View Full Version : Hanlon and Stevenson

h1bs4life
22-05-2021, 09:40 PM
Another honour for these 2 legends to go along with 2012 , Malmo and the relegations. Not another club anywhere would have players in there team with 2 of the worst results in there history still playing we make one our captain.

22-05-2021, 09:41 PM
Yawn 🥱 :rolleyes:

22-05-2021, 09:41 PM
unplug your internet and go to bed

22-05-2021, 09:44 PM

trust me, there are clubs with plenty players who've had biggest disasters than Lewis and Paul.

22-05-2021, 09:54 PM
Another honour for these 2 legends to go along with 2012 , Malmo and the relegations. Not another club anywhere would have players in there team with 2 of the worst results in there history still playing we make one our captain.

Get a grip. Lewis never put a foot wrong today. Totally wrong player to lash out at.

Inconsequential
22-05-2021, 10:03 PM
Eddie Turnbull's team got thrashed 6-1 in a Scottish Cup Final then won two trophies albeit one was minor in the the following six months. The Scottish Cup holders were beaten on both occasions.

22-05-2021, 10:06 PM
Eddie Turnbull's team got thrashed 6-1 in a Scottish Cup Final then won two trophies albeit one was minor in the the following six months. The Scottish Cup holders were beaten on both occasions.

Sadly, the chances of us winning something next season are extremely slim. Seasons like this one don't happen often

Hannah_hfc
22-05-2021, 10:07 PM
Bore off [emoji42]

22-05-2021, 10:13 PM
I know you are trolling but that doesn't exempt you from being a daftie.

h1bs4life
22-05-2021, 10:28 PM
Trolling ? So what is said is wrong.

JXM73
22-05-2021, 11:47 PM
Done, get them both tae ****

h1bs4life
22-05-2021, 11:49 PM

trust me, there are clubs with plenty players who've had biggest disasters than Lewis and Paul.

Will trust you , Tel me the clubs

23-05-2021, 12:21 AM
We lost one goal today. Due to neither of these players.

We had zero attacking threat today and there’s lots of players who can have fingers pointed at them, Stevenson and Hanlon were not at fault.

HibeeMackenzie
23-05-2021, 01:45 AM
Paul Hanlon would be the best centre half for every team in Scotland outwith the old firm and it’s not up for discussion. Paul and Lewis aren’t the reason wee created nothing going forward today

WestStandWillie
23-05-2021, 05:12 AM
Obviously cannae handle yer drink when yer posting stuff like that.

Clarence
23-05-2021, 05:52 AM
Why is Doig marking their centre forward for the goal, when Hanlon is in no man’s land? Don’t think it’s true to say that he had nothing to do with the goal being lost.

23-05-2021, 06:22 AM
Why is Doig marking their centre forward for the goal, when Hanlon is in no man’s land? Don’t think it’s true to say that he had nothing to do with the goal being lost.

The goal from their right wing back you mean?

23-05-2021, 06:44 AM

Centre forward aye? Are you getting mixed up maybe with Wayne Rooney or Adam Rooney:greengrin

23-05-2021, 07:00 AM
Why is Doig marking their centre forward for the goal, when Hanlon is in no man’s land? Don’t think it’s true to say that he had nothing to do with the goal being lost.Sometimes better to say nothing an all that...

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

23-05-2021, 07:43 AM
Will trust you , Tel me the clubs

There are guys in the Sunderland side who've had 2 relegations, 3 playoff failures and lost their fa trophy.

Lewis and Paul are hibs legends. Bizarre to have a go at them today.

23-05-2021, 07:44 AM

LOL. Doigs man 100%. Rooney is their right back

Robbo6-2
23-05-2021, 07:47 AM
Hanlon was awful yesterday.

There is nothing more soul destroying watching us play 15 sideways passes, going no where turning back and watching Hanlon attempt a 45 yard diagonal right onto a centre halfs head. Exactly how St Johnstone wanted us to play

23-05-2021, 07:50 AM

There is nothing more soul destroying watching us play 15 sideways passes, going no where turning back and watching Hanlon attempt a 45 yard diagonal right onto a centre halfs head. Exactly how St Johnstone wanted us to play
That's not hanlon faults, that's the managers fault.

Paul was fine yesterday, except Middleton beating him 1 on1 twice.

23-05-2021, 07:59 AM

Agree that’s what st Johnstone wanted. But with the midfield and front pair hiding I’m not sure what else he was meant to do. Despite doing it and never winning the first ball, we never won a single 2nd ball. Not one. Other than Macey all the other players were as culpable as each other

23-05-2021, 07:59 AM

Not a great argument. Stein's Celtic in 1972 was one of the best teams in Europe ! TT had nothing to prove to anyone, class players, brilliant to watch and rarely let the fans down. IMO yesterday was the most insipid, gutless, attempt by any Hibs team to win a major Cup Final, including 2012 - so that's some low bar.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 08:28 AM
Don't know either of them so it's not personal , people that know them say they are really good guys.
Both are weak mentally , soft as **** and perennial losers both are meant to be the experience and leaders in the dressing room.
They have been part of relegation teams , then a team that took 3 years to get promoted . part of the team that got hammered in 2012, got not just our worst European result but a Scottish teams worst result beat again is 2013 cup final beat again 2016 League Cup final and they are still here . Both should have been binned a long time ago and would have to be binned because no one has been interested in them.
Hanlon would play for any team out with the Old Firm ? Wouldn't get in the St Johnstone team and the Motherwell centre half is going to the Euros.
Hanlon was one of the most capped players under 21 and now he has 1 senior cap which shows how much people out with Hibs rate him.
Doig has just came in and there's interest in him , Porteuos 2 years in the team and interest in him Porteuos would be better moving and learning how to be a centre half somewhere else.

23-05-2021, 08:29 AM

Spot on. We’ll never kick on with these losers at the helm.

23-05-2021, 08:30 AM
Spot on. We’ll never kick on with these losers at the helm.

Kick on to what? We finished 7th season, 3rd this. Surely we have kicked on?

23-05-2021, 08:39 AM

They were all awful yesterday.

Watching it though, I said in the pub we’re punting it long to nobody far too often, but what the **** else is the defence meant to do? Nobody was showing. Nobody wanted to take the ball from the defence. It was either long from the defence, or back to Macey to go long.

The thread title is Hanlon and Stevenson, but it would make more sense to be Nisbet and Boyle. Nothing created, no shots between them. Did absolutely nothing with the ball or off it. When they’re not in the game how are we going to score??

hibIBZ
23-05-2021, 08:39 AM

Our biggest threat going forward is Boyle, everybody knows this. To stop him getting the ball, teams regularly double up on him and make it a priority to stop him, playing through the lines to get home the ball isn't on very often because of this, making a diagonal not a bad option, especially if the midfield is closed off

loanheadhibby
23-05-2021, 08:57 AM
Paul Hanlon would be the best centre half for every team in Scotland outwith the old firm and it’s not up for discussion. Paul and Lewis aren’t the reason wee created nothing going forward today
The Motherwell guy who has just signed for Aberdeen is presumably much better. He is in the Euro squad.
I do agree that yesterday's defeat was nothing to do with Paul Hanlon.

23-05-2021, 09:00 AM
The Motherwell guy who has just signed for Aberdeen is presumably much better. He is in the Euro squad.
I do agree that yesterday's defeat was nothing to do with Paul Hanlon.

Presumably yes, in reality no. He is a big huddie.

We missed leadership and drive yesterday when it was clear the players needed a rocket up their arse. That's when your captain should step forward, Hanlon is a decent player but is not and has never been a leader or captain.

Don't know either of them so it's not personal , people that know them say they are really good guys.
Both are weak mentally , soft as **** and perennial losers both are meant to be the experience and leaders in the dressing room.
They have been part of relegation teams , then a team that took 3 years to get promoted . part of the team that got hammered in 2012, got not just our worst European result but a Scottish teams worst result beat again is 2013 cup final beat again 2016 League Cup final and they are still here . Both should have been binned a long time ago and would have to be binned because no one has been interested in them.
Hanlon would play for any team out with the Old Firm ? Wouldn't get in the St Johnstone team and the Motherwell centre half is going to the Euros.
Hanlon was one of the most capped players under 21 and now he has 1 senior cap which shows how much people out with Hibs rate him.
Doig has just came in and there's interest in him , Porteuos 2 years in the team and interest in him Porteuos would be better moving and learning how to be a centre half somewhere else.

They are legends....Like everyone else, poor yesterday.

Losers, weak mentally, soft as *****!? Perhaps you could let them into the secret of your mental strength & all the personal wins that has brought you.

Crammond Hibee
23-05-2021, 09:03 AM

Centre Forward ?

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 09:40 AM

Losers, weak mentally, soft as *****!? Perhaps you could let them into the secret of your mental strength & all the personal wins that has brought you.

Perhaps you could tell us all the great things they have done for us compared to the embarrassments they have been involved in.
Everyone one else was emptied , so what's so special about them that they are the experience and leaders in our squad.
Can't think of any other club that would still have players with there records in big games still at the club never mind make them captain

23-05-2021, 09:41 AM

We are not discussing hibs4life and I would be surprised if his job is to win football matches therefore your question is a little off point.

23-05-2021, 09:43 AM
Perhaps you could tell us all the great things they have done for us compared to the embarrassments they have been involved in.
Everyone one else was emptied , so what's so special about them that they are the experience and leaders in our squad.
Can't think of any other club that would still have players with there records in big games still at the club never mind make them captain

That's Lewis who is the only player in our history to win the League Cup and the Scottish Cup?

23-05-2021, 09:47 AM
Everyone one else was emptied , so what's so special about them that they are the experience and leaders in our squad

Mark Noble got relegated with West Ham, and has since been long term captain.

He must be ***** and any West Ham fans who like him must be idiots eh.

Ben Mee at Burnley tae.

And nobody tries to buy them so obviously that means that nobody rates them.

That’s your logic isn’t it?

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 09:49 AM
That's Lewis who is the only player in our history to win the League Cup and the Scottish Cup?

And rightly so he is a legend like every other player that has won a cup or the top flight league with Hibs including Hanlon.
So that means they can't be moved on what's so special about them that they are still here ?

23-05-2021, 09:53 AM
And rightly so he is a legend like every other player that has won a cup or the top flight league with Hibs including Hanlon.
So that means they can't be moved on what's so special about them that they are still here ?

Lewis barely plays. He’s our second choice left back,

Paul Hanlon, sorry to dissapoint you, will continue to start at centre half for us for at least another couple of years. I wouldn’t say he’s “special” though. We don’t get that many “special” players at Hibs.

23-05-2021, 09:54 AM

Lewis has won 20% of Hibs trophies.

I've already said, there are many other clubs.

Buffon lost 3 Champions league finals, a European championship final, numerous cup finals, played in Serie B with Juventus, and he's a top 10 club legend there.

Iker Casillas is another. A near decade of failure with Real Madrid. 6-2 and 5-0 classico defeats, 8 last 16 exits in a row.

Totti with Roma finished 2nd in the league 9 times, and lost 5 cup finals, including 1 to Lazio.

What you are describing happens to any player who has been at a club for years.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 10:00 AM
Mark Noble got relegated with West Ham, and has since been long term captain.

He must be ***** and any West Ham fans who like him must be idiots eh.

Ben Mee at Burnley tae.

And nobody tries to buy them so obviously that means that nobody rates them.

That’s your logic isn’t it?

They may have got relegated like Hanlon and Stevenson but how many other big games including derbies , cup finals etc where they players part off.
Who outside Hibs rates them ? Hanlon most capped under 21 player to 1 cap because Grant Hanley wasn't fit then emptied when he was.
We have a young 19 year old left back who in his first 6 months has had more interest in him than they have over 10 years they have been here.
Porteous a young centre half has had more interest in both them who is going to learn nothing from Hanlon he has probably learned more from the few games he has had with McGregor.
I expect with his physique he will go down to the English championship and with a decent centre half to learn from will have a reasonable career.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 10:05 AM
Lewis has won 20% of Hibs trophies.

I've already said, there are many other clubs.

Buffon lost 3 Champions league finals, a European championship final, numerous cup finals, played in Serie B with Juventus, and he's a top 10 club legend there.

Iker Casillas is another. A near decade of failure with Real Madrid. 6-2 and 5-0 classico defeats, 8 last 16 exits in a row.

Totti with Roma finished 2nd in the league 9 times, and lost 5 cup finals, including 1 to Lazio.

What you are describing happens to any player who has been at a club for years.

So Stevenson has won 2 trophies rightly a legend for that but also part of relegated teams , European embarrassments , Derby embarrassments , Cup final embarrassments what does he do now that merits another contract ?
Don't think we would fighting off big clubs for his signature

23-05-2021, 10:07 AM
So Stevenson has won 2 trophies rightly a legend for that but also part of relegated teams , European embarrassments , Derby embarrassments , Cup final embarrassments what does he do now that merits another contract ?
Don't think we would fighting off big clubs for his signature

What will you remember in 20 years? The cup wins or derby losses?

What about his derby wins? His european wins? Forget them all?

23-05-2021, 10:13 AM
They may have got relegated like Hanlon and Stevenson but how many other big games including derbies , cup finals etc where they players part off.
Who outside Hibs rates them ? Hanlon most capped under 21 player to 1 cap because Grant Hanley wasn't fit then emptied when he was.
We have a young 19 year old left back who in his first 6 months has had more interest in him than they have over 10 years they have been here.
Porteous a young centre half has had more interest in both them who is going to learn nothing from Hanlon he has probably learned more from the few games he has had with McGregor.
I expect with his physique he will go down to the English championship and with a decent centre half to learn from will have a reasonable career.

I’ve nae interest in looking it up but I’d bet any amount of money that both Mark Noble and Ben Mee have lost plenty derby games.

Who’s trying to sign the St Johnstone players who just beat us? Nobody. Does that mean they’re *****?

You just make more ***** up as you go along, hibs4life when it suits you.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 10:17 AM
What will you remember in 20 years? The cup wins or derby losses?

What about his derby wins? His european wins? Forget them all?

Will remember the cup wins but will also remember the cup losses , Malmo and all the trips to Hampden over the years and usually been let down in the majority.
This year has been the 1st time have not been to Hampden since 1972 and while nothing will beat 2016 there has been so many times of what might have been .
You still not answered the question what has he done to merit another contract ?

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 10:21 AM
I’ve nae interest in looking it up but I’d bet any amount of money that both Mark Noble and Ben Mee have lost plenty derby games.

Who’s trying to sign the St Johnstone players who just beat us? Nobody. Does that mean they’re *****?

You just make more ***** up as you go along, hibs4life when it suits you.

Tell me what's made up ? Making up ****? some response obviously nothing to add

23-05-2021, 10:23 AM
Tell me what's made up ? Making up ****? some response obviously nothing to add

I’ve added something everyone you’ve added another level to your bull****.

No other teams would have a captain who’s been relegated and lost big games...well actually there are other teams.

Nobody has ever been interested in signing them so they’re obviously not rated by anyone. See above.

23-05-2021, 10:28 AM
Will remember the cup wins but will also remember the cup losses , Malmo and all the trips to Hampden over the years and usually been let down in the majority.
This year has been the 1st time have not been to Hampden since 1972 and while nothing will beat 2016 there has been so many times of what might have been .
You still not answered the question what has he done to merit another contract ?

Well Doig has given him huge credit for helping him, and as far as backup left backs go, there aren't many better in Scotland. No brainer to give him a new deal.

23-05-2021, 10:32 AM
Our defenders were ok yesterday, we were let down further up the park with a midfield that were useless and of course forwards who were starved of the ball because that midfield were so crap.

Irvine is not a left winger, Newell is just useless a show pony, Gogic was the only one i'd give pass marks to, at least he gave his all and did what he normally does.

You need to win the midfield, and we just dont with playing one player short most weeks.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 10:32 AM
I’ve added something everyone you’ve added another level to your bull****.

No other teams would have a captain who’s been relegated and lost big games...well actually there are other teams.

Nobody has ever been interested in signing them so they’re obviously not rated by anyone. See above.

Bull**** your a funny guy. Doig Nisbet and Porteous all have interest in them. Nisbet in the Scotland squad that would say people outside Hibs rate them . Hanlon from lots of under 21 caps to 1 senior cap would say to me that all the Scotland managers don't rate him and he hasn't progressed beyond under 21 level .

23-05-2021, 10:39 AM
Bull**** your a funny guy. Doig Nisbet and Porteous all have interest in them. Nisbet in the Scotland squad that would say people outside Hibs rate them . Hanlon from lots of under 21 caps to 1 senior cap would say to me that all the Scotland managers don't rate him and he hasn't progressed beyond under 21 level .

I am quite funny.

Porteous has age on his side, and he can still develop, but the lady 6 months he’s been pretty poor and based on those 6 months he’ll be lucky to reach Hanlons level.

Hanlon was in the Scotland squad this season, isn’t that progress from the 21s?

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 11:05 AM
[QUOTE=easty;6576890]I am quite funny.

Porteous has age on his side, and he can still develop, but the lady 6 months he’s been pretty poor and based on those 6 months he’ll be lucky to reach Hanlons level.

Hanlon was in the Scotland squad this season, isn’t that progress from the 21s?[/QU

1 cap at aged 31 that brilliant progress why is he not going to the Euros Porteous has also been in the senior squad and would also learn a lot more from McGregor than he would from Hanlon. McGregor at 36 is still our best central defender .Porteous while poor recently has got the potential and physique to move on and with proper guidance could become a decent centre half

23-05-2021, 11:07 AM
1 cap at aged 31 that brilliant progress why is he not going to the Euros Porteous has also been in the senior squad and would also learn a lot more from McGregor than he would from Hanlon. McGregor at 36 is still our best central defender .Porteous while poor recently has got the potential and physique to move on and with proper guidance could become a decent centre half

If Mcgregor is better, why are you blaming Hanlon? He isn't picking himself?

23-05-2021, 11:09 AM

How many Scotland caps does Darren McGregor have?

23-05-2021, 12:07 PM
Another Hibs loss in a big game and the Hanlon/Stevenson threads come out. I would almost be disappointed if someone didn't do them despite how badly I disagree with them.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 01:33 PM
[QUOTE=easty;6576940]How many Scotland caps does Darren McGregor have?[/QUOTE

Think it's only one less than Hanlon.
We now have people saying Stevenson would have stopped Rooney getting a free header.
Hanlon is apparently better than Gallagher who is just a big lump but in the Scotland Euro squad and got a move to Aberdeen . Andrew Considine has more caps, it must be Scotland managers anti Hibs agenda that Hanlon hasn't got more Scotland caps or going to the Euros

23-05-2021, 01:39 PM
[QUOTE=easty;6576940]How many Scotland caps does Darren McGregor have?[/QUOTE

We now have people saying Stevenson would have stopped Rooney getting a free header.
Hanlon is apparently better than Gallagher who is just a big lump but in the Scotland Euro squad and got a move to Aberdeen . Andrew Considine has more caps, it must be Scotland managers anti Hibs agenda that Hanlon hasn't got more Scotland caps or going to the Euros

Lol, is this really all you have to do with your time today? Jeezo.....

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 01:39 PM
Another Hibs loss in a big game and the Hanlon/Stevenson threads come out. I would almost be disappointed if someone didn't do them despite how badly I disagree with them.

Your 100 % spot on , yet another big game defeat with Hanlon and Stevenson still at the club. Lost count of the big games we have lost away as far back as 2012.

May21/05/216
23-05-2021, 01:40 PM
Your 100 % spot on , yet another big game defeat with Hanlon and Stevenson still at the club. Lost count of the big games we have lost away as far back as 2012.21/05/2016 was a big game

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 01:41 PM
[QUOTE=h1bs4life;6577128]

Lol, is this really all you have to do with your time today? Jeezo.....

Yup what have you got to do with your time

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 01:55 PM
21/05/2016 was a big game

So was 2012 , 2013 , League Cup Final 2016 , semi final defeat to lower league team and 2 Hampden games against St Johnstone.
You sound just like one of my mates in the pub yesterday with at least we won in 2016.
We have won the Scottish Cup 1 in 119 years yesterday was a chance to make it twice in 5 years. Total lack of leaders .
****ing St Johnstone have now won it twice in 7 years. Everything at the club should be looked at , thought in 2016 there would be a change within the club there was for a couple of years now back downhill

May21/05/216
23-05-2021, 02:02 PM
I'm just pointing out that 21/05/2016 was a big game when Lewis and Paul played in I think your comment was a bit harsh I've been watching hibs for over 50 and trust me this time in hibs history is not to shabby

23-05-2021, 02:03 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;6577136]

Yup what have you got to do with your time
Playing golf in a couple of hours time since you are asking.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 02:48 PM
[QUOTE=h1bs4life;6577141]
Playing golf in a couple of hours time since you are asking.

I was hoping half expecting to be back in Leith today meeting and celebrating with mates after partying into the early hours this morning down the walk.
Instead after trying to numb the pain last night of yet another embarrassing performance I have been lying about watching Tranmere Rovers and other crap on the TV.
Took the precaution of taking tomorrow of just in case but will probably try and get a game of golf organised .
Enjoy your golf .

23-05-2021, 02:55 PM

Again you’re moving the goalposts as you go.

You’re the one saying Hanlon is nae good. You’re the one who pointed out he couldn’t progress from the U21s, saying he wasn’t good enough. You’re the one saying McGregor is better.:

Then it’s pointed out he has been capped by Scotland, that McGregor hasn’t. So you start spouting on about Andy Considine and anti-Hibs agendas.

You’re tying yourself up in knots and I’m no sure you even realise it,

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 03:00 PM
I'm just pointing out that 21/05/2016 was a big game when Lewis and Paul played in I think your comment was a bit harsh I've been watching hibs for over 50 and trust me this time in hibs history is not to shabby

Agree with what your saying but they had players around that were leaders and players like Stokes , Mcgeouch that knew what it was like to win things.
Probably been going as long as yourself and the record of getting to Hampden must be as good as any over the last few years, it's getting it to winning thats the issue . At least yesterday we didn't have to go Glasgow and have the long disappointed journey home.

23-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Again you’re moving the goalposts as you go.

You’re the one saying Hanlon is nae good. You’re the one who pointed out he couldn’t progress from the U21s, saying he wasn’t good enough. You’re the one saying McGregor is better.:

Then it’s pointed out he has been capped by Scotland, that McGregor hasn’t. So you start spouting on about Andy Considine and anti-Hibs agendas.

You’re tying yourself up in knots and I’m no sure you even realise it,

I think the general point is despite Scotland being pretty weak at centre half for a large part of Hanlon's career he's only ever had 1 cap.

Darren obviously came to the professional game late and if he didn't have 2 cruciate injuries he may himself have got a few caps.

h1bs4life
23-05-2021, 03:07 PM
[QUOTE=easty;6577232]Again you’re moving the goalposts as you go.

You’re tying yourself up in knots and I’m no sure you even realise it,[/QUOTE

Tying myself up in knots good one . Pointed out that other Hibs players have other clubs interested which shows how other people club rate these players . Nothing for these two in 10 years. 1 cap each would show that no Scotland manager rates them and even a carthorse like Considine has 2 caps.
What makes you think people outside Hibs rate them?

24-05-2021, 08:03 AM
Tying myself up in knots good one . Pointed out that other Hibs players have other clubs interested which shows how other people club rate these players . Nothing for these two in 10 years. 1 cap each would show that no Scotland manager rates them and even a carthorse like Considine has 2 caps.
What makes you think people outside Hibs rate them?

Well, Mallan had clubs interested in him. So we loaned him out to Turkey. Nobody tried to sign any the rest of our midfield. So Mallan must be our best midfielder? Cos there was interest in him? Is that how it works?

If we sign Griffiths in the summer cos nobody else wants him, is he **** cos there’s no other interest?

Murray Davidson was on the bench for St Johnstone, he’s been a really good player for them over the years, nobody has signed him, doesn’t mean he’s *****. Conversely, Chris Dagnall signed for loads of teams, doesn’t mean he was brilliant.

There’s nae reason a players ability/worth should be based on how many teams he’s played for, or how many teams wanted to sign him.

1 Scotland cap doesn’t show that no Scotland manager rates a player. No caps does.

Still dunno why you’ve brought Andy Considine into it.

24-05-2021, 08:21 AM
There are a few players in this squad that are deserve criticism for the way they've went missing when it mattered. Stevenson and Hanlon are not them. They've done us well over the years and can look back at their Scottish Cup winners medal with pride. Something the gutless wonders we have in our team won't be able to do.

euro Hibby
24-05-2021, 10:53 AM
Hanlon has actually had in my view a good season. Stevenson looked better than Doig when he came on and has actually said in interviews that he felt his form was good. Too easy to just swipe at individuals. You win and lose as a team and St johnstone have shown at times to be very much a tough collective to beat on their day. Unfortunately we had at least 9 players under performing for whatever reason Saturday. It would be interesting to here from them why they think it went tits up !

Steve88
24-05-2021, 04:18 PM
What I would do for some ball playing CB's like we did with Efe.

This hoofball JR has Porto + Hanlon doing is awful

24-05-2021, 04:43 PM
What I would do for some ball playing CB's like we did with Efe.

This hoofball JR has Porto + Hanlon doing is awful

Porteous tries to play too often - that’s what has caused us issues.

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 06:18 PM
Well, Mallan had clubs interested in him. So we loaned him out to Turkey. Nobody tried to sign any the rest of our midfield. So Mallan must be our best midfielder? Cos there was interest in him? Is that how it works?

If we sign Griffiths in the summer cos nobody else wants him, is he **** cos there’s no other interest?

Murray Davidson was on the bench for St Johnstone, he’s been a really good player for them over the years, nobody has signed him, doesn’t mean he’s *****. Conversely, Chris Dagnall signed for loads of teams, doesn’t mean he was brilliant.

There’s nae reason a players ability/worth should be based on how many teams he’s played for, or how many teams wanted to sign him.

1 Scotland cap doesn’t show that no Scotland manager rates a player. No caps does.

Still dunno why you’ve brought Andy Considine into it.

Good one you have still not answered my question what makes you think people out with the club rate them ?
Watch StJohnstone's goal again who looks about and picks up a player and who is wondering doing nothing although he does show leadership by turning and clapping his hands once .

Hopefully Doig , Nisbet and Porteous get the move they are looking for and we get decent fees.
When trying to sign young players you can point to players like Mcginn Doig etc if they move on as if you do well and it's in both parties interest the club will not stand in your way .
Or if nobody wants you despite being part of the squad that has got several managers sacked , got relegated , part of the team for our worst Derby result in our history , got the worst European score not only in the clubs but Scottish football history , got a poor Derby record as well as poor Hampden big day record we will give you a testimonial and contract after contract . If anybody disagrees just say you won the league cup 14 years ago and the Scottish Cup 5 years ago.
Again the reason why I mentioned Considine is that it shows despite him being a cart horse someone outside Hibs the National team manager would rather pick him than Hanlon.
Will ask you again what makes you think people out with Hibs rate them ?

24-05-2021, 07:37 PM
Good one you have still not answered my question what makes you think people out with the club rate them ?
Watch StJohnstone's goal again who looks about and picks up a player and who is wondering doing nothing although he does show leadership by turning and clapping his hands once .

Hopefully Doig , Nisbet and Porteous get the move they are looking for and we get decent fees.
When trying to sign young players you can point to players like Mcginn Doig etc if they move on as if you do well and it's in both parties interest the club will not stand in your way .
Or if nobody wants you despite being part of the squad that has got several managers sacked , got relegated , part of the team for our worst Derby result in our history , got the worst European score not only in the clubs but Scottish football history , got a poor Derby record as well as poor Hampden big day record we will give you a testimonial and contract after contract . If anybody disagrees just say you won the league cup 14 years ago and the Scottish Cup 5 years ago.
Again the reason why I mentioned Considine is that it shows despite him being a cart horse someone outside Hibs the National team manager would rather pick him than Hanlon.
Will ask you again what makes you think people out with Hibs rate them ?

Considine, like Hanlon, is a good spl centre half. Consistently good for years. You clearly cannae tell what a defender is.

You can keep saying “nobody wants him nobody wants him”, but Hibs want him, manager after manager after manager has wanted him, I want him here.

Trying to apportion blame on Hanlon for the goal in the final is ridiculous, and does your general “anti Paul Hanlon” argument nae favours at all.

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 08:27 PM
Considine, like Hanlon, is a good spl centre half. Consistently good for years. You clearly cannae tell what a defender is.

You can keep saying “nobody wants him nobody wants him”, but Hibs want him, manager after manager after manager has wanted him, I want him here.

Trying to apportion blame on Hanlon for the goal in the final is ridiculous, and does your general “anti Paul Hanlon” argument nae favours at all.

So is Considine a better centre half than Hanlon .Manager and manager here have all wanted him , yet just about all of them have been sacked . How many managers that had them here have looked to take them when they have got another managers job or a number 2 post.
Have you looked at the goal ? Who was he marking , could he have possibly have done a bit better . Boyle bottling it , Mcginn and Gogic were all far more responsible than Hanlon for letting the cross come in Rooney at the back there was only going to be one winner.What about the response and leadership skills.
Gave you plenty reasons why I don't think anyone outside Hibs rates them.
Your only counter response is that you want them there .
I have no anti Hanlon or Stevenson agenda , Stevenson is a double cup winning legend and Hanlon is a Scottish cup winning legend and if I was to meet either in a pub I would shake there hands say thanks for the Scottish cup win and buy both a drink.
Look at all the negative things they have been involved in , managers have changed several times , all the other players have left the club what's so special about them that they are still here , would the whole club fall apart without them.

angus hibby
24-05-2021, 08:37 PM
So is Considine a better centre half than Hanlon .Manager and manager here have all wanted him , yet just about all of them have been sacked . How many managers that had them here have looked to take them when they have got another managers job or a number 2 post.
Have you looked at the goal ? Who was he marking , could he have possibly have done a bit better . Boyle bottling it , Mcginn and Gogic were all far more responsible than Hanlon for letting the cross come in Rooney at the back there was only going to be one winner.What about the response and leadership skills.
I have no anti Hanlon or Stevenson agenda , Stevenson is a double cup winning legend and Hanlon is a Scottish cup winning legend and if I was to meet either in a pub I would shake there hands say thanks for the Scottish cup win and buy both a drink.
Look at all the negative things they have been involved in , managers have changed several times , all the other players have left the club what's so special about them that they are still here , would the whole club fall apart without them.

Managers have changed several times and nearly every one has picked Lewis and Paul. Paul has just captained us to 3rd place in the league and very nearly our greatest season in living memory.

Both are club legends and have a few more years left in them yet, all of which I hope they spend at ER.

24-05-2021, 08:54 PM

Managers have changed countless times and yet they still remain, so how do 2 players that have these negatives follow them round still survive after these changes?

It’s because it’s actually **** all to do with 2 individuals, one of whom didn’t do much wrong on Saturday and the other played about 20 minutes.

24-05-2021, 08:59 PM

I’m biased in favour of Hanlon, cos Hibs are my team, not Aberdeen. I don’t think there’s a great deal in it between them overall though.

Your argument seems to be that nobody outside Hibs rates them, cos nobody has tried to sign them. I think that’s bollocks. I imagine there are loads of managers past and present who’d have liked to have them both. I cannae prove that anymore than you can prove otherwise though.

I’m not going to get into why previous managers haven’t looked to take them with them, cos it doesn’t mean anything.

24-05-2021, 09:02 PM
Agree with what your saying but they had players around that were leaders and players like Stokes , Mcgeouch that knew what it was like to win things.
Probably been going as long as yourself and the record of getting to Hampden must be as good as any over the last few years, it's getting it to winning thats the issue . At least yesterday we didn't have to go Glasgow and have the long disappointed journey home.

So you're listing out some games we lost and specifically blaming these 2 players and not the other 9 who played, and are happy to ignore this one because it was all down to the other players? Seems unfair. :dunno:

Hanlon and Stevenson weren't going to overcome the gulf in quality we were up against in 2012 and 2013. Hanlon's injury is usually mentioned as a big part of what seen us get relegated in 2014. They then both played their parts well in 2016, 2017, and our record points tally of 2018.

Stevenson hasn't played as much this season but Hanlon has played his part in our successful league campaign.

24-05-2021, 09:04 PM

Are you suggesting that Hanlon should be marking Rooney when it quite clearly was Doig's man?

WestCoastHibby
24-05-2021, 09:07 PM
In the words of the song " you say it best , when you say nothing at all"
Put the ciders back in the fridge and go have a wee nap.

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 09:17 PM
Are you suggesting that Hanlon should be marking Rooney when it quite clearly was Doig's man?

No I am not , there was a lot more players culpable than him , my point was who was he marking could he have been more aware of what was around him .

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 09:19 PM
In the words of the song " you say it best , when you say nothing at all"
Put the ciders back in the fridge and go have a wee nap.

Brilliant point well made , Hanlon and Stevenson fan club in full swing god forbid anybody isn't in it

24-05-2021, 09:23 PM
No I am not , there was a lot more players culpable than him , my point was who was he marking could he have been more aware of what was around him .

There was nobody else in the box for him to mark. Strange thing to bash him for

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 09:25 PM
So you're listing out some games we lost and specifically blaming these 2 players and not the other 9 who played, and are happy to ignore this one brvecause it was all down to the other players? Seems unfair. :dunno:

Hanlon and Stevenson weren't going to overcome the gulf in quality we were up against in 2012 and 2013. Hanlon's injury is usually mentioned as a big part of what seen us get relegated in 2014. They then both played their parts well in 2016, 2017, and our record points tally of 2018.

Stevenson hasn't played as much this season but Hanlon has played his part in our successful league campaign.

So we dont mention all the nightmares they have been involved and I am
not just blaming these players , they were part of the squad of players . Are you saying it was the other 9 players fault all the time and nothing to do with them

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 09:28 PM
There was nobody else in the box for him to mark. Strange thing to bash him for

No but there was a possibility of a cross going to the back post , already said there was a lot of players more culpable than him.

24-05-2021, 09:30 PM
No but there was a possibility of a cross going to the back post , already said there was a lot of players more culpable than him.

A centre half was never going to defend that cross

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 09:42 PM
A centre half was never going to defend that cross

Have you looked at it , it's on the BBC website he goes back the way towards Doig and then stops . There a good chance Rooney would still have got he header .

24-05-2021, 09:45 PM
Have you looked at it , it's on the BBC website he goes back the way towards Doig and then stops . There a good chance Rooney would still have got he header .

I seen it enough on Saturday, really don’t feel like watching it again. But it’s Doig’s man all day long, even though I still don’t think Josh could have done much to stop it either. The blame goes to those involved before the cross

h1bs4life
24-05-2021, 09:50 PM
I seen it enough on Saturday, really don’t feel like watching it again. But it’s Doig’s man all day long, even though I still don’t think Josh could have done much to stop it either. The blame goes to those involved before the cross

Have already said most of the blame goes to those involved before the cross with Boyle in particular bottling it in a cup final

24-05-2021, 10:32 PM
Brilliant point well made , Hanlon and Stevenson fan club in full swing god forbid anybody isn't in it

You're entitled to your opinion mate. I'll even admit myself that Stevenson is coming to the end of his time at Hibs and his role at the club is the backup to Doig as he develops. What I don't agree with is making a thread on him as a scapegoat for losing a final he never even started in and wasn't on the park for the goal that actually beat us. Do you not think for a second how daft that is? Blaming a substitute left back?

Hanlon for me has been one of our best players this season and I still can't see where you're coming from in regard to him. We've already established he had nothing to do with the goal so I'm not sure why he warrants a thread either? and to answer your initial question I guarantee you that ANY team below us in the table would have him start for them right now. Even Steve Clarke felt he was worthy of a cap this season.

Do you not think it would be more appropriate to lay the blame or criticism at the guys who have failed to create a significant goalscoring chance while chasing a cup final? or have failed to deliver performances in the final third in 3 out of 4 trips to Hampden this season? Or even the manager that has lost another big game at Hampden?

You talk about them being "perennial losers" yet one of them is the only player in our history to win both domestic cups with us? I'm sorry mate but I just don't see your arguments stacking up, especially with level of disrespect I think you're showing them.

25-05-2021, 06:51 AM

So you don’t think Hanlon has been one of our best players this season? Stevenson has hardly played. Ergo starting a thread about these two is nothing to do with opinion or debate and really just a personal issue you have with these players.

25-05-2021, 06:56 AM
So we dont mention all the nightmares they have been involved and I am
not just blaming these players , they were part of the squad of players . Are you saying it was the other 9 players fault all the time and nothing to do with them

It seems like you're just blaming them given you started a thread about those 2.

No, I'm not trying to make things as black and white as that. I don't think 2012 or 2013 was anyone's fault in particular - we were up against much better squads and never likely to win either. Relegation was a collective of faults, aided by not having Hanlon if anything.

I think it stands to reason that players who have been here the longest will have been through more of the bad things, doesn't mean they have to be responsible for them.

DIXIHIBS
25-05-2021, 07:13 AM
In 50 years watching hibs they have been to 3 scottish cup finals in the first 40 years and then 4 in the last 10 years. I think hanlon played in all 4 so he must be doing something right. Would the OP rather we didnt get to finals at all and at least have a chance or not get there in the first place. And yes i know we all want to get the final AND win.

25-05-2021, 07:24 AM
You must need really thick glasses or have an agenda against Hanlon if you think he was in any way responsible for even a tiny part of that goal.

He was marking nobody, but he was marking the space a cross might hit, if he'd moved further back he would have impeded Doig, and remember Doig is actually a couple on inches taller than Hanlon.

It was a great cross, and the player who scored had a running start on the static Doig, but the real problem was the effort of 3 players trying to stop the cross, not how it ended up in the back of the net.

25-05-2021, 07:40 AM
You must need really thick glasses or have an agenda against Hanlon if you think he was in any way responsible for even a tiny part of that goal.

He was marking nobody, but he was marking the space a cross might hit, if he'd moved further back he would have impeded Doig, and remember Doig is actually a couple on inches taller than Hanlon.

It was a great cross, and the player who scored had a running start on the static Doig, but the real problem was the effort of 3 players trying to stop the cross, not how it ended up in the back of the net.

This. The actual "tackles" from boyle and mcginn where pathetic. You lose a 50/50 when you put in less than the other player. They both couldnt put much less into those tackles. For the amount of people that have called Hanlon soft over the years, in that position he would have put his body on the line for Hibs. And he wouldnt be losing a 50/50 with Calum Booth!

25-05-2021, 08:03 AM

Exactly.

Kenny Millers goal in the 2016 final was because he got a run on McGregor.

It happens to everyone.

25-05-2021, 08:46 AM
Yet another honking thread.

25-05-2021, 08:50 AM

Agree two powderpuff tackles against Callum Booth who I can't remember ever winning a tackle when at Hibs. :greengrin

Plus Gogic selling himself against Spoon when he does that move all the time. In saying that would not have subbed Gogic

25-05-2021, 09:23 AM
Nothing wrong with Hanlon or Stevenson, both been great servants for the club. Any problem rests with fans unrealistic expectations. If these guys were as flawless as some expect, they would not be at Hibs. They would have moved to the OF or England a very long time ago. They are both limited footballers and don't pretend to be anything else. They're honest pros who have always given 100% for the Hibs cause and been great ambassadors for the club.

h1bs4life
26-05-2021, 03:22 PM
You're entitled to your opinion mate. I'll even admit myself that Stevenson is coming to the end of his time at Hibs and his role at the club is the backup to Doig as he develops. What I don't agree with is making a thread on him as a scapegoat for losing a final he never even started in and wasn't on the park for the goal that actually beat us. Do you not think for a second how daft that is? Blaming a substitute left back?

Hanlon for me has been one of our best players this season and I still can't see where you're coming from in regard to him. We've already established he had nothing to do with the goal so I'm not sure why he warrants a thread either? and to answer your initial question I guarantee you that ANY team below us in the table would have him start for them right now. Even Steve Clarke felt he was worthy of a cap this season.

Do you not think it would be more appropriate to lay the blame or criticism at the guys who have failed to create a significant goalscoring chance while chasing a cup final? or have failed to deliver performances in the final third in 3 out of 4 trips to Hampden this season? Or even the manager that has lost another big game at Hampden?

You talk about them being "perennial losers" yet one of them is the only player in our history to win both domestic cups with us? I'm sorry mate but I just don't see your arguments stacking up, especially with level of disrespect I think you're showing them.

How can you GUARANTEE any team below us would play him? I can't GUARANTEE anything but I would guess he would be no where near the St Johnstone team , Aberdeen team or the Motherwell team.
No agenda against either don't know them , already said I would buy them a drink if I seen them in a pub , was delighted for both them when we won the Scottish Cup .
I have already said my bit about the manager on other threads , was delighted when we got him now he is about 1 or 2 defeats away from being hounded . Series doubts about him won at Tynecastle then ****ing Stendel got the better of him , Robbie ****ing Neilson with a team just off furlough and Calum Davidson numerous times all got the better of him. Mind you he sorted out Dundee United what happened to there manager.
The whole team didn't perform regarding ' it would be more appropriate to lay the blame or criticism at the guys who have failed to create a significant goalscoring chance ' definitely and have said that , turn that around when we have been hammered in semi / cup finals is there no blame on the defence or do people just pick what games count.
Both are meant to be really nice guys and are cup winning legends that doesn't mean they don't need replaced. They have been part of some of the worst defeats I have seen as a Hibs fan along with lots of other players.
They have been there the longest supposed to be the most experienced that's why they are in the firing line, managers have changed even the owners have changed but both are still there .
Will ask again what makes them so special that they are still there , would the club fall to bits without them ?
Quite happy to discuss with anybody don't think things like being cup winning legends , don't count some of the games lost etc are good reason for them still being here .

26-05-2021, 04:12 PM
How can you GUARANTEE any team below us would play him? I can't GUARANTEE anything but I would guess he would be no where near the St Johnstone team , Aberdeen team or the Motherwell team.

Fair enough I can't guarantee that but it's of my opinion that if Paul Hanlon was to walk out of Hibs tonight for free the clubs you listed would be on the phone to his agent about the prospect of joining them.

They have been there the longest supposed to be the most experienced that's why they are in the firing line, managers have changed even the owners have changed but both are still there. Will ask again what makes them so special that they are still there, would the club fall to bits without them?

The club wouldn't fall to bits without them. But finding another centre half to replace Hanlon that is better would be a harder task than many people think, in my opinion. When he does retire or leave I think we'll see just how good he probably was for us when we have the 2020's version of James McPake flying into tackles left right and centre getting himself caught out and injuring himself, but I guess too many people think that makes a quality centre half these days.

As previously said as well Stevenson is our back up left back. Who in reality would you sign to be our back up to Doig? Someone picking up a wage at the end of their career who doesn't care? Another young lad with no experience when the going gets tough? I can honestly see this coming season to be his last, but for the 10-15 games worth of minutes he's probably likely to play you're not going to find ANYONE more committed to the cause and as trustworthy.

26-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Fair enough I can't guarantee that but it's of my opinion that if Paul Hanlon was to walk out of Hibs tonight for free the clubs you listed would be on the phone to his agent about the prospect of joining them.

The club wouldn't fall to bits without them. But finding another centre half to replace Hanlon that is better would be a harder task than many people think, in my opinion. When he does retire or leave I think we'll see just how good he probably was for us when we have the 2020's version of James McPake flying into tackles left right and centre getting himself caught out and injuring himself, but I guess too many people think that makes a quality centre half these days.

As previously said as well Stevenson is our back up left back. Who in reality would you sign to be our back up to Doig? Someone picking up a wage at the end of their career who doesn't care? Another young lad with no experience when the going gets tough? I can honestly see this coming season to be his last, but for the 10-15 games worth of minutes he's probably likely to play you're not going to find ANYONE more committed to the cause and as trustworthy.

A wee bit of a tangent but he doesn't have an agent, more and more players are doing their own negotiations these days.

26-05-2021, 05:48 PM
A wee bit of a tangent but he doesn't have an agent, more and more players are doing their own negotiations these days.

Doesn't surprise me to be honest. Probably the same goes for Stevenson. Why bother getting an agent when you're more than happy remaining at the club you're at all these years?

26-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Doesn't surprise me to be honest. Probably the same goes for Stevenson. Why bother getting an agent when you're more than happy remaining at the club you're at all these years?

It does make sense for players in that category to do their own negotiating.

Agents take fees and when they negotiated with Leeann Dempster an agent wouldn't have made any difference to the offer.

loanheadhibby
26-05-2021, 08:21 PM
I do intend to agree with you but you're taking a chance having a pop at Lewy and Paul on this forum.

26-05-2021, 08:47 PM
No agenda against either don't know them , already said I would buy them a drink if I seen them in a pub , was delighted for both them when we won the Scottish Cup .
I have already said my bit about the manager on other threads , was delighted when we got him now he is about 1 or 2 defeats away from being hounded . Series doubts about him won at Tynecastle then ****ing Stendel got the better of him , Robbie ****ing Neilson with a team just off furlough and Calum Davidson numerous times all got the better of him. Mind you he sorted out Dundee United what happened to there manager.
The whole team didn't perform regarding ' it would be more appropriate to lay the blame or criticism at the guys who have failed to create a significant goalscoring chance ' definitely and have said that , turn that around when we have been hammered in semi / cup finals is there no blame on the defence or do people just pick what games count.
Both are meant to be really nice guys and are cup winning legends that doesn't mean they don't need replaced. They have been part of some of the worst defeats I have seen as a Hibs fan along with lots of other players.
They have been there the longest supposed to be the most experienced that's why they are in the firing line, managers have changed even the owners have changed but both are still there .
Will ask again what makes them so special that they are still there , would the club fall to bits without them ?
Quite happy to discuss with anybody don't think things like being cup winning legends , don't count some of the games lost etc are good reason for them still being here .

If you can say that you don’t think Motherwell (only Ross Co and Hamilton conceded more goals than them this season), St Johnstone and Aberdeen wouldnt sign Hanlon, then it just proves to me you don’t have a clue.

Lewis Stevenson is our back up left back. He’s an experienced head who can still fill in when required.

Paul Hanlon has been one of the main reasons why we’ve had so many clean sheets this season. Why we’ve finished 3rd in the league. Why we made the Scottish cup final, and despite you questioning him for the St Johnstone goal earlier in this thread, he was 0% to blame.

The club wouldn’t fall to bits without them...but since when is that enough of a reason to move someone on? No players are big enough to make the club fall apart without them.

26-05-2021, 08:49 PM
Stevenson is an absolute legend in my eyes.

h1bs4life
26-05-2021, 09:20 PM

It's all about opinions which everyone is entitled to. No one has came in for them before and now in there thirties I suspect St Johnstone , Aberdeen and Motherwell along with others in the top flight would not go anywhere near now.
Some people thought Stevenson was irreplaceable 19 year old Doig came in replaced him . I see no reason to give another contract was a chance to freshen things maybe bring someone in between Doig and Stevenson's age / experience .
No one has mentioned the way McPake plays but a bit of aggression nastiness would help which barely exists in the team.
The cause was to win the Scottish Cup and along with other big Hampden occasions nobody has been commited or trustworthy.
It's my opinion respect your opinion .

26-05-2021, 09:23 PM
It's all about opinions which everyone is entitled to. No one has came in for them before and now in there thirties I suspect St Johnstone , Aberdeen and Motherwell along with others in the top flight would not go anywhere near now.
Some people thought Stevenson was irreplaceable 19 year old Doig came in replaced him . I see no reason to give another contract was a chance to freshen things maybe bring someone in between Doig and Stevenson's age / experience .
No one has mentioned the way McPake plays but a bit of aggression nastiness would help which barely exists in the team.
The cause was to win the Scottish Cup and along with other big Hampden occasions nobody has been commited or trustworthy.
It's my opinion respect your opinion .
Hanlon had an offer on the table from Aberdeen. Turned it down. More money. All he wanted was to stay at Hibs

h1bs4life
26-05-2021, 09:30 PM
If you can say that you don’t think Motherwell (only Ross Co and Hamilton conceded more goals than them this season), St Johnstone and Aberdeen wouldnt sign Hanlon, then it just proves to me you don’t have a clue.

Lewis Stevenson is our back up left back. He’s an experienced head who can still fill in when required.

Paul Hanlon has been one of the main reasons why we’ve had so many clean sheets this season. Why we’ve finished 3rd in the league. Why we made the Scottish cup final, and despite you questioning him for the St Johnstone goal earlier in this thread, he was 0% to blame.

The club wouldn’t fall to bits without them...but since when is that enough of a reason to move someone on? No players are big enough to make the club fall apart without them.

And the reason you know Aberdeen , Motherwell and St Johnstone would come in for 31 year old Hanlon is ?
Who would he replace in the double cup winning side of StJohnstone ?
Looks like you don't have a clue, you cannot see past Hanlon and Stevenson because they have won a cup / cups and are really nice guys

h1bs4life
26-05-2021, 09:33 PM
Hanlon had an offer on the table from Aberdeen. Turned it down. More money. All he wanted was to stay at Hibs

That old one again , you know that how ?
1 offer in over 10 years

26-05-2021, 09:34 PM
1 offer in over 10 years

Fitba folk ken.

h1bs4life
26-05-2021, 09:39 PM
Fitba folk ken.

Brilliant , no doubt your next post will be the side splitting I am Hanlon patter

26-05-2021, 09:42 PM
1 offer in over 10 years

We don’t know if there haven’t been other enquiries. He might have one every season, he says I don’t want to leave Hibs and that’s that.

26-05-2021, 09:52 PM
And the reason you know Aberdeen , Motherwell and St Johnstone would come in for 31 year old Hanlon is ?
Looks like you don't have a clue, you cannot see past Hanlon and Stevenson because they have won a cup / cups and are really nice guys

What kind of argument is that?

What’s the reason you know they wouldn’t?

Hanlon would replace either of the St Johnstone cup winning centre halfs...and if you think they’re so good, how come nobody has tried to sign them? Or is that only how you judge our players?

I dunno why you keep calling them nice guys. You’re the only one mentioning it, but making out like it’s the rest of us who are.

26-05-2021, 09:58 PM

Why have numerous managers in their time at Hibs not tried to get rid of them? Even Neil the winner had Lewis playing left back for most of his time here.

26-05-2021, 10:02 PM
Don’t think we should get rid of either tbh.

I think lewis’ time as a starter is gone and we’ll need a new LB in if Doig goes.

I wouldn’t be against another CB coming in and replacing Hanlon but certainly wouldn’t be looking to move him on. Wouldn’t mind him keeping his place with a new CB coming in though.

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 06:52 AM
What kind of argument is that?

What’s the reason you know they wouldn’t?

Hanlon would replace either of the St Johnstone cup winning centre halfs...and if you think they’re so good, how come nobody has tried to sign them? Or is that only how you judge our players?

I dunno why you keep calling them nice guys. You’re the only one mentioning it, but making out like it’s the rest of us who are.

What kind of arguement ? and then you come out with 31 year old Hanlon would replace the two StJohnstone cup winning centre halfs ,did you actually read that back before you posted it.You are a laugh.
We will wait and see if anyone else comes in for them , think there manager is already on record saying he expects there to be interest in his players.

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 07:00 AM
Why have numerous managers in their time at Hibs not tried to get rid of them? Even Neil the winner had Lewis playing left back for most of his time here.

And what has happened to all these managers ?Is it a badge of honour to be part of squads that have got the managers sacked as well some of the worst results in our history.
Take it you mean Neil Lennon , yup went the same as most managers who they have played for .

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 07:05 AM
[QUOTE=loanheadhibby;6581156]I do intend to agree with you but you're taking a chance having a pop at Lewy and Paul on this forum.[/QU

Notice that all the time on here , it's meant to be a discussion forum for Hibs fans apart from discussing Hanlon and Stevenson.

27-05-2021, 07:22 AM
Notice that all the time on here , it's meant to be a discussion forum for Hibs fans apart from discussing Hanlon and Stevenson.

We’re discussing it...so what are you noticing?

27-05-2021, 07:32 AM
And what has happened to all these managers ?Is it a badge of honour to be part of squads that have got the managers sacked as well some of the worst results in our history.
Take it you mean Neil Lennon , yup went the same as most managers who they have played for .

If they were part of the "problem" (a cup final and a third placed finish, probably one of the best seasons we've had in modern times - that problem) then any manager worth their salt would have gotten rid of them. Managers come in and see two reliable, solid professionals whose good games outnumber their bad ones by a long way. And you think they're what? The root cause of some made up problem that's exacerbated by the fact we aren't actually at games and are watching from afar?

A thread started after a cup final loss where one of the subjects of it didn't even start the game and the other didn't do a whole lot wrong is just pitiful stuff.

27-05-2021, 07:36 AM
1 offer in over 10 years

Fulham tried to get him some years back as well, FWIW.

27-05-2021, 07:37 AM
We’re discussing it...so what are you noticing?

I think folk mean they want to discuss things that everyone agrees with them about. And if that doesn’t happen then you’re “not allowed” to discuss it, even though it’s clearly being discussed.

Or something.

Crunchie
27-05-2021, 07:38 AM
If they were part of the "problem" (a cup final and a third placed finish, probably one of the best seasons we've had in modern times - that problem) then any manager worth their salt would have gotten rid of them. Managers come in and see two reliable, solid professionals whose good games outnumber their bad ones by a long way. And you think they're what? The root cause of some made up problem that's exacerbated by the fact we aren't actually at games and are watching from afar?

A thread started after a cup final loss where one of the subjects of it didn't even start the game and the other didn't do a whole lot wrong is just pitiful stuff.
The other didn't do a whole lot PERIOD, that's a big part of the problem. I agree we need to replace them both as regulars, as much as I appreciate their service over the years there can be no room for sentiment.

27-05-2021, 07:39 AM
Stevenson is finished as a weekly starter for a team looking to finish top 3 but he can still be a valuable and steady member of the squad for the coming season.

Hanlon has a few more miles in the tank and is still a relatively good centre half at our level. He's not international class or one of the best in the league as some would have you believe and he's also nowhere nearly as bad as some make out. I'd make someone else captain though as he just not suited to that role IMO.

27-05-2021, 07:43 AM
The other didn't do a whole lot PERIOD, that's a big part of the problem. I agree we need to replace them both as regulars, as much as I appreciate their service over the years there can be no room for sentiment.

They did nothing wrong in the game, and by that logic there are 6 other players who need to look at themselves before anyone looks at the defence.

Stevenson is clearly being replaced by Doig, Hanlon is someone we will miss when he's gone.

Crunchie
27-05-2021, 07:49 AM
They did nothing wrong in the game, and by that logic there are 6 other players who need to look at themselves before anyone looks at the defence.

Stevenson is clearly being replaced by Doig, Hanlon is someone we will miss when he's gone.
I missed Gordon Rae when he left Hibs, I got over it though :aok:

27-05-2021, 08:05 AM
I missed Gordon Rae when he left Hibs, I got over it though :aok:

Not quite my vintage that one. I still maintain to this day that if Hanlon hadn't been injured we would have stayed in the top flight.

Thats reminded of something - were Hanlon and Stevenson both told by Terry Butcher that they were free to leave in January of that season?

Crunchie
27-05-2021, 08:09 AM
Not quite my vintage that one. I still maintain to this day that if Hanlon hadn't been injured we would have stayed in the top flight.

Thats reminded of something - were Hanlon and Stevenson both told by Terry Butcher that they were free to leave in January of that season?
No idea mate

27-05-2021, 08:14 AM
No idea mate

Im sure I remember Hanlon being part of that group, maybe Stevenson was too because we had the ****ing huddy McGivern at left back at the time.

Anyway, might be interesting if they were, then it would be that the only manager that we know wanted rid of them got us relegated. :greengrin

27-05-2021, 08:15 AM
There used to be a guy on here who turned every thread in to having a go at Hanlon in particular, but also Stevenson. It was wrong then, and it’s wrong now, imho.

Pointing out that other clubs haven’t tried to sign them completely misses the point that one, pretty big in Scottish terms, club has consistently made sure it did sign them. It’s not like these guys have been on the same contract since they were boys.

Asking what they are special and don’t deserve being replaced is a fair question, and easily answered.

Hibs have a finite budget, we can’t go into every transfer window and replace every position, so each manager looks at the squad and prioritises the areas that most need strengthened.

Neither Hanlon nor Stevenson have given any manager so far a reason to replace them or put themselves high up the priority list to be improved.

We’ve had countless managers over their time here, none have an emotional attachment to them when they come in, in fact you could point to Jack Ross’s willingness to bench Sir David Gray as evidence of how little regards a manager will show to the name he’s dropping if he thinks a better option is there (see also Doig’s emergence ahead of Stevenson).

Some people have made their mind up, they’ll rattle off a list of failures and ignore the successes, and we’re not just talking about Cup wins, there’s good Euro performances, good cup runs, big results in some very big games over those years.

Have they lost some? Yes, of course, ANY player at Hibs for that period of time will have good wins and bad losses to their name.

Super John McGinn left Hibs having been on the wrong end of playoff failure and cup failure, had a season where he was part of a team that couldn’t get out of the Championship and lost games to Championship level teams more than any of us would have liked. Was he a failure at Hibs? Of course not.

Again, it’s the selective picking of what’s important and what’s not that let’s the argument down, and when it’s highlighted the selective reading moves on to something else and then back to the start when the ideas run out.

27-05-2021, 08:16 AM
No idea mate

Stevenson definitely wasn’t - that’s from the horse’s mouth.

Crunchie
27-05-2021, 08:24 AM
There used to be a guy on here who turned every thread in to having a go at Hanlon in particular, but also Stevenson. It was wrong then, and it’s wrong now, imho.

Pointing out that other clubs haven’t tried to sign them completely misses the point that one, pretty big in Scottish terms, club has consistently made sure it did sign them. It’s not like these guys have been on the same contract since they were boys.

Asking what they are special and don’t deserve being replaced is a fair question, and easily answered.

Hibs have a finite budget, we can’t go into every transfer window and replace every position, so each manager looks at the squad and prioritises the areas that most need strengthened.

Neither Hanlon nor Stevenson have given any manager so far a reason to replace them or put themselves high up the priority list to be improved.

We’ve had countless managers over their time here, none have an emotional attachment to them when they come in, in fact you could point to Jack Ross’s willingness to bench Sir David Gray as evidence of how little regards a manager will show to the name he’s dropping if he thinks a better option is there (see also Doig’s emergence ahead of Stevenson).

Some people have made their mind up, they’ll rattle off a list of failures and ignore the successes, and we’re not just talking about Cup wins, there’s good Euro performances, good cup runs, big results in some very big games over those years.

Have they lost some? Yes, of course, ANY player at Hibs for that period of time will have good wins and bad losses to their name.

Super John McGinn left Hibs having been on the wrong end of playoff failure and cup failure, had a season where he was part of a team that couldn’t get out of the Championship and lost games to Championship level teams more than any of us would have liked. Was he a failure at Hibs? Of course not.

Again, it’s the selective picking of what’s important and what’s not that let’s the argument down, and when it’s highlighted the selective reading moves on to something else and then back to the start when the ideas run out.

I don't think anyone can argue they've both been great servants to the club, and I don't think anyone is tbf, I think it's because they've both been here so long they get more stick than most when it comes to a letdown in a big game.

27-05-2021, 08:55 AM
I don't think anyone can argue they've both been great servants to the club, and I don't think anyone is tbf, I think it's because they've both been here so long they get more stick than most when it comes to a letdown in a big game.

h1bs4life on this thread is doing exactly that. Going so far as to catalogue the failures they’re accountable for etc.

27-05-2021, 09:08 AM
h1bs4life on this thread is doing exactly that. Going so far as to catalogue the failures they’re accountable for etc.

Ironic really when you think that username would be a perfect one for either of the players, maybe he's worried he'll have to give it up to one of them at some point! :agree:

27-05-2021, 09:19 AM
Ironic really when you think that username would be a perfect one for either of the players, maybe he's worried he'll have to give it up to one of them at some point! :agree:

He would love to buy them a drink in a pub though so thats ok. I'm sure they would love that.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 09:31 AM
I do intend to agree with you but you're taking a chance having a pop at Lewy and Paul on this forum.

How is he taking a chance? They are both near the end of their Hibs careers who have played in more big game let downs than have had great games that's the harsh reality of it. Its time for a new culture to come in. We can't keep expecting big things with players who have been here so long who continue to lose big games that really matter. And yes I know about 2016.

And if anyone takes offence at that - we could have won 3 cups this season!

27-05-2021, 09:35 AM
who have played in more big game let downs than have had great games that's the harsh reality of it.

Nope. That’s not the reality of it. Not even close.

27-05-2021, 09:37 AM

We could win two cups every season, but we don’t.

27-05-2021, 09:38 AM
How is he taking a chance? They are both near the end of their Hibs careers who have played in more big game let downs than have had great games that's the harsh reality of it. Its time for a new culture to come in. We can't keep expecting big things with players who have been here so long who continue to lose big games that really matter. And yes I know about 2016.

If that's representative of your general outlook on things, I'm honestly sad for you.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 09:38 AM
We could win two cups every season, but we don’t.

We enter two cups every season.

We reached the last 4 of 3 cups this season...

27-05-2021, 09:40 AM
One of the problems with trying to have a discussion about the merits of players and of the team in general on here is that we have a fringe group of ridiculous posters who make a genuine critique almost impossible. We see it all on this thread.

Net result is that they get slaughtered and proper discussion becomes all the more difficult. I'm all for different views, but there has to be some basis in reality. Blaming Hanlon for not covering the right back for a cross that went to the back post is an example.

Every team needs stalwarts, Hanlon and Stevenson have been just that. They have contributed to the highs and lows of being a HIbee for many years. Neither have been world beaters, both have given great service and at times have excelled. They always give 100% and I'll always admire that.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 09:47 AM
One of the problems with trying to have a discussion about the merits of players and of the team in general on here is that we have a fringe group of ridiculous posters who make a genuine critique almost impossible. We see it all on this thread.

Net result is that they get slaughtered and proper discussion becomes all the more difficult. I'm all for different views, but there has to be some basis in reality. Blaming Hanlon for not covering the right back for a cross that went to the back post is an example.

Every team needs stalwarts, Hanlon and Stevenson have been just that. They have contributed to the highs and lows of being a HIbee for many years. Neither have been world beaters, both have given great service and at times have excelled. They always give 100% and I'll always admire that.

Hanlon wasn't at fault for the goal but I would rather have had McGregor in place for his intangible qualities. I think that's what we need now as captain, a proper roll the sleeves up no nonsense leader. Not saying it should be McGregor but that type.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 09:49 AM
If that's representative of your general outlook on things, I'm honestly sad for you.

The point probably was a bit crude. I just think we are at the point where we need to rebuild the back line as we have had many years out them all and that's now 5 years since 2016.

27-05-2021, 09:51 AM
We enter two cups every season.

We reached the last 4 of 3 cups this season...

Technically we didn't. although by that way of thinking, we only entered one cup then the season before?

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 09:54 AM
Technically we didn't. although by that way of thinking, we only entered one cup then the season before?

😂 This season, carry over from last season, it adds up to 3 cups 👍

I think we all would have settled for winning last seasons Scottish Cup played this season.....

27-05-2021, 09:57 AM
😂 This season, carry over from last season, it adds up to 3 cups 👍
Did Celtic win the 2021 Scottish cup this season?

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 09:58 AM
Did Celtic win the 2021 Scottish cup this season?

What is the point you're making?

27-05-2021, 10:04 AM
What is the point you're making?

The point i'm making is technically we only ever entered 2 cups this season, not 3, we entered the one we lost to Hearts the season before.

I'd actually settle for any cup win, but i'm also clear in my mind that progress is being made and i'm happy with things as they are going.

And we did not reach the last 4 of the 2020 Scottish cup this season, the quarter finals were played on the 29th of February last season.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 10:10 AM
The point i'm making is technically we only ever entered 2 cups this season, not 3, we entered the one we lost to Hearts the season before.

I'd actually settle for any cup win, but i'm also clear in my mind that progress is being made and i'm happy with things as they are going.

And we did not reach the last 4 of the 2020 Scottish cup this season, the quarter finals were played on the 29th of February last season.

I do think we need to look forward to next season and on reflection of course Jack Ross should be given the whole season. As frustrating as Saturday was this going round in endless circles regarding Jack Ross is becoming tiring.

27-05-2021, 11:01 AM
As far as I am concerned Ross has our 4 older players appropriately assessed and falling into 3 separate categories as follows:

No1. Done
SDG - not considered good enough by Ross therefore only plays as a last resort shirt filler. He is the elephant in the room that almost all Hibs fans won't discuss with the same critical eye they have for all other Hibs players. He is a retired player on a first team players wage and has been for 2 seasons now. Not his fault but it is getting silly and will look even dafter when Cadden returns in July.

No2. Back Up
McGregor - plays for a few games when Porteous needs removed and has been remarkably good when called upon and as such is still part of the squad. However, at 36 this summer really is reaching the end. Another centre half will be brought in but Daz could hang on for one final season as a back up.
Stevenson - finally lost the left back battle this season. A combination of a very good replacement, not good enough going forward and father time. However, he is still a better defender than Doig and has had a good season coming on when Doig has been tiring or when we needed a better defender on the pitch. Will be a good back up again next season but the likelihood is it will be his last.

No3. Starter
Hanlon is on a different plane from the other 3 players and shouldn't be part of a needs to moved on conversation. He's only 31 and is playing at the top of his game. As a result he played almost every minute of every game this season. His contract is up after next season but if he continues to play to the same high standard and avoids injury will almost certainly be awarded another two year contract on merit.

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 12:20 PM

Would hardly think you are impartial , seeing how you know them and get interviews with them.
Hibs have a finite budget, we can’t go into every transfer window and replace every position , how many transfer windows has there been since they have been here.
Neither Hanlon nor Stevenson have given any manager so far a reason to replace them or put themselves high up the priority list to be improved. Every manager has been sacked apart from Stubbs ( or is that not a fact )
Some people have made their mind up, they’ll rattle off a list of failures and ignore the successes, and we’re not just talking about Cup wins, there’s good Euro performances, good cup runs, big results in some very big games over those years. The ones they have lost far outweigh the ones they have won. ( or is that not a fact )
Super John McGinn left Hibs having been on the wrong end of playoff failure and cup failure, had a season where he was part of a team that couldn’t get out of the Championship and lost games to Championship level teams more than any of us would have liked. Was he a failure at Hibs? Of course not. No idea what that means even Man City lose games , John McGinn has moved because people out with Hibs seen the potential in him and now he is a English Premier League player.
Josh Doig a left back and Ryan Porteous centre half have been with Hibs 1 year and 2 year respectively and there has been more interest in them .
Again what bits am I picking selectively ? When you look back you count every game they have played in which I have ,or do certain games not count.
i have pointed out facts point out all the bits I have made up . Again happy to discuss further .

27-05-2021, 12:38 PM

An extremely sour post blinkered to focus on the negative. They may not be world beaters but they have beaten off competition over the years for good reasons. You look like you are going great guns to beat off all comers for ******** comment of the year - and the competition is stiff!

27-05-2021, 12:49 PM
An extremely sour post blinkered to focus on the negative. They may not be world beaters but they have beaten off competition over the years for good reasons. You look like you are going great guns to beat off all comers for ******** comment of the year - and the competition is stiff!

It’s posts like the one you quote that make it hard to have a reasonable, but critical, discussion about the merits of Hibs players/ manager on here. Folk on the wind-up, get a rise and get people’s backs up.

Hanlon and Stevenson are not, and never have been, serious issues when it comes to players. Neither is irreplaceable, both have served the club very well and will do so until their time at ER is up.

rodhibs55
27-05-2021, 12:58 PM
As far as I am concerned Ross has our 4 older players appropriately assessed and falling into 3 separate categories as follows:

No1. Done
SDG - not considered good enough by Ross therefore only plays as a last resort shirt filler. He is the elephant in the room that almost all Hibs fans won't discuss with the same critical eye they have for all other Hibs players. He is a retired player on a first team players wage and has been for 2 seasons now. Not his fault but it is getting silly and will be sillier when Cadden returns.

No2. Back Up
McGregor - plays for a few games when Porteous needs removed and has been remarkably good when called upon and as such is still part of the squad. However, at 36 this summer really is reaching the end. Another centre half will be brought but Daz could hang on for one final season as a back up.
Stevenson - finally lost the left back battle this season. A combination of a very good replacement, not good enough going forward and father time. However, he is still a better defender than Doig and has had a good season coming on when Doig has been tiring or when we needed a better defender on the pitch. Will be a good back up again next season but the likelihood is it will be his last.

No3. Starter
Hanlon is on a different plane from the other 3 players and shouldn't be part of a needs to moved on conversation. He's only 31 and is playing at the top of his game. As a result he played almost every minute of every game this season. His contract is up after next season but if he continues to play to the same high standard and avoids injury will almost certainly be awarded another two year contract on merit.

Agreed with all.
I also voted Paul Hanlon for POY he has had a great season.

27-05-2021, 01:20 PM
Would hardly think you are impartial , seeing how you know them and get interviews with them.
Hibs have a finite budget, we can’t go into every transfer window and replace every position , how many transfer windows has there been since they have been here.
Neither Hanlon nor Stevenson have given any manager so far a reason to replace them or put themselves high up the priority list to be improved. Every manager has been sacked apart from Stubbs ( or is that not a fact )
Some people have made their mind up, they’ll rattle off a list of failures and ignore the successes, and we’re not just talking about Cup wins, there’s good Euro performances, good cup runs, big results in some very big games over those years. The ones they have lost far outweigh the ones they have won. ( or is that not a fact )
Super John McGinn left Hibs having been on the wrong end of playoff failure and cup failure, had a season where he was part of a team that couldn’t get out of the Championship and lost games to Championship level teams more than any of us would have liked. Was he a failure at Hibs? Of course not. No idea what that means even Man City lose games , John McGinn has moved because people out with Hibs seen the potential in him and now he is a English Premier League player.
Josh Doig a left back and Ryan Porteous centre half have been with Hibs 1 year and 2 year respectively and there has been more interest in them .
Again what bits am I picking selectively ? When you look back you count every game they have played in which I have ,or do certain games not count.
i have pointed out facts point out all the bits I have made up . Again happy to discuss further .

I don’t “know” then. Hanlon would walk past me in the street without a second look. Stevenson would stop for a chat but he’s stop for a chat regardless, he’s talk to you if you bumped in to him.

What has sacking managers got to do with it? Lennon wasn’t sacked, by the way, so that’s not a fact. Fenlon resigned as well.

The point about McGinn is that if you apply the same criteria of ignoring the good things he was involved in, and only listed the bad, then he wouldn’t have looked great either. But it would be mental to do that, as it is mental to do it with Stevenson and Hanlon.

You selectively picked out failures and negatives, you did not (other than acknowledging the Scottish Cup win) lost good performances and big wins that they have been involved in, of which there are many.

Your definition of “facts” isn’t accurate if you think that’s what you’re posting.

27-05-2021, 01:23 PM
It’s posts like the one you quote that make it hard to have a reasonable, but critical, discussion about the merits of Hibs players/ manager on here. Folk on the wind-up, get a rise and get people’s backs up.

Hanlon and Stevenson are not, and never have been, serious issues when it comes to players. Neither is irreplaceable, both have served the club very well and will do so until their time at ER is up.

Agree with that.

27-05-2021, 02:27 PM

No1. Done
SDG - not considered good enough by Ross therefore only plays as a last resort shirt filler. He is the elephant in the room that almost all Hibs fans won't discuss with the same critical eye they have for all other Hibs players. He is a retired player on a first team players wage and has been for 2 seasons now. Not his fault but it is getting silly and will be sillier when Cadden returns.

No2. Back Up
McGregor - plays for a few games when Porteous needs removed and has been remarkably good when called upon and as such is still part of the squad. However, at 36 this summer really is reaching the end. Another centre half will be brought but Daz could hang on for one final season as a back up.

No3. Starter

I think this is a fantastic sum up of the situation and highlight why now, more than ever, it’s not a priority to get rid of Paul or Lewis when SDG and Daz will need replaced sooner rather than later. Lewis probably soon after. Paul is the least of our worries atm.

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 02:28 PM

Sour post ? After another Hibs embarrassment at Hampden I good one , first couple of pages other also questioning them , then it's the usual squad piling in as they are untouchable apart from the odd post saying you are taking a chance posting anything like that on here or pointing other things out. .

27-05-2021, 02:33 PM
Sour post ? After another Hibs embarrassment at Hampden I good one , first couple of pages other also questioning them , then it's the usual squad piling in as they are untouchable apart from the odd post saying you are taking a chance posting anything like that on here or pointing other things out. .

I know - that's what you get when you slag off the admins' besties. :agree:

27-05-2021, 02:50 PM

If you're going to say something that a lot of people don't agree with then you've got to expect a lot of people to post their disagreement.

27-05-2021, 02:51 PM
If you're going to say something that a lot of people don't agree with then you've got to expect a lot of people to post their disagreement.

No you shouldn't.

27-05-2021, 03:24 PM

The issue is not saying something that folk will disagree with.
The issue is a lack of reasoning and evidence.
It's just statements of entitlement, anger and ignorance to such an extent I assume the guy must be pulling folks chain.

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 06:01 PM
The issue is not saying something that folk will disagree with.
The issue is a lack of reasoning and evidence.
It's just statements of entitlement, anger and ignorance to such an extent I assume the guy must be pulling folks chain.

Statements of entitlement that's a new one , anger you better believe it, I dont know any Hibs fan that wasn't raging.
Reasoning ? Reason why I don't think he should be still hear / leading us , Big game record , leadership, telling everyone that would listen that Scottish Cup semi final against Hertz was just another game including telling Josh Doig the same . Result another defeat bottle job. People that questioned mentality shouted down nothing wrong with mentality .
After beating Dundee United telling everyone we have got rid of the big game bottler tag , Cup final after all the stick we have had over the 114 years , chance to win it twice in 5 years another bottle job , weak mentality.
Even the pundits questioning mentality within the club https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57233385 it can't always be everyone else's fault.
Now that's my reasons for questioning if they should still be here .

Be interested in your reasons why you think they should still be here ?

27-05-2021, 06:14 PM
Statements of entitlement that's a new one , anger you better believe it, I dont know any Hibs fan that wasn't raging.
Reasoning ? Reason why I don't think he should be still hear / leading us , Big game record , leadership, telling everyone that would listen that Scottish Cup semi final against Hertz was just another game including telling Josh Doig the same . Result another defeat bottle job. People that questioned mentality shouted down nothing wrong with mentality .
After beating Dundee United telling everyone we have got rid of the big game bottler tag , Cup final after all the stick we have had over the 114 years , chance to win it twice in 5 years another bottle job , weak mentality.
Even the pundits questioning mentality within the club https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57233385 it can't always be everyone else's fault.
Now that's my reasons for questioning if they should still be here .

Be interested in your reasons why you think they should still be here ?

The reasons why they should still be here have been covered plenty times already on this thread. You’re blind to them.

That link...a few paragraphs of one persons opinion, and you chose to see only the negative bit. What about the “remarkable achievement” bit? Just ignore it cos it doesn’t suit you? Or do you think she meant “remarkable achievement apart from Hanlon and Stevenson”?

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 08:16 PM
The reasons why they should still be here have been covered plenty times already on this thread. You’re blind to them.

That link...a few paragraphs of one persons opinion, and you chose to see only the negative bit. What about the “remarkable achievement” bit? Just ignore it cos it doesn’t suit you? Or do you think she meant “remarkable achievement apart from Hanlon and Stevenson”?

Did you read what I posted or are you just blind to it ,I highlighted the questioning the mentality of the club never mentioned Hanlon or Stevenson or are they just part of the “remarkable achievement' and not the mentality part but everyone else is .
To make it nice and easy I have gave my reasons , so to make it nice and easy you could list all your reasons why they should still be here, or does they are listed on the thread really mean you have no idea. One of your earlier posts ' I want him here ' probably isn't a valid reason.

27-05-2021, 08:19 PM
Did you read what I posted or are you just blind to it ,I highlighted the questioning the mentality of the club never mentioned Hanlon or Stevenson or are they just part of the “remarkable achievement' and not the mentality part but everyone else is .
To make it nice and easy I have gave my reasons , so to make it nice and easy you could list all your reasons why they should still be here, or does they are listed on the thread really mean you have no idea. One of your earlier posts ' I want him here ' probably isn't a valid reason.

I want Hanlon here, and playing, for his ability as a centre half. I don’t need a list, that one point is enough.

You don’t.

Jack Ross does...so what you want doesn’t matter.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 08:52 PM
I want Hanlon here, and playing, for his ability as a centre half. I don’t need a list, that one point is enough.

You don’t.

Its a fans forum and he's entitled to his opinion like all of us.

My opinion is that I'd rather we try someone else as starting centre back and captain in place of Paul Hanlon. It's time to move on from him.

Allez Hibs
27-05-2021, 08:55 PM

A valid point to highlight 👍

27-05-2021, 09:09 PM

My opinion is that I'd rather we try someone else as starting centre back and captain in place of Paul Hanlon. It's time to move on from him.

I’ve never said he can’t have an opinion. Everyone is entitled to theirs, and everyone is entitled to disagree.

h1bs4life
27-05-2021, 09:41 PM

You don’t.

You are all over the place.
From its all on the thread why he should still be here to I want him to stay and that one point is enough.

27-05-2021, 09:44 PM
You are all over the place.
From its all on the thread why he should still be here to I want him to stay and that one point is enough.

You - why do you want him to stay

Me - for his footballing ability

What’s all over the place about that?

27-05-2021, 11:15 PM

I reckon you and h1bs4Life are one and the same person

28-05-2021, 06:31 AM
I want Hibs to sign a better LCB than Hanlon. I’ll be delighted when we do. Until we do enjoy the marvel and quality of Paul Hanlon. You’ll miss him when he’s gone.

28-05-2021, 06:33 AM
I want Hibs to sign a better LCB than Hanlon. I’ll be delighted when we do. Until we do enjoy the marvel and quality of Paul Hanlon. You’ll miss him when he’s gone.

Surely we wouldn’t miss him if we signed a better replacement?

28-05-2021, 06:39 AM

Unless we don't manage to find a better replacement, then we will (even though some won't acknowledge or admit it!).

28-05-2021, 06:49 AM
Hanlon is a quality centre back and he has proved it this season.

Put him in the St Johnstone defence as a back 5 and two sitting midfielders infront of him where his only job is to defend and everyone would be screaming we should sign him.

Defending on the half way like as part of a very stretched back 3 out of possession is very different

28-05-2021, 07:00 AM
Unless we don't manage to find a better replacement, then we will (even though some won't acknowledge or admit it!).

Ah right. I’m of the opinion we could get better but don’t necessarily dislike him as a player or in a rush to replace him

28-05-2021, 07:07 AM
Ah right. I’m of the opinion we could get better but don’t necessarily dislike him as a player or in a rush to replace him

The same could be said of every single player on our books, but there are positions that need attention before we need to worry about Hanlon's IMO.

28-05-2021, 07:17 AM

For instance could we realistically replace Boyle with better? Or confidently get a striker in that would score as many goals as Nisbet? I'd say those two are probably the exception.

Hanlon is a good 7/10 centre half. He's definitely not irreplaceable but at the same time he's not exactly a weakness either.

28-05-2021, 07:23 AM
The same could be said of every single player on our books, but there are positions that need attention before we need to worry about Hanlon's IMO.

I agree

28-05-2021, 07:23 AM

Yep.

Crunchie
28-05-2021, 07:24 AM

For instance could we realistically replace Boyle with better? Or confidently get a striker in that would score as many goals as Nisbet? I'd say those two are probably the exception.

Hanlon is a good 7/10 centre half. He's definitely not irreplaceable but at the same time he's not exactly a weakness either.
I think the fact he's left footed is the reason he's been here so long, were he right footed I doubt he'd still be a mainstay in our defence.

28-05-2021, 07:27 AM
I think the fact he's left footed is the reason he's been here so long, were he right footed I doubt he'd still be a mainstay in our defence.

It's certainly not hindered him I would agree with that.

28-05-2021, 08:17 AM
Hanlon is a quality centre back and he has proved it this season.

Put him in the St Johnstone defence as a back 5 and two sitting midfielders infront of him where his only job is to defend and everyone would be screaming we should sign him.

Defending on the half way like as part of a very stretched back 3 out of possession is very different

Very good point.

28-05-2021, 08:27 AM

We just wouldn't have signed as many right footers worse than Hanlon. He would still have been a mainstay.

Probably wouldn't have signed McGregor actually, because Hanlon/Fontaine would've been well balanced.

Crunchie
28-05-2021, 08:33 AM
We just wouldn't have signed as many right footers worse than Hanlon. He would still have been a mainstay.

Probably wouldn't have signed McGregor actually, because Hanlon/Fontaine would've been well balanced.
All hypothetical and your opinion :aok:

28-05-2021, 08:43 AM

I think we will struggle to find a better player at our level of football. But when it happens I will be delighted. I wouldn't replace him right now as hes just put in probably one of his best season.

Someone wanting rid of him claiming he is not captain material etc is just nonsense and best ignored.

28-05-2021, 08:50 AM

And i really hope we replace him with another left footed player.

Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:02 AM
And i really hope we replace him with another left footed player.
Nah, you want him to stay forever, I want him replaced with better. But there really is no need for the left sided CH to be left footed.

28-05-2021, 09:07 AM
According to whoscored Hanlon was statistically the second best performing centre back in the league this season after Goldson.

By no means a perfect indicator of a players performance, but still implies to me that many on here are under rating him when he's getting more tackles, headers, interceptions, blocks etc. per game than just about every other CB in the league, while playing in one of the better sides in the league.

The fact we don't play a low block makes this even more impressive, as low block teams always inflate a centre backs stats.

28-05-2021, 09:08 AM
According to whoscored Hanlon was statistically the second best performing centre back in the league this season after Goldson.

By no means a perfect indicator of a players performance, but still implies to me that many on here are under rating him when he's getting more tackles, headers, interceptions, blocks etc. per game than just about every other CB in the league, while playing in one of the better sides in the league.

The fact we don't play a low block makes this even more impressive, as low block teams always inflate a centre backs stats.

Even more impressive that Goldson is highest in those stats considering his team have about 60/70% possession in almost all games.

Crunchie
28-05-2021, 09:10 AM

I'd have great passing stats if 90% of my passes are backwards or 5 yards sideways.

28-05-2021, 09:10 AM
Even more impressive that Goldson is highest in those stats considering his team have about 60/70% possession in almost all games.

One of the reason they only let in 13 goals in a league season and like you say very impressive.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 09:11 AM

Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

28-05-2021, 09:14 AM
Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

inference being, because of Paul Hanlon we didn't win anything this year?

28-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

So using your logic, Kerr and his St Johnstone team mates are better players than anyone else in the Scottish League?

Crack on!

I'll leave you to it.

jws1875
28-05-2021, 09:19 AM
Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

Interesting take..

I guess we better start fending off bids for Hanlon since he's won as many medals this season as Ajer from Celtic.

28-05-2021, 09:20 AM
Interesting take..

I guess we better start fending off bids for Hanlon since he's won as many medals this season as Ajer from Celtic.

I'd have Hanlon over Ajer every day of the week. Possibly the most overrated player in the league.

28-05-2021, 09:23 AM
I'd have Hanlon over Ajer every day of the week. Possibly the most overrated player in the league.

on THIS thread that = :worms: !

28-05-2021, 09:27 AM
Nah, you want him to stay forever, I want him replaced with better. But there really is no need for the left sided CH to be left footed.

No - i want him to retire. Prob after next year or 2. I want him replaced with a left footed player. You will not find a coach in the world who would rather have a right footed player playing at LCB. It makes no sense to want otherwise.

28-05-2021, 09:29 AM
I'd have great passing stats if 90% of my passes are backwards or 5 yards sideways.

Thats a defenders job.

28-05-2021, 09:30 AM
Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

For **** sake

28-05-2021, 09:33 AM
For **** sake

Did you know that Chris Dagnall has more Scottish Cup winners medals than the entire 1970 Brazil team put together? So there!

28-05-2021, 09:36 AM
All hypothetical and your opinion :aok:

Obviously, I'm not going to post your opinion am I? I can only post my own.

28-05-2021, 09:38 AM
Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

New Zealand never lost a game at the 2010 world cup

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 09:46 AM
Some of the responses 😂 👍

The point is, statistics can be spun into anything you want them to mean to create a point of view.

For example...

How many goals and assists does Lewy have in 500+ games?

28-05-2021, 09:53 AM
Some of the responses 😂 👍

The point is, statistics can be spun into anything you want them to mean to create a point of view.

For example...

How many goals and assists does Lewy have in 500+ games?

The poster you replied to brought in stats that covered defensive performance over the whole season, by a football website that’s not bias towards any team. They weren’t “spun”.

28-05-2021, 09:56 AM
Another key statistic

Medals won this season:
Jason Kerr - 2
Connor Goldson - 1
Paul Hanlon - 0

You could apply the same statistics to the whole Celtic team. And Aberdeen, Dundee United, and indeed every other team in the league.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 09:59 AM
The poster you replied to brought in stats that covered defensive performance over the whole season, by a football website that’s not bias towards any team. They weren’t “spun”.

Salty.

Does the website just cover league games or are the cup games included?

What's the Jason Kerr and Paul Hanlon comparison in Hibs v St Johnstone games and what is the comparison in games at Hampden?

I know what the medal count is, why is that? Was Paul Hanlon statistically poorer against his baseline performance in league games in the two games at Hampden v St Johnstone?

What about Hanlon in big games this season like we compare Jack Ross? Is he statistically poorer than his expected performance? (Performance across the season)

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:05 AM
You could apply the same statistics to the whole Celtic team. And Aberdeen, Dundee United, and indeed every other team in the league.

No, I have compared our Captain to the Captains who have won medals this season for a bit of pointless fun.

But I'm now interested in Hanlons stats a bit more. Performance at Hampden and in Big Games.

28-05-2021, 10:09 AM
Salty.

Does the website just cover league games or are the cup games included?

What's the Jason Kerr and Paul Hanlon comparison in Hibs v St Johnstone games and what is the comparison in games at Hampden?

I know what the medal count is, why is that? Was Paul Hanlon statistically poorer against his baseline performance in league games in the two games at Hampden v St Johnstone?

What about Hanlon in big games this season like we compare Jack Ross? Is he statistically poorer than his expected performance? (Performance across the season)

Salty? Is that like “seething”? Whatever.

What you’re doing is picking out the statistics that suit your argument. I’ll stick with the statistics that cover the whole season. Nae cherry picking,

Obviously Kerr has more medals that Hanlon, cannae argue against that. Wotherspoon has more than Boyle. Chris Kane has more than Doidge. They’re no better players though.

Crunchie
28-05-2021, 10:11 AM
Stats can be spun all over the place, you only have to look at how politicians spin them to realise that.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:18 AM
Salty? Is that like “seething”? Whatever.

What you’re doing is picking out the statistics that suit your argument. I’ll stick with the statistics that cover the whole season. Nae cherry picking,

Obviously Kerr has more medals that Hanlon, cannae argue against that. Wotherspoon has more than Boyle. Chris Kane has more than Doidge. They’re no better players though.

What statistics have I even pulled out there?

I asked a series of questions I am interested in the statistics for 😂

I think it would help us all understand Hanlons performance this season a bit better.

28-05-2021, 10:22 AM
What statistics have I even pulled out there?

I asked a series of questions I am interested in the statistics for 😂

I think it would help us all understand Hanlons performance this season a bit better.

You’re looking for specific stats. You wrote it not me.

Nothing would help you understand Hanlons performance cos you’ve made up your mind. When statistics over the course of the season show youre wrong, you want new statistics, not over the course of the season, just covering games that suit you;

Strange behaviour from a Hibs fan, that desperately searching for a fault.

28-05-2021, 10:25 AM
You can't solely blame Hanlon for the insipid performances at Hampden. That would be ridiculous. He's not played particularly worse than anyone else in those games IMO.

He does however have to accept a higher proportion of the blame for being the supposed leader on the park, that comes with the territory of being captain. The two St Johnstone performances and the Hearts semi were utterly abysmal and that's when you need your captain ,your leader, to step forward and unfortunately we were let down in that regard.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:26 AM

Nothing would help you understand Hanlons performance cos you’ve made up your mind. When statistics over the course of the season show youre wrong, you want new statistics, not over the course of the season, just covering games that suit you;

Eh?

What fault am I trying to find? I am interested in how Hanlon performed statistically in two of the biggest games this season and in the big games that we scrutinise Jack Ross in. Hardly looking for faults.

The stats over a season perhaps don't show that anyone's wrong as Jason Kerr has two medals and Paul Hanlon has none after playing against each other at Hampden.

28-05-2021, 10:26 AM

Agree watched pretty much every game this season and think he has been very good and in many occasions imo better than he has been previously.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:27 AM
You can't solely blame Hanlon for the insipid performances at Hampden. That would be ridiculous. He's not played particularly worse than anyone else in those games IMO.

He does however have to accept a higher proportion of the blame for being the supposed leader on the park, that comes with the territory of being captain. The two St Johnstone performances and the Hearts semi were utterly abysmal and that's when you need your captain ,your leader, to step forward and unfortunately we were let down in that regard.

To qualify this.

I'm not saying he has, I am simply now interested in his stats in those games.

If we are praising him statistically over the course of the season it is fair to look at his stats that games that matter the most to the fans?

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:30 AM

Behave.

28-05-2021, 10:33 AM
To qualify this.

I'm not saying he has, I am simply now interested in his stats in those games.

If we are praising him statistically over the course of the season it is fair to look at his stats that games that matter the most to the fans?

Its a valid point. Our manager is under scrutiny for that very reason so why not Paul Hanlon? IMO the players are more to blame than the manager is.

28-05-2021, 10:34 AM
No, I have compared our Captain to the Captains who have won medals this season for a bit of pointless fun.

But I'm now interested in Hanlons stats a bit more. Performance at Hampden and in Big Games.

They'll be the same as the rest of team? :confused:

Why don't you go and find them if you're so desperate to prove that everything is Hanlons fault.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:39 AM
They'll be the same as the rest of team? :confused:

Why don't you go and find them if you're so desperate to prove that everything is Hanlons fault.

Rest of the team aren't the club captain.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:40 AM
Its a valid point. Our manager is under scrutiny for that very reason so why not Paul Hanlon? IMO the players are more to blame than the manager is.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:44 AM
How many mistakes have led directly to goals?

2-2 v Celtic comes to mind.

28-05-2021, 10:45 AM

Strange behaviour from a Hibs fan.

Salty.

h1bs4life
28-05-2021, 10:46 AM

Another brilliant post from you.

Some Hibs stats from 2006/2007 onwards when Stevenson won the league cup and won man of the match., league stats , Scottish cup and League Cup semi and finals taken from Hibernian Fitba stats.
Hibs stats not just Hanlon and Stevenson stats and no way am I saying it is all due to them but they are part of the squad.

League
2006-07. 6th.
2007-08. 6th
2008-09. 6th.
2009-10. 4th.
2010-11. 10th.
2011-12. 11th.
2012-13. 7th.
2013-14. 11th relegated
2014-15 Scottish Ch. 2nd
2015-16 championship 3rd
2016-17 championship 1st.
2017-18. premier 4th.
2018-19 premier 5th.
2019-20 premier 6th.
2020-21 premier 3rd

Scot cup
2006 / 07 semi final
2011/ 12 runners up
2012 / 13 runners up
2015 / 16 WINNERS PLAYERS ARE LEGENDS
2016 / 17 semi final
2019/ 20 semi final
2020/21. runners up

League cup
06/07. WINNERS PLAYERS ARE LEGENDS
15/16 runners up
17/18. semi
19/20. semi
20/21. semi

We are good as a club at getting to Hampden majority of time we bottle it , weak mentality , passion who knows.
Hibs stats not just Hanlon and Stevenson stats and no way am I saying it is all due to them but they are part of the squad.
Vast majority of players have moved on / manager have moved on even the owners have changed but 2 are still there.
Everything else has changed apart from 1 thing , I would say its time for any player involved in all that to be moved on not just they 2.

28-05-2021, 10:51 AM

Are you going to go through the entire Hibs squad and point out their mistakes?

Maybe you could also list every tackle/intervention that has prevented a goal or a goal scoring opportunity.

Crap patter!

28-05-2021, 10:51 AM
Another brilliant post from you.

Some Hibs stats from 2006/2007 onwards when Stevenson won the league cup and won man of the match., league stats , Scottish cup and League Cup semi and finals taken from Hibernian Fitba stats.

League
2006-07. 6th.
2007-08. 6th
2008-09. 6th.
2009-10. 4th.
2010-11. 10th.
2011-12. 11th.
2012-13. 7th.
2013-14. 11th relegated
2014-15 Scottish Ch. 2nd
2015-16 championship 3rd
2016-17 championship 1st.
2017-18. premier 4th.
2018-19 premier 5th.
2019-20 premier 6th.
2020-21 premier 3rd

Scot cup
2006 / 07 semi final
2011/ 12 runners up
2012 / 13 runners up
2015 / 16 WINNERS PLAYERS ARE LEGENDS
2016 / 17 semi final
2019/ 20 semi final
2020/21. runners up

League cup
06/07. WINNERS PLAYERS ARE LEGENDS
15/16 runners up
17/18. semi
19/20. semi
20/21. semi

We are good as a club at getting to Hampden majority of time we bottle it , weak mentality , passion who knows.
Vast majority of players have moved on / manager have moved on even the owners have changed but 2 are still there.
Everything else has changed apart from 1 thing , I would say its time for any player involved in all that to be moved on not just they 2.

So you basically judge them on their failures and they should be moved on?

Utter rubbish and thankfully will not happen. Both have contracts and will stay.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 10:52 AM

Behave.

Bridge hibs
28-05-2021, 10:55 AM

Utter rubbish and thankfully will not happen. Both have contracts and will stay.How long does Hanlon have left on his contract ? Hope he stays, good solid player to have in the team

28-05-2021, 10:55 AM
Rest of the team aren't the club captain.

I'm not so sure the captain in football plays a significant part in the modern game.

Would John McGinn have had a poorer game in the 2016 final if Paul Hanlon was captain?

Would Anthony Stokes only have scored one goal if Paul Hanlon was captain?

Professional footballers shouldn't need to be kicked up the backside by a captain to perform.

You don't have to have a captains armband on to gee up other players.

Sidenote - worst thing recently I have seen from a captain was Fernandes winning the toss and letting Villareal take the first penalty.

28-05-2021, 11:02 AM

What is wrong with you man...

h1bs4life
28-05-2021, 11:07 AM

Utter rubbish and thankfully will not happen. Both have contracts and will stay.

How is that judging them on failure , League Cup win and Scottish Cup wins are in it. That's the clubs stats
Add what you want as successes , player of the year trophies ?

h1bs4life
28-05-2021, 11:17 AM
Behave.

Don't think we will see CMurdoch for a while. He will be repeatedly on the club site voting for his player of the year.

Allez Hibs
Don't think we will see CMurdoch for a while. He will be repeatedly on the club site voting for his player of the year.

😂 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂

Threads turned into a bit of a car crash. Some crazy posts getting fished out.

28-05-2021, 11:22 AM

I blamed Gray for that goal for needlessly and stupidly giving the free kick away in a dangerous position that led directly to the goal.
I realise Hanlon's subsequent clearance attempt was contributory but it would not have arisen without the poor and inexplicable game management of Gray in the dying embers of a match we were winning.

28-05-2021, 11:30 AM

Boyle.

28-05-2021, 11:31 AM
Imagine being a Hibs fan and having nothing better to do than pick a player and point out all the mistakes they've made. FFS man

h1bs4life
28-05-2021, 11:32 AM

What an incredible post , that is the club stats . Are you saying the club are a failure.

28-05-2021, 11:33 AM
I blamed Gray for that goal for needlessly and stupidly giving the free kick away in a dangerous position that led to the goal.
I realise Hanlon's subsequent clearance attempt was contributory but it would not have arisen without the poor and inexplicable game management of Gray in the dying embers of a match we were winning.

Defenders sometimes fluff clearances - it happens. If it happens too regularly then obviously there's a problem. That's not the case with Paul Hanlon from what I've seen (which is almost every minute of football we played last season).

I remember when Doidge first signed and couldn't get a goal - myself and others kept repeating that at least he was getting into and receiving the ball in scoring positions which is half the battle for a forward.

I view things in much the same way for some defensive errors - eg. to fluff a clearance you have to be involved and win the ball to make the clearance in the first place. No player is perfect - certainly no Hibs player, so the fact that there will be the odd "error" is just a question of when and not if.

Allez Hibs
28-05-2021, 11:34 AM
Imagine being a Hibs fan and having nothing better to do than pick a player and point out all the mistakes they've made. FFS man

Imagine being a Hibs fan, watch them bottle two Semi Finals & a Final in the same season and not question the club.

28-05-2021, 11:39 AM
What an incredible post , that is the club stats . Are you saying the club are a failure.

Nothing incredible about it. You want them moved on because of failures.Why don't you want them to stay because of their many successes?

I'm saying your mission to convince the world that Hanlon and Stevenson must go is a failure.

28-05-2021, 11:41 AM
Imagine being a Hibs fan, watch them bottle two Semi Finals & a Final in the same season and not question the club.

You're not questioning the club, you're questioning an individual player who hasn't done anything wrong in any of the 3 games you cite.

Question the club by all means, but stop trying to peddle the ****ing nonsense that it stems from one player who has the second best statistics in the league.