View Full Version : Ron Gordon answers fans questions after the sacking of Shaun Maloney
HendoDelivered
20-04-2022, 04:46 PM
https://youtu.be/OZNb5kY5vWY
20-04-2022, 04:56 PM
https://youtu.be/fzK7HfKaFQs
20-04-2022, 04:57 PM
Ron goes on quite a bit about stability and winning in the Q&A - the "loser mentality" posters will surely love that?
Hes basically said they lost confidence in Maloney, didn't get it right but the club(outwith the first team) is all moving in the right direction
Based on the stats that he throw out in terms of revenue growth, B team, facility upgrades etc he is right
He freely admitted they need to get the football side right - hence the change they are making
I think he made alot of valid points there and was fairly upfront on them losing confidence in Maloney (didn't see improvement in many players or week to week getting better)
EDIT - I havent seen the video above so will watch that now
20-04-2022, 05:02 PM
I've been very critical of him in recent weeks - but I'm loving him this week.
We failed, he acted promptly and appropriately.
He's also immediately come out and faced the media and given us answers, explained his decision.
Obviously I'd rather we were parading trophies and it was all sweetness and light but I like what he's saying and doing.
I disagree with his opinion re Persevere but there you go, it's his opinion.
Turkish Green
20-04-2022, 05:04 PM
From video, I get a feeling that RG did not follow football in Peru. His knowledge is pure US garnered. But he can talk the talk.
HibsGW
20-04-2022, 05:04 PM
He's also immediately come out and faced the media and given us answers, explained his decision.
Obviously I'd rather we were parading trophies and it was all sweetness and light but I like what he's saying and doing.
I think the point he was making was that persevering doesn’t achieve success, going out and making success happen is what gets success. I think that’s backed up by his decision of getting rid of Maloney. I get the impression if we aren’t achieving the goals we’re setting, we’re going to be ready to change things to try another way until we get it right.
20-04-2022, 05:10 PM
Just watched that. Spoke brilliantly. Never shirked anything. 100% consistent with his previous statement on where he wants the club to get to.
davhibby
20-04-2022, 05:12 PM
You can see where he’s coming from re Persevere with his point of view as an outsider. I like that he understands that we’ve been serial underachievers for a long long time.
Fingers crossed the next manager can change that
The Tubs
20-04-2022, 05:13 PM
To me, he sounds more like Harry Swan than Tom Farmer, and I'm sure that's why Farmer sold him the club. He wants to shake Hibs out of its comfort zone of being average. I don't know if he'll get it right, but he's probably the best chance we have.
20-04-2022, 05:14 PM
Have to say I was starting to worry about things. But fair play to RG he's faced the media and more impressive he's faced the fans.
Think he's right in a lot of what he said about moving on the right direction outwith the playing side. I just hope he realises that the playing side is the most and to some only important thing. Next appointment is huge.
Fair play asking the question about Ian Gordon as well.
HendoDelivered
20-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Presser: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzK7HfKaFQs&t=9s
Turkish Green
20-04-2022, 05:18 PM
I am still none-the-wiser who came up with Shaun Maloney as top of the list to replace Jack Ross. And will it be the same procedure this time.
20-04-2022, 05:24 PM
I am still none-the-wiser who came up with Shaun Maloney as top of the list to replace Jack Ross. And will it be the same procedure this time.
He spoke about how that was a lesson learned in terms of them rushing the last appointment
hibeejeebies
20-04-2022, 05:26 PM
First thing we need to sign is a new broadband contract for Ron.
Hibiza
20-04-2022, 05:27 PM
I'm none the wiser to anything :confused:
20-04-2022, 05:31 PM
It was a tombola. Using a different one this time.
In truth, it was a committee. They got it wrong and they are going to do it again, just more slowly.
johncrobertson@
20-04-2022, 05:35 PM
Watch Jambo McLaughlin interviewing RG on BBC . McLaughlin is a disgrace and should be banned from Easter Road. Putting words in peoples mouths is not reporting facts. Twisted person!!
20-04-2022, 05:35 PM
He always talks a good game, and that gets the support thinking it's going to be all great. But nothing on the pitch backs it up. That's the thing football supporters want - a team that wins. And he said today he thinks the player recruitment was good. Sorry but if that's what he thinks is a good level of player, we aren't going to do anything.
the_ginger_hibee
20-04-2022, 05:39 PM
Ron goes on quite a bit about stability and winning in the Q&A - the "loser mentality" posters will surely love that?
You ragin'?
Glad to hear Ron calling most of our history out as average, not good enough and doing everything at club to change that. Amazing and refreshing honesty we are not used to. Great to hear.
20-04-2022, 05:41 PM
He always talks a good game, and that gets the support thinking it's going to be all great. But nothing on the pitch backs it up. That's the thing football supporters want - a team that wins. And he said today he thinks the player recruitment was good. Sorry but if that's what he thinks is a good level of player, we aren't going to do anything.
Back to pussbook with the rest of the ghouls you go.
MikeyS
20-04-2022, 05:42 PM
Although a better manager may get more from them and in 6bmonths time we could very well be raving about what good signings Henderson, Mitchell & Clarke have become
Let's be honest, of the new players we have brought in it looks to me like Rocky is the real dud. The others all have something about them.
20-04-2022, 05:43 PM
Watch Jambo McLaughlin interviewing RG on BBC . McLaughlin is a disgrace and should be banned from Easter Road. Putting words in peoples mouths is not reporting facts. Twisted person!!
I can only see a written interview on the BBC site
MikeyS
20-04-2022, 05:43 PM
Back to pussbook with the rest of the ghouls you go.
Correct!
20-04-2022, 05:46 PM
I can only see a written interview on the BBC site
Where they play up that he wants to sell the club!
20-04-2022, 05:47 PM
Although a better manager may get more from them and in 6bmonths time we could very well be raving about what good signings Henderson, Mitchell & Clarke have become
Let's be honest, of the new players we have brought in it looks to me like Rocky is the real dud. The others all have something about them.
Even then Rocky is only 22! He'll get better with game time.
I said at the time I thought Maloney was well backed in January and stand by that.
20-04-2022, 05:48 PM
Aye I think Ron has his number,though.
Now Reporting Scotland sport section headlining
"Ron Gordon says he does not want to sell the club"
Thats McLaughlin's trickery.
Ron should tell him that was his last interview.
20-04-2022, 05:48 PM
From video, I get a feeling that RG did not follow football in Peru. His knowledge is pure US garnered. But he can talk the talk.
did he not do an in-depth interview with a Spanish/American podcaster where they talked a fiR bit about football attending and watching in Peru? This would have been found about the time he took over Hibs - the podcaster was quite a big name from memory.
LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 05:49 PM
Brian McLaughlin is a shambles. What a poisonous questioning approach. He is a mouthpiece dealing in BBC Scotland pro Bus Shelter rhetoric of which he needs no training in. Good god
MikeyS
20-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Even then Rocky is only 22! He'll get better with game time.
I said at the time I thought Maloney was well backed in January and stand by that.
I'm no sure there is much improvement in him to be honest but fingers crossed he does!
I agree too, Maloney was well backed.
GreenGray
20-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Pretty sure it was mainly a Kensell decision. Swear i read somewhere that they didn’t even accept applicants?
20-04-2022, 05:54 PM
I think If Ron met Neil Lennon he’d appoint him
Wants a born winner with winners mentality
20-04-2022, 05:57 PM
You too ! My thoughts as well
20-04-2022, 05:57 PM
Have to admit, the more I was listening to the press and podcast guy interviews earlier I was thinking the exact same.
20-04-2022, 06:02 PM
You ragin'?
Glad to hear Ron calling most of our history out as average, not good enough and doing everything at club to change that. Amazing and refreshing honesty we are not used to. Great to hear.
Why would I be ragin that our owner wants our modus operandi to be win?
20-04-2022, 06:02 PM
Exactly what I thought when I listened to the presser
Mcbizz1998
20-04-2022, 06:03 PM
Yep. I can see that being the case.
20-04-2022, 06:03 PM
That's not Lennon then...as much as he tells everyone it is.
First thing we need to sign is a new broadband contract for Ron.
Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 06:11 PM
You ragin'?
Yes, brilliant and very refreshing from Ron.
A fair few in our support won't like the fact he pointed out how average we have been in our history and more recently with all the recent trips to Hampden where we haven't won any trophies on the back of 2016. I take it from Rons remarks that we will at long last see the end of the nice guys who have been with us for too long now. Time to get winners in. Well said Ron.
20-04-2022, 06:12 PM
Have to admit, the more I was listening to the press and podcast guy interviews earlier I was thinking the exact same.
Were there two separate interviews done today?
I only saw the one on the Hibs YouTube channel.
20-04-2022, 06:12 PM
Neil Lennon chucked 10 in a row and got himself mutually consented from us after an altercation with his own player.
20-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Were there two separate interviews done today?
I only saw the one on the Hibs YouTube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOOEFlhvuXY&ab_channel=LongbangersPodcast
gaz1875
20-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Brian McLaughlin is a shambles. What a poisonous questioning approach. He is a mouthpiece dealing in BBC Scotland pro Bus Shelter rhetoric of which he needs no training in. Good god
He's a heart ****, one of the first questions to Maloney after the game on Saturday was, you had 14,000 fans at the game today. ****in roaster of a man trying to get a cheap dig. hearts ****!!!
20-04-2022, 06:15 PM
Neil Lennon chucked 10 in a row and got himself mutually consented from us after an altercation with his own player.
He did but he talks a good game and think Ron would love that.
It's also probably one of the very few times supporting Hibs that I went to every game, including the old firm and actually could see us winning. But then again, it did go chebs up in the end.
20-04-2022, 06:16 PM
Neil Lennon isn't a winner. He's a winner, loser and drawer. Come on, you can't seriously tell me the bloke who botched the easiest gig ever at Celtic is a winner?
Hopeless at Hibs too when stubbs players left. He might still do a job for us, and I might take him, but he isn't some mythical winner.
Daniel 1875
Ron talks a good game no doubt but he’s a businessman.
If the business side of the club excels then the football side should prosper too but the owner talking about the abilities or otherwise of players and coaches live on tele is a little concerning (imo).
We have no football people in decision making roles at the club at the moment. The new regime’s first appointment didn’t work and we need to hope the next one pans out better, but they appear to have needlessly ripped up the old football structure and left us with three non-football people at the helm.
Steve88
Neil Lennon also won countless amounts as a manager. 10 in a row is irrelevant to Hibs and/or any club outside Celtic
20-04-2022, 06:17 PM
For our budget and where we are
Who you realistically getting with experience - an impressive cv with medals as both player and manager?
Wasn’t sold on Lennon return
But hearing Ron I’m convinced if Lennon wanted an interview with hibs it would
happen pretty easily.
Would much rather a Lennon than some Jonathan woodgate type.
20-04-2022, 06:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOOEFlhvuXY&ab_channel=LongbangersPodcast
Thanks.
OldEast
20-04-2022, 06:18 PM
did he not do an in-depth interview with a Spanish/American podcaster where they talked a fiR bit about football attending and watching in Peru? This would have been found about the time he took over Hibs - the podcaster was quite a big name from memory.
Yes and he spoke with knowledge and a bit nostalgia about Peruvian teams and players.
20-04-2022, 06:19 PM
Still nothing said about where BK is and what his role in this has been
20-04-2022, 06:22 PM
Still nothing said about where BK is and what his role in this has been
Was he asked that?
20-04-2022, 06:25 PM
Yes and he spoke with knowledge and a bit nostalgia about Peruvian teams and players.
Cue Peruvian magic and Scottish heartbreak
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THMHg8BYhpk
20-04-2022, 06:28 PM
I feel a lot better having watched Ron’s interview.
davhibby
20-04-2022, 06:28 PM
He did but he talks a good game and think Ron would love that.
It's also probably one of the very few times supporting Hibs that I went to every game, including the old firm and actually could see us winning. But then again, it did go chebs up in the end.
The final 3/4 months of Lennon were every bit as bad as anything we’ve had this season
20-04-2022, 06:29 PM
Who you realistically getting with experience - an impressive cv with medals as both player and manager?
happen pretty easily.
Maloney would have been brilliant if he had the best Scottish player of his generation in his team as well.
20-04-2022, 06:31 PM
The final 3/4 months of Lennon were every bit as bad as anything we’ve had this season
Can't deny that. But from what I remember a lot of that was down to the public slating of Flo and Lennon maybe not feeling backed by the club. Look how the whole Flo thing turned out in the end.
Anyway, don't want to turn this into a whole other Lennon 15 pager. Just think from listening to his interviews today him and Lennon would get on well.
I feel a lot better having watched Ron’s interview.
I also liked him admit in hindsight he was a little hasty in sacking Ross. :top marks
Wouldn’t take that excuse merchant then.
20-04-2022, 06:32 PM
I also liked him admit in hindsight he was a little hasty in sacking Ross. :top marks
Same, was surprised by that. Still speaks like he has a lot of respect for Ross and his time here.
20-04-2022, 06:35 PM
Totally agree.
JamesHFC
20-04-2022, 06:36 PM
That's not Lennon then...as much as he tells everyone it is.
Name me managers with a better cv than Lennon within our range.
20-04-2022, 06:37 PM
I'm none the wiser to anything :confused:
What were you hoping might be covered?
20-04-2022, 06:40 PM
I thought Ron did well there and as he explained, all metrics other than the first team results are very positive. He didn’t shy away from the season being a disaster and he’s acted to try to rectify that.
Surprised nobody has mentioned that Ron suggested our turnover is up 50%. That’s absolutely massive progress. The wage bill up 30% odd I think he said in last 2 years?
We just need to get this appointment right, that’s the bottom line. Everything is in place to be successful
20-04-2022, 06:41 PM
His son is in charge of recruitment so he is hardly going to be critical of him in public at this point
20-04-2022, 06:41 PM
So did i
He could have sideswiped that.
Also i dont remember any club chairman in a TV interview really being as frank and open as he was.
David Murray liked to do these things.But he usually set the questions first!
I also thought he put McLaughlin in his place in a humorous way regards "selling the club"
Only for the sleekit jambo to spin it for a headline on the BBC Reporting Scotland tonight,as if Ron was seeking a buyer.
JamesHFC
20-04-2022, 06:44 PM
He seemed pissed off and actually passionate about the club. I have no doubt he wants the best for us. He backed recruitment but it has to be better, he says the budget is bigger than before when we were signing better players so it must be better, we also need to get a marquee signing to replace Boyle.
20-04-2022, 06:46 PM
His son is in charge of recruitment so he is hardly going to be critical of him in public at this point
Think he answered that well enough too. His Son is in charge of a team of six and what they basically do is find out the players value, what sort of wage they'd command etc. I'm guessing it's totally different and we have a separate scouting team.
Recruitment is the most important part of a football team and you'd probably want the person overseeing that to be someone you trust, in pop Ian Gordon.
20-04-2022, 06:46 PM
Was he asked that?
Na surprisingly not. There’s been nothing from BK for quite a bit now
20-04-2022, 06:53 PM
Yes, just watched that. Anyone who didn't follow football watching that rubbish from the twat would have the impression that the supporters are in uproar over the sacking and wanting Gordon out.
Paulie Walnuts
20-04-2022, 06:53 PM
Same, was surprised by that. Still speaks like he has a lot of respect for Ross and his time here.
What did he say? I listened but was cooking dinner so must have missed it.
Edit: never mind, found it :aok:
20-04-2022, 06:55 PM
Yes, just watched that. Anyone who didn't follow football watching that rubbish from the twat would have the impression that the supporters are in uproar over the sacking and wanting Gordon out.
I thought McLaughlan’s questions were exactly what I would have asked as a minimum
20-04-2022, 06:56 PM
I thought McLaughlan’s questions were exactly what I would have asked as a minimum
To run with a headline that “Gordon open to selling Hibs” is totally ridiculous. It was a light hearted answer to a question based on lies from McLauchlin:
20-04-2022, 06:59 PM
Re-assuring to hear that his son is more in the background co-ordinating things than directly identifying transfer targets.
Also like what he said about wanting continuity but that's not a reason to stick with the wrong man.
A bit concerning at the lack of responsibility/ acknowledgement over recruitment which has been poor and left us short in key areas.
To run with a headline that “Gordon open to selling Hibs” is totally ridiculous. It was a light hearted answer to a question based on lies from McLauchlin:Ban him and make sure its a huge industrial sized ban, hie carcass requires it.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
20-04-2022, 07:07 PM
You’d have asked if Gordon was open to selling hibs because a few fans have said they want him gone? Come on
the_ginger_hibee
20-04-2022, 07:15 PM
Why would I be ragin that our own wants our motto modus operandi to be win?
It's exactly what some people on here have been saying. Let's move from average to winners. I didn't get your dig about "loser mentality" fans loving what he's saying as if that's a bad thing; shows those opinions are in sync with the owner of our club.
Re-assuring to hear that his son is more in the background co-ordinating things than directly identifying transfer targets.
areas.
His son will be his eyes and ears. Placing him there shows the importance he places on this area.
hibee1875
20-04-2022, 07:24 PM
I was concerned about the clubs direction but having watched the PR and his call with the fans I’m pretty calm again.
Yes we all want success on the pitch but prolonged success needs stable foundations and he’s definitely succeeding in that in terms of revenue increases and development team success.
What a season st Johnston had last season, but will they ever replicate it or even come close? Doubt it. We could have fluke seasons like that where everything just seems to line up right but it’s not sustainable.
Get the next appointment right and we’ll be back on track.
Paulie Walnuts
20-04-2022, 07:25 PM
Having now listened to both videos I think he comes across a lot better in his interview with the press. :agree:
Not that he comes across badly with the fans but his interview with the press is quite emphatic. Good job Ron.
20-04-2022, 07:27 PM
Yes, brilliant and very refreshing from Ron.
A fair few in our support won't like the fact he pointed out how average we have been in our history and more recently with all the recent trips to Hampden where we haven't won any trophies on the back of 2016. I take it from Rons remarks that we will at long last see the end of the nice guys who have been with us for too long now. Time to get winners in. Well said Ron.
:top marksAbsolutely fantastic from RG.
If we get a manager with as much drive, enthusiasm and desire to win, that will do for me.
He showed more passion in these vids than Maloney ever did.
20-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Name me managers with a better cv than Lennon within our range.
He has a job? Is he in our range? I don't want him anywhere near Hibs and he is yesterday's man given how much he ballsed up ten in a row 🤣
20-04-2022, 07:29 PM
It's exactly what some people on here have been saying. Let's move from average to winners. I didn't get your dig about "loser mentality" fans loving what he's saying as if that's a bad thing; shows those opinions are in sync with the owner of our club.It's not a dig - it's a phrase that been bandied about on here alot and Ron's basically saying he wants to get us into a. Similar mindset
I would say that wanting that and implementing strategy and getting staff to make it more likley is the challenge
I did like that Ron says he hated the fact we had to make so many quick changes in management and wants stability
That's important providing you trust the folk you have put into these positions
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-04-2022, 07:30 PM
I think the interview with the press is a lot better than that with the fans.
I felt he took responsibility for the failings himself and reiterated what was said in the fans interview that he wanted to get it right (obviously) on the park.
I suppose the difference between the old and the new is the old had a clear way they wanted to play (although bar some games under Stubbs and 4 months under Lennon it never really was achieved - though I recognise the nature of football) and had their system in place to bring a coach in to deliver with the tools provided i.e. players.
The idea was that the coach could go and they would be succeeded with more of the same.
So there seemed to be a clear remit and structure in place, whereby in theory it should not have overly mattered who was head coach. In reality of course, it was quite different to that.
This regime seems to be quite different, insofar as what we are being told. There doesn’t seem to be that kind of structure.
So we could go from Shaun Maloney to Rafa Benitez to Scott Brown. And each time they will bring in their own philosophy and their own players rather than a continuation.
Unless I am picking it up wrong.
I think I personally found comfort in the previous regime, again in theory.
If you actually sit and consider the old regime there were essentially the same type of changes each time.
We had Stubbs where it seemed to be Scottish on the rebound type players. Then Lennon who brought in his pals. Then Heck who brought in folk from the English leagues. Then I’m not really sure what Ross’s purchases were.
I am not really sure what the point of all this was, other than to get it out my mind
20-04-2022, 07:35 PM
All fart, no poo. Still nothing to suggest he has a clue what he's doing imo.
Chorley Hibee
20-04-2022, 07:35 PM
I'm weirdly fascinated by the painting on the wall.
the_ginger_hibee
20-04-2022, 07:39 PM
It's not a dig - it's a phrase that been bandied about on here alot and Ron's basically saying he wants to get us into a. Similar mindset
I would say that wanting that and implementing strategy and getting staff to make it more likley is the challenge
I did like that Ron says he hated the fact we had to make so many quick changes in management and wants stability
That's important providing you trust the folk you have put into these positions
Fair enough, came across as a dig. I'm pleased that he wants that strategy and he's communicated it. I agree doing it is the next part but you can't get there without a plan
LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 07:41 PM
No way Lennon would accept a job where a committee recruited the players.
20-04-2022, 07:43 PM
You can tell he doesn't like Brian McLauchlin.
20-04-2022, 07:44 PM
brian McLauchlin is a big beetroot-faced jambo joaby
20-04-2022, 07:47 PM
He says all the right things. Anyone can stand and say Hibs need to be better, need to be more successful, need to have greater aspirations, need a better mentality and that they are the person to deliver it. Of course people are going to hang on every word hearing that. 'Hibs will be successful with me in charge and we are on the road to achieving it'. It hardly takes a genius to work out that will be popular.
The off field stuff is fine. The on field stuff is problematic. Thus far we have regressed with Ron Gordon and his people in charge, worse that that their attempts to rectify the problems made them worse. Make or break time and the proof of the pudding is in the eating.
20-04-2022, 07:47 PM
But Ian doesnt decide which players are signed. Anyway Harry Clarke, Elias Melkerson and Jasper are all good players. The problem has been injuries which feel like more than under previous coaching regimes and far more in training than in matches.
leith lynx
20-04-2022, 07:48 PM
I'm guessing it's a Peruvian sort of Imagery?
20-04-2022, 07:54 PM
He says all the right things. Anyone can stand and say Hibs need to be better, need to be more successful, need to have greater aspirations, need a better mentality and that they are the person to deliver it. Of course people are going to hang on every word hearing that. 'Hibs will be successful with me in charge and we are on the road to achieving it'. It hardly takes a genius to work out that will be popular.
The off field stuff is fine. The on field stuff is problematic. Thus far we have regressed with Ron Gordon and his people in charge, worse that that their attempts to rectify the problems made them worse. Make or break time and the proof of the pudding is in the eating.
He sacked two managers who should have done better. He will sack others if they dont show they are improving performances. The board were not the only people who thought Ross and Malloney should go and also thought the January window was good for a January window. Lets just wait and see what the new manager and a major transfer window brings.
20-04-2022, 07:56 PM
Manager recruitment is critical but I'm genuinely encouraged by Ron's defence and explanation today tbh. He genuinely seems annoyed by the whole situation and his manner of dealing with Brian McLauchlin was pretty much perfect. Brilliant it is on tape as others say.
Whilst Ron had a few slip ups in the interviews, as a whole he has definitely encouraged me to renew my ST, if I can.
We might need to have a bit more trust in him because he gets zero help from the Jambo biased media. If this was Budge, Brian McLauchlin and Tom English would ask and report on the nicest of things, her farts smell like roses etc. People keep going on about him being American and he's running the club like an American. Yes, in some regard he is but in many regards he is the same as Farmer and Petrie. Petrie sacked Sauzee, club legend, quicker than Maloney was sacked. Petrie was Scottish, more in with the media and football association so some of the grief was nullified. Ron has had no end of grief since taking over and he still seems passionate about the club.
Regarding his son being involved. I don't know if my dad and I have a different relationship but my dad would be a horrific boss to work for. Always on me to make sure I'm doing the best job, very critical of my work and pushing me to improve constantly. Ron protected his son in public, doesn't mean he isn't phoning and going "what's going on?". Also, what's different to Ron having his son involved and Budge having Anderson involved? Is it assumed an acquaintance of an owner is more trustworthy than the owner's offspring? One is in-charge of a department (son), the other is on the board (acquaintance).
Jambo media want to find issues to stir things. They've done it for so long that it's affected our psyche as a support.
leith lynx
20-04-2022, 07:59 PM
brian McLauchlin is a big beetroot-faced jambo joaby
Did you see his face when interviewing Craig Gordon after the game on Saturday?....surprised he never kissed his feet after (probably did)
20-04-2022, 07:59 PM
Ron’s answer was clear - he’s here to stay and would sell only if someone was more committed to Hibs than he is, which he categorically thinks there isn’t. How that pudding Brian managed to twist that into a headline he is simply open to selling us is anyones guess.
Steve88
20-04-2022, 08:03 PM
Increasing the revenue organically in every way possible to generate a self sustaining revenue model which in turn goes towards player salaries therefore being able to sign a higher calibre player
People need to step back and understand that transforming a mediocre club into a consistent 3rd place, cup winning and EUROPA competitive club is a secular change which will take time
Sure, he's made mistakes with hiring managers but less mistakes than under Tom Farmers reign
We have someone at the helm who truly wants to make this club a consistent, winning club
Too many people wanting to skip the four play and get the instant gratification
Cracking interview and spoke with passion and a bit of humility, wants us to be far better than we are, trying to make the club professional and financially solid at the same time, spending good money on players and admits his mistakes. Not many owners would have a meeting with fans like this so well done on doing that, his son's position is a lot clearer and nothing really to do with scouting, it's the recruiting part he works on and part of a team of six. Far more confident now I've listened to him.
Potty78
20-04-2022, 08:04 PM
I like to watch PLZ soccer, I'm lost to what Peter Martin is on about. He keeps talking about Hibs signing players through a committee and Maloney got very little input to players. Yet we signed Henderson, Clarke and Rocky who he new about. All this while McManus sits and says nowt🤷*♂️
Increasing the revenue organically in every way possible to generate a self sustaining revenue model which in turn goes towards player salaries therefore being able to sign a higher calibre player
People need to step back and understand that transforming a mediocre club into a consistent 3rd place, cup winning and EUROPA competitive club is a secular change which will take time
Sure, he's made mistakes with hiring managers but less mistakes than under Tom Farmers reign
We have someone at the helm who truly wants to make this club a consistent, winning club
Well said.
buktapurple79
20-04-2022, 08:06 PM
Can't believe the Jamboid media spin machine at work on this one. We're alright with Ron and I'd like to chuck aw their pish back at them in a years time.
20-04-2022, 08:07 PM
I like to watch PLZ soccer, I'm lost to what Peter Martin is on about. He keeps talking about Hibs signing players through a committee and Maloney got very little input to players. Yet we signed Henderson, Clarke and Rocky who he new about. All this while McManus sits and says nowt🤷*♂️
Peter Martin is a throbber
20-04-2022, 08:10 PM
Did you see his face when interviewing Craig Gordon after the game on Saturday?....surprised he never kissed his feet after (probably did)
Yep all you need to know about Fat jambo Brian is to watch the nauseating questions he asked Dr Budge. How he gets a job at the supposed neutral bbc I never know.
20-04-2022, 08:10 PM
They are stirring it. When they were discussing it, it genuinely looked like they didn't know the meaning of "committee". Even after "committee" was raised it still sounded like it was "Ian Gordon goes to get players and drops them on manager's door step". Manager has no clue what players are going to turn up.
Come across as dinosaurs of the game - do people genuinely think Klopp is scouting for players...
What does Klopp know though, we are going after big tough Dick Campbell. VAR so we can keep up with the rest of the game? What about keeping up with the rest of the game in terms of how a football club runs nowadays and drop the "in the good old days" garbage they always talk about.
LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 08:12 PM
Yup, bizarre. Remember he’s another Celtic minded journo who is pals with Wee Fat Robbo but I took it from his mithering that he’d spoken to someone.
McManus clearly having to tread a very careful line as he’s employed by the club but his silence was interesting
20-04-2022, 08:24 PM
Who was the journalist asking the first question to Ron Gordon in the press conference?
His tone makes him sound like a police officer...the wording of the question and the emphasis on EXPLAIN made it all seem a bit forceful.
The "yep", "yep" when Ron Gordon was clarifying the question also seemed to have a bit of contempt.
itslegaltender
20-04-2022, 09:02 PM
Great conference with the fans from Ron. Good to see he didnt shirk from answering the question around his son. Cant think of an owner who opens himself up like this. Restored a good bit of faith in him.
Daniel 1875
20-04-2022, 09:09 PM
Who was the journalist asking the first question to Ron Gordon in the press conference?
His tone makes him sound like a police officer...the wording of the question and the emphasis on EXPLAIN made it all seem a bit forceful.
The "yep", "yep" when Ron Gordon was clarifying the question also seemed to have a bit of contempt.
It’s Gordon Duncan from Clyde SSB - he does some work for Sky Sports these days too.
jakedance
20-04-2022, 09:30 PM
I’m somewhat reassured. Good to hear the incredibly important commercial progress, and RG calling Hibs out for being average. Questions remain over player recruitment. I still feel the club is in good hands but I’m getting really fed up being pish so he needs to get this appointment right.
20-04-2022, 11:14 PM
At first I thought it may be a Fernando Botero but I had another look and I'm not convinced.
stalbanshibby
20-04-2022, 11:28 PM
I had thought getting rid of Maloney was a disgrace, but now having watched Honest Ron, I'm reassured. How rare it is for someone to hold their hands up and say 'I cocked up and I'm disappointed in myself'. Anyone who does that in any walk of life, gets my support. GGTTH
21-04-2022, 04:16 AM
Not at all. I'd just love to know why we've progressed from 3rd to somewhere in the bottom 6 in 1 season. Thats not me wanting instant results, thats me not wanting a massive decline.
Crunchie
21-04-2022, 05:03 AM
happen pretty easily.
Lennon's a basket case and all about himself and his beloved tic, I wouldn't want him near our club again.
Yorkshire HFC
21-04-2022, 05:19 AM
I had thought getting rid of Maloney was a disgrace, but now having watched Honest Ron, I'm reassured. How rare it is for someone to hold their hands up and say 'I cocked up and I'm disappointed in myself'. Anyone who does that in any walk of life, gets my support. GGTTH
This is why Scottish football (Hibs) finds itself in the position it is in.
Another rich overseas owner with a big PR machine appears from nowhere, spends a couple of years making left field decisions and overseeing a decline in the club - he does one interview and that's all forgotten about.
Football fans loyalties are easily bought.
Has he done anything positive during his time in charge? As far as I can tell, Jack Ross did all the work over the last couple of years - and he's been sacked. The best player has been sold and I'm not sure what's been done with that money. We're sliding down the table and have a squad of mediocre / aging players, our city rivals seem to be light years ahead of us. He's had 3 years - what's in the "plus" column?
21-04-2022, 06:09 AM
I suppose the proof is in the pudding but the interviews at least show that he’s honest, passionate, committed and has a desire and a determination to get it right.
21-04-2022, 06:11 AM
Another rich overseas owner with a big PR machine appears from nowhere, spends a couple of years making left field decisions and overseeing a decline in the club - he does one interview and that's all forgotten about.
Has he done anything positive during his time in charge? As far as I can tell, Jack Ross did all the work over the last couple of years - and he's been sacked. The best player has been sold and I'm not sure what's been done with that money. We're sliding down the table and have a squad of mediocre / aging players, our city rivals seem to be light years ahead of us. He's had 3 years - what's in the "plus" column?
I kind of knew it would be the supporters fault deep down.
Rick Rude
21-04-2022, 06:25 AM
This post is a joke right? 😂 Big PR machine? You mean him sitting on a zoom call is a big PR machine?
Think your post can be summed up by everything bad was Gordon but everything good was someone else. Jack Ross was backed financially like no manager since McLeish. Actually paying cash for players like Nisbet and giving out new contracts to players like Boyle. Thats the result of Gordon growing the amount of money coming into the club and being willing to put it into the football side.
Also a squad of aging players? Really? I'd say the issue is the opposite. 😂
GonzoReturns
21-04-2022, 06:25 AM
The plus column - he sacked a manager who could not get his players motivated for three huge hampden appearances - Hearts (arguably our best chance to do have done them over at Hampden) and St Johnstone twice. A manager who had us crawling over into third place when it was a great chance to be closer to second spot. He’s sacked a manager who has not improved us. I’ll take the ruthless streak as a plus for now. He now needs to walk the talk. Big 6/12 months.
21-04-2022, 06:34 AM
You’d have asked if Gordon was open to selling hibs because a few fans have said they want him gone? Come on
Yeah
21-04-2022, 06:36 AM
I wish someone had asked about banning certain journalists
21-04-2022, 06:40 AM
Has he done anything positive during his time in charge? As far as I can tell, Jack Ross did all the work over the last couple of years - and he's been sacked. The best player has been sold and I'm not sure what's been done with that money. We're sliding down the table and have a squad of mediocre / aging players, our city rivals seem to be light years ahead of us. He's had 3 years - what's in the "plus" column?One plus would be getting closer to Aberdeen and hearts in terms of revenue and moving away from the likes of motherwell
That's a massive swing on a fairly short time period
That has already allowed budgets to increase which shouod hopefully filter into better product on the park
Another plus would be seeing the owner hold his hands up and say they made a mistake appointing a rookie manager and now making steps to rectify that
Yorkshire HFC
21-04-2022, 06:44 AM
One plus would be getting closer to Aberdeen and hearts in terms of revenue and moving away from the likes of motherwell
That has already allowed budgets to increase which shouod hopefully filter into better product on the park
Another plus would be seeing the owner hold his hands up and say they made a mistake appointing a rookie manager and now making steps to rectify that
I'm a football fan - I really don't have much interest in revenue and budgets.
Have Hibs become a better team to watch in the 3 years that he's been in charge?
21-04-2022, 06:47 AM
The plus column - he sacked a manager who could not get his players motivated for three huge hampden appearances - Hearts (arguably our best chance to do have done them over at Hampden) and St Johnstone twice. A manager who had us crawling over into third place when it was a great chance to be closer to second spot. He’s sacked a manager who has not improved us. I’ll take the ruthless streak as a plus for now. He now needs to walk the talk. Big 6/12 months.
He admits to being too hasty with the sacking of Jack Ross, too hasty with the appointment of Shaun Maloney and has just hastily sacked the latter? There's nothing I'm seeing there to make me feel more at ease with where we are today.
I'd be more impressed with his claimed 50% uplift in revenue if we had purchased a much needed striker in the transfer window, no point in the money being in the bank. (I'm assuming that he hasn't included the Boyle transfer money in the 50% uplift, if he has his claim becomes instantly less impressive.) He has been in place for three years now and we have gone backwards allowing our biggest rivals to fly past us, a team who lets not forget spent a season on a lower division. He can blame the difference in revenue all he wants. The price of players better than the pool that the likes of us, them and Aberdeen fish in increases exponentially and none of us are at the stage of being able to capture Old Firm style signings, we should still have been much more competitive than we were this season. We are where were because of the bad decisions made by the current custodians of our club, it's going to take more than an apology and some hackneyed business speak to win me over this time. The plus side seems to be that he is getting everything else right apart from the football side. And how do we know this? Because he told us he is.
I'll wait until we have a decent team to watch again before giving any of those in charge right now pass marks. Yes, a huge 6/12 months ahead for our club.
jakeshibs
21-04-2022, 06:48 AM
I think Ron Gordon sincerely wants to make Hibs better and has our best interests at heart, therefore he has my backing as he takes responsibility for on and off the pitch decisions, and has backed this with a lot of his own money.
CorrieHibs
21-04-2022, 07:01 AM
That really annoyed me too. McManus never backs Hibs. Just sits and says nothing to the defend the club who employs him. Martin is another Hearts sympathiser. Who loves to take a dig at Hibs.
Rumble de Thump
21-04-2022, 07:07 AM
He admits to being too hasty with the sacking of Jack Ross, too hasty with the appointment of Shaun Maloney and has just hastily sacked the latter? There's nothing I'm seeing there to make me feel more at ease with where we are today.
I'd be more impressed with his claimed 50% uplift in revenue if we had purchased a much needed striker in the transfer window, no point in the money being in the bank. (I'm assuming that he hasn't included the Boyle transfer money in the 50% uplift, if he has his claim becomes instantly less impressive.) He has been in place for three years now and we have gone backwards allowing our biggest rivals to fly past us, a team who lets not forget spent a season on a lower division. He can blame the difference in revenue all he wants. The price of players better than the pool that the likes of us, them and Aberdeen fish in increases exponentially and none of us are at the stage of being able to capture Old Firm style signings, we should still have been much more competitive than we were this season. We are where were because of the bad decisions made by the current custodians of our club, it's going to take more than an apology and some hackneyed business speak to win me over this time. The plus side seems to be that he is getting everything else right apart from the football side. And how do we know this? Because he told us he is.
I'll wait until we have a decent team to watch again before giving any of those in charge right now pass marks. Yes, a huge 6/12 months ahead for our club.
He didn't admit to being too hasty with Jack Ross' sacking. He said he was happy with the decision but that it's something they could review. And we did bring in a striker in the transfer window.
Turkish Green
21-04-2022, 07:10 AM
That really annoyed me too. McManus never backs Hibs. Just sits and says nothing to the defend the club who employs him. Martin is another Hearts sympathiser. Who loves to take a dig at Hibs.
McManus makes a living out of Hibs the same way that Sutton does out of Celtic and Boyd out of Rangers. He takes the negative viewpoint to rile the support, nothing gained by him being positive.
21-04-2022, 07:24 AM
You’re being a bit unfair and/or wilfully ignorant here.
Firstly we spent £400k on a new striker in January.
In terms of taking us backwards, he’s delivered a 3rd place finish and 2 cup finals (yes both lost) in 3 years. We don’t have a divine right to finish above Hearts every year but he’s admitting this season has been awful.
In terms of other progress off field, there is plenty of evidence rather than just “taking his word”. We brought in Steve Kean and have built out a development squad. We’ve improved the stadium and HTC.
We’ve increased the player budget by 30%. We have multiple new sponsors that are contributing to a 50% rise in revenue. It’s undeniable.
We need to get the manager position right but he’s hardly shying away from that is he?
21-04-2022, 08:00 AM
He definitely didn’t say too hasty.
He also said it was the right decision at the time.
Similar to what was discussed on here. The sacking wasn’t the issue due to bad form and lack of entertainment from Ross - it was more the timing and rushing into a replacement - who the club expected to improve us - not take us backwards.
It’s a really good interview from Ron Gordon and 100% behind him to improve Hibs.
If any fan hasn’t watched it yet - watch it. Of course action speaks louder than words but he’s being very clear and honest and wants the best for Hibs.
MikeyS
21-04-2022, 08:21 AM
Have Hibs become a better team to watch in the 3 years that he's been in charge?
We are all football fans!! Just that some of us can see that you need the revenue to go out and get better football players. Unless you know of a different way Ron Gordon can get better players, for cheaper, in the door?
Sergio sledge
21-04-2022, 08:21 AM
I'm sorry, but you can't be a "football fan" and ignore the importance that revenue and budgets play in making a good team.
For the most part, there are some flash in the pan exceptions but it generally stands, the teams with the biggest budgets have the most success in the long term.
Ron's comments in the interview were something along the lines of "you can't own a Ferrari if you only have Toyota money, in order to own a Ferrari you have to have the money to do that." His point being that in order for us to have sustained success we need to increase the budget and in order to increase the budget we need to increase revenue.
You said there had been no improvements in the 3 years since he came to which someone countered that the revenues and budgets had gone up, vital foundations to a successful team, you can't just be deliberately obtuse and ignore that. Clearly this season has been a massive backwards step on the pitch, I don't think anyone disputes that, but last season we finished 3rd in the premiership, our equal best finish for only the 5th time in 46 years.
Or does that not count as a success in Ron's record because Jack Ross was the manager and clearly anything good was his doing and anything bad was Ron Gordon's fault.
hibsforeurope
21-04-2022, 08:22 AM
Ron talks a good game no doubt but he’s a businessman.
If the business side of the club excels then the football side should prosper too but the owner talking about the abilities or otherwise of players and coaches live on tele is a little concerning (imo).
We have no football people in decision making roles at the club at the moment. The new regime’s first appointment didn’t work and we need to hope the next one pans out better, but they appear to have needlessly ripped up the old football structure and left us with three non-football people at the helm.
Totally agree with this, we need football people running the football side of the club. We also need experience, that has been stripped out the club and replaced by folk learning on the job.
It's idyllic from a business perspective that a football squad can be made up of young sellable assets but anyone with experience could tell them it is very unlikely to work like that, quality older heads are also needed to guide the youngsters.
I'm not convinced that the selection committee will come up with any better candidates even with more time.
He’s just sacked Maloney for a similar losing record as Lennon had before he left. Sadly both left their boards with little choice.
He accepted a job as Head Coach at Hibs on that basis. Terry Butcher was the last Manager who had a free call on signings.
hibsforeurope
21-04-2022, 08:45 AM
One plus would be getting closer to Aberdeen and hearts in terms of revenue and moving away from the likes of motherwell
Revenue is all and well but when you go from comfortably 3rd one season to below Motherwell, Ross county and Dundee Utd, who all have significantly less income/budget than us is a massive negative. Hibs are first and foremost a football club, when the football is failing that is the biggest concern.
Maloney was the first appointment from this current committee and was a huge failure, who's to say it will be any different this time.
21-04-2022, 08:47 AM
Of course he would ..it’s not free reign on stuff like that . I recall chatting to Liam Brady one time, he made it clear when at a Celtic not only did he sign players because of owners view, he often had to play them too ..football isn’t as pure as people think it is. Owners have big opinions and often demand managers follow their views .
Ray Donovan
21-04-2022, 08:50 AM
I enjoyed watching that and I'm slightly less worried than I have been for the past few months. Well done to the fans who asked good questions.
He seems logical, decisive and wants the club to maximise its potential.
Everything seems to be moving in the right direction off the pitch. I took from it that we really have no excuse to not get it right on the pitch next season.
If we don't get it right then RG and the leadership at the club really have nowhere to hide.
21-04-2022, 08:50 AM
Revenue is all and well but when you go from comfortably 3rd one season to below Motherwell, Ross county and Dundee Utd, who all have significantly less income/budget than us is a massive negative. Hibs are first and foremost a football club, when the football is failing that is the biggest concern.
Maloney was the first appointment from this current committee and was a huge failure, who's to say it will be any different this time.
Is there anywhere that someone involved in hibs has said that this season wasn't a failure and isn't the biggest concern? I'm not sure what you expect them to do other than what they are doing and try to find someone better.
21-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Of course he would ..it’s not free reign on stuff like that . I recall chatting to Liam Brady one time, he made it clear when at a Celtic not only did he sign players because of owners view, he often had to play them too ..football isn’t as pure as people think it is. Owners have big opinions and often demand managers follow their views .
Yup. That set up is commonplace now. Maloney had the final say though. Said so himself.
hibsforeurope
21-04-2022, 08:59 AM
Is there anywhere that someone involved in hibs has said that this season wasn't a failure and isn't the biggest concern? I'm not sure what you expect them to do other than what they are doing and try to find someone better.
He kept deflecting and going back to the off field stuff, as far as I'm concerned Hibs are a football club not a social club club. if the football side of things is not up to it you can have all the money in the world and you'll still fail. Just look at Man Utd or Hearts pre Savage, throwing money at things and getting no results.
It all words from Ron, he's talked a good game from day 1 but very little to show for it. Dempster was at Hibs a similar time and took us from a car crash to winning the Cup, there was a clear football plan and it worked.
21-04-2022, 09:02 AM
Increasing the budget should increase the chances of attracting a better quality of player.
21-04-2022, 09:08 AM
He kept deflecting and going back to the off field stuff, as far as I'm concerned Hibs are a football club not a social club club. if the football side of things is not up to it you can have all the money in the world and you'll still fail. Just look at Man Utd or Hearts pre Savage, throwing money at things and getting no results.
It all words from Ron, he's talked a good game from day 1 but very little to show for it. Dempster was at Hibs a similar time and took us from a car crash to winning the Cup, there was a clear football plan and it worked.
I don't think that 3 years in the championship was a success for hibs financially, we won the cup which was amazing but we should not have been in that league for 3 years. Also, her position is not the same as Ron's.
21-04-2022, 09:08 AM
How many foreign / US owners do you think follow soccer as they know it. Take the Glaziers who own allegedly the biggest club in the world.
21-04-2022, 09:12 AM
Just watched the whole press interview on HIBS TV
I thought RG handled all of the questions honestly and truthfully and came across very well
Still convinced we are in safe hands after watching that
Disappointed Shaun didn’t work out
Onwards and upwards
21-04-2022, 09:28 AM
So if jack Ross side had beaten St Johnstone we would all be in agreement Ron Gordon is amazing?
Ron's literally saying the football side hasn't been good enough while pointing out that areas that have been improved that should allow the football side to grow
Aye but we've had a bad season so none of that matters seems to be the counter
Even Ron admits we've had a bad season on the park (although still made a final and semi final) but it doesn't negate the foundations that have been put in place to hopefully provide ongoing success on it
This chart doenst look at all bad for Ron ownership period either
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220421/95e367a4b1e35d2140ac3c052d4e3627.jpg
BlackSheep
21-04-2022, 09:28 AM
I genuinely think Neil Lennon has the character and experience to work well with Ron and Ben.
They seem like they would back him, which the board under Lennon before didn't quite achieve... it certainly would get a reaction from the fans.
Juice-Terry
21-04-2022, 09:32 AM
You probably don't have much interest in common sense either...?
21-04-2022, 09:34 AM
I thought his comments about "Persevere" were quite interesting.
I wouldn't want to get rid of the motto of Leith from the club lexicon but I thought RG's thoughts on how it portrayed the club were enlightening.
21-04-2022, 09:39 AM
I thought his comments about "Persevere" were quite interesting.
I wouldn't want to get rid of the motto of Leith from the club lexicon but I thought RG's thoughts on how it portrayed the club were enlightening.
Me too. I was very sceptical when RG came in, but the longer he’s been here I genuinely believe he wants to progress the club. It’s the first time in over 50 years being a Hibs fan I’ve ever felt the people in charge have genuine ambition. Absolutely he’s got things wrong and I have some concerns about decisions he’s made, but I think his intentions are good.
21-04-2022, 09:49 AM
We were clearly very motivated for the 2020 semi vs hearts. Tale of 2 penalties, nothing more.
You can still lose matches you are motivated for
GonzoReturns
21-04-2022, 09:53 AM
We were clearly very motivated for the 2020 semi vs hearts. Tale of 2 penalties, nothing more.
Playing a championship side who hadn’t played in months. We were poor. The point being Ross was not a success.
21-04-2022, 09:55 AM
Playing a championship side who hadn’t played in months. We were poor. The point being Ross was not a success.
They had played plenty so that's immediately untrue.
We werent poor. We were decent. Missed chances and missed a penalty. Should've had another penalty.
Ross certainly was a success. We probably won't finish 3rd again for years.
21-04-2022, 09:57 AM
We also didn't "crawl" to third place (we finished 7 points clear of Aberdeen FFS), and the idea that we should have been pushing Celtic for 2nd is utter nonsense.
I realise that a lot of folk don't like JR and are happy he's gone, but making up nonsense to have a pop at him is bizarre.
21-04-2022, 10:04 AM
As for the club signing players brought to the manager from the commitee, Ron did say the manager has the final say.
GonzoReturns
21-04-2022, 10:20 AM
We also didn't "crawl" to third place (we finished 7 points clear of Aberdeen FFS), and the idea that we should have been pushing Celtic for 2nd is utter nonsense.
I realise that a lot of folk don't like JR and are happy he's gone, but making up nonsense to have a pop at him is bizarre.
Aberdeen we’re not very good last season Celtic we’re rank. I don’t dislike Ross but in my view he wasn’t a success or he wasn’t as successful as he could/should have been. That’s my view yours is clearly different.
Green_one
21-04-2022, 10:41 AM
Neil Lennon also won countless amounts as a manager. 10 in a row is irrelevant to Hibs and/or any club outside Celtic
Lennon a current winner:confused::confused::confused:
Lennon inherited one of the best Hibs squads. He spent his initial season struggling to take Hibs out of the championship even as clear favourites.
He then had a reasonable season, where he finished 4th. He then had a poor season where Heckingbottom did a lot better. Never took us to a final. Ross took us to 3rd and two cup finals. Stubbs bettered Lennon with cup win and two finals.
He then spectacularly dropped the ball, losing all cups and leagues for that season with Celtic. Fans hated him. Made the whole Dubai debacle worse. Sees himself as a victim.
He may have some winning history but that is well gone. He also has a history of throwing the toys out the pram every season Some of his antics impacted the team. I never want him as a manager again. That seems to be a common view given the poor current gig he has. No-one else came knocking.
21-04-2022, 10:51 AM
Aberdeen we’re not very good last season Celtic we’re rank. I don’t dislike Ross but in my view he wasn’t a success or he wasn’t as successful as he could/should have been. That’s my view yours is clearly different.
Aberdeen not being very good doesn't mean that us finishing seven points clear of them is "crawling" to third. Celtic's league campaign was a disaster in relation to Rangers and 10IAR, but it wasn't that bad in terms of their performance - they won 22 and lost 5 of 38 league games, and won 10 more points than our record total in this league. That's not to mention their playing budget completely dwarfing ours, and the fact that they'd won every single domestic trophy available to them for the previous four years.
It's not in any way a credible argument to say that we should have been pushing them for second. It's utter nonsense.
21-04-2022, 10:56 AM
Just listened to the Ron Gordon interview and was pretty impressed with Ron's stance, build the revenue to build better teams as a better team costs more money yea, yea, yea. Been saying same for donkeys now, quality takes money.
Also noted that no females were in the lucky group that got to put questions to big Ron.
GonzoReturns
21-04-2022, 10:58 AM
Aberdeen not being very good doesn't mean that us finishing seven points clear of them is "crawling" to third. Celtic's league campaign was a disaster in relation to Rangers and 10IAR, but it wasn't that bad in terms of their performance - they won 22 and lost 5 of 38 league games, and won 10 more points than our record total in this league. That's not to mention their playing budget completely dwarfing ours, and the fact that they'd won every single domestic trophy available to them for the previous four years.
It's not in any way a credible argument to say that we should have been pushing them for second. It's utter nonsense.
I actually said we should have been closer to second. You have a view I’ve got a view.
21-04-2022, 11:00 AM
Lennon a current winner:confused::confused::confused:
Lennon inherited one of the best Hibs squads. He spent his initial season struggling to take Hibs out of the championship even as clear favourites.
He then had a reasonable season, where he finished 4th. He then had a poor season where Heckingbottom did a lot better. Never took us to a final. Ross took us to 3rd and two cup finals. Stubbs bettered Lennon with cup win and two finals.
He then spectacularly dropped the ball, losing all cups and leagues for that season with Celtic. Fans hated him. Made the whole Dubai debacle worse. Sees himself as a victim.
He may have some winning history but that is well gone. He also has a history of throwing the toys out the pram every season Some of his antics impacted the team. I never want him as a manager again. That seems to be a common view given the poor current gig he has. No-one else came knocking.
Few things that could be challenged here in relation to his time with Hibs, but the bit in bold - we won the Championship by eleven points. Rangers won it by the same margin the year before, wasn't considered a struggle for them.
LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 11:00 AM
Article in the Daily Ranger saying rumbles were getting passed on to the press weeks ago about Maloney's demeanour from opposition managers? Now, whether it's true or not that he was arrogant towards these other managers, it certainly illustrates perfectly the games that get played to keep these mouthpieces onside. Days of succulent lamb may have gone but the concept hasn't...
21-04-2022, 11:08 AM
Article in the Daily Ranger saying rumbles were getting passed on to the press weeks ago about Maloney's demeanour from opposition managers? Now, whether it's true or not that he was arrogant towards these other managers, it certainly illustrates perfectly the games that get played to keep these mouthpieces onside. Days of succulent lamb may have gone but the concept hasn't...
I'm trying to remember which manager took the hump with him. Was it Goodwin when he was at St Mirren? I seem to remember he wanted a bit more acknowledgment from Maloney for when they beat us at Easter Road.
21-04-2022, 11:16 AM
Few things that could be challenged here in relation to his time with Hibs, but the bit in bold - we won the Championship by eleven points. Rangers won it by the same margin the year before, wasn't considered a struggle for them. Ultimately that was the case but it was far from comfortable for most of that season. His points total would not have been good enough the previous two seasons and was only 1 more than both seasons under Stubbs. He actually won less games than Stubbs each year but made us harder to beat. It was a season where we were much better than all the other teams in the league and one where we probably did what you would expect. It was by no means a great season in terms of entertainment or a manager getting the team doing more than you would expect with the sum of its parts. Basically he did fine and we are looking for better than fine now.
LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 11:17 AM
I'm trying to remember which manager took the hump with him. Was it Goodwin when he was at St Mirren? I seem to remember he wanted a bit more acknowledgment from Maloney for when they beat us at Easter Road.
Oh good shout...as I thought Goodwin was quite pointed in his post game comments after the Sheep game, too.
LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 11:23 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jim-goodwin-fumes-hibs-boss-26178728
Then this a little later...
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/shaun-maloney-blasted-shirking-hibs-23686071
21-04-2022, 11:26 AM
Just watched the interview. Lots of good points in terms of words but I'm not convinced some of the actions match the rhetoric. Continuity and stability with personnel isn't something I would recognise from his tenure so far. The part about us playing a modern style football sounds fine I guess to most fans but it was probably that aim and his and others lack of knowledge of Scottish Football led to SM being appointed. I still get the feeling there is lots of messaging on what we want to do but not too much on how that would work. Saying they will give the next manager time in one breath but then saying there would have to be progress is basically where we were with SM and that never worked out. At least he acknowledged they had not got it right so hopefully they will learn. Not convinced he will get it right but I don't deny he has good intentions and is working to get it right
21-04-2022, 11:29 AM
Ultimately that was the case but it was far from comfortable for most of that season. His points total would not have been good enough the previous two seasons and was only 1 more than both seasons under Stubbs. He actually won less games than Stubbs each year but made us harder to beat. It was a season where we were much better than all the other teams in the league and one where we probably did what you would expect. It was by no means a great season in terms of entertainment or a manager getting the team doing more than you would expect with the sum of its parts. Basically he did fine and we are looking for better than fine now.
It was comfortable, we had a nine point lead for around the last three months, IIRC. How much we won the Championship by was never going to have any bearing on how well we performed in the SPL the following season in any case, all that mattered after three seasons was that we got out of there. We won it by an absolute mile in 1999 but were much better in 2017/18 in the SPL than we were in 1999/2000.
It's just used as a stick to beat Lennon with by his detractors, and is a totally redundant point - if he'd won it by an even bigger margin, playing brilliant football, no one would have used it as an argument in his favour when things started to turn in the second SPL season.
We also beat Brondby away, knocked Hearts out of the Scottish Cup and were desperately unlucky to lose to Aberdeen in the semi final when we were in the Championship. The league campaign was unremarkable (which I'm grateful for) but overall the season was more than fine.
Absolute dross of a post. Can't have football without budgets and revenue. They are intrinsically linked.
21-04-2022, 11:39 AM
It was comfortable, we had a nine point lead for around the last three months, IIRC. How much we won the Championship by was never going to have any bearing on how well we performed in the SPL the following season in any case, all that mattered after three seasons was that we got out of there. We won it by an absolute mile in 1999 but were much better in 2017/18 in the SPL than we were in 1999/2000.
It's just used as a stick to beat Lennon with by his detractors, and is a totally redundant point - if he'd won it by an even bigger margin, playing brilliant football, no one would have used it as an argument in his favour when things started to turn in the second SPL season.
We also beat Brondby away, knocked Hearts out of the Scottish Cup and were desperately unlucky to lose to Aberdeen in the semi final when we were in the Championship. The league campaign was unremarkable (which I'm grateful for) but overall the season was more than fine.
He got the job done.
Second season, he got the job done.
Third season, he wasn't getting the job done.
If he came in now and next season he "got the job done" (whichever way we define that) then we're happy, surely?
I find the fact that Lennon is so polarising a bit weird. I liked him as our manager and we definitely had success. It was also going belly up at the end, so he's just another manager with a mixed bag of results at Hibs, like almost all of them in our history.
21-04-2022, 11:40 AM
Just listened to the Ron Gordon interview and was pretty impressed with Ron's stance, build the revenue to build better teams as a better team costs more money yea, yea, yea. Been saying same for donkeys now, quality takes money.
Also noted that no females were in the lucky group that got to put questions to big Ron.
Not sure the point you were trying to make about females...
If you watch the full video available on Hibs TV Moira Gordon asks Ron multiple questions.
Is that you Tom English?
21-04-2022, 11:41 AM
He got the job done.
Second season, he got the job done.
Third season, he wasn't getting the job done.
If he came in now and next season he "got the job done" (whichever way we define that) then we're happy, surely?
I find the fact that Lennon is so polarising a bit weird. I liked him as our manager and we definitely had success. It was also going belly up at the end, so he's just another manager with a mixed bag of results at Hibs, like almost all of them in our history.
I'm exactly the same, man. Really enjoyed his time as manager, many brilliant results and performances.
Scotty Leither
21-04-2022, 12:01 PM
Watched both his interviews with the wider media and the Longbangers/Hibs podcast boys.
You can't doubt his enthusiasm and it was also good to see him lose his rag a wee bit with that knob McLaughlin (sp?), and good to see a bit of passion from our owner for once, something we've been complaining is allegedly missing from Easter Road...
HOWEVER, as far as recruitment goes, I'm still not convinced that we'll be buying any real quality any time soon.
In this really physical league, we need a decent spine; that means an imposing goalkeeper that commands his area, a centre forward with a bit of nous about them, and a talisman or playmaker that we had with Boyle to give the team some sense of identity.
The common factor binding those types of players is they cost money, and I'm still a wee bit cynical that despite the rhetoric, our recruitment model appears to be one of a breaking ground for young players that they hope will make good "in time" to make some money.
Spend for the here and now Hibs, and I think you'll find you'll get more folk onside.
hibsforeurope
21-04-2022, 12:05 PM
I actually said we should have been closer to second. You have a view I’ve got a view.
I'm not sure how much closer he could get, the points total Jack Ross achieved last year was the second highest in our History. Jack Ross wasn't anywhere near a failure at Hibs, If he'd been backed by getting the striker and defender in the summer he was crying out for thing could have been very different.
21-04-2022, 12:11 PM
Watched both his interviews with the wider media and the Longbangers/Hibs podcast boys.
You can't doubt his enthusiasm and it was also good to see him lose his rag a wee bit with that knob McLaughlin (sp?), and good to see a bit of passion from our owner for once, something we've been complaining is allegedly missing from Easter Road...
HOWEVER, as far as recruitment goes, I'm still not convinced that we'll be buying any real quality any time soon.
In this really physical league, we need a decent spine; that means an imposing goalkeeper that commands his area, a centre forward with a bit of nous about them, and a talisman or playmaker that we had with Boyle to give the team some sense of identity.
The common factor binding those types of players is they cost money, and I'm still a wee bit cynical that despite the rhetoric, our recruitment model appears to be one of a breaking ground for young players that they hope will make good "in time" to make some money.
Spend for the here and now Hibs, and I think you'll find you'll get more folk onside.
Is there any reason for this? Just that we've had some awful windows recently or that you don't think we've got the intention to adequately fund this window?
I thought January showed some promise and the players recruited then could all play a big role going forward. I don't disagree with you when you outline what we need - but we're only maybe talking about 3 or 4 big players. Our best signings in recent years who fit your description have maybe been Marciano, Allan, McGeouch, McGinn, Bartley, Fyvie, Boyle himself, Griffiths. Do you not think we have what it takes to find or fund the signings of these players again?
Our marquee signings often seem to let us down, it's another sort of signing altogether that seems to make the grade at Hibs.
21-04-2022, 12:17 PM
I'm fairly confident we will break our signing record in the next 5 years with Ron Gordon in charge.
People want Leeann Dempter back because we signed good players and things under Stubbs and bits under Lennon were good. However, most things outside of the first team were ignored, badly. Not just commercial stuff that we all get bored of. No surprise that young players breaking through at Hibs has become a rarity, most of those that were getting in-and-around the first team have ultimately been released. You cannot grow a football club solely by having a good first team - we've learned that the hard way. We lost McGinn and Boyle, highlighting two massive players in their time, and the money we have brought in is a pittance when you consider their contribution to Hibs and their overall talent. How do we improve that situation? Have sustained success and become a regular European team. Also play a brand of football that makes players attractive to the big leagues.
Recruitment is hit or miss. We need a financial platform to allow us to mitigate for getting things wrong and one to allow us to push on when we get things right.
People don't like change but I genuinely think in my lifetime I just witnessed Hibs stumbling from one thing to the next under Farmer and Petrie, even near the end under Leeann things were becoming stale.
I'm Spartacus
21-04-2022, 12:24 PM
https://youtu.be/fzK7HfKaFQs
How bad is his broadband?! :)
21-04-2022, 12:35 PM
Is there any reason for this? Just that we've had some awful windows recently or that you don't think we've got the intention to adequately fund this window?
I thought January showed some promise and the players recruited then could all play a big role going forward. I don't disagree with you when you outline what we need - but we're only maybe talking about 3 or 4 big players. Our best signings in recent years who fit your description have maybe been Marciano, Allan, McGeouch, McGinn, Bartley, Fyvie, Boyle himself, Griffiths. Do you not think we have what it takes to find or fund the signings of these players again?
Our marquee signings often seem to let us down, it's another sort of signing altogether that seems to make the grade at Hibs.
In regards to finding players, with the exception of Bartley and Boyle, the players listed weren’t unheard of players that we somehow discovered through some novel scouting approach. Allan, McGeough, McGinn and Fyvie were all well known prospects in Scottish football and Marciano was signed through Dudu Dahan who is Lennon’s go to agent for Israeli players. There is no reason why we can’t find similar again, in fact our signing of Magennis and attempted signing of McCrorie follows this approach.
In regards to funding their signing, they were all signed while we were in the Championship operating on a much lower budget than we are currently.
How bad is his broadband?! :)
Probably in a hotel somewhere.
Article in the Daily Ranger saying rumbles were getting passed on to the press weeks ago about Maloney's demeanour from opposition managers? Now, whether it's true or not that he was arrogant towards these other managers, it certainly illustrates perfectly the games that get played to keep these mouthpieces onside. Days of succulent lamb may have gone but the concept hasn't...Brian McLaughlan is still digesting some succulent lamb from Vladimir Romanov's table.
21-04-2022, 01:29 PM
Not sure the point you were trying to make about females...
If you watch the full video available on Hibs TV Moira Gordon asks Ron multiple questions.
Is that you Tom English?
Tam if you dont mind!!!!! no need for the personal insults just asking a question-It was the podcast interview I seen and was commenting on, I would not watch a bbc thing if paid to do so. I just pointed this out as Ron speaks about higher revenues enabling a better side on the pitch, the female side of the Hibs support can contribute a lot to this eventual outcome, it should never be ignored as they represent 50% of the population which could account for 50% of revenue in the future. As for Moira is she not a jambo? why would anyone listen to her, just saying like.
21-04-2022, 01:29 PM
Few things that could be challenged here in relation to his time with Hibs, but the bit in bold - we won the Championship by eleven points. Rangers won it by the same margin the year before, wasn't considered a struggle for them.
Did we not have something like 15 draws in the championship under Lennon? It was a slog of a season.
TheCabbage
21-04-2022, 01:35 PM
Just watched the full interview.
Came away feeling we are heading in the right direction and he didn’t shy away from any questions and answered as honestly and truthfully as he could.
A lot different outcome from just watching the shortened sky/bbc version and the sensational headlines generated form it
Supposedly Boris Johnson has asked Ron where he can get the Metal Mickey voice filter for switching on when answering a difficult question.
21-04-2022, 02:31 PM
Did we not have something like 15 draws in the championship under Lennon? It was a slog of a season.
14. I'm by no means claiming it was exciting, in fact I'm really glad it wasn't given that we were clear favourites. It was a means to an end, that's all - there was no glory in it, we just needed out of that league after three years.
I was simply challenging the notion that we struggled to win the league. We really didn't.
21-04-2022, 02:48 PM
14. I'm by no means claiming it was exciting, in fact I'm really glad it wasn't given that we were clear favourites. It was a means to an end, that's all - there was no glory in it, we just needed out of that league after three years.
I was simply challenging the notion that we struggled to win the league. We really didn't.
Won it comfortably in the end but we didn’t win it early (what was it the week or 2 before the end of the season?) which was expected due to Rangers and Hearts not being in it. It felt like a slog due to the number of draws.
21-04-2022, 02:50 PM
Won it comfortably in the end but we didn’t win it early (what was it the week or 2 before the end of the season?) which was expected due to Rangers and Hearts not being in it. It felt like a slog due to the number of draws.
We won it after 33 games, Rangers were 32 games the season before.
21-04-2022, 02:52 PM
We thumped Dundee Utd at ER around Xmas or January. The league was won then.
21-04-2022, 02:54 PM
Did we not have something like 15 draws in the championship under Lennon? It was a slog of a season. 14 draws but only 3 defeats. It was a slog for me too but to be fair as the other reply stated there was some decent cup results although I don't think I would have cited being unlucky against Aberdeen in the semi as a positive for the manager
Scotty Leither
21-04-2022, 02:56 PM
Brian McLaughlan is still digesting some succulent lamb from Vladimir Romanov's table.
The only thing missing from Ron's riposte to Mcglaughlin would have been to ask him if he had anyone in mind for him to sell it to...
Craig Whyte, Brian? (Mr) Vladimir Romanov?
Jambo t1t.
Chorley Hibee
21-04-2022, 02:57 PM
Controversial I know, but I don't want Stubbs back.
Feel the Scottish Cup win will always gloss over the poor league performances and the catalogue of defeats to the likes of Dumbarton, Alloa, Falkirk, Queen of the South, Raith Rovers and Morton.
To think of the calibre of player we had at that time, many of those results were disgraceful.
Lennon only lost 3 games in his Championship season, one to Ayr Utd (which we were winning until Bartley was disgracefully sent off - and later rescinded), one to Dundee Utd (after Hibs missed a penalty at 0-0) and a 2-0 reverse at St Mirren, which he rightly castigated the players for.
He added that bit of steel that was required in the club at that time, it served us well the following season too.
I do think he has his weaknesses, but something tells me he'd overcome most of those working in the environment that Gordon is trying to build at ER now.
21-04-2022, 05:03 PM
Tam if you dont mind!!!!! no need for the personal insults just asking a question-It was the podcast interview I seen and was commenting on, I would not watch a bbc thing if paid to do so. I just pointed this out as Ron speaks about higher revenues enabling a better side on the pitch, the female side of the Hibs support can contribute a lot to this eventual outcome, it should never be ignored as they represent 50% of the population which could account for 50% of revenue in the future. As for Moira is she not a jambo? why would anyone listen to her, just saying like.
Ah apologies.
In fairness, the podcasts that were invited appear to be a passion for a group of friends, it just so happens that the podcasts are male dominated. Nothing sinister there. I'm lazy so haven't created a podcast and never asked to be on one. I would imagine many other people are in a similar place.
Now if Hibs only invited male season ticket holders to a Q and A at ER that's a completely different thing.
Podcast people were invited to this Q and A. Podcasts are run by a bunch of male friends. All pretty innocent tbh.
21-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Ah apologies.
In fairness, the podcasts that were invited appear to be a passion for a group of friends, it just so happens that the podcasts are male dominated. Nothing sinister there. I'm lazy so haven't created a podcast and never asked to be on one. I would imagine many other people are in a similar place.
Now if Hibs only invited male season ticket holders to a Q and A at ER that's a completely different thing.
Podcast people were invited to this Q and A. Podcasts are run by a bunch of male friends. All pretty innocent tbh.
:aok: just as long as they don't go around calling themselves the "Poddies"
21-04-2022, 06:35 PM
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC005323/filing-history
Ron's company have taken a floating charge over the club.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
Green Reaper
21-04-2022, 06:44 PM
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC005323/filing-history
Ron's company have taken a floating charge over the club.
Just read the pdf and, to be honest, could have been written in Greek for all the sense it made to me. Can someone please do a ‘floating charge for dummies’ post?
21-04-2022, 06:52 PM
Just read the pdf and, to be honest, could have been written in Greek for all the sense it made to me. Can someone please do a ‘floating charge for dummies’ post?https://www.dlapiperrealworld.com/law/index.html?t=finance&s=forms-of-security&c=GB-SCT
Hope this helps. His company previously held a standard security over the club
21-04-2022, 06:56 PM
The charges are to protect Bydand in case of an insolvency event. It would be a secure creditor in that eventuality, BUT only if the club owe them anything.
AFAIK, they don't.
The previous charge was over ER. This one is over all the club's assets.
21-04-2022, 06:59 PM
"It is, however, normal for a lender to take both a floating charge and a standard security."
21-04-2022, 07:02 PM
The charges are to protect Bydand in case of an insolvency event. It would be a secure creditor in that eventuality, BUT only if the club owe them anything.
AFAIK, they don't.
Also have a charge over the training ground.
21-04-2022, 07:04 PM
AFAIK, they don't.
Strange timing for this to be put through...
21-04-2022, 07:05 PM
Also have a charge over the training ground.
You're correct. This latest one is over all assets, though.
21-04-2022, 07:07 PM
Strange timing for this to be put through...
I'm surprised that it wasn't done when RG took over, TBH.
Other than that, nothing sinister about the timing that I can see.
21-04-2022, 07:08 PM
Unless he’s selling up😳
21-04-2022, 07:09 PM
Makes sense to do what what his company has done re the floating charge.
21-04-2022, 07:10 PM
We thumped Dundee Utd at ER around Xmas or January. The league was won then.
Chris humphreys debut i think? Sold out ER and he tore them to pieces
Think most of us left that night relieved we were finally getting out the division
21-04-2022, 07:10 PM
Unless he’s selling up😳
That would have no bearing on things at all.
21-04-2022, 07:15 PM
Maybe in advance of expected borrowing by the club from Bydland?
21-04-2022, 07:16 PM
Do you think the recent events have made Ron Gordon consider this? That's what I'm intrigued by - why wasn't it done previously and what has encouraged him to do it now.
Looks like it's been a very busy week for Ron and Hibs.
21-04-2022, 07:16 PM
Maybe in advance of expected borrowing by the club from Bydland?
Surely we’ve good cash flow after selling Boyle
21-04-2022, 07:18 PM
Surely we’ve good cash flow after selling Boyle
Maybe an indication of a big spend on incoming players:greengrin.
They're certainly needed-the current ones have already got two managers sacked.
21-04-2022, 07:20 PM
Maybe an indication of a big spend on incoming players:greengrin.
They're certainly needed-the current ones have already got two managers sacked.
The cynic in me will ask how much interest will Byland charge Hibs
So is the one registered 2.7.19 is it not?
21-04-2022, 07:23 PM
Do you think the recent events have made Ron Gordon consider this? That's what I'm intrigued by - why wasn't it done previously and what has encouraged him to do it now.
My guess it was an oversight previously.
Also that the timing is coincidental. The papers were signed in March.
21-04-2022, 07:26 PM
It was done on 30th March originally and has just went through today.
21-04-2022, 07:29 PM
The cynic in me will ask how much interest will Byland charge Hibs
4% above bank of England base from the pdf. Sir Tom had better rates
21-04-2022, 07:29 PM
So is the one registered 2.7.19 is it not?
Actually, on re-reading the earlier one, I can't see any mention of HTC there. It was solely over ER.
This one is a floating charge over everything.
Actually, on re-reading the earlier one, I can't see any mention of HTC there. It was solely over ER.
This one is a floating charge over everything.
As was the one registered on 2.7.19. Tried to have a quick look and see what the difference between it and the latest one is but it isn't easy on a small phone screen.
The charge over the stadium was registered 12.8.19 and there's a charge over HTC which was registered 16.7.19.
21-04-2022, 07:52 PM
As was the one registered on 2.7.19. Tried to have a quick look and see what the difference between it and the latest one is but it isn't easy on a small phone screen.
The charge over the stadium was registered 12.8.19 and there's a charge over HTC which was registered 16.7.19.
Yeah, you're right. I hadn't seen those ones, in the middle of all the STF ones being satisfied.
I'll leave you to sort out what's different :greengrin
Yeah, you're right. I hadn't seen those ones, in the middle of all the STF ones being satisfied.
I'll leave you to sort out what's different :greengrin
🙂 Thanks. It's not something that gives me cause for concern so I'll probably not bother putting the laptop on to look at it closer.
Paulie Walnuts
21-04-2022, 08:26 PM
Chris humphreys debut i think? Sold out ER and he tore them to pieces
Think most of us left that night relieved we were finally getting out the division
McGinn also came back from injury and within minutes looked like he was somehow even better than before he got injured.
21-04-2022, 09:29 PM
Ah apologies.
And I’m sure some of the contributors have female influence either from listeners or from wife/kids. Don’t think there’s anything sinister here.
21-04-2022, 09:40 PM
Ah apologies.
We would have had female representation from Hibs.pod/hibs.net had there been availability at our side - it's more circumstance than anything else.
21-04-2022, 11:25 PM
14 draws but only 3 defeats. It was a slog for me too but to be fair as the other reply stated there was some decent cup results although I don't think I would have cited being unlucky against Aberdeen in the semi as a positive for the manager
I think Lennon proved how good a manager he was in that semi.
The players had us two nil down with two absolutely shocking goals to lose within 30 mins from individual errors - Lennon acted swiftly to change the team and got us back to 2 all. We were the better team at that point, but Aberdeen's winning goal only came after 2 dreadful pieces of luck: 1) a blatant handball from a dons player that the ref missed in the run up to the shot; and 2) the luckiest deflection anyone will ever see in their life.
Aberdeen were clearly the second best team in Scotland at that time as well.
22-04-2022, 04:47 AM
The players had us two nil down with two absolutely shocking goals to lose within 30 mins from individual errors - Lennon acted swiftly to change the team and got us back to 2 all. We were the better team at that point, but Aberdeen's winning goal only came after 2 dreadful pieces of luck: 1) a blatant handball from a dons player that the ref missed in the run up to the shot; and 2) the luckiest deflection anyone will ever see in their life.
Lennon started Cummings up front on his own that day, he got it totally wrong.
22-04-2022, 05:43 AM
Am I reading this right?
A manager getting praised for showing how good a manager he is by losing a semi final?
Its a funny old world, obviously different worlds and standards depending who we are talking about
the_ginger_hibee
22-04-2022, 07:06 AM
Am I reading this right?
A manager getting praised for showing how good a manager he is by losing a semi final?
Its a funny old world, obviously different worlds and standards depending who we are talking about
What a troll of a post. Massive difference between losing as a Championship club to the 2nd best team in Scotland, after pulling it back to 2-2, versus being down and out to a slightly above average Hearts team after 20 minutes, a week after a horror derby in a season that has collapsed with a manager who had done nothing to demonstrate his quality all year.
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 07:15 AM
What a troll of a post. Massive difference between losing as a Championship club to the 2nd best team in Scotland, after pulling it back to 2-2, versus being down and out to a slightly above average Hearts team after 20 minutes, a week after a horror derby in a season that has collapsed with a manager who had done nothing to demonstrate his quality all year.
Down and out? :confused:
We were no more than 1 goal down for about 96 minutes of football and the better team for the majority of the game.
22-04-2022, 07:22 AM
It's not a troll of a post
A big game is a big game is a big game isn't it?
I'm not a lenny hater at all and I think there's some merit in him returning actually but using another hampden defeat as a sign of his good management makes no sense
Particulary as its been a dominating argument used over the last 6 months
the_ginger_hibee
22-04-2022, 07:29 AM
Down and out? :confused:
We were no more than 1 goal down for about 96 minutes of football and the better team for the majority of the game.
The winning goal was scored in the 21st minute.
22-04-2022, 07:33 AM
Am I reading this right?
Totally agree. I wouldn't even say we were unlucky in that Aberdeen game. Made our own bad luck with shambolic concentration and decision making to go 2-0 down. You lose games giving yourselves mountains to climb. I'd file that game in the bin alongside Saturday. Opportunity missed through our own fault. Too many at this club.
22-04-2022, 07:42 AM
The Aberdeen Semi Final was typical of Lenny’s time at the club
Wrong team wrong tactics and having to rejig half way through at 0-2 down
Lenny finally seeing what we could all see that the ball wasn’t sticking with Jase as a lone striker
Unlucky the better team on the day another opportunity wasted
22-04-2022, 07:48 AM
Lennon seems pretty happy in Cyprus, can't see him coming back to Scotland any time soon, unfortunately.
It would be pretty neat if we get someone in who has won league titles and has Champs League experience though.
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 07:58 AM
The winning goal was scored in the 21st minute.
That’s a completely different point to what you initially said..
The winning goal could be scored after 10 seconds. It doesn’t mean it’s game over and the other team was down and out if they don’t get back into it.
22-04-2022, 08:01 AM
Lennon started Cummings up front on his own that day, he got it totally wrong.
Well that is possible but it might also have worked better if it wasn't for the most ridiculous 1st minute passage of play you'll ever see from a team.
That wasnt Lennon's tactics that caused that goal, just utter madness from the players. Although obv we were far better when Holt came on but at least NL realised how to fix things.
I take your point though, but he fixed things so partly wrong is a better description than totally wrong.
22-04-2022, 08:17 AM
Am I reading this right?
No as usual you are way off track on a number of things.
He isn't getting praised because we lost the semi final. I think he deserves a bit of praise because of the things that happened in the game. He may have made a mistake with the starting line up but he knew how to fix it against a very good Aberdeen team.
Lennon had his faults but showed on a number of occasions how good a manager he could be and made a positive change in the game. Maloney hasn't shown anything to suggest he is a good manager and again made poor changes ( or lack of changes) in the game.
It's a funny old world when you think that differing views on managers in these semis is based purely on simply who one guy is, rather than the evidence available.
22-04-2022, 08:20 AM
Totally agree. I wouldn't even say we were unlucky in that Aberdeen game. Made our own bad luck with shambolic concentration and decision making to go 2-0 down. You lose games giving yourselves mountains to climb. I'd file that game in the bin alongside Saturday. Opportunity missed through our own fault. Too many at this club.
I'm not sure how anyone could watch the Aberdeen winner that day and think we weren't unlucky.
22-04-2022, 08:21 AM
And I’m sure some of the contributors have female influence either from listeners or from wife/kids. Don’t think there’s anything sinister here.
Long Bangers certainly used to have input from Tracey on Quick Bangs.....so as you say nothing sinister.
Sioux
22-04-2022, 08:22 AM
Am I reading this right?
If all you can see is the end result, then perhaps its you that lives in a funny old world.
22-04-2022, 08:49 AM
His starting 11 was a disaster that game. He made the only change really open to him by bringing Holt on, but it could have been prevented.
22-04-2022, 08:50 AM
I'm not sure how anyone could watch the Aberdeen winner that day and think we weren't unlucky.
100% agree with that though, they were so so spawny it was like playing Hearts.
22-04-2022, 08:51 AM
I actually took the post to be talking about JR
davhibby
22-04-2022, 09:35 AM
No as usual you are way off track on a number of things.
He isn't getting praised because we lost the semi final. I think he deserves a bit of praise because of the things that happened in the game. He may have made a mistake with the starting line up but he knew how to fix it against a very good Aberdeen team.
Lennon had his faults but showed on a number of occasions how good a manager he could be and made a positive change in the game. Maloney hasn't shown anything to suggest he is a good manager and again made poor changes ( or lack of changes) in the game.
It's a funny old world when you think that differing views on managers in these semis is based purely on simply who one guy is, rather than the evidence available.
Lennon showed on a number of occasions that he had no idea how to pick a team and in a quite a few big games was left scrambling around to make early subs to try and fix his errors. In that semi the damage was already done. The only time we were consistently good when he was here was the 5 months when he stumbled by chance across an 11 that is probably the best set of players we’ve had at Hibs in a long time. Even then he managed to make a mess of that by changing it at Tynecastle which cost us a shot at second.
He’s also since presided over the worst season in Celtic’s recent history and is still in the media blaming the fans, players and anyone that’s not himself.
At this point he’s really just a sore loser rather than a serial winner.
22-04-2022, 09:44 AM
His starting 11 was a disaster that game. He made the only change really open to him by bringing Holt on, but it could have been prevented.
I don't think it was a disaster. In hindsight it looked bad but any game plan he had was out the window within 30 secs. So we don't know for sure how it might have turned out.
Maloney has shown us that making what should be obvious changes isn't that simple for some.
22-04-2022, 09:48 AM
Lennon showed on a number of occasions that he had no idea how to pick a team and in a quite a few big games was left scrambling around to make early subs to try and fix his errors. In that semi the damage was already done. The only time we were consistently good when he was here was the 5 months when he stumbled by chance across an 11 that is probably the best set of players we’ve had at Hibs in a long time. Even then he managed to make a mess of that by changing it at Tynecastle which cost us a shot at second.
He’s also since presided over the worst season in Celtic’s recent history and is still in the media blaming the fans, players and anyone that’s not himself.
As soon as SJM left Lennon’s team fell to bits
22-04-2022, 09:49 AM
What games were those?
22-04-2022, 09:50 AM
Well no the damage wasn't already done in the semi, because he got us level and we looked the better team until Aberdeen scored one of the flukiest goals in Hampden history.
I think your overall assesmemt of Lennon is unbalanced. Certainly in his career overall the positives outweigh the negatives IMO.
22-04-2022, 09:50 AM
One of Lennon’s problems was that he got lucky once or twice with bonkers line ups forced on him through necessity (Porto’s debut, had John McGinn at LWB and Lewis playing LCB for the first time at Ibrox) and it made him think he was a master tactician.
It led to him trying the bizarre on several occasions, with awful results.
Celtic suffered for this more than us, with some appalling Champions League experiments / exits.
I remember my Celtic supporting mate being aghast about it and it reminding me of a trip to Killie in particular.
22-04-2022, 09:52 AM
What games were those?
I'm struggling to think of those too. It's one of those Hibs.net myths that grows arms and legs over time that it was a regular occurence.
And that 11 was because Gray was injured which allowed us to play Boyle as wingback.
22-04-2022, 09:57 AM
As soon as SJM left Lennon’s team fell to bits
In the ten games immediately after he left we were P10 W 5 D 3 L 2. He left after our first league game of the season, and we had 17 points from our first eight games.
We then went into the bad spell that saw his departure, which seems to have stemmed from him losing the plot behind the scenes, and losing the dressing room. The idea that Lennon's success and subsequent short spell of failure were entirely down to John McGinn is lazy and inaccurate.