View Full Version : Match Updates Scottish Cup 5th Round - Arbroath v Hibernian
13-02-2022, 01:35 PM
Block Primary 7.
😂😂
13-02-2022, 01:35 PM
Block Primary 7.
Did they really unfurl a banner at the end?
13-02-2022, 01:36 PM
Yup, campbell seems like a nice guy.
Good luck to the lichties, great wee club
13-02-2022, 01:37 PM
Really want to dislike dick campbell but he comes across as a really nice guy. Good luck to him for this season.
Curious as to why you really want to dislike him?
13-02-2022, 01:38 PM
That was much better. I really feared the worst after the first fifteen minutes as we could have been behind by more but that was a very well managed performance against a good team at a very tough venue on days like today.
I expected to not enjoy today at all, I quite enjoyed large parts of that.
Sorry Amy I've had to switch you off, your questions and presentation, so poor.
Tony Bobulinski
13-02-2022, 01:40 PM
Professional performance get that right up you the BBC and all you Hertz ##### that work there
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_emoticons/default/jjpleasing.gif
The Captain....
13-02-2022, 01:40 PM
I very much enjoyed that.
Character some good football in awful conditions , Lewis strolling around in midfield like Zidane, three goals and the hun media clamped.
Let's kick on now.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
13-02-2022, 01:41 PM
Sorry Amy I've had to switch you off, your questions and presentation, so poor.It's funny, I've heard more mistakes made but the other panelist but strangely that's not picked up on
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
13-02-2022, 01:42 PM
What was muellers. Celebration outing to his wrist. Looked like he was making his way over the the main stand area?
13-02-2022, 01:42 PM
Lewis my MOTM by a mile.
Credit to Nisbet, that was a great finish too.
13-02-2022, 01:43 PM
It's funny, I've heard more mistakes made but the other panelist but strangely that's not picked up on
Yip it gets boring reading it now, every time theres a female on bbc there are the usual comments, folk must lead a very dull boring life if this is what annoys them
13-02-2022, 01:44 PM
Really want to dislike dick campbell but he comes across as a really nice guy. Good luck to him for this season.
He's a decent guy and see's the game as we all do. Would love to see them win the league.
13-02-2022, 01:44 PM
Brilliant result and performance
13-02-2022, 01:46 PM
Lewis my MOTM by a mile.
Credit to Nisbet, that was a great finish too.
My MOTM too but glad we’re talking about 4-5 players being possibilities
13-02-2022, 01:47 PM
"Hibs have got a wonderful cup record"???
Seriously?!
I can assure him, the number of times my heart has been broken at Hampden tells another story.
True, although over the past decade probably only Celtc have a better record than us in terms of reaching the latter stages.
Henderson was MOTM overall with Lewis 2nd from what I seen.
13-02-2022, 01:48 PM
What was muellers. Celebration outing to his wrist. Looked like he was making his way over the the main stand area?
Stroking his owl. As you do.
Yip it gets boring reading it now, every time theres a female on bbc there are the usual comments, folk must lead a very dull boring life if this is what annoys them
Dont really want to critise, but Lago s right. Amy was absolutely dreadful, at half time she said, ‘ demi mitchell separates the sides’. eh? it was so cringey. Her questions were terrible, dont think we will see her back too soon.
Eilidh Barbours good, but shes gone on to better and bigger things.
13-02-2022, 01:49 PM
True, although over the past decade probably only Celtc have a better record than us in terms of reaching the latter stages.It's as if that record doenst exist if you don't win it
For us to get to hampden as much as we have is fantastic... Be nice to win it some more though!
13-02-2022, 01:49 PM
Kenny m needs that peak to keep the rain out of his mooth. it's always open.
13-02-2022, 01:50 PM
Dont really want to critise, but Lago s right. Amy was absolutely dreadful, at half time she said, ‘ demi mitchell separates the sides’. eh? it was so cringey. Her questions were terrible, dont think we will see her back too soon.
Eilidh Barbours good, but shes gone on to better and bigger things.Kenny Miller said Nisbets was the winning goal
Haven't seen that mentioned once.
13-02-2022, 01:52 PM
Kenny Miller said Nisbets was the winning goal
It was the winning goal? What do you mean?
Miller is right.
13-02-2022, 01:52 PM
Can I just say, Nisbet gets quite a bit of stick at times but I think that finish is part of the reason why.
That touch and finish was absolutely brilliant, people know he’s capable of it and he needs to do it more often. It’s because the high standards he set that people critique him more.
In fairness I’ve seen a huge improvement in him since Maloney came in and think the style gets the best out of him.
13-02-2022, 01:53 PM
Kenny Miller said Nisbets was the winning goal
It was the winning goal.
What are you getting at?
Amy Irons was absolutely terrible all day - there’s no getting round that.
13-02-2022, 01:53 PM
It was the winning goal? What do you mean?
Miller is right.Surley it's the goal to put us in the lead?
13-02-2022, 01:54 PM
It was the winning goal.
What are you getting at?
Amy Irons was absolutely terrible all day - there’s no getting round that.
I agree re Irons. They must literally have no one else available. She simply can’t be first choice.
13-02-2022, 01:54 PM
Happy with the result as we all should be. Pleased for KN. Although he scored, it looks like Mitchell might have more to bring to the table, hope so anyway. Mueller gets his reward for consistent performances and I expect he’ll be delighted to get his first ‘soccer-ball’ goal kick-in.:greengrin
13-02-2022, 01:56 PM
Surley it's the goal to put us in the lead?
And we kept that lead. It was the winning goal.
13-02-2022, 01:56 PM
It was the winning goal.
What are you getting at?
Amy Irons was absolutely terrible all day - there’s no getting round that.I'm getting at the fact the female pundits and presenters are picked up on every mistake they make
Wotherspoon, noble and Miller were hardly flawless all day
I used to work in news and current affairs and the jump into live TV takes time to become natural at - the odd mispoken sentence is hardly worth discussing
13-02-2022, 01:59 PM
I'm getting at the fact the female pundits and presenters are picked up on every mistake they make
I used to work in news and current affairs and the jump into live TV takes time to become natural at - the odd mispoken sentence is hardly worth discussing
I have to say today's presenters were awful. All of them appeared so bad in front of the camera they were all really poor.
Willis1875
13-02-2022, 02:00 PM
Does it really matter 🤷🏼*♂️
1875Sean
13-02-2022, 02:02 PM
I'm getting at the fact the female pundits and presenters are picked up on every mistake they make
Normally don’t mind Amy but she was poor, at half time 1-1 she said Mitchell goal has been the difference like we were In the lead
Are Arbroath still part time? if so would that make them the only part time team to play in the top league if they get promoted?
13-02-2022, 02:03 PM
I have to say today's presenters were awful. All of them appeared so bad in front of the camera they were all really poor.
It's the BBC what do you expect?
Are Arbroath still part time? if so would that make them the only part time team to play in the top league if they get promoted?They said they would talk about going full time if they go up
I hope they do
Absolute nonsense - it has nothing to do with her being female. Male presenters get it in the neck all the time too when they are terrible.
I don’t understand people who have this mindset. There are some fantastic female presenters- in fact most of them are!
Irons was diabolical in every way - questions were banal or stupid, there was no fluidity to her and she was sometimes commenting on things that we weren’t even watching on screen at the time. She was awful. That was the problem - couldn’t care less about her gender.
They said they would talk about going full time if they go up
I hope they do
Financially they could but what if they go straight down, they'd not be able to sustain it given their size, tough call for the owners and Campbell.
13-02-2022, 02:06 PM
Well done Shaun and the team. Really great commitment today.
13-02-2022, 02:08 PM
And we kept that lead. It was the winning goal.I might be wrong and getting mixed up but didn't he say it as the game was still going on?
[emoji23]
Key West
13-02-2022, 02:08 PM
Well done Shaun and the team. Really great commitment today.
👍
13-02-2022, 02:13 PM
Financially they could but what if they go straight down, they'd not be able to sustain it given their size, tough call for the owners and Campbell.I menat I hope they go up
Whether they do FT or not is a tricky one for them I'm sure
13-02-2022, 02:16 PM
Vital win after a terrible start. That was a tricky tie against the top team in the Championship, which could easily have gone wrong. We didn't panic after conceding, and eventually our extra quality told. It was essential for Maloney to get a win today; hopefully it gives us a boost in confidence for upcoming fixtures. Fingers crossed for a decent draw in the next round. :aok:
Paulie Walnuts
13-02-2022, 02:19 PM
Financially they could but what if they go straight down, they'd not be able to sustain it given their size, tough call for the owners and Campbell.
You’d have to think it’ll be 1 year deals they’ll be giving out.
13-02-2022, 02:19 PM
Another **** call. The majority of officials in this country are ****ing dire.
they are not dire just ****in huns, great goal by Nisbet and he also scored a fine one before that lino is a wino hun bassa.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
13-02-2022, 02:20 PM
Absolute nonsense - it has nothing to do with her being female. Male presenters get it in the neck all the time too when they are terrible.
I don’t understand people who have this mindset. There are some fantastic female presenters- in fact most of them are!
Irons was diabolical in every way - questions were banal or stupid, there was no fluidity to her and she was sometimes commenting on things that we weren’t even watching on screen at the time. She was awful. That was the problem - couldn’t care less about her gender.
Will she write and choose her own questions?
Stanton Spence
13-02-2022, 02:20 PM
Financially they could but what if they go straight down, they'd not be able to sustain it given their size, tough call for the owners and Campbell.Surely they would be relegation clauses etc their full time contract? If they came up and went FT
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
13-02-2022, 02:21 PM
You’d have to think it’ll be 1 year deals they’ll be giving out.
Difficult, but not impossible. Scottish professional football is full of short term contracts these days.
McHibby
13-02-2022, 02:22 PM
the point being that it has to be a good run in order to get your heart broken at hampden!
Yeah, we do have a good record of getting to finals and semi-finals - maybe that's what he meant. When he said it I thought he was referring to winning it, which is why I almost fell off my seat 🤣
13-02-2022, 02:25 PM
Good support today. Nice to hear a wider songbook than the viva ole ole for 90mins.
13-02-2022, 02:30 PM
another few minutes and it would have been 1-4
I’m glad it wasn’t. I had us to win 3-1 in the prediction league. Better still, I took us at 3/1 to win in/play right after we went one down.
Aw, naw ....... just checked - I predicted 0-3.
Let me assure you I have in the past been equally critical of Jonathan Sutherland, David Currie and Steven Thompson, all BBC Scotland presenters, unfortunately to day they put up a young woman who just wasn't up to the job, I would suggest she really hadn't done her homework.
13-02-2022, 02:35 PM
I dont, believe that any commentator, presenter, journo etc, could ever ask banal questions **** its in the dna they are all banal.
13-02-2022, 02:39 PM
It's the BBC what do you expect?
They could have put out a better line up than they did. Nae offence against the young lassie that presented the programme but they all seemed very amateurish. It's the BBCs biggest game of the round, god know who they have for Peterhead v Dundee, probably somebody off the street.
13-02-2022, 02:45 PM
Macey made several crucial saves at the start of the 2nd half
Just a pity he didn't come for the cross into the 6 yard box that led to their goal. He does not command his box.
fair enough, my comments werent because it was a female, it was because she was poor. S Thompsons not that fluent either. But youre right, the ‘pundits’ werent much better today. But they can only answer what shes asking them.
13-02-2022, 02:48 PM
Get Riordan on.
Scored 14 goals today. :wink: :thumbsup:
13-02-2022, 02:48 PM
Are Arbroath still part time? if so would that make them the only part time team to play in the top league if they get promoted?
Been pointed out that one huge issue would be whether part-time players on decent footie wages together with full-time jobs could afford to risk giving up the day job for what might just be the one year. If they lost some guys who couldn't take the risk & replaced them with full-timers would they lose the cohesion which seems to have helped them get where they are?
Complicated.
Anyway, good luck to them but chiefly good to see Gayfield disappearing in the rear view mirror (metaphor, I wasn't there...). GG
Let me assure you I have in the past been equally critical of Jonathan Sutherland, David Currie and Steven Thompson, all BBC Scotland presenters, unfortunately to day they put up a young woman who just wasn't up to the job, I would suggest she really hadn't done her homework.
spot on, think she was nervous too.
Clydebank 1986/87 maybe? Can't find anything to confirm it though.
13-02-2022, 02:55 PM
When the 10 team premier started in 1975 Ayr United were in it for the first three seasons as part-timers. I don't know if there's been anyone since.
inglisavhibs
13-02-2022, 02:55 PM
Clydebank were in the top flight late seventies if my memory serves me well and they were part time.
TheSouthMoroccan
13-02-2022, 02:57 PM
I agree re Irons. They must literally have no one else available. She simply can’t be first choice.
Agree. Nothing to do with her sex, ma ears were bleeding. Same with Sacked in the Morning. Not in any way shape or form a natural.
inglisavhibs
13-02-2022, 02:59 PM
Clydebank were in the top flight late seventies if my memory serves me well and they were part time. Memory not so good i thought they made it to top flight around the time Davy Cooper was there but it appears not.
13-02-2022, 03:07 PM
Take it the rule about full seater stadium in top flight doesn’t apply anymore.
Alvin
13-02-2022, 03:09 PM
- she was sometimes commenting on things that we weren’t even watching on screen at the time. She was awful. That was the problem - couldn’t care less about her gender.
Seemed more like the producer was cueing the wrong clips at the wrong time and she was left hung out to dry. Add in having to chat for 15 minutes or so with two inexperienced pundits on live TV. Not even the most experienced of presenters would have enjoyed that one.
Take it the rule about full seater stadium in top flight doesn’t apply anymore.
That saved the Dandy Dons from being relegated. Think it was Falkirk who won the 1st Div but Brockville didn’t meet criteria!
13-02-2022, 03:49 PM
That saved the Dandy Dons from being relegated. Think it was Falkirk who won the 1st Div but Brockville didn’t meet criteria!
That's rule is not going to save them this season😉
13-02-2022, 03:49 PM
Just a pity he didn't come for the cross into the 6 yard box that led to their goal. He does not command his box.
Not a chance he should have been coming for that cross
13-02-2022, 03:51 PM
Clydebank had several seasons over a couple of spells in the Premier Division.
In the two-division setup prior to the Premier Division there were loads of part time teams in the top division including Arbroath, East Fife, Stirling Albion, etc.
Back in the 1960s the divide between full time and part time was rather blurred. Many players were nominally full time but had second jobs. Many needed the money with the £20 a week maximum wage that operated then. Tom Finney, one of England’s post war greats ran his plumbing business throughout his career.
When I was at school we had Ray Wood as a part time games teacher. Ray was first choice goalkeeper for Manchester United prior to the signing of Harry Gregg. He was on the plane in the Munich air crash. He had moved to Huddersfield in the second tier by the time I met him.
13-02-2022, 04:02 PM
Well done Hibs, dominated the game, a couple of scary moments, Nisbet,Cadden and Lewis solid. Nisbet almost back to his best.I thought Rocky looked a bit dodgy a couple of times at the back though. Big well done tae Arbroath aswell, for a part time team they look pretty good , shame aboot the clarty strip colour though.
chippy
13-02-2022, 04:28 PM
Cadden would be an unbelievable player if he had that final ball/finish.
Should have had a goal and assist today.
Hopefully he finds his form in that respect much like Boyle did.
Some folks here used to say same about Boyle not that long ago
13-02-2022, 04:30 PM
Some folks here used to say same about Boyle not that long ago
They did. But it was true about Boyle not that long ago!
Paulie Walnuts
13-02-2022, 04:45 PM
Been pointed out that one huge issue would be whether part-time players on decent footie wages together with full-time jobs could afford to risk giving up the day job for what might just be the one year. If they lost some guys who couldn't take the risk & replaced them with full-timers would they lose the cohesion which seems to have helped them get where they are?
Complicated.
Anyway, good luck to them but chiefly good to see Gayfield disappearing in the rear view mirror (metaphor, I wasn't there...). GG
I can’t see how they’ll get round that tbh.
There players are probably earning about £8-10k a year. They’ll then have full time jobs.
I can’t see Arbroath paying a full time wage that would better their full time jobs + extra income from football.
Wouldn’t be surprised if their football wage couldn’t clear £500 a week/£26k a year
13-02-2022, 07:53 PM
I’m glad it wasn’t. I had us to win 3-1 in the prediction league. Better still, I took us at 3/1 to win in/play right after we went one down.
Aw, naw ....... just checked - I predicted 0-3. ��
put yer winnings on the LA Rams to win the Super Bowl tonight/tomorrow :)
13-02-2022, 08:16 PM
I can’t see how they’ll get round that tbh.
There players are probably earning about £8-10k a year. They’ll then have full time jobs.
I can’t see Arbroath paying a full time wage that would better their full time jobs + extra income from football.
Wouldn’t be surprised if their football wage couldn’t clear £500 a week/£26k a year
I think David Gold is on about £250-300 per week with them, extrapolating from a couple of comments made by Dick Campbell.