Sat 17th
Premier Sports 4.00 pm

Aberden V Livingston
Sunday 18th
Premier Sports 2pm

Got this on SFA website

CB Hibs 68
10-04-2021, 03:39 PM
Just been checking the fixtures for Stranraer and as well as playing today they are also playing on Tuesday and Thursday.That is a lot of Fitba for part time players before a big cup tie against full time opposition.Hopefully Hibs will capitalise and put them quickly away.

10-04-2021, 03:49 PM
Just been checking the fixtures for Stranraer and as well as playing today they are also playing on Tuesday and Thursday.That is a lot of Fitba for part time players before a big cup tie against full time opposition.Hopefully Hibs will capitalise and put them quickly away.

Thats not right that they are expected to play 4 games in that time.
They are surely entitled to ask that the Thursday game be cancelled and played after cup tie.
That schedule would be tough enough for full time pros.

CB Hibs 68
10-04-2021, 04:16 PM
They are surely entitled to ask that the Thursday game be cancelled and played after cup tie.
That schedule would be tough enough for full time pros.I agree but according to the BBC fixture list they have two midweek games.

10-04-2021, 04:23 PM
The auld curmudgeon’s funeral is 3pm Saturday.... will we be allowed the lunchtime kick off I wonder.

10-04-2021, 04:25 PM
The auld curmudgeon’s funeral is 3pm Saturday.... will we be allowed the lunchtime kick off I wonder.

i'm sure i saw 12:15Ko for us, i'll double check

yup it is

Hibs’ Scottish Cup tie against Stranraer to be broadcast live on BBC Scotland | The Edinburgh Reporter (https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2021/04/hibs-scottish-cup-tie-against-stranraer-to-be-broadcast-live-on-bbc-scotland/)

10-04-2021, 04:27 PM
i'm sure i saw 12:15Ko for us, i'll double check

Aye it’s an early KO. Doubt that will make a difference I’d have thought it would be all sport off, such is the divine importance of this ‘event’.

10-04-2021, 04:34 PM
Aye it’s an early KO. Doubt that will make a difference I’d have thought it would be all sport off, such is the divine importance of this ‘event’. Thought national silence was at 3 pm . Funeral may be earlier which may affect our match .

10-04-2021, 04:35 PM
Thought national silence was at 3 pm . Funeral may be earlier which may affect our match .

funeral is 3pm, 72 hours national silence before then no doubt

10-04-2021, 04:41 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-statement-scottish-cup-fourth-round-fixtures/?rid=2107

The Baldmans Comb
10-04-2021, 04:46 PM
The game will be moved.

The SFA will fall into line with the mood in England as they always do.

Though to be fair to English people they seem to be perplexed at the sheer amount of "pretendy grief" being overloaded on to them.

10-04-2021, 04:47 PM
The game will be moved.

The SFA will fall into line with the mood in England as they always do.

Though to be fair to English people they seem to be perplexed at the sheer amount of "pretendy grief" being overloaded on to them.

I’ve got a feeling Scotland played on the day of Diana’s funeral
Think it was at Pittodrie

The Baldmans Comb
10-04-2021, 04:50 PM

It was but they didnt. It was moved to the day after.

10-04-2021, 04:51 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-statement-scottish-cup-fourth-round-fixtures/?rid=2107

Service UnavailableThe service is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.

10-04-2021, 04:52 PM
Could they no just move the funeral back to Monday when there will be less games on?

10-04-2021, 04:54 PM

It was moved and caused great consternation.

10-04-2021, 04:55 PM
As our game is on the BBC, expect it to be changed

10-04-2021, 04:56 PM

Expect all football to change!

Logie Green
10-04-2021, 04:56 PM

I agree but I think Dumbarton had that schedule before their 12.15 Saturday game against Aberdeen.

10-04-2021, 04:57 PM

Best case scenario will be the iPlayer.

I can’t believe this is a consideration. Most normal people have only been allowed up to 30 odd people but these *******s need an audience of 55 million?

Incredible lack of self awareness from them.

Stick it on one channel, the people that want to watch it can. The people who don’t, dont.

Why is that not an option?

10-04-2021, 05:18 PM
Best case scenario will be the iPlayer.

I can’t believe this is a consideration. Most normal people have only been allowed up to 30 odd people but these *******s need an audience of 55 million?

Incredible lack of self awareness from them.

Stick it on one channel, the people that want to watch it can. The people who don’t, dont.

Why is that not an option?

Ridiculous if games are moved. He himself wanted no fuss

10-04-2021, 05:34 PM
Stranraer have a game the Tuesday after...

Liam978
10-04-2021, 05:38 PM
Ridiculous if games are moved. He himself wanted no fuss

When did anyone ever listen to him Stevie though. He had more class than ever given respect for . Especially as he was a self given Hibby, not just the the Duke of Edinburgh for protocol reasons x

10-04-2021, 05:44 PM
Is the game scheduled for BBC Scotland 1 or 2 or the other BBC Scotland Channel? Surely plenty options across their network for alternative broadcasting.

As the national broadcaster I understand the obligation to cover the funeral, but just stick ours on BBC Scotland Channel or Alba and let folk decide what they want to watch. Or just scrap it altogether and let The clubs stream it themselves.

10-04-2021, 05:44 PM
When did anyone ever listen to him Stevie though. He had more class than ever given respect for . Especially as he was a self given Hibby, not just the the Duke of Edinburgh for protocol reasons x

Eh?

10-04-2021, 05:48 PM
Is the game scheduled for BBC Scotland 1 or 2 or the other BBC Scotland Channel? Surely plenty options across their network for alternative broadcasting.

As the national broadcaster I understand the obligation to cover the funeral, but just stick ours on BBC Scotland Channel or Alba and let folk decide what they want to watch. Or just scrap it altogether and let The clubs stream it themselves.

We never had any National TV or Radio to speak of yesterday other than exasperating tribute and mourning, and even this morning it was ****. They’ll take control on Saturday. I’m more concerned about them scuppering football all day never mind the TV. Hope I’m wrong.

10-04-2021, 05:50 PM

Bbc Scotland main Channel and Iplayer

10-04-2021, 05:56 PM

It is scheduled for the BBC Scotland channnel

10-04-2021, 06:49 PM
At a time when many have been unable to attend the funerals of close family members, the wall to wall media coverage of Prince Philip's passing and "stop the world" approach to his funeral could be seen as a tad insensitive. Those who wish to pay respect will have ample opportunity to do so through every BBC TV and radio channel over the coming week and for days beyond. No need to go beyond a minutes silence and an arm band.

10-04-2021, 06:56 PM
Bbc Scotland main Channel and Iplayer

It is scheduled for the BBC Scotland channnel

Don’t see any reason for it to be pulled then.

10-04-2021, 07:05 PM
Don’t see any reason for it to be pulled then.

Aye but there was no reason for the Hearts game to get pulled last night but it still was.

10-04-2021, 07:08 PM
Aye but there was no reason for the Hearts game to get pulled last night but it still was.

It was on BBC iplayer and BBC sport online though

G15 Hibs
10-04-2021, 07:22 PM

It was the League 1 and 2 clubs that came up with that schedule so they could restart and fit in 22 games.

mal
10-04-2021, 07:46 PM
The match is scheduled for BBC ONE Scotland, not the BBC Scotland* channel: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000vdz8

(And for whoever it was asking about BBC Two Scotland earlier, that channel no longer exists; it was closed when the BBC Scotland channel opened).

ETA: *Confusion probably caused by the channel having the same name as the organisation.

10-04-2021, 07:56 PM
The match is scheduled for BBC ONE Scotland, not the BBC Scotland* channel: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000vdz8

(And for whoever it was asking about BBC Two Scotland earlier, that channel no longer exists; it was closed when the BBC Scotland channel opened).

ETA: *Confusion probably caused by the channel having the same name as the organisation.
It was the SFA website that i first saw the schedule for the upcoming game and they gave it as...
BBC Scotland ....Not BBC 1 Scotland
Anyway looks like the beeb will not show any football that day

"Its all Greek to me "!!

10-04-2021, 07:58 PM
It was the SFA website that i first saw the schedule for the upcoming game and they gave it as...
BBC Scotland Not BBC 1 Scotland

Definitely BBC One Scotland.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56652477

10-04-2021, 08:09 PM
Definitely BBC One Scotland.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56652477
Am not disputing that
Just pointing out the SFA website, it appears ,initially got it wrong

10-04-2021, 08:18 PM
It was the League 1 and 2 clubs that came up with that schedule so they could restart and fit in 22 games.

Was not aware of that
Hard work for them all!

mal
10-04-2021, 08:44 PM
Am not disputing that
Just pointing out the SFA website, it appears ,initially got it wrong

From what I can see, the SFA site just listed the organisations that bought the rights (BBC Scotland and Premier Sports) without specifying the actual channels, it's just that "BBC Scotland" is also a channel name. All moot now anyway.

Friday's Scottish Cup tie is on the BBC Scotland channel.

I wonder if there's any scope for moving Saturday's ties to Sunday.

10-04-2021, 08:55 PM
I'm no Royalist but the increasing amount of disrespect in so many aspects of life is really p****** me off. Some of the things I have seen written about the Chooky and the Royal family over the last day and a half have been horrendous.
Like it or not the old boy should be awarded the respect his position deserves and if that means no sport over the period of the funeral so be it. I don't see a problem with evening kick offs that day though.

10-04-2021, 09:18 PM
I'm no Royalist but the increasing amount of disrespect in so many aspects of life is really p****** me off. Some of the things I have seen written about the Chooky and the Royal family over the last day and a half have been horrendous.
Like it or not the old boy should be awarded the respect his position deserves and if that means no sport over the period of the funeral so be it. I don't see a problem with evening kick offs that day though.

If you want to be able to watch it then you should be able to.

Why should people that don’t want to watch it have it forced down their throat though?

What respect does his position deserve? I don’t mean that as a disparaging remark. He is no better than anybody else, he’s human like the rest of us, no less, no more.

10-04-2021, 09:44 PM

Whether his position deserved any particular respect is a matter of opinion.

It shouldn’t be impacting on the ability of the rest of us to get on with things - not much else to be doing right now to enjoy yourself so cancelling people’s pastimes for it is a bit much.

10-04-2021, 10:11 PM
Respect him if you want. Not in my name

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

10-04-2021, 10:12 PM
Respect him if you want. Not in my name

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkHorrible manhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210410/1771cc84186d94ecea96313db94232ad.jpg

10-04-2021, 10:14 PM
Epl changing kick off times.

hibby rae
10-04-2021, 10:40 PM

I believe the monarchy is an insult to the population and should be abolished. So why would I have any respect for the position he attained?

11-04-2021, 12:20 AM
Horrible manhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210410/1771cc84186d94ecea96313db94232ad.jpg

Hmmm. It's an emotive quote, but it's about gun control.

I disagree with him, and I'm a republican, but having the view that guns shouldn't be banned doesn't, in itself, make you horrible.

It makes you wrong. In my view.

11-04-2021, 12:30 AM

Surely that respect went when the position of Queen and royal family was used to keep Andrew out of trouble? Its mental to think they deserve any bit of respect while they are protecting an alleged peadophile.

11-04-2021, 12:41 AM
Funeral isn't till 3pm so no reason for game not to be shown first.

davhibby
11-04-2021, 12:50 AM

If the game does go ahead at the original time it certainly won’t be on TV, and would be iPlayer only.

I’d imagine the old firm will definitely end up on the Sunday and the rest of the Saturday games will either be moved to Sunday or possibly offered an evening kick off on Saturday or something? We’ll be moved to a time the BBC can fit us in on Tv so who knows

11-04-2021, 06:59 AM
I'm sure the Duke of Edinburgh wouldn't have wanted Edinburgh's premier football team and their fans to have our game canceled.

Re the Duke himself, he was a product of his class, his upbringing, and the era he was born in. If people want to pay their respects for the good things he did or/and the position he held that's fine by me. I'm guessing he'd be quite baffled himself at the wall to wall "pretendy grief" as a previous poster described it. It's also quite ironic that the insensitive unthinking bluntness he was ridiculed for during his life is now being repackaged as some kind of whimsical and endearing personality trait.

hibee316
11-04-2021, 07:05 AM

The abuse has been horrendous, but this part of your post I couldn't disagree more with.
I can see why people get so angry when this is a prevalent view across the media as well.

He lived a life, IMO, of completely undeserved privaledge, and in death this continues.

Propel mention the good things he has done, but nearly all were part of his role anyway and he would have had a team of people to cater for his every need along the way.

I will not say anything abusive, as that is wrong, he was a man and deserves every respect for that. His family need time to grieve.

The nation does not need time to grieve.

It's just sticking it down the throat of the average person that you will never be given such undeserved privaledge.

Thousands of folk recently have lost their lives and their families were not allowed to grieve properly.

The abuse is never acceptable.

The anger is more than acceptable.

11-04-2021, 07:10 AM

The issue could be if it went to extra time and penalties.

11-04-2021, 08:25 AM
The abuse has been horrendous, but this part of your post I couldn't disagree more with.
I can see why people get so angry when this is a prevalent view across the media as well.

He lived a life, IMO, of completely undeserved privaledge, and in death this continues.

Propel mention the good things he has done, but nearly all were part of his role anyway and he would have had a team of people to cater for his every need along the way.

I will not say anything abusive, as that is wrong, he was a man and deserves every respect for that. His family need time to grieve.

The nation does not need time to grieve.

It's just sticking it down the throat of the average person that you will never be given such undeserved privaledge.

Thousands of folk recently have lost their lives and their families were not allowed to grieve properly.

The abuse is never acceptable.

The anger is more than acceptable.
I fully accept that plenty folk have plenty to dislike about the Royal family but priviliged life or not, past foot-in-mouth moments or not, he was the Queen's husband. That is what makes things a tad different from the average Joe Bloggs in the street. To imply that the funeral of the Queen's husband should be no different to the average man is plain ridiculous and a very poor angle on any anti-Royal Family argument. I repeat, I am no Royalist and am generally highly critical of all the fawning over the Royals that persists through much of the media and a good proportion of the population, but I can live with a 2-3 hour window of no formal sport this Saturday as a mark of respect for the passing of the Queen's husband. No-one will be forced to watch it - I certainly won't - nor indeed to mark the one-minute silence although no doubt some neanderthals will set off fireworks during it and think they are radical rebels rather than just complete tits.
Watch catch-up, Time for Heroes dvd or Film 4, go for a walk, play golf, dust and hoover with Lynyrd Skynyrd at full volume through your headphones, whatever. It will be a minor inconvenience and we'll all get to see the mighty Hibees pump Stranraer without too much delay.

11-04-2021, 08:29 AM
Don't see any reason for our game being moved though no doubt it will be. Surely would have made more sense for the funeral to be in the morning rather than have it when most sports would be on. Deliberate forcing of it onto the public imo.

hibee316
11-04-2021, 08:40 AM
To imply that the funeral of the Queen's husband should be no different to the average man is plain ridiculous

I would say this is the inherent problem for me. Why do you think it is ridiculous? Just because I am going against something that has always been done? Because it goes against the grain of what we have been told since we were wee?

In my opinion, it is very easy to fall into a trap that royalty, celebrities, public figures are somehow better or more special than everyone else, with none of it being on merit.

Because he was the "queens husband", doesn't do it for me.

There are plenty countries around the world where they have either rejected or done away with royalty. They would not think this point of view ridiculous.

Surprisingly, I'm not overtly anti-royal! I'm anti doing something just because we have always done it and praising folk for which f@nny they came out of :)

11-04-2021, 08:51 AM
Don't see any reason for our game being moved though no doubt it will be. Surely would have made more sense for the funeral to be in the morning rather than have it when most sports would be on. Deliberate forcing of it onto the public imo.

Totally agree. Very little for the public to enjoy at the moment. Sport on a Saturday is a bit of a saviour. Could have the funeral any time they wanted given there’s only 30 folk going and it’s not as if any of them had to take a day of work to attend. Everyone else will just need to rearrange things to suit though.

11-04-2021, 08:57 AM
I would say this is the inherent problem for me. Why do you think it is ridiculous? Just because I am going against something that has always been done? Because it goes against the grain of what we have been told since we were wee?

In my opinion, it is very easy to fall into a trap that royalty, celebrities, public figures are somehow better or more special than everyone else, with none of it being on merit.

Because he was the "queens husband", doesn't do it for me.

There are plenty countries around the world where they have either rejected or done away with royalty. They would not think this point of view ridiculous.

Surprisingly, I'm not overtly anti-royal! I'm anti doing something just because we have always done it and praising folk for which f@nny they came out of :)
So the funeral of the husband/wife of a serving President of a Republic would pass off un-noticed like the average person's?

hibby rae
11-04-2021, 09:01 AM
I fully accept that plenty folk have plenty to dislike about the Royal family but priviliged life or not, past foot-in-mouth moments or not, he was the Queen's husband. That is what makes things a tad different from the average Joe Bloggs in the street. To imply that the funeral of the Queen's husband should be no different to the average man is plain ridiculous and a very poor angle on any anti-Royal Family argument. I repeat, I am no Royalist and am generally highly critical of all the fawning over the Royals that persists through much of the media and a good proportion of the population, but I can live with a 2-3 hour window of no formal sport this Saturday as a mark of respect for the passing of the Queen's husband. No-one will be forced to watch it - I certainly won't - nor indeed to mark the one-minute silence although no doubt some neanderthals will set off fireworks during it and think they are radical rebels rather than just complete tits.
Watch catch-up, Time for Heroes dvd or Film 4, go for a walk, play golf, dust and hoover with Lynyrd Skynyrd at full volume through your headphones, whatever. It will be a minor inconvenience and we'll all get to see the mighty Hibees pump Stranraer without too much delay.

I feel that you aren't understanding the viewpoint of many of us, many feel the institution shouldn't exist. For that reason many believe, it should be no different from the average Joe Bloggs. The fact he was the Queen's husband is irrelevant. The Queen means nothing to many of us.

I think if you were to compare to other monarchies, ones that aren't so elitist and antiquated, you would not see the same levels of coverage and expectation for everything to stop for them.

11-04-2021, 09:05 AM
Does anyone know what’s actually happening with the game yet ?

11-04-2021, 09:08 AM
I feel that you aren't understanding the viewpoint of many of us, many feel the institution shouldn't exist. For that reason many believe, it should be no different from the average Joe Bloggs. The fact he was the Queen's husband is irrelevant. The Queen means nothing to many of us.

I think if you were to compare to other monarchies, ones that aren't so elitist and antiquated, you would not see the same levels of coverage and expectation for everything to stop for them.

I agree with you.

The funeral should be televised for those that want to see it and pay their respects.

It shouldn’t be forced upon all of us though.

hibee316
11-04-2021, 09:10 AM
So the funeral of the husband/wife of a serving President of a Republic would pass off un-noticed like the average person's?

Someone who was voted in on merit?
No. It would be marked.

11-04-2021, 09:11 AM
Does anyone know what’s actually happening with the game yet ?

Issue is the already horrendously congested deadline. BBC news seemed to be saying discussions with fa and sfa to rearrange. Would be a total nonsense for all sport to be cancelled Saturday afternoon imo. The timing of 3 pm is being deliberately awkward imo.

hibee316
11-04-2021, 09:15 AM
Someone who was voted in on merit?
No. It would be marked.

Last post for now as I'm away out.

If someone has done something noteworthy in their life, I feel this should be marked on their passing.

Otherwise no. Regardless of what they like to call.themselves :)

Have a nice day!

AphroG
11-04-2021, 09:28 AM
Issue is the already horrendously congested deadline. BBC news seemed to be saying discussions with fa and sfa to rearrange. Would be a total nonsense for all sport to be cancelled Saturday afternoon imo. The timing of 3 pm is being deliberately awkward imo.I wonder if starting a petition to allow sport on Saturday afternoon and not have the funeral disrupt normal sporting arrangements. I'm sure over 100,000 would sign it if it was still worded in a respectful way.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

hibby rae
11-04-2021, 09:32 AM
I wonder if starting a petition to allow sport on Saturday afternoon and not have the funeral disrupt normal sporting arrangements. I'm sure over 100,000 would sign it if it was still worded in a respectful way.

At the very least it would counter the media narrative that we are all crying into our cereal.

hibby rae
11-04-2021, 09:32 AM
Issue is the already horrendously congested deadline. BBC news seemed to be saying discussions with fa and sfa to rearrange. Would be a total nonsense for all sport to be cancelled Saturday afternoon imo. The timing of 3 pm is being deliberately awkward imo.

Agree completely. It's almost like it's a reminder they are our betters.

11-04-2021, 09:34 AM

You have a strange sense of what constitutes 'respect' for some auld guy that none of us actually knew.

Were all the games aff the telly when my Grandad died? If not, then where was your 'respect' that day?

11-04-2021, 09:36 AM
I wonder if starting a petition to allow sport on Saturday afternoon and not have the funeral disrupt normal sporting arrangements. I'm sure over 100,000 would sign it if it was still worded in a respectful way.

What a boring 1st post
Stirring *******.
LTJF

11-04-2021, 09:38 AM
What a boring 1st post
Stirring *******.
LTJF

hibby rae
11-04-2021, 09:40 AM
What a boring 1st post
Stirring *******.
LTJF

Bit of a boring reply as well tbf. The guy is only suggesting a way of people making their feelings known.

AphroG
11-04-2021, 09:51 AM
What a boring 1st post
Stirring *******.
LTJFI'm sure Yams have a similar respect that you obviously have for the old racist. Maybe you should post on their forum if that is how you feel?

11-04-2021, 09:52 AM

I disagree with him, and I'm a republican, but having the view that guns shouldn't be banned doesn't, in itself, make you horrible.

It makes you wrong. In my view.So to use a massacre of children as an anology is ok?
Really?
Imagine claiming that I am wrong for thinking that quote is disgusting.

11-04-2021, 09:58 AM

It makes you wrong. In my view.

Surely it’s the use of the deaths of many innocent children as part of some crass analogy to make his point which is horrible rather than his opinion on gun control?

11-04-2021, 10:01 AM
Apologies if this is off topic given the current discussion, has there been any word re our game being moved?

EI255
11-04-2021, 10:02 AM
You have a strange sense of what constitutes 'respect' for some auld guy that none of us actually knew.

Were all the games aff the telly when my Grandad died? If not, then where was your 'respect' that day?Totally agree with you. Why should we, as individuals, be expected to bow to someone we didn't know, and in my case, didn't care a jot about monarchy? Each to their own, but I certainly won't be silent at 1500 next Saturday. And I hope the SFA do the right thing and play the games at the allocated times.

11-04-2021, 10:02 AM
Surely it’s the use of the deaths of many innocent children as part of some crass analogy to make his point which is horrible rather than his opinion on gun control?Exactly. I never mentioned gun control. He was a despicable racist and if he hadnt been so priveleged he would have been called out for it.
I have no opinion on gun control.

EI255
11-04-2021, 10:04 AM
Apologies if this is off topic given the current discussion, has there been any word re our game being moved?I think they will toil to move the games as there are hardly any windows left. But they might move ko time which will probably mean it'll be pulled from BBC schedule.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

11-04-2021, 10:06 AM
They should put the funeral on PPV with all proceeds going to the Duke of Edinburgh’s foundation or whatever. Then whoever cares enough to watch can chip in and contribute to the continuation of all the incredible selfless deeds he did throughout his life.

The rest of us can then get on with what really matters - watching the cabbage pump some diddy team on the way to another Scottish Cup triumph 🏆

EI255
11-04-2021, 10:07 AM
They should put the funeral on PPV with all proceeds going to the Duke of Edinburgh’s foundation or whatever. Then whoever cares enough to watch can chip in and contribute to the continuation of all the incredible selfless deeds he did throughout his life.

The rest of us can then get on with what really matters - watching the cabbage pump some diddy team on the way to another Scottish Cup triumph [emoji471]Well said [emoji106]

11-04-2021, 10:08 AM
Apologies if this is off topic given the current discussion, has there been any word re our game being moved?

Not yet, just the statement that got released yesterday saying discussions were underway.

11-04-2021, 10:16 AM
Not yet, just the statement that got released yesterday saying discussions were underway.

Fingers crossed we hear today. I was actually hoping to watch the match somehow in the garden with my mate with beers.

11-04-2021, 11:23 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/scotfootblog/status/1380567746690355202?prefetchTimestamp=161813265502 5
Surely he would have wanted his favourite football team to carry on as normal with no change to the fixture.

11-04-2021, 06:24 PM
Just a few minutes ago on BBC Scotland channel(before sportscene)advertising game at time initially scheduled (12.00 BBC ONE Scotland)
But i still think it may change before weeks end

Saturdays Scottish Grand National now to take place on Sunday.

11-04-2021, 06:36 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/scotfootblog/status/1380567746690355202?prefetchTimestamp=161813265502 5
Surely he would have wanted his favourite football team to carry on as normal with no change to the fixture.

11-04-2021, 06:43 PM
I'm sure Yams have a similar respect that you obviously have for the old racist. Maybe you should post on their forum if that is how you feel?

You have joined a Hibs supporters site yet have no interest in speaking about football.
I smell *****

11-04-2021, 07:02 PM
Bit of a boring reply as well tbf. The guy is only suggesting a way of people making their feelings known.

and he thought he would join a Hibs supporters site solely for the purpose of telling us :rolleyes:

The guy hasn't ever posted about Hibs or today's game.
I suspect he/she has registered and posted on many sites in the last few days.
A gas lighter dude looking to cause discord.

11-04-2021, 07:08 PM
Firstly I expect the match to be moved as all BBC channels will be swamped with wall to wall coverage of his funeral.

Personally I think that the coverage has been totally over the top. But you can't blame anyone other than MSM for that.

The royal family should be leading by example. Harry should not be flying in from the USA. There will be no time for him to self isolate. The funeral should be restricted to 30 people or whatever the law is in England. Personally I have lost 3 aunts and uncles during lockdown. My mum couldn't even attend her sister's funeral due to rules in place at the time.
Even the Royal family should live by the laws of the land.

11-04-2021, 07:13 PM
I would think it highly unlikely that any games will be allowed to go ahead next Saturday such is the climate of irrational hysteria being whipped up, I would suspect the SFA won't dare do anything that might show ''disrespect''.

11-04-2021, 07:13 PM
Firstly I expect the match to be moved as all BBC channels will be swamped with wall to wall coverage of his funeral.

Personally I think that the coverage has been totally over the top. The royal family should be leading by example. Harry should not be flying in from the USA. There will be no time for him to self isolate. The funeral should be restricted to 30 people or whatever the law is in England. Personally I have lost 3 aunts and uncles during lockdown. My mum couldn't even attend her sister's funeral due to rules in place at the time.
Even the Royal family should live by the laws of the land.

Unless I’m being daft, they are following the rules? Harry is allowed to travel like anyone else is. He’s allowed to attend the funeral but no wake or anything, and must isolate at all other times. They’ve cut the numbers back to 30 also.

What I don’t agree with is the TV schedule. If you don’t want to participate in the funeral then you shouldn’t be forced to. Issue may come from players who’d like to watch it, although I couldn’t see it.

MartinfaePorty
11-04-2021, 07:16 PM
Jason Leitch answered a question on Off the Ball yesterday about someone coming in to Scotland for a funeral, I think from the Netherlands. The answer was he could attend the funeral, but would have to isolate before and after, so no going to the shops etc. Basically he can leave the hotel to attend the funeral but has to go back into isolation straight after. Be interesting to see if Harry has to isolate in a hotel!

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

11-04-2021, 07:19 PM
You have joined a Hibs supporters site yet have no interest in speaking about football.
I smell *****

tbf we all made a first post and i doubt all were to do with football, and where exactly is the "stirring" :confused:

11-04-2021, 07:20 PM
Jason Leitch answered a question on Off the Ball yesterday about someone coming in to Scotland for a funeral, I think from the Netherlands. The answer was he could attend the funeral, but would have to isolate before and after, so no going to the shops etc. Basically he can leave the hotel to attend the funeral but has to go back into isolation straight after. Be interesting to see if Harry has to isolate in a hotel!

Don’t think America is on the red list, so he will be isolating in his own residence.

11-04-2021, 07:20 PM
Unless I’m being daft, they are following the rules? Harry is allowed to travel like anyone else is. He’s allowed to attend the funeral but no wake or anything, and must isolate at all other times. They’ve cut the numbers back to 30 also.

What I don’t agree with is the TV schedule. If you don’t want to participate in the funeral then you shouldn’t be forced to. Issue may come from players who’d like to watch it, although I couldn’t see it.

Sorry didn't know the rules about attending funerals. If he is then I expect that he sticks to the rules.

11-04-2021, 07:24 PM
and he thought he would join a Hibs supporters site solely for the purpose of telling us :rolleyes:

A gas lighter dude looking to cause discord.
It’s **** like this that stops new people posting. It should be an automatic one week ban for calling someone out due to the amount of posts they’ve made. In fact it might be better to get rid of the post count altogether.

11-04-2021, 07:30 PM

He won't need to isolate in a hotel as the USA's not on England's red list - he will be able to isolate in a private residence.

11-04-2021, 07:32 PM
He won't need to isolate in a hotel as the USA's not on England's red list - he will be able to isolate in a private residence.

You’d have thought you’d have to isolate for 10 days or so?
You’re the expert😀

11-04-2021, 07:42 PM
You’re the expert😀

He will, with the exception of the funeral itself.

11-04-2021, 08:02 PM
You’re the expert😀

He does need to isolate but can leave his home to attend the funeral.

EI255
11-04-2021, 08:30 PM
Here's hoping they have only ten or whatever at the funeral, like everyone else has to do. Be a *** outrage if they bend the rules for that lot.

11-04-2021, 08:36 PM
Here's hoping they have only ten or whatever at the funeral, like everyone else has to do. Be a *** outrage if they bend the rules for that lot.

The limit's 30, not including anyone working at the funeral.

11-04-2021, 08:51 PM
He won't need to isolate in a hotel as the USA's not on England's red list - he will be able to isolate in a private residence.Not in a mandatory hotel costing 1700 Pounds ( if like Scotland ) but in another hotel presumably if he has no " home " in England . Harry probably has several places he could call " home " but for the rest of us who live overseas what`s the situation ? We stay in a normal hotel ( must be near funeral venue ) which we leave for a couple of hours for the funeral presumably ? If family accommodation is available presumably overseas person would have to isolate in a room with no contact with others in house ? Have read Harry could cut short 10 - day quarantine after funeral so only tested on day 2 and return home to US before second test on day 8 for example though that may be if he pays for an expensive test on day 5 . Then travel questions . Can someone in Paris for example take Eurostar ( still running with 1 train in each direction per day ) to London then a train to Scotland for a funeral or is only option a direct flight from Paris to Scotland ( if there are ) or flight via England ? There are lots of folk overseas worried about missing funerals or who have already missed some ( am aware of online alternative ) and perhaps one good thing that has come from this royal thing about which I`ve no interest at all is that it has led to official guidelines on funerals being published .
Finally apologies to everyone for mentioning funeral stuff on football thread ( maybe last few posts should be moved to Coronavirus thread in Holy Ground ) .

11-04-2021, 08:56 PM

They’d planned for 800 but COVID saved us the dough on 770 of them. Fact.

11-04-2021, 09:06 PM
It’s **** like this that stops new people posting. It should be an automatic one week ban for calling someone out due to the amount of posts they’ve made. In fact it might be better to get rid of the post count altogether.

You're absolutely spot on there.
Getting rid of the post count is a great idea.

11-04-2021, 09:18 PM
You're absolutely spot on there.
Getting rid of the post count is a great idea. Have never quite understood idea of post count . If someone wants to know how many posts they`ve made surely there must be a way of letting posters know without discriminating between long time posters and new posters ? This is the only forum I use online but last week I signed up for another non football site to ask for some financial advice and after less than a week I know I won`t return to it cause of hostile responses I got to my query - instead of helping ( which some did ) several regulars immediately questioned my motives as though they had the right to question my honesty .

11-04-2021, 09:56 PM
Not in a mandatory hotel costing 1700 Pounds ( if like Scotland ) but in another hotel presumably if he has no " home " in England . Harry probably has several places he could call " home " but for the rest of us who live overseas what`s the situation ? We stay in a normal hotel ( must be near funeral venue ) which we leave for a couple of hours for the funeral presumably ? If family accommodation is available presumably overseas person would have to isolate in a room with no contact with others in house ? Have read Harry could cut short 10 - day quarantine after funeral so only tested on day 2 and return home to US before second test on day 8 for example though that may be if he pays for an expensive test on day 5 . Then travel questions . Can someone in Paris for example take Eurostar ( still running with 1 train in each direction per day ) to London then a train to Scotland for a funeral or is only option a direct flight from Paris to Scotland ( if there are ) or flight via England ? There are lots of folk overseas worried about missing funerals or who have already missed some ( am aware of online alternative ) and perhaps one good thing that has come from this royal thing about which I`ve no interest at all is that it has led to official guidelines on funerals being published .
Finally apologies to everyone for mentioning funeral stuff on football thread ( maybe last few posts should be moved to Coronavirus thread in Holy Ground ) .

He would be able to isolate in any private residence.

In England you can pay for a test after 5 days and leave quarantine if it's negative.

People must also take a test on or before day 2 of isolation and on or after day 8 of isolation.

JOD
12-04-2021, 12:32 AM
Well said [emoji106]

100° 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

12-04-2021, 01:53 AM

I called the person out because I thought and still think the post was an obvious piss take.
The alternative is he really thinks a petition is a cunning plan to tackle Saturdays football and royal funeral issue but I'm not sure anyone is that stupid.
However, if I am wrong and Baldrick is currently in the process of getting his petition and 100,000 signatures together I promise to help him deliver it on completion but reserve the right to wear a disguise to avoid subsequent ridicule.

P.S. some wag started a petition on change.org a couple of weeks ago to have Ann Budge removed from Hearts. It currently has 35 signatures. Maybe our petition advocate can makes pals with the guy who started that one and get some petitioning tips although getting 100,000 signatures could be difficult within the tight time scale.

JXM73
12-04-2021, 08:46 AM
I see the english toffs will be pausing the county cricket games for 80 minutes for the funeral...

12-04-2021, 09:14 AM
I called the person out because I thought and still think the post was an obvious piss take.
The alternative is he really thinks a petition is a cunning plan to tackle Saturdays football and royal funeral issue but I'm not sure anyone is that stupid.
However, if I am wrong and Baldrick is currently in the process of getting his petition and 100,000 signatures together I promise to help him deliver it on completion but reserve the right to wear a disguise to avoid subsequent ridicule.

P.S. some wag started a petition on change.org a couple of weeks ago to have Ann Budge removed from Hearts. It currently has 35 signatures. Maybe our petition advocate can makes pals with the guy who started that one and get some petitioning tips although getting 100,000 signatures could be difficult within the tight time scale.
It’s not really anything to do with what the poster said, it’s the constant reference to how many posts someone has made. If I had made that post I’d be laughed at, but no one would suggest I’m a Jambo because I’ve made lots of posts. There seems to be an etiquette that says you have to agree with everyone until you get your post count up or you’re called a Jambo. Surely we all want to see new people posting on here?

12-04-2021, 09:19 AM
It’s not really anything to do with what the poster said, it’s the constant reference to how many posts someone has made. If I had made that post I’d be laughed at, but no one would suggest I’m a Jambo because I’ve made lots of posts. There seems to be an etiquette that says you have to agree with everyone until you get your post count up or you’re called a Jambo. Surely we all want to see new people posting on here?

It is impossible for us all to agree at the best of times on here which is good because it shows Hibs supporters are a team for everyone. However, the always angry and unnuanced thinkers on here can be very wearing at times. I agree that the Jambo accusation for new posters thing is well off the mark. Apologies for using it.

12-04-2021, 09:22 AM
Just a few minutes ago on BBC Scotland channel(before sportscene)advertising game at time initially scheduled (12.00 BBC ONE Scotland)
But i still think it may change before weeks end

Saturdays Scottish Grand National now to take place on Sunday.

My horse usuall finishes on Sunday anyway!

12-04-2021, 09:24 AM
My horse usuall finishes on Sunday anyway!

Might stand a chance then!

AltheHibby
12-04-2021, 09:27 AM
If for no other reason than the D of E served Britain World War 2, making him a veteran from what I consider our finest generation, then even although I am not a royalist I respect the man's service.

The totally over the top reaction from the media is to be expected as this is a huge story for them. It doesn't make it right, but it does make it understandable.

Should we pause sport? Possibly. Will allowing sport to go on stop some who would want to see the ceremony miss it? Yes. Are they a minority? Almost certainly. For the sake of a few hours, and as a supposedly civilised nation should we show them some latitude? In my opinion, yes.

I am not looking for a fight, just trying to present an alternative view. I want the game to go on, but I understand why a significant minority may not.

12-04-2021, 09:28 AM
This whole fawning nonsense is ridiculous IMO. Every organisation is terrified to be called out by the Daily Fail for not grovelling enough. The SFA should release a statement saying, In line with Prince Philip's wish for a "no fuss " occasion we will respect his request & continue with our scheduled programme on Saturday. Minute's silence, black arm bands etc etc. It's not as if we have to worry about crowds!

Allez Hibs
12-04-2021, 09:31 AM

Yes. Well said. 👏

12-04-2021, 09:42 AM
I’m sure the ko times for all the weekend games will be sorted today

12-04-2021, 09:42 AM
This whole fawning nonsense is ridiculous IMO. Every organisation is terrified to be called out by the Daily Fail for not grovelling enough. The SFA should release a statement saying, In line with Prince Philip's wish for a "no fuss " occasion we will respect his request & continue with our scheduled programme on Saturday. Minute's silence, black arm bands etc etc. It's not as if we have to worry about crowds!
Wouldnt even bother with a statement. Black arm band, minutes silence and crack on with the football imo.

12-04-2021, 09:49 AM

Spot on

12-04-2021, 09:53 AM
Yes. Well said. 👏

Awright firestarter :wink:

Steven79
12-04-2021, 11:07 AM

Well said!

12-04-2021, 11:10 AM
Has our game been moved or is it still the same ko .

12-04-2021, 12:15 PM
Has our game been moved or is it still the same ko .

No decision's been made yet.

12-04-2021, 12:42 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-scottish-cup-clash-moved-20368920

12-04-2021, 12:47 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-scottish-cup-clash-moved-20368920

Aberdeen v Livvi is live on premier at 2pm
Would possibly mean we’d be a later KO, not ideal when we have a massive game on Wednesday 6pm KO

12-04-2021, 01:15 PM
Ridiculous that our game is being moved to the Sunday, doesn’t even clash with the funeral- and seriously what would it matter if it did ffs?

12-04-2021, 01:21 PM
Ridiculous that our game is being moved to the Sunday, doesn’t even clash with the funeral- and seriously what would it matter if it did ffs?

The beeb wont just cover the funeral at funeral time. It'll be coverage all day building up to it. So it clashes with that. As a football fan that wouldn't bother me at all. I'd watch the game. They don't ask the fans though. They ask the relevant stakeholders - probably the sponsors and the broadcaster - and they make the decision.

12-04-2021, 01:23 PM
Is the Newcastle game not still going ahead at 12:30? If so then so should ours. Might be mistaken though.

12-04-2021, 01:25 PM
DR are saying Rangers v Celtic at 12 noon on the Sunday
If they stick with Dons v Livvi at 2pm, we’ll be kicking off later in the afternoon/early evening on the Sunday
Wonder why they didn’t move us to late Saturday, although BBC will have wall to wall coverage of the funeral all day Saturday probably

12-04-2021, 01:59 PM
Four games in the next round are live on telly

Forfar v D.United
Friday 16th April
BBC Scotland 7.45

Stranraer v Hibees
Sat 17th
BBC Scotland 12.15

Celtic v Sevco
Sat 17th
Premier Sports 4.00 pm

Aberden V Livingston
Sunday 18th
Premier Sports 2pm

Got this on SFA website

Celtic v Rangers a 1600 Saturday KO!

Police Scotland fine with that?

12-04-2021, 02:19 PM
DR are saying Rangers v Celtic at 12 noon on the Sunday
If they stick with Dons v Livvi at 2pm, we’ll be kicking off later in the afternoon/early evening on the Sunday
Wonder why they didn’t move us to late Saturday, although BBC will have wall to wall coverage of the funeral all day Saturday probably
BHA saying no horse racing will take place on Saturday between 2.45pm and 4.15pm. That seems a reasonable compromise to me and I presume they have announced that after some dialogue with the relevant "authorities". If football follows suit, then no reason why we couldn't KO 30mins earlier at 12Noon with the game on the BBC Scotland channel, leaving those who want to watch the build-up to the Chooky's laying to rest to do so on the main BBC channel.

12-04-2021, 02:21 PM
The SFA have agreed to rebrand this year's tournament as the North Korean cup.

12-04-2021, 02:27 PM

Would be amazing if footage emerged of Phil cheering on his beloved Hibees while throwing his trademark insults at the Yams.

All those folk complaining about the clubs tweet on Friday will then be moaning that Hibs didn’t do nearly enough.

Latapy'sVolley
12-04-2021, 02:39 PM
Wolves v SHU been moved from 3pm to 8:15pm on Saturday - so we may be fine at 12:15pm as it's not a direct 3pm clash

12-04-2021, 03:08 PM
Wolves v SHU been moved from 3pm to 8:15pm on Saturday - so we may be fine at 12:15pm as it's not a direct 3pm clash

Because of the risk of extra time and penalties I can't see it not being moved.

12-04-2021, 03:09 PM
Better prepare ourselves now for the Queen dying as the county will shut down for a week. Sometimes I forget it's 2021.

12-04-2021, 03:15 PM
League games all moved to a 12pm kick off on Saturday. Why not do the same with ours? Even with ET and Pens it would still be finished before 3pm.

12-04-2021, 03:18 PM
Because of the risk of extra time and penalties I can't see it not being moved.

Even it does go to penalties, the match should still finish before 3pm.

90 minutes should take us until 2pm then extra time until just after 2:30pm (allowing for a short stoppage after 90 mins) then if penalties are required then maybe 5-10 mins max, the match should finish by 2:45pm.

Not so sure that the post mortem on here will be finished by then though if we get taken to penalties by Stranraer!

12-04-2021, 03:20 PM
No idea why it's taking so long to sort - England seem to have addressed all their league clashes and given teams a couple of options about what to do, whilst the BBC Scotland story on this hasn't been updated for two days

12-04-2021, 03:51 PM
Even it does go to penalties, the match should still finish before 3pm.

90 minutes should take us until 2pm then extra time until just after 2:30pm (allowing for a short stoppage after 90 mins) then if penalties are required then maybe 5-10 mins max, the match should finish by 2:45pm.

Not so sure that the post mortem on here will be finished by then though if we get taken to penalties by Stranraer!

Just make all the players wear a black tie and long trousers.

This will be a charming throwback to olden times and mean they will be suitably attired if they are still on the field come 3pm.

Boisterous goal celebrations should be replaced with polite handshakes, as excessive exuberance would be a poor show.

12-04-2021, 03:58 PM
Just make all the players wear a black tie and long trousers.

This will be a charming throwback to olden times and mean they will be suitably attired if they are still on the field come 3pm.

Boisterous goal celebrations should be replaced with polite handshakes, as excessive exuberance would be a poor show.

Can't do polite handshakes due to Covid. A simple nod and jolly well done will suffice.

12-04-2021, 03:59 PM
I don't see why the Hibs match needs to be moved.

It has been reported the the Chelsea v Man City semi-final is going to be brought forward to 12:30 from its scheduled 17:30 slot.

12-04-2021, 04:04 PM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/football/spfl-matches-moved-to-noon-ahead-of-dukes-funeral

HibsTalk
12-04-2021, 04:04 PM

nope :brickwall

12-04-2021, 04:05 PM
Hibs have tweeted 12.15 on Sunday

Our game has been moved to Sunday at 12.15

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/date-change-for-scottish-cup-clash

If they move our game back to noon it will be done by 3.

12-04-2021, 04:07 PM
Bizarre. SPFL games are moved to noon on Saturday but they change our game to the Sunday?

12-04-2021, 04:11 PM
Bizarre. SPFL games are moved to noon on Saturday but they change our game to the Sunday?

It's because it's on the BBC. Their entire schedule will be occupied. Bigot fest is fine because it's on Premier.

12-04-2021, 04:11 PM

None of the spfl games are on TV.

12-04-2021, 04:15 PM
It's because it's on the BBC. Their entire schedule will be occupied. Bigot fest is fine because it's on Premier.

They’re also now Sunday.

12-04-2021, 04:16 PM
It’s looking like the BBC wanted no games on the Saturday, or Hibs would have been moved to the Saturday night slot, that Dons v Livvi have, on Premier

12-04-2021, 04:18 PM
Seems strange them swapping the days of the Glasgow derby and the Aberdeen game.

12-04-2021, 04:22 PM
Seems strange them swapping the days of the Glasgow derby and the Aberdeen game.

I don't think Rangers would ever have agreed to playing on Saturday.

12-04-2021, 04:27 PM

The rest of us can then get on with what really matters - watching the cabbage pump some diddy team on the way to another Scottish Cup triumph 🏆

I'd watch it on IPTV.

12-04-2021, 04:29 PM

If it went any later than 4.30pm on the Saturday, would have gone head to head with FA cup semi, and Premier will be wanting a large audience

The Baldmans Comb
12-04-2021, 04:33 PM
You feel the stink of the BBC and the usual grovelling from the SFA in this decision.

Another reason not to pay the license fee then and there is absolutely nothing they can do about it.😁.

12-04-2021, 04:35 PM
If it went any later than 4.30pm on the Saturday, would have gone head to head with FA cup semi, and Premier will be wanting a large audience

You’re right. Chelsea v Man City on at the same time

12-04-2021, 04:39 PM
I am raging about this. I will post further when I decide why.

12-04-2021, 04:41 PM
Our game has been moved to Sunday at 12.15

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/date-change-for-scottish-cup-clash

That’s wrecked my travel plans for the game. Had booked the living room for Saturday. I may have to travel to the spare bedroom now it’s been moved to the Sunday.

12-04-2021, 04:41 PM

Don’t be like me and make an er.e of yourself by getting dates wrong.

12-04-2021, 04:48 PM
So an exciting three days of hoping the following teams win, in that order:
Inverness
Morton
Forfar
Montrose
Clyde
Livingston
Hibs
Neither

12-04-2021, 04:51 PM

Can’t see Hibs being overly happy either
Would have mapped out their training plans for the week, and overnight accommodation
Also gives the players a day less before we take on Livvi

12-04-2021, 05:02 PM
Bellends on twitter having a go at Hibs for this. Thick as pig **** honestly.

Unfortunate but was always going to happen. A royal dying is a big deal still. Personally couldn't care less but it is what it is.

12-04-2021, 05:09 PM
You feel the stink of the BBC and the usual grovelling from the SFA in this decision.

Another reason not to pay the license fee then and there is absolutely nothing they can do about it.😁.

Pay the fee. The alternative is much worse.

AphroG
12-04-2021, 05:29 PM
I smell *****I'm a health care worker. I was free on Saturday to watch the game, Because of the overwrought pandering to the sad death of this ordinary, highly privileged human being, I'll now miss the game.

You know nothing about me and the sacrifices I make as an infldividual to be lucky enough to watch a football game in my busy work life. Yet you make a obnoxious, unwarranted attack on me. What kind of person are you?

AphroG
12-04-2021, 05:32 PM

A gas lighter dude looking to cause discord.You're just slandering someone you don't know with an unfounded and simply wrong opinion. If there's anyone gaslighting, it's clearly you doing this to me. Your inhospitable reaction strikes me you are a deeply unpleasant individual who's not worth giving the time of day. Duly blocked.

12-04-2021, 06:10 PM
Would have mapped out their training plans for the week, and overnight accommodation

Good opportunity to retract Thursdays unnecessary Tweet, something along the lines of the Chookie being an inconsiderate old soak with a selfish parasitic family intent on destroying our National sport should just about cover it :greengrin

12-04-2021, 06:16 PM
I'm a health care worker. I was free on Saturday to watch the game, Because of the overwrought pandering to the sad death of this ordinary, highly privileged human being, I'll now miss the game.

You know nothing about me and the sacrifices I make as an infldividual to be lucky enough to watch a football game in my busy work life. Yet you make a obnoxious, unwarranted attack on me. What kind of person are you?

What does being a healthcare worker have to do with anything?

Highwayman
12-04-2021, 07:05 PM
There was never going to be an outcome to this situation which suited everybody.
Personally I’m ok with it being moved to Sunday if we can get live coverage.
Noted a previous post that read it wasn’t an ideal situation leading up to an important game with Livingston on on the following Wednesday.
I’m not sure what Stranaers fixture is following Sunday as they’ve been playing Tuesday and Thursday to fit in the fixture.
We shouldn’t need any real advantage to win this game but with the fixture pressure on Stranaer every little helps.

12-04-2021, 07:19 PM
There was never going to be an outcome to this situation which suited everybody.
Personally I’m ok with it being moved to Sunday if we can get live coverage.
Noted a previous post that read it wasn’t an ideal situation leading up to an important game with Livingston on on the following Wednesday.
I’m not sure what Stranaers fixture is following Sunday as they’ve been playing Tuesday and Thursday to fit in the fixture.
We shouldn’t need any real advantage to win this game but with the fixture pressure on Stranaer every little helps.

In answer to your first sentence, leave the kick off time to when it was meant to kick off on Saturday lunch time. No reason why that wouldn’t have suited everybody?!

12-04-2021, 07:20 PM
I work Sunday till Thursday 9am till 6pm so bit gutted won’t be able to see this live.

Can anyone confirm if the full match replay will be available in the sports section around 7/8pm? I know they usually have an archive for a week but not sure when it gets put up.

K-Zazu
12-04-2021, 07:26 PM
Are Stranraer playing Tuesday and Thursday?

K-Zazu
12-04-2021, 07:26 PM
I work Sunday till Thursday 9am till 6pm so bit gutted won’t be able to see this live.

Can anyone confirm if the full match replay will be available in the sports section around 7/8pm? I know they usually have an archive for a week but not sure when it gets put up.

Record it?

12-04-2021, 08:02 PM

Is the rearranged game definitely on tv? Personally would have been happy to pay Ppv and bin the live tv. Joke it can't be shown on BBC Scotland channel.

12-04-2021, 08:03 PM
Is the rearranged game definitely on tv? Personally would have been happy to pay Ppv and bin the live tv. Joke it can't be shown on BBC Scotland channel.

Yes BBC One at 12:15 on Sunday.

12-04-2021, 08:05 PM

Jack Ross asked for an early decision so training could be planned accordingly. Looks like he got his wish to me. Don’t think our training schedule will have been impacted much - if at all.

12-04-2021, 08:08 PM

12-04-2021, 08:12 PM
In answer to your first sentence, leave the kick off time to when it was meant to kick off on Saturday lunch time. No reason why that wouldn’t have suited everybody?!

Bit of a danger of us missing the start of the funeral if the game went to pens.

12-04-2021, 08:17 PM
We can all celebrate on Sunday when the Royal love in is finished and we can get back to dealing with reality for most of us.

12-04-2021, 08:29 PM
Fizzing.

This has caused my sons football on Sunday to get moved from 3 to 1. Meaning I either miss the hibs, or he misses his football.

12-04-2021, 08:31 PM
Absolute shambles of an organisation the SFA are

Montrose down at Partick on Thursday night, home then down to killie on SATURDAY MORNING for an 11:45 kick off. Pre match meal at 7am then

So long as the old firm get maximum exposure eh

Apparently clubs weren't consulted at all

K-Zazu
12-04-2021, 08:49 PM

Montrose down at Partick on Thursday night, home then down to killie on SATURDAY MORNING for an 11:45 kick off. Pre match meal at 7am then

Can’t they stay in Glasgow on the Friday?

12-04-2021, 08:50 PM

I work with a bloke who plays for a league two side and he was absolutely knackered at work on Friday after two midweek games. Should work significantly in our favour.

12-04-2021, 09:10 PM

Possibly, although finances might be tight with significantly reduced income right now

12-04-2021, 09:40 PM
Saturday, and a very private funeral, is going to be hijacked by the BBC and its royal sycophants. It promises to be a boak-fest featuring the one and only Nicholas Whichell. This is his moment. Cometh the day, cometh the man :cb

hibby rae
12-04-2021, 10:05 PM
Saturday, and a very private funeral, is going to be hijacked by the BBC and its royal sycophants. It promises to be a boak-fest featuring the one and only Nicholas Whichell. This is his moment. Cometh the day, cometh the man :cb

If you ever want to see what a failed journalist looks like, he's your man. But you can add any royal correspondent to that list.

davhibby
12-04-2021, 10:07 PM

The clubs that weren’t on TV would all have been able to decide the time between them. So Killie and Montrose obviously decided on that time not the SFA. All that was forced upon them was a move from 3.

andrew70
12-04-2021, 10:20 PM
The clubs that weren’t on TV would all have been able to decide the time between them. So Killie and Montrose obviously decided on that time not the SFA. All that was forced upon them was a move from 3.

I very much doubt Montrose would have chosen 1145. Crazy decision by the beaks and a complete disregard of clubs of Montrose stature

hibee316
13-04-2021, 05:32 AM
I work with a bloke who plays for a league two side and he was absolutely knackered at work on Friday after two midweek games. Should work significantly in our favour.

Hibs should win this by a few.

If we lose, I would put it down as one of our biggest ever shocks, due to Stranraers schedule.

I'm sticking a bet on Hibs -3

Or maybe -4 :)

13-04-2021, 06:03 AM

If we lose, I would put it down as one of our biggest ever shocks, due to Stranraers schedule.

Early goal it could be 4 or 5. Let them settle and don't work them enough, we could make a meal of it. Can't see us losing though.

13-04-2021, 06:12 AM

No team would lose to a part time team with an unusual schedule in the cup though. It just doesnt happen.

13-04-2021, 07:12 AM

The players will have work on the Friday.

13-04-2021, 07:21 AM
No team would lose to a part time team with an unusual schedule in the cup though. It just doesnt happen.

Absolutely. Unless said club was a three ring circus of course.

hibee316
13-04-2021, 08:20 AM

Why I said should and not would.

It's Hibs. We could lose it, and I would put it down as one of our worst cup exits.

13-04-2021, 08:27 AM

It's Hibs. We could lose it, and I would put it down as one of our worst cup exits.

I think Northern was having a subtle dig at hearts but you're right - it would be.

I don't think we'll see any such thing on Sunday. The boys will be well up for this one.

13-04-2021, 08:43 AM
I think Northern was having a subtle dig at hearts but you're right - it would be.

I don't think we'll see any such thing on Sunday. The boys will be well up for this one.

Why would it be a subtle dig at Hearts? I’ve looked at the results of every round Hibs have been in and not seen any embarrassing results. 😁

13-04-2021, 08:46 AM
I hope we win the football game

13-04-2021, 08:51 AM
Why would it be a subtle dig at Hearts? I’ve looked at the results of every round Hibs have been in and not seen any embarrassing results. 😁

There was nothing subtle about it. Which works for me.

13-04-2021, 08:54 AM
There was nothing subtle about it. Which works for me.

Are you sure?

Hearts are *****.... not subtle. What he posted... pretty subtle.

13-04-2021, 09:08 AM

Unlike Hearts, at least if we do suffer a shock defeat we'll have a good excuse, judging by the reaction of many on here i.e. the massive disruption and angst that is being caused by the Royal funeral.
Like someone else said, be prepared for when the Queen herself passes away (probably in about 2041 after choking on her Royal Jelly supplements). That is going to be many many times worse. Expect no sport at all between her passing and the day after her funeral, not just a couple of hours.

13-04-2021, 09:56 AM
Easy Hibs win unless we decide to play the benchers

13-04-2021, 10:17 AM
Stranraer have been pretty mince of late. Any win on Sunday would do but I think we'll put 4 or 5 past them after a slow-ish first half. They'll tire pretty quickly after their schedule.

15-04-2021, 08:00 AM
I see that there is a lack of respect for the chook from the German and Italian leagues with games kicking off at 2 and 2:30

15-04-2021, 08:57 AM

For those of us south of the border, it's on BBC Scotland, not BBC One.

15-04-2021, 09:38 AM

It's not. It's on BBC 1 Scotland. Source: BBC website.

15-04-2021, 09:53 AM

I didn't realise the BBC Scotland channel had different programming depending on where you are in the UK.

BBC One Scotland is available in other parts of the UK so I'm a bit surprised by that.

It's also a bit annoying (even although it doesn't affect me nor does it surprise me) that Stranraer v Hibs isn't shown on all BBC One channels throughout the UK in the same way that FA Cup matches are.

15-04-2021, 09:55 AM
Reading Murphy is out again with a hamstring injury
Hibs going to decide soon, if he’ll play again this season

Would be a big blow to lose him in my opinion

hhibs
15-04-2021, 11:02 AM

Is it just bad luck or is there still a long term issue ?

Not good if true ,we do need him as an option, would that mean Drew Wright getting game time ......hmm?

15-04-2021, 11:03 AM
It's not. It's on BBC 1 Scotland. Source: BBC website.

Thanks for the correction.

Our last one, or was it an international, was BBC Scotland.

15-04-2021, 11:11 AM

Has been struggling with a hamstring injury from a couple of games into his time at Hibs.
No time left to get back up to speed so unlikely to start again this season but some sub cameos might be in order.

15-04-2021, 12:58 PM
Is it right Jamie Hamil plays for them? Wonder which Hibs player he will try to seriously injure.

15-04-2021, 01:06 PM
Is it right Jamie Hamil plays for them? Wonder which Hibs player he will try to seriously injure.

Still signed for them but hardly plays now, only played 2 of their 16 games this season. Unused sub in their last game. Hopefully he wont get a game when we play them.

15-04-2021, 01:07 PM
Still signed for them but hardly plays now, only played 2 of their 16 games this season. Unused sub in their last game. Hopefully he wont get a game when we play them.

Big game for them tonight v Stenhousemuir
A win can get them within touching distance of the play offs

15-04-2021, 01:28 PM
Big game for them tonight v Stenhousemuir
A win can get them within touching distance of the play offs

Yeah you're right but their form is up and down, it is a really competitive league at the top end and should be interesting to see who finishes in the play off spots. I think Elgin probably the harder last few games though, they still have to play Queens Park.

15-04-2021, 01:51 PM

It would be good to have him back, but he’s missed that many games it’s not as much of a loss as losing someone like Boyle.

mal
15-04-2021, 02:00 PM
Thanks for the correction.

Our last one, or was it an international, was BBC Scotland.

QotS game was on BBC Scotland.

Useful rule of thumb is that if it's an evening game it'll almost certainly be BBC Scotland. Daytime games will almost certainly be on BBC One Scotland.

BBC Scotland's "normal" hours of operation are 7pm until midnight, with exceptions for live politics, live minority sports, live news, education and sign zone.

15-04-2021, 02:31 PM
QotS game was on BBC Scotland.

Useful rule of thumb is that if it's an evening game it'll almost certainly be BBC Scotland. Daytime games will almost certainly be on BBC One Scotland.

BBC Scotland's "normal" hours of operation are 7pm until midnight, with exceptions for live politics, live minority sports, live news, education and sign zone.

Cheers.

15-04-2021, 06:27 PM
Stranraer 3 up tonight

15-04-2021, 06:31 PM
Stranraer 3 up tonight

Ex Hibs development player, Ruari Paton got the 3rd

15-04-2021, 06:39 PM
Stranraer 3 up tonight

:worried:

Sent from ma laptop, using ma fingers, keyboard and stuff like that.

15-04-2021, 07:56 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210415/9a92db44c978ff83a173ae06149e7b40.png

15-04-2021, 09:27 PM
If you ever want to see what a failed journalist looks like, he's your man. But you can add any royal correspondent to that list.Scabbed the BBC journalist strike and read the news on TV. Rewarded by the BBC by losing the news and being made Royal Correspondent. Guessing he's still doing it because its the only job available.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

15-04-2021, 09:57 PM
It was Stenhousemuir’s 6th game in 12 days.

15-04-2021, 10:10 PM

I hope Hibs had someone at the game, preferably JR.

16-04-2021, 06:24 AM
Does anyone know why Stranraer play in blue and white when their club badge is red and white? Been bugging me since the draw :greengrin

16-04-2021, 06:31 AM
Does anyone know why Stranraer play in blue and white when their club badge is red and white? Been bugging me since the draw :greengrin

Their badge is predominantly blue as far as I'm aware.

Pescarese
16-04-2021, 07:57 AM

Used to live in Stranraer and they used a blue badge back in the day. I'm guessing the red one nowadays is to make it stand out more. But you're right, it is unusual.

16-04-2021, 08:00 AM
Their badge is predominantly blue as far as I'm aware.

Just noticed their badge on their website appears differently (red) compared to the other places where their badge appears blue.

No idea why.

16-04-2021, 08:38 AM
It was Stenhousemuir’s 6th game in 12 days.

Buggers are getting very fit now.

Pescarese
16-04-2021, 08:39 AM
Just noticed their badge on their website appears differently (red) compared to the other places where their badge appears blue.

No idea why.

As this is their 150th anniversary season, they're using an older style of badge, apparently. One way to flog merchandise, l guess.

16-04-2021, 08:40 AM

No idea why.

Life is full of mystery huh? :greengrin

Highwayman
16-04-2021, 08:49 AM

They’re either very fit and battle hardened or extremely knackered by now.

Either way we should go out on Sunday and finish them off as quickly as possible.

Then give some of the bench boys some decent game time.

16-04-2021, 08:53 AM
As this is their 150th anniversary season, they're using an older style of badge, apparently. One way to flog merchandise, l guess.

Ah right thanks for the explanation.

16-04-2021, 09:05 AM

Great, finding form just in time for us :wink:

16-04-2021, 09:20 AM

We're not playing them, though.

16-04-2021, 09:21 AM
They’re either very fit and battle hardened or extremely knackered by now.

Either way we should go out on Sunday and finish them off as quickly as possible.

Then give some of the bench boys some decent game time.

They lost 4-0 so I imagine it's the latter!

Highwayman
16-04-2021, 10:48 AM
They lost 4-0 so I imagine it's the latter!

Oops.Misread blackpool hibs post.Meant to refer to Stranaer.

16-04-2021, 11:20 AM
I'd be looking to rest Boyle, Doig, Irvine and Hanlon in this one. Those players haven't been rested much so makes sense to get the likes of Cadden, Wright and Magennis some game time.

With 4 or 5 changes I'd still be expecting to win this game 3 or 4 nil.

16-04-2021, 11:26 AM
I'd be looking to rest Boyle, Doig, Irvine and Hanlon in this one. Those players haven't been rested much so makes sense to get the likes of Cadden, Wright and Magennis some game time.

I'd rest Paul McGinn if anyone. The others can play and maybe be subbed if the match is in the bag. Irvine's not even played half a season.

hibee316
16-04-2021, 11:30 AM

I'm going to guess no one will be rested.

Take no chances!

16-04-2021, 11:34 AM
I'm going to guess no one will be rested.

Take no chances!

I think it’ll be the strongest team available.

Maximum of 8 games to go then they can all have a rest. Win the game then get the likes of Boyle off earlyish.

andrew70
16-04-2021, 11:43 AM
I think it’ll be the strongest team available.

Maximum of 8 games to go then they can all have a rest. Win the game then get the likes of Boyle off earlyish.

Precisely. Making changes would be 1) a mistake but 2) totally lacking respect.

I watched them last night, a decent wee outfit who will cause us problems. The likelihood is we should win but the park, the referee and our attitude all come into play.

16-04-2021, 07:38 PM
Is it a plastic pitch at Stranraer?

16-04-2021, 07:46 PM
Is it a plastic pitch at Stranraer?

I don't believe so.

16-04-2021, 07:54 PM
I don't believe so.

Good. Hate plastic pitches. A great leveller.

Dundee United showing us why we must take it seriously.

16-04-2021, 09:10 PM
Precisely. Making changes would be 1) a mistake but 2) totally lacking respect.

I watched them last night, a decent wee outfit who will cause us problems. The likelihood is we should win but the park, the referee and our attitude all come into play.

Lacking respect?

We’ve got a bench with multiple international players. We’ll be planning for 3 games in 6 days and that means rotation. Cadden and Magennis in particular need games and will be raring to go. It also makes sense IMO to keep Boyle in particular, fresh and fit for Wednesday.

I’d be very surprised if we didn’t make 3 changes or more. We’ll win this comfortably.