View Full Version : Match Updates Scottish Cup 5th Round - Arbroath v Hibernian

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

13-02-2022, 12:07 PM
I love the confident passing from the back.

13-02-2022, 12:07 PM
Nisbet shouldve hit that left footed. He keeps sidefooting shots and making it obvious what hes going to do. Skelp it low and hard with your left. He was unlucky with the 2nd attempt

13-02-2022, 12:08 PM
Pitch’s like a tattie field

Will get worse as it’s still pouring down.

The Captain....
13-02-2022, 12:08 PM
Quite enjoying the game

Knocking it about nicely on a horrendous pitch and conditions. Their keeper had a few good saves. Keep it up and space opens in last 20-25 mins.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

13-02-2022, 12:09 PM
I'd be tempted to bring on Mueller for Nisbet and go the Man City route of no strikers but attacking midfielders, can't be any worse than having a non scoring striker on the pitch.

13-02-2022, 12:09 PM
Yeah, I think the players deserve great credit for the way they've dragged themselves back into this game.

As poor as the start was, the heads didn't go down and they've played very well since the Arbroath goal.

13-02-2022, 12:10 PM
A worldy? :faf:

You know what I mean, playing out their skins then. :confused:

13-02-2022, 12:11 PM
For all our domination, our defence looks like it wants to gift one.

Arbroath spell for 2 minutes, goal incoming.

Still need to be careful and concentrate, don't want any silly mistakes now.

JamesHFC
13-02-2022, 12:12 PM
Pitch looks a nightmare.

13-02-2022, 12:13 PM
Commentator can also STFU

Pitch looks bad down left side in Hibs half.

For all our domination, our defence looks like it wants to gift one.

Our general play has been excellent but there is a vulnerability at both ends - we need a lot of chances to score and look like we could gift them one at any time.

11 players back at a throw in for Arbroath

Can someone tell me what Nisbet is contributing here, as i dont think we need a centre forward who does not like scoring or keeping the ball.

Just never looks like he will score to me. Can see why been no bids since Birmingham one. Not had a good scoring spell since from memory.

13-02-2022, 12:14 PM
It’s getting to the point where I’m feeling sorry for Nisbet. If he kept running there he’d have had a 1 on 1 with the keeper. No confidence.

LK1
How on earth was that a foul.

I'd like to see our half a million baby striker in the second half.

Shocking decision

Collum is a ****ing balding moron. How is that a foul?

Collum is a prick. Boy slips and it’s a foul Arbroath

Mr Grieves
13-02-2022, 12:15 PM
How was that a foul?

davy67 +
Our out ball from the back he been awful at times

Disgraceful from Collum.

Lost count of how many times we’ve passed the ball straight to them

13-02-2022, 12:16 PM
Great through ball by him just now for the Caden chance. Hayes doesn’t frustrate me at all, he’s recycling possession.

TBF I posted that before that pass, since then he's been better, the frustrating thing is he has it in his locker to play like that more often as he's very comfortable on the ball.

Nisbet off and Doidge on, i honestly think i could do better. :rolleyes:

HT

That surely a foul on Cadden

Half time.

Thought we played quite well in the first half.

13-02-2022, 12:17 PM
Lewis Stevenson is an all time Hibs legend. Even leaving aside the two winners medals he is just an unbelievably consistent performer over so many years.

Well in control but need a few goals quickly to put this to bed. Longer at 1-1,happier they'll be.

JamesHFC

Definitely, pitch has certainly caused a few issues but we have been pretty comfortable imo. Should see the game out early on in the second half.

13-02-2022, 12:18 PM
“What did you make of that first half especially from an Arbroath point of view” **** off

HIBS NUTS

Hibs we’re decent after the Arbroath goal

Done well after they scored. Controller the game but need to get the next goal soon after half time

Mr Grieves
We've played well

expresso
Henderson needs to do more than just wee first time lay offs

Worrying that it took so long to turn up and could have been two or three down.

Better after that but missing something in attack.

Lewis excellent.

Actually looked fairly decent going forward in spells since going one down. Nothing silly defensively and I’m confident we’ll get the job done in the second half.

Column being the clown again.

we will smoke all over them in the 2nd half

I’d take Nisbet off and put Mueller on instead. Only change for me. A bit worried that Rocky might sell the pies with a second yellow.

13-02-2022, 12:19 PM
I’d take Nisbet off and put Mueller on instead. Only change for me. A bit worried that Rocky might sell the pies with a second yellow.

No way. Mueller for Henderson if he’s coming on.

Handball for Arbroath goal.

1875Sean

So play without a recognised striker?

“What did you make of that first half especially from an Arbroath point of view” **** offHe's an ex Arbroath player

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Great through ball by him just now for the Caden chance. Hayes doesn’t frustrate me at all, he’s recycling possession.
This. He needs a willing mover ahead of him to be able to find.

The championship must be really poor. We have completely dominated.

13-02-2022, 12:20 PM
Henderson needs to do more than just wee first time lay offs

I really don’t see what he brings to the team. Seems a favourite of Maloney, unfortunately.

13-02-2022, 12:21 PM
We need to get ourselves ahead as early as possible. The longer it goes at 1-1 the more inevitable the daft goal will seem and that will play on the players minds as well.

We've created enough to win 2 games but not scoring has been our downfall for weeks. Get a chance taken, get ahead and we'll relax and score another couple imo. They'll tire as well, this isn't a usual Championship team training at a comparable level to us, they are training Tuesday and Thursday evening for 2 hours at a time.

Greenio
Good first half.

Jasper is a level above the rest. knows how to do the simple things well, uses his body, knows how to make the run of the ball work for him. Should be a starter from now on imo

“What did you make of that first half especially from an Arbroath point of view” **** off

I’ve turned it off until second half starts!

13-02-2022, 12:22 PM
Feared the worst when they scored but we've controlled it since. Lack of cutting edge really hurting us though.

So play without a recognised striker?

Yep, that's what I'd do.

It's a long time since either Nisbet or Doidge provided anything that you'd recognise at acceptable attacking play in a Hibs shirt.

With the exception of their goal we’ve looked decent imo and played really good stuff.

Doig is never a centre back and is very bad at playing out from the back.

Cadden again needs a to make better use of the ball in the final 3rd and should lift his head.

We need a couple of early goals to kill it off. The longer it goes the more chance they’ll win

Mitchell and Jasper seemed to get in each others way a few times in thar first half.

I’m worried about Rocky too. Add to that I’m not sure he’s won a header all day.

snedzuk
Has David wotherspoon shrunk in the rain.

13-02-2022, 12:23 PM
Is it Amy Irons hosting the show, awful presentation.

13-02-2022, 12:23 PM
possession

41% v 59%

Shots

3 v 10

Shots on target

1 v 4

Corners

:0:--:7:

Fouls

6 v 6

13-02-2022, 12:24 PM
Need more from the attacking players. Again.

Get in front and we’ll win.

13-02-2022, 12:24 PM
Is it Amy Irons hosting the show, awful presentation.She was on sportscene too the other night
Seems to be starting to move into some presenting

I don't mind her - way better than Stephen thomson that's for sure

13-02-2022, 12:25 PM
With the exception of their goal we’ve looked decent imo and played really good stuff.

Cadden again needs a to make better use of the ball in the final 3rd and should lift his head.

We need a couple of early goals to kill it off. The longer it goes the more chance they’ll win

Agree regarding Doig.

Need to get Jasper on the ball as much as possible and in the right areas (final 3rd) they cannot keep this up for 90 minutes and the pitch will get heavier. Also need to get a few shots off and test their keeper

LK1
Rocky looks shakey and I'd think about taking him off this half. Yellow card, not playing well and a slippy pitch - not a great combo!

Would consider Doidge on for Henderson

I think people are getting a bit silly claiming any bias or whatever but yes it’s so amateurish it’s almost beyond belief. For a National broadcaster it’s utterly woeful.

I'm hoping the longer it goes the stronger we'll be and the more chance we'll get goals. They're part timers, after all and the pitch must be heavy after all the rain. Fitness should count.

HIBS NUTS
Porto saved us at 1-0 with that tackle

Will the Sportscene pundits be as ****ing desperate for a Raith win later as they are for an Arbroath win now?

13-02-2022, 12:26 PM
Rocky looks shakey and I'd think about taking him off this half. Yellow card, not playing well and a slippy pitch - not a great combo!

He is like this almost every game he has played so far, not really that good imo

Nisbet off and Doidge on, i honestly think i could do better. :rolleyes:

There's losing confidence and then there's Kevin Nisbet. Something more going on in his head.

Porto saved us at 1-0 with that tackle

Too right , it was pretty much an open goal if he hadn’t got the ball

13-02-2022, 12:27 PM
I’m worried about Rocky too. Add to that I’m not sure he’s won a header all day.

I've noticed this in various games he's played that he seems to jump too early, appears to be coming back down again when the ball reaches him

13-02-2022, 12:27 PM
Will the Sportscene pundits be as ****ing desperate for a Raith win later as they are for an Arbroath win now?

Doubt it as that game is on premier sports.

CLASS OF 72 -73
13-02-2022, 12:28 PM

She really is awful but then its the beeb.

13-02-2022, 12:28 PM
Too right , it was pretty much an open goal if he hadn’t got the ball

Big concern though when’s theres no whistle and Doig just turns away. Porto was superb

13-02-2022, 12:29 PM
She was on sportscene too the other night
Seems to be starting to move into some presenting

I don't mind her - way better than Stephen thomson that's for sure

Better looking certainly

Hibs played well 1st half. Should really be a couple of goals up.

Big concern though when’s theres no whistle and Doig just turns away. Porto was superb

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCollum does lift his hand up but no idea wtf was happening

JamesHFC
Feel that Hibs to win at 23/20 is generous by the bookies just now.

Greenio
13-02-2022, 12:30 PM
He is like this almost every game he has played so far, not really that good imo

I feel he's just one of those players that feels a bit shakey but he's not actually made any significant errors and has had a lot of time on the ball, drives is forward well imo. Saw him climb an Arbroath players back to win a header about a foot above him....nice to see

Edit...ha! Spoke too soon, almost cost us dearly!

Yep, that's what I'd do.

It's a long time since either Nisbet or Doidge provided anything that you'd recognise at acceptable attacking play in a Hibs shirt.

We already are playing with someone i dont recognise as a centre forward, get doidge on for him, and Mueller on for Henderson, he's another who's contributed virtually nothing since signing.

Incredible it has taken this long for Lewis to have a few games as a midfielder. He looks right at home there and has been out best player in the first half. Pitch looks like it will be terrible in the later stages so very important we come out flying after HT

13-02-2022, 12:31 PM
Handball for Arbroath goal.

That’s what I thought. Did replays confirm this or not?

No changes at ht

I suspect we will see Mueller around 60 mins

cannastar
lewis our best player insrumental in the goal and finding spaces through their midfield/defence

13-02-2022, 12:32 PM
Did I hear that right? "Demi Mitchell separates the sides at half time."

Rocky very lucky there. Awful

Speaking of rocky...christ!

Bullied by Wighton

come on rocky

sorrow sorrow
Rocky is a bomb scare

Coach Jon
Hopefully the players will change their boots for this half to suit the conditions

Terrible from Bushiri.

Watching the Beeb for a change - think the coverage has been fine. Arbroath had a decent opening 10 minutes and since then we have dominated really well with some good performances. We really need to take our chances though, as Arbroath will be looking for just one opportunity. Game's not over yet by any means ...

Jesus wept! What are we ****ing doing here!

That ball should be played right away

I feel he's just one of those players that feels a bit shakey but he's not actually made any significant errors and has had a lot of time on the ball, drives is forward well imo. Saw him climb an Arbroath players back to win a header about a foot above him....nice to see

He just about cost us there!

13-02-2022, 12:33 PM
Hibs need to waken the **** up here

I'm not sure Bushiri is as good as we thought he was.

Rocky is a bomb scare

Yip, as predicted by many on here.

1875Sean
Terrible start to the second half

13-02-2022, 12:34 PM
All. Over the place in defence at the start of this half

Doig weak again

Pish start to the 2nd half. Macey kept it level with 2 big saves.

davy67 +
Bomb scare defending again, Hibs minds still in the changing rooms

Rocky does look rocky

We’re terrible at the back

13-02-2022, 12:35 PM

Amy Irons is bloody hopeless. Never off the TV and she's about as wooden as it gets.

2 chances in the space of about 90 seconds.

We are sleeping here

come on josh doig

Fuzzywuzzy
Who hasn't missed a touch of the efe's?

come on josh doigHe will be losing his place to Hanlon next week

13-02-2022, 12:36 PM
Another save macey

Bloody hell [emoji23][emoji23]

Lewis fell asleep there

I’d take Doig off right now and put Lewis back in.

Hibs we know have turned up.

FFS Hibs

Whatever Maloney has said at HT he needs to take it back.

come on josh doig

Pervert

Very scrappy and too casual at the back, that could've been 3-1 to Arbroath, Doig and Mitchell just can't defend.

davy67 +
13-02-2022, 12:37 PM
Wake up !!!

OtleyHibs
Similar to the start of the first half, we need to take control again and before we concede this time

Amy Irons is bloody hopeless. Never off the TV and she's about as wooden as it gets.

Yeah agreed. She does a news programme with a guy (David something?) on BBC Scotland channel that I've caught a few times and the pair of them are awful.

timewilltell
13-02-2022, 12:38 PM
Are we sitting back here! Zzzzzz

13-02-2022, 12:38 PM
Yeah agreed. She does a news programme with a guy (David something?) on BBC Scotland channel that I've caught a few times and the pair of them are awful.

Ruined the Adventure Show as well.

Used to be about my favourite programme but it's unwatchable now.

13-02-2022, 12:39 PM
That’s what I thought. Did replays confirm this or not?

Replay confirms it but it wasn’t a talking point at ht.

I’d take Doig off right now and put Lewis back in.

I’m enjoying Lewis’ performance in midfield though!

Pervert

i know that

but what about oor Josh

McHibby

Aye, I was a bit scoobied by that as well

13-02-2022, 12:40 PM
Questions needs to be asked regarding why we've started both halves so poorly.

Terrible from Bushiri.

And the reason he's here and not playing for Norwich.

I’m enjoying Lewis’ performance in midfield though!

I know. Our best player today so far

Henderson played that ball there and didn’t even have a look

13-02-2022, 12:41 PM
Arse is knitting socks now.

Can Cadden not get his head up?

Puts in what are nominally good crosses but they almost never end up anywhere near a Hibs player.

I’ve never seen as bad a half time analysis segment.

She tops it off by saying “Demi Mitchell’s goal is what separates the teams”.

Why is it every time the go forward they look like scoring and we look out of sorts??

We are so slow going forward

13-02-2022, 12:42 PM
That Rocky is a numpty.

LK1
Take Rocky off.

Saint Hibee
Bring on Melkerson!

Some really poor individual performances here.

what's going on Rocky

I’ve never seen as bad a half time analysis segment.

She tops it off by saying “Demi Mitchell’s goal is what separates the teams”.
Sportsound on Twitter announced that Kilmarnock were playing Arbroath.

McHibby
Pervert

🤣

noz
Doidge Mueller and Allan on please.

Mitchell, altho hes scored, and Jasper are impact players.

Think Jasper is goosed

Bring on Mueller

13-02-2022, 12:43 PM
Rockys having a ****ing nightmare today

How many times does Rocky give the ball away when clearing?

As I say that great play Jasper

Nisbet abosolute sitter again

He missed the baw!

Nisbet has to score there. Absolute crap.

13-02-2022, 12:44 PM
The pitch in that corner is shocking.

Paulie Walnuts
Get nisbet off. Absolutely rotten.

Yep, looking very poor today. Hanlon back next week hopefully.

Bring on Melkerson!

Anyone but Nisbet. Missed a sitter from a yard out after great ball in.

OtleyHibs
So half hearted from Nisbet there

Nisbet shat it there. Bit of bravery and he scores, tries to steal a foot in rather than throwing himself at it.

13-02-2022, 12:45 PM
Think Jasper is goosed

Bring on Mueller

Was thinking that, outpaced by Stewart earlier.

great delivery from henderson

Wull
Don't know what Maloney said at half time, but he needs to be more precise, starting by telling them we are shooting the other way this half

1875Sean
How many times does Rocky give the ball away when clearing?

If hanlon isn’t back soon it’s time to bring big daz back in

Nisbet couldn’t hit a coo’s arse with a banjo!

13-02-2022, 12:46 PM
If only we had a striker?

Sitter Mitchell now!

Do we have the option to buy Jasper?

Nisbet has no confidence right now and persisting with him isn't working. He needs time on the bench.

Do we have the option to buy Jasper?

Yes

davy67 +
Need to score there

Mitchell should be scoring there, poor.

Hit the ****ing target man.

How many chances do we need to score?!

Mitchell should score there

AZhibee
13-02-2022, 12:47 PM
Bring on Melkerson!

Here we go

Looks dire. Can't win a header and looks terrified of getting the ball.

LK1
Brutal ball by Mitchell there.

13-02-2022, 12:48 PM
Get the million dollar fetus on, c'mon.

Whens drey Wright coming on?

[emoji38]

Think we have played the conditions and the team not bad. Either could win it though.

Come on Hibernian.

We are so far off their players here!

JamesHFC
13-02-2022, 12:49 PM
Nisbet is incredibly frustrating. Get Melkersen on.

Mueller getting ready

Mueller getting stripped.

Looks dire. Can't win a header and looks terrified of getting the ball.

It's like he's wondering how the fk he's ended up there.

Mueller. Coming on

Hibs should be well in front by now.

Stretched game now.

AZhibee
Whens drey Wright coming on?

[emoji38]

Patience

Nisbet is incredibly frustrating. Get Melkersen on.

I don’t think he’ll get on tbh

Kenny Miller must be pished.

Scott and Wright great sub options 😂😂

Greenio
Tryin hard not to be too harsh on him but Nisbet often looks like he's got weights tied to his ankles.

Nisbet FFS no urgency, no quality, and no real effort. A ****in waste of a jersey.

13-02-2022, 12:50 PM
Yes

Thanks.
Looks like he could develop into a decent player.

Get Doidge on.

Huge few minutes for Shaun Maloney's managerial career. A crossroads moment.

Go on to win & he wins more time.

Go on to lose & my goodwill has gone though I accept others might feel differently

timewilltell
Who pays to watch this stuff. Its garbage

13-02-2022, 12:51 PM
That's a decent strike by Henderson. Keep does well to hold it in that weather.

Get James Scott on.

Don't want to take this into last 10 mins at 1-1.

Mueller for Jasper

Mueller for Jasper.

Decent strike by Henderson, been better this half.

Just need to find a way to win this. Doesn't matter how.

Can Cadden not get his head up?

Puts in what are nominally good crosses but they almost never end up anywhere near a Hibs player.

I got slated for saying that about Cadden. :greengrin

Zambernardi1875
13-02-2022, 12:52 PM
Huge few minutes for Shaun Maloney's managerial career. A crossroads moment.

Go on to win & he wins more time.

Go on to lose & my goodwill has gone though I accept others might feel differently

I’d agree.

Paulie Walnuts
That’s onside

Nisbet hits the target but offside.

Poor first 15 minutes of this half but coming more into it now.

Dodgy offside decision there

Get David Mitchell on.

Jasper played well

Offside goal... Very tight call that

Nisbet has stay onside there ! Rubbish.

13-02-2022, 12:53 PM
i smell a goal coming, don't want to spoil it by saying who for though

Jasper played well

He did, but his race was run 10 minutes ago.

Promising start for him at Hibs though.

That’s onside
Pretty clearly offside to me....

Stay onside for gods sake Kevin.

13-02-2022, 12:54 PM
Lovely covering by Doig there

Nisbet needs replaced for me!

Mueller for Jasper

lets hope Mueller has taken some positive vibes from the book he has apparently been handing out in the dressing room!

Really tight offside call but didn't need to be. Guy has got wrong side so Nisbet just needs to hold his run, he can give himself half a yard and still be in easily.

Get Nisbet off, he’s offering nothing.

Get Nisbet off, waste of a jersey and booked now for a silly foul.

13-02-2022, 12:55 PM
Nisbet needs replaced for me!

Are you any good ?

Nicky low doenst look in the best shape [emoji38]

Get Riordan on.

AZhibee
Get Doidge on

Are you any good ?

I’ve a cracking turn of pace over half a step if that’s any good?

Getting fed up of nisbet

SCORING GOALS THAT IS

Nisbet is hopeless.

get johnnyboy on

13-02-2022, 12:56 PM
Low looks about 2 stone overweight. Beer belly and tits on him FFS.

Arbroath being cruel to be kind with that substitution 😉

Skol
This sub doesn’t look fit enough !

Saint Hibee
Cadden’s final ball is rarely that great.

Get Jasper on.

Get the wonderkid on for Nisbet.

We need to get back to doing that ball in the net thing.

steviehibsleith
Guess Maloney doesn’t see how rubbish Nisbet is, how long do you persist with a goal scorer who doesn’t score. Also gives the ball away constantly with stupid flicks.

well knew that would work lol brilliant finish

Nicky low doenst look in the best shape [emoji38]

Another who needs to bite the bullet and get rid of the comb over and shave his head.

Paloschi
13-02-2022, 12:57 PM
Get David Mitchell on

Get Nisbet on.

Finally!

LK1
Great goal by Nisbet!

What a player Nisbet is. Superb, always said it.

Yaaaaas 2-1 Nisbet.

woop woop :flag::flag:

Brilliant

Guess Maloney doesn’t see how rubbish Nisbet is, how long do you persist with a goal scorer who doesn’t score. Also gives the ball away constantly with stupid flicks.

lol

One Kevin Nisbet 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

See that Nisbet ? Some player.

hibee62
Get Nisbet off!