View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v St Coloma

Pages : 1 [2] 3

22-07-2021, 07:41 PM
10 men, dodgy ref and tousy game aside, I think Hibs have. been absolutely dreadful tonight.

We got the goal, which was a gift, and one that we didn't really need to do anything to earn.

Prior to then and since then we've looked very poor in possession. Sharpness and touch has been slow and a mile off what it needs to be. Boyle always a. threat with his pace but his soft booking means I have the fear whenever he's involved, as he's only a dive a way from us being down to 9.

The formation doesn't look like it is working, and I don't think it is going to be the answer when playing at home against teams we're expected to beat. Rangers, Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen, better European sides maybe, it's too tentative and doesn't allow us to get enough bodies up the park against dug***** like this.

Not sure I'm watching the same game as Irish Dave, Dougie or Joelle. This has been miles off the level I think we should be at.

They are terrible. Absolutely terrible. Pub team standard, look what they were like under some basic pressing early on (about the best thing we've done).

Even the defence can count themselves lucky that the break of the ball went our way and we didn't concede into the bargain.

Huge improvement required.

Looking forward to seeing Magennis getting 45 minutes here, he's looked sharp and up for it so far.

Alan Freelandsson can get himself TF.

Agree with all of this. Their keeper has had nothing to do.

22-07-2021, 07:42 PM
No idea how people are getting on Newell's back on that one. He didn't give the referee a decision to make, it wasn't even remotely close to a foul.

I get that the red card will have disrupted us but the team we're playing isn't very good, I did expect a lot more from us so far in all honesty, 10 men or not.

Agree with all of this. Their keeper has had nothing to do. And looked terrible despite that.

Agree with all of this. Their keeper has had nothing to do.

He's picked the ball out the back of the net, we are actually winning

Paul1642
22-07-2021, 07:44 PM
No idea how people are getting on Newell's back on that one. He didn't give the referee a decision to make, it wasn't even remotely close to a foul.

100%. It’s never a red card or even a foul. Will be successfully appealed and hopefully he’s fired up for the next leg.

22-07-2021, 07:44 PM
He's picked the ball out the back of the net, we are actually winning

Of course. That doesn’t mean we’re playing well though. We’ve been crap.

22-07-2021, 07:45 PM
Ref a joke but we need to be better second half. Need to change something to get us up the park a bit.

This ref is at it. Match fixing or he’s got some money on something.

Lendo
**** me, these endless halftime adverts are horrific

Ref a joke but we need to be better second half. Need to change something to get us up the park a bit.

Doidge for Stevenson for me.

22-07-2021, 07:46 PM
This Icelandic prick makes Scottish refs look world class. Theyve kicked us off the park and now he has managed to turn it into a non contact game by sending off Newell for something that wasnt even a booking. This Andorran mob are also a disgrace, cheating and diving at every opportunity. if we can just keep calm we could still win by 2 or 3 though.

Its folk like that who aren’t needed or wanted at ER and are better watching the game at home or not at all. Poisonous 👍🏼

I’m just going to do my best to ignore and cross everything I’m back in the FFL next time.

I get that the red card will have disrupted us but the team we're playing isn't very good, I did expect a lot more from us so far in all honesty, 10 men or not.

Yep me too. Our chances have come from their poor play, they are horrendous. No excuses here, 10 men or not.

100%. It’s never a red card or even a foul. Will be successfully appealed and hopefully he’s fired up for the next leg.

Santa Colomo could be the St Johnstone of Andorra.

HibsGW

Agree, in hindsight it’s always easy to basically say just dont make the tackle, we need to make tackles, he gave the ref no decision to make, blocked the ball and didnt even contact the player, there was no decision for the ref to make.

Ref a joke but we need to be better second half. Need to change something to get us up the park a bit.Correct. We need to come out our shell and play football. They'll soon get a couple of players sent off if we attack them properly.

Thought we were in complete control until sending off

No need to run about like headless chickens

We were making enough chances and as they tired would have made more.

Final ball / decision making could have been better but very early in the season

Game has a different complexion now but I still expect us to win by 3

We need to be a lot more street-wise and disciplined when playing in Europe.

That team have played us like a fiddle getting us involved when we didn’t need to.

GRA
Since the red we've been rattled. The ref has been horrendous, Newell's 'challenge' was no worse than a couple of their yellows, but we've let it affect us. Time for cool heads, can get another as they have been terrible. But we need to step it up.

22-07-2021, 07:47 PM
Hibs were gifted an early penalty, tucked away by Martin Boyle, but things took a turn for the worse after Joe Newell was shown a ludicrous red card.

Icelandic referee Vilhjalmur Thorarinsson is completely out of his depth and Santa Coloma are playing him like a fiddle.

Hibs are down to 10 and look rattled by the injustice. They need to try and forget all about it and compose themselves again for the second half.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

It's been poor from hibs

Paul1642
Where is the ref from?

#2 Double Tap

think taking allan off was a mistake imo, shoulda been mackay off for kyle and boyle up top with nisbet, 4.3.2 formation, keep control of the middle.

We need to be a lot more street-wise and disciplined when playing in Europe.

That team have played us like a fiddle getting us involved when we didn’t need to.We didn't get involved in anything

I don’t think it’s a red but I can’t see if there is any contact. I’m questioning why he’s went in like that though, we’re comfortably in front under no pressure in the game and the ball is in their box, just stay in your feet.

Newell was stupid and Hibs are playing like this is their first game in Europe. Hibs need to be smarter on and off the ball.

22-07-2021, 07:48 PM
Of course. That doesn’t mean we’re playing well though. We’ve been crap.

Tell me how you can get any tempo in a game when the opposition are hacking you down at every attempt and the ref is so incompetent?

We didn't get involved in anything

The *****bag referee has ensured that we're no longer playing a competitive game of football. They're getting away with everything.

Where is the ref from?

Iceland. Looks like he was stacking shelves last week.

Where is the ref from?

Iceland

22-07-2021, 07:49 PM
Iceland

I hate iceland

Thought we were in complete control until sending off

No need to run about like headless chickens

We were making enough chances and as they tired would have made more.

Final ball / decision making could have been better but very early in the season

Game has a different complexion now but I still expect us to win by 3

That exactly, we were in complete control.

We haven't been great but it's hardly surprising.

1st competitive game, new system, a team of hatchet men in opposition and a ref who doesn't seem to know the rules. Get the win tonight then finish the job next week.

Newell was stupid and Hibs are playing like this is their first game in Europe. Hibs need to be smarter on and off the ball.Stupid how? Lol its a ridiculous red card

Laughable

McKay off for drey Wright

2-0 Boyle deflected off the cheat

22-07-2021, 07:50 PM
****ing get in there

Excellent tactical change from the manager.

Really enjoyed that Utilita advert with Pat.

In other news this is the perfect .net start to a season really isn't it? 24 carat gold argument material already and it could only be improved if they equalise.

GIRUY cheats.

Nisbet wins the ball and the ref gives a foul, the games a bogey.

****ing Easy!

#2 Double Tap
yessssssssssssssssssssssss

MikeyS
Great start! Boyler is class!

Cracking goal by Boyle

22-07-2021, 07:51 PM
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

2-0 Boyle deflected off the cheat

Karma.

Stupid how? Lol its a ridiculous red card

Laughable

McKay off for drey Wright

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkCorrect. And I still don't think his studs were up at all.

2-0 Boyle! Woohoo !

Get in.

Lost my stream just before the goal

MikeyS
Nisbet wins the ball and the ref gives a foul, the games a bogey.

Their defender tried to burst Boyle too!!

JoeT
**** me, these endless halftime adverts are horrific
Interview question was obviously: so Dougie, do you have any experience of reading out advertisements?
Dougie: eh? Have you heard of Tillicoultry?

Stuarty1875
Boyle :thumbsup:

Fantastic Boyler 🤣🤣 Karma rules

OtleyHibs
Yes!!
My legit bought and paid for stream was slightly behind this thread which I thought would annoy me but I could just relax and enjoy that goal 😁

Pick that one out of the onion bag you Andorran gits.

22-07-2021, 07:52 PM
Get in.

I am now getting Linfield game on the hibs stream ffs

Get it up you you Andorran cheats. Well done Squirrel. Again our most potent attacking threat.

HendoDelivered
Boyle!!! Is the 500k clause true? I severely hope not, that would be a bargain.

I hate iceland

No a fan of Farm Foods either.

This ref's lost the plot.

Ref is abysmal

Boyle taken out very late, yellow when should have been red

That is a ****ing red.

This is like Runavik all over again, booted off the park left right and centre

22-07-2021, 07:53 PM
How the **** is that not a red

Someone needs to give this ref a proper slap

Get Boyle off now

Get in.

Me to

How is that not a red?

The guy actually makes contact about 20 minutes after the ball is away and this bawbag gets the yellow out again.

That’s a shocking tackle. He actually lifts his leg to catch Boyle!

This ref is a joke, definite red and he gives a yellow.

22-07-2021, 07:54 PM
Straight leg lunge. Studs showing. Hundred times worse than Newell's. Yellow.

Ross's coupon is class as he's talking to the 4th official. He looks like he's about to banjo him.

HendoDelivered
This ref is genuinely a danger to our players

That’s a shocker from the ref there. Yellow? Really?

Anyone in any doubt now that the ref isnt a cheat needs their head looked at. there is no way that can be simple incompidence.

We need to complain very loudly after this.

An absolute shocker of a refereeing performance.

22-07-2021, 07:55 PM
Get Boyle off before he is carried off.

If I was a Hibs player I’d be concerned I’d get injured this evening.

Ref is a ****ing clown

That was a dangerous tackle for sure

Mental that wasn't a red, especially as he lifts his leg

22-07-2021, 07:56 PM
Ref unlikely to be reffing any European games in future after tonight's performance

Outrageous

Ryan Porteous doesn't look like Alex Gogic

[emoji23]

**** me

That was the most blatant of red cards

HendoDelivered
3-0 sheep

Commentator doesn't know the difference between Gogic and Porteous ffs.

I'm not getting anything - back at the login page and trying to log in and nowt happening!

AliboyFC
Is the ref getting paid??? Wouldn't surprise is 😂

Guy in the background watching the game through binoculars 😂

22-07-2021, 07:57 PM
That was a dangerous tackle for sure

Mental that wasn't a red, especially as he lifts his leg

He does indeed and deliberately lifts his leg

cameronw-hfc
22-07-2021, 07:58 PM
This is by far the worst Hibs TV commentator in a long time haha

Green-Hibee-7
I’m sorry but something dodgy is going on.

One of our players is going to take a bad one in a minute.

Ridiculous.

Nisbet touch has been very poor this evening!

GRA
22-07-2021, 07:59 PM
What did Wright do to win a new contract? Been awful since he came on.

Is Drey Wright blowing out his arse already??

This Irish guy is ****ing hopeless, keeps getting the players mixed up.

Wright is hopeless BTW.

****s sek Drey *****

1875Sean
New season same Wright, he isn’t the answer

Keyser Sauzee
22-07-2021, 08:00 PM

New contract? Surely not

What new contract, he signed a 2 year deal.

Is Drey Wright blowing out his arse already??I really want him to do well, but I get the impression that it's just not going to work for him at Hibs.

mcohibs

Get what you pay for

Who is the Andorran with the hair band trying to kid? He must be knocking on about 35 with thinning hair. Dick.

steelendhibs
New season same Wright, he isn’t the answer

how long a contract does he have?

Strange how Scottish teams always seem to get these referees that allow the foreign opposition to wipe out our players but then book our players for looking at them.

This referee should never be allowed to take a professional football game again. Number one responsibility of a referee is to protect the players and he isn't doing that and it honestly looks like purposeful bias based on country. Hibs are not the only team in Scotland that have had woeful bias refereeing in European matches.

That tackle on Boyle was a disgrace and is a guaranteed red card every game. Not with this numpty as a referee.

22-07-2021, 08:01 PM
Get what you pay for

[emoji23] or maybe not

looks like he could be the fall guy this season, did we really give him a longer contract?

Laced1875
I will never slag off the standard of Scottish refs again

I'm not getting anything - back at the login page and trying to log in and nowt happening!

2 O Linfield lol

This is Hibs vs Falkirk standard of refereeing

Last man foul from the cheating #2 and ref gives a free kick against Boyle. Lol

22-07-2021, 08:02 PM
What the ****...

Should have been emred again as Boyle brought down. Foul to them bizarrely

Guy in the background watching the game through binoculars 😂

maybe the poor guy has cataracts, either way if it helps him watch the game...

Nisbet touch has been very poor this evening!

Said that at end of first half mate

That's a penalty.

how long a contract does he have?

Next summer.

Id bring on Doidge in the next 5 or so

Wtaf

Nisbet lay offs are poor

22-07-2021, 08:03 PM
This is very funny. :faf:

i swear i'm never shopping in iceland again

Better get Boyle off, he'll end up getting a 2nd yellow.

OtleyHibs
The worst refereeing performance i have ever seen in my life.
Are one of you sleeping with this guys wife or something?
Why does he hate us? We're generally alright folk

Ref is really having a shocker.

Peanut Shaz
22-07-2021, 08:04 PM
I am actually sitting here on my own laughing out loud.i have never seen refereeing like this in all my 50 odd years of supporting Hibs. Farcical

22-07-2021, 08:04 PM
Better get Boyle off, he'll end up getting a 2nd yellow.

That or his leg gets broken. He'll probably get a red for having his leg broken based on this referee...

22-07-2021, 08:05 PM
It’s up to them now to press to try and get something from the game. Hopefully we can catch them on the break and get another

Boyle will probably get kicked in the face then sent off for biting the guy's boot.

I am actually sitting here on my own laughing out loud.i have never seen refereeing like this in all my 50 odd years of supporting Hibs. Farcical

Me too, done it many times tonight. :faf:

maybe the poor guy has cataracts, either way if it helps him watch the game...

Quite possibly, still a humorous thing to see at a game.

22-07-2021, 08:06 PM

Hibs should complain in the strongest terms possible and get. A king from the authorities its iether gross incompetence or gross favouritism in Their favour

22-07-2021, 08:06 PM
Ryan's lucky is he... Haha. How many times.

22-07-2021, 08:07 PM
I never saw the Alan Freeland game, how does this compare?

Has anyone mentioned that Santa Coloma translates literally as Saint female pigeon (aaprt from me on the prediction league thread obvs)?

I think we should get Doidge on, he will flatten a few of them.

Ryan's lucky is he... Haha. How many times.

How can a commentator employed by the club not know the players

22-07-2021, 08:08 PM

Id put Daz upfront for that

These thugs apparently have the highest life expectancy in the world.

Agree. Different type of player!

22-07-2021, 08:09 PM
How can a commentator employed by the club not know the playersHe's made a couple of mistakes. Is it really that big a deal?

Boyle get one of them sent off. Nowhere near as much a red as last one

Finally. Surprised he never ****ed it up.

Porto seems to be everywhere

[emoji23]

Referee finally finds his bollocks. ********.

red card :)

Id put Daz upfront for that

Good call. :aok::top marks

22-07-2021, 08:10 PM
Agree. Different type of player!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSend Samson on to start booting them all with 2 minutes to go. It doesn't matter if he's suspended.

JJP
22-07-2021, 08:10 PM
Of course the commentator thinks Porteous has had a stormer of a game. He thinks he’s done the work of 2 players!

22-07-2021, 08:11 PM
At least he got that one right. Clown

I’m not even sure he’s got that red right. There was a boy covering. Not sure he would have been quick enough for Boyle but he was there.

Right let’s get right ****ing into them

Their players trying to say it wasn't a goalscoring opportunity despite the fact Boyle has literally scored from there 20 mins ago

I’m not even sure he’s got that red right. There was a boy covering. Not sure he would have been quick enough for Boyle but he was there.

I agree with you.

Green-Hibee-7
This is honestly hilarious.

Half expected a booking for a Boyle dive.

22-07-2021, 08:12 PM

It's tight but don't think the 2nd defender would ever have got there and the fouling player was definitely the last man. Red for me.

should score with that ryan

Kyle has been decent since he came on

Keyser Sauzee
22-07-2021, 08:13 PM
I’ll ask again 😂 is this the same officials for next week?

You can't buy this kind of nonsense entertainment. Oh wait, I did.

I think the officials have been in a local pub all day and wanted to try whisky. They legged it around to the the stadium at the last minute, are wrecked and will wake up tomorrow unable to remember anything about tonight.

He's made a couple of mistakes. Is it really that big a deal?

I've actually quite liked the commentary team tonight, yeah a couple of daft mistakes but early days. Far better than many I've heard before.

Boyle has been immense today

nah that's a clear goal scoring oppertunity all day long, Boyle is 1 on 1 with the keeper about to shoot.

Their other defender is nowhere near him.

Hibs game back on stream just when I was enjoying the Linfield game

Aye, he loves the wee ‘look right but pass left’ thing.

They should be in jail by then.

22-07-2021, 08:14 PM

I want to know too!

22-07-2021, 08:14 PM

Definitely. I'd be starting him in place of Newell next game to be honest.

22-07-2021, 08:15 PM
Yellow then red for their biggest cheat. Ref hasn't got a clue

I think the officials have been in a local pub all day and wanted to try whisky. They legged it around to the the stadium at the last minute, are wrecked and will wake up tomorrow unable to remember anything about tonight.

I mean, that's probably the best explanation I can think of so far.

Yassss the cheat's off

Love this ref! :D

I've actually quite liked the commentary team tonight, yeah a couple of daft mistakes but early days. Far better than many I've heard before.At least he commentates. Cliff does too much opinion/punditry and daft wee wise cracks for me.

2 yellows lol

justice

Aye, he loves the wee ‘look right but pass left’ thing.

He does.

9 men now. Another chop

He got that one absolutely spot on. :greengrin

I don't want this game to end.

22-07-2021, 08:16 PM
Vamos Ramos!

This game is actually mental.

he's one right dirty git

nlandsafchibee

Not likely at all ,even if he had been gòod

What on earth do Saint Coloma think they are going to gain out of these fouls? Even these referees weren't going to be able to keep them all on the pitch.

Got to score. So close.

22-07-2021, 08:17 PM
ryan again with the header over

Definitely. I'd be starting him in place of Newell next game to be honest.

Agree with you there Ian. I think Joe is a very good footballer but slows it down too much at times!

Ryan you must score

More to the point, why on earth was there a player lying down on the ground behind the wall? Genuinely I can't think of any tactical reason for such a move.

ryan again with the header over

Was it not Alex?

OtleyHibs
Porto should have scored there

There's time to get a couple here and put this to bed

et_hibby
22-07-2021, 08:18 PM
‘The Butchers of Andorra’ (Tom McManus) 👏👏

Why?

i smell a 3rd

Was it not Alex?No it was Ryan. Did you not hear the commentator?

Need a 3rd here and then we can relax in the second leg.

Perfectly good goal disallowed, nobody knows why

22-07-2021, 08:19 PM
goal chalked off

Handball?

Handball?

yes

NC1875
22-07-2021, 08:20 PM
Didn’t look like a hand to me

Time to sub Boyle.

Ryan's heading has been shocking tonight, that's about 3-4 not even on target.

Think Magennis has been really good since he came on, shows if you play him in the middle what he can do.

I’d take Boyle off and bring on Doidge

Ref continues his bizarre decisions by not awarding foul for blatant push on Boyle

22-07-2021, 08:21 PM
Haha this game has been some laugh

oh Drey

Magennis looking much more like the player we all hoped we were buying.

More to the point, why on earth was there a player lying down on the ground behind the wall? Genuinely I can't think of any tactical reason for such a move.

They saw it in the Euros, seemingly it's so the wall can jump without the ball going under them.

cameronw-hfc
Drey Wright been much better after his first few touches. Really hope we see more of what he can do this season. We signed him for a reason

22-07-2021, 08:22 PM
Makes you wonder what the refereeing in Iceland is like from week to week.

1875Sean
Surprised there hasn’t been more subs to freshen it up, is Murphy injured again?

Newcastlehibby

It creates a barrier in case the free kick taker keeps it low and the wall all jump.

flags up :(

22-07-2021, 08:23 PM
Superb goal

Yaaaas Nisbet.

Great goal Kev after silky Gogic set up

CabbageBoy
Surprised there hasn’t been more subs to freshen it up, is Murphy injured again?

When isnt he?

Finally. Lovely stuff.

HendoDelivered
Magennis has a ping on him

When isnt he?Work it out!

22-07-2021, 08:24 PM
nice goal :flag:

Surely Nisbet is well onside there. He is this time 3-0.

Yup, really pleased at him today. Given us a lot more energy.

OtleyHibs
I'm just waiting for the game to restart before I confidently celebrate the third

Credit to drey there. Nice wee move and finish

Stuarty1875
Nice goal

Sweet goal by Nisbet, lovely one touch football.

Sweet. And a nice in-play on a third goal too.

22-07-2021, 08:25 PM

Middle of the park. Where he should be. We’ve wasted him out wide for far too long. It’s no his position.

22-07-2021, 08:26 PM
That flick from Drey Wright...

Said it before and I will say it again Kevin Nisbet is quality

GRA
Far better 2nd half. Helps the ref has been (very slightly) more competent this half!

22-07-2021, 08:27 PM
Middle of the park. Where he should be. We’ve wasted him out wide for far too long. It’s no his position.

He looks the part in there. Hopefully JR will continue to play him there

22-07-2021, 08:28 PM
What the ****

Doidge for Nisbet

I'm actually sitting here in stitches watching this.

22-07-2021, 08:29 PM
Doidge should score and is taken out with a shocking foul in box. Yellow for Doidge

Doidge on
Doidge booked

Doidge should score and is taken out with a shocking foul in box. Yellow for DoidgeCould've been a red

Gave the ref a decision to make

richard_pitts
Re Commentary - try it before you criticise. I covered a reserve game many years ago and I thought David Rocastle was having a stormer until Billy pointed out he'd been dead since 2001, and Craig Rocastle was in fact on the park :rolleyes::confused:

Nisbet has been class tonight. His attitude was called in to question and he had a rough few months for a number of reasons. Good to see him working hard and with a smile on his face.

22-07-2021, 08:30 PM
This game has been a whole season of events rolled into one game hahaha

22-07-2021, 08:30 PM
Doidge first touch and he halves one of them, yellow card. :faf::faf:

22-07-2021, 08:31 PM
Doidge should score and is taken out with a shocking foul in box. Yellow for Doidge

Doidge absolutely deserved he booking.

22-07-2021, 08:31 PM
josh campbell for Boyle

22-07-2021, 08:32 PM

where's the missing three

Doidge absolutely deserved he booking.It was maybe a bit harsh. The boy slid into his boot from the side.

Magennis looks good

HendoDelivered
22-07-2021, 08:33 PM
Magennis looks good

Was confident a full pre season would do him wonders

Topographic Hibby
22-07-2021, 08:33 PM

where's the missing threeSent off by the ref, simply for turning up. He was warming up :confused:

22-07-2021, 08:34 PM

You sure, he nearly took the guys knee cap off with his studs, that could easily have been a red.

22-07-2021, 08:34 PM
Doidge first touch and he halves one of them, yellow card. :faf::faf:We should have some sort of award for that one at the player of the year awards[emoji16]

Administration of justice award.

22-07-2021, 08:35 PM
You sure, he nearly took the guys knee cap off with his studs, that could easily have been a red.

How can you post and ref this game at the same time, that’s impressive.