View Full Version : Austria v Scotland matchday thread

Pages : 1 [2]

07-09-2021, 08:43 PM
Probaby lose next game. Austria are in disarray and shame we couldnt score apart from a penalty

🤯🤯🤯

Well done fellas, happy for you, good game I enjoyed that. Full of heart and endeavour.

Ireland grab a very late equaliser against Serbia (own goal)

Superb result and performance tonight. I wish we’d have a go like that in every game.

Probaby lose next game. Austria are in disarray and shame we couldnt score apart from a penalty

Away and bile yer heid. :rolleyes:

What an effort that was! Superb.

So many great performances but I thought the midfield was unbelievable.

McGregor was getting questioned on here in the Euros but wow he was quality tonight. SJM was his usual class. Gilmore mature beyond his years.

Just_Jimmy
The result is superb but the performance, away from home was excellent. Better side front to back. Excellent response to huge pressure and never looked in danger.

Adams ran all night
Mcginn superb
Hanley excellent
Robbo outstanding
Tierney phenomenal
Gilmour... what a talent.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Oh **** off

07-09-2021, 08:44 PM
Crocker - "à good night in Vienna" [emoji1]

Brilliant, 3 Hibs players on for U21’s and 2 on for the senior team.

That was a very decent performance, get in! 😁

Mind you don't run out of lemons tae sook oan.......

I PICKED THE WRONG SCOTLAND MATCH TO STOP DRINKING :partyhibb:clapper::woohoo::nanasplit::banana:

That's the spirit.

Excellent

07-09-2021, 08:45 PM
some Austrian fans not taking defeat very well

though it is the first time they've lost two successive games at home in WC qualifiers, diddums :na na:

07-09-2021, 08:46 PM
Hard not to pick Gilmour IMO

Just oozes class

SJM surely?

Brilliant, 3 Hibs players on for U21’s and 2 on for the senior team.

:flag::thumbsup::flag::thumbsup:

Got to be doing something right.

Green Reaper

Jeez, Debbie downer or what!

though it is the first time they've lost two successive games at home in WC qualifiers, diddums :na na:

Wish the coverage had stayed as Alaba was walking over to them

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Gilmour and Hanlon for MOTM.

07-09-2021, 08:47 PM

Yip, i just saw Hans93 in the crowd.

Great win for us that. Puts you back in a decent position.

Were Hanlon and SJM on the park at the same vs the Czech Republic?

Nope, stevenson and McGeoch v Peru.

07-09-2021, 08:48 PM
Probaby lose next game. Austria are in disarray and shame we couldnt score apart from a penalty. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210907/fc046aad80f45b5eb3f3f2f493d247df.jpg

That's the spirit.

Scotland winning, and two Hibbies on the field. That'll do just perfectly thank you very much.

Yes yes yes yes. Brilliant result. Defended well however McGregor best player on the pitch imo. Huge opportunity for play offs now. Israel game will be rocking.

07-09-2021, 08:49 PM
Crocker - "à good night in Vienna" [emoji1]

I would like to apologise for telling him to shut up earlier. :greengrin

Paul will be delighted with that!

John McGinn taking the piss out the defender at the end turned me on slightly.

07-09-2021, 08:50 PM

just caught him climbing the ad boards why was he going to the fans instead of just staying on the pitch with the rest of the players?

Hanlon might be a bit surprised to hear that.......

Yes yes yes yes. Brilliant result. Defended well however McGregor best player on the pitch imo. Huge opportunity for play offs now. Israel game will be rocking.
McGregor was my man of the match too but there were a lot of fantastic performances to pick from.

07-09-2021, 08:51 PM
Paul mcginn motm

Brighside's not. :greengrin

😘

Arnautovic was having a proper argument with the fans for a fair while

pollution
I feel very proud. Well done boys !!

Thought our energy levels were unbelievable tonight all over the pitch and that's as good as game as I've seen Tierney and Robertson combining for Scotland and bringing their best game to the national team.

Great position to finish 2nd now :aok:

:faf::faf::faf:

Best I can remember McGregor in a Scotland strip. Lucky if he gave the ball away twice.

Well done Scotland, well deserved imo and a proper Scottish performance full of baws and spit

were you watching the fitba or p0rnhub?

Silversand
07-09-2021, 08:52 PM
Great result & gives us a great chance of a playoff spot.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

07-09-2021, 08:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJeWySiuq1I

Happy clapper.

😂😂

Hope he was giving them hell

07-09-2021, 08:57 PM
😂😂

Hope he was giving them hell

Safe to say his cat has got wind of the result and has left home.

07-09-2021, 08:57 PM
After the 1st game the knives were out, and I had a right go myself.

6 points from 9 out of those fixtures is a decent return though and we have given ourselves a chance of grabbing that 2nd spot. Still a big ask but we are alive after 2 tough games.

07-09-2021, 08:59 PM

I wanted to see how that panned out as well.

07-09-2021, 08:59 PM

He was good but Billy Gilmour is the star of the show IMO. He can do everything. Wonderful player.

07-09-2021, 09:01 PM
Arnautovic was having a proper argument with the fans for a fair while

Debating whether the moon landings were fake, probably.
The mans a colossal prick, end of story.

07-09-2021, 09:01 PM
You can clearly see a team taking shape under Clarke, we have some decent players but are short of real quality up front.

If we had a Gareth Bale or someone like him who could score a goal himself out of nothing, we'd be much better as we'd have a goalscoring threat.

And tonight showed us how much easier it is to play through teams when we are a goal ahead, rather than having to force the game and leave us open.

Where is the next Dennis Law coming from?

07-09-2021, 09:03 PM
You can clearly see a team taking shape under Clarke, we have some decent players but are short of real quality up front.

If we had a Gareth Bale or someone like him who could score a goal himself out of nothing, we'd be much better as we'd have a goalscoring threat.

And tonight showed us how much easier it is to play through teams when we are a goal ahead, rather than having to force the game and leave us open.

Right back please. That’s the priority but agree with the rest of your post.

07-09-2021, 09:04 PM
Safe to say his cat has got wind of the result and has left home.

Just as well he’d be right through windae

07-09-2021, 09:05 PM

I think Stephen O'Donnel has done well in the last few games, in fact against England he was superb and again tonight i thought he was very good until he went off.

07-09-2021, 09:07 PM
I think Stephen O'Donnel has done well in the last few games, in fact against England he was superb and again tonight i thought he was very good until he went off.He is definately overly criticised

07-09-2021, 09:08 PM
Heading for a sell out for the Israel game.

07-09-2021, 09:10 PM
Absolutely brilliant result. Totally deserved.

07-09-2021, 09:10 PM
Heading for a sell out for the Israel game.

Absolutely certain to be a sell out. Loads of tickets already sold

5pm on a Saturday also.

Wakeyhibee
07-09-2021, 09:11 PM

Long wait, was thinking the same, spfl generally dont play homegrown talent and it shows. Besides that we played football for a change and was a far better watch away from home against much better opposition.

Souter96Mac
07-09-2021, 09:12 PM
Great, great result tonight. Puts us in the driving seat. It's a blow to not have Hanley for the Israel game. What a player he's become for the country.

07-09-2021, 09:13 PM
so, who steps in for Hanley against Israel

07-09-2021, 09:14 PM
Absolutely certain to be a sell out. Loads of tickets already sold

5pm on a Saturday also.

Glad I got all the tickets for all the remaining home games at the end of July when they went on sale. :aok:

07-09-2021, 09:15 PM
Absolutely delighted. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210907/217a66beb987bd046e5da9f51b8e8f30.jpg

07-09-2021, 09:19 PM

I thought some were maybe jumping the gun with praise and expectations of Nathan Patterson, some likely still are, but he could well be very useful for us in that position. Thought he was decent on Saturday, with some raw parts to his game that will improve quickly with experience.

Glad I got all the tickets for all the remaining home games at the end of July when they went on sale. :aok:

I'm looking for tickets and the site is too busy to access, over an hour wait. Has Leeann done teh ticketing deal for the SFA. Steve Bull scored at the last Scotland game I attended!

Cooper. Or McTominay if fit. Shouldn't be a problem.

07-09-2021, 09:20 PM
I'm looking for tickets and the site is too busy to access. Steve Bull scored at the last Scotland game I attended!

Glory hunter 😁

07-09-2021, 09:21 PM
That's the spirit.

Well Israel put 5 past them. Israel will be a tougher test. History tells u that Scotland can play well one game then p*sh the next. Just look at the euros.
Listening to the radio you would think we have qualified for the world cup

07-09-2021, 09:22 PM
Cooper. Or McTominay if fit. Shouldn't be a problem.

i shouldn't have but i forgot about Liam Cooper

07-09-2021, 09:22 PM
Glory hunter 😁 Absolutely, this team deserve some support though. Not convinced by Clarke but we have some right good players who work hard and there are signs we may be on an upward path.

07-09-2021, 09:25 PM
Well Israel put 5 past them. Israel will be a tougher test. History tells u that Scotland can play well one game then p*sh the next. Just look at the euros.

When did we last beat a higher ranked team away? Why can't we enjoy the victory instead of bricking it about a home game v Israel?

07-09-2021, 09:27 PM
I think Stephen O'Donnel has done well in the last few games, in fact against England he was superb and again tonight i thought he was very good until he went off.

Decent in defence, poor with the ball, I disagree that he was very good but it’s not a big deal, delighted for all of them :aok:

McSwanky
07-09-2021, 09:28 PM
Listening to the radio you would think we have qualified for the world cupWe won tonight! Who knows, maybe we'll win again v Israel! Keep smiling!

07-09-2021, 09:31 PM
Well Israel put 5 past them.

That’s no how football works.

07-09-2021, 09:32 PM
That’s no how football works.Not once you're above primary school age.

hibby rae
07-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Decent in defence, poor with the ball, I disagree that he was very good but it’s not a big deal, delighted for all of them :aok:

He is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma.

hibby rae
07-09-2021, 09:35 PM
https://twitter.com/jmcginn7/status/1435355039644663811?s=19

07-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Excellent!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210907/52fcbe9c16fcd07ead2d0c88bafc8238.jpg

07-09-2021, 09:43 PM
https://twitter.com/jmcginn7/status/1435355039644663811?s=19

What a brilliant photo that is. :thumbsup:

07-09-2021, 09:44 PM
Lots of tickets just appeared for Israel gane

07-09-2021, 09:45 PM
FIFA to ask member FA's whether to have the WC every two years ? no thanks

FIFA 'open to everything' including World Cup every two years (besoccer.com) (https://www.besoccer.com/new/fifa-open-to-everything-including-world-cup-every-two-years-995475)

07-09-2021, 09:45 PM

Hanlon.

Stanton Spence
07-09-2021, 09:46 PM
Ha can't believe that was my last Scotland game also my second last was the one before when Beardsley scored at Wembley. No wonder I wondered what the fuss was about the fixture. Although the action on the terraces at Wembley 88 was lively for a 16yr old laddie [emoji3]

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

07-09-2021, 09:49 PM

Glad I got my dad his ticket at half time tonight. Trying to get him a Denmark ticket now. :aok:

07-09-2021, 09:58 PM

And I thought all the strange people that enjoy their own country’s poor results just stayed quiet when we get a decent one.

07-09-2021, 09:59 PM

Just purchased 2. Site saying an hour wait, but got in after 18 minutes.

07-09-2021, 10:13 PM

I waited 35 minutes to get through the queue and managed to get 3. Crap seats but good value at 20 quid especially when I'm taking both kids who are over 16. They have both been to Scotland games at Hampden before but they were bounce games. They will hopefully experience something like I remember for the late 70s and early 80s when I went to nearly every home game. Quite nice to be properly engaged with the National side again.

07-09-2021, 10:24 PM
Watching the highlights back, that referee had a real howler of a game.

07-09-2021, 10:24 PM

Using that logic. Denmark beat Israel 5-0, they only beat us 2-0 therefore we should beat Israel comfortably.

07-09-2021, 10:34 PM
Watching the highlights back, that referee had a real howler of a game.

I haven’t read all the posts here, but were we not really fortunate not to be penalised for O’Donnell’s (I think) foul in penalty box, which escaped VAR scrutiny? I thought it was a stonewaller but happy to get away with it.

07-09-2021, 10:48 PM
Israel game sold out.

Brummie_Hibs
07-09-2021, 10:49 PM
Nope, stevenson and McGeoch v Peru.
Would it not have been the Mexico game with McGeouch starting, then SJM coming on as sub.

Cadden also came on in that game.

07-09-2021, 11:00 PM
Would it not have been the Mexico game with McGeouch starting, then SJM coming on as sub.

Cadden also came on in that game.

We played Peru in may and Mexico in June.

07-09-2021, 11:07 PM
Israel game sold out.
Fantastic news, the place will be bouncing.

Excellent all round team performance tonight to a man :saltireflag

08-09-2021, 05:55 AM
Reading the early post on this thread, I have to say that it saddens me to read such apathy towards Scotland. It feels like some want Scotland to do badly.

As someone who grew up watching the teams of the 70's and 80's competing at the World Cup, with some great players, I've always been and will always remain a loyal Scotland supporter. I really do believe that we're starting to move in the right direction. We've got some very good players now playing in the English Premiership. We've got a manager, who knows how to build effective teams. Put the two together and we're starting to see results. Come on Scotland. Prove the doubters wrong.

08-09-2021, 05:59 AM
Two things I picked up last night.

Hanley is immense. Head and shoulders above any other centre half Scotland have and he'll be a big miss against Israel.

Gilmour (which is pronounced Gil-mur rather than Gil-more which a lot of folk say) is in unbelievable talent. He could genuinely go on to become one of the best midfielders in the world.

08-09-2021, 06:11 AM
Reading the early post on this thread, I have to say that it saddens me to read such apathy towards Scotland. It feels like some want Scotland to do badly.

As someone who grew up watching the teams of the 70's and 80's competing at the World Cup, with some great players, I've always been and will always remain a loyal Scotland supporter. I really do believe that we're starting to move in the right direction. We've got some very good players now playing in the English Premiership. We've got a manager, who knows how to build effective teams. Put the two together and we're starting to see results. Come on Scotland. Prove the doubters wrong.

Younger fans don't have the success of the 70/80s to draw on, most have suffered 23 years of abject disappointment, so little wonder a large number are apathetic or sceptical. Saying that, things do feel different with these players and this manager. They're not following the normal script and the reason why Israel is a sell out. Exciting times for Scotland :flag:

Bangkok Hibby
08-09-2021, 06:17 AM

I'm one of the apathetic ex Scotland international side supporters. Every bit as passionate as any during the (almost) glory years when qualification for big tournaments was an exciting, edge of your seat time. Many years of disappointing performances have blunted my enthusiasm so badly I now don't even watch the games if they're on the telly. Mind you having said that I dont watch much football unless its Hibs, so maybe not so much to do with Scotland as football in general. I'm far more passionate about my local team than my country of birth. Cannae help it, that's just the way it is and I think many are like minded nowadays.

08-09-2021, 06:26 AM

It’s not apathy. We have the best squad we’ve had in years and Steve Clarke is really boring.

08-09-2021, 07:00 AM
We rode our luck a bit at times last night but overall it was a very good team performance. Thought Tierney, McGinn, Gilmour, McGregor and Adams were particularly impressive.

08-09-2021, 07:06 AM
Is that what they are saying, do we not have to play the rest of the games?

08-09-2021, 07:07 AM
Kris Boyd was actually spot on last night when he said we get far too up or down after every Scotland game. It's either brilliant or terrible. Last night was good but we really need more goals from open play. Hendry really looks to be coming on as a defender and if Hanley can stay fit he'll be very important for us.

08-09-2021, 07:28 AM
Kris Boyd was actually spot on last night when he said we get far too up or down after every Scotland game. It's either brilliant or terrible. Last night was good but we really need more goals from open play. Hendry really looks to be coming on as a defender and if Hanley can stay fit he'll be very important for us.

Hanley and Hendry seen a good partnership. If they both stay fit I can see them being our go to centre halfs for the next few years.

08-09-2021, 07:31 AM

Hendry is a much better player than he gets credit for :agree:

08-09-2021, 07:33 AM
Good result last night, still have little confidence we can score from open play, we lack a real quality attacking midfielder and a natural goalscorer (maybe Nisbet but still untried at this level). We still huff and puff in games and sit back too much which invites teams onto us, certain plyers still not doing the basics right like passing, O'Donnell was one good example, the win gives us a wee chance to grab 2nd spot.

08-09-2021, 07:37 AM
Hendry is a much better player than he gets credit for :agree:

A prime example of another player heading to Celtic stalling their career and realising everything isn’t always rosey apart from your bank balance once you head to the uglies.

Would have loved hibs to have went in for him when he was getting punted a year or two back now.

fairafarhib
08-09-2021, 07:47 AM
Using that logic. Denmark beat Israel 5-0, they only beat us 2-0 therefore we should beat Israel comfortably.

We should be wary of the Faroes, they put two past Moldova, we only managed one.

08-09-2021, 07:55 AM
Over the moon with our result. Reay in our hands now. Took the mind off Sunday until today. 4 more sleeps in the Philippines.

Sioux
08-09-2021, 08:57 AM
Good result last night, still have little confidence we can score from open play, we lack a real quality attacking midfielder and a natural goalscorer (maybe Nisbet but still untried at this level). We still huff and puff in games and sit back too much which invites teams onto us, certain plyers still not doing the basics right like passing, O'Donnell was one good example, the win gives us a wee chance to grab 2nd spot.

Do we really? Or could it be that the opposition are simply going through a spell of good possession which forces us back. First half hour against Denmark for example. There are of course times when a team will deliberately sit back, but last night Scotland got forward a good number of times, and sitting back was not a major feature of their game plan.

In short you can be forced to defend deep, or you can set yourself up to do that. Folks can't tell the difference sometimes.

08-09-2021, 09:08 AM
What's the deal with finishing second? Into a play of, I know, but is it a seeded playoff or just all second teams in a pot and away we go?

08-09-2021, 09:14 AM
What's the deal with finishing second? Into a play of, I know, but is it a seeded playoff or just all second teams in a pot and away we go?

I think they said last night the 2nd placed teams go into a play off.

While the ten European group winners go straight to the finals, the ten runners up join with the best TWO Nations League group winners who didn't finish in one of the top two World Cup qualifying group spots.
Those 12 sides are then drawn into three separate play-off paths, incorporating single-match semi-finals and finals.

08-09-2021, 09:44 AM
Do we really? Or could it be that the opposition are simply going through a spell of good possession which forces us back. First half hour against Denmark for example. There are of course times when a team will deliberately sit back, but last night Scotland got forward a good number of times, and sitting back was not a major feature of their game plan.

In short you can be forced to defend deep, or you can set yourself up to do that. Folks can't tell the difference sometimes.

I think we lack the quality to dictate games and keep the ball higher up the park. Adams is decent but can’t hold it up, Dykes really is very limited at this level, there isn’t really a playmaker in midfield.

As a consequence, every Scotland success seems to be an all action affair of last ditch tackles and energetic breakaways.

Exhausting to watch, no doubt exhausting to play too.

I’m delighted we went to the Euros and things are definitely on the up. But we remain a limited team in a number of areas.

08-09-2021, 09:49 AM
I think we lack the quality to dictate games and keep the ball higher up the park. Adams is decent but can’t hold it up, Dykes really is very limited at this level, there isn’t really a playmaker in midfield.

As a consequence, every Scotland success seems to be an all action affair of last ditch tackles and energetic breakaways.

Exhausting to watch, no doubt exhausting to play too.

I’m delighted we went to the Euros and things are definitely on the up. But we remain a limited team in a number of areas.

Gilmour is a playmaker, and a very good one who's only going to get better.

08-09-2021, 09:52 AM

It is seeded but it's not a 2 leg thing anymore. They will draw the 12 teams into 3 groups of 4, then it's a single game semi-final and a single game final in each group.

08-09-2021, 10:43 AM

Sits deep, we need someone in the hole to make that final pass/flick on etc. It was noticeable last night that when Robertson or O'Donnell made good runs down the wings our 2 strikers were miles apart, McGinn tried hard to get into the space but he's an energetic box2box player and cover a huge amount of grass. Clarke likes the 2 holding mids and 1 marauding midfielder like McGinn but if we're under the cosh, McGinn will be too deep to influence the game higher up. Also I've noticed since Clarke likes 352 our wide players are now non existent in the team, Forrest, Fraser, this puts a lot of pressure on the wingbacks to deliver and for me the young Rangers lad is a better option than O'Donnell, very noticeable that most of our best attacking options came on the left with Robertson and Tierney linking up very well.

hibby rae
08-09-2021, 10:53 AM
It is seeded but it's not a 2 leg thing anymore. They will draw the 12 teams into 3 groups of 4, then it's a single game semi-final and a single game final in each group.

We're currently seeded, but that can change. Although I'm not sure how much of a difference it will make?

Current non-seeded sides are Sweden, Czech Republic, Switzerland and Ukraine. And I assume whoever comes in via the Nations League.

08-09-2021, 10:55 AM

Exactly what I was thinking. Weakness in team is middle to front creating and scoring.

08-09-2021, 10:57 AM
We're currently seeded, but that can change. Although I'm not sure how much of a difference it will make?

Is it correct that the 6 best second places in the groups automatically get a home tie in the semi final?

08-09-2021, 11:02 AM

So just 4 of the 12 runner up will reach the finals. We just need to beat Israel, win our Faroe and Moldova games, then beat 2 other runners up to get there. Can see why BBC Sportsound were getting so excited last night.

08-09-2021, 11:04 AM
Is it correct that the 6 best second places in the groups automatically get a home tie in the semi final?

We're already in the top seeds for the playoff and if we qualify via winning the games we are EXPECTED to we'll likely stay there. We will have a very decent chance of qualification.

08-09-2021, 11:09 AM

We're already in the top seeds for the playoff and if we qualify via winning the games we are EXPECTED to we'll likely stay there. We will have a very decent chance of qualification.

Ok cheers.

08-09-2021, 12:41 PM
So just 4 of the 12 runner up will reach the finals. We just need to beat Israel, win our Faroe and Moldova games, then beat 2 other runners up to get there. Can see why BBC Sportsound were getting so excited last night.

3 of the 12. Other than that, yes, you're right.

Gordy M
08-09-2021, 12:46 PM

Yeh thats one way to look at it, however if we finish 2nd we will only be competing against another 2 teams(semi and final) so no need to worry about the other 9, they dont affect us.

08-09-2021, 12:50 PM
Sounds like the playoff is actually harder now.

08-09-2021, 01:09 PM

Well ok, but clearly on his own he can’t dictate the game and help Scotland dominate possession.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to see Scotland doing better, but Austria looked garbage to me and we still couldn’t control the game.

08-09-2021, 06:57 PM
Is there a “ wouldn’t watch Scotland if they were playing in my back garden “ thread ?
Used to be quite popular on here

08-09-2021, 07:21 PM
Is there a “ wouldn’t watch Scotland if they were playing in my back garden “ thread ?
Used to be quite popular on here

You still get folk coming on to the match day thread to let us all know they won't be watching said match, bizarre stuff.

cannastar
08-09-2021, 07:30 PM
i think we are improving and baring injuries we could end up in play off games but if we get there the heat will do us as it will most european teams. great chance for first african/asian champions perhaps.

08-09-2021, 07:33 PM
i think we are improving and baring injuries we could end up in play off games but if we get there the heat will do us as it will most european teams. great chance for first african/asian champions perhaps.

I was thinking exactly that, the heat will stop us winning the thing.:wink:

08-09-2021, 08:00 PM

For the 2018 World Cup 8 of the 9 second placed teams went into the play offs and 4 of them qualified for the World Cup alongside the 9 group winners.

For the 2022 World Cup all 10 second placed teams qualify for the play offs alongside the 2 best Nations League teams that haven't finished in the top 2 of their qualifying group.

The 12 teams are split into 3 groups of 4 teams and there's a semi final and a final to be played in all 3 groups meaning 3 teams will qualify from the play offs alongside the 10 group winners.

There's still two matches to negotiate in the play offs in order to qualify.

09-09-2021, 08:12 AM
For the 2018 World Cup 8 of the 9 second placed teams went into the play offs and 4 of them qualified for the World Cup alongside the 9 group winners.

For the 2022 World Cup all 10 second placed teams qualify for the play offs alongside the 2 best Nations League teams that haven't finished in the top 2 of their qualifying group.

The 12 teams are split into 3 groups of 4 teams and there's a semi final and a final to be played in all 3 groups meaning 3 teams will qualify from the play offs alongside the 10 group winners.

There's still two matches to negotiate in the play offs in order to qualify.

Are the play offs seeded, e.g best 2nd placed team plays lowest 2nd placed team, or is it an all in draw, 12 balls in, and picked out like a cup draw
Home advantage will also be crucial, with expected full houses

09-09-2021, 08:16 AM
Are the play offs seeded, e.g best 2nd placed team plays lowest 2nd placed team, or is it an all in draw, 12 balls in, and picked out like a cup draw

It looks like just put in the hat and pot luck.

09-09-2021, 08:36 AM

The 6 best 2nd placed teams will be seeded. The 4 other 2nd place teams and the nations league teams are unseeded.

There will be 3 groups of 4, 2 seeds and 2 non-seeds in each. The seeds play at home in the single game semi-finals. There will be a draw to determine who gets home advantage for the single game finals.

09-09-2021, 08:44 AM
The 6 best 2nd placed teams will be seeded. The 4 other 2nd place teams and the nations league teams are unseeded.

There will be 3 groups of 4, 2 seeds and 2 non-seeds in each. The seeds play at home in the single game semi-finals. There will be a draw to determine who gets home advantage for the single game finals.

Thanks. A strong finish to the group, as well as being 2nd is important for Scotland then

09-09-2021, 08:51 AM

Couldn't find anywhere with that info.

Silversand
09-09-2021, 08:52 AM
Thanks. A strong finish to the group, as well as being 2nd is important for Scotland thenI reckon win our next 3 matches will see us seeded, although I've not looked at the other groups.

Presume getting anything from our last match against Denmark will be pretty tough.

09-09-2021, 08:52 AM
Being realistic we are never going to win our qualifying group for the world cup. Finishing second and just making the playoffs is a huge step in the right direction, and qualifying via this route would be a massive achievement.

I don't understand why some people are so negative about this route to the world cup, there are many high quality teams in Euro qualifying so making it to the world cup at all would be insane for the team we have and the level some of them currently play at.

09-09-2021, 08:59 AM
Don't know why they don't make it 12 groups with all the group winners going through.It would make it less matches.

(Well I do actually, it is to make sure that any country with a large TV audience that has cocked it up has a second chance at the expense of a smaller country.)

09-09-2021, 09:02 AM
Couldn't find anywhere with that info.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_–_UEFA_Second_Ro und

09-09-2021, 09:18 AM

Eh, a bit harder, but there's still only two games. At least there's no second leg for a big team that ****s up to brute force their way through.

The best thing UEFA ever did was change the seeding system so it's based on group record rather than overall rank. That was rigged as ****.

09-09-2021, 11:46 AM
I reckon win our next 3 matches will see us seeded, although I've not looked at the other groups.

Presume getting anything from our last match against Denmark will be pretty tough.

Although we will need to beat Moldova to finish second, it’s irrelevant in the seedlings stakes as they’ll finish bottom, so that 3 points will get taken from us. Denmark and Israel games crucial.