View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths to Aberdeen

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

16-04-2021, 06:43 PM
Does anyone else think of Max Headroom with these crappy green screen press conferences?

BlackSheep
16-04-2021, 06:45 PM
Was ITV

Sorry 😃

Ahem.... ‘S’ tv

BlackSheep
16-04-2021, 06:46 PM
Does anyone else think of Max Headroom with these crappy green screen press conferences?

Ha! Yeah.... I dunno why they don’t just do it without the fake backgrounds.... they look terrible.

16-04-2021, 07:11 PM

:hyper :hyper

Don’t be so bloody childish - this is an adult football discussion forum for goodness sake. :hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper

16-04-2021, 07:18 PM
Don’t be so bloody childish - this is an adult football discussion forum for goodness sake. :hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper:hyper

Reported.

16-04-2021, 07:23 PM
Reported.

17-04-2021, 05:12 AM
:hyper

Ftfy

17-04-2021, 02:12 PM
I had actually typed something similar then scrubbed it.
Lawwell is leaving ,so dont think he will be involved in negotiations with players. In or out.
So some new faces to deal with might not be as stubborn as the previous people (The McGinn fiasco team)
I am of course assuming any new boss wont want Leigh in their future plans.

I think LG's time at Celtic Park is done.
And many of their fans would say that too.

Lawwell had a personal issue with Petrie. That is no longer a concern.

If Celtc want to take up Leigh’s contract option for next season, it makes it an easy decision for us: we won’t be signing him.

The Lesser Greens can either play their silly games (as they did over SJM) or they can act like adults.

17-04-2021, 02:42 PM

If Celtc want to take up Leigh’s contract option for next season, it makes it an easy decision for us: we won’t be signing him.

The Lesser Greens can either play their silly games (as they did over SJM) or they can act like adults.

I can't see Celtic wanting to keep him, and it would be a weird gamble for them to trigger the year with the aim of trying to sell him.

I think we have a shot and it was good to hear the comments from Ross - didn't go over the top but clear we would have a good look.

17-04-2021, 02:43 PM

The Lesser Greens can either play their silly games (as they did over SJM) or they can act like adults.It obviously depends on the circumstances at a club at any given time. Warburton freed Darren McGregor knowing that he'd be signing for Hibs but not letting on to his board who weren't chuffed with us about Scott Allan.

17-04-2021, 04:58 PM
Anyone else leaping between a heart and head scenario, the head saying “there are a lot of questions on whether he’s worth the risk” and the heart saying “I’d love to see Leigh in a Hibs shirt one more time”?

17-04-2021, 05:07 PM
It obviously depends on the circumstances at a club at any given time. Warburton freed Darren McGregor knowing that he'd be signing for Hibs but not letting on to his board who weren't chuffed with us about Scott Allan.

I think the bread man thought Darren was signing for St Johnstone, or am i thinking of someone else? :greengrin

17-04-2021, 05:15 PM
Anyone else leaping between a heart and head scenario, the head saying “there are a lot of questions on whether he’s worth the risk” and the heart saying “I’d love to see Leigh in a Hibs shirt one more time”?

Not really.
Previously he was on a massive wage and under contract at Celtic which meant coming back to Hibs was always a total non starter.
However, if as we all suspect Celtic don't take up their option to keep Leigh for another season everything changes and all the cards shift to Hibs side.

Leigh would no longer be under contract so no transfer fee and he would have no contract for next season.
If JR wants him offer him a tenner more than Hibs current top earner. A year contract with an option for another year.

A years wage is no risk at all and as we all know he could provide the X factor to add to our current efficient team.
Nothing to lose if JR wants Leigh.

17-04-2021, 05:16 PM
I think the bread man thought Darren was signing for St Johnstone, or am i thinking of someone else? :greengrin

He was pretty clear in the interview on the net podcast thing. Warburton definitely knew the script.

Topographic Hibby
17-04-2021, 05:17 PM
Anyone else leaping between a heart and head scenario, the head saying “there are a lot of questions on whether he’s worth the risk” and the heart saying “I’d love to see Leigh in a Hibs shirt one more time”?Sums it up more or less for me. Heart v head issue (and the heart is winning ever so slightly). :agree:

17-04-2021, 05:17 PM
He was pretty clear in the interview on the net podcast thing. Warburton definitely knew the script.
I never knew that, i'd thought i read somewhere he was about to sign for St Johnstone but that could be complete bollox. :greengrin

17-04-2021, 05:22 PM
I never knew that, i'd thought i read somewhere he was about to sign for St Johnstone but that could be complete bollox. :greengrin

He said they wanted him but he didn't fancy it, especially after Hibs said they were interested.

17-04-2021, 05:24 PM
He said they wanted him but he didn't fancy it, especially after Hibs said they were interested.

Reported.

Nae need!

Dr What If?
17-04-2021, 05:37 PM
It seems to me that Ron Gordon is pretty switched on about what is needed to drive revenue forward. A signing like Leigh would have fans snapping up season tickets and buying shirts. It would also give the club an fair bit of publicity, making sponsors and advertisers easier to get on board.
There might be a small risk with him on the park, off it the right commercial head could make a bit of money.

17-04-2021, 05:39 PM
Aberdeen chairman said they will be spending more than hibs and will be focusing on goal scorers

17-04-2021, 05:40 PM
Aberdeen chairman said they will be spending more than hibs and will be focusing on goal scorers

Good luck with that if we get group stage European football. Drive up the price as much as possible on any player they're interested in.

That's a silly statement.

17-04-2021, 05:43 PM

I take it Hibs have told him how much they are going to spend :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

17-04-2021, 05:44 PM
I take it Hibs have told him how much they are going to spend :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Mentioned they spent about 9 million this season while hibs spent about 6 million and similar funds will be available next season

17-04-2021, 05:46 PM

Spending is one thing. Getting value for that spend is another. Ask hearts.

17-04-2021, 05:47 PM

That boy is an absolute Dick

dalkeith stu
17-04-2021, 06:10 PM
It seems to me that Ron Gordon is pretty switched on about what is needed to drive revenue forward. A signing like Leigh would have fans snapping up season tickets and buying shirts. It would also give the club an fair bit of publicity, making sponsors and advertisers easier to get on board.
There might be a small risk with him on the park, off it the right commercial head could make a bit of money.

I don't see why the move would get more sponsors and advertisers on board. Doesn't everyone outside ourselves and Celtic think hes a wee racist pr*ck??

17-04-2021, 06:11 PM
One of the biggest no brainer transfers in our history.

17-04-2021, 06:20 PM
I don't see why the move would get more sponsors and advertisers on board. Doesn't everyone outside ourselves and Celtic think hes a wee racist pr*ck??

Where’s that come from? The fellah in your avatar might’ve had form for it (loosely speaking), but what’s Leigh done? I’m curious.

17-04-2021, 06:21 PM
Mentioned they spent about 9 million this season while hibs spent about 6 million and similar funds will be available next season

Way to get your fans onside. Tell them you've spent 50% more on your team than the team above you to remind them how poor your recruitment has been.

17-04-2021, 06:25 PM
i don't see why the move would get more sponsors and advertisers on board. Doesn't everyone outside ourselves and celtic think hes a wee racist pr*ck??

Whaaaaaat??????

17-04-2021, 06:30 PM

He’s a ****ing windbag.

17-04-2021, 06:31 PM

Sings a daft football song and gets called a racist...even though the song in question isn’t?

dalkeith stu
17-04-2021, 06:49 PM
Where’s that come from? The fellah in your avatar might’ve had form for it (loosely speaking), but what’s Leigh done? I’m curious.

A few years ago he was investigated for telling someone to "go back to where they came from" during a twitter spat. It was all brushed under the carpet at the time, i dont believe he would be so lucky if he were to say it today!!

17-04-2021, 06:52 PM
Emmanuel-Thomas looks a decent player.

17-04-2021, 06:55 PM
Bartley struggling now

Dr What If?
I don't think everyone thinks that at all....what he is is a big name, high profile player who is a Scotland international who famously scored two crackers against England at Hampden.

And the no 5 😂

Renfrew_Hibby
17-04-2021, 07:06 PM

Aberdeen the new Hearts?

Stokesy's on fire
17-04-2021, 08:13 PM
Dave Cormack sounds like a creep and we are living rent free in Creepy Cormacks head. They fear us and we should do all we can to keep it that way.

Magpie
17-04-2021, 08:19 PM
Bring him home.

17-04-2021, 08:37 PM

It would be a good signing and it would excite the fans, but it wouldn't sell any more season tickets.

You'll buy one, but you were going to anyway. A few folk who are swithering, might tip towards it, but they probably would do anyway, if we qualify for Europe.

It would still be good if he signed.

Clarence
17-04-2021, 08:54 PM
Dave Cormack sounds like a creep and we are living rent free in Creepy Cormacks head. They fear us and we should do all we can to keep it that way.

Love it

Kaff
18-04-2021, 12:32 AM
If Celtic take up the 1 yr option to try and get a transfer fee it would be madness imo.
If its genuinely £1m salary then LG I'm sure would be entitled to expect Celtic to offset any potential loss by moving to Hibs, Aberdeen or any other club who would likely offering nothing like that.
Whatever clubs like us could pay as a transfer fee to Celtic it would never match that compo, if we want him I'd say its what we can directly offer him that will dictate things and if Celtic do offer him the 1 yr then I expect him to be at Celtic for that year, unless we got him on loan in January!

18-04-2021, 03:10 AM

Dmas
18-04-2021, 08:05 AM
If Celtic take up the 1 yr option to try and get a transfer fee it would be madness imo.
If its genuinely £1m salary then LG I'm sure would be entitled to expect Celtic to offset any potential loss by moving to Hibs, Aberdeen or any other club who would likely offering nothing like that.
Whatever clubs like us could pay as a transfer fee to Celtic it would never match that compo, if we want him I'd say its what we can directly offer him that will dictate things and if Celtic do offer him the 1 yr then I expect him to be at Celtic for that year, unless we got him on loan in January!

They could activate the year and use him for Porto/Doig/Nisbet bids also now they know the aberdeen budget for next season they might fancy squeezing some cash out them as well

18-04-2021, 08:36 AM
Spending is one thing. Getting value for that spend is another. Ask hearts.

Exactly. This just adds more pressure to Glass next season. If they aren't well ahead of us early doors then fans will be asking where all this extra dosh has gone.

18-04-2021, 09:16 AM

I like Cormack.

I think he does a good job of talking Aberdeen up and see him in a similar vein to Ron Gordon.

It feels like the two of them are really trying to grow their clubs and have a vision for the game in Scotland. That’s no bad thing.

Hearts have been left behind, it’s down to us and Aberdeen.

Kaff
18-04-2021, 10:00 AM
Next 4 games are huge for us in that sense.
Show we've got the nerve to finish off Saints and Livi in the league to more or less secure 3rd and beat Stranraer and Motherwell in the Cup.
Key players staying fit and playing with the tempo we had second half vs QoS and I think we can do it.
Winning both those league games won't be easy so will possibly need something more in the Don's and Celtic ties.
Hearts are in the same or possibly better position with available finances so it will be how its used, any team wastes next season and it could be a big step backwards.
I've been a critic of Jack Ross being a bit too cagey but having the more experienced manager of the 3 could be invaluable

Stokesy's on fire
18-04-2021, 10:22 AM
I like Cormack.

I think he does a good job of talking Aberdeen up and see him in a similar vein to Ron Gordon.

It feels like the two of them are really trying to grow their clubs and have a vision for the game in Scotland. That’s no bad thing.

He named Aberdeen's Training centre after himself that's a bit of a self centred thing to do. Early days for Ron Gordon if we make 3rd things ould get very interesting at Hibs.

18-04-2021, 12:10 PM

Dr What If?
18-04-2021, 01:19 PM
I like Cormack.

Growing the game in Scotland is pivotal to any hope either us or Aberdeen have of growing our clubs, so often overlooked. For 30 years now the plan has pretty much been 'give everything to the OF to make them as successful as possible, everyone else will benefit from the trickle-down effect'. Talk about a failure, no new European club titles since Aberdeen in the early 80s and a national team that only now has managed to sneak in to a major tournament since 1998.
Sottish football needs leaders like Cormack (and I hope Gordon)....we are not diddy teams and we should not see ourselves as such.

LeithMike
18-04-2021, 01:31 PM
Growing the game in Scotland is pivotal to any hope either us or Aberdeen have of growing our clubs, so often overlooked. For 30 years now the plan has pretty much been 'give everything to the OF to make them as successful as possible, everyone else will benefit from the trickle-down effect'. Talk about a failure, no new European club titles since Aberdeen in the early 80s and a national team that only now has managed to sneak in to a major tournament since 1998.
Sottish football needs leaders like Cormack (and I hope Gordon)....we are not diddy teams and we should not see ourselves as such.Really good post. Getting Hibs, Aberdeen and dare I say Hearts up to a level to challenge the old firm is probably the best way forward for Scottish football and the old firm clubs themselves.

Impossible to see it happening with the small-minded self interest that rules Scottish football.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

hhibs
18-04-2021, 01:47 PM
That boy is an absolute Dick

18-04-2021, 03:34 PM
A few years ago he was investigated for telling someone to "go back to where they came from" during a twitter spat. It was all brushed under the carpet at the time, i dont believe he would be so lucky if he were to say it today!!

No recollection of that at all but I’ll take your word for it - nothing the man ever does appears to get readily brushed under carpets mind you.

18-04-2021, 03:40 PM
No recollection of that at all but I’ll take your word for it - nothing the man ever does appears to get readily brushed under carpets mind you.

He told someone to "F off back to your own country, ya clown."

I've no idea what the circumstances were.

18-04-2021, 03:44 PM

Me neither.

18-04-2021, 04:09 PM

I remember that, the guy was giving him grief during the time when his mental problems had come out and he had taken time away for a few months, can't remember who the guy was but he was Scottish with a foreign name I think, he quickly deleted it but it was too late, the damage had been done.

18-04-2021, 04:13 PM
I remember that, the guy was giving him grief during the time when his mental problems had come out and he had taken time away for a few months, can't remember who the guy was but he was Scottish with a foreign name I think, he quickly deleted it but it was too late, the damage had been done.

What’s worse you think? Picking a fight online with someone you don’t know who is suffering mental health issues or telling someone to **** off?
I know where I’m at.

18-04-2021, 04:23 PM
What’s worse you think? Picking a fight online with someone you don’t know who is suffering mental health issues or telling someone to **** off?
I know where I’m at.

I think it was telling him to **** off back to his own country when the guy was Scottish was poor judgement by Leigh. Unfortunately on twitter there are plenty trolls just waiting for guys like Leigh to say something so they can pounce on the tweets and give grief, Leigh bites every time.

18-04-2021, 05:26 PM
With the season now over for Celtic, could this speed up Griffiths departure? He’s as well getting his future sorted now.

18-04-2021, 05:37 PM
With the season now over for Celtic, could this speed up Griffiths departure? He’s as well getting his future sorted now.

Do Celtic not have until the end of April, to offer him a contract or not?

18-04-2021, 05:53 PM
Do Celtic not have until the end of April, to offer him a contract or not?

Yes they do but with their season effectively over it would be in all interests to move things along, like Scott Brown.

18-04-2021, 06:07 PM
Yes they do but with their season effectively over it would be in all interests to move things along, like Scott Brown.

Brown was out of contract though, and seemingly Celtic tried to get him to stay?

I’d be surprised if Celtic didn’t trigger another contact for Leigh, and then sell him in the summer to recoup a fee

18-04-2021, 06:21 PM
Brown was out of contract though, and seemingly Celtic tried to get him to stay?

I’d be surprised if Celtic didn’t trigger another contact for Leigh, and then sell him in the summer to recoup a fee

Griffiths didn’t enjoy being down south previously. If they renew his contract and he doesn’t leave then they’re down £1m. That’s a rather big risk considering the size of the task they have next year. The last thing they’ll be wanting is unhappy players and Griffiths would be just that providing they renew it for the sake of a few Bob, only to fail to sell him.

18-04-2021, 06:27 PM

Celtic didn't have an option to extend Brown's contract like they do Griffiths.
Accordingly Brown was free from January to make his own plans for next season without consulting Celtic in any way.

Griffiths on the other hand needs to wait until April 30th which is the deadline for Celtic to tell him whether they intend to take up their year option on his contract.
They don't appear to have a manager lined up for next season yet so can't currently ask whether that person would like the club to keep Leigh on or not and their new CEO starts tomorrow so everything is currently up in the air at Darkheid.

Word on Hibs.net is he is currently on £19k a week. Celtic may offer him a contract on a vastly reduced rate but the smart money is on Leigh getting binned and needing to find a new club after Lawell marks the new boys card.

18-04-2021, 06:37 PM

Billy you've lost it :wink:.
I'd be surprised if Celtic did and if they do it will be on vastly reduced terms.
What club after due diligence would want to pay for Leigh and even if they did Leigh would refuse to go.
He has been a massively non productive and expensive pain in the arse for Celtic for the last 3 seasons. They will just want him gone.
Aberdeen, Hearts and Hibs are the only possible destinations for him next season and Aberdeen is not commuting distance from his house, kids etc. and Hearts :rolleyes: so Easter Road here he comes.

mal
18-04-2021, 06:47 PM

That would leave Celtic with a salary liability of around £1m. Any club then coming in for Leigh would have to absorb that salary (or expect Leigh to give up the money) and find a transfer fee. They'd also have to be a club that Leigh was willing to sign for. In that scenario, it would be much more likely that Leigh would stay put and pick up the dosh. Doesn't sound like a sensible business move for Celtic to me.

18-04-2021, 08:37 PM

I think Eddie Turnbull might have said that the trouble with Leigh is all his brains are in his feet!

18-04-2021, 10:14 PM
Griffiths didn’t enjoy being down south previously. If they renew his contract and he doesn’t leave then they’re down £1m. That’s a rather big risk considering the size of the task they have next year. The last thing they’ll be wanting is unhappy players and Griffiths would be just that providing they renew it for the sake of a few Bob, only to fail to sell him.

Exactly.

Hard to see Celtc recoup anything like £1m for Leigh, so unless he’s in the new manager’s plans for next season it would be folly for them to trigger that clause.

19-04-2021, 02:26 PM

19-04-2021, 03:08 PM
That would leave Celtic with a salary liability of around £1m. Any club then coming in for Leigh would have to absorb that salary (or expect Leigh to give up the money) and find a transfer fee. They'd also have to be a club that Leigh was willing to sign for. In that scenario, it would be much more likely that Leigh would stay put and pick up the dosh. Doesn't sound like a sensible business move for Celtic to me.

He's out of contract, with Celtic having a year option. If they don't want him, he's free to sign for anyone else. There will be no salary to absorb for Griffiths, because he won't be getting paid by anyone. He doesn't have the option of staying and picking up the dosh.

mal
19-04-2021, 03:27 PM
He's out of contract, with Celtic having a year option. If they don't want him, he's free to sign for anyone else. There will be no salary to absorb for Griffiths, because he won't be getting paid by anyone. He doesn't have the option of staying and picking up the dosh.

I'm aware of that. My post was in response to someone who had suggested that Celtic might trigger the extension in order to get a transfer fee. I was pointing out why that doesn't seem like sensible business.

19-04-2021, 03:41 PM
I'm aware of that. My post was in response to someone who had suggested that Celtic might trigger the extension in order to get a transfer fee. I was pointing out why that doesn't seem like sensible business.

If they give him an extension it’s because they see him playing. If they don’t see him playing then he’ll be on the move.

19-04-2021, 03:46 PM

If they give him an extension it’s because they see him playing. If they don’t see him playing then he’ll be on the move.

Are they any nearer getting a manager?
Think Lawwell’s replacement has now started

19-04-2021, 04:36 PM

The heart says yeah.

The head says hell yeah!

19-04-2021, 05:47 PM
The heart says yeah.

The head says hell yeah!

Definitely!
Does anyone think it could or will happen?

19-04-2021, 06:03 PM
Definitely!

If Celtic don’t take up their option, it could happen but I’ve feeling it won’t. I think Griffiths will opt for
£££ before:love ya!:, despite the practical benefits of coming back to us.

My old man
19-04-2021, 06:21 PM
Definitely!

I do I think he’s had enough of selik I mean our fans can be a tad vocal
But the “green brigade “ muppets are ruthless

But I need to ask 1 question
Can Leigh decline the offer of a year?

GG2TH

19-04-2021, 07:10 PM

GG2TH

The Celtc clause is rumoured to be £1m.

We’d offer what, £200k or so?

What do you think?

Even as a Hibs fan I’d say he’d be mad to turn that down.

:

19-04-2021, 07:12 PM

GG2TH

No he can’t decline. Celtic have that option to trigger an extra year, Griffiths has already signed that when he agreed to the deal.

19-04-2021, 07:29 PM

What do you think?

:
It's not in Lee's hands. If Celtc trigger the option he stays there, so we're not competing with £1m a year. However I think that with a signing on fee in year 1 we could get close to 50% of Lee's reputed £1m a year. With the obvious advantages of Lee staying in Edinburgh I think we would have an excellent chance of getting him. I also think if fans are allowed back, we would recoup a good piece of our outlay through increased ST sales. Bring him home, it makes sense!

19-04-2021, 07:38 PM

What do you think?

:

No he can’t decline. Celtic have that option to trigger an extra year, Griffiths has already signed that when he agreed to the deal.

Judging by the comments on Kerrydale Street, I think there would be mass rioting if they take up their option. I suppose they might take the opportunity to gamble on keeping him for one more year on a much reduced wage, which, financially but not football-wise for Griffiths, might be his best option.

19-04-2021, 07:40 PM
Judging by the comments on Kerrydale Street, I think there would be mass rioting if they take up their option. I suppose they might take the opportunity to gamble on keeping him for one more year on a much reduced wage, which, financially but not football-wise for Griffiths, might be his best option.

That would be a different agreement to taking up their year option I presume?

19-04-2021, 07:58 PM
That would be a different agreement to taking up their year option I presume?

Not necessarily. I doubt it would have been agreed by Celtic that the one year option would have been at his present wage. I think the option clause would have been one year at a wage determined by Celtic. In that case, instead of £18k, they might offer, say £10k, which might be the best he can get, otherwise he can walk away.

19-04-2021, 08:19 PM
Not necessarily. I doubt it would have been agreed by Celtic that the one year option would have been at his present wage. I think the option clause would have been one year at a wage determined by Celtic. In that case, instead of £18k, they might offer, say £10k, which might be the best he can get, otherwise he can walk away.

I’ve always understood the one year option was for Celtic and not LG. So if Celtic want to take it up then LG has to accept that.

I’d presume though that it would be another year on the wage he’s on and not a wage of Celtics determination that LG wouldn’t have a say in.

19-04-2021, 08:40 PM
I’ve always understood the one year option was for Celtic and not LG. So if Celtic want to take it up then LG has to accept that.

I’d presume though that it would be another year on the wage he’s on and not a wage of Celtics determination that LG wouldn’t have a say in.

OK I see where you’re coming from. However, there’s no way they’re going to offer him another year on £18k, so they might offer him something along the lines I suggested and he can take it or leave it.

19-04-2021, 09:03 PM
OK I see where you’re coming from. However, there’s no way they’re going to offer him another year on £18k, so they might offer him something along the lines I suggested and he can take it or leave it.

Isn’t it a one year extension though...I.e on the same terms...probably will have a wedge of signing on in the deal too....will be surprised if they take it up...

19-04-2021, 09:15 PM

They’re not offering him anything. They’re extending his contract, his current contract, by 1 year. Nothing else changes. If Celtic had the option to change his wage they’d just extend it and pay him national minimum wage.

19-04-2021, 09:15 PM
It's not in Lee's hands. If Celtc trigger the option he stays there, so we're not competing with £1m a year. However I think that with a signing on fee in year 1 we could get close to 50% of Lee's reputed £1m a year. With the obvious advantages of Lee staying in Edinburgh I think we would have an excellent chance of getting him. I also think if fans are allowed back, we would recoup a good piece of our outlay through increased ST sales. Bring him home, it makes sense!

Leigh doesn’t stay in Edinburgh.

19-04-2021, 09:28 PM

That doesn't sound like a 1 year option if they can offer what they like and he can either take it or leave it. That's just a normal discussion about a new contract.

PH91
19-04-2021, 10:08 PM
They’re not offering him anything. They’re extending his contract, his current contract, by 1 year. Nothing else changes. If Celtic had the option to change his wage they’d just extend it and pay him national minimum wage.

Celtic would be able to not extend his current contract but still offer him a new deal on reduced terms and that's what i think they will do. It would then be up to him to decide whether he wants to stay for reduced money (but still likely more than what hibs or aberdeen can offer) or leave and play every week.

If he does leave then I really hope he decides to come to us, it's not often we get the chance to sign someone of his calibre who aren't well into their 30's.

19-04-2021, 10:10 PM

I know but I'm sure staying in Scotland will be preferable to the likes of uprooting to Preston, Barnsley, Nottingham etc. I say that because I think his only English suitors will be Championship clubs & probably not promotion candidates at that.

19-04-2021, 10:13 PM
Isn’t it a one year extension though...I.e on the same terms...probably will have a wedge of signing on in the deal too....will be surprised if they take it up...

That doesn't sound like a 1 year option if they can offer what they like and he can either take it or leave it. That's just a normal discussion about a new contract.

I hear what you guys are saying so I suppose I’m suggesting a scenario along the lines ....... Celtic - Sorry Leigh we can’t offer you an extension under the present conditions so you’re free to go. However, we are willing to offer you a new one/two year contract at £8k. If that’s the best deal he can get, he might take it.

19-04-2021, 10:39 PM

19-04-2021, 10:52 PM

A few people have suggested that there would be a big increase in Season Ticket sales, but I very much doubt that many non ST holders would be all that excited by Leigh Griffiths signing again.

Even if there were a few extras bought, it would mostly be by people who attend the majority, if not all, the games anyway and there's no increased revenue from that.

I do think we should try but and financial benefit would come from success on the park, not ticket sales.

20-04-2021, 12:15 AM
I hear what you guys are saying so I suppose I’m suggesting a scenario along the lines ....... Celtic - Sorry Leigh we can’t offer you an extension under the present conditions so you’re free to go. However, we are willing to offer you a new one/two year contract at £8k. If that’s the best deal he can get, he might take it.

Fair enough. I see where you’re coming from. Pretty much the same as PH91 has since also said.

scotiaf
20-04-2021, 02:42 AM
If Celtic offer him a new deal even if it’s on reduced terms, then it will
be better than what we can offer I guess. Probably the last chance at a good/final pay day. So I don’t think many folk would argue with him
Hypothetically taking a 8k rather than a 3-4K. Unless we lump in with a large signing on bonus.

20-04-2021, 05:39 AM

The last I knew he stayed in Wallyford

20-04-2021, 05:42 AM
The last I knew he stayed in Wallyford

Has his own pad through that way now, want to say something like Uddingston but can’t remember exactly.

20-04-2021, 06:01 AM
Has his own pad through that way now, want to say something like Uddingston but can’t remember exactly.

I know Leigh is a home bunny and missed his kids terribly when he was down at Wolves, hence why I think he'll want to stay up here and not go south again.

20-04-2021, 06:40 AM
A few people have suggested that there would be a big increase in Season Ticket sales, but I very much doubt that many non ST holders would be all that excited by Leigh Griffiths signing again.

Even if there were a few extras bought, it would mostly be by people who attend the majority, if not all, the games anyway and there's no increased revenue from that.

I do think we should try but and financial benefit would come from success on the park, not ticket sales.

Possibly not an increase but it could certainly help with damage limitation.

As it is starting to look like we’ll not be back in in full start of next season either I’ve got to say I’m now on the cusp of toiling to justify renewing if we won’t be there again.

Something like signing LG could be the difference when it comes to going for it or not. I’d imagine a lot of others will also be having to make decisions like mine. Signing LG could push a lot of folk in the right direction.

My old man
20-04-2021, 07:38 AM
Took this from the Kerrydale Street page with over 230+ pages
This guy has a wee bit off a brain.
But reading it it kinda makes me think that Leigh is playing a great game of “I’m a Hibs supporter get me out of here”
Bring him home RON please

I read a twitter thread the other day regarding recruitment at Hearts. Don't remember the ins and outs but the main point was that for years players of a certain age and calibre (30+, rapidly declining) at every level have been able to demand big money from clubs as their careers begin to wind down.

The argument was that if scouting is carried out correctly - you can usually get a young player to perform at a similar or better level than the 'veteran' player, for far less money (since they don't have the experience). The argument in the case of Hearts is that they're currently paying Craig Gordon, Naismith, GMS, Berra etc £3k-£4k+ per week in the second tier and are not getting good outputs from any of them, except maybe Gordon.

With Griffiths arguably in the same bracket with us as those players are with Hearts, are we really saying we can't, for £18k p/w or less, find a young, hungry player, who can contribute at the very least what Griffiths has recently? Considering Kilmala has probably been of more use to us in his time here than Griffiths has, and that is saying something. I'm not saying we're going to find the striking equivalent of Wanyama at bargain basement prices, as that's been a failed policy of ours for years. But you'll definitely find someone at this price point who's able to at least match the output of Griffiths of late; which is the point being made in the original tweet regarding the Hearts players.

Leigh has talent but his lack of professionalism and work eithic, possibly compounded by other issues, have meant we haven't seen it in a long time and it doesn't look to be coming back with him now on the wrong side of 30. Time to move on and as others have said before me, let him become someone else's problem.

shetlandhibee
20-04-2021, 07:51 AM
But reading it it kinda makes me think that Leigh is playing a great game of “I’m a Hibs supporter get me out of here”

I read a twitter thread the other day regarding recruitment at Hearts. Don't remember the ins and outs but the main point was that for years players of a certain age and calibre (30+, rapidly declining) at every level have been able to demand big money from clubs as their careers begin to wind down.

The argument was that if scouting is carried out correctly - you can usually get a young player to perform at a similar or better level than the 'veteran' player, for far less money (since they don't have the experience). The argument in the case of Hearts is that they're currently paying Craig Gordon, Naismith, GMS, Berra etc £3k-£4k+ per week in the second tier and are not getting good outputs from any of them, except maybe Gordon.

With Griffiths arguably in the same bracket with us as those players are with Hearts, are we really saying we can't, for £18k p/w or less, find a young, hungry player, who can contribute at the very least what Griffiths has recently? Considering Kilmala has probably been of more use to us in his time here than Griffiths has, and that is saying something. I'm not saying we're going to find the striking equivalent of Wanyama at bargain basement prices, as that's been a failed policy of ours for years. But you'll definitely find someone at this price point who's able to at least match the output of Griffiths of late; which is the point being made in the original tweet regarding the Hearts players.

Leigh has talent but his lack of professionalism and work eithic, possibly compounded by other issues, have meant we haven't seen it in a long time and it doesn't look to be coming back with him now on the wrong side of 30. Time to move on and as others have said before me, let him become someone else's problem. lhe has been frozen out most off the season when he should have been starting !! If he’d played most games he would have 30 odd goals bye now IMO , I can’t understand how some folk think he’s finished?? Sombody else’s problem? Lmfao, Scotland’s best striker just now by a mile plz give us this problem Ron 👌👍

My old man
20-04-2021, 07:54 AM
lhe has been frozen out most off the season when he should have been starting !! If he’d played most games he would have 30 odd goals bye now IMO , I can’t understand how some folk think he’s finished?? Sombody else’s problem? Lmfao, Scotland’s best striker just now by a mile plz give us this problem Ron 👌👍

Exactly
We’ll take that problem
GG2TH

20-04-2021, 07:57 AM

As it is starting to look like we’ll not be back in in full start of next season either I’ve got to say I’m now on the cusp of toiling to justify renewing if we won’t be there again.

Something like signing LG could be the difference when it comes to going for it or not. I’d imagine a lot of others will also be having to make decisions like mine. Signing LG could push a lot of folk in the right direction.

On balance, I'd like him to sign, but I won't be gutted if we don't. He'll be 31 by the time the season starts and he's done nothing recently to suggest he'd be a huge asset. I know he's not been given much of a chance, but it's still the case.

Rather than chuck loads to money at him, I'd far prefer we tried to keep Nesbit for another couple of years, but even that wouldn't generate new season ticket sales.

I'm considering getting one this year but LG signing wouldn't push me either way. However, qualification for a European group stage and/or winning the Cup probably would.

20-04-2021, 07:59 AM
lhe has been frozen out most off the season when he should have been starting !! If he’d played most games he would have 30 odd goals bye now IMO , I can’t understand how some folk think he’s finished?? Sombody else’s problem? Lmfao, Scotland’s best striker just now by a mile plz give us this problem Ron 👌👍

I love these sorts of posts. 👍

Wishful thinking and hypotheses presented as definite fact.

20-04-2021, 08:00 AM

Leigh has talent but his lack of professionalism and work eithic, possibly compounded by other issues, have meant we haven't seen it in a long time and it doesn't look to be coming back with him now on the wrong side of 30. Time to move on and as others have said before me, let him become someone else's problem.

Whilst interesting, that whole article, whilst mainly being about older players output, fails to address the fact that when they actually decide to use him Leigh Griffiths had the best goals per minute in Scotland.

When he gets on the pitch, which he’s been available to do most of the season but Celtic don’t bother using him, he delivers.

Slightly more goals per minute than Edouard and miles more than Morelos.

20-04-2021, 08:04 AM
On balance, I'd like him to sign, but I won't be gutted if we don't. He'll be 31 by the time the season starts and he's done nothing recently to suggest he'd be a huge asset. I know he's not been given much of a chance, but it's still the case.

Rather than chuck loads to money at him, I'd far prefer we tried to keep Nesbit for another couple of years, but even that wouldn't generate new season ticket sales.

I'm considering getting one this year but LG signing wouldn't push me either way. However, qualification for a European group stage and/or winning the Cup probably would.

I like Nisbet but I'm very confident who would score more goals at Hibs over the next two seasons and it isn't him.

20-04-2021, 08:06 AM
I like Nisbet but I'm very confident who would score more goals at Hibs over the next two seasons and it isn't him.

I disagree.

Unfortunately, for one reason or another, we'll never know for sure.

20-04-2021, 08:27 AM

20-04-2021, 08:30 AM

Well, one of them has 73 goals in the last 3 seasons, while the other has 24 so I'd go with the guy on 73, Kevin Nisbet.

20-04-2021, 08:32 AM

I’ll disagree.

20-04-2021, 08:34 AM
Having read half a dozen pages of the Leigh thread on Kerrydale St, the recurring theme is ; Leigh GTF.

Most are saying he is unprofessional, unfit, overweight and lacking commitment to anything but his own shoddy lifestyle. A few cite extenuating factors associated with his mental health issues, but they are roundly dismissed.

20-04-2021, 08:35 AM
I’ll disagree.

Nisbet is playing like a player that wants out to me.

20-04-2021, 08:42 AM
Well, one of them has 73 goals in the last 3 seasons, while the other has 24 so I'd go with the guy on 73, Kevin Nisbet.

Nearly half of those goals were in League One. The majority of the rest were in the Championship.

20-04-2021, 08:44 AM
Nisbet is playing like a player that wants out to me.

I wouldn't go that far but we seem to be desperate to hammer Leigh for a lack of professionalism but not fussed at what happened with Nibset after the move to Birmingham didn't happen. Looks like us and the player have moved on but it does leave me with questions about how much he wants to be here.

20-04-2021, 08:45 AM
Nearly half of those goals were in League One. The majority of the rest were in the Championship.

I mean, Griffiths got 24 in 3 seasons in the top flight, Kevin got 16 in one reason so far.

I'll take the guy who played 118 games, vs the guy who played 72 games.

Kevin is the young, hungrier, better option. Fired us to 3rd and we should be keeping him.

20-04-2021, 08:47 AM
I mean, Griffiths got 24 in 3 seasons in the top flight, Kevin got 16 in one reason so far.

Kevin is the young, hungrier, better option. Fired us to 3rd and we should be keeping him.

What if he wants to leave? That certainly seemed the case a couple months ago. He might be hungry but again, not sure yet if that hunger is to stay at Hibs.

I suspect he'll go in the summer, regardless of Leigh being available. And it won't be Hibs desperate to sell him.

20-04-2021, 08:50 AM
What if he wants to leave? That certainly seemed the case a couple months ago. He might be hungry but again, not sure yet if that hunger is to stay at Hibs.

I suspect he'll go in the summer, regardless of Leigh being available. And it won't be Hibs desperate to sell him.

Wanting to go to Birmingham isn't the same as forcing his way out of hibs. He seems quite happy here.

20-04-2021, 08:58 AM
Wanting to go to Birmingham isn't the same as forcing his way out of hibs. He seems quite happy here.

Time will tell. For the record I want keep him and do rate him as a player but as I've said above, I think he'll be away by the start of next season. And that wont be because we were pushing him out the door.

20-04-2021, 09:02 AM

Griffiths has been backup striker to a £20m rated player and used as a scapegoat by a manager who was shown up to be an absolute disaster. Despite that, he’s still managed to offer more goals than any other player in the league when he’s been on the pitch. He’s also been available for the vast majority of games this season. Again, his disaster of a manager didn’t use him. He hasn’t played so few games because he’s never fit etc, he hasn’t played many games because his face didn’t fit with the manager he’s played under for the last 2 years.

On the presumption we’d be signing him to be playing him and not treating as he has been the past two years at Celtic, the evidence of LG on a football pitch would suggest he’d still score a barrel load.

20-04-2021, 09:26 AM
Time will tell. For the record I want keep him and do rate him as a player but as I've said above, I think he'll be away by the start of next season. And that wont be because we were pushing him out the door.Thats fine. We should aim to replace him with another younger player we can sell in 2 years for good cash. Thats how we build up.

Griffiths has been backup striker to a £20m rated player and used as a scapegoat by a manager who was shown up to be an absolute disaster. Despite that, he’s still managed to offer more goals than any other player in the league when he’s been on the pitch. He’s also been available for the vast majority of games this season. Again, his disaster of a manager didn’t use him. He hasn’t played so few games because he’s never fit etc, he hasn’t played many games because his face didn’t fit with the manager he’s played under for the last 2 years.

On the presumption we’d be signing him to be playing him and not treating as he has been the past two years at Celtic, the evidence of LG on a football pitch would suggest he’d still score a barrel load.

Could we get a similar quality player, with less risk involved? I'd say we could. We have before.

20-04-2021, 09:33 AM

That's where I'm at. A difference of 1k season tickets is about £200/250k to the club. Personally & regretfully I think we'll also have transfer fee income from Nisbet and/or Porto to play with. Leigh signing would be ideal compensation, hopefully backed up by us signing some other young talent.

20-04-2021, 09:34 AM
Thats fine. We should aim to replace him with another younger player we can sell in 2 years for good cash. Thats how we build up.

Could we get a similar quality player, with less risk involved? I'd say we could. We have before.

What is the risk with Griffiths? He had an injury at the start of the season but hasn’t had one since.

He’s apparently unfit yet he’s tucking goals away at a rate better than anyone else in the league when he’s on the pitch.

Could we get better? Imo no, we couldn’t. A player who has scored the goals he has over his career, is still scoring at a very good rate and is available to play most weeks. He’s better than any other striker we could get imo.

20-04-2021, 09:37 AM
That's where I'm at. A difference of 1k season tickets is about £200/250k to the club. Personally & regretfully I think we'll also have transfer fee income from Nisbet and/or Porto to play with. Leigh signing would be ideal compensation, hopefully backed up by us signing some other young talent.

I think this is a bit of a myth. I don't know of a signing that has ever on its own shifted season tickets. Good results, good football, yes, and a good signing is part of that but I think there will be a limited few who go running out to buy a ticket on the back of a particular signing.

Most tickets are sold a long way before the business end of transfer windows anyway.

20-04-2021, 09:37 AM
What is the risk with Griffiths? He had an injury at the start of the season but hasn’t had one since.

He’s apparently unfit yet he’s tucking goals away at a rate better than anyone else in the league when he’s on the pitch.

Could we get better? Imo no, we couldn’t. A player who has scored the goals he has over his career, is still scoring at a very good rate and is available to play most weeks. He’s better than any other striker we could get imo.

The risk is he isn’t fit or focussed. Such as he was at the start of this season ....

Has to be considered ..much more about his mindset than his physical fitness

20-04-2021, 09:40 AM
The risk is he isn’t fit or focussed. Such as he was at the start of this season ....

Has to be considered ..much more about his mindset than his physical fitness

For someone that isn’t fit or focussed he’s still been performing very well when he gets game time. If his fitness or focus is in question because of NL throwing him under the bus, I’m not sure how much credence I’d give to that really. His performances don’t seem to back up the idea that he has fitness or focus issues. If he did, he wouldn’t have a better strike rate per minute than every other player in the league. As much as he’s an exceptional player, he’s not good enough to be able to do that unfit and unfocused imo.

20-04-2021, 09:43 AM
No one in their right mind can deny that signing Griffiths comes with risk. He has managed c 100 games in the past 5 seasons, for whatever reason. It’s not just about his relationship withLennon, which no one on here really knows about. Yes, he has a good scoring/minutes ratio ( obviously playing for a team like Celtic helps this, compared to opportunities at one like Hibs).

Celtic fans seem to think he’s unfit and has a lifestyle that is less than professional. That troubles me.

20-04-2021, 09:48 AM
For someone that isn’t fit or focussed he’s still been performing very well when he gets game time. If his fitness or focus is in question because of NL throwing him under the bus, I’m not sure how much credence I’d give to that really. His performances don’t seem to back up the idea that he has fitness or focus issues. If he did, he wouldn’t have a better strike rate per minute than every other player in the league. As much as he’s an exceptional player, he’s not good enough to be able to do that unfit and unfocused imo.

It was nothing to do with Lennon. He came back well out of condition..Lennon had every right to feel let down.

Not sure why you are battling the simple factual point that Griffiths’s attitude and application is a risk that would need to be assessed. It’s just a common sense topic

20-04-2021, 09:48 AM

How many minutes has he played?

20-04-2021, 09:51 AM
How many minutes has he played?

20-04-2021, 09:53 AM
It was nothing to do with Lennon. He came back well out of condition..Lennon had every right to feel let down.

Not sure why you are battling the simple factual point that Griffiths’s attitude and application is a risk that would need to be assessed. It’s just a common sense topic

It’s a risk that always needs assessed no matter who were signing.

I’m not sure why it’s more of a necessity with LG though.

20-04-2021, 09:54 AM
It’s a risk that always needs assessed no matter who were signing.

I’m not sure why it’s more of a necessity with LG though.

Because he displayed his lack of discipline at the start of this season - Most players haven’t ever done that. are you completely ignoring that he ****ed up badly earlier this season ??

20-04-2021, 09:56 AM
Because he displayed his lack of discipline at the start of this season - Most players haven’t ever done that. are you completely ignoring that he ****ed up badly earlier this season ??

****ed up badly doing what? He was injured at the start of this season.

20-04-2021, 09:58 AM
****ed up badly doing what? He was injured at the start of this season.

he returned to training out of condition and overweight. That’s why he didn’t go on pre season tour ..hugely unprofessional

20-04-2021, 10:01 AM
he returned to training out of condition and overweight. That’s why he didn’t go on pre season tour ..hugely unprofessional

I’m not sure I’m going to lose much sleep over that really. Turns up slightly overweight at the start of one pre season in his career after a break a lot longer than any other in his career during a global pandemic. Obviously done a decent enough job getting himself back into shape to be producing on the pitch like he still is.

Was similar not said about Nisbet earlier in his career? I don’t remember the desperation to consider not signing him based on his focus and fitness or professionalism.

20-04-2021, 10:08 AM
I’m not sure I’m going to lose much sleep over that really. Turns up slightly overweight at the start of one pre season in his career after a break a lot longer than any other in his career.

Was similar not said about Nisbet earlier in his career? I don’t remember the desperation to consider not signing him based on his focus and fitness or professionalism.

No. Nisbet was not kept behind to get his fitness sorted out ....and never questioned on his professional approach

No one is saying it is a showstopper..but Hibs should be at least treating it as a warning sign should they have a chance to sign him

There remains a question mark over Griffiths attitude and preparation. It’s never really gone away this season . It was caused by his own actions ....I’m not close enough to it to know if that is fair these days - but hope our recruitment team are

20-04-2021, 10:22 AM
No. Nisbet was not kept behind to get his fitness sorted out ....and never questioned on his professional approach

No one is saying it is a showstopper..but Hibs should be at least treating it as a warning sign should they have a chance to sign him

There remains a question mark over Griffiths attitude and preparation. It’s never really gone away this season . It was caused by his own actions ....I’m not close enough to it to know if that is fair these days - but hope our recruitment team are

“ However, Nisbet has admitted himself that, since leaving Thistle, his attitude was far from perfect and that's what Smith would have to change.”

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/football/51068080.amp

Nisbet did have an attitude problem. That’s absolutely a question over his professional approach.

Whilst it’s fair that questions should be asked of Griffiths in the same way they should be of any signing, I’m not sure why a player who brought everyone so much pleasure, has had an outstanding career, is one of us and has never badmouthed is, is still performing to a very high level in our league is being made to be held to a higher standard of professionalism than someone like Nisbet who clearly had similar issues at one point yet never had anything like the amount of scepticism LG gets. Infact, I’d be surprised if it was even mentioned with Nisbet.

This team is crying out for a maverick like LG to liven it up a bit imo. Coming back to pre season overweight once in his career isn’t something that should stop that happening.

20-04-2021, 10:28 AM
“ However, Nisbet has admitted himself that, since leaving Thistle, his attitude was far from perfect and that's what Smith would have to change.”

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/football/51068080.amp

Nisbet did have an attitude problem. That’s absolutely a question over his professional approach.

Whilst it’s fair that questions should be asked of Griffiths in the same way they should be of any signing, I’m not sure why a player who brought everyone so much pleasure, has had an outstanding career, is one of us, , is still performing to a very high level in our league is now being made to be held to a higher standard than someone like Nisbet who clearly had similar issues at one point yet never had anything like the amount of scepticism LG gets.

Nisbet has proven himself since leaving Thistle . It’s not hard to notice his performance levels have improved and he is on an upward trajectory ..therefore, whilst it might have been a discussion point, he has lots of evidence that is behind him . Griffiths still has a question mark over him.. You seem to be dismissing it as somewhat irrelevant , which comes over a bit illogical

anyway, we’ve had a decent exchange on this - not going to keep the ping pong going . It’s clear that LG fit and happy is a top striker . Equally it’s fair there are some doubts around his application ..hope they prove to be behind him also .

20-04-2021, 10:28 AM
I’m not sure I’m going to lose much sleep over that really. Turns up slightly overweight at the start of one pre season in his career after a break a lot longer than any other in his career during a global pandemic. Obviously done a decent enough job getting himself back into shape to be producing on the pitch like he still is.

Most of us loved Efe and he came back for pre season when he fancied. Lennon wasn't overly fussed with that though. No doubt Leigh has some demons but he still looked like one of the best strikers in the league when he got the opportunity to play. No idea, given how hopeless Celtc were, why he didn't get more game time. Not like his manager had form for holding grudges particularly against strikers. If the finances work out then Leigh would be a great addition albeit with some risks. That is the case with most players though and many don't work out even if they are the perfect professionals.

20-04-2021, 10:30 AM
Nisbet has proven himself since leaving Thistle . It’s not hard to notice his performance levels have improved and he is on an upward trajectory ..therefore, whilst it might have been a discussion point, he has lots of evidence that is behind him . Griffiths still has a question mark over him.. You seem to be dismissing it as somewhat irrelevant , which comes over a bit illogical

anyway, we’ve had a decent exchange on this - not going to keep the ping pong going . It’s clear that LG fit and happy is a top striker . Equally it’s fair there are some doubts around his application ..hope they prove to be behind him also .

20-04-2021, 10:34 AM
Most of us loved Efe and he came back for pre season when he fancied. Lennon wasn't overly fussed with that though. No doubt Leigh has some demons but he still looked like one of the best strikers in the league when he got the opportunity to play. No idea, given how hopeless Celtc were, why he didn't get more game time. Not like his manager had form for holding grudges particularly against strikers. If the finances work out then Leigh would be a great addition albeit with some risks. That is the case with most players though and many don't work out even if they are the perfect professionals.

Yup.

NLs treatment of Griffiths was incredibly poor but he has been so public about it that Griffiths’ issues seem to have been blown up into being something which he potentially can’t come back from.

In reality, he’s inexplicably sitting on the bench nearly every week because he’s fit and available. When they reluctantly give him game time he’s scoring at an incredible rate. Celtic are an absolute shambles.

LeithMike
20-04-2021, 10:40 AM

Agree with this. I would love Leigh back but there are a number of warning signs that shouldn't be dismissed because of his previous history. It's fairly clear the Celtic fans want him out. The fans are usually a good judge of a player and a lot clearly feel let down by him. That wouldn't be the case if it was just a case of Lennon not giving him a fair shot.

Leigh must also have known this contract option was on the horizon and given its worth he clearly should have had strong motivation for performing this season. Again, I think its clear from the fans that he's not done that. Hibs clearly can't match that motivation and its a step down in his career. Once that downward spiral starts then you really need dedication to continue to perform at a high level.

I've seen a lot of players leave Hibs for bigger clubs and then return later in their careers. I don't think any have been as good as in their first spell.

If Hibs go for this, and I would like them to, they have to be sure that Leigh has the dedication to make it work.

20-04-2021, 10:42 AM

Less than ten matches in total. I think that lessens the relevance of the goals per minute stat as it’s a pretty small sample size.

20-04-2021, 10:46 AM
Agree with this. I would love Leigh back but there are a number of warning signs that shouldn't be dismissed because of his previous history. It's fairly clear the Celtic fans want him out. The fans are usually a good judge of a player and a lot clearly feel let down by him. That wouldn't be the case if it was just a case of Lennon not giving him a fair shot.

Leigh must also have known this contract option was on the horizon and given its worth he clearly should have had strong motivation for performing this season. Again, I think its clear from the fans that he's not done that. Hibs clearly can't match that motivation and its a step down in his career. Once that downward spiral starts then you really need dedication to continue to perform at a high level.

I've seen a lot of players leave Hibs for bigger clubs and then return later in their careers. I don't think any have been as good as in their first spell.

If Hibs go for this, and I would like them to, they have to be sure that Leigh has the dedication to make it work.

A pay per game deal might help balance the risk ....

20-04-2021, 10:46 AM
Yup.

NLs treatment of Griffiths was incredibly poor but he has been so public about it that Griffiths’ issues seem to have been blown up into being something which he potentially can’t come back from.

In reality, he’s inexplicably sitting on the bench nearly every week because he’s fit and available. When they reluctantly give him game time he’s scoring at an incredible rate. Celtic are an absolute shambles.

Yeah but you do have a fairly firm view that everything done by Celtic and Neil Lennon is bad.

In reality Griffiths was a participating factor in Celtic not having performed as well as they can. He might be available now but there were clearly times when he could not be relied upon. Of course he is a good player and will produce when the plays - this is why he was getting criticised for not always being in the position of being able to be used properly. Celtic went weeks at a key period early in the season without a striker.

With Griffiths it is clearly one of the factors that will be weighed up by any team looking to spend very good wages on him.

20-04-2021, 10:56 AM

No point denying this and it would be a risk. I think Leigh is one of these high maintenance players who requires a lot of man management - complete opposite to, say, Lewis.

However, at the risk of widening this argument, I’d also say that Neil Lennon could have maybe looked at himself before accusing others of unprofessionalism.

Would Jack Ross take time out from an ‘intensive’ warm weather training camp to have a beer or two by the pool? I doubt it.

I think Jack will be wary of Leigh. Our manager clearly puts huge faith in the system and work rate. At the same time, it’s a manager’s job to get the best out of their players, and integrate more complex characters who won’t be as disciplined but can also serve up the bit of magic needed at times.

20-04-2021, 11:00 AM
A pay per game deal might help balance the risk ....

With his experience, and with his continuing proven ability, I think he would expect a decent and solid contract. If we don't offer it someone will. He would be right to expect one and - as you alluded to earlier - people closer to the situation would decide if he's worth it.

I'm a big fan of our model of signing and developing good younger players with potential. Going into Europe though a bit if age an experience to help them along could be vital. Griffiths certainly fits the bill.

mal
20-04-2021, 11:07 AM
To put this into perspective, a number of Celtic players clearly had attitude problems this season, for whatever reason, including Edouard. This may not have manifested itself in a lack of physical fitness for all of the players but it certainly hampered their performances. I'm sure we wouldn't knock back Edouard if he were on a free transfer and an affordable wage ...

20-04-2021, 11:10 AM
With his experience, and with his continuing proven ability, I think he would expect a decent and solid contract. If we don't offer it someone will. He would be right to expect one and - as you alluded to earlier - people closer to the situation would decide if he's worth it.

I'm a big fan of our model of signing and developing good younger players with potential. Going into Europe though a bit if age an experience to help them along could be vital. Griffiths certainly fits the bill.

Yeah. He will want a bigger commitment than a per game game fee for sure ...[emoji106]. As you say out recruitment approach has been pretty solid of late , so if we do have a chance I’m sure we will try to get him and we will assess it appropriately...

20-04-2021, 11:13 AM
Yeah but you do have a fairly firm view that everything done by Celtic and Neil Lennon is bad.

In reality Griffiths was a participating factor in Celtic not having performed as well as they can. He might be available now but there were clearly times when he could not be relied upon. Of course he is a good player and will produce when the plays - this is why he was getting criticised for not always being in the position of being able to be used properly. Celtic went weeks at a key period early in the season without a striker.

With Griffiths it is clearly one of the factors that will be weighed up by any team looking to spend very good wages on him.

Yeah, I’m not sure anyone would argue that your first statement sums NL and his recent time at Celtic up perfectly.

Griffiths had a calf strain for the first 8 weeks or so of the season. I’m not quite sure how critical you can be of him for not being available at that point :confused:

20-04-2021, 11:17 AM

Nisbet had an attitude/poor life style problem at Thistle. He has sorted it out since then.

But think there is a legitimate question mark over Griffiths: professionalism; gambling; juggling multiple famlies; and mental heath issues. A lot of money to bet he will sort it all out at 30 with still some dosh in his bank account.

20-04-2021, 11:41 AM
Regardless of what we think, Hibs will take all the factors associated with Griffiths into consideration.

If he signs up, he'll become one of the best paid players in our history.

It's far from being a "no brainer".

20-04-2021, 11:52 AM
Yeah, I’m not sure anyone would argue that your first statement sums NL and his recent time at Celtic up perfectly.

Griffiths had a calf strain for the first 8 weeks or so of the season. I’m not quite sure how critical you can be of him for not being available at that point :confused:

For what it is worth I agree with your posts regarding LG. This season was a disaster by Celtic’s standards, struggling to think of any of their players who have performed to the same standards as they have in previous seasons. LG may well deserve some criticism for coming back out of condition for pre season, but not everyone coped well with lockdown.

I’ve never heard any previous criticism of LG’s attitude and his work ethic in a football environment and have no concerns he would do anything other than act in a professional manner if he does return to us. The little I’ve seen of him this season he still looks like a player who will score a lot of goals given regular game time.

20-04-2021, 12:09 PM
For what it is worth I agree with your posts regarding LG. This season was a disaster by Celtic’s standards, struggling to think of any of their players who have performed to the same standards as they have in previous seasons. LG may well deserve some criticism for coming back out of condition for pre season, but not everyone coped well with lockdown.

I’ve never heard any previous criticism of LG’s attitude and his work ethic in a football environment and have no concerns he would do anything other than act in a professional manner if he does return to us. The little I’ve seen of him this season he still looks like a player who will score a lot of goals given regular game time.

Yup.

Griffiths has suddenly developed all sorts of ‘baggage’ that is pretty much unwarranted because Lennon needed a fall guy much like he needed a fall guy when he was at Hibs.

Before NL made him a scapegoat there had never been criticisms of his attitude or professionalism. Infact, he usually looked like one of the hardest workers in the pitch and his team mates, including our very own Paul Hanlon say that he used to just turn up to training, put in the work, keep his head down and leave. There’s no reason to believe any of that’s changed.

20-04-2021, 12:12 PM
Nisbet had an attitude/poor life style problem at Thistle. He has sorted it out since then.

But think there is a legitimate question mark over Griffiths: professionalism; gambling; juggling multiple famlies; and mental heath issues. A lot of money to bet he will sort it all out at 30 with still some dosh in his bank account.

I’m not quite sure what the amount of women Griffiths has kids to or the amount of money in his bank account has to do with his ability to come back to Hibs and do a job..

20-04-2021, 12:21 PM
Has anyone considered that Celtic might keep him? £1m wages is not really that much to a club like them, considering they will have a top striker who's proven at this standard.

They will be offloading a few players this summer, Griffiths could be one of them, but they currently have a player they know will add goals to their squad, and for not that much money for them, they might just keep him. :dunno:

Rumble de Thump
20-04-2021, 12:28 PM
I wish I was as 'overweight' as Leigh was at the start of the season.

20-04-2021, 12:30 PM
I’m not quite sure what the amount of women Griffiths has kids to or the amount of money in his bank account has to do with his ability to come back to Hibs and do a job..

Ask former team mates of a Mr. A. Stokes from when he was at his worst how certain things can affect dressing room atmosphere...

20-04-2021, 12:50 PM
Ask former team mates of a Mr. A. Stokes from when he was at his worst how certain things can affect dressing room atmosphere...

I’ve no idea what that’s insinuating at, seems like I’ve missed an old rumour somewhere, but a player having kids to different parents or the amount in their bank account shouldn’t impact their employment prospects.

20-04-2021, 12:57 PM
I’ve no idea what that’s insinuating at, seems like I’ve missed an old rumour somewhere, but a player having kids to different parents or the amount in their bank account shouldn’t impact their employment prospects.

It is very easy though for someones personal life to affect their professional relationships. I'm not saying that it would for Leigh, but it's something that would really need to be examined if he'd have the potential to unsettle the dressing room.

In recent years (the Stubbs cup winning team, the team from when we first returned to the top flight and this season) we seem to have had a large group in the dressing room who get on well. A big character like Griffiths may fit into that, it also may go against us. It's something that absolutely has to be examined as it's the model of how we scout at Hibs - we look into the character of the player and if they are likely to fit into the squad. We can't not do that just because it's Leigh Griffiths.

It's defo far from a no brainer.

20-04-2021, 01:14 PM
It is very easy though for someones personal life to affect their professional relationships. I'm not saying that it would for Leigh, but it's something that would really need to be examined if he'd have the potential to unsettle the dressing room.

In recent years (the Stubbs cup winning team, the team from when we first returned to the top flight and this season) we seem to have had a large group in the dressing room who get on well. A big character like Griffiths may fit into that, it also may go against us. It's something that absolutely has to be examined as it's the model of how we scout at Hibs - we look into the character of the player and if they are likely to fit into the squad. We can't not do that just because it's Leigh Griffiths.

It's defo far from a no brainer.

From what has been said about Leigh Griffiths, he doesn’t seem to be much of a big character at all - at least not in the sense that he might disrupt the dressing room. Paul Hanlon said he used to come in, keep himself to himself, work hard and go home. Other than Lennon who was desperately trying to blame everyone but himself for his shocking job at Celtic, he’s never had his professionalism questioned, apart from on here now for some reason.

I’m not advocating we don’t examine all aspects of the signing. I just don’t see where the idea of him being disruptive or unprofessional (other than coming back for pre season once in his career after a 4 month break a bit overweight) really stem from.

20-04-2021, 01:21 PM
From what has been said about Leigh Griffiths, he doesn’t seem to be much of a big character at all - at least not in the sense that he might disrupt the dressing room. Paul Hanlon said he used to come in, keep himself to himself, work hard and go home.

I’m not advocating we don’t examine all aspects of the signing. I just don’t see where the idea of him being disruptive or unprofessional (other than coming back for pre season once in his career after a 4 month break a bit overweight) really stem from.

He also repeatedly gave GIRUY and middle finger gestures to both home and away fans when first with us getting himself suspensions in the process, the Rudi Skacel song thing, gambling issues, reports of a training ground bust-up with Billy Brown (although who wouldn't want to give that Jambo prick a piece of their mind) and the like. Granted some of that was many years ago, but seeing as how he's not exactly been flavour of the month with certain figures at Celtic this season, taking extreme caution with him given that he'd be an expensive player to sign is completely understandable.

He's talismanic, but that makes it even more important we make sure that he's going to be a good fit with this dressing room. If he is going to come in and not disrupt the balance and bond in the dressing room then it's a no brainer, but there's enough to really put a huge amount of work into the scouting and preperation of this before we make a move.

20-04-2021, 01:29 PM

20-04-2021, 01:32 PM
From what has been said about Leigh Griffiths, he doesn’t seem to be much of a big character at all - at least not in the sense that he might disrupt the dressing room. Paul Hanlon said he used to come in, keep himself to himself, work hard and go home. Other than Lennon who was desperately trying to blame everyone but himself for his shocking job at Celtic, he’s never had his professionalism questioned, apart from on here now for some reason.

That’s a bit of an understatement.He came back totally out of condition having ignored instructions and was so unfit he couldn’t do a pre season. He was the only player to do that and it was a very important season for his club.I would call that unforgivable never mind unprofessional.

20-04-2021, 01:33 PM
Incidentally we've held up St Johnstone as a club recently who have over-achieved for a number of years, winning both a League Cup and Scottish Cup on a much smaller budget than ours. So much of that I think comes down to a settled dressing room of professionals who have been there for some time from manager to subs bench - Craig, Wotherspoon, Booth, Clark, Tanser, Kerr, Kane, Gordon, Davidson etc.

They've got a settled, happy dressing room who work with each other extremely well and as such play above the sum of their parts. Football is a sport where you have to trust your team mates with every inch of your fibre to work as part of a unit as one lapse of concentration can concede a goal or lose a game.

It applies to any potential Hibs signing that they need to fit into the dressing room otherwise it can unbalance things - Kamberi looked poor for large spells with us and the team looked lacklustre up front until he buggered off to Rangers, but the best teams we've had in recent years have had a close bond - the cup winning team in particular were very tight knit.

I'd love Leigh to come back and spearhead us to further success but if Jack Ross looks into it and decides that he'd be better with someone different coming in as much as I'd be disappointed I'd have to trust him on that. Hopefully Leigh will be available, prove to be a good fit and can win a lot of games with us in the future.

mal
20-04-2021, 01:35 PM
He also repeatedly gave GIRUY and middle finger gestures to both home and away fans when first with us getting himself suspensions in the process, the Rudi Skacel song thing, gambling issues and the like. Granted some of that was many years ago, but seeing as how he's not exactly been flavour of the month with certain figures at Celtic this season, taking extreme caution with him given that he'd be an expensive player to sign is completely understandable.

He's talismanic, but that makes it even more important we make sure that he's going to be a good fit with this dressing room. If he is going to come in and not disrupt the balance and bond in the dressing room then it's a no brainer, but there's enough to really put a huge amount of work into the scouting and preperation of this before we make a move.

Would he though? A free transfer, at a time when we've actually been shelling out fees for players. Granted, you'd expect him to be at the top end of what we'd be prepared to pay in wages but he'd certainly help shift some season tickets to compensate for that.

20-04-2021, 01:37 PM
That’s a bit of an understatement.He came back totally out of condition having ignored instructions and was so unfit he couldn’t do a pre season. He was the only player to do that and it was a very important season for his club.I would call that unforgivable never mind unprofessional.

Unforgivable?

He was 2.5kg over the weight he ended the previous season. If thats unforgivable to you then fair enough. I can only imagine what you thought about Boyle when he got caught drink driving or any of the actual serious incidents footballers have been involved in.

20-04-2021, 01:44 PM
Would he though? A free transfer, at a time when we've actually been shelling out fees for players. Granted, you'd expect him to be at the top end of what we'd be prepared to pay in wages but he'd certainly help shift some season tickets to compensate for that.

I don’t really think he would sell that many season tickets though, certainly not enough to cover his wage. Given that the reason many people won’t be renewing is financial rather than dissatisfaction over what’s on the pitch, O can’t see that happening at all.

20-04-2021, 01:56 PM
I don’t really think he would sell that many season tickets though, certainly not enough to cover his wage. Given that the reason many people won’t be renewing is financial rather than dissatisfaction over what’s on the pitch, O can’t see that happening at all.

I tend to agree. The biggest factors this time round are going to be affordability and whether we are going to be able to physically attend games or not. Strange times still.

20-04-2021, 02:09 PM
I tend to agree. The biggest factors this time round are going to be affordability and whether we are going to be able to physically attend games or not. Strange times still.

They’ll probably be the biggest factors but I wouldn’t write off the good that an exciting signing could do.

A lot of Hibs fans have found us pretty boring to watch this season. Seeing us sign a player like Griffiths would be a huge steer in the direction a lot of fans would like to see us go with regards to style of play.

20-04-2021, 02:31 PM
They’ll probably be the biggest factors but I wouldn’t write off the good that an exciting signing could do.

A lot of Hibs fans have found us pretty boring to watch this season. Seeing us sign a player like Griffiths would be a huge steer in the direction a lot of fans would like to see us go with regards to style of play.

I wouldn't have said a few people on here amounted to 'a lot'.

How would you see a player like Griffiths transforming our style of play?

20-04-2021, 02:41 PM
This is a similar situation to the one we found ourselves in with Deek in 2008 except it was pretty much unanimous that him returning would be a huge positive in terms of our performance on the field and season ticket sales.

Sadly, neither were proved to be the case.

Hibs average attendance in 08/09 at 12684 was actually over 1000 less than the previous non-Deek year and it dropped by another 500 the following season.

In terms of performance, we finished 6th in 07/08 and 08/09 improving to 4th in 09/10.

For Riordan's first game back, the "bath of beans game", 12445 people turned up to see us beat Falkirk 3-2 (Nish 2 and Hanlon).

The only time I remember attendances being affected by a player signing was in 1979 when George Best arrived and more than 5 times our usual 4000 came along to see him. 22500 iirc.

By the March, we were back down to about 5000 despite Best.

In my opinion, Hibs could sign Harry Kane and ST sales wouldn't significantly increase. But, on that point, we definitely will never know!

20-04-2021, 02:55 PM
For Riordan's first game back, the "bath of beans game", 12445 people turned up to see us beat Falkirk 3-2 (Nish 2 and Hanlon).

Pretty sure that's wrong. First game was v Dundee United was it not? Sure it was a bigger crowd too.

20-04-2021, 02:59 PM
Pretty sure that's wrong. First game was v Dundee United was it not? Sure it was a bigger crowd too.

Have I mixed up the seasons?

First league game in 08/09 was Falkirk.

20-04-2021, 03:05 PM
Have I mixed up the seasons?

First league game in 08/09 was Falkirk.

Riordan signed last day of the window.

20-04-2021, 03:17 PM

Was his first game back not against Hamilton away, where he came on and scored after about a minute of coming on?

20-04-2021, 03:21 PM
Was his first game back not against Hamilton away, where he came on and scored after about a minute of coming on?

That’s how I remembered it. And the goal was an absolute cracker.

20-04-2021, 03:33 PM

That’s also what I thought but Wikipedia suggest he came on for Joe Keenan at home to DU then came on and scored against Hamilton the game after.

Hibiza
20-04-2021, 03:36 PM
Come home Leigh.

Magpie
20-04-2021, 03:42 PM
Bring him home.

20-04-2021, 03:48 PM
Ah of course, that explains it. Thanks.

The first home game other than Rangers or Hearts was a 1-2 loss to ICT (Deek again). Attendance was 11688.

A cursory trawl through the stats shows that other than OF and Hearts games, after Deek signed, we only got over 12000 on one occasion, and that was during the long Christmas break.

20-04-2021, 04:00 PM
He also repeatedly gave GIRUY and middle finger gestures to both home and away fans when first with us getting himself suspensions in the process, the Rudi Skacel song thing, gambling issues, reports of a training ground bust-up with Billy Brown (although who wouldn't want to give that Jambo prick a piece of their mind) and the like. Granted some of that was many years ago, but seeing as how he's not exactly been flavour of the month with certain figures at Celtic this season, taking extreme caution with him given that he'd be an expensive player to sign is completely understandable.

To be honest, my fears and reservations about Griffiths are not based on the effect he might have on the team/club, if he were to sign, but more about the backlash, from disappointed fans, there might be if, after due diligence and weighing up the pros and and cons, the club decided not to pursue the matter or lose out on a deal for financial reasons.

20-04-2021, 04:22 PM
To be honest, my fears and reservations about Griffiths are not based on the effect he might have on the team/club, if he were to sign, but more about the backlash, from disappointed fans, there might be if, after due diligence and weighing up the pros and and cons, the club decided not to pursue the matter or lose out on a deal for financial reasons.

Any backlash would only be on this forum and on Twitter etc. It would last until we won a game.

There would be nothing to be concerned about.

20-04-2021, 04:33 PM

Hibs recruitment team and management will have access to all the background goings on in relation to Leigh at Celtic that us fans can only guess about so if they decide not to bring him in we need to accept it will be for good reason based on all available evidence
I can't see us losing out for financial reasons because I don't think Leigh will have other options if he wants to commute to training from home each day.
As I said on a previous post make him top earner at the club by a tenner on a years contract with a further year option. Done that way there is little risk of it turning sour for the club. Hearts and Aberdeen could compete with that wage but for a variety of reasons they are unlikely options with Hibs most likely to get a tune out of him.
What alternate clubs do you think Leigh could realistically go to if Celtic don't take up their option?

20-04-2021, 04:58 PM
I think this is a bit of a myth. I don't know of a signing that has ever on its own shifted season tickets. Good results, good football, yes, and a good signing is part of that but I think there will be a limited few who go running out to buy a ticket on the back of a particular signing.

Most tickets are sold a long way before the business end of transfer windows anyway.

If you're only talking about Hibs then possibly but there's countless examples of marquee signings increasing ST sales all over the football world. In our case both the signing of George Best and the return of Joe Baker would have triggered major increases in ST sales in today's world.

20-04-2021, 05:02 PM
Hibs recruitment team and management will have access to all the background goings on in relation to Leigh at Celtic that us fans can only guess about so if they decide not to bring him in we need to accept it will be for good reason based on all available evidence
I can't see us losing out for financial reasons because I don't think Leigh will have other options if he wants to commute to training from home each day.
As I said on a previous post make him top earner at the club by a tenner on a years contract with a further year option. Done that way there is little risk of it turning sour for the club. Hearts and Aberdeen could compete with that wage but for a variety of reasons they are unlikely options with Hibs most likely to get a tune out of him.
What alternate clubs do you think Leigh could realistically go to if Celtic don't take up their option?

Why would Griffiths agree to a 1 year contract?

20-04-2021, 05:05 PM
If you're only talking about Hibs then possibly but there's countless examples of marquee signings increasing ST sales all over the football world. In our case both the signing of George Best and the return of Joe Baker would have triggered major increases in ST sales in today's world.

I’d be interested to hear some of these countless examples, preferably backed up with evidence that a positive increase in season tickets was solely attributable to their signing.

Rumble de Thump
20-04-2021, 05:11 PM
I’d be interested to hear some of these countless examples, preferably backed up with evidence that a positive increase in season tickets was solely attributable to their signing.

Why would it need to be soley attributable? People pay to watch football matches for all sorts of reasons. Watching talented players score goals and help their teams to win would surely be among them.

20-04-2021, 05:18 PM
Why would it need to be soley attributable? People pay to watch football matches for all sorts of reasons. Watching talented players score goals and help their teams to win would surely be among them.

Of course and I agree which is why it’s nearly always impossible to say that a teams increase in season ticket sales is due to them signing a specific player. Correlation does not imply causation.

20-04-2021, 05:21 PM

I posted information about Best's season at Hibs and the attendance numbers aren't very impressive at all.

The only marquee signing that I can think of is Maradona who increased Napoli's average crowd by over 50%. I think that's right anyway.

If Hibs signed Ronaldo or Messi we might see a similar effect, but I can't think of anyone remotely affordable who would shift STs.

Certainly not Leigh Griffiths.

20-04-2021, 05:32 PM
I posted information about Best's season at Hibs and the attendance numbers aren't very impressive at all.

The only marquee signing that I can think of is Maradona who increased Napoli's average crowd by over 50%. I think that's right anyway.

If Hibs signed Ronaldo or Messi we might see a similar effect, but I can't think of anyone remotely affordable who would shift STs.

Derek Riordan’s return bumped attendances, no?

20-04-2021, 06:23 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;6532727]I posted information about Best's season at Hibs and the attendance numbers aren't very impressive at all.

The crowd for George's ER debut (vs Partick) was nearly 4 times the crowd for our prior home league game. Our next 2 home games were against the uglies so hard to make comparisons but our next home game, vs Morton when George was 'unavailable' saw the crowd back to 5k. The next week about 17k turned up to see George against Ayr in the Cup but George was lying pi**ed in the NB. After that we hardly won a game, were relegated and we never knew when George would play so understandably crowds were very poor.
Joe Baker's return against Aberdeen was even more remarkable with over 23k turning up for that game compared to 7k in our prior game. That was a bigger crowd than our home games against our lesser neighbours and The Rangers that season. I have absolutely no doubt that in today's environment Joe's signing would have resulted in a significant increase in ST sales.
We've also been spoiled by our crowds, & the season ticket culture, in recent years. At the peak of The Tornadoes wondrous 72/73 season & 1 week after we won our 1st cup in 70 years, just over 12k turned up for our next home game vs Ayr. We sell that amount of ST's now.

20-04-2021, 06:23 PM
Derek Riordan’s return bumped attendances, no?

Nope.

20-04-2021, 06:38 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;6532727]I posted information about Best's season at Hibs and the attendance numbers aren't very impressive at all.

Off the top of my head the obvious one is Figo to Real M. IIRC he was the 1st of the Galacticos & he was specifically signed because Real had only sold out 1 game in the prior season. After Figo's signing they had to introduce a wait list. More recently & much more prosaically I remember Villa saying they expected to sell 5k more season tickets after signing John Terry!!

20-04-2021, 06:38 PM

20-04-2021, 07:02 PM
That was his first goal of his second spell, first start, his second game and it was an absolute peach. He made his second debut the week before at ER, came off the bench and played Fletcher through for a late-ish winner

20-04-2021, 11:13 PM
Nope.

Leigh Griffiths probably won’t bump attendance figures but it may just tempt a few more to renew STs in a year I expect a fall back, Hibs won’t be alone. Anything that helps keeping the habit of going to games must be a good thing, not just for next season but going forward. I think signing LG may just help a bit with that. 🇳🇬

My old man
21-04-2021, 07:36 AM
What’s the opinions on here ?
1:Do you want Leigh back
2:Will he come back
3:Will selik take up the option
4:Will aederdeen do it again
5:Would he make a difference to our current squad would he help season ticket sales

Me personally

1:Hell yeah
2:I actually am 70-30 in favour of he will
3:No
4:Nope (plus Leigh wouldn’t) (I hope)
5:I’m drooling thinking of Scotty playing 1 on his near impossible balls through to Leigh to smash home
I also think in a massive season of uncertainty I believe a lot of fans would renew because of his signing

GG2TH

21-04-2021, 08:22 AM
5:Would he make a difference to our current squad would he help season ticket sales

1. Yes but wouldn’t be broken hearted if not.
2. 60% chance to us 40% chance to Aberdeen
3. Probably not.
4. Despite throwing up a smokescreen of ‘not interested’, I think they will be in for him when the time comes.
5. If fit and motivated, very much yes.

21-04-2021, 08:33 AM

1 - Absolutely yes
2 - I think he will
3 - no
4 - they’ll try but I think he’ll come home
5 - he’d improve us a considerable amount from where we are now. I’d also fancy that whilst our ST may not shoot up off his signing, I would think there’ll be a good chance it’ll be the nudge to anybody who’s swithering to renew of which I’d suspect there’ll be a lot.

21-04-2021, 10:17 AM

Me personally

1:Hell yeah
2:I actually am 70-30 in favour of he will
3:No
4:Nope (plus Leigh wouldn’t) (I hope)
5:I’m drooling thinking of Scotty playing 1 on his near impossible balls through to Leigh to smash home
I also think in a massive season of uncertainty I believe a lot of fans would renew because of his signing

GG2TH

I'm a straight Mibbe for all it them! :greengrin

21-04-2021, 10:46 AM

GG2TH

1. Yes
2. Likely
3. No
4. I think distance and the fact we are the team he supports will mean they won't
5. He would improve the squad but I don't think it would shift many more STs. Perhaps a few that just need a little push

21-04-2021, 10:49 AM
1:I don't know, quite honestly
2:I don't think we'll go for him
3:Yes
4:I think they'd splash the cash on him as a statement to their fans
5:Not a huge difference to our squad (Doidge and Nisbet are both excellent strikers) and any difference to ST sales would be negligible - the reason people are considering not renewing is largely financial as opposed to dissatisfaction with what is on the pitch.

21-04-2021, 10:54 AM
Love Sparky to bits but I do not think he has looked at it this season

He will need to seriously raise his game if he comes to us 😃

21-04-2021, 11:25 AM

Total rubbish ,, See Brogs post above ,, Sparky signing for us would definitely increase our season ticket sales .

21-04-2021, 11:36 AM
Total rubbish ,, See Brogs post above ,, Sparky signing for us would definitely increase our season ticket sales .

But by how much? 500 extra would pay his wages for one season but nobody how many he would add. It would not be guaranteed for second season. The big question is how he would perform. I do think for lots of reasons that many have given here that would be a big risk.

21-04-2021, 11:41 AM
But by how much? 500 extra would pay his wages for one season. No guarantee it would be guaranteed for second season. The big question is how he would perform. I do think for lots of reasons that many have given here that would be a big risk.

It would be no bigger a risk than it was paying a fee for Nesbit who hadn't yet proved himself at Premiership level and I don't imagine bringing in Nisbet increased season ticket sales to the value of 1 year's wages.

snedzuk
21-04-2021, 11:45 AM

The crowd for George's ER debut (vs Partick) was nearly 4 times the crowd for our prior home league game. Our next 2 home games were against the uglies so hard to make comparisons but our next home game, vs Morton when George was 'unavailable' saw the crowd back to 5k. The next week about 17k turned up to see George against Ayr in the Cup but George was lying pi**ed in the NB. After that we hardly won a game, were relegated and we never knew when George would play so understandably crowds were very poor.
Joe Baker's return against Aberdeen was even more remarkable with over 23k turning up for that game compared to 7k in our prior game. That was a bigger crowd than our home games against our lesser neighbours and The Rangers that season. I have absolutely no doubt that in today's environment Joe's signing would have resulted in a significant increase in ST sales.
We've also been spoiled by our crowds, & the season ticket culture, in recent years. At the peak of The Tornadoes wondrous 72/73 season & 1 week after we won our 1st cup in 70 years, just over 12k turned up for our next home game vs Ayr. We sell that amount of ST's now.

Guard of honour and 8-1.

21-04-2021, 11:58 AM
It would be no bigger a risk than it was paying a fee for Nesbit who hadn't yet proved himself at Premiership level and I don't imagine bringing in Nisbet increased season ticket sales to the value of 1 year's wages.

The risk with Nisbet was standard and held higher chance of a big payoff (which we've already been offered). The risk with Leigh is more and the only payoff is whatever he done for us, no sell on.

mal
21-04-2021, 12:23 PM
If there are any signings that we could make that are entirely risk-free I would like to hear about them.

21-04-2021, 12:25 PM

Nisbet was/is on the way up, not so much for Leigh. Massive difference.

I'd be amazed if Leigh signing sold more than a few dozen season tickets, if that. The product on the field is not the main concern this time around.

21-04-2021, 12:28 PM
If there are any signings that we could make that are entirely risk-free I would like to hear about them.

You think the standard risk is the same as increased risk. Its not. Every signing has a risk. Higher paid ones higher risks. Griffiths higher still.

21-04-2021, 12:32 PM

me ! I’ll play for free and I don’t think there’s any question that all my performances would be consistently honking ! Hibs would know exactly what they would be getting, for no outlay at all ! :greengrin

21-04-2021, 12:35 PM
Nisbet was/is on the way up, not so much for Leigh. Massive difference.

I'd be amazed if Leigh signing sold more than a few dozen season tickets, if that. The product on the field is not the main concern this time around.

Agreed. I can’t imagine anyone thinking ‘oh, we’ve signed Leigh, I’ll go buy a ST now’ if they weren’t planning on getting one anyway.

I also don’t have the same concern as others that somehow ST sales will be down this year. I’d expect us to sell roughly the same or slightly more.

21-04-2021, 12:36 PM
me ! I’ll play for free and I don’t think there’s any question that all my performances would be consistently honking ! Hibs would know exactly what they would be getting, for no outlay at all ! :greengrin
Me anaw - maybe they would let us train against the admins so we could boot lumps oot of them :greengrin

21-04-2021, 12:39 PM

1. Yes
2. Probably
3. No
4. No
5. Yes and N/A

21-04-2021, 01:07 PM
That was his first goal of his second spell, first start, his second game and it was an absolute peach. He made his second debut the week before at ER, came off the bench and played Fletcher through for a late-ish winner

Riordan came off the bench that day at Hamilton. Scored almost right away. It was a peach indeed.

MagicSwirlingShip
21-04-2021, 01:18 PM

Would’ve thought Hibs signing Steve Archibald from Barcelona would have seen a big turnout at the gates. Unimaginable these days

21-04-2021, 01:28 PM
tbh, if you are watching a Hibs side finish 3rd, get into the european group stages and still needing Leigh Griffiths to convince you to get a season ticket, what the hell is wrong with you

21-04-2021, 01:57 PM
tbh, if you are watching a Hibs side finish 3rd, get into the european group stages and still needing Leigh Griffiths to convince you to get a season ticket, what the hell is wrong with you

Maybe waiting for us to win the Scottish to confirm our European group place 😉

21-04-2021, 04:32 PM

21-04-2021, 06:57 PM

It's not rubbish, but you're entitled to your opinion.

21-04-2021, 08:35 PM
Sparky has just about sealed 3rd for the Hibees

Bring him home

dalkeith stu
21-04-2021, 08:35 PM
Wasn't entirely convinced before but bring the laddie home NOW!!!!!

21-04-2021, 08:39 PM
Sparky has just about sealed 3rd for the Hibees

Bring him home

Wow, one chance one goal.
3rd place in one moment.

Great strikers goal.
Peeled of the back of Considine.

21-04-2021, 08:40 PM
Don't think Sparky would be too welcome in Aberdeen next season lol

21-04-2021, 08:42 PM
That’s him now down to a goal every 122 minutes on the pitch this season. The best in the country.

Next closest is Edouard with a goal every 141 minutes.

Bring him home.

21-04-2021, 08:42 PM
We don’t even need to sign him and he does the biz for us.

Tremendous.

21-04-2021, 08:51 PM
Leigh doing what he does best - scoring goals. But he's not right for us...

kentao
21-04-2021, 08:52 PM
Really hope we get him next season.

https://twitter.com/FantasticForre1/status/1384969456607285257?s=20

21-04-2021, 08:53 PM
Changed my mind. Bring him home now. Nothing less will do.

Juniper Greens
21-04-2021, 08:55 PM
That’s him now down to a goal every 122 minutes on the pitch this season. The best in the country.

Bring him home.

Kyle Lafferty must be close?

Edit, yep a goal every 85 mins...dont want him near Easter Road though!

21-04-2021, 08:58 PM

****ing hell so he is :greengrin

I wasn’t looking at a table, I was just checking the obvious suspects numbers.. safe to say Lafferty wasn’t one of my obvious suspects. What a record that is.

21-04-2021, 09:01 PM
Leigh doing what he does best - scoring goals. But he's not right for us...

It really is crazy that some aren’t sure.

Put the boy on a football pitch and scores goals. Tons of them.

Mr. Wonderful
21-04-2021, 09:03 PM

Edit, yep a goal every 85 mins...dont want him near Easter Road though!

Mostly against utter diddies though

21-04-2021, 09:06 PM
It really is crazy that some aren’t sure.

Put the boy on a football pitch and scores goals. Tons of them.

I’m already convinced he’ll be with us by the start of the new season!

21-04-2021, 09:11 PM
I’m already convinced he’ll be with us by the start of the new season!

I think they will keep him. Don’t think they will be willing just to give a player away that is still scoring goals for them regularly.

Stanton Spence
21-04-2021, 09:15 PM
I think they will keep him. Don’t think they will be willing just to give a player away that is still scoring goals for them regularly.They won't exactly be giving him away though he will cost them a million quid for extending his deal

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Lee Marvin
21-04-2021, 09:16 PM
I think they will keep him. Don’t think they will be willing just to give a player away that is still scoring goals for them regularly.

They will only keep him if there is a new manager in place by next week who feels he is worth 20k and indicates that he wants him in the squad for next season. I'd suggest that is highly unlikely

He is coming home!!

21-04-2021, 09:17 PM
They won't exactly be giving him away though he will cost them a million quid for extending his deal

Not much to them for a goal scorer though.

21-04-2021, 09:18 PM

It’ll be on reduced wages if they do, his dedication to his profession has been questioned a couple of times if I recall correctly. Still be more than we pay though.

Stanton Spence
21-04-2021, 09:20 PM
Not much to them for a goal scorer though.I agree but there's going to be a few changes through there next season and a lot of players will be out the door when a new manager comes in

21-04-2021, 09:21 PM

21-04-2021, 09:22 PM
They will only keep him if there is a new manager in place by next week who feels he is worth 20k and indicates that he wants him in the squad for next season. I'd suggest that is highly unlikely.

Jack Ross is waiting for third place to be secured before he signs for Lawwell. Rocky too. 😉

Stanton Spence
21-04-2021, 09:24 PM
Jack Ross is waiting for third place to be secured before he signs for Lawwell. Rocky too. [emoji6]I knew it!!!! [emoji23]

hhibs
21-04-2021, 09:37 PM
I believe we would see a bump in our season ticket sales ,perhaps more importantly retention of existing holders, we would also have a serious increase in walk ups ,for at least a few games ,catering and merchandising sales so that value has to be added too.

Two year contract with 1 year option ?

Magpie
21-04-2021, 09:41 PM

Bring him home.