18-09-2021, 03:14 PM
Great goal mcginn
Down to Allan
Cracking strike from McGinn great pass from Allan.
SPM volley !
Brilliant ball by Allan
YASSSS what a finish, Allan-ball!
Paul McGinn is world class
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Hibs 1 Hibs Feeder Club 1
JXM73
That paul mcginns a waste of a jersey...
18-09-2021, 03:15 PM
Goal McGinn
There we go! Scott Alan the difference this half. Great goal from McGinn. Show Nisbet how it's done! CMon.
Guess we haven't been found out after all then? 🤣
Come on Hibs, let's go win this!!
It's been coming. Paul McGinn. Now lets get a few more
Great ball from Allan
He’s looking a lot sharper
Well done Paul, pleased for him a great professional.
This is more like it, we've licked blood.
Scott Allan certainly still has a lot to offer at this level. Imagine even doubting him.
The old Allan/McGinn combo.
18-09-2021, 03:16 PM
Allan has changed the game
penalty us :thumbsup:
Penalty
18-09-2021, 03:17 PM
What a clown their 44 is. He must have known the ref was watching that.i'll take it mind you.
Greenio
18-09-2021, 03:17 PM
Yasss. This game was made for Allan to take his chance and head doing it well so far
On the phone to the laddie, cracking goal by McGinn and sublime cross from Allan who's looked really sharp since coming on.
18-09-2021, 03:18 PM
2-1
Boyler
woopwoop :thumbsup:
Rugby tackled after winding them up.
tonyrougier123
Much better here Allan unlocking doors
Good penalty. Tails up now.
Brilliant from porteous , great pen
What a clown their 44 is. He must have known the ref was watching that.i'll take it mind you.
The daftest piece of defending. Brainfart of the extreme
Get in!
Some penalty.
So much better since the break. Everything being done with far more urgency and pace.
Penalty Hibs.Ridiculous by the defender.
Perfect.
nickwhibs
18-09-2021, 03:19 PM
Yas! More like it Hibs!
One of Boyle's better penalties.
Edit. Maybe not, but it counts anyway.
Much better here Allan unlocking doors
If he keeps this up might have to move him to the Organised Crime thread.
:flag::flag:
McHibby
We'll still win. We always do when I start the match update thread.
Love it 🤣 👍🤞
Well done porteous. Booking was worth it!
Penalty all day long, 44 was very stupid after being spoken to by the ref a few secs earlier.
Pen blootered into the net as usual by Boyle, that's how to take a pen kick.
What a reaction though.
Top notch Hibs.
18-09-2021, 03:20 PM
What a turnaround this half. Brilliant stuff.
Love it [emoji1787] [emoji106][emoji1696]Have some faith.
Who ever said Allan should leave hibs is foolish
Should never ever be letting a player of that class leave the club.
Love Allan
Well done Squirrel. This is more like it. Why not start the game with the same drive and intensity?
Fair play to Scotty. Genuinely thought he was no longer an asset for us on the pitch but he’s ripping it up today.
Wonder what Jack Ross half time team talk was like?
[emoji848][emoji848][emoji848]
Credit Jack Ross for the change :aok: this is superb, look at the league table.
18-09-2021, 03:22 PM
Credit Jack Ross for the change :aok: this is superb, look at the league table..
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210918/698031de00613995396d2a6b3fea435d.jpg
Wonder what Jack Ross half time team talk was like?
[emoji848][emoji848][emoji848]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk"Right boys, I'm going to send Scott Allan on"
Sorted.
Brilliant start to 2nd half the change has made a huge difference
Brophy volley just over
Elaborate please.
Emphasis on the word 'decent'
Seeing as you’ve lost your voice a bit, he’s a player who has come from a respectable club and has top flight Scottish experience.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210918/698031de00613995396d2a6b3fea435d.jpg
Lovely.
Bring on the ‘big games’ :greengrin
18-09-2021, 03:23 PM
We’re still in a game here.
They’re not a bad side.
We’re still in a game here.
They’re not a bad side.Correct.
We're not very reassuring at the back.
18-09-2021, 03:24 PM
Brophy hits the bar
Superb [emoji122].
Let’s get another Hibs!
18-09-2021, 03:24 PM
Got out of jail there.
18-09-2021, 03:25 PM
sparryheids equalise in dingwall
18-09-2021, 03:25 PM
play up hibees
hibees play up
18-09-2021, 03:26 PM
Credit Jack Ross for the change :aok: this is superb, look at the league table.
I will peek at full time
18-09-2021, 03:26 PM
sparryheids equalise in dingwallIrrelevant irrelevances.
18-09-2021, 03:27 PM
my nail biting has started already 23 mins remaining
johncrobertson@
Stephen Bradley scores for Ayr United
Matty doing a seamless transition from Longbangers to HIBS TV
Nisbet unlucky there, well picked out by Allan.
The midfield has a lot of talent in it, JDH doing his bit at the back, Magennis with his energy and attacking threat, Newell with his calmness and skil and Allan with his ability and vision to create.
18-09-2021, 03:28 PM
we need to hold on to this scott allan dude
18-09-2021, 03:28 PM
Nisbet unlucky there, well picked out by Allan.Got a shot away on target too but not a shot on target. [emoji6]
We're playing some really nice football here, the intricate passing around the 18 yd box is a joy at times, I'd be a lot happier with another goal though.
Cmon Hibs let’s do this!
18-09-2021, 03:30 PM
Got a shot away on target too but not a shot on target. [emoji6]
Sad.
18-09-2021, 03:30 PM
That was an example of why we need to adapt how we play when Allan is on
He doesnt have the legs to cover back the way
Tricky one for the manager if Allan starts outputting going forward like previous years
18-09-2021, 03:31 PM
Sad.Joke (with smilie). Lighten up.
18-09-2021, 03:31 PM
Joke. Lighten up.
You'd start a fight in an empty hoose mate.
18-09-2021, 03:32 PM
You'd start a fight in an empty hoose mate.Did I call YOU sad?
You'd start a fight in an empty hoose mate.
JXM73
18-09-2021, 03:33 PM
Back to **** again, only going one way..
18-09-2021, 03:34 PM
Got a shot away on target too but not a shot on target. [emoji6]
I just keep thinking of all those snipers in WWI who couldn't get a shot on target and instead kept hitting people's hip flasks in their breast pockets. :greengrin
18-09-2021, 03:35 PM
Turned its a decent open game this half
St mirren are no where near as bad as there league position suggests
Back to **** again, only going one way..
They've changed shape and went more attacking.
18-09-2021, 03:35 PM
I just keep thinking of all those snipers in WWI who couldn't get a shot on target and instead kept hitting people's hip flasks in their breast pockets. :greengrin
Got one of those games on the PlayStation, keep getting the button to engage your binoculars mixed up with the “fire gun” button.
I’m not cut out for a career in anything stealthy.
Turned its a decent open game this half
St mirren are no where near as bad as there league position suggests
That what concerns me. I think we need another as they will inevitably get at least 1 more chance
18-09-2021, 03:37 PM
Brophy just wide with a shot
Gogic coming on
18-09-2021, 03:37 PM
Seeing as you’ve lost your voice a bit, he’s a player who has come from a respectable club and has top flight Scottish experience.
Lost my voice?
Im at the game watching my team play.
18-09-2021, 03:38 PM
Goa coming on
I'd be tempted to take Allan off....
Twitchy bum time
Gogic coming on for JDH who was ill recently.
18-09-2021, 03:39 PM
Gogic on for JDH
Saints fans don't like JDH eh :greengrin
JXM73
Lost my voice?
Im at the game watching my team play.
But yet you spend time on here, sad...
18-09-2021, 03:40 PM
Gogic on for JDHThink JDH has one of his poorer games
Don't know if his illness is still affecting him bit looked 1/2 yard short
18-09-2021, 03:40 PM
ho ho aberdeen :wink:
18-09-2021, 03:41 PM
6 mins +
Cmon Hibs let’s see this out!
18-09-2021, 03:42 PM
Nisbet with another shot deflected off target :duck:
JXM73
ho ho aberdeen :wink:
Someone better watch willie miller.... door **** might implode
Cmon Hibs let’s see this out!
Cmon Hibs let’s get a third
Indeed Ronnie!
18-09-2021, 03:44 PM
clancy pointing to his watch for us timewasting for that corner
Didn’t realise that clown was the ref! He’s not been controversial so far but still time!
Someone better watch willie miller.... door **** might implode
St Johnstone started last season with no wins in first 10 games I think
But will Aberdeen board be as patient
As much as Hibs social media stuff has improved, I'm not convinced by the images.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210918/90893b90a7dcc3c818ab53ba670469be.jpg
Ffs
Well that’s been coming
2-2
18-09-2021, 03:45 PM
2-2 knew it :agree:
**** off hibs
**** off
Really poor play
Macey couldn't make his mind up there.
Give McGinn MOTM and he immediately lays the red carpet out for a cross into the box.
Another goal conceded from an easy cross into the box. We need to sort that or it will keep costing us.
Classic Hibs.............
There we go.
****ing *****. See the ****ing game out.
Still time but ****ing poor
18-09-2021, 03:46 PM
absolutely dreadful defending yet again, just dreadful
josh doig not watching
Ffs
Typical
Draw probably fair if I’m honest
Another cross from the right, another goal lost. Horrendous stuff
Doig sleeping again
Josh Doig has alot to learn
Baws!
CL0762
yet another cross into the box and yet another goal conceded from said cross into the box. Keeper should be coming for that all day long.
Ffs
No wonder nobody bought Doig, shocking defending by him.
Game management still needs a lot of work
18-09-2021, 03:47 PM
Piss poor defending again
Antonyopus
There’s no time face the facts absolutely typical
Another ****ing cross, Ross has to get this sorted, Macey rooted to the spot again and Doig showing his naivety.
Give McGinn MOTM and he immediately lays the red carpet out for a cross into the box.
A other goal conceded from an easy cross into the box. We need to sort that or it will keep costing us.
Macey looked like he was going to come and claim it then stays rooted to his line instead. Want him claiming those
18-09-2021, 03:48 PM
Another ****ing cross, Ross has to get this sorted, Macey rooted to the spot again and Doig showing his naivety.
I genuinely don't think I've seen him come for a cross. The amount we concede from them is shocking.
Still time for us to win
Allan shot deflected off the post.
Allan shot deflected off the post
18-09-2021, 03:49 PM
yet another cross into the box and yet another goal conceded from said cross into the box. Keeper should be coming for that all day long.
it's the only criticism i have of him, he's 8ft tall that's his area
JHC that's so hibs.....
I genuinely don't think I've seen him come for a cross. The amount we concede from them is shocking.
For a six foot seven keeper he should be claiming everything
18-09-2021, 03:50 PM
Another 2 points dropped, similar to the dundee game.
Not sure our start to the season looks as good as it did.
Antonyopus
Another 2 points dropped
should have been a winner for st mirren
He’s too wee to be defending crosses. Keeper is a giant and should be commanding his box
Free kick, last chance Hibs
If you want top 4 you have to be winning these games at home
No excuses
Disappointed we couldn’t see this out. Chance to open a wee gap!
Dearie me.
18-09-2021, 03:51 PM
Not good enough Hibs, poor result.
Hmm. And this isn't one of the big games...
Wasted 2-2 ft
back to dropping points at home against sides in the bottom half
18-09-2021, 03:52 PM
Hanlon still down.
18-09-2021, 03:52 PM
Disappointed we couldn’t see this out. Chance to open a wee gap!
Back to not managing to win at home against bottom six side
Poor result. 3 draws where should have turn them into win. Annoying.
18-09-2021, 03:53 PM
That's a pathetic free kick in the circumstances. Why can't we try something different instead of just wellying it?
I wouldn't mind if we had Ronaldo available.
Easier games coming up ….
Disappointing but still unbeaten and at the top of the league.
We'll have to do better though.
Said it as soon as st mirren were on top after we scored the pen that I couldn’t see us holding out. Just typical hibs at ER
Need to be winning these games. Frustrating
Doig has a lot to learn & that's why no one was willing to pay £5 million.
Antonyopus
It’s so disappointing but so typical
He’s too wee to be defending crosses. Keeper is a giant and should be commanding his boxHe's not small but not really aggresive but he needs to be affecting the attacker. He gives them a free run time after time. His defending from crosses is abysmal
Get rid of Ross he doesn’t know what he is doing. He is out of his depth .. we can’t even with the so called wee games
Zambernardi1875
Can’t moan guys were still top of the league, that’s how it works on here right? Still learnt nothing from crosses but hey that’s nobody’s fault
Seems like we are always likely to drop points by conceding late goals. We never seem to be able to put teams under the same kind of pressure when we need a late goal. So frustrating.
18-09-2021, 03:54 PM
Other results save it from being a total disaster. Should be doing a lot better though.
hhibs
typical weak knee Hibs.
But yet you spend time on here, sad...
Firstly. My original post was during HT
Secondly. My post above was when Gogic was coming on so nothing was happening.
Thirdly. Your post was completely pointless 🤡
Doig has a lot to learn & that's why no one was willing to pay £5 million.
I don't think he's started the season well in comparison to what he's capable of and showed last season. Needs to toughen up defensively as that's a couple of back post goals we've conceded on his side.
2 points dropped. Poor performance over the piece and yet again not defending crosses. Disappointing.
Lack of punch up front. Vulnerable at the back. It's not good.
We should be looking to replace Hanlon. Maybe this Wood guy might be OK.
Poor from Doig as well and zero pressure on the crosser from the right, as per
18-09-2021, 03:55 PM
Get rid of Ross he doesn’t know what he is doing. He is out of his depth .. we can’t even with the so called wee games
Sniff sniff
Disappointed. Another 2 dropped against a bottom 3 side. We're a good team, but lacking that little bit.
Won't be raging about the defence like many others will.. Midfield and forwards put them under pressure all day. Full backs left 2v1 all day.
Seems like we are always likely to drop points by conceding late goals. We never seem to be able to put teams under the same kind of pressure when we need a late goal. So frustrating.We hit the post right after they scored [emoji23]
Two points dropped. Disappointing.
Greenio
Righto
Great response in the 2nd half undone by the same crap we've been struggling with all season. Crap attempt at defending the cross from both McGinn and Doig. Macey should arguably be coming for it also.
If that was Gogic he’d be getting crucified.
Funny thing us fans, isn’t it?
Other results save it from being a total disaster. Should be doing a lot better though.
That’s my worry Ross will churn out saying shows you how tight and tough each game is
Fact is we want top four results like this will not meet targets set by Gordon
18-09-2021, 03:56 PM
Lack of punch up front. Vulnerable at the back. It's not good.
We should be looking to replace Hanlon. Maybe this Wood guy might be OK.Lol, replace hanlon
He's not small but not really aggresive but he needs to be affecting the attacker. He gives them a free run time after time. His defending from crosses is abysmal
Yes I meant lightweight. Lewis is shorter but puts more pressure on.
Still missing a dominating keeper though
ozwoody
18-09-2021, 03:57 PM
Very poor performance. Good to see SA back injecting some urgency, but pedestrian otherwise.
Allez Hibs
18-09-2021, 03:57 PM
Terrible result today. Two points dropped,should be smashing these teams if we are as good as everyone males out.
No wonder Mathie is gone. Nisbet can't play on his own up front and no options on the bench.
18-09-2021, 03:58 PM
Lol, replace hanlon
Hanlons not a captain.
I'm about the only one who's said anything about Doig's shocker today. Not as good as we think the is, never with £5m thats for sure.
That’s my worry Ross will churn out saying shows you how tight and tough each game is
Fact is we want top four results like this will not meet targets set by Gordon
We haven’t been out the top four for absolutely ages so not sure, in the grand scheme of things, it’ll mess us up that much. Need to become more ruthless though. Saw the same against Dundee.
Poor 1st half, better start to the 2nd but ultimately 2 pieces of bad defending has let us down. Ross needs to get our defending sorted or we're going to drop a lot of points this season, maybe time to give Doig a wee break as he's making the same mistakes most weeks.
Poor performamce today. The screens are decent though. Looked great.
18-09-2021, 04:00 PM
It’s Scott Allan’s man.
Doig is not very good at defending the back post. Let's leave it at that....
I thought we were poor for the majority today. We had a wee spell at the start of the first and second half but apart from that it was mostly St Mirren. Lost count of how many late goals we’re conceded at home.
18-09-2021, 04:01 PM
Lol, replace hanlon
Maybe Wood will stiffen up our defence?
Bridge hibs
I'm about the only one who's said anything about Doig's shocker today. Not as good as we think the is, never with £5m thats for sure.Oh here he is, mr doom and gloom 🤣
timewilltell
hanlons not a captain.
this!
It’s Scott Allan’s man.
He’s not picking anyone else up though. It’s in his area of the box and he has to deal with it.
18-09-2021, 04:02 PM
Poor 1st half, better start to the 2nd but ultimately 2 pieces of bad defending has let us down. Ross needs to get our defending sorted or we're going to drop a lot of points this season, maybe time to give Doig a wee break as he's making the same mistakes most weeks.
Thats not Ross' fault two/three players not doing the basics.
Looking at the team and bench we had available today, TBH Ross is performing miracles.
it's so disappointing Macey either will simply not use that height to full effect, or told not to
but young doig was so poor there
I thought we were poor for the majority today. We had a wee spell at the start of the first and second half but apart from that it was mostly St Mirren. Lost count of how many late goals we’re conceded at home.
This is how I see it, we looked good for a spell got the two goals plus the offside one then went back to being poor again.
18-09-2021, 04:03 PM
Thought we got deserved today. If you can’t be bothered to even make an effort to stop a cross (McGinn) you’re going to lose goals.
18-09-2021, 04:04 PM
This is how I see it, we looked good for a spell got the two goals plus the offside one then went back to being poor again.
Thought game management was seriously poor from us. Got ourselves in the lead and dropped back & invited pressure on ourselves. The ball seemed like a hot tattie at times as well, players just trying to get rid of it asap
ozwoody
We haven’t been out the top four for absolutely ages so not sure, in the grand scheme of things, it’ll mess us up that much. Need to become more ruthless though. Saw the same against Dundee.
In this league this season,we should be aiming for 3rd at best, top 4 should be worst case scenario
hhibs
[QUOTE=Not In The Know;6697366]Doig is not very good at defending the back post. Let's leave it at that....[/Q
WE are just incapable of seeing games out when put under pressure,the whole team just bottles it.
Fact is we want top four results like this will not meet targets set by GordonProbably will though if we calculate our points total so far after 6 games over a season
Every team drops silly points (us, Aberdeen and hearts today alone)
Makes it more annoying as we had a chance to capitalise
Given our injuries our points total so far is good
18-09-2021, 04:05 PM
St Mirren played well, deserved their point. Getting increasingly peed off at McGinn allowing crosses into the box so often, he’s been really poor defensively. Doig has to be more switched on too. Shows how light we are in numbers (of quality players) when you see that bench today.
Just a really poor performance all round.
18-09-2021, 04:06 PM
Probably will though if we calculate our points total so far after 6 games over a season
Aye injuries have hampered us but still feel we should have enough to beat dundee and st.mirren, especially when you’re ahead in both.
Scott Allan is a baller.
Top of the league !!!!
JXM73
Amazing what can happen having striking options on the bench, they did got a result we didnt...hanging on at home? Terrible
18-09-2021, 04:07 PM
I think St Mirren are a half decent team and they gave us a good game. Point was probably fair but we need to find another dimension to our play when we get tough games like this.
Thought we got deserved today. If you can’t be bothered to even make an effort to stop a cross (McGinn) you’re going to lose goals.
Just seconds after getting announced MOTM who I thought today was Porto.
Thats not Ross' fault two/three players not doing the basics.
Looking at the team and bench we had available today, TBH Ross is performing miracles.
It is Ross's fault, he coaches them and picks the team, the same mistakes are being made most weeks, you stop making these mistakes on the training pitch.
hhibs
Thought game management was seriously poor from us. Got ourselves in the lead and dropped back & invited pressure on ourselves. The ball seemed like a hot tattie at times as well, players just trying to get rid of it asap
Yet again !
H18S NX
I think everybody could see that their equaliser was coming,we keep saying we have to stop the crosses coming in,but unfortnately we never do,it is so frustrating.
18-09-2021, 04:08 PM
Hanlons not a captain.
Our 2 CH were very good today. Both leaders.
Bangkok Hibby
18-09-2021, 04:09 PM
Oh here he is, mr doom and gloom 🤣
Don't you think he has a point. If Doig doesn't up his game soon we'll get no offers, far less 5 million.
Scott Allan is a baller.
Brilliant forward. Rubbish going back.
aw nawwwwwwwwwww freakin St Johnstone up next........even at home i'm not confident, or should i say especially at home :(
Probably will though if we calculate our points total so far after 6 games over a season
Think it’s a poor return the with who we’ve played and the way it’s unfolded. The two late goals, which were very similar, against Dundee and today make what could have been a really good start just a decent start for me.
[QUOTE=Callum_62;6697343]We hit the post right after they scored [emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Your response comes over as a bit unnecessarily arsey. Disagree if you want but my perspective is we are pretty bad at seeing out narrow wins and not great at picking up points via late goals.
18-09-2021, 04:10 PM
St Mirren deserved at point but we need to be looking at the times that they have scored and what we should be doing as a team at those times. Going in at zero zero at half time and not losing an equaliser at the death.
Allez Hibs
18-09-2021, 04:10 PM
aw nawwwwwwwwwww freakin St Johnstone up next........even at home i'm not confident, or should i say especially at home :(
Yep, when was last league win v St Johnstone at home?
18-09-2021, 04:11 PM
We had plenty of chances but just couldn't or could only hit the target depending on your personal definition and if Boyle just let the ball roll into the net then we'd have had all 3 points today.
Allez Hibs
18-09-2021, 04:12 PM
St Mirren deserved at point but we need to looking at the times that they have scored and what we should be doing as a team at those times. Going in at zero zero at half time and not losing an equaliser at the death.
And yet Jack Ross is saying how good we are mentally through the week.
Boyle also poor today.
18-09-2021, 04:12 PM
well it feels like the 1970's
18-09-2021, 04:13 PM
We had started well at home so far aswell with 2 wins and 2 clean sheets in games which if I'm not mistaken we played well and controlled the ball so hopefully today was a blip.
18-09-2021, 04:13 PM
it's so disappointing Macey either will simply not use that height to full effect, or told not to
but young doig was so poor there
I suggested in the Matt Macey thread a while back that there was something not right when it came to him and crosses and today doesn't make me change my mind one bit. The guy struggles to come for anything and as a result we're rolling the dice on our players being perfect defensively from crosses every time. It doesn't work, you're going to concede from one eventually if your keeper can't cut some of them out.
That doesn't absolve McGinn (standing watching him cross) and Doig (being beaten at the back post) of any blame by the way.
Bridge hibs
18-09-2021, 04:14 PM
Don't you think he has a point. If Doig doesn't up his game soon we'll get no offers, far less 5 million.No, a mistake reduces his value ? All of a sudden Doig ****s up and his value diminishes !! Top class defenders make mistakes week in week out, ffs , why should we devalue one of our players when they **** up !! Lets encourage our players !!
[QUOTE=Callum_62;6697343]We hit the post right after they scored [emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Your response comes over as a bit unnecessarily arsey. Disagree if you want but my perspective is we are pretty bad at seeing out narrow wins and not great at picking up points via late goals.Lol.
We obviously put them under pressure when we hit the post
CL0762
18-09-2021, 04:15 PM
Probably the last time you had anything positive to say.
18-09-2021, 04:16 PM
Didn't deserve any more than a point today.. whole team was poor bar a 20 min spell after half time...and days like today when Nisbet is so poor show it was a shocker not signing another striker...no matter how poor he plays Nisbet knows he stays on pitch. One positive is not to lose when having a clear off day like today
CL0762
18-09-2021, 04:16 PM
We had started well at home so far aswell with 2 wins and 2 clean sheets in games which if I'm not mistaken we played well and controlled the ball so hopefully today was a blip.
Today is not a blip. We are conceding the same soft goals over and over again. Crosses into the box. The keeper is either rooted to his line despite being a ******ing giant or the full backs are switching off/letting the ball into the box.
It’s not good enough.
18-09-2021, 04:17 PM
We were pretty poor for the first 45 mins. You rarely win if you play badly for that length of time.
We uploaded the speed of play for the 1st part of 2nd half and no - coincidence we got the goals.
But lack of subs or options to hold the ball / dictate the game meant the equaliser was coming.
They had better chances and it’s another game like Dundee where lack of a striker who can hold the ball and a proper left winger meant we were holding on.
Annoying and so predictable especially with Aberdeen and Hearts dropping points.
Would love to see the stats for late goals conceded at ER over the years as feels it’s very regular.
Bangkok Hibby
18-09-2021, 04:18 PM
I suggested in the Matt Macey thread a while back that there was something not right when it came to him and crosses and today doesn't make me change my mind one bit. The guy struggles to come for anything and as a result we're rolling the dice on our players being perfect defensively from crosses every time. It doesn't work, you're going to concede from one eventually if your keeper can't cut some of them out.
That doesn't absolve McGinn (standing watching him cross) and Doig (being beaten at the back post) of any blame by the way.
Hard to read posts like this when virtually the whole of Hibs.net absolved Marciano of any blame when he stubbornly refused to come for crosses. The accepted opinion was that crosses should be dealt with by the defenders. If that was indeed the case then lets afford Macey the same thoughts.
18-09-2021, 04:18 PM
Rocky was hardly one who came for crosses in his time with us, for some reason the balls are getting into the box again this season, is it the change of system or not using the 3 centre backs as much as we have done last season?
18-09-2021, 04:19 PM
Hard to read posts like this when virtually the whole of Hibs.net absolved Marciano of any blame when he stubbornly refused to come for crosses. The accepted opinion was that crosses should be dealt with by the defenders. If that was indeed the case then lets afford Macey the same thoughts.
Aye though Rocky wasn't the World's Tallest Man though 😁
hhibs
18-09-2021, 04:20 PM
Hmm,you make an interesting point,,it is niggling at the back of my head too.
yerauldda
18-09-2021, 04:21 PM
Doig needs a spell out of the team
18-09-2021, 04:22 PM
What makes you say that?
18-09-2021, 04:24 PM
Doig was good today. Goal zero to do with him. Left with 2 men due to Scott letting his man go. Clear as day. Watch it again.
18-09-2021, 04:24 PM
Rocky was hardly one who came for crosses in his time with us, for some reason the balls are getting into the box again this season, is it the change of system or not using the 3 centre backs as much as we have done last season?
I think Keepers should try and come for crosses personally. I agree that Rocky could be quite shy at coming for them but he got away with it last season because our defence wasn't conceding headers from crosses with him in goal. This year we're conceding almost exclusively the same type of goal every time and Macey needs to take some of the responsibility by coming for more crosses than he currently is. While the defenders also need to buck up their ideas and deal with them better when he doesn't. It's not rocket science and I think it's a fair criticism.
18-09-2021, 04:26 PM
Doig was good today. Goal zero to do with him. Left with 2 men due to Scott letting his man go. Clear as day. Watch it again.
He wasn’t good though. Nobody can walk of the pitch thinking they were good. Poor performance all round except a 15-20 minute spell.
He's here!
18-09-2021, 04:27 PM
Didn't deserve any more than a point today.. whole team was poor bar a 20 min spell after half time...and days like today when Nisbet is so poor show it was a shocker not signing another striker...no matter how poor he plays Nisbet knows he stays on pitch. One positive is not to lose when having a clear off day like today
True, although really frustrating not to be able to hold on to a hard-fought lead. Why the fear factor? It reminded me of a latter-day Heckingbottom display.
Perhaps not all that surprising that there's a drop-off in intensity following a derby, but I've never really understood why footballers can look so flat when more often not they're only playing once a week. It's not like a golfer, tennis player etc who is often trying to hit their top form for a number of days in succession and you can understand why they might fade.
Probably the last time you had anything positive to say.
Any need for the personal digs, lets try and keep it to football matters eh? just trolling.
18-09-2021, 04:30 PM
I think Keepers should try and come for crosses personally. I agree that Rocky could be quite shy at coming for them but he got away with it last season because our defence wasn't conceding headers from crosses with him in goal. This year we're conceding almost exclusively the same type of goal every time and Macey needs to take some of the responsibility by coming for more crosses than he currently is. While the defenders also need to buck up their ideas and deal with them better when he doesn't. It's not rocket science and I think it's a fair criticism.
Our fullbacks are there to stop the crosses coming in, with any wide midfielders giving them support in blocking / closing down the opportunity to get the crosses in. We aren't doing that as well.
The second line of defence is the centre backs getting their head to the ball.
The third is then the keeper.
It's a bit of a collective all round issue here in the defensive unit that needs more work. I do wonder if the change to 4 at the back from the 5 which we played a lot more last season is part of the issue and the wide players ahead of the fullbacks now are effectively wingers / wide forwards and playing further up the pitch?
Would all be fine if we were outscoring the opposition of course 😁
yerauldda
18-09-2021, 04:30 PM
What makes you say that?
Just think he’s had a poor start to the season. He seemed to respond well whenever we brought Stevenson in for him last season.
18-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Just think he’s had a poor start to the season. He seemed to respond well whenever we brought Stevenson in for him last season.
Fair enough 👍
18-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Any need for the personal digs, lets try and keep it to football matters eh? just trolling.
Are you for real. Let’s keep it positive eh.
18-09-2021, 04:32 PM
Pretty much how I seen it.
Poor first half, much better first 15-20 mins of the second half then back to being poor again.
3 draws in the last 4 and our good start is in danger of becoming decidedly average if we don’t do well out of the difficult run we have coming up. If we don’t manage to beat a couple of Aberdeen, Rangers, St Johnstone or Celtic then we could see ourselves sitting mid table after the first round of fixtures. That would be pretty poor going so let’s hope we can win at least one of them.