View Full Version : Hibs Twitter

29-05-2021, 06:41 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1398706958446780427?s=21

Anyone know who does it now? The twitter account has been shocking recently.

Latapy1911
29-05-2021, 06:43 PM
I agree, Cringeworthy stuff from whoever is running it these days

29-05-2021, 06:44 PM
I'm not cringing. It's a daft mistake but hardly the end of the world.

29-05-2021, 06:49 PM
Nothing worth getting worked up about. Made a mistake, maybe it's just me but It's not top of my things to bother about.

29-05-2021, 06:51 PM
What did it say? Looks like it’s gone.

29-05-2021, 06:52 PM
What did it say? Looks like it’s gone.He wrote "John McGinn" instead of Paul.

29-05-2021, 06:52 PM
What did it say? Looks like it’s gone.

Our fourth award of the night is the Players' Player of the Year, sponsored by Environmental Waste Controls 🌿

This was closely fought vote between John McGinn and Martin Boyle... but it's @MartinBoyle9 who prevails! 🇦🇺

1️⃣5️⃣ goals for Martin in an outstanding season! 👊

Recently the account has been terrible.

29-05-2021, 06:54 PM
The guy's probably crapping himself every time he posts given the dozens of rancid replies from keyboard hardman ringpieces.

29-05-2021, 06:57 PM
What I find far more shocking are the number of twats aiming tweets at the admin, saying how much they hate him and wishing him to lose his job.

There's absolutely no winning for the club right now because everyone will respond with digs about the final, regardless of what the tweets say. A now deleted name slip up hardly matters. Comms department is still being built up again after significant changes.

HTD1875
29-05-2021, 06:58 PM
I'm not cringing. It's a daft mistake but hardly the end of the world.

You been in a coma since Kenny left the post.

29-05-2021, 06:58 PM
You been in a coma since Kenny left the post.Eh, no.

29-05-2021, 06:59 PM
What I find far more shocking are the number of twats aiming tweets at the admin, saying how much they hate him and wishing him to lose his job.

There's absolutely no winning for the club right now because everyone will respond with digs about the final, regardless of what the tweets say. A now deleted name slip up hardly matters. Comms department is still being built up again after significant changes.
Same folk every single time

29-05-2021, 07:00 PM
Same folk every single timeI don't even look at the replies. They honestly disgust me.

Hibs class... [emoji848]

29-05-2021, 07:14 PM
The guy's probably crapping himself every time he posts given the dozens of rancid replies from keyboard hardman ringpieces.

Yeap, the permanently angry brigade ready to pounce on absolutely anything the club does. ********s the lot of them.

29-05-2021, 07:35 PM
The guy's probably crapping himself every time he posts given the dozens of rancid replies from keyboard hardman ringpieces.Totally.... a simple mistake... I was singing the mcginn song last week with my daughter and fired out the wrong name lol ... easy done.

Haters gonna hate it seems :agree:

Hannah_hfc
29-05-2021, 10:53 PM
Same suspects on twitter who just aim their anger at everything Hibs do.

I honestly hope for the day Hibs start tweeting with replies turned off.

29-05-2021, 11:09 PM
It’s a mistake. Not very professional but not something to get upset about Don’t understand the need to be angry at everything.

AliboyFC
29-05-2021, 11:25 PM
He wrote "John McGinn" instead of Paul.

Ffs 😂

St.Kristopher
29-05-2021, 11:45 PM
I posted about this a while back. Our socials were in a great place until recently. I am not calling for anyone's head but some retraining needs to be done. The tone is all over the place. It is now being mentioned on general Scottish football podcasts, heard the lower league guys on the Terrace having a giggle at our expense last week.

One of the top social media gurus Lewis Wiltshire (who was head of sport for twitter) became a Hibs fan, I think in part because of our social media voice previously. He tweets regularly about us to an audience that don't normally even consider us.

Personally, I don't care I'll have my season ticket whatever, but for others, it may be in the margins. Those margins can and will make a difference.

We were very lucky to have Kenny. I will add that this job is one of the most important in the marketing team, yet normally undervalued in terms of £’s.

Ps I'm not Kenny's Da 😂

The Baldmans Comb
30-05-2021, 12:01 AM
Is Hibs Twitter not still being done by that English guy.

Doesn't really know much about Hibs but it became his "adopted" club when he really supports Newcastle/Man Utd/Midlesbro or whoever.

He seems rather harmless to be honest and John/Paul is a very easy mistake to make though his cringeworthy grovelling royalty tweet when the old racist died was boak inducing.

30-05-2021, 12:14 AM
I posted about this a while back. Our socials were in a great place until recently. I am not calling for anyone's head but some retraining needs to be done. The tone is all over the place. It is now being mentioned on general Scottish football podcasts, heard the lower league guys on the Terrace having a giggle at our expense last week.

One of the top social media gurus Lewis Wiltshire (who was head of sport for twitter) became a Hibs fan, I think in part because of our social media voice previously. He tweets regularly about us to an audience that don't normally even consider us.

Personally, I don't care I'll have my season ticket whatever, but for others, it may be in the margins. Those margins can and will make a difference.

We were very lucky to have Kenny. I will add that this job is one of the most important in the marketing team, yet normally undervalued in terms of £’s.

Ps I'm not Kenny's Da 😂

Is that the BBC Hearts squad?

And some think I should be ridiculed for calling out institutional BBC anti Hibernian bigotry and bias :rotflmao:

What will it take for it to sink into some folks heads that we here in Scotland urgently require serious fundamental change in order to facilitate merely a level playing field?

HTD1875
30-05-2021, 12:22 AM
Is that the BBC Hearts squad?

And some think I should be ridiculed for calling out institutional BBC anti Hibernian bigotry and bias :rotflmao:

What will it take for it to sink into some folks heads that we here in Scotland urgently require serious fundamental change in order to facilitate merely a level playing field?

View from the terrace is linked to the terrace podcast however different guys depending on the topic of conversation unlike the tv show which has a set cast. I listened to mondays podcast was a Raith and a Stenny fan ripping the piss out of our socials.

30-05-2021, 12:28 AM
View from the terrace is linked to the terrace podcast however different guys depending on the topic of conversation unlike the tv show which has a set cast. I listened to mondays podcast was a Raith and a Stenny fan ripping the piss out of our socials.

Why on earth would the BBC allow Raith and Stenny fan/s to rip the piss out of Hibernian Football Club?

And some think we're merely paranoid.

Dearie me.

mcohibs
30-05-2021, 12:43 AM

What were they ripping it for? Don't know why it's taking a bashing tbh, haven't noticed any particularly poor output

30-05-2021, 04:37 AM

[drop the mic]

Ps I'm not Kenny's Da ��

Are you seriously suggesting that infamous “fine margins” extends to individuals out there that base their support on our social media performance?

Let that sink in for a moment...

Finish third in the league - check
Turn up at finals - (ahem!) check
Get a players name mixed up and a 5-1 reference muddle - virtual scarves and season tickets on the pitch ?

“Marty - it’s not you - it’s your kids!” - I know but FFS. Have we just redefined the notion of supporter right there? If so called fans (short for fanatics) are that whimsical I’d suggest they’re a lost cause.

Mr. Wonderful
30-05-2021, 05:18 AM
Our social Media accounts had been in the hands of a sub contractor until we employed someone full time. Not sure if that's still the case but it was when the 5-1 thing was posted

Dmas
30-05-2021, 06:14 AM
What were they ripping it for? Don't know why it's taking a bashing tbh, haven't noticed any particularly poor output

Retweeting the tweet from Prince William & his very lovely wife after the greif they took from the whole Prince Phillip thing, then tweeting a starting line up with only 10 players

30-05-2021, 06:18 AM
It's just a mistake! I believe some people are so perfect in their daily and working lives that they feel the need to pick up any failing by others.

30-05-2021, 06:33 AM
It's just a mistake! I believe some people are so perfect in their daily and working lives that they feel the need to pick up any failing by others.

It's not just one. Its clear our social media is being run by some old person with little knowledge of social media, and who also appears not to know much about Hibs. Good social accounts are crucial, and have been for years now, so I hope we get this sorted soon.

30-05-2021, 06:39 AM
I love Hibs but I despise a healthy chunk of our support on social media.
Thankfully none of their bile can be found on this forum.

30-05-2021, 07:00 AM
Who actually runs the account now ?

I’ve definitely cringed more at the posts in last few months than years before.

Surely part of the job is to understand the mood of the support and proof read any posts ? Of course there are bigger things in life but do Hibs not have a reputation/ brand they want to create / stick to?

Posting the cup final team leaving out Boyle.
The 5-1 reference.
The Man City - this is our city tweet.
Posting John McGinn last night.
The award for fans last night for best moment ???!

That’s off the top of my head...not a witch hunt or wanting anyone sacked but if someone is getting paid to do that I would be concerned / making sure they get better training.

30-05-2021, 07:40 AM

Surely part of the job is to understand the mood of the support and proof read any posts ? Of course there are bigger things in life but do Hibs not have a reputation/ brand they want to create / stick to?

The 5-1 reference.

That’s off the top of my head...not a witch hunt or wanting anyone sacked but if someone is getting paid to do that I would be concerned / making sure they get better training.

Prince Philip

30-05-2021, 07:51 AM

The 5-1 reference.

The award for best moment wasn’t anything to do with the social media person to be fair, they just had the job of posting the results. The rest are fair points. It seems clear that whoever has been doing it isn’t a Hibs fan.

30-05-2021, 07:58 AM

I just can't imagine a situation where a Raith or stenny fan have nothing better to talk about than Hibs' social media output. :confused:

Even I couldn't hold much of a conversation about it beyond "Aye, we post stuff then some folk go raj about it for some reason".

30-05-2021, 06:20 PM
The tone of it has been really cringe inducing over the last few months and there’s been a host of wee mistakes (which are only human).

30-05-2021, 06:27 PM
The tone of it has been really cringe inducing over the last few months and there’s been a host of wee mistakes (which are only human).Over the last few months? Like what?

30-05-2021, 06:39 PM
I'm not a huge fan of our social media or a lot of the output from Hibs tbh. I've said before that we peaked when Tom Zanelli was running the show and haven't really got close to those heights again.

I'm also something resembling a well rounded adult though. As such I can understand that every piece of output isn't aimed at the demographic I fall into and further I can avoid having a hissy fit about it when I don't like something.

I would strongly suspect it's an area we are looking to improve upon and I would think there will be a bit of a shift in what we see on Twitter and the like in the coming weeks and months.

30-05-2021, 06:56 PM
Over the last few months? Like what?

I want to preface that I agree with people on the folk on Twitter who are bashing the guys in replies who need to calm down. Some really over the top stuff in there.

But the last two months or so have been a really weird shift in tone. It feels like it’s being ran as a big brand, if you follow any American sports teams it has a bit of that vibe rather than what we would expect from Scottish Football clubs.

Examples include the Star Wars video. The attempt to banter off with Man City and Real Betis, the tweets sucking up to the royals (a bit tone deaf more than anything), and the way they hyped up the Arsenal friendly was a bit daft as fans usually expect it to mean a signing.

Overall nothing to get majorly upset over. I just find it a bit cringey in the way it does stuff at the moment

30-05-2021, 10:05 PM

The 5-1 reference.

In fairness his issue with the Cup Final team sheet is that he should’ve had most of the first team missing from the line up that day🤔

mcohibs
30-05-2021, 10:46 PM
Why does the Hibs twitter account (or any team) need to be some sort of banter-driven content provider. Just post things we need to see, team lineups, important announcements, signings etc.

There's some weird thing with football twitter at the moment with every team trying to out banter each other with gifs, memes etc. it's all a bit naff. Don't know what purpose it serves for the club and tbh when you start to try and be witty or a bit 'out there' online you're only going to encourage negative responses from anonymous idiots.

I've cut down on social media use over the past year to try and keep better mental health. A great communication tool but also unfortunately very toxic

30-05-2021, 11:08 PM
Why does the Hibs twitter account (or any team) need to be some sort of banter-driven content provider. Just post things we need to see, team lineups, important announcements, signings etc.

There's some weird thing with football twitter at the moment with every team trying to out banter each other with gifs, memes etc. it's all a bit naff. Don't know what purpose it serves for the club and tbh when you start to try and be witty or a bit 'out there' online you're only going to encourage negative responses from anonymous idiots.

31-05-2021, 12:36 AM
What's twitter, btw?

31-05-2021, 02:10 AM
What's twitter, btw?

It's yon wee yellow bird Sylvester used to try and catch no?

31-05-2021, 07:05 AM

I've cut down on social media use over the past year to try and keep better mental health. A great communication tool but also unfortunately very toxic

Because it’s more than just Ceefax on your phone!

Folk on here bang on about encouraging kids to the football and that they are the future Hibs support when talking about toddlers getting cheap tickets etc.

Well, social media plays a far more important role if you’re aged 8 - 18. They need Twitter, Tic-Tok, Snapchat etc.

It’s a hugely important part of the club’s brand and needs to be done properly. Why else do you think clubs use it at all?

Nobody is saying it’s as important as 3 points on a Saturday but if you can’t get basics like team line ups correct you probably need to hire someone who can.

RG has talked about the Hibs brand and expanding it. Like it or not, that includes our online presence. We need to get it right though.

The world has moved on from waiting for The Pink :wink:

31-05-2021, 07:06 AM
What's twitter, btw?

Once a week visit for me. Tramlines around 2pm, and that’s it

31-05-2021, 07:31 AM

https://i.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/facebook/001/247/655/dfc.jpg

31-05-2021, 08:50 AM
I'm not a huge fan of our social media or a lot of the output from Hibs tbh. I've said before that we peaked when Tom Zanelli was running the show and haven't really got close to those heights again.

I'm also something resembling a well rounded adult though. As such I can understand that every piece of output isn't aimed at the demographic I fall into and further I can avoid having a hissy fit about it when I don't like something.

I would strongly suspect it's an area we are looking to improve upon and I would think there will be a bit of a shift in what we see on Twitter and the like in the coming weeks and months.

Hi Pretty Boy, I'm not wanting to get drawn into the rights or wrongs of the current person in charge of the media department. Having been part of the media department from 2012 to 2019 in a variety of roles, including about four and a half years as a PR and Media Officer, I can assure you it's a tough gig.

I just wanted to point out that Tom Zanelli wasn't ever in charge of the club's social media channels. He might have fronted 'Outside the Box', but he didn't do anything else media orientated. His role was Commercial Executive, he left just as I was going full-time at the club and it was Andrew Sleight who was in charge at that point.

While I like Tom, he was responsible for selling advertising, bringing in sponsors, mascot packages etc, nothing related to the media other than hosting OTB.

31-05-2021, 08:53 AM

Folk on here bang on about encouraging kids to the football and that they are the future Hibs support when talking about toddlers getting cheap tickets etc.

Well, social media plays a far more important role if you’re aged 8 - 18. They need Twitter, Tic-Tok, Snapchat etc.

It’s a hugely important part of the club’s brand and needs to be done properly. Why else do you think clubs use at all?

Nobody is saying it’s as important as 3 points on a Saturday but if you can’t get basics like team ups correct you probably need to hire someone who can.

RG has talked about the Hibs brand and expanding it. Like it or not, that includes our online presence. We need to get it right though.

That’s about it for me.

I couldn’t really give a **** about it because I don’t really look at Hibs social media. But if they’re bothering to do it then there must be huge benefits to doing it, especially with younger fans. And if that’s the case then we should be doing it well, something which doesn’t appear to be the case.

31-05-2021, 02:25 PM
Social media is a massive marketing tool as everyone knows so i'm pretty sure Ron and his team have targeted it. Personally I don't have Facebook and only rarely log into Twitter which is probably unusual for someone in their 30's but can see why the club are trying to be a bit different with it.

7 Up
31-05-2021, 05:27 PM
I want to preface that I agree with people on the folk on Twitter who are bashing the guys in replies who need to calm down. Some really over the top stuff in there.

But the last two months or so have been a really weird shift in tone. It feels like it’s being ran as a big brand, if you follow any American sports teams it has a bit of that vibe rather than what we would expect from Scottish Football clubs.

Examples include the Star Wars video. The attempt to banter off with Man City and Real Betis, the tweets sucking up to the royals (a bit tone deaf more than anything), and the way they hyped up the Arsenal friendly was a bit daft as fans usually expect it to mean a signing.

Overall nothing to get majorly upset over. I just find it a bit cringey in the way it does stuff at the moment

Agree with all this. The tone has just been a bit off recently.

03-06-2021, 02:23 PM

It’s a hugely important part of the club’s brand and needs to be done properly. Why else do you think clubs use it at all?

Nobody is saying it’s as important as 3 points on a Saturday but if you can’t get basics like team line ups correct you probably need to hire someone who can.

Social media is the great swindle of our times.
The 8-18s may want it but they don’t need it. The greatest seduction is them thinking they need it when in practise the impact on self esteem and in some cases mental health has been well documented.

Slightly devils advocate here (and I don’t know the answers) but

How are we monetising “followers”?

Do they convert to increased demand for viewing/people through the gates/increased merchandising? Or are simple “eye-balls” enough?

Where is the justification for spending “over the odds” on SM?

Heckys Wheel
03-06-2021, 02:45 PM
The 8-18s may want it but they don’t need it. The greatest seduction is them thinking they need it when in practise the impact on self esteem and in some cases mental health has been well documented.

Do they convert to increased demand for viewing/people through the gates/increased merchandising? Or are simple “eye-balls” enough?

Said the same when the clubs did the social media blackout and people were asking (in all seriousness) how they’d find out the team before it ran onto the park.

It’s the way of the world now that clubs need to provide up to date news and “banter” to keep the young ‘uns engaged. It’s bad enough when the club don’t update the website quick enough with the most recent U18’s bounce game and the club is described as “a shambles”, can you imagine if we didn’t bother with social media?

James Stephen
03-06-2021, 02:50 PM

They are great questions, and id be very interested in any data Hibs had to demostrate impact.

Having run a team in the past that included the social media team, i do think there is a huge element of emperor's new clothes about it - people feel they need to do stuff because others are doing it.

As always it comes down to what you want to achieve with it - im sure it helps a bit, probably at season ticket renewal time. But all the videos etc, im sceptical they have a huge effect.

03-06-2021, 03:46 PM

Good luck telling a teenager they don’t need social media!!!

Hannah_hfc
03-06-2021, 08:36 PM

Higher levels of engagement/ interactions from the clubs social media channels attracts more sponsors. I think this is why we have seen an increase in sponsors/ partnerships at the club.

Hibs do the occasional advertising tweet for the likes of Carabao. Not something that gets any high levels engagement but I can imagine they’re working on it.

hibee1875
04-06-2021, 01:03 PM
Latest Twitter activity hasn’t gone down well. And I can fully understand why tbh. Hype the fans up early in the day saying there will be a 2pm announcement only to announce a new shirt sponsor.

NO ONE CARES HIBS!!

Fair enough tell us about it, but don’t get our hopes up that it’s going to be a new signing or kit reveal

04-06-2021, 01:05 PM
Hahaha hibs twitters got everyone on strings

Sometimes bring it on themselves to be honest

04-06-2021, 01:05 PM
Hahaha hibs twitters got everyone on strings

Sometimes bring it on themselves to be honest

Significant investment ,good news day.

04-06-2021, 01:06 PM
Latest Twitter activity hasn’t gone down well. And I can fully understand why tbh. Hype the fans up early in the day saying there will be a 2pm announcement only to announce a new shirt sponsor.

NO ONE CARES HIBS!!

Fair enough tell us about it, but don’t get our hopes up that it’s going to be a new signing or kit reveal

The toxicity on the replies is absolutely shocking and some folk need to have a serious word with themselves

I care, the video with Stanton was a really really good watch and in the middle of a pandemic any money coming into the club is good news

Some of our fans are right torn faced disasters, I've now done a total 180 on the Twitter admin, hope they continue to troll the **** out of people

They never learn, do they?

Don't make an announcement getting the fans worked up unless it's a new signing. They'll be getting stick on their socials again and rightly so.

Cringey AF first line as well.

NO ONE CARES HIBS!!

it’s not even a new shirt sponsor, it’s a promotion to the front of the jersey :greengrin

Hibs twitter team have to be trolls for this.

04-06-2021, 01:07 PM
It is good news though isn’t it?

Just cos some folk made up that it was Griffiths signing and are now angry they were wrong doesn’t take away that fact.

mcohibs
04-06-2021, 01:07 PM

NO ONE CARES HIBS!!

That's really poor from Hibs tbh and I've been one to defend the comms recently

04-06-2021, 01:08 PM
I’m raging that hibs have posted good news tbqh

04-06-2021, 01:09 PM
It is good news though isn’t it?

Just cos some folk made up that it was Griffiths signing and are now angry they were wrong doesn’t take away that fact.

It is good news, yes. But they should just be posting this good news without the teaser hours before which hightens anticipation and expectation levels that it's a big signing. The club really, really aren't doing themselves any favours on social media recently.

hibee1875
04-06-2021, 01:11 PM
The toxicity on the replies is absolutely shocking and some folk need to have a serious word with themselves

I care, the video with Stanton was a really really good watch and in the middle of a pandemic any money coming into the club is good news

Some of our fans are right turn faced disasters, I've now done a total 180 on the Twitter admin, hope they continue to troll the **** out of people

Fwiw I also think the toxicity is horrific and there is no place for the language used in some of the replies.

I also care that we’re getting money into the club via sponsorship. I don’t care enough however to be drip fed the news as if it’s something to get excited about.

More money for the club, what's not to like about it.

Same folk moaning on twitter as per 🙄 wonder what it would actually take to get a positive comment from them

Very good launch of a sponsor putting a significant sum into the club with a good promo with Pat Stanton.

Predictable backlash that took so little time to show itself that many hadn’t even watch the link

mcohibs
It is good news, yes. But they should just be posting this good news without the teaser hours before which hightens anticipation and expectation levels that it's a big signing. The club really, really aren't doing themselves any favours on social media recently.

Correct. It's good news (and a decent video) but communicated all wrong

04-06-2021, 01:14 PM
Significant investment ,good news day.

Aye probably but it’s obvious people are going to assume better news than a new sponsor

Fwiw, my take on it is when the club tweets something like they did earlier on it’s only natural for supporters to believe it’s a new signing or strips etc because that’s what gets people excited. From a business perspective a new sponsor is obviously exciting but purely from a supporters perspective it’s not all that exciting (despite it obviously brining in more cash)

And purely for that reason I’d wish they’d leave big announcements/big build ups for strips/contracts/signings

04-06-2021, 01:18 PM
Even if it cost a couple of hundred season tickets, I’d totally back the club if they were to say to some of the Twitter posters “you’re not welcome back into Easter Road “ and block them.

04-06-2021, 01:21 PM
Even if it cost a couple of hundred season tickets, I’d totally back the club if they were to say to some of the Twitter posters “you’re not welcome back into Easter Road “ and block them.

Why would they do that though? It’s a social media platform for every to voice their opinion. By all means block the accounts sending abuse but to turn away people by saying you aren’t welcome at ER would be madness

04-06-2021, 01:23 PM
Why would they do that though? It’s a social media platform for every to voice their opinion. By all means block the accounts sending abuse but to turn away people by saying you aren’t welcome at ER would be madness

Actions have consequences and if people are giving our social media abuse then they need to be big grown ups and realise that has a consequence.

You can guarantee that they wouldn’t say that to their face. Why does Twitter make that any difference?

HFC93
04-06-2021, 01:24 PM
Some absolute throbber Hibs supporters on Twitter. Outraged at everything we post.Tragic behaviour.

04-06-2021, 01:24 PM
Better put a tweet out saying “sorry, you’re correct. We’ll now aim to ensure you aren’t excited about anything and will do our best not to keep you informed of stuff. Particularly stuff you really cared about last year.”

04-06-2021, 01:25 PM

If someone gave a Hibs employee abuse at ER they would likely get banned I don't see why social media should be any different, by all means be upset if you want but some of the abuse is way out of order

04-06-2021, 01:26 PM
Actions have consequences and if people are giving our social media abuse then they need to be big grown ups and realise that has a consequence.

You can guarantee that they wouldn’t say that to their face. Why does Twitter make that any difference?

If someone came up to me in the street and said “Wait here 3 hours and I’ll be back with some good news!” And then came back and said “Hibs have a new sponsor!” I’d probably tell him to piss off tbf

04-06-2021, 01:26 PM
It’s good news that we’ve finally managed to get a sponsor on the front of our top.

But nae need for the big build up.

04-06-2021, 01:27 PM
If someone gave a Hibs employee abuse at ER they would likely get banned I don't see why social media should be any different, by all means be upset if you want but some of the abuse is way out of order

Social media is an absolute minefield. The sooner it’s regulated or folk made accountable the better.

04-06-2021, 01:28 PM
Some absolute throbber Hibs supporters on Twitter. Outraged at everything we post.Tragic behaviour.

:agree: got to wonder what the “support” part of “supporter” means?

04-06-2021, 01:28 PM
It’s good news that we’ve finally managed to get a sponsor on the front of our top.

But nae need for the big build up.

If I was the sponsor I'd want the hype and the build up rather than just a brief mention on a website that few are going to read.

04-06-2021, 01:31 PM
really good promo video though.

04-06-2021, 01:31 PM
If I was the sponsor I'd want the hype and the build up rather than just a brief mention on a website that few are going to read.

If social media is anything to go by, a hell of a lot of folk won’t even have bothered reading the article once they’ve seen the initial tweet isn’t something they deem to be good news.

mcohibs
04-06-2021, 01:33 PM

Surely you'd want the sponsorship communicated in a way that is least likely to attract any negative exposure which (while I don't agree with it) was always going to be the case with the way Hibs hyped it up and the toxic nature of social media.

04-06-2021, 01:34 PM

Because people on social media can pretend to be people they're not.

Block them by all means, don't ban them from Easter Road :faf:

04-06-2021, 01:36 PM
Just announce the sponsor. It's good news by any measure but it didn't need a 2 hour tease.

Announce it and people say 'Oh that's good'. Do a daft build up and people say 'you're trolling us', 'sack the Twitter guy' etc etc.

The latter isn't right. No one deserves the abuse the guy gets but it was just a total misread of a situation.

04-06-2021, 01:37 PM

Exactly.
It's almost as if every piece of news has to be vetted by the brain dead twitterati then lost in a barrage of barely literate abuse.
Ironic that some decent Hibs twitter accounts are full of old Hands Off Hibs memories today while the generation we fought so hard to preserve the club for behave like petulant toddlers.

04-06-2021, 01:37 PM

NO ONE CARES HIBS!!

I care. People have been complaining for ages about not having a sponsor, we’ve got a really good one now. Excellent news.

04-06-2021, 01:38 PM
Surely you'd want the sponsorship communicated in a way that is least likely to attract any negative exposure which (while I don't agree with it) was always going to be the case with the way Hibs hyped it up and the toxic nature of social media.

Just don't announce it at all then. That should attract a decent sponsor.

04-06-2021, 01:39 PM

NO ONE CARES HIBS!!

They didn't hype anything up.

They released a wee teaser.

You might not care, but a "significant" 6 figure sponsorship deal pays for players.

Stop moaning, get real and grow up!

04-06-2021, 01:39 PM
Just announce the sponsor. It's good news by any measure but it didn't need a 2 hour tease.

Announce it and people say 'Oh that's good'. Do a daft build up and people say 'you're trolling us', 'sack the Twitter guy' etc etc.

The latter isn't right. No one deserves the abuse the guy gets but it was just a total misread of a situation.
If you had a company that was putting a large amount of money into the club would you not want a big build up?

HTD1875
04-06-2021, 01:40 PM
Sure we had the same build up to the Arsenal Friendly and the Brighton link up folk should be wise to this by now. Gave me a laugh anyway most of the replies on social media are in good humour not seen any personal abuse of hibs staff.

04-06-2021, 01:41 PM
Sure we had the same build up to the Arsenal Friendly and the Brighton link up folk should be wise to this by now. Gave me a laugh anyway most of the replies on social media are in good humour not seen any personal abuse of hibs staff.

Aye so they are.

Up The Bracket

Aye, let’s alienate fans with a weird social media output and then reduce our income further by telling folk that give Hibs a fair chunk of their hard earned cash to stop doing so and once we’re back in the ground folk will moan about the lack of atmosphere and how empty it is.

I’m not condoning personal abuse in any way but the reaction on here is way beyond reasonable, the number of posts on twitter that cross the line I’ve probably seen single digits of, the vast majority of comments echo how I and many other fans feel, we’re pissed off at the way we bottled a cup final and the way our twitter account has been behaving since is like they’re trying to rile our own support up further.

By all means, this news is good news, the video is brilliant, tell us the news, post the video but a “ANNOUNCEMENT AT 2PM” post hours ago, getting everyone excited it’s a signing or even a kit and then announcing that is shocking patter.

I’m not asking for anyone to lose their job but it’s really not hard to educate the person/people responsible for the account how to manage it properly.

They didn't hype anything up.

They released a wee teaser.

You might not care, but a "significant" 6 figure sponsorship deal pays for players.

Stop moaning, get real and grow up!

The whole point of the teaser was to hype it up a bit surely?

Either that or it was more designed to wind up. Which is quite possibly IMO given the reaction was entirely predictable.

04-06-2021, 01:42 PM
If you had a company that was putting a large amount of money into the club would you not want a big build up?

I think you can do that without winding up the fans though.

The tweet was designed to get people excited about something that was never going to excite the fans.

I think now there’s a negative surrounding the sponsorship announcement when it should have been a positive thing.

04-06-2021, 01:43 PM

I think you’d prefer a positive reaction. As soon as some people haven’t seen Griffiths with the scarf above his head (or something along those lines) they probably haven’t even bothered reading any further.

04-06-2021, 01:44 PM
It was poorly communicated in my opinion as the original tweet made it seem like it was going to be perhaps a new signing.

It's not worth people getting their knickers in a twist over it though.

04-06-2021, 01:47 PM
Theres nothing wrong with it but it just feels like there is no really understanding of the support in that situation. It seemed to be teased to be something along the lines of a signing and it just becomes a bit of an anti climax.

04-06-2021, 01:47 PM

I'd want the news to be seen as a positive.

Now the social media reaction is predominantly one that says 'what a letdown'. That won't be reflective of the overall feeling of course but it's a part of it. As I said had they released what is a great little video, announced a new sponsor and stated it was a significant investment in the club it would have seen a reaction that was almost universally positive. Instead we had people speculating about contract extensions or big name signings so the reaction is less favourable. Do we need or want a 2 hour build up to the news that a sponsor is moving from one part of the strip to another? I think it's just another misreading of the crowd on Twitter, sometimes people in football don't think about things the same way fans do and it shows.

I suppose the flip side is when Hibs actually have some exciting news to share (exciting as in exciting from a football perspective rather than good business news that is) then people will be expecting another damp squib so will be taken by surprise. Maybe that's the plan.

04-06-2021, 01:49 PM
If someone came up to me in the street and said “Wait here 3 hours and I’ll be back with some good news!” And then came back and said “Hibs have a new sponsor!” I’d probably tell him to piss off tbf

Had you chosen to follow that person about, and why didn’t you do anything else in that three hours when there was literally nothing stopping you?

04-06-2021, 01:50 PM
I'd want the news to be seen as a positive.

Now the social media reaction is predominantly one that says 'what a letdown'. That won't be reflective of the overall feeling of course but it's a part of it. As I said had they released what is a great little video, announced a new sponsor and stated it was a significant investment in the club it would have seen a reaction that was almost universally positive. Instead we had people speculating about contract extensions or big name signings so the reaction is less favourable. Do we need or want a 2 hour build up to the news that a sponsor is moving from one part of the strip to another? I think it's just another misreading of the crowd on Twitter. I think sometimes people in football don't always think about things the same way fans do and it shows.

I suppose the flip side is when Hibs actually have some exciting news to share (exciting as in exciting from a football perspective rather than good business news that is) then people will be expecting another damp squib so will be taken by surprise. Maybe that's the plan.

They shouldn’t post it on social media - stick it on the 0898 clubcall.

Anything they post is just a call for the hilarious and usually anonymous folk to post the most “funny” and/or outraged sentence they can.

HTD1875
04-06-2021, 01:51 PM
Aye so they are.

Yup, most of the comments I seen are people having a laugh at their own expense for getting excited over a sponsor.

04-06-2021, 01:51 PM
Had you chosen to follow that person about, and why didn’t you do anything else in that three hours when there was literally nothing stopping you?

Couldn’t do anything in the 3 hours than focus on how much outrage there would be if it’s not an announcement that they wanted.

Even if it had been a signing they’d have been underwhelmed.

04-06-2021, 01:54 PM
Couldn’t do anything in the 3 hours than focus on how much outrage there would be if it’s not an announcement that they wanted.

Even if it had been a signing they’d have been underwhelmed.

If it was a signing announcement they would already be asking when the next one is happening.

04-06-2021, 01:57 PM
The ‘teaser’ was pretty obviously not going to be about a signing or a strip launch. Suspected it was a sponsor.

I think on this one people only have themselves to blame if they read any more into it than that.

04-06-2021, 01:58 PM
Yup, most of the comments I seen are people having a laugh at their own expense for getting excited over a sponsor.

The 'admin' has been told numerous times to f*** off and been referred to as scu*.

mcohibs
04-06-2021, 02:00 PM
Just don't announce it at all then. That should attract a decent sponsor.

So the choice is between having ***** communications or no communications at all?

If I was utilita I'd be disappointed in the way Hibs handled the announcement. Its taken what should have been a positive thing and unnecessarily baited the fans into thinking it was something bigger than it was, ending up in bad exposure.

Its hardly the end of the world and I disagree with the lynch mob on twitter but it should have been obvious what the reaction would be. 99% of people who seen the original post about a 2pm announcement would have been disappointed (whether they vocalise it online or not)

04-06-2021, 02:01 PM
The ‘teaser’ was pretty obviously not going to be about a signing or a strip launch. Suspected it was a sponsor.

I think on this one people only have themselves to blame if they read any more into it than that.

I think you’re giving the average fan too much credit.

What you’ve described is probably how fans should react however I think everybody will have known a tweet like that would generate more excitement and lead to greater expectations than a sponsor moving from the back of the shirt to the front.

I think the element of knowing your audience was missed by the club there.

Anyway, I’m just relieved I was wrong snd it wasn’t a mew contract for Jack Ross 😉 😂

04-06-2021, 02:03 PM

This is still hypothetical isn’t it? :greengrin

04-06-2021, 02:03 PM
I’m just seeing the club delivering good news as promised. I feel a bit left out of things though. What am I doing wrong? :greengrin

04-06-2021, 02:08 PM
if it was a signing I wonder if it would’ve maybe influenced any further early bird renewals before the deadline

04-06-2021, 02:11 PM
Honestly, I can't ever remember a time where so many Hibs supporters behaved like obnoxious wee brats.

People are moaning about everything but expect Ron & sponsors to plough in dosh regardless.

It reminds me of Kevin & Perry on Harry Enfield's show but without the humour.

Horrible!

TheHibernator
04-06-2021, 02:24 PM
There was no need for the build up, it could've been announced on it's own as a nice surprise and would've been seen as a positive.

It still is positive news and will pump some more cash into the club, but when you hype up the fans like that most are going to expect new signings/contracts or kit reveal.

Unfortunately the media team are out of touch with the fanbase atm and there's a real lack of understanding.

04-06-2021, 02:26 PM
There was no need for the build up, it could've been announced on it's own as a nice surprise and would've been seen as a positive.

It still is positive news and will pump some more cash into the club, but when you hype up the fans like that most are going to expect new signings/contracts or kit reveal.

Unfortunately the media team are out of touch with the fanbase atm and there's a real lack of understanding.The media team are doing their job. There's nothing at all wrong with their output today.

They can't help the actions of a minority of noisy, attention seeking idiots.

04-06-2021, 02:28 PM
The media team are doing their job. There's nothing at all wrong with their output today.

I didn’t see anything wrong with it either. I saw we were promised some good news, got on with my day and came in to find that promise delivered. I’m happy with that. :thumbsup:

04-06-2021, 02:28 PM
The media team are doing their job. There's nothing at all wrong with their output today.

Surely if they’re output on that particular platform attracts nothing but negative comments, they’re not doing their job particularly well? Whether you think those responding are idiots or not.

TheHibernator
04-06-2021, 02:30 PM

Have to disagree, as I said before the announcement would've been better received as a surprise tweet, building up expectations and getting the fans excited for a shirt sponsor that was already on the back of the top was always going to be underwhelming.

That said i'm not annoyed about it but should be seen as a learning curve for the current media team

04-06-2021, 02:30 PM
Surely if they’re output on that particular platform attracts nothing but negative comments, they’re not doing their job particularly well? Whether you think those responding are idiots or not.

Exactly.

We didn’t just become idiots today 😂

04-06-2021, 02:31 PM
Surely if they’re output on that particular platform attracts nothing but negative comments, they’re not doing their job particularly well? Whether you think those responding are idiots or not.Facebook and Twitter have been cess pits for a while in terms of some posters.

Generally it's thick wideos seeking attention.

04-06-2021, 02:31 PM
People are very easily upset these days

hibee1875
04-06-2021, 02:33 PM
They way Twitter algorithms work means that anyone who engages in Hibs content will see the post. They set themselves up by announcing it the way they did

04-06-2021, 02:35 PM
Facebook and Twitter have been cess pits for a while in terms of some posters.

I never understand the bit about attention seeking. I think folk just type whatever comes in to their head because they can. Much like you referring to folk as thick weirdos, idiots and so on.

hibee1875
04-06-2021, 02:38 PM

Are you the media team?

They may well be doing their job, but their delivery has been poor.

04-06-2021, 02:40 PM
Are you the media team?

They may well be doing their job, but their delivery has been poor.Opinions eh?

04-06-2021, 02:42 PM
I never understand the bit about attention seeking. I think folk just type whatever comes in to their head because they can. Much like you referring to folk as thick weirdos, idiots and so on.Being as abusive as possible for no real reason is attention seeking.

Acting in this way is being a wideo.

In my experience those that do so are generally pretty thick.

mcohibs
04-06-2021, 02:48 PM

It may have been a minority that voiced their opinions about it but I reckon its a fairly large majority of fans who will have seen the original 'teaser' and been pretty let down by the actual announcement

04-06-2021, 02:48 PM
Being as abusive as possible for no real reason is attention seeking.

Acting in this way is being a wideo.

In my experience those that do so are generally pretty thick.

“obnoxious wee brats”

Stop sitting on the fence eh, say what you really mean :greengrin

04-06-2021, 02:49 PM
It may have been a minority that voiced their opinions about it but I reckon its a fairly large majority of fans who will have seen the original 'teaser' and been pretty let down by the actual announcementMore fool them. I hope they called the twitter boy a c***.

04-06-2021, 03:06 PM
Hibs Twitter and Utilita nicely teeing up the signing of Sparky.................:fishin: :coffee: :greengrin

I'll focus on the positive this sunny Friday...............good sponsorship deal, great seeing and hearing Sir Pat :top marks, strip coming out this coming week..........

Mind they could have had better clips of Easter Road games in that promo.......the Levein derby Famous Five End pre-kick off with the whole stand waving the green/white/silver, or a wee panorama view of SOL being sung after the cup win v Hearts........:wink:

I'm all for some Hibs Twitter Admin trolling, next I want them to give a 5 hour teaser only to then reveal we are serving Bains pies :aok::faf: Second thoughts, I'd actually get really excited at that :greengrin

04-06-2021, 03:23 PM
The PR team are so out of touch with the supporter. Why would this warrant the hype / tease / build-up? Another let down.

7 Up
04-06-2021, 03:37 PM
Neither the Arsenal friendly or a shirt sponsor should have been teased in the way they were. Teasing like that creates expectations that are never going to be satisfied by what were relatively unexciting announcements.

04-06-2021, 03:39 PM
The PR team are so out of touch with the supporter. Why would this warrant the hype / tease / build-up? Another let down.

Chuck, it's close season mate, are you seriously let down with a tweet that when you look at it with rational eyes is good news ?

There'll be signing news soon enough buddy :aok: folk are still 'tender' after the cup final but it's good news today and money into the club :agree:

04-06-2021, 03:40 PM
Facebook and Twitter have been cess pits for a while in terms of some posters.

Binned Facebook years ago and thinking about doing the same with Twitter. Get completely dragged down by all the negative comments on literally everything the club tweet. Our owner must absolutely cringe at some of the tweets from so called fans.

04-06-2021, 03:40 PM
If I was a new sponsor to a company I’d expect them to do anything to hype up the announcement on social media, if that meant upsetting a few highly strung Hibs fans then so be it. Well done Hibs for securing a new partner, more sponsorship income and doing what they could to signpost the new deal announcement.

04-06-2021, 03:43 PM
Neither the Arsenal friendly or a shirt sponsor should have been teased in the way they were. Teasing like that creates expectations that are never going to be satisfied by what were relatively unexciting announcements.

Forget the tweet, I'm excited to watch Hibs v Arsenal - they'll have a decent team on show as they're training up here. I wouldn't call a friendly like that 'unexciting'. Many young fans now have second teams as well and I'm sure there are a few Gooners amongst the Hibs fans - I'll be lobbying for Hibs v West Ham next time though :aok:

04-06-2021, 03:47 PM

Not sure what the issue is.

Is that 1 tweet any different to an announcement that there will be a media briefing at 2pm?

IncredibleHibee
04-06-2021, 03:48 PM
I would imagine if you’re getting worked up about a mistake on Twitter you can’t have much going on in your life

04-06-2021, 04:01 PM
Not sure what the issue is.

Is that 1 tweet any different to an announcement that there will be a media briefing at 2pm?

The issue is they’ve deliberately got the supporters excited about something that was never going to excite the supporters. They’ve got the supporters hopes up when they knew it wasn’t a story that would match the excitement they were creating.

Now it’s not that big a deal and of course lots of people, particularly on Twitter are over reacting massively about it but to me it’s pretty clear that they’ve made a balls up of what should have been a positive announcement.

It’s admirable that people want to defend every thing the club do but this announcement hasn’t gone well because of the social media building people up about something that was never going to match expectations.

It might be because a lot of our supporters are idiots, the point remains, this has now turned into a negative in the eyes of a lot of supporters. Football supporters being over dramatic, acting like idiots on social media and taking tantrums isnt a new thing.

The club should and would have known the effect that earlier tweet would have had. If they never then they’re guilty of not knowing their audience.

04-06-2021, 04:04 PM
Binned Facebook years ago and thinking about doing the same with Twitter. Get completely dragged down by all the negative comments on literally everything the club tweet. Our owner must absolutely cringe at some of the tweets from so called fans.

I was at a conference a couple of years ago and they asked a show of hands who was on social media (usual platforms like Twitter, Facebook, Instagram) and only myself and one other didn't put up our hands............the host was incredulous and asked us both 'but why' !

When I said the last social media platform I used was Friends Reunited :greengrin

No one, and I mean no one in the audience could comprehend why I didn't have at least Facebook. I see the positives of all these platforms, but as you say, it's the users that simply put me off, that and having all my friends at the end of a phone call, text, or email if I need to contact them.

04-06-2021, 04:06 PM
The issue is they’ve deliberately got the supporters excited about something that was never going to excite the supporters. They’ve got the supporters hopes up when they knew it wasn’t a story that would match the excitement they were creating.

Now it’s not that big a deal and of course lots of people, particularly on Twitter are over reacting massively about it but to me it’s pretty clear that they’ve made a balls up of what should have been a positive announcement.

It’s admirable that people want to defend every thing the club do but this announcement hasn’t gone well because of the social media building people up about something that was never going to match expectations.

It might be because a lot of our supporters are idiots, the point remains, this has now turned into a negative in the eyes of a lot of supporters. Football supporters being over dramatic, acting like idiots on social media and taking tantrums isnt a new thing.

The club should and would have known the effect that earlier tweet would have had. If they never then they’re guilty of not knowing their audience.

So, it should have been a positive announcement but not that positive that they could dare to call it good news.

Nah, nothing wrong with 1 tweet saying we will have some good news. We got some good news.

Anyone into Twitter enough to get excited about it should also be savvy enough to know a big signing or a strip launch would have had a pretty different teaser.

04-06-2021, 04:12 PM

So is that a Yes? 😆

04-06-2021, 04:16 PM
So, it should have been a positive announcement but not that positive that they could dare to call it good news.

Nah, nothing wrong with 1 tweet saying we will have some good news. We got some good news.

Anyone into Twitter enough to get excited about it should also be savvy enough to know a big signing or a strip launch would have had a pretty different teaser.

Do you think their earlier tweet like that would get your average fan (and idiot) excited? I do.

Do you think announcing a new shirt sponsor would match the excitement generated by the earlier tweet? I don’t, and I suspect the club should have known that as well.

It’s not that big a deal and I promise I wasn’t the person calling the Twitter person **** earlier, I massively enjoyed the huge overreaction by many on Twitter. That said, I still recognise that the earlier tweet was a bit daft and always likely to bite the Twitter people on the bum.

04-06-2021, 04:23 PM
Do you think their earlier tweet like that would get your average fan (and idiot) excited? I do.

Do you think announcing a new shirt sponsor would match the excitement generated by the earlier tweet? I don’t, and I suspect the club should have known that as well.

It’s not that big a deal and I promise I wasn’t the person calling the Twitter person **** earlier, I massively enjoyed the huge overreaction by many on Twitter. That said, I still recognise that the earlier tweet was a bit daft and always likely to bite the Twitter people on the bum.

Devil's Advocate...............now a lot more people know Utilita :greengrin:wink: sounds like he can play a number of positions :greengrin

04-06-2021, 04:25 PM

Have to disagree. This was standard announcement territory and the club utilising the “we have good news in 3 hours time” patter is just getting folk excited for something relating to the playing staff. This is definitely good news don’t get me wrong, but the delivery of it has understandably been negative. Some folk are too far obviously but I can understand why folk are getting sick of the new Twitter patter.

The irony of this thread to me is people saying they see nothing wrong with the patter before questioning why social media is important in the same breath. I’m pushing 30 and have grown up in the social media era and have worked in it and I can honestly say if any company I’ve worked with got a fraction of the push back that Hibs have had they would be reviewing everything related to it and changing the approach.

No offence to anyone but if you’re not a frequent user of Twitter etc then of course you’re not going to see what’s wrong with the latest posts because the club is reaching you in different ways that are resonating fine with you. The club aren’t resonating with anyone on Twitter at the moment and it’s a huge problem.

04-06-2021, 04:25 PM
I would imagine if you’re getting worked up about a mistake on Twitter you can’t have much going on in your life

The club count on us not having much going on in our lives. That way we invest our time and money into them. Sitting here following this nonsense all day I really wish I had more going on.

04-06-2021, 04:39 PM
Have to disagree. This was standard announcement territory and the club utilising the “we have good news in 3 hours time” patter is just getting folk excited for something relating to the playing staff. This is definitely good news don’t get me wrong, but the delivery of it has understandably been negative. Some folk are too far obviously but I can understand why folk are getting sick of the new Twitter patter.

The irony of this thread to me is people saying they see nothing wrong with the patter before questioning why social media is important in the same breath. I’m pushing 30 and have grown up in the social media era and have worked in it and I can honestly say if any company I’ve worked with got a fraction of the push back that Hibs have had they would be reviewing everything related to it and changing the approach.

No offence to anyone but if you’re not a frequent user of Twitter etc then of course you’re not going to see what’s wrong with the latest posts because the club is reaching you in different ways that are resonating fine with you. The club aren’t resonating with anyone on Twitter at the moment and it’s a huge problem.

That's fair enough CH, but has that tweet and reveal ruined anything in your day-to-day life ? Only a question, but is it because of the recent final result you are seeing this as a problem ?

As wee Gordon would say, my main priority tonight is a chicken that has a use by date by tomorrow...........the Hibs tweet has no bearing on my mood towards Hibs or my weekend plans. I think as you say it's a sign of the times that fans - younger fans mostly - want instant good news, and that 'good news' is signings and signings only. Some people see today as a positive because in context it is - money into the club - certainly not worth over-roasting my chicken in anger about.

And that wasn't a criticism of your post - I get what you mean - but life is much more than Twitter for me.

04-06-2021, 04:54 PM
That's fair enough CH, but has that tweet and reveal ruined anything in your day-to-day life ? Only a question, but is it because of the recent final result you are seeing this as a problem ?

As wee Gordon would say, my main priority tonight is a chicken that has a use by date by tomorrow...........the Hibs tweet has no bearing on my mood towards Hibs or my weekend plans. I think as you say it's a sign of the times that fans - younger fans mostly - want instant good news, and that 'good news' is signings and signings only. Some people see today as a positive because in context it is - money into the club - certainly not worth over-roasting my chicken in anger about.

And that wasn't a criticism of your post - I get what you mean - but life is much more than Twitter for me.

Absolutely, my weekend is intact and as I open my first beer this tweet will be far from my mind like I hope it will be for others because as you say it’s not a huge deal to peoples lives.

But I think the issue i have is Twitter is a marketing tool for Hibs. I don’t know how you get your Hibs updates or news but digital marketing is very segmented. For example I’ve worked with a brand that had a female led following on Facebook versus a male led on Twitter. That meant the marketing had two very distinct tones on both to reach both efficiently and we had to adjust our content accordingly. Hibs haven’t seemed to work out how to best reach it’s Twitter following in the last few weeks or months. If i was working above whoever runs the Twitter I’d be having a conversation about that and how to turn it around.

04-06-2021, 05:09 PM
Absolutely, my weekend is intact and as I open my first beer this tweet will be far from my mind like I hope it will be for others because as you say it’s not a huge deal to peoples lives.

But I think the issue i have is Twitter is a marketing tool for Hibs. I don’t know how you get your Hibs updates or news but digital marketing is very segmented. For example I’ve worked with a brand that had a female led following on Facebook versus a male led on Twitter. That meant the marketing had two very distinct tones on both to reach both efficiently and we had to adjust our content accordingly. Hibs haven’t seemed to work out how to best reach it’s Twitter following in the last few weeks or months. If i was working above whoever runs the Twitter I’d be having a conversation about that and how to turn it around.

I do agree with what you've said.

The 'teaser' was perhaps unnecessary as it's led to the inevitable 'backfire' - only because such teasers are associated with the football side of things, players signed, contract extensions, etc. The things fans actually 'cling to' in such a method - so I agree, perhaps it was a little misjudged the way they led it today.

Your full post though addresses content and that's something I think does need improved on. Like any marketing strategy, it involves a round the table conversation to bounce ideas, the mood of the club, and eventual 'sign off' by the market/media lead. For that I do agree you need to have awareness of forums, the overall fan mood, etc. They can certainly improve on that. Problem is that fans want such instant news and often that isn't possible. That's where you need creative approaches. I'm a broken record but the media we produced under Tom Zanelli was gold standard and captured the mood at all times. If I were Hibs, I'd happily see him appointed as marketing/media lead. Best content we have ever had at the club, ever.

04-06-2021, 05:23 PM
If you are abusing Hibs Twitter you really need to get a grip of yourself. Highlight them and ban them.

04-06-2021, 05:25 PM
Honestly, I can't ever remember a time where so many Hibs supporters behaved like obnoxious wee brats.

People are moaning about everything but expect Ron & sponsors to plough in dosh regardless.

Horrible!

04-06-2021, 05:29 PM

Brilliant post.

I’m learning a lot about social media marketing stuff just now and there’s a real science behind it. Far more to it than I could ever have imagined.

Truth is, there’s a middle ground somewhere between abusing the Twitter person at one extreme to the other end of the spectrum where people are just saying the club did nothing wrong and it’s the idiots fault for being idiots.

Rightly or wrongly and regardless of who’s to blame, the club aren’t interacting well with the support on social media just now. Work is required to fix that as it’s important.

Motherwell are excellent at it, they’re the ones that appear to be really connecting with their fans on social media just now.

I’m sure if we ever get round to appointing a new CEO, it’ll be one of the first things they look at improving as it’s not working well just now.

04-06-2021, 05:32 PM

[emoji106]

You've just reminded me how it is that I have stumbled through life without being affected by a complete absence of Twitter et al in it.

04-06-2021, 05:35 PM
Devil's Advocate...............now a lot more people know Utilita :greengrin:wink: sounds like he can play a number of positions :greengrin

He's currently trending, apparently.

04-06-2021, 05:37 PM
He's currently trending, apparently.

Don't get too excited CWG, I'm hearing there's work permit issues :greengrin

04-06-2021, 05:54 PM
I don’t care what anyone says that’s a decent sponsorship deal for us and a few quid in the bank.

enjoyed the video too.

04-06-2021, 05:57 PM
I don’t care what anyone says that’s a decent sponsorship deal for us and a few quid in the bank.

enjoyed the video too.

Exactly.

04-06-2021, 06:14 PM
Are they a good company for gas and electric? Anyone used them?

04-06-2021, 06:26 PM
Brilliant post.

I’m learning a lot about social media marketing stuff just now and there’s a real science behind it. Far more to it than I could ever have imagined.

Truth is, there’s a middle ground somewhere between abusing the Twitter person at one extreme to the other end of the spectrum where people are just saying the club did nothing wrong and it’s the idiots fault for being idiots.

Rightly or wrongly and regardless of who’s to blame, the club aren’t interacting well with the support on social media just now. Work is required to fix that as it’s important.

Motherwell are excellent at it, they’re the ones that appear to be really connecting with their fans on social media just now.

I’m sure if we ever get round to appointing a new CEO, it’ll be one of the first things they look at improving as it’s not working well just now.

Whether you agree or disagree with the way they did it, surely the fact that the actual sponsorship deal that they’ve secured is hardly getting a mention suggests it wasn’t done quite right.

I’m not rushing to tweet any abuse at the Twitter admin, but it’s not exactly the first time they’ve got an extremely negative response in the last few weeks.

04-06-2021, 06:28 PM
Whether you agree or disagree with the way they did it, surely the fact that the actual sponsorship deal that they’ve secured is hardly getting a mention suggests it wasn’t done quite right.

I’m not rushing to tweet any abuse at the Twitter admin, but it’s not exactly the first time they’ve got an extremely negative response in the last few weeks.I don't see what Hibs have got wrong or what they could/should have done differently.

Once again I'm not looking to defend the club, I just think that folk are being dicks.

If I saw a similar fan reaction at another club, I'd think exactly the same way.

04-06-2021, 06:36 PM
I don't see what Hibs have got wrong or what they could/should have done differently.

Once again I'm not looking to defend the club, I just think that folk are being dicks.

If I saw a similar fan reaction at another club, I'd think exactly the same way.

The reaction tells you they got it wrong. They need to work out how to put content out that stops folk reacting in such a manner. Nobody is actually talking about the good news.

04-06-2021, 06:39 PM
The reaction tells you they got it wrong. They need to work out how to put content out that stops folk reacting in such a manner. Nobody is actually talking about the good news.No. Folk will have a go regardless (unless it's some huge signing).

The next carnage will doubtless be the release of the new kit.

Folk have to grow up and learn some respect.

04-06-2021, 06:42 PM
No. Folk will have a go regardless (unless it's some huge signing).

Na, just look at the initial responses to the tweet they’ve clearly been driven by the earlier tweet. They aren’t helping themselves at all on social media. Naturally, I know you’ll disagree.

Just_Jimmy
04-06-2021, 06:43 PM
as someone who was vocal about the lack of a sponsor in previous seasons I can say I'm pleased we're seeing a return to proper income. it's too important to Hibs to pass up any size of income. it helps it's a decent brand in terms of the culture and identity fitting Hibs. well done to all involved.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

04-06-2021, 06:51 PM

Absolutely- if we signed Messi they’d want Ronaldo. They just want to bash the club no matter what.

04-06-2021, 06:53 PM
Absolutely- if we signed Messi they’d want Ronaldo. They just want to bash the club no matter what.

At least we have balanced contributions like this to keep us all right I suppose.

04-06-2021, 06:53 PM
I don't see what Hibs have done wrong here.

They've used their presence on a social media platform to promote a new sponsorship deal for the club, which is exactly what they should be doing.

Frankly, I'd be more concerned if Hibs were revising their social media strategy to pander to a few obnoxious idiots who only want to criticise. That's a tiny minority of the 91.2k followers.

04-06-2021, 06:54 PM
At least we have balanced contributions like this to keep us all right I suppose.

Thanks mate. I try to bring some reality to these conversations - glad it doesn’t go unnoticed.

shamo9
04-06-2021, 06:56 PM

A few folk will have a go regardless when coming off a deflating defeat. However, the majority in this instance were agitated due to the unnecessary tease a few hours before. We take that tease out of the equation and the announcement wouldn't have gotten anything like this sort of heat. Most football fans only care about the football team and news that directly relates to the football team. That has always been the case.

It's not a big deal but it does add weight to the feeling some hold that the current media department at Hibs don't understand the mindset of a regular football supporter. There's definitely been a slight disconnect lately. Nothing horrendous, but it could grow into a problem if some supporters feel the club doesn't understand them or what the club means.

Anyway, the sponsorship is welcome news. :agree:

04-06-2021, 06:58 PM
Thanks mate. I try to bring some reality to these conversations - glad it doesn’t go unnoticed.

Unless it’s something that upsets you of course, like having to pay interest on finance agreements. All right to repeatedly have a moan then eh.

04-06-2021, 07:02 PM
A few folk will have a go regardless when coming off a deflating defeat. However, the majority in this instance were agitated due to the unnecessary tease a few hours before. We take that tease out of the equation and the announcement wouldn't have gotten anything like this sort of heat. Most football fans only care about the football team and news that directly relates to the football team. That has always been the case.

It's not a big deal but it does add weight to the feeling some hold that the current media department at Hibs don't understand the mindset of a regular football supporter. There's definitely been a slight disconnect lately. That could grow into a problem if some supporters feel the club doesn't understand them or what the club means.

Anyway, the sponsorship is welcome news. :agree:I didn't realise that football supporters were such sensitive wee lambs. Good news today at 2.00pm turns out to be only a new main sponsor! I don't know how people coped!

04-06-2021, 07:08 PM

And yet you are calling fans, "idiots", "dicks" & "brats"

04-06-2021, 07:09 PM
And yet you are calling fans, "idiots", "dicks" & "brats"Yep. Only those behaving as such.

04-06-2021, 07:09 PM
Unless it’s something that upsets you of course, like having to pay interest on finance agreements. All right to repeatedly have a moan then eh.

Absolutely. In a constructive manner - not anonymously abusing someon on Twitter.

04-06-2021, 07:10 PM
And yet you are calling fans, "idiots", "dicks" & "brats"

I don’t think a fan/fanatic would behave like they do - so Peevemor is free to call them out for what they are.

shamo9
04-06-2021, 07:10 PM
I didn't realise that football supporters were such sensitive wee lambs. Good news today at 2.00pm turns out to be only a new main sponsor! I don't know how people coped!

I'm surprised it took you this long to realise :greengrin I've seen many a fan lose there head over innocuous things at Easter Road, especially on match day.

04-06-2021, 07:12 PM
Name and shame.

04-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Nobody has.

h1bs4life
04-06-2021, 07:27 PM
Don't do twitter or know its inner workings but would think announcing a new shirt sponsor would be good news even better that isn't anything to do with gambling.

04-06-2021, 07:39 PM

No they wouldn’t.

Remember Ron Gordon’s letter/email just before the cup final?

It was just a good piece of communication that was well received as it was done well.

Why would details of a new sponsor have attracted negativity? The only reason it has is because of how it was communicated.

I know you don’t see anything wrong with the initial tweet designed to create a bit excitement but you’re clearly an intelligent level headed person.

The club has to know their audience and they should have known that putting a tweet out like they did would have produced expectations of something exciting being announced.

Hibs created the expectation of something really exciting being announced, they maybe never meant to and maybe you don’t see why but it’s clear from the reaction they did.

FWIW I’ve got absolutely no beef with the Twitter person, I think the abuse before today and today was ridiculous. I think they read the room wrong today though.

04-06-2021, 07:46 PM
No they wouldn’t.

It was just a good piece of communication that was well received as it was done well.

Why would details of a new sponsor have attracted negativity? The only reason it has is because of how it was communicated.

I know you don’t see anything wrong with the initial tweet designed to create a bit excitement but you’re clearly an intelligent level headed person.

The club has to know their audience and they should have known that putting a tweet out like they did would have produced expectations of something exciting being announced.

Hibs created the expectation of something really exciting being announced, they maybe never meant to and maybe you don’t see why but it’s clear from the reaction they did.

FWIW I’ve got absolutely no beef with the Twitter person, I think the abuse before today and today was ridiculous. I think they read the room wrong today though.Something really exciting?

How do you get that from "1400 - It's a good news kind of day"?

04-06-2021, 07:46 PM
I rarely even go the Club’s website, never mind anywhere else.There’s just nothing about it to grab my attention.

I come here for everything Hibs related online. There will be links to anything interesting elsewhere.

I’d imagine the club would love to have as much interaction as they see on here. The fact that we’re discussing it online and that Hibs.net is so popular shows that there is demand for Hibs online.

Keeps coming back to the point that it has to be done properly.

04-06-2021, 07:51 PM
No they wouldn’t.

FWIW I’ve got absolutely no beef with the Twitter person, I think the abuse before today and today was ridiculous. I think they read the room wrong today though.

Agree with this. I don't bother with Twitter so hadn't seen any of this but right now a lot of fans are hurting and, whilst some of that may be OTT, that is the nature of football. Its an emotional game and football clubs make huge sums from fans that often can't afford it spending money on tickets, merchandise etc.

It's absolutely not a massive issue, and no one deserves abuse over it, but like you they read the room wrong. As a one off its not a huge issue but people are thinking about buying season tickets and the club need to connect with fans and make it clear they understand their hurt after the final.

04-06-2021, 07:55 PM
i clicked on a link in an e-mail from the club that took me to the page for season tickets, wasn't interested so i clicked on the "back to main site" alas it just kept returning to the season ticket page....how hard is it to check links work, seriously ?

used to be so informative with results going back a few seasons now lucky if i look at the club main site every several months

04-06-2021, 07:57 PM
i clicked on a link in an e-mail from the club that took me to the page for season tickets, wasn't interested so i clicked on the "back to main site" alas it just kept retuning to the season ticket page....how hard is it to check links work, seriously ?

used to be so informative with results going back a few seasons now lucky if i look at the club main site every several months

I suspect the last 2 times I was on the main site were to buy my last 2 season tickets.

I may venture back on if they have a complaints form as they've ruined my weekend with their tweets today.

Hibs1969
04-06-2021, 07:57 PM

Horrible!
I agree. What a total overreaction by some fans to a total non story. It seems that since the cup final Hibs can’t do or say anything right for some folks, nothing is good enough. The same punters who were complaining bitterly last year that the club was a disgrace for failing to secure a major sponsor are now greeting like bairns that the big reveal isn’t big enough or good enough. Some folks are never happy.

04-06-2021, 07:58 PM
Something really exciting?

How do you get that from "1400 - It's a good news kind of day"?

Because I wouldn’t expect them to tweet something like that unless it was something worth generating excitement for.

That tweet was designed to create anticipation. I don’t see why you would do that for a relatively boring story considering the current atmosphere around Hibs just now.

I get why people who don’t get excited about that kind of thing don’t see the big deal, I also get why people were expecting something more exciting and knowing what people are like I also fully expected the reaction it got.

04-06-2021, 08:00 PM
I suspect the last 2 times I was on the main site were to buy my last 2 season tickets.

I may venture back on if they have a complaints form as they've ruined my weekend with their tweets today.

i'm avoiding looking at the comments on twitter, i can only imagine the venom getting spouted from some, not what decent fans want to see directed at club staff

constructive criticism is fine imo

04-06-2021, 08:03 PM
Because I wouldn’t expect them to tweet something like that unless it was something worth generating excitement for.

That tweet was designed to create anticipation. I don’t see why you would do that for a relatively boring story considering the current atmosphere around Hibs just now.

I get why people who don’t get excited about that kind of thing don’t see the big deal, I also get why people were expecting something more exciting and knowing what people are like I also fully expected the reaction it got.

Thing is though it's not a boring story to secure a good jersey sponsorship deal in these trying times.
That extra money could help fund a new signing or a contract extension.
The people who abuse the club after almost every tweet were doing it long before the Cup Final.
These are probably the people who would have been trying to assault other Hibbies had we all been at Hampden.

04-06-2021, 08:04 PM

I get why people who don’t get excited about that kind of thing don’t see the big deal, I also get why people were expecting something more exciting and knowing what people are like I also fully expected the reaction it got.Do you agree that a new main sponsor is a major announcement?

And is it not good news that they're putting hundreds of thousands of pounds into the club?

Nobody will ever convince me that there was anything wrong with today's tweets.

04-06-2021, 08:08 PM
Thing is though it's not a boring story to secure a good jersey sponsorship deal in these trying times.
That extra money could help fund a new signing or a contract extension.
The people who abuse the club after almost every tweet were doing it long before the Cup Final.
These are probably the people who would have been trying to assault other Hibbies had we all been at Hampden.

I think the people who abuse the club are fannies and they’re not worth bothering about. I think there’s a middle ground though that can see the club aren’t getting social media right without abusing them.

When you saw that tweet today, you knew it needed to be something good at 2pm or the Twitter person would get dogs abuse didn’t you?

I think the Twitter person had to see that as well when posting the first tweet, the fact they never shows a lack of awareness IMO.

I’m not sure if emotional intelligence applies to social media but if it does, the club doesn’t have it.

04-06-2021, 08:12 PM
Do you agree that a new main sponsor is a major announcement?

And is it not good news that they're putting hundreds of thousands of pounds into the club?

Nobody will ever convince me that there was anything wrong with today's tweets.

I think it was obvious the first tweet was designed to great anticipation or excitement and I think it’s obvious the second tweet wasn’t going to satisfy that excitement.

Why do you think they bothered with the first tweet? Do you not agree, whatever the purpose of it was, hasn’t worked?

Regardless of the rights and wrongs of people being idiots or brats or whatever, if that first tweet never went out, it would have been a good news story, instead the story being discussed is the Hibs Twitter person getting it wrong.

I thought new kit or shirt sponsor right away. New signing teasers are always followed up pretty quickly.

I think the people who abuse the club are fannies and they’re not worth bothering about. I think there’s a middle ground though that can see the club aren’t getting social media right without abusing them.

When you saw that tweet today, you knew it needed to be something good at 2pm or the Twitter person would get dogs abuse didn’t you?

I think the Twitter person had to see that as well when posting the first tweet, the fact they never shows a lack of awareness IMO.

I’m not sure if emotional intelligence applies to social media but if it does, the club doesn’t have it.

First paragraph sums it up for me.

I’m not about to go and tweet that I hope the Twitter admin loses their job. Equally, there are multiple instances in the last few weeks that they’ve not helped themselves.

04-06-2021, 08:15 PM
I thought new kit or shirt sponsor right away. New signing teasers are always followed up pretty quickly.

Aye, but you knew if it was just going to be the sponsorship story the place would go mental didn’t you?

Think you even said it at the time.

If you knew it, I knew it and plenty other folk knew it, the Hibs Twitter person had to know it too.

04-06-2021, 08:17 PM
This is such a close-season thread.

04-06-2021, 08:18 PM
Aye, but you knew if it was just going to be the sponsorship story the place would go mental didn’t you?

Think you even said it at the time.

If you knew it, I knew it and plenty other folk knew it, the Hibs Twitter person had to know it too.

I did say it because it happens literally every time Hibs tweet.
I also predict the Tories will remain in power regardless of how corrupt they are.
I hate both of these facts but I know they are going to happen.

04-06-2021, 08:19 PM
I think it was obvious the first tweet was designed to great anticipation or excitement and I think it’s obvious the second tweet wasn’t going to satisfy that excitement.

Why do you think they bothered with the first tweet? Do you not agree, whatever the purpose of it was, hasn’t worked?

Regardless of the rights and wrongs of people being idiots or brats or whatever, if that first tweet never went out, it would have been a good news story, instead the story being discussed is the Hibs Twitter person getting it wrong.

The first tweet was to say that there would be some good news announced at 2.00pm.

I don't understand why you say it didn't work. There was a fair bit of good humoured banter on 2-3 different threads on here about what the announcement might be.

It worked.

The fact that a bunch of no marks can't behave themselves doesn't change that.

04-06-2021, 08:32 PM
The first tweet was to say that there would be some good news announced at 2.00pm.

I don't understand why you say it didn't work. There was a fair bit of good humoured banter on 2-3 different threads on here about what the announcement might be.

It worked.

The fact that a bunch of no marks can't behave themselves doesn't change that.

Aye, but I’m no talking about them, keep up man 😂

Every Hibs fan I know across 2 group chats were underwhelmed when the announcement at 2pm came. To my knowledge not one of them abused anyone at the club but the perception was one of disappointment as they thought something better was coming.

Doing a tweet to create anticipation for that announcement hasn’t worked, if you think it has you’re off yer heid IMO.

04-06-2021, 09:10 PM
Nobody will ever convince me that there was anything wrong with anything Hibs have done ever.

There you go, fixed that for you.

04-06-2021, 09:14 PM
There you go, fixed that for you.Funny guy!

04-06-2021, 09:19 PM
Who knew the Hibs support was rammed full of e-communication strategy experts who simultaneously have enough time on their hands to follow Hibs twitter feed minute by minute.

It's good news, of which there has been precious little on the commercial side of late.

04-06-2021, 09:28 PM
Who knew the Hibs support was rammed full of e-communication strategy experts who simultaneously have enough time on their hands to follow Hibs twitter feed minute by minute.

It's good news, of which there has been precious little on the commercial side of late.

First part of that is a daft post.

You don’t need to be an expert to know they got it wrong. That’s the point, it’s the public they are trying to engage with, not e-communication strategy experts, the public are clearly saying they got it wrong, hence all the debate around it.

FWIW you maybe missed it but if you look up on this thread a bit you will see there actually is a professional in this field saying they got it wrong. Sorry, can’t remember the name of the poster.

Your last sentence is spot on, that’s why it’s annoying the social media person misjudged the earlier tweet.

04-06-2021, 09:29 PM
Not sure why the shirt reveal wasn’t done on the same day. Could’ve done a more exciting reveal of the sponsor as well. Can only hope a signing is in the pipeline so they can model the kit.

Imagine the scenes if the reveal on the kit was without a player wearing it and it was just revealed piece by piece from socks, to shorts to shirt. Big news at 12…big news at 2…huge news at 4. Add to that Aberdeen revealing Griffiths in their new kit (which is better than ours) and it will be utter pandemonium.

04-06-2021, 09:52 PM

Exactly. We are pandering to absolute morons with this one.

It was good news, nothing wrong with a single tweet earlier in the day suggesting good news was to follow.

There was no similarity at all to any previous way we have teased a signing or contract renewal.

04-06-2021, 09:54 PM
Not sure why the shirt reveal wasn’t done on the same day. Could’ve done a more exciting reveal of the sponsor as well. Can only hope a signing is in the pipeline so they can model the kit.

Imagine the scenes if the reveal on the kit was without a player wearing it and it was just revealed piece by piece from socks, to shorts to shirt. Big news at 12…big news at 2…huge news at 4. Add to that Aberdeen revealing Griffiths in their new kit (which is better than ours) and it will be utter pandemonium.

I don’t think a new player being revealed with a new kit has ever happened. Doesn’t stop it being expected every time it seems.

04-06-2021, 09:59 PM
I don’t think a new player being revealed with a new kit has ever happened. Doesn’t stop it being expected every time it seems.

There was talk of the new kit being revealed soon actually, so at least we'll get the new signing at that point. :agree: :hyper

04-06-2021, 10:01 PM

You don’t need to be an expert to know they got it wrong. That’s the point, it’s the public they are trying to engage with, not e-communication strategy experts, the public are clearly saying they got it wrong, hence all the debate around it.

FWIW you maybe missed it but if you look up on this thread a bit you will see there actually is a professional in this field saying they got it wrong. Sorry, can’t remember the name of the poster.

Your last sentence is spot on, that’s why it’s annoying the social media person misjudged the earlier tweet.

What are you basing ' the public clearly saying they got it wrong' on? The whinging halfwits on twitter and a few posters on here?

My guess is that most rational adults would have seen a tweet saying good news at 2pm.....and funnily enough there was good news.

If folk were expecting earth shattering transfer news or something then more fool them.

Mountains and molehills spring to mind.

04-06-2021, 10:13 PM
If you’re genuinely annoyed / disappointed that the club put out *one* tweet saying there’d be good news at 2pm, then announced a new sponsor, then honestly, I don’t know what to tell you.

04-06-2021, 10:14 PM

You are missing the point entirely. It isn’t about expecting a player to be modelling it. It’s expecting the kit reveal to be a big thing now because sponsor and kit announcements have been staggered. That’s the obvious intention of these teases so outside of the abuse on Twitter I see no issue with fans raising expectations.

Also, fyi based on the size of our fan base almost every action or comment ever made by an individual can be filed in the “expected every time it seems” category. The expectation of a player revealing the kit has been, as expected, shot down by you. It seems you would do this each time it happens.

04-06-2021, 10:14 PM

It it was that badly misjudged, then surely a noticeable percentage of Hibs' 91.2k followers on Twitter would have responded with their disappointment, instead of just a handful of loudmouths who probably haven't got a good word to say about Hibs right now?

04-06-2021, 10:18 PM
Companies sponsor things to get attention. So club tells people it’s going to announce something at 2pm to get people’s attention for said sponsor.

Is this news to people?

04-06-2021, 10:22 PM
Companies sponsor things to get attention. So club tells people it’s going to announce something at 2pm to get people’s attention for said sponsor.

Is this news to people?

I’ll reply next Friday at 2pm.

mcohibs
04-06-2021, 10:24 PM
My guess is that most rational adults would have seen a tweet saying good news at 2pm.....and funnily enough there was good news.

I suspect about 90% of people who would have seen the 'teaser' would have ultimately been disappointed with the actual announcement. That's not a good communication strategy.

I think people are polarising the issue here as being either pro or anti twitter trolls. It's okay to think that folk in the twitter replies are arse holes but also admit that the club probably could have handled the announcement in a more effective way. Which undoubtedly they could and should have.

04-06-2021, 10:42 PM
I suspect about 90% of people who would have seen the 'teaser' would have ultimately been disappointed with the actual announcement. That's not a good communication strategy.

I think people are polarising the issue here as being either pro or anti twitter trolls. It's okay to think that folk in the twitter replies are arse holes but also admit that the club probably could have handled the announcement in a more effective way. Which undoubtedly they could and should have.

I’m not really bothered about this, primarily because it was after 2pm before I saw anything about it, so didn’t get the chance to get excited then potentially disappointed. I do however agree with your first paragraph. I don’t know why it was felt there was a need to tweet the teaser in the first place, why not just tweet the news at 2pm ?

04-06-2021, 10:43 PM
It it was that badly misjudged, then surely a noticeable percentage of Hibs' 91.2k followers on Twitter would have responded with their disappointment, instead of just a handful of loudmouths who probably haven't got a good word to say about Hibs right now?

There has hardly been any chat about the actual good news but there’s pages and pages about whether they got the announcement right.

There are negative comments on the platform they used to release the news but very little in the way of positive comments.

I’ll not be rushing to tweet my disapproval, tell the person tweeting that they’re this or that, but some of the tweets in the last few weeks have been terrible. I think they were trolling today.

04-06-2021, 10:46 PM

Based on the response they could’ve definitely handled it better- I’m just wondering what would’ve stoped the outrage? No comms at all or no teaser then a surprise announcement?

04-06-2021, 11:50 PM
The recent twitter output has been akin to a stand up comedian dying on stage. A comedy audience doesn’t turn up to a gig with the intention of heckling and booing an act. However, if a comedian is struggling with their delivery and not getting many laughs then it’s likely the audience will quickly turn against them. After a string of dud tweets and mistakes, with the audience firmly against them, today’s “Good news at 2pm” teaser was the equivalent of said comedian saying “hold on you’ll like this next one” and then failing deliver a good punchline.

Any abuse of people working for the club is out of line, nobody deserves to be abused on line just for doing their job. However, while some have resorted to extreme inappropriate behaviour, the fact remains that many are disappointed with the content/output of the clubs social media channels in recent months. This feeling isn’t based on a single tweet but a lot of the output over that time. While in isolation, instances such as today, missing our key player from the cup final line up or calling Paul McGinn John McGinn during the POTY are not a big deal, cumulatively they start to make the club look amateur and a target for ridicule by rival fans.

05-06-2021, 12:38 AM
The recent twitter output has been akin to a stand up comedian dying on stage. A comedy audience doesn’t turn up to a gig with the intention of heckling and booing an act. However, if a comedian is struggling with their delivery and not getting many laughs then it’s likely the audience will quickly turn against them. After a string of dud tweets and mistakes, with the audience firmly against them, today’s “Good news at 2pm” teaser was the equivalent of said comedian saying “hold on you’ll like this next one” and then failing deliver a good punchline.

Any abuse of people working for the club is out of line, nobody deserves to be abused on line just for doing their job. However, while some have resorted to extreme inappropriate behaviour, the fact remains that many are disappointed with the content/output of the clubs social media channels in recent months. This feeling isn’t based on a single tweet but a lot of the output over that time. While in isolation, instances such as today, missing our key player from the cup final line up or calling Paul McGinn John McGinn during the POTYare not a big deal, cumulatively they start to make the club look amateur and a target for ridicule by rival fans.

While this may or may not be described as a good or bad post, I'm only thankful that I'm not on twitter or whatever else, Dearie me.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

05-06-2021, 07:36 AM
Investment from a priciple partner and shirt sponsorship is major news at any club and worthy of media build up. Ron Gordon identified gaps in our commercial and corporate activity in the city and certainly appears to be delivering.

Twitter is a cesspit. Full of vile trolls. A necessary part of any modern communication strategy but every time you dip your toe in it you come away feeling soiled.

Too many people treat twitter like it is real life, the slightest mistake in a tweet is earth shattering. Most people, most Hibs supporters don’t give a **** how it was delivered on twitter, they just acknowledge some good Hibs news and get on with the rest of their day.

05-06-2021, 07:50 AM
Based on the response they could’ve definitely handled it better- I’m just wondering what would’ve stoped the outrage? No comms at all or no teaser then a surprise announcement?

A selection of hibs dummy tits for the dafties that were so upset by the teaser. If I’m the company ploughing a couple of hundred grand into the club I better get a build up or I’m not happy. That’s a bit more important than the usual suspects on Twitter. Who do not show anything like the demographic of the Hibs supporters.

Dmas
05-06-2021, 08:02 AM
Investment from a priciple partner and shirt sponsorship is major news at any club and worthy of media build up. Ron Gordon identified gaps in our commercial and corporate activity in the city and certainly appears to be delivering.

Twitter is a cesspit. Full of vile trolls. A necessary part of any modern communication strategy but every time you dip your toe in it you come away feeling soiled.

Too many people treat twitter like it is real life, the slightest mistake in a tweet is earth shattering. Most people, most Hibs supporters don’t give a **** how it was delivered on twitter, they just acknowledge some good Hibs news and get on with the rest of their day.

I love Twitter use it most days, the only issue is that every idiot with a phone has a voice that will reach 91k+ hibs followers should they read the comments.

We’re back to the stage where for a select group of fans the club can do nothing right, we lost a cup final we had no divine right to win and now things like announcing player of the year or a player scoring for his national team or heavens forbid the club regains an income stream many fans have voiced concerns over losing the last couple of years and these idiots hammer them night and day.

I think the club owe Utillita to at least attempt to create a stir with a big ‘drum roll’ style announcement it’s the least they’d expect from investing 6 figures in the club any main sponsor would, to hammer the club because they’ve done that is mental IMO it says more about these guys on twitter some of them fully grown men that they’ve got there knickers in such a twist over signings none of them know will actually happen that any announcement other than ‘Sparky returns’ is being treated with such disrespect.

I actually wonder how long it will be before the draw bridge gets pulled up again and we end up with the total disconnect we had prior to Dempster and stubbs coming in, I’m aware it’s a minority of the 91k+ followers buts it’s a droning constant torrent of negativity on every subject id at least expect the twitter guy to be cut from the wage bill and links to direct articles on the website to replace it

05-06-2021, 08:10 AM
I love Twitter use it most days, the only issue is that every idiot with a phone has a voice that will reach 91k+ hibs followers should they read the comments.

We’re back to the stage where for a select group of fans the club can do nothing right, we lost a cup final we had no divine right to win and now things like announcing player of the year or a player scoring for his national team or heavens forbid the club regains an income stream many fans have voiced concerns over losing the last couple of years and these idiots hammer them night and day.

I think the club owe Utillita to at least attempt to create a stir with a big ‘drum roll’ style announcement it’s the least they’d expect from investing 6 figures in the club any main sponsor would, to hammer the club because they’ve done that is mental IMO it says more about these guys on twitter some of them fully grown men that they’ve got there knickers in such a twist over signings none of them know will actually happen that any announcement other than ‘Sparky returns’ is being treated with such disrespect.

I actually wonder how long it will be before the draw bridge gets pulled up again and we end up with the total disconnect we had prior to Dempster and stubbs coming in, I’m aware it’s a minority of the 91k+ followers buts it’s a droning constant torrent of negativity on every subject id at least expect the twitter guy to be cut from the wage bill and links to direct articles on the website to replace itWell said.

Yep, I'm not sure if these clowns realise that they're probably affecting the club's commercial income possibilities given the poison that appears under every communication?

... then they'll moan when the likes of Aberdeen outbid us for players.

Bangkok Hibby
05-06-2021, 08:13 AM
FFS..perhaps naively Hibs twitter thought they could inject a wee bit better feeling amongst a pissed off support. Anyone with half a brain should be able to see that. Do you think they're deliberately trying to wind people up. To those snowflakes hurting cos "Hibs put a crap tweet out" ......Grow the **** up and act like decent human beings.

05-06-2021, 08:16 AM
FFS..perhaps naively Hibs twitter thought they could inject a wee bit better feeling amongst a pissed off support. Anyone with half a brain should be able to see that. Do you think they're deliberately trying to wind people up. To those snowflakes hurting cos "Hibs put a crap tweet out" ......Grow the **** up and act like decent human beings.

Is anybody really hurting because of it?

The reaction to the reaction is more laughable than the reaction to the tweet!

Bangkok Hibby
05-06-2021, 08:17 AM

The reaction to the reaction is more laughable than the reaction to the tweet!

Indeed you are welcome to your opinion.

Sorry didn't mean to hit post there. Perhaps I should change "hurting" to "angry" cannae be arsed though. Folk know what I mean.

05-06-2021, 08:28 AM

The reaction to the reaction is more laughable than the reaction to the tweet!The second sentence is the height of nonsense.

05-06-2021, 08:44 AM
The second sentence is the height of nonsense.

All right for you to call people dicks, weirdos and so on. Consistently on here telling people they’re talking nonsense.

You do the same thing you moan about others doing but there’ll always be a justification as to why it’s all right for you to do so, of course.

Think you enjoy the argument like the Twitter ‘dicks’.

05-06-2021, 08:48 AM
You would think they could find a better picture of Jack Ross for his birthday message on socials - surely can’t be that hard ?

05-06-2021, 08:50 AM
You would think they could find a better picture of Jack Ross for his birthday message on socials - surely can’t be that hard ?

It’s outrageous that he’s even having a birthday this year. I hope the twitterati are up in arms about this.

05-06-2021, 08:54 AM
It’s outrageous that he’s even having a birthday this year. I hope the twitterati are up in arms about this.

Agreed - luckily Hibs aren’t paying someone to tweet to 91,000 folk. I’ve seen amateur clubs use better graphics for posts.

Disclaimer I don’t comment on Hibs Twitter - just here.

05-06-2021, 09:12 AM
There has hardly been any chat about the actual good news but there’s pages and pages about whether they got the announcement right.

There are negative comments on the platform they used to release the news but very little in the way of positive comments.

I’ll not be rushing to tweet my disapproval, tell the person tweeting that they’re this or that, but some of the tweets in the last few weeks have been terrible. I think they were trolling today.

Again, it's a very small number of people complaining on here and there are more posters stating that they are fine with how Hibs handled the major announcement of our main sponsor for the next two seasons.

As always in life it's those who aren't happy who make the most noise. The problem is that they're not happy with Hibs. Their complaints have nothing to do with the announcement, nothing to do with the identity of our sponsor and nothing to do with the amount of sponsorship. Instead they're simply using the announcement as another stick to beat the club with.

Conversely there is little for a football fan to get excited about by the announcement, hence the lack of supportive tweets or posts. It's a non-controversial sponsor paying us the expected sum of money for the sponsorship.

05-06-2021, 09:17 AM
Again, it's a very small number of people complaining on here and there are more posters stating that they are fine with how Hibs handled the major announcement of our main sponsor for the next two seasons.

As always in life it's those who aren't happy who make the most noise. The problem is that they're not happy with Hibs. Their complaints have nothing to do with the announcement, nothing to do with the identity of our sponsor and nothing to do with the amount of sponsorship. Instead they're simply using the announcement as another stick to beat the club with.

Conversely there is little for a football fan to get excited about by the announcement, hence the lack of supportive tweets or posts. It's a non-controversial sponsor paying us the expected sum of money for the sponsorship.

The comments in response to the announcement were clearly driven by the earlier tweet though. If the earlier tweet hadn’t happened, they’re not happening IMO and there isn’t another debate about our social media output.

05-06-2021, 09:17 AM
We're now over 20 hours on from the tweet. Why is this still a thing?

Would it not just be easier and better for all to let it lie and move on? The last 4 or 5 pages are dominated by the same half a dozen posters making the same points over and over again. No one is going to change their mind this far down the line so it has long ceased being a debate. The advice has repeatedly been that people on Twitter need to grow up, maybe that applies here as well. Agree to disagree and move on FFS before yet another thread has to be closed.

05-06-2021, 09:21 AM

Would it not just be easier and better for all to let it lie and move on? The last 4 or 5 pages are dominated by the same half a dozen posters making the same points over and over again. No one is going to change their mind this far down the line so it has long ceased being a debate. The advice has repeatedly been that people on Twitter need to grow up, maybe that applies here as well. Agree to disagree and move on FFS before yet another thread has to be closed.Is this closing threads because people disagree not becoming a bit OTT? I appreciate that they can drag on, but nobody is forced to read them.

05-06-2021, 09:25 AM
The comments in response to the announcement were clearly driven by the earlier tweet though. If the earlier tweet hadn’t happened, they’re not happening IMO and there isn’t another debate about our social media output.

Then Hibs need to stop making any announcements because, regardless of what the announcement says, there will always be some idiot who wants to criticise despite claiming to be a Hibs fan.

Criticism is fair enough when mistakes have been made (confusing the McGinns, the 5-1 tweet) but yesterday wasn't one of those occasions.

05-06-2021, 09:26 AM

Would it not just be easier and better for all to let it lie and move on? The last 4 or 5 pages are dominated by the same half a dozen posters making the same points over and over again. No one is going to change their mind this far down the line so it has long ceased being a debate. The advice has repeatedly been that people on Twitter need to grow up, maybe that applies here as well. Agree to disagree and move on FFS before yet another thread has to be closed.

It's the offseason.

Pointless and repetitive bickering about trivialities is all we have until there is a signing rumour. Preferably one with plenty of pun potential :greengrin

05-06-2021, 09:26 AM
All right for you to call people dicks, weirdos and so on. Consistently on here telling people they’re talking nonsense.

You do the same thing you moan about others doing but there’ll always be a justification as to why it’s all right for you to do so, of course.

Think you enjoy the argument like the Twitter ‘dicks’.

If people are being dicks then I see no harm in calling it as it is. To suggest that that makes me worse than them is nonsense.

You keep responding to my posts telling my how wrong the club's twitter guy has got things, something you've done far less with others who express similar views to my own.

It looks to me like you're the one "enjoying the argument".

05-06-2021, 09:36 AM
Posters on here roaring and greeting about people hiding behind "faceless accounts" giving out "abuse" on twitter yet they are running away onto a different platform, behind a faceless account, to call people morons, dicks, clowns ect. If you think that then why not pull these people up on twitter instead of coming onto here and being a hypocrite? Would be laughable if it wasnt so predictable/sad.

05-06-2021, 09:42 AM
Posters on here roaring and greeting about people hiding behind "faceless accounts" giving out "abuse" on twitter yet they are running away onto a different platform, behind a faceless account, to call people morons, dicks, clowns ect. If you think that then why not pull these people up on twitter instead of coming onto here and being a hypocrite? Would be laughable if it wasnt so predictable/sad.

Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkHypocrite ? Running away?

Yeah, you've got me down to a T.

I take it you agree with the morons & clowns then?

05-06-2021, 10:07 AM
It’s a fair point.

There’s no abuse on here so why not go on Twitter and challenge the ones doing it?

All you’re doing is moaning about the moaners again.

Just_Jimmy
05-06-2021, 10:09 AM
The comments in response to the announcement were clearly driven by the earlier tweet though. If the earlier tweet hadn’t happened, they’re not happening IMO and there isn’t another debate about our social media output.no, they were, as has been the case for most stuff since the final, driven by losing that final.

if we'd have won the whole mood would have been different and Hibs could do no wrong.

I was pissed off, however it's football, only one team wins the trophy and as a support we need to get over it. the whole attitude has been pathetic for weeks. social media is the absolute Pitts.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

05-06-2021, 10:13 AM
It’s a fair point.

There’s no abuse on here so why not go on Twitter and challenge the ones doing it?

All you’re doing is moaning about the moaners again.People on here are saying that the club's twitter guy has it wrong - basically saying that the club is wrong.

Surely we can debate that on here?

05-06-2021, 10:17 AM
You can almost predict what posters will dominate a thread these days, what side of the “debate” they will be on, and who will be arguing with who, mainly for the sake or arguing. Whatever the thread topic happens to be, that’s an aside.

05-06-2021, 10:19 AM
People on here are saying that the club's twitter guy has it wrong - basically saying that the club is wrong.

Surely we can debate that on here?

Yeah of course.

But you seem to feel pretty strongly about swathes of our support online so why not engage directly with them?

I doubt any of the ones giving abuse on Twitter are regular posters on here so all your chat isn’t reaching the people that need to hear it.

Everyone on this thread agrees that abuse is out of order. You’re going an extra mile though with the digs about a lot of Hibs fans because they see things differently to you.

You’ve called some of them all the names under the sun. Why do you even care in the slightest what they have to say when you have such a low opinion of them?

05-06-2021, 10:19 AM

In the years I've followed hibs new kit sponsors and shirt sponsors were always newsworthy but I disagree about the media build up. These deals were achieved when they were due and you'd read about them, probably in the Evening News or the official site, in standard news article form. No fuss.

I can't remember anyone getting excited by a sponsor. The most reaction we ever got was when we failed to get one but it doesn't work the other way around as we're one of Scotland's biggest clubs and we'd expect to attain a sponsor as a matter of course.

News of note but save the suspense for something genuinely exciting.

05-06-2021, 10:27 AM
Yeah of course.

But you seem to feel pretty strongly about swathes of our support online so why not engage directly with them?

I doubt any of the ones giving abuse on Twitter are regular posters on here so all your chat isn’t reaching the people that need to hear it.

Everyone on this thread agrees that abuse is out of order. You’re going an extra mile though with the digs about a lot of Hibs fans because they see things differently to you.

You’ve called some of them all the names under the sun. Why do you even care in the slightest what they have to say when you have such a low opinion of them?People don't get away with those sort of posts on here, otherwise it would be happening.

If I'm still involved in this thread, it's mostly because I'm responding to posts, like your's, which were addressing me.

If you can be bothered looking, you'll see that there has been a lot of direct "back & forths" between myself & different posters, yet I get the impression that I'm a pain in the arse troublemaker...

I may be stubborn but I'm anything but that. If anything I nearly always stick up for the guy who's not in a position to defend himself.

05-06-2021, 10:44 AM
Is this closing threads because people disagree not becoming a bit OTT? I appreciate that they can drag on, but nobody is forced to read them.

Bangkok Hibby
05-06-2021, 11:46 AM
You can almost predict what posters will dominate a thread these days, what side of the “debate” they will be on, and who will be arguing with who, mainly for the sake or arguing. Whatever the thread topic happens to be, that’s an aside.

Do you really think its just for the sake of arguing? I can't agree. Some posters have strong views and this is the vehicle for them to air those views.
I never rated Rocky as highly as others and said so across more than one thread but it was nothing to do with wanting an argument. I'd hope if there are people like that they would be rooted out. But who is to decide?

05-06-2021, 12:06 PM
Yet another one man crusade it seems.
The continuing notion of coming on to Hibs.net to debate about how moronic / clownish / thick / wide other Hibbies are on Twitter and Facebook is banal.
Likewise is the relentless defence of whatever the club do and how they do it. Quite often they get it terribly wrong and it’s not Twitters doing that they do so.