View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Celtc
27-10-2021, 08:27 PM
These are the types of subs a manager makes when he's lost all ideas or is losing the players.
Crucial players from last season getting dropped and youngsters being brought on.
Why do we sign players like Drey Wright when we have Gullan and Campbell?
Not sure where to start on this one…
27-10-2021, 08:27 PM
I’d have Campbell in there on Saturday
Baffled them
We call it the Tazmanian boyle
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Much better 2nd half. No good only to start playing when we are 3 goals down...
27-10-2021, 08:28 PM
He's done well.
The worst thing about the last 2 games has been how little we have created - it's been much better tonight.
That, plus the fact that the players have shown a bit of spirit and not chucked it altogether have been the 2 main positives from tonight.
As bad as this has been for long spells - Joe Hart has made 2 cracking saves at key stages in the game.Apart from the first 25 minutes where they absolutely slaughtered us, I've enjoyed this.
I agree but We just know that won’t happen.
These are the types of subs a manager makes when he's lost all ideas or is losing the players.
Crucial players from last season getting dropped and youngsters being brought on.
Why do we sign players like Drey Wright when we have Gullan and Campbell?
These are the types of changes a manager makes when he has absolutely no better options.
Wright has done ok since he went on, a reasonable argument could be made that we'd have done better if he'd started.
Amazing how we can play once we've thrown the game, the opposition have a two goal lead and they're quite happy to concede possession and park the bus.
We're going nowhere.
Apart from the first 25 minutes where they absolutely slaughtered us, I've enjoyed this.4 shots on target tae!
18Craig75
27-10-2021, 08:29 PM
Campbell and Gullane should start Saturday. Leave KN @ home.
Apart from the first 25 minutes where the absolutely slaughtered us, I've enjoyed this.
We’ve been great in the second half, loads of quality and created some chances.
Much better performance second half
Apart from the first 25 minutes where the absolutely slaughtered us, I've enjoyed this.
That's the main thing. People don't mind us losing as long as they're entertained mind 😉
Aye could be right. Think I’d start looking towards some younger lads to freshen things up
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI think it might. You don't give Ross enough credit.
whelehan
Behave.
How often does Murphy play 90 minutes? I suspect Nisbet is carrying a knock but he needed to go off anyway.
Might be carrying a knock or maybe his heads back to about this time last year and his dad?
Amazing how we can play once we've thrown the game, the opposition have a two goal lead and they're quite happy to concede possession and park the bus.
We're going nowhere.Sounds like Labour!
27-10-2021, 08:30 PM
The worst thing about the last 2 games has been how little we have created - it's been much better tonight.
That, plus the fact that the players have shown a bit of spirit and not chucked it altogether have been the 2 main positives from tonight.
As bad as this has been for long spells - Joe Hart has made 2 cracking saves at key stages in the game.
Well we desperately need to take some positives from tonight and use thst to eek out a win in our next game to avoid slipping into bottom six
Unthinkable prevRangers game
The Captain....
27-10-2021, 08:30 PM
Apart from the first 25 minutes where they absolutely slaughtered us, I've enjoyed this.Me too..been some really good attacking football. Our defending gives me the fear tho.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
Aye could be right. Think I’d start looking towards some younger lads to freshen things up
Mackay seems injured so he may have came in but agreed regarding some of the younger ones. Massive transfer window in January imho
27-10-2021, 08:31 PM
That's nonsense
Nisbets been pish - and rightly replaced
Murphy being taken off. Gogic taken off at half time.
Nobody will argue with Nisbet but the other two are senior players in our squad. One was a crucial team player last season.
In regard to Nisbet, he has been rubbish pretty much all season and being subbed this early against Celtic suggests Ross has lost patience with him or has thought "what the hell?".
We need to sell our dross in January. If we lose against Ross County I genuinely think we will be looking at new manager. This is a serious hole and we are looking at youngsters to get us out it, not an easy feat.
Can say recruitment but its managers job to get the best out of his players and it's not been happening with Nisbet and Gogic to name but a few out of a list.
northern-hibee
Hopefully the last we’ll see of Nisbet in a Hibs shirt, absolute disgrace these last few months
As bad as this has been for long spells - Joe Hart has made 2 cracking saves at key stages in the game.
Game was lost in the 1st half, the 2nd has been better and we've caused them problems, probably aided by the fact Celtic took the foot off the pedal. Questions still have to be asked why the 1st half was again so very poor.
Motm Porteous. I'd have given it to Campbell. His energy showed the rest of them up and got them working
Porteous MOTM?
Gave me a good laugh on an otherwise miserable night tbf
NC1875
Much better performance second half
Aye because Celtic have already started there journey home along the m8 with the 3 points.
Couldn’t have been any worse than the first half.
27-10-2021, 08:32 PM
Apart from the first 25 minutes where they absolutely slaughtered us, I've enjoyed this.
Enjoyed is possibly a bit strong but we've played much better. It's just a pity the game was done by then.
Sounds like Labour!
Ermm?
These are the types of changes a manager makes when he has absolutely no better options.
Wright has done ok since he went on, a reasonable argument could be made that we'd have done better if he'd started.
wright should never be near a Hibs jersey, ever.
We’ve been great in the second half, loads of quality and created some chances.
Great? Better yes but not great.
Not sure a centre half should be getting MOTM with some of those goals tbh.
Game was lost in the 1st half, the 2nd has been better and we've caused them problems, probably aided by the fact Celtic took the foot off the pedal. Questions still have to be asked why the 1st half was again so very poor.
The 2nd half makes the *****bag tactics of the 1st half all the worse.
27-10-2021, 08:33 PM
Totally agree.
I reckon Nisbet is the root of our problems.
We've still got good players in this team.
We need to work out a way to put a team together with him nowhere near it.
Well I redeemed myself by getting the correct score tonight having predicted we would beat the sheep
The 2nd half makes the *****bag tactics of the 1st half all the worse.
Yep, we never learn and it’s so, so frustrating.
Magpie
27-10-2021, 08:34 PM
Well I redeemed myself by getting the correct score tonight having predicted we would beat the sheep
Unfortunately the same.
27-10-2021, 08:34 PM
Yup
27-10-2021, 08:35 PM
Celic using the rope a dope tactic, Hibs have 11 dopes playing, just no good enough, a wee bit o fight better than last couple of games.
Really wouldn't concern me if we dropped Nisbet for County.
HendoDelivered
17k odd attendance, nae chance?
Porteous MOTM?
Gave me a good laugh on an otherwise miserable night tbf
Indeed.
The 2nd half makes the *****bag tactics of the 1st half all the worse.Tactics? They were unplayable - hardly a misplaced pass and everything working for them. It didn't help that the defence started keeking their pants, but that wasn't tactics.
27-10-2021, 08:36 PM
Tactics? They were unplayable - hardly a misplaced pass and everything working for them. It didn't help that the defence started keeking their pants, but that wasn't tactics.
They were very good.
Would definitely start Campbell and Gullan next game.
I had Celtic 3-0 tonight, bloody Boyle. :greengrin
27-10-2021, 08:37 PM
Tactics? They were unplayable - hardly a misplaced pass and everything working for them. It didn't help that the defence started keeking their pants, but that wasn't tactics.Newell slept
Macey error
Nisbet opened the door and said on you go
Can't do that and expect anything
Bar first 30 mins which were ridiculous we have done ok
Murphy being taken off. Gogic taken off at half time.
Nobody will argue with Nisbet but the other two are senior players in our squad. One was a crucial team player last season.
In regard to Nisbet, he has been rubbish pretty much all season and being subbed this early against Celtic suggests Ross has lost patience with him or has thought "what the hell?".
We need to sell our dross in January. If we lose against Ross County I genuinely think we will be looking at new manager. This is a serious hole and we are looking at youngsters to get us out it, not an easy feat.
Can say recruitment but its managers job to get the best out of his players and it's not been happening with Nisbet and Gogic to name but a few out of a list.
The only issue is does anyone want to buy our dross.
There are also players, who for me anyway, will not play after this season. Those players include Daz and Allan. Folk seem to think Scott Allan should start but he’s a shadow of his former self. He has given me some memorable moments in a Hibs Jersey but if we are to succeed there is no room for sentiment!
I’d start Campbell and Gullan ahead of Nisbet and Gogic against County but I know that won’t happen!
17k odd attendance, nae chance?
Maybe prior to 15 mins in.
4 minutes. 'mon Hibs!
27-10-2021, 08:38 PM
As much as we've been better in the second half I can't help but think it's because Rogic was missing.
Celtic taking the ball into the corner
17k odd attendance, nae chance?17k odd tickets sold. No surprise.
Obviously tickets sold - but definitely not that many in the stadium during game.
What’s the break down of that attendance with walk ups ?
Counting ST's always inflates those figures.
27-10-2021, 08:39 PM
Not necessarily disagreeing with that but he's got a stronger claim than Gogic and Nisbet right now.
27-10-2021, 08:39 PM
Obviously tickets sold - but definitely not that many in the stadium during game.
What’s the break down of that attendance with walk ups ?11k+ ST holders, 4k Celtic fans, 2k+ walk-ups. (fag packet)
27-10-2021, 08:40 PM
Ross County winning 5-0 away from home and play Hibs next…
27-10-2021, 08:40 PM
Really wouldn't concern me if we dropped Nisbet for County.
It would greatly concern me if we didn't.
27-10-2021, 08:41 PM
Hibs are pish, we have been for a while now, as for the crowd if they sell x amount of tickets season or otherwise then that is the attendance. dont know why people get their knickers in a twist over this fact.
27-10-2021, 08:42 PM
1-3 FT. Hopefully the players regain a bit of self belief.
We played some good stuff at times.
It would greatly concern me if we didn't.
Same here, he cannot start off the back of that pathetic performance.
What’s worrying is every team we seem to play bully us easily. The squad is very very lightweight. Been that way for years & years.
So, youngsters to save us from the rot until January. Easy.
At least we are playing the whipping boys of the league at the weekend.
Better 2nd half or not Ross needs to go as far as I'm concerned. The set up and performance in that 1st half was a disgrace.
CL0762
27-10-2021, 08:44 PM
That second half performance actually makes my blood boil.
Why not start the ****ing game like that?
Need to use that second half and take it in to the weekend.
Newell slept
Macey error
Nisbet opened the door and said on you go
Can't do that and expect anything
Bar first 30 mins which were ridiculous we have done ok
So basically we were OK after Celtic were showered and half way along the M8 with 3 points in the bag and all the pressure was off?
I'll hold off on the eulogising for now.
So, youngsters to save us from the rot until January. Easy.
At least we are playing the whipping boys of the league at the weekend.
If they get given the chance.
Was a little bit better second half but what concerns me is why do we have to wait till we are chasing the game to decide to put a bit of effort in and attack.
Let's see which team turns up Saturday.
27-10-2021, 08:45 PM
That's part of the problem....we'll never compete where we want to, by signing guys from the likes of St johnstone, hamilton and St mirren.....not up and coming lads, experienced players.
Bet they couldn't believe their luck getting a gig at ER
I don’t know what to make of that.
Could have finished 3-3 or 1-6.
We’re not a terrible team but it’s certainly not working at the moment.
So basically we were OK after Celtic were showered and half way along the M8 with 3 points in the bag and all the pressure was off?
I'll hold off on the eulogising for now.OK.
27-10-2021, 08:46 PM
In my humble opinion, JR putting Gogic in against Rogic cost us that first half.
Starting to really worry now
Can someone at ER grow a set and keep them locked in sdo home fans can get away. Sick of us sticking the red carpet out
Can someone at ER grow a set and keep them locked in sdo home fans can get away. Sick of us sticking the red carpet outPolice decision.
Ross County winning 5-0 away from home and play Hibs next…
That's a worry
hhibs
27-10-2021, 08:47 PM
This sub lets me know Ross hasn't a clue, Murphy has played well and brings on Wright WTAF
Baffling !
We're dreadful. Really dreadful. I'm taking no comfort from anything that happened after we were 3-0 down, the game was over at that point.
I expected a combative performance tonight. Instead we were like rabbits in the headlights until we'd been rogered senseless, Rogic was off and Celtic were settling in for their win.
The Captain....
A lot better second half. 4 defeats on the bounce tho..the squad depth has been brutally exposed.
We can't defend cross balls and we are powder puff at centre forward. I can't see how we remedy that anytime soon with the current squad until Doidge is fit again.
Defence I think needs totally reshaped and I'm thinking we can do better than Macey in goals too. How many points has Gordon won Hearts this season..can't say the same about Macey.
I also think someone who can dictate a game in midfield, a leader is needed. That's 3 or 4 quality signings at least required, a big ask in the next window.
27-10-2021, 08:48 PM
I'll hold off on the eulogising for now.I'm saying we totally gifted them a 3 goal start
For the football lesson they gave us during the first period of the game the goals were 2 set plays and one that nisbet literally said go on son (for which I would've hooked him right away)
After that we didn't get routed as could've easily happened and with a wee bit more luck and better finishing could've made it it nervy last 15
Can someone at ER grow a set and keep them locked in sdo home fans can get away. Sick of us sticking the red carpet out
That is the makings of "Polis Scotland" nothing to do wi Hibs.
Was a little bit better second half but what concerns me is why do we have to wait till we are chasing the game to decide to put a bit of effort in and attack.
Let's see which team turns up Saturday.
At least we showed a bit of fight tonight. Small consolation I know.
hhibs
27-10-2021, 08:49 PM
Josh Campbell's given a good performance here.
He looked good and was used a lot in preseason and league cup and then...........................nowhere, typical of JR.
Precisely.
If they get given the chance.
Be a miracle if they save us from the rot. If they do they would more than merit being in the team, not just short term but longer term. There is enough in Gullan and Campbell for us not to be signing more dross. Funny how we keep talking about quality over quantity but I think a fair few of our signings are far from quality...
Such a tough position to be put into with so little first team experience. Did Butcher not start throwing youngsters on once he had effectively lost the senior pros (telling them they were done)?
27-10-2021, 08:50 PM
A lot better second half. 4 defeats on the bounce tho..the squad depth has been brutally exposed.
We can't defend cross balls and we are powder puff at centre forward. I can't see how we remedy that anytime soon with the current squad until Doidge is fit again.
Defence I think needs totally reshaped and I'm thinking we can do better than Macey in goals too. How many points has Gordon won Hearts this season..can't say the same about Macey.
I also think someone who can dictate a game in midfield, a leader is needed. That's 3 or 4 quality signings at least required, a big ask in the next window.
Gordon is a world class keeper still imo. They wouldn't be 6 points ahead of us without him. Incredible luck him being a Jambo.
At least we showed a bit of fight tonight. Small consolation I know.
Sticking plaster.
27-10-2021, 08:51 PM
He looked good and was used a lot in preseason and league cup and then...........................nowhere, typical of JR.
Made a decent contribution in opening game then nothing
Another bizarre Ross ism
27-10-2021, 08:52 PM
Absolutely.
We showed glimpses of what we are capable of in the second half but if anything it actually makes it more infuriating that we had to wait until the game was effectively done before starting to play.
That first 30 minutes was disgraceful.
27-10-2021, 08:53 PM
He’s got Magennis and then Allan in front of him, amongst other options. Not a huge mystery.
They were professional we were amateur by comparison, big difference we have so little quality.
hhibs
Oh so true,,We paid good money for him,did we not.......but just no.
27-10-2021, 08:54 PM
Absolutely.
We showed glimpses of what we are capable of in the second half but if anything it actually makes it more infuriating that we had to wait until the game was effectively done before starting to play.
That first 30 minutes was disgraceful.
I think there's a serious mentality issue at work there. We lack steel, self-belief and spine through the side.
27-10-2021, 08:54 PM
Oh so true,,We paid good money for him,did we not.......but just no.I'm sure it was a free transfer
27-10-2021, 08:56 PM
Things change quickly - look at Aberdeen
We need a win next week though
2 wins on the bounce and we are back at it
Tommy75
27-10-2021, 08:57 PM
Gordon is a world class keeper still imo. They wouldn't be 6 points ahead of us without him. Incredible luck him being a Jambo.
Come on, he is very good but is not, and has never been, world class.
Fergos
27-10-2021, 08:58 PM
Exactly.
They were always going to easy up 2nd half if only psychologically, it’s what happens when you are 3 zip up against a week and leaderless team. The game was done when we started to actually look interested. Newall switching off after 10 minutes sums us up. Timid.
Is there some kind of problem behind the scenes?
Said same thing to my mate… has to be something going on
27-10-2021, 08:59 PM
That walk across Bothwell Street bridge against the flow was interesting.
St Johnstone put the buffers on the champions-elect
Said same thing to my mate… has to be something going on
I said that after D U game
27-10-2021, 09:00 PM
Celtic will win the league.
hhibs
27-10-2021, 09:02 PM
I'm sure it was a free transfer
On reflection think you are correct,but expensive signing on fee and wages as he was supposedly a real talent.
27-10-2021, 09:02 PM
I said that after D U game
You thought there was something going on behind the scenes after the first poor game we played??
All teams have bad form. We have a lot of injuries and it is pretty clear to see why we are struggling.
No evidence at all of anything ‘going on’ which always seems to be the go to suggestion when we don’t win for a few games.
Be a miracle if they save us from the rot. If they do they would more than merit being in the team, not just short term but longer term. There is enough in Gullan and Campbell for us not to be signing more dross. Funny how we keep talking about quality over quantity but I think a fair few of our signings are far from quality...
Such a tough position to be put into with so little first team experience. Did Butcher not start throwing youngsters on once he had effectively lost the senior pros (telling them they were done)?
Be a miracle if any of them get given a chance on Saturday! Why us the young lad, I think laidlaw not in any squads or given a chance?? He was scoring plenty!
I posted earlier and the following can go for me as they won’t take us or make us any better (no room for sentiment either)
Daz
Scott Allan
Gogic
Wright
We need a new keeper, CH, a DM (leader) and. 2 strikers!
I don’t want much but we need change
I’d also sell Nisbet because he’s not trying and is like a man short just now (he’ll go and score a hat trick at weekend)
loanheadhibby
27-10-2021, 09:04 PM
With absolute respect to both laddies, they are not going to get us out of trouble. Hope I’m proved wrong on Saturday.
It actually highlights how bad things are.
27-10-2021, 09:08 PM
With absolute respect to both laddies, they are not going to get us out of trouble. Hope I’m proved wrong on Saturday.
Gullan deserves to start just for not being the absolute enigma that is Nisbet.
I've defended him saying he isn't a lone striker but his attitude is awful. He needs dropped regardless of the alternatives.
Chorley Hibee
27-10-2021, 09:08 PM
Ross and the players shat it.
Treated a Celtic team that couldn't lace the boots of their recent sides as if they'd morphed into Brazil 1970.
Couldn't care less about a 'battling' second half performance either. It's easy to show a bit of heart once the game is gone, it requires real courage to do it when the game is there to be won.
loanheadhibby
27-10-2021, 09:11 PM
Gullan deserves to start just for not being the absolute enigma that is Nisbet.
I've defended him saying he isn't a lone striker but his attitude is awful. He needs dropped regardless of the alternatives.
Don’t disagree re Nisbet but Gullan is not the answer either. He’s had more than enough chances.
The laddie should have been allowed to go to Killie to further his career. Similar situation to Oli Shaw.
Your right, fed up with this 1st half was good pity we couldn't keep it going, or why couldn't we start the game the way we started 2nd half, the game is 90 mins!! Also can't accept this notion that games against Celtic & Rangers are a free hit, don't expect anything from them, what an attitude.
hhibs
27-10-2021, 09:21 PM
[QUOTE=Aldo;6734984]Be a miracle if any of them get given a chance on Saturday! Why us the young lad, I think laidlaw not in any squads or given a chance?? He was scoring plenty!
I posted earlier and the following can go for me as they won’t take us or make us any better (no room for sentiment either)
Daz
Scott Allan
Gogic
Wright
We need a new keeper, CH, a DM (leader) and. 2 strikers!
I don’t want much but we need change
I’d also sell Nisbet because he’s not trying and is like a man short just now (he’ll go and score a hat trick at weekend)
Lots to agree with there.
Macey has never been a no1 for me a,whatever happened to Bogdan.........there was a keeper lMO
27-10-2021, 09:25 PM
Don’t disagree re Nisbet but Gullan is not the answer either. He’s had more than enough chances.
The laddie should have been allowed to go to Killie to further his career. Similar situation to Oli Shaw.
Agree. Nisbet has been poor but doesn’t make Gullan any better an option unfortunately.
I think Ross deserves to be judged when we have more options available. Doidge and Mueller are a different kettle of fish to Gullan and well, no none else.
Think we were also short of Magennis, Hallberg, Allan, Mackay and Scott? That does make a difference in being able to change things up.
27-10-2021, 09:26 PM
Loved their energy when they came on, but never ever good enough to turn the game.
27-10-2021, 09:29 PM
I think there's a serious mentality issue at work there. We lack steel, self-belief and spine through the side.
We said this last season after the hearts semi loss - Saints losses at hampden.
Nothing has changed except JDH plays more often.
You could argue we are weaker - Marciano was an international keeper and Doidge is injured.
Considering the Utd game and Aberdeen game - the first 30 mins was a sackable performance. For all the improvements 2nd half we still couldn’t score a goal.
Ross county will be buzzing to play us after tonight.
27-10-2021, 09:30 PM
Ross and the players shat it.
Treated a Celtic team that couldn't lace the boots of their recent sides as if they'd morphed into Brazil 1970.
Couldn't care less about a 'battling' second half performance either. It's easy to show a bit of heart once the game is gone, it requires real courage to do it when the game is there to be won.
Totally agree with that last paragraph. The way we are starting games is terrible. No belief, no arrogance, nobody wanting to take responsibility to get us organised defensively.
27-10-2021, 09:32 PM
Celtic will win the league.
Not if refs keep handing Rangers penalty’s as soft as they got tonight!
Fuzzywuzzy
27-10-2021, 09:36 PM
It's a bit mind boggling when you've got porteous giving instructions to the team while Hanlon looks like a rabbit caught in headlights
27-10-2021, 09:38 PM
Totally agree with that last paragraph. The way we are starting games is terrible. No belief, no arrogance, nobody wanting to take responsibility to get us organised defensively.
We appear leaderless on and off the park. Sometimes you get to play pretty football, sometimes you have to fight and kick your way through games. We look like we aren't capable of adjusting. I literally cannot remember the last time we played with any kind of a press and certainly not for a sustained period.
This doesn't look like a project going through a sticky patch. It looks like a mess in search of a shape.
27-10-2021, 09:40 PM
It's a bit mind boggling when you've got porteous giving instructions to the team while Hanlon looks like a rabbit caught in headlights
I like Hanlon. I find his role as captain completely inexplicable. If he is providing leadership on the park it isn't easily visible from the stands.
27-10-2021, 09:41 PM
Thought Porto was class tonight. Hanlon is never a captain in a million years.
hhibs
27-10-2021, 09:42 PM
Hanlon is never,ever ,a team captain and would improve his game if he wasn't
27-10-2021, 09:43 PM
Thought Porto was class tonight. Hanlon is never a captain in a million years.
He was (other than for the second goal ). But yes, absolute leader …. That said, people get too worked up about who has the arm band . Everyone can see it is Porto who is bossing the team ..even without the armband
27-10-2021, 09:50 PM
We appear leaderless on and off the park. Sometimes you get to play pretty football, sometimes you have to fight and kick your way through games. We look like we aren't capable of adjusting. I literally cannot remember the last time we played with any kind of a press and certainly not for a sustained period.
This doesn't look like a project going through a sticky patch. It looks like a mess in search of a shape.
It’s just a dull team, who play dull football, under a dull manager, who says the same dull things week in, week out.
Too many ‘safe’ players and too many players in the squad who contribute nowhere near enough and in some cases nothing at all.
h1bs4life
27-10-2021, 09:50 PM
1st half tactics were a mystery , go to Ibrox and Tynecastle and play on the front foot then at home to the lesser greens with probably the worst defence of the 3 sit back and let them have the ball when they have the front players who can damage us. Could easily been 5 or 6 at half time although if Newell takes his chance at 1-0 down it could have been different
JimboHibs
27-10-2021, 09:57 PM
Don't fret Jonnyboy will be along to tell us it wasn't one of Paul's better games etc
Like most weeks 😴
I'm not convinced there was a lack of fight from the players tonight. For me that first 30 mins was due to 1. the midfield 3 were set up differently to usual to specifically try and stop celtic and the players looked completely lost, the game was done before we could change it 2. basic errors/lack of quality from the players, not helped by having gogic on the pitch who, from a technical point of view, must be one of the worst players we have ever had 3. celtic were electric in their short, sharp passing and movement.
The players still look to be playing for ross to me but saturday will be telling. Play like the second half today and get the win then we can kick on again knowing injured players will be getting fit again soon but lose and the pressure will be ramped up and there is potential to spiral. Its a crucial game for ross.
27-10-2021, 10:11 PM
I'm not convinced there was a lack of fight from the players tonight. For me that first 30 mins was due to 1. the midfield 3 were set up differently to usual to specifically try and stop celtic and the players looked completely lost, the game was done before we could change it 2. basic errors/lack of quality from the players, not helped by having gogic on the pitch who, from a technical point of view, must be one of the worst players we have ever had 3. celtic were electric in their short, sharp passing and movement.
The players still look to be playing for ross to me but saturday will be telling. Play like the second half today and get the win then we can kick on again knowing injured players will be getting fit again soon but lose and the pressure will be ramped up and there is potential to spiral. Its a crucial game for ross.
I actually thought Joe looked better on the right than he has for weeks. Celtc didn’t know how to pick him up and he nearly got a goal.
On the other hand, neither him nor Boyle offered Paul McGinn any protection and mickey Johnston had a free run at us whenever he wanted.
27-10-2021, 10:13 PM
Personally thought McGinn and Doig done really well up against two very tricky wingers tonight.
It was cutting us open through the middle that was concerning me.
27-10-2021, 10:15 PM
Just seeing the goals back on Sportscene and the first goal is bloody horrendous. Every single one of them, arms out wondering what was going on. Nobody taking any responsibility for getting them organised.
Even the warm up was unorganised. Some of the players were away down the tunnel then got shouted back out to do the last bit. Don’t think John Potter was there which maybe contributed.
Perfect Hatrick
27-10-2021, 10:15 PM
Personally thought McGinn and Doig done really well up against two very tricky wingers tonight.
Doig got terrorised first half imo. Much better second half though and really contributed going forward.
27-10-2021, 10:18 PM
Doig got terrorised first half imo. Much better second half though and really contributed going forward.
Fair enough.
I think considering how much pressure we were under he defended Jota really well in 1 v 1 positions. A couple of times he tried a bit of skill or take him on and Josh stood tall and won the ball back.
Really rate the lad Jota and think he’s very tricky, the type of player I’ve seen him struggle against in the past.
Perfect Hatrick
27-10-2021, 10:18 PM
Fair enough.
I think considering how much pressure we were under he defended Jota really well in 1 v 1 positions. A couple of times he tried a bit of skill or take him on and Josh stood tall and won the ball back.
Really rate the lad Jota and think he’s very tricky, the type of player I’ve seen him struggle against in the past.
Jota is very decent. Benfica fans are raging he’s been allowed to leave apparently.
27-10-2021, 10:19 PM
Don't fret Jonnyboy will be along to tell us it wasn't one of Paul's better games etc
Like most weeks 😴
Weird dig.
27-10-2021, 10:20 PM
Weird dig.Sack Jonnyboy too!
27-10-2021, 10:22 PM
Sack Jonnyboy too!
I understand being frustrated or not liking a player but I don’t understand bringing a random poster into it that puts a lot of effort into his weekly threads and posts his genuine opinions. I’ve also never seen him argue with anyone.
27-10-2021, 10:24 PM
I understand being frustrated or not liking a player but I don’t understand bringing a random poster into it that puts a lot of effort into his weekly threads and posts his genuine opinions. I’ve also never seen him argue with anyone.When was the last time you made any signing deductions/predictions?
You're next for the high jump!
27-10-2021, 10:25 PM
When was the last time you made any signing deductions/predictions?
You're next for the high jump!
I’m slowly being discovered as a one hit wonder and the pressure is mounting on me for January.
27-10-2021, 10:26 PM
Both did well imo, although Doig’s crossing wasn’t all that tonight.
28-10-2021, 07:12 AM
I'm lost for words!
28-10-2021, 07:14 AM
I'm lost for words!
Why, We didn't play any good stuff at all?
We shouldn't take how we played in the secind half and try to continue that in Dingwall?
Disagree if you want but "lost for words"?
28-10-2021, 07:24 AM
We shouldn't take how we played in the secind half and try to continue that in Dingwall?
It's easy playing "good stuff" against a team sitting in with a 2 goal lead. Saturday's game is a completely different scenario and while I honestly don't think we can be as poor again as we have been in the last 3 games, I doubt if he can survive another defeat.
28-10-2021, 07:28 AM
It's easy playing "good stuff" against a team sitting in with a 2 goal lead. Saturday's game is a completely different scenario and while I honestly don't think we can be as poor again as we have been in the last 3 games, I doubt if he can survive another defeat.
Did we play badly for the 'final' 60 minutes of last night's match? Would you like to see us continue with the same conviction (and mayeb even self belief) on Saturday?
That's all I'm saying.
28-10-2021, 07:29 AM
We were absolutely atrocious last night. That first half we genuinely could have went in 5 or 6 down.
Celtic took their foot off the gas in the second half and we played slightly better but that's because they knew the game was won.
We did improve in the 2nd half but only by virtue of the fact we couldn't possibly have played any worse so I'm not sure it's really a positive.
28-10-2021, 07:31 AM
We were absolutely atrocious last night. That first half we genuinely could have went in 5 or 6 down.
Celtic took their foot off the gas in the second half and we played slightly better but that's because they knew the game was won.
We did improve in the 2nd half but only by virtue of the fact we couldn't possibly have played any worse so I'm not sure it's really a positive.
Seen a few posts saying this now, what other clear cut chances did they have in the 1st half that could have made it 5 or 6, maybe cause i was fed up by the 2nd i didnt take much notice but i can only remember 1 macey save in the 1st half
28-10-2021, 07:32 AM
Did they take their foot of the gas or did they have to reduce their pace - I doubt they could have continued that for 90 minutes.
The match changed when Rogic went off injured - we're suffering with injuries too. It's part of the game.
We did improve in the 2nd half but only by virtue of the fact we couldn't possibly have played any worse.
Correct. Hopefully we'll keep that up.
28-10-2021, 07:33 AM
Seen a few posts saying this now, what other clear cut chances did they have in the 1st half that could have made it 5 or 6, maybe cause i was fed up by the 2nd i didnt take much notice but i can only remember 1 macey save in the 1st half
There were a few in that first 25 minutes. It could easily have been 5 or 6 TBH.
28-10-2021, 07:33 AM
Did they take their foot of the gas or did they have to reduce their pace - I doubt they could have continued that for 90 minutes.
The match changed when Rogic went off injured - we're suffering with injuries too. It's part of the game.
Correct. Hopefully we'll keep that up.
Not really. If we play like we played in the second half we won't win on Saturday.
Being utterly utterly ***** in the first half and then just ***** in the second half isn't something I'd hope we keep up.
28-10-2021, 07:34 AM
Not really. If we play like we played in the second half we won't win on Saturday.
Being utterly utterly ***** in the first half and then just ***** in the second half isn't something I'd hope we keep up.
That's your opinion. I'm not so sure.
28-10-2021, 07:35 AM
There were a few in that first 25 minutes. It could easily have been 5 or 6 TBH.
Genuinely cant remember macey making that many saves, as i say i was totally fed up after the 2nd, ill need to watch the highlights
28-10-2021, 07:36 AM
Exactly, our front man was static ALL night, he certainly does not defend from the front, and that midfield are just useless. Murphy did ok, Boyle did ok, but neither are there to defend, JDH and Newell were sheite, Newell is sheite, and Gogic was hung out to dry with what was beside him.
Our first 11 when fit are good, better than most. When we have injuries like we do have, we are much weaker.
28-10-2021, 07:38 AM
Exactly, our front man was static ALL night, he certainly does not defend from the front, and that midfield are just useless. Murphy did ok, Boyle did ok, but neither are there to defend, JDH and Newell were sheite, Newell is sheite, and Gogic was hung out to dry with what was beside him.
Our first 11 when fit are good, better than most. When we have injuries like we do have, we are much weaker.
I actually think JDH done ok. He does what he does very well, keeps the game moving, always available and very rarely loses possession.
It's what's infront of him, or the lack of it, that is the issue.
28-10-2021, 07:38 AM
We were atrocious for the first half hour last night, Celtic were brilliant, as good as i've seen them in a long time.
To say we were atrocious for the whole game is wrong.
NC1875
28-10-2021, 07:41 AM
We were atrocious for the first half hour last night, Celtic were brilliant, as good as i've seen them in a long time.
Occurred to you we only looked better when Celtic dropped down about 3 gears ?
We were terrible and I can’t believe we have people on here defending the players and manager.
28-10-2021, 07:42 AM
28-10-2021, 07:45 AM
If you want to break it down into 30 minute segments then you are possibly correct.
Taking the game as a whole though, which is ultimately what you need to do if you want to win games and pick up points, we were terrible.
If you are utterly abysmal for 30 minutes and go 3 down with the game effectively lost it really doesn't matter what happens after that as the game is already lost.
28-10-2021, 07:47 AM
Occurred to you we only looked better when Celtic dropped down about 3 gears ?
We were terrible and I can’t believe we have people on here defending the players and manager.
If you want to break it down into 30 minute segments then you are possibly correct.
Taking the game as a whole though, which is ultimately what you need to do if you want to win games and pick up points, we were terrible.
I'd say we played better after 30 minutes because we played better, i dont want to break anything down into segments other than a satsuma.
28-10-2021, 07:50 AM
Celtic came out the 2nd half with their slippers on smoking cigars and treated it like a training session.
Even though we looked slightly better we never looked like scoring. We are completely void of ideas once we get anywhere near the opposition box.
There's a pattern forming playing Hibs just now....
Dundee UTD have their best 45 mins of football AGAINST us!
Aberdeen get their 1st win in yonks AGAINST us!!
Celtic play their best 45 mins this season AGAINST us!!!
It's just as well Ross County won last night as that result could easily have been AGAINST us!
28-10-2021, 07:54 AM
I'd say we played better after 30 minutes because we played better, i dont want to break anything down into segments other than a satsuma.
We came into the game more after 30 minutes as Celtic had the game won and took their foot off the gas. Not because our own performance improved.
Unless you think it's down to sheer coincidence that it's after the 3rd goal went in that we suddenly started to get more involved.
I’d love to hear our manager talk deeper about that first half hour ….what were our tactics , did we play as he wanted and it didn’t work or didn’t we follow instructions . How much of it was their great movement Vs our passiveness …
Not to chastise him or anyone - I’d just dearly love to know the technical aftermath assessment from him.
We came into the game more after 30 minutes as Celtic had the game won and took their foot off the gas. Not because our own performance improved.
Both
28-10-2021, 07:55 AM
There are 2 elements to our game that frustrate the heck out of me at the moment. Our defending of cross balls, either from set pieces or open play, and our delivery into the box from attacking positions, again from dead balls or open play…..is that 4 then🤔😂 If this is being addressed on the training pitch I’ve yet to see evidence of it🤷🏼
28-10-2021, 07:57 AM
Both
Why do you think it suddenly improved after it went 3-0?
28-10-2021, 08:04 AM
Why do you think it suddenly improved after it went 3-0?
I thought we became more positive after they scored and started to take risks.
NC1875
28-10-2021, 08:07 AM
I thought we became more positive after they scored and started to take risks.
Easy when you’re 3-0 down. Team of absolute bottlers.
Go and take the risks at 0-0, in cup finals and semi finals. Against Hearts.
They don’t do it. And that comes from our manager being so negative himself.
28-10-2021, 08:13 AM
I can’t think to a time where Gullan has been given a run of games to prove himself
28-10-2021, 08:37 AM
Even though we looked slightly better we never looked like scoring. We are completely void of ideas once we get anywhere near the opposition box.
Didn't we miss a 1 on 1 with a JDH slide rule pass?
28-10-2021, 08:55 AM
I'm lost for words!
OK, if you want a fuller response...
Your comment reminded me of one made by Cathro after he'd just taken his team to Celtc Park, watched them get slaughtered and then commented that "if you take out the goals, there wasn't really much in the game"
So yeah, if you take out the part where Celtic ripped us apart in the first 25 minutes, we were three-nil down, then they took their foot off the gas because the game was pretty much won..... absolutely, a fantastic performance!
28-10-2021, 09:02 AM
OK, if you want a fuller response...
Your comment reminded me of one made by Cathro after he'd just taken his team to Celtc Park, watched them get slaughtered and then commented that "if you take out the goals, there wasn't really much in the game"
So yeah, if you take out the part where Celtic ripped us apart in the first 25 minutes, we were three-nil down, then they took their foot off the gas because the game was pretty much won..... absolutely, a fantastic performance!
I'm not sure why you''re pulling me up on this post in particular.
I'm not ignoring the first 25-30 minutes.
You insist Celtic took their foot off the gas? Was that on instruction from their manager? Or maybe Hibs started playing better.
Rogic going off changed the game IMO.
I want Hibs to take the application that we showed in the second half last night into the game at the weekend.
If you want to find fault in that then that's your business.
28-10-2021, 09:03 AM
And what was the outcome?
NC1875
29-10-2021, 07:58 AM
Hanlon in the papers this morning saying there were heated exchanges in the dressing room at half time and after the game.
Hopefully they show the same fight on the pitch on Saturday and actually go out to prove a point. Like they’ve been saying they were going to do for the last 3 weeks.
29-10-2021, 08:13 AM
Even if we ignore the goal we scored we also missed 2 one on ones.
So we did look like scoring (in fact we did score) even though we got a doing.
29-10-2021, 08:13 AM
Hanlon in the papers this morning saying there were heated exchanges in the dressing room at half time and after the game.
Hopefully they show the same fight on the pitch on Saturday and actually go out to prove a point. Like they’ve been saying they were going to do for the last 3 weeks.
Good. This is the kind of thing Yogi likes, so can we put to bed the idea of him coming back to manage us as as it's happening without him?
29-10-2021, 09:54 AM
Unless you think it's down to sheer coincidence that it's after the 3rd goal went in that we suddenly started to get more involved.
No it was a bit of both.
Yes Celtc backed off, but we also had chances to make it 2-3. No team is going to willingly let you get within a goal of levelling after being so much in control.
Of course they could have found an extra gear and sadly the game was pretty much done after 20 minutes. It was definitely an improved 2nd half from us though.
29-10-2021, 10:13 AM
Easy when you’re 3-0 down. Team of absolute bottlers.
Go and take the risks at 0-0, in cup finals and semi finals. Against Hearts.
They don’t do it. And that comes from our manager being so negative himself.
To be fair only Craig Gordon prevented us winning at Tynecastle. End to end game. Can't say we didn't have a go. Or at Ibrox where Rangers didn't have a shot on goal until we were down to 10 men.
Fuzzywuzzy
29-10-2021, 10:46 AM
I see McManus is giving Ryan a hard time for tackle on McGregor. I'm pretty sure that if the photos of McGregor's shin are genuine you would have expected him to have gone off??
29-10-2021, 10:50 AM
I see McManus is giving Ryan a hard time for tackle on McGregor. I'm pretty sure that if the photos of McGregor's shin are genuine you would have expected him to have gone off??
Was a ridiculous tackle to make. Could easily have seen red for it.
29-10-2021, 10:58 AM
Outrageous for a club employee. McManus should be shown the door.
29-10-2021, 11:09 AM
I agree and it's not the first time he's had a pop. Given the standard of his "insight" as a co-commentator he's definitely replaceable.
29-10-2021, 11:15 AM
He probably should have gone off, I think he got off lightly with a booking if I'm being honest.
The whistle had already gone when he went steaming in, the laddie isn't learning.
29-10-2021, 01:34 PM
He probably should have gone off, I think he got off lightly with a booking if I'm being honest.
I agree.
29-10-2021, 02:11 PM
They should have been fighting in the dressing room after the Dundee Hibs game, why did it take so long.
29-10-2021, 02:14 PM
You can take the boy out of the west but cannot take the west out of the boy, he should just shut up at times like that yet another tackle blown out of all proportion, perhaps we should have a bruised leg show after every game, what a load o pisch.