View Full Version : Glasgow tonight/Rangers fans
15-05-2021, 09:50 PM
There’s too many threads end up as arguments on here these days.
You can count the ones that don’t on the fing........
15-05-2021, 09:50 PM
I think I might have been guilty of mentioning Steps in this context, where the original was some reference to Line of Duty I think? So that bad joke was my bad [emoji16]Maybe, I've no idea.
As I say, for me H is Harry Cross from Brookside.
15-05-2021, 09:51 PM
It's pretty astonishing that I merit so much attention,
Ooooh, that’s true,
15-05-2021, 09:52 PM
Neither. Just got a different opinion from you. And your clique. Ganging up onna lifelong hibby who goes homeband away, donates, buys merch the lot.
Do me a favour
**** offAw diddums.
Try not insulting people - they'll probably treat you differently.
15-05-2021, 09:52 PM
No there’s not.
15-05-2021, 09:53 PM
No there’s not.
Aye there is x infinity no comebacks:na na::na na:
1875godsgift
15-05-2021, 09:55 PM
:slipper:
15-05-2021, 09:55 PM
What a mess this thread is. Could we just delete it and pretend it never happened?
15-05-2021, 09:56 PM
Aw diddums.
Try not insulting people - they'll probably treat you differently.
Haha. Again you dont know me. I have no worries whatsoever about how people who know me treat me. Truly.
15-05-2021, 09:59 PM
What a mess this thread is. Could we just delete it and pretend it never happened?
Not really, from what I can see there’s one poster who appears to be drunk windmilling.
The rest of it is good fun laughing at Rangers fans making a **** of themselves again.
15-05-2021, 09:59 PM
You can count the ones that don’t on the fing........Are you saying you can count them on the hand with one finger?
15-05-2021, 10:00 PM
Neither. Just got a different opinion from you. And your clique. Ganging up onna lifelong hibby who goes homeband away, donates, buys merch the lot.
Do me a favour
**** off
Someone hand me a tissue. Like you're the only one who supports the club.
Clique? What clique? Pathetic.
You said a really stupid thing about a poster who I've never met, but who defends Hibs more than anyone on here. A number of people have told you how wrong you are and you've suddenly become the victim.
Geez peace.
15-05-2021, 10:00 PM
Anyway, im leaving. I have more to do than argue with people who matter nothing to me. Only thing in common is our football team.
Please dont worry about how people treat me or think of me.
Im good
15-05-2021, 10:01 PM
Someone hand me a tissue. Like you're the only one who supports the club.
Clique? What clique? Pathetic.
You said a really stupid thing about a poster who I've never met, but who defends Hibs more than anyone on here. A number of people have told you how wrong you are and you've suddenly become the victim.
Geez peace.
Gutted. Does that mean we arent pals? Awe naw
15-05-2021, 10:02 PM
Anyway, im leaving. I have more to do than argue with people who matter nothing to me. Only thing in common is our football team.
Please dont worry about how people treat me or think of me.
Im good
Drink a pint of water and take 2 paracetamol before you go to sleep.
Night.
15-05-2021, 10:06 PM
To put this into perspective, Hibs fans run onto a football pitch in a spontaneous outpouring of joy and are then characterised as public enemy No.1 by the Glasgow Police/media, portrayed as if they had carried out the most heinous crimes, dragged from places of work to spend time in cells etc....
Then we have the fans of The Rangers who have gathered in large numbers, obviously a planned event, failing to comply with legislation put in place control the spread of a pandemic that has killed over 120,000 people in the UK. I await a similar reaction from the Glasgow Police/media.
The Captain....
15-05-2021, 10:08 PM
Sent these to Ibrox for the firework bears.
15-05-2021, 10:11 PM
Drink a pint of water and take 2 paracetamol before you go to sleep.
Night.
I genuinley hope I know you and you know me because you will know who you have been slagging. Or that you ask and find out.
Because, Im known for helping anyone, and looking out for everyone I can.
I feel for you and your clique. Take care, please dont answer this, ggtth
15-05-2021, 10:15 PM
I genuinley hope I know you and you know me because you will know who you have been slagging. Or that you ask and find out.
Are you Florence Nightingale?
Hahah this thread is great
15-05-2021, 10:16 PM
You are Mother Theresa and I claim my £5 John Menzies voucher 😁
🤣
Came onto this thread to have a good laugh about Rangers fans falling out with each other, instead it Hibs fans🙈
15-05-2021, 10:17 PM
We're all on the same side here. Let's remember that.
15-05-2021, 10:17 PM
Omg ahaha
15-05-2021, 10:18 PM
To put this into perspective, Hibs fans run onto a football pitch in a spontaneous outpouring of joy and are then characterised as public enemy No.1 by the Glasgow Police/media, portrayed as if they had carried out the most heinous crimes, dragged from places of work to spend time in cells etc....
Then we have the fans of The Rangers who have gathered in large numbers, obviously a planned event, failing to comply with legislation put in place control the spread of a pandemic that has killed over 120,000 people in the UK. I await a similar reaction from the Glasgow Police/media.
There has to be action taken after this. You could probably easily ID about 50 of the hun hoodlums from the handful of clips linked on this thread alone.
The outrageous campaign to identify our fans who went on the pitch in 2016 was a disgrace. Still not seen how much money was wasted in the two years I believe they had a team assigned to the task.
This latest hun display needs to be called out in the MSM for what it is and the Police need to take firm action in the aftermath. I won’t hold my breath.
15-05-2021, 10:18 PM
By that you presumably. mean new legislation. Just how would that work?. What do you suggest 'something' is a little bland.
To start I’d hope that Rangers are billed for the additional cost the council will have to pay to clear this mess up. What really gets me here is that it is no longer a celebration, it is pure destruction of public areas which costs the tax payer. Don’t forget that this isn’t the first time this same group of fans have committed the same acts in the same place in a short space of time while under restrictions. I don’t think it’s unreasonable to have expected the police/government to have stopped this (given that it’s not been a surprise each time it’s occurred) or at least come up with a punishment as a deterrent because as of right now these folk appear to be above the law.
15-05-2021, 10:19 PM
Came onto this thread to have a good laugh about Rangers fans falling out with each other, instead it Hibs fans🙈
Yeah I feel like everybody really needs to knuckle down now, there seems to be a tendoncy to have a go at each other in print just now...we should all be sharing the glove and (re)joining hands
15-05-2021, 10:20 PM
I'm delighted that you're so lovely.
My clique and I will take it into consideration before we point out the flaws in your drunken posts in future.
Sleep well and GGTTH.
15-05-2021, 10:20 PM
There has to be action taken after this. You could probably easily ID about 50 of the hun hoodlums from the handful of clips linked on this thread alone.
The outrageous campaign to identify our fans who went on the pitch in 2016 was a disgrace. Still not seen how much money was wasted in the two years I believe they had a team assigned to the task.
This latest hun display needs to be called out in the MSM for what it is and the Police need to take firm action in the aftermath. I won’t hold my breath.
I think if you rounded up most people called Billy in Glasgow you would be able to find 60% of the mob.
15-05-2021, 10:21 PM
We're all on the same side here. Let's remember that.
It's all good 👍
15-05-2021, 10:21 PM
They are beyond contempt. Fighting amongst themselves, indecent exposure by men and women from what I’ve seen on Twitter along with the usual sectarian bile. Scotland’s shame.
15-05-2021, 10:23 PM
They are beyond contempt. Fighting amongst themselves, indecent exposure by men and women from what I’ve seen on Twitter along with the usual sectarian bile. Scotland’s shame.Bunch of phalanges !
15-05-2021, 10:25 PM
I can’t put my finger on how this debate started🤔
15-05-2021, 10:26 PM
I can’t put my finger on how this debate started🤔
Someone lit the fuse, that's for sure.
https://twitter.com/SteinJock/status/1393685707080802306?s=20
15-05-2021, 10:31 PM
https://twitter.com/SteinJock/status/1393685707080802306?s=20The old guy with some classic "hold me back" patter when he got up.
15-05-2021, 10:32 PM
Sticky bun ****, the only sad thing is that they’re tying up recourses that decent human beings need
15-05-2021, 10:34 PM
Could all the proud Brits in Scotland come and pick up their dads in Glasgow's George Square, they're pishing on the statues they were protecting last summer.
15-05-2021, 10:39 PM
Get this thread back on track. I have no time for that club like many supporters of other teams who have to tolerate them when they come to town. There are some decent Rangers supporters who will not be pleased with their behaviour tonight but not surprised.
They do not know how to behave and have not learned from the past. You have other teams who celebrate and they behave, but there seem to be something in that clubs fans DNA that they cannot behave. Whilst some people do not find anything funny in somebody loosing fingers others do because it is Rangers.
Helensburghhibs
15-05-2021, 10:39 PM
Well this thread went off with a bang,, some people really need to get their fingers out, pyt up their hands and stop playing with fire....
15-05-2021, 10:41 PM
Get this thread back on track. I have no time for that club like many supporters of other teams who have to tolerate them when they come to town. There are some decent Rangers supporters who will not be pleased with their behaviour tonight but not surprised.
They do not know how to behave and have not learned from the past. You have other teams who celebrate and they behave, but there seem to be something in that clubs fans DNA that they cannot behave. Whilst some people do not find anything funny in somebody loosing fingers others do because it is Rangers.
The guy can at least look forward to Palm Sunday...
15-05-2021, 10:42 PM
The guy can at least look forward to Palm Sunday...If he maybe couldn't hold his drink before, he definitely can't now.
The guy can at least look forward to Palm Sunday...
but there seem to be something in that clubs fans DNA that they cannot behave.
Lack of education is the root.
15-05-2021, 10:44 PM
If he maybe couldn't hold his drink before, he definitely can't now.
It's his sister I feel sorry for, he probably blew up their wedding ring...
7Hero
15-05-2021, 10:50 PM
guys great thread im missing all the handbags and going straight to the links, keep em coming.
the last one with the asian lad that is brilliant, well played that man.
15-05-2021, 10:53 PM
I’m hoping The Rangers fans give them a hand to clean this up in the morning😏
15-05-2021, 11:07 PM
Accurate portrayal of Police Scotland approach to George Square earlier (apologies may need to copy and paste link).
https://twitter.com/paulbIack/status/1368988910110539777?s=19
15-05-2021, 11:27 PM
Quite comfortably the angriest set of supporters I’ve ever came across. Even when things are going really well for them they’re still ****ing raging about something and just start fighting amongst themselves, weirdos.
15-05-2021, 11:29 PM
Lack of education is the root.
Not from the schools but from their parents.
15-05-2021, 11:32 PM
Not from the schools but from their parents.
Lack of education is possibly a poor description, they've been educated, just very poorly. Indoctrination is a better description.
Torto7
15-05-2021, 11:35 PM
Lack of education is possibly a poor description, they've been educated, just very poorly. Indoctrination is a better description.
Yip. Pit bulls bred for a purpose. The people pulling the puppet strings are very educated. See Murdo Fraser or Richard Cook for example.
15-05-2021, 11:38 PM
Any news of arrests and injuries?
Torto7
15-05-2021, 11:40 PM
Great post and it should never be forgotten by Hibs fans. This will get the sweep sweep treatment by the media. It's too politically sensitive for the Union just now to have it's pawns exposed as the supremacist thugs that they are.
15-05-2021, 11:42 PM
I know Rangers fans with degrees who behave like bellends
One of them said to me once I am not a bigot only a ninety minute bigot.
Their behaviour towards Neil Lennon at Easter Road when the were singing "We thought you were dead we hoped you were dead" says it all about the mentality of their fans.
15-05-2021, 11:45 PM
Great post and it should never be forgotten by Hibs fans. This will get the sweep sweep treatment by the media. It's too politically sensitive for the Union just now to have it's pawns exposed as the supremacist thugs that they are.
Wonder if the police had their body cameras on this evening.
https://twitter.com/AnthonyRJoseph/status/1393705216797814787
16-05-2021, 12:26 AM
I know Rangers fans with degrees who behave like bellends
One of them said to me once I am not a bigot only a ninety minute bigot.
Their behaviour towards Neil Lennon at Easter Road when the were singing "We thought you were dead we hoped you were dead" says it all about the mentality of their fans.
90 minute bigot chat is an absolute bug bear of mine (putting it kindly), I've a few very good friends who unfortunately used to come out with that in their younger days. They've luckily grown out of it.
16-05-2021, 12:51 AM
Disappointed to read some of the comments on this thread regarding a fellow human being seriously injured due to fireworks. Its not why I signed up to becoming a Hibernian supporter all those many years ago and hope some reflect upon their utterances in the morning.
16-05-2021, 01:31 AM
Disappointed to read some of the comments on this thread regarding a fellow human being seriously injured due to fireworks. Its not why I signed up to becoming a Hibernian supporter all those many years ago and hope some reflect upon their utterances in the morning.
A firework the idiot lit himself by all accounts. Deserved everything that came his way. Fellow human beings are capable of engaging in despicable and unforgiveable acts at times. Do they all deserve sympathy because we belong to the same species? What a strange view.
16-05-2021, 02:02 AM
A firework the idiot lit himself by all accounts. Deserved everything that came his way. Fellow human beings are capable of engaging in despicable and unforgiveable acts at times. Do they all deserve sympathy because we belong to the same species? What a strange view.
If compassion for a fellow human being setting off a firework and being seriously injured for doing so has become 'strange view' then I'm happy to be seen as 'strange'. Nae worries Mr Normal who prefers hideous injury for the despicable and unforgivable act of setting off a firework.
16-05-2021, 02:16 AM
There goes another thread turning into a competition of puns and posters laying into each other. Pretty standard for here these days.
16-05-2021, 05:45 AM
Well that was a fun catch up. Always good to read of these posters who hate this place so much that they feel the need to come on and tell everyone that rather than just posting elsewhere 🙄
As for the Huns, some of the videos and photos going around just show them up for the ****bags they are. As per though, there will be little condemnation. Hibs or Saints will probably get a tougher time for celebrating (properly) next week.
16-05-2021, 06:25 AM
Spent about, an hour and a half, going down a rabbit hole of videos mostly on Twitter from last night. What a lovely bunch of (wee’r’aa duh) people...
16-05-2021, 06:40 AM
Manchester MKII, Disapointing to see some of the scenes in Glasgow. I didn't really mind them celebrating all that much some of the scenes were impressive like the flares along the clyde but then idiots took over and started trashing the place and abusing people.
May I ask if we're lucky enough to win on Saturday if crowds gather in Leith links or wherever that you respect the folk around you and pick up your litter. We need to be better than that.
16-05-2021, 06:46 AM
should’ve been thousands of covid fines handed out yesterday 👍 Good lift for the council and police. :cb
16-05-2021, 06:54 AM
May I ask if we're lucky enough to win on Saturday if crowds gather in Leith links or wherever that you respect the folk around you and pick up your litter.
How good would that be if it happened. Sadly it probably won't as far too many people just chuck stuff away without a thought but IF we won it would be so nice to see.
16-05-2021, 06:56 AM
Sair yin losing all 4 digits!
The quadruple.
Crunchie
16-05-2021, 06:59 AM
https://twitter.com/tic1967lisbon/status/1393661668144603142?s=19
Why the need to fight amongst themselves? I don't have a problem with them celebrating, I'll be down at Leith Links myself next Sunday if we win the cup, but behaviour like that is why the Huns are Huns.
Rival gangs I'd imagine. I remember the young gangs back in the day, YLT YPD CLERRY JUNGLE to name a few all fighting each other and mostly Hibs fans.
16-05-2021, 07:13 AM
Rival gangs I'd imagine. I remember the young gangs back in the day, YLT YPD CLERRY JUNGLE to name a few all fighting each other and mostly Hibs fans.
You’re forgetting the Merchiston Massive v Trinity Trendies. Scenes.
16-05-2021, 07:25 AM
What a brilliant thread. Well done everyone. Can someone set up a drunk pod cast. 😂
16-05-2021, 08:00 AM
Agreed, disappointing that such comments appear to be acceptable.
I don't think there's any doubt that the person is responsible for what happened, carrying a lit firework in public is reckless behaviour but it's hardly despicable and unforgivable.
16-05-2021, 08:03 AM
Disgusting but not surprising. I understand their fans wanting to celebrate, but to see the carnage caused to George Square, them launching stuff at the police, kicking the absolute ***** out of each other and singing their usual songbook is disgraceful - not to mention the images doing the rounds of the vermin pissing and ****ting in the streets. It was inevitible it was going to happen - could the police not have started dispersing them as soon as they started gathering outside Ibrox 4 hours prior to kick off? Or stopped them advancing into the city after the game rather than escorting them? That's not to blame the police - the folk at fault here are the knuckle-drugging morons who 'celebrated' by ruining their own city centre.
The infuriating thing is that bugger all will be done about it beyond the few arrests made last night. Even the media aren't being particularly harsh - the BBC simply talk about 'Rangers fans marching on the city centre after title win'.
And some of these morons have the sheer audacity to compare the scenes yesterday to the protest that took place on Kenmure Street days prior. Braindead, to a man.
Some of the videos from George square last night are horrendous
https://twitter.com/billiej66089099/status/1393689306041143297?s=21
How’s this celebrating football
16-05-2021, 08:06 AM
Hard to blame the police for not wading in.
They're clearly short handed.
Am here all week.
16-05-2021, 08:10 AM
A very small minority ruined what was a carnival atmosphere enjoyed by good Rangers fans and their families. Or something like that.
Move on, nothing to see etc
16-05-2021, 08:11 AM
Apparently with the toilets locked out of use at Glasgow Central, someone did a crap in the photo booth, that's direct from someone on duty at Central last night.
16-05-2021, 08:14 AM
Police clearly had a horrendous task, but again, if they can spend hundreds of thousands on an enquiry to trace fans who encroach a football pitch, why has there not been the same public outing on individuals who have literally rioted, vandalised, assaulted, and caused mayhem.
The Hibs cup final story ran for weeks, this will be swept away after a day or two, guaranteed. They are without doubt Scotland's shame, disgusting vile bigoted 'support'.
16-05-2021, 08:15 AM
Fail to see how any can defend their behaviour. I expect to see arrests and the Glasgow Police spending months chasing those who have clearly flouted the rules. Early morning raids and dragging people from places of work as they did in 2016.
Police officers injured and 20 arrests in Rangers crowd trouble - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-57133503)
16-05-2021, 08:18 AM
3 Cops and 20 arrests
Rumble de Thump
16-05-2021, 08:20 AM
Everything about Sevco is pathetic. I don't understand why anyone would want to be associated with it.
16-05-2021, 08:21 AM
Yep disgusting, sadly not surprising.
16-05-2021, 08:24 AM
Last night is as clear a piece of evidence you will ever see that football "fans" cannot be trusted to behave responsibly and explains the huge reluctance amongst the authorities and decision makers to trust them to behave in a pandemic.
Next time you moan about no fans a football just look at how many single digits that mob stuck up at our society yesterday and understand actions have consequences even if they are not your actions.
16-05-2021, 08:30 AM
Fail to see how any can defend their behaviour. I expect to see arrests and the Glasgow Police spending months chasing those who have clearly flouted the rules. Early morning raids and dragging people from places of work as they did in 2016.
Police officers injured and 20 arrests in Rangers crowd trouble - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-57133503)
Sevco won't defend it they'll just ignore it or put our a statement as late as possible that will just be a more polished version of "we r the peepl" and "everyone hates us, we don't care". That's the biggest issue, like with sectarianism they have no desire to address the issue or the continuing disgraceful behaviour of their fans.
I read the whole article looking for an official comment and condemnation from Sevco but was not surprised to see them absent. That isn't a surprise but someone in the media really need to push Sevco on why they refuse to comment. They also need to ask the police why their stance is so different between yesterday and the 2016 final. But I think we all know this will be forgotten in a day.
hibbydog
Completely predictable from Sevco fans. Fighting, trashing George Square and throwing stuff at the police. It’s not like they don’t have previous.
What I really don’t understand is why the authorities didn’t take pre-emptive action. Is it too much to ask that they erect Big barriers all round George Square and Ibrox?
Last night is as clear a piece of evidence you will ever see that football "fans" cannot be trusted to behave responsibly and explains the huge reluctance amongst the authorities and decision makers to trust them to behave in a pandemic.
Next time you moan about no fans a football just look at how many single digits that mob stuck up at our society yesterday and understand actions have consequences even if they are not your actions.
*certain football fans
16-05-2021, 08:32 AM
30 arrests so far and cctv will be used to track more down
Riot Squad eventually deployed
16-05-2021, 08:32 AM
But its not 'football fans'. Leicester won the cup yesterday for the first time in their history and I've seen no videos like this. If we win on Saturday I'm sure some will take it too far but we'll see nothing like the scenes last night. Let's not get into the narrative that all football fans are bad.
16-05-2021, 08:34 AM
I don't really have any issues with the celebrating. Yes it's against the rules and although it's outdoors I accept the point about crowds on public transport, increased pressure on retail etc. It's a natural reaction though and it will happen in Perth or Edinburgh next week.
I don't get the anger though. Even early doors before the battles started no one looked like they were out for a good time. It looked like a tinderbox situation. You see these kind of events with other teams and whilst there is littering and folk singing stuff that is a bit near the knuckle there is also a healthy smattering of families and people looking happy and smiley. Even across Glasgow look at the scenes from Celtic's 'treble treble' parade and compare it to yesterday. Look at Hearts in 2012 or us in 2016. Aye a few idiots took it too far but social media wasn't saturated with drunken violence and vandalism.
People try to pass it off or excuse it as 'working class' guys. Bollocks. Hibs, St Johnstone, Hearts, Kilmarnock etc all have fans from schemes and deprived areas and avoid widespread scenes like we saw last night.
The fact is Rangers fans behave like that because they can. Their behaviour is never wholly condemned without equivalences being drawn to others. An attack on sectarianism is painted as an attack on Rangers, pointing out the hypocrisy of their fans saw accusations of 'whataboutery'.
Absolutely no one is surprised by what they watched last night. That tells the story.
hibbydog
16-05-2021, 08:43 AM
I don't really have any issues with the celebrating. Yes it's against the rules and although it's outdoors I accept the point about crowds on public transport, increased pressure on retail etc. It's a natural reaction though and it will happen in Perth or Edinburgh next week.
I don't get the anger though. Even early doors before the battles started no one looked like they were out for a good time. It looked like a tinderbox situation. You see these kind of events with other teams and whilst there is littering and folk singing stuff that is a bit near the knuckle there is also a healthy smattering of families and people looking happy and smiley. Even across Glasgow look at the scenes from Celtic's 'treble treble' parade and compare it to yesterday. Look at Hearts in 2012 or us in 2016. Aye a few idiots took it too far but social media wasn't saturated with drunken violence and vandalism.
People try to pass it off or excuse it as 'working class' guys. Bollocks. Hibs, St Johnstone, Hearts, Kilmarnock etc all have fans from schemes and deprived areas and avoid widespread scenes like we saw last night.
The fact is Rangers fans behave like that because they can. Their behaviour is never wholly condemned without equivalences being drawn to others. An attack on sectarianism is painted as an attack on Rangers, pointing out the hypocrisy of their fans saw accusations of 'whataboutery'.
Absolutely no one is surprised by what they watched last night. That tells the story.
They are a bitter, angry shower of bigots that thinks everyone hates them. And they’re right.
As to why they’re so angry? I’d guess a culture of violence, lack of education and all the rest that goes with it. Passed through generations.
And I’d guess they’re generally worse since their liquidation in 2012. Their perceived injustice probably intensifies the bitterness.
Like you say, I’d trust every team in Scotland to celebrate without scenes like yesterday. Apart from them.
As depressing as it was predictable.
16-05-2021, 08:46 AM
Animals
Crunchie
16-05-2021, 08:55 AM
I agree with you to an extent and I hope we see celebrations next week by Hibs fans in a far more responsible manner. My fear is we won't and it will all be down to alcohol. I don't necessarily think it is a football related problem, you only have to look at nearly every march/demo that descends into the same kind of scenes to see the demon drink plays a huge part.
16-05-2021, 08:58 AM
Lockdown has not been kind to this thread
16-05-2021, 08:59 AM
Watched some of the clips from yesterday's "celebrations" there is one in which a policeman is being attacked. Others show people getting their heads kicked in. I hope that club issue a statement which I doubt they will. The person who lost fingers in the firework accident was their own doing. I would say that compassion fatigue sets in when it is that club. Many of us older posters on here could tell stories of experiences at the hands of followers of that club which would explain the lack of sympathy towards the individual who lost fingers.
16-05-2021, 09:00 AM
3 whole days after the city got loads of plaudits for the southside peoples reaction to the Home Office stuff, these bampots drag Glasgows image into the gutter - and not for the first time.
They really are laughable and pathetic.
I am sure the response will not match the hounding of Hibs fans in 2016, of course..............
16-05-2021, 09:00 AM
Sturgeon been pretty quiet this weekend
16-05-2021, 09:02 AM
There goes another thread turning into a competition of puns and posters laying into each other. Pretty standard for here these days.
Yep, that and folk taking time out to moan about it. Same thing every week. :wink:
vuefrom1875
16-05-2021, 09:09 AM
Surprise, surprise.
16-05-2021, 09:11 AM
Where is the criticism from the Scottish Government, Scottish media and indeed politicians from all parties? Heartily sick of the bias shown in favour of the ugly sisters. Any other club would be slated for this.
16-05-2021, 09:11 AM
Sturgeon been pretty quiet this weekendWhat's she meant to say? Is it her doing?
16-05-2021, 09:16 AM
Surprise, surprise.
Where is the criticism from the Scottish Government, Scottish media and indeed politicians from all parties? Heartily sick of the bias shown in favour of the ugly sisters. Any other club would be slated for this.
Here it is. 8:30 last night.
Remember this is a weekend, and politicians aren't normally being doorstepped by the media 24 hours a day.
https://news.stv.tv/west-central/yousaf-selfish-rangers-fans-are-endangering-lives?top
16-05-2021, 09:20 AM
Yep, that and folk taking time out to moan about it. Same thing every week. :wink:
Some even-handed comments and some uneven-handed comments.
16-05-2021, 09:20 AM
Completely predictable from Sevco fans. Fighting, trashing George Square and throwing stuff at the police. It’s not like they don’t have previous.
What I really don’t understand is why the authorities didn’t take pre-emptive action. Is it too much to ask that they erect Big barriers all round George Square and Ibrox?
I'd have expected the police to be more pro-active about preventing the crowd numbers getting too large to be handled in the first place. I thought the level three Covid restrictions give them the ability to disperse even small groups?
16-05-2021, 09:21 AM
What's she meant to say? Is it her doing?
I'm a fan of NS and I vote for the SNP but she's usually on the ball when things happen and I just found her silence strange.
16-05-2021, 09:23 AM
What are people searching for if they're finding all these clips?
I want to show them to my friends in York.
16-05-2021, 09:25 AM
I'm a fan of NS and I vote for the SNP but she's usually on the ball when things happen and I just found her silence strange.
Justice Secretary is quite open about possible action.
Humza Yousaf says Rangers fans congregating in Glasgow city centre to celebrate their Premiership title win are endangering the lives of others
The justice secretary is now in talks with authorities over taking further action against what he calls “selfish and irresponsible behaviour”.
Thousands of fans took to the city centre following the Ibrox side’s 4-0 win over Aberdeen on Saturday that seen them lift the league trophy for the first time since 2011.
But Yousaf says their actions increase the risk of Covid transmission during a ‘crucial and fragile’ stage.
lives' with 'Covid risk' celebrations.
He said:“I understand the significance of this day for Rangers fans but I am extremely disappointed that supporters have once again ignored Covid regulations and chosen to gather in large numbers in Glasgow.
“The rules are the same for everyone and the evidence is clear – when large numbers of people gather in close proximity, there is an increased risk of transmission.
“We are in a crucial and fragile stage in our fight against the virus, with a new variant and rising infection rates adding to the risks.
“This selfish and irresponsible behaviour endangers the lives of others – supporters, the police on duty and the wider community.
“I want to thank the police for incredibly difficult job they are doing keeping our communities safe throughout the pandemic.
“We have already discussed this with Rangers and will liaise with Police Scotland and the football authorities to consider what further action can be taken.”
Police earlier confirmed that arrests had taken place for anti-social behaviour and videos posted online show several scuffles breaking out.
16-05-2021, 09:28 AM
I'm a fan of NS and I vote for the SNP but she's usually on the ball when things happen and I just found her silence strange.She probably will comment in good time. She'll no doubt be asking questions about the events themselves as well as the police handling before speaking publicly.
Chorley Hibee
16-05-2021, 09:29 AM
All running scared of a football club and it's violent, bigoted, knuckle dragging support.
All of what was witnessed yesterday should have our government, police and media condemning this in the most vocal of terms.
Instead we're listening to mild mannered messages about Coronavirus regulations being breached from the justice Secretary, "mostly peaceful gatherings" from Police Scotland, pretty much nothing from reports on the TV this morning, and complete silence from the First Minister.
It will, as usual, see us all tarred with the same brush, whilst all the cowards above continue to be terrified of holding Rangers, and its support, responsible and calling them out for what they are.
The reason they act like this is simple, they know there will be no repercussions.
16-05-2021, 09:29 AM
What are people searching for if they're finding all these clips?
I want to show them to my friends in York.
#ScotlandsShame is trending on Twitter. 😆
You could also search George Square or Huns.
16-05-2021, 09:30 AM
Apparently with the toilets locked out of use at Glasgow Central, someone did a crap in the photo booth, that's direct from someone on duty at Central last night.
A flash in the pan am sure 😁
16-05-2021, 09:38 AM
A very small minority ruined what was a carnival atmosphere enjoyed by good Rangers fans and their families. Or something like that.
Move on, nothing to see etcWest of Scotland fc supporters and Scottish cup fans, **** they are even worse than the huns and sevconians.
16-05-2021, 09:38 AM
Very interesting the range of opinion in the newspaper headlines. See the Daily Record / Sunday Mail keeping their love affair with Rangers going. Absolute rag compare and contrast with our Scottish cup win coverage.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-57133807
16-05-2021, 09:44 AM
The anger comes from a culture of hating people based on religion which probably permeates into a psyche of hating everything. As you say their behaviour is never fully condemned I posted the newspaper headlines on another post and the contrast between them is marked with their usual cheerleader rags giving them as easy time as they can.
16-05-2021, 09:45 AM
https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/1393856824504377344?s=20
As for the questions on Scot Gov response - clearly they will be talking about this tomorrow. They very rarely release any pr stuff at the weekend - it will all kick off tomorrow.
The scenes have been far too wild to go unmentioned. Wonder if the Huns will say anything?
16-05-2021, 09:50 AM
I don't think there's any doubt that the person is responsible for what happened, carrying a lit firework in public is reckless behaviour but it's hardly despicable and unforgivable.
My response related to the implication that because we are all human we should perhaps show sympathy for when another human suffers serious injury. I was pointing out that there are a lot of horrible humans who do very bad things. Should our sympathy also apply to those characters if they come to harm? I wasn’t suggesting the handless hun carried out a despicable and unforgiveable act. Certainly it was an act he shouldn’t have done and I have no sympathy for the outcome he’ll have to live with.
16-05-2021, 09:51 AM
As for the questions on Scot Gov response - clearly they will be talking about this tomorrow. They very rarely release any pr stuff at the weekend - it will all kick off tomorrow.
The scenes have been far too wild to go unmentioned. Wonder if the Huns will say anything?
Exactly, and I wonder what Murdo ****ing Fraser will have to say about it. 🤔
16-05-2021, 09:51 AM
Hibs fans fault
16-05-2021, 09:52 AM
You know exactly what will happen, a little noise for a couple of days, huns will come out and condemn the small minority who acted daft, and it will be Wednesdays chip paper.
The media are all in their pockets, with the odd one slaughtered and threatened if they dont fall into place.
They get away with it time after time after time, that clubs supporters are always on the attack, you never hear of supporters of any other club happy to visit a local bar at ibrox to meet up with opposition fans.
I hate their very existence.
ABZHFC
16-05-2021, 09:53 AM
The anger comes from a culture of hating people based on religion which probably permeates into a psyche of hating everything. As you say their behaviour is never fully condemned I posted the newspaper headlines on another post and the contrast between them is marked with their usual cheerleader rags giving them as easy time as they can.
Absolutely this, a jumped-up, entitled, 'we lord it over everyone' mentality. Meanwhile, it's not 1960 anymore and their sons and daughters are off dating 'Kafflicks' to their horror.
Allan McGregor is the absolute epitome of them. Permanently raging, even in victory.
HibsGW
16-05-2021, 09:55 AM
I honestly hate them so much more than I hate Hearts
16-05-2021, 09:57 AM
You know exactly what will happen, a little noise for a couple of days, huns will come out and condemn the small minority who acted daft, and it will be Wednesdays chip paper.
The media are all in their pockets, with the odd one slaughtered and threatened if they dont fall into place.
They get away with it time after time after time, that clubs supporters are always on the attack, you never hear of supporters of any other club happy to visit a local bar at ibrox to meet up with opposition fans.
It’s so predictable. By Wednesday sportsound will be back to talking about their achievements this season and not about their supporters laying siege to the city centre and fighting with the polis.
16-05-2021, 09:59 AM
The authorities won't need CCTV. There'll be loads of folks outing themselves and others on Facebook and the like. Take away The Rangers license to let a crowd into the game. Might make the club a bit more proactive in amputating 'a small minority' of their support.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
16-05-2021, 10:00 AM
My response related to the implication that because we are all human we should perhaps show sympathy for when another human suffers serious injury. I was pointing out that there are a lot of horrible humans who do very bad things. Should our sympathy also apply to those characters if they come to harm? I wasn’t suggesting the handless hun carried out a despicable and unforgiveable act. Certainly it was an act he shouldn’t have done and I have no sympathy for the outcome he’ll have to live with.
Fair enough, you seem to be in the majority so I'll bow out of this particular conversation now and let those who want to carry on do so.
16-05-2021, 10:04 AM
The SNP should use them as part of their campaign for independence.
F*** them and their Union.
16-05-2021, 10:05 AM
Excellent summary of the sad reality of it all.
16-05-2021, 10:05 AM
F*** them and their Union.Good shout.
16-05-2021, 10:09 AM
Good shout.
Should offer them all a free one way boat trip to Northern Ireland and then shut our borders.
16-05-2021, 10:11 AM
https://twitter.com/BenTheTim/status/1393681620293541889?s=20
Crunchie
16-05-2021, 10:12 AM
F*** them and their Union.
Yesterday's events have no place in any indy referendum and I doubt you'll see it mentioned if we have one.
16-05-2021, 10:16 AM
Yesterday's events have no place in any indy referendum and I doubt you'll see it mentioned if we have one.
Yesterdays events have no place in a modern Scotland.
This is not acceptable behaviour and needs it needs to be checked and boundaries set by those in power and society to say this isn't going to be tolerated.
Only 20 arrests were made...
Crunchie
16-05-2021, 10:26 AM
This is not acceptable behaviour and needs it needs to be checked and boundaries set by those in power and society to say this isn't going to be tolerated.
Thuggish behaviour and definitely not acceptable, hopefully the animals who caused all the trouble are punished.
16-05-2021, 10:26 AM
Well, well that was a wee bit of a shock eh! The west of Scotland supporters along with the Belfast group had a wee bit of over indulgence and somewhat over exuberances. Don’t worry the daily ranker will help the polis point every one of them oot, they will not rest until every one of them potential granny killers are in jail.
The modern Scotland you mention is a figment of imagination methinks perhaps a hundred years or so behind other countries when it comes down to religion.
**** Sevco and lets move on we have a cup to win.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
16-05-2021, 10:30 AM
There’s a common denominator when it comes to much of the bad behaviour by Scottish football fans.
You’d think the media would have worked it out by now.
Sevco dream of playing in the EPL but their Hun hordes make that an unpalatable prospect for many in England.
ionahibby
16-05-2021, 10:34 AM
Not so sure why some folk on here are getting their knickers in a twist over this. Yes Covid rules probably suggested this shouldn’t have happened, but let’s be honest if we win next week I suspect leith will be exactly the same. I hate rangers as much as anyone but you can hardly blame them. They won the league. Vandalism and the usual rubbish that lot bring is a disgrace but there will have been thousands of fans who were there just to celebrate and have a good time.
Steven79
16-05-2021, 10:37 AM
Not so sure why some folk on here are getting their knickers in a twist over this. Yes Covid rules probably suggested this shouldn’t have happened, but let’s be honest if we win next week I suspect leith will be exactly the same. I hate rangers as much as anyone but you can hardly blame them. They won the league. Vandalism and the usual rubbish that lot bring is a disgrace but there will have been thousands of fans who were there just to celebrate and have a good time.
"Leith will be exactly the same"
Have a word with yourself!
16-05-2021, 10:40 AM
24699Think i've found out where his fingers might be?
ionahibby
16-05-2021, 10:40 AM
Have a word with yourself!
Right enough, you will be able to hear pin drop down leith if we win the cup.
You really think folk won’t go and celebrate?
h1bs4life
16-05-2021, 10:41 AM
It was common knowledge that the Huns were going to gather to have a title party.
Ibrox and George Square should have been cordoned off with no access to either .
Statement from the top police officer didn't exactly put people off
https://www.scotland.police.uk/what-s-happening/news/2021/may/police-scotland-statement-on-events-at-ibrox-stadium-and-george-square-glasgow/
16-05-2021, 10:42 AM
I agree. It'll be exactly the same if we win
Personally, if I can't find someone suitable to sucker punch, I'm going to put a waste bin through Middleton's window.
Proper celebration. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
16-05-2021, 10:44 AM
This isn’t about celebrations or groups gathering. Think you might want to have a look at some of the videos circulating social media of what went on yesterday before claiming Leith will be the same next week if we win.
16-05-2021, 10:47 AM
Have a word with yourself!Beat me too it!
Might be as many of us there, some of us might even leave a pile of our rubbish all over the place (I at least will take mine to the bin even if it's piled up beside it) ,
I can't imagine we'll all be kicking the **** out of each other or scaring innocent bystanders (like the 3 Asian women on twitter).....
hopefully our own few numpties don't prove me wrong.
16-05-2021, 10:48 AM
It was common knowledge that the Huns were going to gather to have a title party.
Ibrox and George Square should have been cordoned off with no access to either .
Statement from the top police officer didn't exactly put people off
https://www.scotland.police.uk/what-s-happening/news/2021/may/police-scotland-statement-on-events-at-ibrox-stadium-and-george-square-glasgow/
''how it connects our communties'' is he on the wind up? Football in Glasgow causes nothing but division.
16-05-2021, 10:52 AM
Huns out hunned themselves yesterday. Imagine winning your first ever title and celebrating with a riot and smashing **** out of your fellow supporters. That's just the Hun way though.
16-05-2021, 10:59 AM
Yyyyaaaasss. Canny wait to get an MD2020 bottle over ma napper from a fellow Hibs fan
16-05-2021, 11:03 AM
People will celebrate, but Hibs supporters celebrating will be the same as it is for every club outwith Rangers celebrating.
Most will be fine, the odd high jinks will occur and a handful of ********s will take it too far.
I can't understand the Uncle Tom weirdos who want to draw false equivalences between Rangers as a club, their fans and the way they behave and those of Hibs and other football clubs in general. They are simply incomparable.
They are a backward disgrace and I just cannot understand how they manage to exist and thrive in the modern day when much of the world and modern Scotland has moved on from all they represent.
16-05-2021, 11:03 AM
And also multiple running battles between groups of Hibs fans, vandalism and attacking police?
16-05-2021, 11:04 AM
I agree. It'll be exactly the same if we win
Personally, if I can't find someone suitable to sucker punch, I'm going to put a waste bin through Middleton's window.
Proper celebration. ������������
not until we have shot fireworks, urinated & pooped on our fellow fans!
ii would like to use sweary words but given I had to deactivate my FB account due to being in the slammer more often than not, thought I’d watch my language here :flag:
ps, we need to let off pink flares to intimidate our Gorgie pals :D
Steven79
16-05-2021, 11:07 AM
I may squeeze a few family and friends tight next Saturday if we win the cup but I've promised myself that I won't kick f~ck out of them as I'm a normal human being...
16-05-2021, 11:07 AM
not until we have shot fireworks, urinated & pooped on our fellow fans!
ii would like to use sweary words but given I had to deactivate my FB account due to being in the slammer more often than not, thought I’d watch my language here :flag:
Is the defecation story true?
I'm hoping not as I'd rather not be weighed down by toilet paper while I'm smashing stuff up.
16-05-2021, 11:08 AM
I may squeeze a few family and friends tight next Saturday if we win the cup but I've promised myself that I won't kick f~ck out of them as I'm a normal human being...
Woosy!
16-05-2021, 11:11 AM
I think you are miles off. I didn’t see us smashing each other up when we won the cup. You can hardly blame them? Dearie me.
I think the outcome from this weekend will be that crowds will be dispersed much more quickly and efficiently in Edinburgh and Perth next weekend.
The police can’t have 2 consecutive weekends of football related instances so will look to prevent it early.
I'm hoping not as I'd rather not be weighed down by toilet paper while I'm smashing stuff up.
maybe if enough of us rip out our toilets, there’ll be enough for us to use comfortably, toilet paper is a good idea though.
Dr What If?
16-05-2021, 11:15 AM
After what happened yesterday the virus will spike again, people will die, lockdown restrictions will be extended a little longer, a few more businesses will go under, depressions will deepen......everyone will suffer. I pray to God that if we lift that tin pot next week that every single one of our fans will have enough intelligence to not head out for some big mass party. Its just not worth it. I know many on here will have planned to head to ER already....what will it take? Someone you love to die? Your job? There are those in society that questioned the decision to allow football during this pandemic, looks like they might have been right.
16-05-2021, 11:18 AM
After what happened yesterday the virus will spike again, people will die, lockdown restrictions will be extended a little longer, a few more businesses will go under, depressions will deepen......everyone will suffer. I pray to God that if we lift that tin pot next week that every single one of our fans will have enough intelligence to not head out for some big mass party. Its just not worth it. I know many on here will have planned to head to ER already....what will it take? Someone you love to die? Your job? There are those in society that questioned the decision to allow football during this pandemic, looks like they might have been right.
Eh? Because Rangers fans are utter ****my animals football shouldn't have been allowed at all during the pandemic? What absolute drivel.
Apparently with the toilets locked out of use at Glasgow Central, someone did a crap in the photo booth, that's direct from someone on duty at Central last night.Bloody hell, not quite as low as they've sunk before but this could be easily solved if their owners kept them on a lead and carried those little poo bags that you see hanging from trees and hedges everywhere?
Duck, buddy...
Sturgeon not holding back
https://twitter.com/NicolaSturgeon/status/1393885243405385733
Dr What If?
16-05-2021, 11:26 AM
Eh? Because Rangers fans are utter ****my animals football shouldn't have been allowed at all during the pandemic? What absolute drivel.
Why? Its not just Rangers fans (they are in a league on their own though), Celtic fans gathered in their hundreds, Liverpool fans the same. Quite rightly there were voices of concern about letting football go ahead because the fans can't control themselves.....there will be a few 'I told you so's' this weekend. Personally I have found football being on a positive distraction during this dire year but if someone tells me that it has added to the spread and therefore, deaths.....I can't argue.
Dr What If?
16-05-2021, 11:28 AM
Duck, buddy...
Made sure my tin hat was firmly fastened before posting :greengrin
16-05-2021, 11:29 AM
I'm hoping not as I'd rather not be weighed down by toilet paper while I'm smashing stuff up.I suspect the bog roll might not even have been in evidence! :-/
16-05-2021, 11:36 AM
She was doing really well until she said it was a minority. She needs to go after them all. 500 idiots singing sectarian songs, while 5000 do nothing is 5500 idiots. And we all know its not a ****ing minority when they come to Easter Road. Its every ****ing one of them belting out that filth and wrecking the place.
Following the investigation and operation after the 2016 cup final I would like to think there will be a task force set up to identify every single individual involved in the violence that took place throughout yesterday!
Disgusting behaviour!
Lendo
16-05-2021, 11:38 AM
Good statement and probably sums up the views of most reasonably minded people in Scotland. There will be nothing released by Rangers in terms of condemnation. More likely see a statement attacking the First Minister/Scottish Government for singling them out with the usual level of whataboutary.
If I’m being 100% honest (and I’ll probably get jumped on for this) there is a part of me that’s worried about some of our fans taking it too far next weekend if we win. We would never ever see the level of lawlessness as last night but there will 100% be clowns who will go out of there way to be an embarrassment.
16-05-2021, 11:39 AM
Cannot believe there’s anyone that can defend that with the argument we’ll do similar if we win the cup?
Yes, Leith Walk/ Easter Road will be rammed and rightly so
Will be be paggering eachother, smashing up cars, trying to look solid lobbing cones at riot polis from 30 yards away and taking a dump in a photo booth at Waverley? I’d bet probably no.
****bags, every single one of them.
16-05-2021, 11:42 AM
I suspect the bog roll might not even have been in evidence! :-/
Mate, I'm a Hibby.
One simply must clean oneself after defecating on a fellow.
Were you anywhere near Edinburgh on the 22nd May 2016. I was there from mid morning right through until the back of 8 and not once did I see Hibs fans fighting with each other, trashing property or fighting/chucking stuff at the police.
Was a party atmosphere with loads of folk, generations of families and people of all ages etc having an amazing time.
High percentage of folk were drinking but zero issues.
Police were out interacting with those there (I was outside the harp and castle then the links) but the atmosphere was that of celebration and not one of violence!
I don’t doubt for a minute that fans will turn up at ER and areas like that to celebrate but I think it’ll be party mood and not paggering central!
As for blame yes you can. They cannot behave and this is the second time in as many months they’ve trashed George Sq.
HibsGW
16-05-2021, 11:47 AM
Cannot believe there’s anyone that can defend that with the argument we’ll do similar if we win the cup?
Will be be paggering eachother, smashing up cars, trying to look solid lobbing cones at riot polis from 30 yards away and taking a dump in a photo booth at Waverley? I’d bet probably no.
Exactly. I don’t see any reason to defend Rangers here. If our fans recreTe these scenes from the Rangers fans, they’d be roasters as well, but our supporters won’t be assaulting each other in the streets and damaging everything in sight.
Dr What If?
16-05-2021, 11:48 AM
Exactly how will that be right? The vast majority of our fans will know that this virus has not gone away and is dangerous....if we gather in those kind of numbers we will be killing people, extending the lockdown and destroying businesses. Believe me I will be celebrating next week but I can do that without breaking the law.
If a couple of 1000 are willing to risk another spike then I'm afraid you are letting the club and everyone associated with it down.
The Count
16-05-2021, 11:48 AM
For a club that loves statements and appeals everything not a peep.
16-05-2021, 11:49 AM
That’s good to see, there’s no hiding from the problem there at all.
16-05-2021, 11:50 AM
Exactly how will that be right? The vast majority of our fans will know that this virus has not gone away and is dangerous....if we gather in those kind of numbers we will be killing people, extending the lockdown and destroying businesses. Believe me I will be celebrating next week but I can do that without breaking the law.
If a couple of 1000 are willing to risk another spike then I'm afraid you are letting the club and everyone associated with it down.
Did a spike come after The Rangers fans gathered the last time? Or when Celtc done the same to protest? Or when St Johnstone fans celebrated winning the League Cup?
Dr What If?
16-05-2021, 11:54 AM
Did a spike come after The Rangers fans gathered the last time? Or when Celtc done the same to protest? Or when St Johnstone fans celebrated winning the League Cup?
Arguably yes, the worst spike in Scotland during that time was in the West Coast....besides does it need to be huge numbers? If just one person becomes ill because of any off these examples then it wasn't worth it.
The Count
16-05-2021, 11:56 AM
Look forward to The Daily Record printing pictures of Huns given to them by the police to help identify culprits.In this case fully justified thuggery unlike 2016 when many photos published were of young lads just running about a football pitch.
16-05-2021, 11:58 AM
That’s good to see, there’s no hiding from the problem there at all.
Just a bit after the fact though. It could and should have prevented.
16-05-2021, 12:00 PM
I don’t think it will be rammed if we win the Scottish cup tbh. Last time everyone was there for the parade. No way will anywhere close to that number turn up just to stand in a street and get pissed. I have no intention of going to the links this time. I’ll just carry on the garden party till the early hours.
16-05-2021, 12:01 PM
You can’t prevent it unless we start with the water cannons etc.
16-05-2021, 12:01 PM
Leith Links is a massive outdoor space - plenty space for people to gather and celebrate safely.
Leith Walk has tram works all over it !
16-05-2021, 12:02 PM
I beg to differ. It was very predictable and preventable, the Police were far too passive and could have stopped access to George Sq.
16-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Yes. Hence why Glasgow are staying in level 3.
16-05-2021, 12:03 PM
IF we win the cup next week it'll be totally different to what happened yesterday in so many ways. For a start, the main focus would probably be Leith Links which is a large open green space as opposed to George Square which is a much smaller confined space. Also, many Hibs fans will just want to soak up the atmosphere in the (socially distanced) pubs around Leith and Easter Road. There will also not be the toxic atmosphere which seemed to be evident in Glasgow yesterday.
Again, IF we win the cup as its certainly no gimmie, I'll be down in Leith on the Sunday to enjoy the day out with many other happy Hibs fans.
16-05-2021, 12:04 PM
I’ll welcome any politician saying out loud that the behaviour of the Rangers fans is sectarian in nature. . And that’s as political as I’m going to get on this one. :greengrin
16-05-2021, 12:05 PM
Yes. Hence why Glasgow are staying in level 3.
Is that not down to the new Indian variant rather than what happened in March? They were due to go down to level 2 right up until this week
16-05-2021, 12:09 PM
https://twitter.com/cakeyandcrispy/status/1393838451531919363?s=21
16-05-2021, 12:10 PM
I agree with you in so much as it's not right for people to be gathering in large numbers next weekend purely because it's illegal but I don't agree it would cause a massive spike. It's outdoors which massively reduces the risk.
Previous outdoor protests and large gatherings which have taken place haven't caused any spikes to speak of so I thino we need to be careful not to go over the score.
Lendo
16-05-2021, 12:14 PM
There is a thread over on Follow Follow about how the benches and scaffolding at George Square have been deliberately left there by the SNP. A clear attempt to try and goad the Rangers fans in to trashing it and giving them all a bad name.
Good to see they never fell for the trap........
16-05-2021, 12:15 PM
https://twitter.com/cakeyandcrispy/status/1393838451531919363?s=21Just, gonnae no...
https://twitter.com/martinmcl989/status/1393718466679611394?s=20
16-05-2021, 12:20 PM
I'm hoping not as I'd rather not be weighed down by toilet paper while I'm smashing stuff up.Maybe it was the one fingered guy?
Might make a decent roll holder, but hard to properly complete the job, as it were.....
Fuzzywuzzy
16-05-2021, 12:21 PM
I beg to differ. It was very predictable and preventable, the Police were far too passive and could have stopped access to George Sq.
Could have stopped large number crossing the Clyde
16-05-2021, 12:22 PM
No one can be surprised by any of this. It's not even newsworthy. The Rangers and their previous incarnation do this ALL the time. Wherever you find violence, social disorder, hooliganism and hatred a Sevco fan is not far away. The Police knew about this well in advance, the Government knew about this well in advance. Any post-riot Statement of outrage could have been written 10 days ago. So why all the shock and horror ?
The big question is what the Gov/police did or could have done about it, or what the follow-up is going to be.
My fear is this may well come back and bite peaceful Hibs fans. Sturgeon will be under pressure to make sure nothing like this happens in Edinburgh, should Hibs win the Cup. And, just like politicians use lockdown of the population as a simple blunt instrument to fight Covid, we'll all be warned this week that no gatherings will be tolerated under any circumstances in Edinburgh / Leith next Saturday. Streets will be blocked off, there will be a massive police presence and, if needed, they will take their frustration out on peaceful, celebrating Hibs fans who are a much easier target than fuelled up Glasgow headcases.
LeithMike
16-05-2021, 12:23 PM
Absolutely no one is surprised by what they watched last night. That tells the story.I think a lot stems from the boardroom since insolvency. The various boards and owners have appealed to their base element and fostered an embittered culture. Orange strips, awful media relations and complaining that the BBC, SFA and all other clubs are out to get them has created a pretty horrible culture with no respect or care for other
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Kettling should have been the order of the day.
16-05-2021, 12:24 PM
Love the quote below that clip, follow follow we will follow through. :faf:
Lendo
16-05-2021, 12:27 PM
Follow Follow Through
I think a lot stems from the boardroom since insolvency. The various boards and owners have appealed to their base element and fostered an embittered culture. Orange strips, awful media relations and complaining that the BBC, SFA and all other clubs are out to get them has created a pretty horrible culture with no respect or care for other
Agree with this plus they think the SNP are out to get them. I think that’s why they are attacking the police in some clips. They think any attempt to control their abhorrent behaviour is the govt treating them unfairly.
16-05-2021, 12:30 PM
Can almost smell that from here.
16-05-2021, 12:31 PM
Love the quote below that clip, follow follow we will follow through. :faf:
There is something satisfyingly ironic about a the Rangers fan pooping all over the Union Jack.
16-05-2021, 12:34 PM
Maybe that needs to be looked at then. This is getting all a bit tiring now given we've seen this a few weeks before when the title was officially won and they did the same thing.
The authorities have had weeks to prepare for yesterday, there should be no one surprised by events. So what are the police, government etc doing about it? Just releasing statements isn't working. What is it they say about the definition of insanity - doing the same thing and expecting different results?
The question now needs to move from useless condemnation to how to prevent it happening again. And no one is talking about that as they don't dare challenge Sevco, and they know it. Hence why the club aren't bothering to comment.
16-05-2021, 12:39 PM
I think a lot stems from the boardroom since insolvency. The various boards and owners have appealed to their base element and fostered an embittered culture. Orange strips, awful media relations and complaining that the BBC, SFA and all other clubs are out to get them has created a pretty horrible culture with no respect or care for other
Trump, MAGA, 6 Jan Riots, White Supremacists, Republicans, Big Lie, Fake News.
Lendo
16-05-2021, 12:42 PM
The lack of action or consequences not only emboldens them for next time but also gives Celtic fans a perceived free-pass when they next win the league.
16-05-2021, 12:45 PM
Jim Spence is well worth a read on Twitter today.
An interesting take on the cultural and societal roots on what we saw yesterday but also a pretty enlightening insight into how the media deal with it. That's from a man who was denied work because he dared to tell the truth about Rangers 2012.
16-05-2021, 12:54 PM
To be fair to the Rangers fans, at least they hate Rangers fans as much as everybody else.
16-05-2021, 12:58 PM
Looks like Police Scotland won't be sitting on their hands on this
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-57133503
16-05-2021, 12:59 PM
Unbelievable, grown adults
16-05-2021, 12:59 PM
Jim Spence is well worth a read on Twitter today.
An interesting take on the cultural and societal roots on what we saw yesterday but also a pretty enlightening insight into how the media deal with it. That's from a man who was denied work because he dared to tell the truth about Rangers 2012.
I did a week work experience with Jim about 15 years ago and he was brilliant. Deeply knowledge about Scottish football, loves the game and was very honest with me on his views of the game.
Really sad to see how he's been pushed out for telling the truth.
16-05-2021, 01:02 PM
Everything is fine, the guy who blew 3 fingers off still has enough to count how many trophies they've won.
On one hand.
16-05-2021, 01:04 PM
I did a week work experience with Jim about 15 years ago and he was brilliant. Deeply knowledge about Scottish football, loves the game and was very honest with me on his views of the game.
Really sad to see how he's been pushed out for telling the truth.
We should employ him to present Hibs TV
16-05-2021, 01:15 PM
I’m maybe being slow here, but it says police dispersed the crowds due to rising disorder. Why the F was that not done in the first place given it was obvious it was going to end up that way ?
16-05-2021, 01:19 PM
I’m maybe being slow here, but it says police dispersed the crowds due to rising disorder. Why the F was that done in the first place given it was obvious it was going to end up that way ?
What if we manage to win next week and there are crowds of Hibs supporters here and there - should the police disperse them in case something happens?
16-05-2021, 01:21 PM
I’m maybe being slow here, but it says police dispersed the crowds due to rising disorder. Why the F was that done in the first place given it was obvious it was going to end up that way ?
Correct.
They shouldn't have been allowed to congregate in the first place.
16-05-2021, 01:22 PM
Correct.
They shouldn't have been allowed to congregate in the first place.
They weren't allowed to congregate. They just did.
16-05-2021, 01:24 PM
What if we manage to win next week and there are crowds of Hibs supporters here and there - should the police disperse them in case something happens?
They’ve history for it though, that’s the difference, we all saw the scenes when they clinched the league.
16-05-2021, 01:25 PM
They weren't allowed to congregate. They just did.
:agree: I dont know how they could have stopped them, without causing even more trouble than they did have?
Although we have got to the stage now where that lot think they are never wrong, and can do what they like when they like.:rolleyes:
16-05-2021, 01:26 PM
They’ve history for it though, that’s the difference, we all saw the scenes when they clinched the league.
You're absolutely right, it was certain to happen.
How do you stop tens of thousands of determined people gathering though?
16-05-2021, 01:28 PM
You're absolutely right, it was certain to happen.
How do you stop tens of thousands of determined people gathering though?
Well I know what I would do !
I agree with you, but the point is when the police decided it had got out of hand they were able to disperse them though.
16-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Don't agree with Sturgeon saying it was a minority. It has never been a minority with them, always the majority.
16-05-2021, 01:30 PM
Snipers?
16-05-2021, 01:32 PM
Snipers?
Soap and water cannons were my first thought, but I like your thinking !
16-05-2021, 01:32 PM
Everything is fine, the guy who blew 3 fingers off still has enough to count how many trophies they've won.
On one hand.
I hope he gave a hand with the clean up.
16-05-2021, 01:34 PM
Just waiting now for the howls of protest over polis brutality towards peaceful fun loving huns....😇
...or provocation, ala 2016 !
16-05-2021, 01:35 PM
I agree with you, but the point is when the police decided it had got out of hand they were able to disperse them though.
The crowds had already begun dispersing by the time the police took action. That makes sense as you can arrest the stragglers and uses CCTV to arrest the others at a later date. (remind you of 2016?)
16-05-2021, 01:35 PM
I’m maybe being slow here, but it says police dispersed the crowds due to rising disorder. Why the F was that not done in the first place given it was obvious it was going to end up that way ?Near the end they mention a few arrests for public order offences but as the crowd was fairly well behaved they let it go on as wading in to disperse the crowd would have been disproportionate. They only got more involved when they started fighting, vandalising etc.
Basically if they'd all gone and had a party they would have been left alone....
A lesson for the fans next week, not that either of us need it. :agree
16-05-2021, 01:36 PM
Our council tax having to pay for the clean up after there thoughtless behaviour.Probably that extra spending could have been better used for more deserving causes.Pity councils could not bill Rangers for the clean up.
16-05-2021, 01:37 PM
Is there anything that can be done to punish Rangers?
16-05-2021, 01:40 PM
Is there anything that can be done to punish Rangers?Did they have anything to do with it?
16-05-2021, 01:42 PM
Don't agree with Sturgeon saying it was a minority. It has never been a minority with them, always the majority.To be fair, there were a few blue nose garden parties in my area, was even invited to one (I declined :greengrin ), not a bit of trouble apart from the occasional 'party' song and to be honest even then that faded out quite quickly.
So in terms minority, of their total support, probably is, of the ones there the it was a significant minority :agree:
Mind you, there might be an argument about fans without bus tickets etc :greengrin
16-05-2021, 01:43 PM
Soap and water cannons were my first thought, but I like your thinking !
My first thoughts were flame throwers, but i could probably agree with snipers as a less inflammatory response.
16-05-2021, 01:44 PM
Just waiting now for the howls of protest over polis brutality towards peaceful fun loving huns....😇
...or provocation, ala 2016 !
maybe they were “ goaded “ into having a riot. :greengrin
16-05-2021, 01:45 PM
Is there anything that can be done to punish Rangers?
Did they have anything to do with it?I wondered that as well (both posts), then I got to thinking that we (hibs) get charged extra by the police to cover policing around the ground as well as inside.... get 'em hammered for the costs!
16-05-2021, 01:47 PM
Did they have anything to do with it?
I'd suggest they have in effect encouraged their supporters given they haven't seen fit to comment or condemn their behaviour. It's a tactic approval imo. If they came out and said fans would be banned from Ibrox, the behaviour was outrageous and disgraceful etc then it might make them think again.
But we've had nothing. Any other club in the UK would have spoken out. Their silence speaks volumes.
16-05-2021, 01:47 PM
I wondered that as well (both posts), then I got to thinking that we (hibs) get charged extra by the police to cover policing around the ground as well as inside.... get 'em hammered for the costs!
Hibs pay for police & stewarding when we organise something (eg. a match). Did Rangers organise anything yesterday?
16-05-2021, 01:49 PM
I'd suggest they have in effect encouraged their supporters given they haven't seen fit to comment or condemn their behaviour. It's a tactic approval imo. If they came out and said fans would be banned from Ibrox, the behaviour was outrageous and disgraceful etc then it might make them think again.
But we've had nothing. Any other club in the UK would have spoken out. Their silence speaks volumes.
Because they haven't commented after the event, they encouraged the actions? That's a bit of a stretch is it not?
16-05-2021, 01:53 PM
Hibs pay for police & stewarding when we organise something (eg. a match). Did Rangers organise anything yesterday?
No idea, but how did the fans get to the front door of Ibrox
Should been ringed off
16-05-2021, 01:57 PM
No idea, but how did the fans get to the front door of Ibrox
Should been ringed off
Was there trouble at Ibrox?
16-05-2021, 02:03 PM
*certain football fans
They do not differentiate everyone gets tarred with the same bbrush. In WW2 not every German was a Nazi or in the SS. No-one at the time differentiated. No change
16-05-2021, 02:04 PM
Hibs pay for police & stewarding when we organise something (eg. a match). Did Rangers organise anything yesterday?Hence me saying both posts.... yours agrees with my head, the other, my heart!
16-05-2021, 02:05 PM
They do not differentiate everyone gets tarred with the same bbrush. In WW2 not every German was a Nazi or in the SS. No-one at the time differentiated. No change
That’s some comparison
16-05-2021, 02:06 PM
i don't think this is a photoshop :confused:
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/186532420_319672072864287_5692530028119246048_n.jp g?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=uXWViSRA1dgAX-TZ-6U&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=4b5c30975a703255bbe7a6cc07b7147b&oe=60C684D1
16-05-2021, 02:06 PM
Was there trouble at Ibrox?
Photos of fans on top of the famous gates at Ibrox in the media. They got past barriers.
16-05-2021, 02:08 PM
i don't think this is a photoshop :confused:
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/186532420_319672072864287_5692530028119246048_n.jp g?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=uXWViSRA1dgAX-TZ-6U&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=4b5c30975a703255bbe7a6cc07b7147b&oe=60C684D1
Also in the media.
16-05-2021, 02:11 PM
Also in the media.
Jesus Mary Joseph and the Wee Donkey............... just WHY
16-05-2021, 02:11 PM
Because they haven't commented after the event, they encouraged the actions? That's a bit of a stretch is it not?
C'mon off it man. The Rangers knew fine well what was going to happen and what they said in advance was incredibly dilute. I agree with the previous comment that it amounted to tacit approval. I expect Hibs to make a stronger statement of discouragement to gather in the event of us winning the Cup. Not that that will stop some folk heading to ER or the Links but the club should do the right thing and be robust with its plea to fans, not wishy washy.
16-05-2021, 02:12 PM
That’s some comparison
Just watch their behaviour, their salutes and gestures and their bile toward a religious minority snd you'll no doubt see some worrying comparisons...
16-05-2021, 02:13 PM
They are truly Scotland's shame. Last night's events were entirely predictable; we all knew what would happen, because it happens everywhere they go. As for relieving themselves in the streets, it's some poor sod's job to clean that up today. Unbelievable.
16-05-2021, 02:16 PM
Jesus Mary Joseph and the Wee Donkey............... just WHY
Found it. Front page of the herald. Headline is
Post match height of madness.
It's outside Ibrox.
16-05-2021, 02:19 PM
C'mon off it man. The Rangers knew fine well what was going to happen and what they said in advance was incredibly dilute. I agree with the previous comment that it amounted to tacit approval. I expect Hibs to make a stronger statement of discouragement to gather in the event of us winning the Cup. Not that that will stop some folk heading to ER or the Links but the club should do the right thing and be robust with its plea to fans, not wishy washy.
I'm not disagreeing with you. Somebody asked if there was anything that can be done to punish Rangers - I'm just trying to answer the question.
16-05-2021, 02:19 PM
Found it. Front page of the herald. Headline is
Post match height of madness.
It's outside Ibrox.
i'm trying to work out what that is hanging from his back, looks like a giant spider
maybe he thinks he's spider man :)
16-05-2021, 02:20 PM
Agreed, disappointing that such comments appear to be acceptable.
I agree with you, mate. This thread isn't .net's finest moment, and I dislike Der Hun as much as the next Hibs fan.