View Full Version : Glasgow tonight/Rangers fans

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

the tornadoe
16-05-2021, 02:22 PM
Please Please Please Hibs, GIVE THEM NO TICKETS next season !!! Make a statement of intent, we don't want nor need them in our stadium ..

16-05-2021, 02:23 PM
Please Please Please Hibs, GIVE THEM NO TICKETS next season !!! Make a statement of intent, we don't want nor need them in our stadium ..

Nae chance of that. Money talks.

16-05-2021, 02:24 PM
i'm trying to work out what that is hanging from his back, looks like a giant spider

maybe he thinks he's spider man :)

Rucksack full of Buckfast?

Edit, looks like one of those jester hats falling off his head.

For peevemor, the Scotland on Sunday front page has dozens of fans on top of the gates at Ibrox.

16-05-2021, 02:24 PM

I take it we don't want or need the £200k in ticket sales either?

16-05-2021, 02:32 PM
Because they haven't commented after the event, they encouraged the actions? That's a bit of a stretch is it not?

If this was the first time this has happened then I'd agree. But we've had this same scene a few weeks ago. And in Manchester years before that. Sevco should have been making strong statements in the run up to this game given the scenes when they officially won the league. We could all have predicted what would happen but they didn't lift a finger. Because they don't care. And that attitude is spurring on their supporters.

I fully recognise my green tinted specs are kicking in here but if it was our fans doing this on a regular basis I'd be expecting tough action to make it stop, including against the club if we did nothing.

If you think about the punishment for racism in stadiums, eventual penalties include fines against the club, points deductions etc. I understand the argument that this is outside of the clubs stadium but I don't see why in reality it should matter.

If SNP supporters were out on the streets carrying on now Sevco fans have been I'd expect Sturgeon to be condemning them and distancing herself and her party. If she stayed silent, or issued bland response, then I'd take that to mean she supported their actions.

16-05-2021, 02:34 PM

We chose not to go with a sponsor so it’s not unfesable. However I’d far rather take their money and simply call out their, or anyone else’s, behaviour. Hibs have a role to play in eradicating the kind of behaviour and attitude we regularly see from Rangers fans but like everyone else we just pretend it doesn’t exist.

16-05-2021, 02:35 PM
I take it we don't want or need the £200k in ticket sales either?Their financial clout with every other team bar Celtic helps the club behave the way they do . No-one likes us, we don't care writ large. If all the top league refused to sell them tickets then it paints them into a corner as pariahs. Every club that does it will suffer to some degree but then sometimes solidarity comes at a great cost. Loss of income to make a significant change is probably worth it

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

16-05-2021, 02:36 PM
John Robertson was on our books.

16-05-2021, 02:39 PM
We chose not to go with a sponsor so it’s not unfesable. However I’d far rather take their money and simply call out their, or anyone else’s, behaviour. Hibs have a role to play in eradicating the kind of behaviour and attitude we regularly see from Rangers fans but like everyone else we just pretend it doesn’t exist.

But some wealthy supporters donated money to compensate the loss. Maybe if there were people willing to buy out the South stand for Rangers matches we wouldn't have to sell tickets to their fans.

We also have to ask if we'd be happy having no fans at Ibrox.

16-05-2021, 02:40 PM
My first thoughts were flame throwers, but i could probably agree with snipers as a less inflammatory response.

Tactical nuclear strike works for me...

16-05-2021, 02:42 PM
My first thoughts were flame throwers, but i could probably agree with snipers as a less inflammatory response.
Stick with your first thought - it's more efficient than dealing with them individually.

Just watch for anyone holding fireworks ...

16-05-2021, 02:43 PM
Stick with your first thought - it's more efficient than dealing with them individually.

Just watch for anyone holding fireworks ...

He held it in his fingers
He dropped it on his toes
Huns were all around him
Just when the firework blows...

16-05-2021, 02:44 PM
But some wealthy supporters donated money to compensate the loss. Maybe if there were people willing to buy out the South stand for Rangers matches we wouldn't have to sell tickets to their fans.

We also have to ask if we'd be happy having no fans at Ibrox.

We could ask the same wealthy supporters if they would fund the deficit of not offering tickets to Rangers. I’d prefer we took their money and played out part in calling out their, and anyone else’s behaviour l, though.

Rumble de Thump
16-05-2021, 02:49 PM
Sevco should have been punished everytime their management pumped out lies on their website and social media, and brought the game into disrepute, attacking everyone and anyone. The words and actions of Rangers and, subsequently, Sevco, are what have created such a dangerous, bigoted and destructive fanbase. They have been ably assisted by large sections of the media and the football authorities. They all need to accept responsibility for their role in the mayhem but they won't.

KingPat4
16-05-2021, 02:53 PM
Will be forgotten about in a few days, just not a vote winner in any way.

Scotland's shame.

The Count
16-05-2021, 03:10 PM
You know what.When !!! we win the cup hibbies will gather and break social distancing but lets do it in a friendly and fun way as possible.I know gathering are wrong but at least we can show how to celebrate in a human way and not in a way full of bile.Time to rest the pen now its hitting home to me that next Saturday we could win what was once known as The Holy Grail twice in 5 years.Glory Glory

EI255
16-05-2021, 03:11 PM
Let's just hope and pray that Huns didn't bring the Indian Covid variant back with them to Edinburgh yesterday. Every chance they have.

Selfish and bloody outrageous behaviour. And it won't be the last from them either.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
16-05-2021, 03:12 PM
He held it in his fingers
He dropped it on his toes
Huns were all around him
Just when the firework blows...Smirking [emoji3526]

16-05-2021, 03:13 PM
We could ask the same wealthy supporters if they would fund the deficit of not offering tickets to Rangers. I’d prefer we took their money and played out part in calling out their, and anyone else’s behaviour l, though.

The problem with "calling them out" is that you just end up in a pointless public spat.

They are an utterly despicable organisation and will have ways of making life more difficult for you if you choose to go public with grievances about them.

The best way to deal with them is the cold shoulder - no transfer dealings, no tickets etc.

I'd gladly pay for a ticket to the South Stand for a hibby against them. I don't go to the Rangers games anyway, my partner has banned me from going to Rangers games because I get so wound up by them.

They are a truly malignant force within Scottish society and should be treated as such.

16-05-2021, 03:18 PM
Let's just hope and pray that Huns didn't bring the Indian Covid variant back with them to Edinburgh yesterday. Every chance they have.

Selfish and bloody outrageous behaviour. And it won't be the last from them either.

Edinburgh, Dundee, Fife, The Borders. They will have traveled from everywhere.

16-05-2021, 03:22 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/186551603_4064822996907834_3639121496922107632_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=-VK-B3GiVG0AX-xV6qr&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=621ebd834d77dabc0da5fc7dacb30dcf&oe=60C830BF

send the clean-up bill to that vile club

16-05-2021, 03:27 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/186551603_4064822996907834_3639121496922107632_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=-VK-B3GiVG0AX-xV6qr&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=621ebd834d77dabc0da5fc7dacb30dcf&oe=60C830BF

send the clean-up bill to that vile club

Absolute morons, I would hate to support a club with fans that act in this way

16-05-2021, 03:42 PM
The problem with "calling them out" is that you just end up in a pointless public spat.

They are an utterly despicable organisation and will have ways of making life more difficult for you if you choose to go public with grievances about them.

The best way to deal with them is the cold shoulder - no transfer dealings, no tickets etc.

I'd gladly pay for a ticket to the South Stand for a hibby against them. I don't go to the Rangers games anyway, my partner has banned me from going to Rangers games because I get so wound up by them.

They are a truly malignant force within Scottish society and should be treated as such.

You can’t not offer them tickets, so it’s absolutely pointless talking about that.

16-05-2021, 03:43 PM

Calling them out is the only way take the first steps to meaningful change IMO. Yes, Rangers and Celtc’s natural reaction will be whataboutery but I would expect Hibs to own any bad behaviour by our fans and call it as it is. Condemn it and apologise, whenever necessary. The cup final being a case in point, I’d have liked Hibs to point out the vast majority of fans celebrated positively, a minorities first instinct was to act like neds and run to the Rangers support to goad them and those minority of fans were as guilty for the trouble that happened as the Rangers fans who came on solely looking for trouble. I’d also have then being calling Rangers out on their many lies.

It’s a societal problem so it’s not Hibs’ problem to fix in isolation but we have our part to play, surely now more than ever if we’ve learned anything from the various movements highlighting ingrained inequalities in the likes of race, sexism etc. Doing nothing and pretending it doesn’t exist is part of the problem and doing our bit (for example calling out the sectarian abuse Stubbs and Lennon faced) is the minimum we should expect. If Steve Clarke, as an outsider, can be bemused by what still goes on in 2021, and call it out. Why can’t Hibs?

16-05-2021, 03:47 PM
Edinburgh, Dundee, Fife, The Borders. They will have traveled from everywhere.

I think I read somewhere they even came from Belfast, WTF. Honestly.

Rumble de Thump
16-05-2021, 03:49 PM
Calling them out is the only way take the first steps to meaningful change IMO. Yes, Rangers and Celtc’s natural reaction will be whataboutery but I would expect Hibs to own any bad behaviour by our fans and call it as it is. Condemn it and apologise, whenever necessary. The cup final being a case in point, I’d have liked Hibs to point out the vast majority of fans celebrated positively, a minorities first instinct was to act like neds and run to the Rangers support to goad them and those minority of fans were as guilty for the trouble that happened as the Rangers fans who came on solely looking for trouble. I’d also have then being calling Rangers out on their many lies.

It’s a societal problem so it’s not Hibs’ problem to fix in isolation but we have our part to play, surely now more than ever if we’ve learned anything from the various movements highlighting ingrained inequalities in the likes of race, sexism etc. Doing nothing and pretending it doesn’t exist is part of the problem and doing out bit (for example calling out the sectarian abuse Stubbs and Lennon faced) is the minimum we should expect. If Steve Clarke, as an outsider, can be bemused by what still goes on in 2021, and call it out. Why can’t Hibs?

Sevco fans had been 'goading' Hibs fans for the whole game with sectarian ditties etc. The problem is that they can't take getting beat. It turns out they don't deal well with winning either. In any case, I would rather be goaded than kicked in the head.

16-05-2021, 03:51 PM
Win the cup, get good crowds back when this is all over, get in Europe consistently, play good football, no ****ing worries about giving them the absolute minimum at ER.

16-05-2021, 03:55 PM

Another problem we have when calling them out, is there are just so many of them that are allowed to breed, and we all know it is not a minority who are 100% bigots.

I dont know how you stop them spouting their sheite, but i do know this softly softly approach has not worked in the 50 odd years i've been watching Scottish football?

Until the authorities take a hard line with them, and i mean us too if we cross the line, then nothing changes and it's just words and next weeks chip paper.

Football could stop the bile if they wanted and were not feared of them, but all we do is sweep everything under the carpet when a first offence should be 3 points deduction, 2nd 9 points and 3rd relegation and grounds closed.

Bigotry needs to be seen as the same as racism, until it is we will be back here time and time again, discussing the same things.

16-05-2021, 03:59 PM
Win the cup, get good crowds back when this is all over, get in Europe consistently, play good football, no ****ing worries about giving them the absolute minimum at ER.
Yep. There should be cash from Europe starting to come in etc. We shouldn’t be reliant on their dirty money anyway and I would quite happily cover the 30 odd quid cost of a ticket for their end and donate it to someone and I’m sure there would be absolutely loads of others who would do the same. The days of giving they cretins 4000 tickets needs to be a thing of the past

16-05-2021, 04:02 PM
Another problem we have when calling them out, is there are just so many of them that are allowed to breed, and we all know it is not a minority who are 100% bigots.

I dont know how you stop them spouting their sheite, but i do know this softly softly approach has not worked in the 50 odd years i've been watching Scottish football?

Until the authorities take a hard line with them, and i mean us too if we cross the line, then nothing changes and it's just words and next weeks chip paper.

Football could stop the bile if they wanted and were not feared of them, but all we do is sweep everything under the carpet when a first offence should be 3 points deduction, 2nd 9 points and 3rd relegation and grounds closed.

Bigotry needs to be seen as the same as racism, until it is we will be back here time and time again, discussing the same things.

Strict liability is the only way forward.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/47646210

16-05-2021, 04:02 PM
You can’t not offer them tickets, so it’s absolutely pointless talking about that.

Why not? Think tickets have to be provided for cup games but didn't think there was a minimum number to be provided for league matches?

16-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Why not? Think tickets have to be provided for cup games but didn't think there was a minimum number to be provided for league matches?
That’s what I thought as well.

16-05-2021, 04:09 PM
I think I read somewhere they even came from Belfast, WTF. Honestly.

Saw a picture of a plane load.

16-05-2021, 04:10 PM
If we have to give them tickets for league games at ER build a temporary stand between the South and the West with no roof on it and put them in there.
Would rather we didn't have to entertain them at ER at all.

the tornadoe
16-05-2021, 04:13 PM

Some things are worth more than money, no point in us all making comments on here about their behaviour and sectarianism then standing by as our Club holds out their hands for the " blue pound " IF ... we as a support make it know in no uncertain terms to the Club no tickets for them and accept the financial hit then Hibs should be prepared to do that.

16-05-2021, 04:14 PM

That’s what I thought as well.

No longer the case

I27 The Home club must make provision for the admission of such reasonable number of visiting supporters at every home League Match and Play-Off Match as may be agreed in advance with the Visiting Club and, in the event of their being unable to agree such number not later than 14 days prior to the date of the League Match or Play-Off Match in question, the number of visiting supporters allowed shall be determined by the Board whose decision shall be final and binding.

I28 A section of the ground must be reserved for supporters of the Visiting Club and any tickets for League Matches and Play-Off Matches must be distributed on that basis. Details of these arrangements should be publicised by the Clubs concerned in advance.

https://spfl.co.uk/admin/filemanager/images/shares/pdfs/SPFL%20Rules%20and%20Regulations%2016-Mar-21%20(MASTER%20COPY)%20CLEAN.pdf

16-05-2021, 04:14 PM
If we have to give them tickets for league games at ER build a temporary stand between the South and the West with no roof on it and put them in there.
Would rather we didn't have to entertain them at ER at all.

Agreed. I wish the club would just ban them. If they sung about their hatred of blacks it would be a different story but Catholics are fair game apparently. Not having to listen to them has been the only good thing about this pandemic

16-05-2021, 04:15 PM
Some things are worth more than money, no point in us all making comments on here about their behaviour and sectarianism then standing by as our Club holds out their hands for the " blue pound " IF ... we as a support make it know in no uncertain terms to the Club no tickets for them and accept the financial hit then Hibs should be prepared to do that.

I agree - but £200k per year gets us a decent first team player.

the tornadoe
16-05-2021, 04:16 PM

They did it with Celtic !!! No tickets were give to them fir ipox old firm league games and the celtic responded in kind the season before last

16-05-2021, 04:18 PM

You can offer them a reduced number, like we get at Ibrox. We get less than 2% of the stadiums capacity, but unless we sell them all, will hit Hibs hard in the pocket, plus reduced revenue due segregation and more stewards

Lendo
16-05-2021, 04:19 PM
I think it’s only cup games where are obligated to provide a certain number of tickets to the Away side.

16-05-2021, 04:23 PM
I think it’s only cup games where are obligated to provide a certain number of tickets to the Away side.

Think your right

16-05-2021, 04:28 PM
Think your rightNo, that's no longer the case.

From the SPFL rules

I27 The Home club must make provision for the admission of such reasonable number of visiting supporters at every home League Match and Play-Off Match as may be agreed in advance with the Visiting Club and, in the event of their being unable to agree such number not later than 14 days prior to the date of the League Match or Play-Off Match in question, the number of visiting supporters allowed shall be determined by the Board whose decision shall be final and binding.

16-05-2021, 04:30 PM
Exactly how will that be right? The vast majority of our fans will know that this virus has not gone away and is dangerous....if we gather in those kind of numbers we will be killing people, extending the lockdown and destroying businesses. Believe me I will be celebrating next week but I can do that without breaking the law.
If a couple of 1000 are willing to risk another spike then I'm afraid you are letting the club and everyone associated with it down.

Outdoor air transmission rates are extremely low, even in big numbers.

There was no spike in Glasgow after their last party in George Square, nor was there any after the massive BLM protests in George Square and Glasgow green.

A bunch of hibs fan gathering to drink on the links or outside Easter road is not going to cause a massive spike.

16-05-2021, 04:37 PM
No, that's no longer the case.

From the SPFL rules

I think what people may be referring to is that with Scottish Cup games there's a minimum amount of tickets that must be given to the away club's fans (20% of the home stadium's capacity springs to mind) but with league matches it's more vague by just referring to a "reasonable number" which is much more open to interpretation.

16-05-2021, 04:46 PM
I think what people may be referring to is that with Scottish Cup games there's a minimum amount of tickets that must be given to the away club's fans (20% of the home stadium's capacity springs to mind) but with league matches it's more vague by just referring to a "reasonable number" which is much more open to interpretation.No, some people think we can refuse to give other teams tickets for league matches. If we say that to Rangers (for example) and they disagree, then the SPFL board will decide the number of tickets to be allocated. I know that pre SPL Rangers refused Celtic tickets for Ibrox (John Collins Predator free kick game), but that could only happen now if the teams were in agreement or if the SPFL board okayed it.

16-05-2021, 04:46 PM
I think what people may be referring to is that with Scottish Cup games there's a minimum amount of tickets that must be given to the away club's fans (20% of the home stadium's capacity springs to mind) but with league matches it's more vague by just referring to a "reasonable number" which is much more open to interpretation.

One small section sounds reasonable enough to me.

16-05-2021, 04:52 PM
One small section sounds reasonable enough to me.Yup... give them the same % As they give us.

Happy.to oblige with more if they do the same.
(Not actually 'happy', but would be churlish to refuse)

16-05-2021, 04:54 PM
Yup... give them the same % As they give us.

Happy.to oblige with more if they do the same.
(Not actually 'happy', but would be churlish to refuse)

Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkFair enough, but there would be hundreds (maybe thousands?) of empty seats due to segregation.

16-05-2021, 05:00 PM

There is no minimum, but you have to offer tickets. If there is a dispute it goes to the SPFL to decide on a reasonable number.

16-05-2021, 05:03 PM
Fair enough, but there would be hundreds (maybe thousands?) of empty seats due to segregation.A section in the corner a bit like they give us?

There would be a few rows gap right enough, in the stand where they're located, 4 or 5 from memory?

I do get the premise of your reply though, give them a whole end the we're at 100% capacity :agree:

16-05-2021, 05:04 PM
Fair enough, but there would be hundreds (maybe thousands?) of empty seats due to segregation.

An aisle and 2 columns of seats in adjoining section, employ Hibs supporting stewards who will make sure any of them getting too rowdy are huckled by police.

16-05-2021, 05:06 PM
An aisle and 2 columns of seats in adjoining section, employ Hibs supporting stewards who will make sure any of them getting too rowdy are huckled by police.There's also access/egress, the foyers, etc. Even if we only sold them 50 tickets, they'd get half the stand.

16-05-2021, 05:07 PM
An aisle and 2 columns of seats in adjoining section, employ Hibs supporting stewards who will make sure any of them getting too rowdy are huckled by police.

Block 36 in the South gives them 2%, like they give us, but we need to sell the rest
Anyway not sure when away fans will be allowed in, so might get them early in the season at ER, and not a single one will be allowed in

16-05-2021, 05:11 PM
There's also access/egress, the foyers, etc. Even if we only sold them 50 tickets, they'd get half the stand.

Cordon off their little corner and keep them in for 30 minutes.

16-05-2021, 05:15 PM
No, some people think we can refuse to give other teams tickets for league matches. If we say that to Rangers (for example) and they disagree, then the SPFL board will decide the number of tickets to be allocated. I know that pre SPL Rangers refused Celtic tickets for Ibrox (John Collins Predator free kick game), but that could only happen now if the teams were in agreement or if the SPFL board okayed it.

Fair enough just going off the earlier comment of "I think it’s only cup games where are obligated to provide a certain number of tickets to the Away side."

That is technically the case as there's no definitive number for league games.

KingPat4
16-05-2021, 05:33 PM
If we win this cup next week, I will certainly be in Leith on Sunday to celebrate, with my son - who lives in the Republic.

If we leave a mess, I'll be back on Monday to help clear it up.

I hope other Hibbies feel the same.

Torto7
16-05-2021, 05:36 PM
Ban them and call them out on their evil. It's hard to sell yourself as an all inclusive family club but turn a blind eye to anti catholic poison. Whatever the away support from them is money wise doesn't and couldn't make up for the stain of having them in the stadium. It's been tolerated in football for far too long. We've seen progress in normal society(although it still exists there as well) footballs been allowed to act as an outlet for the tribal minded and bigot for too long.

It would be nice if there was a light shone of the ones pulling the puppet strings though. The protestant supremacist types go high up in society. Jim Spence has a lot to say about them on his twitter today. Watching the pit bulls out yesterday was just a reminder of how thick and easily led they are.

16-05-2021, 05:42 PM
If we win this cup next week, I will certainly be in Leith on Sunday to celebrate, with my son - who lives in the Republic.

If we leave a mess, I'll be back on Monday to help clear it up.

I hope other Hibbies feel the same.

Like the sentiment. Maybe better just to take it away with you, no?:greengrin

16-05-2021, 05:43 PM
Fair enough, but there would be hundreds (maybe thousands?) of empty seats due to segregation.

The South Stand has been split vertically for hun and hertz games at ER previously. It didn’t reduce capacity by thousands.

16-05-2021, 05:47 PM
The shameful videos keep coming. Bottling someone when there’s kids running around :rolleyes:
https://twitter.com/followmeltdowns/status/1393950961354346498?s=21https://twitter.com/followmeltdowns/status/1393950961354346498?s=21

16-05-2021, 05:49 PM
The South Stand has been split vertically for hun and hertz games at ER previously. It didn’t reduce capacity by thousands.Because we've sold the away fans half the stand. If we sold only a few hundred tickets in one section, the chances are that the remainder of that half of the stand would have to remain empty.

16-05-2021, 05:50 PM
The shameful videos keep coming. Bottling someone when there’s kids running around :rolleyes:
https://twitter.com/followmeltdowns/status/1393950961354346498?s=21https://twitter.com/followmeltdowns/status/1393950961354346498?s=21

What is wrong with these people? :rolleyes:

16-05-2021, 05:52 PM
He's gonna struggle with the 55 sign now.

:slipper:Naughty naughty - none of this now :lolrangers: might hurt their poor wee feelings :tee hee:

16-05-2021, 06:07 PM
I had a look at the Scottish S*n online, they are failing ripping into then, both on the violence and the sectarian bile from yesterday

16-05-2021, 06:09 PM
https://thistleandsaltire.wordpress.com/2019/11/20/marches-and-processions-time-for-a-change/

If anyone is so inclined this is an interesting read and hammers home this is endemic in society, not just football. It may not rear it's head in every town or every household but the way sectarianism is reported in Scotland paints a warped picture. It encourages people to make comparisons and equivalences that just don't exist and it's why after a day or 2 of anger the events of yesterday will all be forgotten about. More than that it is why whatever occurs in Edinburgh or Perth will get far more negative media coverage than what happened in Glasgow yesterday.

16-05-2021, 06:21 PM
Hearts fans on kickback ripping into them as well. Somebody on there posted a comment from a Rangers supporting paramedic. He rips them to shreds. Unable to copy it but well worth a look. Maybe someone could copy it.

16-05-2021, 06:39 PM
There was another march inGlasgow today with Thousands attending social distancing not in evidence Plenty masks on show though
But it was allowed to ahead as was more likely to be a peaceful march which it was
So why are these events allowed to go ahead yet 600 fans can’t get into a huge vast football stadium in the open air
I don’t understand why the larger marches go ahead but the smaller football crowd is penalised

16-05-2021, 06:47 PM
Go Jo!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/dd81cc6af308037a8fac2732d4b6cae5.jpg

16-05-2021, 06:49 PM
Because we've sold the away fans half the stand. If we sold only a few hundred tickets in one section, the chances are that the remainder of that half of the stand would have to remain empty.

I don’t think that would be the case.

scm70nyd1973
16-05-2021, 06:50 PM
There is scu*, total scu• and then there is Glasgow Rangers scu• 😡

16-05-2021, 06:54 PM
Reported

Jesus - is this a bloody joke??? If not I hereby report BroxburnHibee for being an utter roaster! :na na:

16-05-2021, 06:56 PM
Whoooooooooooooosssssshhhhhhh :greengrin

Aha - it's a whoosh moment - I hereby report myself for being utterly roasted :blushie:

16-05-2021, 06:58 PM
Hearts fans on kickback ripping into them as well. Somebody on there posted a comment from a Rangers supporting paramedic. He rips them to shreds. Unable to copy it but well worth a look. Maybe someone could copy it.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/c37a6333a5adec573a5ca5d7523b9aeb.pnghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/c37a6333a5adec573a5ca5d7523b9aeb.png

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

16-05-2021, 07:05 PM
I don’t think that would be the case.It might not be for a "smaller" match, but for a Category A game I'm pretty sure it would.

16-05-2021, 07:22 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/c37a6333a5adec573a5ca5d7523b9aeb.pnghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/c37a6333a5adec573a5ca5d7523b9aeb.png

This is rangers in their prime. Anyone who suggests otherwise is ignorant or stupid.

Rumble de Thump
16-05-2021, 07:31 PM
Anyone who goes to just one Rangers/Sevco game will see first hand that the club and its fans are all about sectarianism and hatred. If they choose to pay money to go back and revel in that then that's what they're supporting and paying money into.

16-05-2021, 07:34 PM
Disappointed to read some of the comments on this thread regarding a fellow human being seriously injured due to fireworks. Its not why I signed up to becoming a Hibernian supporter all those many years ago and hope some reflect upon their utterances in the morning.

Aye see you in confession father.

I wish to confess the hideous sin of laughing at a drunken hun idiot who has decided to make himself an example of the concept of Darwinism - who hoist himself by his own petard - suffering self inflicted injury in the act of putting all those around him in danger of the same.

How many Hail Marys will that be?

16-05-2021, 07:35 PM

Thanks for copying that. There are some decent fans that support that club.This should be emailed out to every Rangers season ticket holder by the club.

16-05-2021, 07:39 PM
This is rangers in their prime. Anyone who suggests otherwise is ignorant or stupid.

Indeed, dont really understand that part. This is what they have been like forever. Why is this coming as some kind of surprise? They done it in Barcelona 35 years ago, and to Hibs busses in 79. They are called the huns because they are a mob who destroy everything in their path.

16-05-2021, 07:47 PM
Aha - it's a whoosh moment - I hereby report myself for being utterly roasted :blushie:

:tee hee: sorry it caught you was meant to be a light hearted moment amongst the mayhem last night :greengrin

16-05-2021, 07:48 PM
There was another march inGlasgow today with Thousands attending social distancing not in evidence Plenty masks on show though
But it was allowed to ahead as was more likely to be a peaceful march which it was
So why are these events allowed to go ahead yet 600 fans can’t get into a huge vast football stadium in the open air
I don’t understand why the larger marches go ahead but the smaller football crowd is penalised

The marches are all in the open air for a start. There are bits of attending a football match that aren’t. Thats for starters but just an example.

AugustaHibs
16-05-2021, 07:53 PM
There is a video circulating of the boy who’s hand got blown off with the firework. Absolutely horrendous

16-05-2021, 07:54 PM
Indeed, dont really understand that part. This is what they have been like forever. Why is this coming as some kind of surprise? They done it in Barcelona 35 years ago, and to Hibs busses in 79. They are called the huns because they are a mob who destroy everything in their path.
She was probably referring to when Gascoigne and Laudrup were playing.
The roll call of cities they have caused trouble in
Leeds
Newcastle
Barcelona
Manchester
Their own back yard.
Every Scottish League ground(probably only team to visit them all)
I am sure there are many others.
I have experienced being attacked by adult Rangers fans when I was 10 years old had supporters buses trashed by them. This happened years ago but they still behave like animals 50 years on.

16-05-2021, 07:57 PM
There is a video circulating of the boy who’s hand got blown off with the firework. Absolutely horrendous
Looks like it was one of those smoke bomb things that you are meant to hold in your hand that was faulty and just exploded as he was holding it.

16-05-2021, 07:59 PM
Outdoor air transmission rates are extremely low, even in big numbers.

There was no spike in Glasgow after their last party in George Square, nor was there any after the massive BLM protests in George Square and Glasgow green.

A bunch of hibs fan gathering to drink on the links or outside Easter road is not going to cause a massive spike.

Rangers won the league on the weekend of 7th March. 10 days later the cases stopped dropping but no doubt it will take a bit of time and research to confirm if it’s linked. The narrative that it had no effect is premature.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/21a44a698e963118c8f274db3ec0162f.png

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-57134232.amp

16-05-2021, 08:14 PM
Justice Secretary is quite open about possible action.

All I see in Yousef's statement is a load of baloney about COVID.

What about the rioting, fighting among themselves, singing vile sectarian songs, intimidating the general populace, attacking police, wrecking their own city centre and acting generally like the **** of the earth?!? Is this all to be brushed conveniently under the already tired and bulging carpet of COVID???

Some kind of celebration was pretty much inevitable last night - the above sub-human behaviour was absolutely NOT!

It would not surprise me at all to find out that Yousef's idea of "justice" will be to punish fans of Hibs and St Johnstone for the actions of these animals by closing down Edinburgh and Perth on Saturday night. I've seen plenty of absolute absurdities committed by governments in the name of COVID this last year so nothing would surprise me.

Show some guts then Yousef - punish the REAL PERPETRATORS for the REAL CRIMES committed - for avoidance of doubt that would not generally include the act of breathing on each other.

AliboyFC
16-05-2021, 08:14 PM
Looks like it was one of those smoke bomb things that you are meant to hold in your hand that was faulty and just exploded as he was holding it.

Well that's quite unfortunate if that is true.

16-05-2021, 08:19 PM
Anyone who supports rangers is complicit in the behaviour of these cretins. I’m done with the c unts

Absolutely. I know quite a few Rangers supporters, who, on the surface, appear to be decent guys, but, when push comes to shove, they invariably reveal their true nature ..... bigoted zealots who will defend any anti-social behaviour of their fellow blue-noses.

AliboyFC
16-05-2021, 08:22 PM
Absolutely. I know quite a few Rangers supporters, who, on the surface, appear to be decent guys, but, when push comes to shove, they invariably reveal their true nature ..... bigoted zealots who will defend any anti-social behaviour of their fellow blue-noses.

What year are they stuck in ffs

16-05-2021, 08:22 PM
Looks like it was one of those smoke bomb things that you are meant to hold in your hand that was faulty and just exploded as he was holding it.Indeed it does.

Not pleasant

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

16-05-2021, 08:23 PM
Disappointed to read some of the comments on this thread regarding a fellow human being seriously injured due to fireworks. Its not why I signed up to becoming a Hibernian supporter all those many years ago and hope some reflect upon their utterances in the morning.

I grew up in NI during "The Troubles" - the funniest thing was when bombers from both sides, intend on inflicting death on innocent people, blew themselves up handling their own bombs.

Actions have consequences

16-05-2021, 08:24 PM
What year are they stuck in ffs

Century possibly narrows it down a tad.

AliboyFC
16-05-2021, 08:25 PM
Century possibly narrows it down a tad.

They care more about what religion you are than the football itself.

AugustaHibs
16-05-2021, 08:26 PM
I grew up in NI during "The Troubles" - the funniest thing was when bombers from both sides, intend on inflicting death on innocent people, blew themselves up handling their own bombs.

Actions have consequences

Dunno how it’s even remotely similar? It’s a smoke bomb not a hand grenade

16-05-2021, 08:27 PM
Dunno how it’s even remotely similar? It’s a smoke bomb not a hand grenade

If he hadn`t have been there, like he shouldn`t have been, he wouldn`t have blown his hand off

16-05-2021, 08:27 PM
Dunno how it’s even remotely similar? It’s a smoke bomb not a hand grenadeExactly and from the 10 second video clip I seen he's simply standing holding it up

Don't care who he supports

AugustaHibs
16-05-2021, 08:28 PM
If he hadn`t have been there, like he shouldn`t have been, he wouldn`t have blown his hand off

You never done anything in your life you shouldn’t? Come on eh... boy doesn’t deserve to lose his hand over it ffs

16-05-2021, 08:28 PM
If he hadn`t have been there, like he shouldn`t have been, he wouldn`t have blown his hand offMaybe a wee bit harsh there.

16-05-2021, 08:29 PM

And it’s not just them unfortunately.

16-05-2021, 08:31 PM
Very interesting the range of opinion in the newspaper headlines. See the Daily Record / Sunday Mail keeping their love affair with Rangers going. Absolute rag compare and contrast with our Scottish cup win coverage.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-57133807

It's like chalk and cheese!

The genuinely spontaneous, emotional and exuberant pitch invasion by Hibs fans was treated like a despicable crime against humanity by the Scottish media. Last night's scenes in Glasgow looked like a combination of the last days of Rome and World War Z - there is simply no comparison in terms of the scale of the offences and the harm done - and yet half these headlines portray last night as a light hearted display of celebratory jolity! The Sunday Express FFS - they twaddle on as if the only way the Police were put in danger was because somebody accidentally coughed in their direction! Have a word FFS! How about showering them in street furniture? - does that not qualify as a wee bit dangerous too???

16-05-2021, 08:32 PM
Maybe a wee bit harsh there.

Is it? They were told not to gather for the obvious reasons yet thousands ignored them, so it is his fault

And for the record, if we win on Saturday, I will not be attending any parade for exactly the same reasons the Rangers fans were told not to congregate.

16-05-2021, 08:33 PM
Just seen that video... horrific

All teams have their neds/********s, although Rangers as a proportion have more. Still a small minority causing real trouble, the larger (majority probably) amount still signing anti Catholic songs is arguably more embarrassing

16-05-2021, 08:33 PM

All regular church goers Im sure.

Surely this is a Loyalist Repuublican arguement now which was origially based on religion?You're not telling me those rangers fans celebrating were in church this morning or apart from weddings and funerals have ever been in church.

16-05-2021, 08:34 PM
Is it? They were told not to gather for the obvious reasons yet thousands ignored them, so it is his fault

And for the record, if we win on Saturday, I will not be attending any parade for exactly the same reasons the Rangers fans were told not to congregate.

Yes it is... in the same way that you aren't given a life sentence for getting caught with a gram of weed. Ever broken the law before in your entire life?

AliboyFC
16-05-2021, 08:34 PM
And it’s not just them unfortunately.

Septic aswell

16-05-2021, 08:35 PM
Yes it is... in the same way that you aren't given a life sentence for getting caught with a gram of weed. Ever broken the law before in your entire life?

Not during a global pandemic, no

16-05-2021, 08:46 PM

Its his own fault a smoke bomb blew half his hand off?

Right you are.

GreyJammies
16-05-2021, 08:50 PM

Right you are.

Ach he's got another one.

Maybe wanna cancel the golf lessons though. :cb

16-05-2021, 08:51 PM

Right you are.

Nobody else to blame.

16-05-2021, 09:00 PM

I presume you mean the pro palistine demonstration in George Square.

Went off without any violence.

As far as Hampden is concerned there were 8000 seats, with 2m distancing this brought it down to the 600.

16-05-2021, 09:07 PM
Thanks for copying that. There are some decent fans that support that club.This should be emailed out to every Rangers season ticket holder by the club.

👍

Just read it out to my better half who has no interest in football.

16-05-2021, 09:14 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how humans can so easily dehumamise people based on the most mundane things - like the football team they happen to support

16-05-2021, 09:24 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how humans can so easily dehumamise people based on the most mundane things - like the football team they happen to support

It never ceases to amaze me how some football supporters can dehumanise themselves based on the most mundane things - like the football team they happen to support.

Torto7
16-05-2021, 09:30 PM
https://thistleandsaltire.wordpress.com/2019/11/20/marches-and-processions-time-for-a-change/

If anyone is so inclined this is an interesting read and hammers home this is endemic in society, not just football. It may not rear it's head in every town or every household but the way sectarianism is reported in Scotland paints a warped picture. It encourages people to make comparisons and equivalences that just don't exist and it's why after a day or 2 of anger the events of yesterday will all be forgotten about. More than that it is why whatever occurs in Edinburgh or Perth will get far more negative media coverage than what happened in Glasgow yesterday.

Great read that I hope everyone has seen. That's actually scary the amount of marches and the cost.

16-05-2021, 09:31 PM
https://i.ibb.co/GCymkgV/sikh.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
super deduper (https://dedupelist.com/)

16-05-2021, 09:34 PM
No one can be surprised by any of this. It's not even newsworthy. The Rangers and their previous incarnation do this ALL the time. Wherever you find violence, social disorder, hooliganism and hatred a Sevco fan is not far away. The Police knew about this well in advance, the Government knew about this well in advance. Any post-riot Statement of outrage could have been written 10 days ago. So why all the shock and horror ?

The big question is what the Gov/police did or could have done about it, or what the follow-up is going to be.

My fear is this may well come back and bite peaceful Hibs fans. Sturgeon will be under pressure to make sure nothing like this happens in Edinburgh, should Hibs win the Cup. And, just like politicians use lockdown of the population as a simple blunt instrument to fight Covid, we'll all be warned this week that no gatherings will be tolerated under any circumstances in Edinburgh / Leith next Saturday. Streets will be blocked off, there will be a massive police presence and, if needed, they will take their frustration out on peaceful, celebrating Hibs fans who are a much easier target than fuelled up Glasgow headcases.

THIS - I fully expect a kneejerk punishment of all football fans as if we are all the same as that shower of bigoted jakey slime. I hope to be proven wrong but have come to expect such lockdown-mania inspired nonsense masquerading as policy over the last year. Edinburgh was well within the statistical requirements to loosen lockdown last year for months on end but this was repeatedly refused out of some bizzare notion of collective punishment for weedgie ills.
Politicians often display a prejudice against football fans which is borne of ignorance - repeatedly tarring us all with the same stick as the worst behaved of our number. I won't be at all surprised then to be treated as some kind of threat to civilisation if we win the cup next weekend and dare to celebrate in anything approaching a normal fashion.

16-05-2021, 09:36 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how some football supporters can dehumanise themselves based on the most mundane things - like the football team they happen to support.We have no idea who the guy who lost half his hand is

Very poor patter on here in relation to that

The other folk fighting, destroying property etc, they deserve some stick but an un named guy loses a hand celebrating his teams success - can't agree with some of the comments on here. It's in poor taste and based on nothing more than he supports rangers

16-05-2021, 09:42 PM
We have no idea who the guy who lost half his hand is

The other folk fighting, destroying property etc, they deserve some stick but an un named guy loses a hand celebrating his teams success - can't agree with some of the comments on here. It's in poor taste and based on nothing more than he supports rangers

Utterly agree. Genuine football fans should be better than that. Not to mention simply decent human beings.

Allez Hibs
16-05-2021, 09:44 PM

Well said.

et_hibby
16-05-2021, 09:50 PM
Well said.
I’m with these last 3 comments also- keep it Hibs class.

16-05-2021, 09:57 PM

Rangers and Celtic will never truly call it out as like sex - Bigotry Ain Glasgow sells there is far too much money to be lost by doing the right thing.

16-05-2021, 09:58 PM

Totally agree. Gonna put my hand up and say now is not the time to be pointing fingers.

Let’s hope he didn’t have a promising career on fingerbobs.

Stairway 2 7
16-05-2021, 10:03 PM
Think a lot on here thought the guy that lost a hand was about to set off a firework, so hand him stick. He could have hurt someone else ect. The fact that it was a young lad holding a smoke bomb that loads of hibs fans have done might change that. Tragic for the lad who is now disabled. The incident is completely unrelated to the animals and umpteen incidents yesterday. Poor lad and a warning to all young football fans about these things

16-05-2021, 10:03 PM
Really hoping that this is made up

https://twitter.com/retroceltic/status/1394043076516229126?s=21

Realise that it is a Celtic supporting source but WTF

16-05-2021, 10:08 PM

What’s made up about it. It’s clearly rangers players singing “**** the pope”. Not sure how you can excuse it.

16-05-2021, 10:10 PM
But surely the real problem in Scotland is the victimisation of Rangers supporters in a society steeped in anti-Unionist and anti-Protestant bigotry. They are persecuted.

https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/the-continuing-attempted-demonisation-and-marginalisation-of-our-club-and-support.164913/

16-05-2021, 10:14 PM
But surely the real problem in Scotland is the victimisation of Rangers supporters in a society steeped in anti-Unionist and anti-Protestant bigotry. They are persecuted.

https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/the-continuing-attempted-demonisation-and-marginalisation-of-our-club-and-support.164913/

🎶 No one likes us, it’s demonisation and marginalisation of our club and support 🎶

KingPat4
16-05-2021, 10:18 PM
Ach he's got another one.

Maybe wanna cancel the golf lessons though. :cb

What a stupid comment.

Wallaper.

Torto7
16-05-2021, 10:21 PM
So now we have their players clearly singing f*** the pope. What a ****my institution.

16-05-2021, 10:26 PM
What’s made up about it. It’s clearly rangers players singing “**** the pope”. Not sure how you can excuse it.

I don’t know how easy it is to change the audio on these things and wouldn’t have a clue how to check. These things have been faked before.

Not having ever darkened Ibrox, is this one of the hospitality suites? Why would there be an after party in a level 3 area? FTP simply has no place in a modern Scotland and I am certainly not excusing it.

Torto7
16-05-2021, 10:29 PM
I don’t know how easy it is to change the audio on these things and wouldn’t have a clue how to check. These things have been faked before.

Not having ever darkened Ibrox, is this one of the hospitality suites? Why would there be an after party in a level 3 area? FTP simply has no place in a modern Scotland and I am certainly not excusing it.

They are challenging the Scottish Government deliberately. It's time they were dealt with. Threaten them or just close them down.

16-05-2021, 10:29 PM
Sectarianism for rangers and celtic is a marketing concept. The football clubs are the source of this behaviour and should be closed down if they can't or won't reign their fans in. Any other organisation that thrived on hate mongering would have been closed down years ago.

16-05-2021, 10:30 PM
That is truly disgusting (not surprising though, just disgusting).

Look who's front and centre in the clip, bouncing along and reveling in spewing out religious hatred....

Torto7
16-05-2021, 10:31 PM
Sectarianism for rangers and celtic is a marketing concept. The football clubs are the source of this behaviour and should be closed down if they can't or won't reign their fans in. Any other organisation that thrived on hate mongering would have been closed down years ago.

Let's keep this focused on Rangers just now. They clearly have a problem beyond anything you see at any other club including Celtic.

KingPat4
16-05-2021, 10:35 PM

The chance was there in 2012 to get rid of The Hun for ever, did not happen.

A bit like Trump when he said he could shoot someone in broad daylight and probably get away with it.

I've seen this for so long, i'm beyond despair.

:brickwall:brickwall

16-05-2021, 10:37 PM
Let's keep this focused on Rangers just now. They clearly have a problem beyond anything you see at any other club including Celtic.

No, Celtic are Yang to Ranger's Yin. They've both milked the sectarian cow for decades.

16-05-2021, 10:40 PM

Right you are.

I have seen warnings on TV about flares and smoke bombs there are some being sold that are dangerous hence the warnings from the police and others.
As an individual you have to be responsible for your own actions and the choices you make.

16-05-2021, 10:41 PM
No, Celtic are Yang to Ranger's Yin. They've both milked the sectarian cow for decades.

Can you post a clip of Celtic players singing a sectarian song?

The two cheeks stuff and all that, it just reinforces the status quo. I think it’s better to just deal with each on their own de- merits myself. Hun players singing **** the pope, not very clever. Says itall about the pervasive Hun sectarian culture still rife at Ibrox.

16-05-2021, 10:45 PM

Not wishing to paint Celtic as saints exactly, but this false equivalence rubbish has to stop.

Celtic need called out when they cross a line (which they do) but in general bad behaviour terms they aren't in the same league as Rangers.

16-05-2021, 10:49 PM
Not wishing to paint Celtic as saints exactly, but this false equivalence rubbish has to stop.

Celtic need called out when they cross a line (which they do) but in general bad behaviour terms they aren't in the same league as Rangers.

Spot on. There’s an unaddressed history of anti-catholic sentiment in Scotland.

16-05-2021, 10:54 PM
Are they singing FTP? The audio isn't great. If they were, they are about to be hit by a ****storm of criticism.

16-05-2021, 10:56 PM
Are they singing FTP? The audio isn't great. If they were, they are about to be hit by a ****storm of criticism.

The audio is bad enough that they'll probably be able to cobble together an excuse and squirm out of any sort of sanction, but anyone with enough functioning braincells working in unison knows that some of them will be singing it.

They certainly won't all have been, but it probably wouldn't take a great deal of figuring out to guess which ones were.

16-05-2021, 11:01 PM
Can you post a clip of Celtic players singing a sectarian song?

The two cheeks stuff and all that, it just reinforces the status quo. I think it’s better to just deal with each on their own de- merits myself. Hun players singing **** the pope, not very clever. Says itall about the pervasive Hun sectarian culture still rife at Ibrox.

https://youtu.be/wvk1OqfI-CM

16-05-2021, 11:03 PM

In football terms I despise Celtc otherwise this.

16-05-2021, 11:16 PM
The audio is bad enough that they'll probably be able to cobble together an excuse and squirm out of any sort of sanction, but anyone with enough functioning braincells working in unison knows that some of them will be singing it.

They certainly won't all have been, but it probably wouldn't take a great deal of figuring out to guess which ones were.

I don't think so - sounds clear as day to me and audio can be enhanced.

Whether he's singing along or not, the presence of Kamara bouncing away amidst his teammates singing FTP - only weeks after being at the centre of a racism storm in which he was the victim, shows the extent to which sectarianism is engrained in Rangers FC - as well as the gross hypocrisy of the club's stance of moral indignation over the whole episode.

Basically, if they think that's acceptable then morally they haven't got a leg to stand on regarding their racism case against Slavia Prague - what's good for the goose is good for the gander and all that!

16-05-2021, 11:17 PM

In any other country that would be the case but not in Scotland when it comes to Sevco. They and their fans have a free pass to behave as they wish. I think the fact we've not heard anything official from them about Saturday speaks volumes.

And as for the politicians, I vote SNP but I'm sick and tired of Sturgeon condemning things and then doing nothing about it. This will happen again if they win a trophy next season. What are the Scottish Government and police going to do about it?

Stairway 2 7
17-05-2021, 06:15 AM
I have seen warnings on TV about flares and smoke bombs there are some being sold that are dangerous hence the warnings from the police and others.
As an individual you have to be responsible for your own actions and the choices you make.

Boy looks about 18 the same age as the hibs fans that use them when they walk from roseburn to Tyne. I'd have used one myself when I was 18 and daft. It's up there with saying he took an E it was dodgy he deserved to die as he knew the dangers. Don't lower ourselves to that of the hun

17-05-2021, 06:21 AM
Fighting with police, fighting amongst themselves, vandalising public property, trashing up the town, loud and proud MAJORITY singing vile sectarian songs etc.

Did we seriously expect anything else from them?!

They’re ****, always have been and always will be. Scotland’s almighty shame.

17-05-2021, 06:22 AM

Totally agree. There are plenty of examples of Celtic fans behaving disgracefully but the Rangers track record from the early 60s when they acquired the name "huns" due to rioting in Newcastle to their Barcelona riot to Manchester to this weekend puts their thuggery on a whole different level. While they are institutionally co-dependent its a false narrative to say that Celtics record for public disorder is as bad as Rangers.

The unfortunate fact is that whatever criticism this latest behaviour and alleged player behaviour attracts, there's no willingness in Scotland at any level to tackle it.

17-05-2021, 07:12 AM

Unlike the guy who was rightly prosecuted for racially abusing Kamara
I’d like to think the authorities will apply the same balance of probability if this is not a scam video

17-05-2021, 07:26 AM

White, men. Historically the most privileged of the the human race, moaning at being victimised.

They have had the upper hand throughout history. The moment their is parity they batter each other with rage.

What school you bunked off from doesn’t matter as much any more. And an educated immigrant now just has the same chance as you.

Grow up, get educated and take responsibility.

17-05-2021, 07:36 AM
Boy looks about 18 the same age as the hibs fans that use them when they walk from roseburn to Tyne. I'd have used one myself when I was 18 and daft. It's up there with saying he took an E it was dodgy he deserved to die as he knew the dangers. Don't lower ourselves to that of the hun

A young man has suffered a severe life changing injury. The mental pain is going to be at least as bad as the physical pain, if not worse. I don’t care who he is, I hope he manages to come quickly to terms with it.

17-05-2021, 07:42 AM
The authorities will show they are dealing with this by coming down hard on any gatherings in Leith or Perth after this weeks final. This weekends events will all but be forgotten by the politicians by next week.

17-05-2021, 07:45 AM

That tweet has gone.

17-05-2021, 07:49 AM
That tweet has gone.

If it has disappeared from a Celtic supporting source it’s probably because it was faked.The fans might be an utter disgrace but the players aren’t that stupid.

17-05-2021, 07:57 AM
If it has disappeared from a Celtic supporting source it’s probably because it was faked.The fans might be an utter disgrace but the players aren’t that stupid.

I remember seeing the Rangers bus leaving Easter Road years ago and the players were singing the sash. 70s probably.

17-05-2021, 08:00 AM
https://youtu.be/wvk1OqfI-CM

THat link doesn't work for me. My key point is that whataboutery just plays into the hands of the perps of sectarianism?

Fighting with police, fighting amongst themselves, vandalising public property, trashing up the town, loud and proud MAJORITY singing vile sectarian songs etc.

Did we seriously expect anything else from them?!

They’re ****, always have been and always will be. Scotland’s almighty shame.

Sorry, you're speaking for yourself, sectarianism isn't "Scotland's shame". It's the union's shame, Rangers' shame, white protestant supremacist's shame.....

17-05-2021, 08:00 AM
I remember seeing the Rangers bus leaving Easter Road years ago and the players were singing the sash. 70s probably.

Back in the days when we were both teenagers then? We were singing Republican songs on the terraces at that time. :greengrin

17-05-2021, 08:16 AM

That is quite bizarre reading.

17-05-2021, 08:20 AM
Back in the days when we were both teenagers then? We were singing Republican songs on the terraces at that time. :greengrin

That was ok though. :greengrin

These were players.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 08:21 AM

It's still available on countless posts across Twitter - including here:

https://twitter.com/crainzo/status/1394193949359808513?s=19

17-05-2021, 08:21 AM
THat link doesn't work for me. My key point is that whataboutery just plays into the hands of the perps of sectarianism?

Sorry, you're speaking for yourself, sectarianism isn't "Scotland's shame". It's the union's shame, Rangers' shame, white protestant supremacist's shame.....

The only Whataboutery I can see is both sides of the divide blaming the other and a polarisation even amongst moderates that tend to turn a blind eye to one side but not the other.

As a Hibs fan I naturally find der der Hun much more disgusting and abhorrent than their ugly sister, simply because being a Hibs fan makes me a target of their vitriol, but I'm sure Hearts fans will tell you the same about Celtic fans.

As long as moderates on both sides are willing to accept the "they're worse than them" Whataboutery, then both sides will be able to continue their 17th century proxy war. Both these odious clubs blame the other and taking sides only confirms the stereotypes that they thrive on.

17-05-2021, 08:24 AM
I presume you mean the pro palistine demonstration in George Square.

Went off without any violence.

As far as Hampden is concerned there were 8000 seats, with 2m distancing this brought it down to the 600.

Yes ,but my point is why csn thousands gather for a march yet 600 ca t attend a football match.

IncredibleHibee
17-05-2021, 08:25 AM
I think the key point is finding out who has "goaded" the innocent Rangers fans in to doing such things. Maybe some over-exuberance....:na na:

17-05-2021, 08:26 AM
It's still available on countless posts across Twitter - including here:

https://twitter.com/crainzo/status/1394193949359808513?s=19

Of course it is , it will have been copied from the original source. It ain’t gonna go away now.

17-05-2021, 08:26 AM
The only Whataboutery I can see is both sides of the divide blaming the other and a polarisation even amongst moderates that tend to turn a blind eye to one side but not the other.

As a Hibs fan I naturally find der der Hun much more disgusting and abhorrent than their ugly sister, simply because being a Hibs fan makes me a target of their vitriol, but I'm sure Hearts fans will tell you the same about Celtic fans.

As long as moderates on both sides are willing to accept the "they're worse than them" Whataboutery, then both sides will be able to continue their 17th century proxy war. Both these odious clubs blame the other and taking sides only confirms the stereotypes that they thrive on.

You introduced whataboutery into the thread though? No one is really taking sides, we're discussing the horrific behaviour of Rangers fans, not that of Celtic.

17-05-2021, 08:28 AM

But we have now moved on .The Rangers are still not prepared to address this issue seriously ,and fans know they can continue to act in this way as no recriminations against them

17-05-2021, 08:28 AM
Yes ,but my point is why csn thousands gather for a march yet 600 ca t attend a football match.

Because there is an organisation that runs football and has to stay within the laws and there are groups of people who congregated at George Square to voice their opinions who answer to nobody.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 08:30 AM

I took part in the Palestinian demonstration yesterday in Glasgow, and watched as gangs of the Green Brigade attempted to hijack the event by sticking Celtic stickers on to everything they passed, waving Celtic flags, graffiti on anything they felt needed ruined.

These ********s aren't interested in injustice etc, they just want to see everything through the prism of the odious institutions that they support.

It's absolutely pathetic that every waking moment of their lives (on both sides) is influenced entirely by what football team they support.

17-05-2021, 08:30 AM
You introduced whataboutery into the thread though? No one is really taking sides, we're discussing the horrific behaviour of Rangers fans, not that of Celtic.

And that behaviour has its route source in sectarianism. Get rid of the sectarianism then you get rid of the biggest driving force behind their odious behaviour. But you can't do that by turning a blind eye to the other arse cheek.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 08:31 AM
Of course it is , it will have been copied from the original source. It ain’t gonna go away now.

Do we know who the original source is?

17-05-2021, 08:35 AM
That was ok though. :greengrin

These were players.

I actually have no problem with the Sash. It wasn’t on the prohibited song list that came out a few years back. Sung without the shouted add ons it doesn’t come close to being as offensive as their truly rancid anti-Catholic songs. It’s a jaunty wee tune as well, dammit. :greengrin

17-05-2021, 08:38 AM
I took part in the Palestinian demonstration yesterday in Glasgow, and watched as gangs of the Green Brigade attempted to hijack the event by sticking Celtic stickers on to everything they passed, waving Celtic flags, graffiti on anything they felt needed ruined.

These ********s aren't interested in injustice etc, they just want to see everything through the prism of the odious institutions that they support.

It's absolutely pathetic that every waking moment of their lives (on both sides) are influenced entirely by what football team they support.

:agree: They feed off each other. Pointing the finger at one side and not the other only confirms their irrational belief that they're the victims and not the perpetrators.

17-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Part of the issue is people coming outwith the nonsense about "two checks of the same arse" and such pish. Rangers fans are clearly and continually by far the worst behaved in the country with their blatant sectarianism and violence.

Aslong as fans of other clubs give Rangers this get out clause of whatabouttery this will continue.

17-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Do we know who the original source is?

No idea.
I’ve watched it and I really don’t think they are singing FTP though I can see why others would. If it originated as a til tok video then there is real doubt about that being the original soundtrack anyway. I will be extremely unhappy to be proved wrong, I really hope it is fake, I don’t want the muppets who follow them being given any more green lights to continue coming out with their bile.

17-05-2021, 08:41 AM
:agree: They feed off each other. Pointing the finger at one side and not the other only confirms their irrational belief that they're the victims and not the perpetrators.

Waving flags and putting stickers on things is hardly comparable to running battles between their own fans including cracking glass bottles off each others heads, smashing shops, attacking police and ambulance staff and pissing and ****ting all over the street is it?

Absolutely no comparison at all between those two sets of behaviour.

17-05-2021, 08:41 AM
I actually have no problem with the Sash. It wasn’t on the prohibited song list that came out a few years back. Sung without the shouted add ons it doesn’t come close to being as offensive as their truly rancid anti-Catholic songs. It’s a jaunty wee tune as well, dammit. :greengrin

That's like saying the republican songs were ok because they weren't anti protestant, well not all of them.

It's what's behind the singing and the reason for it that makes it appalling.

17-05-2021, 08:42 AM
Is that Kamara in that video? THE Glen Kamara rightly condemning the racist abuse of Rangers players and the tokenistic action of the authorities to racism? THAT Kamara now jumping up and down singing **** the pope? Jeez, what a hypocrite.:rolleyes:

17-05-2021, 08:46 AM

You point the finger at both sides, but you're not surprised when you find yourself pointing the finger at one side much more frequently and for offences of greater severity.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 08:47 AM
Waving flags and putting stickers on things is hardly comparable to running battles between their own fans, smashing shops, attacking police and ambulance staff and pissing and ****ting all over the street is it?

Absolutely no comparison at all between those two sets of behaviour.

I agree about the violence element, but the mindset of the individuals involved isn't too far apart.

How warped do you need to be to think the Palestinian cause is to do with Celtic FC?

There is nothing both sides won't hijack in their attempt to portray their stinking institutions as some sort of moral defender.

17-05-2021, 08:48 AM
That's like saying the republican songs were ok because they weren't anti protestant, well not all of them.

No, it's like saying we have the common sense to recognise and address each part of the problem on it's own merits.

The visible presence of sectarianism on our streets is considerably weighted towards the Hun hordes. The barely concealed hate organisation that is the Orange Order parade their agenda with impunity.

Anyone arguing the two cheeks stuff is misguided and plays into the hands of the haters. It legitimises the status quo.

17-05-2021, 08:49 AM
Part of the issue is people coming outwith the nonsense about "two checks of the same arse" and such pish. Rangers fans are clearly and continually by far the worst behaved in the country with their blatant sectarianism and violence.

Aslong as fans of other clubs give Rangers this get out clause of whatabouttery this will continue.

I don't think anyone will disagree with your point about Rangers having the worst fans in the country. Pointing that out is a no brainer. But if it's a solution you're looking for then both sides of the Glasgow/Sectarian divide need to be held to account. Celtic and Rangers attract followers from all over the country in a way no other Scottish clubs can compete with because they have both historically taken a Sectarian marketing strategy.

17-05-2021, 08:52 AM
No, it's like saying we have the common sense to recognise and address each part of the problem on it's own merits.

The visible presence of sectarianism on our streets is considerably weighted towards the Hun hordes. The barely concealed hate organisation that is the Orange Order parade their hate agenda with impunity.

Anyone arguing the two cheeks stuff is misguided and plays into the hands of the haters. It legitimises the status quo.

Eh?

M59 said he didn't mind the sash.

17-05-2021, 08:54 AM

The visible presence of sectarianism on our streets is considerably weighted towards the Hun hordes. The barely concealed hate organisation that is the Orange Order parade their agenda with impunity.

It does nothing of the sort, instead it realises that any solution needs to address both sides in any conflict.

17-05-2021, 08:57 AM
I agree about the violence element, but the mindset of the individuals involved isn't too far apart.

How warped do you need to be to think the Palestinian cause is to do with Celtic FC?

There is nothing both sides won't hijack in their attempt to portray their stinking institutions as some sort of moral defender.

I'll be honest and saying it doesn't really bother me at all that Celtic fans think they are somehow linked with the Palestinian cause. It's daft but at the end of the day people are free to think that if they want. I don't agree with it but in the grand scheme of things it's not really all that damaging to anyone.

What does bother me is an innocent bystander potentially getting seriously hurt and wounded by flying glass objects during running battles,shops having to lose money by being told to close early for their own safety ,our emergency services personal being spat on and physically attacked and open and blatant anti Catholic sectarianism being displayed in full view of Scotland's biggest city.

17-05-2021, 09:00 AM
You point the finger at both sides, but you're not surprised when you find yourself pointing the finger at one side much more frequently and for offences of greater severity.

In your words, I found myself quite recently pointing my finger at Celtic fans attacking their own team bus and assaulting police at the height of a global pandemic before vaccines were in circulation.

17-05-2021, 09:01 AM
It does nothing of the sort, instead it realises that any solution needs to address both sides in any conflict.

Sorry, but beg to differ.

Have to say, I'm unaware of massed republican bands turning the streets of our towns and villages into a mini Ulster every July. From my perspective, It's a pretty one sided problem ( I wouldn't call it conflict, that demeans those who actually have to live in war zones, like the Palestinians).

We could maybe start by not allowing the Orange Order to parade on our streets?

17-05-2021, 09:02 AM

Some of the Republican songs were OK. Some weren’t. I agree with your last sentence, it’s a pity lessons weren’t learned on the West Coast when it came to making the songs unacceptable on the terracing as happened at Hibs.
It has to be fan lead from within, preaching from the outside just makes people dig their heels in. I’ve always felt that instead of just repeatedly condemning the entire Rangers support fans from other clubs should be reaching out to the many decent Rangers supporters there are to work with them. There’s always good guys to be found willing to bring about real change.
You may say I’m a dreamer.........:greengrin

17-05-2021, 09:03 AM
In your words, I found myself quite recently pointing my finger at Celtic fans attacking their own team bus and assaulting police at the height of a global pandemic before vaccines were in circulation.

Classic whataboutery. No one applauded those events, but they hardly compare to what took place at the weekend.

17-05-2021, 09:07 AM

Have to say, I'm unaware of massed republican bands turning the streets of our towns and villages into a mini Ulster every July. From my perspective, It's a pretty one sided problem ( I wouldn't call it conflict, that demeans those who actually have to live in war zones, like the Palestinians).

We can at least agree on that, banning Orange Walks would be at the top of my list. I'd go further and list the Orange Order as a hate organisation, it serves no other purpose.

17-05-2021, 09:11 AM
Classic whataboutery. No one applauded those events, but they hardly compare to what took place at the weekend.

I disagree, they're all too similar. Both events were an utter disgrace. Doesn't make one more acceptable than the other, unless of course you hold a bias towards or against one side.

17-05-2021, 09:12 AM

Yep, they were bang out of order.

Still quite a few levels below what we saw at the weekend but still worthy of criticism and needing highlighted.

17-05-2021, 09:16 AM
We can at least agree on that, banning Orange Walks would be at the top of my list. I'd go further and list the Orange Order as a hate organisation, it serves no other purpose.

Me too.

I disagree, they're all too similar. Both events were an utter disgrace. Doesn't make one more acceptable than the other, unless of course you hold a bias towards or against one side.

No one is saying either is acceptable. However, most of us recognise problems of scale and pervasiveness as a factor in the equation.

17-05-2021, 09:17 AM
I was convinced they were singing it on first few listens

Now, I'm not too sure

https://twitter.com/83boabobski/status/1394216894547308547?s=19

https://twitter.com/afgavinstan/status/1394215510150197248?s=19

17-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Yep, they were bang out of order.

Still quite a few levels below what we saw at the weekend but still worthy of criticism and needing highlighted.

Yip. It shouldn't happened and they were rightfully condemned at the time.

Can't for the life of me see how anyone can compare what happened then to what's went on over the weekend though.

Rangers win the league and then go on to riot in their home city, smashing things up and attacking paramedics amongst other things and we have Hibs supporters going "aye but remember a few months back Celtic did this". That is exactly the problem here.

17-05-2021, 09:19 AM
We can at least agree on that, banning Orange Walks would be at the top of my list. I'd go further and list the Orange Order as a hate organisation, it serves no other purpose.your spot on its hate driven no other need for it. We won’t ever get rid of it as it’s ingrained in our society so we just have to suck it up.

17-05-2021, 09:26 AM
If that video is edited, it is a masterclass in audio mixing. The number 13 throws up his arm and gives the middle finger as second FTP is blasted out. (Everyone surely knows the added line in the song favoured by Rangers fans)

I don’t think it’s outlandish to suggest a hate crime has taken place during official Rangers celebrations, and really shows the club up for what it is. The kind of behaviour that actively encourages the scenes witnessed at weekend by their fans. It’ll be passed off as fake and will be some lip service to reiterate their efforts claiming the club distances itself from anti catholic bigotry and we all move on till the next example of sectarian behaviour and the police and Scottish government go round in circles again sweeping it under the carpet.

17-05-2021, 09:28 AM
Yip. It shouldn't happened and they were rightfully condemned at the time.

Can't for the life of me see how anyone can compare what's happened then to what's went on over the weekend though.

Rangers win the league and then go on to riot in their home city, smashing things up and attacking paramedics amongst other things and we have Hibs supporters going "aye but remember a few months back Celtic did this". That is exactly the problem here.

So to summarise, people like myself who see the Sectarian problem in Scottish football as 2 odious factions rather than a one sided problem are the problem. I guess we'll have to disagree.

17-05-2021, 09:30 AM
Some of the Republican songs were OK. Some weren’t. I agree with your last sentence, it’s a pity lessons weren’t learned on the West Coast when it came to making the songs unacceptable on the terracing as happened at Hibs.
It has to be fan lead from within, preaching from the outside just makes people dig their heels in. I’ve always felt that instead of just repeatedly condemning the entire Rangers support fans from other clubs should be reaching out to the many decent Rangers supporters there are to work with them. There’s always good guys to be found willing to bring about real change.
You may say I’m a dreamer.........:greengrinI was told by Rangers supporter that if anyone tried to organise against the sectarianism from within the fanbase their lives would at risk from those who want it continue.

At the moment I'm wishing they'd win the League every day. They'd soon wipe each other out.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

17-05-2021, 09:33 AM

The stats back it up. The link I posted earlier shows how many more Orange/Loyalist marches there are in comparison to Republican marches (which barely scrape into double figures). If you took a lead from the media you would be forgiven for thinking the numbers were largely similar.

Likewise when it comes to religiously aggravated offences Catholics are the victims in almost 70% of cases. That's despite making up only about 15% of the population.

It's not really as deep rooted an issue as it once was in the establishments of Scotland. However there is still a societal problem were Catholics are seen as 'fair game'. When tackling racism, xenophobia other than of the anti Irish type, Islamaphobia or the like is there ever a concerted campaign to provide balance? I never see any of the aforementioned called 'two cheeks' because some black people don't like white people, some Muslims are anti semite or some Poles don't like Germans. We accept that the hatred or discrimination that flows one way massively outweighs what comes the other. When considering religious bigotry in Scottish society and Scottish football anti Catholic bigotry perpetuated by people who are, nominally at any rate, Protestants, is the dominant problem.

17-05-2021, 09:33 AM
your spot on its hate driven no other need for it. We won’t ever get rid of it as it’s ingrained in our society so we just have to suck it up.

That's just a bit defeatist. Society and attitudes have changed enormously during my lifetime. Just as well too (think domestic violence, casual racism, homophobia, attitudes to disabilities etc... ).

17-05-2021, 09:35 AM
The stats back it up. The link I posted earlier shows how many more Orange/Loyalist marches there are in comparison to Republican marches (which barely scrape into double figures). If you took a lead from the media you would be forgiven for thinking the numbers were largely similar.

Likewise when it comes to religiously aggravated offences Catholics are the victims in almost 70% of cases. That's despite making up only about 15% of the population.

It's not really as deep rooted an issue as it once was in the establishments of Scotland. However there is still a societal problem were Catholics are seen as 'fair game'. When tackling racism, xenophobia other than of the anti Irish type, Islamaphobia or the like is there ever a concerted campaign to provide balance? I never see any of the aforementioned called 'two cheeks' because some black people don't like white people, some Muslims are anti semite or some Poles don't like Germans. We accept that the hatred or discrimination that flows one way massively outweighs what comes the other. When considering religious bigotry in Scottish society and Scottish football anti Catholic bigotry perpetuated by people who are, nominally at any rate, Protestants, is the dominant problem.

Very well summed up.

17-05-2021, 09:35 AM
So to summarise, people like myself who see the Sectarian problem in Scottish football as 2 odious factions rather than a one sided problem are the problem. I guess we'll have to disagree.

|See below for why the two cheeks attitude is blinkered and part of the problem.

Thank you for an erudite explanation. It's not really that hard for those who have removed the blinkers to grasp this.

17-05-2021, 09:42 AM
I was convinced they were singing it on first few listens

Now, I'm not too sure

https://twitter.com/83boabobski/status/1394216894547308547?s=19

https://twitter.com/afgavinstan/status/1394215510150197248?s=19

I was aswell but now pretty certain it's been dubbed. It would be an easy one to edit given you can't really see any of the players faces.

And as much as I despise the club, I'd be very surprised if some of the players in that video would be singing that stuff.

17-05-2021, 09:45 AM
I was aswell but now pretty certain it's been dubbed. It would be an easy one to edit given you can't really see any of the players faces.

And as much as I despise the club, I'd be very surprised if some of the players in that video would be singing that stuff.

Are there not Catholics in their squad? I think Gerard's wife is Catholic.

17-05-2021, 09:45 AM
That's just a bit defeatist. Society and attitudes have changed enormously during my lifetime. Just as well too (think domestic violence, casual racism, homophobia, attitudes to disabilities etc... ).

Society has actually moved on immeasurably for the better.

Those who have been left behind stand out more than ever.

Stairway 2 7
17-05-2021, 09:46 AM
There's not been a game in my life against celtic I've been to that they haven't been blasting sectarian *****. Aye one might be worse but they are both sectarian filth best left in another century. Problem is some of the old hibs fans still think its the 70s and are all about the pro ira pish too. Thankfully the majority of young hibs fans couldn't be bothered there erse and are just interested in hibs

17-05-2021, 09:51 AM
There's not been a game in my life against celtic I've been to that they haven't been blasting sectarian *****. Aye one might be worse but they are both sectarian filth best left in another century. Problem is some of the old hibs fans still think its the 70s and are all about the pro ira pish too. Thankfully the majority of young hibs fans couldn't be bothered there erse and are just interested in hibs

Why is the problem not the young fans who are not in the majority, just the minority of older fans?

The majority of young fans and the majority of older fans aren't pro-IRA.

green leaves
17-05-2021, 09:55 AM

Name me a sectarian song the diets sing?

17-05-2021, 09:59 AM

I don't think I've ever read a pro-IRA post on here, ever.

There are many, many posts condemning sectarianism though.

I was around and going to football in the 70's. I would have sung rebel songs and given it all the FTQ and IRA all the way stuff, but I didn't believe any of it, I was just a daft teenager who enjoyed baiting the Hun. I grew up and grew out of that, just like 99% of all Hibs fans. They were troubled times in society and football reflected this.

17-05-2021, 10:05 AM
Name me an sectarian song the diets sing?

Who are the diets?

Hearts?

green leaves
17-05-2021, 10:06 AM
Who are the diets?

Hearts?

Celtc aka the tribute act

17-05-2021, 10:09 AM
Celtc aka the tribute act

I thought the term was diet Huns.

If it's Celtc, how about;

"North men south men, comrades all
Soon there'll be no protestants at all"? :wink:

17-05-2021, 10:11 AM

What are these sectarian songs Celtic fans sing? I see them referenced a lot but never any specific examples given.. They sing plenty dubious ***** that doesn't belong in a Scottish football stadium but with the exception of the 'sad orange *******' stuff in the Monkees terracing classic I can't think of any of their repertoire which is explicitly sectarian.

green leaves
17-05-2021, 10:14 AM

Diet Hibs?the tribute act etc really annoys them lol
OK that's not a song I'm aware of but is sectarian. Too many ppl think the rebel songs are sectarian,they're offensive and have no place in a scottiah football ground but on mo way shape or form sectarian.

Stairway 2 7
17-05-2021, 10:14 AM
I don't think I've ever read a pro-IRA post on here, ever.

There are many, many posts condemning sectarianism though.

I was around and going to football in the 70's. I would have sung rebel songs and given it all the FTQ and IRA all the way stuff, but I didn't believe any of it, I was just a daft teenager who enjoyed baiting the Hun. I grew up and grew out of that, just like 99% of all Hibs fans. They were troubled times in society and football reflected this.

That's the point their isn't enough anti ira songs chat, plenty anti the rangers bigotry ( quite rightly). You saying I sung it but didn't believe it is what alot of the fans of the old firm say. It's baiting its weekend bigotry ect. I'm fed up of both sides pish . Tell them drop 3 points every time sectarianism is sung, it would be gone at football in a month

17-05-2021, 10:15 AM

Never heard Celtic fans sign that song in my life. Certainly not in the last 25 odd years or so I've been attending football.

Hannah_hfc
17-05-2021, 10:18 AM
https://twitter.com/scottishfa/status/1394231696665554944?s=21

Statement issued by Rod Petrie, Scottish FA President:

The Scottish FA congratulates Rangers on winning the Scottish Premiership title.

While the majority of the club’s fan base will have celebrated this achievement safely and in line with COVID-19 guidelines across the country and beyond, the scenes witnessed in and around Glasgow’s George Square have brought embarrassment to the national game.

Scenes that require the First Minister, Justice Secretary, Police Scotland and the Scottish Police Federation to issue condemnatory statements, and images that dominated the news agenda throughout the weekend, represent an abomination not a celebration.

Those responsible for sectarian singing, for vandalism and for inflicting physical damage may attach themselves to football but cannot be considered football fans. Police Scotland have made a number of arrests and more are expected to follow.

The Scottish FA has recently issued its equality diversity and inclusion strategy, Football Unites. Events on Saturday at George Square served only to depict our game in the poorest light and we condemn the behaviour in the strongest terms.

We empathise with fans who have been deprived of attending matches throughout this pandemic. That, however, does not excuse the behaviour of those who brought chaos to the streets in the name of football this weekend.

Bit of a nothing statement from Rod at the SFA although I’m not surprised. Condemning behaviour in a statement doesn’t stop the thug ‘fans’ doing it but as long as they’ve ticked the box of saying something...

17-05-2021, 10:22 AM
Never heard Celtic fans sign that song in my life. Certainly not in the last 25 odd years or so I've been attending football.

It's a Wolfe Tones song with altered lyrics, but you've had this conversation before. :greengrin

17-05-2021, 10:28 AM
What are these sectarian songs Celtic fans sing? I see them referenced a lot but never any specific examples given.. They sing plenty dubious ***** that doesn't belong in a Scottish football stadium but with the exception of the 'sad orange *******' stuff in the Monkees terracing classic I can't think of any of their repertoire which is explicitly sectarian.

I know it’s been done to death, but I don’t see any difference between the roots of what Celtc & Rangers fans sing. One is more overtly sectarian the other is more “political” but in their world it all amounts to the same thing. The starting point (and end point) for both is to view the world through a warped religious prism.

17-05-2021, 10:30 AM
That's the point their isn't enough anti ira songs chat, plenty anti the rangers bigotry ( quite rightly). You saying I sung it but didn't believe it is what alot of the fans of the old firm say. It's baiting its weekend bigotry ect. I'm fed up of both sides pish . Tell them drop 3 points every time sectarianism is sung, it would be gone at football in a month

Yes, and I also said I was a teenager and that it was forty years ago and that times and society have changed enormously .

Did you read the comments from myself and others about the implications of burying your head in the sand whataboutery and comments on the extent, scale and the very different nature of the problems?

Let's just keep the focus on what happened in Glasgow this weekend and not play into the hands of the always been apologists. Each situation on it's own de-merits is the best approach.

17-05-2021, 10:38 AM
Are there not Catholics in their squad? I think Gerard's wife is Catholic.

Was Souness wife not a catholic, Mo Johnstone? That squad loved a wee sectarian sing song.

Certainly one I have heard but maybe right not for sometime.

Stairway 2 7
17-05-2021, 10:46 AM
Yes, and I also said I was a teenager and that it was forty years ago and that times and society have changed enormously .

Did you read the comments from myself and others about the implications of burying your head in the sand whataboutery and comments on the extent, scale and the very different nature of the problems?

Let's just keep the focus on what happened in Glasgow this weekend and not play into the hands of the always been apologists. Each situation on it's own de-merits is the best approach.

I agree that through here people seem to grow out of it from the dark days, maybe people like yourself teaching their kids broke the chain. Where as through there it's no just daft kids. The daft kids thing is an easy excuse for them but there was all ages in the videos sadly from the weekend

EI255
17-05-2021, 10:48 AM
Good luck to all the shop owners and public in Easter Road next time the Blue Filth visit us.

17-05-2021, 10:59 AM

The Scottish FA congratulates Rangers on winning the Scottish Premiership title.

While the majority of the club’s fan base will have celebrated this achievement safely and in line with COVID-19 guidelines across the country and beyond, the scenes witnessed in and around Glasgow’s George Square have brought embarrassment to the national game.

Scenes that require the First Minister, Justice Secretary, Police Scotland and the Scottish Police Federation to issue condemnatory statements, and images that dominated the news agenda throughout the weekend, represent an abomination not a celebration.

Those responsible for sectarian singing, for vandalism and for inflicting physical damage may attach themselves to football but cannot be considered football fans. Police Scotland have made a number of arrests and more are expected to follow.

The Scottish FA has recently issued its equality diversity and inclusion strategy, Football Unites. Events on Saturday at George Square served only to depict our game in the poorest light and we condemn the behaviour in the strongest terms.

We empathise with fans who have been deprived of attending matches throughout this pandemic. That, however, does not excuse the behaviour of those who brought chaos to the streets in the name of football this weekend.

While on the surface this might seem a condemnatory statement its typical SFA sit on the fencery. The bit in bold will be pounced on by every hun aplogist throughout all areas of the media and beyond. I can already hear Derek Ferguson and Chick Young on Sportsound quoting it saying the weekends disorder wasnt real Rangers fans. Rodders and the SFA are too scared to say its typical hun behaviour and have presented The Rangers and their their apologists wth the traditional get out of jail card.

17-05-2021, 11:06 AM
People can talk about 2 cheeks etc all they like but mass trouble involving a Scottish team is *always* them. I can't remember the last big amount of bother involving Celtc or anyone else in Scottish football.

Quite apart from the racist, sectarian thing, they have a huge problem with the mentality of the section of their support that sees triumph in wrecking wherever they happen to be: Glasgow, Manchester, Barcelona, Birmingham, etc, etc.

17-05-2021, 11:11 AM
We used to get the “not proper fans” stuff in reference to football casuals, when in fact they are fans who go every week.

It’s a weak excuse and attempt of distancing clubs from supporters, or rather certain sections of their supporters.

To get the ball truly rolling in an effort to wipe out sectarianism the authority’s in the light of this latest example have to accept that those people are first and foremost Rangers supporters. No if’s or but’s.

17-05-2021, 11:12 AM
Statement out by The Rangers now. Full house on statement bingo:

55th title
In our 150th year
Small minority of people
Have besmirched the good name of RFC

17-05-2021, 11:12 AM

Agree with all of that in the context of our wider society. However we're talking about 2 football clubs that are anything but a microcosm of our wider society. 2 clubs who have courted the different sides of the Sectarian divide resulting in a concentration of our societies Sectarian problem and not a mirror of it. 2 clubs that have for decades sold their brand on the narrative that if you are Catholic you're Celtic and if you're Protestant then you're Rangers resulting in a polarisation of both communities. They've even tried to branch out into other Sectarian divides like Palestinian v Israeli or Pakistani v Indian. Their business model has been based on hate and their customers lap it up.

IMO Rangers are the most odious of the 2 for 2 reasons, 1. I'm a Hibby so attract their vitriol and 2. they have a larger pool to draw their extremists from, however both clubs are as guilty as each other for creating the environment we have in Scottish football.

In the larger community no one in their right minds would try to provide balance by saying things like "all lives matter", that's just whataboutery, but when discussing sectarianism in Scottish football you'd be an idiot to ignore that 2 clubs have been complicit in their exploitation of sectarianism and thrive on it. They are the route cause and compliment each other nicely.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 11:13 AM

While on the surface this might seem a condemnatory statement its typical SFA sit on the fencery. The bit in bold will be pounced on by every hun aplogist throughout all areas of the media and beyond. I can already hear Derek Ferguson and Chick Young on Sportsound quoting it saying the weekends disorder wasnt real Rangers fans. Rodders and the SFA are too scared to say its typical hun behaviour and have presented The Rangers and their their apologists wth the traditional get out of jail card.

Just the age-old, tiresome tick box exercise employed by the government, law enforcement and governing bodies in this country.

There will be no action taken by any of them, and the next time Rangers fans do this (there will be a next time) we'll go through this perpetual cycle once again.

There is simply no will, by those in power, to deal with this.

That's the sad truth.

17-05-2021, 11:13 AM

55th title
In our 150th year
Small minority of people

A police spokesman talked of “the good name of Rangers FC” on the radio this morning. Kind of highlights what we are up against.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 11:16 AM
A police spokesman talked of “the good name of Rangers FC” on the radio this morning. Kind of highlights what we are up against.

Yes, I heard that too.

Gives you an idea of what you're dealing with when this is the response of a police spokesman.

Chorley Hibee
17-05-2021, 11:18 AM

55th title
In our 150th year
Small minority of people

Just read it and it's frankly laughable how little condemnation there is.

They spent more space talking about their achievements than condemnation.

They're laughing at us all.

55th title
In our 150th year
Small minority of people

LOLZ - "good name of RFC" :faf:

That's a belter that one!

Just the age-old, tiresome tick box exercise employed by the government, law enforcement and governing bodies in this country.

There will be no action taken by any of them, and the next time Rangers fans do this (there will be a next time) we'll go through this perpetual cycle once again.

There is simply no will, by those in power, to deal with this.

That's the sad truth.

Out of all the Rangers fans that I know, very few of them attend matches. I know a dozen or so guys from the Glasgow area who, if you ask them, will tell you that they're Rangers supporters. The most any of them will go to is 1 or 2 matches per season.

Out of those (correctly) celebrating Hibs 2016 SC win on the streets & at the links the following day, how many are regular attenders at ER?

So it's easy to criticise, talk about soundbites and box-ticking exercises - but maybe what is being said is correct.

17-05-2021, 11:23 AM
"These so called “fans” should reflect upon the values and ethos of our club"

Pretty sure that's exactly what they were doing at the weekend.

17-05-2021, 11:23 AM

55th title
In our 150th year
Small minority of people

I really love how insecure they are about the fact their club died. Absolutely everything they put out has to weirdly reinforce their view that they're the same club, in some very forced, inorganic way. It's made for some really weird slogans, statements, and phrasing that doesn't make any real sense or hold significance - but for the fact they're all so conscious and deeply upset about the fact they support a team established in 2012.

Delicious.

17-05-2021, 11:25 AM
Out of all the Rangers fans that I know, very few of them attend matches. I know a dozen or so guys from the Glasgow area who, if you ask them, will tell you that they're Rangers supporters. The most any of them will go to is 1 or 2 matches per season.

Out of those (correctly) celebrating Hibs 2016 SC win on the streets & at the links the following day, how many are regular attenders at ER?

So it's easy to criticise, talk about soundbites and box-ticking exercises - but maybe what is being said is correct.

Funnily enough, the Huns (old ones) are the only club I know ex-fans of. One of my wife's cousins, because he married a RC girl, and one because he just decided he couldn't stand the poison of their away support. He's from Greenock so he started following Morton instead.

So the only good Huns are ex-Huns. :greengrin

Actually, I have one good friend who I count as the exception that proves the rule. He had a ST at Ibrox for years with his Dad. Some ingrained things are hard to break.

17-05-2021, 11:26 AM

Rangers love to tell anyone who will listen that they are a huge club with a huge fan base the world over. They have more than 50,000 fans who make up the attendees of any given week. They can’t now start to pick and choose which ones they consider to be fans because it suits in this instance. They’ll be happy to sell them their garish 55 commemorative merch as soon as all this has died down.

17-05-2021, 11:27 AM
I really love how insecure they are about the fact their club died. Absolutely everything they put out has to weirdly reinforce their view that they're the same club, in some very forced, inorganic way. It's made for some really weird slogans, statements, and phrasing that doesn't make any real sense or hold significance - but for the fact they're all so conscious and deeply upset about the fact they support a team established in 2012.

Delicious.

They draw attention to it all the time. Paper thin skinned.

17-05-2021, 11:27 AM
People can talk about 2 cheeks etc all they like but mass trouble involving a Scottish team is *always* them. I can't remember the last big amount of bother involving Celtc or anyone else in Scottish football.

Quite apart from the racist, sectarian thing, they have a huge problem with the mentality of the section of their support that sees triumph in wrecking wherever they happen to be: Glasgow, Manchester, Barcelona, Birmingham, etc, etc.

I agree with what you're saying. Both teams have idiots and thugs in their support, but The Rangers do appear to have a larger, more aggressive group.

I always recall walking down York Place after a game in the 80s against the Old Rangers that we won 2-0 and I couldn't believe how angry their fans were in the bus. They were like animals shouting at me.

17-05-2021, 11:28 AM
Funnily enough, the Huns (old ones) are the only club I know ex-fans of. One of my wife's cousins, because he married a RC girl, and one because he just decided he couldn't stand the poison of their away support. He's from Greenock so he started following Morton instead.

So the only good Huns are ex-Huns. :greengrin

Actually, I have one good friend who I count as the exception that proves the rule. He had a ST at Ibrox for years with his Dad. Some ingrained things are hard to break.

Same for me. Apart from the "huns" I know who are openly against all that crap, I know a couple of guys who used to attend matchs but stopped because of the sectarian stuff - when asked what team they support they both say that they used to support Rangers.

17-05-2021, 11:28 AM

Delicious.

Love to wind up their fans by calling them The Rangers

It really boils their pish

Shudnae have let your club die then! :greengrin

17-05-2021, 11:31 AM

Absolutely spot on. The 2 cheeks of the same erse excuse comes to the huns rescue every time. It means their fans get away with their sectarian wrecking parades time after time.

What happened yesterday and several weeks ago has naff all to do with Celtic or any other club. Rangers and their bigoted fans are in the dock and they should be hammered for what happened.

17-05-2021, 11:37 AM
Has it been confirmed whether or not the Rangers players were involved in sectarian singing?

17-05-2021, 11:40 AM
https://twitter.com/scottishfa/status/1394231696665554944?s=21

Bit of a nothing statement from Rod at the SFA although I’m not surprised. Condemning behaviour in a statement doesn’t stop the thug ‘fans’ doing it but as long as they’ve ticked the box of saying something...

That statement is an absolute cop-out. Head in the sand stuff.

Victor
17-05-2021, 11:46 AM
Absolutely spot on. The 2 cheeks of the same erse excuse comes to the huns rescue every time. It means their fans get away with their sectarian wrecking parades time after time.

What happened yesterday and several weeks ago has naff all to do with Celtic or any other club. Rangers and their bigoted fans are in the dock and they should be hammered for what happened.

Agree. Roman Catholics are a minority group in Scotland. When large numbers of Irish Catholics arrived in Scotland, in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, they became a persecuted group throughout the UK. The brand of Protestantism promoted by a proportion of the Rangers support, continues this persecution. The pro-nationalist element of the Celtic support arises through their perception of this persecution. If they did not feel persecuted, or in some cases, discriminated against, it would cease. It is the continuing sectarian behaviour from some Rangers fans and organisations such as the Orange Order, that cause the problem, not the actions of the minority group.

17-05-2021, 11:51 AM
I am confused about what people want the SFA statement to say?

Whatever they say is relating to something they have no control over - hence everything they say is pointless................but they need to say something.

It is also reasonable (on the basis of the 15000 there) to suggest that it WAS a minority of Sevco fans.

I mean, I despise them as much as the next person but if Rodders came out and said that all Rangers fans are racist sectarian thugs I suspect that he personally and the SFA would be on the end of legal action.

What needs to happen is some form of strict liability so that the SPFL can dock them points for singing in their own and others stadiums - but we have been down this road before and none of the clubs will sign up for it so its flogging a dead horse.

17-05-2021, 11:52 AM
I am confused about what people want the SFA statement to say?

Whatever they say is relating to something they have no control over - hence everything they say is pointless................but they need to say something.

It is also reasonable (on the basis of the 15000 there) to suggest that it WAS a minority of Sevco fans.

I mean, I despise them as much as the next person but if Rodders came out and said that all Rangers fans are racist sectarian thugs I suspect that he personally and the SFA would be on the end of legal action.

What needs to happen is some form of strict liability so that the SPFL can dock them points for singing in their own and others stadiums - but we have been down this road before and none of the clubs will sign up for it so its flogging a dead horse.