View Full Version : Stranraer 0 v Hibs 4 (Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle x 2)
18-04-2021, 11:58 AM
Seems to be a lot of folk in the stadium, K Kyle is doing my nut in, good goal Doidge.
I think that's Iwelumo
Their keeper keeping them in game.
Great save
another good save from a porto header
If this was a boxing match it would be stopped. Complete miss match
Hibs must keep up the intensity until we get a 2nd or 3rd. Their goalie having a world-class game.
Dr What If?
Laidlaw on the bench....worth giving him the second half?
OtleyHibs
Good save from their keeper from Porto there, unlucky
Keyser Sauzee
18-04-2021, 11:59 AM
Tell me what he does then? No pace, not skillful, doesn't score goals. When's the last time he even got an assist?
Previous round against QOTS
Pitch? It's a tattie field.
A brick hard one at that.
What is it with keepers having the game of their lives against us?
Eh?
How you hearing him. Is he on the radio?
Maybe getting mixed up with Iwelomu
Great free kick from Newell, great header and great save. :top marks
We need more goals first.
Good effort from Nisbet there from distance.
How the heck is this 1-0 ?
18-04-2021, 12:00 PM
Tell me what he does then? No pace, not skillful, doesn't score goals. When's the last time he even got an assist?
Cracking ball he just put in now, produced a good save, suggest you watch him rather than slaver rubbish
Doidge was open there. Nisbet having a shocker
Eh?
How you hearing him. Is he on the radio?
Tv.
Previous round against QOTS
Was one of the best assists I’ve seen in months too.
Wouldn’t give him a half, but hope we’re comfortable enough later on that we can give him a chance.
Doidge was open there. Nisbet having a shocker
It was a decent effort
18-04-2021, 12:01 PM
HT
Great ball in from Newell. Porteous bullet header but keeper pulls off a cracking save.
Midfield missing so far , Boyle and Doig playing well
Great save, unlucky Porto. Excellent delivery from the free kick from Newell.
Irvine has been fine.
Tv.
BBC scotland has Chris Iwelumo.
We will get the delights of Kyle now it’s half time.
Not got a clue what role Magennis is playing, in no mans land.
Well, complete miss match off a first half. Another few goals coming in 2nd half as they tire
It always looks weaker without Gogic.
18-04-2021, 12:02 PM
Doidge must be close to being our top scorer without penalties. Top top player. Will be vital in Europe
Yup. He’s been anonymous again.
I’ve only seen the last 20 minutes so not sure about the game before then, but it’s difficult to see where Magennis fits in or what kind of player he is. In his defence we’re not going down the left hand side much, but out on the left he’s pretty anonymous whenever I’ve seen him.
Once he’s up to speed and a pre-season can we expect to see him more central?
Iwelumo is a blether, every comment is a cliche’
Doidge must be close to being our top scorer without penalties. Top top player. Will be vital in Europe
He’ll be a huge player for us in European football.
Good half, better finishing and poorer goalkeeping and we are 4-0 up. We need to come out for the second half like we did against QOS
18-04-2021, 12:03 PM
Should be at least 3 up. Tough first 15 ad the hosts "went for it" and were pressing high
Dominated since. Boyle playing well down the wing. Need more from Nibet and Irvine
Yup. He’s been anonymous again.
def needs to get involved more, Im expecting talent but dont see it.
18-04-2021, 12:04 PM
It’s a shame for him really, it’s not his position. He doesn’t want to be on his left foot, doesn’t look like it anyway.
We didn’t buy him to play him out there, and we’ll never see the best of him if he’s not given a chance in the middle.
Couple of early goals in 2nd half should be on the cards hopefully. Have to say Magennis has been dreadful, think his season is a write off and hopefully he'll be back stronger after a good pre season.
erin-go-bragh87
Cracking ball he just put in now, produced a good save, suggest you watch him rather than slaver rubbish
Magic, one good ball in against Stranraer and assist against Queen of the South. What a player😂 It's no wonder 90% of the hibs support think this site is a joke man.
I think that's Iwelumo
Well he is doing my nut in, now KK doing my nut in. :thumbsup:
We have played well today.
If 1 or 2 more chances had gone in then people would be seeing this in a totally different light. These games are rarely easy but thus far we have made this look about as easy as it could have. We have been absolutely dominant with the exception of the opening 10 minutes or so.
The midfield has been fine. Stranraer have barely strung 2 passes together and we regain possession with ease every time they get it. We are dominating possession, creating chances and their defending and goalkeeping is desperate stuff.
Oh man! I forgot to do the predictor league 🤬
18-04-2021, 12:05 PM
Happy enough with the first half. I’ve watched one or two of the other ties over the weekend and top league teams struggled a lot more against lower opposition than we have.
Hopefully an early second goal to start the half just to save any accidents but we’re looking comfortable. Lovely finish from doidge, and Boyle has been outstanding.. although think it’s time for us to stop pretending he doesn’t throw himself to the ground 😀
Nisbet is lucky to get a game at the mo. There's something wrong with him.
He’ll be a huge player for us in European football.
A year left on his deal. Need to be on that. Clubs in England will notice his quality.
There's more chance of us losing Doidge this summer than Nisbet IMO. Particularly for clubs in lower end of championship and below. He'd smash it down there
I’ve only seen the last 20 minutes so not sure about the game before then, but it’s difficult to see where Magennis fits in or what kind of player he is. In his defence we’re not going down the left hand side much, but out on the left he’s pretty anonymous whenever I’ve seen him.
Once he’s up to speed and a pre-season can we expect to see him more central?
No issue with the Magennis from me. Creating plenty space and some nice link up with Doig. He’s obviously been told to stretch the game that side as otherwise he’d be more central in that 3.
Kevin Kyle constantly looking down at himself on the monitor :faf::faf: what an absolute choobe
Seems to be a lot of folk in the stadium, K Kyle is doing my nut in, good goal Doidge.
I recognise a few of the Hibs fans on the wall
LithgaeHibby
It's BBC Scotland's "think of a Jambo" time again! This week's Jambo that we have to listen to is... Kevin Kyle with his incisive analysis
18-04-2021, 12:06 PM
Hibs have played well, have a good tempo. Game should be over already but looking likely we score a few second half. Boyle is roasting their full back and Doig having a great game bombing up and down the left flank.
How many ex Hearts players can BBC pull out the bag, an endless supply.
It's BBC Scotland's "think of a Jambo" time again! This week's Jambo that we have to listen to is... Kevin Kyle with his incisive analysis
Been decent tbf.
Magic, one good ball in against Stranraer and assist against Queen of the South. What a player😂 It's no wonder 90% of the hibs support think this site is a joke man.
Why are you here if you think it's so bad?
You're talking absolutely tripe which you're allowed to do, but insulting the posters who disagree with your rubbish is out of order.
We have played well today.
If 1 or 2 more chances had gone in then people would be seeing this in a totally different light. These games are rarely easy but thus far we have made this look about as easy as it could have. We have been absolutely dominant with the exception of the opening 10 minutes or so.
The midfield has been fine. Stranraer have barely strung 2 passes together and we regain possession with ease every time they get it. We are dominating possession, creating chances and their defending and goalkeeping is desperate stuff.
Spot on PB 👍
18-04-2021, 12:07 PM
27.4% of folk disagree with you.
18-04-2021, 12:07 PM
You know 90% of hibs fans, wish I knew as many folk as you, again away and slaver elsewhere
18-04-2021, 12:08 PM
You don’t have to come on the site.
Your insights wouldn’t be missed.
18-04-2021, 12:08 PM
Been decent tbf.
Kyle was full of praise for our performance. Deservedly so. He's not exactly personality of the year but he's been decent enough.
18-04-2021, 12:09 PM
Fans defending our own players, what a joke of a site.
Well said. Complete joke that people are praising Hibs players on this forum. Needs stamped out.
You asked when his last assist was, you got swiftly answered, and someone pointed out the last thing he did on the pitch just now was good as well.
Don’t let the door hit your a*se on the way out. It might interrupt your next sentence.
erin-go-bragh87
Why are you here if you think it's so bad?
You're talking absolutely tripe which you're allowed to do, but insulting the posters who disagree with your rubbish is out of order?
Aye ok mate.
18-04-2021, 12:10 PM
Aye ok mate.
You no away yet?
Great stat.🙄
I'd learn how to put an opinion forward properly for yourself before attempting to speak for anybody else. Off you ****.
Kyle was full of praise for our performance. Deservedly so. He's not exactly personality of the year but he's been decent enough.
I’m just relieved he hasn’t brought his pal “Slaney” with him
hibeerealist
Agree EGB57, the wee keyboard hard man is a protected species on here happy clapper heaven!
18-04-2021, 12:11 PM
It’s a shame for him really, it’s not his position. He doesn’t want to be on his left foot, doesn’t look like it anyway.
We didn’t buy him to play him out there, and we’ll never see the best of him if he’s not given a chance in the middle.
It is frustrating not seeing him in his actual position but he doesn’t even look comfortable on the ball. That shouldn’t be an issue just from playing out of position.
He just looks nothing like the level required imo.
What a likeable lad that Paton is
Ruari Paton is good value!
Ruari Paton seems a good character.
18-04-2021, 12:12 PM
Agree EGB57, the wee keyboard hard man is a protected species on here happy clapper heaven!
He’s no gonnae **** you mate
18-04-2021, 12:12 PM
I'd like to put Kyle inside in place of Newell, lets see him where he wants to play.
18-04-2021, 12:13 PM
What a likeable lad that Paton is
Lovely lad, got a couple of long term injuries in his time at Hibs
Willis1875
An in depth look into the footballing mind of Kevin Kyle 🙄 shifty character that keeps looking away from the camera onto the pitch
He’s no gonnae **** you mate
Would he know how to?
18-04-2021, 12:14 PM
Is it aye
McGinn has been very good today.
Would he know how to?
I’m sure 90% of his mates could show him how.
18-04-2021, 12:15 PM
Hopefully we can get a couple of early goals and get Laidlaw on for the last 20/25 mins.
I'd like to put Kyle inside in place of Newell, lets see him where he wants to play.
Kevin Kyle??
Ruari Paton seems a good character.
came across really well. I hope he comes on and gets a consolation goal in a 7-1 victory
Stranraer manager not happy at their first half performance judging by the gunshots.
18-04-2021, 12:16 PM
Kevin Kyle??
Naw, Kyle Walker.
I recognise a few of the Hibs fans on the wall
Well known faces. :greengrin
Yip wasted out wide left
It is frustrating not seeing him in his actual position but he doesn’t even look comfortable on the ball. That shouldn’t be an issue just from playing out of position.
He just looks nothing like the level required imo.
I don’t completely disagree, but I’d like to see him in his preferred position for a couple of games still.
Stranraer manager not happy at their first half performance judging by the gunshots.
:faf::faf:
18-04-2021, 12:17 PM
Read that out and my partner is bright red with laughing at that. Usually that only happens in another room in the household :wink:
the wee keyboard hard man is a protected species
What?
loanheadhibby
Another sclaff.
Hes our best striker. Top class from Doidge. New deal ASAP.
Delighted to see him back in the goals but v QOS and Stranraer.
Let's judge him v Premier opponents and this season he hasn't delivered.
Magennis is a waste out wide, what is the point trying to give him game time and not play him centrally where he's most comfortable.
18-04-2021, 12:18 PM
Commentator showing why knowing when to pause for breath is important. "Magennis tries to get Hibs off...to a good start in the first half".
18-04-2021, 12:18 PM
Porto does like a dive. :rolleyes:
[emoji848] I thought he was taken out.... the way he went down.
Should be 2
18-04-2021, 12:20 PM
Aye ok mate.
That's me cut to the quick! :faf:
Doidge should be finishing that.
Doidge bad miss. Should score.
Doidge joining Nisbet in the poor headers club there.
Missing plenty of chances
18-04-2021, 12:21 PM
Doidge bad miss. Should score.
Boyle's quality deliveries wasted on these guys.
How many chances are Hibs going to miss ???
18-04-2021, 12:21 PM
This ****ing keeper is annoying me now. Another great save albeit KM should score.
18-04-2021, 12:22 PM
Keeper to the rescue again
Another save from keeper. Should be 5-0 here.
Brilliant :hilarious
How’s that not a FK?
Jamie Hammil? Are the BBC running a most red faced jambo competition today that only him and Kyle were told about?
I don’t completely disagree, but I’d like to see him in his preferred position for a couple of games still.
Agree.
It’s not particularly fair not giving him a chance in his actual position.
Although maybe if we keep persisting with him at LM it is a position he’s supposed to be able to play?
Let’s try to make that Hearts **** look stupid.
18-04-2021, 12:23 PM
We are so wasteful in front of goal. Should have been another there.
18-04-2021, 12:23 PM
I see Hammils been on a diet.
18-04-2021, 12:24 PM
I know he wasn't a supermodel before but time's not been kind to Jamie Hamill. He looks more likely to kick off in a chippie than be an athlete.
I see Hammils been on a diet.
Seefood
Good to know I'm in similar shape to a professional footballer.
Unfortunate that the footballer in question is Jamie Hamill, but we don't need to mention that part.
Stupid tackle McGinn
Some of these misses are atrocious.
18-04-2021, 12:25 PM
Amazing to think that a team that included DeLa Cruz, Zitelli, O’Conner, Riordan, Ulrik Laursen, Tam Mcmanus and Freddy Arpinon couldn’t win last time we played here...but obviously our current players are a shadow of players like that :rolleyes:
Pass to Newell, return pass to Hanlon and punt to no one and repeat 3-4 times, brutal at times.
If he’s able to pick out one forward pass he’ll have contributed as much as Newell from the centre of midfield in this game.
Really need to put one of these away here...
Did they say Hammill is 34??!! If that right what a ****ing state for a professional sportsman
berwickhibee
So wasteful today. Should be 4 or 5.
Sloppy
18-04-2021, 12:26 PM
Paul Hanlon is giving possession away with every long pass he attempts. Very frustrating.
Should be 1-1.
I know he wasn't a supermodel before but time's not been kind to Jamie Hamill. He looks more likely to kick off in a chippie than be an athlete.
Him and the big fat striker at Forfar are best buddies.
That should have been the equaliser
18-04-2021, 12:27 PM
Few dodgy moments in the last 5 minutes. Time to get back on top here.
Right, Hibs. Get it sorted.
Did they say Hammill is 34??!! If that right what a ****ing state for a professional sportsman
He's 35 in July.
Hibs have done there very best to make a match of this :greengrin
Did they say Hammill is 34??!!
Aye, stone.
Great defending from Duffy!
18-04-2021, 12:28 PM
We’re doing our best to make a game of this.
Gogic for Magennis pls
Are you mistaking a few idiots from twitter with 90% of the hibs support?
We’ve had enough chances to win a few games and will need a second.
Got a lucky there
Started the 2nd half like we normally start the 1st half, slow and ponderous some sloppy football by us here.
OtleyHibs
That was a decent move from Stranraer.
We have played pretty well, just need to be more clinical up front.
It has been comfortable but could do with killing this off as the last 5 minutes will have given them a wee bit of belief
I’d be tempted to take Newall off now. If he isn’t going to be able to take the ball from the CHs we end up the the punts up the park.
Well known faces. :greengrin
That old dear is a star. Can imagine my wife's face if I said, right travel restrictions are over. We are going to Stranraer for the day and your sitting behind a fence in the peeing rain :thumbsup:
18-04-2021, 12:29 PM
He's 35 in July.
Wow. I'm 52 and overweight and he looks in a worse state than me!
18Craig75
18-04-2021, 12:30 PM
Nisbet not fancy this today?
Greenio
If he’s able to pick out one forward pass he’ll have contributed as much as Newell from the centre of midfield in this game.
Part of the reason Newell is good is because he understands how to play a pass that is more than just playing it forward - very rarely loses possession. Smart player
Was that off? Not so sure.
Paul Hanlon is giving possession away with every long pass he attempts. Very frustrating.
Great ball there though
Not convinced Magennis was offside there.
18-04-2021, 12:31 PM
Well onside there.
18-04-2021, 12:31 PM
Looked on, good run and pass too. Shame.
18-04-2021, 12:32 PM
Get Laidlaw on for Niz now. Gogic on for Newall.
Get Newell off, once again he's the invisible man.
Great ball there though
A broken clock it right twice a day 😂
18-04-2021, 12:33 PM
Great run by Magennis. Didn't look offside and was one on one with the keeper.
Good play from Newell there.
Was it QOTS hammil played for when he put in one of the worst performances ever seen at ER?
18-04-2021, 12:34 PM
Yay
That'll do
Yaaaas!
Take Niz off now. 😂
deflection 2-0 ;)
18-04-2021, 12:35 PM
Was never going in, but we’ll take that.
That should settle the nerves.
Should be game over that. Seemed like it was going to take something like that to beat the keeper!
Looked on, good run and pass too. Shame.
Every Hibs player is onside, Hammell's arse is in another timezone.
2-0 YESS
Keeper done by a fluke
Go on!! Doidge and Nisbet scoring again. Looking goid
That’ll do. Only wish it bounced off Hamill
OtleyHibs
Big deflection there. Well deserved 2-0 lead
Lucky but we'll gladly take it.
Yass!
I’d give Nisbet another 10 mins, then get the young lad on.
Right hibs, grab a third and properly kill off this game.
Will Nisbet get to keep that one?
Clearly not lacking in confidence. 2nd dig he has had from 25+ yards today.
18-04-2021, 12:36 PM
Excellent. Wonder when the Motherwell game will be?
Calculated.
Right Hibs crack on. Half an hour to get another three and give me the points in the predictor league :greengrin
Get Newell off, once again he's the invisible man.
He's awful when he plays the deep playmaking role as he never looks forward and it's a continual sideways to Hanlon or Porteous.
Goal by Nisbet as I type, deflected but will take it.:greengrin
Nisbet very lucky with the deflection but delighted he's finally got a goal.
Get in Hibs. 2-0
Shut up Chris please.
Lucky deflection but I'll take that.
Mikey_1875
Job done, would be good to see Laidlaw get some minutes
That old dear is a star. Can imagine my wife's face if I said, right travel restrictions are over. We are going to Stranraer for the day and your sitting behind a fence in the peeing rain :thumbsup:
18-04-2021, 12:37 PM
Great use of the wall to create extra spin and pace on the ball..very clever
Stranraer manager is Raging..he was shouting for Hamill to form a one man wall...Nisbet would never have got it past that !
Drey Wright about to rip them to shreds
Drey Wright coming on.
Nisbet, Newell and McGennis are now off the hook for today.
Drey Wright coming on..
He's awful when he plays the deep playmaking role as he never looks forward and it's a continual sideways to Hanlon or Porteous.
Goal by Nisbet as I type, deflected but will take it.:greengrin
It will be the pitches fault again.
18-04-2021, 12:38 PM
For a fast man Boyler that "tackle" was almost in reverse gear.
18-04-2021, 12:38 PM
Question from Mrs M...
Why is there a guy hanging from the tree beside the fat guy with the green Union Jack?
If anybody could possibly provide a reasonable answer, my ears will be very grateful
18-04-2021, 12:39 PM
Ffs. Wright. 🤷🏻*♂️
Jeez, forgot about Wright.
18-04-2021, 12:40 PM
FFS Jack, give McGennis some time in the middle of the park. :rolleyes:
Question from Mrs M...
Why is there a guy hanging from the tree beside the fat guy with the green Union Jack?
If anybody could possibly provide a reasonable answer, my ears will be very grateful
Local Tory candidate out canvassing.
18-04-2021, 12:40 PM
For a fast man Boyler that "tackle" was almost in reverse gear.
I'd sub him now. Don't want him picking up mother silly booking.
18-04-2021, 12:41 PM
Jeez, forgot about Wright.
Is that the B-side of the Eminem song?
FFS Jack, give McGennis some time in the middle of the park. :rolleyes:
Preferably in the middle where he plays best.
18-04-2021, 12:41 PM
Good football there
18-04-2021, 12:42 PM
That was a great wee passage of play. Nisbet went just a second too early.
I’d love Wright to score a Worldie..it would disappoint so many people
Great finish
Great finish.
Superb finish Boyle
Great finish 3-0.
K-Zazu
Why are hibs fans allowed to be at the game with flags etc?
OtleyHibs
3-0 and quarter final in the bag
good goal boyler :flag:
Deserved. Good work from the front 3.
Man of the Match gets the 3rd :thumbsup:
3-0 Boyler.
Woohoo!!!!!!
3-0. Sub him now
Boom! Great finish Boyler
Cracking goal by Boyle, good header by Nisbet.
Go on the three musketeers!!
Yas.
Nisbet is a crafty sort. Uses a defender to trick the keeper for his goal then uses the post to assist Boyle.
18-04-2021, 12:43 PM
Unlucky Kev well done Boyler. Bring on the 'Well
Get the young lad on now.
aljo7-0
Lovely goal
Let's get a wee look at Laidlaw now.
3-0. Sub him now
Me too, wrap him in cotton wool
Nothing to stop folk travelling now and nothing to stop them hanging around outside the stadium. Just so happens you can see the game from outside the stadium.
EZ
0-3 Boyle :flag:
Stevenson hates a 50-50 challenge eh?
18-04-2021, 12:44 PM
Today's 'How many times is he gonna say that?' phrase by a co-commentator
"...and you know what?"
OK, I've now counted 12 so far.
i can't see any way back in this for stranraer
They're not they'll be technically outside and it's now permissible to be in a group of 6 outdoors anywhere in Scotland.
3-0 Boyle. Some finish after good Nisbet header comes off the post.
What a challenge from Stevenson...love it !
Hallberg on, should've been on 10-15 earlier.
18-04-2021, 12:46 PM
OK, I've now counted 12 so far.
Along with "it's one of them..."
Oh well that's our subs for today.
Would have been good to see the young lad but I understand why Hallberg, Stevenson and Wright need the minutes more.
poor header again nisbet
Thought he would have gave Laidlaw & even Gray some game time
WTF Nisbet ?
What a pointless substitution that is :confused:
Nisbet has improved massively in the 2nd half. Good to see.
Think Newall has been fine. Set pieces excellent. Nisbet finishing has been so poor today.
This really should have been 6 or 7.
18-04-2021, 12:47 PM
That’s three subs, so Laidlaw not getting on today. Bit of a shame.
It’s not pointless, we’ve got a game midweek.
Gives Newell a rest before Wednesday
No injuries is the important thing now
Stevenson hates a 50-50 challenge eh?
A wee ball of muscle clattering in. Tasty.
18-04-2021, 12:49 PM
Along with "it's one of them..."
18-04-2021, 12:49 PM
I would have taken Boyle off. He is the player we can least do without. Hopefully gets through the next 15 unscathed