View Full Version : St Mirren Vs Hibs

Pages : 1 [2]

Sauzee67
11-12-2021, 03:52 PM
We consist on playing Nisbet and wonder why we are not scoring goals, his form has been horrific for weeks and lazy is an understatement.

11-12-2021, 03:53 PM
Gogic was one of our best players.

Disagree massively

Campbell was our best player for me

Magpie
11-12-2021, 03:53 PM
1 win in 10 league games. Shambolic. Got to beat Dundee on Tuesday.

11-12-2021, 03:54 PM
If we don’t beat Dundee and get pumped in the final Ross can get tae…oh aye

Hibby-G
How many times are we going to start off well, score the first goal and then proceed to play dreadful and eventually concede 🙄

Dalkeith Boy
Absolute crap, start to finish. Dismal dismal stuff both teams. This is our reaction to sacking the Manager...disgraceful effort.

Don't get the chat on HibsTV. Really think they are watching a different game. Better side throughout and dominant? I saw two teams lacking quality. Last 20mins or so we hoofed it as often as we could.

New manager and January transfer window is going to be massive.

Please don’t hold your breath!

2 points dropped again.

Frustrating and feels like similar story.

I actually thought we did ok today and players gave everything - we deserved to be 1v0 up but the reason we dropped points was one of the reasons we are struggling this season…lack of depth and quality on bench.

Drey Wright did nothing when he came on - was like playing with 10 players.

Doidge obviously still finding his feet but didn’t so much either.

Others looked tired but no changes.

I felt we were pretty attacking and deserved more. Doubt having Jack Ross today would have made much difference either way.

Aberdeen now ahead of us - 4 points - yes we have a game in hand but considering what a shocking start to the season they had we will be lucky to make the top 6.

Bridge hibs
We consist on playing Nisbet and wonder why we are not scoring goals, his form has been horrific for weeks and lazy is an understatement.Who would you play instead ?

11-12-2021, 03:55 PM
so, which team is next up looking for at least a point from us

btw that was Daz that let his man run away from him for the goal

timewilltell
This is soul destroying.
We are not a bad team, this is getting relegated results.
We need help asap!

We're not a bad team?!!!

We are awful, truly awful in a really poor league.

Two very poor teams in pretty bad conditions - draw probably a fair result ...

11-12-2021, 03:56 PM
How many times are we going to start off well, score the first goal and then proceed to play dreadful and eventually concede 🙄

Losing count of how often this happens

loanheadhibby

We can’t buy a win. Every week I say must win but we never do.

timewilltell
Next Sunday will be interesting! 🙄

I know we have enough to worry about ourselves but spare a thought for double cup winning, Hibs constant conquerers and manager of the year St Johnstone now bottom of the league.

Sauzee67
Who would you play instead ?

Well I would have had Doidge on for the second half as he offers so much more in attack and defence

11-12-2021, 03:57 PM
good one

I genuinely think we would have lost that game without Gogic and Stevenson being in the team. I typed "best" instead of "better". I think Gogic, for what he is there to do, was one of our better players. It's a hard bunch to select from as they were all distinctly average.

11-12-2021, 03:58 PM
This squad showing all the hallmarks of the last relegation. Only plus is we've got time to fix it.

11-12-2021, 03:59 PM
Meh. Whatever. Less said the better.

H18S NX
The last 20 minutes we were shan,panicking at the back,hoofing it anywhere to no one in particular.

LunasBoots
Need a manager before January, someone who can motivate this bunch.

Bridge hibs
Well I would have had Doidge on for the second half as he offers so much more in attack and defenceNisbets form has been horrific for weeks but we persist with him, Doidge has been injured and on return suspended, he is nowhere near fit enough to start so again, who would you start with ?

shamo9
11-12-2021, 04:00 PM
Can't keep a clean sheet and don't look like we can score many goals. Bad recipe. Next Sunday could get ugly.

This team is p!sh. Absolute garbage

Drey Wright looks like a fan who won a competition to be on the pitch.

2 DM's and 1 up front against St.Mirren the entire match, what a f'ing joke

Underrated comment. :tee hee:

I know we have enough to worry about ourselves but spare a thought for double cup winning, Hibs constant conquerers and manager of the year St Johnstone now bottom of the league.

Yes a mere 6 points behind us...

11-12-2021, 04:01 PM
I genuinely think we would have lost that game without Gogic and Stevenson being in the team. I typed "best" instead of "better". I think Gogic, for what he is there to do, was one of our better players. It's a hard bunch to select from as they were all distinctly average.

Stevenson showed why he's deserving of more time on the pitch. Dealt with everything that came his way and done well playing the ball forward to feet instead of hoofing it all the time.

MacGregor was having a fine game up until their goal. Unfortunately that's what you get from MacGregor now. Doesn't have the legs or general fitness to give you everything for 90 minutes... Could lay that at the feet of many of our team mind. Even some of the younger players.

Annoying to lose the goal but St Mirren were deserving of at least a point. That's just our level at the ment.

11-12-2021, 04:02 PM

We need more players.

They looked motivated - it’s not like they weren’t trying - it’s we just have a severe lack of depth / quality and options.

SauzeesLeftBoot
Another moment, another gift and another game without a win. St Mirren were there for the taken today, but the on going habit of switching off at the worst of times has cost us yet again. We seem to go into each game with an "our brand" mentality, rather than looking at how the opposition team are playing, exposing potential weaknesses in their play and taking advantage of it. It's not a difficult concept to grasp. We shouldn't be looking to play the same way each and every week, but instead looking at how we need to play in regards to the opposition we're up against on a game by game basis.

Well I would have had Doidge on for the second half as he offers so much more in attack and defence

Doige will probably no be match fit until the start o February it was always going to be so. we are now looking at the table the wrong way round, something is just wrong at our club, dont know what it is but it dont look good for the short term future, that's why I would drag Lenny from the west end in Glasgow and have him at east mains on Monday morning. Scare the sheite out of them so called Hibs players.

Who would you play instead ?

I would actually play Gullan ahead of him right now.

I know that technically Nisbet is a better player but Gullan gives movement, effort and energy …. 3 things Nisbet does not and 3 things we could do with.

Nisbet has zero interest in making life difficult for defenders and I actually thought his performance today was shockingly lazy.

This squad showing all the hallmarks of the last relegation. Only plus is we've got time to fix it.
So did we last time and ****** it. Hope history does not repeat itself.

Sauzee67
11-12-2021, 04:03 PM
Nisbets form has been horrific for weeks but we persist with him, Doidge has been injured and on return suspended, he is nowhere near fit enough to start so again, who would you start with ?

Gullen would have offered more than Nisbet so I would have started with him and changed it at half time with Doidge. If Doidge is on the bench then he surely must be fit enough to play

sauzeelegod
The long hoofs up the park have to stop immediately.
Hopefully the new manager sorts that out on day one.

Green_one
Can't keep a clean sheet and don't look like we can score many goals. Bad recipe. Next Sunday could get ugly.

Tuesday could get ugly. Could be a very bad week and a bit

11-12-2021, 04:04 PM
Livingston just a point behind us

11-12-2021, 04:04 PM

Top trolling.

expresso
11-12-2021, 04:05 PM
Time also to give Dabrowski a chance in goal.

11-12-2021, 04:05 PM
Spare a thought for anyone that gets a 1/2 season ticket for their Christmas.

LunasBoots
11-12-2021, 04:06 PM
We need more players.

They looked motivated - it’s not like they weren’t trying - it’s we just have a severe lack of depth / quality and options.

Yup, but a manager who can bring in some players in January wouldn't go a miss.

11-12-2021, 04:06 PM
Gray Out!

gaz1875
11-12-2021, 04:07 PM
Top trolling.

Gogic was one of our best players? head and shoulders above Newell. Who would you say played better than Gogic?

Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 04:07 PM

I know that technically Nisbet is a better player but Gullan gives movement, effort and energy …. 3 things Nisbet does not and 3 things we could do with.

Nisbet has zero interest in making life difficult for defenders and I actually thought his performance today was shockingly lazy.I think there is a good reason Gullan doesnt start instead of Nisbet, Jack Ross didnt play him and it tells a story that Gullan didnt start today with SDG in charge. Im not knocking Gullan btw but theres an obvious reason he isnt starting

11-12-2021, 04:08 PM
Attendance:4,698

gaz1875

What did Macey do wrong? another person that randomly picks players they don't like for no reason.

LunasBoots
I think there is a good reason Gullan doesnt start instead of Nisbet, Jack Ross didnt play him and it tells a story that Gullan didnt start today with SDG in charge. Im not knocking Gullan btw but theres an obvious reason he isnt starting

Need a clinical striker in January.

11-12-2021, 04:09 PM

Nisbet has zero interest in making life difficult for defenders and I actually thought his performance today was shockingly lazy.

I know technically that Gullan hasn't scored in the league

Stokesy's on fire
Absolute crap, start to finish. Dismal dismal stuff both teams. This is our reaction to sacking the Manager...disgraceful effort.

This Hibs team is loaded with players who are simply not good enough to play for the club. When Ross left t the club stated that the club has a talented young squad but based on what? This team has fallen apart in the same way Daniel Stendels Hearts team fell apart.

loanheadhibby
Gogic was one of our best players? head and shoulders above Newell. Who would you say played better than Gogic?
It Gogic is one of our best players we are in serious trouble.

i've criticised macey in the past for not controlling his box but he wasn't at fault today, Daz let the scorer go

gaz1875
11-12-2021, 04:10 PM

Who was better than him today?

11-12-2021, 04:10 PM

McGregor was our best player today

Fratelli
11-12-2021, 04:11 PM

Nisbet’s performance was summed up when he dinked the ball over the defender only to feel a hand on his head and collapse when he was through on goal…shocking!

Top trolling.

Is it really? You think we'd have won or drawn with Doig and JDH in place of Gogic and Stevenson? Recent history suggests not, they've been in awful form. I'd argue we'd have conceded another goal from a cross ball as it's a clear weakness in Doig's game. In fairness to him, it's a clear weakness in this team.

Gogic did well considering he has barely played in months. He backed up other players in the press and put himself about. He also shielded the defence more than I've seen him do in a while. There was a moment in the 2nd half when he thought about overlapping Stevenson and stopped - good, he shouldn't be doing that.

gaz1875
McGregor was our best player today

Really, who else was better than him?

Bridge hibs
Gullen would have offered more than Nisbet so I would have started with him and changed it at half time with Doidge. If Doidge is on the bench then he surely must be fit enough to playJack Ross didnt play Gullan, SDG didnt play Gullan today, what does that tell you ? Doidge has just returned from a long injury & suspension, yes he is fit but not to the point he could last 45 mins, he is slowly getting games and will get fitter

11-12-2021, 04:12 PM
Thought we’d done all right up to a point, then just sat back.

Bottom line, we have a lack of quality all over the park. Squad is arguably poorer than the one JR inherited.

Relegation battle is, at least, a real possibility.

loanheadhibby
11-12-2021, 04:12 PM
This Hibs team is loaded with players who are simply not good enough to play for the club. When Ross left t the club stated that the club has a talented young squad but based on what? This team has fallen apart in the same way Daniel Stendels Hearts team fell apart.
Totally agree and I have a feeling a lot of fans are coming around to your opinion,
It's sickening to hear guys like Newell coming out to state they have let Jack Ross and the fans down.

11-12-2021, 04:13 PM

We are in serious trouble: five points from the last ten games. Still, it's an away point and we have time to get our act together.

expresso
11-12-2021, 04:14 PM
What did Macey do wrong? another person that randomly picks players they don't like for no reason.

He’s been too timid all season.
Nothing to do with like or dislike he needs to be more assertive coming for crosses given his height.

Thought we’d done all right up to a point, then just sat back.

Bottom line, we have a lack of quality all over the park. Squad is arguably poorer than the one JR inherited.

Relegation battle is, at least, a real possibility.
We were 3 minutes away from beating St mirren, away from home, with a guy who had never managed a game in charge. We are in no relegation threat. Folk need to stop this rubbish. Few wins and we're right up there.

There are scary similarities to that Hearts team!

We are in serious trouble. Have people really fallen for the "too good to get relegated" stuff?

This squad, the balance and cohesion within it is on par with our relegation side. We look ragged and desperate at times and still cannot defend a cross.

Need a really good manager that gets backed massively in the January window.

gaz1875
11-12-2021, 04:15 PM
Nothing to do with like or dislike he needs to be more assertive coming for crosses given his height.

Did that happen today?

11-12-2021, 04:16 PM
We are in serious trouble. Have people really fallen for the "too good to get relegated" stuff?

This squad, the balance and cohesion within it is on par with our relegation side. We look ragged and desperate at times and still cannot defend a cross.

No where near as bad as our relegation side. Go on Wikipedia and look at that team. Actually look at it. Nelson, mcgivern, Collins, Craig, taiwo, Haynes etc. This squad is miles ahead.

Magpie
11-12-2021, 04:16 PM

The home game to Aberdeen in 11 days at the latest for me.

expresso
11-12-2021, 04:17 PM
Did that happen today?

Was he too timid coming out to claim crosses today?
Yes!

11-12-2021, 04:17 PM
If we can get someone in early next week and win the league cup and have a good Scottish cup run and finish in the top 6 I would be happy with that as a season considering what an up and down season it has been.

But that could all be a dream but I feel Tuesday we will finally score a few.

GGTTH.

Mrimbetween
11-12-2021, 04:18 PM
And my bet down

Though smash Dundee is a cert me thinks

gaz1875
11-12-2021, 04:18 PM
Was he too timid coming out to claim crosses today?
Yes!

Rubbish, you never watched it obviously.

11-12-2021, 04:19 PM
We were 3 minutes away from beating St mirren, away from home, with a guy who had never managed a game in charge. We are in no relegation threat. Folk need to stop this rubbish. Few wins and we're right up there.

Keep talking about getting wins, we just can’t get them. And that’s against the St Mirren’s and Ross County’s of the world.

We don’t really score. We don’t keep clean sheets. Naive to think there is no chance of us being in trouble.

timewilltell
11-12-2021, 04:19 PM

Haha. You are seriously misguided! Every week you post a comment looking for some positive scraps.

This is reality. We are awful in a really poor league.

11-12-2021, 04:20 PM
No where near as bad as our relegation side. Go on Wikipedia and look at that team. Actually look at it. Nelson, mcgivern, Collins, Craig, taiwo, Haynes etc. This squad is miles ahead.

I'm talking about what we are seeing on the park. As you say, on paper this squad is miles ahead but they aren't delivering and haven't been delivering for a fair period of time now. You don't win football matches on paper.

Squad is very disjointed. If things turn I'm confident we will move swiftly up the table. It's all ifs, buts and maybes though - it's a bit like if we learn to defend crosses we could keep clean sheets.

Magpie
And my bet down

Though smash Dundee is a cert me thinks

You’d like to think so. Threw away 2 points the last time we faced them though.

expresso
Rubbish, you never watched it obviously.

You would lnow

hibeerealist

Agree, Nisbet has to earn a place and he is not doing so. Give Gullan the jersey he can’t do any worse

Magpie
11-12-2021, 04:21 PM
Was the Hearts team that got relegated better than this team?

You must be laughing like **** at the bites your drivel gets.

timewilltell

Please tell me you aren't actually part of the coaching staff....

11-12-2021, 04:22 PM
If you keep on saying the same thing over & over again you start believing it. Same as your opinion on Jack Ross. We are bang in trouble atm and relegation is a real possibility if this run keeps going as it is. . Accept it for what it is. :fishin:

At the moment yes.

franck sauzee

I agree we won't go down but I don't think we'll be right up there this season now. Just had an easy run where we should have been looking to pick up 12-15 out 18 and we've managed 5. The squad is just decimated with injuries and January is still a few games away. Depressing that Sunday is more or less our season now. Suppose we have the Scottish also but really can't see us get 4th now

11-12-2021, 04:23 PM
We are in serious trouble: five points from the last ten games. Still, it's an away point and we have time to get our act together.

5 points from the last 4 games , still not good enough

11-12-2021, 04:26 PM
Been working all day and catching up on here, looks like the same old performance of doing not too bad and then playing really bad again, very Jekyll and Hyde stuff, would that be correct?

11-12-2021, 04:27 PM
Agree, Nisbet has to earn a place and he is not doing so. Give Gullan the jersey he can’t do any worse

I’m hearing Nisbet is almost certainly off in January.

NC1875

Yet they’ve won 1 game in how many in a terrible league ?

Admire your optimism

I agree we won't go down but I don't think we'll be right up there this season now. Just had an easy run where we should have been looking to pick up 12-15 out 18 and we've managed 5. The squad is just decimated with injuries and January is still a few games away. Depressing that Sunday is more or less our season now. Suppose we have the Scottish also but really can't see us get 4th now

I don’t think the squad is decimated by injuries. It’s just not a good squad, quality wise. Hanlon and McGinn would likely have played today, don’t think that makes us much better than what we were though.

It’s just rubbish analysis. If a keeper isn’t a position to affect a goal he can’t affect it, simple as that. I’ve just watched it again and there’s literally nothing he can do. Being ‘assertive’ is meaningless. So obvious that hes getting judged differently for some reason.

Hibby-G
11-12-2021, 04:29 PM

Where you hearing this from?

11-12-2021, 04:30 PM

Only if Hibs get a good enough offer, where is he going?

11-12-2021, 04:30 PM

I think Porteous will also be away.

Heard a few clubs have enquired about him in the last few weeks.

franck sauzee
11-12-2021, 04:31 PM
I don’t think the squad is decimated by injuries. It’s just not a good squad, quality wise. Hanlon and McGinn would likely have played today, don’t think that makes us much better than what we were though.

Mackay, JDH, Magennis, Doidge not fully fit, Allan not fully fit, Hallberg and 2 suspensions. It's a fair number on top of a fairly poor squad

Wright, Gullan, Scott haven't contributed at all

We've got a core of about 14 players at most

I'm pleased if thats the case. Since the transfer speculation in the summer he appears to be disinterested every week. Get someone in in January that wants to be here. Waste of a jersey atm and a lucky lad that he's playing every week here as we're down to the bare bones.

If you keep on saying the same thing over & over again you start believing it. Same as your opinion on Jack Ross. We are bang in trouble atm and relegation is a real possibility if this run keeps going as it is. . Accept it for what it is. :fishin:

It's a fact. Same rubbish on here when hecky had a bad run and Lennon had a bad run. Nowhere near it. Our 2014 team was dismal and was only relegated on pens. If you think a side with Doidge. Nisbet, Allan. Newall etc will get relegated over gash like Dundee and Ross County you've lost it.

Not in any trouble. Win on Tuesday and we're looking up the league.

Wakeyhibee
11-12-2021, 04:32 PM

I don't think it is rubbish at all. Yes a few wins will steer us clear but current form suggests we are a bit away from those much needed wins. I thought the same in 2013 before Butcher landed.

Its far from nailed on but not beyond possibility. To think otherwise is folly.

loanheadhibby
11-12-2021, 04:33 PM
When are you going to realise just how bad we are?

Your vastly inflated opinion of Doidge, Newell, Hanlon, McGinn and Doyle-Hayes will come back to haunt you.

expresso
11-12-2021, 04:34 PM
It’s just rubbish analysis. If a keeper isn’t a position to affect a goal he can’t affect it, simple as that. I’ve just watched it again and there’s literally nothing he can do. Being ‘assertive’ is meaningless. So obvious that hes getting judged differently for some reason.

My point was about his form all season.
He needs to come off his line more confidently (‘assertively’) and his distribution is generally poor.
He’s getting judged on his performance in his position.

11-12-2021, 04:35 PM
When are you going to realise just how bad we are?

Your vastly inflated opinion of Doidge, Newell, Hanlon, McGinn and Doyle-Hayes will come back to haunt you.

It won't. Nowhere near a relegation team.

He's here!
11-12-2021, 04:36 PM

No argument there. However, it's the mental strength of the current squad that has me concerned. We're dropping a stack of points to teams below us, something I thought Ross had all but eradicated. It's a dangerous habit to get into.

Anyone else recalling a famous “Lets Put This Relegation Nonsense To Bed” thread from back then? It’s all I think about when reading these pages.

Good

It's a fact. Same rubbish on here when hecky had a bad run and Lennon had a bad run. Nowhere near it. Our 2014 team was dismal and was only relegated on pens. If you think a side with Doidge. Nisbet, Allan. Newall etc will get relegated over gash like Dundee and Ross County you've lost it.

Wow I must have lost it them MW. Nothing this past 10 games apart from Hampden has changed or will change my mind. We're bang in trouble.

Positivity only gets you so far mate. You can only piss with the cock you've got.

11-12-2021, 04:37 PM
It won't. Nowhere near a relegation team.

I have to admire your dogged stance although you may be proved wrong, I really hope not but we need much better quality players and a real good manager.
Then I will say we may be safe, but most teams can go down it would be foolish to think otherwise.

11-12-2021, 04:37 PM
I know technically that Gullan hasn't scored in the league

Really dinnae think there’s any need for the smart arse re use of the word I used but in any case I’m not suggesting for a second that Gullan is the long term or even mid term answer.

If you think Nisbet’s work-rate was acceptable today I’ll beg to differ and to be honest everyone talks about that as being the minimum requirement for a pro player.

Hopefully Mueller will be an improvement and we also get somebody else in with quality.

11-12-2021, 04:38 PM
No argument there. However, it's the mental strength of the current squad that has me concerned. We're dropping a stack of points to teams below us, something I thought Ross had all but eradicated. It's a dangerous habit to get into.

Yep. The mental strength to get to a cup final despite a ban run and covid outbreak. The mental strength to get wins and draws from losing positions this season.

Support the side, have some faith. Nowhere near the drop. Far more likely to be top 6

11-12-2021, 04:38 PM

Where do you see the wins and goals coming from?

FWIW I don’t think we’re far off - the correct 3 or 4 arrivals and we might be a decent team again.

The current squad is relegation standard and that would be backed up by the standard of team we’re struggling to play well or win against.

Fine margins and all that - a club that plays Kevin Nisbet up front on his own and doesn’t consider even the poor alternatives available doesn’t deserve to play football in the top league in Scotland.

Hibdan12
11-12-2021, 04:39 PM

I must of been watching another game

I have to admire your dogged stance although you may be proved wrong, I really hope not but we need much better quality players and a real good manager.
Then I will say we may be safe, but most teams can go down it would be foolish to think otherwise.

It's not a dogged stance. It's just be not being ridiculously reactive. Nothing foolish about it. Thinking this squad will go down is very foolish

Mackay, JDH, Magennis, Doidge not fully fit, Allan not fully fit, Hallberg and 2 suspensions. It's a fair number on top of a fairly poor squad

Wright, Gullan, Scott haven't contributed at all

We've got a core of about 14 players at most

Forgot about Magennis, he’d be an improvement I’ll give you that.

Quality is a bigger issue for me than the injuries, certainly in games like today and Wednesday.

11-12-2021, 04:40 PM

It's quite simply a poor team.

Where do you see the wind and goals coming from.

FWIW I don’t think we’re far off - the correct 3 or 4 arrivals and we might be a decent team again.

The current squad is relegation standard and that would be backed up by the standard of team we’re struggling to play well or win against.

I see goals coming from Boyle and nisbet, our strike partnership with 20 goals between them already this season.

LunasBoots

Not fussed if thats the case. Has looked well off it all season, club needs to move on and forward.

I must of been watching another game

Probably were.

It's not a dogged stance. It's just be not being ridiculously reactive. Nothing foolish about it. Thinking this squad will go down is very foolish

Aye, must just be imagining what has went on in the last ten league games.

Good

HibsGW
11-12-2021, 04:41 PM

We’re 6 points ahead of bottom place and they have a game in hand, whilst I don’t think there’s much chance at all of us being relegated, there’s nothing ridiculous about talking about it

Goals aren't the problem. We can't defend crosses for s***

Agreed it is a downward spiral, very difficult to reverse and we are struggling right now. It has to be stopped soon or we could find ourselves in a battle to stay up, crazy when you think that just a few short months ago we were looking at 3rd or even 2nd at one point. Its a funny old game as they used to say.

11-12-2021, 04:42 PM
Good

He's a miserable character.

NC1875
11-12-2021, 04:44 PM
I see goals coming from Boyle and nisbet, our strike partnership with 20 goals between them already this season.

You’re having a laugh. Boyle gets marked out the game most weeks and Nisbet has been terrible and clearly doesn’t want to be here.

We’re 6 points off bottom and can’t buy a win in the league and you’re telling us we’re not in trouble. Unbelievable

Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 04:44 PM
I’m hearing Nisbet is almost certainly off in January.Surely you mean ‘since’ January ?

the tornadoe
11-12-2021, 04:45 PM

He should have been dropped weeks & weeks ago, if anyone in that team is responsible for getting Jack Ross the sack its him. We should have played anyone, absolutely anyone before him for the last couple of months. He doesn't want to be here, attitude absolutely stinks and I would honestly be happy never to see him on a hibs shirt ever again.

‘Win on Tuesday’. I mean there’s next to nothing at the moment that would suggest that’s remotely a given. Still, there’s something to admire I suppose in your Monty Pythonesque ‘tis but a scratch’ mindset…

Really dinnae think there’s any need for the smart arse re use of the word I used but in any case I’m not suggesting for a second that Gullan is the long term or even mid term answer.

If you think Nisbet’s work-rate was acceptable today I’ll beg to differ and to be honest everyone talks about that as being the minimum requirement for a pro player.

Hopefully Mueller will be an improvement and we also get somebody else in with quality.

Where on earth did I say Nisbet's work rate was acceptable today, stop trying to deflect away from your statement.

You are wanting a player that has never scored in the top league and I don't think he has even looked like scoring to replace a guy that has scored plenty, nah that's just plain silly in my opinion.

Goals are hard enough to come by as it is without taking a player who is liable to score out and replace him with a player who never has.

I agree regarding bringing quality in but not too hopeful about Mueller to be honest in terms of scoring goals.

He's here!
11-12-2021, 04:46 PM
Yep. The mental strength to get to a cup final despite a ban run and covid outbreak. The mental strength to get wins and draws from losing positions this season.

Support the side, have some faith. Nowhere near the drop. Far more likely to be top 6

The semi-final win looks increasingly freakish when you look at the results on either side of it. As I said, I agree with you that this squad of players is better than it's showing but there was a glaring absence of mental strength when we went to Pittodrie after a truly abysmal home defeat by Dundee United - and again last midweek against Livingston. Prior to that Jack Ross had a reassuring habit of getting us back on track after a hiccup but it's surely fair to say we're in troubled waters now?

11-12-2021, 04:47 PM
Goals aren't the problem. We can't defend crosses for s***

They’re both problems.

We defend crosses better - we’re nicking more points here and there.

We score more goals - these goals lost from crosses matter less.

11-12-2021, 04:48 PM
He's a miserable character.

He’s a ‘doesn’t want to be here so isn’t committed’ character. That effectively amounts to a man short in every game he ‘plays’.

You’re having a laugh. Boyle gets marked out the game most weeks and Nisbet has been terrible and clearly doesn’t want to be here.

We’re 6 points off bottom and can’t buy a win in the league and you’re telling us we’re not in trouble. Unbelievable

We have a chance of picking up a win on Tuesday as Dundee are worse than us.

Thereafter we play, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd, Celtic and Hearts. We can’t pick up wins against the likes of Ross County, Livi and St Mirren so I’m not sure where all the points are coming from leading up to the winter break to stop us being in any trouble.

my left peg

I think they were...apart from the goalkeeper,the lad they had on loan from Man Utd probably got them relegated

He should have been dropped weeks & weeks ago, if anyone in that team is responsible for getting Jack Ross the sack its him. We should have played anyone, absolutely anyone before him for the last couple of months. He doesn't want to be here, attitude absolutely stinks and I would honestly be happy never to see him on a hibs shirt ever again.

He has become Kamberi-esque. Attitude and attempts to fight for the ball reminds me of Kamberi. Any player that doesn't want to fight for the jersey and his teammates, and want to be at Hibs should leave asap. No good can come from them staying. Once attitude goes awry it's normally over.

Bridge hibs
Where on earth did I say Nisbet's work rate was acceptable today, stop trying to deflect away from your statement.

You are wanting a player that has never scored in the top league and I don't think he has even looked like scoring to replace a guy that has scored plenty, nah that's just plain silly in my opinion.

Goals are hard enough to come by as it is without taking a player who is liable to score out and replace him with a player who never has.

I agree regarding bringing quality in but not too hopeful about Mueller to be honest in terms of scoring goals.Bang on mate, some cracking football managers on here slate Nisbet and want him replaced by Gullan, clueless

11-12-2021, 04:50 PM
They’re both problems.

We defend crosses better - we’re nicking more points here and there.

We score more goals - these goals lost from crosses matter less.

Yep can't keep relying on holding on to a 1-0 lead for 90 minutes. Wednesday we should of put a few chance's away and it sounds like Nisbet missed a couple headers today.

11-12-2021, 04:50 PM

I agree regarding bringing quality in but not too hopeful about Mueller to be honest in terms of scoring goals.

I’m deflecting away from nothing.

I’m saying that our situation is so dire at the moment that I’d swap a bit of work rate and enthusiasm for a non team player. And that’s a reflection on Nisbet more than Gullan.

Nisbet’s goal scoring record ain’t anything to shout about over a prolonged period so let’s stop making out that he’s some kind of fox in the box who’ll make up for his deficiencies with his overall production.

SDG kept him on the park far too long today.

11-12-2021, 04:51 PM

Mueller must be thinking what the **** have I done signing for this mob.

the tornadoe
11-12-2021, 04:51 PM
Bang on mate, some cracking football managers on here slate Nisbet and want him replaced by Gullan, clueless

Nisbet is a good player no doubt about it... He doesn't want to be a good player for Hibs and that my friend is the problem !!

11-12-2021, 04:52 PM
Mueller must be thinking what the **** have I done singing for this mob.

I'm sure he'll get over it when his pay cheque comes in. He's here to do a job. Based on his online behaviour and snippets I've seen from his book I suspect he'll use all of this to motivate himself to be the difference maker. Hopefully this will happen and his attitude rubs off on others.

11-12-2021, 04:53 PM
Bang on mate, some cracking football managers on here slate Nisbet and want him replaced by Gullan, clueless

If you’re happy with what we saw from Nisbet today it’s you that’s clueless.

Unlike a few on here I’ve never claimed to know more than our manager but I’m well entitled to say I can’t stand watching somebody not giving enough for the team so get back in your box. We’re allowed opinions- I’ve made it clear from the start who the better player is - I’m talking in the context of our current situation.

11-12-2021, 04:56 PM
I’m deflecting away from nothing.

I’m saying that our situation is so dire at the moment that I’d swap a bit of work rate and enthusiasm for a non team player. And that’s a reflection on Nisbet more than Gullan.

Nisbet’s goal scoring record ain’t anything to shout about over a prolonged period so let’s stop making out that he’s some kind of fox in the box who’ll make up for his deficiencies with his overall production.

SDG kept him on the park far too long today.

I don't even know why I'm debating with someone who wants Jamie Gullan starting for Hibs.

You think Gullan should start before Nisbet.

I think Nisbet should start before Gullan.

Lets just leave it at that.

the tornadoe
11-12-2021, 04:58 PM
I don't even know why I'm debating with someone who wants Jamie Gullan starting for Hibs.

I think I should start before Nisbet on Tuesday !

11-12-2021, 04:59 PM
I'm sure he'll get over it when his pay cheque comes in. He's here to do a job. Based on his online behaviour and snippets I've seen from his book I suspect he'll use all of this to motivate himself to be the difference maker. Hopefully this will happen and his attitude rubs off on others.

Here's hoping. We need something to happen and quickly.

11-12-2021, 04:59 PM
I think I should start before Nisbet on Tuesday !

Aye, but should you start before Gullan?:greengrin

11-12-2021, 05:00 PM

I get what he's saying Scoops, Nisbet is offering nowt just now, at least Gullan will give you energy and enthusiasm a bit like Campbell, cant be any worse that Nisbet who's been honking all season.

11-12-2021, 05:00 PM

Aye - like your pal above we can just ignore context and frame it so I’m trying to say he’s a better player than Nisbet when I’m clearly not and leave it at that👌🏻

I’ll replace him with anyone willing to fight for the cause that its available until the transfer window if that’s a better answer. Hopefully Doidge ready to be the guy very soon.

I’ll have him back for the cup final because he’ll no doubt be up for that one👍

the tornadoe
11-12-2021, 05:01 PM
Aye, but should you start before Gullan?:greengrin

No.. 😏

11-12-2021, 05:01 PM
I get what he's saying Scoops, Nisbet is offering nowt just now, at least Gullan will give you energy and enthusiasm a bit like Campbell, cant be any worse that Nisbet who's been honking all season.

Energy and enthusiasm is great and its what I want from every Hibs player but you have to be good enough as well.

11-12-2021, 05:03 PM

Nonsense

Energy and enthusiasm is great and its what I want from every Hibs player but you have to be good enough as well.

Are you not wanting to mock this guy for partly agreeing no?

At the moment Nisbet is not good enough for Hibs, his stats show that, anyway let's hope the talk of him away in January is true.

thebausburst
11-12-2021, 05:04 PM
I don’t get the calls for Gullan, he’s clearly not good enough let’s be honest.

11-12-2021, 05:04 PM
Aye - like your pal above we can just ignore context and frame it so I’m trying to say he’s a better player than Nisbet when I’m clearly not and leave it at that👌🏻

I’ll replace him with anyone willing to fight for the cause that its available until the transfer window if that’s a better answer. Hopefully Doidge ready to be the guy very soon.

I’ll have him back for the cup final because he’ll no doubt be up for that one👍

Funnily enough my biggest gripe with Nisbet was the St.Johnstone Cup Final, I thought he would have been up for it but he came onto the pitch with a face like fizz mumping away and he was like that all game.

11-12-2021, 05:06 PM

I dont think anyone is saying he is good enough, but be honest he can't be any worse than Nisbet right now, he's like a man short.

11-12-2021, 05:07 PM
At the moment Nisbet is not good enough for Hibs, his stats show that, anyway let's hope the talk of him away in January is true.

I'm not exactly the chairman of the Nisbet Supporters club but he is still likely to grab a goal.

When none of the midfield are chipping in regularly only Boyle is more likely to score than him.

11-12-2021, 05:08 PM
Funnily enough my biggest gripe with Nisbet was the St.Johnstone Cup Final, I thought he would have been up for it but he came onto the pitch with a face like fizz mumping away and he was like that all game.

Nobody ever has any idea which version of him will turn up.

I’m guessing that can be quite disruptive when you’re relying on your supposed big players to be the difference makers?

11-12-2021, 05:08 PM
I'm not exactly the chairman of the Nisbet Supporters club but he is still likely to grab a goal.

When none of the midfield are chipping in regularly only Boyle is more likely to score than him.

I think we'll just agree that at the moment we are pish, full stop.😁

11-12-2021, 05:09 PM

He’s not good enough for the previous manager, he should at least be given an opportunity. I’d rather see a non-scoring Gullane who will at least work his socks off than a non-scoring Nisbet, hell it might even help to create chances and Gullane might even score himself.

Rumble de Thump
11-12-2021, 05:14 PM
If we can do a better job of stopping crosses into the box our fortunes will change drastically. Our players back off too often and don't put pressure on opponents.

11-12-2021, 05:15 PM
He’s not good enough for the previous manager, he should at least be given an opportunity. I’d rather see a non-scoring Gullane who will at least work his socks off than a non-scoring Nisbet, hell it might even help to create chances and Gullane might even score himself.

Exactly.

The people that are trying to take the piss by trying to make out we’re debating their abilities are missing the point totally.

Nisbet is probably always going to be more likely to score a goal but is he likely to tire defenders out or make space for others, or press the ball properly?

It’s a team game and we’re in dire straits. Gullan has been mentioned because he’s basically the only other option until Doidge is fully fit.

Nisbet is a far better player but he is offering the team very little on days like today when we need him to.

11-12-2021, 05:16 PM
Really not good enough today and I am beginning to get worried here.

6 points above the relegation zone and nearly halfway through the season is disgraceful.

Incidentally we're only 2 points better off now than at the same stage in 13/14.

We desperately need a win on Tuesday.

Sauzee67
11-12-2021, 05:16 PM
My thoughts exactly, Nisbet offers very little at the moment and we need players who are fighting for everything at the moment.Gullan offers energy and fight, he might not score many goals but like you say could set up a goal for someone else.

11-12-2021, 05:19 PM
I think we’ll be needing to spend the best part of a million in January.

Check down the back of the sofa, Ron.

11-12-2021, 05:23 PM

I agree with every word and I’m actually surprised he’s getting as easy a ride of it as he is.

We can’t get him out of the club fast enough imo.

Tolerating his attitude and level of performance is a slippery slope and I’d be on the side of those who’d rather have an inferior player knocking their pan in.

He has talent, but not enough to be able to overcome his serious work rate and attitude issues.

11-12-2021, 05:24 PM
Exactly.

The people that are trying to take the piss by trying to make out we’re debating their abilities are missing the point totally.

Nisbet is probably always going to be more likely to score a goal but is he likely to tire defenders out or make space for others, or press the ball properly?

It’s a team game and we’re in dire straits. Gullan has been mentioned because he’s basically the only other option until Doidge is fully fit.

Nisbet is a far better player but he is offering the team very little on days like today when we need him to.

I had high hopes for Jamie Gullan but he's not going to cut it at Hibs and I would be over the moon if he proved me wrong.

It's another one of these situations where in my opinion we just take random guesses as to how we get out of trouble. An example of this is Hallberg who had a couple of useful sub appearances last season and folks were wanting him to start. They got their wish and were then wondering why they ever wanted that.

If Gullan is picked before Nisbet on Tuesday then I would support him but my suspicion is that he wouldn't be the answer. Our squad is too short on forwards and that is the main problem.

LunasBoots
11-12-2021, 05:25 PM
The thing for me with Nisbet is he isnt a lone striker which this season he has been made to be, when you play him as a inside forward with another striker up front hes a far better player, its not helped him in the slightest playing up top by himself without a target man who can knock things on for him, his confidence and mood about playing for Hibs is clearly down and its up to him to get out of it if he wants to remain here, needs to up his work rate and also work on his first touch. He came from a smaller club and had a decent spell with us but that on current form has gone to pot.

We have alot of deadwood at the club and those who are not good enough or dont want to be here need to be cleared out, we need to stop signing so many injury crocked players and then keeping them on our books when they get injured long term before coming back and getting injured over and over, its not helping us in the long term.

loanheadhibby
11-12-2021, 05:26 PM
A few wins?

Magpie
11-12-2021, 05:27 PM
I had high hopes for Jamie Gullan but he's not going to cut it at Hibs and I would be over the moon if he proved me wrong.

It's another one of these situations where in my opinion we just take random guesses as to how we get out of trouble. An example of this is Hallberg who had a couple of useful sub appearances last season and folks were wanting him to start. They got their wish and were then wondering why they ever wanted that.

If Gullan is picked before Nisbet on Tuesday then I would support him but my suspicion is that he wouldn't be the answer. Our squad is too short on forwards and that is the main problem.

Scott has been a poor signing also. I assume him and Wood weren’t Ross’s top targets but they have offered absolutely nothing.

Magpie
11-12-2021, 05:28 PM
A few wins?

If Celtic beat Motherwell and we beat Dundee, we go 2 points off 4th.

11-12-2021, 05:29 PM
Scott has been a poor signing also. I assume him and Wood weren’t Ross’s top targets but they have offered absolutely nothing.

Clean forgot about Scott, don't hold out any hope for him.

11-12-2021, 05:33 PM

I don’t think either of them will ever be the answer for different reasons.

I just cannot tolerate the lack of application I’m seeing from such a potentially key player. Never seen a player give defenders such an easy day.

When I suggested Gullan may be able to do us a turn short term it was simple that I believe he can give us some energy and pace. At the moment we need to go back to basics. I thought he did ok in Perth in his last appearance - he moved players around and made life difficult for defenders. You sometimes need to go back to basics to get yourself out a hole - first thing we need to do is have 11 players working hard and build from there.

loanheadhibby
11-12-2021, 05:34 PM
If Celtic beat Motherwell and we beat Dundee, we go 2 points off 4th.

If we’d beat Ross County, if we’d beat Livingston, if we’d beat Motherwell, if we’d beat St Mirren.

All very winnable games.

sadly we don’t beat anyone just now.

11-12-2021, 05:35 PM
Am I imagining this?

Did Dunfermline fans warn us that Nisbet had a bad attitude when he didn’t get his way and that he stopped performing for them when we were interested?

11-12-2021, 05:38 PM

I just cannot tolerate the lack of application I’m seeing from such a potentially key player. Never seen a player give defenders such an easy day.

When I suggested Gullan may be able to do us a turn short term it was simple that I believe he can give us some energy and pace. At the moment we need to go back to basics. I thought he did ok in Perth in his last appearance - he moved players around and made life difficult for defenders. You sometimes need to go back to basics to get yourself out a hole - first thing we need to do is have 11 players working hard and build from there.

I guess the bottom line is that we could sell Nisbet for a fair amount of money especially as he's still part of the Scotland squad but we would struggle to get a fee for Gullan.

A year from now I don't think either will be at Hibs, as you say for different reasons.

I just hope we spend the money wisely.

LunasBoots
11-12-2021, 05:38 PM
Am I imagining this?

Did Dunfermline fans warn us that Nisbet had a bad attitude when he didn’t get his way and that he stopped performing for them when we were interested?

No you didn't.

11-12-2021, 05:45 PM
I guess the bottom line is that we could sell Nisbet for a fair amount of money especially as he's still part of the Scotland squad but we would struggle to get a fee for Gullan.

A year from now I don't think either will be at Hibs, as you say for different reasons.

I just hope we spend the money wisely.

I just hope we get some money.

When you scratch the surface there are red flags everywhere.

If I was a buying club, I wouldn’t be touching him with a barge pole.

Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 05:45 PM
Am I imagining this?

Did Dunfermline fans warn us that Nisbet had a bad attitude when he didn’t get his way and that he stopped performing for them when we were interested?Im sure after our initial bid was turned down he continued to score goals for them. I think his attitude was an all round arrogance which hindered his progression, he grew up and knuckled down. The lad has plenty of talent but I think its his all round attitude or appreciation of where he is at which is hindering him. Billy big baws or whatever., he is lucky to be playing for a big club, he needs to start showing that appreciation in return, he isnt a daft wee laddie anymore

11-12-2021, 06:06 PM
If we’d beat Ross County, if we’d beat Livingston, if we’d beat Motherwell, if we’d beat St Mirren.

All very winnable games.

sadly we don’t beat anyone just now.

Yeah. People have been saying this for the last few weeks. Just not accepting just how bad we are.

11-12-2021, 06:10 PM
Am I imagining this?

I posted at the time we bought him I know one of his exPars teammates, who was raving about his talent and his commitment to training hard and self improvement but that he would be off down south and would ‘do a McGinn’ at the first opportunity.

PolmontHibby
11-12-2021, 06:11 PM

I came off the Caledonian Sleeper this morning before driving to the game, and I think I still had more energy than Nisbet displayed today.
Stack of talent as a number of his goals show, but just not happening for whatever reason.

11-12-2021, 06:12 PM
Nisbet needs a partner. Gullan started with Nisbet at Perth and Nisbet immediately looked sharper and more involved. I'd start Gullan and Nisbet and drop Campbell back one. Campbell works so hard and it would be nice for a central midfielder to get close to an opposition player and put pressure on. We allowed St Mirren to get into crossing positions so easily today and like Ross SDG made subs that actually made us worse. That probably says more about the complete lack of depth in our squad than it says about the choices managers made.

11-12-2021, 06:16 PM
I posted at the time we bought him I know one of his exPars teammates, who was raving about his talent and his commitment to training hard and self improvement but that he would be off down south and would ‘do a McGinn’ at the first opportunity.

“Do a McGinn”?

Knuckle down, knock your pan in, achieve everything you could reasonably achieve in a few years then move on for big bucks with the best wishes of everyone at the club, snubbing the OF into the bargain?

If Nisbet wants to shift onto that path at any point, he can be my guest.

He’s not doing anything of the sort right now.

11-12-2021, 06:18 PM
Nisbet needs a partner. Gullan started with Nisbet at Perth and Nisbet immediately looked sharper and more involved. I'd start Gullan and Nisbet and drop Campbell back one. Campbell works so hard and it would be nice for a central midfielder to get close to an opposition player and put pressure on. We allowed St Mirren to get into crossing positions so easily today and like Ross SDG made subs that actually made us worse. That probably says more about the complete lack of depth in our squad than it says about the choices managers made.

Very good point we were very good against St Js. Gullan was very good in that game think he must have been injured recently but wouldn't be disappointed if he got more game time.

11-12-2021, 06:20 PM
“Do a McGinn”?

Knuckle down, knock your pan in, achieve everything you could reasonably achieve in a few years then move on for big bucks with the best wishes of everyone at the club, snubbing the OF into the bargain?

If Nisbet wants to shift onto that path at any point, he can be my guest.

He’s not doing anything of the sort right now.

I know he’s not.
I’m just reporting what was being said at the time.

11-12-2021, 06:22 PM
Am I imagining this?

He's went from a record of 14 in 33 league games last season, to 4 in 15 league games this season, a huge difference. His form suffered around the time of his transfer request (presuming that happened) and the death of his father. I think we all gave him the benefit of the doubt when his dad died realising it was a hard time for him, but after the January window his form did drop and there was speculation then of his attitude. He did say he had attitude problems when younger but he's quick to jump teams when the money is offered, Dunfermline to Raith and then to us.

Weegreenman
11-12-2021, 06:34 PM
Two things I noticed from today’s performance.

1. Players in possession very rarely play the easy pass. Rather they tend to hold onto possession and try and do things the hard way by playing a World Cup pass that ends up falling short or going to nobody.

2. Whenever a ball gets played into feet anywhere near the box, nobody has the confidence to hit the ball first time at goal. Rather we tend to try and get the ball under control and mostly end up losing any momentum we had or losing possession.

These two things happened over and over again today. Boyle and Nisbet being the two biggest culprits.

11-12-2021, 06:35 PM
Only caught the last 30 mins, but when a team constantly punts crosses into our box there's only going to be one outcome so it was no surprise when they scored. We just couldnt keep possession in that final 15 mins.

Tuesday night is now a huge game, from somewhere we have to put in a performance and win the game. The games in hand will be gone and we'll defo be looking below rather than above us if we lose to Dundee.

11-12-2021, 06:40 PM

1. Players in possession very rarely play the easy pass. Rather they tend to hold onto possession and try and do things the hard way by playing a World Cup pass that ends up falling short or going to nobody.

2. Whenever a ball gets played into feet anywhere near the box, nobody has the confidence to hit the ball first time at goal. Rather we tend to try and get the ball under control and mostly end up losing any momentum we had or losing possession.

These two things happened over and over again today. Boyle and Nisbet being the two biggest culprits.

That and we just get deeper and deeper in every match, somehow trying to hold on to something and we’re lacking the players to do that

11-12-2021, 06:42 PM
Will I get in trouble if I go against the grain and say I thought Nisbet’s work rate was just fine today

11-12-2021, 06:55 PM

Totally disagree with that first point. There is nobody in there that’ll attempt an ambitious pass. I didn’t think it was as evident with no JDH, but we generally pass the ball to death without going anywhere. We’ve nobody on the pitch that looks for that killer pass. If we were giving the ball away it was just down to lack of quality.

I do agree that we are lacking in quality in the final third and rarely test the opposition keeper.

the tornadoe
11-12-2021, 07:06 PM
Nonsense

2 free headers today says otherwise !

11-12-2021, 10:39 PM
Will I get in trouble if I go against the grain and say I thought Nisbet’s work rate was just fine today

Not from me - I was just about to post similar. Thought he was an improvement on some of his recent performances. Don’t really feel anyone had a poor game today.

12-12-2021, 10:15 AM

No.2 - This also infuriates me. Always trying to walk it into the net.

Hit the bloody thing!

12-12-2021, 10:37 AM
Nisbet can't be as bad as everyone says, he made todays team of the day in the Sunday Sun?
Normally they ones who make it into this team have scored goals!!!

12-12-2021, 10:39 AM

It was absolutely fine yesterday ….