View Full Version : Stayaway ST holders
05-12-2021, 11:55 AM
We only won in Perth because we were playing v 10 men.
Lie. 2 goals disallowed that were perfectly good. Much the better team from first minute.
We only beat Rangers 3-1 because they had no manager bla bla bla
05-12-2021, 11:56 AM
Duh
I can't think of a time we sacked a manager who finished 3rd and reached 4 semis, 2 finals in 2 years.
Doesn't that back up my point?
You’ve lost me, what do you mean?
05-12-2021, 11:57 AM
And what do we have to show for it?
**** all. One 3rd place finish. Amazing. Ross must stay forever.
In 2 years those are great achievements. I bet you the next manager doesn't do that. If he wins the cup against Celtic, he's genuinely one of our best ever managers. He deserves more time and us to un **** the summer window.
05-12-2021, 11:59 AM
Duh
I can't think of a time we sacked a manager who finished 3rd and reached 4 semis, 2 finals in 2 years.
Doesn't that back up my point?
I’ll try and explain better.
If we as a fanbase don’t show how we are feeling, nothing changes.
If we demand change, we are more than likely to get it.
Staying quiet is accepting mediocrity to me, that’s the question I was answering.
’Duh’ , any need? I’m just chatting here, not arguing with anyone.
05-12-2021, 12:02 PM
I’ll try and explain better.
If we as a fanbase don’t show how we are feeling, nothing changes.
If we demand change, we are more than likely to get it.
Staying quiet is accepting mediocrity to me, that’s the question I was answering.
’Duh’ , any need? I’m just chatting here, not arguing with anyone.
I mean, it's kind of an obvious thing to say. Why would we sack a manager who's under no pressure? Like, every Hibs manager is under pressure because we have a lot of miserable fans who get on the clubs back for anything.
Apologies for being rude, I didn't fully understand what you were meaning. Although accepting mediocrity is completely untrue. No one us doing that.
05-12-2021, 12:02 PM
In 2 years those are great achievements. I bet you the next manager doesn't do that. If he wins the cup against Celtic, he's genuinely one of our best ever managers. He deserves more time and us to un **** the summer window.
You keep going for the hypotheticals so I’ll balance it out. What if he doesn’t win us the cup? How much time should he get? What if season ticket numbers drop dramatically? What if we find ourselves in the bottom 6 after January?
05-12-2021, 12:08 PM
You keep going for the hypotheticals so I’ll balance it out. What if he doesn’t win us the cup? How much time should he get? What if season ticket numbers drop dramatically? What if we find ourselves in the bottom 6 after January?
Then questions should rightfully be asked. I fully agree.
That won't happen though. We already have 2 really good signings joining in Jan. Were going to turn this around. We already are.
05-12-2021, 12:10 PM
I mean, it's kind of an obvious thing to say. Why would we sack a manager who's under no pressure? Like, every Hibs manager is under pressure because we have a lot of miserable fans who get on the clubs back for anything.
Apologies for being rude, I didn't fully understand what you were meaning. Although accepting mediocrity is completely untrue. No one us doing that.
Now we’re getting somewhere, we wouldn’t.
But for me, it’s the fans who decide if he’s under pressure.
A silent ER for 90 mins doesn’t put anyone under pressure. Chants of sack the board or Ross must go does.
So if we all sit quietly, but turn up week in, week out to witness defeats, the club maybe think we’re happy with things when we’re not.
That is almost by definition ‘accepting mediocrity’!!
A noisey, hostile crowd demanding change is more likely to lead to change which could lead to the equivalent of changing Heckingbottom for Ross. We’d all be delighted with that kind of improvement!!
Just to clarify my own view, I don’t think JR should go anywhere anytime soon despite my posts on this thread.
05-12-2021, 12:11 PM
While I'm still going to all homes and most aways as I always do, a lot of fans are sick fed up of being a mid table team again. We finished 3rd last season. Now our competitors are Motherwell, Dundee Utd and St Mirren and our home form is dire. There are no signs of us going on a run, we're too inconsistent. I don't think it's too difficult to see why folk are fed up. Another false dawn. It's great to go on cup runs but it shows up our inconsistency even more.
05-12-2021, 12:11 PM
Literally impossible to know that.
05-12-2021, 12:12 PM
That won't happen though. We already have 2 really good signings joining in Jan. Were going to turn this around. We already are.
You're on fire today Jack.
05-12-2021, 12:12 PM
Now we’re getting somewhere, we wouldn’t.
But for me, it’s the fans who decide if he’s under pressure.
A silent ER for 90 mins doesn’t put anyone under pressure. Chants of sack the board or Ross must go does.
So if we all sit quietly, but turn up week in, week out to witness defeats, the club maybe think we’re happy with things when we’re not.
That is almost by definition ‘accepting mediocrity’!!
A noisey, hostile crowd demanding change is more likely to lead to change which could lead to the equivalent of changing Heckingbottom for Ross. We’d all be delighted with that kind of improvement!!
Just to clarify my own view, I don’t think JR should go anywhere anytime soon despite my posts on this thread.
we aren’t tho. :confused:
05-12-2021, 12:18 PM
In what way are we already turning things around?
05-12-2021, 12:18 PM
Didnt get beat yesterday!
05-12-2021, 12:19 PM
Recent form and performances allied to form earlier in the season. It’s really that simple.
05-12-2021, 12:20 PM
we aren’t tho. :confused:
Well, we were for 5 weeks on the bounce, and my post did say IF….. :na na:
05-12-2021, 12:21 PM
Well, we were for 5 weeks on the bounce, and my post did say IF….. :na na:
Fairy nuff:greengrin in all seriousness if that was the case then of course he’d get his jptters. Since the enforced break our performances and form doesn’t even merit a discussion imo. As iive said elsewhere the team and the manager deserve better.
05-12-2021, 12:21 PM
Our last 5 results and performances have been much better than the 5 before that. No comparison between home losses to united and Celtic to anything we've seen since our return from covid break.
You're on fire today Jack.
Can you stop this? It's not funny or smart. You are just being a fud instead of adding anything to the conversation.
05-12-2021, 12:22 PM
Recent form and performances allied to form earlier in the season. It’s really that simple.
A win against 10 men and a draw at home to Motherwell is “turning things around” now?
05-12-2021, 12:24 PM
Stay away. It’s that simple. While your at it maybe best you stay off here too. Im worried about you.
Don't worry about G, my brother bumped into him in the boozer yesterday and said he was in fine fettle.
05-12-2021, 12:25 PM
A win against 10 men and a draw at home to Motherwell is “turning things around” now?
From 5 straight losses? Yes. It clearly is.
05-12-2021, 12:27 PM
Fairy nuff:greengrin in all seriousness if that was the case then of course he’d get his jptters. Since the enforced break our performances and form doesn’t even merit a discussion imo. As iive said elsewhere the team and the manager deserve better.
Thing is, at least JR gets it.
He knows himself that things need to improve. Nothing worse than listening to a manager when you’re left wondering what game he just watched.
My bigger problem is with the players, and the done to death transfer window failure, but that’s for another thread!
You don’t know that for certain.
We have all seen this before. It all feels a bit mediocre and Fenlon like to me.
That’s not what I said. We won the first comfortably with a good performance and should have won yesterday with a decent performance. A more than decent performance against Rangers too. If that’s not a turnaround from a run of defeats then I don’t know what is. Over to you:greengrin
We are slipping further down the league despite the apparent turnaround though, aren’t we?
05-12-2021, 12:28 PM
Don't worry about G, my brother bumped into him in the boozer yesterday and said he was in fine fettle.
:aok: Good to hear.
05-12-2021, 12:28 PM
From 5 straight losses? Yes. It clearly is.
You’re right, good progress
05-12-2021, 12:29 PM
Can you stop this? It's not funny or smart. You are just being a fud instead of adding anything to the conversation.
I've offered my opinion loads on this subject.
Can you stop all this uber fan pish ya fud.
05-12-2021, 12:31 PM
We are slipping further down the league despite the apparent turnaround though, aren’t we?
Only because the team directly below are in a better run. Not much by the way two wins on the spin. We replicate that and we’ll be right up there again. Win our games in hand and we are a couple of points off third.before you start that is very possible. It’s not all doom and gloom. Cheer up man. We could be third before the winter break.
05-12-2021, 12:31 PM
E
Are you hopeful Covid will be eradicated by the end of the January window?
Its not the worry of covid that stopped me going, it was cos the ground was shut.
Now I’m in the habit of doing other things on match days. I’m triple jabbed so as I said I should become a regular again soon, covid or no covid.
05-12-2021, 12:32 PM
That’s not what I said. We won the first comfortably with a good performance and should have won yesterday with a decent performance. A more than decent performance against Rangers too. If that’s not a turnaround from a run of defeats then I don’t know what is. Over to you:greengrin
Progressing by dropping down the league?
Beat by the worst team in the league, played well at St J however were 1-0 down when 11v11, who knows how that would have ended up? Thought we were ok against Rangers, didn’t do enough to win the game. Yesterday was also ok, terrible first half, better 2nd
05-12-2021, 12:32 PM
I've offered my opinion loads on this subject.
Can you stop all this uber fan pish ya fud.it's not uber fan pish. If you stop supporting your team, when you are perfectly able financially, physically etc go do so, when they stop winning, then you only like that team when they're winning.
You’re right, good progress
Yes, it's a start. The 10 man st Johnstone line is rubbish as well. We were the better side from minute one and had a brilliant early goal disallowed. We deserved to win that vs 10, 11, 12 or 13.
05-12-2021, 12:34 PM
Beat by the worst team in the league, played well at St J however were 1-0 down when 11v11, who knows how that would have ended up? Thought we were ok against Rangers, didn’t do enough to win the game. Yesterday was also ok, terrible first half, better 2nd
Aye. Progressing. If we weren’t we would be further down.
05-12-2021, 12:34 PM
We scored a perfectly good goal after 10 minutes. So we were actually 1-0 up 11v11. Or was Jack Ross the linesman as well?
05-12-2021, 12:36 PM
We scored a perfectly good goal after 10 minutes. So we were actually 1-0 up 11v11. Or was Jack Ross the linesman as well?
What? You’re counting disallowed goals now to suit your argument. **** me man
05-12-2021, 12:37 PM
it's not uber fan pish. If you stop supporting your team, when you are perfectly able financially, physically etc go do so, when they stop winning, then you only like that team when they're winning.
Yes, it's a start. The 10 man st Johnstone line is rubbish as well. We were the better side from minute one and had a brilliant early goal disallowed. We deserved to win that vs 10, 11, 12 or 13.
It’s not rubbish at all. It’s a fact that we were 1 down when it was 11v11. We scored our goals against 10 men, another fact.
05-12-2021, 12:38 PM
Only because the team directly below are in a better run. Not much by the way two wins on the spin. We replicate that and we’ll be right up there again. Win our games in hand and we are a couple of points off third.before you start that is very possible. It’s not all doom and gloom. Cheer up man. We could be third before the winter break.
Third before the winter break, aye right. Could and if are words being used quite a bit just now. Imagine how we’d be doing if we scored goals a bit more regularly and if we kept the occasional clean sheet.
05-12-2021, 12:39 PM
It’s not rubbish at all. It’s a fact that we were 1 down when it was 11v11. We scored our goals against 10 men, another fact.
Yes, I'm counting 2 perfectly good disallowed goals as a sign we win that game easily with a decent ref. Nothing to do with 10v11. Hibs dominated, that's a fact.
05-12-2021, 12:39 PM
Fear of appointing a worse manager shouldn't be an excuse to retain an under-performing one.
At some point that gamble has to be taken otherwise malaise sets in.
If the people responsible for appointing managers keep getting it wrong then their position should be under scrutiny too.
He’s not underperforming, he’s got us into a cup final. We’re on a poor run of form in the league, but that’s started to pick up a bit. Anyone looking in that’s not a hibs fan would be astonished to see that it’s being suggested that the manager should be sacked. Can anyone tell me the last time a club outwith the old firm sacked a manager who’d just got his team to a cup final? This place should be buzzing with excitement and the stadium should be bouncing, but all people want to do is moan about the manager. Maybe we should just get rid of him because no matter what he does he’s always going to be a defeat away from calls for him to go.
05-12-2021, 12:40 PM
It's typical Hibs, we never pick points up deservingly, it's always because we got lucky and didnt deserve anything.
05-12-2021, 12:41 PM
He’s not underperforming, he’s got us into a cup final. We’re on a poor run of form in the league, but that’s started to pick up a bit. Anyone looking in that’s not a hibs fan would be astonished to see that it’s being suggested that the manager should be sacked. Can anyone tell me the last time a club outwith the old firm sacked a manager who’d just got his team to a cup final? This place should be buzzing with excitement and the stadium should be bouncing, but all people want to do is moan about the manager. Maybe we should just get rid of him because no matter what he does he’s always going to be a defeat away from calls for him to go.
Hearts sacked George Burley when top of the league. :greengrin
Think the point being made is folk are suggesting we only won it because we had a man advantage. We were well in the game with 11 and in fact should have been at least level at the time
Hearts sacked George Burley when top of the league. :greengrinhow did that turn out?:greengrin
05-12-2021, 12:44 PM
Hearts sacked George Burley when top of the league. :greengrin
I was actually thinking about that when I was typing. I’m not sure anyone will use that as a good example. :greengrin
how did that turn out?:greengrin
I think they lost their undefeatable tag later that day. :greengrin
It's typical Hibs, we never pick points up deservingly, it's always because we got lucky and didnt deserve anything.
Don’t think I’ve said that anywhere. I actually said we played well against St J but the fact is we were 1 down when it was 11v11. Unless you also want to count disallowed goals as well and it was actually 1-1 at half time instead of 1-0. We may well have gone on to win versus 11, we may have lost more goals, nobody knows
05-12-2021, 12:45 PM
Don’t think I’ve said that anywhere. I actually said we played well against St J but the fact is we were 1 down when it was 11v11. Unless you also want to count disallowed goals as well and it was actually 1-1 at half time instead of 1-0. We may well have gone on to win versus 11, we may have lost more goals, nobody knows
Maybe if Hibs score first, they don't score? Mental suggestion, but seriously. The goal was a wrongly disallowed goal. If Linesman wrongly disallow all of our goals, will that still be Jacks rosses fault?
05-12-2021, 12:46 PM
I heard we only beat St Johnstone because it was a rubbish Aberdeen side and Hearts were in the championship.
05-12-2021, 12:46 PM
Think the point being made is folk are suggesting we only won it because we had a man advantage. We were well in the game with 11 and in fact should have been at least level at the time
It’s another “should” though. The fact is we weren’t. Nobody knows how the rest of the game would have panned out
05-12-2021, 12:47 PM
There must have been a huge element of I'm not going due to this or that. As most weeks in the early 80's Hibs were lucky to see crowds of 5K.
I'd imagine most of those 5k still go and many home and away. It was different back then as it was game to game attendance and many never had season tickets but paid every week. It wasn't unusual for people to be paid weekly rather than monthly too. It was always far, far cheaper to go to the football but also the stadiums were crumbling and violence was common. Very few females attended and not that many youngsters. Very few live games on TV, nowhere near as much entertainment in the house and generally society had a far more outdoor based lifestyle. Most seasons in the 80s we had an average gate of between 7 and 10k. In 80/81 it only averaged 4500 or so(still the only year I have went to every game in a season) but that was in Div 1 so no big away support. In short it is an apples to oranges comparison imo and that is not taking into account Edinburgh has around 130K more people living in the city now compared to 1989. The other issue with comparing attendance is we only counted those who actually turned up and there was under reporting of attendances all around Scotland so the Chairman got their cut, not to mention fans getting into the grounds over walls or getting a lift over turnstiles.
From what I can see many games this year we are around the 8-10K home fans actually attending games. It was a good deal less than that yesterday excluding the NHS tickets. Like the 1980s it was also a Tory Government in power so workers were/are feeling the pinch. Football and a pint were far cheaper luxuries back then than now. A pint is almost double the cost it was in the late 80s in real terms and in 1989 a Skol Cup final at Hampden would have cost you 6 quid to get in(£13.32 now). It was far easier making an on the day decision to go to a game back then than it is now but we were simply honking to watch so many chose to stay away. How well the team plays is a massive factor in driving fans to games and that doesn't necessarily mean winning all the time. A team that plays with an attractive style where if they are getting beat they are still scoring and creating will get a good few to the game as they know it will likely be exciting. That isn't how we play now and only against a 10 man St Johnstone team can I remember seeing a huge sense of urgency and real risk taking to create as many chances as possible. Combine the price with the perceived or actual lack of entertainment and excitement and the gate is massively made up of those who bought STs and many of those don't actually attend.
The biggest difference to me with Hibs attendances out with cost is the ST culture. Most fans that go have ST. They have became almost a lifestyle purchase and lots of fans seem to buy them with no expectation of attending every game, some don't go to any games.
The issue is actually attending the football is a habit and a commitment. Once you get used to not going it is very easy not to come back. I'm sure it would be unpopular with some supporters but I would give notice that Hibs Pass will stop after the Derby game. Even then IPTV makes it easy to sit on the Sofa so I would consider turning off live games on Hibs TV all together. I would also start a loyalty scheme where you got points for buying but also additional points for using a season ticket. Same with advanced single ticket sales. I would do anything to encourage fans to attend in person and advantage those who do. Most initiatives seem to revolve around getting money into the club but for me I would be doing everything I could to get fans into the stadium. If that can be done making more money then great but if we get 20K and make the same money as 10K then that would be good for me.
05-12-2021, 12:47 PM
It’s another “should” though. The fact is we weren’t. Nobody knows how the rest of the game would have panned out
We ****ing deservedly won, thats how it actually panned out.
05-12-2021, 12:48 PM
Here’s something that’s not a should. It’s a fact. Folk can’t have it both ways. We won the game and came home with the three points.
Maybe it's time to take a leaf out of the Borussia Dortmund book... :wink:
https://www.sportbible.com/football/news-dortmund-cancel-500-season-tickets-because-fans-didnt-attend-enough-20190601 :na na:
Where’s the “do not feed the troll” smilie again?
05-12-2021, 12:49 PM
Maybe if Hibs score first, they don't score? Mental suggestion, but seriously. The goal was a wrongly disallowed goal. If Linesman wrongly disallow all of our goals, will that still be Jacks rosses fault?
Everything you’re talking about is hypothetical. We were 1 down against 11. Managed to eventually get a couple of goals against the 10 men and win the game, thems the facts
05-12-2021, 12:50 PM
Here’s something that’s not a should. It’s a fact. Folk can’t have it both ways. We won the game and came home with the three points.
Aye and we were all delighted with that fact. Couldn’t care less if we were getting wins against 8 men, a wins a win
05-12-2021, 12:51 PM
When you listen to people on the radio post match yesterday, they were talking Hibs up, that we have good players, are playing well, and that there is no pressure on the manager internally, blah blah blah...........
However these guys - Kenny Millar, Mikey Stewart - are not watching us regularly at Easter Road.
As Hermit mentions elsewhere, the last 2 games we won in the league have been against 10 men. We seem to have very little cutting edge up front - maybe that will be helped by the return of Doidge?
But basically its rubbish going to ER at the moment. I laugh when I hear Ron talking of the fan experience. Frankly I (and I reckon most fans) dont care what the pies or the big screens are like as long as we are winning some games, playing decent football.
No doubt I will renew when the time comes, out of loyalty or something................but this is simply not fun, in fact most of the time its boring, boring boring and I dont really know why I bother.
I can fully understand why some people will look for other things to do with their £400 each year.
I hate the term match day experience. I told RG nobody was bothered about his screens, build a team and the fans will love it. I was told I "don't understand business". I do, and I understand football fans, and can see why many are unhappy. RG needs to realise this is Scottish football, stop trying to put the American spin on it.
For me the priorities at the Club are wrong, and we are going back to commercial rather than football. Need to concentrate on the team, and winning lost fans back. Maybe a win on 19th will galvanise some?
We ****ing deservedly won, thats how it actually panned out.
I know. Calm yourself doon
Sorry HC but that’s nonsense.
Rumble de Thump
05-12-2021, 12:52 PM
Why would we not count them? The referee should also have counted them. It's difficult to win games if you score perfectly good goals and the referee pretends you didn't.
Chorley Hibee
05-12-2021, 12:52 PM
The fact that defeat to bottom of the league, and a draw at home to Motherwell, are being used as evidence towards an upturn in form signify just how poor things are.
I'm not convinced the next three games will be any better either.
05-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Why would we not count them?
Because they don’t count. Pretty simple really
05-12-2021, 12:54 PM
Sorry HC but that’s nonsense.
I don’t know why you’re apologising he’s talking garbage. We won, that the only fact.
05-12-2021, 12:55 PM
The fact that defeat to bottom of the league, and a draw at home to Motherwell, are being used as evidence towards an upturn in form signify just how poor things were.
I'm not convinced the next three games will be any better either but there’s no reason they can’t be..
ftfy.:aok::greengrin
Where’s the “do not feed the troll” smilie again?
If only the admins would pickup on it. I'm sure it's against forum rules.
I hate the term match day experience. I told RG nobody was bothered about his screens, build a team and the fans will love it. I was told I "don't understand business". I do, and I understand football fans, and can see why many are unhappy. RG needs to realise this is Scottish football, stop trying to put the American spin on it.
For me the priorities at the Club are wrong, and we are going back to commercial rather than football. Need to concentrate on the team, and winning lost fans back. Maybe a win on 19th will galvanise some?
I disagree, someone is interested in the screens, companies who want their products advertised. And that will bring in money that will be invested into the product on the park.
They only went up 5 minutes ago, and the product/team cant be improved until the transfer window opens. It is about the bigger picture, not just the present.
05-12-2021, 12:59 PM
The fact that defeat to bottom of the league, and a draw at home to Motherwell, are being used as evidence towards an upturn in form signify just how poor things are.
I'm not convinced the next three games will be any better either.
Who is using the defeat to Ross County as evidence of an upturn in form?
Rumble de Thump
05-12-2021, 01:01 PM
Because they don’t count. Pretty simple really
They obviously should count as those are the rules of the game. It's not the fault of Hibs that they were incorrectly disallowed. It was the fault of the referee. Pretty simple. How is it that you don't know what the result would have been if the ref had allowed our perfectly good goals to stand but you're certain St Johnstone would have scored if our first goal had been allowed? Is there any logic to that?
05-12-2021, 01:02 PM
Don't people always have stuff to do before Christmas? It's a busy time for families with kids parties, shopping & work nights out.
05-12-2021, 01:03 PM
They obviously should count as those are the rules of the game. It's not the fault of Hibs that they were incorrectly disallowed. It was the fault of the referee. Pretty simple. How is it that you don't know what the result would have been if the ref had allowed our perfectly good goals to stand but you're certain St Johnstone would have scored if our first goal had been allowed? Is there any logic to that?
I’ve never once said I know what would have happened if we had scored first. Everything I’ve said is what actually happened. Maybe go back and read posts again if you’re struggling reading them just the once
05-12-2021, 01:05 PM
I disagree, someone is interested in the screens, companies who want their products advertised. And that will bring in money that will be invested into the product on the park.
They only went up 5 minutes ago, and the product/team cant be improved until the transfer window opens. It is about the bigger picture, not just the present.
Aye but if you’re continuing to play to a half empty stadium the price you can charge for advertising will be significantly less. Just like the hit you’re taking at the pie stalls or in the shop. The empty seats will be concerning him, it doesn’t fit with his plans.
I also think the team can be improved before the window by playing some different players, but I don’t think it will be as well continue doing the same thing.
05-12-2021, 01:05 PM
When the English Premiership broke away from the EFL they had a big push to 'Americanise' the product in the early days. There was mention of it in a documentary recently on the BBC. Clubs tried cheerleaders, fan battles at HT, scaled down HT shows and the like. I think Hibs experimented with cheerleaders at one point in the 90s.
They threw loads of stuff and waited to see what stuck. Not much of that stuff did and the documentary was almost mocking when looking back at it. Football fans in England wanted a beer at the game and to watch a decent team. Who knew? In my experience going to a game down south doesn't feel all that different from a game up here. Nicer facilities in some cases but broadly similar.
I think we will see a lot of stuff get thrown about at Hibs in the next wee while, some will stick and some will be quickly forgotten about. Fwiw I don't think the screens really fall into the 'match day experience' bracket. They are there as a revenue generator through increased advertising. How successful that will be is another question of course. Ultimately though I don't think we are that different from our English counterparts. Football isn't a whole day event for us culturally in the way the NFL is in the US. In my experience most fans want to go, watch a decent game and leave. Most of the other stuff is superfluous, certainly in the ground.
05-12-2021, 01:07 PM
We went into the European games with a light squad, lacking several players. There are still 8 games until Jan 4th, I hope we pick up plenty points until then, but we spent far more money on other things than the squad. Maybe long term fine, but fans are showig their displeasure now, if they don't see better, they won't come back.
Interesting to see how many ST holders for next Season.....
05-12-2021, 01:09 PM
When the English Premiership broke away from the EFL they had a big push to 'Americanise' the product in the early days. There was mention of it in a documentary recently on the BBC. Clubs tried cheerleaders, fan battles at HT, scaled down HT shows and the like. I think Hibs experimented with cheerleaders at one point in the 90s.
They threw loads of stuff and waited to see what stuck. Not much of that stuff did and the documentary was almost mocking when looking back at it. Football fans in England wanted a beer at the game and to watch a decent team. Who knew? In my experience going to a game down south doesn't feel all that different from a game up here. Nicer facilities in some cases but broadly similar.
I think we will see a lot of stuff get thrown about at Hibs in the next wee while, some will stick and some will be quickly forgotten about. Fwiw I don't think the screens really fall into the 'match day experience' bracket. They are there as a revenue generator through increased advertising. How successful that will be is another question of course. Ultimately though I don't think we are that different from our English counterparts. Football isn't a whole day event for us culturally in the way the NFL is in the US. In my experience most fans want to go, watch a decent game and leave. Most of the other stuff is superfluous, certainly in the ground.
Fair post PB:aok:
05-12-2021, 01:10 PM
They really aren't 'Great' achievements. last years 3rd place was obviously decent, if uninspiring compared to previous Hibs teams who have finshed 3rd. But an achievement all the same, but 'Great'? Away and stop being silly, we emulated what yesterdays opponents did the season before, and Kilmarnock the season before that.
05-12-2021, 01:11 PM
We went into the European games with a light squad, lacking several players. There are still 8 games until Jan 4th, I hope we pick up plenty points until then, but we spent far more money on other things than the squad. Maybe long term fine, but fans are showig their displeasure now, if they don't see better, they won't come back.
Interesting to see how many ST holders for next Season.....
We do have a light squad, but in my opinion these screens should increase the income, surely you want that?
As i said, we need to look at the bigger picture.
05-12-2021, 01:12 PM
They really aren't 'Great' achievements. last years 3rd place was obviously decent, if uninspiring compared to previous Hibs teams who have finshed 3rd. But an achievement all the same, but 'Great'? Away and stop being silly, we emulated what yesterdays opponents did the season before, and Kilmarnock the season before that.
So basically, Hibs can never achieve anything great in the league? Nice, so we can stop worrying about our bad league form and focus on our fantastic cup form. We've won every cup tie we've played this season.
05-12-2021, 01:16 PM
We do have a light squad, but in my opinion these screens should increase the income, surely you want that?
Of course I want us to increase revenue, and it will be interesting to see in the Account's how much revenue is being generated by screens. I want us to be a better football team, which should really be now though, we were fabulous at Hampden, but not so great in league games bar a couple better performances.
It is the scenario, build it and other's will follow, I listened to RG saying he wanted 15k ST holders, he won't get it if the product continues to be below par.
LeithMike
05-12-2021, 01:17 PM
it's not uber fan pish. If you stop supporting your team, when you are perfectly able financially, physically etc go do so, when they stop winning, then you only like that team when they're winning.
This is nonsense as well. People will always support Hibs but why should they pay a lot of money to go when it stops becoming enjoyable? I don't know any Hibs fan who expects to win every week. They wouldn't last long. The SPFL makes it tough as the best Hibs can probably do is 3rd. Once you've done that where can you go?
I enjoyed yesterday's game but didn't think Hibs were great. They are definitely looking better than a few weeks ago.
You sometimes have some valid points but these get lost with the repetitive way you try to argue against people who have different views.
Jack Ross has not been a complete success or a complete failure at Hibs and it could still go either way. I can understand both points of view but think he merits another transfer window and a chance to finish the season strongly - otherwise last season's 3rd place does start to look like an anomaly. Good managers can turn things around when initial momentum has been lost.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
05-12-2021, 01:19 PM
I don’t know why you’re apologising he’s talking garbage. We won, that the only fact.
It should be, for some reason it feels like Jack Ross is being held to a higher standard than any manager we’ve had previously.
05-12-2021, 01:23 PM
All that lot on Kickback must tune into this sort of guff and get months worth of material.
05-12-2021, 01:25 PM
Have a little patience, is that what you're trying to say G? 😉
05-12-2021, 01:27 PM
It should be, for some reason it feels like Jack Ross is being held to a higher standard than any manager we’ve had previously.
Much higher. We even had one of the more vocal critics of him saying he liked heckingbottom the other day.
05-12-2021, 01:29 PM
Or it could be that folk just genuinely call it as they see it?
We finished fourth with a record points total in May 2018 but it didn’t stop folk wanting Lennon out before the turn of the year. Go back to Stubbs and the Cup Final gave him legendary status but there were plenty calls for his head a week before when we lost to Falkirk.
I don’t think Ross is being held to a different standard, folk just genuinely aren’t enjoying this Hibs team.
May21/05/216
05-12-2021, 01:31 PM
I've been a fan for over 50 years and I will renew my season ticket next year because that's what I do support my club in good times and plenty of bad times I'm hoping it's a blip and I'm looking forward to a trip to hampden in two weeks
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
05-12-2021, 01:33 PM
Of course I want us to increase revenue, and it will be interesting to see in the Account's how much revenue is being generated by screens. I want us to be a better football team, which should really be now though, we were fabulous at Hampden, but not so great in league games bar a couple better performances.
It is the scenario, build it and other's will follow, I listened to RG saying he wanted 15k ST holders, he won't get it if the product continues to be below par.
We all want a better team, but i think we can all agree who was at fault for the summers lack of movement and signings, but there is nothing we can do about that now.
I'm pretty calm about the situation, we will sign players in the next window, and we will lose a lot of those fringe players who really dont improve us.
05-12-2021, 01:35 PM
Re the dwindling crowds: imo there’s a potent combination of things that are contributing to this. I don’t yesterday is a fair representation.
I think we are witnessing a massive hangover from last season, then there’s the apprehension from some about going to games and crowded spaces. We’ve also used up the gas we had in the tank from the Scottish cup win.
We do need something to galvanise support again, and the league cup could just do it.
What I will say is the ridiculous walk up prices are what’s really putting me off. I was half tempted by the Rangers game the other night: but I would have to drive, get dinner in the town and then pay the £35 ticket price. I’d be knocking on for £60 for the match.
05-12-2021, 01:40 PM
Or it could be that folk just genuinely call it as they see it?
We finished fourth with a record points total in May 2018 but it didn’t stop folk wanting Lennon out before the turn of the year. Go back to Stubbs and the Cup Final gave him legendary status but there were plenty calls for his head a week before when we lost to Falkirk.
I don’t think Ross is being held to a different standard, folk just genuinely aren’t enjoying this Hibs team.
I don’t remember the calls for Stubbs to go being anything like a prominent as they already have been for Ross.
Lennon started loosing the plot: no press appearances and bizarre team selections to go along with the poor results.
05-12-2021, 01:45 PM
I don’t remember the calls for Stubbs to go being anything like a prominent as they already have been for Ross.
Lennon started loosing the plot: no press appearances and bizarre team selections to go along with the poor results.
I think a lot of the reason Stubbs got more time is
- He inherited a genuine disaster
- He had us playing well, consistently. We were rarely ''dreadful'' under Stubbs. Most games we lost we played pretty well in but just couldn't get goals
- We battered Rangers and Hearts a good few times.
- The ones who still went every week under Stubbs were only there for Hibs and to support Hibs. The ones who would've gone regardless. Any fairweather types had long gone by then, and came back with the cup win.
- clear signs of progress
Stubbs and Leeann done a great job to turn a relegated shambles into a cup winning side in 2 years. They deserve way more credit than they get. They are 2 of the greastest appointments Hibs ever made.
We all want a better team, but i think we can all agree who was at fault for the summers lack of movement and signings, but there is nothing we can do about that now.
I'm pretty calm about the situation, we will sign players in the next window, and we will lose a lot of those fringe players who really dont improve us.
I'm hoping Mueller and Tait can come in and make a difference immediately, 2 attack minded players.
05-12-2021, 01:55 PM
It's not for me to cast any kind of judgement upon whether fans choose to attend or not, that's down to them. But, I will say I really hope it picks up soon, perhaps with a cup win.
A well attended, loud, vibrant Easter Road crowd is one of my favourite things in the world, it uplifts every aspect of enjoying a match and it'd be a shame to see that disappear for another long period. If the club get manage to overcome the odds and beat Celtic, then get their January window right, then I don't think all hope is lost in this regard.
05-12-2021, 02:07 PM
I'm hoping Mueller and Tait can come in and make a difference immediately, 2 attack minded players.
This:aok:
05-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Sure they said the screens would pay for themselves within two years and after that the revenue they generate goes to improving the team.
hibeerealist
05-12-2021, 02:32 PM
Puts it in perspective perfectly
hibeerealist
05-12-2021, 02:37 PM
Much higher. We even had one of the more vocal critics of him saying he liked heckingbottom the other day.
Absolute garbage from a couple of slavers
Still Smiling
05-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Lots of empty seats at Villa game on Sky just now!
I'm watching, packed out as far as I can see, maybe the odd 3-4 dotted around about looks chockers.
HibeeHibernian4
05-12-2021, 05:55 PM
Going to be even worse with the midweek home games we have left in December. At least Motherwell was a Saturday 3pm kick off!
05-12-2021, 06:10 PM
Going to be even worse with the midweek home games we have left in December. At least Motherwell was a Saturday 3pm kick off!
To be fair, I get to more of the midweek games than the weekend ones!
There will be more the other way around though. :agree:
loanheadhibby
05-12-2021, 06:43 PM
and the young lad McKay. Injured in warm up at tiny and never been seen/heard from since. Maybe he’ll make an appearance shortly.
05-12-2021, 07:10 PM
I think there's a lot of expectation being put on Chris Mueller. Like others Ive seen him play a few games in the MLS and to be honest he hasnt produced much. Good luck to the lad but my expecation is that he wont win a regular berth in the starting eleven this season at least.
05-12-2021, 07:16 PM
I think there's a lot of expectation being put on Chris Mueller. Like others Ive seen him play a few games in the MLS and to be honest he hasnt produced much. Good luck to the lad but my expecation is that he wont win a regular berth in the starting eleven this season at least.
Also wonder where he’s been brought in to play as the majority of his football has been as a right winger.
hibeerealist
05-12-2021, 07:30 PM
Our last 5 results and performances have been much better than the 5 before that. No comparison between home losses to united and Celtic to anything we've seen since our return from covid break.
So Admins, fud is ok for this member to use but not me?
You have a wee group that can say anything to anybody obviously
05-12-2021, 07:32 PM
How do you know it was ok for them to say it?
Also, are you an adult? What a thing to get upset about. Grow up, ffs.
05-12-2021, 07:37 PM
Trust me, it wasn't okay for me to say and I won't be doing it again. Admins on here are very good and if they did have a group, I'm about the last one who would be in it.
05-12-2021, 07:50 PM
I wonder if the apathy shown by many relates to the squad and how it’s playing?
For example, I’ve sat through Butcher and Fenlon but on both occasions the team was Tom Kite and we knew that.
This seems more frustrating because we genuinely have good players but can’t do anything.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
05-12-2021, 08:36 PM
This sounds rather familiar 🤔
05-12-2021, 09:54 PM
I've never seen him play, but that sounds a bit alarming to me, my assumption was that he would be expected to go straight into starting line up.
05-12-2021, 09:57 PM
He has to be given a chance. Very rarely do players hit the ground running. Coming from balmy Florida I'd say the cold is his biggest enemy. :greengrin
05-12-2021, 09:59 PM
I've done this exercise before, but looking back over fifty seasons our average league position is sixth/seventh and we've won four cups. So finishing third, getting European football, reaching two finals and two semis is better than average for us.
I'd be interested to know what expectations people have to do better than that, given what has gone before. And it would also be helpful to see how often Aberdeen and Hearts, our two direct competitors, have achieved those expectations.
05-12-2021, 10:24 PM
I've done this exercise before, but looking back over fifty seasons our average league position is sixth/seventh and we've won four cups. So finishing third, getting European football, reaching two finals and two semis is better than average for us.
I'd be interested to know what expectations people have to do better than that, given what has gone before. And it would also be helpful to see how often Aberdeen and Hearts, our two direct competitors, have achieved those expectations.
Its was one season, and better than a very poor history of underachievement, but yes, realistically third place will rarely be bettered, though Aberdeen and Motherwell have certainly managed it several times in recent years. Whilst Hearts have undoubtedly had many more top 3 finishes than us over past few decades, and I doubt many of their fans would be proclaiming last season as a great achievement (as some Hibs fans appear to see it) if roles were reversed.
05-12-2021, 10:42 PM
I don’t really get it. I mean I know results haven’t been brilliant in the last couple of months but recent performances have been good. this is far from a bad Hibs team and the style of play isn’t really as bad as people are suggesting either.
I don’t understand all the negativity. I’m buzzing about the cup final and the second half of the season. I think we’ll do just fine.
this Hibs team is far far better than the crap we saw from 2011-2014 for example.
Weegreenman
05-12-2021, 10:50 PM
We’ve been riding the wave of 2016 and it’s probably only now it’s starting to wear offf.
We built a stadium for 20k.
That was a mistake. 15k would have been a far better capacity.
It would have created a need to buy a season ticket or else you wouldn’t get to support the team.
We’ve punched above our weight since 2016, it’s now starting to get back to the normal hard core crowds we were used to.
We’re so busy trying to compete with our neebors that we have lost our way.
In no way is Jack Ross responsible for the down turn.
05-12-2021, 10:59 PM
We’ve been riding the wave of 2016 and it’s probably only now it’s starting to wear offf.
It would have created a need to buy a season ticket or else you wouldn’t get to support the team.
We’ve punched above our weight since 2016, it’s now starting to get back to the normal hard core crowds we were used to.
Virtually all of that is nonsense.
Weegreenman
05-12-2021, 11:08 PM
Virtually all of that is nonsense.
When did we ever get average crowds of 20k ?
We can’t fill our stadium. The evidence is there for all to see.
We’re struggling to sell the extra 2k extra tickets we were allocated for the final.
Wake the **** up! We are what we are. Stop worrying about crowds.
05-12-2021, 11:23 PM
We’re struggling to sell the extra 2k extra tickets we were allocated for the final.
I’m not worried about crowds. We’ve had several times where we’ve sold out the stadium, it’s the right size for us.
05-12-2021, 11:25 PM
I don’t really get it. I mean I know results haven’t been brilliant in the last couple of months but recent performances have been good. this is far from a bad Hibs team and the style of play isn’t really as bad as people are suggesting either.
I don’t understand all the negativity. I’m buzzing about the cup final and the second half of the season. I think we’ll do just fine.
this Hibs team is far far better than the crap we saw from 2011-2014 for example.
I’m with you, totally puzzled.
I think we have a decent manager with a bloody good team and some exciting players. We are still well capable of qualifyinfg for Europe in the league and we seem to regularly be in semi finals and finals the past few years I’m almost tempted to say we’ve never had it so good. New owner, new CEO, stadium looking great and some new players to look forward to in January.
I have been watching Hibs since the 70’s and even the best Hibs teams I witnessed had periods of poor results. I am confident our current team will pick up our results but we can’t escape the fact Motherwell, Dundee Utd and Hearts have improved greatly as well and we can’t just expect to win every game.
As for crowds we can’t ignore they’ve dropped off a wee bit but the LC final proves the fans are still there.
Many reasons affect crowds. The Christmas period can’t be ignored, I missed yesterday as I was away fror a Christmas day out. The sheer expense of the games so congested plus the added LC final is prohibitive as well.
Poor form is also a factor of course but nobody who has watched Hibs for any length of time can honestly compare current performances to some of the absolute dross we’ve seen over the years that drove crowds down.
However I also think the lockdown and last season is a factor,. People got out the habit of going to games and many people will still be covid cautious as well. I certainly don’t see as many people as I would like following covid guidelines around the ground, masks, social distancing etc which imo might make some people a wee bit reluctant to go to games but over time I think these people will come back more regularly.
Weegreenman
05-12-2021, 11:35 PM
I’m not worried about crowds. We’ve had several times where we’ve sold out the stadium, it’s the right size for us.
Several times ? 😂😂😂😂
The stadium’s too big. No doubt we have the potential to fill it if we were ever to get things right.
That for me would mean challenging for the league title and that’s not going to happen anytime soon.
In the meantime when we play the lesser teams and even the Old Firm, we struggle to sell out.
The evidence is there for all to see after the Rangers game.
05-12-2021, 11:36 PM
It more than wore off during heckys time. This place and ER was utterly toxic.
We correctly built a stadium for 20k. We've filled it many times. ER hasn't been 15k for well over 20 years now.
We have not punched above our weight since 2016.
The line about competing with our ''neebors'' is completely bizarre and false.
Ross has a part to blame, but nowhere near as much as those responsibile for poor recruitment, and the bad luck of injuries/covid outbreak.
05-12-2021, 11:45 PM
I’m with you, totally puzzled.
I think we have a decent manager with a bloody good team and some exciting players. We are still well capable of qualifyinfg for Europe in the league and we seem to regularly be in semi finals and finals the past few years I’m almost tempted to say we’ve never had it so good. New owner, new CEO, stadium looking great and some new players to look forward to in January.
I have been watching Hibs since the 70’s and even the best Hibs teams I witnessed had periods of poor results. I am confident our current team will pick up our results but we can’t escape the fact Motherwell, Dundee Utd and Hearts have improved greatly as well and we can’t just expect to win every game.
As for crowds we can’t ignore they’ve dropped off a wee bit but the LC final proves the fans are still there.
Many reasons affect crowds. The Christmas period can’t be ignored, I missed yesterday as I was away fror a Christmas day out. The sheer expense of the games so congested plus the added LC final is prohibitive as well.
Poor form is also a factor of course but nobody who has watched Hibs for any length of time can honestly compare current performances to some of the absolute dross we’ve seen over the years that drove crowds down.
However I also think the lockdown and last season is a factor,. People got out the habit of going to games and many people will still be covid cautious as well. I certainly don’t see as many people as I would like following covid guidelines around the ground, masks, social distancing etc which imo might make some people a wee bit reluctant to go to games but over time I think these people will come back more regularly.
You’ve made a really good point in your last paragraph I think about people getting out of the habit of going to games.
There’ll be some fans who would never have missed a game before that can now quite easily miss a game without really giving it much thought because they never had the choice when we were locked out.
Utter tosh
Compete with our neebors?! How many times have they finished above us in the last 5 years? You may spend your time eyeballing them to see what they’re doing, but I doubt anyone at our club gives them much more than the same kind of attention they give to any other club.
Should have built a 15k stadium? Wow, just wow! That’s forward thinking for you
Fuzzywuzzy
06-12-2021, 12:27 PM
If this was an issue of concern for the club it would be easy enough for them to do a ms forms and send a questionnaire to season ticket holders. At least it would be able to collate some of the data automatically. Normal response rate would probably be about 20% but would give some sort of idea what/if the problem is (as long as they get the questions right)
06-12-2021, 12:40 PM
Hibs have had only 6 3pm kick offs on a Saturday so far this season compared to Hearts 11. Only rangers and Celtic have had less than us. There is no doubt about it that this will have a negative impact on attendances, not the only reason for this obviously but it’s certainly a factor. To think they have had almost double the 3pm Saturday games as us is a bit of a farce to be honest.
06-12-2021, 12:40 PM
Certain sniff about these comments. Think Lennons times we had an average over 18k. Ground is full pretty much every Derby. Fair to say this season isn't really a good guide with people reluctant to come because of Covid and also season ticket holders able to watch in their house which will have a significant impact. Definitely think the pricing structure is too high for walk ups. Plus probably some negativity after cup final defeat and perception of a pragmatic approach in games. Why would we not want a stadium we have filled many times and will do in the future?
06-12-2021, 12:43 PM
Hibs have had only 6 3pm kick offs on a Saturday so far this season compared to Hearts 11. Only rangers and Celtic have had less than us. There is no doubt about it that this will have a negative impact on attendances, not the only reason for this obviously but it’s certainly a factor. To think they have had almost double the 3pm Saturday games as us is a bit of a farce to be honest.
Suppose we were in Europe a few games plus had Dundee United on a Thursday also though doesn't seem particularly even. Having old firm home games in midweek not going to help either I don't think.
06-12-2021, 12:45 PM
Suppose we were in Europe a few games plus had Dundee United on a Thursday also though doesn't seem particularly even. Having old firm home games in midweek not going to help either I don't think.
Yeah I understand there are some factors but the knock on affect is a lot of people can’t make it when not a Saturday but get their ST anyway. For me Hibs need to stop showing the game on Hibs pass aswell, look at the wkend their your not telling me plenty haven’t looked at the weather outside and thought sack that am going to watch it in the house on Hibs pass, it’s counter productive trying to get people to games.
06-12-2021, 12:49 PM
Certain sniff about these comments. Think Lennons times we had an average over 18k. Ground is full pretty much every Derby. Fair to say this season isn't really a good guide with people reluctant to come because of Covid and also season ticket holders able to watch in their house which will have a significant impact. Definitely think the pricing structure is too high for walk ups. Plus probably some negativity after cup final defeat and perception of a pragmatic approach in games. Why would we not want a stadium we have filled many times and will do in the future?
We have had well over 70 games since 2015 where the attendance has been over 15k and at least 10 over 14k. This defeats his 15k stadium size quite easily
06-12-2021, 01:32 PM
I'm usually of the opinion that people are too quick to dish out the LTYF accusations on any critical post, but this is a belter.
Weegreenman
06-12-2021, 01:39 PM
We have had well over 70 games since 2015 where the attendance has been over 15k and at least 10 over 14k. This defeats his 15k stadium size quite easily
Aye and there was 15k there on Saturday 😂😂😂
Deluding ourselves, whilst the stadium’s half empty! I believe what I see and not what I hear or read.
06-12-2021, 01:43 PM
Deluding ourselves, whilst the stadium’s half empty! I believe what I see and not what I hear or read.
Believe whatever you like, its easy to prove you are chatting complete rubbish.
06-12-2021, 01:45 PM
Yeah I understand there are some factors but the knock on affect is a lot of people can’t make it when not a Saturday but get their ST anyway. For me Hibs need to stop showing the game on Hibs pass aswell, look at the wkend their your not telling me plenty haven’t looked at the weather outside and thought sack that am going to watch it in the house on Hibs pass, it’s counter productive trying to get people to games.
Agree with that re Hibs pass however think the league made a deal with Sky to allow this to happen all season.
06-12-2021, 01:49 PM
I have not included any from this season. You are the deluded one if you think a 15k stadium is big enough. But obviously you are correct and everyone else is wrong. There is no problem with having a different opinion but your aggressive tone is winning you no friends
06-12-2021, 02:18 PM
I have not included any from this season. You are the deluded one if you think a 15k stadium is big enough. But obviously you are correct and everyone else is wrong. There is no problem with having a different opinion but your aggressive tone is winning you no friends
:agree: and the tone is not what this site is about.
06-12-2021, 02:53 PM
That doesn't really make sense, with the North and South and West Stands completed thats 14k, you suggesting we should only have built an 1k capacity East stand?
Our crowds are just slowly finding their way to pre-2016 levels. Their was an unbelievable buzz after That Day that will never ever be matched again (well unless we win the league). Those that bought their first season ticket after that, or those lapsed fans that bought season tickets for the first time in years were always going to disappear soon after.
Our current situation isn't unique. Aberdeen had 6200 during the week and 8000 on Saturday. Think they're at 8500 season ticket holders so have 10-30% not attending.
There are only two teams in the county immune from a dip in season ticket sales and that's the Old Firm. Every season they're guaranteed to be playing for something so can gurantee renewals and if someone doesn't renew there are no shortages of fans all over Scotland, Ulster and Ireland happy to take their places - rest of us don't have that luxury. Rest of us, season ticket sales will go up after a very good season, stay the same after an average season and dip after a poor one. That's the same as pay at the gate customers and travelling supports.
happiehibbie
06-12-2021, 03:31 PM
Had nobody round me again this afternoon. 8 seats vacant either side of me but all ST’s, and thousands of other season ticket holders staying at home today.
The worry is that many of those might end up simply not renewing. The option to watch on TV definitely a factor, but ultimately the football on display is not really capturing the imagination of the support.
Stay away fans has to be a concern to the club, but stay away ST holders is maybe a bigger worry long term.
I am a Season ticket holder however cannot make games due being involved with the Strollers. I am happy to donate the price of a ticket to the Club.
The games I have attended which are few we have not played well asking players to come on with 5 mins to got is a joke.
JR not for me IMO I think that's why Kean has been brought in I recon he is the next Hibs manager.
Will i renew next year yes
I am also not going to the final due to the date and time
06-12-2021, 05:05 PM
Agree with that re Hibs pass however think the league made a deal with Sky to allow this to happen all season.
Yeah to allow it that doesn’t mean we need to do it
06-12-2021, 05:17 PM
Why not? People are still working from home, attendance at hospitality venues is still down, why would we expect football to be immune from that?
People - me included - have paid for season tickets in the expectation that we will have the choice to watch from home until season ends or I feel comfortable being exposed to crowds.
06-12-2021, 05:19 PM
Why not? People are still working from home, attendance at hospitality venues is still down, why would we expect football to be immune from that?
People - me included - have paid for season tickets in the expectation that we will have the choice to watch from home until season ends or I feel comfortable being exposed to crowds.
There's been a few times where I couldn't make the game but I nipped on to hibspass to catch little snippets of the game live.
It's better having it than not.
Was it not specified as part of the season ticket offering?
06-12-2021, 05:48 PM
I watched the game on hibspass last week, as I wasn't feeling well, but I'd totally understand if they felt they had to withdraw that at some point.
I do wonder if there's a lot of ST holders that are relying on it at the moment and if that's affecting attendances then so be it.
06-12-2021, 05:51 PM
I watched the game on hibspass last week, as I wasn't feeling well, but I'd totally understand if they felt they had to withdraw that at some point.
I do wonder if there's a lot of ST holders that are relying on it at the moment and if that's affecting attendances then so be it.
It’s definitely has a big influence on numbers of bums on seats for sure. The club aren’t being penalised financially so I doubt they will remove it. They have the cash and all they would be doing would be alienating fans that have genuine fears of attending. Nothing to gain and more to lose long term.
06-12-2021, 05:52 PM
Whatever happened to the other 'enticements' to purchase a season ticket?
Pretty sure there was meant to be a few different things on the go: quarterly events, open training sessions, prize draws..... Something along those lines??
06-12-2021, 05:58 PM
Am I right in saying potential walk ups can ppv for home games?
I don't know what Hibs charge but it will be a hell of a lot cheaper than pay at the gate.
06-12-2021, 05:58 PM
Pretty sure there was meant to be a few different things on the go: quarterly events, open training sessions, prize draws..... Something along those lines??
I'm assuming these things are currently on hold since the players are still required to distance from the fans.
I do hope these things are honoured eventually though.
06-12-2021, 05:59 PM
Am I right in saying potential walk ups can ppv for home games?
I don't know what Hibs charge but it will be a hell of a lot cheaper than pay at the gate.
Yes, £15.
06-12-2021, 06:01 PM
Well put, and I would add that people like myself need to be very cautious. I for one will not be back until I feel safe and people act responsibly about mask wearing. Next season I will renew if the Hibspass is still going, if it’s stopped then so shall my renewal, as will 4 other people I know.
Yes, £15.
There's a problem right away.
06-12-2021, 06:05 PM
I'm assuming these things are currently on hold since the players are still required to distance from the fans.
Maybe I’m being overly cynical but I think they will be hoping we’ve forgotten all about them.
06-12-2021, 06:07 PM
Yeah, I imagine that's the case as well ... But it's the complete lack of comment from the Club that's a wee bit annoying.
06-12-2021, 06:07 PM
Maybe I’m being overly cynical but I think they will be hoping we’ve forgotten all about them.
Maybe but I think that would be a big mistake.
06-12-2021, 06:12 PM
Sadly, that's the impression I get as well.
If plans weren't going ahead due to Covid restrictions surely the Club should tell us that, not just keep quiet and hope we all forget?
*Not that these offers played any part in me renewing but it's still pretty poor to market something as a bonus extra then fail to deliver(or even acknowledge) it.
06-12-2021, 06:12 PM
Maybe but I think that would be a big mistake.
I just think back to how badly they handled the ticket pricing for the Killie LC game, the shambles with the Ross County ballot and expecting those who missed out to just lump it. Even the introduction of the tiered seats for last season and everyone getting the same experience with the promises of additional Hibs TV content that never came to pass.
Like I said maybe I’m being overly cynical but feels like once they’ve got our money who cares…..
06-12-2021, 06:24 PM
I just think back to how badly they handled the ticket pricing for the Killie LC game, the shambles with the Ross County ballot and expecting those who missed out to just lump it. Even the introduction of the tiered seats for last season and everyone getting the same experience with the promises of additional Hibs TV content that never came to pass.
Like I said maybe I’m being overly cynical but feels like once they’ve got our money who cares…..
Yeah I do sympathise with this view, I'll certainly be raising it if these rewards aren't forthcoming once everything's back to normal.
Season ticket holders basically helped the club to stay afloat during the shut out and whilst clearly no-one at Hibs was to blame for a pandemic, we were still asked to pay full price for a fraction of the product.
The club said last year that season ticket holders would be rewarded and I fully expect that to be honoured.
06-12-2021, 06:35 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tickets-hospitality/season-tickets/season-ticket-holder-benefits
Are there monthly season ticket draws ? I haven’t seen or heard anything ?
To be honest I’ve not seen any benefit from being a gold season ticket holder so far except a sit in a half empty east stand.
06-12-2021, 06:41 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tickets-hospitality/season-tickets/season-ticket-holder-benefits
To be honest I’ve not seen any benefit from being a gold season ticket holder so far except a sit in a half empty east stand.
Going by that list so far they've blanked: Open training session at ER, Monthly season ticket competition and Quarterly season ticket holder events. Class.
Steven79
06-12-2021, 06:43 PM
You may as well buy a bronze next season and move to the gold seats as plenty of them available...
06-12-2021, 06:53 PM
You may as well buy a bronze next season and move to the gold seats as plenty of them available...
Some folk are already moving to other seats in games as folk don’t turn up.
Well put, and I would add that people like myself need to be very cautious. I for one will not be back until I feel safe and people act responsibly about mask wearing. Next season I will renew if the Hibspass is still going, if it’s stopped then so shall my renewal, as will 4 other people I know.
out of curiosity, what would your position be if Sky put an end to the ppv option, as ultimately they hold the contract?
not a dig btw, just curious
06-12-2021, 07:24 PM
But that’s the point folk can’t have it both ways and moan about crowds when there is a product there that is contributing to a reduced crowd. I get that it’s a good option for some and I’ve used it aswell when unable to go but it’s a big factor in our crowds being down so no point folk moaning about it. I’ve seen it being used to push the narrative that fans are voting with their feet not going to games because of the manager and this perception we are boring to watch, lazy and uninformed IMO to blame it all on that which would be a minority I’d imagine.
06-12-2021, 07:32 PM
out of curiosity, what would your position be if Sky put an end to the ppv option, as ultimately they hold the contract?
not a dig btw, just curious
I would finally miss out on seeing my beloved Hibs after 55 years I’m afraid. Health, family and friends first.
06-12-2021, 07:51 PM
Tickets for the derby on sale, surely we can turn up in numbers that day🤷🏼🤔
Dobosz83
06-12-2021, 08:08 PM
£66 for a pair of tickets to the derby a week after Christmas with a cup final a couple of weeks before? I wouldn’t be so sure of this one being well attended.
If the side are playing poorly, a derby that will likely end 0-0 with the ball being in the air half the game doesn’t sound appealing tbh…
06-12-2021, 08:56 PM
£66 for a pair of tickets to the derby a week after Christmas with a cup final a couple of weeks before? I wouldn’t be so sure of this one being well attended.
If the side are playing poorly, a derby that will likely end 0-0 with the ball being in the air half the game doesn’t sound appealing tbh…
Thank god I didn’t have that attitude when I went to the Casper Derby at Tyne.
06-12-2021, 09:04 PM
If you can persuade people to pay £33 instead of £15 to watch it in comfort in the hoose.
RossScott1991
06-12-2021, 09:18 PM
This football club really needs to give itself a shake. On the field and off it they need to get a grip
(Scottish football as a whole)
Something needs to be done about ticket prices in this country. All clubs coming together to cap it at £20 a adult ticket with maybe £25 category A games.
You should never need to pay more than £20 for watching Hibs at home to dross like Livi.
LunasBoots
06-12-2021, 09:20 PM
You'd hope so but i said that about the recent Sevco match where you kind of expect a big turnout, im not so sure if it will be a massive support now to be honest, lots of mitigating factors, from prices, KO time, Covid and Christmas tightness etc.
06-12-2021, 09:22 PM
£33 is too much. The club need to take a wee step back and reconsider some of the prices that they’re charging. Might only be a few quid that it needs to come down but it’s getting ridiculous - I’ve got a season ticket but if i didn’t then I’d probably draw the line at £33 for the game.
06-12-2021, 09:37 PM
Is my memory right here? Did we not used to have different pricing across the stands but it got dropped because of folk doing just that? Maybe it was just the west?
The dalmeny
07-12-2021, 05:21 AM
Me and my dad have hardly missed a home game for years.hes currently undergoing chemo for prostate cancer.football has been the last thing on my mind.he told me earlier.dont worry about me Gordy.get yer arse to the game.so I'm going to Livi on Wednesday. So shove yer uber fan pish up yer arse.some people have a life outside hibs
tough one for you both, hope he keeps better and do that yer dad tells you
07-12-2021, 05:52 AM
Think the people not turning because of Covid are even less likely to go given the bigger crowd. So expect to see a few empty seats. Those who be bothered because they think the football is rubbish are more likely to go to this one.
07-12-2021, 06:02 AM
Derby is the best game of the season especially at home over festive period. The last Derby was also one of the best I have seen as Hearts actually passed the ball really well. Looking forward to it already. Hopefully get a few wins in between.
07-12-2021, 06:04 AM
You'd hope so but i said that about the recent Sevco match where you kind of expect a big turnout, im not so sure if it will be a massive support now to be honest, lots of mitigating factors, from prices, KO time, Covid and Christmas tightness etc.
Derby will sell out no problem. Smile it's almost Christmas :greengrin
07-12-2021, 06:49 AM
Two words for those wishing yet another change of managers - “Aberdeen” :) they has a fair old Merry-go-round after “Smithy must go” from memory Aitken, miller (A&W), Hegarty, Pele, Skovdhal, before relative extended periods of stability with Tangoman, Paw Broon and the. Macinnes. What a car crash of a club that was and they may just have embarked on another cycle if the Glass/Brown dream-team doesn’t pan out. Remember Smithy took then to within a baws hair of the title on that final day showdown with Rangers.
we need a period of stability, build foundations. I suspect that recruitment performance had an impact on the teams ability to kick on - allied to injuries but they’re kinda intertwined.
and yes - my suspicion on the “stayWays” is - I’m still supporting the club but following using the Hibs pass - and with everything single-sign on the club will know what exactly is happening in this regard.
LeithMike
07-12-2021, 07:10 AM
Craig Brown was awful at Aberdeen. If Aberdeen fans had settled for that, they'd have never got to McInnes (who was far better).
I still think a boredom factor comes from the league set up and Aberdeen is a good example. Despite 2nd and 3rd place finishes under McInnes the fans got bored as the team plateaued and decline set in. With Hibs, when we were in the championship, every game mattered as we were trying to win the league and get promoted. That was a novelty for us. When we came back to the Premiership, it was fresh and the club was buoyant. That novelty and freshness has worn off and I suspect, even now, if we were to play great attacking football and finish 3rd, we wouldn't get the crowds of 2/3 seasons ago.
Being in the championship, as bad as it is, actually let's a club like Hibs breathe and develop ambition. That soon becomes stifled in the Premiership with the lure of 3rd place not quite the same as promotion. Yes, Hibs could be better but there is a cyclical nature to football and our league set up (and its staleness) isn't conducive to bringing fans in. That's a shame because Scottish football should be about the fans rather than TV viewers.
07-12-2021, 08:14 AM
Two words for those wishing yet another change of managers - “Aberdeen” :) they has a fair old Merry-go-round after “Smithy must go” from memory Aitken, miller (A&W), Hegarty, Pele, Skovdhal, before relative extended periods of stability with Tangoman, Paw Broon and the. Macinnes. What a car crash of a club that was and they may just have embarked on another cycle if the Glass/Brown dream-team doesn’t pan out. Remember Smithy took then to within a baws hair of the title on that final day showdown with Rangers.
we need a period of stability, build foundations. I suspect that recruitment performance had an impact on the teams ability to kick on - allied to injuries but they’re kinda intertwined.
and yes - my suspicion on the “stayWays” is - I’m still supporting the club but following using the Hibs pass - and with everything single-sign on the club will know what exactly is happening in this regard.
The counter argument to that is probably Alex Miller at Hibs.
He was given loads of time and he rarely had form bad enough to warrant getting sacked, I don’t think many people look back on that time with much fondness of watching us despite some decent success on paper.
07-12-2021, 08:22 AM
Craig Brown was awful at Aberdeen. If Aberdeen fans had settled for that, they'd have never got to McInnes (who was far better).
I still think a boredom factor comes from the league set up and Aberdeen is a good example. Despite 2nd and 3rd place finishes under McInnes the fans got bored as the team plateaued and decline set in. With Hibs, when we were in the championship, every game mattered as we were trying to win the league and get promoted. That was a novelty for us. When we came back to the Premiership, it was fresh and the club was buoyant. That novelty and freshness has worn off and I suspect, even now, if we were to play great attacking football and finish 3rd, we wouldn't get the crowds of 2/3 seasons ago.
Being in the championship, as bad as it is, actually let's a club like Hibs breathe and develop ambition. That soon becomes stifled in the Premiership with the lure of 3rd place not quite the same as promotion. Yes, Hibs could be better but there is a cyclical nature to football and our league set up (and its staleness) isn't conducive to bringing fans in. That's a shame because Scottish football should be about the fans rather than TV viewers.
it really should be but it’s becoming anything but. A serious conversation about ticket prices needs to happen.
JammyDoidger
07-12-2021, 08:35 AM
There's just something not there atm, we don't seem to be having many big wins, under lennon and even stubbs era, it would regularly feel like we had a big game and we were producing wins in the big games often enough, fans were right behind the team, there was a connection, right now there's just nothing, too many diddy teams are coming and taking points of us too, we should be beating teams convincingly with the squad we have not just scraping draws out of these games, brutal stuff atm. Think these fire sticks and the likes are making the decision not to go easier, it's just far too expensive for a walk up, and season ticket holders don't mind missing games if they can watch it in the house.
07-12-2021, 09:12 AM
Last term the main reason we were amassing a decent tally of points was with the wins against those we should be expecting to win, and some against those round about our level who were battling for the euro spots. A lot of disappointments in the bigger games and that combination just meant it wasn’t the most exciting of campaigns. I remember posting about what games might have been deemed as real highlights and memorable, but ultimately there were none that we would be reminiscing about in years to come.
This term we have the semi win against Rangers and that was one that will go down as a classic, and despite a slip at Dingwall we enjoyed an away win at Perth coming from behind and had everyone there bouncing back to their cars and busses with a spring in their step. Sadly there was the smallest Hibs crowd I can remember up there and that was followed by a pitifully small turn out on Saturday for Motherwell and a further dropped point at home.
The Rangers win doesn’t seem to have galvanised the Hibs support which is a bit of a worry, and you just wonder what a Cup win would do? In many ways, the game that looks the most important here for Jack Ross and the club is the New Year derby. That’s going to be the one that will determine if the fans stay onside or not moving into the second half of season.
Dobosz83
07-12-2021, 09:40 AM
Thank god I didn’t have that attitude when I went to the Casper Derby at Tyne.
Not sure this is a question of "attitude" mate, and I was at the Casper Derby at Tynie. The fact is, most derby's aren't awash with fantastic football - we know they are more of a battle.
The difference for me now, as opposed to back at the "Casper Derby" is that I'm 38 years old and for me, my wife and 2 kids to go to the derby, I'm looking at £92 for 4 seats in the Famous Five lower a week after Christmas (I've not even included any 'fee' for booking).... It's not a question of affordability for me, thankfully, it's purely down to principle as that's outrageous prices IMO.
Steven79
07-12-2021, 09:53 AM
Not sure this is a question of "attitude" mate, and I was at the Casper Derby at Tynie. The fact is, most derby's aren't awash with fantastic football - we know they are more of a battle.
The difference for me now, as opposed to back at the "Casper Derby" is that I'm 38 years old and for me, my wife and 2 kids to go to the derby, I'm looking at £92 for 4 seats in the Famous Five lower a week after Christmas (I've not even included any 'fee' for booking).... It's not a question of affordability for me, thankfully, it's purely down to principle as that's outrageous prices IMO.
Think how many times you could visit the cinema for that price and be for more entertained and far warmer.
Eh Bobby...
07-12-2021, 09:56 AM
Me and my dad have hardly missed a home game for years.hes currently undergoing chemo for prostate cancer.football has been the last thing on my mind.he told me earlier.dont worry about me Gordy.get yer arse to the game.so I'm going to Livi on Wednesday. So shove yer uber fan pish up yer arse.some people have a life outside hibs
Best wishes to your dad. :aok:
07-12-2021, 10:10 AM
I agree with that, I think there’s a balance between the club charging what they think the tickets are worth, and pricing people out of the game.
There needs to a good review of the ticket prices and you either need to get more for your money so it’s better value, or the price needs to come down.
I totally get the economics of the money to find the club ambition needing to come from somewhere, but there has to be a balance and empty seats from people being priced out the game is a really poor business model.
07-12-2021, 10:19 AM
Up to £41 a ticket for any game in Scotland is too much. Even £33 is stretching it.
I done a bit of digging into this and in 1973 a ticket for the Dunbar End for Hibs v Leeds in the UEFA Cup cost 50p, today that equates to £6.19. The average UK wage in 1973 was £40.90 a week (I accept average wage is imperfect because a lot of people attending football would have been earning a hell of a lot less than that). So a football ticket for a big European tie cost 1.22% of an average weekly wage. Today a ticket for a derby costs a minimum £33 for an adult. The average wage is £499 a week, adjusted for inflation that is almost exactly the same as it was in 1973, a ticket now costs 6.6% of an average weekly wage, go for a gold seat and you are spending over 8% of your weekly wage on a football match.
Obviously the football landscape has changed radically since 1973 but surely something has to give sometime soon? Players are only going to be demanding more in terms of wages in the years to come and there is either going to be a (continued) exodus of talent to the promised lands or we are going to continue to try and compete and price a whole generation of potential spectators out of the game. I wouldn't like to be the person responsible for trying to balance things but continued price increases, along with other financial demands made of fans, can't be the answer.
07-12-2021, 10:21 AM
Hibs have been high on ST prices for some time now . Over a decade I’d say. With occasional value pricing , such as the kids ST.
I feel there needs to be a reset . The club will point to a lack of evidence between cheaper tickets and higher crowds . Yet, despite that, it feels the price for a game is now out of step (across football) and we are not doing anything to help redress this .
Can’t see it happening mind you ..with the premium price banding and American style commercial thinking emerging in recent times from the club ..I can only see prices going up
Dobosz83
07-12-2021, 10:22 AM
I agree with that, I think there’s a balance between the club charging what they think the tickets are worth, and pricing people out of the game.
There needs to a good review of the ticket prices and you either need to get more for your money so it’s better value, or the price needs to come down.
I totally get the economics of the money to find the club ambition needing to come from somewhere, but there has to be a balance and empty seats from people being priced out the game is a really poor business model.
100% agree with this Matty.
As my oldest daughter is 13 now, she's immediately bumped up a couple of quid for a ticket compared to my 10 year old. We have teenage pricing when she's not been allocated a National Insurance number and won't for another few years - it just seems like a piss take. She's S2 at high school so why charge more?
By the time I buy them a pie and juice we are over £100 for 90 minutes of football coupled with adverts for scooters...
Just doesn't seem right at a time when I'm already struggling to drag myself to the stadium.
07-12-2021, 11:06 AM
100% agree with this Matty.
As my oldest daughter is 13 now, she's immediately bumped up a couple of quid for a ticket compared to my 10 year old. We have teenage pricing when she's not been allocated a National Insurance number and won't for another few years - it just seems like a piss take. She's S2 at high school so why charge more?
By the time I buy them a pie and juice we are over £100 for 90 minutes of football coupled with adverts for scooters...
Just doesn't seem right at a time when I'm already struggling to drag myself to the stadium.
I asked this a few years ago when it happened to me - I think its seen as the under 12s get a discounted ticket rather than over 12s paying more.
The prices are getting out of control though.
07-12-2021, 11:18 AM
Best luck to yer da...
But, I havn't seen any uber fan pish? People have always not been able to go for a variety of reasons and I'd estimate 10% of season ticket holders won't make it to a game 'cos of ill health, commitments with kids, work, money, travel issues etc etc. However the last few home games 20-30% plus havn't attended and it is rightly a concern for some.
Enjoy tomorrow - here's to three much needed points :flag:
07-12-2021, 11:47 AM
Up to £41 a ticket for any game in Scotland is too much. Even £33 is stretching it.
I done a bit of digging into this and in 1973 a ticket for the Dunbar End for Hibs v Leeds in the UEFA Cup cost 50p, today that equates to £6.19. The average UK wage in 1973 was £40.90 a week (I accept average wage is imperfect because a lot of people attending football would have been earning a hell of a lot less than that). So a football ticket for a big European tie cost 1.22% of an average weekly wage. Today a ticket for a derby costs a minimum £33 for an adult. The average wage is £499 a week, adjusted for inflation that is almost exactly the same as it was in 1973, a ticket now costs 6.6% of an average weekly wage, go for a gold seat and you are spending over 8% of your weekly wage on a football match.
Obviously the football landscape has changed radically since 1973 but surely something has to give sometime soon? Players are only going to be demanding more in terms of wages in the years to come and there is either going to be a (continued) exodus of talent to the promised lands or we are going to continue to try and compete and price a whole generation of potential spectators out of the game. I wouldn't like to be the person responsible for trying to balance things but continued price increases, along with other financial demands made of fans, can't be the answer.
A tradesman's wage in and around 1973 was just under £20 per week in Scotland. Impossible to compare average wage in England with same in Scotland, very unbalanced when worked as a U.K. average.
I was at the Leeds game along with 40,000 others and we really should have gone through, same as the game 5 years before, but for an outstanding display of arrogance and defensive ability from Billy Bremner.
Prices for a game in Scotland are just daft, in my humble.
07-12-2021, 11:57 AM
Obviously the football landscape has changed radically since 1973 but surely something has to give sometime soon? Players are only going to be demanding more in terms of wages in the years to come and there is either going to be a (continued) exodus of talent to the promised lands or we are going to continue to try and compete and price a whole generation of potential spectators out of the game. I wouldn't like to be the person responsible for trying to balance things but continued price increases, along with other financial demands made of fans, can't be the answer.The 50p ticket was across the board and significantly different from a Saturday walk up. Think it was about double. Most I'd ever had to pay , plus the trip from Porty to the Sports shop in Hanover Street(McKenzies I think)
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
07-12-2021, 12:39 PM
Hibs have been high on ST prices for some time now . Over a decade I’d say. With occasional value pricing , such as the kids ST.
I feel there needs to be a reset . The club will point to a lack of evidence between cheaper tickets and higher crowds . Yet, despite that, it feels the price for a game is now out of step (across football) and we are not doing anything to help redress this .
Can’t see it happening mind you ..with the premium price banding and American style commercial thinking emerging in recent times from the club ..I can only see prices going upif the prices go up next season then I won’t be buying one. The season when covid hit I let hibs keep my rebate they offered. Then they hiked the prices up for the following season which we never got to a game. So if it continues then I’m out. Will probably just go to a few derbies and the old firm games.
07-12-2021, 12:51 PM
Whatever we take to the derby will be a marker of the best we can do until we win the Scottish Cup again or something.
Once Hibs fans decide to stay away they don't tend to come back.
07-12-2021, 01:18 PM
Here is a like for like comparisons. It was 75p to get into the Centre Stand (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/294608953841?hash=item44980fe1f1:g:Ss8AAOSwUf1hrMo f) in Dec 1971 for a Cat A game. 40 years later that equates to just under 11 quid and the same seat would now be £44 against Hearts.
Skol Cup Final in 1989 (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/313302067690?hash=item48f24229ea:g:8-wAAOSw0KtfP9Lc)(pre Bosman and Hillsborough changes) - West terracing £6 which is £15 odds now compared to I think £35 for this year's final.
League Cup Final 2002 (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/275029764039?hash=item40090d27c7:g:L5MAAOSwGtBhk4R u) after Bosman and Hillsborough changes bedded in - £19 for south lower which is £31 odds now compared to £40 for this year's final
It is a very expensive sport to follow particularly if you have kids and go to away games. Bosman and seated stadiums are massive factors in how expensive the sport is and I think I preferred it much more when it was cheap and cheerful and players were workers similar to fans. The safety side had to be dealt with though and players should have had the option to move but it has went so far the other way and the only ones that lose out are fans.
07-12-2021, 01:37 PM
T
Here is a like for like comparisons. It was 75p to get into the Centre Stand (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/294608953841?hash=item44980fe1f1:g:Ss8AAOSwUf1hrMo f) in Dec 1971 for a Cat A game. 40 years later that equates to just under 11 quid and the same seat would now be £44 against Hearts.
Skol Cup Final in 1989 (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/313302067690?hash=item48f24229ea:g:8-wAAOSw0KtfP9Lc)(pre Bosman and Hillsborough changes) - West terracing £6 which is £15 odds now compared to I think £35 for this year's final.
League Cup Final 2002 (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/275029764039?hash=item40090d27c7:g:L5MAAOSwGtBhk4R u) after Bosman and Hillsborough changes bedded in - £19 for south lower which is £31 odds now compared to £40 for this year's final
It is a very expensive sport to follow particularly if you have kids and go to away games. Bosman and seated stadiums are massive factors in how expensive the sport is and I think I preferred it much more when it was cheap and cheerful and players were workers similar to fans. The safety side had to be dealt with though and players should have had the option to move but it has went so far the other way and the only ones that lose out are fans.
Season ticket for the centre stand in 1971 was £10.
07-12-2021, 01:59 PM
T
Season ticket for the centre stand in 1971 was £10. About £145 now
07-12-2021, 02:01 PM
T
Season ticket for the centre stand in 1971 was £10.
Wi a tradesman's wage of approx 1,040 per year. so half a weeks wage for a season ticket, will leave it for others to work out but it will not be far from the same nowadays (using 800 per week as a benchmark)
07-12-2021, 02:38 PM
Wi a tradesman's wage of approx 1,040 per year. so half a weeks wage for a season ticket, will leave it for others to work out but it will not be far from the same nowadays (using 800 per week as a benchmark)
I had a look back at past pay deals and if I assume I was the same grade as I was in 2001 the £1 I earned back then is now worth around £1.70. However, after years of Tory Governments I actually get £1.40 for each pound earned back then. In the mean time a ticket for the LC Final was £18 for the north(£30 with inflation) and that is now £35 this year. Taking a typical Civil Servant's wage it now costs me 20% more for the ticket price but my wage has hugely less buying power so the ticket actually costs me 40% more. That is all post Bosman and post Hampden upgrade and shows a real life example of how football has got much more expensive for the average fan. If I hadn't got an inheritance then I doubt I would be a ST holder and I am a few grades up in the Civil Service, don't smoke or drink and don't really do holidays. I am also lucky enough to have got a house when they were affordable to normal workers. Football is a luxury for many people these days and no-one should point at fans when it comes to issues with dwindling attendances
Steven79
07-12-2021, 05:58 PM
It is a very expensive sport to follow particularly if you have kids and go to away games. Bosman and seated stadiums are massive factors in how expensive the sport is and I think I preferred it much more when it was cheap and cheerful and players were workers similar to fans. The safety side had to be dealt with though and players should have had the option to move but it has went so far the other way and the only ones that lose out are fans.I think the excuse about seated stadiums have worn thin.
Most were built in the 90s so more than paid for themselves and clubs spent very little on grounds and spectator safety before that point.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
07-12-2021, 06:02 PM
it really should be but it’s becoming anything but. A serious conversation about ticket prices needs to happen.
How does ticket prices stop someobe who already has a seadon ticket attending
ABZHFC
07-12-2021, 06:18 PM
For one thing bringing along a mate seems a remote possibility at these prices
07-12-2021, 06:41 PM
For one thing bringing along a mate seems a remote possibility at these prices
Thar'll be the mate paying for his own ticket?
I'll ask again how does the ticket price put off a season ticket holder attending a game they already have a pid ticket for?
Rhar'll be the mate paying for his own ticket?
I'll ask again how does rge ticket price put off a season ticjet hokder attending a game they already have a pid ticket for?
Think you could do with some of these. :wink:
https://i.ibb.co/5MMRKmB/download.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
07-12-2021, 06:48 PM
Think you could do with some of these. :wink:
https://i.ibb.co/5MMRKmB/download.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
Omicron mate...
07-12-2021, 10:52 PM
The uber fan quote was out of order. For which I apologise. Its been a tough time .i will be there 2moro.so again I'd like to apologise for any offence I may have caused.
Too late with your apology. The contract price has been agreed. Sniper alert!:na na:
07-12-2021, 11:43 PM
They are staying away because we are boring to watch
With a manager who has a personality as flat as a pancake
08-12-2021, 06:40 AM
the football really isn’t that bad. Though he doesn’t help himself by not giving our most creative player more time on the pitch
Yorkshire HFC
08-12-2021, 07:27 AM
The counter argument to that is probably Alex Miller at Hibs.
He was given loads of time and he rarely had form bad enough to warrant getting sacked, I don’t think many people look back on that time with much fondness of watching us despite some decent success on paper.
Goram, Jackson, McAllister, Harper, O'Neil, Leighton, Weir, Wright, Archibald. Plus loads of young players brought through who stayed loyal to the club - Kane, Miller, Hunter, Collins etc. And players who stayed and wanted to play for him - Sneddon, Mitchell, Evans etc.
I think it depends on what age you were, but the Miller years were my favourite years following Hibs and was when I went to most games.
08-12-2021, 07:39 AM
He’s far from dull. It’s like people don’t want an intelligent manager. A top class coach that explains the game perfectly.
Slim Shady
08-12-2021, 07:40 AM
the football really isn’t that bad. Though he doesn’t help himself by not giving our most creative player more time on the pitch
It’s a matter of opinion.
As a ST I had to drag myself to the match on Saturday.
In my opinion the football we are watching is tiresome, passive and non attacking.
We had two attacking players on the pitch on Saturday. Boyle and Nisbet.
Nisbet dropping deep to get on the ball and giving it away with his **** first touch means he’s ineffective. He’s a goal scorer.
3 of my kids refused to go as it’s boring, I’d rather spend my time with them and enjoy my Saturday.
This isn’t over one or games. It’s been **** for a while.
08-12-2021, 07:52 AM
It’s a matter of opinion.
As a ST I had to drag myself to the match on Saturday.
In my opinion the football we are watching is tiresome, passive and non attacking.
We had two attacking players on the pitch on Saturday. Boyle and Nisbet.
Nisbet dropping deep to get on the ball and giving it away with his **** first touch means he’s ineffective. He’s a goal scorer.
3 of my kids refused to go as it’s boring, I’d rather spend my time with them and enjoy my Saturday.
This isn’t over one or games. It’s been **** for a while.
We have more than 2 attacking players. Not matter what formation we play. Niz coming deep continues to be successful and creates chances. We have created loads of chances in the last few games.
08-12-2021, 08:00 AM
He’s far from dull. It’s like people don’t want an intelligent manager. A top class coach that explains the game perfectly.
Different strokes for different folks.
Whether someone is boring or not Is subjective. You obviously find what he says interesting and engaging, that’s great. A lot of other folk would prefer someone a bit more charismatic and almost relatable. I don’t doubt he’s a good coach but I do think he’s very robot like in the media. I think he’s very monotone and I struggle to stay interested when he talks.
Lennon was the opposite, he probably gave no insight into tactics or anything like that but I always wanted to hear everything he said, his tone was up and down, sometimes he said very little but other times it was terrific entertainment losing his ****. I personally found that engaging as I’m not as interested in the tactical side of it and just liked seeing the raw emotion.
I’m not saying Lennon is better or worse with the media, I’m just saying there’s 2 very different styles, some people will relate to the calm, methodical Jack Ross style and others prefer the fiery up and down Neil Lennon style.
08-12-2021, 08:05 AM
Different strokes for different folks.
Whether someone is boring or not Is subjective. You obviously find what he says interesting and engaging, that’s great. A lot of other folk would prefer someone a bit more charismatic and almost relatable. I don’t doubt he’s a good coach but I do think he’s very robot like in the media. I think he’s very monotone and I struggle to stay interested when he talks.
Lennon was the opposite, he probably gave no insight into tactics or anything like that but I always wanted to hear everything he said, his tone was up and down, sometimes he said very little but other times it was terrific entertainment losing his ****. I personally found that engaging as I’m not as interested in the tactical side of it and just liked seeing the raw emotion.
I’m not saying Lennon is better or worse with the media, I’m just saying there’s 2 very different styles, some people will relate to the calm, methodical Jack Ross style and others prefer the fiery up and down Neil Lennon style.
Jack is much more handsome and stylish too.
08-12-2021, 08:05 AM
:top marksI find him intelligent and engaging when he talks. He doesn’t give out endless cliches and crap jokes, when he’s talking he’s usually giving an informative analysis of whatever topic he’s been asked about.
08-12-2021, 08:08 AM
Jack is much more handsome and stylish too.
Equally important at least and certainly a tick in the plus box for Jack Ross.
08-12-2021, 02:51 PM
We have more than 2 attacking players. Not matter what formation we play. Niz coming deep continues to be successful and creates chances. We have created loads of chances in the last few games.
He needs to be taking chances more than making them. It’s swung the other way.IMO. It’s fine coming deep occasionally or even more than that but he’s never in a hurry to get back up there. His goal on Saturday was a fine example of when he did.
LeithMike
08-12-2021, 03:06 PM
LeithMike
08-12-2021, 03:09 PM
Goram, Jackson, McAllister, Harper, O'Neil, Leighton, Weir, Wright, Archibald. Plus loads of young players brought through who stayed loyal to the club - Kane, Miller, Hunter, Collins etc. And players who stayed and wanted to play for him - Sneddon, Mitchell, Evans etc.
I think it depends on what age you were, but the Miller years were my favourite years following Hibs and was when I went to most games.Did you go to any derbies?! There were a couple of decent sides but success was short lived and Hibs were pretty negative for the most of his reign. We weren't that well run in those days so not just his fault.
And who can forget him waving players back to defend in Euro 96 when Scotland were leading Switzerland and England leading 4-0. Rather than chase the goal to put us through the natural inclination was to hold what we have.
Hector Mudflap
08-12-2021, 09:39 PM
This is where I am
Skint, bored, freezing then embarrassed is a normal day at Hibs of late
Hector Mudflap
08-12-2021, 09:57 PM
I'm clearly not speaking about those who have other responsibilities. I'm talking about those moaning aboit style of play etc.
Hibs are in a cup final and a good 10 days coming up will see us top 5, top 4. If we do that. Folk will come flooding back. It's always some big dramatic paragraphs on here with all the negative buzz words and clichés. Win the next 4 matches and this would be on course for one of our best seasons in history. To act like we're miles away and the club is in some crisis is just nonsense. 3 of those matches are against sides we usually beat and are well below us, in quality and the table.
That's not going too well is it?
Can you honestly say there is a team in the league that you can look at and say "three points in the bag"? People look at the semi with Rangers and although it was a great result we shouldn't be kidding ourselves. Everything went in for us and everything didn't for The Rangers. In my opinion we had a lot of good fortune.
The team style of play isn't entertaining . You are right though in that win games and people will come back. The issue is that the club (and any club) can bank on and rely on diehards coming regardless of what they dish up. There's no buzz - its not exciting. Something needs to change.
09-12-2021, 01:38 PM
Next home game on Tuesday will be interesting to see the crowd.
Will the stay away ST return ?
Steve88
09-12-2021, 01:39 PM
I'm not a stayaway ST holder however I'm already looking forward to this game
Ask me again after the St Mirren game though..
09-12-2021, 01:51 PM
I'm not a stayaway ST holder however I'm already looking forward to this game
Ask me again after the St Mirren game though..yeh I wasn’t sure if was going to the dundee game due to the boring slow sideways passing we keep doing but I’m looking forward to the game now so will definitely be going.
09-12-2021, 02:38 PM
yeh I wasn’t sure if was going to the dundee game due to the boring slow sideways passing we keep doing but I’m looking forward to the game now so will definitely be going.
Yip it'll be fantastic to get back to quick free flowing skilful winning football we've all become so accustomed to during the past 50 years of constant success at ER.
09-12-2021, 03:32 PM
Yip it'll be fantastic to get back to quick free flowing skilful winning football we've all become so accustomed to during the past 50 years of constant success at ER.
Yip, no doubt a manager who will have one games experience by our next home game, and will have the same players to choose, will bring that style in straight away.
I'm quite disappointed in the club sacking Ross but the players have downed tools. Ross has actually assembled a decent, albeit too small squad, and if SDG has most of them to pick from it wouldn't surprise me if we played really well on Tuesday. Even with players missing on Saturday I wouldn't be surprised if we squeaked a win. We are in a much better position than the mess left by Lennon so hopefully a new man at the top can work out a style of play, make a few signings and it all falls into place. We are only 3 points off fourth if we win our game in hand so much to play for in the league.
09-12-2021, 03:39 PM
Some probably will as there’ll be a curiosity to see how different the team is under a new manager, others will wait till they see if they can be arsed depending on how things change over the next few weeks.