View Full Version : The Jack Ross Poll
craigmcfarlane
26-05-2021, 01:41 PM
I don't want him sacked but questions have to be asked about the team/manager mentality for big games.
The problem for me is that when we lose, we don't go down with a fight. I don't think many fans would complain if we had a fighting spirit but still got beat.
Allez Hibs
26-05-2021, 01:54 PM
*Majority of people who didn't vote don't want him sacked.
Sorry, should have qualified it.
26-05-2021, 01:55 PM
What are you on about?
Meh, needless comment from myself, apologies.
26-05-2021, 01:56 PM
Meh, needless comment from myself, apologies.
26-05-2021, 01:56 PM
*Majority of people who didn't vote don't want him sacked.
Sorry, should have qualified it.
how do you know? :greengrin
Allez Hibs
26-05-2021, 02:02 PM
how do you know? :greengrin
Precisely 😂
Using the current poll as assumption, there's 111 that didn't vote the don't want him sacked of which 72 wouldn't be bothered which is 65%.
I'm at the point with it all though, let's just move on and look towards next season, back him and get behind the club.
26-05-2021, 02:03 PM
You are stating facts, I am not disagreeing with them.
So as Hibs fans, we are delighted we won at Aberdeen for the 1st time since 2012 and won 3rd place in the league.
I'd take defeat at Aberdeen, 4th place in the league and 2 cups any day of the week. Just my preference. For me Saturday was the ultimate crunch. We sh*t the bed on Saturday.
But you don't have that choice, you have what we achieved and thats it. I'd take relegation to win both cups and the champions league. Is it likely? naw.
26-05-2021, 03:39 PM
Which bit wouldn’t you have taken?
League - 3rd place.
Scottish Cup Final - lost to St Johnstone (take/not take)?
Semi final - Dundee United (win) take or not take?
1/4 final - Motherwell (win) take or not take?
Stranraer/QotS - win both, take or not take?
League Cup
Semi final - lost to St Johnstone (take or not take?)
1/4 final - Alloa (win) take or not take
Dundee - win, take or not take?
Where’s the cut off that losing would have been ok? If we’re saying we would only accept getting to the final as being good if we win, which of the earlier rounds could we have lost in that would have been better?
Barring an absolute disaster of a season for the OF 3rd is as good as we can get so obviously I’d take that.
Given the easy draws we had in both cup competitions there isn’t a cut off that losing would have been OK. We should have won both cups.
26-05-2021, 03:47 PM
Barring an absolute disaster of a season for the OF 3rd is as good as we can get so obviously I’d take that.
Given the easy draws we had in both cup competitions there isn’t a cut off that losing would have been OK. We should have won both cups.
You said you’d rather have not got to the final if you knew we’d put in that performance. Is it the case now that it’s only acceptable to get knocked out of any cup competition by Rangers or Celtic?
There’s only one team in each cup competition that goes through the tournament unbeaten, we fell at the final hurdle, but that’s still a very good cup run.
26-05-2021, 03:51 PM
You said you’d rather have not got to the final if you knew we’d put in that performance. Is it the case now that it’s only acceptable to get knocked out of any cup competition by Rangers or Celtic?
There’s only one team in each cup competition that goes through the tournament unbeaten, we fell at the final hurdle, but that’s still a very good cup run.
You can lose a league cup group game and still win the cup.
26-05-2021, 04:03 PM
I know what I said, but it’s hindsight and clearly I wouldn’t have known we were going to put in such a pish performance in the final. My feeling I wish we hadn’t bothered doesn’t though mean it would have been acceptable to go out in an earlier round given our opposition. We should have won both cups. Clearly it wasn’t such an impossible task as St Johnstone did so quite comfortably.
26-05-2021, 05:24 PM
You can lose a league cup group game and still win the cup.
That’s true.
26-05-2021, 06:56 PM
Brora or the the?
Sioux
26-05-2021, 07:03 PM
If we should have won both cups we would have. But there was no divine right to win anything. Should is probably the most stupid word in football. People who have a bet on the football soon realise, that more often than not, the teams that should have won, don't. Otherwise they'd all be millionaires.
loanheadhibby
26-05-2021, 07:58 PM
But you don't have that choice, you have what we achieved and thats it. I'd take relegation to win both cups and the champions league. Is it likely? naw.
Well technically, the team had a choice on Saturday, did not turn up. Had the choice v St Johnstone in league cup semi, did not turn etc.
St Johnstone had the same opportunity and took them.
If the players choose to turn up, we’re not having this poll.
26-05-2021, 08:03 PM
FFS, 32% on here want Hibs to sack JR after a semi final, final and third in the league. When was the last time had a season as successful as this? Either .net is full of trolls or nowhere near representative of the Hibs support.
26-05-2021, 08:09 PM
FFS, 32% on here want Hibs to sack JR after a semi final, final and third in the league. When was the last time had a season as successful as this? Either .net is full of trolls or nowhere near representative of the Hibs support.
Or 32% are spewing at the best chance we will have for a very long time of winning two trophies in one season.
This thread just goes in circles.
How many times does it need to be said that finishing 3rd is great. We've had a very good league campaign and there is no denying that even if the football has been a bit more of a pragmatic approach and a bit dull at times. However in the context of the season, with regards to how the draws fell for the cup competitions then Hibs have utterly failed. We should and could have been sat here buzzing about the best season in our history but we are not.
26-05-2021, 08:19 PM
It’s 13%?
26-05-2021, 08:29 PM
It’s 13%?I'm really tempted to tell you to stop trolling, but that would be bad.
[emoji12]
26-05-2021, 08:34 PM
I'm really tempted to tell you to stop trolling, but that would be bad.
[emoji12]
Not going to lie, I’m ****ing lost with all these percentages :greengrin
h1bs4life
26-05-2021, 08:40 PM
Hibs net is not representative of the Hibs support , there is no way to know how the Hibs support feel about Ross.
Crunchie
27-05-2021, 07:51 AM
Hibs net is not representative of the Hibs support , there is no way to know how the Hibs support feel about Ross.
You're right, but I don't think It'll be that wide of the mark, I suppose it depends on the subject and the amount of voters.
27-05-2021, 08:06 AM
Where else are you going to get a survey result from?
27-05-2021, 08:53 AM
Hibs net is not representative of the Hibs support .
How many Hibs fan did you survey to confirm that fact? :greengrin
This is one of the largest groupings of Hibs fans online so any poll result on here isn’t going to be totally without merit.
27-05-2021, 09:50 AM
If there had been fans at that game on Saturday, we might have been given an indication.
That aside, Hibs.Net poll is a reasonable indicator. We know a significant majority % still support Ross. We can also reasonably say that right now a fairly substantial minority aren't hugely committed to him. That's understandable after the debacle we saw at the weekend.
If that poll had taken place the week before the final, the results would have looked quite different. A poll captures the mood of the time and right now there's a lot of disillusioned Hibees.
Football fans are fickle. A storming first quarter of the season, maybe a derby win... Ross's approval ratings will rocket. The opposite, I don't think our owner will be too supportive of that.
hibeelovin90
27-05-2021, 06:33 PM
If there had been fans at that game on Saturday, we might have been given an indication.
That aside, Hibs.Net poll is a reasonable indicator. We know a significant majority % still support Ross. We can also reasonably say that right now a fairly substantial minority aren't hugely committed to him. That's understandable after the debacle we saw at the weekend.
If that poll had taken place the week before the final, the results would have looked quite different. A poll captures the mood of the time and right now there's a lot of disillusioned Hibees.
Football fans are fickle. A storming first quarter of the season, maybe a derby win... Ross's approval ratings will rocket. The opposite, I don't think our owner will be too supportive of that.
Jack Ross has to stay, done an excellent job. 3rd for first time in years and getting to a final is better than not getting there. Of course we'd love to have won it but let's not lose a good thing
hibbydog
27-05-2021, 07:56 PM
No conclusions can be confidently drawn on a sample size of 327 votes out of say, 12,000 regular attending fans.
It may give an indication, but small sample sizes are prone to extreme and therefor unreliable results.
Brexit was a good example - several opinion polls of only a few thousand people turned out wrong when tens of millions went and voted.
28-05-2021, 01:46 PM
No conclusions can be confidently drawn on a sample size of 327 votes out of say, 12,000 regular attending fans.
It may give an indication, but small sample sizes are prone to extreme and therefor unreliable results.
Brexit was a good example - several opinion polls of only a few thousand people turned out wrong when tens of millions went and voted.
Ah ken, fair enough, that’s why I said that it was reasonable indicator. In the absence of any other method of gauging our fans views, it’s all we have.
I’ve changed my mind. Ross in..... he deserves the chance to make amends and hopefully kick on from what he oversaw this season. I have doubts, as do many, but I hope he has learned and is able to consolidate and improve on what has passed.
Plan B, more flexible tactics, more style and more victories, plus he’ll need to **** the Hearts and beat St Johnstone. Do those things, he’ll do alright.
hhibs
28-05-2021, 01:54 PM
Ah ken, fair enough, that’s why I said that it was reasonable indicator. In the absence of any other method of gauging our fans views, it’s all we have.
I’ve changed my mind. Ross in..... he deserves the chance to make amends and hopefully kick on from what he oversaw this season. I have doubts, as do many, but I hope he has learned and is able to consolidate and improve on what has passed.
Plan B, more flexible tactics, more style and more victories, plus he’ll need to **** the Hearts and beat St Johnstone. Do those things, he’ll do alright.
My concern is that there has been absolutely no sign that JR is capable of change,despite a season with a clear series of indicators that he needed to.
28-05-2021, 02:01 PM
My concern is that there has been absolutely no sign that JR is capable of change,despite a season with a clear series of indicators that he needed to.Apart from matches where he's changed players, shape & tactics during the game?
hhibs
28-05-2021, 02:11 PM
Apart from matches where he's changed players, shape & tactics during the game?
Many times it was too little and too late ,not to mention the inability to do to many of these things before the game,all in my opinion though ,others differ
Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 02:17 PM
You've changed your tune...
Sensible post.
28-05-2021, 02:31 PM
Not so long ago we were relegation candidates under Hecky and had just lost the "relegation derby" with Hearts. Then Ross took over.
28-05-2021, 02:39 PM
Not so long ago we were relegation candidates under Hecky and had just lost the "relegation derby" with Hearts. Then Ross took over.
And he was getting backed to the hilt by one person who wanted Ross sacked months ago, when Heckingbottom 6 was given excuse after excuse.🤣🤣🤣
28-05-2021, 02:52 PM
And he was getting backed to the hilt by one person who wanted Ross sacked months ago, when Heckingbottom 6 was given excuse after excuse.🤣🤣🤣
The obsession rolls on :rolleyes: a thread I’ve not posted on for 2 days and what do you want to discuss? Football? Of course not. Me? Of course.
I would say I’m surprised the admins allow the constant trolling/bullying/personal attacks but I’m not at all with how long/frequently it’s went on. It’s who you know and all that.
28-05-2021, 03:00 PM
You've changed your tune...
Sensible post.
It's allowed. I've simmered down, although it all still hurts. I'm not getting any younger and I'm so desperate to see more success at Hibs. Still far from convinced by Ross, but he's earned the right to see if he can take Hibs further. Time will tell.
28-05-2021, 03:01 PM
It's allowed. I've simmered down, although it all still hurts. I'm not getting any younger and I'm so desperate to see more success at Hibs. Still far from convinced by Ross, but he's earned the right to see if he can take Hibs further. Time will tell.
Good man. (Or woman)!
Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 03:04 PM
👍 👍 👍
Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 03:06 PM
I would say I’m surprised the admins allow the constant trolling/bullying/personal attacks but I’m not at all with how long/frequently it’s went on. It’s who you know and all that.
100%
Can we do this without the petty bickering, calling each other trolls etc. We don’t want to be spending our time deleting stuff because grown adults can’t discuss things respectfully.
Thanks.
Obviously not. Another car crash thread closed due to petty bickering