View Full Version : Match Updates Aberdeen v Hibernian

Pages : 1 [2] 3

19-03-2022, 03:33 PM
Nope, a yellow at most, Ryan will be out of Scotland this summer.

It can’t be our country’s fault every time Ryan Porteous gets sent-off

19-03-2022, 03:33 PM
Porto just made a last ditch challenge to stop a goal. I don’t get the rush to criticise him to be honest.Its hibs.net. what do you expect?

dalkeith stu
19-03-2022, 03:34 PM
Cleared the boy out off the ball. Correct decision.

He won the ****in ball!!! 100% penalty but i thought they done away with red cards if you made a play for the ball!!!

No way, it is red all day.

Would have been better not swiping the boys standing leg and giving us a chance with 11 on the park.

I never really minded Richard Gordon but listening to him on this with that other prick is dreadful.

Bevis Mugabi went in for the ball last week....Learn the rules, the 2 are imcomparable

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

berwickhibee
No shots on target yet again after 70 odd minutes, disgraceful.

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 03:35 PM
How old is he?

Needs to grow up.

23 next week. Over 150 professional appearances.

The chat that he needs to get out of Scotland is nonsense. He needs to ****ing learn. He won’t get away with most of it down there either.

He won the ****in ball!!! 100% penalty but i thought they done away with red cards if you made a play for the ball!!!

The Aberdeen players were asking for a red for a good minute and got one.

Beginning to think Maloney just hasn’t got it. Not recognising we needed a centre mid in the window makes me think he hasn’t a clue.

Did he not say he wants / needs a 6 at the AGM which is even more odd.

Midfield / spine needs sorted.

How the hell that boy avoided a booking for diving there?

Rocky is nowhere near good enough. It is early days but I don't think Mueller or Henderson will be good enough either. The injuries are hurting but our squad is very mediocre. How is their number 10 still on the park

Zambernardi1875
id put doidge and hauge on now,

Ardenttwo
I will tell you who isn't learning - the manager.

Campbell, Wright, Bushiri.... none of them anywhere near the required standard.

Why o why did Campbell not try to tackle insult running alongside the guy. The problem started there

loanheadhibby
19-03-2022, 03:36 PM
You are deluded or don't know the rules if you think only a yellow.
He let's us down too often and is not learning.
Maybe best for both if he leaves in the summer and I don't take any pleasure in saying that.

Porto off red card
Not again, oh well rugby coming up.

TheCabbage
Absolutely this. Don’t mind rocky but the other two do nothing

He give me the fear with the ball at his feet.
Not good enough

Maybe best for both if he leaves in the summer and I don't take any pleasure in saying that.

How is it a red in the current rules?

19-03-2022, 03:37 PM
23 next week. Over 150 professional appearances.

The chat that he needs to get out of Scotland is nonsense. He needs to ****ing learn. He won’t get away with most of it down there either.

What would you rather he do in that situation? Help yourself pal have a goal on me? He had to make an attempt and it didn't come off

Maybe best for both if he leaves in the summer and I don't take any pleasure in saying that.Whats the rules?

So..Ryan out for both hearts games ?

He'll definitely miss the league game, I think he might be ok for the semi final as today's red card wasn't for violent conduct or serious foul play but not 100% sure.

I think he'll be out for Dundee Utd, Hearts (league game) and then first post-split league game.

The sheep number 10 is just a blatant cheat no other way to describe him, been at it all game, trying to get someone sent off.
At the stage I just want a Hibs man to put him into the stand.

19-03-2022, 03:38 PM
He'll definitely miss the league game, I think he might be ok for the semi final as today's red card wasn't for violent conduct or serious foul play but not 100% sure.

I think he'll be out for Dundee Utd, Hearts (league game) and then first post-split league game.

Surely it’s not a three game ban.

Anyone know if he is suspended for the semi final?

I'd need to see the replays of the pen again but is it appealable?

3-1 Dons

Paulie Walnuts
What would you rather he do in that situation? Help yourself pal have a goal on me? He had to make an attempt and it didn't come off

Yes. I would have.

I’d rather be chasing the game at 2-1 with 11 men than 10.

19-03-2022, 03:39 PM
3-1 **** off.

Definitely game over now. We are a terrible side.

gg

Porto suspended for another derby :faf:

He has been our best player by far since Christmas, though. Those repeating the hun patter about him not learning are daft. He clearly is learning, that doesn't make him perfect

If Ryan made an attempt for the ball he should not have been sent off, did he?

The ref is Alan Muir. He allowed a Falkirk player to pick the ball up in the box then kick a Hibs player off the ball without giving a penalty.

The sooner this season is over the better.

Imagine we’d appointed a young hungry manager that knew and had another team performing well in the league 👀

Why o why did Campbell not try to tackle insult running alongside the guy. The problem started there

He’s not good enough and will find his level at Edinburgh City or similar. He hides out there.
Drey Wright is just as bad. But the most guilty is Maloney because he puts them out there and it was obvious during January that they were crap.
Swapping Jack Ross for Maloney was a disastrous decision.

19-03-2022, 03:40 PM
Soemone wanna tell me how that's no a foul by Mcgeough on Campbell in the build up to there 3rd?

Surely a foul in the build up from Mcgeouch?

Rugby time. 🤔

oldbiker
ffs we are awful.

Surely it’s not a three game ban.

Yes I think it will be due to his poor disciplinary record this season.

Just awful Hibs.

So many average players playing in a shape that doesn’t work.

Feel like I’ve written that so many times in last few weeks.

Heckingbottom got hounded out for similar or less than this.

Getting what we deserve. And now the subs come on

cameronw-hfc
Porto just made a last ditch challenge to stop a goal. I don’t get the rush to criticise him to be honest.

He made a stupid decision and got sent off? I'll defend him against any pundits, but that doesn't mean he's excused when he costs us by doing something stupid.

Well with the number of teams on 37 points top 6 will be a scramble.

Rugby time. [emoji848]I thought Mcgeough started that already? [emoji848]

19-03-2022, 03:41 PM
Aberdeen are bang average but this has not been a good performance Even going ahead didn’t seem to give us belief
Resigned to bottom six ffs

That wee bassa number 10 should not be on the pitch, Hibs are so poor it is sore to watch.
Have to say they have been well helped by a complete tosser of a ref.

Aberdeen will make it to the top six

two places left imo

It is early days but I don't think Mueller or Henderson will be good enough either. The injuries are hurting but our squad is very mediocre. How is their number 10 still on the park

This is where I am. Too many average players regardless of injuries. Happy to give the manager time but we're nowhere near where we need to be. It's not just one player. It's about 5 or 6 good players.

Really poor record since he came in. Bottom six seems a stick on.

19-03-2022, 03:42 PM
Who do we play in the bottom six split?

HendoDelivered

He also had a summer to build his own side though. Maloney hasn’t. Judge him next season 👍🏼

Paulie Walnuts

He has been our best player by far since Christmas, though. Those repeating the hun patter about him not learning are daft. He clearly is learning, that doesn't make him perfect

No, he’s not.

His disciplinary record is ****ing awful. It’s even now crept into his off pitch life.

He’s looking at 3 games suspended now because his record is that bad. Does that strike you as somebody who’s learning?

Anyone know if he is suspended for the semi final?

Rocky was suspended for Motherwell game after a league game send off.

Depends if it violent conduct I think.

Thank Christ everyone else is as bad as us. Still 4th. Need to beat Utd and we will be fine.

We fully deserve bottom 6 this season

19-03-2022, 03:43 PM

He definitely won't miss the cup game.

What have Melkerson and Jasper been like today please?

We fully deserve bottom 6 this season

How can you deserve bottom 6 and be sitting 4th. There are 8 teams that deserve bottom 6 more currently and that’s how a league table works.

Zambernardi1875
1 upfront wont get maloney far, midfield too, ive given him time for all this continental pish but i see no improvment in quality of games since he came in, still all fart no jobbie, still boring as ****

To be honest we’ve had a lot of time this season to tie up a top six place this year, if not 4th place, and we just don’t seem to have the players on the pitch to do it. As we are in the business end of the top 6 split anything other than a win is just not acceptable.

Going to need at leats one win, if not two now, to secure top 6.

Paulie Walnuts
What have Melkerson and Jasper been like today please?

Melkersen has hardly had a touch.

19-03-2022, 03:44 PM
Why are folk surprised at this? We wrote the season off in December. You don't appoint a rookie and sign a bunch of kids in January if you're planning for the present.

Shambolic that we're in this situation, but maybe it will work out long term. Probably not.

I always thought it was difficult to play against 10 men? Unfortunately that theory never seems to apply to Hibs.

Just awful Hibs.

So many average players playing in a shape that doesn’t work.

Feel like I’ve written that so many times in last few weeks.

Cannot play a passing expansive game with the players we have right now, 4231/433 putting strength in the middle until the summer when there'll be a clearout.

Poor all around today from defence to attack with no heart in the middle.

Lost count of how many games now this season we have created absolutely nothing going forward.

How much time does Maloney want to implement a decent style? I understand injuries have not been kind to us but his exact words on day one was expect swashbuckling fast flowing football.

I genuinely have no idea how we're still sitting 4th.

19-03-2022, 03:45 PM
Top 6 this year is the best we can hope for.

total p1sh.

When do we start to see an improvement? It's been a while.

He definitely won't miss the cup game.

Yes that is what I also believe.

The Captain....
19-03-2022, 03:46 PM
The standard of the league is absolute ***** this year.

How we are sitting 4th with this lot is unbelievable.

Another very poor afternoon and performance.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
Quite incredible that we’re still 4th. Todays results have somehow made the table even tighter.

No idea how we are still 4th at the moment.

Top 4, cruising it

Bobo
We have a manager who sets his teams up to try and not to lose rather than win games. His team selections and tactics are horrific and are reflected in the lack of intent the players show in the majority of games.

It's not that we don't have the players to do better, more that we are witnessing one of the most negative Hibs managers in some time. His football has been bland, slow and unadventurous in the main and IMO we are a poorer team than we were before his arrival.

I hope I'm proved wrong but if he doesn't change his ideas he won't last long.

c31
19-03-2022, 03:47 PM
He's asking players do do things they are not capable of doing.
We can't string 3 passes together and all the other teams now we will be slow and crap at it.
Aberdeen today are just as bad but they have some energy in their team which we don't.

Sioux
19-03-2022, 03:48 PM
I genuinely have no idea how we're still sitting 4th.

Arithmetic?

Hi Mr anti Hibs, was a yellow and a penalty, simples.

Rubbish. That's all I have to say.

What have Melkerson and Jasper been like today please?Anonymous, my the time we got the ball up to them they were mobbed by defenders and nearly always easily dispossessed, The players might not be great but the style isn't helping

19-03-2022, 03:49 PM
Arithmetic?

Yes obviously. It was more a rhetorical statement though.

LunasBoots
19-03-2022, 03:49 PM
One up top doesn't work, nothing creative in our entire midfield and spent to much time in our own half...All round very poor

McGruber
19-03-2022, 03:50 PM
Really hoped we were on to something with Maloney - applaud the club for trying something different but it's not working and that's not going to change. He has to go. Might aswell see it out to summer but hopefully we are making plans for a change now.

10 red cards this season. You can’t remain competitive if you have such a bad disciplinary record over a term :grr:

Paulie Walnuts
One up top doesn't work, nothing creative in our entire midfield and spent to much time in our own half...All round very poor

Our midfield is the issue imo.

One up top is what most teams generally play. We just don’t have the attacking players to support the lone striker and our centre midfield is absolutely diabolical. Wright and Campbell are terrifyingly bad.

The striker in this team has absolutely no chance.

19-03-2022, 03:51 PM
Only plus I can see is the fact that we have so many younger players and if you think back so many where shouting out to play the young players well we have that now, it is going to take some time and also some real cash to bring in a wee bit of quality as we are 5 or 6 short the players we have mostly are just not good enough, mid-table is about right with what we have up to now, the jamboids must be looking for a bit of an easy passage, with any luck the players we have will prove them wrong.
Sad looking side that we are just now.

19-03-2022, 03:51 PM
Hibs just get tae, along with this season. **** sake.

19-03-2022, 03:52 PM
We have a manager who sets his teams up to try and not to lose rather than win games. His team selections and tactics are horrific and are reflected in the lack of intent the players show in the majority of games.

It's not that we don't have the players to do better, more that we are witnessing one of the most negative Hibs managers in some time. His football has been bland, slow and unadventurous in the main and IMO we are a poorer team than we were before his arrival.

I hope I'm proved wrong but if he doesn't change his ideas he won't last long.

We don't have a manager, we've got someone who wants to be a manager.

Green Reaper
19-03-2022, 03:52 PM
Really hoped we were on to something with Maloney - applaud the club for trying something different but it's not working and that's not going to change. He has to go. Might aswell see it out to summer but hopefully we are making plans for a change now.

No chance, Maloney will be backed in summer transfer window to gat players in that can play his system.

19-03-2022, 03:53 PM
Yet again today other results went for us and we just couldn’t capitalise against a poor Aberdeen side.

LunasBoots
Our midfield is the issue imo.

One up top is what most teams generally play. We just don’t have the attacking players to support the lone striker and our centre midfield is absolutely diabolical. Wright and Campbell are terrifyingly bad.

The striker in this team has absolutely no chance.

Yeah mate for me Maloney has to play to the strengths of the current players until the end of the season then if he wants to go one up top next season do it then with players capable of playing the system.

AL-Qaholik
No chance, Maloney will be backed in summer transfer window to gat players in that can play his system.

And we afford them, how?!

You cannot play like Belgium on our budget. Never going to happen.

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 03:54 PM
****ing terrible.

For the umpteenth time this season, this has to be the last of the Campbell and/or Wright experiment.

Ridiculous from Porteous also.

Livingston and Motherwell both beat thankfully

We need to get rid of half this squad. Need to get shot of all these long-term injuries.

Absolute disgrace that we came 3rd last year and never built on that and got complacent.

Yet again today other results went for us and we just couldn’t capitalise against a poor Aberdeen side.

Boom, spoke to soon.:rolleyes:

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 03:55 PM
Yeah mate for me Maloney has to play to the strengths of the current players until the end of the season then if he wants to go one up top next season do it then with players capable of playing the system.

Yeah I think that’s fair.

3-5-2 is worth a go imo.

Newell Doyle-Hayes with Mueller as a 10 for me. Doig on the left, Cadden on the right, Melkersen and Jasper/Doidge up top.

We’re going to get an absolute pasting at hampden

worryingly Dundee utd now on a run of 5 games without a win

who ya gonna call

H18S NX
I thought we played ok for the first five minutes of the game

Green Reaper
19-03-2022, 03:56 PM
And we afford them, how?!

You cannot play like Belgium on our budget. Never going to happen.

Nobody is expecting us to play like Belgium! We have money to spend from Boyle transfer and I am sure RG and the board will find the funds to back Shaun

sauzeelegod
Horrific once again. Just so boring to watch and so slow.
The system doesn’t work with this team.
Play 433 ffs!
Play faster and more aggressive.

Hibs were poor today but the Refs performance was ridiculous. As many have said the shape of the team is wrong. 1 up front doesn’t work for us and neither does 3 at the back with player available at this time

who ya gonna call

They just won.

19-03-2022, 03:57 PM
At least it is another game gone in a thoroughly uninspiring league campaign. Bertie Auld type fitbaw and I think the experiment of trying to drive square pegs into round holes has now been proven that it won't work

Paulie Walnuts
Hibs were poor today but the Refs performance was ridiculous. As many have said the shape of the team is wrong. 1 up front doesn’t work for us and neither does 3 at the back with player available at this time

What do you think the ref got wrong?

Hibdan12
With the double jeopardy rule should porteous have been sent off?

vahibbie
Hibs are really becoming unwatchable. The line up and tactics are poor and the team show no drive whatsoever.
Boring to the extreme.

hopefully PH back in time for RP taking a wee holiday

We’re going to get an absolute pasting at hampdenMind and take 2 pairs of pants [emoji106]

19-03-2022, 03:58 PM
4th down to 10th everyone seems to be the same sort of mince, all in patchy form. We could finish in any position in that spread at this rate.

With the double jeopardy rule should porteous have been sent off?I'd need to see it again but it now comes down to did he make an attempt at playing the ball

McGruber

When the manager plays Drey Wright ahead of Mueller, Henderson and Doidge does it really matter who comes in.

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 03:59 PM
With the double jeopardy rule should porteous have been sent off?

Yeah.

No attempt to get the ball cleanly. When he made the tackle he done so knowing he was going to foul him.

It’s a red for me.

10 red cards this season. You can’t remain competitive if you have such a bad disciplinary record over a term :grr:

It’s a shame they stopped the Sunday Post crime league. We would have walked it.

ehf
Dismal stuff. We are heading for bottom six and a Hampden humiliation; Christ knows how many (few) season tickets we will sell.

They just won.

aaah 90+ 6 mins :boo hoo:that's them 5th now, jeezo this is sooooo bad

who ya gonna call96th minute winner today

19-03-2022, 04:00 PM
Will Maloney make it to the end of the season? I don’t think so.

96th minute winner today

just noticed i thought it was safe to say they drew

If we didn’t have an own goal we weren’t scoring in a million years.

JamesHFC

Nonsense.

19-03-2022, 04:01 PM
Mind and take 2 pairs of pants [emoji106]

Hoping to be that pissed I’ll need them

This is a poor Hibs team in a average league. No wonder it is so tight in the middle of the league. Poor teams taking turns winning each week.

I genuinely wouldn't keep any of the loan players and I would also try to offload 4-5 and make serious changes to the squad in the summer.

yes he will

Interesting to watch McGeogh when he came on, never wasted a ball, with most of his passes he right away played forward, always looking for the ball. Our 3 in midfield well least said the better.
Watching a side with no confidence and little ability to show otherwise is no fun, we need to do something, not sure what that is, but things cannot stay the same, roll on the end of the season.

ShetlandHibby
19-03-2022, 04:02 PM
Porteous let us down yet again, guy is a loose cannon.

Poor result and terrible performance. There was no lack of effort but seemed an unwillingness to get forward and support. Melkserson was so isolated for most of that match. These players really need to get the finger out as we are in danger of not making the top 6. It doesn’t matter that we have had a load of injuries, that would and should be unacceptable for Hibs Aberdeen were garbage too but were still better than us.

Jasper and Melkersen I think are good enough.

Rocky - think he will be decent enough.

Henderson and Muller - just not seeing it so far.

Campbell / Wright just not good enough.

Recruitment and not enough quality is an issue then you add in the possession football formation with no end product and you get Hibs currently.

Dropping 4 points against the bottom 2 last week really coming back to bite
us. So many average / poor games this season and not making the top 4 let alone top 6 would be a massive failure.

19-03-2022, 04:03 PM
We have hardly any forward thinking players. You can’t play football without them.

19-03-2022, 04:04 PM
Yeah.

No attempt to get the ball cleanly. When he made the tackle he done so knowing he was going to foul him.

It’s a red for me.

Pretty impressive, if all that went through his head in the split second it took to tackle the guy. I think you are talking mince my friend, mince I say.

19-03-2022, 04:05 PM
Utterly dismal performance second half. Some serious questions need to be asked about discipline and attitude in the team in general and idiots like Porteous in particular. Aberdeen won't win an easier three points this season. Shocking second half ... Maloney's set-up and tactics today are beyond me ...

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 04:06 PM
Pretty impressive, if all that went through his head in the split second it took to tackle the guy. I think you are talking mince my friend, mince I say.

If he doesn’t know he was going to foul him making that tackle then he’s even dafter than I thought!

We have hardly any forward thinking players. You can’t play football without them.

Melkersen, Jasper, Henderson, Mueller, Doidge, Doig, Cadden.

We do. They’re just not being used in a system that allows them to.

This is a poor Hibs team in a average league. No wonder it is so tight in the middle of the league. Poor teams taking turns winning each week.

I genuinely wouldn't keep any of the loan players and I would also try to offload 4-5 and make serious changes to the squad in the summer.
Everyone except Aberdeen!!!!
We laughed at Hertz V Dundee and St Johnstone, then do the same ourselves with other teams???
We win a game in the cup against 10 men for 89 minutes and we were world beaters again???
Then crash and burn in the next game???
We need to get a grip!!!

BOOM! you sound like the One o' Clock gun.

Mike Berry
19-03-2022, 04:07 PM
I'd just like to say, thanks Hibs for ruining my weekend. That was a depressing performance. I'm dreading going to Hampden, but I'll still go because I'm an idiot.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

19-03-2022, 04:07 PM
2 points off 4th and 2 points clear of 10th. Crazy tight league this year!

19-03-2022, 04:08 PM
If he doesn’t know he was going to foul him making that tackle then he’s even dafter than I thought!

:faf::faf:

No wonder. Every team below 3rd is absolute *****

Paulie Walnuts

I’d honestly bin anyone we could with the exception of Cadden, Newell and Melkersen.

Doig, Porteous and Nisbet would get us a fee and tbh I think anything north of £1.5m for any of them is decent business.

After that, if we can find takers for any of the others then I’d let them go. We need a total rebuild.

I think it was a poor appointment, that wasn't needed and all the talk about attacking football just made it even harder for him. I can't see him bringing that style to Scottish football outside two clubs but the Chairman has made his bed and he should lie in it. We cannot go back to sacking managers every time they have a bad run. Maloney should get at least another window, if not two and if we are making any signings I'd go for Leeann Dempster to play up top in the board room table.

LunasBoots
I'd just like to say, thanks Hibs for ruining my weekend. That was a depressing performance. I'm dreading going to Hampden, but I'll still go because I'm an idiot.

Same but play the way we are playing in coming games many won't go.

We’re playing the likes of Wright, Campbell and Stevenson in midfield/wing back because their strengths are their engines and defensive work. They offer very little in possession.

Tommy75
19-03-2022, 04:09 PM
We’re going to get an absolute pasting at hampden

Based on what? We'll probably get beat but when was the last time Hearts gave someone a pasting?

Yes we were poor. Sorry to say there was nothing today to give us confidence. Lost Porto for 2 matches now and only 2 shots at goal the entire game. I see what others have said about our negativity very noticable today. Hopefully its a blip as far as a result goes but looked at times like boys against men. Manager got that all wrong for me today. I hope Clarke and Magennis not too far away but feeling like wishful thinking. Was maybe a day for Rocky, Porto and Hanlon at the back and JDH for Campbell (but he had our only shot at goal second half). When we did win a ball lost it straight away,difficult to take any positives from today.

Hibs are really becoming unwatchable. The line up and tactics are poor and the team show no drive whatsoever.
Boring to the extreme.
Yip, new manager in summer please.

delbert
Utterly dismal performance second half. Some serious questions need to be asked about discipline and attitude in the team in general and idiots like Porteous in particular. Aberdeen won't win an easier three points this season. Shocking second half ... Maloney's set-up and tactics today are beyond me ...

The problem is, Maloney’s tactics and set up seems to be beyond just about everyone, fans, players, coaches, I’m not even convinced he knows what he is trying to do. Perhaps he should stop reading all the stuff in the press from his mates about how good he is, and start trying to prove it instead !

19-03-2022, 04:10 PM
Jasper and Melkersen I think are good enough.

Rocky - think he will be decent enough.

Henderson and Muller - just not seeing it so far.

Campbell / Wright just not good enough.

Recruitment and not enough quality is an issue then you add in the possession football formation with no end product and you get Hibs currently.

Dropping 4 points against the bottom 2 last week really coming back to bite
us. So many average / poor games this season and not making the top 4 let alone top 6 would be a massive failure.

Rocky is a mistake waiting to happen.
Jasper looks like he’d be the best 5 a side player on the planet but doesn’t really stay in a game.
Melkerson defo a player but not in this team.
Henderson Is the wish version of his brother
Mueller would probably be a good player in a better team
Wright is an imposter
Campbell I feel sorry for the lad, he’ll be a player if he gets himself away from us.

The real problem is Maloney continuing this ridiculous notion that we can play like Liverpool with this group of players. We’re hopeless.

19-03-2022, 04:11 PM

You've had a few weekends ruined in your lifetime then.

The problem is, Maloney’s tactics and set up seems to be beyond just about everyone, fans, players, coaches, I’m not even convinced he knows what he is trying to do. Perhaps he should stop reading all the stuff in the press from his mates about how good he is, and start trying to prove it instead !

Can't believe he thought reading positive articles in the press was enough!

Some boy that Maloney

Mike Berry
Same but play the way we are playing in coming games many won't go.If we finish bottom 6 and get gubbed at Hampden many hibees won't forgive Maloney. I'm still hoping he's the right guy in the long term, but performances like that make it hard to be optimistic.

19-03-2022, 04:12 PM
The worrying thing is not one of the players out injured will make an iota of difference- that midfield should hang their heads today, all of them brutally off standards required.

Recruitment team needs to act on this in summer, the midfield is both losing us games and preventing us winning them consistently.

As for Ryan - too angry to type what I feel about him today. Can’t blame age or naivety, as he said in his pre-game interview he’s now got experience and games behind him. He’s plain stupid at times and it’s not leaving his game anytime soon.

19-03-2022, 04:12 PM
Melkersen, Jasper, Henderson, Mueller, Doidge, Doig, Cadden.

We do. They’re just not being used in a system that allows them to.

Kind of backs up my point I think. A couple of full backs, some young untested players and a striker who has lost the ability to run.

It’s not all down to system for me. Doidge has done well for us in various spells but of the others, how many have consistently provided goals and assists over a period of time (whether here or at previous clubs)?

Sioux
19-03-2022, 04:13 PM
Yeah.

It’s a red for me.

Of course, no one makes a tackle in those circumstances! I mean, that would lead to multiple red cards every week.

On the other hand, you're just having a pop at RP because you want to.

Which scenario is the most likely?

Mike Berry
You've had a few weekends ruined in your lifetime then.Well I've been a Hibee for well over 50 years, so yes, quite a few.

The tactics are awful and there are players in the team that are just not good enough. The only way we’ll sell a decent amount of season tickets will the quality of attacking players we sign early in the window.

Absolutely no one wants to watch their team slowly playing the ball around in their own half with little or no attacking intention. It’s absolutely dire watching a free kick halfway up the pitch being played back to our 18 yard line by Campbell.

In all honesty I think we are heading into the two derbies now being huge for him to keep some of our fanbase onside.

19-03-2022, 04:14 PM
I think it was a poor appointment, that wasn't needed and all the talk about attacking football just made it even harder for him. I can't see him bringing that style to Scottish football outside two clubs but the Chairman has made his bed and he should lie in it. We cannot go back to sacking managers every time they have a bad run. Maloney should get at least another window, if not two and if we are making any signings I'd go for Leeann Dempster to play up top in the board room table.

I don’t mind us sacking crap managers. It’s the appointing of them in the first place that needs to stop.

loanheadhibby
19-03-2022, 04:15 PM
Yes we were poor. Sorry to say there was nothing today to give us confidence. Lost Porto for 2 matches now and only 2 shots at goal the entire game. I see what others have said about our negativity very noticable today. Hopefully its a blip as far as a result goes but looked at times like boys against men. Manager got that all wrong for me today. I hope Clarke and Magennis not too far away but feeling like wishful thinking. Was maybe a day for Rocky, Porto and Hanlon at the back and JDH for Campbell (but he had our only shot at goal second half). When we did win a ball lost it straight away,difficult to take any positives from today.

We can’t hang our hat on Magennis! The laddie is made of chocolate. He’s not played since September! Even if he makes a comeback this season, he’ll take weeks to get back up to speed.

Does Clarke even exist?

In all honesty I think we are heading into the two derbies now being huge for him to keep some of our fanbase onside.

He loses them and he should be gone.

The Captain....
That was as boring a performance as I've watched this season. Utterly inept at entertaining or creating chances.

I honestly couldn't give a flying **** if Maloney is still here next season as I certainly won't be watching if he is.

Had enough of the turgid ***** we are watching.

loanheadhibby
19-03-2022, 04:16 PM

Yeah we're all daft apart from you and you haven't even seen the incident.

19-03-2022, 04:16 PM
That was as boring a performance as I've watched this season. Utterly inept at entertaining or creating chances.

I honestly couldn't give a flying **** if Maloney is still here next season as I certainly won't be watching if he is.

Had enough of the turgid ***** we are watching.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk[emoji106] Come back for the semis and finals tho [emoji122][emoji108]

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 04:17 PM
Of course, no one makes a tackle in those circumstances! I mean, that would lead to multiple red cards every week.

On the other hand, you're just having a pop at RP because you want to.

Which scenario is the most likely?

Ryan Porteous made that foul knowing it was going to be a foul. If he didn’t think he was going to commit a foul then I’m not sure football is the sport for him. He was NEVER going to win the ball there without wiping the guy out. He made the decision to do it to stop him scoring. It was a stupid decision.

I’m having a pop at RP because he deserves it. Absolutely idiotic from him.

If you change “tight” to “s***e” you are nearer the mark.

I don’t mind us sacking crap managers. It’s the appointing of them in the first place that needs to stop.

No guarantee we will get better if we go leftfield again and it is a very expensive business

19-03-2022, 04:18 PM

O.K. it has to be said who would you go for in his place.
Serious question.

19-03-2022, 04:18 PM
Nonsense.

Beat me to it

LunasBoots
19-03-2022, 04:19 PM
[emoji106] Come back for the semis and finals tho [emoji122][emoji108]

There will be no finals unless there's some kind of miracle that's hard to see at the moment.

gazzag70
19-03-2022, 04:20 PM
We are totally unwatchable! Maloney is way out of his depth. I really fear for us in the approaching Derbies.We are as bad as I have ever seen us in 50 plus years of watching.

Did Porteous make an attempt to play he ball ?

I’ve not seen it, but if he did it shouldn’t be a red and a penalt.

[emoji106] Come back for the semis and finals tho [emoji122][emoji108]

Hibs could go a whole four seasons without a draw or win and you’d still troll anyone who said anything negative against the club.

19-03-2022, 04:21 PM
The worrying thing is not one of the players out injured will make an iota of difference- that midfield should hang their heads today, all of them brutally off standards required.

Recruitment team needs to act on this in summer, the midfield is both losing us games and preventing us winning them consistently.

As for Ryan - too angry to type what I feel about him today. Can’t blame age or naivety, as he said in his pre-game interview he’s now got experience and games behind him. He’s plain stupid at times and it’s not leaving his game anytime soon.

100% agree - the injured players coming back aren’t going to suddenly make us win games.

We have regressed since Jack Ross - simple.

My worry is Maloney will continue to stick with this formation which is suited
to world class players only - not Drey Wright.

This coaching experiment isn’t working and fans are getting more and more frustrated.

It doesn’t take a genius to see this shape isn’t working. Always too many players behind the ball.

19-03-2022, 04:21 PM
O.K. it has to be said who would you go for in his place.
Serious question.

No clue, I wouldn’t have sacked Ross in the first place though. I believe he would have signed a centre mid in January.
That’s not what matters now though. We have a poor manager in the job now and the question is, what is the club going to do? Just drift until summer? Or act?

19-03-2022, 04:22 PM
Twice Aberdeen can’t buy a win and twice Hibs go to Pittodrie at give them the points.

Hibs could go a whole four seasons without a draw or win and you’d still troll anyone who said anything negative against the club.Il no he back to watch them!

Aye right, I'd bet 20 quid folk will be watching the semi at hampden

Its churlish

We are a poor side at the moment no idea where you get I defend the club at every opportunity

Paulie Walnuts
Did Porteous make an attempt to play he ball ?

I’ve not seen it, but if he did it shouldn’t be a red and a penalt.

He didn’t. He was never winning the ball without wiping out the man.

Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 04:23 PM
It was always going to be hard taking on one of the SFA's much loved clubs. They are known as the Huns of the north for a reason.

CB Hibs 68

As for Ryan - too angry to type what I feel about him today. Can’t blame age or naivety, as he said in his pre-game interview he’s now got experience and games behind him. He’s plain stupid at times and it’s not leaving his game anytime soon.The recruitment team is headed by the owners son.What qualifications and experience does he have to be in this position apart from being Ron’s laddie ? I am seriously worried at the direction the club is going in.The Hope of selling 13000 season tickets for next campaign is nuts.Lucky at this rate to sell 8000.

Paulie Walnuts
No clue, I wouldn’t have sacked Ross in the first place though. I believe he would have signed a centre mid in January.
That’s not what matters now though. We have a poor manager in the job now and the question is, what is the club going to do? Just drift until summer? Or act?

Jack Ross wouldn’t have signed anyone. That’s the recruitment teams job and was used as a defence of JR due to the poor transfer window last summer.

Il no he back to watch them!

Its churlish

We are a poor side at the moment no idea where you get I defend the club at every opportunity

I’ll be at the semi final but I can still say that we look absolutely awful now.

Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 04:24 PM
Twice Aberdeen can’t buy a win and twice Hibs go to Pittodrie at give them the points.

Ref helped them today thats most corrupt game i have ever seen.

At least it looks like we may have Hanlon back to cover Porteous absence.

Il no he back to watch them!

Its churlish

You will argue any point that anyone wants to make that doesn’t suit your blind faith. Of course folk will watch the semi… they support the club, whether we’re pish or not, that’s a football fan. The Maloney experiment is a living nightmare.

19-03-2022, 04:25 PM
Ryan Porteous made that foul knowing it was going to be a foul. If he didn’t think he was going to commit a foul then I’m not sure football is the sport for him. He was NEVER going to win the ball there without wiping the guy out. He made the decision to do it to stop him scoring. It was a stupid decision.

I’m having a pop at RP because he deserves it. Absolutely idiotic from him.

He did get the ball did he not? So in your opinion he should never had tried to tackle the guy all in real time of a split second, eh I think you speak false on this one, when you dig a hole just stop digging is only way to get out.
That is a classic it has to be said, that football is not the sport for the best young player we have had at Hibs for years, amazing really amazing.

19-03-2022, 04:26 PM
I’ll be at the semi final but I can still say that we look absolutely awful now.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYes, fine - it's my point.the poster was saying he won't be watching them if maloney is in charge

I was pointing out they imho they most certainly will when we have a 'big' game

The stats back up us being a poor team recently - I'm certainly not debating that

19-03-2022, 04:26 PM
We are totally unwatchable! Maloney is way out of his depth. I really fear for us in the approaching Derbies.We are as bad as I have ever seen us in 50 plus years of watching.

You are out of your depth with trolling. Worst in 50 years? Aye right, hahahahahahahahahaha.......

Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 04:27 PM
If we didn’t have an own goal we weren’t scoring in a million years.

Agree but its also fair to say the same applied to the Red huns the ref gifted them the win

19-03-2022, 04:28 PM

You are right of course, but how do you stop it?

If you have the answer I'm sure you could sell it to every club on the planet.

You will argue any point that anyone wants to make that doesn’t suit your blind faith. Of course folk will watch the semi… they support the club, whether we’re pish or not, that’s a football fan. The Maloney experiment is a living nightmare.

Still convinced he’s our Cathro.

You will argue any point that anyone wants to make that doesn’t suit your blind faith. Of course folk will watch the semi… they support the club, whether we’re pish or not, that’s a football fan. The Maloney experiment is a living nightmare.What blind faith? I slated the club for sacking our last manager - that Was only 4 months ago or so

The same reason I thought they could've stood by the previous manager is the same reason I'm not up and arms about maloney

Things can take time, particulary coming in mid season to a team that was seen to be underperfoming and tasked to make us 'more expansive'

You are agreeing with me though - folk stomping feet and saying 'Il. No be watching if our current manager is in charge' are being churlish

Agree but its also fair to say the same applied to the Red huns the ref gifted them the win

I’m not here to watch Hibs draw games, if we can’t even muster a shot on goal then we will never win games. This is absolute torture.

Control what we can control and if we put up a good fight and make their goalie work then we can moan about these things. As it is we can’t.

19-03-2022, 04:29 PM

You would need to direct that question to the club Sir.

Bobo
19-03-2022, 04:30 PM
the question is, what is the club going to do? Just drift until summer? Or act? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Neither, they'll keep him and let him ruin another season for everyone ..... it's just a period of transition after all. 🙄

19-03-2022, 04:31 PM
You are right of course, but how do you stop it?

If you have the answer I'm sure you could sell it to every club on the planet.

Maloney was appointed after a robust process, you believe that SB
Did we actually interview anyone else?

19-03-2022, 04:33 PM
Neither, they'll keep him and let him ruin another season for everyone ..... it's just a period of transition after all. 🙄

Well, with what's going on in the world right now, I am not going to allow a daft game of football get to me, I will leave that to others, things will improve over time, remember Fergie.

Dmas
19-03-2022, 04:36 PM

It’s only a living nightmare if ur incapable of patience, the whole style of play direction the club want to go in on and off the pitch has changed, the club and manager have told us what they want to do and achieve some us know it’s not an overnight thing others want it immediately or it’s a complete failure

19-03-2022, 04:37 PM
It’s only a living nightmare if ur incapable of patience, the whole style of play direction the club want to go in on and off the pitch has changed, the club and manager have told us what they want to do and achieve some us know it’s not an overnight thing others want it immediately or it’s a complete failure

I think people just want a sign of improvement or change. As it is we’ve regressed.

Gloucester Hibs
He didn’t. He was never winning the ball without wiping out the man.

Aye, the ball wasn’t really there to be won.

Paulie Walnuts
He did get the ball did he not? So in your opinion he should never had tried to tackle the guy all in real time of a split second, eh I think you speak false on this one, when you dig a hole just stop digging is only way to get out.
That is a classic it has to be said, that football is not the sport for the best young player we have had at Hibs for years, amazing really amazing.

He got the man then the ball. As I said. The ball was in no way there to be won for Porteous.

I also said it’s not the sport for him if he thought he wasn’t going to commit a foul there. I have no doubt he did know that but decided to foul the boy to stop them scoring which was a stupid decision.

It was a terrible tackle and a terrible decision from Ryan. Left us chasing the game with 10 men and he’ll now be suspended for more than one game.

If you think it was a good decision from him then crack on.

19-03-2022, 04:40 PM

Not what I'm saying Billy.

Ozy says we need to stop getting ***** managers.

I'm asking how do you do that?

They don't come with guarantees.

19-03-2022, 04:43 PM
He got the man then the ball. As I said. The ball was in no way there to be won for Porteous.

I also said it’s not the sport for him if he thought he wasn’t going to commit a foul there. I have no doubt he did know that but decided to foul the boy to stop them scoring which was a stupid decision.

It was a terrible tackle and a terrible decision from Ryan. Left us chasing the game with 10 men and he’ll now be suspended for more than one game.

Naw it was more a terrible decision from a bent ref, he went with natural instinct in a split second, it turned out to be a pen, but he should not have been sent off as well.
Rewind if you want to blame someone for what happened, go back to the stupid foul committed. so I still think you speak with forked tongue.

19-03-2022, 04:43 PM
Hibernian head coach Shaun Maloney: "The game changed with two decisions. First [penalty decision] was wrong. It hits Rocky's knee before it hits his arm so the rules are that that shouldn't have been a penalty.

"Second one was the correct decision with the penalty but the wrong one to send him off. [Porteous] definitely takes the player trying to get the ball but if you make an attempt to get the ball then it's not a red card."

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 04:44 PM
Naw it was more a terrible decision from a bent ref, he went with natural instinct in a split second, it turned out to be a pen, but he should not have been sent off as well.
Rewind if you want to blame someone for what happened, go back to the stupid foul committed. so I still think you speak with forked tongue.

Right, if you think the ref made a terrible call then we’ll have to agree to disagree.

It’s as clear a red as you’ll ever see imo.

19-03-2022, 04:45 PM
What blind faith? I slated the club for sacking our last manager - that Was only 4 months ago or so

The same reason I thought they could've stood by the previous manager is the same reason I'm not up and arms about maloney

Things can take time, particulary coming in mid season to a team that was seen to be underperfoming and tasked to make us 'more expansive'

You are agreeing with me though - folk stomping feet and saying 'Il. No be watching if our current manager is in charge' are being churlish

We do agree on that point, yes. The whole I’ll no be back blah blah is nonsense.

However; we’re absolutely pish, Maloney hasn’t a clue what he’s doing, his back room staff are hardly in a position to influence him in any way and we really should be looking at ourselves. We won’t though, we’ll end up bottom six and pumped in the semi. I’ll be there, watching it unfold… moaning about it throughout.

PS - really hope I’m wrong!

💚

Dmas
19-03-2022, 04:46 PM
I think people just want a sign of improvement or change. As it is we’ve regressed.

We’re Hibs, the guys lost 13 players to injury and suspension, he’s been left with what 12 first team squad members? had to supplement the bench with U18 players and use players like wright and Scott who have barely played any all season it’s hardly ideal circumstances and it’s hardly criminal to have not hit the dizzy heights of what jack Ross was getting from the same group this season.

JR relied hugely on Martin Boyle had we stayed with JR and he had lost him I’d be wagering we’d find ourselves in the same predicament.

It’s a poor season no one’s denying it and I hate watching hibs loose games but chucking the manager before he’s even had a full squad to pick from is mental

19-03-2022, 04:47 PM

This is what gets my goat. Our fan base is willing to accept this time and again. It’s ok to be absolutely rubbish more often than not cause we’re ‘transitioning’. F O.

The Captain....
19-03-2022, 04:47 PM
Hibs could go a whole four seasons without a draw or win and you’d still troll anyone who said anything negative against the club.[emoji106][emoji108][emoji122].. [emoji3][emoji3]

19-03-2022, 04:48 PM
For the guys either at the game or watching via a link, what was so different today compared to against Motherwell? Same team but different performance why?

I've said for most of this season that we have a squad of players who are very up and down from one week to the other, I understand it's that type of player we can afford but the same goes for a few teams, we just seem to have players that vanish when the going gets tough and it's a must win game, all too often.

19-03-2022, 04:49 PM
Porteous just never learns…very immature

19-03-2022, 04:50 PM
For the guys either at the game or watching via a link, what was so different today compared to against Motherwell? Same team but different performance why?

I've said for most of this season that we have a squad of players who are very up and down from one week to the other, I understand it's that type of player we can afford but the same goes for a few teams, we just seem to have players that vanish when the going gets tough and it's a must win game, all too often.

Let’s face it, bar the two moments of class, we were hopeless against 10 men for that whole game… we are a team of nothing. We create nothing.

19-03-2022, 04:51 PM
Not what I'm saying Billy.

Ozy says we need to stop getting ***** managers.

I'm asking how do you do that?

They don't come with guarantees.

Better processes will get you better Managers
I’m not convinced we spoke to anyone other than Maloney, that’s not the way to do it

JamesHFC
19-03-2022, 04:52 PM
Today is the worst performance I’ve seen in a while. No hiding from that, we need improvement. If we beat Dundee Utd I think top six is in the bag. Let’s see what happens.

CL0762
19-03-2022, 04:53 PM
I’m not convinced we spoke to anyone other than Maloney, that’s not the way to do it

Maloney said from the outset he wasn’t looking, he didn’t apply. Kensell went after him.

19-03-2022, 04:56 PM
Today is the worst performance I’ve seen in a while. No hiding from that, we need improvement. If we beat Dundee Utd I think top six is in the bag. Let’s see what happens.

Only qualifying for Europe really counts tho. Finishing 6th so what?

19-03-2022, 04:56 PM

We really aren’t progressing - that’s the worry.

Fans will show patience if their were signs but we are getting less attacking / sitting back and becoming even more boring to watch than before - didn’t even realise that was possible. Motherwell 1st half was fine but still was only 2-1 and that was against 10 men for most of it.

When Hearts had Stendal you could see some attacking intent and a bit of a plan - they went down but at least he had a go.

19-03-2022, 05:00 PM

We played against 10 men for majority of game.

We went 2-0 up.

1-0 is rarely enough with this team.

Reality is Motherwell nearly equalised. We were awful 2nd half last week.

The inconsistency part is true - friend was telling me they spoke with someone who works at Hibs analysis and that JDH is prime example of they never know what they will get from him with performances. Very inconsistent.

19-03-2022, 05:01 PM

Fans will show patience if their were signs but we are getting less attacking / sitting back and becoming even more boring to watch than before - didn’t even realise that was possible. Motherwell 1st half was fine but still was only 2-1 and that was against 10 men for most of it.

When Hearts had Stendal you could see some attacking intent and a bit of a plan - they went down but at least he had a go.

Personally the state of the club lies at the very top. Ron seems to be well meaning but ive got to confess am a little worried he understands anything about "soccer" in Scotland. Club needs vision and clear direction just not seeing that right now. Finger out Ron.

19-03-2022, 05:02 PM
100% agree - the injured players coming back aren’t going to suddenly make us win games.

We have regressed since Jack Ross - simple.

My worry is Maloney will continue to stick with this formation which is suited
to world class players only - not Drey Wright.

This coaching experiment isn’t working and fans are getting more and more frustrated.

It doesn’t take a genius to see this shape isn’t working. Always too many players behind the ball.

:agree: Maloney is trying to p*ss with a c**k he doesn’t have and probably never will have, outwith the moneyed echelons of the ugly sisters. It’s not working and the annoying thing is that the slant on things is that, it’s all about him, and the players are not meeting his standards and demands. Poor Shaun, having his master plan interrupted by ‘ canny get the staff ‘. “ We’ve got a very long way to go “ he said recently, but, Shaun, you won’t have forever to achieve your goal. P*ss with the c**k you’ve got and we might get somewhere. If the trend continues, more and more folk will regret the sacking of Jack Ross. Admittedly, he was p*ssing poorly with the c**k he had but, I think things might have eventually come good. I think Ron Gordon has made some bad decisions and I don’t see us going anywhere soon.

19-03-2022, 05:03 PM

Ah ha ha ha ha ha! You're at it.

He's here!
19-03-2022, 05:03 PM
In fairness to Maloney, his game plan was destroyed on a freakish incident he couldn’t have contemplated.
A split second and everything changes.

He just wasn’t able to change to a plan B after we went a goal up.

Why would he change to a plan B after going ahead?

As you say the game turned on the sending off. There wasn't much between the sides.

The sorry truth is that the vast majority of teams in this league are bang average and the standard of football overall is low.

Dmas
19-03-2022, 05:04 PM

I agree but ur not giving the guy the allowance of the situation he’s in, had he had a full squad of players to pick from from the offset and progress was still the same then absolutely alarm bells ring but he’s not, we’ve had full backs at centre half, young guys out the picture before playing centre mid, one striker to rely on, drey wright barely kicked a ball in 18months now relied on as a starter James Scott previously slated as being unfit needed all of a sudden it’s dire straights squad wise yet we’re expecting SM to at least compete with JR’s achievements nonetheless? it’s harsh imo it’s been an awful run of luck with squad fitness since he’s arrived.

19-03-2022, 05:04 PM

He will because the club have put their faith in him.

Whether he’s strong minded or too stubborn for his own good we will have to see. I worry that he’s sticking to a system that’s not working rather than finding a way of getting our best 11 on the park. But that will pay off if the players adapt to it.

More hope than expectation at the moment but trying to be positive.

19-03-2022, 05:05 PM
You know? Maybe all we are seeing now is the divergence of the Bigots and the FoH-funded HMFC from the poorer members of the league?

loanheadhibby
19-03-2022, 05:07 PM
Maloney said from the outset he wasn’t looking, he didn’t apply. Kensell went after him.

I wonder why he went for Maloney tho? Who was in Kensells ear that thought it would be a good appointment?

So far, it’s not looking like Kensell knows what he’s doing.

19-03-2022, 05:08 PM

In principle you are right Billy.

In our years in supporting Hibs we have appointed plenty poor managers, more poor than good that's for sure.

You could interview umpteen for the job but still appoint the wrong one.

No magic answer I'm afraid, if there was I'm sure Man Utd wouldn't be struggling

19-03-2022, 05:09 PM
Why would he change to a plan B after going ahead?

As you say the game turned on the sending off. There wasn't much between the sides.

The sorry truth is that the vast majority of teams in this league are bang average and the standard of football overall is low.

I thought Maloney could have done more in the second half. We just didn’t have enough players up the park. All it takes is that moment of luck, or whatever, for them. We’d had a warning a few minutes before when the boy over hit a cross and it nearly ended up in the top corner. We were just letting the game drift along without creating anything proper ourselves.

19-03-2022, 05:10 PM

We were playing against 11 men and then we were playing with 10 ourselves. I think Motherwell would have been at least a match for us with 11 men. We are just a very poor side playing a style that couldn't suit us less.

19-03-2022, 05:11 PM
You know? Maybe all we are seeing now is the divergence of the Bigots and the FoH-funded HMFC from the poorer members of the league?

I don’t think money is the issue, we have spent plenty this season. Problem is that Maloney thinks he can play without centre mids.

19-03-2022, 05:15 PM
In principle you are right Billy.

In our years in supporting Hibs we have appointed plenty poor managers, more poor than good that's for sure.

You could interview umpteen for the job but still appoint the wrong one.

No magic answer I'm afraid, if there was I'm sure Man Utd wouldn't be struggling

Every manager is a risk SB. I’m sure when we went for Butcher, it was him alone and no other candidates

19-03-2022, 05:21 PM
Only qualifying for Europe really counts tho. Finishing 6th so what?
He isn’t talking about finishing 6th. He is talking about getting in the top 6 at the split. Without doing that we can’t finish 4th.

percy veer
19-03-2022, 05:21 PM
We will be moaning about injuries next season aswell easy excuse , should have signed forrest of livi after he tore us a new one and could have got him for peanuts

19-03-2022, 05:22 PM
I wonder why he went for Maloney tho? Who was in Kensells ear that thought it would be a good appointment?

So far, it’s not looking like Kensell knows what he’s doing.

Nobody had to be in his ear, Kensell is chief executive, he didn’t get to that kind of position knowing **** all about football and managers.

loanheadhibby
19-03-2022, 05:31 PM
Nobody had to be in his ear, Kensell is chief executive, he didn’t get to that kind of position knowing **** all about football and managers.

Why Maloney tho? What made Kensell think that Maloney was the best option? Why not go after 2 or 3 options and then choose?

so far it’s looking like a poor appointment. A struggling team with a rookie coach.

Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 05:32 PM
:agree: Maloney is trying to p*ss with a c**k he doesn’t have and probably never will have, outwith the moneyed echelons of the ugly sisters. It’s not working and the annoying thing is that the slant on things is that, it’s all about him, and the players are not meeting his standards and demands. Poor Shaun, having his master plan interrupted by ‘ canny get the staff ‘. “ We’ve got a very long way to go “ he said recently, but, Shaun, you won’t have forever to achieve your goal. P*ss with the c**k you’ve got and we might get somewhere. If the trend continues, more and more folk will regret the sacking of Jack Ross. Admittedly, he was p*ssing poorly with the c**k he had but, I think things might have eventually come good. I think Ron Gordon has made some bad decisions and I don’t see us going anywhere soon.

Nobody has to regret sacking Jack Ross if Maloney doesn’t work out.

Jack Ross’ Hibs team had become a **** show. We were sleep walking towards the bottom end of the league with absolutely nothing in our play to suggest we were going to turn it around.

That doesn’t mean we need to regret sacking Jack Ross. We may well regret appointing Maloney to replace him though.

19-03-2022, 05:36 PM
Just watching the game on Alba and from being awarded a free kick 10 yards in their half we worked the ball back to the keeper who punted it aimlessly to an Aberdeen player.
WTF is that about!

19-03-2022, 05:37 PM
Alan Muir apologised after the game for getting the first penalty wrong.

At least this time he apologised rather than claiming he didnt see it despite looking right at it the cheating *******

19-03-2022, 05:37 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1505246474375872513

Agree with him over the decisions but that’s a bit of a concern for me. We didn’t play well at all and I don’t ever feel we were in control.

19-03-2022, 05:39 PM
I don’t think money is the issue, we have spent plenty this season. Problem is that Maloney thinks he can play without centre mids.

This is my second attempt at this. I got kicked out as I tried to post, so if you don't agree with what follows that doesn't mean I'm not right, okay :-)

I agree that cash has been put in by RG. No doubt about that. What we don't have is an equivalent of FoH. HSL, which I am a contributing member of, doesn't compare.

Hearts have in the space of twelve months gone from an emptying by Brora and a, realistically, unimpressive Championship campaign to where they are just now.

Okay, the most likely challengers, us and AFC, have one way or the other shot ourselves in the foot, but this time last year we'd both have felt, on-pitch wise, that we were way better than them.

Hearts have kept the same manager and have skooshed. What is different is that FoH aren't repaying the loan anymore. It's all free money. Their income will be way ahead of ours, I reckon.

RG has put in the money and been supportive. I'm not saying he hasn't or saying he should do more. I just worry that the predicted separation of financial means between us and them is happening now.

Why Maloney tho? What made Kensell think that Maloney was the best option? Why not go after 2 or 3 options and then choose?

so far it’s looking like a poor appointment. A struggling team with a rookie coach.

How are you or I to know what actually happened?

All I know is that every time we sack a manager the club come out with the same ****. “150 CV’s landed on my desk, best candidate by far, blah blah blah”.

I’m delighted the club went a bit off piste and went and found someone they felt ticked the boxes, rather than sift through the options and make a choice out of who applied.

We have clearly gone for a younger team, made some huge differences to the squad, brought in some exciting players and are still a team that is gelling and finding their feet.

Paulie Walnuts
Alan Muir apologised after the game for getting the first penalty wrong.

At least this time he apologised rather than claiming he didnt see it despite looking right at it the cheating *******

Surprised at that. Admittedly the hesgoal stream wasn’t perfect but it looked a pen to me and I’d have been furious had we not been given it.

He’d never appointed a football manager before Maloney
Wonder who at Hibs walked him through this?

19-03-2022, 05:42 PM
We will be moaning about injuries next season aswell easy excuse , should have signed forrest of livi after he tore us a new one and could have got him for peanuts

Yep, totally agree. Isn't he out of contract at the end of the season?

PolmontHibby
19-03-2022, 05:42 PM

Ben's career was on commercial side at Norwich (and in previous roles), only stepping up to main management role late 2018 - which was well after Daniel ****e who got Norwich promoted was appointed.

I would be surprised given the roles he was in if Maloney was not the the first time he has been responsible for a process of hiring a manager.

PolmontHibby
19-03-2022, 05:43 PM
Ben's career was on commercial side at Norwich (and in previous roles), only stepping up to main management role late 2018 - which was well after Daniel ****e who got Norwich promoted was appointed.

I would be surprised given the roles he was in if Maloney was not the the first time he has been responsible for a process of hiring a manager.

LOL - it appears the German second name is now allowed

19-03-2022, 05:44 PM
I agree but ur not giving the guy the allowance of the situation he’s in, had he had a full squad of players to pick from from the offset and progress was still the same then absolutely alarm bells ring but he’s not, we’ve had full backs at centre half, young guys out the picture before playing centre mid, one striker to rely on, drey wright barely kicked a ball in 18months now relied on as a starter James Scott previously slated as being unfit needed all of a sudden it’s dire straights squad wise yet we’re expecting SM to at least compete with JR’s achievements nonetheless? it’s harsh imo it’s been an awful run of luck with squad fitness since he’s arrived.

Injuries / suspensions / player sales / players out of form…

This happens every season. Not always mid season like Boyle but Boyle was never staying forever.

Ok we have had some really unfortunate injuries but why didn’t we add another central midfielder.

Campbell
Newell
JDH

Not enough depth.

Henderson wasn’t what we needed. Relying on a half fit Doidge and Melkersen also a lot to ask. Cadden isn’t a right back.

Keeping Scott / Wright / playing Campbell every week is part of the issue. I don’t slate players ever at games but we must sign better to progress. It really shouldn’t be needed but feels like a rebuild of the team is needed once again.

19-03-2022, 05:44 PM

We won’t sack another Manager so quick
So we are stuck with him But it’s dire to watch and it’s hard to see how this changes

19-03-2022, 05:46 PM
Just watching the game on Alba and from being awarded a free kick 10 yards in their half we worked the ball back to the keeper who punted it aimlessly to an Aberdeen player.
WTF is that about!

I wouldn’t bother watching it.

2nd half is abysmal.

19-03-2022, 05:52 PM

Ben Kensall. 100% down to him.

Not just Maloney, everything's gone a bit pear shaped since he was appointed.

I'd let him go along with Maloney and start from scratch.