View Full Version : When we gonna get over it ?

31-05-2021, 01:35 PM
At what point do we get over it and move on ? Surely we need to start looking forward to next season

The Scottish cup result was shocking to put mildly, however the constant barrage of abuse the club gets when ever it puts anything online is now OTT. If we had got knocked out in the quarters then no one would be even talking about it now

I have no doubt the players, manager know they let’s us down but isn’t it about time we get over it and move on ? The abuse, comments is helping no one

31-05-2021, 01:37 PM
Maybe we'll be over it if we stop starting threads to point such things out.

31-05-2021, 01:37 PM
At what point do we get over it and move on ? Surely we need to start looking forward to next season

The Scottish cup result was shocking to put mildly, however the constant barrage of abuse the club gets when ever it puts anything online is now OTT. If we had got knocked out in the quarters then no one would be even talking about it now

I have no doubt the players, manager know they let’s us down but isn’t it about time we get over it and move on ? The abuse, comments is helping no one

TBF, I think things are settling and people (self included) are doing exactly as you suggest.

31-05-2021, 01:41 PM
I’m over it..

Hopefully they club have learnt from it and we move in to an even more successful season last year.

Greenio
31-05-2021, 01:42 PM

No need

31-05-2021, 01:54 PM
I was over it by the Sunday, I have been witness to numerous disappointments results following Hibs since 1968. I am fortunate that our results no matter how disappointing they are have less of an effect the older I get.
The disappointments are far more than the successes but I would not give up a day of following the Hibs for anything else

31-05-2021, 02:00 PM
I'm over it.

Was apathetic straight after the game, got gradually more irritated over a few days then practically forgot about it and moved on.

We lost a football match, it's not like we stood aside and watched our club die or anything.

Perspective is important.

31-05-2021, 02:02 PM
I'm over it, I don't let things I have no control over comsume me.

Jay
31-05-2021, 02:07 PM

I agree. Why keep dredging it up? I think everything that could have been said has been said over the last week or so. Time to move on.

31-05-2021, 02:09 PM
I was a miserable git for a week. Fully over it now. We move on.

31-05-2021, 02:10 PM

I didn't realise there was abuse directed at the club online........ some folk have a different idea of 'supporting' the club I suppose.

31-05-2021, 02:13 PM
Fortunately this place has become calmer, but there are plenty roasters on Facebook & Twitter who seem far from over it.

31-05-2021, 02:13 PM

I don't think the result was shocking. St Johnstone have shown they know how to repeatedly beat us. What was shocking was the attitude we turned up with. Anyway i'm annoying myself as it's been done to death.

31-05-2021, 03:08 PM

:agree: ......... by the way that was never a penalty in the 2012 final.:greengrin

hibsforeurope
31-05-2021, 03:10 PM
When the new kit is launched or a new signing is announced, that will help focus the minds on next season.

31-05-2021, 03:12 PM
When the new kit is launched or a new signing is announced, that will help focus the minds on next season.

Yep, we can talk about how crap they are.

31-05-2021, 03:16 PM

Over it next morning.

HFC93
31-05-2021, 03:17 PM
I'm long over it. The older I get the less these things bother me. Some of the nutters on Facebook/Twitter are far from over it.

31-05-2021, 03:20 PM
I was over it by the Sunday, I have been witness to numerous disappointments results following Hibs since 1968. I am fortunate that our results no matter how disappointing they are have less of an effect the older I get.
The disappointments are far more than the successes but I would not give up a day of following the Hibs for anything else

I started 2 years or so before you. I’m happy for you to be ‘over it’ so to speak. For some reason that I can’t put my finger on, I can’t get there this time. :rolleyes: Fingers crossed.

31-05-2021, 03:32 PM
I was a miserable git for a week. Fully over it now. We move on.

I’ve been a miserable git for decades.
I’m well over the final though and really looking forward to the new season.

31-05-2021, 03:39 PM

About 12 hours after the game finished. Why the hand wringing? It's football, you pick yourself up, dust yourself down and off we go again 😁

31-05-2021, 03:45 PM
There's not really much else to discuss just now so there is an inevitability that old ground will get a going over again and again. Make a signing, release a strip or whatever and people will find something else to talk, or moan, about. Of ourse there are the obsessives who will still see fit to hurl abuse at the guy that runs the Twitter account as if he is reporting exactly what is said directly to Ron. Those types are best ignored though.

Interestingly, and I think this was mentioned on another thread, I think this forum is a lot more measured and tame than people want to believe about the current position we are in. I'm quite surprised by how down a lot of people I speak to are about Hibs. This is either guys who travel home and away every week or are ST holders and semi regular away attendees. It's not entirely reactionary to the final either, it's been creeping in all season. Hopefully it's just a symptom of the inability to attend and they pick up when we get confirmation we can get back in to the stadium.

31-05-2021, 03:50 PM
I'm over it.

31-05-2021, 04:02 PM
An opportunity lost to end the season with something tangible, but the anger has now dissipated and we move on. The fact there were no fans may have had an influence on the game (looking back) with the players under no pressure from the sidelines to up the gears. They shouldn't need it, but it must have been a very surreal experience.

As for the club's social media, you can't win really - they say and post nothing there would be angst at why not, they post things there are the inevitable replies from those that love to vent.

It's not been an easy year for those behind the scenes running comms at the club, I think we have to try and understand and respect that - if anything, they've worked hard to get content out under the most trying of circumstances, so they get the thumbs up from me :aok:

31-05-2021, 04:04 PM
I bought the Time For Heroes DVD ages ago as soon as it became available, but unlike most others I had never watched it until yesterday. The first DVD, which covers the cup run and interviews a lot of people, players, Stubbs, etc is really excellent IMO, and if I was neutral (obviously I'm not), I think I would really get what it meant to so very many people. It wasn't just a great day, it was something we'll always remember for the rest of our lives. In particular, it was really interesting listening to Darren McGregor and just what it meant to him. You really get caught up in the emotion, going through it all again, it never becomes boring. Yes, I have moved on from the cup final against St Johnstone, but the way that game was played, by the Hibs players anyway, was completely different from 2016. I can only imagine the players who must really have been hurting after that were the ones that were there in 2016, ie Boyle, Hanlon, Stevenson etc. Nobody can take away what we achieved that day, every one of them was a hero, but let's just make sure we don't ever have to wait that length of time to win it again.

31-05-2021, 04:05 PM
I’m over it, few days moping and being grumpy as sin (apologies to all those caught in the crossfire), found doing the podcast after it very cathartic though.

Right now I can see it as a stumble in an otherwise very positive trajectory for the club.

I genuinely believe that we’re headed for great times under the current owner and management team (from Mathie to Ross) and that this could be the very start of what will be viewed as something of a golden era for the club in years to come.

If you strip it back, it was a shocking performance in a game of huge significance, but it’s not reflective of the team we are aspiring to be.

The idea of strengthening the team this summer is exciting, and I’ve every faith that we’ll spend money wisely to do so.

bayhibs
31-05-2021, 04:11 PM
I got over it surprisingly quickly. Probably a combination of low expectations and not actually being at the game.
Having been at so many of our Hampden debacles it's much easier for me to deal with sat with friends and family at home.

hhibs
31-05-2021, 04:12 PM
I started 2 years or so before you. I’m happy for you to be ‘over it’ so to speak. For some reason that I can’t put my finger on, I can’t get there this time. :rolleyes: Fingers crossed.

Yep,I have the same feeling and I go back to the late 50's,my major hope is Ron Gordon, who I think is a man with a vision and one who is unlikely to just settle.

31-05-2021, 05:05 PM
From shock to anger, now just left with disappointment. Quite used to losing Cup Finals, but not in that manner. This was a new even for a Hibs fan.

31-05-2021, 05:26 PM
:agree: ......... by the way that was never a penalty in the 2012 final.:greengrin

31-05-2021, 05:33 PM

That's one sure way of getting over any defeat this season............remembering Pa Kujabi, Isaiah Osbourne and Tom Soares and realising how far we have progressed from then :greengrin:aok:

31-05-2021, 05:38 PM
That's one sure way of getting over any defeat this season............remembering Pa Kujabi, Isaiah Osbourne and Tom Soares and realising how far we have progressed from then :greengrin:aok:

I've been watching Hibs for 50 odd years and apart from a few years under Turnbull it's been up and down like a whores drawers, we've been glorious under achievers for the majority of this time, we just don't do steady at Hibs, we're either superb or pure cack, very little in between.

31-05-2021, 05:41 PM
I've been watching Hibs for 50 odd years and apart from a few years under Turnbull it's been up and down like a whores drawers, we've been glorious under achievers for the majority of this time, we just don't do steady at Hibs, we're either superb or pure cack, very little in between.

Yep, it's why we love' em JC :agree::aok:

31-05-2021, 05:49 PM
It was the inevitability I felt as soon as they scored which really spoiled the rest of the game for me, never even celebrated the penalty save as I knew it was irrelevant. It’s been a hard one to stomach, and age has definitely chilled me, but right now I’m glad to see the back of the season. Can’t say I feel that particularly bothered about the Euro’s either. I’m sure a couple of decent new signings and the excitement of European football will help my Hibs mojo return. Sounds a bit over dramatic but I feel extremely let down by the team as a whole but players I expected to set us apart from St Johnstone just looked as though their heart wasn’t in it for some reason and they’ll need to regain my respect and trust because of it. Bad day at the office/fine margins etc etc just doesn’t cut it for me, and I’d hope, nor Ron Gordon. Anyway, appreciate the opportunity to release some of my inner tension......therapy session over😂

31-05-2021, 06:03 PM
There's not really much else to discuss just now so there is an inevitability that old ground will get a going over again and again. Make a signing, release a strip or whatever and people will find something else to talk, or moan, about. Of ourse there are the obsessives who will still see fit to hurl abuse at the guy that runs the Twitter account as if he is reporting exactly what is said directly to Ron. Those types are best ignored though.

Interestingly, and I think this was mentioned on another thread, I think this forum is a lot more measured and tame than people want to believe about the current position we are in. I'm quite surprised by how down a lot of people I speak to are about Hibs. This is either guys who travel home and away every week or are ST holders and semi regular away attendees. It's not entirely reactionary to the final either, it's been creeping in all season. Hopefully it's just a symptom of the inability to attend and they pick up when we get confirmation we can get back in to the stadium.

I’m one of those folk that you mention, that is quite down about Hibs at the moment.

I don’t know if it’s as a result of not being able to go for a year (I’m home and away every week). I’ve not enjoyed it all season. Then we won the semi final and it was the first time I’d really felt good about things all season. I was really up for the cup final, it was the first cup final with my boy, but then the cup final happened.

Without wishing to be unduly negative, I just don’t think I share the optimism that many have. Don’t get me wrong, I think we’ll be absolutely fine, but that’s about it. I’ll never expect Hibs to win every week but, equally, opportunities like we’ve had this season are once in a generation type stuff. Seeing a club like St Johnstone doing a cup double, at our expense, has sickened me to be honest.

I’m quite glad the season is done now and hopefully I feel a bit differently if/when I can get back in to the stadium.

Robbo6-2
31-05-2021, 06:11 PM
The day I get over it is the day the overall man in charge of that day is sacked.

It's time for these people to be held responsible for such failure.

The lose to St Johnstone is up there with the Hearts lose. Fenlon held on for abit and he should of gone then. Its exactly the same here, Ross will keep his job and we will be arguing over the same thing in the next 6 months.

No doubt I'll be shot down in flames here from the same people who swore blind Josh Vela, Chris Maxwell, Tom James were all top signings and not to be so negative.

It's time we stopped accepting such failures.

31-05-2021, 06:21 PM
The day I get over it is the day the overall man in charge of that day is sacked.

In that case I hope you don't get over it any time soon.

31-05-2021, 06:32 PM
I’m over it. Very disappointing and a shocking performance. However, its gone. Time to look forward.

31-05-2021, 06:38 PM

The lose to St Johnstone is up there with the Hearts lose. Fenlon held on for abit and he should of gone then. Its exactly the same here, Ross will keep his job and we will be arguing over the same thing in the next 6 months.

No doubt I'll be shot down in flames here from the same people who swore blind Josh Vela, Chris Maxwell, Tom James were all top signings and not to be so negative.

How is anyone “accepting” such failures? What benefit do you get from continuing to moan about it? It was pish, but there’s a new season to prepare for.

31-05-2021, 07:22 PM
I am over thinking about it if that is what you mean?

But let’s be clear that performance and the magnitude of the game, the opportunity etc has set us back at least a year as every big game will be about our bottle. And Jack Ross with Sunderland and Hibs has yet to prove he can get it over the line. He might do it next season and then that’s that but he and the players won’t be able to hide away from no supporters in the ground. If Hampden had 35k Hibees I am not sure Ross or some of the players could recover from what they would have got.

But yes I am over it 🤣🤣🤣

31-05-2021, 07:48 PM

You missed Joe Newell and Christian Doidge from your list?

31-05-2021, 07:58 PM
Personally over it, got much worse stuff going on in life to worry about than Hibs losing the nth cup final since I was wee.

31-05-2021, 08:02 PM
I more or less knew the moment St Johnstone got their last second of the game equaliser against Rangers that we were not going to win it. I was convinced we would have beaten Rangers in the final or at least made a better fist of it.

31-05-2021, 08:03 PM
I’m one of those folk that you mention, that is quite down about Hibs at the moment.

I don’t know if it’s as a result of not being able to go for a year (I’m home and away every week). I’ve not enjoyed it all season. Then we won the semi final and it was the first time I’d really felt good about things all season. I was really up for the cup final, it was the first cup final with my boy, but then the cup final happened.

Without wishing to be unduly negative, I just don’t think I share the optimism that many have. Don’t get me wrong, I think we’ll be absolutely fine, but that’s about it. I’ll never expect Hibs to win every week but, equally, opportunities like we’ve had this season are once in a generation type stuff. Seeing a club like St Johnstone doing a cup double, at our expense, has sickened me to be honest.

I’m quite glad the season is done now and hopefully I feel a bit differently if/when I can get back in to the stadium.

Exactly how I feel about Hibs atm. Still feel sickened by last week and I don’t know what it will take for that to go away. Feels a lot worse than previous final defeats

31-05-2021, 08:08 PM
Exactly how I feel about Hibs atm. Still feel sickened by last week and I don’t know what it will take for that to go away. Feels a lot worse than previous final defeats

Each to their own but with not having been to a game in such a long time I am exactly the opposite.
I am disappointed we lost, particularly the way we did, but I just want to get back to my seat and watch Hibs live.

31-05-2021, 08:18 PM
Each to their own but with not having been to a game in such a long time I am exactly the opposite.
I am disappointed we lost, particularly the way we did, but I just want to get back to my seat and watch Hibs live.

I agree with B.H.F.C but I also agree with you.

I can’t wait to get back into Easter road but I’m happy to have a wee break, I was scunnered up until about the Tuesday or Wednesday. Part of me thinks I don’t really care any more I just want the days out again but I know I don’t really mean that.

For a team that finished 3rd I’ve never really thought we were that good so I don’t care if anybody leaves, I don’t really care who we bring in as I don’t imagine we will change how we play.

I think we will do ok next year without being particularly good.

31-05-2021, 08:28 PM
Over it about 5 minutes after the final whistle. I've had enough really bad things happen in my life to know that losing a game of football isn't worth tying yourself in knots over.

31-05-2021, 08:33 PM
I don’t think I was ever really that into it. No doubt I would have felt differently if we’d won but I found it so easy to disconnect from it after the final whistle.

31-05-2021, 08:38 PM
Wasn’t surprised so, wobbled along the road pished as a fart and never gave it another thought.

AliboyFC
31-05-2021, 08:41 PM
I’m over it..

Hopefully they club have learnt from it and we move in to an even more successful season last year.

Same, we still have Europe to look forward to aswell. GGTTH 💚 :thumbsup:
2nd next season will be good since septic will have to rebuild.

uwxm07
31-05-2021, 09:07 PM
Over it about 5 minutes after the final whistle. I've had enough really bad things happen in my life to know that losing a game of football isn't worth tying yourself in knots over.

This !

Crunchie
31-05-2021, 09:15 PM
Ditto :aok: It used to take me until the next game to get over a disappointment, you're lucky if it's a day now.

31-05-2021, 10:00 PM

Do you not think we had a decent season?

31-05-2021, 10:02 PM
I got over it surprisingly quickly. Probably a combination of low expectations and not actually being at the game.
Having been at so many of our Hampden debacles it's much easier for me to deal with sat with friends and family at home.

The absence of a bus home, with a sore throat and an early hangover (and putting up with the few on the bus they haven’t hit the hangover yet) was definitely a small consolation.

Weegreenman
31-05-2021, 10:26 PM
Kinda getting used to it now. The boy band mentality at our club is beyond embarrassing. Maybe we should be taking umbrage and maybe we’re ****in well entitled to carry on feeling let down!

31-05-2021, 10:38 PM
Kinda getting used to it now. The boy band mentality at our club is beyond embarrassing. Maybe we should be taking umbrage and maybe we’re ****in well entitled to carry on feeling let down!Boy band mentality? How does that relate to the current squad?

31-05-2021, 10:39 PM
Kinda getting used to it now. The boy band mentality at our club is beyond embarrassing. Maybe we should be taking umbrage and maybe we’re ****in well entitled to carry on feeling let down!

I'm still sore about it, we were well beaten by a team of huddies imo. It would be much worse if we hadn't won it in 2016.

Some solace to be found in the hard cold fact that the Yams haven't won the League Cup since 1962. Nearly 60 years for goodness sake. That is a beyond embarrassing statistic.

loanheadhibby
31-05-2021, 10:48 PM
Over it next morning.
We are all different but the players were pathetic in the cup final.
Not so sure you should have shrugged it off by Sunday morning.

31-05-2021, 10:58 PM
Over what?

cocteautwin
01-06-2021, 12:42 AM
Over it. We're still 4-3 ahead of the Jambos for trophy wins in my lifetime so we're not behind any of the second tier teams in my eyes. Imagine if we had won against, Livi, Ross C, St J though . . . . . .

01-06-2021, 05:45 AM

Exactly a bit of perspective required. We move on.

01-06-2021, 05:59 AM

Ron Gordon is the man who was in charge of the day overall and he cannot be sacked.

01-06-2021, 06:18 AM

What does this crap even mean?

h1bs4life
01-06-2021, 06:36 AM

People who I know are all pretty down about Hibs just now including myself
Been watching Hibs around 50 years and it actually feels worse now than it did in years gone by. Thought 2016 was going to change things.
Have no confidence in Ross when it comes to derbies and big one of games at Hampden.
Hopefully a few signings and as season approaches will get the excitement going as it has in the past.

01-06-2021, 06:39 AM

IMO is no actual Hibby uses that boy band crap - utter cringe, miles off the mark and taken out of context from a quote from the doughnut who blew Celtics 10 in a row.

Seriously. Why are you saying that? Its just utter rubbish.

01-06-2021, 06:51 AM
IMO is no actual Hibby uses that boy band crap - utter cringe, miles off the mark and taken out of context from a quote from the doughnut who blew Celtics 10 in a row.

Seriously. Why are you saying that? Its just utter rubbish.

Yep. This season proved that the boy band leader was the one who left the club in a huff and finished a distant second in what should have been a one horse race.

01-06-2021, 07:03 AM
Yep. This season proved that the boy band leader was the one who left the club in a huff and finished a distant second in what should have been a one horse race.

The worst thing is, the quote was about Mowbrays team, because of their daft haircuts and inconsistency. It was absolutely nothing to do with any current players. Infact, more of the ''boyband'' were at Celtic last season under Lennon (scott brown)

01-06-2021, 07:05 AM
Been watching Hibs around 50 years and it actually feels worse now than it did in years gone by. Thought 2016 was going to change things.
Have no confidence in Ross when it comes to derbies and big one of games at Hampden.
Hopefully a few signings and as season approaches will get the excitement going as it has in the past.

If people are still upset at this point they need to reevaluate their life. There is something very unhealthy of carrying about all that disappointment. They must really struggle when things that really matter in life hit them square on. Its just a game of football.

01-06-2021, 07:07 AM

I've been watching Hibs for around 55 years and it has been a lot worse than this for the vast majority of that time.

From around 1976 to around 1985 it was dire stuff with hardly any Hampden trips for the fans.

Results and improved performances in the Collins, Kane, Goram era and a few good trips as well. 1991 League Cup win the highlight of Alex Miller's area but that fizzled out badly and a few poor seasons ensued. The run of no derby wins was tough to endure as well. Relegation season was a lot less fun than this season as well.

Alex McLeish gave us a good couple of seasons before we sunk back into mediocrity.

We went through a lot of managers with occasional bright spots but by and large it was poor. How anybody can compare this season to Terry Butcher's spell beggars belief.

Although I spent two years travelling to some grounds I don't particularly ever want to go back to I enjoyed immensely the two seasons under Stubbs. Lennon gave as more progress and although Heckinbotham set us back a bit we are back nearer to where we should be with Jack Ross.

I have reservations about Jack Ross as well as many others on this site but for the moment I am happy to go with him.

The loss to SJ and the manner of the defeat is a really sore one but every club gets sore ones without exception.

I don't always agree with your views but I respect them and I'm sure if you look back at the last 50 years you have watched Hibs there were many of them much worse than this season.

PS lack of fans didn't help either

01-06-2021, 07:31 AM
I’m still raging.

Of course Jack deserves to keep his job because in objective terms he got the results, but he’s gonna have to find a way for this Hibs team to turn up when it really matters.

01-06-2021, 07:35 AM
I’m still raging.

Of course Jack deserves to keep his job because in objective terms he got the results, but he’s gonna have to find a way for this Hibs team to turn up when it really matters.

How is this rage manifesting itself?

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 07:50 AM
For me, I can't get that excited about this current team. I'd sell all the players that we rejected bids for in January and use it to rebuild.

Miller 94-96
McLeish 00-01
Mowbray 04-06
Collins 06-07
Stubbs 15-16
Lennon 17-18

Those teams all better than this current team.

Watched the Alex Ferguson documentary on prime last night. He says we first played Rangers at Ibrox and sneaked a draw, at Full time the players are jumping up and down celebrating a draw, he goes what's going on here we only drew. And then they win the Scottish Cup and slaughters them at full time saying we set standards long ago.

For me, we wouldn't have lost that Final under Lennon. Not a chance.

01-06-2021, 07:53 AM
For me, I can't get that excited about this current team. I'd sell all the players that we rejected bids for in January and use it to rebuild.

Miller 94-96
McLeish 00-01
Mowbray 04-06
Collins 06-07
Stubbs 15-16
Lennon 17-18

Watched the Alex Ferguson documentary on prime last night. He says we first played Rangers at Ibrox and sneaked a draw, at Full time the players are jumping up and down celebrating a draw, he goes what's going on here we only drew. And then they win the Scottish Cup and slaughters them at full time saying we set standards long ago.

That last paragraph ruins an otherwise interesting post.

01-06-2021, 08:03 AM

Miller 94-96
McLeish 00-01
Mowbray 04-06
Collins 06-07
Stubbs 15-16
Lennon 17-18

I agree that those teams are better than the current team, however there are a lot of missing years between 94 and now when we weren't.

I would sell as well and rebuild as well.

01-06-2021, 08:06 AM
That last paragraph ruins an otherwise interesting post.
Lennon never beat St Johnstone as Hibs manager. He blew a huge game at Tiny and his reaction to that - his “not accepting failure” saw the team descend to 8th place when he left.

How anyone would think he was a stick on to win the cup is beyond me.

FWIW, re the Ferguson quotes on the Old Firm - Jack Ross is also on record at starting the disappointment with drawing against them because he wants us to beat them.

01-06-2021, 08:09 AM

Miller 94-96
McLeish 00-01
Mowbray 04-06
Collins 06-07
Stubbs 15-16
Lennon 17-18

Miller 94-96 - What about the years of boredom we had to endure before Lexo assembled that team? Yet Jack ross with better immediate results doesn't merit the same patience?

Collins 06-07 - Sorry, but he just picked up where Mowbray left off.

Stubbs 15-16 - Great side but couldn't break down stuffy teams either.

Lennon 17-18 - 18 maybe, the 17 part was less memorable.

01-06-2021, 08:11 AM
I agree that those teams are better than the current team, however there are a lot of missing years between 94 and now when we weren't.

I would sell as well and rebuild as well.

Stubbs 15-16 is an interesting comparison.

We finished 3rd in the Championship and lost a cup final to Ross County, and a play-off (not the final) to Falkirk, before winning the Scottish Cup.

I was a huge fan of Stubbs and thought he was unlucky not to win more, however I think it’s hard to make a case that the 15-16 side was better than the current side who finished third in the top flight.

That’s quite a leap, imho.

01-06-2021, 08:25 AM
I’m still raging.

What games don’t matter?

01-06-2021, 08:27 AM

Miller 94-96
McLeish 00-01
Mowbray 04-06
Collins 06-07
Stubbs 15-16
Lennon 17-18

There is every chance. Lennon did not win once against St Johnstone as Hibernian manager. So yes, we probably do lose it.

Or, more likely, Motherwell at home.

01-06-2021, 08:30 AM
TBF to him, Jack Ross did something logical and understandable and just put out his best team that day. Lots of people on here were grinding their teeth over his choice to play a different keeper in the semi saying it was a disgrace we “weren’t playing our best team”. Lots of the same people saying all we needed to do to win was “turn up”, ignoring the fact that St Johnstone had our number all season and the only time we got something meaningful from them was a last minute contentious penalty.

Unfortunately they nullified us perfectly and made us look very poor, something we have done to other teams this season ourselves.

The more I look back at it with a calm head, the more I think that was the best thing Jack Ross could do against a team who just have our number just now. In time we will be more versatile and have that understanding as a team and we could do something very special with this squad and manager if we allow them to do so.

01-06-2021, 08:32 AM
There is every chance. Lennon did not win once against St Johnstone as Hibernian manager. So yes, we probably do lose it.

Or, more likely, Motherwell at home.

He also blew the semi final against Aberdeen before we even took the field with a bizarre team selection, and played Laidlaw against Celtic who wasn’t nearly as good as Marciano.

Unless he has the biggest budget in a competiton, Neil Lennon doesn’t do winning things as a manager.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 09:06 AM
He also blew the semi final against Aberdeen before we even took the field with a bizarre team selection, and played Laidlaw against Celtic who wasn’t nearly as good as Marciano.

Unless he has the biggest budget in a competiton, Neil Lennon doesn’t do winning things as a manager.

The early goal was a killer though and a bit of a freak goal. We done well against a very good Aberdeen side.

Its safe to say we did feel confident going into that game.

h1bs4life
01-06-2021, 09:16 AM
If people are still upset at this point they need to reevaluate their life. There is something very unhealthy of carrying about all that disappointment. They must really struggle when things that really matter in life hit them square on. Its just a game of football.

Do you actually read posts , nobody has mentioned anything outside of Hibs and having to reevaluate their life. Its a football thing quite easy to seperate that from the rest of my life.
Are you one of the ones that if Hibs get beat you go home and kick the cat and don't speak to anyone ?

01-06-2021, 09:20 AM

We finished 3rd in the Championship and lost a cup final to Ross County, and a play-off (not the final) to Falkirk, before winning the Scottish Cup.

I was a huge fan of Stubbs and thought he was unlucky not to win more, however I think it’s hard to make a case that the 15-16 side was better than the current side who finished third in the top flight.

My judgement is maybe clouded by the fact that I really enjoyed the two seasons with Stubbs as manager.

01-06-2021, 09:26 AM
I'm not angry anymore but just feel drained from this season and apathetic. Didn't bother watching either of the European finals and beginning to develop a major dose of apathy towards football in general. I've been going that way for a while but Hibs were always different.

I'm sure I'll pick myself up but right now I can't say I'm excited for next season. Getting fans back and being able to properly watch games with friends at the pub will probably drag me back.

01-06-2021, 09:28 AM
Do you actually read posts , nobody has mentioned anything outside of Hibs and having to reevaluate their life. Its a football thing quite easy to seperate that from the rest of my life.
Are you one of the ones that if Hibs get beat you go home and kick the cat and don't speak to anyone ?

You seem desperate to keep these crap threads going.
Hibs 4 life my arse.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 09:29 AM

The 15-16 Stubbs team was quite clearly a Top 4 Premier side stuck in the Championship. We beat every Premier side we faced. Granted it didn't get out the Championship but that side was everything we want in a Hibs team.

Attacking exciting fast paced football, wave after wave of attack.

01-06-2021, 09:37 AM
The 15-16 Stubbs team was quite clearly a Top 4 Premier side stuck in the Championship. We beat every Premier side we faced. Granted it didn't get out the Championship but that side was everything we want in a Hibs team.

"Granted we didn't get out of the Championship" is a caveat to be proud of.

01-06-2021, 09:46 AM

Just a wee bit of confusion here...we were clearly a top 4 premier league side who couldn't get out of the championship after losing over 2 legs to our main competitors in the division?

01-06-2021, 09:46 AM
Some of the comments, bitching and sniping on this thread is crazy.

Unless your opinion fits the narrative your shot down on here :faf:

01-06-2021, 09:47 AM

What is the narrative?

01-06-2021, 09:48 AM

What's the narrative? I need to know if I am for it or against it.

01-06-2021, 09:49 AM
TBF to him, Jack Ross did something logical and understandable and just put out his best team that day. Lots of people on here were grinding their teeth over his choice to play a different keeper in the semi saying it was a disgrace we “weren’t playing our best team”. Lots of the same people saying all we needed to do to win was “turn up”, ignoring the fact that St Johnstone had our number all season and the only time we got something meaningful from them was a last minute contentious penalty.

Unfortunately they nullified us perfectly and made us look very poor, something we have done to other teams this season ourselves.

The more I look back at it with a calm head, the more I think that was the best thing Jack Ross could do against a team who just have our number just now. In time we will be more versatile and have that understanding as a team and we could do something very special with this squad and manager if we allow them to do so.

Are you serious? Maybe we should have just conceded the Cup Final as St Johnstone have our number just now? Acceptance of failure; no wonder Hibs are amongst Scottish football's biggest underachievers when we have fans who are so defeatist.

The reason St Johnstone have our number just now, is because their Manager is more tactically astute than our Manager. While failing to win a cup final against a significantly smaller club is a regular occurrence for Hibs, the lack of application and fight, tactical naivety and horrendous performance in this year's cup final was completely unacceptable.

Like the majority of Hibs fans, we'll bounce back from the experience as we've done it so many times before. However, if we want to get rid of our soft underbelly for good, the club and supporters need to set the bar higher and stop sticking our heads in the sand.

h1bs4life
I've been watching Hibs for around 55 years and it has been a lot worse than this for the vast majority of that time.

From around 1976 to around 1985 it was dire stuff with hardly any Hampden trips for the fans.

Results and improved performances in the Collins, Kane, Goram era and a few good trips as well. 1991 League Cup win the highlight of Alex Miller's area but that fizzled out badly and a few poor seasons ensued. The run of no derby wins was tough to endure as well. Relegation season was a lot less fun than this season as well.

Alex McLeish gave us a good couple of seasons before we sunk back into mediocrity.

We went through a lot of managers with occasional bright spots but by and large it was poor. How anybody can compare this season to Terry Butcher's spell beggars belief.

Although I spent two years travelling to some grounds I don't particularly ever want to go back to I enjoyed immensely the two seasons under Stubbs. Lennon gave as more progress and although Heckinbotham set us back a bit we are back nearer to where we should be with Jack Ross.

I have reservations about Jack Ross as well as many others on this site but for the moment I am happy to go with him.

The loss to SJ and the manner of the defeat is a really sore one but every club gets sore ones without exception.

I don't always agree with your views but I respect them and I'm sure if you look back at the last 50 years you have watched Hibs there were many of them much worse than this season.

PS lack of fans didn't help either

My 1st Hampden trip aged 10 was the 1972 Scottish Cup final with my brother , my dad and grandad so it was a pretty low point to start with. Grandad long gone never seen it, auld man now in his eighties still has a season ticket at least he has seen it.This season was the 1st Hibs appearance at Hampden we have missed since 1972.
Agree about the dross over the years Bertie Auld, Alex Miller although he had to put up with a lot with takeover at least won the league cup. We were good to watch under Mowbray although can't forgive him for leaving after giving Zibbi a 3 year contract. I don't buy or use boy band nonsense . Things were good under McLeish for a while.
We were good to watch under Stubbs and despite being in the championship beat a few Premier teams , if I remember right decent record against Hertz and Rangers good under Lennon as well.
The last few years have been good getting to latter stages of cups , lost count of the amount of long journeys home from Hampden .at least we didn't have that this year. Thought this was going to be our year again.
Bought my season ticket for next season 1st couple of days they were on sale and no doubt will be good to go when next season starts.
It makes it worse that it was not one of the Old Firm but St Johnstone we lost to , will get over it football wise like all the other times.
Ross deserves credit for getting us to third in the league , could have been so much more in the cups tho.

Allez Hibs
Just a wee bit of confusion here...we were clearly a top 4 premier league side who couldn't get out of the championship after losing over 2 legs to our main competitors in the division?

I think anyone with any common sense understands the point I'm making.

Why is there such a need by the same posters to shoot down in flames other posters who post thoughts outside the box.

So by your logic we discredit the Scottish Cup win as it was against another Championship side? We beat our main competitors in the Scottish Cup Final and we had an excellent record against them.

The Stubbs team was better than the Lennon team that did get promoted!

h1bs4life
01-06-2021, 09:55 AM
You seem desperate to keep these crap threads going.
Hibs 4 life my arse.

Another brilliant contribution , how long did you take to come up with that .
Was responding to someone's smart arse post.
Maybe you need to get back to sleep.

01-06-2021, 09:59 AM
Another brilliant contribution , how long did you take to come up with that .
Was responding to someone's smart arse post.
Maybe you need to get back to sleep.

Great reply. No offence Sleeping Giant, nothing against your posts but that response tickled me 😂

01-06-2021, 10:05 AM

Why is there such a need by the same posters to shoot down in flames other posters who post thoughts outside the box.

So by your logic we discredit the Scottish Cup win as it was against another Championship side? We beat our main competitors in the Scottish Cup Final and we had an excellent record against them.

I was being a little bit facetious and I didn't shoot you down in flames, I simply asked for some qualification.

I didn't say anything about the Scottish cup win? It was the single best day of my life away from my family and nothing will change that.

My logic that you seem to have such an understanding of is that you can't say our team that ultimately finished 3rd in the championship is actually a top 4 premiership team. A good team? Absolutely.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:08 AM
I was being a little bit facetious and I didn't shoot you down in flames, I simply asked for some qualification.

I didn't say anything about the Scottish cup win? It was the single best day of my life away from my family and nothing will change that.

My logic that you seem to have such an understanding of is that you can't say our team that ultimately finished 3rd in the championship is actually a top 4 premiership team. A good team? Absolutely.

Where did Hearts finish the season straight after they were promoted?

01-06-2021, 10:14 AM

I agree with that post in general, only bit is we didn't beat Ross County in the League Cup Final which we probably would have done 7 or 8 times out of 10.

01-06-2021, 10:15 AM
Are you serious? Maybe we should have just conceded the Cup Final as St Johnstone have our number just now? Acceptance of failure; no wonder Hibs are amongst Scottish football's biggest underachievers when we have fans who are so defeatist.

The reason St Johnstone have our number just now, is because their Manager is more tactically astute than our Manager. While failing to win a cup final against a significantly smaller club is a regular occurrence for Hibs, the lack of application and fight, tactical naivety and horrendous performance in this year's cup final was completely unacceptable.

Like the majority of Hibs fans, we'll bounce back from the experience as we've done it so many times before. However, if we want to get rid of our soft underbelly for good, the club and supporters need to set the bar higher and stop sticking our heads in the sand.

I’m actually unsure if that post is entirely serious. There’s some good points in it but the suggestion that Jack Ross done the best he could possibly have done in that game is insane.

01-06-2021, 10:16 AM

“Acceptance of failure”. There’s that phrase that nobody can explain what it means coming up again.

The Hearts-esque arrogance of “significantly smaller team” rears its head too. Season ticket sales and the like mean nothing when a club has done so well to keep the core of their footballing department together and not even Rangers could stop them in the cup at Ibrox.

They were the clear best team in cup competitions this year, evidenced by the fact they won both of them. They stifled us and made us look poor, we are still a work in progress who have improved tenfold since Jack Ross came in but don’t yet have the versatility required.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:18 AM
However, if we want to get rid of our soft underbelly for good, the club and supporters need to set the bar higher and stop sticking our heads in the sand.

This, 100% this. And, a good post in general.

01-06-2021, 10:18 AM
“Acceptance of failure”. There’s that phrase that nobody can explain what it means coming up again.

The Hearts-esque arrogance of “significantly smaller team” rears its head too. Season ticket sales and the like mean nothing when a club has done so well to keep the core of their footballing department together and not even Rangers could stop them in the cup at Ibrox.

They were the clear best team in cup competitions this year, evidenced by the fact they won both of them. They stifled us and made us look poor, we are still a work in progress who have improved tenfold since Jack Ross came in but don’t yet have the versatility required.

From my point of view I couldn’t care less if it’s Hearts-esque arrogance to expect us to beat St Johnstone. We should be. Especially when we’re third in the league.

01-06-2021, 10:20 AM

Nobody is being shot down in flames. The way these forums work is someone posts an opinion then others post either agreeing or disagreeing with it.

Sometimes, people use facts and evidence to explain why they hold a certain opinion, and others counter it. That’s just how it works.

Nobody is being shot down in flames, though.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:21 AM
From my point of view I couldn’t care less if it’s Hearts-esque arrogance to expect us to beat St Johnstone. We should be. Especially when we’re third in the league.

Yep. Hibs have let St Johnstone do a Cup Double where there was no Old Firm in the Semi Finals of both competitions. Let that sink in.

That's once in a lifetime stuff and Hibs didn't win either cup. That will be spoken about for decades!

01-06-2021, 10:22 AM

St Johnstone probably looked at us and thought they should be beating us, they’re a consistent top 6 side, they’d already won a cup this season, and have been kicking about the top 6 for years while we pissed about in the Championship. They finished last season above us, albeit by benefiting from the decision to calculate the final standings on a points per game basis.

01-06-2021, 10:23 AM
Yep. Hibs have let St Johnstone do a Cup Double where there was no Old Firm in the Semi Finals of both competitions. Let that sink in.

That's once in a lifetime stuff and Hibs didn't win either cup. That will be spoken about for decades!

St Johnstone earned the cup double whether we like it or not. We didn’t let them have it, that’s pish.

01-06-2021, 10:25 AM
My 1st Hampden trip aged 10 was the 1972 Scottish Cup final with my brother , my dad and grandad so it was a pretty low point to start with. Grandad long gone never seen it, auld man now in his eighties still has a season ticket at least he has seen it.This season was the 1st Hibs appearance at Hampden we have missed since 1972.
Agree about the dross over the years Bertie Auld, Alex Miller although he had to put up with a lot with takeover at least won the league cup. We were good to watch under Mowbray although can't forgive him for leaving after giving Zibbi a 3 year contract. I don't buy or use boy band nonsense . Things were good under McLeish for a while.
We were good to watch under Stubbs and despite being in the championship beat a few Premier teams , if I remember right decent record against Hertz and Rangers good under Lennon as well.
The last few years have been good getting to latter stages of cups , lost count of the amount of long journeys home from Hampden .at least we didn't have that this year. Thought this was going to be our year again.
Bought my season ticket for next season 1st couple of days they were on sale and no doubt will be good to go when next season starts.
It makes it worse that it was not one of the Old Firm but St Johnstone we lost to , will get over it football wise like all the other times.
Ross deserves credit for getting us to third in the league , could have been so much more in the cups tho.

A decent exchange of views with no animosity, I like that :greengrin.

My first visit to Hampden was the 6-1 defeat in 1972 as well, I think the overall excitement of going to Hampden kinda masked my disappointment.

Interesting your comment about it being SJ in the final and not the Old Firm.

When we beat Motherwell on penalties I was happy but not to the extent we were going to win the cup. However when Aberdeen lost on the Sunday afternoon a realisation came across me that it was becoming likelier, when it came to the Sunday night game I wasn't sure who I wanted to win. The head told me that Rangers winning would mean that getting third would be a great benefit but if St.Johnstone won then the cup opened right up. When the game started I found I couldn't want Rangers to win and found it amusing when SJ equalised and then won on pens.

Looking back I wish Rangers had won, there wouldn't have been the let down and anger we suffered in the final. I genuinely believe we would have played better as it would have been more open against them and we would have had a better chance of winning.

Hindsight eh.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:25 AM
St Johnstone earned the cup double whether we like it or not. We didn’t let them have it, that’s pish.

In the two Cup games against them it is fair to say we didn't lay a glove on them.

01-06-2021, 10:26 AM
In the two Cup games against them it is fair to say we didn't lay a glove on them.

That’s a fact, I’m not disputing that.

01-06-2021, 10:29 AM

It’s arrogance to portray them as this small team we are so much bigger than and expect to beat them all the time when their successes in the last decade dwarf ours. They deserve every bit of it too.

01-06-2021, 10:30 AM

To be fair to SJ they won the cup by knocking out the teams that finished 1st, 3rd and 7th in the League. A lot of teams have had easier cup wins than that.

One of the reasons there were no Old Firm teams in the semi was they knocked one of them out in the quarters.

:agree: I loved that team, but while they did well against top flight teams generally, they also lost games to teams in the Championship, who if we played them now, we’d get slaughtered for losing to them.

I’m not wanting to talk the team down, we had some great games with them - just need to make sure we’re balanced when using them as a stick to beat the current team.

Nobody did in the cup.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:32 AM
To be fair to SJ they won the cup by knocking out the teams that finished 1st, 3rd and 7th in the League. A lot of teams have had easier cup wins than that.

One of the reasons there were no Old Firm teams in the semi was they knocked one of them out in the quarters.

Good point, and I do agree that it might have worked out better for us had Rangers beaten St Johnstone.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:34 AM
It’s arrogance to portray them as this small team we are so much bigger than and expect to beat them all the time when their successes in the last decade dwarf ours. They deserve every bit of it too.

So, why are we not taking their manager and scouting department?

01-06-2021, 10:35 AM

Mate you need to re-read what you’ve written. Your memory is clouded due to the cup win - we huffed and puffed against many championship sides that season, definitely not with attacking and exciting fast paced football. Morton at home, Alloa away - there’s a lengthy list.

We showed up in some big games - but not them all.

Winning the cup is what we want from a Hibs side but a lack of consistency like that we don’t.

01-06-2021, 10:36 AM

Their fan base seems to allow stable management and blips in form which allows them to build.

01-06-2021, 10:37 AM
St Johnstone probably looked at us and thought they should be beating us, they’re a consistent top 6 side, they’d already won a cup this season, and have been kicking about the top 6 for years while we pissed about in the Championship. They finished last season above us, albeit by benefiting from the decision to calculate the final standings on a points per game basis.

And they can think that all they like. I wouldn’t call that Hearts-esque arrogance either.

01-06-2021, 10:38 AM

I'm the opposite of that. We have people on here saying they are still raging? Like really. Are they still walking about the place in a rage? That makes no sense to me at all. If you are carrying around those feelings that is not a healthy position to be in. Or do you just feel the rage when you start typing on the forum?

01-06-2021, 10:39 AM

Have you not been paying attention to how they’ve succeeded? The large part of that squad have spent years at the club. They have an understanding of how they play that means even if a player makes an individual error, someone else is there to cover it straight away. It gives them more confidence to defend, press and at set pieces.

That can only come through time and makes them greater than the sum of their parts. There’s a reason Craig, Swanson and Drey Wright have looked a shadow of the players they were at Saints compared to their time at us.

You don’t develop a good team by chopping and changing all the time.

01-06-2021, 10:39 AM

Nobody expects us to “beat them all the time”.

Occasionally would be nice though.

01-06-2021, 10:40 AM
I'm the opposite of that. We have people on here saying they are still raging? Like really. Are they still walking about the place in a rage? That makes no sense to me at all. If you are carrying around those feelings that is not a healthy position to be in. Or do you just feel the rage when you start typing on the forum?

I’d imagine they mean they’re still raging when they think back to the game as oppose to being raging in general.

If someone asked me about it I’d probably say “I’m still raging” when thinking back to it but I wouldn’t say I’m angry in general because of it

HFC93

I've read every post on this thread and it seems like a healthy discussion. Folk have different views and that's normal. Whats the narrative out of interest?

Where did Hearts finish the season straight after they were promoted?

3rd. In the season prior they romped the Championship. We did not.

01-06-2021, 10:41 AM
And they can think that all they like. I wouldn’t call that Hearts-esque arrogance either.

The difference is that they would think that because of their results and achievements, our fans (or at least some of them) think that because we sell more season tickets and have a bigger stadium, wage bill and training facilities.

In the end it’s just the on the pitch stuff that matters.

01-06-2021, 10:41 AM
Nobody expects us to “beat them all the time”.

Occasionally would be nice though.

We did this season just completed.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:42 AM
Have you not been paying attention to how they’ve succeeded? The large part of that squad have spent years at the club. They have an understanding of how they play that means even if a player makes an individual error, someone else is there to cover it straight away. It gives them more confidence to defend, press and at set pieces.

That can only come through time and makes them greater than the sum of their parts. There’s a reason Craig, Swanson and Drey Wright have looked a shadow of the players they were at Saints compared to their time at us.

You don’t develop a good team by chopping and changing all the time.

Good point.

But we also have players who have been at the Club years and years and years...................

01-06-2021, 10:43 AM

Neither would I, because it has a good degree of justification to it.

FWIW, based on spend/size of club we underachieve compared to St Johnstone.

The thing that makes a big difference, imho, is St Johnstone stick by their manager during tough periods. Davidson lost seven out of his first ten games, iirc.

We’ve folk who chase Ross after every defeat, we’ve had something in the region of 5 or 6 managers in the time they’ve had two. There’s something to be said for stability and letting managers get time to deliver.

01-06-2021, 10:45 AM
Their fan base seems to allow stable management and blips in form which allows them to build.

:agree: it’s like their accepting mediocrity moments have ultimately paid dividends big style.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:45 AM
Neither would I, because it has a good degree of justification to it.

FWIW, based on spend/size of club we underachieve compared to St Johnstone.

The thing that makes a big difference, imho, is St Johnstone stick by their manager during tough periods. Davidson lost seven out of his first ten games, iirc.

We’ve folk who chase Ross after every defeat, we’ve had something in the region of 5 or 6 managers in the time they’ve had two. There’s something to be said for stability and letting managers get time to deliver.

I think we all acknowledge that the last thing we need/want is a manager change.

Its just amazing what St Johnstone and Calum Davidson have achieved to be fair and echos the point for stability.

I just hope we can build something here by selling Nisbet Porteous and Doig.

01-06-2021, 10:49 AM
The difference is that they would think that because of their results and achievements, our fans (or at least some of them) think that because we sell more season tickets and have a bigger stadium, wage bill and training facilities.

In the end it’s just the on the pitch stuff that matters.

Just to be clear, St J can think that because of their results and achievements yet we finish third and we can’t? :confused:

Nobody is basing it purely on wage bill and training facilities from what I can see although they’re also factors that would lead me to expect to beat them.

01-06-2021, 10:52 AM

Would you expect Celtic fans to accept finishing behind us next season or losing two games at Hampden to us because we’ve got one of the longer serving managers in the league now?

Or to take that point further, would you expect us to finish above Celtic next season if we stick with Jack Ross and if not, why not?

01-06-2021, 10:53 AM
Just to be clear, St J can think that because of their results and achievements yet we finish third and we can’t? :confused:

Nobody is basing it purely on wage bill and training facilities from what I can see although they’re also factors that would lead me to expect to beat them.

How many cups have the two clubs won in the past ten years?

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 10:57 AM
Would you expect Celtic fans to accept finishing behind us next season or losing two games at Hampden to us because we’ve got one of the longer serving managers in the league now?

Or to take that point further, would you expect us to finish above Celtic next season if we stick with Jack Ross and if not, why not?

Exactly.

We laugh at Hearts for their big team mentality and persona but that's exactly what we need to have. The mentality of a big club and not accepting mediocrity. I couldn't care if it's our first time finishing 3rd in 16 years or 4th time in 40 years. We should be finishing 3rd and it was a weak 3rd this year.

Do Hearts or Aberdeen even celebrate finishing 3rd?

01-06-2021, 10:57 AM

Do you think the situations are comparable?

01-06-2021, 10:58 AM
Exactly.

We laugh at Hearts for their big team mentality and persona but that's exactly what we need to have. The mentality of a big club and not accepting mediocrity. I couldn't care if it's our first time finishing 3rd in 16 years or 4th time in 40 years. We should be finishing 3rd and it was a weak 3rd this year.

That’s what we need. We need to copy the team that got relegated last season.

01-06-2021, 10:59 AM

Eh, demoted actually.

01-06-2021, 10:59 AM

Nobody is taking anything away from St Johnstone and their Manager; a remarkable and well deserved achievement in winning 2 cups.

Tell me though, why are Hibs always a 'work in progress' (which I agree with incidentally), and St Johnstone are dual trophy winners this season? They looked like relegation fodder when their rookie Manager came in earlier in the season. What is it that they are doing right and what can Hibs learn from them? Some things seem obvious - a stronger mentality, work ethic off the ball and tactical awareness.

On your point about arrogance, there is no arrogance in Hibs (the club and fans) having the self-belief and confidence to win against a club with significantly less resources than ours. Perhaps the arrogance is in fielding the same team and using the same tactics which have failed repeatedly time after time; somehow thinking that we must win as the opposition's players are inferior to ours?

You are right to say JR has improved us during in the time he has been in post and his job is clearly safe for now. The results in next season's big games (Hearts and cup games) however will determine his future. There is significant room for improvement but I hope he succeeds.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 11:00 AM

If we were relegated in those circumstances do you think we would accept it?

01-06-2021, 11:01 AM

I see that we're back in the twighlight zone again...:rolleyes:

01-06-2021, 11:05 AM
Exactly.

I think this is the 4 millionth time I've asked:

CAN SOMEONE TELL US WHAT NOT ACCEPTING MEDIOCRITY LOOKS LIKE?

01-06-2021, 11:08 AM

I can’t remember who it was, I think it was a boxer, but they said that they don’t get nervous going into a fight because it’s not in the ring where you improve, it’s where you gauge you are at your abilities. You don’t improve by focusing on the moment of truth where you are revealed, you focus on training and improving on the build up to it as that’s the time that you can move forward.

We are not good enough to beat St Johnstone in a single match on a regular basis yet. We are good enough over the course of the season to accumulate more points than them.

We need to train our players better in a number of styles, build that understanding in the squad of the ways in which we play and of each other and also improve tactically.

I’m confident that Jack Ross is the man in time to reflect on the season just completed and implement training, coaching and recruitment that will see us develop further in time. He’s an articulate modern manager who fits the mould of what we need.

01-06-2021, 11:09 AM

Am I reading this right?

You say we need to adopt Hearts' winning mentality, then it's pointed out they got relegated so you just go off on a tangent about something else?

01-06-2021, 11:11 AM
:agree: it’s like their accepting mediocrity moments have ultimately paid dividends big style.

This thing where supposed Hibs fans are laying into others for 'accepting mediocrity' i.e. finishing 3rd, consistently reaching semi's and final's (!) is becoming tiresome and also potentially as damaging as anything I can currently think of.

As incredibly frustrating (and disgraceful if I'm being honest) as our 2 Hampden performances were against St Johnstone it's abundantly clear to anyone with even half a brain that the club is far closer to providing us with real success than they have been for ages. We have good owners, a good squad, and good coaching staff- yet these hysterical clowns are genuinely advocating that we rip it all up and start again at this point? To read comments like 'if we don't win something soon Jack Ross has to go' is genuinely incredible considering where we we were prior to him taking over. People forget how quickly thing can turn the other way.

Instant success will never be something you can realistically expect in Scotland seeing as you're up against 2 clubs that have far greater resources. Yes we should have nailed a trophy this season and the disappointment will be there for a long time but we could also be on the cusp of a long run of being consistently good - something that has been very rare in my lifetime. This mentality a few seem to have of wanting to hound managers very early really is not a good thing.

01-06-2021, 11:11 AM
Tell me though, why are Hibs always a 'work in progress' (which I agree with incidentally), and St Johnstone are dual trophy winners this season?
Because since the start of the 13/14 season they have had two managers, we have had six, along with all of the upheaval that comes with that.

We should be planning for the future already and getting someone like David Gray or Darren McGregor prepared to take over from Jack Ross ideally two, three or even four seasons down the line so we have that succession in place, an understanding of the team style from the get go and we don’t have that upheaval all over again.

01-06-2021, 11:13 AM
Am I reading this right?

You say we need to adopt Hearts' winning mentality, then it's pointed out they got relegated so you just go off on a tangent about something else?

Yep - nobody's excels at losing court cases like they do. That's the standards we should be setting.

Halmyre Hibee
01-06-2021, 11:14 AM
Hibs players seem to blow hot and cold. Do we as fans over rate some of our players just because they wear the green & white. No matter who our coach is and whether or not you like Jack Ross or not I personally feel it is the players fault for the inconsistencies we have witnessed this season. Other than McGregor & Gray we have no real leaders on the park. The coaches can only coach and it’s up to the players to sort it out in the pitch and win their individual battles. We are getting outplayed by teams that on paper we are better than. I don’t have all the answers but we need to sort this out for next season. Great getting 3rd but could have been so so much better and these types of opportunities don’t come around often enough.

01-06-2021, 11:17 AM
Because since the start of the 13/14 season they have had two managers, we have had six, along with all of the upheaval that comes with that.

They also signed 8 new players this season including;

Rooney
Middleton
Conway
Bryson
Melamed
Brown
Zlamal

Previous season they signed (amongst others)

Booth
McCart

6 of the 11 played in the cup final (one off the bench) so I'm not buying this "played with each other for years" - not sure who said it but it's in this thread and then people are agreeing off the back of it.

I'm over the result, I just like accuracy.

01-06-2021, 11:47 AM
This thing where supposed Hibs fans are laying into others for 'accepting mediocrity' i.e. finishing 3rd, consistently reaching semi's and final's (!) is becoming tiresome and also potentially as damaging as anything I can currently think of.

As incredibly frustrating (and disgraceful if I'm being honest) as our 2 Hampden performances were against St Johnstone it's abundantly clear to anyone with even half a brain that the club is far closer to providing us with real success than they have been for ages. We have good owners, a good squad, and good coaching staff- yet these hysterical clowns are genuinely advocating that we rip it all up and start again at this point? To read comments like 'if we don't win something soon Jack Ross has to go' is genuinely incredible considering where we we were prior to him taking over. People forget how quickly thing can turn the other way.

Instant success will never be something you can realistically expect in Scotland seeing as you're up against 2 clubs that have far greater resources. Yes we should have nailed a trophy this season and the disappointment will be there for a long time but we could also be on the cusp of a long run of being consistently good - something that has been very rare in my lifetime. This mentality a few seem to have of wanting to hound managers very early really is not a good thing.

I love this post.

01-06-2021, 11:56 AM

We should be planning for the future already and getting someone like David Gray or Darren McGregor prepared to take over from Jack Ross ideally two, three or even four seasons down the line so we have that succession in place, an understanding of the team style from the get go and we don’t have that upheaval all over again.

Agreed, which makes it so crucial to make good managerial appointments, not for the short term but with a focus on the future.

It's not something the club have been particularly good at in the more recent past. Only a fool would argue we didn't have to empty Butcher, Calderwood and Heckingbottom. They have however got it right as well at times with Mowbray, McLeish, Stubbs and Lennon having varying degrees of success.

Jack Ross overall has done well at Hibs finishing 3rd and he's got the potential to improve us further next season. Like all young Managers he'll make mistakes, but he does have to learn from them. Hopefully he will, but his comments after the cup final were concerning.

01-06-2021, 11:57 AM

You can’t expect instant success because of the big two, but equally it’s very, very rare that you’ll get such an opportunity to achieve success because of the big two. Will be a long, long time before they’re both out of both tournaments before we even get as far as Hampden.

Another team have taken that opportunity, at our expense, twice. I’m just really toiling to share the positivity about what we’re going to build on the back of this season. We’ll win something again at some point in the future but for all the talk of building, having good foundations etc I don’t see it being any time soon because I don’t think we’ll get the same level of opportunity. As I said earlier in the thread, I think we’ll be fine next season, not sure how much more than that though.

01-06-2021, 12:04 PM
We have no right to just turn up and think because it's St Johnstone we should win it comfortably. They have very good record against us and as its mentioned are a regular top 6 team. The most annoying thing about the game was lack of tactical nous by our manager and the total lacklustre performance from the majority of our team. It's obvious there'll be question marks over Ross and the team but it's now done and dusted, frustrations been vented etc. We have a new season beckoning, hopefully new players to get behind and no matter who's in charge we must get behind them, at least for the 1st few months.

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 12:27 PM
You can’t expect instant success because of the big two, but equally it’s very, very rare that you’ll get such an opportunity to achieve success because of the big two. Will be a long, long time before they’re both out of both tournaments before we even get as far as Hampden.

Another team have taken that opportunity, at our expense, twice. I’m just really toiling to share the positivity about what we’re going to build on the back of this season. We’ll win something again at some point in the future but for all the talk of building, having good foundations etc I don’t see it being any time soon because I don’t think we’ll get the same level of opportunity. As I said earlier in the thread, I think we’ll be fine next season, not sure how much more than that though.

Good post. Sums our current position up well.

01-06-2021, 01:05 PM

Problem for me is we always seem to be on the cusp at Hibs. I remember after 2016 a good few posters on here, myself included, felt the monkey was off our back and lots were saying we'll win another cup in the next 5 years.

Well here we are 5 years later and we haven't delivered another trophy. I think the club is going in the right direction overall but Scottish football rarely allows you to build - we could well lose 4, 5 or more first team players this summer and find ourselves playing a much improved Celtic and Aberdeen team, with Hearts also back in the league chucking benefactor money around.

I guess this just comes down to perspective. You see us at the start of something, I see us having missed a genuine once in a lifetime chance.

I'll guess we'll see who is right next season.

01-06-2021, 01:16 PM
Problem for me is we always seem to be on the cusp at Hibs. I remember after 2016 a good few posters on here, myself included, felt the monkey was off our back and lots were saying we'll win another cup in the next 5 years.

Well here we are 5 years later and we haven't delivered another trophy. I think the club is going in the right direction overall but Scottish football rarely allows you to build - we could well lose 4, 5 or more first team players this summer and find ourselves playing a much improved Celtic and Aberdeen team, with Hearts also back in the league chucking benefactor money around.

I guess this just comes down to perspective. You see us at the start of something, I see us having missed a genuine once in a lifetime chance.

For all the talk of how we’re building something it could just as easily be argued that we’re at the end of our current cycle if we lose some players in the summer. With that in mind we’ll be in transition again and who knows what’ll come from there.

I think we’ll do very well to finish third next season if we lose 3 or 4 players this summer. As you said, with that in mind it all feels like a huge missed opportunity this season.

h1bs4life
01-06-2021, 01:46 PM

What makes you think the club are far closer to providing us with real success than they have been for ages.
We have good owners, a good squad, and good coaching staff. We have good owners , you have said yourself that 2 Hampden performances against St Johnstone were disgraceful add a Hertz team just off furlough and you can see why questions are being asked of both the manager and the team.
Have a look at the season ticket thread especially at the beginning and you will see comments on style of play.
As well as questioning supporters mentality maybe we should question the mentality at the club because the Scottish Cup Final was probably the worst performance at Hampden I have seen. Compare the attitude between the 2021 team and 2016 team.
This season was certainly strange with no crowds but was probably our best chance with no the Old Firm anywhere near to make our mark .
Hopefully we will all be back at Easter Road next season cheering the team on.
I would be absolutely delighted if you are right about the last bit we could be on the cusp of a long run of being consistently good

Allez Hibs
01-06-2021, 01:51 PM

For all the talk of how we’re building something it could just as easily be argued that we’re at the end of our current cycle if we lose some players in the summer. With that in mind we’ll be in transition again and who knows what’ll come from there.

I think we’ll do very well to finish third next season if we lose 3 or 4 players this summer. As you said, with that in mind it all feels like a huge missed opportunity this season.

I almost think we will almost be in a constant state of transition due to the economics of the league and money on offer down south. It was interesting to see the number of players St Johnstone have signed recently who have done the Cup Double. What is their scouting team doing differently to ours?

I think we just have to accept the yearly cycle of rebuilding a team.

01-06-2021, 01:56 PM

No one can tell you because no one knows, it’s become some weird buzzword that basically means “why aren’t you as angry as me?”

01-06-2021, 02:00 PM
About 15 beers and a shared bottle of double korn helped me get over it on the Saturday night. There's still a twinge of disappointment now and again but I remind myself that we lost to a great cup side. Not recognising St Johnstone's Cup achievements this season does not only them but also Hibs a huge dishonour.

01-06-2021, 02:02 PM
No one can tell you because no one knows, it’s become some weird buzzword that basically means “why aren’t you as angry as me?”

Nail on the head. :faf:

01-06-2021, 02:07 PM

I'm yet to get an answer, but I will report back if I ever do.

But I'll keep trying.

01-06-2021, 02:16 PM
What games don’t matter?

They all matter, obviously, but some matter more than others.

Also, some games you can turn in an average performance and come away with the win. Others, you have to be absolutely at it.

That SCF display from Hibs was way below what was needed.

mcfly
01-06-2021, 02:45 PM
Until we get players in who can perform on the big stage at hampden we won’t win anything.

Too many of our team crumbled at hampden again 3 times this season.

So we can argue all we like about improvement- yes we did if we take 3rd in the league. But we bottled our chances to win cups which is our target.

Until you get winners in and ship the losers out it will be deja vous.

h1bs4life
01-06-2021, 02:52 PM

Not a term I would use but suspect if people are not accepting mediocrity then they stop buying season tickets , stop buying walk up match tickets.
Seen it plenty time over the years when we have been mediocre or basically crap people stop going to games .
Plenty occasions people can't give away there season tickets when they can't make a game and virtually no walk ups with the old joke you pin your season ticket up on the notice board in the pub for someone to use and someone steals the pin.

01-06-2021, 03:03 PM
Not a term I would use but suspect if people are not accepting mediocrity then they stop buying season tickets , stop buying walk up match tickets.
Seen it plenty time over the years when we have been mediocre or basically crap people stop going to games .
Plenty occasions people can't give away there season tickets when they can't make a game and virtually no walk ups with the old joke you pin your season ticket up on the notice board in the pub for someone to use and someone steals the pin.

I don’t think anybody will go that far right away to be fair.

I do think I know what the phrase means though, basically not just going to accept finishing 3rd as a great season when more could and should have been achieved.

I can’t really be arsed getting into the technicalities of what certain words mean, it’s pretty clear what they meant IMO, even if the wording could have been better.

FWIW anger isn’t the big threat to the club, people will calm down eventually, even if it’s taking longer than it should in many cases, including myself. IMO the big concern for the club should be anger turning to apathy.

I don’t care about this Hibs team, I don’t care about the manager really, if any of them left tomorrow I wouldn’t bat an eye lid. I can not wait to get back to East Road next season though. I personally think the football was dreadful to watch for much of last season and no stats will convince me otherwise, if that continues next season I hope the novelty of getting back inside the ground doesn’t wear off quickly.

So for me, not accepting mediocrity or whatever it was that was said looks to me like slowly losing touch with the club and drifting away from it a bit. I dare say not accepting mediocrity will look different to every person which is maybe why it’s difficult for any one person to give a definitive answer that speaks for all of the people feeling that way.

01-06-2021, 03:12 PM

I do think I know what the phrase means though, basically not just going to accept finishing 3rd as a great season when more could and should have been achieved.

I can’t really be arsed getting into the technicalities of what certain words mean, it’s pretty clear what they meant IMO, even if the wording could have been better.

FWIW anger isn’t the big threat to the club, people will calm down eventually, even if it’s taking longer than it should in many cases, including myself. IMO the big concern for the club should be anger turning to apathy.

I don’t care about this Hibs team, I don’t care about the manager really, if any of them left tomorrow I wouldn’t bat an eye lid. I can not wait to get back to East Road next season though. I personally think the football was dreadful to watch for much of last season and no stats will convince me otherwise, if that continues next season I hope the novelty of getting back inside the ground doesn’t wear off quickly.

So for me, not accepting mediocrity or whatever it was that was said looks to me like slowly losing touch with the club and drifting away from it a bit. I dare say not accepting mediocrity will look different to every person which is maybe why it’s difficult for any one person to give a definitive answer that speaks for all of the people feeling that way.

Pretty long post for somebody who doesn't care Bingo.:hibees

01-06-2021, 03:19 PM
Pretty long post for somebody who doesn't care Bingo.:hibees

Very true.

I still care about the club and as I say I’m looking forward to getting back into the stadium.

If it’s still as pish to watch when I’m back in the stadium I’ll maybe post less pish but I doubt it when the alternative is working.

01-06-2021, 03:22 PM
Very true.

I still care about the club and as I say I’m looking forward to getting back into the stadium.

If it’s still as pish to watch when I’m back in the stadium I’ll maybe post less pish but I doubt it when the alternative is working.
I hear you. I just think it will be totally different with the punters back.

01-06-2021, 03:28 PM
H

Brilliant post agree with everything

I would like to think not accepting mediocrity means kicking on with our new signings, winning a trophy and finishing in as high a League position as possible in the not too distant future

Playing fast exciting entertaining attacking football of course

01-06-2021, 03:37 PM
I hear you. I just think it will be totally different with the punters back.

Just on that in the final you could imagine the huge lift the fans may have made on the players after the penalty save.

01-06-2021, 04:02 PM

You’ll get slaughtered for this one, but FWIW I agree with you...

01-06-2021, 04:27 PM

The extreme reactions are simply frustration at being so close and failing. It's the hope that kills.

The semifinal and final against St Johnstone are rare events - in the case of the Scottish Cup Final, probably a once in a generation event. Whenever Hibs have come close to success in the last 50 years, the vultures have been quick to circle and cherry pick our best players and manager, denying us the chance to build a sustained challenge. Just look at the speculation around Hibs players moving on and all we did was get 3rd place, without beating the OF or Hearts. We've all been here too often in the past, tantalisingly close to winning the Cup or building a good squad of players but ultimately winning nothing ! If Ron was a billionaire who had promised millions to making Hibs a success, then maybe we'd all see this season as a stepping stone to greater glory in years to come - but he's not. And it matters little how good an owner he is if at the end of the day, Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts can steal or outbid us for decent players. So, as I say, the reaction is simply extreme disappointment among Hibs fans who have been around the block knowing that we've blown a huge chance that is unlikely to come our way again anytime soon.

01-06-2021, 04:55 PM
Until we get players in who can perform on the big stage at hampden we won’t win anything.

Too many of our team crumbled at hampden again 3 times this season.

So we can argue all we like about improvement- yes we did if we take 3rd in the league. But we bottled our chances to win cups which is our target.

Until you get winners in and ship the losers out it will be deja vous.

Agree with that .... but we have a problem. The type of players you're talking about normally don't want to play for Hibs or stay for very long. They can get much better money elsewhere. The Hibs teams which have done well have been moments in time when a lot of things came together eg take Celtic loanee, Stokes out of the 2016 Cup Final and we're never winning that game. I agree, we need winners who aren't afraid of their own shadow at Hampden but sadly that's what we've got. The question is what Hibs/Jack Ross can do about it with the money that's available ?

01-06-2021, 07:39 PM
The extreme reactions are simply frustration at being so close and failing. It's the hope that kills.

The semifinal and final against St Johnstone are rare events - in the case of the Scottish Cup Final, probably a once in a generation event. Whenever Hibs have come close to success in the last 50 years, the vultures have been quick to circle and cherry pick our best players and manager, denying us the chance to build a sustained challenge. Just look at the speculation around Hibs players moving on and all we did was get 3rd place, without beating the OF or Hearts. We've all been here too often in the past, tantalisingly close to winning the Cup or building a good squad of players but ultimately winning nothing ! If Ron was a billionaire who had promised millions to making Hibs a success, then maybe we'd all see this season as a stepping stone to greater glory in years to come - but he's not. And it matters little how good an owner he is if at the end of the day, Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts can steal or outbid us for decent players. So, as I say, the reaction is simply extreme disappointment among Hibs fans who have been around the block knowing that we've blown a huge chance that is unlikely to come our way again anytime soon.

Excellent post. It was an outstanding opportunity to add silverware to the trophy cabinet. The managers tactics and performance from the players bar Macey was an absolute disgrace. If we had actually turned up against St Johnstone who are a hard grafting disciplined unit but not exactly world beaters and we had actually tried a lick but still been beaten there'd be no argument from me and I suspect likewise from the vast majority of the support. It was the manner of the defeat that still rankles over a week later. You couldn't have summed it up any better that it was a 'huge chance blown'.

Hibs1969
01-06-2021, 08:07 PM
First half of the league cup semi final we were decent and if we’d taken our chances would have been comfortably ahead. But we didn’t and the rest is history.

01-06-2021, 10:38 PM
It'll be great when club shakes the "Hibsed it" garbage and other clear media vendettas. That and win more derbies to begin with, followed by cups.

I'm thankful I still get angry when Hibs lose a match as, for me, the alternative is apathy, as others have mentioned. Again, this is for me, but I've endured watching Hibs fail over and over again. If I don't get angry about the failure, even for a brief time, I think I'd pack it in as I think I'd no longer care.

Ive seen it with relatives, big Hibs fans who have followed for 40-50 years and now see no reason to ever go back to ER. "Seen it all before" is a common saying among the Hibs fans I know.

Flattering to achieve only to fall at the latter stages takes a lot out of the fans through the years. This and being easy target for media mocking.

Win more football matches is only way to fix this. Our derby record needs a lot of work. Added to Europe every season and we're on to a winner.

01-06-2021, 10:51 PM

I'm already over it. St Johnstone made history in that final and their double winning squad and manager deserve the status of legends they earned last season. On the other hand, as a Hibs fan what I witnessed was such a tepid attempt to win a final it was barely worth getting angry about, so I haven't .... it was so pathetic it's almost like it never happened and the fact it was against a club none of us can even really say we hate it didn't hurt like it could have.

Never mind abusing the team on line or whatever, I can't think of a bigger insult than being so underwhelmed by their efforts on the day that I can't even be arsed to get angry about it.

We move on in the sure and certain knowledge that none of these players can ever go into a final again and put up such a pathetic effort. As for the bounce affect winning it could have given us .... I guarantee you signing Leigh Griffiths would add far more to our ST uptake.

01-06-2021, 10:56 PM
It'll be great when club shakes the "Hibsed it" garbage and other clear media vendettas. That and win more derbies to begin with, followed by cups.

I'm thankful I still get angry when Hibs lose a match as, for me, the alternative is apathy, as others have mentioned. Again, this is for me, but I've endured watching Hibs fail over and over again. If I don't get angry about the failure, even for a brief time, I think I'd pack it in as I think I'd no longer care.

Ive seen it with relatives, big Hibs fans who have followed for 40-50 years and now see no reason to ever go back to ER. "Seen it all before" is a common saying among the Hibs fans I know.

Flattering to achieve only to fall at the latter stages takes a lot out of the fans through the years. This and being easy target for media mocking.

Win more football matches is only way to fix this. Our derby record needs a lot of work. Added to Europe every season and we're on to a winner.

'Hibsed it' was unambiguously ended in 2016. Nothing else.

Hertzed it is now nearly 60 years since last winning the League Cup despite money laundering a Russian tycoons ill gotten gains and plundering the Lithuanian nations pension funds. A despicable record of failure from the Yams.

Ross got his tactics all wrong and the players looked as if they were playing in quicksand on Gullane beach.

A very bad day at the office but Hibs are of course for a lifetime of joy and torture not just for a one off final.

Mon the Cabbage.

CJHibby
01-06-2021, 11:13 PM
Don't get over it...get even with it! It's going to be a tough season coming up for JR and the boys with expectations lifted...:hibees

02-06-2021, 01:04 AM

I made it quite clear I also felt that we’d missed an opportunity we should have taken so not sure why you’re saying that.

I’m as gutted as anyone else - I bet there’s nobody more gutted. Just because I’m not throwing a tantrum demanding everyone gets sacked doesn’t mean my ‘perspective’ on what happened at Hampden is any different to yours.

02-06-2021, 06:17 AM
'Hibsed it' was unambiguously ended in 2016. Nothing else.

Hertzed it is now nearly 60 years since last winning the League Cup despite money laundering a Russian tycoons ill gotten gains and plundering the Lithuanian nations pension funds. A despicable record of failure from the Yams.

Ross got his tactics all wrong and the players looked as if they were playing in quicksand on Gullane beach.

A very bad day at the office but Hibs are of course for a lifetime of joy and torture not just for a one off final.

Mon the Cabbage.

‘Hibsed it’ still gets mentioned in the media though. It hurts cause there’s some truth to it or we would simply laugh it off.

02-06-2021, 06:31 AM
How many cups have the two clubs won in the past ten years?

How on earth does what happened 10 years ago have more bearing on games in the present than what happened this season?

02-06-2021, 07:27 AM
‘Hibsed it’ still gets mentioned in the media though. It hurts cause there’s some truth to it or we would simply laugh it off.

Unfortunately this is true.

02-06-2021, 07:28 AM

How on earth could something which is little more than poor banter hurt anyone? Surely most of us do laugh it off while giving out similar to others.

02-06-2021, 07:30 AM

I’m not in the mood to hear platitudes from Jack about how proud he is of the boys and how we did a good league campaign.

We had huge opportunities to win trophies and we blew them all.

02-06-2021, 07:40 AM
I made it quite clear I also felt that we’d missed an opportunity we should have taken so not sure why you’re saying that.

I’m as gutted as anyone else - I bet there’s nobody more gutted. Just because I’m not throwing a tantrum demanding everyone gets sacked doesn’t mean my ‘perspective’ on what happened at Hampden is any different to yours.

Not sure why you left out the rest of my post given that was the majority of my point? I guess the difference from my reading your post is you feel we will continue on an upward trajectory, whereas I'm yet to be convinced that's the case. I've not followed Hibs as long as some on here but my dad has been supporting them for 50+ years and as another poster alluded to a bit earlier, mentioned to me that this was about the 20th "we're on the verge of success" that he's seen.

If anything, history shows its much more likely we'll see the first team dismantled and have to rebuild again. Personally I just can't let go of last season just yet and look to next year with the same optimism.

In terms of your last comment not sure if that's a dig or not as I don't think I've "thrown a tantrum" at any point, and don't want Ross sacked. I've just lost confidence in him and don't look forward to next season as things stand. I think he deserves a chance but also don't believe he will deliver us a trophy.

02-06-2021, 08:12 AM
How on earth could something which is little more than poor banter hurt anyone? Surely most of us do laugh it off while giving out similar to others.

As clearly pointed out, it hurts because there's truth in it. Eight Hampden appearances since the cup win and one victory? That is a poor record by any standard, especially as only three of the games were against the Old Firm. We've lost to Hearts Aberdeen, St Johnstone (twice) and beaten Dundee Utd.

As for the not accepting mediocrity banter, which was ridiculed. One way fans show their disapproval/approval of the direction the team is going in is via season ticket sales. For a range of reasons, including our cup capitulations, I fear our sales will be down several thousand from last season. Win that cup and the mood would have been buoyant. I'm in that boat exactly myself. As it stands so are a few of my former season ticket holding buddies.

02-06-2021, 08:18 AM

I don't have to laugh it off. It no longer resonates for me after 2016. That was the big huge massive proverbial monkey off the back.

For goodness sake anyone using the now defunct hibsed it only has to be reminded that we lifted the cup in what was a glorious victory and reminded of Brora Rangers, the penalties v Celtic, being relegated in the most shambolic way when a draw at St Mirren would have sufficed and of course 60 years without lifting the League Cup.

2016 destroyed hibsed it and it now means absolutely zilch in my opinion.

Being beaten by St Johnstone was down to poor management of tactics and player performances. Hibsed it no longer resonates with me after 2016, I'm surprised at others who continue to think its somehow still a thing.

02-06-2021, 08:55 AM
I don't have to laugh it off. It no longer resonates for me after 2016. That was the big huge massive proverbial monkey off the back.

For goodness sake anyone using the now defunct hibsed it only has to be reminded that we lifted the cup in what was a glorious victory and reminded of Brora Rangers, the penalties v Celtic, being relegated in the most shambolic way when a draw at St Mirren would have sufficed and of course 60 years without lifting the League Cup.

2016 destroyed hibsed it and it now means absolutely zilch in my opinion.

Being beaten by St Johnstone was down to poor management of tactics and player performances. Hibsed it no longer resonates with me after 2016, I'm surprised at others who continue to think its somehow still a thing.

Beautifully put. Almost poetic.

02-06-2021, 08:57 AM

We have fans who perpetuate the Hibsd it stuff - we’ve had folk on here citing examples of how “Hearts wouldn’t have lost that one” despite there being examples of exactly that readily available.

02-06-2021, 09:09 AM
We have fans who perpetuate the Hibsd it stuff - we’ve had folk on here citing examples of how “Hearts wouldn’t have lost that one” despite there being examples of exactly that readily available.

If Hibs and Hearts seasons were reversed then you could maybe say that we'd Hibsed it. Bottling penalties against a Celitc side in free fall. Knocked out the Scottish cup by part time Brora Rangers who'd only trained for a week after three months off, knocked out the other cup by part time Alloa Athletic, repeatedly losing to the likes of Queen of the South and Raith Rovers etc. If finishing 3rd, just missing our record points total, qualifying for Europe, a semi final and a final is Hibsing it then i hope we Hibs it every season.

02-06-2021, 09:17 AM
If Hibs and Hearts seasons were reversed then you could maybe say that we'd Hibsed it. Bottling penalties against a Celitc side in free fall. Knocked out the Scottish cup by part time Brora Rangers who'd only trained for a week after three months off, knocked out the other cup by part time Alloa Athletic, repeatedly losing to the likes of Queen of the South and Raith Rovers etc. If finishing 3rd, just missing our record points total, qualifying for Europe, a semi final and a final is Hibsing it then i hope we Hibs it every season.

Constantly repeating the fact that we finished third in the league isn’t going to persuade me that it’s ok we failed to bring home a trophy this season.

Competing for domestic silverware is literally the entire point. We came up short.

02-06-2021, 09:27 AM
Constantly repeating the fact that we finished third in the league isn’t going to persuade me that it’s ok we failed to bring home a trophy this season.

Competing for domestic silverware is literally the entire point. We came up short.

It shouldn't be ignored either though. We've won trophies more often than we've finished 3rd over the last 40 years so it's an achievement. We lost a final against a team that has our number. Similar to Chelsea and Man City. They finished further ahead of Chelsea than we did St Johnstone and still continually lose to them, even in a final. It happens.

02-06-2021, 09:33 AM
It shouldn't be ignored either though. We've won trophies more times than we've finished 3rd over the last 40 years so it's an achievement. We lost a final against a team that has our number. Similar to Chelsea and Man City. They finished further ahead of Chelsea than we did St Johnstone and comtinuly lose to them, even in a final. It happens.

Yes, obviously it happens. It happens far too often.

I’m not blind to the fact that our league campaign was helped enormously by an absence of Hearts and Aberdeen basically chucking it.

The best result of the season was probably that stuffy 1-0 win v the Dons to get third place in the bag. This is hardly vintage stuff.

02-06-2021, 09:35 AM

I’m not blind to the fact that our league campaign was helped enormously by an absence of Hearts and Aberdeen basically chucking it.

The best result of the season was probably that stuffy 1-0 win v the Dons to get third place in the bag. This is hardly vintage stuff.

Hearts haven't been near us in the league for years so don't think them not being there made any difference

02-06-2021, 09:37 AM
Hearts haven't been near us in the league for years so don't think them not being there made any difference

It would because they would have almost certainly taken more points off us.

02-06-2021, 09:38 AM

Apart from the fact that most seasons they routinely take more points from us than we do for them, they are an irrelevance.

02-06-2021, 10:11 AM

If only we actually earned our finishing position last season instead of it being everybody else's fault.

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 10:16 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-address-cup-disappointment-as-jack-ross-credited-for-meeting-four-out-of-five-targets-3257847

Hibs sporting director Graeme Mathie has offered a stout defence of manager Jack Ross and the team that secured the club’s first top three finish in 16 years and challenged in the latter stages of the cup competitions.

What were the targets???

02-06-2021, 10:18 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-address-cup-disappointment-as-jack-ross-credited-for-meeting-four-out-of-five-targets-3257847

Hibs sporting director Graeme Mathie has offered a stout defence of manager Jack Ross and the team that secured the club’s first top three finish in 16 years and challenged in the latter stages of the cup competitions.

What were the targets???

Did you read the article?

One, to have the team competing at the top end of the league, meaning European qualification, two, to bring in players who could add some value for the club, three, bring through young players from the academy and create value by developing them, then another thing was to play an attack-minded style. I know that has been questioned at times but if you look at the number of goals we have scored and chances we have created in games then we’ve played an attack-minded style.

That's 4 and the 5th would have been to win a cup.

02-06-2021, 10:19 AM

What were the targets???

Win a cup
Reach a final
Reach a SC semi
Reach a LC semi
Finish top four

I'd imagine

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 10:22 AM
Win a cup
Reach a final
Reach a SC semi
Reach a LC semi
Finish top four

I'd imagine

Maybe one of those....

“One, to have the team competing at the top end of the league, meaning European qualification, two, to bring in players who could add some value for the club, three, bring through young players from the academy and create value by developing them, then another thing was to play an attack-minded style. I know that has been questioned at times but if you look at the number of goals we have scored and chances we have created in games then we’ve played an attack-minded style.

Mathie thinks we play an attack minded style???

02-06-2021, 10:25 AM
If only we actually earned our finishing position last season instead of it being everybody else's fault.

Has anyone really said that third place last season wasn't a worthy achievement?

Pointing out that this coming season is likely to be more challenging isn't undermining the improvement we saw in our league form. If people were saying we got third with one of the lowest points tallies of the past decade or so, then I could see your point.

As it stands most people seem to recognise that we earned the best of the rest last season, whilst acknowledging that the league will probably be more challenging for us this coming season. I think that's OK.

02-06-2021, 10:26 AM
Maybe one of those....

“One, to have the team competing at the top end of the league, meaning European qualification, two, to bring in players who could add some value for the club, three, bring through young players from the academy and create value by developing them, then another thing was to play an attack-minded style. I know that has been questioned at times but if you look at the number of goals we have scored and chances we have created in games then we’ve played an attack-minded style.

Mathie thinks we play an attack minded style???

The stats say we did.

It’s not what i saw personally but maybe just shows that either we are wrong or stats can be misleading.

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 10:26 AM
Has anyone really said that third place last season wasn't a worthy achievement?

Pointing out that this coming season is likely to be more challenging isn't undermining the improvement we saw in our league form. If people were saying we got third with one of the lowest points tallies of the past decade or so, then I could see your point.

As it stands most people seem to recognise that we earned the best of the rest last season, whilst acknowledging that the league will probably be more challenging for us this coming season. I think that's OK.

I agree with this.

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 10:27 AM
The stats say we did.

It’s not what i saw personally but maybe just shows that either we are wrong or stats can be misleading.

We must all be wrong then.

02-06-2021, 10:28 AM
We must all be wrong then.

3rd top scorers in the league.

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 10:28 AM
Did you read the article?

That's 4 and the 5th would have been to win a cup.

It would be interesting to know the 5th one for sure.

02-06-2021, 10:30 AM
Apart from the fact that most seasons they routinely take more points from us than we do for them, they are an irrelevance.

I'm pretty sure that Hearts have only had the better of the H2H in 4 seasons out of the last 10. So it's hardly the case that they're regularly taking 8/9 points off us.

02-06-2021, 10:42 AM
I'm pretty sure that Hearts have only had the better of the H2H in 4 seasons out of the last 10. So it's hardly the case that they're regularly taking 8/9 points off us.

https://www.londonhearts.com/scores/tea/hibernian.html

42 games since 2009-10 season, including cup games.

Hearts 19 wins, 13 draws, Hibs 10 wins. So we have less than a 25% win ratio v them. That will make next season more of a challenge for us.

02-06-2021, 10:45 AM

Hearts 19 wins, 13 draws, Hibs 10 wins. So we have less than a 25% win ratio v them. That will make next season more of a challenge for us.

what a horrible fact!

02-06-2021, 10:50 AM

You can be smart if you want, but only a fool would deny that there were fewer obstacles to third place in this league campaign than usual.

02-06-2021, 10:53 AM

2019/2020 - where the season was cut short, was the first time in 6 attempts that Hearts had won more derbies in a season than we had.

So I wouldn't consider it accurate that they "routinely take more points off us".

EDIT - albeit catching up on earlier posts, I would agree next season will be more challenging.

02-06-2021, 10:57 AM
As clearly pointed out, it hurts because there's truth in it. Eight Hampden appearances since the cup win and one victory? That is a poor record by any standard, especially as only three of the games were against the Old Firm. We've lost to Hearts Aberdeen, St Johnstone (twice) and beaten Dundee Utd.

As for the not accepting mediocrity banter, which was ridiculed. One way fans show their disapproval/approval of the direction the team is going in is via season ticket sales. For a range of reasons, including our cup capitulations, I fear our sales will be down several thousand from last season. Win that cup and the mood would have been buoyant. I'm in that boat exactly myself. As it stands so are a few of my former season ticket holding buddies.

If somebody using the term ‘hibsed it’ actually causes hurt then football fans much be much thinner skinned than I thought. Anybody who says that to me gets something back in return, it’s nothing more than banter.

How not accepting mediocrity manifests itself has still not been satisfactorily explained by anybody yet. Given that its thrown out pretty regularly, with the sub text being those who aren’t still raging after over a week are accepting sub standard performances then I would expect that some sort of positive action would be proposed. But apparently it means effectively giving up by no longer buying season tickets etc. That looks more like accepting mediocrity to me than the alternative of continuing to back the club to see us build on the firm foundations that have already been put in place. I’m under no illusions about how much work there remains to be done but I’d rather be building on third place and a cup final appearance than a bottom six finish.
As for being down several thousand season tickets from last season we have already sold over 9000 compared to last seasons 11000 which is truly remarkable in the Covid period.

02-06-2021, 10:57 AM
2019/2020 - where the season was cut short, was the first time in 6 attempts that Hearts had won more derbies in a season than we had.

So I wouldn't consider it accurate that they "routinely take more points off us".

EDIT - albeit catching up on earlier posts, I would agree next season will be more challenging.

We played Dundee Utd 3 times in the league and got 7 points.

We also beat them 2-0 in a cup tie.

Would we have got those results against Hearts? On recent evidence, not likely.

02-06-2021, 11:01 AM
Back on topic i think it would have been tougher to take if it wasn't during Covid and we were all there. Walked out of Hampden with 40k others when Livinston beat us in the final and to this day it's still the worst i've ever felt after a game despite the other disasters the club like to thow at us from time to time. Last season all felt a but surreal.

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 11:01 AM

No chance.

We will do very well to even get two wins v Hearts next season.

02-06-2021, 11:03 AM
No chance.

That's the spirit! As usual!

02-06-2021, 11:05 AM
No chance.

Hearts will probably beat us twice next season before they play their bottom six fixtures. We are their everything.

02-06-2021, 11:07 AM

For two of those seasons we weren't even in the same league as them. The stats I quoted are based on the meetings between sides from the past ten seasons. They show we have a win ratio lower than 25% over that time. We could extrapolate that over the past 40 years and it won't look much better, indeed it's probably a lot worse.

Hibs have only won more games v them in a season twice in the past ten years, sadly those were the two season when we had no league games and beat them in the cups. They have done so six times. Those are the hard stats, ****ing grim reading really.

02-06-2021, 11:08 AM

What recent evidence would that be? With exception of St Johnstone and the top 2, we must have averaged 6 or 7 points against most teams. Why would we not be confident to get 6 or 7 points against Hearts?

We've won our last 2 visits to Tynecastle. Under Robbie Neilson they played us 6 times (I think?) previously and won only once. Jack Ross has a 50% win rate in league derbies.

Think this comes down to a glass half full kinda view, which is fine. We finished 3rd by a 7 point margin though. If we drop a few more points to Hearts, so be it. Personally I would certainly fancy us to win the H2H over the season and finish above them.

02-06-2021, 11:11 AM
What recent evidence would that be? With exception of St Johnstone and the top 2, we must have averaged 6 or 7 points against most teams. Why would we not be confident to get 6 or 7 points against Hearts?

We've won our last 2 visits to Tynecastle. Under Robbie Neilson they played us 6 times (I think?) previously and won only once. Jack Ross has a 50% win rate in league derbies.

Think this comes down to a glass half full kinda view, which is fine. We finished 3rd by a 7 point margin though. If we drop a few more points to Hearts, so be it. Personally I would certainly fancy us to win the H2H over the season and finish above them.

That's what people forget. We didn't even scrape 3rd and if it wasn't for shooting ourselves in the foot against Motherwell and St Johnstone we'd have absolutely skooshed it.

02-06-2021, 11:14 AM
For two of those seasons we weren't even in the same league as them. The stats I quoted are based on the meetings between sides from the past ten seasons. They show we have a win ratio lower than 25% over that time. We could extrapolate that over the past 40 years and it won't look much better, indeed it's probably a lot worse.

Hibs have only won more games v them in a season twice in the past ten years, sadly those were the two season when we had no league games and beat them in the cups. They have done so six times. Those are the hard stats, ****ing grim reading really.

3 times. We were unbeaten 2012/13, winning one and drawing 3 in the league. Beating them in the Scottish Cup also.

And Hearts have only won more games 4 times in the past 10 years. So it's pretty even.

Seasons ending 2011 to 2020

02-06-2021, 11:20 AM
That's what people forget. We didn't even scrape 3rd and if it wasn't for shooting ourselves in the foot against Motherwell and St Johnstone we'd have absolutely skooshed it.

Exactly - and people wonder why we don't strut on to the park and over-run teams, yet any player that looks on here will learn how pish we are regardless of what the statistics say.

02-06-2021, 11:28 AM

And if Aberdeen hadn’t collapsed? What then?

I’ve not forgotten the details, it’s all quite fresh in the mind thanks.

02-06-2021, 11:32 AM

We had our barren spells too - what if we hadn't?

02-06-2021, 11:36 AM
We had our barren spells too - what if we hadn't?

Not you.

02-06-2021, 11:46 AM
You would be hard pressed to find a more negative critique of Hibs last season on Kickback.

02-06-2021, 11:48 AM
If somebody using the term ‘hibsed it’ actually causes hurt then football fans much be much thinner skinned than I thought. Anybody who says that to me gets something back in return, it’s nothing more than banter.

How not accepting mediocrity manifests itself has still not been satisfactorily explained by anybody yet. Given that its thrown out pretty regularly, with the sub text being those who aren’t still raging after over a week are accepting sub standard performances then I would expect that some sort of positive action would be proposed. But apparently it means effectively giving up by no longer buying season tickets etc. That looks more like accepting mediocrity to me than the alternative of continuing to back the club to see us build on the firm foundations that have already been put in place. I’m under no illusions about how much work there remains to be done but I’d rather be building on third place and a cup final appearance than a bottom six finish.
As for being down several thousand season tickets from last season we have already sold over 9000 compared to last seasons 11000 which is truly remarkable in the Covid period.

I'm not that bothered by the use of that term, although I do object to so called Hibs fans using it on here.

Are you sure about having sold 9000 season tickets already. I thought it c 7000?

I agree that we are building from a position of relative success. I would like to say a firm foundation, but I suspect that before the transfer window ends, we will see a significant turnover of players who contributed greatly to our third place finish last season.

Again speaking personally, I've never used the term "accepting/not accepting mediocrity". I don't really like it.

The reasons for buying or not buying season tickets are all about individual choice. Some can't afford it, others choose not to because they feel that they have better things to do with their money, albeit that they may contribute in other ways over the course of the season. I never bought a season ticket last year for a mixture of those two factors, but when I add up donations and purchase of TV viewing, it still added up to a decent wedge. I always admire the commitment of fellow fans who put their money in up front regardless of how good or otherwise the team has played.

02-06-2021, 11:55 AM
You would be hard pressed to find a more negative critique of Hibs last season on Kickback.

Is it aye?

Kickback is full of morons, who cares what they think.

I want Hibs to improve and maybe even fulfil our potential for once. Our failures at key moments last season became worryingly predictable and are worthy of discussion.

You can sweep it all under the carpet if you want, but if you don’t learn from your mistakes, how do you improve?

Many of the same posters on here parroting the ‘let’s move on, all is great’ line will be the same ones imploring us all to buy more tickets, buy into Hibs Supporters, etc.

Do you know the reason why the fanbase might be reluctant? Days like this season’s Scottish Cup Final. And the League Cup. And the delayed SC semi final.

You can talk about Ron’s plans for the club and the aim of competing at the top more consistently all you want, but the SC Final was the moment when it should have all come together. And it didn’t.

02-06-2021, 12:04 PM
I'm not that bothered by the use of that term, although I do object to so called Hibs fans using it on here.

Are you sure about having sold 9000 season tickets already. I thought it c 7000?

I agree that we are building from a position of relative success. I would like to say a firm foundation, but I suspect that before the transfer window ends, we will see a significant turnover of players who contributed greatly to our third place finish last season.

Again speaking personally, I've never used the term "accepting/not accepting mediocrity". I don't really like it.

The reasons for buying or not buying season tickets are all about individual choice. Some can't afford it, others choose not to because they feel that they have better things to do with their money, albeit that they may contribute in other ways over the course of the season. I never bought a season ticket last year for a mixture of those two factors, but when I add up donations and purchase of TV viewing, it still added up to a decent wedge. I always admire the commitment of fellow fans who put their money in up front regardless of how good or otherwise the team has played.

Looks like we pretty much agree on things. :greengrin
The club announced we had sold 9000 season tickets yesterday on Twitter.

02-06-2021, 12:06 PM
Looks like we pretty much agree on things. :greengrin
The club announced we had sold 9000 season tickets yesterday on Twitter.

Superb effort from all concerned. That's incredible backing.

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 12:11 PM
Why are some Hibs fans so offended when other Hibs fans say Hibsed it or use it as a term?

The term doesn't bother me at all and is quite apt at times.

02-06-2021, 12:15 PM
Is it aye?

Kickback is full of morons, who cares what they think.

I want Hibs to improve and maybe even fulfil our potential for once. Our failures at key moments last season became worryingly predictable and are worthy of discussion.

You can sweep it all under the carpet if you want, but if you don’t learn from your mistakes, how do you improve?

Many of the same posters on here parroting the ‘let’s move on, all is great’ line will be the same ones imploring us all to buy more tickets, buy into Hibs Supporters, etc.

Do you know the reason why the fanbase might be reluctant? Days like this season’s Scottish Cup Final. And the League Cup. And the delayed SC semi final.

You can talk about Ron’s plans for the club and the aim of competing at the top more consistently all you want, but the SC Final was the moment when it should have all come together. And it didn’t.

I’ll tell you what, I admire your stamina, I couldn’t keep that level of anger going for more then a few minutes , let alone ten days. :greengrin

Who is sweeping anything under the carpet? There might be a disagreement about whether the club has something oh you build on or not.... I think it has..... but every single one of us felt the same pain at the manner of the defeat when the final whistle went last week.
Again, who is saying it’s all great? Just because we aren’t all frothing at the mouth doesn’t mean we don’t share some concerns about the club we all love. It comes across as you thinking you care more then those you are pointing the finger at and I don’t think you really mean that.

02-06-2021, 12:19 PM
Why are some Hibs fans so offended when other Hibs fans say Hibsed it or use it as a term?

You really don't help yourself sometimes...

02-06-2021, 12:21 PM
This thread man :drunk:

02-06-2021, 12:21 PM
I’ll tell you what, I admire your stamina, I couldn’t keep that level of anger going for more then a few minutes , let alone ten days. :greengrin

Who is sweeping anything under the carpet? There might be a disagreement about whether the club has something oh you build on or not.... I think it has..... but every single one of us felt the same pain at the manner of the defeat when they final whistle went last week.
Again, who is saying it’s all great? Just because we aren’t all frothing at the mouth doesn’t mean we don’t share some concerns about the club we all love. It comes across as you thinking you care more then those you are pointing the finger at and I don’t think you really mean that.

Nope that’s not my intention at all. It’s a familiar criticism of fans expressing negative opinion but I am not one to declare a result ‘unacceptable’ as if that somehow makes me a more passionate supporter.

However the title of this thread and many of the replies tells the other side of the story.

My view is that the SC Final was a really damaging result. Time will tell, but if we want to ‘get over it’ we need to see a different approach from this club.

As they say, doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result is a sign of madness.

02-06-2021, 12:23 PM

Bored in the house with no one to argue with?!!

Accepting mediocrity is simply an expression. You’re an intelligent guy, you don’t need anyone to explain it to you..

Allez Hibs
02-06-2021, 12:25 PM
but if we want to ‘get over it’ we need to see a different approach from this club.

As they say, doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result is a sign of madness.

100%

02-06-2021, 12:33 PM
Nope that’s not my intention at all. It’s a familiar criticism of fans expressing negative opinion but I am not one to declare a result ‘unacceptable’ as if that somehow makes me a more passionate supporter.

However the title of this thread and many of the replies tells the other side of the story.

My view is that the SC Final was a really damaging result. Time will tell, but if we want to ‘get over it’ we need to see a different approach from this club.

I think we can both agree that it was damaging though we are probably miles apart in how we see the extent of the damage done. We ain’t gonna bridge that divide. :greengrin
What I would ask you to consider is the special nature of the whole season just past. Football is a different game without fans present. You can argue that good pros should overcome that but the passion and adrenaline rush provided by having fans present was a huge miss. We saw some freakish results in one off matches in leagues all over Europe and the manner of our cup final loss certainly fell in to that bracket.
So yes, there are lessons to be learned but perhaps not the same lessons as in the pre-Covid era.
Peace. :greengrin

02-06-2021, 12:36 PM
Bored in the house with no one to argue with?!!

Accepting mediocrity is simply an expression. You’re an intelligent guy, you don’t need anyone to explain it to you..

I’m married. I’m never stuck for anybody to argue with.

w pilton hibby
02-06-2021, 12:38 PM

Does that include changing manager/head coach 13 times in 20 years?

02-06-2021, 12:46 PM
I think we can both agree that it was damaging though we are probably miles apart in how we see the extent of the damage done. We ain’t gonna bridge that divide. :greengrin
What I would ask you to consider is the special nature of the whole season just past. Football is a different game without fans present. You can argue that good pros should overcome that but the passion and adrenaline rush provided by having fans present was a huge miss. We saw some freakish results in one off matches in leagues all over Europe and the manner of our cup final loss certainly fell in to that bracket.
So yes, there are lessons to be learned but perhaps not the same lessons as in the pre-Covid era.
Peace. :greengrin

Peace, yes, absolutely. We are all Hibs fans here (well, almost all :wink:) and we should be able to have civil discussions.

I’d love to dismiss the SC Final as a freakish result, but unfortunately a lot of Hibs fans saw the team sheet ahead of the game and made the same prediction: we will huff and puff to no discernible effect, St J will nick a goal, we won’t get back into it.

Which is exactly what happened.

I hate to say it, because it’s such a lazy cliche, but watching the Saints players after the game they just looked like they wanted it more?

Jack is obviously a competent manager and decent tactician. But can he inspire our players to dig deeper and find levels of performance that surprise even themselves? This is an unanswered question for now, but it can make all the difference between a ‘nearly’ team and a team that truly achieves its potential.

02-06-2021, 12:46 PM

Self-flagellation is not a good look. Whether it's apt at times or not, last thing we need is for that term to be commonly adopted to describe pathetic capitulation in football and other sports and no Hibs fan should be using it.

02-06-2021, 12:48 PM
Does that include changing manager/head coach 13 times in 20 years?

Nope.

02-06-2021, 12:57 PM

We'd still be 3rd. We were the 3rd best side.

02-06-2021, 12:59 PM
Peace, yes, absolutely. We are all Hibs fans here (well, almost all :wink:) and we should be able to have civil discussions.

I’d love to dismiss the SC Final as a freakish result, but unfortunately a lot of Hibs fans saw the team sheet ahead of the game and made the same prediction: we will huff and puff to no discernible effect, St J will nick a goal, we won’t get back into it.

Which is exactly what happened.

I hate to say it, because it’s such a lazy cliche, but watching the Saints players after the game they just looked like they wanted it more?

Jack is obviously a competent manager and decent tactician. But can he inspire our players to dig deeper and find levels of performance that surprise even themselves? This is an unanswered question for now, but it can make all the difference between a ‘nearly’ team and a team that truly achieves its potential.

Fair question, but that level of inspiration wasn't even needed for a national Cup Final against St Johnstone. Just some .. any .. level of professional pride and effort from half the Hibs players could have made a difference. It was the lack of belief/energy/confidence/determination/drive that was so shocking and throws so many question marks over the future of a lot of these Hibs players.

02-06-2021, 01:24 PM
Fair question, but that level of inspiration wasn't even needed for a national Cup Final against St Johnstone. Just some .. any .. level of professional pride and effort from half the Hibs players could have made a difference. It was the lack of belief/energy/confidence/determination/drive that was so shocking and throws so many question marks over the future of a lot of these Hibs players.

Legitimately, it’s a question for the manager too, because it’s his responsibility to get the players in the right frame of mind for any particular fixture.