Not 1 shot on target so far again today wtf is going on :grr:

23-10-2021, 03:54 PM
Bugger, close and now Lewis down again

7 mins added

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

thebausburst
23-10-2021, 03:55 PM
Hibs now officially in free fall, will be given little to no chance on Wednesday, could be a total humping on the cards.

23-10-2021, 03:55 PM
Big Ron won't be happy seeing this, Mathie or not this is as poor as we've seen for a long time and Ross has to take the blame.

23-10-2021, 03:56 PM
Absolutely f,n useless, this Hibs team are starting to look more like relegation candidates than anything else, absolutely brutal. The season started so well too. Rank rotten, the recruitment has been poor and the manager needs tae be taken tae task, pise f,n poor.

This is arguably a worse performance than last week.

Hibs now officially in free fall, will be given little to no chance on Wednesday, could be a total humping on the cards.

We are not in freefall! It's only 3 games lost, not 30 🤣

23-10-2021, 03:57 PM
7 mins of injury time, just sole destroying so it is.

Jack Ross's first little bad spell. Let's see if he can turn it around. Every confidence he can.

Not that funny really

Absolutely f,n useless, this Hibs team are starting to look more like relegation candidates than anything else, absolutely brutal. The season started so well too. Rank rotten, the recruitment has been poor and the manager needs tae be taken tae task, pise f,n poor.

thank goodness we have Dundee and Ross co in the league ;)

23-10-2021, 03:58 PM
Jeez, it sounds a really atrocious performance this week.:rolleyes:

A striker struggling to score goals, a midfield doing absolutely nothing, defence making regular mistakes and a threadbare poor quality squad. Is that everything covered, it's going to be a long season unless January helps us out.

And Winter is Coming

We could keep playing for the rest of the year and still not score…even after Aberdeen head off to the showers.

NC1875

Not quite free fall but we are terrible and have been for weeks. When was the last time you witnessed a good performance ?

Ross has no plan b and we must be so easy to play against

23-10-2021, 03:59 PM
Not that funny really

Clearly hyperbole to say we are in freefall, 3 games ago we were bossing rangers at home until the sending off

Is this officially the 2nd season syndrome for Ross.

Big Ron won't be happy seeing this, Mathie or not this is as poor as we've seen for a long time and Ross has to tale the blame.

Mathie's found himself under a bus but going from where we were last season to here is surely down to more than just one man.

This is pitiful.

Not 1 shot on target so far again today wtf is going on :grr:

It’s not just that - it’s the lack of anything created.

Can we please sign a left footed winger. Stop these right footed players cutting back in good positions.

Another 2 strikers

Some energy in midfield.

Couple defenders including a CB and RB.

….

Gullan
Wright
Hallberg (injure me - but needs a fresh start)
Murphy
Mackie (injured but not at the level)

Can all move on - possibly more as they aren’t contributing anything.

Our squad is so average. Relying on Doidge, Mueller (who doesn’t score many goals) and KM isn’t going to save our season - get us top 4.

Perfect Hatrick

It’s every bit as bad.

We were promised a reaction and we’ve not had a shot on target against the most makeshift of makeshift defences.

Can’t even control a ball now

Not quite free fall but we are terrible and have been for weeks. When was the last time you witnessed a good performance ?

Ross has no plan b and we must be so easy to play against

We were great against The Rangers until a moment of madness.

We could keep playing for the rest of the year and still not score…even after Aberdeen head off to the showers.

They’ve had a complete re-shuffle at the back during the game and we’ve still not overly troubled them. Horrific performance.

Is this officially the 2nd season syndrome for Ross.

3rd

23-10-2021, 04:00 PM
thank goodness we have Dundee and Ross co in the league ;)

Griffiths and Cummings will run amok against our ageing defence

That from McGinn sums up Hibs. We are sadly hopeless. In order to chase a game our manager abandons all shape and just throws on players. We are lucky Aberdeen haven't tried to counter us because we are wide open.

Queue Macey kicking it out the park as well...

Superb by macey with a minute to go [emoji108][emoji106]

Macey kicks it straight out of play

Clearly hyperbole to say we are in freefall, 3 games ago we were bossing rangers at home until the sending off

You are writing that at the precise moment we ate gifting Aberdeen a massive morale boost and going to 10 men

Good lad

We were great against The Rangers until a moment of madness.

Porteous lunging in was more damaging than he realised

23-10-2021, 04:01 PM
McGregor red card right at the end....how freakin stupid seriously

Red card for McGregor.

McGregor red card right at the end....how freakin stupid seriously

He’s a liability. Can’t trust him to stay on the park.

WTF McGregor second yellow

Have we had a shot on target?

McGregor sent off

Toothless, absolutely toothless.

And mcgregor ref carded as we attacked to top it off

Thrown his arm. It seems

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Well

What a ****ing idiot

McGregor off what a shock.

It’s been depressingly predictable today.

Think a lot of fans knew what was coming today with Aberdeen looking for their first 1 in ten

Red card for your “experienced” CB. ****ing clown.

23-10-2021, 04:02 PM
Grim stuff, McGregor red card.

what a piss poor team playing with zero confidence and not looking like they will get much from now to Xmas, Big Daz has had enough as well.

FT. **** sake Hibs.

You are writing that at the precise moment we ate gifting Aberdeen a massive morale boost and going to 10 men

Good lad

Hard to tell what's going on from the BBC radio coverage, good my timing is spot on though!

Perfect Hatrick
Have we had a shot on target?

Zero shots on target.

Are the wheels still on? Have we had a shot on goal in the 2nd half?

3rd

Technically yes but 2nd with his players.

This is unarguably a poorer performance than last week.

Last week we were well beaten by a decent side.

This week we've barely laid a glove on a poor one.

Abysmal performance and result.

Perfect Hatrick
Full time. That’s every bit as bad as last week. Absolutely ****ing shocking.

23-10-2021, 04:03 PM
Well

Ross out.

Great reaction Jack

Bring on Celtic

Thing is - did it really start well?

Dropped points at Dundee and at home to St Mirren. Many in here saying 4 points dropped so early on wasn’t a good start.

Even most fans with a small bit of knowledge knew we needed to sign a striker as minimum but we didn’t.

Recruitment poor and get found out pretty quickly.

Can’t be any excuses today. Both sides had injuries. We are looking lost defensively and going forward and have Celtc up next. Lovely.

No shots on target in 101 minutes against a team that's lost 5 in a row and not win in 10.

Absolutely disgraceful.

Boo!

Stupid red card and a lack of discipline to put the icing on the absolute ****ter of a day. JR - sort your team out or gtf I'm not watching this **** all season.

Can’t be surprised there’s no reaction from a team managed by the most emotionless man in football

The Green Sea
23-10-2021, 04:04 PM
Hibs the under pressure manager’s gift

Poor team selection by Ross today.

Ross out before this crap gets worse

Should be Mcgregors last game for Hibs.

Cat Stanton
Ross out.

And so it begins.

That should have been a penalty when Daz got sent off. The ref is watching the boy pull Dazs shirt before there was any contact with his face. Poor performance though.

23-10-2021, 04:05 PM
Hahaha it begins! The Ross out brigade logging in for the first time in months.

Least one of our players shows a bit fight, that was pretty spineless again

Ross out.
Beat me to it. JR is just not a very good manager that’s why he is manager of Hibs.

stuart-farquhar
Time for management to move on.

Teams that are on a miserable run and can't buy a win really do love realising that their next fixture is against Hibs. Never mind, we have a great stadium with big screens now. We can't have everything.

JJP
Trust us to give them their first win in ages.

23-10-2021, 04:06 PM
All pressure previously on Glass needs to transfer to Ross.

Hope Jack isn't best pals with Ron. If Mathie gets dumped then Ross needs to be seriously looked at as well.

That should have been a penalty when Daz got sent off. The ref is watching the boy pull Dazs shirt before there was any contact with his face. Poor performance though.

Maybe if McGregor had went down instead of being a dick and swinging an elbow at the boy.

NC1875
Usual boring uninspiring interview to come from Ross.

He can go IMO. Too many days like today.

Are the wheels still on? Have we had a shot on goal in the 2nd half?

No shots on target in either half.

And so it begins.

He’s got a point. Ross has lost another big game once again.

Hibs the under pressure manager’s gift

If Ross County don't beat Dundee in midweek they go into next week's game without a league win all season.

Over to you, Hibs...

As bad a Hibs side I've seen in a few years, reminded me of Heckingbottom's side. Forget about poor recruitment and injury problems, this team is shocking bad, no pace, no guile, no fight, just nothing, nothing about them excites me one bit.

I'm sitting here with toothache and even that's more enjoyable.:greengrin

23-10-2021, 04:07 PM

I’m on every day. :aok:

H18S NX
That was ABSOLUTELY BRUTAL HIBS.

hibIBZ
Least one of our players shows a bit fight, that was pretty spineless again

I don't think it was spineless or heartless, we are just not very good. Predictable and poor, plenty of effort but we just crap

they've had a run of five straight defeats and now only a point behind us

dundee utd beat motherwell 2-1 so we stay in 5th, for now

Motherwell v St Mirren on wednesday, either of them winning will see us go 6th, assuming we get skelped by sellick

We will be lucky to make top 5 at this rate - more worried about not finishing top 6.

Jack Ross isn’t helping himself - he needed to start this season well and he hasn’t. He also needed to start beating teams around us and he hasn’t. It’s all a bit flat.

Should we go for the United guy or stick wi JR and see where that one takes us?
:cb

Beat me to it. JR is just not a very good manager that’s why he is manager of Hibs.

So do we go out and get another not very good manager?

Ah we lost so it must be a big game again 🤣

He loses every big game when you are the one choosing what is a big game or not

Macey picks up a bouncing ball: “This was a BIG BIG save from Macey!

If he was smarter he should have run off him and went down. Instead he reacted stupidly. Least streetwise team going. Constantly fail to take advantage of a situation.

23-10-2021, 04:09 PM
I’m on every day. :aok:

Same here

And so it begins.

What do you expect? We've had 1 shot on target in the last 2 games, only 1 attempt off target today against a team in free fall, 2 horrific performances in a row and not a great watch when have managed a result RG will punt him unless he turns it around quick imo

NC1875
He loses every big game when you are the one choosing what is a big game or not

What big games has he won ? He’s lost more than he’s one that’s for sure.

Glad you’re happy watching the dross he puts on the pitch most weeks

We will be lucky to make top 5 at this rate - more worried about not finishing top 6.

Jack Ross isn’t helping himself - he needed to start this season well and he hasn’t. He also needed to start beating teams around us and he hasn’t. It’s all a bit flat.

What exactly is he supposed to do? Ask Porteous to not go lunging in? Ask players not to get injured? Ask his recruitment guy to try harder?

hibbydog
Awful stuff.

I’ve no complaints about the result.

I could complain all day about lack of fight, belief, desire or any sign of any of our players giving a *****.

Worse than the opposition all over the park for a second week running.

Awful

I can’t believe he made the midfield worse than last week - playing 2 guys - one being Newell was an awful decision.

As soon as we lost the first goal it was game over. Far too common with Ross.

Zambernardi1875

And so it should, that was absolutely ****ing horrific again, Ron Gordon is bringing in all the razzmatazz and Jack Ross is serving up boring spineless pish week in week out.

We’ve all seen this show before we all know what happens, the sooner a new manager is brought in the better.

I don't rate him and I've been on fairly regularly for weeks.

Point the finger at fellow fans before the failing manager and team. Sounds right...

The fact our players are getting involved in scraps tells the story. They are not doing the basics correctly and are letting their frustrations get the better of them. That is squarely with them and the manager. He said they've worked hard this week to put last week right, they've done nothing today. Not a single shot on target against a team struggling to get a win is shocking.

If we lose the next 2 then Ross should be under extreme pressure.

23-10-2021, 04:10 PM
My main concern is that I don't think this is really a problem with tactics. If it was, we could maybe try and address it and change things moving forward.

Unfortunately this is mostly about a shockingly shallow depth to our squad and in truth, a lack of much quality in key positions. We simply can't fix that just now, and I think we're going to hit the bottom 6 before the next window.

Hope I'm talking *****.

Strange line up and no shots on target against the worst team in the league on current form who spent most of the game with only 1 defender on the park.

Last week it took us till the 90th minute to get a shot on target. That's unacceptable.

Where do we go from here? I find Ross so uninspiring although I had almost changed my mind after the way we started the season. Sadly it's all so predictable now we are down to the bare bones squad wise.

I don't think it was spineless or heartless, we are just not very good. Predictable and poor, plenty of effort but we just crap

Hear, hear another who sees it for what it is, just no very good, playing eye bleeding stuff that is never going to attract people back to Easter Road.

I thought he was possibly the only player to emerge from the game with any credit.

Played ok, had a good second half.

7Hero
23-10-2021, 04:11 PM

I'll think you'll find they were definitely here last week and have had plenty opportunities to pop along since he took charge..

First time in months LOL🤣🤣🤣🤣

Stop the crap about JR out it’s embarrassing. Hibs dominated the game but created very little. We are going through a rough patch that is all. But as usual Hibs.net punters go over the top

What big games has he won ? He’s lost more than he’s one that’s for sure.

Glad you’re happy watching the dross he puts on the pitch most weeks

Where did I saw I was happy? I just don't like the big game ***** that gets dug out after every game we lose

Flanny boy
Piss poor all round

Inconsequential
Performances have been poor since the result against the Huns. Playing well at Ibrox comfortably in the lead then the powers that be intervened. That knocked the stuffing out of the side and they haven't recovered. The players have lost heart. Scottish football is futile.

What exactly is he supposed to do? Ask Porteous to not go lunging in? Ask players not to get injured? Ask his recruitment guy to try harder?

List some positives from today or last week?

How many shots on goal today?

Remember we lost 3-0 last week at home. Aberdeen haven’t won in 11 games before they played us.

0 shots at goal if we played Liverpool maybe but Aberdeen a team low on confidence? Simply not good enough.

23-10-2021, 04:12 PM
Can some one please tell me what we're Jack Ross's tactics today, because it seemed to be more about not losing rather than anything else.

These players have been good for me ……

Boring like the football jack

The Captain....
Hard to see where we go from here..poor all over the park again.

I canny see us ponying up for a raft of quality signings in January so its worrying the current team look so lacking in so many key areas.

Very disappointing again.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

Could add another four or five to that list too. If Ross left tomorrow I wouldn’t be bothered. His style of football is beginning to really drain my enthusiasm for Hibs. Don’t turn up for the big games, don’t react to defeats and don’t have character and leadership - that selection today was as ridiculous as it was baffling. No squad depth, no youth being brought through, reliance on Boyle getting embarrassing, and having a back line of players over 130 years of age combined is all you need to know.

Stop the crap about JR out it’s embarrassing. Hibs dominated the game but created very little. We are going through a rough patch that is all. But as usual Hibs.net punters go over the top

Dominated? Are we watching the same game. You cannot say Hibs dominated that match, we had slightly more possession and created nothing. That is not domination.

Greenio
Big dissaapointment up there today - huge overreaction on here as per!

No shots on target is shocking, but that's what happens when you're playing *****.

It'll change, always does.

Actually glad to have Celtic coming up. Less pressure and a good chance to switch the mindsets.

mcohibs
23-10-2021, 04:13 PM
Jack Ross' Hibs peaked last season. Unfortunately didn't have the bottle to get a trophy out of it. We're on a decline now sadly. Out of form teams must rub their hands together when they see us next up on the fixture list

thebausburst
Awful stuff.

I’ve no complaints about the result.

I could complain all day about lack of fight, belief, desire or any sign of any of our players giving a *****.

Worse than the opposition all over the park for a second week running.

Awful
This 💯 soon as you get no reaction and a lack of effort it’s very worrying, Ross looking to guys like Allan to bail him out when it’s clear he doesn’t fancy him adds to his problems.

Zambernardi1875

Get pretty sick of these bull**** excuses after every ***** game. Incredible anyone is defending that shower

Bobo
Brutal non-football, punchless with zero threat going forward and not one player with any influence on the game. We are not nice to watch and are sadly lacking quality in every area of the squad.

Can some one please tell me what we're Jack Ross's tactics today, because it seemed to be more about not losing rather than anything else.

And if it was about not losing his tactics didn’t work

23-10-2021, 04:14 PM

:faf::faf::faf:

We've played 10 out of 38 games, not quite half.

Yeah, I was wondering about his arithmetic as well.

A quarter would be more accurate.

Hibees1973
No surprise.

3 games lost in a row with Celtic next week.

Poor recruitment, little quality, decline from last season. Can only see us falling further down the table.

It's clear most at the club took their eye off the ball over the last few months and this is the result.

Big dissaapointment up there today - huge overreaction on here as per!

No shots on target is shocking, but that's what happens when you're playing *****.

It'll change, always does.

Actually glad to have Celtic coming up. Less pressure and a good chance to switch the mindsets.

Best thing that could have happened tbh. Not long to let the result fester.

23-10-2021, 04:15 PM

We didn’t dominate at all. We passed it sideways between our defence before launching it high towards Nisbet.

We had zero shots on target.

Just because our possession stat is higher doesn’t mean we dominated.

Another boring 90 minutes of football from Hibs with far to many backwards and sideways passes.

Does Newell know which way we are shooting? He plays a forward pass 1 out of 20 leave that to JDH today.

Not much created for the two strikers apart from 1 good cross across goal which no one got on the end two.

If this is how we are going to be playing for the next few months then it's going to be along one.

The predictability and one dimensional manner of our play is such that it doesn’t require a lot of homework from opposition managers into our patterns of play.

Not a lot to be confident about going into the game on Wednesday against Celtic.

hhibs
23-10-2021, 04:16 PM
just appalling,no shape, no urgency,no tactics,no energy and on this show no skill.

WE are falling apart.

JR as well as the players are bloody awful,no excuse Ross looking like a man with no clue and,as ever sets up the team with no one knowing their role and surrender the first half....again

The slide is going to gain speed,this was against a very,very poor Aberdeen and we were nowhere in it .

23-10-2021, 04:17 PM
Richard Gordon and Willie Miller beaming like two Cheshire Cats on Sportsound

They’re ***** anaw

I’m not bitter 😃

Badge
23-10-2021, 04:18 PM

Dominated the game? Did you watch it?

7Hero
23-10-2021, 04:18 PM

I'll think you'll find they were definitely here last week and have had plenty opportunities to pop along since he took charge..

First time in months LOL🤣🤣🤣🤣

23-10-2021, 04:19 PM
They do say that everything goes in cycles, this for me is the A. Millar cycle when I stopped going to games because him and his teams just got so boring it was not worth watching anymore, had better fun listening to Jimmy O's tales in the pub. just not one for boring football even if it was to bring some results it is still boring. JR going the same way and it is not going to end well.
:cb

23-10-2021, 04:19 PM
Would like to see the stats of combined touches for Nisbet and Gullan

fiolex1
23-10-2021, 04:20 PM
Not a single shot on goal, against the worst Aberdeen team I have seen in a very long time!

23-10-2021, 04:20 PM
My main concern is that I don't think this is really a problem with tactics. If it was, we could maybe try and address it and change things moving forward.

Unfortunately this is mostly about a shockingly shallow depth to our squad and in truth, a lack of much quality in key positions. We simply can't fix that just now, and I think we're going to hit the bottom 6 before the next window.

Hope I'm talking *****.

Nail on on head. Scary to think, but this may be our weakest squad since we won the cup. Thats a damning inditement.

23-10-2021, 04:21 PM
Would like to see the stats of combined touches for Nisbet and Gullan

There was one of Nisbet's during the first half which might just be the worst touch I've ever seen a Hibs striker take as well.

23-10-2021, 04:22 PM
just appalling,no shape, no urgency,no tactics,no energy and on this show no skill.

WE are falling apart.

JR as well as the players are bloody awful,no excuse Ross looking like a man with no clue and,as ever sets up the team with no one knowing their role and surrender the first half....again

The slide is going to gain speed,this was against a very,very poor Aberdeen and we were nowhere in it .

He can set a team up to defend (decent games against the OF) but not to attack or win.

23-10-2021, 04:23 PM

Hope I'm talking *****.

Agree with this. We have a poor squad and I think JR should get the chance to sort it.

loanheadhibby
23-10-2021, 04:24 PM
Lucky don't be kidded this is just a rough patch.
Yes we have injuries we can ill afford but we didn't dominate today.

23-10-2021, 04:25 PM
Dominated? Are we watching the same game. You cannot say Hibs dominated that match, we had slightly more possession and created nothing. That is not domination.

Found that a tad odd myself.

23-10-2021, 04:27 PM
Agree with this. We have a poor squad and I think JR should get the chance to sort it.

I'd likewise agree with that.

Unless we manage to drop into a relegation scrap before January, which I highly doubt, he's definitely earned the chance to be properly backed in the next window and go from there.

High manager turnover is rarely a successful strategy.

The Captain....
23-10-2021, 04:28 PM
I dont want Ross out but he needs to start showing soon that he can get a reaction from the players he does have.

No doubt he was let down badly in the last window and the injuries have compounded that but the last 2 performances have lacked any character creativity or spark.

These last 2 performances have been a dispiriting watch. Real alarm bells ringing at the lack of cajones in this squad.

23-10-2021, 04:29 PM
There was one of Nisbet's during the first half which might just be the worst touch I've ever seen a Hibs striker take as well.

Was that the one where he cushioned it 30 yards back onto our own half to give Aberdeen attacking possession?

hibee62
23-10-2021, 04:29 PM
Always find the shots on target thing a bit odd. I’ve no idea how we played today, but if someone had chipped the ball to their keeper from 50 yards twice then we’d have had the same number of shots on target as them. Doesn’t really mean anything and ignores actual chances created.

23-10-2021, 04:31 PM
Always find the shots on target thing a bit odd. I’ve no idea how we played today, but if someone had chipped the ball to their keeper from 50 yards twice then we’d have had the same number of shots on target as them. Doesn’t really mean anything and ignores actual chances created.

Cause you don’t score unless you have a shot on target unless it’s an OG

hhibs
23-10-2021, 04:32 PM

I would certainly enjoy some what you are consuming....we were bloody awful !

23-10-2021, 04:33 PM
Most telling thing, for me, is that type of performance wasn’t a surprise.

hibee62
23-10-2021, 04:35 PM
Cause you don’t score unless you have a shot on target unless it’s an OG

But, going by the description on the bbc live text, the ball into Nisbet from Murphy sounds like it’s closer to scoring than a sclaff from 30 yards into the keeper’s arms. Just a pet peeve of mine, annoys me when it’s used to pan a performance when really tells us very little in isolation.

23-10-2021, 04:37 PM
Was that the one where he cushioned it 30 yards back onto our own half to give Aberdeen attacking possession?

He needs moved on - he's clearly going through the motions now. That layback in the first half was shocking. He had space around him but decided to play an aimless ball back into our half...into an area that Aberdeen had players in.

hhibs
23-10-2021, 04:40 PM

Indeed,I fear for our next games too.

23-10-2021, 04:45 PM
How long a contract did Chris Cadden get? Don’t think I’ve seen him have a good game yet. Hearts away this season potentially.

23-10-2021, 04:52 PM
He needs moved on - he's clearly going through the motions now. That layback in the first half was shocking. He had space around him but decided to play an aimless ball back into our half...into an area that Aberdeen had players in.

I think he's at the core of all our problems.

Body language isn't great. Doesn't fit into the manager's preferred formation. Adds absolutely nothing to our play. Murphy puts in a decent ball for a change - he doesn't get to it. Wins nothing in the air.

If we had a striker who was moderately capable of doing the role expected in that formation then I think we could just about cobble a unit together that scrapes stuff here and there, even if it isn't pretty. A good striker transforms that team.

Instead we've got him, as you say, going through the motions and that touch summed him up.

I wish we'd punted him in January and I hope to god we give him the boot as early into this January as we possibly can.

Safe to say, I'm not a fan. Don't rate him one little bit, in spite of giving him the benefit of the doubt for a while and trying wherever possible to see the good in him.

I was quite optimistic about him when I watched the Motherwell game at the start of the season. Since then I've seen nothing, and this season appears to have crumbled on two particular moments - when Doidge got injured and when the August window closed with us failing to add anything credible in his position.

Willis1875
23-10-2021, 04:54 PM

Caught that aswell,abysmal stuff

23-10-2021, 04:55 PM
Nisbet needs dropped for a while. Problem is who do we play instead?

23-10-2021, 04:56 PM

This is a situation where stats tell you so much but only so much.

Watching the game you could see for 90 minutes that we were struggling badly for any sort of creativity. You don't need to back that up with any sort of stats.

23-10-2021, 04:57 PM

Emergency loan from St Mirren?

23-10-2021, 04:57 PM

"Hi - Craig?. It's Jack. Tell me more about this 4-6-0 business..."

23-10-2021, 04:59 PM
He can set a team up to defend (decent games against the OF) but not to attack or win.I'm petty sure we comfortably won the 3rd highest games in the league season last year

23-10-2021, 05:01 PM
I think he's at the core of all our problems.

Body language isn't great. Doesn't fit into the manager's preferred formation. Adds absolutely nothing to our play. Murphy puts in a decent ball for a change - he doesn't get to it. Wins nothing in the air.

If we had a striker who was moderately capable of doing the role expected in that formation then I think we could just about cobble a unit together that scrapes stuff here and there, even if it isn't pretty. A good striker transforms that team.

Instead we've got him, as you say, going through the motions and that touch summed him up.

I wish we'd punted him in January and I hope to god we give him the boot as early into this January as we possibly can.

Safe to say, I'm not a fan. Don't rate him one little bit, in spite of giving him the benefit of the doubt for a while and trying wherever possible to see the good in him.

I was quite optimistic about him when I watched the Motherwell game at the start of the season. Since then I've seen nothing, and this season appears to have crumbled on two particular moments - when Doidge got injured and when the August window closed with us failing to add anything credible in his position.I said during the summer that out of the 3 supposedly being targeted (Nisbet, Porteous & Doig), that Nisbet was the one I'd be least bothered about losing. His behaviour during matches makes me think that he's not much of a team player (Porteous seems to be about the only one he gets on well with). Even when he's not scoring, he has to show a lot more than he's done recently. Unfortunately we don't have anyone banging the door down to take his place.

23-10-2021, 05:02 PM

That is the problem, it’s been so obvious for well over a year if not longer. We have had plenty time to address the situation but have been unable to do it for whatever reason. We’ve deliberately operated with a small squad, Covid has obviously not helped but it’s now coming back to haunt us.

hibee62
23-10-2021, 05:04 PM
This is a situation where stats tell you so much but only so much.

Watching the game you could see for 90 minutes that we were struggling badly for any sort of creativity. You don't need to back that up with any sort of stats.

That’s the impression I’ve got from reading reports and trying to navigate the fan hyperbole. Not surprising looking at the squad and injuries and could always have happened given summer recruitment.

23-10-2021, 05:05 PM

Entirely expected unfortunately, unless filled with blind optimism as some on here are, as though believing we are somehow a good team will make us so. We simply aren't a good team, and weren't last season either despite a respectable 3rd place finish. Who remembers who finished third the 2 seasons prior to this? Hardly anyone, well one was relegated last season, the other finished 8th, I don't see anything to suggest our relative 'success' last season will be any less of a one-off. If Aberdeen had to hand pick opponents today, under pressure to end a winless run - they would probably have chosen Hibs.

23-10-2021, 05:05 PM
i've still no idea who gives the player ratings but i do look occasionally and the ones for today are absolutely the lowest i've ever saw for hibs players

Aberdeen 1-0 Hibernian: Ramirez goal ends hosts 10-game winless run - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58936265)

23-10-2021, 05:07 PM
i've still no idea who gives the player ratings but i do look occasionally and the ones for today are absolutely the lowest i've ever saw for hibs players

Aberdeen 1-0 Hibernian: Ramirez goal ends hosts 10-game winless run - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58936265)The public, they're like an online poll thing.

23-10-2021, 05:10 PM
The public, they're like an online poll thing.

ta :aok: KN not even getting a 3 jeezo, thought it would also say from how many votes

CL0762
23-10-2021, 05:18 PM
I said during the summer that out of the 3 supposedly being targeted (Nisbet, Porteous & Doig), that Nisbet was the one I'd be least bothered about losing. His behaviour during matches makes me think that he's not much of a team player (Porteous seems to be about the only one he gets on well with). Even when he's not scoring, he has to show a lot more than he's done recently. Unfortunately we don't have anyone banging the door down to take his place.

O’Connor, Young & Laidlaw have been scoring regularly for the 18s. Now, I know it’s a huge jump from that level to the first team but even the element of surprise, give the laddies a massive jolt they’re involved in the first team squad and you never know.

Gullan has had zero opportunity to have a run of 3/4 games and see how he gets on. Even today, surely from the hat trick during the week set the team up to try and get him into those same areas? But no, he’s left isolated on the right, centre & left (I counted about 4/5 times in the first half alone where the front 3 had changed position).

23-10-2021, 05:33 PM
O’Connor, Young & Laidlaw have been scoring regularly for the 18s. Now, I know it’s a huge jump from that level to the first team but even the element of surprise, give the laddies a massive jolt they’re involved in the first team squad and you never know.

Gullan has had zero opportunity to have a run of 3/4 games and see how he gets on. Even today, surely from the hat trick during the week set the team up to try and get him into those same areas? But no, he’s left isolated on the right, centre & left (I counted about 4/5 times in the first half alone where the front 3 had changed position).

Unfortunately Gullan added zilch today, much like Nisbet. The whole team is not playing well but we have nothing up top at the moment. No one can hold the ball up in front of goal. We’ve needed another striker for a long time now.

23-10-2021, 05:36 PM
Unfortunately Gullan added zilch today, much like Nisbet. The whole team is not playing well but we have nothing up top at the moment. No one can hold the ball up in front of goal. We’ve needed another striker for a long time now.

Thats true but you lso need to feed your forward line which too often this season we dont. The whole balance of the team isnt right at the moment. Shaky at the back, not good defending or going forward in midfield and lacking up top. Its a a it bleak right now. We're better than this.

23-10-2021, 05:40 PM
Thats true but you lso need to feed your forward line which too often this season we dont. The whole balance of the team isnt right at the moment. Shaky at the back, not good defending or going forward in midfield and lackin gup top. Its a a it bleak right now. We're better than this.

I agree the balance isn’t right but there’s been quite a few decent balls into the box in the last few games with no one on the end of them. We desperately need someone who can play with their back to goal, trouble is the midfield are usually quite happy going back or sideways when the ball is played back to them. Very unbalanced.

23-10-2021, 05:42 PM
I know Nisbet is in the Scotland squad mainly due to last seasons performances but that was last season, he seems to have 1 really good season and then get his move elsewhere, was he expecting another move this summer and in the huff because it didn't happen because he looks totally disinterested. I know people were saying it was great keeping all our top players but that's only if they still perform to their capabilities, Kevin and Doig both expected to move and now both struggling with form.

Add in our terrible injury problems and a number of players out of form and we really are looking bottom 6 ‎calibre‎ at the moment.

23-10-2021, 05:46 PM
Could add another four or five to that list too. If Ross left tomorrow I wouldn’t be bothered. His style of football is beginning to really drain my enthusiasm for Hibs. Don’t turn up for the big games, don’t react to defeats and don’t have character and leadership - that selection today was as ridiculous as it was baffling. No squad depth, no youth being brought through, reliance on Boyle getting embarrassing, and having a back line of players over 130 years of age combined is all you need to know.

All great servants to the club but McGregor Stevenson & Hanlon are not the answer anymore, to drop Doig for Stevenson is a joke by the manager, he panicked with his team selection today/yesterday and it backfired on him, Gullan may have deserved some game time but to start him was a strange one, Nisbet is getting no service at all, what a mess and IMO I don’t think JR will turn it around.

The Captain....
23-10-2021, 05:52 PM
I know Nisbet is in the Scotland squad mainly due to last seasons performances but that was last season, he seems to have 1 really good season and then get his move elsewhere, was he expecting another move this summer and in the huff because it didn't happen because he looks totally disinterested. I know people were saying it was great keeping all our top players but that's only if they still perform to their capabilities, Kevin and Doig both expected to move and now both struggling with form.

Add in our terrible injury problems and a number of players out of form and we really are looking bottom 6 ‎calibre‎ at the moment.I'm more pissed off by Nisbet this season than I am Jack Ross tbh. His attitude and body language are appalling on the pitch, the shrugging the shoulders, wee hissy fits etc..he is an absolute man child.

The other thing I've been considering is that it seems more than a coincidence that the whole teams commitment seems to have dipped markedly since Ross failed to back Porteous after Ibrox. Its not a happy looking bunch of players.

23-10-2021, 05:59 PM
I'm more pissed off by Nisbet this season than I am Jack Ross tbh. His attitude and body language are appalling on the pitch, the shrugging the shoulders, wee hissy fits etc..he is an absolute man child.

The other thing I've been considering is that it seems more than a coincidence that the whole teams commitment seems to have dipped markedly since Ross failed to back Porteous after Ibrox. Its not a happy looking bunch of players.

Sent from my SM-G996B using TapatalkPorteous has said that Ross is 100% behind him.

23-10-2021, 07:00 PM
I've just finished watching on Alba, having avoided the score all day. There's another thread about Pittodrie memories. That game today puts me in mind of match up there in October 97. Nothing redeeming about it at all. There's a long way to go, and we've got injured and suspended players to come back, so the season shouldn't finish up like that one did but even with that it looks like we'll struggle big time to have a decent place at the end of it.

23-10-2021, 07:50 PM
All great servants to the club but McGregor Stevenson & Hanlon are not the answer anymore, to drop Doig for Stevenson is a joke by the manager, he panicked with his team selection today/yesterday and it backfired on him, Gullan may have deserved some game time but to start him was a strange one, Nisbet is getting no service at all, what a mess and IMO I don’t think JR will turn it around.

Totally agree SH - sorry I never replied to your post a couple of weeks ago buddy. Hope you and yours are all well mate 👍 does Deek still have his boots ready 😂 we might need him in January

23-10-2021, 11:10 PM
I've just finished watching on Alba, having avoided the score all day. There's another thread about Pittodrie memories. That game today puts me in mind of match up there in October 97. Nothing redeeming about it at all. There's a long way to go, and we've got injured and suspended players to come back, so the season shouldn't finish up like that one did but even with that it looks like we'll struggle big time to have a decent place at the end of it.

That is a very good comparison. Aberdeen hadn't won all season and were bottom and who came along, Hibs. A freezing cold stadium up there. A very similar performance today as that.

24-10-2021, 01:18 AM
stop the crap about jr out it’s embarrassing. Hibs dominated the game but created very little. We are going through a rough patch that is all. But as usual hibs.net punters go over the top

ltyf 🤡

24-10-2021, 07:38 AM
Agree with this quote from Smartie above -

“I was quite optimistic about him when I watched the Motherwell game at the start of the season. Since then I've seen nothing, and this season appears to have crumbled on two particular moments - when Doidge got injured and when the August window closed with us failing to add anything credible in his position.”

Failing to get competition for Nisbet and a similar player to Doidge is hurting us.

We needed x3 consistent starters minimum during transfer window. JDH is the only one who has started more than he’s missed but we still needed 2 more before Doidge was injured.

The team basically picks itself - the players know it - the opposition know it and Jack Ross needs a win against a Rangers / Celtic / Hearts / Aberdeen team in near future or pressure will continue to mount especially if he doesn’t pick up points against lower teams.

24-10-2021, 08:09 AM
I think you know there's a massive issue when one defensive suspension leaves you with probably the oldest, slowest back 4 in the history of our club.
Add to that the lack of options in almost every position it's really not that surprising we are struggling right now.
Having said that we were a goal up and very comfortably heading to the top of the league very recently so we aren't in any way a lost cause.
Having Porto back will help immensely as he is the best defender at the club by the length of Princes Street.
Doig should also be persevered with at left back as he has the engine and attitude to be a valuable asset.
We were slightly the worse of two out of form sides yesterday.

Crunchie
24-10-2021, 08:16 AM
I think you know there's a massive issue when one defensive suspension leaves you with probably the oldest, slowest back 4 in the history of our club.
Add to that the lack of options in almost every position it's really not that surprising we are struggling right now.
Having said that we were a goal up and very comfortably heading to the top of the league very recently so we aren't in any way a lost cause.
Having Porto back will help immensely as he is the best defender at the club by the length of Princes Street.
Doig should also be persevered with at left back as he has the engine and attitude to be a valuable asset.
We were slightly the worse of two out of form sides yesterday.
I agree with all of that, far be it from me to tell Jack who to pick, and he sees the players in training but I'd have Doig in before Lewey and his choosing Daz over Wood was baffling to me. Despite criticism on here from some I thought the young lad did more than enough to start yesterday, and Jack said himself he was happy with his debut.

24-10-2021, 10:10 AM
Just watching at the highlights. At the time, I wondered where our centre halves were at the goal. Hanlon running in to mark space again but not bothering about the striker, who is far more likely to put the ball in the net than an empty space.

24-10-2021, 10:13 AM
I agree with all of that, far be it from me to tell Jack who to pick, and he sees the players in training but I'd have Doig in before Lewey and his choosing Daz over Wood was baffling to me. Despite criticism on here from some I thought the young lad did more than enough to start yesterday, and Jack said himself he was happy with his debut.

Jack was hardly going to publicly slate Wood was he? If he was really happy with his debut he would have started him. yesterday.

24-10-2021, 12:09 PM
Just watching at the highlights. At the time, I wondered where our centre halves were at the goal. Hanlon running in to mark space again but not bothering about the striker, who is far more likely to put the ball in the net than an empty space.

TBF he came strolling through our midfield without any problem, midfield at fault again by not tracking their man.