22-07-2021, 08:36 PM
unlucky Gogic
Goga hits the post
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Ha Ha! Hitting the post is not "unlucky" Mr Commentator! It was a miss. Would have been a smart goal.
CropleyisGod
Came here for sanity and now I’m confused. Sky App doesn’t even have the scores for Europa Conference and BBC App is a Hibs hate/Aberdeen love in. I guess I need to scroll up [emoji23]
Gogic needs to shave his head again so this commentator doesn't mistake him for Porteous.
AliboyFC
22-07-2021, 08:37 PM
That was very entertaining
22-07-2021, 08:38 PM
Ha Ha! Hitting the post is not "unlucky" Mr Commentator! It was a miss. Would have been a smart goal.Diving header, beat the keeper, hit the post. That's unlucky in my book.
22-07-2021, 08:38 PM
I don't know what to make of that game. I'm genuinely lost for words.
Decent game ruined by the ref in the 1st half, should have no problems in the 2nd leg.
22-07-2021, 08:39 PM
Some game that... Can't argue it wasn't entertaining. Some good performances and a few standout. Missed the start so can't comment on that but held it together and in the end won comfortably. Well done Hibs. On to next week.
I don't know what to make of that game. I'm genuinely lost for words.It was a total farce, ruined by the referee. At least we got the job done - or halfway there anyway.
I don't know what to make of that game. I'm genuinely lost for words.
Like when I tried a donut burger, couldn't tell you if it was great or horrid, just can't compute it
22-07-2021, 08:40 PM
That was a wee bit like watching a football version of 'From Dusk 'til Dawn'. Absolutely nuts.
hibbie02
Came here for sanity and now I’m confused. Sky App doesn’t even have the scores for Europa Conference and BBC App is a Hibs hate/Aberdeen love in. I guess I need to scroll up [emoji23]
That BBC page is a joke. Total Sheepie love in.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Great entertainment.
Proper football - after the euros snoozefest great to have entertainment like this back again.
Some laugh out loud moments which isn’t really ideal watching in the quiet area on a ferry to Ireland.
Professional performance given some of their antics and the tie is over.
I wouldn't be risking our better players for the second leg. Some of their tackles would would shame even our maroon neighbours.
22-07-2021, 08:41 PM
That was such a good game to be at.
Professional performance given some of their antics and the tie is over.
I wouldn't be risking our better players for the second leg. Some of their tackles would would shame even our maroon neighbours.
Too far
Bonkers game, if it wasn't Hibs I'd have been laughing my head off.
Plus points:
Boyle was excellent when he wasn't being punted about.
Porteous was excellent though his heading towards goal could be sharper.
Magennis looking like the player we want him to be.
That Drey Wright flick, maybe just maybe, we're wrong about him?
Against some terrible officiating we're going in to the next game 3 nil up, team looked good even with the challenge of being a man down, though still work to do.
On another note, Dougie's ears are MASSIVE.
22-07-2021, 08:43 PM
Poor first half, much better second half. Would expect us to take another few off them next week
Thought we looked good tonight, opposition was poor but I like the way we’re set up like that, pressed high to win the ball in their half really well threatened a lot.
Magennis looked good happy for him after a tough season last year, Boyle off and running early, Porto looked strong and confident as well
EI255
22-07-2021, 08:44 PM
The team that lot beat from Gibraltar in the last round must be really, really, really bad!
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
22-07-2021, 08:44 PM
I'd play some fringe players in the second leg as they're going to try like hell to get our players injured or suspended.
22-07-2021, 08:45 PM
Sent off by the ref, simply for turning up. He was warming up :confused:
:faf::faf::faf:
22-07-2021, 08:45 PM
The team that lot beat from Gibraltar in the last round must be really, really, really bad!
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
They'll have a lengthy injury list, that's for certain.
22-07-2021, 08:46 PM
Ha Ha! Hitting the post is not "unlucky" Mr Commentator! It was a miss. Would have been a smart goal.
I'd argue that if it's close enough to hit the post it's an unlucky miss. When the balls travelling at speed it's not an easy chance.
22-07-2021, 08:46 PM
On another note, Dougie's ears are MASSIVE.
In sillhouette he could be mistaken for the Scottish Cup. :agree:
22-07-2021, 08:48 PM
They were hatchet men. Stick out the reserves in the second leg.
22-07-2021, 08:48 PM
In sillhouette he could be mistaken for the Scottish Cup. :agree:
Luggie and Joelle have been pretty good I think.
22-07-2021, 08:50 PM
Luggie and Joelle have been pretty good I think.
They've been excellent.
I've really enjoyed the pair of them.
22-07-2021, 08:52 PM
How did their keeper not get sent off. Booked already and pushes Newell in the chest, exact same thing Boyle was booked for.
22-07-2021, 08:53 PM
They've been excellent.
I've really enjoyed the pair of them.Dougie's got plenty devilment in him from having been there, done that. Joelle speaks very well and has grown in confidence since she started the studio stuff last season.
Jakhog1
22-07-2021, 08:54 PM
Was that mob coached by Craig Levein tonight
Souter96Mac
22-07-2021, 08:55 PM
An absolute gang of a team. 3-0 flatters them, despite having a man advantage for a good chunk of time.
Play the reserves in the 2nd leg, they will kick the **** out of us over there knowing the leg is dead
22-07-2021, 08:56 PM
And I know that some will disagree (which is fair enough) but I like Irish Dave's commentating. OK he makes the odd mistake but he's enthusiastic and sticks to commentating and works well with Tam too. Unfortunately Cliff can spend 5 minutes at a time giving his opinion without mentioning what's happening on the pitch.
Paul1642
22-07-2021, 08:57 PM
Loved that game. Not one to forget any time soon 😂
22-07-2021, 08:58 PM
Aberdeen were impressive but superlatives like Magnificent and Masterly and a performance that should resound around Europe may be a bit over the top
But in the Media’s eyes they are back and third in league is a formality
Scott Browns leadership and desire to win did seem to rub off and get a better performance from others
But if we hadn’t had an incompetent cheating ref we would probably of out scored the Dons with none of the same Fanfare
Magpie
22-07-2021, 09:00 PM
Croatia here we come.
22-07-2021, 09:01 PM
Gutted I missed the game. 3-0 will do nicely thanks.
Hibdan12
22-07-2021, 09:03 PM
And I know that some will disagree (which is fair enough) but I like Irish Dave's commentating. OK he makes the odd mistake but he's enthusiastic and sticks to commentating and works well with Tam too. Unfortunately Cliff can spend 5 minutes at a time giving his opinion without mentioning what's happening on the pitch.
Got to agree much better and more up beat than cliff
22-07-2021, 09:05 PM
Got to agree much better and more up beat than cliff
Certainly more animated, apart from constantly thinking porteous was gogic he was alright i thought
I thought both commentary and studio folks were decent tonight. Donnelly miles better than Tanner.
Jeeeezo some amount of moaning during this thread, even the commentators getting it right.
Well done Hibs, got the job done against a team who just wanted to batter us.
Delighted for Magennis and Wright to have positive contributions.
Onto the second leg.
No Hallberg tonight not even on the bench
Aberdeen were impressive but superlatives like Magnificent and Masterly and a performance that should resound around Europe may be a bit over the top
But in the Media’s eyes they are back and third in league is a formality
Scott Browns leadership and desire to win did seem to rub off and get a better performance from others
But if we hadn’t had an incompetent cheating ref we would probably of out scored the Dons with none of the same Fanfare
BBC love in for Aberdeen suits me. It will be all the more funny when they fall apart.
22-07-2021, 09:06 PM
No Hallberg tonight not even on the bench
Injured. Out for six weeks or so
22-07-2021, 09:07 PM
Injured. Out for six weeks or so
👍🏿
yerauldda
22-07-2021, 09:08 PM
Wild game. Gogic and Magennis were terrific but Boyle and Nisbet on another level. Real star quality. Boyle dragged us through that game at 10 men.
22-07-2021, 09:09 PM
Jeeeezo some amount of moaning during this thread, even the commentators getting it right.
Well done Hibs, got the job done against a team who just wanted to batter us.
Delighted for Magennis and Wright to have positive contributions.
Onto the second leg.
Agree! Thought Magennis in particular looked good second half.
Was amazing seeing Nisbet and Gogic in the flesh for the first time and both had really good games.
Wish we'd scored a few more but was a really enjoyable game. God it was good to be back!
hhibs
22-07-2021, 09:11 PM
Yep,that is my view too,Irish Dave is well OK by me,as you say, enthusiastic and brings some extra wee bit passion to the commentary.
22-07-2021, 09:14 PM
Bringing on Wright and having him sitting on their number 10 won us the 2nd half comfortably. A clever sub. Good result, could've been more.
22-07-2021, 09:17 PM
Will take that score and a decent work out. As a football fan though, I despair at the tactics of that team.
22-07-2021, 09:18 PM
Jonnyboy taking his time with ‘ This is how it feels’
Anyone would think it was an eventful game ? 😃
hhibs
22-07-2021, 09:18 PM
An absolute gang of a team. 3-0 flatters them, despite having a man advantage for a good chunk of time.
Play the reserves in the 2nd leg, they will kick the **** out of us over there knowing the leg is dead
"Paging Mister McGregor................................!!!"
22-07-2021, 09:19 PM
Bringing on Wright and having him sitting on their number 10 won us the 2nd half comfortably. A clever sub. Good result, could've been more.He took a wee while to come on to his game, but I'm pleased he did.
22-07-2021, 09:20 PM
Will take that score and a decent work out. As a football fan though, I despair at the tactics of that team.
Their tactics were strange. When they had the ball they knocked it about fairly well and were passing it out even when we had 11. But when we had the ball it was a race to kick us. They were like Aberdeen but not as disciplined as such, they weren't niggly free kick fouls. Almost every one was a yellow or red card.
SJNB Hibby
22-07-2021, 09:22 PM
Agree! Thought Magennis in particular looked good second half.
Was amazing seeing Nisbet and Gogic in the flesh for the first time and both had really good games.
Wish we'd scored a few more but was a really enjoyable game. God it was good to be back!
I think the ref was the problem, after Newell was sent off, nobody knew what that stoopid ref would do next.
22-07-2021, 09:28 PM
Credit to Jack Ross, thought got his HT talk, tactics and subs spot on tonight. He had to change things and all worked well against a team who were more Euro Streetwise than us. Hibs were a tad niaive in the first half and got sucked into the Andorrans game and didn't allow for one of the worst refs we've seen at ER for a while. Much better 2nd half, so hopefully we've learned a lot from this outing. I suspect we'll get a few goals at their place.
Was brilliant to back at ER. Really helps to feel that the worst of Covid is at an end.
22-07-2021, 09:30 PM
Amazing being back at Easter Road for a competitive game. Honestly for those who haven’t been back yet - get yourself back when possible. Just a special place and feeling .
Regarding the experience - pretty simple. No issues with entering - No ID needed - minimal checks and no major queues. It’s annoying that all turnstiles take tickets but the tickets say enter via X when other entrances are empty.
Concourse seemed fine too - plenty of space - no hot water in toilets as expected but they have added sanitiser stations in places.
The game itself..Hibs better team.wish we pressed them more but think we were wary of them opening us up.
Was quite impressed with the technical ability of opposition - had a couple players which did fine. Felt like we could go up a few gears - but at same time 11v10 we didn’t look great and sat far too deep.
Felt Porto should have scored from his header. Boyle was excellent. Allan fine when he was on - felt for him going off. Gogic solid and picked up pieces. Drey Wright must be so low on confidence. Really please for Magennis though - really looked like he’s fitter and stronger and seeing signs of a good player who will keep getting better.
Crowd good support throughout - ref awful but that’s been covered.
Feel we are still a few players away from an really improved team though - match winners and X factor type players.
22-07-2021, 09:32 PM
I think the ref was the problem, after Newell was sent off, nobody knew what that stoopid ref would do next.
Ref was a problem, but that was obvious from the first 5 mins. Hibs players needed to recognise and adapt to that and not play into the ref's hands. Newell didn't and paid the price. Experienced teams know how to deal with refs like him.
22-07-2021, 09:33 PM
Ref was a problem, but that was obvious from the first 5 mins. Hibs players needed to recognise and adapt to that and not play into the ref's hands. Newell didn't and paid the price. Experienced teams know how to deal with refs like him.
Pish
Newell didn’t? He didn’t even touch the boy so what else what he supposed to do to avoid the red? Not challenge at all?
Pish
Newell didn’t? He didn’t even touch the boy so what else what he supposed to do to avoid the red? Not challenge at all?
Pretty much. Hibs started flying into challenges because they were flying into us. No real need for us to start playing that way.
22-07-2021, 09:36 PM
Just home.
One of the worst refereeing displays I’ve seen at Easter road. Horrendous
22-07-2021, 09:37 PM
Enjoyed it this evening, although the seats we had were mince. Getting in and out of the game was easy, and mask wearing was 95% around us. I thought both teams kept the ball well when they had the extra man, but we made the difference by opening them up with our advantage. They couldn't do it to us.
22-07-2021, 09:41 PM
Wasn’t the worst ref I’ve seen if only because this wasn’t referreeing as we know it, but some bizarre performance art. He should have his own fringe show. Other than that we were poor against rubbish. They would have conceded double figures in normal season. I think we’ll score more in the second leg.
22-07-2021, 09:42 PM
He just needs to put a bit of padding on the quite excellent "donut burger" comment from a few pages ago.
I think I enjoyed it. I don't know what I was expecting but it wasn't that.
Where do you start?
Brunswickbill
22-07-2021, 09:44 PM
Ref was awful but Santa Coloma were a disgrace. Fouling, diving, getting opposition player sent off and celebrating it. Constantly challenging the ref. EUFA can try to improve refereeing but how about only allowing the captain to approach a ref. Easy rule to implement. Sometimes I think Hibs players are too sportsmanlike. But great tonight that they didn’t rise to the bait and produced a good performance.
22-07-2021, 09:49 PM
Good performance against a team of dirty cheats and an utterly incompetent ref.well done Jack and the boys.
22-07-2021, 09:50 PM
Pretty much. Hibs started flying into challenges because they were flying into us. No real need for us to start playing that way.
Unreal that we’re finding a way to blame Hibs for one of the worst refereeing decisions I’ve seen for a while.
22-07-2021, 09:50 PM
What a horrid little team they are. Sometimes you almost get sorry for these wee diddies getting their shot against the big boys, but I hope we hammer them 100-0 next week. Hammer throwers and so, so boring.
MJ hibs
22-07-2021, 09:51 PM
Wish I went along seems like a wild/ mad game!
Great to see Boyle continuing to score. My worry with him is he needs space to run into which means us hitting teams on the counter rather than setting up with a high line and pressing teams.
Great result :agree:
Hibernianinc
22-07-2021, 09:56 PM
I never saw the Alan Freeland game, how does this compare?
Spectacularly inept, but nothing will top the Freeland game.
Nothing.
22-07-2021, 10:01 PM
Wish I went along seems like a wild/ mad game!
Great to see Boyle continuing to score. My worry with him is he needs space to run into which means us hitting teams on the counter rather than setting up with a high line and pressing teams.
Great result :agree:
It's the reason we struggle when teams sit in on double up on Boyle. We struggle vs a 3-5-2 as the wing back and wide cb both mark Boyle and he's ineffective.
I enjoyed their number 2 getting sent off more than any of our goals. Is that wrong?
22-07-2021, 10:06 PM
+1 for Magennis looking good. Big season for him to cement his place.
I'd be starting McGregor next week.
22-07-2021, 10:08 PM
Sorry Billy, my season hasn't started yet :greengrin
Comfortable win in the end, despite the brutal tactics of the opposition and a dismal performance by the referee.
We could have had more than three but Porto spurned a decent chance or two by mistiming his jump for cross balls. Defensively, he was sound as were the other three of the back four.
22-07-2021, 10:10 PM
Comfortable win in the end, despite the brutal tactics of the opposition and a dismal performance by the referee.
We could have had more than three but Porto spurned a decent chance or two by mistiming his jump for cross balls. Defensively, he was sound as were the other three of the back four.
Brilliant Jonnyboy!
I can go to bed now :greengrin
Unreal that we’re finding a way to blame Hibs for one of the worst refereeing decisions I’ve seen for a while.
Not really. It was an awful decision but I’m just making a point that we got drawn into it a bit. They are not mutually exclusive opinions.
22-07-2021, 10:17 PM
Was great to be back at ER for what turned out to be a pretty memorable match...mainly thanks to ref
22-07-2021, 10:25 PM
Unreal that we’re finding a way to blame Hibs for one of the worst refereeing decisions I’ve seen for a while.The ref was obviously quite fussy When Newell made his challenge I knew he was going to get a red. I was about as far from the incident as it was possible to get, but saw a poor challenge whether he hit the player or not. We can appeal it but the ref will come back with "out of control" . Joe shouldn't have been sent off but the Ref can defend his decision. How he defends the foul on Boyle by the no 2 as by Boyle, minutes before he actually gets sent off, NFI
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
22-07-2021, 10:28 PM
We could have had more than three but Porto spurned a decent chance or two by mistiming his jump for cross balls. Defensively, he was sound as were the other three of the back four.What game were you watching..... He never jumped, which was the problem. :greengrin:. Still no clue as to why the goal was disallowed.
22-07-2021, 10:33 PM
I wonder if that’s the standard of refs that will officiate in the Conference League, I doubt the top guys will be involved.
22-07-2021, 10:37 PM
What game were you watching..... He never jumped, which was the problem. :greengrin:. Still no clue as to why the goal was disallowed.
Crunchie
22-07-2021, 11:41 PM
Put them on
:faf::faf:
22-07-2021, 11:50 PM
+1 for Magennis looking good. Big season for him to cement his place.
I'd be starting McGregor next week.
McGregor instead of who? He could only really replace Porteous who was our out ball most of the time and very good tonight, shaded ever so slightly by Hanlon (due to his blocks - must’ve made 4/5 very good challenges defensively). Building towards next Sunday we should be starting our best partnership every game.
23-07-2021, 08:34 AM
Is there highlights anywhere?
23-07-2021, 08:37 AM
Is there highlights anywhere?
Hibs TV - if you don't mind watching most of the 2nd half before much of the 1st.
BlackSheep
23-07-2021, 09:59 AM
Any free highlights anywhere? Or do we still get free access as season ticket holders?
AliboyFC
23-07-2021, 10:03 AM
Don't we get VAR in the group stages?
23-07-2021, 10:03 AM
These thugs apparently have the highest life expectancy in the world.
We can drag the average down a little if Daz plays next week.
23-07-2021, 10:08 AM
We were always going to win this tie.
Hopefully we’ll have gained a bit from last night about different challenges of playing in Europe. The refereeing, the fouling, the play acting etc. Ross was right, we did lose it a wee bit after the red card. The initial change he made didn’t help, correcting that at half time made all the difference.
23-07-2021, 10:34 AM
Any free highlights anywhere? Or do we still get free access as season ticket holders?
Apparently our free access ended on the final day of last season and doesn't restart until the new league season begins a week on Sunday.
23-07-2021, 10:37 AM
McGregor instead of who? He could only really replace Porteous who was our out ball most of the time and very good tonight, shaded ever so slightly by Hanlon (due to his blocks - must’ve made 4/5 very good challenges defensively). Building towards next Sunday we should be starting our best partnership every game.
I can only assume he wants to rest one of our CHs. But both were excellent last night.
23-07-2021, 10:43 AM
Apparently our free access ended on the final day of last season and doesn't restart until the new league season begins a week on Sunday.
Yeah, just had a look and all I could see was 30 seconds of pitchside video - which was basically Boyle`s penalty
23-07-2021, 01:26 PM
We can drag the average down a little if Daz plays next week.
Hibs TV - if you don't mind watching most of the 2nd half before much of the 1st.
Yeah, bit weird that. The editor must have just watched Pulp Fiction and fancied himself as a bit of a Tarantino.
24-07-2021, 12:50 PM
Big shout out to the seagulls, by the way. I didn't notice them at the Arsenal game but good to see them descend in a ravenous flock after the match on Thursday. It's not seeing the Hibs without that. Cannae beat the rush when you get out clean of guano.
24-07-2021, 12:52 PM
I noticed that the return leg is behind closed doors. Sorry to break it to those heading over.
24-07-2021, 02:20 PM
St Johnstone get to play their game at home after all ⬇️
EUROPEAN FOOTBALL IS COMING BACK TO MCDIARMID PARK!
We will play our Europa League qualifier game at McDiarmid Park!
Fantastic news for Saints fans!
#SJFC
24-07-2021, 03:20 PM
#SJFC
I wonder what has changed.
24-07-2021, 03:24 PM
#SJFC
Pleased for the fans that's they're able to play at home.
Still hope they get put out though. If they get into the next round it's guaranteed group stage football right?
Highwayman
24-07-2021, 03:37 PM
Still hope they get put out though. If they get into the next round it's guaranteed group stage football right?
Hope all the Scottish teams even the OF get as far as possible in the European tournaments.
It will help with the mysterious co-efficient and if Scottish teams can come in at later stages will mean Hibs don’t have to grapple with Andorran assassins again.
24-07-2021, 04:07 PM
Hope all the Scottish teams even the OF get as far as possible in the European tournaments.
It will help with the mysterious co-efficient and if Scottish teams can come in at later stages will mean Hibs don’t have to grapple with Andorran assassins again.
I'm thinking more of the money they'd make from Getting group stage football.
24-07-2021, 04:37 PM
Hope we get through and the rest get knocked out. More so Aberdeen who we’ll be directly competing with. Us getting £3m that they’re not is huge.
24-07-2021, 05:28 PM
#SJFC
https://news.stv.tv/sport/government-permit-st-johnstone-to-play-galatasaray-in-perth
Well done the Scottish Government 👍
24-07-2021, 09:20 PM
Still hope they get put out though. If they get into the next round it's guaranteed group stage football right?They'll get a lot of cash but will be playing two games a week till Christmas. They don't have the squad size to compete and travel.
25-07-2021, 01:03 PM
They'll get a lot of cash but will be playing two games a week till Christmas. They don't have the squad size to compete and travel.
They’ll get get a lot more money for a season in European group league stages, than a top 6 Premiership place
As long as they don’t flirt with relegation