Good luck to him but I'm gutted he's away

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 10:23 PM
3m for our best player is crap.

I don't care what people say, hibs plus Boyle is better than hibs plus 3m

Good luck to him but I'm gutted he's away

You have no idea how the £3m would be spent though, so it’s completely hypothetical. Hibs + Boyle injured for example, Hibs + Boyle off form and downing tools (not that I expect that would happen just an example).

Teams evolve and move on. It’s a huge move for him and we’re being well recompensed for that.

h1bs4life
20-01-2022, 10:27 PM
Good luck to Martin Boyle well deserved and looks like we have done well out of it.
When we are trying to sign young players we should be using John Mcginn and Martin Boyle to show them if they come in and do well we won’t stand in there way of a big move if it suits all parties

Just_Jimmy
20-01-2022, 10:39 PM
You have no idea how the £3m would be spent though, so it’s completely hypothetical. Hibs + Boyle injured for example, Hibs + Boyle off form and downing tools (not that I expect that would happen just an example).

Teams evolve and move on. It’s a huge move for him and we’re being well recompensed for that.He's not injured or off form and we hardly have a record for reinvesting and improving.

We'll see.

20-01-2022, 10:47 PM
I'm sure it was ring-fenced for a Rod Petrie statue.

Funny you should mention that as he was there tonight. Maybe he getting measured up by the sculptor.

20-01-2022, 10:51 PM
He's not injured or off form and we hardly have a record for reinvesting and improving.

We'll see.

He could quite easily get injured, he could hypothetically go off form. We may sign 3 players better than him. Unlikely but to say we don’t reinvest under this ownership is crazy. We’ve probably spent more on transfer fees in a couple of years than we have in 10’s of years previously.

Juniper Greens
20-01-2022, 10:54 PM
Mikey Johnston please

Can’t see him getting much minutes at Celtic with their squad if 45

We already have Hendo on loan from celtic, so not sure we can have any others

Gordy M
20-01-2022, 10:55 PM
We need a striker that will get on the end of caddens deliveries.

Id imagine thats what we have spent 400k on the Norweigan boy for.

20-01-2022, 10:56 PM

Would it need to be a loan? We’re ****ing minted now.

20-01-2022, 10:59 PM
Could we genuinely sign that Sahraoui?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 11:04 PM
Could we genuinely sign that Sahraoui?

I don’t think so. There was talk of him going to St Ettienne.

I also don’t think he’s what we need, he’s a young guy that doesn’t know Scottish football. He would be another project, similar to Melkerson I think.

I like the idea of Mikey Johnstone, I know he’s a bit raw and lack the final ball at times, he would flourish at a club like ours though I think.

St.Kristopher
20-01-2022, 11:18 PM
Boyle came out of the main stand entrance and posed for photos chatted to fans. Never gave anything away on the transfer. However, I thought it was yet another class act from the guy.

20-01-2022, 11:19 PM
Mikey Johnstone ? Yes please.

Just_Jimmy
20-01-2022, 11:31 PM
He could quite easily get injured, he could hypothetically go off form. We may sign 3 players better than him. Unlikely but to say we don’t reinvest under this ownership is crazy. We’ve probably spent more on transfer fees in a couple of years than we have in 10’s of years previously.Reinvesting and improving.

Buying a replacement is fine. Its rarely an improvement.

As we said, we'll see. Ideally scenario is Boyle becomes rich and hibs get 2 or 3 top players and become more rounded.

20-01-2022, 11:42 PM
Reinvesting and improving.

Buying a replacement is fine. Its rarely an improvement.

As we said, we'll see. Ideally scenario is Boyle becomes rich and hibs get 2 or 3 top players and become more rounded.

We might not find 1 player better than Boyle, we may however find multiple that fit the squad better and give us a better threat overall. Rather than us struggle massively on Boyle’s off days (rare as they are).

That’s the challenge but that’s the model we need to follow to grow and ultimately be successful.

20-01-2022, 11:44 PM
I’m going to go against the grain here and say if Boyle wants to **** off to a backwater like Saudi Arabia for big money then good luck to him, but he’s no better than the other mercenaries that go out there to earn a few quid. Right now he’s a guy living the dream playing for a big team in Scotland and about to play in a World Cup. It’s not like he’s on a pittance at hibs, he’ll never have to work again if he stays here and sees out his contact. He could stay here and become a legend, he’d get a testimonial and earn even more money. It’s not a cut and dry decision imo.

20-01-2022, 11:53 PM
I’m going to go against the grain here and say if Boyle wants to **** off to a backwater like Saudi Arabia for big money then good luck to him, but he’s no better than the other mercenaries that go out there to earn a few quid. Right now he’s a guy living the dream playing for a big team in Scotland and about to play in a World Cup. It’s not like he’s on a pittance at hibs, he’ll never have to work again if he stays here and sees out his contact. He could stay here and become a legend, he’d get a testimonial and earn even more money. It’s not a cut and dry decision imo.

He’d never have to work again if he seen his deal out with Hibs? Wouldn’t imagine that’s the case but even if so, why wouldn’t he take the opportunity not only to set himself up, but set his kids up and his kids’ kids up for life.

Not sure what you mean by no better either, I could barely tell you anyone that went to Saudi to work, however I’ve certainly no bad feelings about anyone that did.

20-01-2022, 11:56 PM
I’m going to go against the grain here and say if Boyle wants to **** off to a backwater like Saudi Arabia for big money then good luck to him, but he’s no better than the other mercenaries that go out there to earn a few quid. Right now he’s a guy living the dream playing for a big team in Scotland and about to play in a World Cup. It’s not like he’s on a pittance at hibs, he’ll never have to work again if he stays here and sees out his contact. He could stay here and become a legend, he’d get a testimonial and earn even more money. It’s not a cut and dry decision imo.Would you move jobs for 10 times your pay?

I know I would in a second

20-01-2022, 11:56 PM

I wouldn't imagine he'll earn enough to stop working at 33 years old if he stayed at us. This move doesn't just stop him working when he retires but it would allow him and his wife to enjoy their life together with their child at a good age while also making sure their child will want for nothing growing up. I cannot blame him at all for going and I genuinely wish him all the luck and I hope we see him back before he retires (if it's right for the club still obviously).

He already is a legend for being part of the Cup winning team and going on to give us many great years, watching him develop from a headless chicken wing back/utility man that cost us an Alex Harris, to the most potent attacker in the country and earning us £3m in his late 20's has been nothing short of the ideal scenario for everyone.

21-01-2022, 12:12 AM

I don't see him being in a position where he won't need to work again if he stays with us - he's maybe only got another 4 or 5 years playing at a relatively high level and I don't think the wages we pay will be enough for him to retire on in his mid-30s.

There's no doubt that the money he's reportedly being offered is life changing but I personally would not entertain a move to live and work in Saudi Arabia on moral grounds.

However I do recognise that everyone's morals are different and Boyle must be comfortable with making the move and I personally wish him all the best. He's been a very good servant for the club over the last 7 years and we are receiving a decent amount of money for someone who is almost 29.

21-01-2022, 12:12 AM
Do you honestly think Boyle could live for the next possible 40 years on the back of what he earns at Hibs? You must be joking right?

21-01-2022, 12:22 AM
Wouldn't have taken 10 million for him after watching us without. Desperately need real pace and drive to replace him. Muller might give us some. Cadden a bit. No one else at all though.

Agree 100%.

Make a fuss about hiring an exciting young manager and the first thing we do is sell his top scorer, penalty taker and main threat from under him.

Welcome to Hibs Shaun. Lacking ambition since 1973!!

21-01-2022, 12:47 AM
Do you honestly think Boyle could live for the next possible 40 years on the back of what he earns at Hibs? You must be joking right?
No I’m not joking. If he’s sensible with his money and gets a testimonial he will be set for life without wasting his career going to Saudi Arabia. No one in their right mind would choose to go over there in the prime of their career, it’s a horrific career move.

21-01-2022, 12:50 AM
Agree 100%.

Make a fuss about hiring an exciting young manager and the first thing we do is sell his top scorer, penalty taker and main threat from under him.

Not enough people are saying this for some reason. Letting our best player walk out the door is never going to be a positive move. I don’t care how much he deserves his move, I care about us struggling without him.

21-01-2022, 03:47 AM

We had Hendo (1) and Stokes at the same time.

21-01-2022, 04:01 AM
I'm sure it was ring-fenced for a Rod Petrie statue.

£3m not even close to coving the cost. Might cover the cost of the tash part but that’s all 🤨

21-01-2022, 04:54 AM
Agree 100%.

I don't think it's a lack of ambition. All teams sell players. Ambition is different to just selling one guy. We're clearly ambitious based on our signings.

Selling Boyle just takes all unpredictably out of the side. I think we'll be a more boring side for this and I'm not sure maloneys tactics will help. Not that I think he's boring, but more that zero pace with slow build up football will be boring.

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 05:00 AM
I don't think it's a lack of ambition. All teams sell players. Ambition is different to just selling one guy. We're clearly ambitious based on our signings.

Selling Boyle just takes all unpredictably out of the side. I think we'll be a more boring side for this and I'm not sure maloneys tactics will help. Not that I think he's boring, but more that zero pace with slow build up football will be boring.
We've been boring lots of times with him in the side. We're talking about Boyle here not Cruyff.

21-01-2022, 05:04 AM
We've been boring lots of times with him in the side. We're talking about Boyle here not Cruyff.

Relative to our opposition, Boyle is Cruyff. He'll be a big loss, no doubt about that.

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 05:11 AM
Relative to our opposition, Boyle is Cruyff. He'll be a big loss, no doubt about that.
:faf: You're a funny guy I'll give you that.:faf:

21-01-2022, 05:21 AM
Not enough people are saying this for some reason. Letting our best player walk out the door is never going to be a positive move. I don’t care how much he deserves his move, I care about us struggling without him.

How are we meant to fund improving our squad if we don’t sell our assets and then reinvest in the squad?

Also makes things harder to attract players if we get a reputation for refusing to sell players.

Wee bit simplistic to suggest we should always just keep our best players until they turn pish then discard them.

Dazzjw1875
21-01-2022, 05:23 AM
Im sure hibs would've been 100% upfront with SM and he was aware of the Boyle situation, I'm also confident he would've been promised money from the sale to reinvest in the squad. Am I gutted Boyle is going defo but as said before I think this is a good move for both parties were getting 3M for a 29yr old and we can replace with good young players. Now we will see what kind of player SM has an eye for and we will be less one dimensional in regards to always using Boyle as an out and being less predictable!

21-01-2022, 05:31 AM
Would be madness to turn down 3 million for a 29 year old that wants the move to happen.

21-01-2022, 05:34 AM
:faf: You're a funny guy I'll give you that.:faf:

Okay. 33 g/a a year are seriously brilliant numbers. You make lazy statements like "he isn't Cruyff" in some attempt to downplay that but he's going to be as hard to replace as anyone.

21-01-2022, 08:31 AM
Enjoy the blood money Martin:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_rights_in_Saudi_Arabia

21-01-2022, 08:34 AM
Boyle officially gone

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1484458275148083206?s=21

21-01-2022, 08:34 AM

Britain contributes to that bloody money. We sell them 8 billion pounds worth of arms on an annual basis.

21-01-2022, 08:35 AM

Oh **** off.

All the best martin and maybe we will see you back in a few years.

Britain contributes to that bloody money. We sell them 8 billion pounds worth of arms on an annual basis.Aye but that's us that's doing it [emoji106][emoji108]

GreenGray
21-01-2022, 08:42 AM
No I’m not joking. If he’s sensible with his money and gets a testimonial he will be set for life without wasting his career going to Saudi Arabia. No one in their right mind would choose to go over there in the prime of their career, it’s a horrific career move.

He wouldn’t be set for life btw. Anyone In Their right mind would go out there for say a couple years earn 30k a week tax free whilst he still can. Who’s to say that offer will be there in a few years time? Football isn’t a long career for these guys they have to take these chances when they get them unfortunately for us.

21-01-2022, 08:45 AM
Agree 100%.

Maloney will have known about the interest in Boyle before he signed his contract.

His best player, who wasn't his player, just earned the club £3m which will be put to good use.

A superb piece of business by Hibs, from recruiting him 7 years ago for nothing, then developing him so well that he is the first name on Australis's team sheet, to moving him on for a £3m profit.

Good luck Martin Boyle. No doubt you'll be back at Easter Road in some guise or another sometime.

BlackSheep
21-01-2022, 08:46 AM
We’ve been lucky to keep Boyle over the past few years as he has been on the rise… Good luck to him and look forward to seeing him back in Scotland in a couple years.

21-01-2022, 08:49 AM
I'm very surprised that no Championship club down south have taken a serious interest in signing him. He is probably not good enough for the Premier League but I'm sure he could have done well in a lower league. Anyway I hope he does well and at least when he is called up for International duty in future it won't affect us.

21-01-2022, 08:49 AM

Definitely, if he scrimps and saves and stays in a modest semi-detached keeping the thermostat low, and his holidays infrequent, he'll probably definitely have enough to keep his family alive until his pension comes along when he's 70 or whatever age it is by then.

Steven79
21-01-2022, 08:50 AM
I'm very surprised that no Championship club down south have taken a serious interest in signing him. He is probably not good enough for the Premier League but I'm sure he could have done well in a lower league. Anyway I hope he does well and at least when he is called up for International duty in future it won't affect us.

I think he could manage in the Premier League despite it's hype.

They dont' half have some dross in that league.

21-01-2022, 08:54 AM
We’re going to have to recruit very well to replace or compensate for Boyle. The last few years we’ve been the Martin Boyle team, it’s sobering to think about our creativity struggles in a team without Boyle going forward.

On the plus side hopefully Melkerson and Mueller are the collective replacements and we can use the money to finally fix the midfield issues.

21-01-2022, 08:55 AM

See the Marcos dinnesty is still thriving in your place.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/01/17/world/asia/marcos-jr-philippines-presidential-election.html

21-01-2022, 08:55 AM
Great bit of business by the club, for Martin Boyle I'm not so sure it is except in a financial sense but for me there would be so many more things to take into consideration when contemplating a move to live and work in somewhere like Saudi Arabia - this isn't just like moving to France or Italy and having to learn another language.

Good luck to him though, even although it wouldn't be for me he obviously thinks he can make it work. I'd be surprised if he's there any longer than 12 months.

21-01-2022, 08:58 AM

The main reason people wanted Ross out was his boring football, if my memory is right, Boyle played in that team.

As for him being unpredictable, he was anything but, we knew and the opposition knew if we gave him the ball, he'd run at them, that was/is his game.

21-01-2022, 08:59 AM

Set for life with a testimonial... :eyes:

21-01-2022, 09:00 AM

Mental

21-01-2022, 09:00 AM
Ian Murray can confirm that. :greengrin

21-01-2022, 09:04 AM
Ian Murray can confirm that. :greengrin

Lewis Stevenson is rolling in cash.

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 09:05 AM

This has got to be one of the most bizarre posts ever. Your own country has not got the greatest human rights records yet you feel another country has " blood money"? Sex trafficking and the sex industry in the Philippines is overlooked due to the money it brings in . There's actually not many countries, including the UK that would stand up well in how they treat the less fortunate in society.
Martin has made a choice?, as have many from UK, to get better wages, and set his family up for life. Ffs he's not taking part in honor killings or weekly stoning, he's playing football

21-01-2022, 09:05 AM
:agree: I'm surprised he's not just packed it in and retired to the sun somewhere.

21-01-2022, 09:14 AM
Agree 100%.

Martin Boyle had already engineered and hastened his departure from the club before Shaun arrived .
Before Christmas,Martin was publicly critical of the decision to sack Ross.
He knew his comments would not please the club owner and CEO.
Publicly calling their decision to sack Ross "harsh". That was never going to stand.
I cannot recall a player publicly slating the Clubs owner whilst still at the Club.
His exit this month was inevitable and he wanted that.
Good luck to him on his new venture.
I doubt he will see his contract out over there,either !

high bee
21-01-2022, 09:16 AM
Agree 100%.

If we don’t reinvest then I agree we are lacking ambition, here’s hoping the new regime will use the funds to get in 2-3 really good players at our level and make the team more balanced.

We’ve been reliant on Boyle for a while now and he wanted to take the offer, we’ve got 6 times the amount we would’ve if he hadn’t signed a new contract which sounds like there was a gentleman’s agreement that we wouldn’t stop him leaving for decent money. So I don’t think we can fault the club at the moment.

Yorkshire HFC
21-01-2022, 09:16 AM
I hope these owners know what they're doing. I'm not sure, but selling the best player and going into a cup final without a manager doesn't seem like good leadership to me. We need some good news to come out of Easter Road sometime.

21-01-2022, 09:18 AM
Just watched his interview on hibs tv and found it a bit bizarre how much it was mentioned about a possible return already. It almost felt as if he was going away on loan for a couple years but will be back at some point

21-01-2022, 09:20 AM
This has got to be one of the most bizarre posts ever. Your own country has not got the greatest human rights records yet you feel another country has " blood money"? Sex trafficking and the sex industry in the Philippines is overlooked due to the money it brings in . There's actually not many countries, including the UK that would stand up well in how they treat the less fortunate in society.
Martin has made a choice?, as have many from UK, to get better wages, and set his family up for life. Ffs he's not taking part in honor killings or weekly stoning, he's playing football

I am Scottish and live in the Philippines with my Filipina wife and family. I speak out against all the abuses that take place in the Philippines along with many thousands of Filipinos and organisations here. Filipinos have a proud record of putting their lives at risk to oppose dictators, corruption and attacks on indiginous people - including in recent times the popular overthrow of two tyrinacal regimes. We are a long way from where Saudi is. Many sports people have put their principles before money when it comes to Saudi. Don't let the fact you live in a less than perfect country stop you from not glossing over how sport is being used in Saudi. https://www.elliotlaketoday.com/world-news/unlike-other-sports-stars-andy-murray-wont-play-in-saudi-4956045

21-01-2022, 09:22 AM
I am Scottish and live in the Philippines with my Filipina wife and family. I speak out against all the abuses that take place in the Philippines along with many thousands of Filipinos and organisations here. Filipinos have a proud record of putting their lives at risk to oppose dictators, corruption and attacks on indiginous people - including in recent times the popular overthrow of two tyrinacal regimes. We are a long way from where Saudi is. Many sports people have put their principles before money when it comes to Saudi. Don't let the fact you live in a less than perfect country stop you from not glossing over how sport is being used in Saudi. https://www.elliotlaketoday.com/world-news/unlike-other-sports-stars-andy-murray-wont-play-in-saudi-4956045So you chose to go live in a country with said human rights violations

Interesting

21-01-2022, 09:22 AM
Good luck Martin. We move on

21-01-2022, 09:23 AM
Just watched his interview on hibs tv and found it a bit bizarre how much it was mentioned about a possible return already. It almost felt as if he was going away on loan for a couple years but will be back at some point

Just the 3 minute one on freeview I think

Doesn’t say anything, is there a full interview.

21-01-2022, 09:25 AM
Martin Boyle had already engineered and hastened his departure from the club before Shaun arrived .
Publicly calling their decision to sack Ross "harsh". That was never going to stand.
I cannot recall a player publicly slating the Clubs owner whilst still at the Club.

In his interview he specifically mentions Ben Kensall as having been fantastic with him during the whole process.

21-01-2022, 09:26 AM

To be fair Boyle is probably on about 5x the wage Stevenson is. Although I agree with the general point.

21-01-2022, 09:26 AM
Just the 3 minute one on freeview I think

Doesn’t say anything, is there a full interview.Theres a 9 minute on on Hibs tv and it was mentioned quite a bit towards the end about him possibly returning in the future. Certainly sounded to me like he doesnt plan on hanging around over there for long. I may be reading too much into it though.

21-01-2022, 09:29 AM
Theres a 9 minute on on Hibs tv and it was mentioned quite a bit towards the end about him possibly returning in the future. Certainly sounded to me like he doesnt plan on hanging around over there for long. I may be reading too much into it though.

Let’s hope 6 months to top his bank account up and get back for next season.

👍🏻

CB Hibs 68
21-01-2022, 09:29 AM
Any confirmation of how much we have received for Boyle.Just caught the tail end of a discussion about Hibs on Talk Sport and they were saying we got Two and a half million.Fair bit short of the three million I had thought we were holding out for.

21-01-2022, 09:30 AM

When did calling something “harsh” become “slating”?

Cannae believe how quickly you’ve turned on a guy who’s been absolutely brilliant for us…

21-01-2022, 09:33 AM

Got that impression too, I think he will definitely be back once he's made his money.

21-01-2022, 09:36 AM
I'm going to get shot down for this. But kind of annoyed his interview just isn't free for everyone to watch. I get it it's about making money but with someone so high profile and loved everyone should get the chance to hear what he says

21-01-2022, 09:37 AM
In his interview he specifically mentions Ben Kensall as having been fantastic with him during the whole process.

Indeed, but he still was publicly critical of the decision to sack Jack Ross.
No doubt in my mind that hastened his departure.
The recent interference from Ross might back that.
I wish Martin well.
Got used to top players leaving Hibs since Joe Baker !
Although Martin is no Joe Baker !
We march on
Glory Glory

21-01-2022, 09:37 AM
I'm going to get shot down for this. But kind of annoyed his interview just isn't free for everyone to watch. I get it it's about making money but with someone so high profile and loved everyone should get the chance to hear what he says

It is free.

Just register, plus it will be on YouTube in a few hours.

21-01-2022, 09:39 AM
Any confirmation of how much we have received for Boyle.Just caught the tail end of a discussion about Hibs on Talk Sport and they were saying we got Two and a half million.Fair bit short of the three million I had thought we were holding out for.

TalkSport won’t know how much we received.

Greenio
21-01-2022, 09:40 AM

Aye, anyone else feel that part felt spun? I'm sure they made amends, but no doubt Martin's comments re JR wouldn't have gone done well with the bosses. The interview was good and I'm not doubting it being genuine, but there is clearly a script being played out there

Anyone, I love MB and I wish him and his fam all the best.! Class player

21-01-2022, 09:41 AM

As he's been a tax payer in the UK for his whole career to date he's contributed to plenty of blood money already.

Thanks for everything Squirrel, haste ye back :flag:

21-01-2022, 09:43 AM
It is free.

Just register, plus it will be on YouTube in a few hours.

I take it back and apologise then 🙈

21-01-2022, 09:43 AM
Aye, anyone else feel that part felt spun? I'm sure they made amends, but no doubt Martin's comments re JR wouldn't have gone done well with the bosses. The interview was good and I'm not doubting it being genuine, but there is clearly a script being played out there

Anyone, I love MB and I wish him and his fam all the best.! Class player

So many posts like this on here just picking at things that don't exist, Big Bad Ben, Ian Gordon swanning around doing whatever he wants, Ron not being interested etc etc.

21-01-2022, 09:44 AM
As he's been a tax payer in the UK for his whole career to date he's contributed to plenty of blood money already.

Thanks for everything Squirrel, haste ye back :flag:

Don't forget the number 10 champagne.

21-01-2022, 09:45 AM
Got that impression too, I think he will definitely be back once he's made his money.

Maybe. But I’m not sure (unless he’s still as pacey) we’ll be after him back in a few years. He’s nae spring chicken.

All the best Martin! Been a cracking player for us over the past few years and hope this move works out for him and the family.

Look forward to seeing how this money is invested now.

21-01-2022, 09:45 AM
I wonder if Lewis United (Martins first club) are due a fee 😁

21-01-2022, 09:46 AM
When did calling something “harsh” become “slating”?

Cannae believe how quickly you’ve turned on a guy who’s been absolutely brilliant for us…

Quickly? Should i go slower !!
Slate= to critisise. He was publicly critical.

His comments were having a dig at those that made the decision to sack Ross.
He turned on them.Not me turning on him.

He leaves some great footballing memories . The Hun Hat Trick for me !
Lets hope Shaun spends what portion of the cash he gets,well.

21-01-2022, 09:48 AM
Maloney will have known about the interest in Boyle before he signed his contract.

His best player, who wasn't his player, just earned the club £3m which will be put to good use.

A superb piece of business by Hibs, from recruiting him 7 years ago for nothing, then developing him so well that he is the first name on Australis's team sheet, to moving him on for a £3m profit.

Good luck Martin Boyle. No doubt you'll be back at Easter Road in some guise or another sometime.

:agree: The best bit of transfer buisness in the history of the club? In on a swap deal with Alex Harris, out for 3 million and no cut due to anyone. Have we ever bettered that?

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 09:50 AM
I am Scottish and live in the Philippines with my Filipina wife and family. I speak out against all the abuses that take place in the Philippines along with many thousands of Filipinos and organisations here. Filipinos have a proud record of putting their lives at risk to oppose dictators, corruption and attacks on indiginous people - including in recent times the popular overthrow of two tyrinacal regimes. We are a long way from where Saudi is. Many sports people have put their principles before money when it comes to Saudi. Don't let the fact you live in a less than perfect country stop you from not glossing over how sport is being used in Saudi. https://www.elliotlaketoday.com/world-news/unlike-other-sports-stars-andy-murray-wont-play-in-saudi-4956045

So it's ok for you to move abroad and get a better life , while ignoring sweat shops and sex tourists, yet you take moral high ground when someone else does the exact same thing you did? As I say, bizzare. I don't believe I said I lived in perfect country, the abuses of the indigenous in Australia is horrendous, but I won't be hypocritical and judge someone else's choices

21-01-2022, 09:58 AM
Britain contributes to that bloody money. We sell them 8 billion pounds worth of arms on an annual basis.

Would you prefer they bought them from China or Russia?

sadtom
21-01-2022, 09:58 AM

Maybe he should move to a country who have spent centuries stomping all over the globe. Raping, pillaging, enslaving and murdering on an industrial scale? A country who unashamedly makes billions selling weapons to facilitate the Saudi regime.
Where a lying war criminal, who’s hands are drenched in the blood of hundred of thousands of innocent civilians, gets a knighthood and several cushy well paid jobs.
Oh! Wait a mo’…
(the lack of self awareness in this country is staggering)

21-01-2022, 10:01 AM
So many experts on Saudi Arabia all of a sudden.

If you're going to start having a pop at Saudi you need to include most other countries in the Middle East. And large chunks of Africa. And tet's not forget about central or south America either whilst we're at it. Oh, and Russia and China of course.

Plenty countries in the world have shady human rights records.

Are we really suggesting that footballers shouldn't go to any of these countries?

Should tennis, golf, F1 etc all start boycotting countries that don't fit with our high standards?

Total BS. I'd go there in a heartbeat for the money. And the weather.

21-01-2022, 10:01 AM
Maybe he should move to a country who have spent centuries stomping all over the globe. Raping, pillaging, enslaving and murdering on an industrial scale? A country who unashamedly makes billions selling weapons to facilitate the Saudi regime.
Where a lying war criminal, who’s hands are drenched in the blood of hundred of thousands of innocent civilians, gets a knighthood and several cushy well paid jobs.
Oh! Wait a mo’…

I guess you are talking about England? ;)

Steven79
21-01-2022, 10:04 AM

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 10:04 AM
https://www.amnesty.org/en/location/asia-and-the-pacific/south-east-asia-and-the-pacific/philippines/report-philippines/

People in glass houses....

21-01-2022, 10:05 AM
Quite a few comments on the negative and unjust aspects of life in Saudi Arabia, the low league position of Al Faisaly and their threat to quit the league because of poor refereeing, doesn’t augur well for Boyle. He might be led by the nose because of the financial carrot but I trust he understands that he’s not going out to a bed of roses. I wish him well but I wouldn’t be surprised if it all end up in tears.

21-01-2022, 10:07 AM
I actually think this isn't a bad thing. We can't rely on one player all the time. It doesn't work. As well as being terrific money for the club i think it will make others pull up their socks. I think we've squeezed the best value out if this deal. Suits all parties.

Steven79
21-01-2022, 10:07 AM
Quite a few comments on the negative and unjust aspects of life in Saudi Arabia, the low league position of Al Faisaly and their threat to quit the league because of poor refereeing, doesn’t augur well for Boyle. He might be led by the nose because of the financial carrot but I trust he understands that he’s not going out to a bed of roses. I wish him well but I wouldn’t be surprised if it all end up in tears.

As long as we get the money upfront and he's got a signing on fee then it's all good...

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 10:12 AM
Good luck to him. He's made a choice for himself, Rachel and his family. The numbers talked about are eye watering, and I challenge anybody that was offered £1.5 million a year, saying they won't take it. For goodness sake, if any of us was offered £30,000 a year pay rise we would be packing our bags.

Steven79
21-01-2022, 10:14 AM
Good luck to him. He's made a choice for himself, Rachel and his family. The numbers talked about are eye watering, and I challenge anybody that was offered £1.5 million a year, saying they won't take it. For goodness sake, if any of us was offered £30,000 a year pay rise we would be packing our bags.

£30,000 a week pay rise you mean?

My wife would be packing my bags! :rotflmao:

21-01-2022, 10:19 AM

Is his testimonal going to be a sell-out Worldwide tour of the Nou Camp, San Siro, Wembley, Dallas Cowboys, Parc Des Princes, Beijing Birds Nest and Riverplate Stadiums?

Ludicrous comment. Good luck Boyler and enjoy the rest of your life in comfort with a stellar career behind you to be proud of.

GreenGray
21-01-2022, 10:19 AM
Theres a 9 minute on on Hibs tv and it was mentioned quite a bit towards the end about him possibly returning in the future. Certainly sounded to me like he doesnt plan on hanging around over there for long. I may be reading too much into it though.

He will definitely be back. Who wants to live out there for that long? He’ll go for a year or two earn his money tax free then come back.

21-01-2022, 10:23 AM
Oh! Wait a mo’…

A bit of a one sided view. You maybe need to read up on the British Empire a bit more!!

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 10:25 AM
£30,000 a week pay rise you mean?

My wife would be packing my bags! :rotflmao:

Mine would be packing my bags if it was £1,000 a week pay rise!

21-01-2022, 10:25 AM
He will definitely be back. Who wants to live out there for that long? He’ll go for a year or two earn his money tax free then come back.

Not necessarily to us. I reckon he'll want to finish his career at Aberdeen.

21-01-2022, 10:26 AM
Mine would be packing my bags if it was £1,000 a week pay rise!

Mine would pay me 1,000 to pack my bags

Lendo
21-01-2022, 10:31 AM
:agree: The best bit of transfer buisness in the history of the club? In on a swap deal with Alex Harris, out for 3 million and no cut due to anyone. Have we ever bettered that?

Its definitely up there. Were we not still getting money from Steve Fletcher’s second and third transfers down south. The Tach had those sell-on clauses tied up tight.

Greenio
So many posts like this on here just picking at things that don't exist, Big Bad Ben, Ian Gordon swanning around doing whatever he wants, Ron not being interested etc etc.

?

Just saying what I think. Isnt that the idea?

The Captain....
I think Boyle and the club conducted themselves with credit during this.

Sad to see him go as he's one of my favourite players and a key part of our attacking threat. Chance for others to shine and excited to see what we do in the transfer market now and more importantly for me, in the Summer.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

21-01-2022, 10:33 AM

Or maybe Australia and settle there.

21-01-2022, 10:34 AM
A bit of a one sided view. You maybe need to read up on the British Empire a bit more!!

It's not inaccurate, which part of it is wrong?

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 10:37 AM
Or maybe Australia and settle there.

I can see Sydney Fc or Melbourne City... 2 great cities to bring up kids

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 10:38 AM

Up there with Allan for Henderson on loan and McGeoch, or Allan coming back on loan in that three-way (😮) deal with Scott Bain.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 10:41 AM
So many experts on Saudi Arabia all of a sudden.

If you're going to start having a pop at Saudi you need to include most other countries in the Middle East. And large chunks of Africa. And tet's not forget about central or south America either whilst we're at it. Oh, and Russia and China of course.

Plenty countries in the world have shady human rights records.

Are we really suggesting that footballers shouldn't go to any of these countries?

Should tennis, golf, F1 etc all start boycotting countries that don't fit with our high standards?

Total BS. I'd go there in a heartbeat for the money. And the weather.

Bit of whataboutism here, not relevant to a conversation on Saudi Arabia, you don't have to accept s*****y tegimes because others do it. In answer to your question about boycotts. Yes, yes they should.

21-01-2022, 10:42 AM
It's not inaccurate, which part of it is wrong?

None of it. He just wants you to go and read about the mighty British Empire… for some reason.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 10:43 AM

That's a fairly accurate reflection of the British Empire, unless you're Winston Churchill or Niall Ferguson.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 10:45 AM
Good to hear in his Hibs TV interview that he'd like to come back. Could see it was quite emotional for him.

I'm dreaming of a preseason contract in 18 months.

Love that man. Best of luck to him 💚💚

21-01-2022, 10:48 AM
Ooops! Sorry,wrong room.
Did not realise this was the United HibsNet Human Rights Conference.:greengrin

Be surprised,as others have said,if Martin does the "full contract" over there.
But who knows, it might suit his family lifestyle,assuming all are going.

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 10:51 AM
Bit of whataboutism here, not relevant to a conversation on Saudi Arabia, you don't have to accept s*****y tegimes because others do it. In answer to your question about boycotts. Yes, yes they should.

So where should we boycott? Uk for funding war regime's, so that's most of middle East ruled out. Perhaps African countries that use child Labor that get components for mobile fones and laptops or diamond /tanzanite rings. Asia? That uses child labour to put sports gear on your back. The states? That have no welfare help... where can we visit then?
FIFA and UEFA are a part of these areas,so the SFA is complicit in this, so we should withdraw from the league and cups?

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 10:56 AM
Is his testimonal going to be a sell-out Worldwide tour of the Nou Camp, San Siro, Wembley, Dallas Cowboys, Parc Des Princes, Beijing Birds Nest and Riverplate Stadiums?

Ludicrous comment. Good luck Boyler and enjoy the rest of your life in comfort with a stellar career behind you to be proud of.
In a long line of many ludicrous posts now. This thread will join recent others in being closed down.

sadtom
21-01-2022, 10:58 AM
Really? REALLY!? 😂 I would take an even money bet with you any day, every day that I’ve read more about it than you.
Please enlighten me on where I have not correctly characterised arguably the most brutal, bloody and murderous ‘Empire’ in human history.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 10:59 AM
So where should we boycott? Uk for funding war regime's, so that's most of middle East ruled out. Perhaps African countries that use child Labor that get components for mobile fones and laptops or diamond /tanzanite rings. Asia? That uses child labour to put sports gear on your back. The states? That have no welfare help... where can we visit then?
FIFA and UEFA are a part of these areas,so the SFA is complicit in this, so we should withdraw from the league and cups?

Ok, so we can do nothing then and never try to change things for the better. Cool.

If the SFA came out and said they wouldn't go to Qatar if we qualified, as tough as that would be, I'd support that decision.

But I'm not talking about individuals. I'm talking about organisations. Sochi should have been boycotted in my opinion, Qatar should not have been selected. Sports bodies shouldn't go to these places, in my opinion.

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 11:02 AM
Really? REALLY!? 😂 I would take an even money bet with you any day, every day that I’ve read more about it than you.
Please enlighten me on where I have not correctly characterised arguably the most brutal, bloody and murderous ‘Empire’ in human history.
Take a chill pill and save us your personal history knowledge of brutal empires, there's been countless over time and I doubt there's anyone out there who can tell us who was the most brutal.

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 11:10 AM
Ok, so we can do nothing then and never try to change things for the better. Cool.

If the SFA came out and said they wouldn't go to Qatar if we qualified, as tough as that would be, I'd support that decision.

But I'm not talking about individuals. I'm talking about organisations. Sochi should have been boycotted in my opinion, Qatar should not have been selected. Sports bodies shouldn't go to these places, in my opinion.

If the SFA and clubs said they wouldn't buy from manufacturers that used child labour to put replica shirts on our backs ( including Joma) and wouldn't attend any domestic/ world cup /European club championship, I would be all for it.
But as we buy the kits and attend these European/world cup games, we are funding those regime's. So it's up to us to send the message.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 11:13 AM
If the SFA and clubs said they wouldn't buy from manufacturers that used child labour to put replica shirts on our backs ( including Joma) and wouldn't attend any domestic/ world cup /European club championship, I would be all for it.
But as we buy the kits and attend these European/world cup games, we are funding those regime's. So it's up to us to send the message.

I agree, but I thinkt he main onus is on organisations as they have the real power.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 11:15 AM
Take a chill pill and save us your personal history knowledge of brutal empires, there's been countless over time and I doubt there's anyone out there who can tell us who was the most brutal.

There will be historians who could give it a damn good, informed go.

It's probably the Third Reich.

Doesn't mean the British Empire wasn't brutal though.

This feels like a Holy Ground topic 😂

21-01-2022, 11:20 AM
Can anyone give me a list of countries that haven’t done horrible stuff in the past so that I can decide where I’m allowed to go on holiday next?

21-01-2022, 11:21 AM
There will be historians who could give it a damn good, informed go.

It's probably the Third Reich.

Doesn't mean the British Empire wasn't brutal though.

This feels like a Holy Ground topic 😂

You are right to say this belongs in another forum.

Having said that I nominate Stalin.

Callyballybe
21-01-2022, 11:22 AM
I didn't realise Al Faisaly play in maroon!? I hope there is some conspiracy involved in which Boyle is actually moving there to ensure their relegation!

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 11:23 AM
You are right to say this belongs in another forum.

Having said that I nominate Stalin.

Bet you wouldn't say that to his face 😉

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 11:23 AM
Can anyone give me a list of countries that haven’t done horrible stuff in the past so that I can decide where I’m allowed to go on holiday next?

Best staying in house and not using any devices!
Although I believe the mongols, Roman empire ( what have they ever done for us?) And aztecs, are probably safe

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 11:29 AM
I agree, but I thinkt he main onus is on organisations as they have the real power.

The power is in the hands of who is the members , I.e the clubs. The clubs are, largely, influenced by the members, I.e the fans.
We don't buy season tickets or merchandise, the club suffers

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 11:40 AM
The power is in the hands of who is the members , I.e the clubs. The clubs are, largely, influenced by the members, I.e the fans.
We don't buy season tickets or merchandise, the club suffers

Only to an extent, and it doesn't apply to a lot of things, in my opinion.

21-01-2022, 11:43 AM
Bet you wouldn't say that to his face ��

Winston did.. but stll needed him :greengrin

ozwoody
21-01-2022, 11:48 AM
Only to an extent, and it doesn't apply to a lot of things, in my opinion.

When it comes to football, yes, we have unlimited power as consumers. We are not reliant on TV money as they are down south

Just_Jimmy
21-01-2022, 11:50 AM
Stand by what I said earlier. 2.5m plus "add ons" is pish for our best player and it undoubtedly leaves us weaker.

We under sold McGinn and we've under sold Boyle.

I hope as I said, we invest it and get 2 or 3 top players which make us better and more balanced but history tells us that is rarely, if ever the case.

21-01-2022, 11:51 AM
Stand by what I said earlier. 2.5m plus "add ons" is pish for our best player and it undoubtedly leaves us weaker.

I hope as I said, we invest it and get 2 or 3 top players which make us better and more balanced but history tells us that is rarely, if ever the case.

Do you know of many clubs who were knocking at the door at ER offering more money?

21-01-2022, 11:55 AM

He's only worth what someone is willing to pay and both him and McGinn wanted to move, neither of which anyone grudges they served the club well and most are happy with them making their own decisions.

sadtom
21-01-2022, 11:57 AM
Essentially yes.
But we can avoid the honest truth that us Scots have been the able and willing bullies gimps. A psychotic Millhouse character if you like.

sadtom
21-01-2022, 12:01 PM
I’m perfectly chilled.
Its the longevity and global reach of the British empire that sets us apart from all others. No one hold a candle to the Brits when it comes to exporting terror.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 12:03 PM
When it comes to football, yes, we have unlimited power as consumers. We are not reliant on TV money as they are down south

Again, power only to an extent.

Knowing it was coming doesn't make it any easier. Gutted! Can't begrudge him an iota of it. What a brilliant servant to the club, great loyalty, a legend.

hibby rae
Winston did.. but stll needed him :greengrin

They were probably both steaming at the time so got away with it 😂

21-01-2022, 12:11 PM
Sad day, losing our best player, and for Boyle if he stays there its the end of his club career at any decent level, playing for one of the worst teams in a backwater league, in a near empty stadium, I'm sure he could have got a better move than this, still earning a substantial amount but without effectively retiring in his prime.

21-01-2022, 12:19 PM
His replacement better be ****ing good

GreenGray
21-01-2022, 12:25 PM

Have you watched the interview? He said he wouldn’t play for any other Scottish club. Obviously could be nonsense but not sure why he would lie.

LunasBoots
21-01-2022, 12:46 PM
Good luck Martin, you will be missed badly, hope we've got someone who can change a match like yourself lined up.

21-01-2022, 12:47 PM

I think Switzerland are pretty decent. No sure about the pint prices though.

21-01-2022, 12:53 PM
I think Switzerland are pretty decent. No sure about the pint prices though.

Nah, they’ve got dirty linen too.

https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/nazis/readings/sinister.html

21-01-2022, 01:16 PM
Faroe Islands and Iceland.

21-01-2022, 01:17 PM
Nah, they’ve got dirty linen too.

https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/nazis/readings/sinister.html

My mistake. Just stay at hame, Saul.

Orchard_Hibs
21-01-2022, 01:25 PM
Faroe Islands and Iceland.

The faroe’s regularly slaughter whales, not my cup of tea. While Iceland imprisoned all their bankers, could be a big selling point for some.

21-01-2022, 01:26 PM
Jesus ****. Where’s this thread went.

21-01-2022, 01:29 PM
None of it. He just wants you to go and read about the mighty British Empire… for some reason.

Nope, just looking for some balance.

21-01-2022, 01:31 PM

Exactly!

Maybe FIFA should just ban every country with questionable humans rights from playing football.

We might be able to qualify for the World Cup in future:greengrin

21-01-2022, 01:35 PM

Not sure I could recommend a staycation if those are the conditions [emoji15]

21-01-2022, 01:39 PM
Not sure I could recommend a staycation if those are the conditions [emoji15]

Nah, Yoons get persecuted here :greengrin

21-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Its not until you watch the highlights of his goals that you realise how good he actually is, easily our best player and will be a huge miss for us and like john mcginn may not be replaced for a very long time, these types of players dont come along that often, in scotland anyway

21-01-2022, 02:40 PM
Boyle saying he wants to come back to Hibs once his time in Saudi is up - so basically we are getting £3m for loaning him out there during which time he becomes a multi-millionaire? This deal just gets better and better for us.

21-01-2022, 02:44 PM
Boyle saying he wants to come back to Hibs once his time in Saudi is up - so basically we are getting £3m for loaning him out there during which time he becomes a multi-millionaire? This deal just gets better and better for us.

Apart from the bit where we lose our best player.

We’ve done as well out of it as we can, I think, but it’s not good for us football wise.

21-01-2022, 02:47 PM

Or Australia qualify for Qatar and he has a great World Cup and gets another big money move and we get a share of it through a sell on - just need the SJM transfer to go through in summer for some extra cash too ! I think he’ll move to Man Utd.

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 02:51 PM
I’m perfectly chilled.
Its the longevity and global reach of the British empire that sets us apart from all others. No one hold a candle to the Brits when it comes to exporting terror.
That is complete rubbish.

21-01-2022, 02:57 PM

it might only be one side of the story but it's a gruesome, sick side - takes any gloss off whatever side of the story supporters of the empire provide.

21-01-2022, 03:09 PM
We’ve just lost our best player, I’m genuinely surprised at how blasé so many people seem to be about it. I know there’s nothing we can do about it, but to try and present him leaving as a positive is baffling. In all my years supporting hibs we’ve never once replaced our star player with anything near the same quality. When Mcginn left it took 3 managers before we were competitive again.

stuart-farquhar
21-01-2022, 03:12 PM
Exactly!

Maybe FIFA should just ban every country with questionable humans rights from playing football.

We might be able to qualify for the World Cup in future:greengrin
What with our record of sectarianism past and present!

21-01-2022, 03:30 PM
When are his new club playing next?

Yorkshire HFC
21-01-2022, 03:38 PM
Jesus ****. Where’s this thread went.

To the moral high ground. This place is full of people who have never had to make a decision in their lives.

21-01-2022, 03:43 PM
We’ve just lost our best player, I’m genuinely surprised at how blasé so many people seem to be about it. I know there’s nothing we can do about it, but to try and present him leaving as a positive is baffling. In all my years supporting hibs we’ve never once replaced our star player with anything near the same quality. When Mcginn left it took 3 managers before we were competitive again.

Without Boyles input we would’ve lost him for far less. We’re losing him, but would’ve lost him anyway, this way we’ve got vast sums in our pocket to go and try to improve.

As someone said previously, we can’t just keep our players until they are too old with no sell on value. That may help us this year but down the line we wouldn’t have any money to replace them with and end up far worse for it.

Just_Jimmy
21-01-2022, 03:44 PM
We’ve just lost our best player, I’m genuinely surprised at how blasé so many people seem to be about it. I know there’s nothing we can do about it, but to try and present him leaving as a positive is baffling. In all my years supporting hibs we’ve never once replaced our star player with anything near the same quality. When Mcginn left it took 3 managers before we were competitive again.Exactly...

21-01-2022, 03:47 PM
When are his new club playing next?

Playing today. 5 o’clockish

21-01-2022, 03:56 PM

I don’t think there is much fans can do or say that would made a difference.

Most fans are aware every club is a selling club if the price is right. Hibs and Ben did the right thing sorting his new contract out abs same applies to Doig / Porto who will probably next to be sold. Sign a new contract improve weekly wage and we will sell you in future making sure Hibs get X amount which suits both parties. This is clear in Boyles interview and Ben has said this before.

I do agree about the next stages though. We still haven’t even come close to replacing SJM and currently I’m not sure we have a Boyle replacement - Mueller isn’t the same as Boyle.

Boyle was entertainment and got fans off their seats - he was also entertainment off the pitch on social media etc and in the dressing room.

Boyle leaving allows others to step up but we do need to find some pace up front or wide - electric pace that defenders really fear.

We also need to sort the midfield - Magennis was starting to show signs of being a possible replacement but he just can’t be relied on.

Over to you Hibs..still time before window shuts to give the fans a boost with at least 2 more signings that will make an instant impact to improve us.

I have more faith with Ron and Ben to give SM funds than RP days.

Charles Cook and Mikey Johnston would improve us.

hibby rae
21-01-2022, 04:05 PM

Tbf when McGinn left, we also lost McGeoch and Allan. So we needed a whole new midfield.

21-01-2022, 04:15 PM
I’m delighted for Martin and he deserves his pay day in the sun after his performances for us over the years but absolutely devastated from a Hibs point of view. Yes £3 million in the kitty but probably unreplaceable in the pond we fish in. Like most how & who are we gonna get in to replace him & his goal scoring threat ?

Thanks for the memories Martin. :not worth

21-01-2022, 04:16 PM
HAbsolutely gutted. Boyle is a brilliant player and always seemed a great character to have around. He’s earned his big money move. He’s doing what’s best for him and his family. I imagine he will spend a couple of years over there, make his money (which provided he’s sensible about it will set him and his family up for life) then return to somewhere in the UK.

so good on him and I wish him nothing but success.

Provided some amazing memories and Leaves a legend :not worth:flag:

Yorkshire HFC
21-01-2022, 05:52 PM
Without Boyles input we would’ve lost him for far less. We’re losing him, but would’ve lost him anyway, this way we’ve got vast sums in our pocket to go and try to improve.

As someone said previously, we can’t just keep our players until they are too old with no sell on value. That may help us this year but down the line we wouldn’t have any money to replace them with and end up far worse for it.

It seems that it's fine to take Saudi money - but not to take Glasgow money!

21-01-2022, 05:54 PM
It seems that it's fine to take Saudi money - but not to take Glasgow money!Don't think we have much of a rivalry with Al Faisaly to be fair

Green Reaper
21-01-2022, 06:25 PM

Interesting Boyle talking about coming back, if we’ll have him, when he’s just left. If Rachel staying, as reported, will be hard for Boyle out there. Anyone know the length of his contract for them?

21-01-2022, 06:38 PM
Iceland.

That's true, my mum used to go there regularly.

21-01-2022, 06:56 PM
Wonder if he’s got a relegation clause in his contract, they aren’t doing very well

21-01-2022, 07:29 PM
Wonder if he’s got a relegation clause in his contract, they aren’t doing very well

Don’t think he’ll be too fussed. Don’t think he’s going for the quality of football.

21-01-2022, 07:39 PM

Didn't realise they're quite so bad - second bottom!

22-01-2022, 07:20 AM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/12521868/martin-boyle-hibernian-include-buy-back-clause-in-al-faisaly-deal

He'll be back.

22-01-2022, 07:31 AM
So we get first option to buy him back, can see him being out there for a year and then coming back

22-01-2022, 07:35 AM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/12521868/martin-boyle-hibernian-include-buy-back-clause-in-al-faisaly-deal

He'll be back.

Superb from Hibs that.

22-01-2022, 07:39 AM
The terms of the offer are we'd need to match whatever bid has already been made for him. If he continues to do well for Australia and plays at the WC I'd imagine the chances of us doing that for a player who will be 30+ are highly unlikely.

22-01-2022, 07:48 AM
So we get first option to buy him back, can see him being out there for a year and then coming back

Could we afford him?

22-01-2022, 07:50 AM
Could we afford him?

I don't think we could. We don't have an agreed buy back price just essentially we are made aware if any bids are made by other clubs and we can choose to match.

Unless his value collapses then I don't think he'll be back

22-01-2022, 07:51 AM
The terms of the offer are we'd need to match whatever bid has already been made for him. If he continues to do well for Australia and plays at the WC I'd imagine the chances of us doing that for a player who will be 30+ are highly unlikely.

30 isn’t old these days man 😂 always laugh at these comments as if players are done and over the hill when they hit 30

22-01-2022, 07:55 AM
Could we afford him?

Boyle could force the issue.

22-01-2022, 08:11 AM
30 isn’t old these days man 😂 always laugh at these comments as if players are done and over the hill when they hit 30

Hibs won't be paying big transfer fees to guys in their 30s.

22-01-2022, 08:17 AM
I don't think we could. We don't have an agreed buy back price just essentially we are made aware if any bids are made by other clubs and we can choose to match.

Unless his value collapses then I don't think he'll be back

Yep that's how I interpreted it as well.

There's no way we'll spend the reported £2.5 million + £500,000 add ons or anything like it to bring him back so unless Al-Faisaly are happy to make a significant loss by selling him back to us for something like £5-600k and no other club in the UK is interested (which I would doubt, especially if he has a successful spell with Australia) then I can't see him back at Hibs.

22-01-2022, 08:18 AM
Hibs won't be paying big transfer fees to guys in their 30s.

Who’s to say it’s a big transfer fee? Too many variables to suggest that at this stage, let’s see how it pans out.

22-01-2022, 08:18 AM

He'll be back.

Better put the money in the bank and save it.

22-01-2022, 08:20 AM
Seems a strange transfer to me. Yes he will be a very wealthy young man but I can't see him having the same banter out there and he seems a very social guy. Good luck to him but he's a brave man taking it on especially leaving the missus and kid behind. My money is on him being back at er in 18 months for a small fee.

22-01-2022, 08:26 AM
Seems a strange transfer to me. Yes he will be a very wealthy young man but I can't see him having the same banter out there and he seems a very social guy. Good luck to him but he's a brave man taking it on especially leaving the missus and kid behind. My money is on him being back at er in 18 months for a small fee.

He's going out there to work and secure his financial future not to enjoy the bants. He won't be as happy as he was at Hibs, but he'll know that. He's got his international career to fall back on and the conditioning he'll get from being in SA will stand him in good stead for Qatar.

You never know, he might be even more sought after in 18 months.

22-01-2022, 08:26 AM

Tend to agree huge culture shift he will be hoping he has a few as you say social people maybe some western or Aussies on the same level. Hope it works well for him.

22-01-2022, 08:29 AM

He'll be back.

He's looking lost on his own already...just finding his way around Edinburgh airport, I suspect he'll be back in the UK, and not with Hibs long before his contract expires.

Greenside
22-01-2022, 08:31 AM
With club chiefs negotiating inclusion of the clause as part of his contract with The Burgundy, Hibs will be notified of any potential deals that Al-Faisaly are willing to accept for Boyle’s transfer during his two-year deal with the club.
"Burgundy"?
Do Al-Faisaly play in maroon?

22-01-2022, 08:34 AM

What’s app / face time / COD online etc - I get what you are saying but it’s not like he will be locked in a cave with no human interaction.

His team mates - why they maybe don’t have the same “banter” as Porto etc they all will have football as a common theme.

The relegation part is interesting- 2nd bottom and 3 go down…they are obviously expecting Boyle to produce the goods to help them stay up.

hibstag
22-01-2022, 08:37 AM

I'm sure they have weighed up his option and realised that this will make their financial future secure.they may have thought that this current hibs contract was as good as it would get. I'm sure he wasn't on great money at montrose, dundee and his initial years with us so This offers a great opportunity to top up his career earnings and allow him to choose his next deal with no pressure to maximise earnings

22-01-2022, 08:37 AM
With club chiefs negotiating inclusion of the clause as part of his contract with The Burgundy, Hibs will be notified of any potential deals that Al-Faisaly are willing to accept for Boyle’s transfer during his two-year deal with the club.
"Burgundy"?
Do Al-Faisaly play in maroon?

They play in Burgundy. Like a fine wine.

Unlike bloodied turd.

22-01-2022, 08:41 AM
Could we afford him?

Really depends, we wont have a scooby just now how much he will be worth in 1 or 2 years time, if he ends up being rank rotten over there then they might want shot, if he continues his good form then might be out of our reach

22-01-2022, 09:50 AM
We genuinely debating how much it’s going to cost us to buy Martin Boyle, the day after we’ve sold Martin Boyle? 😂

22-01-2022, 09:55 AM
He's looking lost on his own already...just finding his way around Edinburgh airport, I suspect he'll be back in the UK, and not with Hibs long before his contract expires.

Yup, a decent agent and he’ll be back within a year, but a hell of a lot better off, probably managing to have his contract paid up.

Might end up signing for a team in Oz mind you, that would also be a cracking move for him.

hibby rae
22-01-2022, 09:58 AM
From what Rachael Boyle has said in the Evening News e.g. about their daughter, it sounds to me that any move after this will be back to the UK.

22-01-2022, 10:03 AM
Really depends, we wont have a scooby just now how much he will be worth in 1 or 2 years time, if he ends up being rank rotten over there then they might want shot, if he continues his good form then might be out of our reach

He could be free if at end of his contract - so just wages.

22-01-2022, 10:11 AM
He could be free if at end of his contract - so just wages.

Would he come back for £20k a week?

22-01-2022, 10:19 AM
Would he come back for £20k a week?

Yup - would fit right into the wage structure being reported on here last few weeks.

22-01-2022, 12:44 PM
is it far too early to start a 'welcome back martin boyle' thread :greengrin

Dazzjw1875
23-01-2022, 09:39 AM
Im confused its saying the Boyle deal hasn't been finalised yet and it's still pending medical and him signing after his spell with Aus, so what if he picks up an injury?

23-01-2022, 09:43 AM
Im confused its saying the Boyle deal hasn't been finalised yet and it's still pending medical and him signing after his spell with Aus, so what if he picks up an injury?

They'll sign him anyway I'd imagine.

Medicals are really quite optional. They are to find things that might be unseen like heart conditions. They aren't for broken legs.

23-01-2022, 09:48 AM

Medicals are really quite optional. They are to find things that might be unseen like heart conditions. They aren't for broken legs.

Phew. After several agreements in a row, things are slowly returning to normal :wink:

Medicals are far more thorough than that.

Have a read; https://www.physioroom.com/info/what-happens-during-a-football-medical-physioroom-com-blog/#:~:text=The%20medical%20professional%20will%20ass ess,and%20dental%20health%20are%20recorded.

23-01-2022, 09:54 AM
Phew. After several agreements in a row, things are slowly returning to normal :wink:

Medicals are far more thorough than that.

Have a read; https://www.physioroom.com/info/what-happens-during-a-football-medical-physioroom-com-blog/#:~:text=The%20medical%20professional%20will%20ass ess,and%20dental%20health%20are%20recorded.

That hasn't really said anything different, though. They are to look for things that aren't obvious. Things that could hurt the player long or short term. I don't think Boyle getting an obvious and common injury right now would prevent the move.

23-01-2022, 09:59 AM
That hasn't really said anything different, though. They are to look for things that aren't obvious. Things that could hurt the player long or short term. I don't think Boyle getting an obvious and common injury right now would prevent the move.

Maybe not, but your comment about heart problems was too flippant. (That's probably the wrong word but I hope you know what I mean.)

Dazzjw1875
23-01-2022, 10:18 AM

Aye I kinda thought that but just wondered if we go and say sign another 3 players some maybe with a fee and go's move fell through. Cheers