View Full Version : Griffiths
16-01-2022, 05:38 PM
What kind of wages do people think Griffiths would take if he went to Hibs? Could he 'do a job'? Normally I would say that's him finished, but for me he could still be a really good sub to bring on with a few minutes to go. Don't know if he would still be worth the gamble, but interested to hear other people's thoughts.
16-01-2022, 05:41 PM
If he done a Thommo until the end of the season, decided to knuckle down then yes.
16-01-2022, 05:41 PM
Why would he be a really good for us when he has been absolutely ***** for ages?
Its not just bad form, physically he is a disgrace.
That's purely down to attitude
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
16-01-2022, 05:42 PM
Just no. He’s yesterday’s man, hibee credentials or not.
id be absolutely astonished if maloney would want him anywhere near Hibs
16-01-2022, 05:43 PM
Defo yes - if we played by NFL rules and were allowed to bring a kicker on just for free kicks. His belly could also be as big as mine and it wouldn't matter.
16-01-2022, 05:50 PM
This is not a player in the right condition to play in a high pressing system.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FIWZvVDX0AEg11x?format=jpg&name=900x900
16-01-2022, 05:50 PM
He should be absolutely nowhere near Hibs. His time is well and truly over at this level and he'll likely be retired within the next 18 months to 2 years.
It's a shame as he's only 31 and should still have a lot to give but he's miles off it.
hibee1875
16-01-2022, 05:52 PM
Can’t wait till he retires so we can go a transfer window without people asking if he could do a job here
Juice-Terry
16-01-2022, 05:55 PM
The only job he could do for us now is tasting all the pies...
16-01-2022, 06:01 PM
Absolute and complete no. With all due respect, anyone wanting him here is utterly barking.
16-01-2022, 06:04 PM
End up at Kelty Hearts
16-01-2022, 06:06 PM
End up at Kelty Hearts
No chance. :greengrin
16-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Christ no.
16-01-2022, 06:11 PM
Wouldn't even want him if he played for free. Finished on the park and an arse off it.
16-01-2022, 06:13 PM
No
I don’t think we should be signing him again
hibby rae
16-01-2022, 06:14 PM
Even if he was at the peak of fitness and had been on form for Dundee it would still be a no.
He's a problematic individual and I'd rather not see that at Hibs.
No from me. Would be a step backwards. Griffiths had his day. Great memories but we need players on the up not on the down.
16-01-2022, 06:19 PM
That photo hurts the eyes. I wish him well and if he can sort himself out I'd love to see him back with us in the summer. Ball is in your court Leigh....
16-01-2022, 06:19 PM
He’s miles past it, would take him 6 months to get fit.
He’s plenty ability in his left foot but he doesn’t have the attitude, fitness or sharpness to use it.
16-01-2022, 06:21 PM
He's got far too much baggage for us to sign him. Would be on the front on the papers more than the back.
16-01-2022, 06:26 PM
He had the world at his feet and he made an arse of it.
No thanks.
A real pity.
16-01-2022, 06:27 PM
Until last summer I would have taken a chance on him.
After the latest off field nonsense and the shape he was in during the recent game at ER? No chance.
The ship has well and truly sailed. I hope for his sake he gets himself sorted out but ultimately football is a ruthless business. The risks outweigh the potential reward on all known evidence now.
16-01-2022, 06:28 PM
I think we all know my opinion
16-01-2022, 06:33 PM
Wouldn’t have taken him last year, wouldn’t be anywhere near him this year. Just like Thomson selling his soul to Rangers, Griffiths has done the exact same with the other lot along the M8. Couple that with his attitude and fitness, and top it off with his vile off field behaviour and it’s a recipe for absolute disaster.
16-01-2022, 06:53 PM
What a total decline in the space of 3-4 years. You always felt that he had the potential to be a top player possibly high English premiership level , he also has the potential to end up with his career well and truly over before it needed to be. Its a shame the decisions he has made that have seen him with his career over at 31 and on a steep decline since he was 27 .. Those years should have seen him at his peak and probably playing at a higher level than Celtic. He can only blame himself though as he had plenty of warnings and opportunities to change his lifestyle
For me though , i will always remember him fondly for his couple of seasons at the club , he was outstanding and ridiculously unplayable at times
16-01-2022, 06:55 PM
He's defo not a George Best, so thanks for the memories but it's a big no I'm afraid.
16-01-2022, 06:57 PM
He’s a shadow if the player he was. No chance he’ll play for Hibs again. I prefer to remember the goals he scored for Hibs and Scotland.
LunasBoots
16-01-2022, 07:07 PM
Too much baggage now, the past player I would take but his heads quite obviously not in the game.
Highwayman
16-01-2022, 07:21 PM
I would agree with other posters that it is an absolute shame that Griffith’s career has went from hero to zero in such a short time.
But he has nobody to blame but himself.Both Celtic and Dundee this season we’re prepared to give him another chance.But he couldn’t be trusted.
Surely there can’t be anyone left in the delusional “Bring Him Home Brigade”that would want him back to ER.
IMO this is an insult to a club the size of Hibs that they would even consider a deadbeat like Grifiths.
16-01-2022, 07:23 PM
I would agree with other posters that it is an absolute shame that Griffith’s career has went from hero to zero in such a short time.
But he has nobody to blame but himself.Both Celtic and Dundee this season we’re prepared to give him another chance.But he couldn’t be trusted.
Surely there can’t be anyone left in the delusional “Bring Him Home Brigade”that would want him back to ER.
IMO this is an insult to a club the size of Hibs that they would even consider a deadbeat like Grifiths.
Correct. He might get a game in the lower leagues.
16-01-2022, 07:24 PM
I really hope he sorts himself out, but he’s not at the level we need. He should drop down to a championship club and get himself back in shape, he could still have a good few years in him if he wants it. He’s been in a really dark place recently and I worry he might be finished.
mikefadge
16-01-2022, 07:31 PM
I think we all know my opinion
:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :hyper
e2los
16-01-2022, 07:48 PM
I can't believe he wouldn't be worth a punt if he got his heid together.
Like to think we would take him in for training; obviously he is miles off the mark currently, would love to watch him play for us again.
Even if he didn't get a game other than in friendlies, I think it would help him and to be perfectly honest he needs all the help he can get.
16-01-2022, 07:59 PM
I hope he goes to Dunfermline with yogi, maybe he could get him back on track, so many stupid decisions and mistakes but with hard work( unlikely as it seems) he could go again next season
16-01-2022, 07:59 PM
Like to think we would take him in for training; obviously he is miles off the mark currently, would love to watch him play for us again.
Even if he didn't get a game other than in friendlies, I think it would help him and to be perfectly honest he needs all the help he can get.He needs to start helping himself
We ain't a rehabilitation facility
16-01-2022, 08:00 PM
Even if he didn't get a game other than in friendlies, I think it would help him and to be perfectly honest he needs all the help he can get.
Why though? As someone already posted earlier, would you be feeling the same if he wasnt a Hibs fan who had already played for the club? And when it comes to help , he really needed to help himself first and foremost, which he clearly hasn’t bothered to do .
16-01-2022, 08:31 PM
Exactly. If Aberdeen signed Griffiths folk would end themselves laughing and think Glass had lost his marbles. Dundee who are scraping around at the bottom of the league wanted to cancel his loan. Says it all sadly for him.
Gaffer1875
16-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Love LG but he’s finished IMO.
16-01-2022, 08:50 PM
i do hope he's been wise with the money he's earnt, i doubt very much he will see any more big pay day transfers/salaries
hope he's in a relatively good place mentally
16-01-2022, 08:54 PM
We need to leave this man alone on here rather than batter him to bits in my opinion. Shameful stuff.
16-01-2022, 08:55 PM
The phrase “not with a twenty foot barge pole” comes to mind.
16-01-2022, 09:00 PM
Cloud cuckoo land. Get a grip and focus on what’s good for our club.
Stokesy's on fire
16-01-2022, 09:08 PM
Not good enough for Hibs these days and a liability we could do without.
MixuMac
16-01-2022, 09:10 PM
If he is lucky a team like Dunfermline might take a chance and give him a 6 month deal
With a bit hard work and will power it doesnt take long to get into shape.
Is he up for that though?
16-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Why would he do that for us when he couldn’t bother his arse to become a Celtic legend on a huge wage and carry on playing for Scotland? He’s shown for years he can’t be arsed and that’s not going to change now.
16-01-2022, 09:28 PM
Doesn’t look like it. He’s been with Dundee long enough to get himself in shape. For whatever reason, he isn’t.
Looks like he joins a fairly recent list of “if only” players to have lost their way. Sad, but true.
mcohibs
16-01-2022, 09:28 PM
We need to leave this man alone on here rather than batter him to bits in my opinion. Shameful stuff.
No one would be discussing him at all if not for threads started like this talking about his possible return to Hibs.
If he'd bothered his arse to get fit we would have walked into a Scotland team playing in their first major finals in decades. Biggest season in celtic's history going for ten in a row and he comes back for pre season overweight. What makes people think that he'd be motivated to play for us?
He's miles off it and has shown time and time again to be a poor professional. That's not slating him, it's just the truth.
16-01-2022, 09:34 PM
He’s already answered that himself this season
16-01-2022, 09:49 PM
No one would be discussing him at all if not for threads started like this talking about his possible return to Hibs.
If he'd bothered his arse to get fit we would have walked into a Scotland team playing in their first major finals in decades. Biggest season in celtic's history going for ten in a row and he comes back for pre season overweight. What makes people think that he'd be motivated to play for us?
He's miles off it and has shown time and time again to be a poor professional. That's not slating him, it's just the truth.
There’s a discussion about him most days not just this one . It’s awful and it always ends up with getting the boot stuck in to him. Needless treatment really.
The Baldmans Comb
16-01-2022, 09:52 PM
He had the world at his feet and he made an arse of it.
No thanks.
A real pity.
LG did win 7 SPL titles, 3 Scottish Cups, 4 League cups and took part in 6 Champions League campaigns and 5 Europa Leagues.
Estimated Celtic career earnings £10million.
But apart from that "What did the Romans ever do for us".🤔
16-01-2022, 09:55 PM
Short term deal, sure.
16-01-2022, 10:12 PM
LG did win 7 SPL titles, 3 Scottish Cups, 4 League cups and took part in 6 Champions League campaigns and 5 Europa Leagues.
Estimated Celtic career earnings £10million.
But apart from that "What did the Romans ever do for us".🤔
Not to mention multiple criminal records and a belly the size of mine now. His earnings are also fairly irrelevant considering what he has done with them.
16-01-2022, 10:16 PM
As a footballer, the 2022 version of Griffiths is not good enough for eleventh placed Dundee with a friendly manager so he's nowhere near good enough for Hibs who are aiming for third.
16-01-2022, 10:36 PM
Well apologies if it offended you, that wasn't my intention. It was merely a suggestion using him as somebody to come on for say the last few minutes of a game. I didn't say we should definitely sign him.
He's here!
16-01-2022, 10:58 PM
Not so very long ago I'd have been thrilled to have him back but these days he reminds me of a latter day Riordan. A sparkling talent on his day but whose zest/love for the game just doesn't seem to be there any more. Why that would be for players with so much ability is hard to know. Part of me is tempted to think Hibs are the one club which might sort him out but that's really just wishful thinking unfortunately.
kevinc
16-01-2022, 11:03 PM
Not to mention multiple criminal records and a belly the size of mine now. His earnings are also fairly irrelevant considering what he has done with them.
What are the multiple criminal records, think you are slavering?
16-01-2022, 11:42 PM
Thank god. A proper post. We all go on about MH, this could be a huge case
17-01-2022, 05:14 AM
It would be nice to think that a bit more compassion in some quarters could be shown to a former player and one for whom there was reported issues relating to mental health. Or maybe the campaigns have fallen short or don’t apply to football players or some thing issues don’t reoccur.
Yorkshire HFC
17-01-2022, 05:18 AM
Thank god. A proper post. We all go on about MH, this could be a huge case
Exactly - he has had a brilliant career - he's won the PL 7 times, won countless cups, played for Scotland, been the best player in the country.
Yet people who know nothing about him come on here and critisise him. I wonder how their career achievements rank alongside his?
Not many people on this website (me included) know what it takes to be a top level athlete - the sacrifice it takes and the toll on the body and mind - I bet he's pretty happy with what he's achieved - I'm sure it's more than he could have hoped for when he started out.
17-01-2022, 07:23 AM
Why would he do that for us when he couldn’t bother his arse to become a Celtic legend on a huge wage and carry on playing for Scotland? He’s shown for years he can’t be arsed and that’s not going to change now.
I think it’s a bit more than he couldn’t bother his arse. The guy has got problems that are more important than football.
17-01-2022, 07:28 AM
I don't think any of us can really appreciate the mental toll it takes being a high profile professional footballer playing for one of the old firm. It will undoubtedly be a pressure that most people simply don't face in their life.
At the same time however LG has done things through his own choices that have added to that pressure. Messaging young girls on social media or kicking flares into crowds can't be blamed on poor mental health.
17-01-2022, 07:31 AM
A person can only have one record.
17-01-2022, 07:37 AM
There’s a discussion about him most days not just this one . It’s awful and it always ends up with getting the boot stuck in to him. Needless treatment really.
You're right.
There's no way to discuss LG without someone suggesting that a return to Hibs might be good for both parties.
Unfortunately, there's also no way to oppose that suggestion without giving reasons, and those reasons are not pretty.
Me? I'd give him a 3 month contract on a small retainer. If he could lose 20lbs in that time and show focus and determination in training, then think about extending.
Of course, that's purely fantasy because Hibs won't go near him.
17-01-2022, 08:09 AM
Exactly - he has had a brilliant career - he's won the PL 7 times, won countless cups, played for Scotland, been the best player in the country.
Yet people who know nothing about him come on here and critisise him. I wonder how their career achievements rank alongside his?
Not many people on this website (me included) know what it takes to be a top level athlete - the sacrifice it takes and the toll on the body and mind - I bet he's pretty happy with what he's achieved - I'm sure it's more than he could have hoped for when he started out.That goes for all footballer players then
They have probably all achieved more than pretty much everyone on this board
I don't see what makes Leigh Griffiths special and exempt from a negative opinion
17-01-2022, 08:13 AM
You're right.
There's no way to discuss LG without someone suggesting that a return to Hibs might be good for both parties.
Unfortunately, there's also no way to oppose that suggestion without giving reasons, and those reasons are not pretty.
Me? I'd give him a 3 month contract on a small retainer. If he could lose 20lbs in that time and show focus and determination in training, then think about extending.
Of course, that's purely fantasy because Hibs won't go near him.
I would add the proviso that when LG was not training or playing he lives in a monks cell on site at East Mains. :greengrin
17-01-2022, 08:16 AM
Even if you take away the baggage that comes with him and just concentrate on him as a footballer, then it's a definite no. He's done. He's nowhere near the Leigh Griffiths that was at us on loan (showed no interest in being at Hibs permanent either, so we shouldn't entertain him now he's finished).
His level is Scottish Championship.
17-01-2022, 08:18 AM
I would definitely give LG the opportunity to resurrect his career at Hibs. I am quietly confident he would pull his socks up, get on with it and do us a turn. I saw what he can do, he can do it again with some support and encouragement.
17-01-2022, 08:19 AM
Very sad to firstly see Leighs career just drift away but sadder to see him being derided on here. He was phenomenal for us and his goals v hearts and the amazing strike v falkirk at hampden I've watched to death. I'll always welcome him back if it every happened and maybe,just maybe, we are the only club he seems happy at. He has won an amazing haul of medals so those criticising him presumably have won loads at top level sport. Mmmm.
17-01-2022, 08:19 AM
Not many people on this website (me included) know what it takes to be a top level athlete - the sacrifice it takes and the toll on the body and mind - I bet he's pretty happy with what he's achieved - I'm sure it's more than he could have hoped for when he started out.
The problem is people do know about him - he has a career in the public eye and as such people can see what he’s up to and how out of shape he looks.
People may not know the full reasons for that, but if you were to offer me an overweight footballer who had been released by Celtic and Dundee wanted to return from his loan early and you didn’t give me the name Leigh Griffiths then 100 out of 100 people on here would go “absolutely not”.
And I’m guessing most people on here haven’t been making a living off being a professional athlete so goodness knows what your comment about their career achievements is all about.
I really hope he can turn his career around and sort out the reasons why his career is in the doldrums - I truly do - but to even suggest that he should be doing that at Hibs is crazy.
17-01-2022, 08:23 AM
I would definitely give LG the opportunity to resurrect his career at Hibs. I am quietly confident he would pull his socks up, get on with it and do us a turn. I saw what he can do, he can do it again with some support and encouragement.
I'm glad you don't get to make that decision.
17-01-2022, 08:23 AM
I'm glad you don't get to make that decision.
and with that, neither do you!
17-01-2022, 08:25 AM
Very sad to firstly see Leighs career just drift away but sadder to see him being derided on here. He was phenomenal for us and his goals v hearts and the amazing strike v falkirk at hampden I've watched to death. I'll always welcome him back if it every happened and maybe,just maybe, we are the only club he seems happy at. He has won an amazing haul of medals so those criticising him presumably have won loads at top level sport. Mmmm.
If people can only comment on a player if they’ve won multiple professional football medals then we may as well shut down .net entirely.
KDY Hibs
17-01-2022, 08:34 AM
You know what he spent 10m on?
17-01-2022, 08:35 AM
17-01-2022, 08:44 AM
I would add the proviso that when LG was not training or playing he lives in a monks cell on site at East Mains. :greengrin
Self defeating, GG.
His nads will weigh the 20lbs he lost from his belly!
17-01-2022, 08:53 AM
It would be nice to think that a bit more compassion in some quarters could be shown to a former player and one for whom there was reported issues relating to mental health. Or maybe the campaigns have fallen short or don’t apply to football players or some thing issues don’t reoccur.
Hard to stick up for someone who keeps making mistakes. There are loads of folk with mental health issues that don't act the way he does.
17-01-2022, 08:55 AM
Did he earn £10M while at celtic? I'd be surprised if he even made half that.
17-01-2022, 09:08 AM
He is the opposite of what it looks like we are going after in signings these days. Young, hungry players who can improve and be sold on for a profit. He is none if these and added to the fact that it looks like he just cannae be bothered working hard then I would suggest he won't be near Hibs any time soon.
17-01-2022, 09:32 AM
Did he earn £10M while at celtic? I'd be surprised if he even made half that.
Even at £20,000 a week for 5 years is just over £5 million. Take away tax, NI and you are down to £3 million. Then living expenses, 5 kids and gambling and I don't think there will be much left. He's 31 so lots of living and expenses to go.
17-01-2022, 09:50 AM
He seemed pretty happy for years at Celtc. And he seemed pretty happy to leave us.
It's a myth that he fits in at ER any more than anywhere else.
17-01-2022, 09:57 AM
You’re mixing two separate things here.
As a human being, I wish him well.
As a potential signing, it’s a hard pass, largely due to his inability to live like a professional sportsman. This may well be related to his mental health, but when it comes to thinking what our club needs it’s a hard headed and fairly easy ‘no’.
17-01-2022, 10:00 AM
He seemed pretty happy for years at Celtc. And he seemed pretty happy to leave us.
It's a myth that he fits in at ER any more than anywhere else.
I think he was a good fit for us but he prioritised the money on offer at Celtc.
Fair enough, but the last opportunity to become a Hibs player was last summer and he let it slip.
Saint Hibee
17-01-2022, 10:20 AM
He scored an amazing goal for Dundee a couple of weeks ago. Not quite as done as some posters seem to think …
H18S NX
17-01-2022, 10:36 AM
Nah,not for me once you kiss the ceptic badge, that's enough,sorry.
Eaststand
17-01-2022, 11:07 AM
Good post this Iggy.
LG has faults, we all have, but some of the comments about him on here are OTT
17-01-2022, 02:03 PM
He scored an amazing goal for Dundee a couple of weeks ago. Not quite as done as some posters seem to think …
Unfortunately, it isn't like American Football where we can just bring him on whenever there's a set piece and then bring him off again.
17-01-2022, 02:43 PM
It would seem the best thing for him would be to disappear from the limelight and get whatever help he needs.
As a potential signing for Hibs? Never.
Hibs might be the best place for him.Focus on fitness.
Could be an absolute steal.
The Baldmans Comb
17-01-2022, 03:36 PM
What a load of ignorant ill informed garbage and baseless speculation.
17-01-2022, 03:50 PM
Once he started texting wee girls, any sympathy surely disappeared?
17-01-2022, 03:54 PM
Dundee want to keep him.
17-01-2022, 03:55 PM
He’s not had it in him to knuckle down and sort himself out at Celtc or Dundee. I’m not sure we should be giving him a third chance at doing so.
17-01-2022, 03:55 PM
What did they say?
17-01-2022, 04:03 PM
Yep, he's scored twice for Dundee since he joined them.
17-01-2022, 04:11 PM
If I was Leigh I wouldn't be worried about finding a new club I would be looking to spend the rest of.the season getting fit and having a few more years left at a top level.
Not sure how many last chances he wants but the guy obviously ain't interested in football at the moment in my opinion.
17-01-2022, 04:13 PM
If I was Leigh I wouldn't be worried about finding a new club I would be looking to spend the rest of.the season getting fit and having a few more years left at a top level.
Not sure how many last chances he wants but the guy obviously ain't interested in football at the moment in my opinion.
It's probably came easy to him all his life. Built like a twig and young with energy and an out of this world talent. Now there's some more work involved it's probably hard to take/adjust.
Inconsequential
17-01-2022, 04:15 PM
Hard to stick up for someone who keeps making mistakes. There are loads of folk with mental health issues that don't act the way he does. Mental health can affect people in different ways. Some withdraw, some lash out and make errors of judgement then torture themselves over the mistakes they made. Mental health issues are not black and white and sufferers require help not criticism. It can be very complicated. Been there and got the t-shirt.
Hibiza
17-01-2022, 04:16 PM
All the best Leigh.
King Cosell
17-01-2022, 04:28 PM
I'd wager David Beckham can still hit a free kick.
Stanton Spence
17-01-2022, 04:38 PM
Mental health can affect people in different ways. Some withdraw, some lash out and make errors of judgement then torture themselves over the mistakes they made. Mental health issues are not black and white and sufferers require help not criticism. It can be very complicated. Been there and got the t-shirt.Well said and well put [emoji1303] I've also been there myself bud
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
17-01-2022, 05:16 PM
17-01-2022, 05:17 PM
I don't think anyone wishes LG ill on a human level. He has well documented health issues and it's in everyone's interests, particularly that of LG and his family, if he can get the help he needs to resolve those.
Hibs aren't a rehab facility though. Whilst we have a duty of care to our own players, we aren't obliged to offer anyone else 3rd or 4th chances. That's hard nosed but that's the type of business football is. Had LG shown anything in the last couple of seasons to suggest he was capable of getting close to the player he once was then it may have been something we would have looked at. Any such evidence is thin on the ground though. Is an out of shape, out of form and volatile striker really what we need to be spending money on when we are focusing on a run at Europe and the Scottish Cup? If it was anyone other than LG there wouldn't be a single person entertaining the idea.
There doesn't have to be conflation of the 2 issues. I hope LG gets himself in to a good place mentally and physically. I hope someone takes a punt on him and allows him to resurrect his career at some level. If this thread is solely asking is he an option that I want Hibs to be considering then it's a resounding no and anyone thinking with their head rather than their heart surely agrees.
17-01-2022, 05:19 PM
I don't think anyone wishes LG ill on a human level. He has well documented health issues and it's in everyone's interests, particularly that of LG and his family, if he can get the help he needs to resolve those.
Hibs aren't a rehab facility though. Whilst we have a duty of care to our own players, we aren't obliged to offer anyone else 3rd or 4th chances. That's hard nosed but that's the type of business football is. Had LG shown anything in the last couple of seasons to suggest he was capable of getting close to the player he once was then it may have been something we would have looked at. Any such evidence is thin on the ground though. Is an out of shape, out of form and volatile striker really what we need to be spending money on when we are focusing on a run at Europe and the Scottish Cup? If it was anyone other than LG there wouldn't be a single person entertaining the idea.
There doesn't have to be conflation of the 2 issues. I hope LG gets himself in to a good place mentally and physically. I hope someone takes a punt on him and allows him to resurrect his career at some level. If this thread is solely asking is he an option that I want Hibs to be considering then it's a resounding no and anyone thinking with their head rather than their heart surely agrees.Well summed up [emoji106]
Crammond Hibee
17-01-2022, 09:09 PM
What kind of wages do people think Griffiths would take if he went to Hibs? Could he 'do a job'? Normally I would say that's him finished, but for me he could still be a really good sub to bring on with a few minutes to go. Don't know if he would still be worth the gamble, but interested to hear other people's thoughts.
No
Not good enough for Dundee even
Crammond Hibee
17-01-2022, 09:12 PM
Even if you take away the baggage that comes with him and just concentrate on him as a footballer, then it's a definite no. He's done. He's nowhere near the Leigh Griffiths that was at us on loan (showed no interest in being at Hibs permanent either, so we shouldn't entertain him now he's finished).
His level is Scottish Championship.
Agreed
Hibees1973
17-01-2022, 09:17 PM
Can this thread be deleted.
Down with this sort of thing.....someone of his character should be nowhere near ER.
17-01-2022, 10:18 PM
He wont be coming to hibs so nowt to talk about. Hes done
Thread is an ugly read. Admin is it time to delete?
17-01-2022, 10:48 PM
What a load of ignorant ill informed garbage and baseless speculation.
Is it? He’s been done for being a racist, was fined for trying to assault a security guard, is awaiting trial for booting a smoke bomb into a stand. That’s just the stuff that broke the law, never mind his lack of morals. He’s quite clearly overweight for a professional athlete. And finally I think it’s clear to everyone he’s *****ed a very large chunk of his earnings to date, he’d admit so himself!
17-01-2022, 10:52 PM
Anyone who is a convicted racist doesn’t have a place in my club. To then double down on that charge with a tweet not long after it is mental. Coupled with the fact he’s due up in court shortly and going to miss a huge chunk of football in scotland once that’s settled then it’s laughable that anyone wants that cretin near our club again. Waste of space!
17-01-2022, 11:14 PM
Anyone who is a convicted racist doesn’t have a place in my club. To then double down on that charge with a tweet not long after it is mental. Coupled with the fact he’s due up in court shortly and going to miss a huge chunk of football in scotland once that’s settled then it’s laughable that anyone wants that cretin near our club again. Waste of space!
What was the racist offence he was convicted of again? Genuine question
17-01-2022, 11:23 PM
What was the racist offence he was convicted of again? Genuine question
He was charged for tweeting one boy to ‘**** off back to his own country’ and also partaking in the Skacel refugee song.
17-01-2022, 11:28 PM
He was charged for tweeting one boy to ‘**** off back to his own country’ and also partaking in the Skacel refugee song.
Cheers. I recalled there was something but couldn’t remember details.
Thought I was confusing the Skacel chant with deeks but think bizarrely they both got filmed singing the same song right enough!
17-01-2022, 11:45 PM
Cheers. I recalled there was something but couldn’t remember details.
Thought I was confusing the Skacel chant with deeks but think bizarrely they both got filmed singing the same song right enough!
Both braindead idiots.
18-01-2022, 12:23 AM
Both braindead idiots.
Idiot.
Stanton Spence
18-01-2022, 12:40 AM
Both braindead idiots.Get a life
And it's our club not just your club
18-01-2022, 12:44 AM
Get a life
Are they not? Think it’s fairly clear if either had half a brain they’d have been playing at the very top of the game and not getting into the bother they got into off the field. Both were filmed and charged for racist singing. Both had multiple other brushes with the law during their careers.
A bit touchy it seems. Hope Griffiths rots in the reserves at some pish like Elgin.
Stanton Spence
18-01-2022, 12:47 AM
Are they not? Think it’s fairly clear if either had half a brain they’d have been playing at the very top of the game and not getting into the bother they got into off the field. Both were filmed and charged for racist singing. Both had multiple other brushes with the law during their careers.
A bit touchy it seems. Hope Griffiths rots in the reserves at some pish like Elgin.Not everyone is born as smart as you seem to come across and people can make multiple mistakes without being braindead cretins
18-01-2022, 12:50 AM
Not everyone is born as smart as you seem to come across and people can make multiple mistakes without being braindead cretins
Being caught multiple times a racist isn’t mistakes. Thankfully it doesn’t require someone to be smart to understand that. It’s pretty embarrassing that we’re having this conversation just because Griffiths supports the same club as us.
18-01-2022, 12:57 AM
Going to buck the general trend....too right id take Griffiths on at Hibs. Short term deal/,low wages, what's the harm? In don't think he's as much of a disruptive influence as folk think either. Blown way out of proportion. Many should go and watch his outstanding free kick he scored a few weeks ago against Aberdeen and then then me the last time a Hibs player scored a free kick like that.
Out of shape abit? Yep.
Done? Please, not a chance.
Stanton Spence
18-01-2022, 12:58 AM
Being caught multiple times a racist isn’t mistakes. Thankfully it doesn’t require someone to be smart to understand that. It’s pretty embarrassing that we’re having this conversation just because Griffiths supports the same club as us.It's got nothing to do who Leigh Griffiths supports. I just don't think that either off them deserve half the stick they get because they didn't make the most of the talent they both had.
I'm not denying that both of them have made a shop front of their talents etc but I wouldn't call anyone I don't know from Adam braindead cretins
18-01-2022, 01:07 AM
It's got nothing to do who Leigh Griffiths supports. I just don't think that either off them deserve half the stick they get because they didn't make the most of the talent they both had.
I'm not denying that both of them have made a shop front of their talents etc but I wouldn't call anyone I don't know from Adam braindead cretins
Fair play. Nothing to do with not making the most of their talent and everything to do with being a racist - multiple times.
gegs70
18-01-2022, 01:07 AM
I think Leigh Griffiths is a decent footballer, with the right manager and support I think he still has something to offer.....
18-01-2022, 01:31 AM
A bit touchy it seems. Hope Griffiths rots in the reserves at some pish like Elgin.
Calling people brain dead idiots, cretins, hoping a footballer rots in a pish Elgin reserve team. What an angry wee man you are. I wonder if you are that brave in real life. You know, when you aren't hiding behind a keyboard?
Stanton Spence
18-01-2022, 02:13 AM
Calling people brain dead idiots, cretins, hoping a footballer rots in a pish Elgin reserve team. What an angry wee man you are. I wonder if you are that brave in real life. You know, when you aren't hiding behind a keyboard?I think we both know the answer bud [emoji1303]
18-01-2022, 04:47 AM
I'm delighted Hibs are not stupid enough to touch him.
18-01-2022, 07:20 AM
Calling people brain dead idiots, cretins, hoping a footballer rots in a pish Elgin reserve team. What an angry wee man you are. I wonder if you are that brave in real life. You know, when you aren't hiding behind a keyboard?
Brave? Angry? At a racist? At a guy who chats up young girls? At a guy who tried to assault a security guard? Honestly this place is mental. Why wouldn’t you call someone with that history braindead and a cretin? Couldn’t care less who it is or what team they play for or support. It’s disgusting. There’s more hatred on this place towards a guy who said he wanted to manage Rangers than there is for that waste of space.
18-01-2022, 08:21 AM
Brave? Angry? At a racist? At a guy who chats up young girls? At a guy who tried to assault a security guard? Honestly this place is mental. Why wouldn’t you call someone with that history braindead and a cretin? Couldn’t care less who it is or what team they play for or support. It’s disgusting. There’s more hatred on this place towards a guy who said he wanted to manage Rangers than there is for that waste of space.
You seem awful angry at LG, is it personal? I get what you are saying although some of what you say I'm unaware of such as him being a racist?
18-01-2022, 08:49 AM
You seem awful angry at LG, is it personal? I get what you are saying although some of what you say I'm unaware of such as him being a racist?
He plead guilty in court after being video’d singing the Skacel song, and then told someone on Twitter to ‘**** off back to your own country’. I’d like to think I’m angry at all racists, this happens to be a conversation about Griffiths coming back to play for Hibs and he’s not welcome anywhere near here in my opinion.
Rumble de Thump
18-01-2022, 09:01 AM
He plead guilty in court after being video’d singing the Skacel song, and then told someone on Twitter to ‘**** off back to your own country’. I’d like to think I’m angry at all racists, this happens to be a conversation about Griffiths coming back to play for Hibs and he’s not welcome anywhere near here in my opinion.
Just a small point, but telling someone to go back to their own country would be xenophobia rather than racism.
18-01-2022, 09:28 AM
Just a small point, but telling someone to go back to their own country would be xenophobia rather than racism.
Not when they were from this country and the prejudice was based completely on how they looked. Also whether someone is racist, xenophobic, homophobic or sectarian - for me they are all equal in their vileness.
Rumble de Thump
18-01-2022, 09:33 AM
Not when they were from this country and the prejudice was based completely on how they looked. Also whether someone is racist, xenophobic, homophobic or sectarian - for me they are all equal in their vileness.
No. It was definitely xenophobic rather than racist despite the tabloid headlines. You repeatedly said he'd been racist on multiple occasions. You gave an example of him joining in with a racist chant and an example of him making a xenophobic retort to a stranger who was abusing him on social media. There must be some other examples.
18-01-2022, 09:55 AM
Thanks for clarifying. Like you I dislike racists or xenophobes for that matter however, I would like to think a little education could resolve such behaviour especially knowing that LG is really just a silly laddie but I do appreciate your sentiment.
18-01-2022, 09:56 AM
No. It was definitely xenophobic rather than racist despite the tabloid headlines. You repeatedly said he'd been racist on multiple occasions. You gave an example of him joining in with a racist chant and an example of him making a xenophobic retort to a stranger who was abusing him on social media. There must be some other examples.
Interesting that Riordan has also been put under the “multiple times racist” claim during these rants.
No doubt both have made some less than sensible decisions during their careers. I think most laddies have. Having met and blethered with Deeks a few times, I wouldn’t write him off as a “braindead cretin”.
And I can’t fathom wanting Griffiths to rot in Elgin’s reserves either, despite not wanting him at Hibs. Hopefully he can get his livelihood back on track.. wherever and whatever that may be!
18-01-2022, 10:06 AM
Interesting that Riordan has also been put under the “multiple times racist” claim during these rants.
No doubt both have made some less than sensible decisions during their careers. I think most laddies have. Having met and blethered with Deeks a few times, I wouldn’t write him off as a “braindead cretin”.
And I can’t fathom wanting Griffiths to rot in Elgin’s reserves either, despite not wanting him at Hibs. Hopefully he can get his livelihood back on track.. wherever and whatever that may be!
Never once said Riordan was multiple times a racist. Made the comment in a post talking about Griffiths. The only thing said about Riordan was he was also caught singing the song and had other brushes with the law.
I think ‘less than sensible’ is a severe understatement when it comes to racism. Most laddies don’t partake in those particular activities.
18-01-2022, 10:10 AM
Is there a difference. Used to get that all the time in Scotland from football fans. I took it as racist.
18-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Never once said Riordan was multiple times a racist. Made the comment in a post talking about Griffiths. The only thing said about Riordan was he was also caught singing the song and had other brushes with the law.
I think ‘less than sensible’ is a severe understatement when it comes to racism. Most laddies don’t partake in those particular activities.
Apologies - that was my fault in misreading your post.
FWIW I do respect your hatred of racism, as I feel the same way. But people do make mistakes, quite often when following crowds and singing stupid songs.
18-01-2022, 10:30 AM
You classed Riordan in the same bracket for singing a song when he was pissed 20 years ago almost.
18-01-2022, 10:32 AM
You've obviously never been in the Roseburn bar or the Roseburn end on derby day then.
18-01-2022, 10:37 AM
You classed Riordan in the same bracket for singing a song when he was pissed 20 years ago almost.
Someone else brought the Riordan situation up. I called them both braindead idiots for their part in both songs, I don’t think that’s wrong and would say the same about anyone who does that.
18-01-2022, 10:39 AM
[/B]
You've obviously never been in the Roseburn bar or the Roseburn end on derby day then.
Your talking in the tens of people. That’s not ‘most laddies’. Honestly I won’t be changing my opinion on anyone who has been proven as a racist, and especially one who has been in and out of court more times than I can remember in recent years, and is due up again soon for moronic and dare I say it ‘braindead’ behaviour.
18-01-2022, 10:48 AM
Someone else brought the Riordan situation up. I called them both braindead idiots for their part in both songs, I don’t think that’s wrong and would say the same about anyone who does that.
Is calling someone a brain dead idiot ever not wrong? I’ve met both players and they’re just normal guys that happened to be really good at football.
18-01-2022, 10:51 AM
Is calling someone a brain dead idiot ever not wrong? I’ve met both players and they’re just normal guys that happened to be really good at football.
Exactly why I’d call them that. There’s no doubting they are normal people, decent to talk to etc. and then you look at some of the decisions they’ve taken, the choices they’ve made, the filth that they’ve ended up involved in and it’s clear they’re lacking something upstairs. There’s a lot of boys who are the e-,5 same, decent at football, decent to talk to, yet think about their actions and don’t end up in court multiple times and are remembered for their ability and not for their off field actions.
18-01-2022, 11:25 AM
That's the hibs.net equivelant to someone taking a huffy fit and saying that they hope your cat/hamster/rabbit dies or something else suitably passive aggressive.
Exactly why I’d call them that. There’s no doubting they are normal people, decent to talk to etc. and then you look at some of the decisions they’ve taken, the choices they’ve made, the filth that they’ve ended up involved in and it’s clear they’re lacking something upstairs. There’s a lot of boys who are the e-,5 same, decent at football, decent to talk to, yet think about their actions and don’t end up in court multiple times and are remembered for their ability and not for their off field actions.
It some moral crusade your on, almost a religious element to it.
18-01-2022, 11:47 AM
Funny all that insults to the poster himself, but no one has proven him wrong. Griffiths is all those things and should be nowhere near Hibernian. He's an absolute bellend.
18-01-2022, 12:06 PM
If everyone who sang the Skacel song is a racist then we have the most racist support in Britain.
#Istandwithdeeksandgriff :greengrin
18-01-2022, 12:07 PM
Funny all that insults to the poster himself, but no one has proven him wrong. Griffiths is all those things and should be nowhere near Hibernian. He's an absolute bellend.
Exactly. Don’t think anyone would doubt he used to be a half decent footballer. He’s as far removed from that as could be and bringing up one single goal weeks ago as the highlight of his last few years says it all.
Stokesy's on fire
18-01-2022, 12:09 PM
Leave Elgin City alone
18-01-2022, 12:10 PM
absolutely no chance we should go anywhere near him.
he isn’t anywhere near the same player anymore and his actions both on and off the park should see us avoid.
18-01-2022, 12:12 PM
Anyone know what his reg is as a BMW with reg LG 9 just about put me in hospital on my morning. Cycle to work…
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
18-01-2022, 12:13 PM
If everyone who sang the Skacel song is a racist then we have the most racist support in Britain.
There’s no ifs about it.
18-01-2022, 12:29 PM
Anyone know what his reg is as a BMW with reg LG 9 just about put me in hospital on my morning. Cycle to work…
Jeezo, cycling from Norfolk to Dundee every day would wear me out.....
18-01-2022, 12:44 PM
What are your thoughts on Martin Boyle?
18-01-2022, 12:49 PM
Your thoughts on the 1000s of fans who have sung that song at ER and other grounds, I take you had words with everyone who sung it.
18-01-2022, 12:54 PM
I guess if we don't address the big elephant sitting in the corner of the room then, very few of us who have suffered mental health issues will be due a break.
It's clear to me LG has his demons and pretty serious ones at that. 5 kids with maybe as many women pulling at him through the CMS for financial support will be stressful enough, who knows about the drinking/drugs/gambling some say he indulges in or the idiotic (might be out of character?) racist remarks he previously made? But I do think with some professional help he could turn it around, whether that be with Hibs or not. However, the challenges he currently faces, I do not think SM will be interested.
18-01-2022, 01:01 PM
I guess if we don't address the big elephant sitting in the corner of the room then, very few of us who have suffered mental health issues will be due a break.
It's clear to me LG has his demons and pretty serious ones at that. 5 kids with maybe as many women pulling at him through the CMS for financial support will be stressful enough, who knows about the drinking/drugs/gambling some say he indulges in or the idiotic (might be out of character) racist remarks he previously made but I do think with some professional help he could turn it around, whether that be with Hibs or not. However, the challenges he currently faces, I do not think SM will be interested.
Indeed,Mr Smith.
Well articulated
18-01-2022, 01:02 PM
Yip, it was belted out from our support many year’s ago, and it was literally 1000s of fans that sung it.
18-01-2022, 01:04 PM
What are your thoughts on Martin Boyle?
He was also a braindead idiot, who id hope has learnt a very harsh lesson. If he repeated that then I’d fully expect the club to cut all ties with him. Thankfully thus far it’s been an isolated incident with him rather than the norm.
18-01-2022, 01:04 PM
That belongs to the Gold brother’s family from Cramond.
18-01-2022, 01:07 PM
Your thoughts on the 1000s of fans who have sung that song at ER and other grounds, I take you had words with everyone who sung it.
Aye I went round every single person individually. Not really sure I can be any clearer in regards to anyone who is racist are braindead idiots. Whether that be the Skacel song, whether that be the old man at the derby, whether that be thousands in the crowds across the continent. If you don’t think they are braindead idiots then fair enough. It’s cretinous behaviour in my book.
18-01-2022, 01:09 PM
He was also a braindead idiot, who id hope has learnt a very harsh lesson. If he repeated that then I’d fully expect the club to cut all ties with him. Thankfully thus far it’s been an isolated incident with him rather than the norm.
Why do you bother supporting a club who have employed so many brain dead idiots, maybe watching football isn’t for you if you take it so personally.
Maybe take up watching bowls.
mcohibs
18-01-2022, 01:11 PM
Yip, it was belted out from our support many year’s ago, and it was literally 1000s of fans that sung it.
There's a reason both of them were punished for singing it years ago. It was wrong then and it's wrong now.
18-01-2022, 01:11 PM
Aye I went round every single person individually. Not really sure I can be any clearer in regards to anyone who is racist are braindead idiots. Whether that be the Skacel song, whether that be the old man at the derby, whether that be thousands in the crowds across the continent. If you don’t think they are braindead idiots then fair enough. It’s cretinous behaviour in my book.
My father in law is a bit racist but he is not braindead! I would love to be braindead to make £17kpm working for Saudi oil. However, his behaviour is unacceptable at points but it's more jokey than nasty and I'm not slow at telling him. He is 70 now and that is the way he was brought up on a farm outside Aberdeen. He'll never change and makes me and the missus cringe at times but definitely not braindead.
18-01-2022, 01:13 PM
Why do you bother supporting a club who have employed so many brain dead idiots, maybe watching football isn’t for you if you take it so personally.
Maybe take up watching bowls.
What a mental take that is. So because I don’t want a player who, by all accounts, is fairly overweight and not very good these days, and who also comes with a racist background, who is in the news more for his off field issues more than his on field performances, chats up young girls, is due up in court for firing a smoke bomb into a crowded area and is likely to miss a massive chunk of games I should stop supporting Hibs? 😂 Christ almighty.
For your information I’m currently watching the bowls now, not sure how relevant that is though, not sure Paul foster is about to sign for Hibs.
mcohibs
18-01-2022, 01:17 PM
My father in law is a bit racist but he is not braindead! I would love to be braindead to make £17kpm working for Saudi oil. However, his behaviour is unacceptable at points but it's more jokey than nasty and I'm not slow at telling him. He is 70 now and that is the way he was brought up on a farm outside Aberdeen. He'll never change and makes me and the missus cringe at times but definitely not braindead.
No such thing as a 'bit' racist. There are racists and non-racists, no inbetween.
18-01-2022, 01:18 PM
What a mental take that is. So because I don’t want a player who, by all accounts, is fairly overweight and not very good these days, and who also comes with a racist background, who is in the news more for his off field issues more than his on field performances, chats up young girls, is due up in court for firing a smoke bomb into a crowded area and is likely to miss a massive chunk of games I should stop supporting Hibs? �� Christ almighty.
For your information I’m currently watching the bowls now, not sure how relevant that is though, not sure Paul foster is about to sign for Hibs.
Those two instances are not as cut and dry as you make out. The young girl has come out publicly in support of him in regards to her age and her role in this and he kicked the smoke bomb out of anger at being called names by another support but unfortunately for him it ended up in the crowd.. Both unacceptable but not quite as you state.
18-01-2022, 01:19 PM
What a mental take that is. So because I don’t want a player who, by all accounts, is fairly overweight and not very good these days, and who also comes with a racist background, who is in the news more for his off field issues more than his on field performances, chats up young girls, is due up in court for firing a smoke bomb into a crowded area and is likely to miss a massive chunk of games I should stop supporting Hibs? 😂 Christ almighty.
You should switch off your telly and join your local Amateur Dramatic Society. You appear to more than a suitable fit for that......
18-01-2022, 01:21 PM
You should switch off your telly and join your local Amateur Dramatic Society. You appear to more than a suitable fit for that......
Dramatic for speaking out about racists? Very good.
18-01-2022, 01:22 PM
No such thing as a 'bit' racist. There are racists and non-racists, no inbetween.
I have to disagree. You miss out upbringing, experience and to a degree the person themselves. Making racist comments does not necessarily make the person a bona-fide racist, there is always room for development and recovery from hatred.
The term 'racism' is often poorly understood. The Oxford Dictionary defines it as, "Prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one's own race is superior." However, this is a simplified explanation of a complex issue.
18-01-2022, 01:25 PM
Those two instances are not as cut and dry as you make out. The young girl has come publicly in support of him in regards to her age and her role in this and he kicked the smoke bomb out of anger at being called names by another support but for unfortunately him, it ended up in the crowd.. Both unacceptable but not quite as you state.
I’m not going to go into the details as it’s been done to death on here, I’m just not a fan of any middle aged man chatting up girls of school age, I’d say it was more luck than judgement on his part that he never ended up in a heap of trouble.
The names part is irrelevant again, what he done was extremely dangerous j and I can’t see the courts, or the SFA taking a lenient view over it.
18-01-2022, 01:26 PM
I’m not going to go into the details as it’s been done to death on here, I’m just not a fan of any middle aged man chatting up girls of school age, I’d say it was more luck than judgement on his part that he never ended up in a heap of trouble.
The names part is irrelevant again, what he done was extremely dangerous j and I can’t see the courts, or the SFA taking a lenient view over it.
Bummer! Here's me at 54 thinking I was middle aged! :(
18-01-2022, 01:28 PM
I have to disagree. You miss out upbringing, experience and to a degree the person themselves. Making racist comments does not necessarily make the person a bona-fide racist, there is always room for development and recovery from hatred.
The term 'racism' is often poorly understood. The Oxford Dictionary defines it as, "Prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one's own race is superior." However, this is a simplified explanation of a complex issue.
I agree. It's possible to see the humour in the differences in cultures and accents etc without having a racist bone in your body.
It's when those differences are used to degrade, disadvantage or humiliate another individual that they become racist.
18-01-2022, 01:38 PM
Dramatic for speaking out about racists? Very good.
It's the relentless name calling that isn't helping you. Your opinions, which have some merit, will carry more weight when you quit the personal abuse though I doubt you will quit. You appear to try and seek attention at any cost.....
18-01-2022, 01:41 PM
Up until that song, nobody had a clue that calling someone a refugee was racist though.
The song was meant to be offensive, it wasn't a racist slur on the player.
18-01-2022, 01:41 PM
Riordan was pissed and daft for singing the song - just as many have sang it before and after him.
It doesn't make him a brain dead idiot though.
18-01-2022, 01:42 PM
Up until that song, nobody had a clue that calling someone a refugee was racist though.
Yeah I'm still not sure why it's classified as racists - it's ignorant though, it was implying Czech Republic is a **** tip full of refugees when it's a lovely country.
18-01-2022, 01:50 PM
I think that's probably right, a bit like singing songs to yams or weegies telling them to go back to their slum.
Of course, you'd never hear any British player being called a refugee so there was a rather large clue it might be racist.
mcohibs
18-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Yeah I'm still not sure why it's classified as racists - it's ignorant though, it was implying Czech Republic is a **** tip full of refugees when it's a lovely country.
It's racist. Essentially the same as singing the famine song to those of an Irish heritage.
18-01-2022, 01:51 PM
It's the relentless name calling that isn't helping you. Your opinions, which have some merit, will carry more weight when you quit the personal abuse though I doubt you will quit. You appear to try and seek attention at any cost.....
I’m not seeking attention, I’m making my feelings known about a guy who is nowhere near the level both on and off the field that I’d expect at Hibs. Same way as many in the ‘chants’ thread are making their points about those singing horrendous songs last night. It’s not name calling for name callings sake, it’s because they deserve it.
18-01-2022, 01:52 PM
Yet years after it had been confirmed as racist - Griffiths then took it upon himself to sing it while standing up on a chair to bring attention to himself doing so.
18-01-2022, 01:58 PM
It's racist. Essentially the same as singing the famine song to those of an Irish heritage.
Where do we stop? Is it racist calling people from Edinburgh Junkies with aids based on trainspotting? People from Aberdeen/Wales sheep ****gers? "feed the weegies" that racist? Eating dead rats and living in slums is about as offensive as being called a refugee (when there aren't or there is no refugee problem in CR).
Isn't the famine song against Celtic fans who pretend they are Irish, heritage or not?
18-01-2022, 02:01 PM
Think these kind of threads would be a better and more constructive read if posters made their point over a couple of posts and left it at that. There’s an art to making your point rather than just repeating the same points over and over.
Yet years after it had been confirmed as racist - Griffiths then took it upon himself to sing it while standing up on a chair to bring attention to himself doing so.
Have you a link to this confirmation and the reasoning behind why it's deemed racist?
Griffiths is a silly 'laddie' ? He's 30 odd for gawds sake.
18-01-2022, 02:03 PM
Where do we stop? Is it racist calling people from Edinburgh Junkies with aids based on trainspotting? People from Aberdeen/Wales sheep ****gers? "feed the weegies" that racist? Eating dead rats and living in slums is about as offensive as being called a refugee (when there aren't or there is no refugee problem in CR).
Isn't the famine song against Celtic fans who pretend they are Irish, heritage or not?
The Irish and the Czechs aren't races. I'm with you. It's not racism IMO.
But it's not about the labels, is it? It's about the ignorance, the offensiveness, the ***** behaviour, whether in the name of "banter" :rolleyes: or not.
18-01-2022, 02:06 PM
But it's not about the labels, is it? It's about the ignorance, the offensiveness, the ***** behaviour, whether in the name of "banter" :rolleyes: or not.
100%. :agree: the ignorance is more brain dead than racism imo also so I'm trying to belittle the song because I don't view it as racist.
18-01-2022, 02:06 PM
Think these kind of threads would be a better and more constructive read if posters made their point over a couple of posts and left it at that. There’s an art to making your point rather than just repeating the same points over and over.
Indeed.
I've been resisting the urge to say something sarky about the endless repetition!
Percy Vere
18-01-2022, 02:15 PM
No no no no no no no no no no no
Stokesy's on fire
18-01-2022, 02:19 PM
This thread alone is proof that LG is best avoided division division.
18-01-2022, 02:22 PM
I double-dare you to re-post that 3 or 4 times. :greengrin
18-01-2022, 02:26 PM
I don’t think anyone’s arguing he’s still a laddie, to be fair.
He is still silly though.
18-01-2022, 02:27 PM
I double-dare you to re-post that 30 or 40 times. :greengrin
ftfy
mcohibs
18-01-2022, 02:28 PM
The famine song was literally judged to be racist by a High Court of Judiciary about 15 years ago and subsequently banned in this country.
18-01-2022, 02:30 PM
The famine song was literally judged to be racist by a High Court of Judiciary about 15 years ago and subsequently banned in this country.
Thanks, didn't know that but I can see why although I don't necessarily agree with it.
Has the Skacel song?
18-01-2022, 02:39 PM
Indeed.
I've been resisting the urge to say something sarky about the endless repetition!
It's ridiculous:agree:
18-01-2022, 02:42 PM
It's ridiculous:agree:
🤣🤣🤣
KDY Hibs
18-01-2022, 02:52 PM
Sadly I fear he will get nowhere near fit enough to return to a decent consistent level. Such a shame really.
18-01-2022, 02:55 PM
🤣🤣🤣
Tbf, there is a difference between posting a smiley as a tired and badly timed joke at every opportunity, and making the same point every few minutes.
18-01-2022, 03:15 PM
I think that's probably right, a bit like singing songs to yams or weegies telling them to go back to their slum.
Of course, you'd never hear any British player being called a refugee so there was a rather large clue it might be racist.
Was it sung because he was from the Czech Republic?
If so, i don't really get the insult, it's a fine country.
If opposition fans sing the same about Chris Mueller would we call them racist or just stupid / ignorant?
18-01-2022, 03:22 PM
30? Jeez. What a condition to be in for a 30 year old proffesional footballer. He should have years left at the top level in Scotland but he's only going one way.
18-01-2022, 03:23 PM
If opposition fans sing the same about Chris Mueller would we call them racist or just stupid / ignorant?
It was sung because that’s what they identified as different about him..he was an Eastern European. it was the most hateful thing they could identify.
Not one we should be proud of. Reflects much more on. Those singing it, than the target.
18-01-2022, 03:26 PM
It does not have to be against races but also against ethnic groups - eastern Europeans, Jews, Latinos, Mexicans etc . Particularly those that are marginalised or in a minority. Try looking the word up in an online dictionary.
18-01-2022, 03:26 PM
Your talking in the tens of people. That’s not ‘most laddies’. Honestly I won’t be changing my opinion on anyone who has been proven as a racist, and especially one who has been in and out of court more times than I can remember in recent years, and is due up again soon for moronic and dare I say it ‘braindead’ behaviour.
Certainly in the hundreds in the stand at Tynecastle. Less than a few years but still plenty belt it out
18-01-2022, 03:27 PM
No no no no no no no no no no no
There's no limit.
18-01-2022, 03:29 PM
There's no limit.
[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
18-01-2022, 03:30 PM
There's no limit.
:tee hee::tee hee:
18-01-2022, 03:43 PM
There's no limit.
18-01-2022, 05:01 PM
I really don't know why it was sung other than it was thought to be insulting.
It was probably more offensive to actual refugees now that I think about it, like refugees were lesser people than non-refugees were.
18-01-2022, 05:04 PM
This was a painfully awful thread about 7 pages back and now it’s just letting the place down.
KDY Hibs
18-01-2022, 05:33 PM
This was a painfully awful thread about 7 pages back and now it’s just letting the place down.
H18S NX
18-01-2022, 05:47 PM
There's no limit.....Very good,:aok::top marks
18-01-2022, 05:50 PM
Why, though? No one has said anything outrageous. The worst part has been all the personal rubbish aimed at the guy pointing out some truths about Griffiths. Leigh may have his personal battles but it's no excuse for his awful behaviour and he'd be a dreadful signing for us.
Majority on here speak about Morelos as some dispicable character, but the things Leigh has been involved in off the pitch are far worse than anything morelos has ever done on it.
18-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Why, though? No one has said anything outrageous. The worst part has been all the personal rubbish aimed at the guy pointing out some truths about Griffiths. Leigh may have his personal battles but it's no excuse for his awful behaviour and he'd be a dreadful signing for us.
Majority on here speak about Morelos as some dispicable character, but the things Leigh has been involved in off the pitch are far worse than anything morelos has ever done on it.
The blatant racist abuse of the people of Elgin has been the lowest point imo :agree:
18-01-2022, 05:58 PM
The blatant racist abuse of the people of Elgin has been the lowest point imo :agree:
Damn right, I grew up in Elgin.....
18-01-2022, 05:59 PM
“Personal rubbish”, off you go again with this tack. The thread has undulated from what an awfully fat and useless person Leigh Griffiths appears to be to what racists others appear to be. Do I need to explain it? Morelos is blah blah blah and adds nothing to the thread and is completely irrelevant although it could probably prolong it unnecessarily.
18-01-2022, 06:00 PM
Damn right, I grew up in Elgin.....
I'm sure your heart is still in the highlands :greengrin
18-01-2022, 06:41 PM
I'm sure your heart is still in the highlands :greengrin
Indeed, but still prefer to live where I am now :greengrin
AngloHibs
18-01-2022, 07:29 PM
I'm going out on a limb here....
Leigh Griffiths is still only 31, and a Hibee to his very bones. I reckon that, if he came home, he would be in the best place to deal with his apparent issues and concentrate on his football again.
Some have said he's overweight and unfit, but that can easily be resolved with diet and gym work. And I suspect that he would be motivated to put the necessary work in if he was at Hibs. And he hates Hearts, which is a huge positive.
I know that Leigh has done and said certain things, but other players have done similar and worse and still gone back to playing. I would actually be delighted if Hibs gave him a chance, even if just until the end of the season to begin with.
And just imagine if he scored the winner at Tynecastle....
18-01-2022, 07:34 PM
Leigh Griffiths is still only 31, and a Hibee to his very bones. I reckon that, if he came home, he would be in the best place to deal with his apparent issues and concentrate on his football again.
Some have said he's overweight and unfit, but that can easily be resolved with diet and gym work. And I suspect that he would be motivated to put the necessary work in if he was at Hibs. And he hates Hearts, which is a huge positive.
I know that Leigh has done and said certain things, but other players have done similar and worse and still gone back to playing. I would actually be delighted if Hibs gave him a chance, even if just until the end of the season to begin with.
His shape and fitness wouldn’t be resolved by the end of the season for starters. He’s likely to be banned for a fair number of games once his court hearing is over. And he couldn’t get himself motivated for ten in a row and a crack at the euros so not sure why that would change here.
I agree he’s worth a short contract. If he cant do it for us he wont do it for anyone.
18-01-2022, 08:28 PM
I agree he’s worth a short contract. If he cant do it for us he wont do it for anyone.
18-01-2022, 09:47 PM
Normally there would be an outcry if we signed an older and unfit player who has done little for the last couple of seasons and can't even get a regular game for the team that is second bottom of the league.
That shouldn't change just because that older and unfit player is a Hibs fan who played briefly and well for us as a promising youngster.
shetlandhibee
18-01-2022, 11:01 PM
I agree he’s worth a short contract. If he cant do it for us he wont do it for anyone.:agree::top marks
TheHibernator
19-01-2022, 01:47 AM
8 pages long dear oh dear
19-01-2022, 05:04 AM
I think he'd have knocked that one in the other night.
19-01-2022, 05:37 AM
So would Nisbet if he had that chance again. **** happens.
ozhibs
19-01-2022, 06:43 AM
I’m with you on this one.
19-01-2022, 06:54 AM
I think he'd have knocked that one in the other night.No convinced he wouldve kept up with our break away to be honest
Not in his condition
19-01-2022, 07:53 AM
If Griffiths hadn't had the off feild issues over the last year i may have said take a punt. Personally hope he's nowhere near Easter Road especially in a Hibs shirt for pretty obvious well documented reasons.
19-01-2022, 08:09 AM
I think I would've
Agree WTC. Nobody with a live brain would ever be heard singing that type of song at Easter Road again. Images of starving, suffocated and drowned refugees now hurt our eyes and hearts.
19-01-2022, 09:03 AM
I hoped Kenny Miller would return to Hibs but it wasn’t to be. The player has to want the move or it won’t happen.
Leigh could have indicated his preference to return to Hibs at the end of last season, and actually knuckled down and worked for it, but he preferred to continue as a badge-kissing hoops Bhoy, and then only when it was too late did he realise his time at Celtc was up.
His opportunity to return to Hibs has now gone.
andrew70
19-01-2022, 09:13 AM
100% agree.
He's available on a free. Low wages. 2.5 year deal. It's nonsensical to not look at it.
We have always had radge strikers, one of them won us the cup.
To be successful you need to take a punt or two but I don't even think this is much of a punt.
Bring Leigh back to ER.
19-01-2022, 09:21 AM
His fitness can only be resolved if he wants to resolve it, as a professional footballer he has all the tools available to do this, so far he has chosen to not be remotely in a physical state suitable for playing professional football. Hibs can't force him to get fit if he was to hypothetically sign.
19-01-2022, 09:31 AM
100% agree.
He's available on a free. Low wages. 2.5 year deal. It's nonsensical to not look at it.
To be successful you need to take a punt or two but I don't even think this is much of a punt.
Bring Leigh back to ER.
You don't think someone who is having to earn a deal at second bottom Dundee because he can't get himself fit enough to not have his belly bulging out his top is "much of a punt"?
I've read some wild things on here since Monday night but this is up there.
As for the "Hibee to his bones" comment above I seem to recall a lot of badge kissing and tying Celtic scarves to posts.
19-01-2022, 09:31 AM
100% agree.
Bring Leigh back to ER.
2.5 years? FFS.
2.5 month deal would be about as much as I could stomach and if he wasn't at least a stone lighter by the end of it, no extension.
19-01-2022, 09:48 AM
You don't think someone who is having to earn a deal at second bottom Dundee because he can't get himself fit enough to not have his belly bulging out his top is "much of a punt"?
As for the "Hibee to his bones" comment above I seem to recall a lot of badge kissing and tying Celtic scarves to posts.
He's not deemed good enough to start for a rotten Dundee either. I'd rather give one of our young players a chance.
andrew70
19-01-2022, 09:54 AM
I don't because he would'nt be on high wages. It would be up to him but a 75% capacity Leigh Griffiths is better than most strikers in the SPFL.
If he doesn't get fit than more fool him.
McPake has spoke lately about a marked change in his attitude. Coming here, he'd get fit and score goals.
Such a long deal would obviously be performance based. Earn it at the home of his team.
Not much of a punt because there would be very little outlay.
19-01-2022, 09:56 AM
Maloney, via his Celtic connection (Kennedy et al) Will know exactly what Griffiths has been like in recent years . He will have all the info to make an informed decision . If he doesn’t fancy him, it will be on that basis - knowing the facts.
I’m not expecting him to want him.
19-01-2022, 09:56 AM
I think we all know that LG won't be back at ER however, I don't think it's beyond the realms of reason to suggest that if SM did invite LG back on a short term deal, there would be an array of caveats tied to it in terms of weight loss, fitness and attitude. I would expect those caveats to be scheduled and pinpointed on a daily or weekly plan to evaluate his ongoing engagement and wellbeing.
19-01-2022, 10:02 AM
I don't because he would'nt be on high wages. It would be up to him but a 75% capacity Leigh Griffiths is better than most strikers in the SPFL.
If he doesn't get fit than more fool him.
McPake has spoke lately about a marked change in his attitude. Coming here, he'd get fit and score goals.
Such a long deal would obviously be performance based. Earn it at the home of his team.
Not much of a punt because there would be very little outlay.
If he doesn't get fit then more fool us because you've just given him a 2.5 year deal for him to continue to eat meal deals & McDonalds.
19-01-2022, 10:03 AM
100% agree.
Bring Leigh back to ER.
A 2.5 year deal for LG is probably the worst idea I've ever heard. Real potential there to give a decent contract to a guy who looks like he couldn't really care anymore about his fitness or his career.
andrew70
19-01-2022, 10:12 AM
If he doesn't get fit then more fool us because you've just given him a 2.5 year deal for him to continue to eat meal deals & McDonalds.
A 2.5 year deal for LG is probably the worst idea I've ever heard. Real potential there to give a decent contract to a guy who looks like he couldn't really care anymore about his fitness or his career.
As I said it would be performance related not handed to him next to his mcdonalds.
He'd need to work for it but if you get him fit he'll score goals, we create a hell of a lot more opportunities than Dundee for example.
The guy above is right though, it's all hypothetical, Maloney will know what he's getting and be fully informed if making a move.
I don't think he will but I would happily take him on a deal whereby it's completely up to him if he makes a good turn of it or not. He's not had to rely on himself playing well for years now in order to maintain any sort of income then he needs to sort himself out and I'd prefer he does that here than say Aberdeen.
19-01-2022, 10:12 AM
I must be honest and say that I think signing Leigh Griffiths at this moment in time is one of the worst suggestions I've read on here in quite some time.
We would be signing someone based purely on their past form and affiliation to the club. Based on his form, fitness and off field behaviour over the last 2 years there's no danger you would touch Leigh Griffiths with a barge pole.
He's only 31 but is currently struggling to get a game for a Dundee side that's now lost 6 games in a row and sitting second bottom of the league.
Griffiths was some player for us but that was nearly 10 years ago and he really hasn't looked like he will rediscover that form any time soon.
19-01-2022, 10:24 AM
As I said it would be performance related not handed to him next to his mcdonalds.
He'd need to work for it but if you get him fit he'll score goals, we create a hell of a lot more opportunities than Dundee for example.
The guy above is right though, it's all hypothetical, Maloney will know what he's getting and be fully informed if making a move.
I don't think he will but I would happily take him on a deal whereby it's completely up to him if he makes a good turn of it or not. He's not had to rely on himself playing well for years now in order to maintain any sort of income then he needs to sort himself out and I'd prefer he does that here than say Aberdeen.
I’ve got my doubts about signing Griffiths on playing ability and fitness alone. However he’s also not someone I’d want the likes of Laidlaw, Young or O’Connor learning from giving his unprofessional lifestyle. I think we can do better and are now shopping in a market above the Leigh Griffiths of 2022
19-01-2022, 10:30 AM
Amazed this thread has got to 9 pages.