View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 2 (Nisbet, Boyle) v Livingston 1 FT

Pages : 1 [2] 3

21-04-2021, 06:24 PM
Livi improving but not tested Marciano.

Hibs wasting a lot of energy giving ball away cheaply.

40% possession for Hibs - 60% for Livi 2nd half so far.

21-04-2021, 06:24 PM
Think that would almost wrap up 3rd for us Aldo

Really hope we get 3 points this evening, Celtic win and we go and play really well on Saturday evening!

21-04-2021, 06:26 PM
We need to get a hold of the ball here. First touch is poor

Livi really coming into it now.

Hibs need to step up their game quite a bit.

We need to lift this here, they’re getting closer

Thought that was in. 🙄

Got lucky there, great ball in and McGinn sleeping at the back post

21-04-2021, 06:27 PM
Getting a bit slack again holding on to a 2-0 lead for me, let’s get the ball back and get a 3rd.

Really good chance for Livi, their best of the match, but goes just wide

That was close. Need to step up here Hibs

Slow down Hibs, we don't need another one and it is far safer having the ball than not

21-04-2021, 06:28 PM
Dreadful 2nd half so far.

21-04-2021, 06:28 PM
We are far too deep - they have chucked on 3 attackers.

Disjointed too and not keeping ball in middle or up front.

Nearly a pen for Livi and then nearly Hibs break and score.

21-04-2021, 06:29 PM
Wrong option by Boyle there.

Pass to Nisbet and it would have been a goal.

Livi look like scoring.

McGinn back to his best today IMO.

Porteous luck to escape a booking there

Dreadful 2nd half so far.

Aye agreed, really poor, if livi get one I fancy they’ll get another

21-04-2021, 06:30 PM
Battling well in the middle but losing the ball too easily, our only outlet seems to be the pace of Boyle, it's no wonder he gets fouled as much as he does.
Livi seem more in our half than theirs, sitting too deep again.

This is far too easy, what’s happened to us

Cmon tae f**** Hibs!!!s

All of a sudden we look like we have never met each other

Another let off. We got lucky, hopefully that’s a wake up call

Really poor just now, need to waken up.

Jeezo, Hibs.

How many chances are we going to give them?

Half 2 less good than half 1.

Livi look like scoring.

Yup - feels like the goal is coming.

Massive 20 mins.

JXM73
No be long before livi score, we're no in this....

21-04-2021, 06:31 PM
Lucky to be 2 up still.

Livi had a few chances last 5 minutes.

Forest should've scored, got away with that.

Paul1642
What is going on!

wakey wakey

The proverbial game of 2 half’s at the moment

They look like scoring any time soon.

Need to hold on to the ball better, livi pressing us and forcing us to launch it or give it away

21-04-2021, 06:32 PM
Lewy doing well to take the pressure off there.

Fallen out the game

Paul1642
57 mins of a hibs game and i'm feeling quite relaxed, no nail biting..yet

it's a strange feeling :)

How are to feeling at 70 mins....

I think we are just a little nervous here, we can see the prize.

21-04-2021, 06:33 PM
Have they thought the game was won at 2 up, need a boot up the erse.

Wright coming on

I think we are just a little nervous here, we can see the prize.

I’m nervous for them tbh

Drey Wright coming on to give us what we’re missing this half.

21-04-2021, 06:34 PM
Fallen out the game

Yup. Been a poor second half to say the least. First half was probably our best performance of the season as well.

Everything will be ok here comes Wright

Need 5 minutes to settle down here and take control again

Wright coming on

Shame Cadden is injured

Wright replacing Doidge.

I hope Wright shows something today, as I'm not convinced.

Would’ve done Magennis for Irvine tbh

Hmm

Drey Wright FFS

21-04-2021, 06:35 PM
Sub makes sense. Doidge not really involved in the second half so get another body into midfield

Yup. Been a poor second half to say the least. First half was probably our best performance of the season as well.
Agree

Sub makes sense. Doidge not really involved in the second half so get another body into midfield

Also gives him a wee breather before the weekend!

21-04-2021, 06:36 PM

Yip, lets take back control of the midfield. :agree:

How are to feeling at 70 mins....

i'm fine until they do pull one back

Yup

We need something in central midfield - losing that battle.

21-04-2021, 06:37 PM
12+ mins

21-04-2021, 06:38 PM
Just need to run the clock down - it’s 100mph and we can’t settle at all.

12+ mins

Ffs ref

Is that three or four yellows we've had?

21-04-2021, 06:39 PM
Is that three or four yellows we've had?

3 - Irvine, McGinn and Gogic.

21-04-2021, 06:40 PM
Ffs ref

:)

anyway... 3-3 in bookings

I’m beginning to get very nervous.

The secret to supporting Hibs is to never be not nervous.

Livi have just made their fourth, separate substitution...I thought you could make 5 in total on 3 separate occasions. Or does a half time sub not count the same as an in-play one?

21-04-2021, 06:41 PM
3 - Irvine, McGinn and Gogic.

FWIW, I can see this game losing a bit pace and finishing 2-0 now.

Nah, cigars and slippers time.

I hope Livi score now to take the fear of Livi scoring away

21-04-2021, 06:42 PM
Livi have just made their fourth, separate substitution...I thought you could make 5 in total on 3 separate occasions. Or does a half time sub not count the same as an in-play one?

I think it's 3 in game and the half time doesn't count.

We need to sign a midfielder in summer who can keep the ball in games like this to take pressure off us.

Not worried. Best defensive record in 20 years. We don't lose leads anymore.

edit - Alright, I lied. PANIC

If Livi get 1 they will score 2.

JXM73
Ffs

Penalty Livingston

21-04-2021, 06:43 PM
McGenniss, what a first contribution!

Magennis’ first touch

Poor sub

**** me Magennis

Magennis on, immediately very clumsily gives away penalty

Crazyhorse

Mr Grieves
****ing hell Magennis

Stupid ****ing penaly to give away

2-1 🙄

It’s been coming.

Pish.

I’m too nervous to watch the rest of this

2-1

JXM73
2-1

Ffs, absolutely brutal!!!

Mikey_1875
Terrible touch there

for the love of god magennis

Invited this with our crap approach to the second half.

Ffs

HendoDelivered
Please no...

Ffs that is absolutely horrific from Magennis there. Not even amateur level that.

Stupid tackle by Magennis

21-04-2021, 06:44 PM
Come on Hibs, you were so far on top the first half.

McGenniss, what a first contribution!

Five year deal.[emoji849]

Get him off

Well...that’s been coming...

Do we have the mentality / quality to hold out ?!

That is awful from Kyle M

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Self inflicted I’m afraid.

Ffs that is absolutely horrific from Magennis there. Not even amateur level that.

His basic technique and ability is a ****ing mile off the standard required to play for us.

Out of position, unfit, injured, what ever excuses people have made for him, he’s just not good enough.

Don’t blow this Hibs. We’re under so much pressure now.

Stupid tackle by Magennis

It was and he knows it, but we need to get a hold of the ball

Thats a shocking mistake. Just need to focus up and get through. Get it into corners etc. I disagree heavily with taking Doidge off in games like this. He is so effective.

Is Magennis ever actually going to be fit?

The fear is away. All good.

21-04-2021, 06:45 PM
****ing horrendous from magennis there. Zero awareness and pish poor touch

Nah, cigars and slippers time.

Cigar stubbed oot and slippers aff.

OK, now I'm nervous

21-04-2021, 06:46 PM
Big Jay Emmanuel taking the ball down on his foot from a goal kick there next to Drey Wright just on the park.
Get working get closer.

The best and worst of Hibs tonight.

this really should have been so different, take the foot of the pedal and let Livingston dictate things

Time to put a foot on the ball

Wull
Lack of leadership on the park, shocking second half :confused:

21-04-2021, 06:47 PM
OK, now I'm nervousJust another day following Hibs. 2 up 15 to go, tactical subs to preserve a lead[emoji16]

Been there before.

Lendo
Stuck a fiver on 2-2, that means I won’t win. We will win (or lose 3-2)

JET has been very good this half, he's one i'd like to add to the squad if we could.

How do we go from being so good first half to this utter pish, it’s beyond belief?

Woeful.

Can't believe we are in this position.
After an excellent entertaining first half, you can't describe this as 'being professional and seeing the game out' we've dropped off big time.

we're up against Barcelona now

Thats a shocking mistake. Just need to focus up and get through. Get it into corners etc. I disagree heavily with taking Doidge off in games like this. He is so effective.

Yup Doidge heads the ball and at least can hold it up.

RossScott1991
This is why we love football....

I think 😂😂

Just another day following Hibs. Superb first half sat chewing the nails by the end !!

21-04-2021, 06:48 PM
The second half performance has really taken the shine off how good we were at times in the first half. Compounded by the fact that its been self inflicted rather than a good performance by our opponents.

Did leadership score 2 goals for us? or was it 2 quality players?

Leadership is taking us to 3rd and a cup quarter final at home. We're not lacking it at all.

JET has been very good this half, he's one i'd like to add to the squad if we could.

I've been quite impressed with him this season. Handful.

Our midfield is non existent- mainly Newell and Irvine:

Newell isny playing

A game of 2 halfs no doubt about it.

21-04-2021, 06:49 PM
This has been a typical performance at Easter road for us this season

MikeyS

I heard him on radio the other day. He isn't staying with them. If someone can get him fit he will be an asset in this league.

Finally Irvine being smart and doing what McGinn used to do and run the clock down.

Tam McManus can’t believe we’re holding on here, I’d say it was obvious the way the half was playing out!!

21-04-2021, 06:50 PM
Come oan ref..

21-04-2021, 06:50 PM
Newell isny playing

He was with Irvine - we need more in midfield next season.

21-04-2021, 06:51 PM
I know people say the points are all that matters but it's not, we also want a performance to go with any win we get, I'm fed up watching scrappy football, sitting deep with good football very so often. We seldom see us dominate a premier team for the whole 90 mins, always seems to be an odd half here and there.

I thought Doidge went off. Cant believe he's missed those 2.

Has to score there.

has to be scoring one of them

Ffs Nisbet!

OtleyHibs
Should have been 3....maybe twice 😁

21-04-2021, 06:52 PM
Could have killed it there

Must be it surely

2-1 full time thank God.

Right come on Celtic.

wallpaperman
I know people say the points are all that matters but it's not, we also want a performance to go with any win we get, I'm fed up watching scrappy football, sitting deep with good football very so often. We seldom see us dominate a premier team for the whole 90 mins, always seems to be an odd half here and there.

3 points today are all that matters, end of.

Don't care to be honest. 3 points is all that matters

Huuuuuuugggggggeeeeeee win!

Well done Hibs

Two great chances for Nisbet in a minute, at least he wins a corner to wind the clock down

Europe confirmed :hyper

Phew!

We've played the added time really cleverly.

Well earned victory, very important 3 points.

Ýyyyyyyyyyyyyýyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssss ssss

JXM73
Job done, away to calm down to a frenzie now

He was with Irvine - we need more in midfield next season.

It will be a big season for Magennis. He’s got to prove he’s worth that long deal

Huge win

Great result!

Smelling second half after probably the best half of the season in the first half.

That should be us home and hosed.

Phew!

Job Done

Brilliant 3 points, Livi not a bad team.

Come on Celtic !!

Stairway 2 7
Boom celtic win and its done

21-04-2021, 06:53 PM
Thank f’k for that.

God only knows why we took our foot off the gas.

Deserved that none the less.

Nisbet has missed some glorious chances the last two games.

At least he's getting in the right spaces in a positive note.

Paul1642
Great win. Typical Hibs can’t let my blood pressure chill though.

OtleyHibs
Good 3 points, poor second half but we got there.

First half as good as I've seen us for a long time

****ing massive win. WELL DONE HIBS :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

thank goodness

never in doubt etc etc :greengrin

As good as the 1st half was, the 2nd was equally poor. We never seemed to adapt to or deal with Livingston changing shape.

3 points was the order of the day though so really number of ****s given about the performance is zero. Pressure well and truly on Aberdeen now.

Green Reaper
Get in there!! Now to watch the lesser greens put the final nail in

Don't care to be honest. 3 points is all that matters

3 points today are all that matters, end of.

I agree, just fed up watching us struggle at times.

Mikey_1875
A great three points even though it was a lot harder in the end than it should have been

Waited till Injury time to start playing

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Never in doubt

Thanks to Magennis for injecting some, erm... Excitement into the 2nd half [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Hysterical bedwetters. Never in doubt :greengrin

Ive put 50 quid on Nisbet top goalscorer at 50/1 at the start of the season... that miss was a killer

Tremendous result. Well done Hibs.
Can't help but feel that second half was all a bit needless!

Points in the bag, business end of the season, well done Hibs

Another big game won by Jack Ross

21-04-2021, 06:54 PM
Absolutely typical of us at ER this season. Dominated but ended up holding on at the end there.

Nisbet’s finishing seems to have gone backwards as well

Jekyll and Hyde performance tonight. Main thing is the 3 points. Gogic was immense 2nd half.

EZ

Its a win, that's all that matters, but it was a painful second half after an excellent first.

Made hard work of it but what a tremendous result and thoroughly deserved. I would love to know what Ross said at half time as he should have kept it to Have a breather and same again. We looked like we set up to play on the break second half and it just encouraged them to come on to us and gain confidence. No idea why he took Newell off either as he was doing fine and keeps the ball. Saying all that he was the manager in the first half too and we were excellent.

GRA
Well 1st and 2nd half were night and day... Great in the first and holding on in the 2nd... but as I said before all about getting the 3 points at this stage of the season! One more win and 3rd is ours ☺

Cruit
A very good first half that felt quite long ago by the end of the game.

Good 3 points though, I missed the 1st half but got the 2nd rubbish one :greengrin, closer to that 3rd spot.

21-04-2021, 06:55 PM
As good as the 1st half was, the 2nd was equally poor. We never seemed to adapt to or deal with Livingston changing shape.

3 points was the order of the day though so really number of ****s given about the performance is zero. Pressure well and truly on Aberdeen now.

Exactly this !!

Really important 3 points and delighted to win.

Getting closer...

Great win. Great first half. Saw it out well in the end. 7 points ahead of the sheep botherers. If celtic win I think its done

Big win. Hopefully Celtc do the business too.

Hopefully our hideous offspring do us a favour now

Win was all that mattered. Played some great stuff and our quality up front got us through once again.

Stuarty1875
Big 3 points for us

Thank goodness for that. We were as bad in that second half as we were good in the 1st.

I'll take the win though.

21-04-2021, 06:56 PM
Absolutely typical of us at ER this season. Dominated but ended up holding on at the end there.

Nisbet’s finishing seems to have gone backwards as well

Last 10 I was nervous as but I’ll take 3 points... couldn’t watch!

Business end of the season so a wins a win.

Let’s hope Celtic show up this evening

That second half took me back to mid-to late 60’s and very early 70’s standing in the shed end biting my finger nails to the quick. :greengrin

Big 3 points in the overall picture. :thumbsup:

Never in doubt, magnificent performance from a brilliant team playing our trade mark sexy football. Three points keeps hopeless big heided sheep
in their place. 👍👍🇳🇬🇳🇬 GGTTH 😳

21-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Will take that all day long.

Well done boys, great result.

21-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Great win that finally takes us above Livi after they overtook us a couple of months ago. :thumbsup:

21-04-2021, 06:58 PM
Good 3 points though, I missed the 1st half but got the 2nd rubbish one :greengrin, closer to that 3rd spot.

We’ve found the jinx

ACLeith
Credit to Livi for their massive improvement after half time. They got in our faces and made it difficult. But I would have taken 3 points any which way before the game.

Brilliant result and a cracking first half. Less said about the 2nd half the better really but we've done what was needed in the end.

Celtic win and surely it's all but over

21-04-2021, 06:59 PM
Big game - won.

21-04-2021, 07:00 PM
That 2nd half was brutal. Happens too much at home. Still, job done and a brilliant first half.

21-04-2021, 07:00 PM
Big result. Aberdeen probably need to win now.

Roll on Saturday.

21-04-2021, 07:01 PM
Great result. Poor 2nd half. But we are pretty much there now.

21-04-2021, 07:01 PM
aberdeen score :rolleyes:

21-04-2021, 07:02 PM
Big game - won.

Important game = won

Hopefully we won't be spending big money offering Irvine a deal. A complete passenger tonight and how he lasted the 90 mins is beyond me

Reminded me of the game we won at Tynecastle. Totally dominated the first half, miles in front, chance to run up a few goals. Then came out in the second half without any real intent to get forward.

First half is what I want to see. Second half isn’t.

Take the win though.

21-04-2021, 07:03 PM

Yep that was a poor decision, he took a few knocks but we needed his height. Didn't agree with either sub tonight.

Wull
21-04-2021, 07:03 PM
Did leadership score 2 goals for us? or was it 2 quality players?

Leadership is taking us to 3rd and a cup quarter final at home. We're not lacking it at all.

If you were happy with that second half performance, what can I say.

loanheadhibby
21-04-2021, 07:04 PM
I'm purely talking about tonight's game but Doidge was hopeless and completely ineffective.

Put the effort in early and won the game by half time.

Never in any danger of dropping points.

Hopefully we won't be spending big money offering Irvine a deal. A complete passenger tonight and how he lasted the 90 mins is beyond me

Might be controversial but i agree , Offers nothing in a hibs jersey

Crazyhorse
2-1 full time thank God.

Right come on Celtic.

Never in doubt

c31

I agree and Newell didn't have a good game either, I though Gogic's performance was the reason we won.

21-04-2021, 07:05 PM
Any win was massive tonight. Not really botherd about dissecting the 2nd half. Another massive game in the Scottish Cup on Saturday. This could be a special end to the season.

Hopefully we won't be spending big money offering Irvine a deal. A complete passenger tonight and how he lasted the 90 mins is beyond meI thought the 2nd 45 everyone was anon but he was part of a great team performance the first 45

Proverbial game of 2 halves. Dreadful mistake by Mcgennis for the penalty but fortunately didn't matter in the end. 3 points most important thing.

21-04-2021, 07:06 PM
Hopefully we won't be spending big money offering Irvine a deal. A complete passenger tonight and how he lasted the 90 mins is beyond meI'm not his biggest fan, but he was about the only player capable of keeping possession for us toward the end of the game.

Credit to Livi for their massive improvement after half time. They got in our faces and made it difficult. But I would have taken 3 points any which way before the game.

Livi are a good wee side, operating on a tiny budget. They are doing very well.

I agree and Newell didn't have a good game either, I though Gogic's performance was the reason we won.

Gogic was the best of the three by an absolute mile tonight.

21-04-2021, 07:07 PM
Livi are a good wee side, operating on a tiny budget. They are doing very well.Hopefully they carry on that performance into the Aberdeen game

Thank f’k for that.

God only knows why we took our foot off the gas.

Deserved that none the less.

If you were happy with that second half performance, what can I say.I'm not happy with it. I'm happy with winning games, which we are doing.

I'm purely talking about tonight's game but Doidge was hopeless and completely ineffective.

Played a big part in first goal and generally makes a nuisance and holds it up well. Nisbet hardly touched it second half, other than 2 misses.

Irvine wasn’t a passenger. Faded second half (though good last few mins) and played well first half.

21-04-2021, 07:08 PM
aberdeen score :rolleyes:

As expected, I think. Celtic and their fans have given up for the rest of the season. They weren’t going to have a match thread but somebody reluctantly started one........ they’re dire.

penihibs
21-04-2021, 07:09 PM

Your bang on!

21-04-2021, 07:10 PM

Man of the match over the 90 I thought. Undroppable now (until we secure 3rd)!

21-04-2021, 07:12 PM
I expected Aberdeen to take something tonight, and it looks like they may.
Tonight was a must win for us - as probably the most winnable of our post-split fixtures.
I suspect there's still a few twists to go yet.

21-04-2021, 07:12 PM
Man of the match over the 90 I thought. Undroppable now (until we secure 3rd)!Yep, agree

Boyle was unplayable first 45 but over the course of the game I'd give mom to Gogic

Magennis a close 2nd

21-04-2021, 07:15 PM
Yep, agree

Boyle was unplayable first 45 but over the course of the game I'd give mom to Gogic

Magennis a close 2nd

You must have had a poor stream in NZ!!

21-04-2021, 07:16 PM
You must have had a poor stream in NZ!![emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

H18S NX
21-04-2021, 07:17 PM
Boyle MOM first half..Gogic MOM second half,immense.

21-04-2021, 07:18 PM
Boyle MOM first half..Gogic MOM second half,immense.

21-04-2021, 07:19 PM
European football next season at some stage confirmed now, what a difference in halves but a big 3 points.

21-04-2021, 07:31 PM
First half offensively excellent. Second half defensively excellent which is something we haven’t been always able to say.

21-04-2021, 07:41 PM
I’m surprised with so many positive comments for Gogic. He was brilliant first half but I thought he was the worst culprit after the break for giving the ball away. Too often he just kicks it away first time.

Anyway could criticise most of the team for that 2nd half but - with exception of the penalty - it was professionally seen out. I’d rather we came out and went for another goal with a bit more conviction but we got the job done.

21-04-2021, 09:06 PM
I don’t know what people expected second half.

We battered them first half and were 2-0 up. Livi would have got a boot at half time and told to chuck everything at us as they’ve nothing to lose, Ross would have warned us of this as we have all to lose.

We’re also a very good counter attacking team and sitting in and absorbing the pressure worked, giving away a pen and the last few being shaky is unfortunate but overall it was an excellent first half performance and ‘professional second half

21-04-2021, 09:11 PM

We battered them first half and were 2-0 up. Livi would have got a boot at half time and told to chuck everything at us as they’ve nothing to lose, Ross would have warned us of this as we have all to lose.

We’re also a very good counter attacking team and sitting in and absorbing the pressure worked, giving away a pen and the last few being shaky is unfortunate but overall it was an excellent first half performance and ‘professional second half

Not too sure I agree with that. I just think we weren’t that good in the second half. They missed a great chance at the back post not long before their penalty as well.

As oppose to sitting back and soaking up the pressure we should’ve been looking to kill the game and get a third early on imo, completely preventable the way things went

The good thing is we managed to hang on and turns out to be a very good win after dons chucking it in the last minute

21-04-2021, 09:11 PM

I think it’s down to frustration. We were outstanding in the first half and should have had the game done and dusted. But we’ve all seen it before from Hibs who seem to delight in putting us through the wringer. However, it was a priceless three points and Griffiths late equaliser made it even sweeter.

21-04-2021, 09:15 PM

:aok: I agree - one thing about any Livingston side is nothing is handed on a plate, they are robust, and very hard working and professional. They're a side that never leaves a pitch knowing they never gave 100%.

Keep saying it, and I know he looks languid (and can appear lazy because of it) but I'm very impressed with Jay Emmanuel-Thomas - very intelligent player and offers something very different. A real handful for defenders too. A cult figure I reckon - I'd take a chance on him.

21-04-2021, 09:47 PM
:aok: I agree - one thing about any Livingston side is nothing is handed on a plate, they are robust, and very hard working and professional. They're a side that never leaves a pitch knowing they never gave 100%.

Keep saying it, and I know he looks languid (and can appear lazy because of it) but I'm very impressed with Jay Emmanuel-Thomas - very intelligent player and offers something very different. A real handful for defenders too. A cult figure I reckon - I'd take a chance on him.https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/livingston-boss-david-martindale-says-23955250

21-04-2021, 10:11 PM

I expected Livi to come out 2nd half and give it a right go and close us down quickly but the 2nd half was set up perfectly for a good counter attacking team. We just didn’t play with any composure and lumped and lashed it away and kept falling back deeper. Our passing and movement was woeful. We barely strung any significant passages of play together until the end when Livi were all out attack. I think we are a good counter attacking team but forgot how to do it 2nd half tonight, perhaps down to the significance of the game. Fantastic first half and a superb and richly deserved result though.

21-04-2021, 10:18 PM

Keep saying it, and I know he looks languid (and can appear lazy because of it) but I'm very impressed with Jay Emmanuel-Thomas - very intelligent player and offers something very different. A real handful for defenders too. A cult figure I reckon - I'd take a chance on him.

Would be a very handy option as a back up

21-04-2021, 10:26 PM

I've been very impressed with JET as well - huge guy with a great deftness about his play. Interesting interview from Martindale above (someone else I've been impressed by) - he speaks very well of him.

Magpie
21-04-2021, 11:01 PM

I’m sure we were interested in him a couple of years ago.

22-04-2021, 07:31 AM

He’s a player that I liked when I first saw him. Direct, creative and not afraid to tackle. But I noticed a few weeks ago that he was hiding, failing to mark up in midfield and his first pass was invariably backwards.

Against the bottom six he can be highly effective but when up against combative midfields like the Old Firm, Aberdeen, Livingston and St Johnstone, he isn’t brave enough or robust enough.

If you are an opposition midfielder he’s not an opponent you would fear as you stride forward

EVENTUALLY
22-04-2021, 07:39 AM

I'd swap him for Doidge in a heartbeat. Physical, football nous and great feet. Tin hat is on.

I'd not be surprised to see him turn up in Gorgie.