View Full Version : Scottish Election 2021
Pages :
[
7]
07-05-2021, 01:25 PM
Labour and Lib Dems did not support Brexit. They accept the result, that's an important distinction.
Labour voted for Brexit. We need to remember that.
07-05-2021, 01:26 PM
Labour voted for Brexit. We need to remember that.
They did not support Brexit.
Probably a debate for another day though.
07-05-2021, 01:26 PM
Yep especially when she said the Lib dem candidate had 20k votes then corrected herself. :greengrin
i'm sure it brought much excitement to the Lib Dem
for a split second :)
Bangkok Hibby
07-05-2021, 01:27 PM
Perthshire North ( my former Director as returning officer)
SNP 19860
Labour 2324
Tory 15807
Libdem 1182
Family 334
70% turnout
Swing % to SNP
1 of my votes counted :wink:
Appreciate the updates from over here. Thank you 🙏🏻
07-05-2021, 01:28 PM
Perthshire North ( my former Director as returning officer)
SNP 19860
Labour 2324
Tory 15807
Libdem 1182
Family 334
70% turnout
Swing 1% to SNP
49.5% of the votes to John Swinney
1 of my votes counted :wink:
Murdo Fraser loses again!!!
07-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Solid speech from Swinney and that result means there is still hope for a majority for SNP imo.
07-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Murdo Fraser loses again!!!
The wee scrote will get in on the list, unfortunately.
07-05-2021, 01:30 PM
Murdo Fraser loses another election. He must be up there with those at the other side of town.
07-05-2021, 01:30 PM
Can't ever imagine voting Tory if I claim to always have been a labour voter or vice versa
we're now at the stage of Labour councillors more than happy to go into coalitions with Tories in council elections, it's sickening and just plain mind-numbingly WRONG
07-05-2021, 01:31 PM
The Scottish Parliament voting system is setup to make it almost impossible to get a majority.
The SNP not getting a majority is not a failure. There will be a clear majority of Independence supporting MSPs elected to the Scottish Parliament as the Green will get around 10 seats.
Appreciate the updates from over here. Thank you 🙏🏻
Your welcome, it was either this or freezing my bollocks off in the garden weeding.:greengrin
Murdo Fraser loses another election. He must be up there with those at the other side of town.
is that a world record 8 now ?
07-05-2021, 01:34 PM
is that a world record 8 now ?
I think he's looking to get to ten in a row.
Can't ever imagine voting Tory if I claim to always have been a labour voter or vice versa
If you voted Tory then you are a Tory. Stop the bull**** about being Labour really but wanted to stop the SNP. Tories vote for the tories. It's as simple as that
xyz23jc
:thumbsup::flag::greengrin
Green Man
07-05-2021, 01:35 PM
The Scottish Parliament voting system is setup to make it almost impossible to get a majority.
The SNP not getting a majority is not a failure. There will be a clear majority of Independence supporting MSPs elected to the Scottish Parliament as the Green will get around 10 seats.
This is spot on, and any serious political commentator or journalist should be well aware of it. But the unionist press will cling onto anything they can to try and paint a picture of SNP failure.
xyz23jc
07-05-2021, 01:37 PM
SNP Joe Fitzpatrick holds Dundee City West. Up 4%.
07-05-2021, 01:37 PM
Dundee west
SNP 19818
Labour 6899
Tory 3327
Libdem 1269
TUSC 432
Restore Scotland 410
57% turnout
Swing 4.2% to SNP
FOOTNOTE SNP now have 50.5% of all votes cast :greengrin
07-05-2021, 01:39 PM
off with the Bonnets of Bonnie Dundee
07-05-2021, 01:41 PM
Dundee west
SNP 19818
Labour 6899
Tory 3327
Libdem 1269
TUSC 432
Restore Scotland 410
57% turnout
Swing 4.2% to SNP
FOOTNOTE SNP now have 50.5% of all votes cast :greengrin
TUSC (Trade Union and Socialist Coalition) is a Trotskyist group. 432 unreconstructed commies in Dundee West :greengrin
07-05-2021, 01:42 PM
TUSC (Trade Union and Socialist Coalition) is a Trotskyist group. 432 unreconstructed commies in Dundee West :greengrin
There has always been a wee red corner in Dundee (I'm fairly certain they had a communist MP in the past)
07-05-2021, 01:44 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/182900714_10160899748523294_6674335612584946111_n. jpg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=qknQzwzSYq0AX_CMSnY&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=71f7d1ad52d5a59110759435ee199b29&oe=60BCB137
let's hope there's not even a 9th
07-05-2021, 01:58 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/182900714_10160899748523294_6674335612584946111_n. jpg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=qknQzwzSYq0AX_CMSnY&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=71f7d1ad52d5a59110759435ee199b29&oe=60BCB137
let's hope there's not even a 9thThat's brilliant!
He still has far too much to say for himself though.
Mr Grieves
07-05-2021, 01:58 PM
Journos on twitter reckon SNP confident about winning Edinburgh Central from the tories.
While Tories in with a chance of winning Banff from the SNP
Mr Grieves
07-05-2021, 02:01 PM
Woohoo, Banff stays SNP
Conversely the Tories, Labour and Libdems all support Brexit, an isolated UK, No return to the EU,:wink:
All the oe thing really and Brexit is done.
07-05-2021, 02:02 PM
Woohoo, Banff stays SNP
That’s a really important hold. SNP were worried about that. Leave voting seat.
07-05-2021, 02:03 PM
Banff and Buchan
SNP 14920
Labour 2169
Tory 14148
Freedom alliance 347
Restore Scotland 331
Libdem 1017
56% turnout
Swing 10.3% to tory
Phew, close!!
07-05-2021, 02:03 PM
Banff close but stays SNP. Just what the **** are these fisherfolk thinking about
07-05-2021, 02:07 PM
Banff close but stays SNP. Just what the **** are these fisherfolk thinking about
I thought there would be a big drop of support for the tories in that seat....god knows what they are voting for.
07-05-2021, 02:18 PM
Kilmarnock & Irvine
SNP 21418
Labour 9737
Tory 8295
Lib Dem 919
Libertarian 253
61% Turnout
07-05-2021, 02:21 PM
Have the SNP won every constituency so far?
When will we find out how the Communist party have done?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
07-05-2021, 02:21 PM
Have the SNP won every constituency so far?
Lib Dem’s won Orkney.
07-05-2021, 02:22 PM
Lib Dem’s won Orkney.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAh, course!
CloudSquall
07-05-2021, 02:23 PM
Not to be a Debbie Downer but the media and UK government are going to have a field day with these very significant swings away from the SNP we are seeing across many constituencies.
If the SNP don't win an outright majority they won't give two ****s about an indy majority between the SNP and Greens, the swing from SNP to Tory/Labour will be all the proof they need of Scotland having "no appetite" for independence.
07-05-2021, 02:25 PM
Glasgow Anniesland
SNP 17501
Labour 10913
Tory 3688
LibDem 1063
58% turnout
52.8% for the SNP
07-05-2021, 02:27 PM
SNP hold Glasgow Anniesland.
07-05-2021, 02:35 PM
Not to be a Debbie Downer but the media and UK government are going to have a field day with these very significant swings away from the SNP we are seeing across many constituencies.
If the SNP don't win an outright majority they won't give two ****s about an indy majority between the SNP and Greens, the swing from SNP to Tory/Labour will be all the proof they need of Scotland having "no appetite" for independence.
Or at least no significant majority in favour.
07-05-2021, 02:37 PM
Donside list vote
just 2% for the Salmond party
poor wee Eck :)
07-05-2021, 02:39 PM
It's great eh?
In a system designed to avoid a majority - winning by a massive margin (but not an overall 1 party majority) simply proves the population doenst want what you are offering
I've said it before, but only in Scotland [emoji106]
07-05-2021, 02:41 PM
Falkirk East
SNP 18417
Labour 10832
Tory 7618
LibDem 1007
IND 971
63% turnout
07-05-2021, 02:46 PM
Kilmarnock SNP hold
21,418 SNP
9,737 Lab
8,295 Nasties
919 Lib dem
07-05-2021, 02:47 PM
SNP hold Glasgow Anniesland and Falkirk East
07-05-2021, 02:48 PM
Kinda deceiving they way they report the swings, the majority of them seem between the Tories, labour and Lib Dems but to hear them go on about it people are leaving the SNP in droves for the other parties
Steven79
07-05-2021, 02:50 PM
Kinda deceiving they way they report the swings, the majority of them seem between the Tories, labour and Lib Dems but to hear them go on about it people are leaving the SNP in droves for the other partiesIt suits their agenda...
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Mr Grieves
07-05-2021, 02:53 PM
SNP hold Angus and North mearns
East Lothian
SNP GAIN FROM LABOUR
SNP 17968
Labour 16789
Tory 9470
LibDem 1556
turnout 69.1%
SNP gain East Lothian from Labour.
07-05-2021, 02:54 PM
East Lothian
SNP GAIN FROM LABOUR
SNP 17968
Labour 16789
Tory 9470
LibDem 1556
turnout 69.1%
Wow, that’s huge.[emoji123]
Mr Grieves
SNP win East Lothian!
Party at Pease Bay.
07-05-2021, 02:55 PM
SNP hold Angus and North mearns
SNP 17144
Labour 2686
Tory 13635
LibDem 1804
64% TURNOUT
07-05-2021, 02:56 PM
East Lothian SNP Gain
07-05-2021, 02:57 PM
Big boost for Indi winning East Lothian.
07-05-2021, 02:58 PM
East Lothian
SNP GAIN FROM LABOUR
SNP 17968
Labour 16789
Tory 9470
LibDem 1556
turnout 69.1%
Yaaassssss
All our hard work pays off.
07-05-2021, 02:58 PM
East Lothian gain likely to be cancelled out by losing a list seat in South Scotland.
07-05-2021, 02:59 PM
East Lothian Labour since 1999
07-05-2021, 03:01 PM
East Lothian gain likely to be cancelled out by losing a list seat in South Scotland.
Might be one for the Aliba party :wink:
07-05-2021, 03:02 PM
SNP gain East Lothian from Labour.
R7 obviously going above and beyond the call of duty. Great result.
Yaaassssss
All our hard work pays off.
Was thinking of you when I saw the result. Congratulations.
Might be one for the Aliba party :wink:
Could end up being a net gain across south constituencies and list if Ayr also goes from Tory to SNP.
07-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Was thinking of you when I saw the result. Congratulations.
Thanks. Absolutely bouncing. Get in.
07-05-2021, 03:06 PM
A constituency gain is fantastic!!
07-05-2021, 03:10 PM
Coat Bridge
SNP 20577
Labour 1140
Tory 3028
LibDem 622
Family 411
Caithness
SNP 15889
Labour ???
Tory 5170
LibDem 13298
Freedom alliance 289
HiBremian
07-05-2021, 03:12 PM
Kinda deceiving they way they report the swings, the majority of them seem between the Tories, labour and Lib Dems but to hear them go on about it people are leaving the SNP in droves for the other parties
It's an old story. National broadcasters need nationwide stories and trends. Bad enough that Scotland is so obviously another country politically, but when regions and districts do such different things they're ****ed. Viva localism.
07-05-2021, 03:13 PM
I'll be away for the next 20 minutes, I'm sure someone else will keep them coming
BUT before I go
Glasgow Southside
SNP 19735
Labour 10279
Tory 1790
LibDem 504
Independent Energy Advisor 147
Independent Fascist Jayda 46 ha ha
Freedom Alliance 204
Liberal Party Fascist 102
Turnout 59%
07-05-2021, 03:13 PM
Glasgow Southside
oor Nic wins
07-05-2021, 03:15 PM
East Lothian
SNP GAIN FROM LABOUR
SNP 17968
Labour 16789
Tory 9470
LibDem 1556
turnout 69.1%
Delighted for my home constituency East Lothian 😎
07-05-2021, 03:16 PM
SNP- 13
LD - 2
oor nic getting stuck into that Fascist again :greengrin
07-05-2021, 03:19 PM
Rebecca Curran on BBC is a truly awful presenter. Just described Sturgeon winning with 60% of the vote as "holding on".
07-05-2021, 03:20 PM
Rebecca Curran on BBC is a truly awful presenter. Just described Sturgeon winning with 60% of the vote as "holding on".
She is terrible.
07-05-2021, 03:20 PM
Aye she is horrendous. Sits there with that stupid fixed smile and babbles nonsense.
07-05-2021, 03:21 PM
SNP- 13
LD - 2
oor nic getting stuck into that Fascist again :greengrin
Love it.
07-05-2021, 03:22 PM
Noticeable change in mood from the BBC Scotland team when the East Lothian result came in.
CloudSquall
07-05-2021, 03:22 PM
Swings are all over the place, Lib Dems held Shetland but there was a 19 point swing to the SNP.
07-05-2021, 03:23 PM
Lib Dems hold on to Shetland by just over 800 votes, big swing to SNP
07-05-2021, 03:27 PM
Falkirk East
SNP 18417
Labour 10832
Tory 7618
LibDem 1007
IND 971
63% turnout
3% swing away from the SNP and no overall majority for the SNP in my constituency is about as good as I could have hoped for. :thumbsup:
07-05-2021, 03:28 PM
SNP hold Airdrie and Shotts
wee willie winkie wins again in Fife easily
I get what people see in certain politicians not of my persuasion and why they vote for them, but I have zero clue what people see in Willie Rennie
This swing thing is pish. Sarwar gained 8% and the Tories were down 7% but apparently its a swing from SNP to Labour??
I get what people see in certain politicians not of my persuasion and why they vote for them, but I have zero clue what people see in Willie Rennie
Seriously he is absolutely awful
07-05-2021, 03:29 PM
Wee Willie Rennie holds his seat. I was on the edge of my seat as Willie stood next to the Depute Returning Officer clutching his acceptance speech. Wonder who’s won, I thought 😂
07-05-2021, 03:31 PM
Seriously he is absolutely awful
I can only think he is a decent local politician cos he is truly awful on the big stage of Holyrood and in debates
07-05-2021, 03:32 PM
I like his tartan ties
07-05-2021, 03:33 PM
19-SNP
3- the protest party
07-05-2021, 03:37 PM
Go on Clackmannanshire!
07-05-2021, 03:41 PM
He is a really nice 'uncle' figure :greengrin
07-05-2021, 03:43 PM
Linlithgow constituency
Fiona Hyslop 22,693
Lab Dude 12,588
Nasty party guy 9,472
i'm sure i'll get her thank you e-mail later
SNP-20
LD-3
Bangkok Hibby
07-05-2021, 03:44 PM
Linlithgow constituency
Fiona Hyslop 22,693
Lab Dude 12,588
Nasty party guy 9,472
Haha 👍🏻
07-05-2021, 03:44 PM
The SNP's George Adam has held Paisley, with an increased majority of 6,075.
Labour came in second place.
The SNP's Bob Doris has held Glasgow Maryhill with an increased majority of 7,924.
Labour came second.
The SNP's Neil Gray has won the Airdrie and Shotts seat.
That will be a relief to Mr Gray who quit as the area's MP in order to contest the seat.
Mr Gray got 50.6% of the vote
07-05-2021, 03:45 PM
East Lothian not being in the Lothian Regional vote is a bit of a blow. Win one lose one.
07-05-2021, 03:45 PM
I get what people see in certain politicians not of my persuasion and why they vote for them, but I have zero clue what people see in Willie RennieBut at least we now know that his election apparently means the Scottish people have spoken and that means no referendum.
Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk
07-05-2021, 03:46 PM
Dunblane SNP Hold
07-05-2021, 03:48 PM
But at least we now know that his election apparently means the Scottish people have spoken and that means no referendum.
Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk That was a bizarre bit of Rennie's speech. The Scottish people have spoken but we haven't got to the stage of hearing what they said. Everything at the moment suggests a pro Indi Parliament so he is talking mince.
07-05-2021, 03:48 PM
This swing thing is pish. Sarwar gained 8% and the Tories were down 7% but apparently its a swing from SNP to Labour??It'll be something that is aggregated and used as an argument against the SNP by the unionists.
07-05-2021, 03:49 PM
wee willie thinks the whole of Scotland revolves around him
07-05-2021, 03:50 PM
If you voted Tory then you are a Tory. Stop the bull**** about being Labour really but wanted to stop the SNP. Tories vote for the tories. It's as simple as that
07-05-2021, 03:53 PM
LD Hold but that was a huge swing to the SNP in Shetland -19%
don't expect the Beeb to talk about that one though
07-05-2021, 03:54 PM
The almost 10% additional votes for Labour in Clydebank and Milngavie diddn't come just from Labour voters, there has to be a fair number of tories in there as a tactical vote to try and stop the SNP.
07-05-2021, 03:54 PM
Dunblane SNP Hold
Oi!! CLACKMANNANSHIRE and Dunblane
07-05-2021, 03:56 PM
Strathkelvin & Bearsden
SNP-21,064
Nasty party 9,580 Nasty voters
Lab 8,510
LD 6,675
It'll be something that is aggregated and used as an argument against the SNP by the unionists.
Of course it will, thats why I said it was pish
Listening to the BBC presenter is painful - completely out of her depth as the main presenter of such a programme.
07-05-2021, 03:57 PM
Oi!! CLACKMANNANSHIRE and Dunblane
don't shoot the messenger, just reporting what i read :greengrin
SNP-21
LD- 3
07-05-2021, 03:57 PM
Listening to the BBC presenter is painful - completely out of her depth as the main presenter of such a programme.
She is dreadful. Even worse when interviewing - very aggressive.
07-05-2021, 03:58 PM
This swing thing is pish. Sarwar gained 8% and the Tories were down 7% but apparently its a swing from SNP to Labour??
A great example in Lithgae
Fiona Hyslop has held Linlithgow for the SNP with an increased majority of 10,105.
Labour were second and the Conservatives third.
There was a swing of 1.4% from the SNP to Labour.
Turnout was up. The SNP's majority was down in terms of percentage, but up in terms of votes to 10,105.
What actually matters is who has the most votes.
07-05-2021, 03:59 PM
East Lothian not being in the Lothian Regional vote is a bit of a blow. Win one lose one.
Might have lost one anyway with a lower list vote, so it’s still a plus to have it won in the constituency.
07-05-2021, 04:00 PM
List votes for Clydebank
Alba- 1.5%
Lab - 23.4%
Nasty party- 17.5%
SNP- 40.02%
Greens- 8.65%
22- SNP
3- LD
07-05-2021, 04:03 PM
Strathkelvin and the Bears den
SNP 21604
Labour 8510
Tory 9580
Libdem 6675
Family 415
turnoot 72%
07-05-2021, 04:03 PM
SNP Hold Paisley...well done the buddies
SNP- 17,495
Lab- 11,420
Nasty party- 3,342 Jokers
Green 1,584
Lib Dem- 1,124
07-05-2021, 04:04 PM
Might have lost one anyway with a lower list vote, so it’s still a plus to have it won in the constituency.
I want my cake and to eat it. If it had been in the Lothians it would be in the bag and have no effect of the list vote. I agree far better to win the constituency though. At least the SNP 1-2 in the south will be well observed as list votes were always going to be up for grabs there
07-05-2021, 04:04 PM
'Steady drift' towards SNPhttps://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/96/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2020/4/8/0d2d84d0-c95e-4126-8c46-57f39a62be7b.jpg
Philip Sim
BBC Scotland political correspondent
(https://twitter.com/bbcphilipsim?lang=en-gb)Things are still all over the shop in this election, with big swings going in all sorts of directions.
However, overall, things are now steadily drifting in the direction of the SNP.
Where they have had a scare, in seats like Banffshire and Buchan Coast or in Caithess, Sutherland and Ross, they are winning.
Where they need to pick up seats from the opposition, in seats like East Lothian, they are winning.
The matter of a majority is ultimately going to come down to a handful of key marginal seats, and we are yet to have results from the bulk of them.
But as things stand, Nicola Sturgeon and her troops will be very happy with the direction of travel.
07-05-2021, 04:06 PM
Andy Wightman won’t be returning. Only about 200 votes.
CloudSquall
07-05-2021, 04:06 PM
Ironically people voting Alba to not waste their list vote have just done exactly that.
Green Man
07-05-2021, 04:10 PM
Edinburgh Central result expected in about half an hour. Looks like SNP have a very good chance of taking it.
07-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Andy Wightman won’t be returning. Only about 200 votes.
A pity in my view. He has done an amazing job with land reform but there is still so much more needed and without him I suspect the SNP will not bother too much
07-05-2021, 04:13 PM
Ironically people voting Alba to not waste their list vote have just done exactly that.
There was always a big chance of that and it annoys me when there was a perfectly good alternative in the Scottish Greens
07-05-2021, 04:13 PM
There was always a big chance of that and it annoys me when there was a perfectly good alternative in the Scottish Greens
You and me both. It was all about Eck!!
07-05-2021, 04:15 PM
Rutherglen
SNP 20249
Labour 15083
Tory 3063
Lib dem 1012
07-05-2021, 04:15 PM
The SNP's Evelyn Tweed has won the Stirling seat with a slightly increased majority of 6,895.
07-05-2021, 04:17 PM
You and me both. It was all about Eck!!
Absolutely, total vanity project supported by a load total ****ing nutters
07-05-2021, 04:18 PM
07-05-2021, 04:23 PM
Glasgow Pollock
The SNP's Humza Yousaf has held the Glasgow Pollok seat with an increased majority of 7,105 over Labour.
Green candidate less than 200 votes behind tory
07-05-2021, 04:25 PM
Maryhill & Springburn
SNP- 16,428
Lab- 8,504
the Nasties- 2,241
LD's- 688
07-05-2021, 04:29 PM
Whats happening in Ayr. Is it very close?
is that james kelly out on his erky now ?
Maryhill & Springburn
SNP- 16,428
Lab- 8,504
the Nasties- 2,241
LD's- 688
Maybe just me, but I find this 'nasties' tiresome. :rolleyes:
Not my party by any means but just give them their short name of tory.
07-05-2021, 04:30 PM
suggestions of a recount
Or their equally short name of ****
First recount as far as I can tell. Lastt ime round the majority was 750
don't read :thumbsup:
Mr Grieves
07-05-2021, 04:31 PM
https://twitter.com/nickeardleybbc/status/1390701336845504512?s=19
SNP think they've won Ayr - but treat with a bit caution because still some recounting going on
07-05-2021, 04:32 PM
SNP win Ayr by 170 votes.
Here it comes Ayr
SNP GAIN
Snp 18881
Labour 4766
tory 18711
Bangkok Hibby
Yes OK, but the Conservative party are a bunch of evil *******s.
Go on Ayr. That is a great gain. Helps tye list stuff a well
07-05-2021, 04:33 PM
SNP winning Ayr is huge.
Here it comes Ayr
SNP GAIN
Snp 18881
Labour 4766
tory 18711
Fantastic. **** the Tories.
Why does it feel like David gray just popped up with a 92nd minute winner at Somerset? [emoji23]
blaikie
Ayr - snp gain!
07-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Boom, Ayr gained
07-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Hamilton Larkhall and Stonehouse SNP hold https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t4c/1/16/1f642.png
SNP 16761
Tory 6332
Labour 12179
Libdem 1012
07-05-2021, 04:36 PM
Yes OK, but the Conservative party are a bunch of evil *******s.
they certainly are, and not too keen on those that want them to be
The SNP don't currently have any list MSPs in the Aye region so winning that constituent seat doesn't impact that at all.
Here it comes Ayr
SNP GAIN
Snp 18881
Labour 4766
tory 18711
Brilliant result. My wife's family from there. They're all in shock at that one!
07-05-2021, 04:37 PM
The SNP don't currently have any list MSPs in the Aye region so winning that constituent seat doesn't impact that at all.
They've got 3. Ayr and East Lothian are both in South Scotland.
Ayr we go
Ayr we go
Ayr we go
I was enjoying the various descriptions of their voters. If cabbageandribs1875 can use a different one for each result it'll keep me entertained. :greengrin
07-05-2021, 04:38 PM
Hamilton Larkhall and Stonehouse SNP hold https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t4c/1/16/1f642.png
SNP 16761
Tory 6332
Labour 12179
Libdem 1012
thank you, see it wasn't that horrible?
07-05-2021, 04:39 PM
thank you, see it wasn't thand horrible?
it was a quick copy and paste that time, maybe best not reading as i said :aok: i'll call them what i want, could be a helluva lot worse
07-05-2021, 04:40 PM
07-05-2021, 04:41 PM
Kelso pricks letting the side down.
07-05-2021, 04:41 PM
Etrick etc
BBC just said "Stonking majority for the Conservatives"
despite the reduced majority and swing to the SNP
07-05-2021, 04:43 PM
Etrick etc
BBC just said "Stonking majority for the Conservatives"
despite the reduced majority and swing to the SNP
Curran is having an utter shocker. Hamilton winning with 52% of vote is "stonking", but Sturgeon winning with 60% was "holding on".
07-05-2021, 04:44 PM
Right guys, that's me for tonight.
I'll be back tomorrow for the continuation of the constituency votes and then some othe lists. (have to finish about 5:45)
It's been fun, see ya tomorrow.
07-05-2021, 04:45 PM
STV coverage is much better if you can bear the ad breaks.
Bangkok Hibby
07-05-2021, 04:45 PM
Right guys, that's me for tonight.
I'll be back tomorrow for the continuation of the constituency votes and then some othe lists. (have to finish about 5:45)
It's been fun, see ya tomorrow.
Thanks
07-05-2021, 04:47 PM
Eastwood too close to call, the nasties will still win that one shirly ?
carcrash carlaw
07-05-2021, 04:49 PM
Cowdenbeath SNP Hold
Cowdenbeath SNP hold https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t6c/1/16/1f499.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t7f/1/16/1f3f4_e0067_e0062_e0073_e0063_e0074_e007f.png
SNP 16499
Labour 10486
Nasties 4758
Green 1344
Libdem 1088
#quick edit required
Green Man
07-05-2021, 04:51 PM
Edinburgh Western coming soon, ACH expected to hold.
07-05-2021, 04:52 PM
I’ve only been dipping in and out so missed a lot of stories - but they described a clash between Humza Yousaf and liberal supporters being about treatment of women and children in Pakistan, but then just showed Humza commenting on the disgusting nazi salutes and abuse he’s had thrown his way.
Was there anything in the “confrontation” and what was the relevance in bringing that up to Humza today?
07-05-2021, 04:54 PM
Is there a chance that the SNP could win a majority on the constituency vote alone?
07-05-2021, 04:55 PM
Argyle and Bute
SNP Hold
8,963 Maj
07-05-2021, 04:57 PM
Is there a chance that the SNP could win a majority on the constituency vote alone?
Possible. They'd need at least 6 constituency gains and hold all their seats.
07-05-2021, 05:01 PM
another 16 results to come today i think
07-05-2021, 05:02 PM
Possible. They'd need at least 6 constituency gains and hold all their seats.
2 down 4 to go :greengrin
07-05-2021, 05:03 PM
73 seats, I think, and 65 needed for majority. 4 gone the wrong way so far so would be a miracle to get a constituency majority and still very difficult to get an overall one. They can only afford to lose 3 out of the remaining seats to get a majority
07-05-2021, 05:05 PM
07-05-2021, 05:07 PM
73 seats, I think, and 65 needed for majority. 4 gone the wrong way so far so would be a miracle to get a constituency majority and still very difficult to get an overall one. They can only afford to lose 3 out of the remaining seats to get a majority
Only requires two more gains and no losses, and Edinburgh central apparently going SNP, so would only require one more. Taking Edinburgh Central and Dumbarton would do it.
07-05-2021, 05:08 PM
It's a shame how much of an echo chamber this thread is, though I don't mean any offence to my fellow SNP posters in saying that.
I can understand that party politics dictate that SNP could not talk about an indy majority but that is all that matters.
07-05-2021, 05:08 PM
Aye, SNP need to also make gains in regions they are already strong in. Edinburgh seats, Dumbarton and Eastwood massive for SNP.
07-05-2021, 05:09 PM
I think it’s too early to say what the chances are for an overall majority, +2 SNP and a number of holds seems a good start.
07-05-2021, 05:10 PM
Aye, SNP need to also make gains in regions they are already strong in. Edinburgh seats, Dumbarton and Eastwood massive for SNP.
Aye, and a similar swing in Dumfries as in Ettrick would see Joan Macalpine beat Oliver Mundell too. Fine margins.
It's a shame how much of an echo chamber this thread is, though I don't mean any offence to my fellow SNP posters in saying that.
I can understand that party politics dictate that SNP could not talk about an indy majority but that is all that matters.
Any Tory that wants to come on is more than welcome, many don't want to admit they are a selfish ******** though
I've no idea what that means
07-05-2021, 05:11 PM
No. 65 is required for a majority, there aren't enough Constituency seats. Only 57.
Ignore me. Its been a long day.
07-05-2021, 05:11 PM
2 down 4 to go :greengrin
Aye. Edinburgh Central, Dumfriesshire, Dumbarton and Eastwood all possible which wouls get them there if they hold all other seats.
07-05-2021, 05:12 PM
No. 65 is required for a majority, there aren't enough Constituency seats. Only 57.
:tsk tsk:
07-05-2021, 05:14 PM
Ignore me. Its been a long day.
Aye there is. 73 constituency seats. 65 needed for a majority.
I know what you mean but given that most indy supporters will be SNP then it's only natural. I hope that we get an overall indy majority in the parliament and that includes Greens. But the unionists will claim a victory if the SNP don't get a majority. Even though our electoral system is designed to stop one
What's the vote share so far?
Steven79
07-05-2021, 05:16 PM
What's the vote share so far?48% for the good guys.
07-05-2021, 05:18 PM
48% for the good guys.
Greens on 48? That's better than I thought we would do!
Steven79
07-05-2021, 05:19 PM
Greens on 48? That's better than I thought we would do![emoji16]
07-05-2021, 05:20 PM
c'mon hurry up with the next one :I'm waiti
Green Man
07-05-2021, 05:21 PM
ACH with a massive win in Edinburgh Western, over 25000 votes.
07-05-2021, 05:22 PM
I know there’s a lot of tactical voting going on in Edinburgh west, but I can’t for the life of me understand why any would vote for ACH. He’s an odious horrible little man.
07-05-2021, 05:25 PM
07-05-2021, 05:27 PM
I know there’s a lot of tactical voting going on in Edinburgh west, but I can’t for the life of me understand why any would vote for ACH. He’s an odious horrible little man.
Lib Dem’s benefit from the fact that both Tory and Labour voters can hold their nose and vote for them. The other two have more trouble attracting each other’s voters.
07-05-2021, 05:27 PM
Edinburgh Western:
LIB: 25,578
SNP: 15,693
nasty: 2,798
LAB: 2,515
Lib: +13%
SNP: -1%
Con: -8%
Lab: -4%
Mmm i see
at least well done to those labour voters that didn't vote for him, the ones that did...well
07-05-2021, 05:29 PM
Edinburgh Western:
Was there any swing there?
07-05-2021, 05:29 PM
Edinburgh Western:
Anti-SNP tactical voting?
07-05-2021, 05:30 PM
Lib Dem’s benefit from the fact that both Tory and Labour voters can hold their nose and vote for them. The other two have more trouble attracting each other’s voters.
I know and I understand why they do it, but surely they must look at the person they’re going to elect?
07-05-2021, 05:30 PM
Totally. This used to be a three way marginal with the three unionist parties. SNP were never at the races.
07-05-2021, 05:34 PM
Was there any swing there?
this was 2016
https://i.ibb.co/8Kmq4tZ/cole-hamilton.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
07-05-2021, 05:35 PM
yep :(
07-05-2021, 05:38 PM
STV showing that SNP's constituency vote is up 1% compared to the Labour and Conservative Party being down 0.1% and 1.0 % respectively.
07-05-2021, 05:39 PM
I've no idea what that means
1. This thread would be better if it wasn't just SNP posters.
2. Concerned SNP has allowed itself to fall in to a trap that it has to be an SNP majority for there to be another referendum. Obviously it doesn't.
When I posted it I wasn't sure i was expressing my thoughts well! Hopefully I've redeemed myself now! :-)
Edit: Apologies to MY for tarnishing him/her with SNP brush!
07-05-2021, 05:42 PM
Moray
SNP Hold
Greenock & Inverclyde
SNP Hold
nasties have picked up another one :(
07-05-2021, 05:43 PM
2. Concerned SNP has allowed itself to fall in to a trap that it has to be an SNP majority for there to be another referendum. Obviously it doesn't.
When I posted it I wasn't sure i was expressing my thoughts well! Hopefully I've redeemed myself now! :-)
🤣🤣🤣 Yer alright.
07-05-2021, 05:57 PM
Midlothian North & Musselburgh
SNP Hold
Edinburgh Central
SNP gain :thumbsup:
07-05-2021, 05:57 PM
Angus Robertson skooches Edinburgh Central
07-05-2021, 05:58 PM
Get in there Angus. SNP crush the tories in Edinburgh central.
SNP smash Edinburgh Central.
Great result . Gutted for Maddie Kirkman a great Labour candidate.
Edinburgh Central goes to SNP. We'll done Angus Robertson. Another great gain
07-05-2021, 05:59 PM
STV showing that SNP's constituency vote is up 1% compared to the Labour and Conservative Party being down 0.1% and 1.0 % respectively.
Was about to post that it's not STV before I realised you meant the TV channel. :greengrin
07-05-2021, 06:03 PM
SNP- +10%
Lab- -6%
the CONS -3%
07-05-2021, 06:05 PM
Henry McLeish just spoke a lot of sense on the BBC there
07-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Edinburgh Central gained from the Tories is massive, delighted.
07-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Jackie Baillie is incredibly posh.
07-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Maybe. What he didn't say though us rhatbthis federalism that he talks about needs to be agreed by England/Westminster. And it ain't ever going to happen
07-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Don't think she looked to confident of winning there.
07-05-2021, 06:10 PM
Nice to see he’s found a vocation after fixing Scottish football...
07-05-2021, 06:11 PM
Agreed. Don't know why but I also got that vibe.
Edinburgh Central gained from the Tories is massive, delighted.
Love seeing that mob hammered.
She's a good person.
07-05-2021, 06:12 PM
Inverness & Nairn
SNP Hold
orrible mundell jr holds Dumfries
I hope bonnie prince Bob enjoyed his small slice of fame.
CloudSquall
As a native of Edinburgh Western the Lib Dem win is no surprise, quintessential Mondeo driving egg chasing part time Tynecastle attending tossers.
Santa Cruz
No she didn't. Next to Sturgeon she is the most skilled politician in Holyrood imo. I'm only watching this for her result, she so deserves to hold on. No ego, a committed MSP, she doesn't deserve to lose her seat.
07-05-2021, 06:13 PM
She's a good person.
I'm sure she is, not questioning her at all. I was simply surprised she was so posh.
07-05-2021, 06:15 PM
No she didn't. Next to Sturgeon she is the most skilled politician in Holyrood imo. I'm only watching this for her result, she so deserves to hold on. No ego, a committed MSP, she doesn't deserve to lose her seat.
She is impressive. Why did she not stand for leader?
07-05-2021, 06:15 PM
oh i hope you're right Jim :greengrin
Jim Spence
@JimSpenceDundee
Basically with the results coming in we’ll be independent this time next yearhttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t97/1/16/1f57a.png
07-05-2021, 06:17 PM
As a native of Edinburgh Western the Lib Dem win is no surprise, quintessential Mondeo driving egg chasing part time Tynecastle attending tossers.
And me.
Cole-Hamilton and many of his predecessors are decent local reps in my experience. But there has also been tactical voting to help the large swing.
07-05-2021, 06:17 PM
I'm sure she is, not questioning her at all. I was simply surprised she was so posh.
Whit ye oan aboot? Am posh anaw! Ma telephone voice is pure Morningside.
07-05-2021, 06:18 PM
OOOhh .@SkyNews reporting Labour asking for a recount in Dumbarton. @jamesmatthewsky says reports suggests there are only around 25 votes in it!
This is an absolutely crucial seat. If @theSNP win it, the majority is on.
Santa Cruz
07-05-2021, 06:19 PM
She is impressive. Why did she not stand for leader?
She doesn't want it. Can only assume she's happy in her role as a constituent MSP.
07-05-2021, 06:20 PM
I don't think Baillie did herself any favours during the hearing on the Salmond investigation. She actually came across as a very bitter woman and I think she, Cole Hamilton and Fraser were very unprofessional with their tweeting, tv appearances etc
07-05-2021, 06:21 PM
Edinburgh Southern
Labour hold
Briggs emptied good
07-05-2021, 06:22 PM
Looking at the swing in Edinburgh South Tories all voted for Labour, it's like we live on opposite land at times
07-05-2021, 06:22 PM
Edinburgh Southern
Labour hold
Big move from Tories to Labour in that constituency
07-05-2021, 06:23 PM
I don't think Baillie did herself any favours during the hearing on the Salmond investigation. She actually came across as a very bitter woman and I think she, Cole Hamilton and Fraser were very unprofessional with their tweeting, tv appearances etc
she acted disgustingly, telling the media the first minister was guilty and must resign
before even hearing her evidence, absolutely shameful behaviour from her
07-05-2021, 06:23 PM
OOOhh .@SkyNews reporting Labour asking for a recount in Dumbarton. @jamesmatthewsky says reports suggests there are only around 25 votes in it!
This is an absolutely crucial seat. If @theSNP win it, the majority is on.
Dumbarton would be a game changer. I don’t think there has ever been a recount that changed a result either?
07-05-2021, 06:24 PM
Big move from Tories to Labour in that constituency
besties :agree:
07-05-2021, 06:25 PM
Dumbarton would be a game changer. I don’t think there has ever been a recount that changed a result either?
:pray:
besties :agree:
Nauseating
Looking at the swing in Edinburgh South Tories all voted for Labour, it's like we live on opposite land at times
The good thing is that tactical voting is never a long term strategy. I remember it was talked about a lot to get the Tories out in the 80/90’s but in the end what got them out was a proper campaign from Tony Blair. Tactical voting failed and it’s failing here. SNP are romping it.
07-05-2021, 06:30 PM
Apologies was having a dumb moment. I don't think the SNP have fallen into that trap. In fact I think a referendum is almost guaranteed given what we are seeing
07-05-2021, 06:33 PM
Aberdeen Central:
SNP: 14,217
CON: 7,623
LAB: 6,294
GRN: 2,087
LIB: 1,417
CloudSquall
07-05-2021, 06:34 PM
Saw on the BBC reporting that the Greens are only at 7% on the counted list votes so far, I hope that picks up or it's going to be a rather piss poor performance for them.
07-05-2021, 06:36 PM
Edinburgh Southern
Labour hold
Briggs emptied good
He'll end up in parliament through the list though?
Saw on the BBC reporting that the Greens are only at 7% on the counted list votes so far, I hope that picks up or it's going to be a rather piss poor performance for them.
I think the big cities is where their vote is strongest.
He'll end up in parliament through the list though?
Almost certainly.
CloudSquall
07-05-2021, 06:37 PM
I think the big cities is where their vote is strongest.
Ah that's true, should see an uptick then.
I'm from that side of the city as well. My Labour supporting parents spent years tactically voting LibDem trying to oust Lord James Douglas-Hamilton. I joined them in '87, but it took another 10 years before he was finally ousted .. by which time I'd moved to Perth and was voting SNP to try and oust the encumbent Tory, Sir Nicholas Fairbairn.
07-05-2021, 06:38 PM
Basically it’s large numbers of toff parents in Marchmont and the Grange who pretend not to be tories but are at heart. They show their true colours when they move their kids to Watsons or Heriots in primary 6.
Brilliant!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210507/29ea56b4396234eab5fd4f8a12fe8115.jpg
Almost certainly.
Thanks - glad we can agree on that:greengrin
07-05-2021, 06:40 PM
Imagine being a labour voter and lending your vote to elect Jackson Carlaw, ****bags