Can’t buy love, or a goal it seems…

05-03-2022, 03:40 PM
Scott Allan doing his josh Campbell impersonation there

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

That’s why Scott Allan isn’t playing

Campbell does the same thing week in week out and still gets a game... ;)

Maloney’s style of football is god awful to watch. [emoji35]

Scott Alan goosed already.

Campbell does the same thing week in week out and still gets a game... ;)

Two wrongs don’t make a right

05-03-2022, 03:41 PM
Campbell does the same thing week in week out and still gets a game... ;)Yep but he can also cover the ground required to be effective in other ways

05-03-2022, 03:42 PM
Maloney’s style of football is god awful to watch. [emoji35]

My friend just said this is the worst since the Alex Miller days

I know a lot of folk on here are very protective of josh Campbell and criticism, however, he needs taken out the team for a bit.

AZhibee

Several wrongs but still have a Wright

Worst since the Butcher/Calderwood days.

That is depressing

Paul1642
05-03-2022, 03:43 PM

Has he forgotten T***y B*****r?

9+ mins for a wee boo

St Johnstone and Dundee will happily play us again in the bottom 6… easy point.

(Or three !)

Worst since the Butcher/Calderwood days.

Even more depressing

"Hibs Hibs give us a Goal!!" Ffs give us a goal Hibs

05-03-2022, 03:44 PM

Sounds like your friend is at his first game since the Alex miller days

He needed counseling for that..

The lack of goals reminds me of that period.

Sounds like your friend is at his first game since the Alex miller days

As soon the ref blew the whistle to start the game he always used to shout "take a f#cking shot Hibs"

05-03-2022, 03:45 PM
Dire. Bottom six it is. Probably 10th.

Yep but he can also cover the ground required to be effective in other ways

Not disagreeing. I'm not one thinking he should be starting ahead of others but Campbell and Wright offer **** all going forward. Get Hague on.

Paul1642
The lack of goals reminds me of that period.

Dont worry, the goals and points will start coming and we will be fine…..

05-03-2022, 03:46 PM

You promise?

AZhibee

Moved up the table in the past 10 minutes 😏

cmon tae F Hibs

Paul1642
05-03-2022, 03:47 PM
You promise?

I was just repeating my thoughts from 2014

Silly overhead kick. Attempt there for mr

Bring it down in the box

Noooooo

Scott Alan goosed already.

He looks like he can barely run anymore.

Hauge unlucky with the overhead kick

There is nothing to suggest goals will start coming

Not disagreeing. I'm not one thinking he should be starting ahead of others but Campbell and Wright offer **** all going forward. Get Hague on.He's been on for about 15 mins

05-03-2022, 03:48 PM

Just get it across. Is it so difficult?

chaaaaaaaaance hibs doig

HendoDelivered
05-03-2022, 03:49 PM
Seen better games down the Links than this

Lewis Stevenson mom

Moved up the table in the past 10 minutes 😏

**** knows how

Thank christ the league is so poor this season and we're not being punished with all these players out.

Melkersen lucky not to be off there I think.

05-03-2022, 03:50 PM
Unlucky Doig. Corner Hibs.

att: 19,585

Silly overhead kick. Attempt there for mr

Hauge unlucky with the overhead kick
This is why I love this place.

He looks like he can barely run anymore.
I guess that's the reason he doesn't figure anymore, sad.

dmc1875

Lots of people that have been “entertained”

But not bums on seats

lucky man melkerson

percy veer
A nice big full house to intice the fans back... hibs hold my beer

He's been on for about 15 mins

I know, your point?

05-03-2022, 03:51 PM
**** knows how
Don't lose

Creative players a must next season, 3 please for that midfield.:rolleyes:

CallumHibs07
Hauge looks a dud

Secure top 6 and go all out for the cup. Injuries have done us this season.

05-03-2022, 03:52 PM

Good crowd. :wink: :greengrin

percy veer

We were rubbish before all the injuries aswell

Lots of people that have been “entertained”

But not bums on seats

next project

pay fans £10 :greengrin

05-03-2022, 03:53 PM

Not just injuries. It’s a factor, but if all of us could see we needed a midfielder and a striker to come right into the team in January, then why couldn’t Maloney.

It’s ****ing *****, the football is *****, the results are abysmal. Raging.

Creative players a must next season, 3 please for that midfield.:rolleyes:

Maloney not interested in centre mids it seems. Totally ignored that area of the pitch in Jan. obviously feels it’s good enough already.[emoji35]

am I allowed to boo yet?

AZhibee
Can 0-0 draws for the remainder of the season be enough for 4th?

05-03-2022, 03:54 PM
Minus Magennis who else that's injured helps get us goals? Most of our injuries are in defence including the goalie and that not where were struggling. Mitchell?

Don't pass it back!

Hauge looks a dud

Wtf?!? 🤣

We aren’t very good.

05-03-2022, 03:55 PM
yellow card JDH

Hauge looks a dud

Really???

LunasBoots
I think we've played OK today, not the worst performance I've seen.

05-03-2022, 03:56 PM
another good day for away fans

CLASS OF 72 -73
We aren’t very good.

Rank rotten . Full house?

Another clean sheet

boos at FT

AZhibee
I think we've played OK today, not the worst performance I've seen.

Yeah, makes sense

Three 0-0 draws in the cup with three wins on penalties. Cup winners 2022. You heard it here first!!

Another clean sheet

Just beat me to that

05-03-2022, 03:57 PM
Boooo

Another clean sheet

It’s one goal we want is that really too much to expect

Just beat me to that
We're difficult to beat and still 4th ��

He's been on for about 15 mins

I know, your point?

Apologies I completely misread that. :)

dmc1875
05-03-2022, 03:58 PM
What Maloney and this team regardless of injuries are churning out is pathetic at the minute.

Up to 4th 😁

This Hibs team is absolutely pish but somehow sit 4th. Our luck in that regard will surely run out soon enough.

For all the talk from Kensell and Gordon about how good our January window was I can’t agree on what I’ve watched. None of the new signings making a major impact in terms of scoring us goals. Mitchell was looking promising though.

Hibs nil. Beginning to become a tag.

hibeez1875
Alex Miller all over again

So pissed off with the supposed result - PPV hung for the umpteenth time I had no ideas - if this is because of illegal folk streaming bleep you.

what a waste of money.

5 unbeaten. Get in

Jeff on Sky…….Hibs unbeaten in five!

We are unbeatable

Just *****, complete *****

05-03-2022, 03:59 PM
Minus Magennis who else that's injured helps get us goals? Most of our injuries are in defence including the goalie and that not where were struggling. Mitchell?It's not only the guy who finishes with the gaoal that matters

Newell, and Mitchell would add to our quality which helps drag players around

Ofcourse Mueller too

****ing abysmal.

Sorry but this is a rank rotten St.J, we should be beating them and Dundee even with the players we have. RANK.

Every game feels the same at the moment.

Boring. Porteous very good, as was Doig. Campbell poor, Doidge and Henderson pretty poor too.

so

Bottom side= one point, no goal

2nd bottom side= one point, no goal

3rd bottom side on 19th march, without a win in several games= Mmmmmm

doh

The cinema is looking a better bet these days.:rolleyes:

Bridge hibs
Boos at the end, ****ing muppetts, wasnt great but the effort was there, no need for the booing 🤬

Still 4th which is something I guess. Eventually we'll get a goal...

Onwards we go.

Maloney is going to be gone before the end of the season. It’s clear there is no style of play here. He’s just naming a team and hoping for the best. Absolutely zero entertainment. We have got worse since he arrived.

Currently 4th

05-03-2022, 04:00 PM
Maloney is going to be gone before the end of the season. It’s clear there is no style of play here. He’s just naming a team and hoping for the best. Absolutely zero entertainment. We have got worse since he arrived.

How many players are we missing?

So pissed off with the supposed result - PPV hung for the umpteenth time I had no ideas - if this is because of illegal folk streaming bleep you.

what a waste of money.

GET YIRSEL A FIRESTICK, i SWEAR BY IT.
AAARRRGGHH CAPS

Open a cinema.😂

kentao
Same tactics that cost jack Ross his job, more dangerous when Scotty and Hoff came on but we never look like scoring, roll on next season.

How crap are we eh ?

Absolute ****ing chronic to watch

Open a cinema.

It actually isn't. We don't need another f****** Batman film!

dmc1875
Boos at the end, ****ing muppetts, wasnt great but the effort was there, no need for the booing 🤬

The showing was pathetic you can’t blame them - they’ve been watching this kind of football week in week out since December?!

05-03-2022, 04:01 PM
Somehow back to 4th lol

It's not only some pen who finishes with the gaoal that matters

Newell, and Mitchell would add to our quality whi h helps drag players around

That the thing though. We bang on about having so many injuries but most of the players who are playing now are the same ones who've struggled most of the season. Injuries don't help but it's not the only reason we're unable to score.

I say that with the understanding that I think Newell is our best player.

We're actually pretty decent defensively but our injuries have decimated us going forward

I’m beginning to get flashbacks to primary school when people pretended they thought Hibs were actually called Hibernian-nil. We are punchless, clueless and heartless in the final third.

percy veer
Miss out on the top 6 last game before the split... who we got again.

We don’t even look like scoring.

We need to swap our Campbell in centre mid with someone with a bit of intent and able to play forward

You can’t tell me we’re set up or playing attacking football. Look what Yogi done with Ross county when they were bottom, he instantly made them play attacking and possession based football.

05-03-2022, 04:02 PM

context is everything - and I’d hazard a guess that’s what’s missing from the analysis here.

Behave, just like the last manager, he needs time and a horrendous injury crisis to settle down.

Id rather see the team that ended the game than the one that started it.

hibee316
05-03-2022, 04:03 PM

He's naming a team because those are the only players he has.
With such a quick turn around of games, any manager would be looking to rotate. We don't have any choices at all!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHave we got worse though?

Our placing and points gathered suggest otherwise
Nevermind most of our senior players being out

need to wait see what he can do with the returnees

Plenty goals on MoTD tonight 👌

05-03-2022, 04:04 PM
I’m beginning to get flashbacks to primary school when people pretended they thought Hibs were actually called Hibernian-nil. We are punchless, clueless and heartless in the final third.

seriously? I won’t speculate which schoo you attended - are we supposed to buy this really?! Ffs.

Bridge hibs
05-03-2022, 04:04 PM
The showing was pathetic you can’t blame them - they’ve been watching this kind of football week in week out since December?!We played decent football with a massively depleted team, we tried, there was plenty effort, no-one shirked their duties today, disappointing as it was the boos were uncalled for, again, ****ing muppets 🤬

05-03-2022, 04:05 PM
Imagine being a St Johnstone fan and seeing that every week, year after year

05-03-2022, 04:07 PM
seriously? I won’t speculate which schoo you attended - are we supposed to buy this really?! Ffs.

When I was at college in High Wycombe in the mid-late 80's, a guy at a factory where I had an evening job said the same thing. Well, he was not so formal. He thought we were called Hibsnil.

I never asked which school he attended :greengrin

Have we got worse though?

Our placing and points gathered suggest otherwise
Nevermind most of our senior players being out

our placing is more to do with other teams being inconsistant with exception of ross county who are climbing steadily

Hibs nil. Beginning to become a tag.

lazy - fodder for the yams-verse. Imo

need to wait see what he can do with the returnees
But when will they return? some seem to been out for such a long time I forgot they were injured.

05-03-2022, 04:09 PM
But when will they return? some seem to been out for such a long time I forgot they were injured.

Doesn’t help when you buy injured players in the first place.

That was utterly shocking. No intent in the team whatsoever.

Still relying on the likes of Stevenson to come in and make a difference. Players like Wright and Campbell are just nowhere near good enough.

ShetlandHibby
Question needs to be asked. Are those paying £5 getting value for money?

We played decent football with a massively depleted team, we tried, there was plenty effort, no-one shirked their duties today, disappointing as it was the boos were uncalled for, again, ****ing muppets 🤬

We have almost a full team out today, we just can't deal with this level of absence...

Macey

Clarke
McGinn
Rocky
Hanlon
Mitchell

Newell
Magennis

Nisbet
Mueller

05-03-2022, 04:10 PM
When I was at college in High Wycombe in the mid-late 80's, a guy at a factory where I had an evening job said the same thing. Well, he was not so formal. He thought we were called Hibsnil.

I never asked which school he attended :greengrin
I'm supprised anyone in High Wycombe even knew Hibs existed 🤔

percy veer
05-03-2022, 04:11 PM
Imagine being a St Johnstone fan and seeing that every week, year after year

Must be a nightmare watching a cup double

expresso
Definitely some promising signs with the finishing 11.
Melkersen needs to start next game and Campbell god love him is miles off quality needed.

That was utterly shocking. No intent in the team whatsoever.

Still relying on the likes of Stevenson to come in and make a difference. Players like Wright and Campbell are just nowhere near good enough.No wonder Wright is coming in

You have noticed our injury list right?

Willis1875
Minus Magennis who else that's injured helps get us goals? Most of our injuries are in defence including the goalie and that not where were struggling. Mitchell?

My thoughts aswell.
I’m not sure returning players are going to make a massive difference to this honking crap

05-03-2022, 04:12 PM

Hey, back off, it was the 1960’s and people thought it was funny. Nobody had ‘football manager’ and such in those days. And, by the way, we had genuinely great players then who were a joy to watch.

05-03-2022, 04:12 PM

I've only just found out High Wycombe exists!

05-03-2022, 04:13 PM
No wonder Wright is coming in

You have noticed our injury list right?

Still wouldn’t play him. Hopeless. Right?

05-03-2022, 04:14 PM
Still wouldn’t play him. Hopeless. Right?Depends, who's do we have left that's better?

tonyrougier123

Just lacking killer instinct, otherwise we controlled the game,had decent flow to it,some pleasing performances.

Hibs are a conundrum though,at least we are getting to see what every player brings to the squad.

Boos at the end needless😡.

Today was full of effort and some good play.

We are becoming the draw bores.

05-03-2022, 04:15 PM

well, there's one player we hope to see return but i don't know when he's returning or even IF this season, and if he does return...for how long

but he's got another 3 years remaining on his contract so he should be back within that time frame :greengrin

05-03-2022, 04:15 PM
Drey Wright shouldn’t be anywhere near the team, injuries or not. Give a young lad a chance. He’s had plenty and has only succeeded in proving he’s not good enough.

I can’t say Jasper or Henderson are making me desperate to keep them for next season (although I know we have no choice with Hendo).

05-03-2022, 04:16 PM

Actually, when I went to the Irish club, the old guy on the door told me he used to, when he could afford it, travel up with his Irish mates from London to ER to see the Famous Five. HJe was from Cork and told me when he was young thee were more Hibs fans down in Cork than Celtic. And when I went in to the main bar/hall the only football posters on the wall were Hibs, including the centre spreads you used to get at the start of the season of the full team. That did surprise me greatly. Must have been the old guy on the door who was responsible, I mean who had the good taste.

Drey Wright shouldn’t be anywhere near the team, injuries or not. Give a young lad a chance. He’s had plenty and has only succeeded in proving he’s not good enough.

I can’t say Jasper or Henderson are making me desperate to keep them for next season (although I know we have no choice with Hendo).Jasper was easily our best player until about 65 mins

well, there's one player we hope to see return but i don't know when he's returning or even IF this season, and if he does return...for how long

but he's got another 3 years remaining on his contract so he should be back within that time frame :greengrin

I think even that is a long shot.

05-03-2022, 04:17 PM
Depends, who's do we have left that's better?

I’d have played McGregor in the back three and left Cadden where he’s been playing well. All this stuff about McGregor not being able to play in Maloney’s team as if we’re playing silky free flowing football.

Wright should be nowhere near our team. Just does nothing.

Willis1875

My thoughts aswell.
I’m not sure returning players are going to make a massive difference to this honking crap

Hibees1973
Possession wise we are good, but it is so frustrating to watch us just now creating nothing.

Doidge really isn't good enough. He is not mobile. It's a bit early for Melkersen, and he looks promising, but he won't score any if we cannot give him chances to score. Our crossing into the box is criminal.

Nisbet is a huge loss for us at this point in the season. He has scored goals for us in the past and we have no one near good enough to replace him.

We have 3 difficult games in the league coming up (2 away) and the cup quarter-final away to Motherwell. With this complete lack of goals and Hibs recent my gut feeling is we will lose narrowly next week and will finish 7th or 8th.

Hope I'm wrong, but just a hunch based on what I'm seeing.

CathroMustStay
Last 10 league games:

Celtic away = 0 goals scored. Lost.
Motherwell away = 0 goals scored. Drew.
Livingston home = 2 goals scored. Lost.
Hearts home = 0 goals scored. Drew.
St Mirren home = 0 goals scored. Lost.
Sevco away = 0 goals scored. Lost.
Ross County home = 2 goals scored. Won.
Celtic home = 0 goals scored. Drew.
Dundee away = 0 goals scored. Drew.
St Johnstone home = 0 goals scored. Drew.

8/30 points.

0 goals scored in 8/10 league games.

Pathetic record.

05-03-2022, 04:18 PM
We have almost a full team out today, we just can't deal with this level of absence...

Macey

Clarke
McGinn
Rocky
Hanlon
Mitchell

Newell
Magennis

Nisbet
Mueller

We did t concede so Macey wouldn’t of improved us
None of the defenders would of improved our chances of a goal
Mitchel with pace and knack for a goal would possibly
Muellar I like but again may not have changed the game
Nisbet had not been scoring many league goals before his injury
An in form McGennis would improve us But been out fir so long hecwi need loads of games to get match fit
Newell doesn’t score many
So it’s not a given we will suddenly start scoring
Clarke I haven’t seen play so can’t comment
Merkelson needs more game time as looks sharp

Just lacking killer instinct, otherwise we controlled the game,had decent flow to it,some pleasing performances.

Hibs are a conundrum though,at least we are getting to see what every player brings to the squad.

Today was full of effort and some good play.

Feel the boos were for the wonderful display of refereeing. No?

Jasper was easily our best player until about 65 mins

Looks good in flashes but absolutely no end product. Meh.

Completely agree. 10 more fit players and I doubt we’d have a recognisable style.

We should be doing way better with what we’ve got available.

He sounds lost and doesn’t inspire any confidence at all. I just don’t see how the players are meant to react to him, they can’t be enjoying this at all.

05-03-2022, 04:20 PM
Hey, back off, it was the 1960’s and people thought it was funny. Nobody had ‘football manager’ and such in those days. And, by the way, we had genuinely great players then who were a joy to watch.

I didn’t have FM at school either. My mate from Cramlington told me the joke about Sunderlando too. Wast funny then. Nothing changed. At the end of the day we all want a Hibs win. We have mitigating circumstances which some folks are choosing to ignore.

We pummelled themwithout a cutting edge. That appears to be a long-standing issue. We’re all impatient.

Wider point I’m hopeful that things will turn - I think it’s too early to write Maloney off. Others disagree. Short termism is rife in football - we’re not immune but it’s short sighted. Most folks know that. But c’est la vie. I think there’s reason to be hopeful. Let’s see.

Bleep the Hearts

Last 10 league games:

Celtic away = 0 goals scored. Lost.
Motherwell away = 0 goals scored. Drew.
Livingston home = 2 goals scored. Lost.
Hearts home = 0 goals scored. Drew.
St Mirren home = 0 goals scored. Lost.
Sevco away = 0 goals scored. Lost.
Ross County home = 2 goals scored. Won.
Celtic home = 0 goals scored. Drew.
Dundee away = 0 goals scored. Drew.
St Johnstone home = 0 goals scored. Drew.

8/30 points.

0 goals scored in 8/10 league games.

Pathetic record.

Our next 3 league games

Aberdeen - Away
Dundee United - Home
Hearts - Away

Does anyone see us picking up any points in those games?

Completely agree. 10 more fit players and I doubt we’d have a recognisable style.

We should be doing way better with what we’ve got available.

He sounds lost and doesn’t inspire any confidence at all. I just don’t see how the players are meant to react to him, they can’t be enjoying this at all.

It’s no all on him. The players shown no urgency, no real appetite for the game. Too many nowhere near good enough.

05-03-2022, 04:21 PM
Our next 3 league games

Aberdeen - Away
Dundee United - Home
Hearts - Away

Three.

05-03-2022, 04:22 PM
That was rubbish.

Pretty much the exact same game as midweek. Wrong starting team and subs made a difference.

Yes we have injuries but that makes it even harder to try play Maloney ball.

It’s dull - possession with limited purpose football with several players who aren’t good enough for Hibs.

Our tactics having 2 CDM type players and a back 3 often mean we are outnumbered when we attack.

I honestly think we are going backwards since Ross and I wasn’t even his biggest fan. Boyle or not you have to adjust and play a formation / tactics that suit the level of player you have.

We move the ball so slowly and everything so predictable- football is a simple game and we are really over complicating the game.

LunasBoots
Our next 3 league games

Aberdeen - Away
Dundee United - Home
Hearts - Away

As draw specialists then yes, 3 points, one a game.

Our next 3 league games

Aberdeen - Away
Dundee United - Home
Hearts - Away

0-0
0-0
0-0.

3 points.

CallumHibs07
Good luck to the club if they think they've enticed anyone to come back after that. No wonder our crowds are dreadful.

05-03-2022, 04:23 PM
Jasper is only 20 give the lad a break

05-03-2022, 04:23 PM
Hey them guys are trying their best, it may not be good enough right now but it will turn around, no manager could operate with such a turnover of injured players, i have seen worse much worse in my 60 odd years watching the Hibs. Some players are just not good enough to improve us, some will leave and some will come in.

05-03-2022, 04:24 PM
Our next 3 league games

Aberdeen - Away
Dundee United - Home
Hearts - Away

Quite possibly 3 draws.

05-03-2022, 04:25 PM
Jasper is only 20 give the lad a breakJasper is the very least of our problems. One of the few who are actually positive and tries to make things happen. Give me that over the players who keep taking the safe option every time.

05-03-2022, 04:25 PM
i saw three st johnstone defenders come off smoking cigars

nae need likes :cb

05-03-2022, 04:26 PM
GET YIRSEL A FIRESTICK, i SWEAR BY IT.
AAARRRGGHH CAPS

And how does that money benefit the club? I understand it doesn’t but places demands on the service. Hence my query. Not sure who wins in this (rhetorical Q btw). Sorry - maGlass is half empty atm ;) I’ll feel better in the morning! I hope.

05-03-2022, 04:26 PM
Abysmal, with absolutely zero entertainment, can't see anything positive there today. We are awful an awful team.

05-03-2022, 04:27 PM

0-0
0-0
0-0.

3 points.

0-0 draws for the rest of the season? :greengrin

05-03-2022, 04:28 PM
Jasper is the very least of our problems. One of the few who are actually positive and tries to make things happen. Give me that over the players who keep taking the safe option every time.

Think he is a big part of our problem in the sense that he’s one of our ‘creative’ players, who isn’t actually creating anything. Loads of touches but comes to absolutely nothing.

Another last minute, hopeful signing.

05-03-2022, 04:29 PM
Dreadful game. Boring, again.

05-03-2022, 04:29 PM
We did t concede so Macey wouldn’t of improved us
None of the defenders would of improved our chances of a goal
Mitchel with pace and knack for a goal would possibly
Muellar I like but again may not have changed the game
Nisbet had not been scoring many league goals before his injury
An in form McGennis would improve us But been out fir so long hecwi need loads of games to get match fit
Newell doesn’t score many
So it’s not a given we will suddenly start scoring
Clarke I haven’t seen play so can’t comment
Merkelson needs more game time as looks sharp

Mueller, Magennis, Newall and Mitchell would improve us going forward. And Nisbet will start scoring again.

Clarke scored a few for Ross County so could conceivably do so for us.

Hanlon is good and breaking forward out of defence.

And the squad allows us to keep it fresh, lots of players have played a lot of games.

05-03-2022, 04:30 PM
Dreadful game. Boring, again.
But did you buy a round beforehand?

Defending is getting better, more clean sheets which is good. We’re getting harder to beat. It gives us a solid foundation to work from. Just need the final 3rd to click but we are getting more shots at goal which we weren’t doing a few weeks ago.

As draw specialists then yes, 3 points, one a game.

made me raise a smile at least :)

Willis1875
05-03-2022, 04:31 PM
Think he is a big part of our problem in the sense that he’s one of our ‘creative’ players, who isn’t actually creating anything. Loads of touches but comes to absolutely nothing.

Another last minute, hopeful signing.

As is Cadden and tbh his final ball is miles off it for somebody that we are heavily reliant of in an attacking sense.
Drey Wright is another who plays an attacking role and offers zilch

Yet again another frustrating afternoon with not looking like we going to score.

Defence and battle in our own half is looking good and also the build up play but again no final third and to many backwards and sidewards passes.

I understand we have many players missing, but we still lack quality and creativity in the middle of the park as everyone knows how we are going to play.

Melkersen looks like he wants to impress, maybe a little much and thought there was a couple of naughty tackles from both teams which could of been a red on another day.

On paper with the results in other games we should be a few points clear in 4th but we finish the day in 4th.

I didn’t have FM at school either. My mate from Cramlington told me the joke about Sunderlando too. Wast funny then. Nothing changed. At the end of the day we all want a Hibs win. We have mitigating circumstances which some folks are choosing to ignore.

We pummelled themwithout a cutting edge. That appears to be a long-standing issue. We’re all impatient.

Wider point I’m hopeful that things will turn - I think it’s too early to write Maloney off. Others disagree. Short termism is rife in football - we’re not immune but it’s short sighted. Most folks know that. But c’est la vie. I think there’s reason to be hopeful. Let’s see.

Bleep the Hearts

Absolutely agree that one thing we need is a settled management team so you’ll not find me hounding Shaun Maloney out. However, he came in with the promise of skilful, exciting football and we are seeing none of that. If we fail to make league stages in European football this year we fall way behind any team that does. If ever there was a year to get things right it was this year. Instead we’ve settled for yet another (pick your own number) year plan.
No amount of corporate speak at the AGM is going to get this right. We failed abysmally in the transfer market in the summer and again this winter. Yes there are players developing and potentially really exciting but this was not the year to hang around.

dmc1875
05-03-2022, 04:32 PM
As is Cadden and tbh his final ball is miles off it for somebody that we are heavily reliant of in an attacking sense.
Drey Wright is another who plays an attacking role and offers zilch

Cadden works hard but tbf he’s absolutely no different to when McGinn came in at first and played RB. In fact McGinn chipped in with goals and assists.

05-03-2022, 04:34 PM

Another last minute, hopeful signing.Thought he put a very good ball in for Doidge who made a complete hash of it (shock). Got to remember hes only 20 and coming into a hibs team thats all over the place in terms of injuries and quality on the park. Id be keeping him next season and beyond. His decision making is poor at times but if hes coached well then i think he will overcome that and will be very good for us long term.

But did you buy a round beforehand?

Aye. Best part of the day.

Willis1875
Cadden works hard but tbf he’s absolutely no different to when McGinn came in at first and played RB. In fact McGinn chipped in with goals and assists.

Yeah I agree,maybe Clarke will be an improvement in the final third.Mitchell certainly is on the other side

05-03-2022, 04:36 PM
Aye. Best part of the day.

Never thought I'd see the day when you described buying a round as the best part of the day!!🤣

Paulie Walnuts
05-03-2022, 04:37 PM
If we somehow manage to keep hanging on to 4th/5th the next couple of games then we might actually somehow be in with a shot of 4th once players come back.

That was absolutely terrible today, there’s no getting away from that. The lack of creativity is absolutely staggering.

05-03-2022, 04:37 PM
Mueller, Magennis, Newall and Mitchell would improve us going forward. And Nisbet will start scoring again.

Clarke scored a few for Ross County so could conceivably do so for us.

Hanlon is good and breaking forward out of defence.

And the squad allows us to keep it fresh, lots of players have played a lot of games.

If we are relying in the likes of Newall & MaGennis as key players to come back & make us more creative, then I feel even worse to be honest.

05-03-2022, 04:38 PM
It’s no all on him. The players shown no urgency, no real appetite for the game. Too many nowhere near good enough.

That’s on Maloney though. He’s the leader. If he can’t motivate them then what is he doing managing a football team? The centre of midfield is nowhere near good enough but that was obvious in January and he ignored it so that’s on him as well. When he gets the sack, and I’m almost certain he will, it will be entirely down to him.

Scotty Leither
05-03-2022, 04:39 PM
Did Zander Clark have to make a save in the second half?

Willis1875
If we somehow manage to keep hanging on to 4th/5th the next couple of games then we might actually somehow be in with a shot of 4th once players come back.

That was absolutely terrible today, there’s no getting away from that. The lack of creativity is absolutely staggering.

Will be a minor miracle given the next 3 fixtures before the split

Bridge hibs

Today was full of effort and some good play.Exactly mate, we have some right miserable ***** in our support just now

Paulie Walnuts
05-03-2022, 04:40 PM
That’s on Maloney though. He’s the leader. If he can’t motivate them then what is he doing managing a football team? The centre of midfield is nowhere near good enough but that was obvious in January and he ignored it so that’s on him as well. When he gets the sack, and I’m almost certain he will, it will be entirely down to him.

Did he ignore it? We keep getting told Jack Ross was massively let down by the recruitment team in the summer. Have we changed the way our recruitment works and left it down to the manager now? If not then why are we not saying Maloney has been let down as well?

Genuine question btw, I don’t know the answer.

hibeg
05-03-2022, 04:40 PM
We don’t even look like scoring.

We need to swap our Campbell in centre mid with someone with a bit of intent and able to play forward

You can’t tell me we’re set up or playing attacking football. Look what Yogi done with Ross county when they were bottom, he instantly made them play attacking and possession based football.

Just back and I agree, the player was on the park today, Melker Hallberg !

Paulie Walnuts
05-03-2022, 04:41 PM
Will be a minor miracle given the next 3 fixtures before the split

Generally I would agree but seeing as our inability to win or even score has seen us climb to fourth in the league im not sure the other teams are all that much better. We could potentially get beat in all the games and still end up only a couple of points behind depending on other results.

Bobo
Maloney comes across as a timid little boy and his demeanour has been translated onto the pitch with his players also playing like frightened little boys.

They are so soft and slow with very little desire or forward momentum, it's beyond a joke now! Injuries apart they should still be able to make a far better fist of games than what we've been subjected to.

Maloney's made a simple game look very difficult and needs to have a long hard look at how totally bereft of creation his teams are, he needs to rethink his approach or he isn't going to last very long.

He won’t get the sack this season or at the end of it, no matter how convinced you are he should or will.

Defending is getting better, more clean sheets which is good. We’re getting harder to beat. It gives us a solid foundation to work from. Just need the final 3rd to click but we are getting more shots at goal which we weren’t doing a few weeks ago.

Clean sheets against the bottom 2 in our last 2 games, it’s nowt to be excited about. 2 ***** teams.

05-03-2022, 04:43 PM

So who was he in a position to bring in Jan just after he had walked in the door himself.
Most of the players brought in had already been in the pipeline to bring to Hibs.
That was as near to a reserve side as we could put on the park.

Lack of a central midfielder Maloneys fault. He even came out out said he wanted one midweek which makes it worse.

JDH and Campbell simply not a good enough pairing if we want to be top 3. Even Newell And JDH not good enough pairing.

He won’t get the sack this season, no matter how convinced you are he should or will.

We’ll see. The football is horrific and I don’t see RG being patient with him. He certainly wasn’t with Jack Ross.

He's here!
05-03-2022, 04:44 PM
Wasn't there but in terms of entrainment value it sounded as though a fiver was a bit steep.

However, with the way the other results panned out it wasn't too bad a point as the games run out before the split. Been more than a few times where a game like that has ended 0-1.

Feel a bit sorry for Maloney. The injury situation is crazy which makes it very hard for him to show us what he's trying to do.

Willis1875
05-03-2022, 04:44 PM
What’s the story with all the injured players?Are any close to a return?
I don’t even know what Hanlon and Newell are out injured with.
Nobody seems to just get a knock and miss a game or two it’s always lengthy absences

05-03-2022, 04:45 PM

I think he stopped a certain goal from young Doig.

05-03-2022, 04:45 PM
We’ll see. The football is horrific and I don’t see RG being patient with him. He certainly wasn’t with Jack Ross.

He inherited a lot of the problems. We sold his best player who was carrying us. And we have too many poor players. Chuck in the worst injury crisis in all my time watching Hibs.

That was never all getting fixed in January. There are things I think he could do differently, still don’t think he’s the biggest problem here though.

05-03-2022, 04:46 PM
He won’t get the sack this season or at the end of it, no matter how convinced you are he should or will.

If he doesn’t make top 6..

1 -he’s under achieving
2 - he won’t sell many ST next season
3 - he will have lost the club quite a bit of ££

Bridge hibs
05-03-2022, 04:47 PM
Maloney comes across as a timid little boy and his demeanour has been translated onto the pitch with his players also playing like frightened little boys.

They are so soft and slow with very little desire or forward momentum, it's beyond a joke now! Injuries apart they should still be able to make a far better fist of games than what we've been subjected to.

Maloney's made a simple game look very difficult and needs to have a long hard look at how totally bereft of creation his teams are, he needs to rethink his approach or he isn't going to last very long.Patronising guff !! Because he doesnt rant and rave or act the hard nut his demeanor is akin to a timid little boy ? He is pishing with the cock he has, he has never had the chance to integrate his new signings with his injured players to get his system to work. Stubbs wasnt a baller or shouter but he still won us the ****ing Scottish cup

05-03-2022, 04:50 PM
Exactly mate, we have some right miserable ***** in our support just now

Folk are seriously fed up paying decent money to watch minimal entertainment.

It’s not good enough and the manager needs to change tactics or start selecting more adventurous players.

Ok we don’t have much to choose from but feels like we are playing with 7 or 8 players at times as several just not hitting the required levels expected.

05-03-2022, 04:51 PM

Who says they're not motivated? Being motivated and being not that great are 2 different things, we have a full team of players injured, a striker who looks about 3 divisions out his depth after his achilles injury, a midfield 2 without guile, a young lad in Jasper who's played about 20 senior players, Wright who's just not good enough and 2 teenagers from Norway who everyone seems to been pinning their hopes on. Your post is absolute nonsense.

05-03-2022, 04:55 PM
Folk are seriously fed up paying decent money to watch minimal entertainment.

It’s not good enough and the manager needs to change tactics or start selecting more adventurous players.

Ok we don’t have much to choose from but feels like we are playing with 7 or 8 players at times as several just not hitting the required levels expected.

Who? go on tel us then, did you see the bench today, Allan who looks like he's finished, James Scott who's been gash since he came, an aging Daz, a young inexperienced Belgian CH, 2 Belgian teenagers and 2 U18 players, for the life of me I can't see any game changers sitting on the bench.

05-03-2022, 04:56 PM
Dreadful.

Two games in a row against the two bottom teams in the league with zero goals.

I know we have a lot of players unavailable but I'm afraid it's not good enough.

Willis1875
05-03-2022, 04:58 PM
Who? go on tel us then, did you see the bench today, Allan who looks like he's finished, James Scott who's been gash since he came, an aging Daz, a young inexperienced Belgian CH, 2 Belgian teenagers and 2 U18 players, for the life of me I can't see any game changers sitting on the bench.

Is Scott still here because we had no choice or has he been kept around because Maloney likes him?If it’s the latter then Maloney needs to have a word with himself

05-03-2022, 05:00 PM
Is Scott still here because we had no choice or has he been kept around because Maloney likes him?If it’s the latter then Maloney needs to have a word with himself

I think the loan was till the end of the season and we had no choice unless Hull wanted him back.

05-03-2022, 05:00 PM

Allan looks no more finished than the likes of Henderson, Wright and Campbell.

05-03-2022, 05:03 PM

Why then is he not starting and was almost away in the summer and again in January? Personally I'd be playing him more often but I don't see him in training and I'm only going by memory of him 2 seasons ago, there has to be a reason the last 2 managers haven't played him, I should have stated finished at the club.

05-03-2022, 05:05 PM
Boring af

05-03-2022, 05:05 PM

All fair comments.

Everything felt so positive a year or two ago, what’s happening to us?!!!

05-03-2022, 05:06 PM
Why then is he not starting and was almost away in the summer and again in January? Personally I'd be playing him more often but I don't see him in training and I'm only going by memory of him 2 seasons ago, there has to be a reason the last 2 managers haven't played him.

The last 2 managers did play him far more often though. Allan has had the most direct contributions ( 6) to goals in our squad this season from players available to pick. Why are people forgetting his performances pre-christmas? He might not be the long term solution, but the way others are playing right now then they for sure aren't

Paul1642
All fair comments.

Everything felt so positive a year or two ago, what’s happening to us?!!!

I felt positive until about December.

We looked more dangerous when the subs came on.

Doidge shouldn’t have started today. We didn’t need JDH and Campbell - Allan as finished as you think we looked more dangerous with him on the pitch.

I know we don’t have loads of options but even Cadden was putting in loads of crosses a few weeks ago - now he’s playing at the back hardly had a cross. Jasper and Cadden would least give some danger on each side. Wright I honestly don’t know what he provides.

05-03-2022, 05:07 PM

Allan was terrible when he came on. Bullied off the ball, getting jogged past, giving it away, no quick feet. All the players you mentioned we better than him.

jakedance
05-03-2022, 05:14 PM
Very poor. Players might be trying but they’re just not good enough. Too many are choosing to turn back when they’ve got an opportunity to do something more positive. I’m raging their 18 didn’t get sent off when you look at some of our red cards this season.

05-03-2022, 05:15 PM

What makes you say that? I think he'll be away at the split if we're bottom 6.

There's been nothing to suggest he can improve things when players return from injury. We said the same before we signed loads in January but that made zero difference.

Cut our losses, admit we screwed up, let SDG see the season out, and then recruit an actual manager in the summer.

05-03-2022, 05:15 PM
Yes.....A volley from Doig

Bobo
05-03-2022, 05:16 PM
Patronising guff !! Because he doesnt rant and rave or act the hard nut his demeanor is akin to a timid little boy ? He is pishing with the cock he has, he has never had the chance to integrate his new signings with his injured players to get his system to work. Stubbs wasnt a baller or shouter but he still won us the ****ing Scottish cup

Not patronising, just telling it as it is. Irrespective of the players at his disposal, Maloney's teams are bereft of aggression and desire, are far too slow in every third of the pitch and lack creation. That won't change until he changes his blinkered view of how the game should be played.

By all means stick to trying to implement your desired style of play when circumstances permit but you have to adapt and have other options when things clearly aren't working.

HFC93
05-03-2022, 05:17 PM
Mental that we're fourth. Just shows how poor the league is.

05-03-2022, 05:21 PM
Not patronising, just telling it as it is. Irrespective of the players at his disposal, Maloney's teams are bereft of aggression and desire, are far too slow in every third of the pitch and lack creation. That won't change until he changes his blinkered view of how the game should be played.

By all means stick to trying to implement your desired style of play when circumstances permit but you have to adapt and have other options when things clearly aren't working.

I wouldn't say Ross was any different. Didnt strike me that he had alot of passion or urgency in his interviews. Players look like they still have no passion or fight only the usual suspects like porto and stevenson

05-03-2022, 05:21 PM
Allan was terrible when he came on. Bullied off the ball, getting jogged past, giving it away, no quick feet. All the players you mentioned we better than him.

Rubbish, absolute rubbish. His first touch in the game offered more creativity than all three of them have in weeks.

05-03-2022, 05:22 PM
Change the formation, get two up front, try something different!!!!

8 games this calendar year not scoring. Has it ever been as bad

05-03-2022, 05:23 PM
I wouldn't say Ross was any different. Didnt strike me that he had alot of passion or urgency in his interviews. Players look at like they still have no passion or fight only the usual suspects like porto and stevensonWhat managers in the spl strike you as having passion and urgency?

Robbie Neilson?

Postecoglu?

Gvb?

Bridge hibs
05-03-2022, 05:23 PM

By all means stick to trying to implement your desired style of play when circumstances permit but you have to adapt and have other options when things clearly aren't working.With the players at his disposal he doesnt really have much of a choice to change things. Call out his tactics or whatever but the timid little boy stuff in my opinion is pretty patronising, he has had a decent grounding at management level and is now on his own, cheap shots towards him are uncalled for in my opinion

05-03-2022, 05:24 PM
Rubbish, absolute rubbish. His first touch in the game offered more creativity than all three of them have in weeks.

What was the touch? Can't remember it?

Was it the 5 yard pass to Melkerson?

05-03-2022, 05:26 PM
With the players at his disposal he doesnt really have much of a choice to change things. Call out his tactics or whatever but the timid little boy stuff in my opinion is pretty patronising, he has had a decent grounding at management level and is now on his own, cheap shots towards him are uncalled for in my opinionYep, it's harping back to to dark ages of "you have to shout and scream and be Intimidating"

Like Maurice Malpas I guess

05-03-2022, 05:26 PM
Maybe we'll be like the Greece team that won the Euros and hardly scored a goal.

You never know

05-03-2022, 05:31 PM

Lot of folk wanting their £5 back :cb

Just back - that was awful. Almost contrived to make £5 seem like a rip off (never mind the ST price). No guile from anyone really. Doig was our best player by a mile.

Doidge shouldn't be starting, getting absolutely nothing from him.

Our midfield needs cleared out in the summer - JDH, Campbell and Newell are far too negative minded and every team knows they pass back or sideways. Moment in 1st half where Porteous had the ball and JDH and Campbell were standing still, no attempt to get space or anything.

Movement from midfield forward is absolutely atrocious. No interchanging or coming short to run in behind. Genuinely look absolutely clueless in attack and in build up play.

Glad our January signings are mainly loan with option to buy. We shouldn't be going near any of them - none have made a decent impression. Rocky is closest to looking ok but is weak in the air for a CB.

No intent. Maloney and the club have a massive summer ahead. Qualify for Europe and get destroyed in first tie if this is what we have in mind.

What was the touch? Can't remember it?

Was it the 5 yard pass to Melkerson?

It was actually 2 touches :greengrin Controlled on the chest five or ten yards outside the box then played on the volley into someone on the right side of the box. It wasn't even anything particularly special, but it was far more positive than anything the other 3 showed all afternoon.

05-03-2022, 05:34 PM
Yep, it's harping back to to dark ages of "you have to shout and scream and be Intimidating"

Like Maurice Malpas I guess

No I think there is an alternative.

Listening to how some clubs in England recruit - they actually want a manager who is passionate on the sidelines and who has character -not a lunatic but someone who gets the crowd engaged - they even chat with the current manager about even knowing a possible successor.

Fans want a manager who does the job but also a managers character often represents his team and there are similarities with Ross and Maloney - simple / sensible and as a result the team play this way most weeks.

Mutu
05-03-2022, 05:35 PM
Our midfield needs cleared out in the summer - JDH, Campbell and Newell are far too negative minded and every team knows they pass back or sideways.

Newell is our best midfielder by a country mile, as evidenced by this atrocious run we're having since he got injured.

05-03-2022, 05:40 PM
Newell is our best midfielder by a country mile, as evidenced by this atrocious run we're having since he got injured.

We are still a very average team with Newell in the side. We are filled with pass admiring static players - pass and stand. Our midfield should get closer to opposition box, they don't. We built up slowly in the first half and crossed the ball in, Doidge was only player in the box. We just don't have a mobile midfield. Slow and ponderous and Newell doesn't change that.

05-03-2022, 05:42 PM
No I think there is an alternative.

Listening to how some clubs in England recruit - they actually want a manager who is passionate on the sidelines and who has character -not a lunatic but someone who gets the crowd engaged - they even chat with the current manager about even knowing a possible successor.

Fans want a manager who does the job but also a managers character often represents his team and there are similarities with Ross and Maloney - simple / sensible and as a result the team play this way most weeks.Isn't ralf rangnik (for example) known for a high press game?

Boy barely moves on the touchline

I've seen this argument crop up before, generally when we are going through a sticky patch

Red herring for me

05-03-2022, 05:43 PM
Bottom 6 is more likely can’t see them winning any games before the split

05-03-2022, 05:44 PM
Just back - that was awful. Almost contrived to make £5 seem like a rip off (never mind the ST price). No guile from anyone really. Doig was our best player by a mile.

Doidge shouldn't be starting, getting absolutely nothing from him.

Our midfield needs cleared out in the summer - JDH, Campbell and Newell are far too negative minded and every team knows they pass back or sideways. Moment in 1st half where Porteous had the ball and JDH and Campbell were standing still, no attempt to get space or anything.

Movement from midfield forward is absolutely atrocious. No interchanging or coming short to run in behind. Genuinely look absolutely clueless in attack and in build up play.

Glad our January signings are mainly loan with option to buy. We shouldn't be going near any of them - none have made a decent impression. Rocky is closest to looking ok but is weak in the air for a CB.

No intent. Maloney and the club have a massive summer ahead. Qualify for Europe and get destroyed in first tie if this is what we have in mind.

Posted nearly the same words few posts back.

Not sure those watching online can see it but won’t at the game you can really see the lack of movement and purpose how we play.

Folk say modern football is possession- maybe but also players need to pass forward every so often and players often bounce the ball ball without checking their shoulder. I don’t expect players to be Phil Foden but Campbell several times today played safe, Caddens shot - the poor crosses. Some of the technique and decision making isn’t what you expect from a reasonably paid professional.

05-03-2022, 05:46 PM
Absolutely agree that one thing we need is a settled management team so you’ll not find me hounding Shaun Maloney out. However, he came in with the promise of skilful, exciting football and we are seeing none of that. If we fail to make league stages in European football this year we fall way behind any team that does. If ever there was a year to get things right it was this year. Instead we’ve settled for yet another (pick your own number) year plan.
No amount of corporate speak at the AGM is going to get this right. We failed abysmally in the transfer market in the summer and again this winter. Yes there are players developing and potentially really exciting but this was not the year to hang around.

i agree on this and thanks for taking the time to give a considered response we’re not in the best of times.

We are where we are and probably a year behind schedule unable to build on what came before as new ideas albeith with the same-ish players beds in.

At least Ross sought to work with what he had initially. Maloney needs time but yes this year was not the year to tinker it was to build on what we had. Ross could not do that. Perhaps let down by recruitment, injuries?

And so here we are - changing tack after seemingly nailing our colours to the Rose mast…

Well hopefully give Maloney fair kick of the ball. If he’s gone before the end of the season the. I think there’s serious questions to be put to the hierarchy. But let’s give it a go.

Bobo
05-03-2022, 05:46 PM
With the players at his disposal he doesnt really have much of a choice to change things. Call out his tactics or whatever but the timid little boy stuff in my opinion is pretty patronising, he has had a decent grounding at management level and is now on his own, cheap shots towards him are uncalled for in my opinion

Never questioned his grounding or his management level, his demeanor though, yes, he's too timid for me. Guess we'll just have to agree to disagree.

05-03-2022, 05:50 PM
Maybe we'll be like the Greece team that won the Euros and hardly scored a goal.

You never know

You mean the Greek team who scored in every game? I hope so.

05-03-2022, 06:00 PM
Patronising guff !! Because he doesnt rant and rave or act the hard nut his demeanor is akin to a timid little boy ? He is pishing with the cock he has, he has never had the chance to integrate his new signings with his injured players to get his system to work. Stubbs wasnt a baller or shouter but he still won us the ****ing Scottish cup

Nailed it. Ridiculous to have a go at Shaun Maloney for his quiet demeanour. Pretty certain he will turn out to be a good manager but he has been badly let down by club recruitment, as was Jack Ross. In recent years there has never been a better time to get that right and we blew it.
The football is awful and we are a long way from getting it right though

05-03-2022, 06:02 PM
Says it all when, Jasper apart, the 3 best footballers that started the game and the one’s capable of dropping the shoulder, beating a man and progressing us up the park started the game as our back 3. The ‘offensive’ players in front of them? Thankfully, they’ll either not be here, or making up the numbers, next season.