View Full Version : Josh Taylor Hibee

Pages : 1 [2]

26-02-2022, 10:16 PM
Not tonight he wasnt totally outboxed

Correct…he wasn’t outboxed as much as these ‘impartial’ commentators are making out

26-02-2022, 10:17 PM
Second time you came out with that pish tonight.

It's the third time he has used the phrase on this thread.

26-02-2022, 10:17 PM
You mean tomorrow? :greengrin

Shame on Jack. Genuinely. But it was very very close.

was it ******

26-02-2022, 10:18 PM
Is the presenter not meant to be impartial ?
Greetin faced English pricks are about to call NATO

LunasBoots
Ben Shalom of Boxxer saying he is embarrassed to have been the promotor of that fight.

Going to be a while until we see another fight in Scotland now

BH Hibs
It's the third time he has used the phrase on this thread.

I stand corrected. :greengrin

26-02-2022, 10:19 PM
Correct…he wasn’t outboxed as much as these ‘impartial’ commentators are making out

Nor did he remotely win as the "impartial" experts on a football message board claim.

That result was a joke.

26-02-2022, 10:20 PM
Is the presenter not meant to be impartial ?
Greetin faced English pricks are about to call NATO

i do think they are taking it just that little too far

26-02-2022, 10:21 PM
Second time you came out with that pish tonight.

Should be an automatic ban for that pish.

Ben Shalom of Boxxer saying he is embarrassed to have been the promotor of that fight.

But he’ll promote the rematch 😂 Josh lost every round in that fight, went in cocky and didn’t respect the opponent - tonight was a scandalous decision.

StirlingHibee
I was rooting for Josh but that decision was an absolute farce and only damages the sport of Boxing.

Going to be a while until we see another fight in Scotland now

No great loss if it’s anything like tonight. Pish undercard and Amy McDonald murdering flower of Scotland.

26-02-2022, 10:22 PM
Nor did he remotely win as the "impartial" experts on a football message board claim.

That result was a joke.

Don’t believe the narrative that’s being set, rewatch the fight without the commentary, trust me, you’ll see the fight much closer than what’s being portrayed.

mcohibs
26-02-2022, 10:23 PM
I was rooting for Josh but that decision was an absolute farce and only damages the sport of Boxing.

I had such a good reputation before tonight as well... shambles of a sport

Mate Taylor barely landed a blow, it was a shocking decision. I’ve been a boxing fan all my life and that’s the worst decision I’ve ever seen.

No great loss if it’s anything like tonight. Pish undercard and Amy McDonald murdering flower of Scotland.

That Scottish heavyweight decider was one of the worst professional bouts I’ve ever seen. How McFarlane was allowed anywhere near the ring is beyond me, as he completely failed to defend himself for large portions of the match.

26-02-2022, 10:24 PM
I can see the view that Catterall spoiled a lot and it was a bit too scrappy to have been the huge run of 10-9s that seems to be the common perception.

But he clearly had the first half of the fight, had the knockdown, and Taylor never once had him in trouble when it was pretty obvious he had to chase the fight. Even threw away the point deduction advantage.

mcohibs
26-02-2022, 10:24 PM
Don’t believe the narrative that’s being set, rewatch the fight without the commentary, trust me, you’ll see the fight much closer than what’s being portrayed.

Give your head a wobble if you think that was the correct decision

26-02-2022, 10:25 PM
That Scottish heavyweight decider was one of the worst professional bouts I’ve ever seen. How McFarlane was allowed anywhere near the ring is beyond me, as he completely failed to defend himself for large portions of the match.

Large portions indeed.

MGmick
26-02-2022, 10:25 PM

No it wasn't. Catterall was easily 3 rounds better and probably more. That was embarrassing for sport.

26-02-2022, 10:27 PM
Mate Taylor barely landed a blow, it was a shocking decision. I’ve been a boxing fan all my life and that’s the worst decision I’ve ever seen.

I'll be honest and say I agree.

Good to see a Hibee on the right end of a poor decision though.

26-02-2022, 10:27 PM
I'll be honest and say I agree.

Good to see a Hibee on the right end of a poor decision though.

True [emoji23]

26-02-2022, 10:29 PM
was it ******

I know, the judges said so :wink:

JC won in my eyes though. I will also watch the fight again tomorrow with the volume down as I think a lot of people are being influenced/carried away with the pro-english commentary. Again, saying that I feel sorry as anything for Jack as he came to Glasgow and should have taken the belts. It must have been his holding that's lost him in for the judges. I don't think it's corrupt.

Talk Sport is fantastic.

Zambernardi1875
26-02-2022, 10:30 PM
Left the pub after thinking josh never won a round, can’t believe he was given the fight

26-02-2022, 10:32 PM
One judge, Ian John Taylor gave Josh by 3 even considering the knock down.

That on it's own is absolutely crazy.

26-02-2022, 10:32 PM

I’ve seen a lot worse. It was a poor decision that I didn’t think would happen because CAtterall was English

26-02-2022, 10:33 PM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FMjxpqOXwAAMxgi?format=jpg&name=large

It really wasn’t.

True [emoji23]

Something will go wrong the morn mate so I'm enjoying it for now :greengrin

Chorley Hibee
Daily Record will blame Hibs fans and Porteous for this and we'll be on the receiving end of decisions tomorrow for this. 🤣

LunasBoots
Left the pub after thinking josh never won a round, can’t believe he was given the fight

Majority of the crowd where silent after two rounds kind of said it all

26-02-2022, 10:34 PM
Hopefully no post match Argy bargy in the Woodburn club this week......

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 10:34 PM

It really wasn’t.

Is there a appeal process in boxing?

26-02-2022, 10:35 PM
I’ve seen a lot worse. It was a poor decision that I didn’t think would happen because CAtterall was English

Majorly experienced judges aren't corrupt just got it wrong (in most opinions).

The promoter calling the judges bent is a welt.

26-02-2022, 10:35 PM

It really wasn’t.

completely different stats from those shown on sky

26-02-2022, 10:36 PM
Is there a appeal process in boxing?

No. Same as when Celtic took the quick free kick when we tried to make a sub in the league cup final. Or the offside for the first.

In fact I'm wrong. It could be called a no-contest to take away JC's loss.

26-02-2022, 10:41 PM
Fair play to Paddy Power who have refunded all bets on Catterall. I put mines on at 7/1 in round 3. :wink:

26-02-2022, 10:41 PM
The 114-111 was for Taylor. Catterall was113-112.

Aye. You’re right. Apologies.
That makes it an even more shocking decision.

26-02-2022, 10:43 PM
completely different stats from those shown on sky

Compubox is the stat recording system used by HBO and ESPN

GonzoReturns
26-02-2022, 10:44 PM
A closer fight than the commentators made out. Taylor champion on the front foot he never won the fight but the way the commentators are going on dry your eyes.

Chorley Hibee
26-02-2022, 10:45 PM
CompuBox saw Catterall land 120 of 525 (23%) total punches, and 81 of 267 (30%) of his power punches. Taylor was at 73 of 306 (24%) overall, and 57 of 179 (32%) on power shots. Catterall out-worked and out-landed Taylor on the punch stats.

If that was a role reversal, and Taylor had been on the end of that decision in England, people on here saying Taylor won that tonight would have been screaming fix.

As for the judge who had Taylor 114-111, what a farce!

26-02-2022, 10:45 PM
A closer fight than the commentators made out. Taylor champion on the front foot he never won the fight but the way the commentators are going on dry your eyes.

Wake up to reality. Josh got hammered.

GonzoReturns
26-02-2022, 10:47 PM

He never won the fight but it was closer than commentators made out. And I’m wide awake 👍👍

26-02-2022, 10:47 PM
Correct. It was so pro-the other guy it was mental.

All the other boy done was spoil the boxing match.

He had Taylor on his arse.

26-02-2022, 10:48 PM

He didn't. He won. Check the big shiny amazing news ticker on SSN :greengrin

MGmick
Majorly experienced judges aren't corrupt just got it wrong (in most opinions).

The promoter calling the judges bent is a welt.

So how would you explain them getting it so wrong (in most opinions) and would you extend the same license to one of our "majorly experienced" officials tomorrow?

Willis1875
Some with painted on eyes on here

I think Catteral won it, but the meltdown on twitter from English boxing fans is something beautiful to behold.

26-02-2022, 10:49 PM
He didn't. He won. Check the big shiny amazing news ticker on SSN :greengrin

No problem fella, card marked for future football and boxing events. :greengrin

26-02-2022, 10:50 PM
Something will go wrong the morn mate so I'm enjoying it for now :greengrin

And me mate, I’m delighted he won even if he didn’t deserve it

Compubox is the stat recording system used by HBO and ESPN

sorry, wasn’t intended to sound like I was implying compubox were wrong, just saying sky had different stats on punches, can’t remember them all but they had something like 86 Taylor landed punches to 166 by catterall as one of their stats

JXM73
So what was your excuse for posting it before he won?

Hype and blowing it... we scots always seem to struggle when favourite

26-02-2022, 10:51 PM
CompuBox saw Catterall land 120 of 525 (23%) total punches, and 81 of 267 (30%) of his power punches. Taylor was at 73 of 306 (24%) overall, and 57 of 179 (32%) on power shots. Catterall out-worked and out-landed Taylor on the punch stats.

If that was a role reversal, and Taylor had been on the end of that decision in England, people on here saying Taylor won that tonight would have been screaming fix.

As for the judge who had Taylor 114-111, what a farce!

People are saying it’s a fix?

It’s probably only one person (maybe two) who are saying otherwise.

Don’t think it matters where you’re from, pretty much everyone is saying the same thing (apart from the one poster on here)

26-02-2022, 10:51 PM
So how would you explain them getting it so wrong (in most opinions) and would you extend the same license to one of our "majorly experienced" officials tomorrow?

I'm sure the 2 judges who gave Josh the clear win will have to explain. I'm just a fart kicking about watching the boxing happy the person I wanted won. :greengrin

Do you think these guys who have been judging for decades won't think they will have to explain and just give the decision to Taylor for a laugh? 2 out of 3 of them seen something us minions didn't. The one who gave the fight to the opponent gave it by a round despite the knock down. I don't think it was corrupt.

26-02-2022, 10:53 PM

I've no idea. I'm not a boxing judge.

26-02-2022, 10:56 PM
No problem fella, card marked for future football and boxing events. :greengrin

And me mate, I’m delighted he won even if he didn’t deserve it

:greengrin I know. I'm fair game.

Taylor won. I'm delighted. He didn't win it in my eyes but he's still Champion. That won't and can't be taken away.

If we get a dodgy penalty and a player on the other team get sent off and we win the cup I'm not feeling sorry for whoever we play even if they were the better team.

GonzoReturns
26-02-2022, 10:58 PM
:greengrin I know. I'm fair game.

Taylor won. I'm delighted. He didn't win it in my eyes but he's still Champion. That won't and can't be taken away.

If we get a dodgy penalty and a player on the other team get sent off and we win the cup I'm not feeling sorry for whoever we play even if they were the better team.

Exactly 100%

MGmick
26-02-2022, 10:59 PM
I've no idea. I'm not a boxing judge.

:wink:I like this answer better. And FYI, I won't be extending any ***** license to our "experienced" football officials tomorrow or anytime soon.

26-02-2022, 11:04 PM
:wink:I like this answer better. And FYI, I won't be extending any ***** license to our "experienced" football officials tomorrow or anytime soon.

I mean it mate, I thought JT lost but I'm not a boxing judge and I don't know what they look for when marking rounds.

We in all honestly will not get the rub of things tomorrow. Like the Semi. So when it works in the favor of someone in sport I want to win I'll take it. The Sun's (not scottish) sport page is absolutely tremendous. :agree:

GonzoReturns
26-02-2022, 11:07 PM
I mean it mate, I thought JT lost but I'm not a boxing judge and I don't know what they look for when marking rounds.

We in all honestly will not get the rub of things tomorrow. Like the Semi. So when it works in the favor of someone in sport I want to win I'll take it. The Sun's (not scottish) sport page is absolutely tremendous. :agree:

That’s what I’m loving suck it up for a change it’s normally us on the receiving end.

26-02-2022, 11:08 PM
That’s what I’m loving suck it up for a change it’s normally us on the receiving end.

Yip. Get it up them. :agree::agree:

DinkyTwo
26-02-2022, 11:32 PM
Watched the first half of the fight thinking Taylor never won a round. But for the 2nd half, felt he controlled the ring, was much more aggressive, was incorrectly scored against for a knockdown that's more of a slip (if you look at his right foot after the punch lands) and slightly dominated until the end, against an opponent who wanted to land once and then tie up for most of the bout.

Feels much more like a candidate for a rematch than the judging travesty most are making this out to be.

26-02-2022, 11:35 PM
Watched the first half of the fight thinking Taylor never won a round. But for the 2nd half, felt he controlled the ring, was much more aggressive, was incorrectly scored against for a knockdown that's more of a slip (if you look at his right foot after the punch lands) and slightly dominated until the end, against an opponent who wanted to land once and then tie up for most of the bout.

Feels much more like a candidate for a rematch than the judging travesty most are making this out to be.

Welcome. I advise a tin hat of some sort. From page 1 posters wanted Josh beat. :wink:

DinkyTwo
26-02-2022, 11:37 PM
Welcome. I advise a tin hat of some sort. From page 1 posters wanted Josh beat. :wink:Don't worry, I've been here a while and been roasted many times. Just lost access to an ancient email and therefore, an old .Net account

Appreciate the heads-up though :greengrin:

26-02-2022, 11:56 PM
Don't worry, I've been here a while and been roasted many times. Just lost access to an ancient email and therefore, an old .Net account

Appreciate the heads-up though :greengrin:

Welcome back. Take my place then :greengrin

27-02-2022, 12:00 AM
— Carl Froch MBE (@Carl_Froch) February 26, 2022 (https://twitter.com/Carl_Froch/status/1497710776894767104?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw)
In reaction, Froch tweeted: “If you go on survival mode for the last four rounds of a world title fight, the judges do not like it.
“Especially when you’re the challenger. Opportunity gone!”

GonzoReturns
27-02-2022, 12:09 AM
— Carl Froch MBE (@Carl_Froch) February 26, 2022 (https://twitter.com/Carl_Froch/status/1497710776894767104?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw)
In reaction, Froch tweeted: “If you go on survival mode for the last four rounds of a world title fight, the judges do not like it.

Yip he was the challenger away from home had to keep on the front foot.

DinkyTwo
27-02-2022, 12:11 AM
Welcome back. Take my place then :greengrinI'd rather just take my position up in the back row again [emoji1]

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

27-02-2022, 12:26 AM
Yip he was the challenger away from home had to keep on the front foot.

Josh will know how judges score things. I didn't personally think he won, I think he lost by 2 points BUT he doesn't know what the judges are scoring but was confident enough. In no way shape or form the judges have fixed the winner for such a majorly low key fight thats domestic. Why would they put their professional reputation on the line to be bent? They wouldn't.

Froch is right. Catterall should be gutted though. He in my eyes done enough but not in the eyes of the people that matters.

Mr Grieves
27-02-2022, 12:32 AM
I honestly don't know how anyone can take boxing seriously after watching that

DetroitHibs
27-02-2022, 02:22 AM
Taylor is backed by SKY and ESPN. If Jack had won the fight, there goes the cash cow they'll make when Taylor moves up. There's no money, or promotion when Jack defends the belts at 140 against the opponents Josh has already beaten. Money talks in this sport and the judges were paid off.

davy67 +
27-02-2022, 05:18 AM
When the judges scores were announced I was actually kind of half expecting it to come back as draw , I was thinking one judge each and the third calling it even I cant believe the varation in the scores although I've been bemused a few times I the past when it comes to how judges score fights , even with the dropped points it looks weird . It's an outcome that's left a nasty taste in the mouth . Josh can't really be happy with his overall performance although he did improve in the later stages of the fight but he's still the champ and that's what counts

27-02-2022, 06:54 AM
He was rubbish. He needs to have his Covid jabs.

27-02-2022, 07:08 AM

Froch is right. The decision may be questionable but Catterall’s spoiling tactics got all the reward they deserved. His sneaky punch to Taylors head from behind well after the bell at the end of the 11th was plain nasty.

27-02-2022, 07:08 AM
Said on the boxing thread, taylor was lucky last night but caterall didnt win nearly as many rounds as sky were making out, a lot of them were very scrappy and even, i had him him up by 2 at the end

Helensburghhibs
27-02-2022, 08:20 AM
I'm sure the 2 judges who gave Josh the clear win will have to explain. I'm just a fart kicking about watching the boxing happy the person I wanted won. :greengrin

Do you think these guys who have been judging for decades won't think they will have to explain and just give the decision to Taylor for a laugh? 2 out of 3 of them seen something us minions didn't. The one who gave the fight to the opponent gave it by a round despite the knock down. I don't think it was corrupt.

Even the 3rd judge had the fight a draw (if you ignore the point off josh for a tap on the stomach after the bell)

27-02-2022, 08:21 AM
I honestly don't know how anyone can take boxing seriously after watching that

Result was a piss take

davy67 +
27-02-2022, 09:57 AM
Problem with any sports with judges is that it's very subjective,we don't all see thing the same way, I've no idea what the judges were looking for or how they interpret the action. The scoring should be displayed at the end of every round

cannastar
27-02-2022, 12:01 PM
watched the fight back again this morning and if anything i reckon josh was beaten by more than i had thought last night. saw him fight before and he looked a shadow of himself last night. took too many shots that in the past wouldnt have landed on him. maybe different weight may prove the correct path to go. thought the other boy fought a really good fight for a supposed no hoper and not sure josh would fancy meeting him again as he was a frustrating opponent for him. heard a commentator say catharall had been sparring with top class opponents and was highly rated. also heard them say it was a toss up between josh and tyson fury for best pound for pound fighter in uk dont think there is any contest fury is the best on the planet by miles. only thing that will beat tyson fury is tyson fury.

27-02-2022, 12:04 PM
Absolute farce last night. Outrageous outcome.

27-02-2022, 01:50 PM
Some of the stats from last nights fight!

I still don’t understand how Taylor managed to win!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220227/318e4ad8bfae69c2c34d2ff8a6b7cdd0.jpg

27-02-2022, 02:48 PM
watched the fight back again this morning and if anything i reckon josh was beaten by more than i had thought last night. saw him fight before and he looked a shadow of himself last night. took too many shots that in the past wouldnt have landed on him. maybe different weight may prove the correct path to go. thought the other boy fought a really good fight for a supposed no hoper and not sure josh would fancy meeting him again as he was a frustrating opponent for him. heard a commentator say catharall had been sparring with top class opponents and was highly rated. also heard them say it was a toss up between josh and tyson fury for best pound for pound fighter in uk dont think there is any contest fury is the best on the planet by miles. only thing that will beat tyson fury is tyson fury.

Fury is never the best p4p on the planet

27-02-2022, 02:53 PM
Fury is never the best p4p on the planet

That would be Canelo Alvarez :agree:

27-02-2022, 02:55 PM
Even the 3rd judge had the fight a draw (if you ignore the point off josh for a tap on the stomach after the bell)

JC had a point taken off too.

27-02-2022, 02:56 PM

Yip, big difference between being the best heavyweight and best p4p, id struggle to put fury in my top 4 or 5

27-02-2022, 02:56 PM
Taylor is backed by SKY and ESPN. If Jack had won the fight, there goes the cash cow they'll make when Taylor moves up. There's no money, or promotion when Jack defends the belts at 140 against the opponents Josh has already beaten. Money talks in this sport and the judges were paid off.

I bet you believe the 9/11 was a conspiracy too.

27-02-2022, 03:03 PM
Yip, big difference between being the best heavyweight and best p4p, id struggle to put fury in my top 4 or 5

He would be in my top 5 mate. I would put Alexander Usyk before he moved up ahead of him and ES Jnr and Lomachenko (who I love). Taylor has done fantastically at his weight but it's time to move up as he didn't look healthy on Friday making the weight.

27-02-2022, 03:04 PM

Josh is moving up anyway and JC will probably be a mandatory challenger for not one belt but all. Then he will get the sales and the glory.

MagicSwirlingShip
27-02-2022, 07:15 PM
Off the back of that performance, I’d like to see JT test the waters against Kell Brook at 147. He showed last week he still has enough left in the tank to put up a good fight, and it would make sense in raising JT’s profile.

Would be massive. Win that then eye up some of the 147 champions / contenders

27-02-2022, 07:23 PM
Off the back of that performance, I’d like to see JT test the waters against Kell Brook at 147. He showed last week he still has enough left in the tank to put up a good fight, and it would make sense in raising JT’s profile.

Would be massive. Win that then eye up some of the 147 champions / contenders

Kell was there last night randomly. It would be a brilliant line up. Taylor if beefed up would have too much though, hopefully :greengrin

27-02-2022, 07:37 PM
Said on the boxing thread, taylor was lucky last night but caterall didnt win nearly as many rounds as sky were making out, a lot of them were very scrappy and even, i had him him up by 2 at the end

The way the media have whipped this up is way over the top. . In the hall last night most * near us felt Taylor had lost but given the lack of ambition shown by Catteral in the latter rounds he still had a chance with the judges.

* Most near us didn’t include Catteral’s family. Call me a bad person but I was delighted to see the smiles removed from their faces when the decision was announced.

27-02-2022, 07:44 PM
The way the media have whipped this up is way over the top. . In the hall last night most * near us felt Taylor had lost but given the lack of ambition shown by Catteral in the latter rounds he still had a chance with the judges.

* Most near us didn’t include Catteral’s family. Call me a bad person but I was delighted to see the smiles removed from their faces when the decision was announced.

I watched it again today before going to the game. Sound down listening to yesterdays 606 and I had it 1 round up to JC because of the knockdown. I know not a lot when it comes to scoring rounds though.

Sky last night wanted Catteral to win, it was like Arthur Gomez all over again. So the poster saying the judges got bribed by Sky because of money is a mental comment because from the second round on all the English commentators wanted and said Jack was winning/won. Froch called it perfectly. I'll trust his judgement over others like Nelson that even in gloves are off was favoring Catteral.

You go to someones back yard you need to do enough to take the title from him and the venue. Catteral acted like Robbie Neilson 2-0 down at Tynie and paid the price.

Taylor moves on.

27-02-2022, 07:50 PM
I watched it again today before going to the game. Sound down listening to yesterdays 606 and I had it 1 round up to JC because of the knockdown. I know not a lot when it comes to scoring rounds though.

Sky last night wanted Catteral to win, it was like Arthur Gomez all over again. So the poster saying the judges got bribed by Sky because of money is a mental comment because from the second round on all the English commentators wanted and said Jack was winning/won. Froch called it perfectly. I'll trust his judgement over others like Nelson that even in gloves are off was favoring Catteral.

You go to someones back yard you need to do enough to take the title from him and the venue. Catteral acted like Robbie Neilson 2-0 down at Tynie and paid the price.

Taylor moves on.

:greengrin He'll never be luckier in his entire life. He got hammered, you know it, I know it , Josh Knows it.

27-02-2022, 07:52 PM
On R5 live today they said that someone was "taking it to parliament"......as if😂

HIBS NUTS
27-02-2022, 07:54 PM

Anybody that knows anything about boxing over the years , would know that money counts for everything, unfortunately KT was beat last night, he got virtually no applause by those who chose to stay, as everyone knew the best man lost, all the commentators said he lost, and the promoter said he lost.
I’ve watched and enjoyed boxing for many years, and that was amongst one of the worst decisions ever.
Whenever there is a dodgy result the judge victor Laughlin from paisley is often involved👎

27-02-2022, 07:54 PM
On R5 live today they said that someone was "taking it to parliament"......as if😂

:greengrin and before we move onto Ukraine ... the result of the Josh Taylor fight !!!!!

cameronw-hfc
27-02-2022, 07:57 PM

I'm not sure any heavyweight has truly been the P4P #1 in a while. The skill level from the lower weight classes often tends to outweigh the big boys with power. I always like to imagine who would win at a size parity to decide who's better P4P and Fury's skills don't come close to the likes of Canelo, Bud, Kambosos etc, albeit often more entertaining for the more casual fan I imagine.

28-02-2022, 02:35 PM
BBC reporting that the BBoB is investigating the scoring but notes they can't overturn the result. Can they 'order' a replay?

28-02-2022, 02:39 PM
BBC reporting that the BBoB is investigating the scoring but notes they can't overturn the result. Can they 'order' a replay?

Its a waste of time almost on a par with investigating the Downing St parties.

What are they going to do? Say their own judges were bent? No chance, they will investigate and find that there is nothing untoward.

If they cant overturn the result, they cant order it to be replayed.

Waste of time.

28-02-2022, 02:47 PM
Its a waste of time almost on a par with investigating the Downing St parties.

What are they going to do? Say their own judges were bent? No chance, they will investigate and find that there is nothing untoward.

If they cant overturn the result, they cant order it to be replayed.

Waste of time.

The BBOC can't overturn the result because they don't own the belts that were being contested.

28-02-2022, 02:47 PM
:greengrin He'll never be luckier in his entire life. He got hammered, you know it, I know it , Josh Knows it.

Taylor will know in his heart that he was out boxed and that he never won that fight.

I've watched it again too and whilst no expert, I think there were three rounds (at the very most) where Taylor was clearly on top. Catterall was clear cut winner of twice that many. Catterall did enough to win. He came close to finishing the fight once and he never really looked in trouble at any point throughout. He landed more punches and was hit less. Yes, he probably should have been more aggressive in the final three rounds but at that point he probably though the fight was in the bag, if he made it to the finish.

LunasBoots
28-02-2022, 03:01 PM

I think that will be the likely outcome.

HendoDelivered
28-02-2022, 03:04 PM
Love JT and wanted him to win all the way (glad he did) but Catterall was absolutely robbed. Shame.

28-02-2022, 03:12 PM
I think that will be the likely outcome.

They can't and won't overturn the decision. Robert Smith has already confirmed that.

28-02-2022, 03:50 PM

Josh is moving up anyway and JC will probably be a mandatory challenger for not one belt but all. Then he will get the sales and the glory.

JC was cheated out of big money as well as the belts. Doubtful he’ll get a big payday. His style isn’t huge box office.

28-02-2022, 04:06 PM
JC and his team have been very active on social media since yesterday with their anger

JT has not been seen online (probably wise to lay low after the result, then his post fight interview)

Zambernardi1875
28-02-2022, 04:22 PM
Fight disciples podcast was a fantastic watch/listen today. Calling it corruption and calling out daniel kinahan

28-02-2022, 04:28 PM
I believe two of the judges were from England.

28-02-2022, 04:30 PM
So what?

cameronw-hfc
28-02-2022, 04:35 PM
Unfortunately a problem unanimous across all combat sports. MMA, Kickboxing, Muay Thai(in western countries) and Boxing judging all seems to be absolutely atrocious to the point you except them to get it wrong every time now.

Shame that winning a fight fair and square nowadays by decision isn't always a possibility with the judges.

28-02-2022, 04:42 PM
I believe two of the judges were from England.

What's that got to do with anything?

28-02-2022, 04:47 PM
Fight disciples podcast was a fantastic watch/listen today. Calling it corruption and calling out daniel kinahan

Hope they have the bulletproof vest on..........

28-02-2022, 05:28 PM
What's that got to do with anything?

Just thought I would mention it as if it had been two Scottish judges it could have been deemed to be a biased decision. Thought Caterall did enough to win the fight and stuck to his game plan. As Josh is moving up I am sure Caterall will be No 1 Contender.

shetlandhibee
28-02-2022, 05:44 PM
Your been on the stella with a comment like that? :drunk: lool ime not even going to say all the reasons why your wrong ill leave that to other folk ridiculous comment IMO:agree:

28-02-2022, 05:47 PM
Just thought I would mention it as if it had been two Scottish judges it could have been deemed to be a biased decision. Thought Caterall did enough to win the fight and stuck to his game plan. As Josh is moving up I am sure Caterall will be No 1 Contender.

1 of the judges was Scottish and they got it wrong. The fact one of the English judges got it right and the other wrong means absolutely nothing, so I'm not sure what merit it brings to mention their nationality.

28-02-2022, 06:01 PM
Your been on the stella with a comment like that? :drunk: lool ime not even going to say all the reasons why your wrong ill leave that to other folk ridiculous comment IMO:agree:

You clearly have no idea about boxing with that comment

28-02-2022, 07:24 PM
JC and his team have been very active on social media since yesterday with their anger

JT has not been seen online (probably wise to lay low after the result, then his post fight interview)

He's broken his silence:

https://www.instagram.com/p/CaiEA0yN12s/?utm_medium=twitter

" I have taken a few days for some well - earnt time with my family after not seeing them for a few months. I’ve had a chance to watch the fight back. First and foremost, I want to congratulate Jack Catterall on a great fight. He rose to the occasion and fought a valiant fight. However, I believe I won a very close fight.

Many fans believe Jack deserved the decision, and that’s fine. We both went in there and fought our guts out for 12 rounds… but the personal attacks on myself and especially my family are disgusting and uncalled for.

My days at 140 are numbered. My future is at welterweight. Jack Catterall deserves another title shot, and as soon as possible. I’ve never ducked a challenge in my career, and I’d be happy to fight Jack again, but it would have to be at welterweight. Jack is a great sportsman, a helluva fighter, and deserves every bit of the admiration he’s been receiving.

I want to thank my family, my team, the fans who packed The OVO Hydro, and everyone who watched on Sky Sports, ESPN+, and around the world.

Fighting as the undisputed champion on Scottish soil was a dream come true, but I’m only getting started. I’ll be back and better than ever, this time ready to conquer the welterweight division. "

shetlandhibee
28-02-2022, 08:45 PM
You clearly have no idea about boxing with that comment
you seem to know a lot? Tyson Fury will go down(probably already) as one of the best heavy weight fighters of all time especially after the trilogy fights with wilder,, to come back into boxing where he was at and to do what hes done is nothing short off phenomenal you think i know nothing about boxing when i disagree with you that you think hes not in the top 4/5 boxers on the planet?? ,, weel agree to disagree on this one:thumbsup: im no big expert on boxing but to class Fury outside the top 5 seems silly to me,,

28-02-2022, 08:55 PM
1 of the judges was Scottish and they got it wrong. The fact one of the English judges got it right and the other wrong means absolutely nothing, so I'm not sure what merit it brings to mention their nationality.
The judges nationality has been mentioned in other fights I have watched over the years when there has been dubious decisions. I agree with what you say that one English judge got it wrong. I have watched boxing over the years and sometimes a boxer has to knock out his opponent to get a draw as the 3 judges are weighed in favour of one boxer. In this case the judges were probably set up to ensure an element of fairness and balance.

28-02-2022, 09:24 PM
i thought catterall won by a few rounds but after reading a tiny amount of the criticism

Carl Frampton: "It's wrong, it's wrong."
Dillian Whyte: "Disgusting."
Luke Campbell: "Shocking."
Alex Arthur: "I'm the proudest Scotsman in history but Jack Catterall was just robbed of a world title."

i've changed my mind, i now think Taylor won every round :greengrin

28-02-2022, 09:29 PM
He's broken his silence:

https://www.instagram.com/p/CaiEA0yN12s/?utm_medium=twitter

" I have taken a few days for some well - earnt time with my family after not seeing them for a few months. I’ve had a chance to watch the fight back. First and foremost, I want to congratulate Jack Catterall on a great fight. He rose to the occasion and fought a valiant fight. However, I believe I won a very close fight.

Many fans believe Jack deserved the decision, and that’s fine. We both went in there and fought our guts out for 12 rounds… but the personal attacks on myself and especially my family are disgusting and uncalled for.

My days at 140 are numbered. My future is at welterweight. Jack Catterall deserves another title shot, and as soon as possible. I’ve never ducked a challenge in my career, and I’d be happy to fight Jack again, but it would have to be at welterweight. Jack is a great sportsman, a helluva fighter, and deserves every bit of the admiration he’s been receiving.

I want to thank my family, my team, the fans who packed The OVO Hydro, and everyone who watched on Sky Sports, ESPN+, and around the world.

Fighting as the undisputed champion on Scottish soil was a dream come true, but I’m only getting started. I’ll be back and better than ever, this time ready to conquer the welterweight division. "

That's an embarrassing statement. Clearly his PR team have written that for him. Not that I've seen any threats to his family on social media but if there have been that's well out of order. But to still think he won that fight is outrageous and that will be his downfall as many of his fans have said in Twitter they have lost all self respect for him for not having the bollocks to say he never won that fight and offer a rematch for the belts at 140.

28-02-2022, 09:36 PM
That's an embarrassing statement. Clearly his PR team have written that for him. Not that I've seen any threats to his family on social media but if there have been that's well out of order. But to still think he won that fight is outrageous and that will be his downfall as many of his fans have said in Twitter they have lost all self respect for him for not having the bollocks to say he never won that fight and offer a rematch for the belts at 140.

It seems his struggle with separating the truth from fiction continues.

28-02-2022, 09:48 PM

Why would he offer a rematch at a weight he struggles with? He’s no interest in defending the belts again. Looking at the round by round stats it’s easy to see why the judges have struggled to give the challenger the decision in scotland coupled with all the holding and spoiling.

It’s not the be all and end all but someone suggested they couldn’t believe Josh won any of the first four, yet he outlanded Catterall in 3 of those 4.

Torto7
28-02-2022, 10:14 PM
Josh is with the slime nowadays based in Dubai. You can see him with Robert Kelbie and Barry Hughes etc when he's home. Sky turns a blind eye to D Kinahan. Disgusting people and the fight was fixed. I'll never doubt his talent but he lost that fight.

Zambernardi1875
28-02-2022, 10:41 PM
Why would he offer a rematch at a weight he struggles with? He’s no interest in defending the belts again. Looking at the round by round stats it’s easy to see why the judges have struggled to give the challenger the decision in scotland coupled with all the holding and spoiling.

It’s not the be all and end all but someone suggested they couldn’t believe Josh won any of the first four, yet he outlanded Catterall in 3 of those 4.

He only out-landed caterall in the 10th.

01-03-2022, 05:09 AM
i thought catterall won by a few rounds but after reading a tiny amount of the criticism

Carl Frampton: "It's wrong, it's wrong."
Dillian Whyte: "Disgusting."
Luke Campbell: "Shocking."
Alex Arthur: "I'm the proudest Scotsman in history but Jack Catterall was just robbed of a world title."

i've changed my mind, i now think Taylor won every round :greengrin

How does Alex measure his pride? And which historical Scottish figures is he MORE proud than, I wonder:hmmm:

01-03-2022, 05:44 AM
How does Alex measure his pride? And which historical Scottish figures is he MORE proud than, I wonder:hmmm:

Yes I think there might be a few more prouder Scotsman in history than Alex :greengrin

01-03-2022, 06:11 AM
you seem to know a lot? Tyson Fury will go down(probably already) as one of the best heavy weight fighters of all time especially after the trilogy fights with wilder,, to come back into boxing where he was at and to do what hes done is nothing short off phenomenal you think i know nothing about boxing when i disagree with you that you think hes not in the top 4/5 boxers on the planet?? ,, weel agree to disagree on this one:thumbsup: im no big expert on boxing but to class Fury outside the top 5 seems silly to me,,

I think you maybe need to go read what i actually said rather than blurting out rubbish again, the post was about p4p, if you dont know what that means then possibly look into it before posting

01-03-2022, 06:16 AM
He only out-landed caterall in the 10th.

Not % wise he never. He also landed a higher % over the whole fight. Like I said it’s not the be all and end all, but it’s one indication of the fight.

01-03-2022, 06:20 AM
Josh is with the slime nowadays based in Dubai. You can see him with Robert Kelbie and Barry Hughes etc when he's home. Sky turns a blind eye to D Kinahan. Disgusting people and the fight was fixed. I'll never doubt his talent but he lost that fight.

There have always been iffy people involved in boxing, but its really ramped up since the Kinehans "persuaded" a number of top fighters that they should represent them.

Anybody with half a brain knows they are using boxing to launder money on a worldwide scale - as for JT himself, he may not care but its also worth considering that it cant be easy when you are being leaned on by certain people.

It should be "relatively" simple to remove the MTK organisation - including its links with some big USA promoters - from world boxing promotion............but that would assume that the various boards of control and the tv companies wanted it to happen - they dont.

01-03-2022, 06:28 AM
Not % wise he never. He also landed a higher % over the whole fight. Like I said it’s not the be all and end all, but it’s one indication of the fight.

Judges don't score fights based on % of punches landed.

01-03-2022, 06:40 AM

As said before, I have never seen a boxer in history win a controversial decision then come out and say they lost the fight. It is probably a different feeling to be in there.

I was at the fight and thought Catterall won but there was a lot of close rounds.
I watched it back on sky and couldn’t believe how biased they were for Catterall. Johnny Nelson who I like, had it 5-0 Catterall after 5 rounds.
I had it 3-2. Now when I consider that Taylor won the last 4 rounds (minus the point he lost) that really doesn’t leave much between them.
Catteralls spoiling, turning of the shoulder etc won’t have curried favour with the judges. And it was Taylor that spent the majority of the fight on the front foot, something the judges tend to like.
I still feel like Catterall edged it, but I don’t think it’s the robbery of the century like some believe.

As I read elsewhere, if Taylor was English and Catterall was Scottish, we probably wouldn’t have heard anything else since Saturday.

While boxing scoring remains subjective, it will always be a grey area. There does need to be more consequences for judges tho in general.

01-03-2022, 07:01 AM
I was stunned to read yesterday that Boris’ bouncer in the HoC, Speaker Lindsey Hoyle, has also weighed in against the verdict. Bizarre . Lay off the hibby pile on lads, it’s not like it’s Ryan Porteous…

01-03-2022, 07:18 AM

https://www.dazn.com/en-US/news/boxing/how-is-boxing-scored-points-rules-scores-and-deductions-used-by-judges-and-referees/zncunu9sov881vkqqvvqlsu67
Interesting reading.
https://www.dazn.com/en-US/news/boxing/how-is-boxing-scored-points-rules-scores-and-deductions-used-by-judges-and-referees/zncunu9sov881vkqqvvqlsu67

Chorley Hibee
01-03-2022, 07:50 AM
I was stunned to read yesterday that Boris’ bouncer in the HoC, Speaker Lindsey Hoyle, has also weighed in against the verdict. Bizarre . Lay off the hibby pile on lads, it’s not like it’s Ryan Porteous…

Hoyle is the MP for Chorley (where Catterall is from).

First time the useless clown has intervened on anything though.

01-03-2022, 07:50 AM

The belts he shouldn't have you mean? He lost that fight and he knows it. Not having any of this anti English/Scottish pish either.

The Tarnished Tornado they are calling him in the boxing world now.

01-03-2022, 08:02 AM
As said before, I have never seen a boxer in history win a controversial decision then come out and say they lost the fight. It is probably a different feeling to be in there.

I was at the fight and thought Catterall won but there was a lot of close rounds.
I watched it back on sky and couldn’t believe how biased they were for Catterall. Johnny Nelson who I like, had it 5-0 Catterall after 5 rounds.
I had it 3-2. Now when I consider that Taylor won the last 4 rounds (minus the point he lost) that really doesn’t leave much between them.
Catteralls spoiling, turning of the shoulder etc won’t have curried favour with the judges. And it was Taylor that spent the majority of the fight on the front foot, something the judges tend to like.
I still feel like Catterall edged it, but I don’t think it’s the robbery of the century like some believe.

As I read elsewhere, if Taylor was English and Catterall was Scottish, we probably wouldn’t have heard anything else since Saturday.

While boxing scoring remains subjective, it will always be a grey area. There does need to be more consequences for judges tho in general.

You could clearly hear his corner telling him he needed a KO to win the fight in the last few rounds.

01-03-2022, 08:06 AM
The belts he shouldn't have you mean? He lost that fight and he knows it. Not having any of this anti English/Scottish pish either.

It's not his fault the judges scored it the way they did, funny how the likes of Andre Ward and a few more Americans including Douglas Fischer the editor of ring magazine scored it as a victory to JT, boxing judging is subjective, the Americans clearly looked at something different to the majority of the UK fight fans or maybe the different commentary played a part

I think JT lost the fight, he just didn't do enough for me but there were a fair few rounds where nothing of much happened and some judges like the aggressor rather than spoiler in those situations, JT is hardly going to come out and say aye I think I lost that fight and lose out on millions on a superfight in the weight class above is he?

01-03-2022, 08:16 AM
Hoyle is the MP for Chorley (where Catterall is from).

First time the useless clown has intervened on anything though.

That does explain it, I admit :greengrin
I’d rather MPs kept away from actual sporting questions most of the time, unless it’s a political question linked to sport, they always come across like they don’t really know what they’re talking about (Confusing West Ham and Aston Villa is the notorious example) (my MP is prominent sweaty red faced Jambo Ian Murray so I am slightly biased here)

MagicSwirlingShip
01-03-2022, 08:17 AM
TTT will come again. Absolutely a bad night at the office.

Hibs4185
01-03-2022, 08:28 AM
I think with JT he isn’t getting the rewards that his success deserves. If Anthony Joshua or any big names achieved what JT has, they’d be making multiple millions and celebrity endorsements etc.

I think due to this, it’s pushing JT to fringe individuals like MTK and they are promising to give him all the benefits.

It’s a shame because I like JT but I have been going off him recently and not too arsed about watching him fight.

01-03-2022, 08:43 AM
Was MTK the group that were subject to a Panorama investigation? I'm sure one of the commentators on Saturday night was caught up in it as well (Macklin)?

01-03-2022, 09:00 AM

Of course they don’t, but it shows the decision wasn’t quite as scandalous as all are making out. Talking about volume of punches when it was almost impossible to throw punches when being cuddled all night is why I put up %’s.

01-03-2022, 09:00 AM
Was MTK the group that were subject to a Panorama investigation? I'm sure one of the commentators on Saturday night was caught up in it as well (Macklin)?

Yep

01-03-2022, 09:03 AM

I mean the belts that he won and are sitting proudly in his living room now. Nobody is talking about anti English/Scottish, but there’s no doubt the pundits wouldn’t have as much to say if it was one of their own, as proven with Campbell Hatton and Lewis Ritson to name but two.

01-03-2022, 09:08 AM
Don't the watching public know when a bout is close or when there's a clear winner?

If not, what's the point of watching and why is boxing so popular?

01-03-2022, 09:15 AM
It's not his fault the judges scored it the way they did, funny how the likes of Andre Ward and a few more Americans including Douglas Fischer the editor of ring magazine scored it as a victory to JT, boxing judging is subjective, the Americans clearly looked at something different to the majority of the UK fight fans or maybe the different commentary played a part

I think JT lost the fight, he just didn't do enough for me but there were a fair few rounds where nothing of much happened and some judges like the aggressor rather than spoiler in those situations, JT is hardly going to come out and say aye I think I lost that fight and lose out on millions on a superfight in the weight class above is he?

Of course he isn't. But he ain't helping himself or boxing for that matter by claiming he won the fight. I'm not believing this sympathy act about his family getting abuse either. What's his family got to do with it anyway. Lost all credibility for the laddie. Been to a few of his fights over the years as well.

01-03-2022, 09:17 AM
I mean the belts that he won and are sitting proudly in his living room now. Nobody is talking about anti English/Scottish, but there’s no doubt the pundits wouldn’t have as much to say if it was one of their own, as proven with Campbell Hatton and Lewis Ritson to name but two.

There you go using the Scottish/English agenda thing again.

01-03-2022, 09:20 AM
Of course they don’t, but it shows the decision wasn’t quite as scandalous as all are making out. Talking about volume of punches when it was almost impossible to throw punches when being cuddled all night is why I put up %’s.

Look at the state of Taylors face and look at Catterall's with not a scratch on it. Tells you everything.

01-03-2022, 09:25 AM
Of course he isn't. But he ain't helping himself or boxing for that matter by claiming he won the fight. I'm not believing this sympathy act about his family getting abuse either. What's his family got to do with it anyway. Lost all credibility for the laddie. Been to a few of his fights over the years as well.

He was the beneficiary of a fortunate decision and like most boxers would hes now doubling down and backing himself. Normal sports psychology, I’m not sure why that’s getting folk so annoyed? I’m not sure why you doubt he and others are getting online abuse, you do know the state of social media at the moment?

01-03-2022, 09:43 AM
Look at the state of Taylors face and look at Catterall's with not a scratch on it. Tells you everything.

Not really. Points are scored on the body as well as the head in boxing. Mangled faced fighters have KO’d guys without a mark on them.

That said, in this particular case Catterall threw more punches and with greater accuracy and won that fight.

01-03-2022, 09:45 AM
He was the beneficiary of a fortunate decision and like most boxers would hes now doubling down and backing himself. Normal sports psychology, I’m not sure why that’s getting folk so annoyed? I’m not sure why you doubt he and others are getting online abuse, you do know the state of social media at the moment?

This is the way it operates. A single minded guy in a sport like boxing is never going to concede he lost the fight. Blame the officials by all means, but gunning for Taylor on social media is a weak, cowardly look.

01-03-2022, 09:54 AM

I'd love to see the one guy who will be the bastion of moral virtue and screw himself out of millions by telling the truth, wouldn't be me

MagicSwirlingShip
01-03-2022, 10:04 AM

He is quite literally helping himself by keeping the doors open for big money fights at 147.

01-03-2022, 10:17 AM
Not really. Points are scored on the body as well as the head in boxing. Mangled faced fighters have KO’d guys without a mark on them.

That said, in this particular case Catterall threw more punches and with greater accuracy and won that fight.

He threw more but his accuracy was less than Taylors.

01-03-2022, 10:23 AM
There you go using the Scottish/English agenda thing again.

English pundits support English boxers, Scottish pundits likewise - its not an agenda. It’s local/friendship bias. Nothing anti-English about it so stop with your snide comments about it. There’s far more been said about this rather than the two I quoted above due to the location of the fighters and far more pundits being from south of the border, looking after their own. I even heard Hearn call it a disgrace in the same sentence he states he never watched the first 4/5 rounds 😂.

As for your ‘state of the face’ remarks, makes zero difference. It’s well known judges prefer the aggressor, Taylor stalking down Catterall who was holding and using his shoulder as a guard. He got away with it which is fine but it’s hardly a surprise the judges didn’t like it and especially not to rip 5 belts away from the champ.

01-03-2022, 10:27 AM
English pundits support English boxers, Scottish pundits likewise - its not an agenda. It’s local/friendship bias. Nothing anti-English about it so stop with your snide comments about it. There’s far more been said about this rather than the two I quoted above due to the location of the fighters and far more pundits being from south of the border, looking after their own. I even heard Hearn call it a disgrace in the same sentence he states he never watched the first 4/5 rounds 😂.

As for your ‘state of the face’ remarks, makes zero difference. It’s well known judges prefer the aggressor, Taylor stalking down Catterall who was holding and using his shoulder as a guard. He got away with it which is fine but it’s hardly a surprise the judges didn’t like it and especially not to rip 5 belts away from the champ.

What did you think of Taylor's full on nut to the face . That hurt Catterall more than any punch did. Taylor was a lucky boy to get away with that one.

01-03-2022, 10:31 AM

The tarnished tornado? Where? Literally 2 people on twitter have used that term since Saturday [emoji1787]

01-03-2022, 10:32 AM
I'd love to see the one guy who will be the bastion of moral virtue and screw himself out of millions by telling the truth, wouldn't be me

Exactly. Never heard a single boxer say they lost the fight after a questionable scorecard.

01-03-2022, 10:33 AM

i actually joked about this on the boxing thread at the time, not long after the bout ended that it sounded like it would end up at Westminster and though it was a tongue-in-cheek comment i can't believe that it did indeed reach Westminster :faf:

I'm Spartacus
01-03-2022, 10:52 AM
Just read this threat - embarrassing in huge chunks.

Josh Taylor - great Hibs lad, that's where it ends for me!

The result, not his fault, was a sporting scandal, what made it worse for me was his interview, see if he said "I was really lucky there to be given the decision, huge respect to him as he's a great fighter and performed better than me on the night and I'm grateful to be holding these belts". But no, he added to the scandal for me, really poor show on his part.

Genuinely will never go out my way to watch another boxing match, the whole evening was a shambles, Jay McFarlane looked like the mascot for a football club but coked out his nut.

01-03-2022, 11:24 AM
The tarnished tornado? Where? Literally 2 people on twitter have used that term since Saturday [emoji1787]

Who said anything about Twitter?

01-03-2022, 01:03 PM
What did you think of Taylor's full on nut to the face . That hurt Catterall more than any punch did. Taylor was a lucky boy to get away with that one.

Ive not seen the fight back yet, and never noticed anything at the time. Haven’t heard anything remotely about a headbutt either. Which round was this and I’ll have a look.

01-03-2022, 01:21 PM
Ive not seen the fight back yet, and never noticed anything at the time. Haven’t heard anything remotely about a headbutt either. Which round was this and I’ll have a look.

It was mentioned during the fight. But maybe as a head clash from the two fighters rather than a head butt.

01-03-2022, 01:36 PM
He threw more but his accuracy was less than Taylors.

Ah...my mistake. I must have misread the stats. In light of that, as you say, steal a steal from Catterall, but perhaps not as blatant as it first appeared.

01-03-2022, 01:59 PM
It was mentioned during the fight. But maybe as a head clash from the two fighters rather than a head butt.

Was a clash.

01-03-2022, 02:04 PM
Was a clash.

Well, Taylor's forehead clashed with Catterall's pus right enough. Straight forehead to the coupon, it was the best blow Taylor landed all night. He wasn't penalised, so technically not a butt, but it was deliberate in my view.

01-03-2022, 02:30 PM

That didnt actually happen though, did it? It was a clash of heads and tbqhwy, I was surprised it took that long to happen as Catteral was constantly hanging on, head over shoulder, digging his head under etc.

I didnt agree with the result, but lets not rewrite history, eh?

01-03-2022, 02:43 PM
i've just re-watched it without the sound and scored it much closer than original - actually ended up with 113-112 Taylor. Josh was the aggressor all night and Catterall spolied a lot but did land most if not all the big hits in the fight

I still think Catterall won, but i don't quite think it's the scandal being made out (albeit there are many people with far better boxing knowledge than I saying Catterall strolled it)

01-03-2022, 02:45 PM
i've just re-watched it without the sound and scored it much closer than original - actually ended up with 113-112 Taylor. Josh was the aggressor all night and Catterall spolied a lot but did land most if not all the big hits in the fight

I still think Catterall won, but i don't quite think it's the scandal being made out (albeit there are many people with far better boxing knowledge than I saying Catterall strolled it)

You scored the fight in Taylor's favour but you think Catteral won? How does that work?

01-03-2022, 03:00 PM
You scored the fight in Taylor's favour but you think Catteral won? How does that work?

taking in to account the actual shots landed, i'd go in favour of Catterall but from a scoring POV felt Taylor controlled it

01-03-2022, 03:20 PM

Just saved me posting. :top marks

01-03-2022, 03:27 PM

I agree, it is not as wild a decision that it has been made out to be, we need to remember that the judges all sit on different sides of the ring so they will see different angles and not see certain punches. Catterall did win the fight narrowly but it was not a 120-108 fight some are making it out to be. I have been pretty shocked at some of the vitriol aimed at JT over this, he wasn't a judge, he done what every fighter who has had a split decision in their favour has done, and agreed with it, he has not become a bad boxer overnight because of one bad performance and remember Catterall was a WBO challenger, the newest of all the belts on the line and least 'respected' of the 4. In my opinion he should never have been near this type of bout but as with so many in the past, it is often these type of match ups that cause the most problems for the Champion, look at Ruiz vs AJ, Klitschko vs Sanders or Lewis vs Rahman. JT is lucky to still have the belts but I have seen much worse decisions than the one on Saturday night. Looking forward to him stepping up to 147lb and some very decent fights happening. Catterall will probably be a champion in the 140lb division but I don't think he will be a multi belt champ like JT.

01-03-2022, 03:39 PM
That didnt actually happen though, did it? It was a clash of heads and tbqhwy, I was surprised it took that long to happen as Catteral was constantly hanging on, head over shoulder, digging his head under etc.

I didnt agree with the result, but lets not rewrite history, eh?

Rewriting history.... that's a bit dramatic really seeing as I think it was a bit of streetwise use of the head and you don't. Nothing to do with disagreeing with the result, which I'm not hugely bothered by.

It'll not be the first time a Scottish boxer's used the heid to good effect in a world title fight. All accidental of course.

It was a pretty low quality fight, more of a messy scrappy battle than high quality boxing match and aye, Catterall was playing rough, but so was Taylor, let's not pretend otherwise.

01-03-2022, 03:52 PM
I remember being given an explanation on how judges score a fight. All down to the individual and no points decision has ever really surprised me.

LunasBoots
01-03-2022, 04:37 PM

Boxing is full of dodgy people who should have nothing to do with the sport, have said it for years, UK boxing has certainly got a reputation for people attaching itself to the sport who they should be trying to rid them self of.

Wouldnt put supposed threats beyond the possibility of being linked to people assosiated with him and there dodgy pasts.

01-03-2022, 04:53 PM
Saw the Head of Boxing from Sky on tv earlier talking about how he feels it’s wrong and is doing what he can about it.

What can a tv exec / commentator actually do?

01-03-2022, 05:16 PM
And I’ve been reading and listening to a bit more - the experts and ex pros all seem agreed it was close and Taylor nicked a few rounds etc. why the outrage then? Is it mainly the 114-111 one?

01-03-2022, 05:23 PM
And I’ve been reading and listening to a bit more - the experts and ex pros all seem agreed it was close and Taylor nicked a few rounds etc. why the outrage then? Is it mainly the 114-111 one?

Watch the fight in full and see for yourself.

01-03-2022, 05:24 PM
Watch the fight in full and see for yourself.

I watched it on Saturday. Just wondering why if they all acknowledge it’s close they’re outraged that 2 judges scored it as a close fight.

01-03-2022, 05:32 PM
There may have been some 10/ 10 rounds that people gave to Catterall as he tended to throw a flurry of punches then held on and spoiled.
We have a lot of opinions on here but none of us are qualified boxing judges so at the end of the day Taylor won lets move on

01-03-2022, 05:39 PM
I watched it on Saturday. Just wondering why if they all acknowledge it’s close they’re outraged that 2 judges scored it as a close fight.

“They” don’t though. Every comment from current or ex-pro’s I seen or heard say the opposite, starting with those ringside, like Johnny Nelson. Carl Frampton, Carl Froch, Dillon Whyte and many more have tweeted or commented negatively on the outcome.

The post fight reaction from everyone on Sky after the fight was undisguised shock. I think if the fight had been closer and the home champion gets the nod, no one is that surprised. it was the verdict, not the ridic points scoring that annoyed people.

01-03-2022, 05:48 PM
“They” don’t though. Every comment from current or ex-pro’s I seen or heard say the opposite, starting with those ringside, like Johnny Nelson. Carl Frampton, Carl Froch, Dillon Whyte and many more have tweeted or commented negatively on the outcome.

The post fight reaction from everyone on Sky after the fight was undisguised shock. I think if the fight had been closer and the home champion gets the nod, no one is that surprised. it was the verdict, not the ridic points scoring that annoyed people.

Steve Bunce and George Groves on their podcast saying it was a close fight. Had a former ref or judge on saying the same. Think Froch said on Twitter (he wasn’t at the fight) the judges wouldn’t have like the spoiling and holding Catterall done.

Sky straight away were very dramatic about it though - no doubt. Although the guy on tv today (Adam Smith?) also said it was close but Catterall should’ve won and he’s doing everything in his power about it (whatever that means).

MagicSwirlingShip
01-03-2022, 06:24 PM
Was a clash.

Happens often when two southpaws square off. As you seen in Taylors fight with Prograis.

GonzoReturns
01-03-2022, 06:47 PM
Right or wrong one thing for sure if it was the other way round do you think we would have the same uproar……

02-03-2022, 06:00 PM
Could the same be said for Lee Mcgregor v Farooq fight. This always went to the judges.
Mcgregor won the fight, but it was thought Farooq won comfortably.
Given that Mcgregor & Taylor are buddies was this another stitch up

08-03-2022, 01:49 PM
yes, Seriously, i've always thought Hoyle was a f*d, this confirms it

House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/entertainment/music/house-of-commons-speaker-makes-complaint-to-scotland-yard-over-jack-catterall-s-controversial-defeat/ar-AAUMa3p?ocid=msedgntp)

House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat

Sir Lindsay Hoyle, who is Catterall’s MP, has written to both Dame Cressida Dick, the outgoing Scotland Yard commissioner, and the British Boxing Board of Control to express his outrage.

He also said he has spoken to the Culture Secretary, Nadine Dorries, who has told him she was “looking into this”. The British Boxing Board of Control has previously told Telegraph Sport that it would investigate the split points decision, although general secretary Robert Smith insisted allegations of corruption from the judges are “nonsense”.

Victor
08-03-2022, 02:25 PM
yes, Seriously, i've always thought Hoyle was a f*d, this confirms it

House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/entertainment/music/house-of-commons-speaker-makes-complaint-to-scotland-yard-over-jack-catterall-s-controversial-defeat/ar-AAUMa3p?ocid=msedgntp)

House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat

Sir Lindsay Hoyle, who is Catterall’s MP, has written to both Dame Cressida Dick, the outgoing Scotland Yard commissioner, and the British Boxing Board of Control to express his outrage.

He also said he has spoken to the Culture Secretary, Nadine Dorries, who has told him she was “looking into this”. The British Boxing Board of Control has previously told Telegraph Sport that it would investigate the split points decision, although general secretary Robert Smith insisted allegations of corruption from the judges are “nonsense”.

What a clown. Does he not realise that the Met don’t police Glasgow? What next, will Ian Murray be writing to the Met complaining that Hearts shouldn’t have been relegated?

08-03-2022, 03:00 PM
What a clown. Does he not realise that the Met don’t police Glasgow? What next, will Ian Murray be writing to the Met complaining that Hearts shouldn’t have been relegated?

i'm positive either Murray or THEE biggest/fattest/Drunkest pig in the Westminster Trough(Sir Foulkes of p@shy breeks) did say something in HoC's/HoL's about that terrible fate that fell on the jamboids

08-03-2022, 03:23 PM

Rather than write stupid letters about boxing decisions he should maybe get his wife - who he employed out the public purse until recently - to start shopping in Ikea, Dunelm, or Brandalley for more affordable bedding. Typical gravy trainer MP.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/aug/04/lindsay-hoyle-spends-7500-on-bedding-and-mattresses-for-speakers-residence

08-03-2022, 03:25 PM
Could the same be said for Lee Mcgregor v Farooq fight. This always went to the judges.
Mcgregor won the fight, but it was thought Farooq won comfortably.
Given that Mcgregor & Taylor are buddies was this another stitch up

McGregor V Farooq was a genuinely close fight. This wasn't, and I say that as a massive JT fan.

Catteral won that fight by about 4 or 5 rounds clearly.

08-03-2022, 03:47 PM
McGregor V Farooq was a genuinely close fight. This wasn't, and I say that as a massive JT fan.

Catteral won that fight by about 4 or 5 rounds clearly.

Except he never. You don’t get extra points for winning your round clearly while the other man wins his rounds narrowly. There’s a reason there’s barely anyone from the other side of the pond that thinks this was a massive robbery.

08-03-2022, 03:55 PM

Boxing people closing ranks after a bad decision. I didn't think it was that close to be honest.

08-03-2022, 04:32 PM
Except he never. You don’t get extra points for winning your round clearly while the other man wins his rounds narrowly. There’s a reason there’s barely anyone from the other side of the pond that thinks this was a massive robbery.

Nail on the head.

I was at the fight and thought Jack won fairly easily from ringside. I’ve since watched it again, without the biased Sky commentary, and I scored it 113-112 to Josh. At least 2 rounds could’ve gone either way though. The very definition of a close fight. I canny believe the nonsense being spouted by some folk, especially the speaker of the house, who just happens to to be Catterall’s MP.

cameronw-hfc
08-03-2022, 04:44 PM
Nail on the head.

I was at the fight and thought Jack won fairly easily from ringside. I’ve since watched it again, without the biased Sky commentary, and I scored it 113-112 to Josh. At least 2 rounds could’ve gone either way though. The very definition of a close fight. I canny believe the nonsense being spouted by some folk, especially the speaker of the house, who just happens to to be Catterall’s MP.

I think Jack won, pretty comfortably. All this "you have to beat the champ to beat the champ" talk is a load of crap.

If you win the fight, by the rules, you should get it at the end. Jack won, he didn't need to be "even more convincing" because Josh was the champ, there isn't any rules about that. Judging the rounds how they should will see a pretty clear win for Jack.

One thing I will say, it's not the worst decision I've ever seen, but it's the biggest reaction to a decision I've ever seen. If Josh was English and Jack was Scottish, would this have been brought up in parliament? Would the same outrage be happening or is it because Josh is scottish and "robbed" and Englishman.

08-03-2022, 06:09 PM
I think Jack won, pretty comfortably. All this "you have to beat the champ to beat the champ" talk is a load of crap.

If you win the fight, by the rules, you should get it at the end. Jack won, he didn't need to be "even more convincing" because Josh was the champ, there isn't any rules about that. Judging the rounds how they should will see a pretty clear win for Jack.

One thing I will say, it's not the worst decision I've ever seen, but it's the biggest reaction to a decision I've ever seen. If Josh was English and Jack was Scottish, would this have been brought up in parliament? Would the same outrage be happening or is it because Josh is scottish and "robbed" and Englishman.

Totally agree re the 'challenger needs to win more convincingly' pish. You either win the most rounds or you don't. I think Jack won his rounds more convincingly but it still only scores 10-9 (except the knock down round obviously). IMHO Josh won more rounds, most narrowly and it I totally accept 2 or 3 could've been score 10-10, 10-9 or 9-10. It depends what you look for. That's why I say it was a very close fight and why I don't get the furore in the MSM. If you watch and read the American coverage of the fight, most think Josh won.

To answer your question re Parliament, I agree. 100% no it wouldn't have been brought up if the shoes were on the other foot.

09-03-2022, 07:54 AM

Agree with it all, however there’s no doubting there was plenty of close rounds with very little happening. In those rounds (rightly or wrongly) the champ, at home, going forward and forcing the pace, will take those rounds more often than not.

09-03-2022, 08:01 AM

He did.

I've watched the fight back again, for the 3rd time, without sound to remove bias and I had Catteral winning 8 of the rounds.

It was a robbery. Plain and simple.

09-03-2022, 08:04 AM
He did.

I've watched the fight back again, for the 3rd time, without sound to remove bias and I had Catteral winning 8 of the rounds.

Which is fine, that’s your opinion. It’s certainly not the opinion I hold. Out of interest which rounds did you give Catterall? No more than 3/4 could be clear wins. Anyone I ask which rounds Jack won come out with different answers which tells you it’s a close fight.

09-03-2022, 08:13 AM
Rather than write stupid letters about boxing decisions he should maybe get his wife - who he employed out the public purse until recently - to start shopping in Ikea, Dunelm, or Brandalley for more affordable bedding. Typical gravy trainer MP.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/aug/04/lindsay-hoyle-spends-7500-on-bedding-and-mattresses-for-speakers-residence

Similar but different story here TH. Jeremy Corbyn and Democratic Unionists voting with George Fowkes? Russian sailors?

https://edm.parliament.uk/early-day-motion/29235/resignation-of-the-chairman-of-heart-of-midlothian-football-club

09-03-2022, 08:20 AM
Which is fine, that’s your opinion. It’s certainly not the opinion I hold. Out of interest which rounds did you give Catterall? No more than 3/4 could be clear wins. Anyone I ask which rounds Jack won come out with different answers which tells you it’s a close fight.

I agree.

At the time, having watched with the Sky commentary and admittedly knowing very little about the ins and outs of scoring boxing rounds, I thought it was a real injustice. I have no doubt that the commentary during the game and the reaction afterwards influenced how i perceived the fight.

Afterwards I looked out more reaction and different viewpoints and it’s clear that the fight - from a round to round scoring perspective - was significantly closer than Sky made out, and there were other knowledgable sources who also scored the fight in favour of Taylor (as there were others that scored against him).

It was close, and the subjective nature of the scoring doesn’t help clear things up either. The boy will feel hard done by, but I don’t think the decision was corrupt at all, it’s “fine margins” stuff here.

09-03-2022, 08:41 AM
I agree.

At the time, having watched with the Sky commentary and admittedly knowing very little about the ins and outs of scoring boxing rounds, I thought it was a real injustice. I have no doubt that the commentary during the game and the reaction afterwards influenced how i perceived the fight.

Afterwards I looked out more reaction and different viewpoints and it’s clear that the fight - from a round to round scoring perspective - was significantly closer than Sky made out, and there were other knowledgable sources who also scored the fight in favour of Taylor (as there were others that scored against him).

It was close, and the subjective nature of the scoring doesn’t help clear things up either. The boy will feel hard done by, but I don’t think the decision was corrupt at all, it’s “fine margins” stuff here.

Good post Matty

LunasBoots
09-03-2022, 08:48 AM
We don't know what information has been received, I wouldn't put it past corruption or something like that due to who Taylor is sponsored by, reckon boxing will be forced to clean itself up of the dodgy people associated with certain boxers.

evy
09-03-2022, 08:51 AM
He did.

Except you already have unconscious bias built into your scoring because before your watching the fight again you're sure Catterall is the winner.

09-03-2022, 09:40 AM
Except you already have unconscious bias built into your scoring because before your watching the fight again you're sure Catterall is the winner.

I suppose that supposed bias is countered by the fact I'm a massive JT fan (and having actually met him unlike most on here can confirm he was sound) and would naturally lean towards him.

09-03-2022, 09:41 AM
We don't know what information has been received, I wouldn't put it past corruption or something like that due to who Taylor is sponsored by, reckon boxing will be forced to clean itself up of the dodgy people associated with certain boxers.

If it's MTK you are referring to then Jack Catteral is also a MTK fighter.

09-03-2022, 10:28 AM

Both fighters managed by MTK so that blows that theory. Incidentally, Daniel Kinihan is the guest the latest James English podcast, out this week. Should be interesting.

09-03-2022, 10:42 AM
He did.

Sorry not a chance JC won 8 rounds

evy
09-03-2022, 10:49 AM
I suppose that supposed bias is countered by the fact I'm a massive JT fan (and having actually met him unlike most on here can confirm he was sound) and would naturally lean towards him.

I've met him too and would say the same. That still doesn't stop you having pre-judged bias about that particular fight when re-watching. It's human nature.

09-03-2022, 11:04 AM

Might have been more I agree :greengrin

09-03-2022, 11:29 AM
I've met him too and would say the same. That still doesn't stop you having pre-judged bias about that particular fight when re-watching. It's human nature.

Not really as when I watched the fight live, as I also felt Caterall won clearly. If there was bias taking place at that time, it was in favour of JT, so I'm not sure that theory stands up to much scrutiny.

09-03-2022, 12:29 PM

Thought Taylor won the last 4 rounds, and I gave him 2 of the first 6.
I was at the fight and it felt like Catterall won it but watching it back and taking into consideration JT being the aggressor and the amount of holding JC done, it was very close.