View Full Version : New Boyle Bid?

Bobby Moore
15-01-2022, 07:24 PM
Some chat on the Bounce that a new bid of near to £3m made and accepted.

Just passing it on!

15-01-2022, 07:26 PM
From which club

Bobby Moore
15-01-2022, 07:27 PM
From which club
The same Middle East Club as before is mentioned.

15-01-2022, 07:28 PM
The same Middle East Club as before is mentioned.

Concrete?

Bobby Moore
15-01-2022, 07:29 PM
Concrete?
No way of knowing but came from a Twitter source apparently.

15-01-2022, 07:33 PM
Concrete?

cash preferably

:)

15-01-2022, 07:34 PM
Can only see one Hibs fan on twitter talking about it which has been picked up by someone on the Bounce. No ideas if those folk are ITK? Can't see anything anywhere else?

15-01-2022, 07:36 PM
best of luck to him whenever/wherever

15-01-2022, 07:37 PM
cash preferably

:)

They've buckets of it. It's all good. :greengrin

15-01-2022, 07:39 PM
Not really what anyone wants to happen but every player has a value.

MB will be 29 in April. We aren't going to get many more 7 figure bids for him moving forward so I think around £3-4M will be where we decide to deal.

15-01-2022, 07:42 PM
Apparently fee agreed

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Sioux
15-01-2022, 07:48 PM
Apparently fee agreed

Said who?

15-01-2022, 07:58 PM
Some chat on the Bounce that a new bid of near to £3m made and accepted.

Just passing it on!

And the Bounce are saying the Boyle chat started here !

Legs and wings !!

"He walks with a wiggle and he wears a bra! :singing:

15-01-2022, 08:01 PM
they've barrels of it. It's all good. :greengrin

ftfy....

15-01-2022, 08:11 PM
Interesting that the guy who posted this on twitter is followed by KP.

15-01-2022, 08:16 PM
Good luck to him if he goes and we'll done to the club for sticking to their guns.

Like Souttar, Boyle has had bad injuries, (albeit not as bad as Souttar’s). However, unlike Souttar, Boyle signed a new contract when he could have easily done the dirty on his club like Souttar has. Nae luck Jambos. 😛

15-01-2022, 08:17 PM
See ya Boyler, thanks for all the memories.

15-01-2022, 08:20 PM
Best not to make any comments till it's official.

15-01-2022, 08:24 PM
I'm disappointed that he's leaving, partly because it would have been a great testimonial, but he goes with my best wishes.

It's not often that a player from the SPFL gets the opportunity to earn their fortune at such a late point in their career so, if he can work out his domestic situation, he should grab the opportunity.

Of course, he could decide to stay...

15-01-2022, 08:26 PM
And the Bounce are saying the Boyle chat started here !

Legs and wings !!

"He walks with a wiggle and he wears a bra! :singing:

It started on the PM board.

15-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Interesting that the guy who posted this on twitter is followed by KP.

He follows me and I’ve no got a clue

15-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Going into a derby on 1st Feb without him leaves me nervous to say the least

15-01-2022, 08:29 PM
It started on the PM board.

As the rumour seems to be becoming widespread is there any more can be shared for those not on the PM board

15-01-2022, 08:30 PM
As the rumour seems to be becoming widespread is there any more can be shared for those not on the PM board

There isn’t any more info I don’t think.

The rumour is there’s been an offer accepted and it’s up to Boyle to decide whether he wants to accept it or not now.

15-01-2022, 08:32 PM
ftfy....

15-01-2022, 08:32 PM
Any idea how much it’s for?

3 million?

15-01-2022, 08:33 PM

You know it all.

darwenhibby

Bollox
The yaks will be more nervous
They won’t know where our threat is coming from!!’
Robbie ain’t that technical

Any idea how much it’s for?

3 million?

Think that's the value we have put on him. Very decent money for the club.

15-01-2022, 08:34 PM

Is he not away with Australia for that game anyway?

davhibby
15-01-2022, 08:34 PM

That would be happening whether he leaves or not

hibby rae
15-01-2022, 08:35 PM
He follows me and I’ve no got a clue

Ah but that's exactly what we'd expect you to say! 😉

Dublin07
15-01-2022, 08:36 PM

Would miss the derby either way as he is playing for Australia that week! Good luck to him if he goes. Been briilliant for us and always gave his all. Deserves his move like McGinn probably the right time to move. Hopefully we invest the fee in the team.

BegbieHSC
15-01-2022, 08:37 PM
Gutted. Good luck to the lad. He’s gave us his all over the seven years here, and deserves the chance to set up his family financially for life.

15-01-2022, 08:39 PM
I reckon we'll break our transfer record signing a replacement.

hibby rae
15-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Although it seems more and more likely he'll leave, I'd still rather he stayed than us getting a load of cash.

Perhaps the best I can hope for is we sign a pre-contract with him in 18 months and bring him home.

15-01-2022, 08:42 PM
Concrete?

Built on sand apparently

15-01-2022, 08:42 PM

what if his replacement is already here :dunno:

15-01-2022, 08:47 PM

I don’t think we’ll sign a direct replacement. They’re already here imo.

15-01-2022, 08:49 PM
what if his replacement is already here :dunno:

Drey Wright was pretty good against Dundee Utd. Maybe the chance he’s been waiting for.

BegbieHSC
15-01-2022, 08:54 PM

We’ll have to. He’s our stand out, key player, and has been for a while now. We’d be in a much worse place in the league just now than we are without him. Bailed us out more than once. Will we see Hibs hit the £1m transfer mark?

15-01-2022, 08:56 PM
Drey Wright was pretty good against Dundee Utd. Maybe the chance he’s been waiting for.

nah not Drey, i was thinking maybe someone that plays in the same position as MB and i've been so curious as to where exactly he would fit in since i started watching him playing across the *pond

*Atlantic Ocean

then again.......maybe naw

15-01-2022, 08:58 PM
nah not Drey, i was thinking maybe someone that plays in the same position as MB and i've been so curious as to where exactly he would fit in since i started watching him playing across the *pond

*Atlantic Ocean

Yeah I know, I was just being a dick.

I think we will need to ease Mueller into Scottish football, same applies to the Norwegian boy.

I think we’ll need to replace Boyle if he’s sold.

15-01-2022, 09:09 PM

Yep

15-01-2022, 09:11 PM
Will be gutted if he goes, but I can’t imagine we’d be accepting anything less than £3m for him, which for a player who turns 29 in a couple months who we realistically got for free and has given us years of good service, it’s probably a pretty decent deal for us. Fully expect a good chunk of that to be reinvested in the team too.

15-01-2022, 09:13 PM
We are ging into tjat game and 2 others without him anyway as he will be with Australia on WC duties

15-01-2022, 09:15 PM
Sound alike Mueller is going to take a while to get up to speed a little. Not too fussed about that tbh, take the time and do it right so that he doesn't do himself an injury.

Look at Kyogo, didn't have a break between seasons and started very strong, now crocked

15-01-2022, 09:19 PM
£3 million is ‘bite yer hand off’ territory - great money for Hibs, great for Martin who has been a shining light for us, cost us an ‘Alex Harris’ - as much as I love MB, means we are going to be a side not so reliant on him and I’m sure SM will have targets in mind to replace him.

If it’s true, can’t grudge the lad a huge contract - given the club everything and many great memories to boot.

15-01-2022, 09:22 PM
Gutted. Good luck to the lad. He’s gave us his all over the seven years here, and deserves the chance to set up his family financially for life.
Your right and equally 3 million for him, at 29 years of age, is a very very good fee for Hibs, they can't turn that down.

Dmas
15-01-2022, 09:31 PM
Sound alike Mueller is going to take a while to get up to speed a little. Not too fussed about that tbh, take the time and do it right so that he doesn't do himself an injury.

Look at Kyogo, didn't have a break between seasons and started very strong, now crocked

Any idea why it’s taking him longer to get up to speed? He’s just finished a season and had 2/3 weeks off he can’t be that unfit surely ?

15-01-2022, 09:37 PM
Any idea why it’s taking him longer to get up to speed? He’s just finished a season and had 2/3 weeks off he can’t be that unfit surely ?
Think he last played for Orlando 24th November, contract here didn't kick in untill the 1st Jan so not sure how much he has done.

15-01-2022, 09:39 PM
Really hope he stays. Not just because he's a very effective players, but his attitude and application to the Hibs cause has been outstanding. If £3M is the compensation, there are other players of similar value (apparently) who I'd much sooner see leave before Boyle.

Nevi_SOL
15-01-2022, 10:41 PM
For once I’m confident the money would be re-invested. He’d go with my best wishes and will be missed at Easter road by the fans and in the changing room

Nevi_SOL
15-01-2022, 10:42 PM

Don’t think it’s physically more the speed of the game here

andrew70
15-01-2022, 10:46 PM

He’s had an injury I believe.

15-01-2022, 11:15 PM
Any idea why it’s taking him longer to get up to speed? He’s just finished a season and had 2/3 weeks off he can’t be that unfit surely ?Maybe maloney is being coy?

He didn't mentioned Clarke injury so hopefully he's playing the game

HendoDelivered
15-01-2022, 11:17 PM
Gutted if true. Thanks for everything martin :-(

15-01-2022, 11:25 PM
Although disappointing to lose him and also disappointing to be doing business with a club from Saudi Arabia, the money will be good for us and will hopefully allow us to reinvest it in the squad this month.

15-01-2022, 11:27 PM

Yep

15-01-2022, 11:31 PM
Can't blame the club if the £3m valuation has been met. Every player at every club has a price. Just hope we can use some of the money to get a replacement. He'll be hard to replace but fair play to Hibs to hold out and good luck to Boyle in the future.

15-01-2022, 11:41 PM
Boyle will return to Hibs after international duty.

15-01-2022, 11:46 PM
If the 3m has been met, good luck to him. Could have not signed a deal with us and pissed off for nout. Surely if he goes for 3 million has to be one of our best bits of business for some time. A swap deal for Alex Harris, mental.

15-01-2022, 11:59 PM
Loyal player and deserves the best , opposite of soapy

16-01-2022, 03:47 AM
Have my doubts about this move .
Mr Google directed me to a web site that had Brazilian right winger Rossi, as having signed with Al Faisaly on 13 January.

Difficult to see them signing 2 foreign right wingers in a week.

Of course, that’s assuming it’s the same club that are in for him, and that the reported signing of Rossi HAS been completed.

16-01-2022, 07:41 AM
Selling Boyle would indicate to Maloney that there is a lack of ambition at Hibs.

How many clubs sign a new Head Coach then immediately sell their top player, only reliable penalty taker and sole goal threat early in their new contract?

And whose fans roll over with the idea?

Crunchie
16-01-2022, 07:43 AM
Selling Boyle would indicate to Maloney that there is a lack of ambition at Hibs. How many clubs sell their top player, only reliable penalty taker and sole goal threat early in their new contract?

£3 million for Boyle is some piece of business. You could say he got Ross the sack with a penalty miss.

16-01-2022, 07:46 AM
Selling Boyle would indicate to Maloney that there is a lack of ambition at Hibs. How many clubs sell their top player, only reliable penalty taker and sole goal threat early in their new contract?

We’ve been promised the team will be invested in, bigger wages will be paid. It could be said that holding out for £3million for a 29 year old who’s had a number of injuries is demonstrating excellent ambition :dunno: That money will be going on other players, Petrie has left the building remember.

16-01-2022, 07:47 AM

Well that's a view I suppose.

An alternative one might be that when he signed his new contract part of the discussion revolved around giving him the opportunity to leave if a suitable offer came in.

16-01-2022, 07:49 AM

Clubs who have that exact business model? Selling our best players at good prices (which is the key) to then reinvest in more young players like Melkersen and Henderson is exactly what our plan is and I think most of our fans understand and accept this.

The fees we get won't be invested in never ending infrastructure projects like under Petrie, to the detriment of the team. I'm confident Gordon won't do that.

16-01-2022, 07:57 AM
Clubs who have that exact business model? Selling our best players at good prices (which is the key) to then reinvest in more young players like Melkersen and Henderson is exactly what our plan is and I think most of our fans understand and accept this.

The fees we get won't be invested in never ending infrastructure projects like under Petrie, to the detriment of the team. I'm confident Gordon won't do that.

Think we have to remember we have a pretty solid infrastructure in place like that stadium. Of course it needs upgraded but we aren’t back in the days of paying it all off and training centre costs but at the same time ALL clubs have been affected by covid situation so clubs need to make £ back somehow.

16-01-2022, 08:00 AM
Selling Boyle would indicate to Maloney that there is a lack of ambition at Hibs.

How many clubs sign a new Head Coach then immediately sell their top player, only reliable penalty taker and sole goal threat early in their new contract?

Absolutely not, you can’t hold players to ransom every player in the world has a value that a club would sell at and every manager knows that. As long as the manager gets a proportion of the money to reinvest there is no issue IMO.

Clarence
16-01-2022, 08:01 AM

Other than the stadium and training ground, what infrastructure projects did Petrie invest in? Those are also quite good things for a football club to spend money on, especially when we needed to upgrade the stadium and had no training ground. I’m not so sure that Ron will purely focus on spending in players either as he has given us big screens already, so I think he’s keen to invest in infrastructure if he thinks it will enhance the match day experience.

16-01-2022, 08:11 AM
£3 million for Boyle is some piece of business. You could say he got Ross the sack with a penalty miss.

Or you could say he kept him in a job longer than he should have been scoring three goals at Hampden and stuff like that.

16-01-2022, 08:15 AM
If he leaves, we have to talk up the positive of why signing for us is a good move for talented players who want to make a name for themselves.

16-01-2022, 08:26 AM

I think if we sell him for 3 million the club deserve a huge pat on the back. We've recently convinced him to sign a new contract, removing the 500k buy out clause and rejected other bids this month already. Look across the city where their most valuable player didn't sign a new contract and is leaving them for nothing. At clubs our size you've got to get the best deal you can. Looks like we're getting a very good one. Maloney is naive if he doesn't understand that.

Percy Vere
16-01-2022, 08:39 AM
I think when a player extends their contract and that potentially benefits the parent club if a good offer comes along, it should be considered. It sends the wrong message to other players if life changing offers are dismissed without the player’s involvement.
Why extend your contract if that’s how you will be treated. We have a buy young, develop and sell policy, it’s really important players trust the process. Good luck to Boyle if the £3m has been met, great club servant. You will be missed.

16-01-2022, 08:55 AM
If he leaves, we have to talk up the positive of why signing for us is a good move for talented players who want to make a name for themselves.

This is the point.

It’s often forgotten that Boyle wasn’t a big name when he came to us, he had scored the grand total of 4 goals for Dundee and had done well at Montrose at a lower level. We swapped him for Alex Harris, fast forward six years and he’s a full international, being offered money that will set him up for life. We’ve been central to his career. You’re going to be able to point to him when you’re talking to the best young players in Scotland or further afield and say, see, this is what you can achieve with Hibs.

16-01-2022, 09:01 AM
So has a bid been accepted? Cant see anything to suggest it has other than a few Twitter pages ran by 17 yr olds.

16-01-2022, 09:10 AM

Forgot about Drey.

16-01-2022, 10:23 AM
Boyle will return to Hibs after international duty.

Prediction or FACT?

16-01-2022, 10:26 AM

How much would you sell him for?

Greenio
16-01-2022, 10:36 AM
Forgot about Drey.

👍

16-01-2022, 10:39 AM
So has a bid been accepted? Cant see anything to suggest it has other than a few Twitter pages ran by 17 yr olds.

How do you know they are 17?

Gloucester Hibs
16-01-2022, 10:44 AM
Forgot about Drey.

Tune 🤘🏻

DanishJohn
16-01-2022, 11:02 AM
This is the point.

It’s often forgotten that Boyle wasn’t a big name when he came to us, he had scored the grand total of 4 goals for Dundee and had done well at Montrose at a lower level. We swapped him for Alex Harris, fast forward six years and he’s a full international, being offered money that will set him up for life. We’ve been central to his career. You’re going to be able to point to him when you’re talking to the best young players in Scotland or further afield and say, see, this is what you can achieve with Hibs.

I agree with everything you say.

The only thing I would add, is that its a really good business model that and it benefits the player and then the club for the selling on part.
However the fans are also entitled to get something out of the plan. For me it would be to get in some decent players for no other reason that to make the product on the park more pleasing. We need a good base.

16-01-2022, 11:03 AM
Or you could say he kept him in a job longer than he should have been scoring three goals at Hampden and stuff like that.

That was doing his job properly.

The miss wasn't.

16-01-2022, 11:07 AM
It was a horrific penalty and I was pissed off about it after Ross lost his job but Boyle has won us a lot of games over his time here.

GreenGray
16-01-2022, 11:09 AM

True, but Maloney seems clever enough to know that denying someone a life changing move wouldn’t be good for the team in the long run

16-01-2022, 11:11 AM

All 11 players were god awful that night. He did not get Jack Ross sacked.

16-01-2022, 11:17 AM
Am sure Martin and Rachel have had some serious talks on,will we,wont we.
If it is 3 years,money aside ,its a risk and a real culture/lifestyle change.
Not like moving to,say Europe or North America..Or even Oz.

Dr What If?
16-01-2022, 11:19 AM
Other than the stadium and training ground, what infrastructure projects did Petrie invest in? Those are also quite good things for a football club to spend money on, especially when we needed to upgrade the stadium and had no training ground. I’m not so sure that Ron will purely focus on spending in players either as he has given us big screens already, so I think he’s keen to invest in infrastructure if he thinks it will enhance the match day experience.
I think your right, only I think he will focus only on projects that are going to increase revenue.....so maybe enhancements to East Mains that the club can rent out or additions under the stands. Can't see corners being filled with seats in the near future, unless our attendances were to suddenly to shoot up.

Crunchie
16-01-2022, 11:21 AM
All 11 players were god awful that night. He did not get Jack Ross sacked.
I never said he did :aok:

Walter
16-01-2022, 11:54 AM
I refuse to believe it until its on the Greggs thread

16-01-2022, 12:11 PM
Forgot about Drey.

As funny as that is I had to put that tune on because my brain wouldn’t let it sit still 😅

16-01-2022, 01:28 PM
Am sure Martin and Rachel have had some serious talks on will we ,wont we.
If its 3 yrs,money aside ,its a risk and a real culture/lifestyle change.
Not like moving ,to say Europe or North America..Or even Oz.

I’ve got an odd image in my mind of Rachel playing football wearing a Burka. That aside, despite the Saudi, Muslim attitude to women, which I believe has relaxed somewhat, they dohave womens’ football over there.

seanshow
16-01-2022, 01:41 PM
as long as they play outwith the view of men, a different culture still embracing views from the dark ages. ...and no embracing anyway after goal celebrations, not because of covid either. lol

16-01-2022, 01:49 PM

There’s another 10 players on the pitch.

16-01-2022, 01:53 PM
Prediction or FACT?

Prediction,I should have stated that.

16-01-2022, 01:56 PM
I’ve got an odd image in my mind of Rachel playing football wearing a Burka. That aside, despite the Saudi, Muslim attitude to women, which I believe has relaxed somewhat, they dohave womens’ football over there.

Aye,now woman can play football,drive a car and the Prince is to, or has recently abolish/ed public floggings.
Maybe on their day off, the Boyles could go to market and possibly visit a public stoning.
These oil rich dictators around the Gulf are seeking world approval with their massive investments/sponsorship of many sports.(thats the reason organised womens football is tolerated)

Money talks and its corruption has led us to the WC in Qatar.

16-01-2022, 02:11 PM
as long as they play outwith the view of men, a different culture still embracing views from the dark ages. ...and no embracing anyway after goal celebrations, not because of covid either. lol

Women,until recently,2018,were banned from attending big football games,let alone play the game.

There is wonderful comedy film about women using lots of tricks/disguises to get into a crucial football game in Iran.
Its called Offside
Might be available on utube .Very funny !

16-01-2022, 02:19 PM
Aye,now woman can play football,drive a car and the Prince is to, or has recently abolish/ed public floggings.
Maybe on their day off, the Boyles could go to market and possibly visit a public stoning.
These oil rich dictators around the Gulf are seeking world approval with their massive investments/sponsorship of many sports.(thats the reason organised womens football is tolerated)

Money talks and its corruption has led us to the WC in Qatar.

There must be sone queue to get pee over there. Seriously, it’s not a society I would like to live in or be associated with.

16-01-2022, 02:35 PM
There must be sone queue to get pee over there. Seriously, it’s not a society I would like to live in or be associated with.

Aye,ye cannae get in for the smokers ,and when you do, you find there is no hot water.
Sound familiar !.

I knew a few back in the day that went there to work in the oil business.
But none took their wives with them. Not even for a holiday.

Dazzjw1875
16-01-2022, 02:44 PM
I would be gutted if he left but think this could be a great move for both parties if it happens. 3M will give SM decent funds to bring in another couple of quality signings. Boyle has been a great servant but at 29yr old we can't knock that offer back.

16-01-2022, 03:01 PM
I would be gutted if he left but think this could be a great move for both parties if it happens. 3M will give SM decent funds to bring in another couple of quality signings. Boyle has been a great servant but at 29yr old we can't knock that offer back.

Exactly how I see it. He's only going to decline now. We've had his best years. 3 million is probably the most we've received for a player since Scott Brown. If it happens then it's a good deal.

16-01-2022, 03:14 PM
Exactly how I see it. He's only going to decline now. We've had his best years. 3 million is probably the most we've received for a player since Scott Brown. If it happens then it's a good deal.

I think Steven Fletcher was a bit more when add-ons are taken into account.

16-01-2022, 03:14 PM

Well, a good move for us and MB, in terms of cash, but, in my opinion, not a such a good move for him in terms of social freedom and living conditions. I would like him to stay till at least the end of the season, maybe till next Christmas. His stock will still be high, we will still get a decent price for him, a great wage for himself and he will get a more attractive move to a more inviting environment for himself and his family.

16-01-2022, 04:39 PM

Fletcher and McGinn both more.

Hibiza
16-01-2022, 04:53 PM
Thought that the Gary O ' Connor transfer was the record.

16-01-2022, 05:00 PM

Not even close.

16-01-2022, 05:01 PM

Not even close. Reportedly 1.6 million. Brown was 4.4 million

16-01-2022, 05:03 PM

Think that was around 1.5 million. Brown went for 4 million. Fletcher 3 million and McGinn 2.5 million, I think.

16-01-2022, 05:05 PM
Well, a good move for us and MB, in terms of cash, but, in my opinion, not a such a good move for him in terms of social freedom and living conditions. I would like him to stay till at least the end of the season, maybe till next Christmas. His stock will still be high, we will still get a decent price for him, a great wage for himself and he will get a more attractive move to a more inviting environment for himself and his family.

He and his stock could be ****ed by next Xmas, we all could. He should make the life changing move while he can, if it’s on offer.

16-01-2022, 05:13 PM
Think that was around 1.5 million. Brown went for 4 million. Fletcher 3 million and McGinn 2.5 million, I think.Brown went for 4.4m excluding the add ons, I seem to recall the total figure was 5.94m all in.

16-01-2022, 05:22 PM

Much as I would rather Boyle stayed, I think we really only need to think about the club and the transfer fee here. Let Boyle ponder the social freedoms and living conditions for himself.

The rest is just speculation, who knows where Boyle’s stock will be in 6 months or a year from now. What we can reasonably say is that he probably won’t be offered the same kind of cash from, let’s guess, along the M8. And let’s not forget all the baggage that comes from joining one of the uglies.

16-01-2022, 05:53 PM
He and his stock could be ****ed by next Xmas, we all could. He should make the life changing move while he can, if it’s on offer.

Much as I would rather Boyle stayed, I think we really only need to think about the club and the transfer fee here. Let Boyle ponder the social freedoms and living conditions for himself.

The rest is just speculation, who knows where Boyle’s stock will be in 6 months or a year from now. What we can reasonably say is that he probably won’t be offered the same kind of cash from, let’s guess, along the M8. And let’s not forget all the baggage that comes from joining one of the uglies.

Obviously, I can’t really argue with you guys, but I was looking at a satisfactory compromise for both parties. Yes, we’ll probably get less for MB in a year or so, but we will have had the services of a player who, inarguably makes us tick and gets results. I’d love to see Boyle playing with our new additions and the ones who will come in this summer.

16-01-2022, 06:24 PM

10/10

16-01-2022, 06:30 PM
If it’s 3million as we’re to believe ,it’s a great move money wise for him & if Ron give SM 1/2 of that we could get a decent & younger replacement or two

16-01-2022, 06:34 PM

This is literally peak business for both parties. It will not get any better for either if the interested team has reached £3m. Take the money and invest it in the next Boyler.

16-01-2022, 06:35 PM

And what type of message does it send to the rest of the squad or to potential signings that we’d stand in the way of a player getting a life changing move after the clubs valuation has been met. If Boyle gets his move what better motivator for Maloney to inspire the rest of the squad onto bigger/better things.

16-01-2022, 06:38 PM
Forgot about Drey.

Thats a Dr Dre rap tune .. Featuring Eminem 😂

16-01-2022, 09:20 PM
As I posted earlier I don’t see this happening.

Al Faisaly reportedly signed a Brazilian right winger called Rossi on January 13.

I would be very surprised if they sign a second foreign right winger in the same week.

16-01-2022, 09:22 PM

Al Faisaly reportedly signed a Brazilian right winger called Rossi on January 13.

I would be very surprised if they sign a second foreign right winger in the same week.

They maybe see Boyle as being a striker?

Played there a lot for Hibs over the last year.

16-01-2022, 09:24 PM

Saw elsewhere Boyle wouldn’t count as a foreign player in their league because he plays for Australia? Not sure how true that is though.

16-01-2022, 10:13 PM
Saw elsewhere Boyle wouldn’t count as a foreign player in their league because he plays for Australia? Not sure how true that is though.

Think it was more that he wouldn’t be counted as a foreign player in the foreigners quota thing for the Asian Champions League.

However main thrust of my post is that they have signed Rossi after failing to get Boyle as the Evening News alluded to last week.

17-01-2022, 05:29 AM
Guess we will find out more today based on if he is in the matchday squad.

17-01-2022, 10:21 AM
It's went kinda quiet on the accepted bid

17-01-2022, 10:27 AM
It's went kinda quiet on the accepted bid

If a bid had been accepted then he would be nowhere near Parkhead tonight…other than as a spectator.

Lee Marvin
17-01-2022, 05:39 PM
Starts. Obviously not accepted a bid like speculated.

17-01-2022, 09:43 PM
I really hope Boyle’s form doesn’t head in the same direction as Doig’s and Nisbet since they were touted as for big moves, they’ve both been very poor this season. In fairness to Porteous he’s kicked on since the speculation last year.

17-01-2022, 09:46 PM
I really hope Boyle’s form doesn’t head in the same direction as Doig’s and Nisbet since they were touted as for big moves, they’ve both been very poor this season. In fairness to Porteous he’s kicked on since the speculation last year.

Think the main difference is Porteous is actually a really good player. Doig I'm sure will come good, he showed last year how good he can be, but I don't think he should be starting for us just now. I honestly can't explain Nisbet.

18-01-2022, 02:38 PM
Hibs and celtic have been warned that Australia needs Boyle and Rogic so unless Boyle is sold by then he will miss the derby.

18-01-2022, 02:39 PM
Hibs and celtic have been warned that Australia needs Boyle and Rogic so unless Boyle is sold by then he will miss the derby.

So either way he misses it….will be a loss for us…gives someone else a chance to stake a claim I guess.

18-01-2022, 03:15 PM
So either way he misses it….will be a loss for us…gives someone else a chance to stake a claim I guess.

I guess so unless he picks up a knock Thursday then somehow manages to make the derby 😉

Tarrahib
18-01-2022, 03:28 PM
I guess so unless he picks up a knock Thursday then somehow manages to make the derby 😉
I don’t think he can wangle a sickie that easily.

18-01-2022, 03:38 PM

So if we sell him he can play in the derby 😁 I like that offer!

19-01-2022, 01:15 AM
I don’t think he can wangle a sickie that easily.

I don’t think he wants to

19-01-2022, 03:40 AM
I don’t think he wants to

Of course he doesn’t. He’ll be buzzing to be involved with these international games

Greenworld
19-01-2022, 07:59 AM
I think if there is still a offer on the table for Boyle and it is more than 2 million we need to take it.
Use the money to get some real quality in key positions.
We can get 3 good players In the spine of the team .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

19-01-2022, 08:17 AM
So if we sell him he can play in the derby [emoji16] I like that offer!Benny factor stepping up!

19-01-2022, 08:31 AM
I think if there is still a offer on the table for Boyle and it is more than 2 million we need to take it.
Use the money to get some real quality in key positions.
We can get 3 good players In the spine of the team .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

I think the majority will be used to cover the losses resulting from the covid stuff TBH.

So long as Boyle didn't go to either of "them" i'd wish him all the best but would leave us struggling to compete for Europe I think. He's our only real bit of quality and threat.

19-01-2022, 08:34 AM

I will never forgive Alex McLeish for causing that situation.

Hillsidehibby
19-01-2022, 08:40 AM

I know :confused:. We are well covered in that area. What a tit. When has Scotland ever had an excess of quality players in any position?

19-01-2022, 08:47 AM

It takes two to tango.

19-01-2022, 08:57 AM
It takes two to tango.

It does…but the story was that McLeish informed Boyle that he had no plans of selecting him for a Scotland ….

Tbh. For Boyle, I’m sure he will be loving it

19-01-2022, 12:43 PM
Think the main difference is Porteous is actually a really good player. Doig I'm sure will come good, he showed last year how good he can be, but I don't think he should be starting for us just now. I honestly can't explain Nisbet.

I think Doig is suffering from second season syndrome, and maybe Nisbet too (in the Scottish top flight).

If you do well and get noticed then not only will other clubs look more closely at you, but opposition players too.

They need to learn that opponents will study their game and work to make life as hard as possible for them.

Steven79
19-01-2022, 02:13 PM
I think Doig is suffering from second season syndrome, and maybe Nisbet too (in the Scottish top flight).

If you do well and get noticed then not only will other clubs look more closely at you, but opposition players too.

They need to learn that opponents will study their game and work to make life as hard as possible for them.

Nisbet was suffering from second half of season syndrone...

19-01-2022, 03:23 PM

For all his faults, I don't hold this against McLeish at all.

He wasn't good enough to start for Scotland at that point. There was a case he might get a call-up to the squad, like many others over time, and didn't.

He then chose to play for Australia. He now would more than likely get in the Scotland squad.

That's fitbaw.

19-01-2022, 04:29 PM

Both had covid so maybe still be experiencing after effects. Have been reports of sports stars still being impacted months later. I imagine even if they are only a couple of percent off, that it would have a noticeable effect on performance.

https://www.sbnation.com/nba/2021/3/3/22292213/athletes-covid-recovery-stories-jayson-tatum-mo-bamba-asia-durr

19-01-2022, 09:46 PM
https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/status/1483931305775620096?t=taeIh1PTceWL1th5pu2y0w&s=19

This ain't going away.

19-01-2022, 09:49 PM
https://twitter.com/scotsunsport/status/1483931305775620096?t=taeIh1PTceWL1th5pu2y0w&s=19

This ain't going away.

If I was maloney I’d be slightly concerned Boyle is looking for advice from his predecessor

19-01-2022, 09:50 PM

More like Nisbet is suffering from second transfer request syndrome.

19-01-2022, 09:52 PM

This ain't going away.

“Discussions are ongoing” definitely doesn’t fill me with confidence that he’ll still be here at the end of the month. Hopefully just bull**** from the Sun but you never know.

19-01-2022, 09:55 PM
If I was maloney I’d be slightly concerned Boyle is looking for advice from his predecessor

Think that's pretty common when an ex manager is close to a player.

19-01-2022, 10:15 PM
Both had covid so maybe still be experiencing after effects. Have been reports of sports stars still being impacted months later. I imagine even if they are only a couple of percent off, that it would have a noticeable effect on performance.

https://www.sbnation.com/nba/2021/3/3/22292213/athletes-covid-recovery-stories-jayson-tatum-mo-bamba-asia-durr

Let's not underestimate this point. I had Covid just before Christmas, really wasn't that unwell at all however now I'm trying to get back in to a routine with exercise and work I won't lie I'm really struggling.

My recovery when exercising is shot to pieces (i used to cycle 10 miles regularly and had wasn't too slow up a hill) and I'm finding that when I've had a lot on I'm easily fatigued and my concentration is shot. Less than ideal I promise you.

If they're in anyway the same they have my sympathies. It's unfortunately something that only gets better with time.

19-01-2022, 10:21 PM

More like Nisbet is suffering from second transfer request syndrome.

19-01-2022, 10:40 PM
Think that's pretty common when an ex manager is close to a player.

Exactly. Won’t come as any surprise to SM at all.

It is curious that this has rumbled on so long. I can only assume that talks are ongoing.

heidtheba
19-01-2022, 11:22 PM
Let's not underestimate this point. I had Covid just before Christmas, really wasn't that unwell at all however now I'm trying to get back in to a routine with exercise and work I won't lie I'm really struggling.

My recovery when exercising is shot to pieces (i used to cycle 10 miles regularly and had wasn't too slow up a hill) and I'm finding that when I've had a lot on I'm easily fatigued and my concentration is shot. Less than ideal I promise you.

If they're in anyway the same they have my sympathies. It's unfortunately something that only gets better with time.

That's very true and a good point. I was hospitalised with it in June and felt I was 'in and out' of the ward pretty quickly. I had a week of flu, a few days of not breathing well and four nights in hospital. I thought it would take me a month to get fully back up to speed. Nup. I basically almost 'broke' at work three months later and I think a big part of that was an inbuilt tiredness. I didn't have long covid and never felt like I did, but the consultant said to me "Don't go for a run in a month and when you feel tired say you've got long covid, you don't, you've just been stupid".

ANyway, hope you recover fully asap.

19-01-2022, 11:24 PM

Sorry to hear about your problems and hope you get back to how you were pre-Covid before long.

I think there will be loads of people with similar issues but it doesn't get mentioned much in the media because, understandably, it's the hospitalisation and deaths that get the majority of the column inches.

Dazzjw1875
20-01-2022, 05:16 AM
As mentioned before is pretty confident hibs will have replacement lined up and another couple new faces to come in when Boyle gets sold. I wouldn't think SM will let him go without having replacement. Infact for all we know it's been agreed and the hold up is Hibs agreeing something with a club/player to come in?

OstKurve Hibs
20-01-2022, 05:26 AM
If martin Boyle's so desperate to leave he can always pay the difference between what's being offered and what we want out his own pocket.
He wouldnt be the first player in the world to do that.

20-01-2022, 05:30 AM
Again, why are hibs being made out to be the bad ones here? I have not read one negative post saying Martin Boyle can’t leave, in fact quite the opposite.

Meet the valuation, £3m seems fair and he can go get his ‘life changing wage’…don’t meet our valuation then don’t waste our time and subsequently drag the club through the press.

OstKurve Hibs
20-01-2022, 07:21 AM
Again, why are hibs being made out to be the bad ones here? I have not read one negative post saying Martin Boyle can’t leave, in fact quite the opposite.

Meet the valuation, £3m seems fair and he can go get his ‘life changing wage’…don’t meet our valuation then don’t waste our time and subsequently drag the club through the press.

West coast media as usual,

LeithMike
20-01-2022, 10:58 AM
“Discussions are ongoing” definitely doesn’t fill me with confidence that he’ll still be here at the end of the month. Hopefully just bull**** from the Sun but you never know.This comment is made light-heartedly but the following quote from Jack Ross in the Sun:

"Boyley has progressed so much in the last two years. When we first went into the club we spoke to him about his numbers and how he needed to improve his end product, his goals and his assists.",

reminds me of the Homer Simpson style of management:

https://youtu.be/r8miwsWtzRw

Hope link works.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 11:00 AM

He's looking for advice from someone he knows well, respects and trusts.

It's no reflection on Shaun Maloney.

20-01-2022, 11:18 AM
Has that norweign boy signed for anyone yet?

We could surely only even attempt to sign him when Boyle goes

20-01-2022, 11:45 AM
He's looking for advice from someone he knows well, respects and trusts.

It's no reflection on Shaun Maloney.

Indeed though not sure there was any merit in it being made public

20-01-2022, 11:48 AM

Possibly not, but I was answering the comment suggesting it might reflect badly on SM.

20-01-2022, 11:52 AM
Just Ross taking the opportunity to have a bit of push back and a dig.

20-01-2022, 11:53 AM
Possibly not, but I was answering the comment suggesting it might reflect badly on SM.

Fair enough agree with that

20-01-2022, 11:54 AM
Just Ross taking the opportunity to have a bit of push back and a dig.

No doubt some of the points he makes are fair enough

LustForLeith
20-01-2022, 11:54 AM
If he goes, so be it. Big fan of Boyle. And if he’s going for the chance to make him and his family more money in a career with a relatively short time span then fair enough

CorrieHibs
20-01-2022, 01:27 PM

It's really funny. We use to get slated in the papers for selling our best players therefore showing no ambition. Now we aren't selling players because we value them higher that what is offered. We are being slated!

20-01-2022, 02:01 PM
Just need to look at the general feeling when Birmingham bid 2 million for Nisbet compared to the current Nisbet thread to see how quickly things can change in football. 3 million is a decent amount for a player of Boyle's age from our league and we're not going to get a, far higher offer in future. If it sets him and the family up for life then that's a win for them too.

20-01-2022, 03:11 PM
Was looking at Hibs gifs on WhatsApp and seen one with Boyle doing the funny Jimmy Bullard high shorts thing.

Have searched YouTube but couldn't see any clip of Boyle's.

Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2022, 03:49 PM
Hope he stays we should be looking to retain our best players. Maybe even a new deal should be offered to him this we must sell attitude doesnt suit a club with ambition so im glad hibs are considering things

20-01-2022, 03:51 PM
Hope he stays we should be looking to retain our best players. Maybe even a new deal should be offered to him this we must sell attitude doesnt suit a club with ambition so im glad hibs are considering things

We bring players in, develop them, utilise them for a few seasons, then we sell them.

That's our business model, and it's the way we finance our ambition.

20-01-2022, 04:36 PM
Hope he stays we should be looking to retain our best players. Maybe even a new deal should be offered to him this we must sell attitude doesnt suit a club with ambition so im glad hibs are considering thingsWe have retained are best players for longer than we usually do

Comes a point though that we can compete wage wise

20-01-2022, 04:42 PM

Alternatively, great money for Hibs, and any player looking to develop or get first team football to showcase their talent looks at the sale of SJM and MB and sees that if they work hard they might also get lucrative deals down the line.

Outwith the OF, Hibs have done well in getting big fees for players. Certainly more than any other SPFL club. We also have to balance the books after two seasons of Covid. That's a harsh reality.

Lee Marvin
20-01-2022, 04:45 PM
Can't turn down 3m if that's what it is.

He is going to be as big a miss to the changing room as on the pitch. Massive loss.

I trust Hibs to reinvest though and Maloney could still make us a better team without him.

20-01-2022, 04:49 PM
This is a blessing it has happened with a week and a half of the window left and not on deadline day.

20-01-2022, 04:51 PM
Gutted if he's away and with the permit issues for Melkersen, Mueller not fit and Clarke injured the Jan window which had been superb has now lost a fair bit of its shine...we now need to sign a replacement in the next 10 days if Boyler is gone. Good luck to him tho...been a superb servant

20-01-2022, 04:52 PM
This is a blessing it has happened with a week and a half of the window left and not on deadline day.

I'm still holding out for us getting young Dembele from Celtic :pray: I think he would be an amazing signing (no info, just my own wish)

20-01-2022, 05:07 PM
Martin has to look after no 1. Goes with best wishes from all fans. Money could fund some more signings. Manager might have his eye on one or two more hopefully.

thebausburst
20-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Losing Boyle gives me the fear, the stats show he is HUGE for Hibs and I dread to think what we’ll be like at the top end of the pitch without him.

andrew70
20-01-2022, 05:16 PM
Gutted if he's away and with the permit issues for Melkersen, Mueller not fit and Clarke injured the Jan window which had been superb has now lost a fair bit of its shine...we now need to sign a replacement in the next 10 days if Boyler is gone. Good luck to him tho...been a superb servant

Boyle was missing the next 3 games anyway.

Mutu
20-01-2022, 05:19 PM
Controversial take but this is a good sale.

Streaky player with clear weaknesses to his game. Certainly not indispensable.

20-01-2022, 05:20 PM
Is it actually confirmed anywhere the fee has been accepted then?

Steven79
Losing Boyle gives me the fear, the stats show he is HUGE for Hibs and I dread to think what we’ll be like at the top end of the pitch without him.We aren't that great in many games with him in many games.

If we use the money we could be a threat all over the pitch rather than hoping one player can do a bit of magic for us.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Where else are you going to find a player like Boyle who can score, create, assist? We will struggle to replace.

20-01-2022, 05:22 PM

Not sure he has clear weaknesses to his game when looking at the level Hibs play at. In an attacking sense, at Scottish League level, Boyle is a very very good player.

IMO he's the 2nd best player Hibs have had in the last 10 years or so. That's not someone we'll easily replace.

Where else are you going to find a player like Boyle who can score, create, assist? We will struggle to replace.

We found Boyle.

We aren't that great in many games with him in many games.

If we use the money we could be a threat all over the pitch rather than hoping one player can do a bit of magic for us.

100% agree :aok: we've become one dimensional under Jack Ross and reliant on MB having a great game. Need more threats from every area of the pitch. Maloney will know that and bring that to the table.

hibee316
20-01-2022, 05:23 PM
IMO he's the 2nd best player Hibs have had in the last 10 years or so. That's not someone we'll easily replace.

You can't say he is the second best player in 10 years without mentioning your first!

20-01-2022, 05:24 PM
You can't say he is the second best player in 10 years without mentioning your first!

There can only be one:greengrin

20-01-2022, 05:25 PM

Mr McGinn (not Stephen or Paul).

hibee316
20-01-2022, 05:27 PM
There can only be one:greengrin

I mean, Pa Kujabi is in my top 5, like any good Hibs fan, but I wouldn't say number 1.

MikeyS
20-01-2022, 05:28 PM

Very good post 👍🏻 no denying he is our main goal threat but we've all seen him have just as many stinkers as he has had stormers. 2 or 3 quality in with the money and we can be in a better place.

20-01-2022, 05:36 PM
We found Boyle.

Well then, we should be able to find a suitable replacement in the next 11 days :aok:

NC1875
20-01-2022, 05:41 PM
Very good post 👍🏻 no denying he is our main goal threat but we've all seen him have just as many stinkers as he has had stormers. 2 or 3 quality in with the money and we can be in a better place.

My thoughts as well. If we bring in 2 or 3 quality players that give us more options we’ll be a better side overall.

20-01-2022, 05:42 PM

Agreed. Spend the money wisely and we’ll have a better team.

Wish him well but I’m not gonna greet about him going!

Hibees1973
20-01-2022, 05:47 PM
I know a guy at East Mains who said the bid is £2.8m.

Apparently Boyle is not 100% keen on going to Saudi, but it's not been ruled out yet. There are another couple of clubs who have noted an interest. Celtic, although this is looking less likely as the transfer window has progressed) and Stoke City. No firm bids from either yet.

20-01-2022, 05:52 PM
I mean, Pa Kujabi is in my top 5, like any good Hibs fan, but I wouldn't say number 1.

Why would you say that?

20-01-2022, 05:57 PM
I know a guy at East Mains who said the bid is £2.8m.

Apparently Boyle is not 100% keen on going to Saudi, but it's not been ruled out yet. There are another couple of clubs who have noted an interest. Celtic, although this is looking less likely as the transfer window has progressed) and Stoke City. No firm bids from either yet.

Boyle not starting and not even on the bench speaks volumes imho.

20-01-2022, 06:14 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTypical Arabs, right at the death they've splashed the cash on Hibs bench and there's nowhere for Boyle to sit.

Sooner the oil runs out the better.[emoji6]

20-01-2022, 06:32 PM
Typical Arabs, right at the death they've splashed the cash on Hibs bench and there's nowhere for Boyle to sit.

Sooner the oil runs out the better.[emoji6]

[emoji23]

Stanton Spence
20-01-2022, 06:46 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSadly I agree Aldo, I've tried to kid myself on this would all blow over but it's looking like he's away now and we will find out in the next 48 hours

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 06:48 PM

Yep think it's almost guaranteed now that he's played his last game for us.

20-01-2022, 07:04 PM
I’m delighted with this. £3m for a 29 year old winger is wonderful business for us to reinvest. Boyle also getting set up for life which he has earned in spades over his time with us. Honestly think a win win for both parties. He’s one injury away at this age from a very different outlook, so this is a wise decision.

20-01-2022, 07:13 PM
Why would you say that?

He’s clearly a yam , not hard to work out, prob still hurting from Brora game

20-01-2022, 07:22 PM
Wish him all the best, personally speaking it's not a place I'd choose to live in but if you're only looking at it from a financial point of view rather than the more uncomfortable issues at hand then I can definitely see the attraction.

I wish him luck over there, I feel he might need it!

tonyrougier123
20-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Plainly average,on top none the less.doidge mueller and Henderson looking no bad ,newell controlling midfield.
This side without Boyle won’t create much imo.
Could be a long second half season.

thebausburst
20-01-2022, 07:42 PM

You watching the Cove game 😬

Hibs07p
20-01-2022, 07:54 PM
BBC reporting it’s a done deal.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

tonyrougier123
20-01-2022, 08:10 PM
Time to really appreciate what Boyle done in attack for hibs.👏🏻

20-01-2022, 08:26 PM
On the evidence of tonight we're going to miss him big style.

20-01-2022, 08:39 PM
On the evidence of tonight we're going to miss him big style.

Shows how reliant we were on him on the last 18 months

20-01-2022, 08:49 PM
Fearing the worst watching this

20-01-2022, 09:25 PM
When the manager says 24-48 hours we will know more that likley means the club has agreed something

20-01-2022, 09:32 PM
Unless we have a replacement that can do what Boyle can do, we are writing the season off. Much better to have kept him until after the World Cup and seeing some better offers for his playing career evolve. He will earn loads of money but he in a terrible football situation much the same as Hibs I fear. Money talks though.

20-01-2022, 09:35 PM
Unless we have a replacement that can do what Boyle can do, we are writing the season off. Much better to have kept him until after the World Cup and seeing some better offers for his playing career evolve. He will earn loads of money but he in a terrible football situation much the same as Hibs I fear. Money talks though.

Doesn’t always have to be a direct replacement. What if we bought 3/4 players who improved other positions?

Boyle makes it worthwhile watching Hibs though - what a performer he’s been for us👏

20-01-2022, 09:35 PM
Mikey Johnston please

Can’t see him getting much minutes at Celtic with their squad if 45

20-01-2022, 09:38 PM
Doesn’t always have to be a direct replacement. What if we bought 3/4 players who improved other positions?

Boyle makes it worthwhile watching Hibs though - what a performer he’s been for us👏

I’m also thinking of Boyle, what is his football future there. He earns money big style but that’s it. Maybe could have got a big move down south after the World Cup and experienced some big games. Very disappointing from our point of view and take the money out of it, his as well.

hibee316
20-01-2022, 09:40 PM

I think we might have already brought in enough quality to cope without Boyle.

I also think we will bring in even more quality with this money.

I'm more glass half full, I think Hibs and Boyle will kick on.

20-01-2022, 09:42 PM
This squad probably needs 8 more changes. Bench is stronger but our starting line up shows we have serious lack of depth in certain positions, we were one change away from having a supporter playing CB.

Hope we get 2 more now if Boyle is gone.

20-01-2022, 09:43 PM

Onwards and upwards.

I’m also thinking of Boyle, what is his football future there. He earns money big style but that’s it. Maybe could have got a big move down south after the World Cup and experienced some big games. Very disappointing from our point of view and take the money out of it, his as well.He's 29 with his main weapon being pace

He might have got injured and another move not materialize

He has 1.5 million a year tax free dangling infront if him

We probably gets about 150k a year after tax here

I hope you’re right. Muiller looks a player and Henderson will get better and better. He will be hard to replace this season which is my point but hopefully tue fee we get will be immediately reinvested as tonight’s penetration was very poor.

20-01-2022, 09:44 PM
Good luck Martin, you deserve your pay day and you'll be remembered as a hero in these parts, and rightly so.

20-01-2022, 09:44 PM
This squad probably needs 8 more changes. Bench is stronger but our starting line up shows we have serious lack of depth in certain positions, we were one change away from having a supporter playing CB.

Hope we get 2 more now if Boyle is gone.Rocky, Porto and Mcginn were all missing

Unfortunate but doenst scream lack of depth in that position

20-01-2022, 09:46 PM
Wouldn't have taken 10 million for him after watching us without. Desperately need real pace and drive to replace him. Muller might give us some. Cadden a bit. No one else at all though.

20-01-2022, 09:47 PM
Rocky, Porto and Mcginn were all missing

Unfortunate but doenst scream lack of depth in that position

How not? We play a 3 at the back and only have 4 CBs at the club. Not counting McGregor as I think he's finished.

Wasn't unfortunate either, 2 of the players you listed have got suspended for stupid reasons.

Mikey Johnston please

Can’t see him getting much minutes at Celtic with their squad if 45

100% - at least on loan - but ideally we buy him.

My review from tonight as I defended maloney since Monday strongly

We will need to speed things up from back to front
Love the possession football
Need a replacement for Boyle. My preference, Mikey Johnston
Think Campbell is struggling in midfield, shows effort but not enough over 90 minutes.
Ewan Henderson needs games.

We were still missing
Melkerson, Porteous, McGinn, Rocky, Clarke

I think we’re needing a central midfielder with a bit drive, been said to death, but JDH & Newell to similar.

Nisbet should take a bit confidence from his goal.

Overall, banana skin avoided.

Lots to work on, couple more signings I think after Boyle departs, but Rome wasn’t built in a day.

20-01-2022, 09:49 PM
Wouldn't have taken 10 million for him after watching us without. Desperately need real pace and drive to replace him. Muller might give us some. Cadden a bit. No one else at all though.

It's almost impressive how slow we are as a team. Think Doig is pretty rapid as well. But other than him and the two you mention I totally agree about pace.

hibee316
I hope you’re right. Muiller looks a player and Henderson will get better and better. He will be hard to replace this season which is my point but hopefully tue fee we get will be immediately reinvested as tonight’s penetration was very poor.

I think you are underestimating how good Cove were. Just look at the players in their team.

They were right up for that game physically, but they also just camped outside their box and made it very difficult.

hibbydog
Good stuff with the Boyle deal. Brilliant business to swap him for young Harris, get 6 years out of him, win the Scottish Cup, get promoted, become a regular starter for Australia then get £3m for him.

Well done all round.

Best wishes from me.

Gordy M
20-01-2022, 09:50 PM
How not? We play a 3 at the back and only have 4 CBs at the club. Not counting McGregor as I think he's finished.

Wasn't unfortunate either, 2 of the players you listed have got suspended for stupid reasons.

We have hanlon, porto, rocky, clarke, mcginn who can all play in a back 3, we then have doig, stevenson, cadden who can play wingbacks.

20-01-2022, 09:51 PM
I think you are underestimating how good Cove were. Just look at the players in their team.

They were right up for that game physically, but they also just camped outside their box and made it very difficult.

Yes Cove are quality, we done really well. 👍

Man Down Under
20-01-2022, 09:54 PM
Glad he got it to be honest, sounds like he was pretty gutted they knocked back the original offer, well done to Hibs for squeezing a bit more out of the deal [emoji106]

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

hibee316
20-01-2022, 09:55 PM
Yes Cove are quality, we done really well. 👍

Glad you agree!

Cup football is what it is. You just have to look at the upsets that happen every year across the UK.

We dominated the game and never looked in any real danger.

20-01-2022, 09:57 PM
Glad you agree!

Cup football is what it is. You just have to look at the upsets that happen every year across the UK.

We dominated the game and never looked in any real danger.

The officials were awful and gave Hibs nothing (again). Game after game we’re having to fight the officials to get anything.

zitelli62
20-01-2022, 09:57 PM
Who knows it might not work out for him and he gets his contract paid up front after a year and hopefully comes back he won't be the first or last for that to happen.

20-01-2022, 09:59 PM
Good luck Martin Boyle.

Ok let's spend some cash before the end of the window.

JamesHFC
20-01-2022, 10:00 PM
Any post match comments from Maloney on Boyle?

20-01-2022, 10:01 PM
Any post match comments from Maloney on Boyle?

Pre match all but confirmed he’d be away without saying it directly. Can’t see any other outcome unless Boyle pulled out.

20-01-2022, 10:02 PM
So Boyler is away - Good luck to him - a magnificent servant for Hibernian FC!

He really has been a brilliant player for us with a superb attitude and has shown great loyalty as well - improving year on year and signing extensions which have no doubt upped his value when many predicted he'd be off to chase the big bucks elsewhere.

Well now he's got that big money move and Hibs have received a tidy sum which should ease the pain somewhat. I predict he will tear it up in Saudi and be a big hit there - Good luck Martin :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

20-01-2022, 10:02 PM
I'd spend the money on a serious centre mid

Newell & Doyle Hayes provide no threat and very very little movement

People talking about pace in the team - and I get why- but if you pass & move from the middle you draw the opposition out of shape & don't need to rely on 1 paceman

Kyle McGennis is the only dynamic centre mid on the books & I'd make finding a partner for him #1 priority with the cash

20-01-2022, 10:09 PM
We need a striker that will get on the end of caddens deliveries.

20-01-2022, 10:13 PM
Wonder if we will use some of the money to build the indoor pitch at HTC.

hibee316
20-01-2022, 10:16 PM
Wonder if we will use some of the money to build the indoor pitch at HTC.

I'm sure it was ring-fenced for a Rod Petrie statue.