View Full Version : Nisbet - Potential new contract

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26-09-2021, 08:26 AM
Quite amazing we always have the same posters spouting unfounded positivity at all times.

We have no players with attitude problems, no players out of form and the club can do no wrong ever. You just have to question why these posters come on here to share such an unbalanced positive view all the time. It makes the atmosphere on this board feel very one sided and renders anyone with the opposite view a yam in their eyes.

Nisbet doesn’t have an attitude problem.

Who is saying Nisbet is on form? Nobody! Nobody is saying Nisbet isn’t out of form. Another one of your points that has no basis, but you keep pushing it. Gie it up.

It’s tiring.

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:27 AM
Agreed. Never has anything positive to say about the club, like you I'm baffled how they are getting away with the blatant trolling.

Challenging the club to do things better is now deemed constant negativity. We are in a very competitive league this season and need to perform, and yes Jack Ross for a lot of people still does have to deliver results in the bigger games. We are doing well but we are so close to being at a level we haven't seen since the 70s. Surely we don't just settle for 3rd and the odd semi final? I want more than that and that's a negative?

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:31 AM
Making up facts doesn’t help your argument.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kevin-nisbet/leistungsdaten/spieler/360661

What annoys me is the complete opposites, either everything is great and wonderful with nothing wrong or we are woeful with every player pish and the manager has no clue, there needs to be a middle ground.

That’s the internet for a lot of folk nowadays unfortunately, there’s no middle ground.

Both are far more effective lone strikers without the goals, but both are outscoring Kevin this season. And one is playing in an struggling side.

So are penalties allowed to be counted or not? Nisbet's tally without them is quite grim reading.

Do you have any idea how boring and tiresome your posts are to read.. give it up ah and cheer up

26-09-2021, 08:34 AM
Challenging the club to do things better is now deemed constant negativity. We are in a very competitive league this season and need to perform, and yes Jack Ross for a lot of people still does have to deliver results in the bigger games. We are doing well but we are so close to being at a level we haven't seen since the 70s. Surely we don't just settle for 3rd and the odd semi final? I want more than that and that's a negative?

It is being negative if you never acknowledge the positive.

You say we’re close to being at a level we haven’t seen since the 70s, but that’s as close to any praise I think I’ve seen you post about Hibs.

Clearly we should never be content, and should strive to improve further, but if you genuinely think we’re doing well as a club just now, maybe enjoy that a little, rather than nitpicking what can be better?

26-09-2021, 08:36 AM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kevin-nisbet/leistungsdaten/spieler/360661"It's actually posts like yours that put people off posting on .net and that's a fact."

That's yiur "fact" to which I'm referring.

26-09-2021, 08:40 AM
Which part of Allan’s goal v Utd shows a Nisbet that is huffy or not giving g everything for the club. Once someone can point it out ill happily have a debate. Until then it’s just the usual suspects spouting rubbish for effect.

26-09-2021, 08:41 AM
That’s the internet for a lot of folk nowadays unfortunately, there’s no middle ground.

Most people are somewhere in the middle most of the time actually.

I do think there’s a small number of posters who are acting something out with their constant negativity. They might just be like that in life or they might be playing a very long wind up game. They are playing a role and having to live up to it with everything they say.

I don’t see much over positivity at all. Not sure I’ve seen anyone who thinks we can’t be doing things better right across the club.

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:43 AM

I do think there’s a small number of posters who are acting something out with their constant negativity. They might just be like that in life or they might be playing a very long wind up game. They are playing a role and having to live up to it with everything they say.

I don’t see much over positivity at all. Not sure I’ve seen anyone who thinks we can’t be doing things better right across the club.

I do think negative is the wrong word. Cynical is probably a better description.

26-09-2021, 08:43 AM
Which part of Allan’s goal v Utd shows a Nisbet that is huffy or not giving g everything for the club. Once someone can point it out ill happily have a debate. Until then it’s just the usual suspects spouting rubbish for effect.
TBF Nisbet is usually one of the first to congratulate a goalscorer and the first to jump in when a pagger breaks oot involving one of his teammates

26-09-2021, 08:44 AM

I agree that the majority are fine, I didn’t say most, I just said a lot of people nowadays.

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:44 AM
"It's actually posts like yours that put people off posting on .net and that's a fact."

That's yiur "fact" to which I'm referring.

OK.

26-09-2021, 08:48 AM
Absolute nonsense, read my posts properly. Questioning one of our more important players attitude and work rate is now regarded as trolling. Unbelievable.

It's actually posts like yours that put people off posting on .net and that's a fact.

I didn’t realise Robbie Neilson had a .net account …

26-09-2021, 08:54 AM
AH please take this in the spirit it’s intended. The constant looking for the problems, cynical, negative viewpoint is really not healthy for you away from the forum. There is nothing wrong with pointing out issues when they appear but to constantly have 80% of your posts being negative is really not the way to go. Eventually that way of thinking drips into real life and that’s not the way to happiness. Just enjoy the good stuff now and then.

26-09-2021, 08:55 AM
Wouldn’t go as far as to say he’s not trying but I do think he could do more. He can work harder, make more runs etc.

I’m not so sure about this, as I think he needs to hold his position a bit more in this formation ie - when he goes gallivanting his absence where he’s meant to be becomes very obvious very quickly.

It’s not an effort or work rate thing for me. He just looks a bit easy to play against at times, touch a bit off. If you stay tight to him he doesn’t do much.

He’s mainly a finisher for me, and we’ve not been creating much for him other than half chances.

At least he’s still jumping for headers etc but a lot of that is trying to get on the end of punts with no support, pretty easy stuff for defenders.

I don’t think he’s playing well but I don’t think effort is any issue. He’s probably let down by the fact that his natural body language is a bit moany so he draws attention to himself when thinks aren’t going his way.

26-09-2021, 09:15 AM

Challenging to do better? We were 3rd last season by a clear 7 points, we reached semi and finals of the cups and yesterday we were sitting joint 2nd 1 point off Rangers and into another cup semi final. Tell me how is this not challenging? You're at it big time and just trolling now.

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 09:26 AM
I can assure you I'm not trolling. Just want the club to keep moving forward.

Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

26-09-2021, 09:36 AM
I’m not so sure about this, as I think he needs to hold his position a bit more in this formation ie - when he goes gallivanting his absence where he’s meant to be becomes very obvious very quickly.

It’s not an effort or work rate thing for me. He just looks a bit easy to play against at times, touch a bit off. If you stay tight to him he doesn’t do much.

He’s mainly a finisher for me, and we’ve not been creating much for him other than half chances.

At least he’s still jumping for headers etc but a lot of that is trying to get on the end of punts with no support, pretty easy stuff for defenders.

I don’t think he’s playing well but I don’t think effort is any issue. He’s probably let down by the fact that his natural body language is a bit moany so he draws attention to himself when thinks aren’t going his way.

If you look at his last goal it was from making a run in behind. I don’t think he’s doing enough of that. He wants the ball to feet all the time but his touch is off. Needs to mix things up a bit for me.

26-09-2021, 09:39 AM
Nisbet is a very good player. This wee dip in form - or at least a lack of goals in recent games - is exactly the reason he was right to stay at Hibs this season. Working through this spell will make him a better player. Had he gone elsewhere and had a spell of poor form, he’d likely be out of the picture and maybe struggle to cement his place in the team.

He should sign that contract extension, get that out of his mind, then just focus on his game.

He could easily have got a goal v the Arabs but the ball just wasn’t falling for him. It happens.

26-09-2021, 10:23 AM

How does continually spouting misery and lies on a supporters site keep the club moving forward? :confused:

26-09-2021, 10:55 AM
How does continually spouting misery and lies on a supporters site keep the club moving forward? :confused:That's the bit I find baffling. It's like challenging NASA to get back to the moon by scribbling "u r a knob" on the school toilet walls.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

26-09-2021, 11:26 AM

I asked you this question yesterday, and you didn't respond.

For context on where Hibs can realistically move forward to, let's see you name the last five Hibs managers to win a major trophy.

26-09-2021, 11:45 AM
Just stuck a fiver on Nisbet 1st goal scorer and Hibs 2-0 @ 14/1.

Come on Kev. Today's the day 🙏

JammyDoidger
26-09-2021, 02:51 PM
Don't know what happened but he had a pop at the hibs fans in the east at one point, told someone to shut up. Needs a rocket up his backside.

26-09-2021, 02:55 PM
Could do with a goal or two from him today.

26-09-2021, 02:57 PM
Don't know what happened but he had a pop at the hibs fans in the east at one point, told someone to shut up. Needs a rocket up his backside.Why? He's playing well today.

26-09-2021, 02:59 PM
Don't know what happened but he had a pop at the hibs fans in the east at one point, told someone to shut up. Needs a rocket up his backside.
No he needs a decent pass.HE’s taken up some good positions but too many passes are going across the park.

Mr. Wonderful
26-09-2021, 03:50 PM
Why? He's playing well today.

He's put a shift in but I wouldn't say he's played well. Yet again there 1 on 1 with defender he's fluffed his lines.

Mr. Wonderful
26-09-2021, 03:50 PM
No he needs a decent pass.HE’s taken up some good positions but too many passes are going across the park.

When he does get them he picks the wrong option.

26-09-2021, 03:56 PM
Am I missing something with nisbet ? Been honking all season , looks like he has no confidence and is going through the motions

26-09-2021, 03:58 PM
Am I missing something with nisbet ? Been honking all season , looks like he has no confidence and is going through the motions

I’m not sure I’d say all season but he’s been really poor recently imo. Considering we don’t have anyone to replace him it really couldn’t have come at a worse time.

cameronw-hfc
26-09-2021, 04:00 PM
Looks shot of confidence. Some of the comments on socials about him are a disgrace. Calling him an embarrassment and sorts, as if he didn't nearly hit 20 for us last season.

Seems to have lost form as we've only got one up top, probably not suiting him at the moment.

26-09-2021, 04:03 PM
Need to stand by him

CallumHibs07
26-09-2021, 04:04 PM
Brutal yet again. Going to cost us points soon.

Mr. Wonderful
26-09-2021, 04:04 PM
Need to stand by him

Criticism and discussing his performances is a completely seperate issue to standing by him, which I'm sure every hibs fan will do when he pulls on the green.

LunasBoots
26-09-2021, 04:08 PM
Misses Doidge alongside him, can't really do much himself today against a team of big huddys. A rest would do him good but just not got the options for that.

26-09-2021, 04:09 PM
He wasnt up to much today again, expect better from him, he is badly out of form

26-09-2021, 04:10 PM
Not really sure what all the fuss is about to be honest. We’ve won our last two and he’s played his part in that.

He’s miles off top form but his quality is obvious. Better players that him have been through much worse spells. See Harry Kane right now.

Not worried in the slightest. We’ve started superbly and the best is yet to come from Kevin.

26-09-2021, 04:12 PM
Not really sure what all the fuss is about to be honest. We’ve won our last two and he’s played his part in that.

He’s miles off top form but his quality is obvious. Better players that him have been through much worse spells. See Harry Kane right now.

Not worried in the slightest. We’ve started superbly and the best is yet to come from Kevin.

As you said, he’s miles off top form. That’s really all that the fuss is.

He’ll improve again, I don’t think anyone doubts that. We’ll continue to struggle through games if he continues to put in these performances with nobody to replace him though.

26-09-2021, 04:16 PM

He’ll improve again, I don’t think anyone doubts that. We’ll continue to struggle through games if he continues to put in these performances with nobody to replace him though.

We’ll continue to struggle through games?

26-09-2021, 04:19 PM
One problem he has is that we've played a lot of crosses into the box and he's had little chance to get onto them.

I think he'd have more of a chance with that kind of tactic if he was playing off a big target man.

26-09-2021, 04:20 PM

I don't think we struggled today. Fully deserved the win

26-09-2021, 04:21 PM
We’ll continue to struggle through games?

We struggled today to an extent, we struggled last week. We’ve not been all that convincing throughout Nisbets run of form.

Struggling through games doesn’t mean we’re playing rotten. But we’ve definitely seen a drop in performance levels that’s coincided with Nisbet offering little up top.

26-09-2021, 04:22 PM
We struggled today to an extent, we struggled last week. We’ve not been all that convincing throughout Nisbets run of form.

Struggling through games doesn’t mean we’re playing rotten. But we’ve definitely seen a drop in performance levels that’s coincided with Nisbet offering little up top.

Won a tight game today. Didn’t see any struggling.

Antonyopus
26-09-2021, 04:23 PM
The seethe from Richard Gordon is both incredibly unprofessional and so enjoyable at the same time.

26-09-2021, 04:24 PM

Awful again today

JammyDoidger
26-09-2021, 04:26 PM

The amount of balls that come into the box and totally bypass him is unreal. He needs to be leading the line a lot better for me. Hit the front post, put yourself about, looks un interested half the time.

26-09-2021, 04:29 PM
Be in no doubt, our best striker is currently injured.

26-09-2021, 04:30 PM
He's out of form and looks really desperate for that goal to come. Since at least Tynecastle he's been in numerous good positions and not received the pass and he's cutting a more and more frustrated figure. But he's starting to try almost too hard to get the goal, that one at the end needed to be squared. I know strikers are selfish but there comes a point where you swallow your pride and take the assist and 3 points.

It will come, he has too much quality to go too long without scoring.

26-09-2021, 04:33 PM
Today as most games recently we barely managed to get another Hibs player within 20 metres of Nisbet.
That is no use to a player like him.
He has good feet but doesn't have pace so he isn't going to run away from anyone.
Suspect he phones Doidge everyday to find out when he will be back.
Badly needs the big guys qualities next to him.

26-09-2021, 04:33 PM
At FT Nisbet never celebrated with our players and also never came over to applaud the fans in the East Stand? All the other players did. Nisbet just trotted off and down the tunnel. There's something definitely wrong here?

26-09-2021, 04:38 PM
At FT Nisbet never celebrated with our players and also never came over to applaud the fans in the East Stand? All the other players did. Nisbet just trotted off and down the tunnel. There's something definitely wrong here?

Most likely frustrated at himself. He's working hard but it's not happening.

Helensburghhibs
There's indications some of the players aren't enjoying having the fans back in my view. Nisbet and Porto are a couple of examples. Porto went tonto at the east when there were groans towards him for not playing a certain pass.

I maybe misheard on the interview buy Jack Ross said we have a number of players not training at the moment, Martin, Kevin and then said something about Kyle Magennis?

26-09-2021, 04:39 PM

You honestly think he’s working hard??

He barely ever sprints and his two efforts today were abysmal

26-09-2021, 04:40 PM

He was slow to react to situations and really looked like couldn’t be arsed. His whole demeanour and body language is really concerning. We’ve no option bar keeping playing him hoping he comes good.

There's indications some of the players aren't enjoying having the fans back in my view. Nisbet and Porto are a couple of examples. Porto went tonto at the east when there were groans towards him for not playing a certain pass.

Missed that.

Porto’s performances have been decent though, I don’t think fans are affecting him.

He's nowhere near 'working hard' he needs dropped but we have nobody to replace him.

Shambles

26-09-2021, 04:41 PM

I’d have to agree to an extent. He isn’t occupying defenders nearly enough. Never mind not holding the ball up, he’s hardly even threatening to a lot of the time.

Needs to find some form asap.

26-09-2021, 04:42 PM

I do …it’s not coming off for him..he just needs a goal …his role isn’t to run the channels …although he did that well a couple of times today …he’s quality - will shine soon

26-09-2021, 04:42 PM

Almost certainly annoyed at that one he should have slotted or passed to Boyle.

He needs to just get on with it.

26-09-2021, 04:44 PM
He's nowhere near 'working hard' he needs dropped but we have nobody to replace him.

Shambles

I think he is working hard. He doesn't need to chase down people and run like a headless chicken just to prove that. He's doing nearly everything he normally does but isn't getting service or the reward for getting into some of his positions. His efforts today were poor but I think he's snatching at them and not thinking clearly.

I agree he needs dropped to clear his head more than anything but as you say there is no one to replace him with. Makes it all the more criminal we didn't get another striker in on deadline day to try and alleviate the pressure on him.

I thought he worked hard today but not much worked out for him. Definitely poor decision making near the end but I think that is just because he is desperate to do well. He needs a goal as I feel he looks short on confidence.

Shambles

He's working very hard yes. Battled hard today but always a tough task.

26-09-2021, 04:47 PM
I think he is working hard. He doesn't need to chase down people and run like a headless chicken just to prove that. He's doing nearly everything he normally does but isn't getting service or the reward for getting into some of his positions. His efforts today were poor but I think he's snatching at them and not thinking clearly.

I agree he needs dropped to clear his head more than anything but as you say there is no one to replace him with. Makes it all the more criminal we didn't get another striker in on deadline day to try and alleviate the pressure on him.

The Scott loan from Hull looks to have been a great decision too eh!

Mr. Wonderful
26-09-2021, 04:47 PM
I do …it’s not coming off for him..he just needs a goal …his role isn’t to run the channels …although he did that well a couple of times today …he’s quality - will shine soon

In reality these are all just the usual clichés used for all strikers when they don't score. Have heard them all before with Shaw, Maclaren, Doidge, Stokes, Murray, Kamberi, Vine, Kuqi, Heffernan etc etc.

The reality is they just had to improve their performances or they'd sooner find themselves elsewhere, with the exception of Doidge.

Saint Hibee
26-09-2021, 04:49 PM
I thought Nisbet actually played okay today, apart from not squaring the ball at the end. He certainly looked like he was working hard to me.

26-09-2021, 04:52 PM

He’s not working hard in the slightest

26-09-2021, 04:53 PM

I thought Gullan's career was over but yet there was getting a sub appearance in over Scott in an area of the park Scott plays in. Really starting to wonder what the point of that loan was because it doesn't tick any of our boxes in terms of what we needed in the type of player nor the standard of quality we were after.

26-09-2021, 04:54 PM

Shambles

We have Scott and Gullan. They may not the greatest players but they can’t be any worse than Nisbet

26-09-2021, 04:55 PM

Disagree that it’s not his job to run the channels. Needs to do more of that type of thing. He’s not giving defenders enough to think about at the moment just wanting to drop off and get the ball to feet all the time. His last goal came from running in to the channel and turning defenders around.

26-09-2021, 04:56 PM
He’s not working hard in the slightest

He definitely is.

26-09-2021, 04:56 PM

At the moment, the implied threat that he maybe recalled by Hull in January looks like a good option.

26-09-2021, 04:59 PM
Disagree that it’s not his job to run the channels. Needs to do more of that type of thing. He’s not giving defenders enough to think about at the moment just wanting to drop off and get the ball to feet all the time. His last goal came from running in to the channel and turning defenders around.

Running the wide channel is not the role he’s being asked to do currently

26-09-2021, 05:01 PM
The negativity on here is unbelievable ….Scott getting stick without playing one minute today …Nisbet getting hammered by some just because he is off form ..

I hope those continue to be the big issues on here …because it will mew. We are continuing to going out points and results …

26-09-2021, 05:01 PM
We have Scott and Gullan. They may not the greatest players but they can’t be any worse than Nisbet

Scott and Gullan will never score the number of goals that Nisbet has already even adding them together.

Not worse than Nisbet, get a grip man ffs.

Helensburghhibs
26-09-2021, 05:03 PM
Missed that.

Porto’s performances have been decent though, I don’t think fans are affecting him.

Player of the season this year for me. That wasn't aimed as a dig at him

26-09-2021, 05:04 PM
Just over a year ago Nisbet was playing for Dunfermline in the Championship. He's now being asked to lead the line for Hibs while his strike partner is out injured. Cut him some slack ffs. All strikers go through bad spells.

26-09-2021, 05:04 PM
Player of the season this year for me. That wasn't aimed as a dig at him

26-09-2021, 05:05 PM
The negativity on here is unbelievable ….Scott getting stick without playing one minute today …Nisbet getting hammered by some just because he is off form ..

I hope those continue to be the big issues on here …because it will mew. We are continuing to going out points and results …

What I've seen so far of him tells me he's not going to make much more of a contribution than someone like Drey Wright can. The fact Gullan got on over him today suggests Jack Ross doesn't really fancy him either.

26-09-2021, 05:06 PM
Just over a year ago Nisbet was playing for Dunfermline in the Championship. He's now being asked to lead the line for Hibs while his strike partner is out injured. Cut him some slack ffs. All strikers go through bad spells.

Does that mean his poor form can’t be discussed? :confused:

This was the first game where I really thought he was poor. Had several chances to make good runs and sometimes nick the ball and didn't move quick enough. I'm not sure if he is suffering because of the lone striker role or his head just isn't it at the minute. Maybe a goal will get him moving again.

What I've seen so far of him tells me he's not going to make much more of a contribution than someone like Drey Wright can. The fact Gullan got on over him today suggests Jack Ross doesn't really fancy him either.

I also thought that was quite telling. A young laddie who we were happy to let go getting on before him isn’t a ringing endorsement for him.

26-09-2021, 05:07 PM
Does that mean his poor form can’t be discussed? :confused:

Of course it doesn't but he doesn't deserve the stick he's getting from some

26-09-2021, 05:08 PM
He definitely is.

If that was him trying today then god help us when he isnt trying

26-09-2021, 05:08 PM
Running the wide channel is not the role he’s being asked to do currently

I can’t believe any centre forward is asked not to do that. It’s just a basic thing that is part of playing that position IMO.

26-09-2021, 05:09 PM
Form is temporary and class is permanent...some would do well to remember that.. he was almost trying too hard today and the stick he's getting on here is a bit OTT...a winner at Greyskull next week will sort out his confidence

26-09-2021, 05:20 PM

Have we not learned anything from Newell, Doidge , Magennis etc. He’s played less that three full games for us …give him a chance to get some decent minutes before making a judgement - he’s a human being - not a robot

Torto7
26-09-2021, 05:20 PM
Form is temporary and class is permanent...some would do well to remember that.. he was almost trying too hard today and the stick he's getting on here is a bit OTT...a winner at Greyskull next week will sort out his confidence

This. :aok:

26-09-2021, 05:21 PM
Ross said Nisbet hasn’t been training recently. Must be struggling with something.

26-09-2021, 05:29 PM
I thought Gullan's career was over but yet there was getting a sub appearance in over Scott in an area of the park Scott plays in. Really starting to wonder what the point of that loan was because it doesn't tick any of our boxes in terms of what we needed in the type of player nor the standard of quality we were after.

Needed another body up top and didn't get who we wanted so took Scott as he was available on loan, unfortunately if it hasn't worked out we can't just send him back, we'll have to wait until January for that.

Hibiza
26-09-2021, 05:31 PM
He's been a passenger for a while , seems disinterested . We should have sold him .

26-09-2021, 05:31 PM
Ross said Nisbet hasn’t been training recently. Must be struggling with something.

Did he not have Covid recently, may be still feeling the effects from that, can take weeks to recover properly, we've seen JDH looking knackered in games recently too.

26-09-2021, 05:36 PM
He definitely is.

In what way? He’s not pressing with any great urgency, he just lets defenders just wander in front of him to head it away. When crosses come in he just stands there. I’d love to see his running stats. I’d be stunned if he wasn’t the lowest in the team.

26-09-2021, 05:36 PM
He's been a passenger for a while , seems disinterested . We should have sold him .

Nobody made any offers

26-09-2021, 05:41 PM
Did he not have Covid recently, may be still feeling the effects from that, can take weeks to recover properly, we've seen JDH looking knackered in games recently too.

That’s what I was thinking too. When you’re playing at that level any drop in your energy levels will have a huge impact. It’s still shocking we have no adequate back up.

26-09-2021, 05:44 PM
Jack Ross has said he's not fully fit, so let's just get behind Nisbet until he inevitably starts scoring again. He's proven his quality, now it's about perseverance. He probably wouldn't be playing if we had a deeper squad, that's not his fault.

Some poor and disproportionate comments on here that seem to want to take a revisionist stance on just how good Kevin has been for us during the last year.

26-09-2021, 05:51 PM
In what way? He’s not pressing with any great urgency, he just lets defenders just wander in front of him to head it away. When crosses come in he just stands there. I’d love to see his running stats. I’d be stunned if he wasn’t the lowest in the team.

That’s made up …he’s obviously not firing on all cylinders…but there is no way he is just standing when crosses come in ..and he doesn’t just let defenders wander in front of him ..

We will probably find out he has been playing with an injury over the last few weeks- as there is no one ready to replace him …

He started the season very well by the way …

26-09-2021, 05:54 PM
That he lasted the distance today is a bit worrying, didn't look fit (even before injuring himself by commiting a foul), or interested, that we have no other options when main striker is clearly not at his best is disappointing.

26-09-2021, 05:55 PM
In what way? He’s not pressing with any great urgency, he just lets defenders just wander in front of him to head it away. When crosses come in he just stands there. I’d love to see his running stats. I’d be stunned if he wasn’t the lowest in the team. I'd say Macey will be lower for sure.

26-09-2021, 05:56 PM
I don’t think he’s 100% fit. Certainly not playing like it. He’s also much better playing alongside Doidge.

26-09-2021, 05:57 PM
That’s made up …he’s obviously not firing on all cylinders…but there is no way he is just standing when crosses come in ..and he doesn’t just let defenders wander in front of him ..

We will probably find out he has been playing with an injury over the last few weeks- as there is no one ready to replace him …

He started the season very well by the way …

There was definitely one cross where he stood and watched. Came in from the left in the second half, not all that much pace on it and the defender headed it away. He was only about 3 or 4 yards from where the defender won the header so it’s not like he wasn’t able to get there.

Hibiza
26-09-2021, 05:58 PM
Not fit - shouldn't be playing. If he wasn't fit Jack wouldn't be playing him . Time he was dropped.

26-09-2021, 05:58 PM
There was definitely one cross where he stood and watched. Came in from the left in the second half, not all that much pace on it and the defender headed it away. He was only about 3 or 4 yards from where the defender won the header so it’s not like he wasn’t able to get there.

There may have been …but it was implied that he was doing that all the time

26-09-2021, 06:01 PM
Hibernian head coach Jack Ross: "The game needed either a moment of fortune or a moment of magic to win it.

"Martin Boyle hasn't been training and Kyle Magennis went off injured at half-time. I think that's impacted our performance levels slightly but we have dug out points and that's a sign of how this team are continuing to grow."

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

26-09-2021, 06:02 PM
It's a shame we don't have a bigger squad as he would be nowhere near the first team squad right now and needs taken out of the firing line.

Hopefully scores soon.

26-09-2021, 06:06 PM
“All we can do is keep doing what we’re doing,” continued Ross. “We’re stretched a little bit at the moment, we have players out.

“We’ve had players who aren’t training, Kevin [Nisbet], Martin [Boyle], Kyle Magennis, Jake Doyle-Hayes has been suffering from the after effects of illness"

26-09-2021, 06:08 PM
Be in no doubt, our best striker is currently injured.

He’s not. Nisbets our best striker.

Let’s not forget the ***** that was being said about Doidge when he went out of form previously.

26-09-2021, 06:23 PM

Let’s not forget the ***** that was being said about Doidge when he went out of form previously.

Doidge is more important to us.

I’m not sure what parts of the game Nisbet is better at?

Supposedly a more natural goal scorer but I think Doidge must score at a better rate for us as well as all the other stuff he brings to the team.

26-09-2021, 06:27 PM
Doidge is more important to us.

I’m not sure what parts of the game Nisbet is better at?

Supposedly a more natural goal scorer but I think Doidge must score at a better rate for us as well as all the other stuff he brings to the team.

They’ve got nigh on identical records goals per game wise.

I’m like you, if I’m choosing one striker out of the two then it’s Doidge. His all round game is fantastic.

26-09-2021, 06:34 PM
Not fit - shouldn't be playing. If he wasn't fit Jack wouldn't be playing him . Time he was dropped.

Who exactly do we play in his place?

Torto7
26-09-2021, 06:36 PM
He Boyle and Doyle Hayes havent been training according to JR. Theres an illness going around. Worth knowing for some.

Mr. Wonderful
26-09-2021, 06:41 PM
He Boyle and Doyle Hayes havent been training according to JR. Theres an illness going around. Worth knowing for some.

Aye that's fair and explains why they've all not been at it, Boyle aside. This thread has probably gone as far as it has because certain posters called others out for their opinions about a drop in form but if there's a reason behind it and JR has acknowledged it then I'm happy to accept that as a reason for what I and many others have observed. I only hope now that those posters can reflect upon their attacks and offer apologies to those they accused of trolling.

26-09-2021, 06:44 PM

Makes our form even more impressive. Looking forward to when we're at full strength again.

26-09-2021, 06:46 PM

What a load of pish

26-09-2021, 06:49 PM
Jack Ross has said he's not fully fit, so let's just get behind Nisbet until he inevitably starts scoring again. He's proven his quality, now it's about perseverance. He probably wouldn't be playing if we had a deeper squad, that's not his fault.

Some poor and disproportionate comments on here that seem to want to take a revisionist stance on just how good Kevin has been for us during the last year.
It's just what we've come to expect from an element of the Hibs support. If we were a point off the bottom I might understand it but it seems a certain few are happiest putting the knife in to our players regardless.

26-09-2021, 06:53 PM
What a load of pish

I think he's definitely short on confidence. Not much seems to be coming off for him just now. Hopefully its just a short term thing. In fairness I'm sure I heard JR say in his post match interview that KN hadn't trained all week along with Boyle. Could be carrying a slight knock.

26-09-2021, 06:53 PM

Doidge is comfortably our best striker. When he wasn’t scoring he was still playing very well.

Nisbet isn’t scoring and playing *****

26-09-2021, 06:54 PM

Scott or Gullan

26-09-2021, 06:54 PM
Doidge is comfortably our best striker. When he wasn’t scoring he was still playing very well.

So you keep saying.

26-09-2021, 06:57 PM
I think he's definitely short on confidence. Not much seems to be coming off for him just now. Hopefully its just a short term thing. In fairness I'm sure I heard JR say in his post match interview that KN hadn't trained all week along with Boyle. Could be carrying a slight knock.

It’s the We should have sold him crack I was replying to tbh. That’s one of the worst takes ever heard on here. He’s an excellent footballer and exactly what we should be keeping. Ffs it wasn’t that long ago we had Rowan Vine!!

26-09-2021, 07:10 PM

Shouldn't be playing then.

His attitude after the final whistle today won't do him any favours with the fans either.

26-09-2021, 07:11 PM

His attitude after the final whistle today won't do him any favours with the fans either.

Especially those looking for a reason to slate him.

26-09-2021, 07:13 PM

Maybe he wanted in early to ice his ankle that he injured 5 minutes before?

26-09-2021, 07:14 PM

And JDH has been dropped because of this and rightly so. We can't just keep playing Nisbet because we have nobody else? Won't do him any favours going forward.

26-09-2021, 07:18 PM

Whatever mate.

26-09-2021, 07:19 PM
Especially those looking for a reason to slate him.

Slating him? It was an observation. By a few that sit beside our group I may add. I posted further up the thread I had money on him for the 1st goal today. I would love to see him scoring like we know he can. I just think there seems to be a issue with him.

26-09-2021, 07:19 PM
Could be doing with sitting out the upcoming international break

Not as cohesive with Boyle as he is with Doidge, which is fair enough.

Exposing our shortcomings in the window as another striker coming in might take the heat off him for a week or two

A lot of pressure on his shoulders right now

26-09-2021, 07:20 PM
Slating him? It was an observation. By a few that sit beside our group I may add. I posted further up the thread I had money on him for the 1st goal today. I would love to see him scoring like we know he can. I just think there seems to be a issue with him.

He’s not being slated.

26-09-2021, 07:21 PM
And JDH has been dropped because of this and rightly so. We can't just keep playing Nisbet because we have nobody else? Won't do him any favours going forward.

I can't decide about this.

In the current climate, a drop in form leads to being dropped or axed.

Nisbet is getting an opportunity to play his way out of his dodgy spell and it's an opportunity not afforded to many these days.

His head is down right now and things aren't going for him. I can't argue that he's playing well, but he's got a week to get over whatever has been working on him and get going again next week.

A goal at Ibrox could go a long way towards lifting his spirits.

26-09-2021, 07:23 PM

If he's been unwell and unable to train he was probably just dead on his feet and maybe a bit annoyed with himself for the couple of errors he made in the final few minutes.

During the pre-match warm-up he was in fine form, laughing & joking.

Maybe we shouldn't be too quick to think the worst?

26-09-2021, 07:25 PM
He’s not being slated.

Eh ? There are people saying he's uninterested, etc.

26-09-2021, 07:26 PM
Eh ? There are people saying he's uninterested, etc.

At times he didn’t look interested. It’s really not ‘slating’ him to say that.

26-09-2021, 07:35 PM

Whilst I totally get your point, it's not Nisbet's fault we can't play someone in his place.

That's at least two games in a row now he's been on his knees for a wee break looking like he's playing injured.

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:43 PM
I asked you this question yesterday, and you didn't respond.

For context on where Hibs can realistically move forward to, let's see you name the last five Hibs managers to win a major trophy.Great win today. The top of the league is very tight, I was alluding to a 2nd place finish one day and lifting a trophy which is a strong possibility this season.

Apologies if my posts are seen as negative, it's not meant. I want the best for the club.

Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:45 PM
Major trophies

Stubbs
Collins
Miller
Turnbull
Shaw

All trophies

Lennon
Stubbs
Collins
McLeish
Miller

26-09-2021, 08:50 PM

There is our manager explained it after the match he's not been training...stop trying to make out its something more and give the guy a break ...maybe he was as frustrated as us at his performance today and that's why he left the pitch early

26-09-2021, 09:23 PM
Major trophies

Stubbs
Collins
Miller
Turnbull
Shaw

All trophies

Lennon
Stubbs
Collins
McLeish
Miller

Don't think we should count winning the lower league. Embarrassing.

26-09-2021, 09:34 PM
Don't think we should count winning the lower league. Embarrassing.

It's embarrassing thinking we shouldn't. Took us three seasons to get out of there.

26-09-2021, 09:35 PM
There is our manager explained it after the match he's not been training...stop trying to make out its something more and give the guy a break ...maybe he was as frustrated as us at his performance today and that's why he left the pitch early

Or maybe he's actually injured and having to play, when we should, as you say 'Give the guy a break' and rest him till he's fully fit like most clubs would do. It's not the laddies fault our recruitment has been piss poor and we have nobody to replace him.

26-09-2021, 09:46 PM
He’s not being slated.

He is most definitely being slated by some posters on this thread.

26-09-2021, 09:49 PM
He is most definitely being slated by some posters on this thread.Apparently if what's said is true then it doesn't count as slating, even though the truths are, in fact, only opinions.

26-09-2021, 10:04 PM
Major trophies

Stubbs
Collins
Miller
Turnbull
Shaw

Correct.

Which explains why many of us don't demand that Hibs win trophies and are simply optimistic that we'll win another cup soon if we keep our current form going.

GIBBY NEWTON
26-09-2021, 10:04 PM
Goes without saying Doidge a huge miss & our number 1 target man up front who can give defenders as good as he gets !! For me we don’t really having any choice other than playing Kevin as our target man.
Problem is imo he is’nt Doidge & struggles with his back to defenders he’s more effective playing off front man & attacking with the ball at his feet linking up play with those around him !
I know if i was him i would be frustrated playing as in the number 9 position which doesn’t Really suit his playing style. Don’t disagree at times he appears to stop short/ give up. I think quite a few of our squad have suffered with covid or other symptoms lately & seemed to be underperforming . For me i’ll be glad to see Doidge back & Kevin playing off him. Hopefully come the Nov semi v huns Doidge is back until then i can only hope our attacking players give it all they’ve got.

JoeT
26-09-2021, 10:12 PM
Kev needs a break. Long year starting with the Birmingham drama. Playing every week to the end of the season. Stress and energy of Hampden trips. International breaks he was with the Scotland squad. Doidge injury means he has no replacement or support. He must be knackered. Ross got plaudits for taking Doig out for breaks last season. Let Kev sit out the Rangers and Scotland games and get him back for Utd game and I think he will bounce back better for it

26-09-2021, 10:22 PM

Think there's something to be said for players suffering after effects of Covid. Perhaps not long Covid but enough of an effect that's delaying them getting back to 100%.

27-09-2021, 05:56 AM
He is most definitely being slated by some posters on this thread.

I’d love to see the reaction some posters have when they get criticised at work if they think saying he looked uninterested is a slating.

He watched a floated cross land on the defenders head 3 yards away. He never moved an inch while the cross came in. He was uninterested at times as I’m sure we’ve all been at our own jobs. It’s not the crime of the century and it’s not a ‘slating’ to point it out.

It’s funny watching posters who go on about others having hysterical reactions to results etc have a hysterical reaction to a mild criticism actually.

27-09-2021, 06:00 AM
I’d love to see the reaction some posters have when they get criticised at work if they think saying he looked uninterested is a slating.

He watched a floated cross land on the defenders head 3 yards away. He never moved an inch while the cross came in. He was uninterested at times as I’m sure we’ve all been at our own jobs. It’s not the crime of the century and it’s not a ‘slating’ to point it out.

Calling someone disinterested is clearly criticising their personal attitude.

27-09-2021, 06:02 AM
It's embarrassing thinking we shouldn't. Took us three seasons to get out of there.

Embarrassing that it took us so long. We have only won the lower league when we were head and shoulders financially above the opposition. Fact is neither McLeish or Lennon won a major trophy with Hibs but they both took us 3rd.

27-09-2021, 06:05 AM
He definitely looks off the pace and take too long to make a strike or poorly executing. I put it down to him not being well and not recovered yet from that illness. He will come again.

27-09-2021, 06:05 AM
Calling someone disinterested is clearly criticising their personal attitude.

Yes, it is. It’s a criticism. Not all criticisms are ruthless slatings much like saying someone should have scored a one-on-one is a criticism and not necessarily a slating and saying someone didn’t look interested isn’t a ‘slating’.

I couldn’t be arsed at my work at times on Friday just past. I’d had a bit of a cold all week and just couldn’t wait for the week to be over. I didn’t do all that much work at all. If someone had said to me you’re not all that interested today I’d have agreed with them. I wouldn’t have stood there with my jaw on the floor scunnered at the slating I was receiving as some seem to be doing on Nisbets behalf.

Sounds like others on this thread would have been greeting on the phone to the Union if it was them.

27-09-2021, 06:07 AM
Yes, it is. It’s a criticism. Not all criticisms are ruthless slatings much like saying someone should have scored a one-on-one is a criticism and not necessarily a slating and saying someone didn’t look interested isn’t a ‘slating’.

I couldn’t be arsed at my work at times on Friday just past. I didn’t do all that much. If someone had said to me you’re not all that interested today I’d have agreed with them. I wouldn’t have stood there with my jaw on the floor scunnered at the slating I was receiving as some seem to be doing on Nisbets behalf.

Ok so are you now going to give him some slack given he is obviously carrying some sort of injury.

27-09-2021, 06:11 AM
Ok so are you now going to give him some slack given he is obviously carrying some sort of injury.

We’re discussing his performance on the football pitch and injury or no injury, his performance was what it was. It was poor and it was lacking in effort in a lot of peoples opinions.

He doesn’t need slack cut, he’s not being forced out the door of the club, nobody is calling for his head. People are posting mild criticisms of him. That’s it. I’m sure he knows his performances have dropped and he’ll expect to be criticised. I’d actually be more concerned if he didn’t realise that than I am over his recent performances.

Some folk on here seem to get that precious to any criticism on others behalf that their own reaction to criticism of themselves must be outstanding. I’d imagine they have a meltdown if they don’t get a guard of honour into work every day.

27-09-2021, 07:51 AM
Goes without saying Doidge a huge miss & our number 1 target man up front who can give defenders as good as he gets !! For me we don’t really having any choice other than playing Kevin as our target man.
Problem is imo he is’nt Doidge & struggles with his back to defenders he’s more effective playing off front man & attacking with the ball at his feet linking up play with those around him !
I know if i was him i would be frustrated playing as in the number 9 position which doesn’t Really suit his playing style. Don’t disagree at times he appears to stop short/ give up. I think quite a few of our squad have suffered with covid or other symptoms lately & seemed to be underperforming . For me i’ll be glad to see Doidge back & Kevin playing off him. Hopefully come the Nov semi v huns Doidge is back until then i can only hope our attacking players give it all they’ve got.

Doidge wont be back till after Christmas.

27-09-2021, 07:52 AM
Doidge wont be back till after Christmas.

Recently they suggested he was ahead of schedule November was quoted ….

27-09-2021, 07:56 AM
Recently they suggested he was ahead of schedule November was quoted ….

That would be great news if true.

I just remember my mate meeting Doidge in town about 6 weeks ago and he told him it was looking like Christmas.

27-09-2021, 08:29 AM

It’s funny watching posters who go on about others having hysterical reactions to results etc have a hysterical reaction to a mild criticism actually.

This is a pretty strange post, Calum. Firstly, are you stating that my posts on this thread have been hysterical?

Secondly, you are ignoring quite a lot. In the last few pages, Nisbet has been accused of not trying, not caring, of being awful for weeks, one poster said he's a passenger and that we should have sold him, and another said that any other of our striking options 'couldn't be any worse than him' - you think that is mild criticism? What could be said about him that was worse? Certain posters are slating him, 100% - it's nonsense to suggest otherwise.

Certainly not seeing hysteria on either side, but if one is more extreme than the other, it's those who are criticising him.

27-09-2021, 08:39 AM

I think that was a cross from Newell? Efe was a foot in front of him when Newell swung his leg back and he never moved an inch.

27-09-2021, 08:46 AM
He's definitely out of sorts so bench him and start someone else for a spell.

27-09-2021, 08:49 AM
We’re discussing his performance on the football pitch and injury or no injury, his performance was what it was. It was poor and it was lacking in effort in a lot of peoples opinions.

He doesn’t need slack cut, he’s not being forced out the door of the club, nobody is calling for his head. People are posting mild criticisms of him. That’s it. I’m sure he knows his performances have dropped and he’ll expect to be criticised. I’d actually be more concerned if he didn’t realise that than I am over his recent performances.

Some folk on here seem to get that precious to any criticism on others behalf that their own reaction to criticism of themselves must be outstanding. I’d imagine they have a meltdown if they don’t get a guard of honour into work every day.

Actually thought he was ok yesterday.

27-09-2021, 08:50 AM

Working as a professional footballer is nothing like a normal job so the comparison means very little. I'm not sure what you do but I'm pretty sure you don't perform infront of thousands of people, have people analysing your every move online and be shown on national television every week. I'm also guessing you don't work in a role where it's acceptable for customers to turn up on a weekly basis and shout criticism at you without any action being taken.

Yes, they are well paid (although I'd guess there's atleast a few posters on here who earn more than Nisbet) but that doesn't mean they aren't human beings.

The guys a quality player but he's hit a dip in form. He'll come good again.

27-09-2021, 09:06 AM
This is a pretty strange post, Calum. Firstly, are you stating that my posts on this thread have been hysterical?

Secondly, you are ignoring quite a lot. In the last few pages, Nisbet has been accused of not trying, not caring, of being awful for weeks, one poster said he's a passenger and that we should have sold him, and another said that any other of our striking options 'couldn't be any worse than him' - you think that is mild criticism? What could be said about him that was worse? Certain posters are slating him, 100% - it's nonsense to suggest otherwise.

Certainly not seeing hysteria on either side, but if one is more extreme than the other, it's those who are criticising him.

Nope, you’re not really one for moaning at others all that much so it wasn’t aimed at you.

At times he hasn’t tried. To me there’s very little doubt in that having been watching him recently. I’m sure every footballer hasn’t tried at times or hasn’t given 100% for some reason or other. If he never ever tried a leg then it would be a problem. He usually does though. Probably why it stands out more now.

27-09-2021, 09:07 AM
I think that was a cross from Newell? Efe was a foot in front of him when Newell swung his leg back and he never moved an inch.

Can’t remember who put the cross in but it was Efe that won it so probably the same incident. If that can’t be described as a lack of effort then I don’t know what can. He literally just stood there.

27-09-2021, 09:09 AM
Knew the minute he was through on goal he wasn't even thinking about making a pass, and tbh I completely understand. The guy's reputation is goals, he hasn't had one in a while, and saw a chance to rectify that. Hopefully he'll get one soon.

Lendo
27-09-2021, 09:18 AM
I don’t get the “uninterested” argument. Going by his reactions in the last two games I think the opposite is true. You can see his frustration and he himself will know he’s not on form just now.

Go back and watch his substitution in the United game. He was visibly livid with himself. That’s not the actions of someone uninterested.

27-09-2021, 09:23 AM
Nope, you’re not really one for moaning at others all that much so it wasn’t aimed at you.

At times he hasn’t tried. To me there’s very little doubt in that having been watching him recently. I’m sure every footballer hasn’t tried at times or hasn’t given 100% for some reason or other. If he never ever tried a leg then it would be a problem. He usually does though. Probably why it stands out more now.

Fair dos man.

I don't agree that he isn't trying (his willingness to take a booking and a sore one, whilst trying to stop an attack in injury time, is decent evidence of that, from my point of view) but I do acknowledge that his body language doesn't look great at times. I personally don't see a lack of effort, just some frustration at the fact that he's not near his best right now - but others, yourself included, obviously see it differently. Don't have too much issue with that.

But he was definitely being slated by some.

27-09-2021, 09:32 AM
Knew the minute he was through on goal he wasn't even thinking about making a pass, and tbh I completely understand. The guy's reputation is goals, he hasn't had one in a while, and saw a chance to rectify that. Hopefully he'll get one soon.

I think it also shows that he's not lacking in confidence either. He had two opportunities to get a shot away yesterday, and he took both - neither were really great efforts, bit a player lacking in confidence would surely have squared to Boyle late on.

Couldn't see from my angle, or on TV whether the injury time effort was any good - but I was right behind his side footed attempt earlier in the game, that was deflected for a corner (which Beaton gave eventually). That was a clever effort, and looked destined for the corner of the net before it was blocked. I think a player lacking in confidence would snatch at that, or just blast it.

I keep saying this, but I'm actually really encouraged by the current situation with Nisbet - he is nowhere near is best, yet playing in a team that has won eight and lost one of 13 games this season, and that as scored 25 goals. Boyle is weighing in heavy with the scoring at the moment, and I've no doubt that in the months to come, the opposite will be true.

Last season Nisbet, Boyle and Doidge all hit good numbers, and I don't think all three were ever in good form at the same time. That's the bonus of having so many attacking threats, and getting Doidge back will be a huge boost.

27-09-2021, 09:45 AM
I don’t get the “uninterested” argument. Going by his reactions in the last two games I think the opposite is true. You can see his frustration and he himself will know he’s not on form just now.

Go back and watch his substitution in the United game. He was visibly livid with himself. That’s not the actions of someone uninterested.

Agree - the “uninterested” label is wrong . It’s too simplistic and misjudging him. …he is a good professional, not the sort to bust a gut at times ..he has different qualities from the likes of Doidge. He seems to be to be probably carrying an injury, and also having to play in his unpreferred role as a lone 9…he’s improved since he arrived with us. I’ve no doubt he will get his spark back and be a top player for us this season . Delighted we have him ..will be the envy of almost every other club

27-09-2021, 11:24 AM

Agree think it is nonsense to be honest. Frustrated at himself for his performances and not scoring and probably not physically at his peak if not training and also more importantly not really a main striker however just going through a dip in confidence which he will soon recover from.

27-09-2021, 11:26 AM
Agree - the “uninterested” label is wrong . It’s too simplistic and misjudging him. …he is a good professional, not the sort to bust a gut at times ..he has different qualities from the likes of Doidge. He seems to be to be probably carrying an injury, and also having to play in his unpreferred role as a lone 9…he’s improved since he arrived with us. I’ve no doubt he will get his spark back and be a top player for us this season . Delighted we have him ..will be the envy of almost every other club

Agree with all of that a bit of patience and support required from the fans imo.

Hibiza
27-09-2021, 03:08 PM
Agree with all of that a bit of patience and support required from the fans imo.

I apologies for using the term " uninterested " .

Hibiza
27-09-2021, 03:09 PM
Apologies to all , if it hurt anyone .

27-09-2021, 03:10 PM
I apologies for using the term " uninterested " .

Apology accepted :aok:

27-09-2021, 03:15 PM
. We have only won the lower league when we were head and shoulders financially above the opposition.

So should we discredit Rangers and Celtics title wins then?

Allez Hibs
27-09-2021, 03:27 PM
Don't think anyone is "slating" Nisbet to be honest. I think we all want him back to his best, contributing and making goals.

27-09-2021, 03:31 PM
Don't think anyone is "slating" Nisbet to be honest. I think we all want him back to his best, contributing and making goals.

Calling a pro footballer uninterested(code for not trying)is about the worst insult possible.I consider that slating a player.

27-09-2021, 03:38 PM
Calling a pro footballer uninterested(code for not trying)is about the worst insult possible.I consider that slating a player.

:agree: especially when it is nonsense

27-09-2021, 03:59 PM

Correct.

27-09-2021, 04:01 PM

Maybe they should look more interested then if they don’t want to receive the ‘worst insult possible’?

Not even moving when a cross is floated in to an area about 8 yards out in the centre of the goal when you’re only about 2 yards away from it doesn’t exactly scream interested. If you’re Nisbet and you don’t want such scathing criticism then maybe move off the spot you were stood on before the cross came in?

27-09-2021, 04:09 PM
Maybe they should look more interested then if they don’t want to receive the ‘worst insult possible’?

Not even moving when a cross is floated in to an area about 8 yards out in the centre of the goal when you’re only about 2 yards away from it doesn’t exactly scream interested. If you’re Nisbet and you don’t want such scathing criticism then maybe move off the spot you were stood on before the cross came in?

But that’s just one moment …he did a number of positive things yesterday . Not on top form sure (and we now know he is carrying an injury). But surely no one watching his performance can suggest he we was uninterested…

27-09-2021, 04:11 PM

You think he really bursts a gut to close down, sprint etc? Not saying he’s uninterested as suggested but I think he could do more. One on one yesterday attack the defender with pace, shift it and use the laces. Instead it was a lacklustre effort which is generally the case

27-09-2021, 04:13 PM
But that’s just one moment …he did a number of positive things yesterday . Not on too form sure (and we now know he is carrying an injury). But surely no one watching his performance can suggest he we was uninterested…

It was an opportunity to get a goal. It should be one of the big moments of the game for a striker. It wasn’t just any one moment.

When people say he looked uninterested do people genuinely think it means for every one of the 90 minutes played?

Of course he looked interested at times. He looked more than interested when he had the ball and had a chance of getting a goal near the end.

He didn’t look particularly interested at plenty other times though.

27-09-2021, 04:18 PM
It was an opportunity to get a goal. It should be one of the big moments of the game for a striker. It wasn’t just any one moment.

When people say he looked uninterested do people genuinely think it means for every one of the 90 minutes played?

Of course he looked interested at times. He looked more than interested when he had the ball and had a chance of getting a goal near the end.

He didn’t look particularly interested at plenty other times though.

Who knows what was going on ..If he thought he could get a chance he would have been all over it …but not for a moment was he uninterested ..as others have said it’s an unfair and hurtful criticism to label at any player - and certainly Nisbet . It’s wrong , and if you think otherwise ..then you are misjudging him in my opinion

27-09-2021, 04:21 PM
Im sure those that are pointing it out will start threads for pretty much every other player in the sqaud when they dont burst a gut to close down after losing the ball etc. Going to be a busy board as we do all we can to find anything to complain about. Far too many uninterested scotland players in my team for my liking.

27-09-2021, 04:22 PM
You think he really bursts a gut to close down, sprint etc? Not saying he’s uninterested as suggested but I think he could do more. One on one yesterday attack the defender with pace, shift it and use the laces. Instead it was a lacklustre effort which is generally the case

‘Can do more’ is definitely the way I’d put it.

He’s not quite at it with the ball just now but I think he could be doing more to get on the ball in the first place.

27-09-2021, 04:22 PM
Who knows what was going on ..If he thought he could get a chance he would have been all over it …but not for a moment was he uninterested ..as others have said it’s an unfair and hurtful criticism to label at any player - and certainly Nisbet . It’s wrong , and if you think otherwise ..then you are misjudging him in my opinion

Thing is, I’m not judging him as someone who’s uninterested generally. Usually I wouldn’t say he is. I would say he looked it on Saturday though and the weekend before to an extent.

It’s not a character assassination and it’s not the worst criticism a footballer can ever receive. We’ve had plenty players over the years who will have had games where they’ve not looked interested. It happens. We always get told players are humans etc, it would be a bit off if they never had games where their head just wasn’t in it. Everyone else has them in other walks of life.

27-09-2021, 04:32 PM
Thing is, I’m not judging him as someone who’s uninterested generally. Usually I wouldn’t say he is. I would say he looked it on Saturday though and the weekend before to an extent.

It’s not a character assassination and it’s not the worst criticism a footballer can ever receive. We’ve had plenty players over the years who will have had games where they’ve not looked interested.

I think it’s a generic and unhelpful criticism..and impossible to justify .. fair enough if you think he should, make more runs , or close down more, or be better holding up the ball etc etc ..but you are commenting about someone’s mindset - and for a professional footballer , it will be very rare that “uninterested “ is a reasonable critique ….

For me , sure he’s not been firing on all cylinders. Some factors are clear;

Playing in a lone number 9 role likely doesn’t suit him
Carrying an injury
Confidence a bit low

Others issues Perhaps not so obvious to us

Mindset and attitude though is not in question for me. He’s a good pro.

I think he came back from the euros a better player . He looked a level above early on, and hasn’t been quite as sharp recently . Players are human beings . They can’t always perform the same every week. And he’s not the type of player who will run after everything (maybe he should) but that’s never been his playing style .

I expect him to be back on the goal trail soon

27-09-2021, 04:39 PM
I think it’s a generic and unhelpful criticism..and impossible to justify .. fair enough if you think he should, make more runs , or close down more, or be better holding up the ball etc etc ..but you are commenting about someone’s mindset - and for a professional footballer , it will be very rare that “uninterested “ is a reasonable critique ….

For me , sure he’s not been firing on all cylinders. Some factors are clear;

Playing in a lone number 9 role likely doesn’t suit him
Carrying an injury
Confidence a bit low

Others issues Perhaps not so obvious to us

Mindset and attitude though is not in question for me. He’s a good pro.

I think he came back from the euros a better player . He looked a level above early on, and hasn’t been quite as sharp recently . Players are human beings . They can’t always perform the same every week. And he’s not the type of player who will run after everything (maybe he should) but that’s never been his playing style .

I expect him to be back on the goal trail soon

I’m not quite sure why professional footballers being uninterested needs to be an unreasonable critique.

As you said, they’re human beings. I would suggest the majority of people on here have days at work when they’re really just not interested. Footballers aren’t any different. They’ll have days where they’ll turn up and would just rather be somewhere else or they’ve got other stuff on their mind and are just thinking they’d wish the game would finish in the same way that people in regular jobs can’t wait for the clock to strike 5 and waste an afternoon away sometimes.

We hear all the time about players not trying a leg in training, we’re surely not now claiming that even though that happens that the same thing miraculously doesn’t happen in games?

27-09-2021, 04:50 PM
I’m not quite sure why professional footballers being uninterested needs to be an unreasonable critique.

As you said, they’re human beings. I would suggest the majority of people on here have days at work when they’re really just not interested. Footballers aren’t any different. They’ll have days where they’ll turn up and would just rather be somewhere else or they’ve got other stuff on their mind and are just thinking they’d wish the game would finish in the same way that people in regular jobs can’t wait for the clock to strike 5 and waste an afternoon away.

We hear all the time about players not trying a leg in training, we’re surely not now claiming that even though that happens that the same thing doesn’t happen in games?

It’s a lazy “generic” criticism…way overused ..and there are factual reasons affecting his contribution, which are far more relevant

27-09-2021, 05:02 PM
It’s a lazy “generic” criticism…way overused ..and there are factual reasons affecting his contribution, which are far more relevantWhy bring facts in when opinions are way more important? [emoji848]

27-09-2021, 06:03 PM
Im sure those that are pointing it out will start threads for pretty much every other player in the sqaud when they dont burst a gut to close down after losing the ball etc. Going to be a busy board as we do all we can to find anything to complain about. Far too many uninterested scotland players in my team for my liking.

I think if you look back you will find a few critical threads about players in our team over the last year from our fans. Wright, Hanlon, McGinn and Newell for a start.

27-09-2021, 07:35 PM
I’m totally disinterested in the ‘is he uninterested’ question. If he is, the only important question is ‘how long is it going to take for him to get over it’ and if he isn’t, the important question is ‘how long is it going to take him to get over whatever else is the issue’. He probably isn’t even aware of what the issue is himself :dunno:

27-09-2021, 07:39 PM
If not running after every pass or cross aimed at you means that your "not interested" I wonder how younger fans would have reacted to Ally McLeod?

27-09-2021, 07:45 PM
If not running after every pass or cross aimed at you means that your "not interested" I wonder how younger fans would have reacted to Ally McLeod?

Never one for wasting energy was ‘Oor Ally.’

27-09-2021, 07:52 PM
Never one for wasting energy was ‘Oor Ally.’Exactly. Knew when he wasn't getting there so why bother, and if you're carrying a knock sometimes certain runs aren't worth it and reactions are a bit hesitant.

People would go ballistic (always a laugh) at AM but he knew what he was doing, and he did run when he knew he was getting there.

27-09-2021, 07:58 PM
Exactly. Knew when he wasn't getting there so why bother, and if you're carrying a knock sometimes certain runs aren't worth it and reactions are a bit hesitant.

People would go ballistic (always a laugh) at AM but he knew what he was doing, and he did run when he knew he was getting there.

Aye Super Ally must have been carrying that knock for about 10 years 😃

A very intelligent player

27-09-2021, 08:35 PM

Unfortunately Ally was also subjected to quite a bit of flak from an element of the support. Fat and slow was the usual criticism despite scoring a barrowload of goals.
The older supporters will remember Bobby Hutchinson who used to run about like a blue arsed fly for 90 mins which made him a great favourite with the fans but as a goal scorer he was pretty poor.

27-09-2021, 08:36 PM
Aye Super Ally must have been carrying that belly for about 10 years [emoji2]

A very intelligent player

Fixed.

He was always economical.

27-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Unfortunately Ally was also subjected to quite a bit of flak from an element of the support. Fat and slow was the usual criticism despite scoring a barrowload of goals.
The older supporters will remember Bobby Hutchinson who used to run about like a blue arsed fly for 90 mins which made him a great favourite with the fans but as a goal scorer he was pretty poor.Ally McLeod and Jackie McNamara were my first Hibs heroes. I remember Ally getting a fair bit of stick from the fans (fat lazy b..., etc.) but 99 goals in 276 matches for a generally pretty poor Hibs team speaks for itself.

27-09-2021, 08:47 PM
Ally McLeod and Jackie McNamara were my first Hibs heroes. I remember Ally getting a fair bit of stick from the fans (fat lazy b..., etc.) but 99 goals in 276 matches for a generally pretty poor Hibs team speaks for itself.He played with his brain, which was phenomenal, and ran more than fans remember when he smelled a chance or a chance of an assist.

Saw him when he came back, after his stint with the Arabs, with Malcy Robertson and Alex Cropley in the same reserve team. Couldn't catch a cold but the brain was intact. Two assists. Great passer. ( Hibs got beat 2-3, against Dundee.)

Jay
27-09-2021, 09:00 PM
Just a reminder please that we don't allow discussions about other posters bans or posting style especially when they have no means of reply. The poster himself has been given a full explanation so no further discussions are required

28-09-2021, 12:08 PM
Nisbet included in the Scotland squad again.

28-09-2021, 12:18 PM
Thought Nisbet was carrying an injury?

He should really be resting during the International Break.

28-09-2021, 12:27 PM
Nisbet included in the Scotland squad again.

That only tells me Steve Clarke doesnt watch the games.............

28-09-2021, 12:29 PM
What about Porto?

28-09-2021, 12:38 PM
What about Porto?

No Porto. McKenna is still in, Gallacher dropped

28-09-2021, 01:00 PM
That only tells me Steve Clarke doesnt watch the games.............

No Porto. McKenna is still in, Gallacher dropped

See my post above - same applies. If he was watching the season Porteous was having, he would (at very least) be along for the ride. I dont and never have rated McKenna.

Bangkok Hibby
28-09-2021, 01:42 PM
I don't and never have rated Steve Clarke

28-09-2021, 01:43 PM
Porteous has been good, but has he been any better than before? He's always been pretty good with the odd howler thrown in.

He didn't cover himself in glory at St Mirren's first. I thought he looked a bit daft at the Dundee United goal. Then he was brilliant at the weekend.

Has he done enough to make Clarke change his mind? I'm not sure, but I've not seen any of the other CB's play to compare.

Porteous should certainly be part of the discussion but he's still a bit short of "no brainer" territory for me.

If he were to get a run for Scotland it could go one of two ways - he'd either look like he'd been playing at that level all his life and cement his place for the next few years or he'd make one of his howlers in his first appearance and never be seen on that stage again.

28-09-2021, 01:48 PM
I'm surprised Porto isn't in the squad. He's been outstanding this season. And this is coming from his biggest critic last season.

28-09-2021, 01:52 PM
Thought Nisbet was carrying an injury?

He should really be resting during the International Break.

He isn't training just now. Looks like Scotland haven't done their homework.

28-09-2021, 03:56 PM
I've been critical of some of his performances lately but I thought he was better than he has been on Sunday.

I think he is just lacking some confidence in front of goal as the three attempts he had he didn't look confident of scoring and also should of laid off the last one.

RossScott1991
29-09-2021, 09:53 AM
Hibs fans talking down their own striker after getting called up for Scotland , saying he shouldn’t be there all because abit of lost form.

Genuinely hate the new breed of “supporters” / fans/social media. What kind of support is that for him. Every striker has loses form, was same stick Doidge use to get.

Hopefully time away with Scotland will give him a wee boost again to know faith still being shown in him and he can come back and truly start his season

29-09-2021, 10:00 AM
Hibs fans talking down their own striker after getting called up for Scotland , saying he shouldn’t be there all because abit of lost form.

Genuinely hate the new breed of “supporters” / fans/social media. What kind of support is that for him. Every striker has loses form, was same stick Doidge use to get.

Hopefully time away with Scotland will give him a wee boost again to know faith still being shown in him and he can come back and truly start his season

Well said. :aok: And yes, hopefully he'll get a wee boost from his involvement - just as Paul McGinn seemed to (another one called up while getting pelters on here).

29-09-2021, 10:15 AM

I'm dreading the day we go two or three games without a win, It'll happen. Will be carnage on the socials.

If anything is going to give him a boost it'll be joining up with the Scotland squad. My only concern is his fitness. On a purely selfish level i'd have liked him to sit out the international break and do some recovery work at East Mains seeing as he isn't training at the moment. He might be back to full fitness by then though who knows.

29-09-2021, 10:16 AM

He's supposed to be carrying an injury.

If so, I would much rather he was resting during the International break thus benefiting our own team when the the league business kicks off again.

Couldn't give a flying **** about Scotland to be honest.

29-09-2021, 10:18 AM

If so, I would much rather he was resting during the International break thus benefiting our own team when the the league business kicks off again.

Couldn't give a flying **** about Scotland to be honest.

Was it an injury or illness? I'm not sure it's been confirmed.

29-09-2021, 10:26 AM

Not being funny, but his form has been off since the transfer request and - worse - his goals have also dried up.

He doesnt even register on any current top goalscorer charts - for comparison, Doidge is still up there with 2 !!

Someone said elsewhere he had scored 4 league goals in 2021 - that is awful.

Jason Cummings, Blair Spittal and Eammon Brophy are all ahead of him on 2 this season.

I am by no means a "new breed" of anything, but its a fact that his form is crap, has been since January, and by any metric he doesnt deserve to be in that squad.

On the flipside, I would have Porto in there.

Allez Hibs
29-09-2021, 10:30 AM

Couldn't give a flying **** about Scotland to be honest.Yeah, I think a rest during the international break would have been ideal for him and us.

allmodcons
29-09-2021, 10:34 AM

:agree: well said

Highwayman
29-09-2021, 10:38 AM

Total agreement in Nisbet being called up for the Scotland squad should give him the confidence boost he currently needs.Leaving him out would have the opposite effect.

Doubt whether he will start either game,but bringing him on and maybe getting a goal would help him.

As to posts complaing about Porteous being left out.I have no doubts that he is still on Stevie Clarke’s radar and that his turn will come in future.

29-09-2021, 11:18 AM
Not being funny, but his form has been off since the transfer request and - worse - his goals have also dried up.

He doesnt even register on any current top goalscorer charts - for comparison, Doidge is still up there with 2 !!

Jason Cummings, Blair Spittal and Eammon Brophy are all ahead of him on 2 this season.

I am by no means a "new breed" of anything, but its a fact that his form is crap, has been since January, and by any metric he doesnt deserve to be in that squad.

Have we been winning those games? Strikers dont just score goals.....especially when we only play 1 up top.

29-09-2021, 11:21 AM

Cummings, Spittal and Brophey all have more league goals than Morelos this season too. I’m not sure what that proves though?

29-09-2021, 11:23 AM

It’s always the same. Hanlon was getting no end of abuse last season, despite us having a really good defensive record, and him being called up to the Scotland squad.

Newells had it, Doidge has had it more than once.

Some Hibs fans cannae wait to stick the boot in to Hibs players.

29-09-2021, 11:26 AM
Was it an injury or illness? I'm not sure it's been confirmed.

Don't think so. All I heard was JR saying he hadn't been training for some reason or another.

The international break should have been used for him to recuperate and start a fresh on the return of the league.

I cant imagine Hibs will be that impressed with his inclusion of the National side this time.

29-09-2021, 11:29 AM
Don't think so. All I heard was JR saying he hadn't been training for some reason or another.

The international break should have been used for him to recuperate and start a fresh on the return of the league.

I cant imagine Hibs will be that impressed with his inclusion of the National side this time.

Hibs don't have to release him if he's not fit. If he was carrying an injury then I doubt Hibs would have let him go. If he couldn't train because he was unwell but has since recovered then there'd no reason to stop him - quite the opposite in fact.

29-09-2021, 11:29 AM
I suspect if he plays at all it will be as a substitute which will suit him down to the ground at the moment. Coming on with 20 mins to go when the defenders are tired could give him the space and opportunity he needs to get a goal and boost his confidence.

29-09-2021, 11:31 AM
Have we been winning those games? Strikers dont just score goals.....especially when we only play 1 up top.

Appreciate that - my point was he wasnt playing particularly well (Doidge has been more effective up til his injury), but that could be forgotten to an extent if there were goals going in as well.

I like Nisbet, but he doesnt deserve this callup.

Cummings, Spittal and Brophey all have more league goals than Morelos this season too. I’m not sure what that proves though?

I was only referencing Scottish players as the original point (I think) related to the call up for national squad.

29-09-2021, 11:31 AM
Nisbet has a record of 1 in 3 this calendar year. That followed him being probably about 1 goal every 2 games from August to December last year.
It's hardly awful form.

I've definitely found some of his performances frustrating recently but some of the reaction is way OTT.

Going away with the Scotland squad might help him improve his fitness and keep him motivated to stay in. Can't be a bad thing that he's included IMO - he's not injured as such.

29-09-2021, 11:35 AM
An announcement about a contract extension in the next couple of days would be a nice wee feel-good boost for Sunday’s game.

29-09-2021, 11:51 AM
An announcement about a contract extension in the next couple of days would be a nice wee feel-good boost for Sunday’s game.

Porto as well hopefully. Club been trying to tie him up longer as well with no joy yet.

Probably due to some release clause in his contract or something?

29-09-2021, 11:58 AM
Hibs don't have to release him if he's not fit. If he was carrying an injury then I doubt Hibs would have let him go. If he couldn't train because he was unwell but has since recovered then there'd no reason to stop him - quite the opposite in fact.

I agree 100%

If he is fit, you obviously want him playing and getting himself and Hibs for that matter the recognition.

29-09-2021, 11:58 AM
I was only referencing Scottish players as the original point (I think) related to the call up for national squad.

You’re surely not suggesting that Cummings, Spittal or Brophey should be ahead of him for a call up to the Scotland squad?

29-09-2021, 12:06 PM
Porteous has been good, but has he been any better than before? He's always been pretty good with the odd howler thrown in.

He didn't cover himself in glory at St Mirren's first. I thought he looked a bit daft at the Dundee United goal. Then he was brilliant at the weekend.

Has he done enough to make Clarke change his mind? I'm not sure, but I've not seen any of the other CB's play to compare.

Porteous should certainly be part of the discussion but he's still a bit short of "no brainer" territory for me.

If he were to get a run for Scotland it could go one of two ways - he'd either look like he'd been playing at that level all his life and cement his place for the next few years or he'd make one of his howlers in his first appearance and never be seen on that stage again.

Agree with most of that especially the last sentence.
He is getting closer given Gallagher looks to have been jettisoned.
The 4 CH's picked for the squad are 2 EPL captains, a top Belgian club CH and an English Championship CH.
McKenna's coat probably on a short nail but Porteous probably still a step behind him along with Soutter.
Their time will come.

As for Nisbet he has been struggling with noone playing close to him. Getting picked for Scotland will be a boost for him and will help with any self doubt he is feeling. Won't play against Israel but should get on against the Faroes and hopefully get a goal..

29-09-2021, 12:15 PM
Porto as well hopefully. Club been trying to tie him up longer as well with no joy yet.

Probably due to some release clause in his contract or something?

Porteous is the player they need a new contract for. Only 20 months left. Nisbet is contracted until 2024.

29-09-2021, 12:15 PM
Nisbet has a record of 1 in 3 this calendar year. That followed him being probably about 1 goal every 2 games from August to December last year.
It's hardly awful form.

I've definitely found some of his performances frustrating recently but some of the reaction is way OTT.

Going away with the Scotland squad might help him improve his fitness and keep him motivated to stay in. Can't be a bad thing that he's included IMO - he's not injured as such.

I think his record is 10 goals in 39 matches this calendar year.

29-09-2021, 12:16 PM
You’re surely not suggesting that Cummings, Spittal or Brophey should be ahead of him for a call up to the Scotland squad?

No, I was comparing their strike rates.

But you would have known that if you read my post.......

29-09-2021, 12:17 PM
Porteous is the player they need a new contract for. Only 20 months left. Nisbet is contracted until 2024.

Porto and Doidge imo.

29-09-2021, 12:23 PM

It was Porto I was referring to.

29-09-2021, 12:32 PM

The truth is there are no Scottish strikers playing in Scotland close to Nisbet at the moment.
Of the guys down south:
McBurnie is on the championship bench. His fellow Sheffield Utd player Burke is I presume injured.
Phillips is playing well for WBA in the Championship.
Also at WBA is Karlan Grant who is another possible as he has a Scottish mother. Aged 24 and signed a year ago from Huddersfield for a reported £15 million.

29-09-2021, 12:36 PM
While I think Nisbet has playing well enough, I think his game benefits hugely from big Doidge playing alongside. Which demonstrates how big a player Doidge is for us. I'd be delighted if we had the pair of them along with Boyler up front for us for a few more seasons. I agree with the posters who say that Porto should be a priority. He's still prone to be headstrong at times but I think his mistakes tend to get blown out of proportion while few notice while he's being his usual immense presence at the back. I still think he'll be top drawer by the time he's in his mid twenties if he stays clear of injury.

29-09-2021, 01:15 PM
The truth is there are no Scottish strikers playing in Scotland close to Nisbet at the moment.
Of the guys down south:
McBurnie is on the championship bench. His fellow Sheffield Utd player Burke is I presume injured.
Also at WBA is Karlan Grant who is another possible as he has a Scottish mother. Aged 24 and signed a year ago from Huddersfield for a reported £15 million.

I'd definitely be calling up Phillips and asking Grant if he wanted to play for Scotland. We are a good team until the final third at the moment and both are quality players who may well improve the Scotland squad.

29-09-2021, 01:29 PM

Salah is a winger and is a wonderful goal scorer, when you play 433/4231 the goals come from the 3 or 4 attacking players, very few teams play with an out and out striker. The front 3 do a lot more than just score.

29-09-2021, 09:14 PM
Of the guys down south:

Burke isn’t injured. Just not being picked. Phillips doesn’t want to play for Scotland and is no longer being considered. The only other alternative was Shankland who got replaced by Nisbet in the squad as a result of a poor season last season.

Only alternative is Tony Watt. If he carries on as he is now and Nisbet does likewise, I can see him replacing Nisbet in the squad.

29-09-2021, 09:17 PM
Burke isn’t injured. Just not being picked. Phillips doesn’t want to play for Scotland and is no longer being considered. The only other alternative was Shankland who got replaced by Nisbet in the squad as a result of a poor season last season.

Only alternative is Tony Watt. If he carries on as he is now and Nisbet does likewise, I can see him replacing Nisbet in the squad.

Has Phillips ever said he didn't want to play for Scotland?

That's a new one to me.

Either way, we're very light indeed up front, arguably lighter than ever.

angus hibby
29-09-2021, 09:19 PM

Ross Stewart banging in goals for Sunderland who are flying at moment.

29-09-2021, 10:46 PM

I see Burke is no longer in Sheff. Utd plans and they were in talks with Middlesboro late in the transfer window but obviously couldn't come to an agreement.
Re Phillips, not wanting to play for Scotland is news to me. Big, strong and playing well for the top Championship club. 30 years old with 16 caps but don't think he will get a look in from Clarke. Was about at the start of the Clarke reign when we got a few painful shoeing's from Belgium and Russia.
Shankland is as slow as Nisbet so he won't get in
Tony Watt is a good shout. Has played well for over a season now. Putting in the effort week in week out now. Pleased for the guy as he really was considered a figure of fun. Still has a bit to go to get considered for Scotland.

29-09-2021, 10:48 PM
Ross Stewart banging in goals for Sunderland who are flying at moment.

A good shout but plays in a pub league for a big fish.
Could well be a shout next season if he is playing in the Championship

30-09-2021, 05:37 AM
Has Phillips ever said he didn't want to play for Scotland?

That's a new one to me.

Either way, we're very light indeed up front, arguably lighter than ever.

I’m not sure but it’s taken as red on the TA message board. Same with Tom Cairney.