View Full Version : Stranraer 0 v Hibs 4 (Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle x 2)
Think Newall has been fine. Set pieces excellent. Nisbet finishing has been so poor today.
He’ll be raging to not have got at least a hat trick today, hopefully that’s the misses out the system
18-04-2021, 12:50 PM
Referee just ignored the fact Hammil has his arms wrapped round Wright
18-04-2021, 12:51 PM
Referee just ignored the fact Hammil has his arms wrapped round Wright
imagine anyone trying to wrap their arms around Hammil
18-04-2021, 12:52 PM
imagine anyone trying to wrap their arms around Hammil
I would imagine it would be akin to trying to lift an Atlas Stone
18-04-2021, 12:53 PM
That should have been a red. Shocking tackle, deliberate with absolutely no attampt to play the ball.
that was an assault on boyle
Boyle diving again!
Boyle could have been injured there.
Should have been a straight red.
BOYLE shocking challenge - absolutely wiped out. He better not get injured.
That’s a shocking challenge
Big mutant tries to injure boyle
penalty hibs
18-04-2021, 12:54 PM
Penalty. Stonewaller.
That could be a second yellow?
I really hope swearing isn't creeping in to football.
I took 3-0 for us today, so don’t mind if we miss here...
That Robertson’s a clown
Porteous took a sore one for the penalty.
Robertson should be off.
Potential second card for the defender?
4-0 boyler !!!!
easy easy :flag:
That could be a second yellow?
Should’ve been
Good pen
***** had 3-0 on the predictor.
Great penalty.
That twat shouldn't be on the park. Dirty *******.
Penalty Hibs.
Pen Hibs, 4-0 that's my prediction league up the spout again :greengrin
mayo hibee
18-04-2021, 12:55 PM
Robertson pretty much the definition of a hatchet man footballer out there. Pathetic really.
It’s not pointless, we’ve got a game midweek.
Gives Newell a rest before Wednesday
Should have taken Boyle off. Even if you want to rest Newell, bring someone else on.
4-0 Hibs :thumbsup:
Like to hear Forster and the rest of the pundits on Martin now. I bet they will be silent.
Should be a red card as well. 0-4 Hibs.
Great penalty.
That twat shouldn't be on the park. Dirty *******.
Should have been a second yellow.
Good save Macey. Had nothing to do so good to see him get down sharply there.
hhibs
no need to Boyle on,and predictably bad foul.Get someone else on,
Great penalty .but do not care ,protect your key assets.
Great save Macey !
4-0 Boyle penalty. Good penalty.
Superb save
18-04-2021, 12:56 PM
I really like the look of Macey.
Good save Macey, had nowt to do all day so good concentration.
We want five!!!!
Great save Matt Macey
18-04-2021, 12:57 PM
Good save from Macey, then a couple of brain fart moments.
Amazing Mace.
Hamill's arse offside, from his own half
That’s a booking for deliberate hand ball as well.
Never in any dangers today. Poor, knackered opposition. Could've had 7 or 8 easily.
These early rounds of the cup really are a piece of piss. Should let the lower clubs like Stranraer , Brora and Hearts battle it out against each other for the right to play giants like us tbh
18-04-2021, 12:58 PM
They are hurting over on oneleagueback.
18-04-2021, 12:58 PM
We've been quite professional today.
18-04-2021, 12:59 PM
Stranraer finishing by far the stronger side :)
18-04-2021, 12:59 PM
These early rounds of the cup really are a piece of piss. Should let the lower clubs like Stranraer , Brora and Hearts battle it out against each other for the right to play giants like us tbh
It’s a shame for smaller teams like Brora, because if they draw more established teams like Stranraer like they did in the last round they don’t really have much of a chance of progressing.
Question from Mrs M...
Why is there a guy hanging from the tree beside the fat guy with the green Union Jack?
If anybody could possibly provide a reasonable answer, my ears will be very grateful
Lol! Andy isn’t as slim as he used to be but I’m sure that it’s all muscle!! 😂
18-04-2021, 01:00 PM
Never in any dangers today. Poor, knackered opposition. Could've had 7 or 8 easily.
We took luck out of the equation. Been a great display by Hibs, full of drive and good football.
18-04-2021, 01:00 PM
We're the team who beat the team who beat the team who beat Hearts.
18-04-2021, 01:03 PM
Has the big No 5 shaved his eyebrows off? Weird looking chap.
18-04-2021, 01:03 PM
Lol! Andy isn’t as slim as he used to be but I’m sure that it’s all muscle!! 😂
Andy must have been doing a hell of a lot of work on his belly muscles, then.
I’ll take that.
Well done Hibs!
18-04-2021, 01:04 PM
Bring on the Motherwell
Easy.
Never in any doubt. Solid performance, 4 goals is the least we deserved.
Good game. Nervy start to both halves but then we completely dominated.
Well done Hibs, double that scoreline wouldn't have flattered us with the chances we missed
Good result in the end.
Done reasonably well today to beat the team that beat the team that put Hearts out the cup
Excellent performance today and great to see the team taking these games seriously. Now onto the first huge league match.
Magpie
18-04-2021, 01:05 PM
Bring on the well.
18-04-2021, 01:06 PM
Very professional job 👏
4-0 going on 7.
Shame Nisbet was off form but decent performance and safely through.
18-04-2021, 01:07 PM
Good performance, very assured. Well done boys.
18-04-2021, 01:07 PM
Think all 4 games in 1/4 Final are on TV
2 x Premier and 2 on BBC
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock v St Mirren
Hibs v Motherwell
Rangers/Celtic v St Johnstone
18-04-2021, 01:09 PM
2 x Premier and 2 on BBC
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock v St fan is
Hibs v Motherwell
Think Premier will take the Aberdeen and St Johnstone games so we should be on BBC.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 01:10 PM
At 3-0 up with vital games to play this week why not make change to team,subs that were made pretty pointless.
Strange decision making by JR.
I know we had a good win but should we really be taking risks with our key players when the game is clearly won ?
Bitterness and seethe is strong today!
Quite funny how my Hearts chums say the draws been good to us!!!! [emoji23][emoji23] like their tie against the lowest ranking team
18-04-2021, 01:10 PM
2 x Premier and 2 on BBC
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock v St Mirren
Hibs v Motherwell
Weirdly I could see St Johnstone winning their quarter final. Think we may end up needing to win it.
Weegreenman
18-04-2021, 01:11 PM
Well played Hibs. A really difficult pitch and a potential Banana skin. A thoroughly professional performance 👏👏👏
Bring on the Well.
18-04-2021, 01:12 PM
2 x Premier and 2 on BBC
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Kilmarnock v St Mirren
Hibs v Motherwell
Yeah they are all on TV.
Premier will have the St Johnstone tie and I reckon the BBC will have Kilmarnock v St Mirren.
Not sure who will take us v Motherwell and Aberdeen v Dundee Utd.
I'm inclined to think our game will be on BBC again.
ABZHFC
18-04-2021, 01:12 PM
Highly professional :agree:
18-04-2021, 01:13 PM
Always a giggle to have a look at Kickback after a Hibs win, a Hibs win in a competition that they got papped out of by Brora 😅
18-04-2021, 01:13 PM
At 3-0 up with vital games to play this week why not make change to team,subs that were made pretty pointless.
I know we had a good win but should we really be taking risks with our key players when the game is clearly won ?Are Lewis Stevenson & Drey Wright key players?
18-04-2021, 01:14 PM
Yeah they are all on TV.
Premier will have the St Johnstone tie and I reckon the BBC will have Kilmarnock v St Mirren.
Not sure who will take us v Motherwell and Aberdeen v Dundee Utd.
I'm inclined to think our game will be on BBC again.
Who do we want to lose the Old Firm Derby today?
If Murphy was fit, I’d like to see The Rangers go out today
Weegreenman
18-04-2021, 01:15 PM
Can’t be easy supporting such a massive club and having to watch your wee city rivals lording it up!
The deluded fools must be 🙏 that we don’t get anywhere near the final.
18-04-2021, 01:16 PM
Rangers are a better team so I want them out.
18-04-2021, 01:17 PM
I agree
18-04-2021, 01:18 PM
I'd rather play the rangers, celtic will be hurting big time this year and if they get to a final will be desperate to win something so will be very dangerous
18-04-2021, 01:18 PM
Good, professional win. I think we need more goals from midfield though.
Whilst it's great to see Doidge, Boyle and Nisbet on the score sheet, we are very, very reliant on them.
Irvine and Newell in particular need to start contributing more.
Weegreenman
18-04-2021, 01:19 PM
I agree
Would be nice to repeat 2016 again though 💚
Agree, I'd quite fancy our chances against Celtic. Having said that we've put some decent performances in against Rangers this season but they are clearly a better side than Celtic this season so hopefully Celtic can do us all a favour this afternoon.
I hope we get the Sunday game
We’ve got a massive game on Wednesday, Motherwell with nothing to play for in the league, can rest a few v Hamilton
18-04-2021, 01:20 PM
Yep.
18-04-2021, 01:21 PM
I was thinking about this. Celtic are probably the easier of the 2 to beat, but St Johnstone will fancy their chances too.
If we're going to get the group stages in Europe, not only must we finish third, either the uglies or us have to win the cup so the Rangers being in the competition is better for us in that sense.
Fortunately, I don't have to make that decision!
18-04-2021, 01:21 PM
Well done Hibs on a bumpy pitch. Big week coming up.
18-04-2021, 01:26 PM
I'd be delighted if Rangers went out today. Can't see it though.
18-04-2021, 01:26 PM
just the real big teams left in the cup now
hhibs
18-04-2021, 01:33 PM
[QUOTE=Peevemor;6529976]Are Lewis Stevenson & Drey Wright key players?[/QUOTED
Maybe I was unclear.
1 WE should have made substitions of our key players .
2 we failed to substitute our key players and the subs we made were pretty pointless as only Doig was a key player.
18-04-2021, 01:38 PM
Only real disappointment from today was finding out that 90% of Hibs fans think this site is pish.
18-04-2021, 01:40 PM
Only real disappointment from today was finding out that 90% of Hibs fans think this site is pish.
😁
18-04-2021, 01:40 PM
9% are not sure
18-04-2021, 01:45 PM
[QUOTE=Peevemor;6529976]Are Lewis Stevenson & Drey Wright key players?[/QUOTED
Maybe I was unclear.
1 WE should have made substitions of our key players .
2 we failed to substitute our key players and the subs we made were pretty pointless as only Doig was a key player.We only get to use 3 substitutes in the cup and we used them all.
I'm not sure what your gripe is.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 01:58 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530009]We only get to use 3 substitutes in the cup and we used them all.
I'm not sure what your gripe is.
For one,Boyle was at risk as were our first rank players.
In short the wrong subs where made when we should protect our key players.
18-04-2021, 02:01 PM
[QUOTE=Peevemor;6530026]
Well, if that's all we have to moan about ...
18-04-2021, 02:03 PM
Thoroughly professional performance today against a plucky part time team, for who, this was their 4th game in 8 days. All credit to them for putting up a good bit of resistance in the first 10-15 minutes of each half.
However, imagine the reaction in here if this was our 4th game in 8 days? For me, that puts our win in perspective. Expected? Yes. Deserved? Yes. Easy? Yes butStranraer did there best given their recent heavy match schedule.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 02:07 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530045]
OK ,for one it is a comment and opinion not a moan,
For another you are either obtuse or just an being awkward for the sake of it.
18-04-2021, 02:07 PM
[QUOTE=Peevemor;6530026]
Winning the Cup guarantees us a UEFA cup place and European football, and the cash that cones with it, until Christmas. Currently we haven't yet guaranteed qualification for European Conference. You play your strongest team and stay in it to win it.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 02:17 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530045]
Winning the Cup guarantees us a UEFA cup place and European football, and the cash that cones with it, until Christmas. Currently we haven't yet guaranteed qualification for European Conference. You play your strongest team and stay in it to win it.
What part of my. at 3-0 up ,did you miss ?,
18-04-2021, 02:20 PM
[QUOTE=hibbyfraelibby;6530065]
If that's all u have to moan about then we really are in a good place right now
18-04-2021, 02:23 PM
ok, who ****** up the quotes
18-04-2021, 02:31 PM
OK ,for one it is a comment and opinion not a moan,
For another you are either obtuse or just an being awkward for the sake of it.
For one, it came across as a moan.
We just got through to the quarter finals of the Scottish cup, 4-0 away from home (which is good against any opposition), we used the maximum number of subs yet you're moaning that Ross didn't take off the right players.
And I'm the one being obtuse and/or awkward? Aye, right!
I know we had a good win but should we really be taking risks with our key players when the game is clearly won ?
Jesus Christ.
18-04-2021, 02:35 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530045]
Hey, your missing my moan about a lack of goals from midfield! 😂
hhibs
18-04-2021, 02:37 PM
For one, it came across as a moan.
We just got through to the quarter finals of the Scottish cup, 4-0 away from home (which is good against any opposition), we used the maximum number of subs yet you're moaning that Ross didn't take off the right players.
And I'm the one being obtuse and/or awkward? Aye, right!
Well if Boyle had been injured when hacked down I suppose you might of thought differently but maybe not, as you seem pretty blinkered.
18-04-2021, 02:39 PM
Good performance and result.
It’s all coming together nicely just when we need it to.
Win a couple more games and we’re in a final with a run of Euro games to look to.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 02:43 PM
Jesus Christ.
what is your point.I was worried about injuries ,what was yours ?
18-04-2021, 02:43 PM
Well if Boyle had been injured when hacked down I suppose you might of thought differently but maybe not, as you seem pretty blinkered.
Yeah, and if my auntie had baws...
18-04-2021, 02:46 PM
I think we'd already used 2 subs by the time we were 3 up.
Magennis, who was knackered and had to come off, and Doig who, like the third sub Newell, will be vital in the run-in.
I don't think there's anything to complain about.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 02:46 PM
Yeah, and if my auntie had baws...
Why take the risk? Or is that too difficult to grasp ?
18-04-2021, 02:48 PM
Why take the risk? Or is that too difficult to grasp ?
I understand what you're saying.
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530045]
We're 12 points ahead of Livi with 4 games to lay and 19 goals better off. I'm confident they're not going to overtake us.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 02:56 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530086]
I think we'd already used 2 subs by the time we were 3 up.
Magennis, who was knackered and had to come off, and Doig who, like the third sub Newell, will be vital in the run-in.
I don't think there's anything to complain about.
Accept your point but think protecting Boyle was an obvious move ?
hhibs
18-04-2021, 03:00 PM
We're 12 points ahead of Livi with 4 games to lay and 19 goals better off. I'm confident they're not going to overtake us.
Not sure what is happening here ,this shows the above response as one to my comment,which it is not my comment
18-04-2021, 03:01 PM
Good performance and result. Job done. Ties against lower league clubs are a no win situation so potentially quite tricky but we dealt with it very professionally and was 4 going on 6 or 7 really.
18-04-2021, 03:03 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;6530128]
Can’t protect everyone. What if Nisbet or Doidge or Newell or Hanlon took a dull one after taking Boyle off?
18-04-2021, 03:05 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;6530128]
He would disagree given he scored his 2nd late on.
18-04-2021, 03:22 PM
Not a new one for a match day thread really, people falling out with themselves.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 03:24 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530147]
Can’t protect everyone. What if Nisbet or Doidge or Newell or Hanlon took a dull one after taking Boyle off?
I would argue of all of these Boyle is the most vital.
18-04-2021, 03:26 PM
Not a new one for a match day thread really, people falling out with themselves.
We won easily. Peace and Love guys. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/Ssd3U_zicAI
hhibs
18-04-2021, 03:29 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530147]
He would disagree given he scored his 2nd late on.
Game was well won.by that time though.
18-04-2021, 03:31 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;6530163]
Game was well won.by that time though.
It was you who said after the third! :wink:
18-04-2021, 03:31 PM
Great run by Magennis. Didn't look offside and was one on one with the keeper.
He may now find form fir the run in He has still to prove himself in a hibs jersey Could work in our favour
18-04-2021, 03:32 PM
Ffs 😂
18-04-2021, 03:34 PM
We won easily. Peace and Love guys. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/Ssd3U_zicAI
It's all cool here. Just a friendly chat.
18-04-2021, 03:35 PM
Job done comfortably in the end. Boyle MoM once again. Kicked up and down the pitch but comes back for more every time.
hhibs
18-04-2021, 03:41 PM
[QUOTE=hhibs;6530211]
It was you who said after the third! :wink:
Exactly,there was no need for him to be at risk on the park.
18-04-2021, 03:43 PM
Job done comfortably in the end. Boyle MoM once again. Kicked up and down the pitch but comes back for more every time.
Wasn't it Lennon who brought him to Hibs?
His development since has been astonishing.
18-04-2021, 03:44 PM
No, Stubbs
18-04-2021, 03:44 PM
No, Stubbs
Of course. Fantastic vision.
18-04-2021, 03:48 PM
There was a loan with Alex Harris going to Dundee, if my memory serves me well
18-04-2021, 03:49 PM
Was a loan swap initially with Alex Harris going to Dundee, if my memory serves me well
Even better then! :wink:
18-04-2021, 03:56 PM
Boyle is hitting excellent form this second half of the season, some of his finishing has been top notch. That goal today wasn't an easy take.
Thought Doidge was superb today, a complete striker's performance and led the line well.
Boyle is hitting excellent form this second half of the season, some of his finishing has been top notch. That goal today wasn't an easy take.
Thought Doidge was superb today, a complete striker's performance and led the line well.
Our front 3 compliment each other imho all with differing attributes.
Hopefully they continue their firm into Wednesday and beyond.
Went on Kickback for the first time in ages to look at their opinion of the match.
They must all be male models given their opinions on everyone and anyone to do with Hibs being "ugly".
Won't be back for a while.
18-04-2021, 05:07 PM
Went on Kickback for the first time in ages to look at their opinion of the match.
They must all be male models given their opinions on everyone and anyone to do with Hibs being "ugly".
I think we're doing it the right way. Start with pretty good footballers then add some pretty, good footballers.
Although it's not for me to say - I'm no Craig Wighton myself.
18-04-2021, 05:07 PM
Their goalkeeper has been their Player of the Year - in the poorest Championship in years - that my friend should say it all :aok:
#RobbieMustStay #DeludedSince1874
plhibs
18-04-2021, 06:52 PM
Had a look at that as well, they are really way over the top with their vile and hateful comments about Hibs, very like their big cousins in the west.
18-04-2021, 07:32 PM
Wasn’t able to watch full match replay on iplayer as not on there yet, have just finished watching highlights on sport scene and looked a very professional job for the boys.
Could of been at least 7 from highlights and I guess Boyle motm.
18-04-2021, 07:32 PM
They were going on about Hibs being darlings of the media and can do no wrong in their eyes. They must live in a parallel universe.
Although they wouldn't admit it they are obviously jealous of how much better our team is compared to their's if player's looks are all they're able laugh about.
18-04-2021, 07:49 PM
How did McGuinness do? Looked like he had a good few moments from the highlights.
18-04-2021, 07:55 PM
How did McGuinness do? Looked like he had a good few moments from the highlights.
Dead and gone. One for the oldies :greengrin
Bukta#8
18-04-2021, 07:56 PM
Paddy is doing great on Top Gear best it’s been since Clarkson left😂😂
18-04-2021, 07:58 PM
Dead and gone. One for the oldies :greengrin
You’ve lit the touch paper now...
Paddy is doing great on Top Gear best it’s been since Clarkson left😂😂
🤣
They were going on about Hibs being darlings of the media and can do no wrong in their eyes. They must live in a parallel universe.
"Everybody's second favourite team" was one that stuck out for me. I guess all it takes is the occasional bit of praise for Hibs and that person will branded as "vermin".
Although they wouldn't admit it they are obviously jealous of how much better our team is compared to their's if player's looks is all they're able laugh about.
If they were laughing I failed to notice. Zero humour in their posts.
Pleased we got a comfortable victory away to the team that knocked out the mighty Brora.
19-04-2021, 08:47 AM
"Everybody's second favourite team" was one that stuck out for me. I guess all it takes is the occasional bit of praise for Hibs and that person will branded as "vermin".
If they were laughing I failed to notice. Zero humour in their posts.
I may be biased somewhat, but there does seem to be a touch of venom in their posts about us that you don't often see on here, "vermin" being a case in point. Don't get it tbh.
19-04-2021, 09:29 AM
I may be biased somewhat, but there does seem to be a touch of venom in their posts about us that you don't often see on here, "vermin" being a case in point. Don't get it tbh.A shift down from patronising us when Vlad was looking like he was investing money in the team rather than the dry shafting that was actually going on. Stockholm syndrome and identifying withe the captors and so everyone else is the enemy. Deepest insults for the neighbours that could see what was going on and tried to 'help' Deep enema is whats needed over there of course....
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk