View Full Version : Josh Taylor Hibee

23-02-2022, 10:00 PM
Gloves are off coming on Sky Arena now before Saturdays fight.

Just an FYI.

23-02-2022, 10:19 PM
Josh is a great fighter but lost a lot of respect for him when he started posting a lot of vaccine misinformation and anti vax rubbish. Everybody is entitled to their opinion and I fully believe everyone has the right to have the choice to get the vaccine or not but don't spread garbage.

23-02-2022, 10:21 PM
Josh is a great fighter but lost a lot of respect for him when he started posting a lot of vaccine misinformation and anti vax rubbish. Everybody is entitled to their opinion and I fully believe everyone has the right to have the choice to get the vaccine or not but don't spread garbage.

I think he is a very talented boxer and yet to peak, sadly, I also lost a lot of respect for him after his antics up the town, you just can’t be abusing folk like he was.

23-02-2022, 10:49 PM

An absolute dimwit :agree:

TheHibernator
23-02-2022, 11:05 PM
Top 5 p4p without question, hope he wins then moves up weight to fight the likes of Terrence Crawford and Errol spence jr

cameronw-hfc
23-02-2022, 11:15 PM
Josh is a great fighter but lost a lot of respect for him when he started posting a lot of vaccine misinformation and anti-vax rubbish. Everybody is entitled to their opinion and I fully believe everyone has the right to have the choice to get the vaccine or not but don't spread garbage.

I've been writing about combat sports for a while now, interviewed a lot, top-level and lower levels and was saddened to find out how many are complete and utter ****holes. Learned to separate being a fan of their competing from being a fan of them as a person.

Shame as trying to remove the knucklehead stigma of MMA+ Boxing seems to be made worse by those competing in it unfortunately. From a boxing POV, Josh is top class and one of the elite of the elite. Never met him but from his socials the less said about him personally the better as he's had a few incidents on there, not just through being anti-vax.

MagicSwirlingShip
23-02-2022, 11:23 PM
An absolute legend and good Hibee too. Cannot wait for Saturday.

The Baldmans Comb
24-02-2022, 12:14 AM
Is this the anti vax, British Nationalist and convicted homophobe we are talking about here who made a whole load of tweets sooking up to Sevco fans when they won the SPL last year.

Sounds a real charmer and a very strange type of Hibs fan.

MagicSwirlingShip
24-02-2022, 12:27 AM
Is this the anti vax, British Nationalist and convicted homophobe we are talking about here who made a whole load of tweets sooking up to Sevco fans when they won the SPL last year.

Proud Scotsman. Anti Lockdown (as are many)

Congratulated Celtic before too. Just a sportsman congratulating others at the top of their game

24-02-2022, 12:56 AM

Admitted to homophobic and racist abuse towards a bouncer up town. Sounds an absolute ******** of a guy.

As I said, talented at his sport but as a person he's not someone i'm particularly proud of being associated with our club.

OldEast
24-02-2022, 02:50 AM

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

24-02-2022, 05:28 AM

Congratulated Celtic before too. Just a sportsman congratulating others at the top of their game

The only time I've ever congratulated Rangers is when they successfully got themselves liquidated. It is a bit of an odd thing for a Hibs fan to do.

The Baldmans Comb
24-02-2022, 05:33 AM

Someone who regards Asian Scots as "Gay looking C**ts" and who thinks Scotland is a "facist country" sounds like the sort of "Proud Scot" that inhabits the bowels and depths of right wing British Nationalism.

He is hardly shy about his extremisim and he stands by his opinions but its rather unfortunate if Hibs are his football club as that's not the sort of "Proud Scot" we should be trying to attract as there are other far more "deserving" clubs for someone with his beliefs.😥

24-02-2022, 05:37 AM
The Gloves are off is the most pathetic programme on TV.

2 blokes sat down calling each other names for half an hour. Genuinely, wtf is all that about?

24-02-2022, 05:38 AM
The only time I've ever congratulated Rangers is when they successfully got themselves liquidated. It is a bit of an odd thing for a Hibs fan to do.

Unfortunately Edinburgh isn't a big enough sporting city nor does it have a suitable venue. Josh is simply playing to the gallery with that.

24-02-2022, 05:43 AM
Used to think he was OK until I realised he was just another servile unionist 'Scot'.

24-02-2022, 05:52 AM
Used to think he was OK until I realised he was just another servile unionist 'Scot'.

Yep. Can’t have anyone having differing political views these day🤣

24-02-2022, 05:55 AM
Comes across a total fud.

Good for a scrap and **** all else.

24-02-2022, 06:03 AM
Someone who regards Asian Scots as "Gay looking C**ts" and who thinks Scotland is a "facist country" sounds like the sort of "Proud Scot" that inhabits the bowels and depths of right wing British Nationalism.

He is hardly shy about his extremisim and he stands by his opinions but its rather unfortunate if Hibs are his football club as that's not the sort of "Proud Scot" we should be trying to attract as there are other far more "deserving" clubs for someone with his beliefs.😥

We should definitely avoid the extremist route. Maybe we should publish some guidance about what type of ‘Proud Scot’ we should be trying to attract?🥴

Paulie Walnuts
24-02-2022, 06:46 AM
Guys an absolute walloper.

24-02-2022, 06:50 AM

😂😂😂

24-02-2022, 07:05 AM
Not many on here watching it then :faf::faf:

24-02-2022, 07:30 AM
Shouldn't the nonsense about boxing be on the Holy Ground? Hardly a football topic 😁

24-02-2022, 08:05 AM
Yep. Can’t have anyone having differing political views these day🤣

You can but the opposition dont (or cant) offer up any positive case for the union anymore!:agree:

24-02-2022, 08:11 AM
I've been writing about combat sports for a while now, interviewed a lot, top-level and lower levels and was saddened to find out how many are complete and utter ****holes. Learned to separate being a fan of their competing from being a fan of them as a person.

Shame as trying to remove the knucklehead stigma of MMA+ Boxing seems to be made worse by those competing in it unfortunately. From a boxing POV, Josh is top class and one of the elite of the elite. Never met him but from his socials the less said about him personally the better as he's had a few incidents on there, not just through being anti-vax.

Willie Quinn was a good fighter and is good lad as well, as was his wee brother Tommy.

He had Neville Brown at his mercy in a British title fight after knocking him down, just couldn't finish the fight in the same round as time beat him.

I do get your generalisation however.

24-02-2022, 10:18 AM

Thank £3ck Hertz didnae win anything.

24-02-2022, 10:25 AM
So many haters. Weird. :confused:

mcohibs
24-02-2022, 10:29 AM

Justified

24-02-2022, 10:32 AM
Well im looking forward to it - we've had more than our fair share of roasters pull on a Hibs strip too, hasnt ever stopped me supporting them :aok:

24-02-2022, 10:38 AM
Justified

In your opinion. He's not killed or injured anyone. Has his own views. Hating someone for having a difference of opinion is worse than what he's being slated for.

24-02-2022, 10:44 AM
In your opinion. He's not killed or injured anyone. Has his own views. Hating someone for having a difference of opinion is worse than what he's being slated for.

Having personal beliefs is one thing.

Using your platform as a well known person to spread lies and misinformation is a whole new level of stupid. If you do that, expect to get criticism.

24-02-2022, 10:45 AM

Tbh, it sounds like Josh is the hater ….of people of other nationalities / race (?). other people seem simply dismayed and non supportive due to some of his views and behaviour .

OldEast
24-02-2022, 10:47 AM

.net is chock full of threads where people are torn to pieces for their views, politics, behaviours, skill levels (or lack thereof) etc etc.
If you're a fan of these people you probably think it's weird. Many others don't quite obviously or there would be nothing to discuss 👍🏻

24-02-2022, 10:53 AM
Having personal beliefs is one thing.

Using your platform as a well known person to spread lies and misinformation is a whole new level of stupid. If you do that, expect to get criticism.

criticism is fine. but the amount of seethe for the boy is just weird. Demi Mitchell once used social media to rip Hibs. Is anyone bothered? No.

24-02-2022, 10:55 AM
.net is chock full of threads where people are torn to pieces for their views, politics, behaviours, skill levels (or lack thereof) etc etc.
If you're a fan of these people you probably think it's weird. Many others don't quite obviously or there would be nothing to discuss 👍🏻

I certainly don't have any hate for any posters on here regardless of what is posted. Above is a level of hate for a working class Hibee who is undisputed world Champion in sport. It is weird.

24-02-2022, 10:56 AM
criticism is fine. but the amount of seethe for the boy is just weird. Demi Mitchell once used social media to rip Hibs. Is anyone bothered? No.

24-02-2022, 10:57 AM
Tbh, it sounds like Josh is the hater ….of people of other nationalities / race (?). other people seem simply dismayed and non supportive due to some of his views and behaviour .

I don't think he's a hater of anyone let alone anyone of a different race. He was pissed and said a few things out of turn. I wonder what the same people that hate him think of Riordan and Griffiths? :confused:

24-02-2022, 11:02 AM
I'll be cheering on JT on Saturday. I don't agree with most of the guff he puts out there on social media, but then I stopped following him there. He is however a great boxer and one I love to watch, he is technically brilliant and has faced and beaten all types of boxers in the ring. He will go down as one of the greats of the sport. I hope he wins at the weekend and thinks about moving up a weight to meet TC and Errol Spence Jr and hopefully clean up in that division too. His career should be being heralded even to this point, there are very few boxers who take all belts in a division, never mind in just 19 pro bouts and we have one from the Pans who supports Hibs. Enjoy his short career, ignore his social media spoutings if they upset you or you don't agree with them and appreciate what we have in Josh Taylor, we won't see another like him for a while.

MagicSwirlingShip
24-02-2022, 11:08 AM

Extremism. Come off it.

24-02-2022, 11:19 AM
You can but the opposition dont (or cant) offer up any positive case for the union anymore!:agree:

Thanks for that👀

24-02-2022, 11:29 AM
I can only speak for myself, but I certainly don’t hate him, I feel a huge sense of disappointment that someone I believed and still do believe will go on to be the best fighter this country has ever produced has turned out to be a complete clown. I suppose that the problem with things like social media. Boxers generally speaking aren’t the most intelligent people and he should probably be cut some slack, but the reality is that it’s only himself that he’s hurting with his nonsense. You have to ask why others in his team haven’t been able to convince him to reign it in. I doubt I’ll be watching it.

OldEast
24-02-2022, 11:30 AM
I certainly don't have any hate for any posters on here regardless of what is posted. Above is a level of hate for a working class Hibee who is undisputed world Champion in sport. It is weird.

Maybe badly written. I didn't mean posters are hated, we're all Hibbies after all. What I meant was those who are the subject of the thread.

24-02-2022, 11:32 AM
I can almost understand pandering to the masses stuff with his rangers tweets but all the misinformation he’s posted about covid/vaccines (it’s not a different opinion when you’re sharing misinformation) and his love for the union have sadly ruled me out of ever supporting him.

No doubt he’s a great boxer but I refuse to support someone with those kinda views.

24-02-2022, 11:35 AM
I can almost understand pandering to the masses stuff with his rangers tweets but all the misinformation he’s posted about covid/vaccines (it’s not a different opinion when you’re sharing misinformation) and his love for the union have sadly ruled me out of ever supporting him.

No doubt he’s a great boxer but I refuse to support someone with those kinda views.

Exact same for me. The folk I do support its because there's something I like in them, other than the fact he just happens to support the same team as me, I can't say that about Josh.

24-02-2022, 11:37 AM
The Rangers tweet was put out by his Hun pal. He does talk some amount of pish re vaccines, masks etc but thankfully I follow him for his outstanding boxing ability not his scientific or political opinion. Can’t wait to be ringside on Saturday.

24-02-2022, 11:47 AM
Conversely he also actually used to tweet stuff having a pop at Rangers, which used to surprise me too as I thought he was risking alienating part of his fan base.

I did stop following his social media stuff too for the reasons people have mentioned -just found it disappointing. But still hoping he continues winning.

Being charitable, I think a lot of the Covid stuff is probably driven by a frustration of being at the peak of his earning potential and having to play to empty arenas etc.

24-02-2022, 12:11 PM

If you look at what he actually tweeted there is absolutely nothing wrong with it :

“It’s not a conspiracy theory to believe that your immune system is there to do its job and a bloody good one at that.”
and
“If you are vaccinated then you shouldn’t have to worry about unvaccinated people if the jab is so effective and safe.”

Both absolutely watertight logical statements.

As an athlete he has probably been put under considerable pressure to take a risky medical intervention for which he has no clinical need - he therefore has every right to defend his position against various hysterical maniacs on social media.

mcohibs
24-02-2022, 12:14 PM

Hating someone because they're homophobic is worse than actually being homophobic?

Some take that

24-02-2022, 12:18 PM
If you look at what he actually tweeted there is absolutely nothing wrong with it :

“It’s not a conspiracy theory to believe that your immune system is there to do its job and a bloody good one at that.”
and
“If you are vaccinated then you shouldn’t have to worry about unvaccinated people if the jab is so effective and safe.”

As an athlete he has probably been put under considerable pressure to take a risky medical intervention for which he has no clinical need - he therefore has every right to defend his position against various hysterical maniacs on social media.

The first one is a fundamental misunderstanding of how the immune system works. Vaccines aren’t somehow separate to our immune system, they are specifically designed to help our immune system respond to particular diseases.

The second one discourages people from getting the vaccine, which - given we have a publicly funded healthcare system, apart from anything else - actually is a concern for the wider population.

24-02-2022, 12:21 PM
I certainly would not be taking medical advice from him but he's an incredible boxer.

24-02-2022, 12:26 PM
Hating someone because they're homophobic is worse than actually being homophobic?

Some take that

Is he homophobic? Or did he just say something angry and pissed?

Share a link to anything Josh Taylor has said he doesn't like gay people?

24-02-2022, 12:30 PM
The first one is a fundamental misunderstanding of how the immune system works. Vaccines aren’t somehow separate to our immune system, they are specifically designed to help our immune system respond to particular diseases.

The second one discourages people from getting the vaccine, which - given we have a publicly funded healthcare system, apart from anything else - actually is a concern for the wider population.

He believes his immune system is good enough to withstand detrimental effects of covid. It's his body, he's not telling anyone else to do similar.

He's not discouraged anyone. Has he said don't get a vaccine as it's stupid and wrong? No.

He doesn't want one and been brave enough to publish his thoughts. It doesn't make him the anti Christ people are making out he is.

mcohibs
24-02-2022, 12:45 PM

Ah okay, so he was angry and pissed at the time. I'm sure the court seen that as a genuine excuse for homophobic and racist behaviour then did they?

Your point was that you thought it was 'weird' that many disliked him but as others have pointed out, based on how he chooses to present himself in the public eye, it is really not weird in the slightest that not everyone is a Josh Taylor fan purely because he supports Hibs.

24-02-2022, 12:51 PM
He's a brilliant boxer and hope he continues to do well in his career.

However I was disappointed when he started spaffing ***** social media because it is totally idiotic; it's almost as if he gets punched in the head quite often.

24-02-2022, 01:06 PM
Ah okay, so he was angry and pissed at the time. I'm sure the court seen that as a genuine excuse for homophobic and racist behaviour then did they?

Your point was that you thought it was 'weird' that many disliked him but as others have pointed out, based on how he chooses to present himself in the public eye, it is really not weird in the slightest that not everyone is a Josh Taylor fan purely because he supports Hibs.

Yes, he was drunk and angry. He apologised. Unfortunately you can't let it go. That is weird. Again, it doesn't make him homophobic either. He's never said ever he doesn't like people because of their sexuality unless you can state otherwise.

Nothing to do with him just being a Hibs fan, it's a bonus. You're obviously not into boxing because he's the unified unbeaten undisputed champion of the world and he's from Scotland. If that isn't something to be interested in if you are a boxing fan then fair enough. He is a Hibee also from down the road. He's made a mistake and in the public eye, no need for the hate though.

andrew70
24-02-2022, 01:10 PM
Great boxer. Right wing bigot. The latter much more damning. As much of a Hibs fan as his Hearts supporting cousins I guess. Working class he may be but that doesn’t account for his deplorable ignorance.

24-02-2022, 01:18 PM

he tends to delete tweets when others inform him he's an eejit, he also needs to educate himself on what the word fascism means, another tweet he deleted, maybe he looked up the dictionary for that one before deleting that tweet

24-02-2022, 01:22 PM
I don't think he's a hater of anyone let alone anyone of a different race. He was pissed and said a few things out of turn. I wonder what the same people that hate him think of Riordan and Griffiths? :confused:

Probably think they’re uninformed prat’s too….

24-02-2022, 01:32 PM

:agree: They are not even close to being watertight logical arguments from him.

24-02-2022, 01:34 PM

and

Those two tweets from him are not even remotely logical.

24-02-2022, 01:37 PM
Yes, he was drunk and angry. He apologised. Unfortunately you can't let it go. That is weird. Again, it doesn't make him homophobic either. He's never said ever he doesn't like people because of their sexuality unless you can state otherwise.

Nothing to do with him just being a Hibs fan, it's a bonus. You're obviously not into boxing because he's the unified unbeaten undisputed champion of the world and he's from Scotland. If that isn't something to be interested in if you are a boxing fan then fair enough. He is a Hibee also from down the road. He's made a mistake and in the public eye, no need for the hate though.

Clearly not giving a **** about other human beings by not getting his vaccine to protect other people. Another selfish ****wit like Djokovic.

24-02-2022, 02:06 PM
Good luck tonight Josh🥊🥇

24-02-2022, 02:08 PM

Ah so it's now ok to call Asians gay looking c**nts as long as you're pished, :confused:

Heard it all now ffs.

24-02-2022, 02:25 PM
Another car crash thread filled with folk who’ve never said or done anything wrong in their puff.

Let he who is without sin, cast the first stone.

24-02-2022, 02:33 PM
Good luck tonight Josh🥊🥇

Saturday night.

24-02-2022, 03:02 PM
He believes his immune system is good enough to withstand detrimental effects of covid. It's his body, he's not telling anyone else to do similar.

He's not discouraged anyone. Has he said don't get a vaccine as it's stupid and wrong? No.

He doesn't want one and been brave enough to publish his thoughts. It doesn't make him the anti Christ people are making out he is.

Come on now, dry your eyes.

24-02-2022, 03:18 PM
Another car crash thread filled with folk who’ve never said or done anything wrong in their puff.

Don't bring religious mumbo jumbo into this! Everyone "sins", but doesn't mean that people can't have an accurate view on what is happening in the world around them.

24-02-2022, 03:23 PM
Don't bring religious mumbo jumbo into this! Everyone "sins", but doesn't mean that people can't have an accurate view on what is happening in the world around them.

Good grief

24-02-2022, 03:25 PM

Saying that you dont like someone because they are a racist homophobe doesnt mean anyone wishes him harm, just never going to support someone with those views.

If someone that played for hibs had those views I would not support them, if my friends had those views they would not be my friends.

BigKev
24-02-2022, 03:32 PM
Josh is a fantastic fighter and actually a great guy.

Those holier than thou types on here who’ve never muttered anything against the grain or disagree with his stance on anti vaccination need to get a grip. Imagine disagreeing with the majority. It may not be popular but no need to castigate anyone for having a different viewpoint, particularly an elite athlete to whom his body is his set of tools.

I’m not bothered about his views, political or personal and it certainly won’t stop me enjoying Scotland’s first genuinely world class athlete since Andy Murray. I’ll be at the Hydro on Saturday giving it laldie for Josh on Saturday, hopefully bump into a few other Hibby’s doing the same.

24-02-2022, 03:34 PM
Ah so it's now ok to call Asians gay looking c**nts as long as you're pished, :confused:

Heard it all now ffs.

Point me in the direction of where I said it was okay? It doesn't make him the devil though as you and others are making out.

Have you never said something you didn't mean in the head of the moment or pissed? If not fair play but most of us make mistakes at times. He's apologised for it also.

mcohibs
24-02-2022, 03:39 PM
Point me in the direction of where I said it was okay? It doesn't make him the devil though as you and others are making out.

No one's calling him the devil, a lot of people are saying they dislike him though and giving valid reasons for their opinion. Let it go. Not everyone is a fan

24-02-2022, 03:42 PM

Religious mumbo jumbo? If that's how you view religion then that's your opinion and fair enough. I won't judge you on it as you are Josh Taylor for having different views on another topic. Religion is very important to people though and shouldn't be classified as mumbo jumbo. If you disagree you're a hypocrite.

24-02-2022, 03:43 PM
No one's calling him the devil, a lot of people are saying they dislike him though and giving valid reasons for their opinion. Let it go. Not everyone is a fan

Fair enough. I wouldn't dislike someone for having a differing opinion but maybe that's just me. I'm not fussed at all what other peoples views are as long as they aren't intentionally hurting people.

24-02-2022, 03:45 PM
Saying that you dont like someone because they are a racist homophobe doesnt mean anyone wishes him harm, just never going to support someone with those views.

If someone that played for hibs had those views I would not support them, if my friends had those views they would not be my friends.

One comment drunk and angry makes someone a racist homophobe and tarred as it for the rest of their lives now? :rolleyes:

beensaidbefore
24-02-2022, 03:46 PM
Clearly not giving a **** about other human beings by not getting his vaccine to protect other people. Another selfish ****wit like Djokovic.

As selfish as forcing perfectly healthy to take a vaccine that could be detrimental to their health in order to protect the health of others. There are 2 sides to ever story.

24-02-2022, 03:51 PM
Josh Taylor shakes hands with bouncer in apology over drunk and shameful 'big gay c***' rant (thesun.co.uk) (https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/10590935/josh-taylor-bouncer-apology-big-gay-c-rant/)

Apologised

Then met the person said the comments to apologised again. The victim looks to have forgiven him.

24-02-2022, 03:54 PM
Josh Taylor shakes hands with bouncer in apology over drunk and shameful 'big gay c***' rant (thesun.co.uk) (https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/10590935/josh-taylor-bouncer-apology-big-gay-c-rant/)

Apologised

Then met the person said the comments to apologised again. The victim looks to have forgiven him.

Not a publicity stunt at all. I'm sure the cameras were just there for a Starbucks.

24-02-2022, 03:57 PM

Have you never said something you didn't mean in the head of the moment or pissed? If not fair play but most of us make mistakes at times. He's apologised for it also.

Funny enough that my only post on this thread and I said nothing against Josh, you tried to pass off his homophobic racist remarks as a bit of drunken banter, I commented on the fact it must be ok to be racist and homophobic as long as you're drunk when yo say it, as you did in your post.

"Yes, he was drunk and angry. He apologised"

It matter not a jot if he apologised, he still said it.

24-02-2022, 03:58 PM
Not a publicity stunt at all. I'm sure the cameras were just there for a Starbucks.

Publicity stunt or not it would be hard to be a world champion boxer and dent your ego that much meeting someone to say sorry for being out of order personally.

Why not just give him the benefit of the doubt? :confused: If he didn't apologise would you defend him, saying it would just be a publicity stunt anyway? Damned if he does...

24-02-2022, 04:03 PM
Publicity stunt or not it would be hard to be a world champion boxer and dent your ego that much meeting someone to say sorry for being out of order personally.

Why not just give him the benefit of the doubt? :confused: If he didn't apologise would you defend him, saying it would just be a publicity stunt anyway? Damned if he does...

The point I'm trying to make is because this so clearly looks more like a good PR exercise it means folk can say that it isn't really a heartfelt apology. I'm not saying it isn't by the way.

24-02-2022, 04:04 PM
Funny enough that my only post on this thread and I said nothing against Josh, you tried to pass off his homophobic racist remarks as a bit of drunken banter, I commented on the fact it must be ok to be racist and homophobic as long as you're drunk when yo say it, as you did in your post.

"Yes, he was drunk and angry. He apologised"

I never once said it was drunken banter. I said he was drunk and angry, which indicates being angry would make it anything but banter. He was kicked out the club and was pissed. Said stuff he shouldn't have done and has expressed his sorrow. What more could the guy do? :confused:

Please stop putting words in my mouth. He was out of order, in the wrong and deserved the public shaming he got and the fine he received. Does it make me not like him? Not at all. Do I think he's homophobic because of it? No. Racist? Again no. People make mistakes and say stuff they don't mean with a drink in them in the heat of the moment.

24-02-2022, 04:06 PM
The point I'm trying to make is because this so clearly looks more like a good PR exercise it means folk can say that it isn't really a heartfelt apology. I'm not saying it isn't by the way.

Fair play. He also said sorry before he met the guy also. Taylor looks as if he was genuinely ashamed about his actions and so he should be. Most forgive and move on. Except a lot of people on here it seems :greengrin

24-02-2022, 04:19 PM
I never once said it was drunken banter. I said he was drunk and angry, which indicates being angry would make it anything but banter. He was kicked out the club and was pissed. Said stuff he shouldn't have done and has expressed his sorrow. What more could the guy do? :confused:

Please stop putting words in my mouth. He was out of order, in the wrong and deserved the public shaming he got and the fine he received. Does it make me not like him? Not at all. Do I think he's homophobic because of it? No. Racist? Again no. People make mistakes and say stuff they don't mean with a drink in them in the heat of the moment.

I've actually been in the company of JT and all I can say is hopefully I don't get the chance again.

24-02-2022, 04:34 PM
I've actually been in the company of JT and all I can say is hopefully I don't get the chance again.

Likewise and can’t wait for the next time. Cracking company!

24-02-2022, 04:39 PM
As selfish as forcing perfectly healthy to take a vaccine that could be detrimental to their health in order to protect the health of others. There are 2 sides to ever story.

Whose being forced to take the vaccine?

Mandates for certain jobs is not the same thing.

Also these two sides aren’t equal - you’ve got science and evidence on one side, and all sorts of nonsense on the other.

It’s like saying the opinion of the climate sceptics was as valid as the science.

All depends on whether you are public spirited I suppose.

beensaidbefore
24-02-2022, 05:26 PM

Also these two sides aren’t equal - you’ve got science and evidence on one side, and all sorts of nonsense on the other.

It’s like saying the opinion of the climate sceptics was as valid as the science.

Lots of people have begrudgingly taken the vaccine to keep peace with partners/family/employers. Coercion if you prefer to forced.

The fact that there are fit and healthy people who have had covid with little to no symptoms is evidence that not everyone needed the vaccine to be safe. The whole message has been get the vaccine to protect thr NHS and the vulnerable, not to keep the fit and healthy safe.

The fact you use words like nonsense vs facts suggests to me that no matter what 'evidence' was put before you, you would view it through your lens of mistrust and scaremongering rather than science you weren't aware of/didn't understand/or disagreed with.

24-02-2022, 05:30 PM
:agree: They are not even close to being watertight logical arguments from him.

The evidence has demonstrated clearly and consistently that a healthy young adult's imune system does a very good job of dealing with SARS-COV2 - and furthermore that natural immunity is at least as effective, more wideranging and longlasting as any of the vaccination products available. This should come as no surprise as it ties in with what science and medicine have been observing for at least the last century and a half.

If you cannot see that this is logical then you have lost the power of rational thinking - if you ever posessed it in the first place.

If you are going to try and poo poo something then at least come up with a rationale - simply saying "the sky is green and the grass is blue" does not make it so.

24-02-2022, 05:43 PM

There's peer pressure to get vaccinated (I have because I chose to though). If you don't get it or have an alternative opinion on it you get slated. Just check this thread for evidence of that. I've my reasons to get the jags, personal reasons mainly as I don't want to risk people close to me. If someone decides it's not for them and explain there reason for it then I won't rip them for it. If im Vaccinated there's less likely I'll catch off anyone anyway. I'll still wear a mask even when I don't need to now because I'm not taking any chances or risks either. It doesn't mean I walk down the street judging anyone who doesn't.

24-02-2022, 05:44 PM

The evidence has demonstrated clearly and consistently that a healthy young adult's imune system does a very good job of dealing with SARS-COV2 - and furthermore that natural immunity is at least as effective, more wideranging and longlasting as any of the vaccination products available. This should come as no surprise as it ties in with what science and medicine have been observing for at least the last century and a half.

If you cannot see that this is logical then you have lost the power of rational thinking - if you ever posessed it in the first place.

If you are going to try and poo poo something then at least come up with a rationale - simply saying "the sky is green and the grass is blue" does not make it so.

Good post and points. People should take note instead of judging and stamping feet.

24-02-2022, 05:48 PM

Please stop spreading disinformation - the COVID jabs do NOT protect anyone but the person who receives it. They reduce the chance of experiencing serious symptoms - they do NOT prevent the recipient from being infected or from spreading the infection.

Source: https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298

24-02-2022, 07:06 PM
Please stop spreading disinformation - the COVID jabs do NOT protect anyone but the person who receives it. They reduce the chance of experiencing serious symptoms - they do NOT prevent the recipient from being infected or from spreading the infection.

They do reduce the chance of transmission, certainly pre Delta.

24-02-2022, 07:16 PM
Josh Taylor is an absolute moron. Having said that, he’s a good hibs boy and hope he wins

24-02-2022, 08:18 PM

The first point about natural immunity goes against global medical advice. There are plenty of examples from across the world of younger healthy people being severely affected and dying from covid. That's without even considering the problems of long covid.

The second point he made about vaccinated people not worrying about unvaccinated people was one often mistakenly trotted out by vaccine sceptics such as yourself, and it's way off the mark. It really is such a stupid statement because the vaccine wasn't 100% effective in protecting people as we all knew. Add this to the fact that unvaccinated people were more likely to catch the virus and also more likely to pass it on then it really is a baseless statement. Therefore unvaccinated people WERE increasing the risk that a vaccinated person could catch the virus. The vaccine reduced transmission. There is plenty of evidence confirming this - this link provides a decent summary of things - https://www.newscientist.com/article/2294250-how-much-less-likely-are-you-to-spread-covid-19-if-youre-vaccinated/

I think its pretty clear that you have been taken in by a lot of misinformation just like Josh Taylor. Accusing others of not being capable of rational thinking has given me a right good laugh.

24-02-2022, 08:26 PM

I mean you simply aren't correct here. The vaccine MIGHT prevent the recipient from being infected or from spreading the infection. Just because it didn't always stop transmission, didn't mean it wasn't effective in some cases. I'm going to quote from your article: which actually contradicts what you are saying:

A study2 (https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298#ref-2) of covid-19 transmission within English households using data gathered in early 2021 found that even a single dose of a covid-19 vaccine reduced the likelihood of household transmission by 40-50%. This was supported by a study of household transmission among Scottish healthcare workers conducted between December 2020 and March 2021.3 (https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298#ref-3) Both studies analysed the impact of vaccination on transmission of the α variant of SARS-CoV-2, which was dominant at the time.
A subsequent study,4 (https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298#ref-4) conducted later in the course of the pandemic when the delta variant was dominant, showed vaccines had a less pronounced effect on denting onward transmission, but were still effective.

24-02-2022, 11:05 PM

Stop pretending you are a scientist or epidemiologist. It’s embarrassing.

24-02-2022, 11:41 PM
If I was one of the hardest people in the world at my weight and therefore probably someone who could knock the guff out of most people I come into contact with, I'd say whatever I wanted without thinking too.

I'd also probably believe my body would win in a fight with covid if I hadn't lost a fight with anyone else recently.

Don't agree with him at all but can see where he's coming from.

OstKurve Hibs
25-02-2022, 04:49 AM

Your views are anything but accurate, can tell you get your info straight from the bbc.

25-02-2022, 06:31 AM
Lots of people have begrudgingly taken the vaccine to keep peace with partners/family/employers. Coercion if you prefer to forced.

The fact that there are fit and healthy people who have had covid with little to no symptoms is evidence that not everyone needed the vaccine to be safe. The whole message has been get the vaccine to protect thr NHS and the vulnerable, not to keep the fit and healthy safe.

The fact you use words like nonsense vs facts suggests to me that no matter what 'evidence' was put before you, you would view it through your lens of mistrust and scaremongering rather than science you weren't aware of/didn't understand/or disagreed with.

Nope. Not at all.

It means I realise there are experts in this field who know far more about vaccination than I do, and that there is pretty much a consensus on this, apart from a few cranks / people with an axe to grind.

What science are you referring to exactly? Are you a vaccine expert?

Have some humility and perspective, understand where there are people who are more qualified than you, and take their advice.

Josh Taylor is entitled to think what he likes, but the problem is that he’s leading folk like you further down the rabbit hole.

25-02-2022, 06:34 AM
Your views are anything but accurate, can tell you get your info straight from the bbc.

I take me information from a number of sources thank you, from the UK and overseas,some random boxer is not one of them!

Paulie Walnuts
25-02-2022, 06:45 AM
If I was one of the hardest people in the world at my weight and therefore probably someone who could knock the guff out of most people I come into contact with, I'd say whatever I wanted without thinking too.

I'd also probably believe my body would win in a fight with covid if I hadn't lost a fight with anyone else recently.

That’s ok then. He’s hard so we should probably just leave him to go around throwing out racist, homophobic comments. And I mean he did round up tv cameras to apologise.. :rolleyes:

Someone said it on this thread earlier but I’ve also been in Josh Taylor’s company at Easter Road and like the earlier poster, I hope never to be in his company again. The guy really is an absolute ********.

25-02-2022, 06:54 AM
Thank god Muhammad Ali never said anything remotely controversial in his time, otherwise he'd not be seen as the greatest sportsman ever.

25-02-2022, 06:54 AM

That’s ok then. He’s hard so we should probably just leave him to go around throwing out racist, homophobic comments. And I mean he did round up tv cameras to apologise.. :rolleyes:

Someone said it on this thread earlier but I’ve also been in Josh Taylor’s company at Easter Road and like the earlier poster, I hope never to be in his company again. The guy really is an absolute ********.

Give examples of your experience? A more grounded person you won’t meet. Don’t agree with much of his social media but then I don’t agree with much the other side of the fence either, everyone can have an opinion.

25-02-2022, 08:09 AM
Give examples of your experience? A more grounded person you won’t meet. Don’t agree with much of his social media but then I don’t agree with much the other side of the fence either, everyone can have an opinion.

If Taylor says his favourite film is Raging Bull then that is a valid opinion. Nobody can say he can't have that view as it's value based. It is his opinion.

If he comes out and says all circles are square, then that's not an opinion of any relevance because he's obviously wrong and he is s rightly going to be ridiculed for it.

Paulie Walnuts
25-02-2022, 08:13 AM

Alternatively, nearly everyone I’ve met is more grounded than he was. They also aren’t racist homophobes.

Taylor’s posts about vaccines/covid etc aren’t opinions. They’re blatantly wrong. His stories on Instagram were absolutely flooded with false information. Someone with his profile spreading misinformation about something like that is absolutely idiotic.

25-02-2022, 08:38 AM
If Taylor says his favourite film is Raging Bull then that is a valid opinion. Nobody can say he can't have that view as it's value based. It is his opinion.

If he comes out and says all circles are square, then that's not an opinion of any relevance because he's obviously wrong and he is s rightly going to be ridiculed for it.

I can see why he may be confused, after all he thinks a ring is a square... 🤣

25-02-2022, 08:50 AM
Perhaps not a thread for the main board? The connection to football when the thread started was tenuous at best; by this point it's non-existent.

25-02-2022, 09:52 AM

All boxers talk about squared circles to be fair 🤷🏽*♂️ Depends what information you want to listen to. Many listen to MSM and the scientists with the loudest voices. Death tolls tend to suggest even they may have been wrong. Others listen to other scientists and I’m not sure any of us are in a position to tell either who’s right or wrong.

25-02-2022, 10:02 AM
Perhaps not a thread for the main board? The connection to football when the thread started was tenuous at best; by this point it's non-existent.

Tenuous? Non-existent? What science or evidence do you have for this statement?! Or are you just being told what to say by your MSM paymasters??

25-02-2022, 10:06 AM
Tenuous? Non-existent? What science or evidence do you have for this statement?! Or are you just being told what to say by your MSM paymasters??

I'll have you know I'm unpaid and I spew state propaganda purely for the love of it.

25-02-2022, 10:49 AM
All boxers talk about squared circles to be fair 🤷🏽*♂️ Depends what information you want to listen to. Many listen to MSM and the scientists with the loudest voices. Death tolls tend to suggest even they may have been wrong. Others listen to other scientists and I’m not sure any of us are in a position to tell either who’s right or wrong.

There is global huge majority medical consensous from every country in the world that JT is spouting nonsense about the vaccines.

Good point about the ring though, I should have thought of a better example there :greengrin

25-02-2022, 10:49 AM
I can see why he may be confused, after all he thinks a ring is a square... 🤣

Zambernardi1875
25-02-2022, 10:54 AM
Where is the same ridicule to Hibs players who have done wrong in the past. Thankfully another successful sportsman who doesn’t listen to the opinion of Hibs net

25-02-2022, 11:07 AM
Where is the same ridicule to Hibs players who have done wrong in the past. Thankfully another successful sportsman who doesn’t listen to the opinion of Hibs net

Thankfully most people don't listen to medical advice from succesful sportsmen.:greengrin

25-02-2022, 11:13 AM

I don’t think the opinions of Hibs.net are really the issue here…

25-02-2022, 11:28 AM

I wasn't talking about his racist homophobia. That imo makes him a total see you next Tuesday.

Was trying to explain his possible mindset re vaccines.

25-02-2022, 11:29 AM

Boxing is a skill, just being hard has never been enough to make you any good.

25-02-2022, 11:43 AM
Stop pretending you are a scientist or epidemiologist. It’s embarrassing.

YOU are embarassing yourself. I am not trying to sound like a scientist or epidemiologist - I'm simply not an ignoramus. I've spent many an hour investigating the evidence and object to self important know-nothings spreading fear and promoting division and mistrust on the back of fear propaganda they have swallowed whole and without any sense of criticality.

The point of this thread is Josh Taylor - and someone decided it would be a good idea to hate on him on the back of their own ignorance. I will not stand up for him re his alleged abuse of nightclub bouncers - I will however speak up when people try to spread misinformation that unfairly dehumanises an individual and in any case affects us all.

Taylor is a top level athlete and his body is a finely tuned machine. It is well known now that the vaccine products can cause side effects - and sometimes serious life affecting injuries. That is bad enough for Joe Public - but for an elite athlete for whom even slight decalibration of the body could have disastrous effects - and for whom COVID-19 poses an extremely minimal risk - it is ridiculous to expect them to NOT ask questions and possibly to decline. This of course goes against the propaganda and so blinkered morons will target him online and he is therefore perfectly entitled to defend his stance with reasonable arguments such as those tweeted.

25-02-2022, 11:59 AM
I dont know why peple who are fit like Taylor actually think their body is fitter to fight covid, its nonsense, I know of atleast 4 people all young, one does triathlons and can no longer run, cycle or even climb a set of stairs, has been out of it for almost 6 months, lungs are all shot in all of their cases, 2 did not have the vaccination one hasnt been back to work for 7 months. This "if youre fit and young enough" is a myth.

Roxyhibee
25-02-2022, 12:03 PM
YOU are embarassing yourself. I am not trying to sound like a scientist or epidemiologist - I'm simply not an ignoramus. I've spent many an hour investigating the evidence and object to self important know-nothings spreading fear and promoting division and mistrust on the back of fear propaganda they have swallowed whole and without any sense of criticality.

The point of this thread is Josh Taylor - and someone decided it would be a good idea to hate on him on the back of their own ignorance. I will not stand up for him re his alleged abuse of nightclub bouncers - I will however speak up when people try to spread misinformation that unfairly dehumanises an individual and in any case affects us all.

Taylor is a top level athlete and his body is a finely tuned machine. It is well known now that the vaccine products can cause side effects - and sometimes serious life affecting injuries. That is bad enough for Joe Public - but for an elite athlete for whom even slight decalibration of the body could have disastrous effects - and for whom COVID-19 poses an extremely minimal risk - it is ridiculous to expect them to NOT ask questions and possibly to decline. This of course goes against the propaganda and so blinkered morons will target him online and he is therefore perfectly entitled to defend his stance with reasonable arguments such as those tweeted.

You’re either having a wind up or you’re dangerously ill informed trying to sound clever. It’s definitely not working despite your ‘many an hour of research’ (dearie me), so do yourself a favour and give up now - you’re a total embarrassment mate. I’ll leave it at that.

Admins, this seems to be veering toward some people’s home baked theories going against sound medical advice and information..

25-02-2022, 12:05 PM

😂 😃

Gloucester Hibs
25-02-2022, 12:05 PM
You’re either having a wind up or you’re dangerously ill informed trying to sound clever. It’s definitely not working despite your ‘many an hour of research’ (dearie me), so do yourself a favour and give up now - you’re a total embarrassment mate. I’ll leave it at that.

Admins, this seems to be veering toward some people’s home baked theories going against sound medical advice and information..

Yup, bedroom virologists from the University of Facebook, but more importantly, not Hibs content!

25-02-2022, 12:10 PM
Nope. Not at all.

It means I realise there are experts in this field who know far more about vaccination than I do, and that there is pretty much a consensus on this, apart from a few cranks / people with an axe to grind.

Have some humility and perspective, understand where there are people who are more qualified than you, and take their advice.

Josh Taylor is entitled to think what he likes, but the problem is that he’s leading folk like you further down the rabbit hole.

The bit in bold is absolute garbage. There have been many aspects to the pandemic and the responses to it - to which many medics and scientists have expressed differing points of view - even in the face of withering attack from Pharmaceutical lobbyists and MSM. For example - the decision to roll out the jabs to young children is extremely contentious and has many critics. Pretending there is a consensus on everything may make you feel better but is a pretence - science is rarely in total agreement about anything and that is particularly the case in regards to an accelerated blanket roll out of cutting edge technology such as has been attempted over the last year or two.

Paulie Walnuts
25-02-2022, 12:18 PM

You mean like the people calling Porteous an idiot, the people who called Riordan an idiot and the people who called Griffiths an idiot?

Don’t worry, they were ridiculed for their misdemeanours as well. It’s also slightly different when they play for the football team you adore, I’m sure all of us are happy to admit football is a big illogical. Thankfully most of us can be a bit more logical about Taylor and accept he’s a twat.

25-02-2022, 12:20 PM
I dont know why peple who are fit like Taylor actually think their body is fitter to fight covid, its nonsense, I know of atleast 4 people all young, one does triathlons and can no longer run, cycle or even climb a set of stairs, has been out of it for almost 6 months, lungs are all shot in all of their cases, 2 did not have the vaccination one hasnt been back to work for 7 months. This "if youre fit and young enough" is a myth.

It is not a myth - the disease has a profile which clearly and drastically favours the young over the old. Of course there is a risk but there is also a risk with the jabs - one of my friends was killed by an AZ jab for example. Whereas I know some people who have had a bad time with COVID but most have shrugged it off. It's a matter of balanced and informed risk assessment. Josh Taylor appears to have made such an assessment on his own behalf and has decided against - he should be respected for making his own decision over his own body and not made a pariah on the back of hysterical propaganda.

25-02-2022, 12:33 PM
The bit in bold is absolute garbage. There have been many aspects to the pandemic and the responses to it - to which many medics and scientists have expressed differing points of view - even in the face of withering attack from Pharmaceutical lobbyists and MSM. For example - the decision to roll out the jabs to young children is extremely contentious and has many critics. Pretending there is a consensus on everything may make you feel better but is a pretence - science is rarely in total agreement about anything and that is particularly the case in regards to an accelerated blanket roll out of cutting edge technology such as has been attempted over the last year or two.

Oh dear me.

How have we got to a place where people spend a few hours ‘researching’ dubious sources on the internet and consider themselves more expert than people who have doctorates and dedicated their careers to a particular field?

I’m not a doctor, healthcare worker, epidemiologist or scientist. I know nothing about vaccines, really. Clearly, neither do you.

The difference is that I have some understanding of the limits of my knowledge and so I listen to the experts. I wish you’d do the same.

beensaidbefore
25-02-2022, 12:49 PM
Nope. Not at all.

Yet you seem selective on what sources you will consider. A previous poster whom you called embarrassing used the British's Medical Journal as their source, and yet you say they are talking nonsense. Why would the BMJ print misinformation on such a serious subject.

Should we bow to your superior knowledge and understanding on the subject? What makes you such an expert?

evy
25-02-2022, 12:58 PM
It is not a myth - the disease has a profile which clearly and drastically favours the young over the old. Of course there is a risk but there is also a risk with the jabs - one of my friends was killed by an AZ jab for example. Whereas I know some people who have had a bad time with COVID but most have shrugged it off. It's a matter of balanced and informed risk assessment. Josh Taylor appears to have made such an assessment on his own behalf and has decided against - he should be respected for making his own decision over his own body and not made a pariah on the back of hysterical propaganda.

Did they get the needle to the neck and through an artery?

beensaidbefore
25-02-2022, 12:58 PM
Oh dear me.

How have we got to a place where people spend a few hours ‘researching’ dubious sources on the internet and consider themselves more expert than people who have doctorates and dedicated their careers to a particular field?

I’m not a doctor, healthcare worker, epidemiologist or scientist. I know nothing about vaccines, really. Clearly, neither do you.

The difference is that I have some understanding of the limits of my knowledge and so I listen to the experts. I wish you’d do the same.

What if it is these people who are offering conflicting opinions?

Should they be dismissed out of hand because they go against the grain. There have been a lot of unknown surrounding the whole thing so a bit of health skepticism is right, especially when those in positions of power have been shown to be untrustworthy or ill informed throughout the whole pandemic. The government for one, the awarding of PPE contracts, massaging of the figures.

I'm not saying the science is wrong, but I am saying it is right to not believe hook line and sinker everything we see and hear in the press.

25-02-2022, 01:29 PM
100% a Holy Ground thread now, can it be moved?

25-02-2022, 01:32 PM
100% a Holy Ground thread now, can it be moved?

Aye. Everyone who where Covid experts the last few years are now experts on the Ukraine/Russia war :greengrin

25-02-2022, 01:51 PM
Oh dear me.

Most of the people I've been reading up and listening to have PHDs coming out their ears so less of your patronising guff please. Just because you cannot be bothered looking beyond the end of your nose and educating yourself re a matter affecting literally everyone on earth, don't get all defensive because other people can.

25-02-2022, 01:59 PM
Did they get the needle to the neck and through an artery?

Don't know - I wasn't there. But he developed blood clots on the lungs within 24 hrs of the AZ jab - followed by heart attack and a coma which he never came out of. I'm aware this is a rare occurence - most of my family and friends have been jabbed with no major adverse effects I'm aware of. Still it does go some distance to demonstrating my point - that there is the possibility of adverse effects which could cause severe disruption and perhaps even end the careers (or worse) of elite athletes. It is therefore nowhere in anyone's rights to harass and demonise them if they choose not to partake.

Gloucester Hibs
25-02-2022, 02:04 PM
I'm not saying the science is wrong, but I am saying it is right to not believe hook line and sinker everything we see and hear in the press.

Which is sensible - but have you actually seen some of the stuff Josh Taylor has posted on social media? It certainly can't be classed as "healthy scepticism" IMO

25-02-2022, 02:12 PM
Which is sensible - but have you actually seen some of the stuff Josh Taylor has posted on social media? It certainly can't be classed as "healthy scepticism" IMO

I must confess I have not seen everything he has posted. I just looked up a tabloid article which was demonising him over his opinions re COVID jabs and focused on the same posts they quoted - both of which were perfectly reasonable.

I can quite believe that he may have posted some other stuff that's nonsense and, while I would stand up for the right of athletes (or anyone else) to make their own decisions re their own bodies and to defend these decisions, I would stop short of recommending boxers as a source of medical advice to Joe Public.

25-02-2022, 02:45 PM
Don't know - I wasn't there. But he developed blood clots on the lungs within 24 hrs of the AZ jab - followed by heart attack and a coma which he never came out of. I'm aware this is a rare occurence - most of my family and friends have been jabbed with no major adverse effects I'm aware of. Still it does go some distance to demonstrating my point - that there is the possibility of adverse effects which could cause severe disruption and perhaps even end the careers (or worse) of elite athletes. It is therefore nowhere in anyone's rights to harass and demonise them if they choose not to partake.

Unfortunately all vaccines that are available for many diseases can at times be fatal, the human body is complex and occasionally a reaction can occur, thankfully they are generally very rare but they can happen. But to be against something that has a 1 in a million chance of doing harm is nonsense, vaccines do far more good than harm.

25-02-2022, 03:02 PM
Most of the people I've been reading up and listening to have PHDs coming out their ears so less of your patronising guff please. Just because you cannot be bothered looking beyond the end of your nose and educating yourself re a matter affecting literally everyone on earth, don't get all defensive because other people can.

I know enough to know what I don’t know. This is dangerous stupidity.

25-02-2022, 03:16 PM
I hope he wins the fight and moves up a weight that is where big money can be made. There is so much guff on the Internet about the covid vaccines written by unqualified people and unfortunately people accept it as fact.

hibby rae
25-02-2022, 03:27 PM
I know enough to know what I don’t know. This is dangerous stupidity.

The Dunning Kruger Effect

TheHibernator
25-02-2022, 04:03 PM
Where are folk getting the unionist/right wing stuff from? He’s been critical of sturgeon but to call him a right wing unionist is surely jumping to conclusions. Does this come under “spreading misinformation”?

25-02-2022, 04:07 PM
Taylor vs Catterall: Live and free stream of weigh-in and face-off before undisputed title fight | Boxing News | Sky Sports (https://www.skysports.com/boxing/news/12183/12551064/live-stream-taylor-vs-catterall-weigh-in)

Starts 1hr 55 in. :aok:

25-02-2022, 04:33 PM
Where are folk getting the unionist/right wing stuff from? He’s been critical of sturgeon but to call him a right wing unionist is surely jumping to conclusions. Does this come under “spreading misinformation”?

Absolutely, couldn’t be more Scottish if he tried - but he congratulated rangers once to try and grow his fanbase on the back of him getting abuse because of banter he had with Frampton and his best pal 😂

Back on track. Great to see him crack Catterall today who is now showing the clear nerves he’s tried to hide.

Also great to see him be promoted to super champion, which means when he does move up he automatically becomes Bud Crawfords mandatory. Huge money and legacy fights for Scotland’s best athlete at the moment.

25-02-2022, 04:38 PM
Absolutely, couldn’t be more Scottish if he tried - but he congratulated rangers once to try and grow his fanbase on the back of him getting abuse because of banter he had with Frampton and his best pal 😂

Back on track. Great to see him crack Catterall today who is now showing the clear nerves he’s tried to hide.

Also great to see him be promoted to super champion, which means when he does move up he automatically becomes Bud Crawfords mandatory. Huge money and legacy fights for Scotland’s best athlete at the moment.

Taylor Crawford will be unreal. I would fancy Josh to take him out also.

He's the most proud Scotsman there is. Lives here (unlike Andy Murray) and supports Hibernian and that's not just when it's to sell tickets but really supports Celtic (AA). :agree:

His beliefs on Covid are incorrect. My line of work means I have massive trust in the Professors' advice when it comes to vaccine, I would happily put my life in their hands and their specialty is infectious disease. Because he's incorrect I don't dislike him. He's basing his opinion on what he believes and it doesn't make him a bad person.

25-02-2022, 04:46 PM
Oh dear me.

:agree::agree::agree: basehibby was corrected numerous times on the Coronavirus thread on the Holy Ground by various posters for posting falsehoods about the vaccine and getting the wrong end of the stick after "doing his own research". He is still down that rabbit hole unfortunately.

25-02-2022, 04:51 PM
Yet you seem selective on what sources you will consider. A previous poster whom you called embarrassing used the British's Medical Journal as their source, and yet you say they are talking nonsense. Why would the BMJ print misinformation on such a serious subject.

Should we bow to your superior knowledge and understanding on the subject? What makes you such an expert?

You are proving how dangerous people doing their own research is. Did you read the BMJ article? Because it actually contradicted the point the previous poster was trying to make. It actually proved the opposite of what he was saying.

He's posted a link to a reputable article and he's convinced you he knows what he's talking about, despite the fact it didn't back up his claim. That's how falsehoods and dangerous misinformation spreads from people doing their own research and others just taking their word for it.

Paulie Walnuts
25-02-2022, 04:57 PM

Nobody has demonised him for not taking the vaccine.

His relentless posting on social media about bat**** crazy conspiracy theories trying to convince others to go along with him when he’s in such an influential position is why he’s being demonised. It’s incredibly irresponsible and utter stupidity.

beensaidbefore
25-02-2022, 05:17 PM
You are proving how dangerous people doing their own research is. Did you read the BMJ article? Because it actually contradicted the point he was trying to make. It actually proved the opposite of what he was saying.

He's posted a link to a reputable article and he's convinced you he knows what he's talking about, despite the fact it didn't back up his claim. That's how falsehoods and dangerous misinformation spreads from people doing their own research and others just taking their word for it.

I have just read the article and I quite clearly says the vaccine was not designed to reduce infection. Future vaccines may be designed to do so.

Worth giving it another read. The final paragraph states the 'vaccines aren't preventing transmission'. This is something they will try to get into future vaccines.

Anyway, it's Friday night. Think iv said my piece, stay safe.:aok:

25-02-2022, 05:19 PM
You are proving how dangerous people doing their own research is. Did you read the BMJ article? Because it actually contradicted the point he was trying to make. It actually proved the opposite of what he was saying.

I was going to leave this thread alone now but I will not stand by while you blatantly misrepresent the article I shared. Your post shows how people invariably see what they want to see - confirmation bias I think they call it. I will post the article again ....

https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298

Rather than cherry picking a particular passage to suit a chosen narrative. I will refer you to several extracts:
Introduction (ie the point of the article): "Vaccines that work against SARS-CoV-2 have helped change the course of the pandemic by reducing illness and hospital admissions. But Chris Stokel-Walker asks what we know about their impact on preventing transmission."

Responses - you have shared the single extract in the article which states there is some effect on transmission while ignoring all the rest - here are some other relevant extracts:
"Most papers to date (notably, many are preprints and have yet to be peer reviewed) indicate vaccines are holding up against admission to hospital and mortality, says Linda Bauld, professor of public health at the University of Edinburgh, “but not so much against transmission.”"

"Vaccines aren’t preventing onward transmission by reducing the viral load—or amount of SARS-CoV-2—in your body. “Most studies show if you got an infection after vaccination, compared with someone who got an infection without a vaccine, you were pretty much shedding roughly the same amount of virus,” says Paul Hunter, professor in medicine at the University of East Anglia. One study,5 (https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298#ref-5) sponsored by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), found “no difference in infectious virus titer between groups” who had been vaccinated and had not."

"The fact that vaccines are good at preventing serious infection, but less good at preventing transmission makes policymaking difficult."

"“They’re recognising that vaccines aren’t preventing transmission, and you’ve got too many people having to isolate,” says Bauld. “Policymakers have decided that the game’s up on transmission, but that you need a different approach.”"

"Again, first generation covid vaccines were evaluated against reducing hospital admissions and death in the challenging first year of the pandemic. They wouldn’t have been expected to generate sterilising immunity and block transmission. "

It should be obvious to most casual observers what the message of the article is - the current generation of COVID jabs have SOME effect on transmission but they are NOT very good at it - but you have sought to twist it to pretend it's saying the opposite. WTF preisely are you trying to do - are the BBC recruiting or is there something else that I've missed???

25-02-2022, 05:21 PM
So are folk looking forward to the fight😂😂

25-02-2022, 05:22 PM
So are folk looking forward to the fight😂😂

Buzzing for it! Won’t find a better atmosphere at any sporting event in scotland this year.

25-02-2022, 05:25 PM
Mentioned on the other thread i thought he looked very thin in the face earlier, plenty time to eat and drink though and will no doubt be a lot bigger at the start of the fight

25-02-2022, 05:29 PM
Mentioned on the other thread i thought he looked very thin in the face earlier, plenty time to eat and drink though and will no doubt be a lot bigger at the start of the fight

He'll rehydrate probably about 12-13 pounds overnight. At a guess hell probably be in the ring heavier than the 154 light middle limit.

This will be his last fight at the weight, primarily because the big money fights are at 147.

25-02-2022, 05:37 PM
He'll rehydrate probably about 12-13 pounds overnight. At a guess hell probably be in the ring heavier than the 154 light middle limit.

This will be his last fight at the weight, primarily because the big money fights are at 147.

Think it’ll be more than that, Catterall said he’ll be 12/13lb heavier, would expect Josh to be heavier again purely due to size.

25-02-2022, 05:43 PM
I was going to leave this thread alone now but I will not stand by while you blatantly misrepresent the article I shared. Your post shows how people invariably see what they want to see - confirmation bias I think they call it. I will post the article again ....

Rather than cherry picking a particular passage to suit a chosen narrative. I will refer you to several extracts:
Introduction (ie the point of the article): "Vaccines that work against SARS-CoV-2 have helped change the course of the pandemic by reducing illness and hospital admissions. But Chris Stokel-Walker asks what we know about their impact on preventing transmission."

Responses - you have shared the single extract in the article which states there is some effect on transmission while ignoring all the rest - here are some other relevant extracts:
"Most papers to date (notably, many are preprints and have yet to be peer reviewed) indicate vaccines are holding up against admission to hospital and mortality, says Linda Bauld, professor of public health at the University of Edinburgh, “but not so much against transmission.”"

"Vaccines aren’t preventing onward transmission by reducing the viral load—or amount of SARS-CoV-2—in your body. “Most studies show if you got an infection after vaccination, compared with someone who got an infection without a vaccine, you were pretty much shedding roughly the same amount of virus,” says Paul Hunter, professor in medicine at the University of East Anglia. One study,5 (https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj.o298#ref-5) sponsored by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), found “no difference in infectious virus titer between groups” who had been vaccinated and had not."

"The fact that vaccines are good at preventing serious infection, but less good at preventing transmission makes policymaking difficult."

"“They’re recognising that vaccines aren’t preventing transmission, and you’ve got too many people having to isolate,” says Bauld. “Policymakers have decided that the game’s up on transmission, but that you need a different approach.”"

"Again, first generation covid vaccines were evaluated against reducing hospital admissions and death in the challenging first year of the pandemic. They wouldn’t have been expected to generate sterilising immunity and block transmission. "

It should be obvious to most casual observers what the message of the article is - the current generation of COVID jabs have SOME effect on transmission but they are NOT very good at it - but you have sought to twist it to pretend it's saying the opposite. WTF preisely are you trying to do - are the BBC recruiting or is there something else that I've missed???

Wow.

If only you could persuade any doctors or epidemiologists to read the BMJ, it will blow this whole conspiracy wide open!

25-02-2022, 07:29 PM

Thanks for confirming that the article says vaccines do have an effect on reducing transmission therefore making Josh Taylor's second tweet referenced earlier on totally illogical.:aok:

Back on topic I hope Taylor wins providing even more proof that England get battered everywhere they go.

25-02-2022, 07:33 PM
I have just read the article and I quite clearly says the vaccine was not designed to reduce infection. Future vaccines may be designed to do so.

Worth giving it another read. The final paragraph states the 'vaccines aren't preventing transmission'. This is something they will try to get into future vaccines.

Anyway, it's Friday night. Think iv said my piece, stay safe.:aok:

It also states clearly in a number of places that vaccines do reduce transmission. Anyway enjoy your night my friend :cheers:

Mcbizz1998
25-02-2022, 08:47 PM

I can.

Mcbizz1998
25-02-2022, 08:59 PM
Looking forward to the fight tomorrow. Think Taylor should win it pretty easily but never know as Jack is a decent fighter. Hope he steps up next, has the potential to be the finest Boxer we have ever had.

Top lad.

25-02-2022, 10:19 PM
Looking forward to the fight. Taylor is a major talent, one of the greatest from these islands. We’re lucky to have him.

26-02-2022, 12:11 AM

Never seen any snooker players in the ring.

26-02-2022, 01:00 PM
Up there with Putin and Porteous in the bad boy stakes.

26-02-2022, 07:49 PM
Not a bad wee scrap here.

26-02-2022, 08:39 PM
Josh Taylor fight on Sky Sports Action Virgin 507 circa 10 pm

26-02-2022, 08:41 PM
Josh Taylor fight on Sky Sports Action Virgin 507 circa 10 pm

Sky Showcase too.

26-02-2022, 08:46 PM
Come on Josh. Get intae this prick. :agree:

26-02-2022, 09:17 PM
Catterall in charge here

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 09:18 PM
Fighting Cateralls fight s far, Caterall could be 3 up already

26-02-2022, 09:21 PM
Taylor will knock him out towards the end. :aok:

26-02-2022, 09:24 PM
Taylor will knock him out towards the end. :aok:
He's going to have to get there. Looks off it a bit.

26-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Think he’s in a bit of bother here

26-02-2022, 09:30 PM
Catterall odds on now with the bookies

26-02-2022, 09:30 PM
Saved by the bell in the sixth, he’s getting a battering here

26-02-2022, 09:31 PM
He's getting battered

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:32 PM
Pound for pound pile of *****...

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 09:33 PM
Taylor at the wrong weight level for me

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:33 PM
Hibsed it, all over...

26-02-2022, 09:34 PM
This fight is absolutely stinking. Sums up the entire show

26-02-2022, 09:34 PM
Hibsed it,

Stop that

26-02-2022, 09:43 PM
Hibsed it, all over...

Ah, nice to see the neighbours round again 🤣

26-02-2022, 09:48 PM
This fight is absolutely stinking. Sums up the entire show

No exactly been an elite night of boxing to be fair.

MartinfaePorty
26-02-2022, 09:54 PM
Poor from Taylor. Is he due a rematch?

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

Bobo
26-02-2022, 09:55 PM
As poor a fight as you'll ever see, looked more like Strictly Come Dancing with all the prancing about.

Fifehibee1960
26-02-2022, 09:57 PM
Out fought tonight

26-02-2022, 09:57 PM
Taylor never looked close all night. Catteral simply looked sharper in almost every round.

speedy_gonzales
26-02-2022, 09:58 PM
Wow! Were the judges watching the same fight????

BonnieFitbaTeam
Scandalous decision

I think Catterall has been robbed.

Paulie Walnuts
What a joke boxing is

MartinfaePorty
Ridiculous

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

26-02-2022, 09:59 PM
That is a ludicrous decision, and tells us why so many people think boxing is rigged.

He was outfought from the word go.

Wow! Joke decision

davy67 +
Home crowd decision, awful

cannastar
boxing totally rigged how did taylor win that?

Disgusting decision

Wow. Sorry but Taylor lost that.

JXM73
26-02-2022, 10:00 PM
Hibsed it, won it somehow 🤣😂

Always hope wi weegie refs I suppose in t Weege

Robbed

I know how he feels

No wonder I don't usually bother with boxing - fix! 🤣🤣🤣

Thats totally shocking

AND STILLLLLLL :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

26-02-2022, 10:01 PM
Sorry, but Hibby he might be, but that was a shocking decision. No way was it that close. The 114-111 judge fir Catterall was accurate.

LunasBoots
That is shocking

tonyrougier123
That’s what happens when you are subjected to an English commentator who held on to every punch thrown by an English boxer.absolute shocking cuddle fest,but nowhere near a defeat for Taylor that was being suggested.

26-02-2022, 10:02 PM
Wow. Sorry but Taylor lost that.

Not in the eyes that the people that matter.

People get caught up in what the commentators say.

Taylor was the aggressor.

Hope we can get one of those refs tomorrow :greengrin

Chorley Hibee
The sport absolutely stinks.

Unbelievable that Catterall only won on a single card, and that was only 113-112.

Needs to be an inquest, one of the most ridiculous decisions I've witnessed, and there's been a few.

BH Hibs
Hibsed it, won it somehow 🤣😂

Gie it a break.

davy67 +
26-02-2022, 10:03 PM
The judges should be made to explain their scoring, I can't honestly believe that result

That’s what happens when you are subjected to an English commentator who held on to every punch thrown by an English boxer.absolute shocking cuddle fest,but nowhere near a defeat for Taylor that was being suggested.

Correct. It was so pro-the other guy it was mental.

All the other boy done was spoil the boxing match.

Love Josh and Hibs and Scotland but ffs...

2belhaven
26-02-2022, 10:04 PM
Absolutely corrupt sport. Decided to watch as a casual viewer but never again. Taylor is brainwashed to think he won that.

Bobo
Wow did they get their judges on loan from the SFA? What a cut up!

Paulie Walnuts

Absolute nonsense.

Catterall has been robbed. The sport is a farce.

JXM73
Gie it a break.

What, saying hibsing it is persevering and getting the win somwhow, dry yer eyes bawbag...

26-02-2022, 10:05 PM

He was f*****g outclassed mate. What a joke.

Jamesconnolly
Spot on mate the English guy hid in the corner and tried to pick him off

Well done Josh, makes up for Ken Buchanan's disgraceful decision all those years ago 😀👍💚

26-02-2022, 10:06 PM
Correct. It was so pro-the other guy it was mental.

All the other boy done was spoil the boxing match.

Aye and Josh fought a stormer

26-02-2022, 10:07 PM
He was f*****g outclassed mate. What a joke.

He wasn't outclassed. The aggressor towards the later part of the fight won the fight. All Jack done was hold.

JC will win a world title though.

Are you kidding 😂😂 those ringside have way more boxing experience than you or I and that decision is a joke - a fraud probably - hence why you should never bet on boxing or the horses.

Catterall totally outboxed the boxer and won nearly every round.

I didn't see the fight but the Scottish Hibby definitely deserved to win it

tonyrougier123
Absolute nonsense.

If that boy won the belts for that performance would’ve been an absolute travesty,cuddled his way through it.

26-02-2022, 10:08 PM
Aye and Josh fought a stormer

No. He was struggling to make the weight and came out the fight as still champion.

mcohibs
Absolute nonsense.

Shambles of a sport

tonyrougier123
Are you kidding 😂😂 those ringside have way more boxing experience than you or I and that decision is a joke - a fraud probably - hence why you should never bet on boxing or the horses.

So do the judges have more experience,how did they score it?

That was an embarrassing decision.

bringbackbenny
Absolutely corrupt sport. Decided to watch as a casual viewer but never again. Taylor is brainwashed to think he won that.

All bluster, he knows fine well.

Benny Brazil
Shocking decision - no way Josh won that

26-02-2022, 10:09 PM
Raging English people is delightful.

He didn't beat the champion. He lost mate. :agree:

If that boy won the belts for that performance would’ve been an absolute travesty,cuddled his way through it.

and Josh did what as exactly?

Shocking decision - no way Josh won that

He did. He's got a W next to his name.

AliboyFC
26-02-2022, 10:10 PM
****ing hell Taylor got outboxed how tf Taylor won that is beyond me.

26-02-2022, 10:10 PM
and Josh did what as exactly?

Retained his world titles. Correct me if I'm wrong but he's won.

He's here!
26-02-2022, 10:11 PM
Catterrall performed well above expectations but I thought it was hard to call in the end.

Well done to Taylor. Always good to see a dyed in the wool Hibby at the top of their sporting profession.

Retained his world titles. Correct me if I'm wrong but he's won.

I'll remember that fella next time you dispute a Hibs decision.

Not one Scotsman giving their opinion, this is an English love, totally over egging Catterill at every opportunity and totally trying to set the narrative….far far closer than how this is playing out on the telly

Spot on best fighter on the night by a mile

Lee Marvin
Corruption. Pure a d simple.

Joke sport

26-02-2022, 10:12 PM
So do the judges have more experience,how did they score it?

See the comment about never bet on boxing - a decent clue - he never ‘won’ that fight, he was totally outclassed

****ing hell Taylor got outboxed how tf Taylor won that is beyond me.

He won because professional referees who know a lot more of what to look for has classified Josh as the winner.

Not just one ref. 2. Even the judge who gave Catterall the decision gave it by one round because of knock down and if it wasn't for the point off at the end it wouldn't even have been split.

Spot on best fighter on the night by amile

The best fighter won

26-02-2022, 10:13 PM
What, saying hibsing it is persevering and getting the win somwhow, dry yer eyes bawbag...

So what was your excuse for posting it before he won?

26-02-2022, 10:13 PM
I'll remember that fella next time you dispute a Hibs decision.

You mean tomorrow? :greengrin

Shame on Jack. Genuinely. But it was very very close.

26-02-2022, 10:14 PM
The best fighter won

The Champion won. :agree:

The best fighter won

Not tonight he wasnt totally outboxed

BH Hibs

Second time you came out with that pish tonight.

Ben Shalom of Boxxer saying he is embarrassed to have been the promotor of that fight.

Sorry, but Hibby he might be, but that was a shocking decision. No way was it that close. The 114-111 judge fir Catterall was accurate.

The 114-111 was for Taylor. Catterall was113-112.

I’m not a big boxing fan but will watch it if it’s on. It’s a sport I’ve never really been able to take seriously though and that’s due to decisions like tonight. Forget what the commentators may or may not have said - the stats showed Catterall landed significantly more punches than Taylor, and of course had the knockdown. I will never understand that result.