View Full Version : Austria v Scotland matchday thread

07-09-2021, 10:25 AM
After collecting 3 points on Saturday we play a pivotal match in our WC qualifying group tonight against a rival for 2nd place.
The way I see it sharing the points against your rivals in the group is break even.
Accordingly our previous draw at home against Austria leaves us needing to at least draw tonight to break even.
A draw would see us in decent shape especially if we could then beat Israel next time out given our draw with them away.

IMO Austria look a better team than us with almost all players drawn from the Bundesliga. Watching them they seem to score goals a lot more easily than Scotland but importantly they also seem to lose goals messing around at the back. In losing on Saturday they typically scored a great goal and lost a couple of rotten ones.

Losing Patterson, Fraser and McLean doesn't seem a massive deal. McLean is just back from injury and doesn't look up to speed. Patterson is far better at attacking than defending hence his inclusion against a weak team on Saturday. Fraser is probably the biggest loss given his unique abilities along with the already missing Forrest so our playing style options and change ups will be more limited.

Of the already missing, Scotland and Rangers both miss the unspectacular but effective Ryan Jack badly. Would love to see him playing next to Gilmour.
Could also have done with the height and ability of McTominay as well but he has had a small op for an injury that has seen him having to play in pain so can't blame him for getting it sorted out.

What of tonight, good to hear that the big guy who scored 2 goals against us at Hampden is missing. We really struggled to stop him. They also have 54 cap 27 year old midfield Bayern Munich player Sabitzer missing which has to help but there is still the concern that a rocket will have been put under their players after Saturdays heavy defeat in Israel and we could suffer as a result.

Our own issue continues to be an inability to score goals and although the introduction of Adams was a good improvement on the strikers we had he is still not the deadly guy we crave. No wingers available won't help. At the other end of the pitch right wing back remains an issue as does the centre half who plays next to Hanley.

All things considered i can't see us getting the draw we need.

Team:
Gordon
Hendry Hanley Tierney
O'Donnell Gilmour McGregor Robertson
McGinn Dykes
Adams

Subs: 2 goalkeepers plus, Nisbet, Christie, Ferguson, Cooper, Gallagher, P. McGinn, McKenna

Sadly leaves us all left sided attack again and very few middle to front subs
Would be tempted to put in Ferguson instead of Dykes to give us an extra man and more dig in midfield

Stanton Spence
07-09-2021, 10:38 AM
I was a bit shocked when I heard Israel turned them over 5 2 in the last game and I'm not sure how Austria will react to that defeat. They have Sabitzar out tonight who as you said tore us apart at times in the game at hampden and a couple of other players missing who I can't recall and there manager is under pressure from the media in Austria so they have there troubles also.
In saying that I just can't see us scoring more than a goal against any half decent side and I'm not confident of us getting anything

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Key West
07-09-2021, 10:42 AM
After collecting 3 points on Saturday we play a pivotal match in our WC qualifying group tonight against a rival for 2nd place.
The way I see it sharing the points against your rivals in the group is break even.
Accordingly our previous draw at home against Austria leaves us needing to at least draw tonight to break even.
A draw would see us in decent shape especially if we could then beat Israel next time out given our draw with them away.

IMO Austria look a better team than us with almost all players drawn from the Bundesliga. Watching them they seem to score goals a lot more easily than Scotland but importantly they also seem to lose goals messing around at the back. In losing on Saturday they typically scored a great goal and lost a couple of rotten ones.

Losing Patterson, Fraser and McLean doesn't seem a massive deal. McLean is just back from injury and doesn't look up to speed. Patterson is far better at attacking than defending hence his inclusion against a weak team on Saturday was a good move. Fraser is probably the biggest loss given his unique abilities along with the already missing Forrest so our playing style options and change ups will be more limited.
Of the already missing, Scotland and Rangers both miss the unspectacular but effective Ryan Jack badly. Would love to see him playing next to Gilmour.
Could also have done with the height and ability of McTominay as well but he has had a small op for an injury that has seen him having to play in pain so can't blame him for getting it sorted out.

What of tonight, good to hear that the big guy who scored 2 goals against us at Hampden is missing. We really struggled to stop him. They also have a Bayern Munich player missing which has to help but there is still the concern that a rocket will have been put under their players after Saturdays heavy defeat in Israel and we could suffer.
Our own issue continues to be an inability to score and although the introduction of Adams was a good improvement on what we had he is still not the deadly guy we crave. At the other end of the pitch right wing back remains an issue as does the centre half who plays next to Hanley.

Team:
Gordon
Hendry Hanley Tierney
McGinn Dykes
Adams

Sadly leaves us all left sided attack again

A strange period for Scotland individually at the back and in the middle they look half decent but collectively it is a problem, even at domestic level they don’t seem to have a player with a decent scoring rate, Nisbet had some good moments and could possibly have had a couple of assists against Moldova, it has to be Dykes and Adams as you say for the game tonight, none of them fill you with hope but there’s nobody else, I also agree that we have limited width and Fraser would have started if fit.
I think a narrow defeat is on the cards but I hope I’m wrong, a draw would be a decent result.

07-09-2021, 10:54 AM
I was a bit shocked when I heard Israel turned them over 5 2 in the last game and I'm not sure how Austria will react to that defeat. They have Sabitzar out tonight who as you said tore us apart at times in the game at hampden and a couple of other players missing who I can't recall and there manager is under pressure from the media in Austria so they have there troubles also.
In saying that I just can't see us scoring more than a goal against any half decent side and I'm not confident of us getting anything

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Sabitzar, couldn't remember his name. Good player.
Everything feels so out of kilter and covid influenced still for Scotland.
We still miss a talismanic player who can drag us through.
McGinn is probably the nearest we have character wise but he doesn't quite have the talisman ability to go with it.

Re Israel win on Saturday. Unlike Scotland they have strikers that score and Austria helped with some hellish slack defending which presented a few of the goals to their opponents. Where is the Scottish Lewandowski? Would make such a difference.

07-09-2021, 11:20 AM
Both McGinn brothers to score in a 2-1 victory

1875Sean
07-09-2021, 11:22 AM
Think we should be going for the win, they just got hammered and are missing a few players, hopefully Clark is more positive thing game but I won’t hold my breath

1875Sean
07-09-2021, 11:25 AM

Losing Patterson, Fraser and McLean doesn't seem a massive deal. McLean is just back from injury and doesn't look up to speed. Patterson is far better at attacking than defending hence his inclusion against a weak team on Saturday. Fraser is probably the biggest loss given his unique abilities along with the already missing Forrest so our playing style options and change ups will be more limited.

What of tonight, good to hear that the big guy who scored 2 goals against us at Hampden is missing. We really struggled to stop him. They also have 54 cap 27 year old midfield Bayern Munich player Sabitzer missing which has to help but there is still the concern that a rocket will have been put under their players after Saturdays heavy defeat in Israel and we could suffer as a result.

Our own issue continues to be an inability to score goals and although the introduction of Adams was a good improvement on the strikers we had he is still not the deadly guy we crave. No wingers available won't help. At the other end of the pitch right wing back remains an issue as does the centre half who plays next to Hanley.

Team:
Gordon
Hendry Hanley Tierney
McGinn Dykes
Adams

Subs: 2 goalkeepers plus, Nisbet, Christie, Ferguson, Cooper, Gallagher, P. McGinn, McKenna

Sadly leaves us all left sided attack again and very few middle to front subs
Would be tempted to put in Ferguson instead of Dykes to give us an extra man and more dig in midfield

Sure O’Donnell is out McGinn is the only right back on the squad

07-09-2021, 11:44 AM
Think we should be going for the win, they just got hammered and are missing a few players, hopefully Clark is more positive thing game but I won’t hold my breath

That would be great if we hadn't lost a load of players.
Losing Fraser is bad the more I look at the lack of width available so i think it will be a fight tonight.
Hope we keep Hanley on the pitch and Hendry doesn't get found out if he plays.
Maybe Marko Arnautovic to lose the plot and get sent off would help big time.
What a goal he scored against Israel on Saturday. World class it was.

07-09-2021, 11:46 AM

Id like to hope we go with a positive attitude to win the game, but its a rare thing away from home, Serbia game only one I can think of where we started out with anything other than an 'avoid defeat' mindset.

07-09-2021, 11:48 AM
Expect nothing but the usual from Steve Clarke’s Scotland team. Hard work but no end product. Results not the best and a loss tonight would lose him a few fans

1875Sean
07-09-2021, 11:50 AM
Id like to hope we go with a positive attitude to win the game, but its a rare thing away from home, Serbia game only one I can think of where we started out with anything other than an 'avoid defeat' mindset.

Yeah I have concerns, even if we finish second then it’s playoffs involving other second places teams and nation league winners, cant also hope to win on penalties

at last 61
07-09-2021, 11:54 AM
They have players missing,we have players missing,so. should be an even game but I reckon the players that they are missing are better than ours,I hope Clarke boy is ill and we have someone else to get some passion out of our players,unlike grandpa broon

07-09-2021, 11:56 AM
I expect nothing tonight. We're missing too many players and are seriously lacking in quality - we'll also probably have another instance of Clarke trying to play his favourites in a frankly bonkers system that will no doubt cost us goals.

I'll be watching and cheering for a Scotland win, but I imagine I'll be frustrated after about 10 minutes whilst we huff and puff to no avail!

St Pauli Hibee
07-09-2021, 01:05 PM
I expect quite a tight game, Austria are missing a few players particularly Sabitzer & Grillitsch are big losses

If Scotland can keep Arnautovic & Baumgartner quiet they have a good chance of getting a result

07-09-2021, 01:42 PM
I expect quite a tight game, Austria are missing a few players particularly Sabitzer & Grillitsch are big losses

If Scotland can keep Arnautovic & Baumgartner quiet they have a good chance of getting a result

Baumgartner at 22 has played only 62 league games surely we can stop him :wink:
Is he a big time player of the future?
What are his strengths.

Arnautovic scored a wonder goal on Saturday and his performance depends on his mood on any given day.
Hopefully the Austrian manager has pissed him off and he is stewing over it.
Hard guy to stop when he is on it though.

07-09-2021, 01:57 PM
It sounds funny after he led us to our first finals in so long but I just don't fancy Scotland under Clarke - and this is exactly the sort of game where we underperform.

He's tentative and negative and it makes for Scotland being a difficult watch, even when they win.

There are some really weak positions in the team - down the right and up front - and I struggle to see how we fix those problems. Patterson is a good shout for RWB when available but if he's not around then we just don't have anyone of sufficient quality to play as a wing back (although I'm sure O'Donnell or McGinn would do fine at RB). Given the centre backs are pretty limited from a ball playing point of view and we've got to somehow accommodate both Tierney and Robertson I just don't see how we put a decent team out tonight.

It's a shame, as Scotland now seem to be developing more and more good players all the time, but we could really do with finding a solution down the right, in goal, up front, and finding some sort of gameplan that gets the best out of our best players.

It's a narrow Austria win for me.

TBH I pretty much gave up on the World Cup after the poor nations league showing then the poor performances and results in March. It feels like there must be something wrong that we're back in the running after only an unconvincing win over Moldova and an improved second half during a comprehensive defeat by Denmark. I'm certainly not optimistic about tonight though.

Can't wait for Hibs to return tbh. And I was a Scotland supporters club member until only a couple of years or so ago.

1875Sean
07-09-2021, 03:36 PM
Under 21s game is on at 5.30 on bbc Scotland, didn’t know it was televised, Doig starting

He's here!
07-09-2021, 04:00 PM
I'm afraid I'm just not that bothered. In the unlikely event that we manage to snatch a play-off spot the prospect of a mid-season World Cup in Qatar does nothing for me.

Like some others on here, I've become increasingly apathetic towards international football the older I've got and probably see it more as an irritating way for Hibs players to pick up injuries.

07-09-2021, 04:09 PM
I'm afraid I'm just not that bothered. In the unlikely event that we manage to snatch a play-off spot the prospect of a mid-season World Cup in Qatar does nothing for me.

Like some others on here, I've become increasingly apathetic towards international football the older I've got and probably see it more as an irritating way for Hibs players to pick up injuries.

The last 3 "prizes" for qualifying have been pretty crap - WC in Russia, the Euros held all over the place (which ended up being pretty badly affected by Covid) and then Qatar in the winter.

I'm still in touch with the folk I used to go to Scotland games with. Some still go, some take kids, some have drifted away. We're probably going to have the odd "football tourism" trip over the next few years but we've earmarked the Euros in Germany as being something we'd love to get to. It will be the first "proper tournament" in ages and will probably be amazing.

one day maybe...
07-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Both McGinn brothers to score in a 2-1 victory

Hope you've at least put a fiver on that now :greengrin

Wakeyhibee
07-09-2021, 04:32 PM
Had tickets for the Moldova game and ended up watching it in the boozer instead. Tbh I'm glad I did now.

If Scotland go with the "must not lose" attitude then I fear we will get pumped 3-0.
. We have very good players but mainly in midfield and if we arent gonna be more attack minded then I cant see us scoring on the odd chance or break.

I really hope I'm wrong and was keen on Clarke at the start and like the way he tries to take the pressure off the players in interviews, but his tactics dont fit the talents we do have and expose our weaknesses.

one day maybe...
07-09-2021, 04:34 PM
Under 21s game is on at 5.30 on bbc Scotland, didn’t know it was televised, Doig starting

and James Scott

07-09-2021, 04:58 PM

Aye we know.

07-09-2021, 05:01 PM
Would start the majority of the same team we played against England tonight and go for it.

07-09-2021, 05:06 PM
that was a good move and goal(middleton) for the U21's 0-1 Scotland

yellow for Doig 37 mins

3rd scottish booking, one for turkey

H18S NX
07-09-2021, 05:06 PM
Cannot see anything other than Austria winning,3-1 Austria.

LunasBoots
07-09-2021, 05:10 PM
Felt the press conference that was given with comments like we must not lose was pretty poor, id rather a bit more positivity like 'We are going there to win', Mon Scotland.

07-09-2021, 05:16 PM
middleton too greedy could have cut it back for a couple waiting on it

07-09-2021, 05:19 PM
I would like to see Clarke be more adventurous instead of sitting in for a point, unfortunately not a great depth of attacking options for us.

07-09-2021, 05:19 PM
Gordon
O'Donnell
Robertson
Gilmour
Hanley
Tierney
McGinn
McGregor
Dykes
Adams
Hendry

07-09-2021, 05:28 PM
Cannot see anything other than Austria winning,3-1 Austria.

I don’t watch Scotland these days but would be surprised if they scored three

Wakeyhibee
07-09-2021, 05:33 PM
Gordon
O'Donnell
Robertson
Gilmour
Hanley
Tierney
McGinn
McGregor
Dykes
Adams
Hendry

Good to see he's going with 2 strikers. We might not be good enough in the end but at least that's more positive a set up.

07-09-2021, 05:36 PM
Delighted Nisbet isn't starting. Need him fresh.

07-09-2021, 05:37 PM
Gordon
O'Donnell
Robertson
Gilmour
Hanley
Tierney
McGinn
McGregor
Dykes
Adams
Hendry

Is that the team who played England only with Gordon in goal?

We might just get the 0-0 that the gaffer craves then.

07-09-2021, 05:37 PM
Is that the team who played England only with Gordon in goal?

We might just get the 0-0 that the gaffer craves then.

Same team with Gordon and Hendry in for Marshall and McTominay.

Magpie
07-09-2021, 05:39 PM
Lose tonight and it’s all over imo.

07-09-2021, 06:02 PM
Mackay on 72 mins

07-09-2021, 06:03 PM
Lose tonight and it’s all over imo.

i think so - and you don’t need to be a genius to guess the headlines tomorrow.

07-09-2021, 06:08 PM
Just for fun - to kill time…

name 3 pop songs with linked to Vienna…

07-09-2021, 06:10 PM

Ultravox

norwayhibs
07-09-2021, 06:13 PM

1. Vienna - Ultravox.
2. Vienna calling . Falco.
3. 🤔

supershotmo
07-09-2021, 06:14 PM
Was the Arsenal player Patrick Vienna Austrian.

07-09-2021, 06:15 PM

Rock me Amadeus :greengrin

1. Vienna - Ultravox.
3. 🤔

Billy Joel did a song called Vienna👍

1. Vienna - Ultravox.
3. 🤔

Does Billy Joel count as pop?

07-09-2021, 06:27 PM
Billy Joel did a song called Vienna��

Great effort folks thought Falcao (the singer) might have stumped a few..

RingGo Starr also did “Goodnight Vienna” but I googled that.

07-09-2021, 06:31 PM

fair point.

07-09-2021, 06:32 PM
Stevie Clarke is so depressing

07-09-2021, 06:34 PM

What about The Vienna Boys Choir? Not their fans tonight but the real choir:greengrin

07-09-2021, 06:40 PM
mon Sconnie Botland :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

07-09-2021, 06:44 PM
That Austrian track suit top is a howler.

07-09-2021, 06:45 PM
VAR in situ

07-09-2021, 06:45 PM
The Austrian goalie, Bachmann played at Killie a few years ago

07-09-2021, 06:46 PM
The car is back

07-09-2021, 06:52 PM
If we could get out our own box that'd be great.

07-09-2021, 06:53 PM
The Austrian goalie, Bachmann played at Killie a few years agoWas his no. 2 called Robin?

07-09-2021, 06:55 PM
Was his no. 2 called Robin?No, it was Turner.

07-09-2021, 06:56 PM
Great cross from SJM.

07-09-2021, 06:56 PM
andy walker would like to see us go in front first for a change

Scotland 1 Moldova 0 andy

07-09-2021, 06:57 PM
It’s been a really open game so far.

Was his no. 2 called Robin?

😂😂

No, it was Turner.
Your humour is in overdrive....

07-09-2021, 06:58 PM
It’s been a really open game so far.Scotland a bit shoogly at the back.

bringbackbenny
07-09-2021, 06:58 PM
Your humour is in overdrive....

Nah, you ain't seen nothing yet

07-09-2021, 07:00 PM
The car is backThe Bachmobile. Please.

07-09-2021, 07:00 PM
Scotland a bit shoogly at the back.
Same with Austria, it should make for an exciting game. I’m away to back the 0-0 draw. :greengrin

07-09-2021, 07:03 PM
The problem with 2 big guys up top is the continual lumps up the park from the defenders, only to give the ball away and invite pressure on.

07-09-2021, 07:04 PM
i'm knackered just watching this game

07-09-2021, 07:06 PM
Dykes should be booked there

Dykes with his second warning, he's determined to miss the next game

Hopefully

07-09-2021, 07:08 PM
Did Livi get £2m for Dykes?

This is more like it, we’re getting stuck in and having a right go.

Hopefully the ref cares enough about Scotland to help us out then.....

07-09-2021, 07:09 PM
awk away tae **** referee adams gets a yellow for faf all

Very soft booking.

ODonnel last balls are absolutely horrendous

Just_Jimmy
07-09-2021, 07:10 PM
Did Livi get £2m for Dykes?Aye, using that scale we're getting £400m for Nisbet.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Just_Jimmy
ODonnel last balls are absolutely horrendousEverything good breaks down with him cos his final ball is awful.

Gilmour splits Austria with a great pass only for Stephen O'Donnell to take about 450 minutes to play the next one and inevitably ****s it up :rolleyes:

07-09-2021, 07:11 PM
4 passes from half way back to Gordon, 4 passes to half way line and then 4 passes back, then punt and lose possession.

O'Donnell can't pass a ball to save himself, gets into great positions then he gives it away, every time.

07-09-2021, 07:11 PM
Did Livi get £2m for Dykes?

Boris Bawbag has drawn attention to that fact and said “****ing hell, at least our deals not THAT bad…

07-09-2021, 07:12 PM
McGinn makes the right decision in that position by the way.

4 passes from half way back to Gordon, 4 passes to half way line and then 4 passes back, then punt and lose possession.

O'Donnell can't pass a ball to save himself, gets into great positions then he gives it away, every time.

Who else can we play, we even slate our own player, McGinn

the austrian lucky that's only a yellow

Aye, using that scale we're getting £400m for Nisbet.

I can see he's a bit of a battering ram who will chase the ball like a jack russell, but he is a terrible footballer who struggles with basic ball control.

O’Donnell’s really poor

07-09-2021, 07:13 PM
Thought Mcginn could’ve hit that sooner

Just_Jimmy
07-09-2021, 07:14 PM
That's a penalty

Penalty check, this is exciting.

Is it my eyes or has John lost a wee bit of pace? Looks like he's bulked up slightly too much. Could be talking ***** right enough.

07-09-2021, 07:15 PM
potential penalty check by VAR

ref looking at it :)

Penalty :hyper

Wow penalty Scotland

Who else can we play, we even slate our own player, McGinn

Paul McGinn's not that bad but he's better than O'Donnell, pity Cadden has been injured as he's a nap to play wingback if and when fit and up to speed.

penalty escotia :greengrin

07-09-2021, 07:16 PM
Must be a red card

Yaaaaaaas. Love the VAR.

Yes Scotland!

Yasssss

the boys already been booked

anyhoo 1-0 Scotland :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag

07-09-2021, 07:17 PM
**** penalty but take it

**** me. Hope springs eternal eh?

VAR need to remind the referee he should be giving a red card

07-09-2021, 07:18 PM
That's the first time we've ever been given one of those!

high bee
Get in.

Should be off for that.

Why wasn’t that a second yellow?

Andy walker must be drunk. Adamant no pen, then adamant sending off cos boy never went for ball. Mans an imbecile

Keeper way off his line when penalty was taken, if he missed that is was getting retaken.

Keeper did well to get out the way but who cares

Denmark 2 Israel 0

07-09-2021, 07:20 PM
Andy walker must be drunk. Adamant no pen, then adamant sending off cos boy never went for ball. Mans an imbecile

To be fair what he is saying is if the referee deems it a foul and a penalty then it should also be a booking.

Good lord, Scotland winning and Dykes with the goal. What a day, might ask the wife for a s**g if this keeps up....

Okay we'll win this, beat Israel, then lose to either Moldova or the Faroes, and go into the Denmark game needing a win to make the playoffs. We'll concede a last minute equaliser.

07-09-2021, 07:21 PM
:faf::faf: Your bang on he's a grade 1 bell end

07-09-2021, 07:21 PM
To be fair what he is saying is if the referee deems it a foul and a penalty then it should also be a booking.

Very true, but he's still an imbecile.

07-09-2021, 07:22 PM
Okay we'll win this, beat Israel, then lose to either Moldova or the Faroes, and go into the Denmark game needing a win to make the playoffs. We'll concede a last minute equaliser.

Had a look on Ladbrokes and that is odds on so not worth a bet

07-09-2021, 07:23 PM
Austria have never lost successive home games in WC qualifiers

07-09-2021, 07:25 PM
:faf::faf: Your bang on he's a grade 1 bell end

If I paid for Sky I would have the sound down to avoid him..but I don't have Sky..which makes it a most cost effective way of avoiding Andy Walkers b77llox

07-09-2021, 07:26 PM
Was McGinn just call offside at a throw in there

Wakeyhibee
07-09-2021, 07:26 PM
Much better from Scotland when we give it a go.

07-09-2021, 07:28 PM
3-0 Denmark

07-09-2021, 07:29 PM
jeezo that was a poor penalty btw :greengrin

07-09-2021, 07:30 PM
Andy walker must be drunk. Adamant no pen, then adamant sending off cos boy never went for ball. Mans an imbecileHe's at it again!

07-09-2021, 07:30 PM
Crocker is a brutal commentator

07-09-2021, 07:32 PM

heyyy he's part of our cup winning memories :grr:

07-09-2021, 07:32 PM
We could still go on and lose this game, but some of the signs here are very good. Our midfield are giving us more play in the oppositions half against a decent side than we normally do.

Our defence looks solid if unspectacular, it's up front we are short of real quality but we are an improving team.

It's breaking down the minnows that i worry about, although we do have a couple of players who'd probably start out.

07-09-2021, 07:33 PM
Crocker is a brutal commentator[emoji33] Blasphemy!

07-09-2021, 07:34 PM
The Ballad of John and Yoko.:cb

07-09-2021, 07:34 PM
lol the desperation for a penalty there

07-09-2021, 07:35 PM
jeezo that was a poor penalty btw :greengrin

As much a penalty as the one we got was.

Thats a penalty every day of the week. :greengrin

As much a penalty as the one we got was.Not quite.

Not quite.

Stonewaller

AugustaHibs
Get O’Donnell off please.

07-09-2021, 07:36 PM
As much a penalty as the one we got was.

VAR didn't even ask the referee to look at it, the referee was still laughing at the austrians wanting a penalty

07-09-2021, 07:37 PM
Can a VAR review be done in the second half for something that happened in the first?

07-09-2021, 07:39 PM
Terrific from Scotland first 45. Front 2 working well. Austrians are pretty ordinary and getting physical.

Magpie
Can a VAR review be done in the second half for something that happened in the first?

Souter96Mac
Good first half Scotland, this would be a massive win. Cmon!

07-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Stonewaller
Austrian put arm into SoD face, if anything it was a foul to Scotland.

Never a pen in a million years.

07-09-2021, 07:40 PM
I quite enjoyed that.

Uncomfortable first 10 when we defended very deep and seemed keen to knock away every cross that came into our box, but it improved from there.

Far from vintage, and we often run out of ideas going forward but the defence has stood strong so far, defending very well in places.

Hopefully we get a foot on the ball and get a wee bit of possession further forward and I fear we might be pushed back very deep.

Been good though.

07-09-2021, 07:44 PM

How dare you.

07-09-2021, 07:46 PM
When we started playing like Scotland we looked decent. Chasing, bumping, barging and doing it with your mates backing you up. When Dykes and Adams chased down their boy and roughed him up I was smiling as that can upset good teams. We also have a wee bit quality now so look more like a Scotland team of old. Clarke just needs to let them play and at the very least we will go down swinging

07-09-2021, 07:47 PM
How dare you.

I want Henderson to get a cap purely so he can say those words at a corner

,,,,,,What kept you Hibs,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Ours was a stonewaller, their claim was as ridiculous as lederhosen :cb

07-09-2021, 07:49 PM

No, not yet, but give it a wee while and it will happen with Sevco in their favour.

07-09-2021, 07:50 PM
Where are Denmark in the world rankings? They must be one of the most inform teams in world football along with England.

07-09-2021, 07:52 PM
No, not yet, but give it a wee while and it will happen with Sevco in their favour.

On review Andy Halliday did win the Cup and we've had our win expunged!

Enjoying the Scotland game tonight been a decent watch. Arsenal are struggling this season though arent they?:wink:

07-09-2021, 07:53 PM
Ian Crocker needs to shut up.

07-09-2021, 07:54 PM
Where are Denmark in the world rankings? They must be one of the most inform teams in world football along with England.

Denmark are 11th, England are 4th. Belgium are number 1

07-09-2021, 07:56 PM
Denmark are 11th, England are 4th. Belgium are number 1

Thanks. If I had to play one of those three I’d pick Belgium to be honest.

07-09-2021, 07:59 PM
Surely that is a booking if Adams one was

07-09-2021, 07:59 PM
The guy just shoulder charged Gilmour's head, do they not use VAR for that? Clear yellow.

07-09-2021, 08:00 PM
Arnautovic is a bit of a dick isn’t he

07-09-2021, 08:01 PM
I would have said it was a red. Clear and deliberate shoulder into Gilmours face. Very Reckless and dangerous.

07-09-2021, 08:02 PM

He is but he can play abit and can be pretty dangerous.

arnautovic is a complete dick isn’t he

ftfy....

Artnautovic is a terrible ****

07-09-2021, 08:06 PM

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-9692353/Marko-Arnautovic-long-history-shocking-moments.html

Apparently having friends in just about every country means you can't be racist.

07-09-2021, 08:06 PM
That booking was bull****

07-09-2021, 08:08 PM
We've not got enough McGinns on the park.

07-09-2021, 08:11 PM
Billy gilmour is like a polished veteran. We’re so lucky to have him.

07-09-2021, 08:13 PM
We cannot keep defending so deep.

The dalmeny
07-09-2021, 08:14 PM
Gordon’s footwork gives me the fear.

Why didn't ge take it in a bit closer before pulling the trigger?

A shot on target!

O'donnell could have taken that on further ;(

We cannot keep defending so deep.

I think we look dangerous on the counter, if we can find that final pass

Just_Jimmy
07-09-2021, 08:15 PM
Why didn't ge take it in a bit closer before pulling the trigger?Didn't have the legs I don't think

07-09-2021, 08:15 PM
Billy gilmour is like a polished veteran. We’re so lucky to have him.

And Grant Hanley often ridiculed in the past has matured into a very decent centre half.

07-09-2021, 08:16 PM
Didn't have the legs I don't think

Think you're probably right.

SJNB Hibby
07-09-2021, 08:16 PM
Faeroes are leading Moldova 2-0!!

07-09-2021, 08:18 PM
Striker off. Midfielder on.

07-09-2021, 08:18 PM

Steve Clarke sub

07-09-2021, 08:21 PM
This game has been nothing lile I expected. I expected a cagey affair with both teams more afraid of losing than really going for the win. It's been so open though and there is so much space.

Scotland are doing well and if we hold out it's a brilliant 3 points.

I dont mind that sub, we need legs up top for me, and Christie will run the channels with Adams better than Nisbet will in my opinion.

Steve Clarke sub
BBC saying that Dykes hobbled off......

07-09-2021, 08:22 PM
Have they been told to sit back?

I dont mind that sub, we need legs up top for me, and Christie will run the channels with Adams better than Nisbet will in my opinion.

Agreed. A good sub.

Of course if we concede a sloppy goal after missing a chance that Nisbet would have scored I reserve the right to totally change my opinion.....

Paul McGinn coming on

07-09-2021, 08:23 PM
Go on Paul

Mcginiesta coming on

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Good luck Paul.

SPM to score the 2nd

we've got McGinns
super two McGinns

07-09-2021, 08:24 PM
Super Paul McGinn making an entrance. The kid Austria have just brought is an outstanding prospect, Demir.

Great moment for McGinn. Would be some night to win a 1st cap.

Big save Gordon

Agreed. A good sub.

Of course if we concede a sloppy goal after missing a chance that Nisbet would have scored I reserve the right to totally change my opinion.....

07-09-2021, 08:25 PM
Point blank save.

Some save from Gordon there

Brilliant moment for Paul.

Some save from Gordon there

It was. A hell of a save

John Mcginn is just a fabulous midfielder

07-09-2021, 08:26 PM
Craig Gordon still comes up with big saves regularly. Great keeper.

07-09-2021, 08:26 PM
if only Adams had passed for Christie there

07-09-2021, 08:27 PM

Niz was called to come on but was away for a Tom kite.

We looked the most energetic team before Clarke brought Christie on and handed them the initiative.

if only Adams had passed for Christie thereYeah he had a split second to feed him in there

Unlucky there by Adams.

Paul McGinn vs David Alaba

Some debut

07-09-2021, 08:28 PM
Easy save, was right at him. 😀

07-09-2021, 08:28 PM
Niz was called to come on but was away for a Tom kite.

I thought i heard that shout.

07-09-2021, 08:29 PM
I would’ve saved that an aw

07-09-2021, 08:29 PM
7+ mins

07-09-2021, 08:30 PM
I thought i heard that shout.

Saving himself for Sunday. ..... you stay where you are Nizzy.:wink:

07-09-2021, 08:30 PM
Out of curiosity, I thought away fans were not allowed yet there's Scottish fans in the stadium.

07-09-2021, 08:31 PM
Craig Gordon still comes up with big saves regularly. Great keeper.

Lets hope u fluffs his saves on sunday!

Kevin 'daeing a *****' Nisbet and Lewis Ferguson coming on

Nizzy to put the game to bed.

Hard to pick a MOTM tonight. Some brilliant performances

07-09-2021, 08:32 PM
Nisbet will come on and get the 2nd goal

Hard not to pick Gilmour IMO

Just oozes class

Paul McGinn ???

if we win this clarke should get an extension to his recently signed extension

When was the last time two current hibs players were on the park for Scotland at the same time?

Surely John Mcginn on the corner to shield the ball for the next 6 minutes

07-09-2021, 08:34 PM

Thought Che Adams ran himslef into the ground, he really worked hard as has the entire team to be fair. Paul McGinn has been faultless.

Nisbet must be nearing his 50th cap shirly

DIXIHIBS
Poor wee jambos on kickback beside themselves about mcginn coming on:thumbsup:. Now nisbet as well:greengrin

07-09-2021, 08:35 PM
Dont understand why he'd take Gilmour off, he's just so calm?

When was the last time two current hibs players were on the park for Scotland at the same time?

How many Hearts players are on the park? Must be a few after the greatest transfer window in history

Hard not to pick Gilmour IMO

Just oozes class
Played well but Adams, Tierney, Hanley all very good. McGinn and McGregor as well

07-09-2021, 08:36 PM
30 secs+

07-09-2021, 08:36 PM
How many Hearts players are on the park? Must be a few after the greatest transfer window in history

They've got a few been called up for the six nations to be fair.

Just_Jimmy
07-09-2021, 08:37 PM
Wheres 4 mins from?

What was the booking for?

Delete all your accounts.

seriously, checking that offside lol

07-09-2021, 08:38 PM
Were Hanlon and SJM on the park at the same vs the Czech Republic?

07-09-2021, 08:38 PM
Never a free kick.

07-09-2021, 08:40 PM
5-0 Denmark

Yaaaaaaaas

Get ****ing in there

woohoooooo :thumbsup:

Lendo
Massive result, massive.

07-09-2021, 08:41 PM
Magnificent performance.

Well deserved.

Faroes beat Moldova 2-1

What a result and performance

MartinfaePorty
07-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Brilliant result!

Very gutsy performance.

Well done Scotland, well deserved imo and a proper Scottish performance full of baws and spit

Great result and performance. Well done Scotland.

Never a dull moment following Scotland lol.....

Forever_Green93
Great result!!!! Well done Scotland!

Probaby lose next game. Austria are in disarray and shame we couldnt score apart from a penalty

07-09-2021, 08:43 PM
Fantastic result and performance tonight. Well done Scotland :thumbsup: