
Happened to a boy at work. Actually gave him a lift home as he was away to Portugal on holiday the next day and the van needed to stay at work. This was 8 weeks ago. He's now gone. Absolutely frightening.
03-06-2022, 05:11 PM
Happened to a boy at work. Actually gave him a lift home as he was away to Portugal on holiday the next day and the van needed to stay at work. This was 8 weeks ago. He's now gone. Absolutely frightening.
Was he unaware he was ill at that point?
Stairway 2 7
03-06-2022, 05:15 PM
Jeez what a shame for the family too, life just turned upside down
03-06-2022, 05:18 PM
Was he unaware he was ill at that point?
Not until the diagnosis. Had been complaining of sore stomachs. Turns out it was advanced pancreatic cancer.
He's here!
03-06-2022, 06:08 PM
That is horrendous, dreadful news and could happen to any one of us at any moment.
I can't even begin to imagine how I'd feel with hearing that and knowing I only had weeks left to live.
Thoughts are with him and his family.
Been along that road with both friends and relatives and it's an awful thing watching someone fade away. The only solace I took, if that's the right word, is that for those I knew it seemed as though their bodies knew it was time to go and there was a certain peace about the final days, far removed from the pain they'd been in not so long ago.
Was at a player of the year many moons ago at Hibs club. Andy was there, Brilliant guy, banter and very talkative to all. Very sad news, Hes went online and informed everyone of his latest news, dont care that he left us, as he wont be the last to do that. He still is a gentleman in our eyes .
B
03-06-2022, 06:45 PM
Not until the diagnosis. Had been complaining of sore stomachs. Turns out it was advanced pancreatic cancer.
Pancreatic cancer is notorious as a silent killer, often having few symptoms until it's very advanced. Very sad.
03-06-2022, 06:54 PM
I can’t imagine it.
We can only pray and hope that the time he has left is as comfortable and pain free as possible.
03-06-2022, 08:13 PM
I can remember being in the Hibs end at Tannadice right behind the goals with Goram in them. Can't remember the date or year but I think Darren Jackson smashed the ball towards the Hibs goal and in a split second you thought Goal! Goram saved it with incredible reflexes.
An amazing goalkeeper for us and who should be fondly remembered.
The stuff he got into after signing for Scotland's equivalent of the Ku Klux Klan was very sad. However, every human is fallible and he was with us before he got involved in that nonsense.
All the best Andy and I pray for miracle.
03-06-2022, 09:04 PM
Pancreatic cancer is notorious as a silent killer, often having few symptoms until it's very advanced. Very sad.
Puts things in perspective. The silly things don't matter. Enjoy life while we can.
03-06-2022, 09:09 PM
That is frightening. I hope Andy can find some joy and light is his remaining time.
Please all, be kind. Life is short.
03-06-2022, 09:28 PM
That one is an absolute *******. It’s crossed my path twice horribly. I’d give a lot to see it detected earlier.
03-06-2022, 10:55 PM
Several cancers can present when it's too late. The thing is to get checked regularly for this and that, especialy if one leads a full life.
03-06-2022, 11:21 PM
My own mum was diagnosed with cancer in July 2017 and was gone within 5 weeks.
04-06-2022, 07:24 AM
One of many things I hate about modern day football is the goalkeepers that will roll about the ground or go down and stay down at the most minor of touches.
What I always remember about Andy Goram was that when he sensed an opposition player challenging him to the ball, he always made sure it was the opposition player who came of worse. There was more chance of the opposition player rolling around the ground than him.
Also remember the goal he scored in the Morton game at home in an end of season match. And, IIRC, his first game for Hibs was home to Dunfermline, a game we won comfortably, but I recall a cracking save late in the game that kept it a cleansheet. I'm pretty sure the next game was a 2-1 win against the Hertz that ended one of their long runs of avoiding defeats against us.
One of the best goalkeepers I've seen playing for Hibs. Sad to read the news about him.
05-06-2022, 12:16 PM
Several cancers can present when it's too late. The thing is to get checked regularly for this and that, especialy if one leads a full life.
Yes, I believe pancreatic cancer and ovarian cancer in women are often symptom free until very advanced, which of course makes treatment much more difficult. I think pancreatic cancer has the lowest survival rate of any.
SonOfDavidFrancey
05-06-2022, 12:38 PM
Yes, I believe pancreatic cancer and ovarian cancer in women are often symptom free until very advanced, which of course makes treatment much more difficult. I think pancreatic cancer has the lowest survival rate of any.
Also stomach - often just appears as weight loss or anaemia
05-06-2022, 12:58 PM
My dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2013, it was devastating, as he thought he only had a few months based on what the consultant said.
However, they offered a whipples operation which actually did the trick for a time - he was then reasonably fine until early 2017 when he started to go downhill and died a year later.
His experience - 5 years from diagnosis - is at the absolute outside limit of what anyone may expect from it, horrible disease.
On the plus side, he was well enough to get to the match on 21st May 2016 !
05-06-2022, 02:03 PM
My dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2013, it was devastating, as he thought he only had a few months based on what the consultant said.
However, they offered a whipples operation which actually did the trick for a time - he was then reasonably fine until early 2017 when he started to go downhill and died a year later.
His experience - 5 years from diagnosis - is at the absolute outside limit of what anyone may expect from it, horrible disease.
On the plus side, he was well enough to get to the match on 21st May 2016 !
I'm glad to hear that. He did very well to last that long after a pancreatic cancer diagnosis. Very few make it long term, sadly.
05-06-2022, 05:32 PM
Shocking and very sad news about Goram. Cannot imagine what he must be going through. Just awful.
Hibiza
05-06-2022, 05:58 PM
So sorry Andy , words not enough . Love kevin
LustForLeith
05-06-2022, 05:58 PM
Such sad news
For me my favourite Hibs keeper and one of my favourite Hibs players
Gerard
05-06-2022, 08:16 PM
Sad news. I wish him all the best luck in the World.
Peanut Shaz
05-06-2022, 08:53 PM
My friend is in recovery from chemo and a major op for advanced ovarian cancer. Was told she might not survive the op. No symptoms at all until it was well past the initial/early stages. She's doing well but probably just caught it in time. Frightening.
06-06-2022, 06:41 AM
Awful news and having lost my dad and best friend to aggressive cancer, it's dreadful to watch as well. Hope he gets to spend some time with his family while he still can.
06-06-2022, 04:06 PM
My friend is in recovery from chemo and a major op for advanced ovarian cancer. Was told she might not survive the op. No symptoms at all until it was well past the initial/early stages. She's doing well but probably just caught it in time. Frightening.
Yes, ovarian cancer is said to be very difficult to detect early on. It's good your friend is doing well; fingers crossed :aok:
02-07-2022, 11:41 AM
Andy Goram passed away today age 58.
RIP, so sad.
RIP Andy, very sad news, far too young.
ElginHibbie
02-07-2022, 11:46 AM
Brutal, RIP
02-07-2022, 11:48 AM
RIP Andy
An unbelievable goalkeeper for Hibs , Condolences to the family
son of haggart
02-07-2022, 11:49 AM
Terribly early to go. The only Hibs goalie ever to get a standing ovation from Hearts fans, I'd guess. A real character too. RIP
02-07-2022, 11:50 AM
Really sad news. Unbelievable goalkeeper.
SideBurns
02-07-2022, 11:54 AM
Incredible goalkeeper (all the more so as he wasn't the tallest), and just a flawed human being like the rest of us - terribly sad news. RIP, Andy.
02-07-2022, 11:55 AM
Amazing Hibs keeper…RIP
I am so sad to hear this. Goram was a fantastic keeper for hibs and was head and shoulders above the rest of our team at that time. Imagine if we had him in goal at other times
02-07-2022, 11:57 AM
Only ten weeks or so since the news that he had cancer. That's really sad.
Gloucester Hibs
02-07-2022, 12:00 PM
Best keeper I’ve ever seen at ER. Him and John Collins were my first Hibs heroes - RIP Andy
hibee
02-07-2022, 12:01 PM
Sad news, best keeper I’ve seen play for us, still remember his debut and being amazed how good he was!
02-07-2022, 12:06 PM
Very sad news. Andy was a fabulous goalie and although not tall he made up for his lack of height by having incredible athleticism.
RIP Andy
leith lynx
02-07-2022, 12:08 PM
Very sad, Andy Goram was a great goalkeeper for Hibernian, thoughts are with his family, rest in peace Andy, gone far too soon.
02-07-2022, 12:09 PM
RIP Andy, you'll always be the best goalkeeper I ever saw.
02-07-2022, 12:13 PM
Sad news. The best keeper I’ve seen play for Hibs.
NC1875
02-07-2022, 12:17 PM
Just read he was capped for Scotland at cricket too. Never knew that!
02-07-2022, 12:20 PM
A world class goalie.
02-07-2022, 12:21 PM
Terribly early to go. The only Hibs goalie ever to get a standing ovation from Hearts fans, I'd guess. A real character too. RIP
I remember that, what a performance.
LustForLeith
02-07-2022, 12:24 PM
Sad news
Was saying the other day maybe my favourite ever Hibs player.
Started going when he signed for the club. Remember his debut against Dunfermline when we won about 4-0. Goram had nothing to do but a shot flew inches passed the post late on. “That was close” someone shouted. Goram, from the other side of the goal shouted “had it covered”
That save in the European game where the commentator was saying it was a goal
Me waiting to play football for the school on a Saturday morning and Goram rolling in from the night before hours before a game where he’s play a worldy looking a little worse for wear
Legend
02-07-2022, 12:27 PM
The lad was talented, also good snooker player. Could also score a goal or 2.
R.I.P Andy you were one of my all time favourite Hibs player.
02-07-2022, 12:31 PM
The lad was talented, also good snooker player. Could also score a goal or 2.
R.I.P Andy you were one of my all time favourite Hibs player.
For anyone born in the early 70s (including myself) he's got to be right up there.
02-07-2022, 12:32 PM
Best Hibs goalie ever, that I've seen certainly, RIP.
02-07-2022, 12:42 PM
From memory he played against Australia when he was on our books. Was told not to but played anyway and took the fine. Only hung up his cricket gloves when he moved west.
Mike Berry
02-07-2022, 12:45 PM
At his peak he was arguably the best keeper in the world. Very sad news.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
02-07-2022, 12:46 PM
RIP probably best keeper I have seen at ER also used to love his stories in my local in Bonnyrigg about his World Cup exploits .
02-07-2022, 12:54 PM
RIP The Goalie.
green with envy
02-07-2022, 12:56 PM
So sad in reading this. First saw Andy playing against Hibs during an away friendly to Oldham in the late 80s. I'm sure we signed him on the back of that game. RIP to one of the Hibernian greats.
Pete70
02-07-2022, 12:58 PM
Top class goalie, best I’ve seen at Hibs. RIP.
02-07-2022, 01:01 PM
Such sad news. RIP Andy.
Best Hibs goalie I've ever seen and best performance I've seen by a Hibs keeper at the piggery in that 3-1 defeat when he saved us from an absolute hammering.
02-07-2022, 01:05 PM
Sad news. R.I.P Andy Goram. What a keeper he was at Hibs, and he took it up a level or two at the Hun (along with every thing else).
RIP Bestie
02-07-2022, 01:07 PM
RIP Goalie.
You really were Simply the best.
Ionastreethibs
02-07-2022, 01:07 PM
Very sad news. I recall seeing him score from a goal kick against Morton in 1988 I think it was.
02-07-2022, 01:09 PM
To echo everyone else's sentiments he's the best goalie I've ever seen at Hibs, RIP
02-07-2022, 01:14 PM
RIP to one of the the goalkeeping greats. Sad news.
Sad news, cancer is such a horrible disease.
02-07-2022, 01:24 PM
From memory he played against Australia when he was on our books. Was told not to but played anyway and took the fine. Only hung up his cricket gloves when he moved west.
Yes Alex Miller told him to stick to the fitbaw, but Andy done as he pleased. Remember seeing him at Craiglockhart tennis courts. I went over to him & said " I hope you've been given permission to play tennis " He just laughed.
There cannot be many sportsman out there being capped for your country in 2 different sports.
Also seen him in Shandon snooker centre on a Friday night before a game.
Finally remember we were playing Hamilton @ Hamilton & during warm up he shouts over to me "What was the winner of the 2.30"
Before you ask I didn't know him & wasn't stalking him.
02-07-2022, 01:25 PM
Just seen the news, condolences to his family and friends.
EL Green
02-07-2022, 01:26 PM
Very sad news.
RIP Andy.
aljo7-0
02-07-2022, 01:27 PM
Really sad news. RIP Andy.
02-07-2022, 01:31 PM
Best keeper I've seen playing for Hibs. Saw him score twice for us, once v Morton from a kick out and once in a league Cup game v Clydebank in a penalty shoot out on a miserablewednesady night after another terrible Hibs performance. Sad day
Very sad news. R.I.P. Andy.
B
02-07-2022, 01:41 PM
Miserable news and a real shame. What a keeper. RIP
02-07-2022, 01:42 PM
RIP Andy, what a fantastic keeper you were.
02-07-2022, 01:49 PM
Sad news. A fantastic goalkeeper.
His rivalry and friendship with Jim Leighton was legendary and he was an integral part of the success Rangers enjoyed and relative success Scotland had throughout the 90s.
I met him only once, that I can recall. 1995 in Glasgow airport. Rangers were off on a pre season tour whilst I was flying on a family holiday. It was when he was recovering from his big injury. I asked for his autograph and a picture, he was only too happy to oblige and clocked my Hibs strip. He said a few nice things about Hibs, I told him I was a goalkeeper like him and he joked it had been that long since he had played he couldn't remember what he was.
He's here!
02-07-2022, 01:49 PM
One of Hibs' best ever players. Shame he mostly gets referred to only as a Rangers player as he was a huge player at ER and Oldham as well.
02-07-2022, 01:52 PM
Only 58, a real shame. The best keeper I've seen at Hibs, he was tremendous.
02-07-2022, 01:58 PM
Rest in peace.
h1bs4life
02-07-2022, 01:58 PM
Very sad news just 58 years old RIP Andy a fantastic goalkeeper
02-07-2022, 01:59 PM
RIP Andy - a superb keeper and larger than life character. Was a real pleasure watching him between the sticks at ER. A true sportsman of rare talent!
02-07-2022, 02:03 PM
Great keeper for us, sad to see him go so young.
RIP.
Hibiza
02-07-2022, 02:03 PM
R.I.P Andy.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-07-2022, 02:06 PM
RIP Goalie, pains all gone now [emoji172]
02-07-2022, 02:14 PM
Devastating RIP Andy top Goalie
USAHibee
02-07-2022, 02:19 PM
Fantastic goalie and a proper old school character, rip Andy
LeithMike
02-07-2022, 02:35 PM
One of my favourite players when a young Hibee and definitely the best goalkeeper to play for Hibs. I remember even thinking then he was the best in the world. I'm not sure I've ever thought that about any other Hibs player.
I heard he was a decent snooker player as well as cricketer so clearly very talented.
Andy, Andy. Andy, Andy.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
02-07-2022, 02:37 PM
Awful news. Easily the best goalie I've ever seen. RIP
02-07-2022, 03:05 PM
I've seen some great goalies at ER, but Andy goram was the best.
Tragic he's been taken so young. RIP Andy
Scotty Leither
02-07-2022, 03:19 PM
A goalkeeper ahead of his time with the ball at his feet, and great command of his area for a guy who wasn’t the tallest.
That night in Liege was the best performance I’ve ever seen from a goalkeeper, only to be beaten by that freak strike from the Liege player.
On a different note, he was born only 3 days before me, makes you ponder your own mortality, but he was certainly a guy who lived his 58 years to the full.
“I can understand why Stranraer lie so lowly, they could save a lot of points by signing Hibs’ goalie.”
Rest easy, Andy.
02-07-2022, 03:27 PM
Whatever sport/game Andy took part in,he was certainly competitive.
I think it was during his spell at Motherwell, Andy had an old pal who was a regular in the old Barnton Hotel public bar.
I used the pub now and again, though most regulars i knew there were jambos fae Clerry.
Anyway, i digress.
Andy would sometimes be seen in the bar having a game of dominoes with his old pals.
10p a corner ! When he won, it was a big shout from Andy.
Like a cup win!
That is a nice memory to have of Andy.
Sadly his time with oldco had him snared into the North of Ireland loyalist bile.
requiescat in pace
Mcbizz1998
02-07-2022, 03:54 PM
Before my time at hibs but undoubtedly one of the greatest in the game up here.
Very sad news.
Greenwich_Hibby
02-07-2022, 04:02 PM
Best goalie I ever saw. RIP Andy.
02-07-2022, 04:12 PM
I still remember his first game for Scotland at Hampden, when the Fans were singing "Andy Goram, you're not English any more".
Taking the lead from the Motherwell Supporters at the time he played for them, I'd lust like to say a sad farewell to both Andy Gorams.
hibeg
02-07-2022, 04:16 PM
RIP Andy. Like many he was the best keeper I saw at Hibs
02-07-2022, 04:24 PM
I interviewed him once for a fanzine not long before he left for Rangers. He came across as a humble and down to earth guy who was perhaps a little crazy.
RIP Andy.
02-07-2022, 04:27 PM
Really awful news. RIP Andy.
02-07-2022, 04:48 PM
Really sad news. Was brilliant for Hibs. RIP Andy.