View Full Version : Match Updates Ross County 1 Hibs 2 (Boyle, Nisbet)

Pages : [1] 2 3

13-03-2021, 12:49 PM
https://i.ibb.co/bz54TNg/7074-E4-BA-E08-D-41-FC-BE8-D-39-D641-DDDA20.png (https://ibb.co/KFxtdVj)

13-03-2021, 12:51 PM
Return of the diamond?

Edit: could also be 3-5-2 I guess with Cadden and Doig as wing backs.

13-03-2021, 12:53 PM
No Murphy, maybe pitch deemed suitable for his type of play

Nisbet back on the bench, and good to see Macgennis back in the squad

13-03-2021, 12:53 PM
No Murphy? Maybe a knock?
Magennis back in. Always seems to he 1 in and 1 out with Hibs regarding injuries

13-03-2021, 12:54 PM
Hopefully just a 352 and not the way we set up, to start with, last week with Boyle shunted on to the left.

JammyDoidger
13-03-2021, 12:54 PM

Absolute waste of time rejecting money for nisbet to not play him. His value isn't going to increase sitting on his erchie.

Dmas
13-03-2021, 12:55 PM
Happy to see gogic back, I’m not sure Daz deserves to loose his place unless he’s got a knock though

13-03-2021, 12:56 PM
Not the line up I would have went with, personally wouldn't have started doidge or Irvine as both haven't exactly set the heather on fire recently but here's hoping they both have cracking games today

13-03-2021, 12:58 PM
Absolute waste of time rejecting money for nisbet to not play him. His value isn't going to increase sitting on his erchie.

He doesn’t look like scoring and we don’t look like winning when he plays though.

We’re a football team, not a shop window and he needs to earn the right to be in that team.

Doidge hasn’t been at his best but he did enough last week to justify his inclusion ahead of Nisbet.

That said, I don’t love the team’s that been picked and I think it’s likely to have similar trouble to last week’s.

JammyDoidger
13-03-2021, 01:00 PM
He doesn’t look like scoring and we don’t look like winning when he plays though.

We’re a football team, not a shop window and he needs to earn the right to be in that team.

Doidge hasn’t been at his best but he did enough last week to justify his inclusion ahead of Nisbet.

That said, I don’t love the team’s that been picked and I think it’s likely to have similar trouble to last week’s.

I totally get it, and I'm with you to an extent, I personally don't think nisbet is even worth the 3m offered and would have bit their hand off, I don't think we are any weaker when he doesn't play. But to reject that sum of money to then bench him for the foreseeable, is baffling IMO. We need to get him starting and scoring ASAP. I fear we are gonna regret rejecting that offer.

13-03-2021, 01:00 PM

When he has appeared he hasn’t really done enough to suggest he should be starting. He’s looked tired.

JammyDoidger
13-03-2021, 01:02 PM
When he has appeared he hasn’t really done enough to suggest he should be starting. He’s looked tired.

I'd be tired too if I had the chance to treble my wages, my boss rejected it and then benched me for weeks. Infact I'd be fuming and wouldn't even want to play.

13-03-2021, 01:03 PM

Which is crazy with the Euro’s coming up. I’d be giving it everything to get into the Scotland set up. Who knows how long it will be before we qualify for another tournament.

13-03-2021, 01:04 PM
I'd be tired too if I had the chance to treble my wages, my boss rejected it and then benched me for weeks. Infact I'd be fuming and wouldn't even want to play.

Maybe explains why you aren't a professional sportsman. Also maybe explains why he is on the bench

13-03-2021, 01:06 PM

If that’s his attitude then it’s not going to get him starting every week. He can apply his talent to get himself out of Hibs and into the next thing. But he needs to apply the right attitude (if this is an attitude thing)

13-03-2021, 01:06 PM
Which is crazy with the Euro’s coming up. I’d be giving it everything to get into the Scotland set up. Who knows how long it will be before we qualify for another tournament.

I think he will come good. Hopefully he comes off the bench today and gets on the scoresheet.

13-03-2021, 01:09 PM
I totally get it, and I'm with you to an extent, I personally don't think nisbet is even worth the 3m offered and would have bit their hand off, I don't think we are any weaker when he doesn't play. But to reject that sum of money to then bench him for the foreseeable, is baffling IMO. We need to get him starting and scoring ASAP. I fear we are gonna regret rejecting that offer.

I agree with all of this FWIW but I don’t think he can have many complaints about not being in the team.

It’ll be in everyone’s interests if he finds some form but for now any opportunity may need to be from the bench.

If he can get back in the team it will be up to him to stay there.

13-03-2021, 01:10 PM
McGinn undroppable it seems

Tully
13-03-2021, 01:11 PM
Just win today hibs this is the business part of the season, doesn't matter how we do it

Maybe he's spat the dummy

I can see where you are coming from when you look at the coincidence of his contribution lately. I disagree with your interpretation though. The jury remains out on his motives on the pitch for me, mainly because I can’t fathom why he would want to deliberately chuck his place and the carrot of a possible Scotland cap.

BS44
13-03-2021, 01:12 PM

Yup, Nisbet needs to sort his head out pronto.

13-03-2021, 01:13 PM

We have him on a long term contract so if he doesnt perform offers wont come & and he'll need to up his game to earn his move...I doubt we were planning just to bench him after rejecting the offer..We went on our wee winning streak so the team stays the same & when hes come on he hasnt justified changing things. Hopefully everyone has a stormer today, I think well win comfortably. Early Boyle goal & off we go :greengrin

13-03-2021, 01:14 PM
Maybe it's just me but I fail to see what you all seem to be saying about Nisbet, I can't think of one clear cut chance we have made for him in recent weeks, he's been having to drop deep and try and makes things happen, I also haven't noticed a lack of perceived effort either

Plenty of other players recent performances I'd single out before him

13-03-2021, 01:15 PM

The job today is to pick the team he thinks most capable of getting us 3 points. Increasing the value of Nisbet doesn’t come into it.

13-03-2021, 01:16 PM
Due a good performance after some bad, that’s the way the season has gone so far. For me 3 points is always a must when it comes to football but this is our game in hand.

0-2 Hibs.

13-03-2021, 01:17 PM
I think rejecting the money for nisbet was more to do with our ability to try and replace him in the short space of time we had left. Think another team down south might offer around the same in the summer and he’ll be offski

Greenio
13-03-2021, 01:17 PM
This is such a big game.

C'mon Hibs, rip these clowns a new one!

13-03-2021, 01:18 PM

:agree: He's not kicked a ball since speculation started last year and needs to sort himself out.

13-03-2021, 01:19 PM

Sadly the alternative is Gray so yes, he is. Gray isn't fit enough or sadly good enough to come in to a vital game like this.

13-03-2021, 01:19 PM

I don’t think he’s been nearly as bad lately as some folk have been making out and I’m glad he’s kept his place.

13-03-2021, 01:20 PM

Folk go on about Doidge’s form. I think Nisbet’s is worse going back to December or so?

13-03-2021, 01:20 PM
Sadly the alternative is Gray so yes, he is. Gray isn't fit enough or sadly good enough to come in to a vital game like this.

Not really the only alternative though is he, play Mcgregor and put porteous on the right of the 3

13-03-2021, 01:22 PM
This is a crucial game. Ross County will be right up for it.

This has a Hibs loss written all over it.

13-03-2021, 01:22 PM
Not really the only alternative though is he, play Mcgregor and put porteous on the right of the 3
Which leaves no attacking threat or versatility to change to a back 4. Mcginn is correct choice.

13-03-2021, 01:23 PM
I see Betfair says they've got live video of the game. You might have to put a bet on though. Still £1 is better than whatever the PPV cost is.

Basildon Hibs
13-03-2021, 01:24 PM

Correct.

13-03-2021, 01:25 PM
I see Betfair says they've got live video of the game. You might have to put a bet on though. Still £1 is better than whatever the PPV cost is.

:grr::grr: I’ve just this minute given Ross County £15.

13-03-2021, 01:25 PM

Why would they be any more or less up for it than hibs?

We're 3rd, they're pish. Hibs win written all over it.

13-03-2021, 01:28 PM
Feeling good about this one but called the last two as bankers so what do I know.

Any win will do.

13-03-2021, 01:28 PM
WTF was that from Willie Miller.
"Chick must prefer watching losing football if he prefers watching Hibs to Aberdeen"

Come on Hibs decisive 3 points today and get it right up that lot.

13-03-2021, 01:29 PM
Which leaves no attacking threat or versatility to change to a back 4. Mcginn is correct choice.

We really only change it at half time or late on in the game so sub one of them off, put Cadden to RB, or play Cadden where McGinn plays, similar build etc so could easily play on the right of the 3. Put Boyle out where Cadden plays, there are a few options other than gray

hibbydog
13-03-2021, 01:29 PM
Is the game on Hibs TV PPV?

13-03-2021, 01:30 PM

Got to buy it through RC

Basildon Hibs
13-03-2021, 01:30 PM
Why would they be any more or less up for it than hibs?

We're 3rd, they're pish. Hibs win written all over it.

And we're currently 'pish'.

Doidge to miss a plethora of sitters again.

Hope I'm wrong.

13-03-2021, 01:31 PM
The worrying thing at the moment is I don’t my see where a goal is coming from with the exception of Boyle.

Doidge hasn’t scored in about 3 and a half months and Nisbet isn’t much better.

The team on paper looks good and solid but it’s proving to not be very creative unless it’s a Irvine to Boyle pass and goal.

Hopefully some others like Cadden, Doidge and Doig step up their creativeness with a goal and assist.

Really hope Nisbet gets back to his form at the start of the season. I mentioned last week that I don’t see the same work rate and aggression as before, he used to sprint 30 yards to close down a defender then put them on the deck

Maybe he's spat the dummy

Guessing so. Unless he’s been injured?

I don’t believe for a second that JR prefers playing Doidge. Something’s up?

If you are in the uk it’s Ross County PPV

why has no one started a book on who our sub will be between 45-55 mins :greengrin

hibbydog
13-03-2021, 01:32 PM
Got to buy it through RC

Thanks.

Guessing so. Unless he’s been injured?

I don’t believe for a second that JR prefers playing Doidge. Something’s up?

Doidge has probably played the most minutes since Ross joined. He likes him and rates him, pretty clear to see.

Gaun the Van Doidgedonk

13-03-2021, 01:34 PM
why has no one started a book on who our sub will be between 45-55 mins :greengrin

If its not Stevenson I'd be amazed!

13-03-2021, 01:35 PM
Doidge will score today.

13-03-2021, 01:36 PM
Doidge will score today.

It would be about time.

13-03-2021, 01:36 PM

Porteous is a better attacking centre half than McGinn is. We also get 5 subs a game so if we need to change to a 4, it’s hardly the end of the world to remove a centre half and move Cadden to right back and bring on someone further forward.

13-03-2021, 01:37 PM
"Chick must prefer watching losing football if he prefers watching Hibs to Aberdeen"

He’s a ****ing dinosaur and right at home on Sportsound with the rest of those clowns. Willie Miller stopped being relevant when he retired.

13-03-2021, 01:38 PM

Would assume Murphy injured as surely a good option from the bench. Can take a man on and create

burtis97
13-03-2021, 01:38 PM
Anyone having problems with just a white screen on Ross County PPV? Hasn’t given me the option to pay either?

13-03-2021, 01:39 PM
Yogi on RCTV now. Love that guy’s openness and desire for the game.

13-03-2021, 01:39 PM
If its not Stevenson I'd be amazed!

triple subs Stevenson/Hallberg/Nisbet

13-03-2021, 01:40 PM
Would assume Murphy injured as surely a good option from the bench. Can take a man on and create

Jim, maybe your right
I really like Murphy, but the state of the pitches just now, are far from ideal for his style

13-03-2021, 01:40 PM
Anyone having problems with just a white screen on Ross County PPV? Hasn’t given me the option to pay either?

If you haven’t already you need to register or sign in.

13-03-2021, 01:41 PM
triple subs Stevenson/Hallberg/Nisbet

Close but no cigar, Magennis will 100% come on instead of Hallberg 🤣

13-03-2021, 01:42 PM

Cadden can play right back maybe not rcb though

Mikey_1875
13-03-2021, 01:42 PM
Come on hibs lets get back to winning ways today please. Just praying we score the first goal...

13-03-2021, 01:43 PM
Buffering tae f#+%

13-03-2021, 01:43 PM
Jim, maybe your right
I really like Murphy, but the state of the pitches just now, are far from ideal for his style

Agree problem is virtually every pitch is poor including our own. Hopefully he isn't injured again as he has shown enough in some of the games to see he can add something

13-03-2021, 01:44 PM
And we're currently 'pish'.

Doidge to miss a plethora of sitters again.

Hope I'm wrong.

Yeah I’m sure you do.

burtis97
13-03-2021, 01:44 PM
If you haven’t already you need to register or sign in.

Sorted thank you

Zambernardi1875
13-03-2021, 01:45 PM
Jacks enthusiasm and energy will rub off on the team today, start off flying, loads of pressing intensity pace creativity , quick movement and passing, we’ll blow Ross county away in the first 20mins, remind them of the gulf in class and cement our place in 3rd.

So one change with Doidge coming n but no change in midfield where we struggled last time out, I thought 3-4 changes from last time to shake things up, is Ross becoming too loyal to certain players?

hibbydog
Can anyone help out a technophobe please?

Cant see the link to PPV on Ross County TV

Think we win today need to start and be aggressive also. Should be looking for revenge after losing last game to them and Yogi thinking he was a tactical genius

13-03-2021, 01:46 PM
Newell and Irvine in he same midfield doesn't work for me.

13-03-2021, 01:46 PM
Folk go on about Doidge’s form. I think Nisbet’s is worse going back to December or so?

He has hardly played.

13-03-2021, 01:47 PM

I got it through the hibs website

13-03-2021, 01:48 PM
Would have liked to have seen more changes after the last two disasters but hey ho.

BlackSheep

Address is ppv.rosscountyfootballclub.co.uk

Anyone else getting an annoying bleep every 10 secs, sounds like a smoke alarm going off, muted my TV so t's definitely from them.

I don’t suppose anyone of his colleagues advised him to check the league table?

Anyone else getting an annoying bleep every 10 secs, sounds like a smoke alarm going off, muted my TV so t's definitely from them.

Same here.

13-03-2021, 01:50 PM
I actually fancy us to come flying out the traps today and get the game won in the first half.
We cannot play as poorly as the last two weeks. We just can't.

Hibeesforever
13-03-2021, 01:50 PM

I just get the holding screen at the moment, has the feed gone live yet ?

13-03-2021, 01:51 PM

Yes, I had that too. Between that and hearing Craigan I switched off.

Hibeesforever

Just come up, Cliff has arrived...

I'm watching via IPTV so watching Ross C stream, I'll switch over to Hibs telly when it starts.

Mikey_1875
13-03-2021, 01:52 PM
Pitch doesnt look too bad at all from this angle

13-03-2021, 01:53 PM
Just come up, Cliff has arrived...

Cheers just switched over.

Big game, really need an early goal today. Think they’ve been scoring goals for fun recently

Edit. No they’ve not.

I'm watching via IPTV so watching Ross C stream, I'll switch over to Hibs telly when it starts.

Now.

13-03-2021, 01:54 PM
On now

hibeejeebies
13-03-2021, 01:55 PM
Yogi on RCTV now. Love that guy’s openness and desire for the game.

He has nowhere near the personality of a Shaun Maloney or Steven Naismith.

😁

13-03-2021, 01:56 PM
Dunno what’s more annoying. The smoke alarm or Craigan.

13-03-2021, 01:56 PM
Please Newell, have a blinder rather than your usual stroll around slowing the sheite out of the game.

13-03-2021, 01:57 PM
Please Newell, have a blinder rather than your usual stroll around slowing the sheite out of the game.

I want Ibrox Joe, not signed a new deal Joe.

loanheadhibby
13-03-2021, 01:57 PM
Doidge has probably played the most minutes since Ross joined. He likes him and rates him, pretty clear to see.
If Ross likes and rates Doidge perhaps we need a new manager.
Big game today for both.

13-03-2021, 01:58 PM

No need for him to that. He’s got his contract😉

13-03-2021, 01:58 PM

He’s done well this season but it annoys me how much better he could be.

He is good at driving forward with the ball, beating players with a nice turn and capable of a good pass but we rarely see it and instead it’s side to side.

I get keeping the ball is important but when teams sit in and you have the chance to counter or open them up you need to do it quick.

13-03-2021, 02:03 PM
Welcome to the lowest camera angle of all time

K-Zazu
That yellow strip? Why??

SJNB Hibby
Miserable camera angle

1875Sean
13-03-2021, 02:05 PM
That yellow strip? Why??

It must be the most wore third strip we have ever had

13-03-2021, 02:05 PM
Ross quoted saying biggest game of the season. Hope the players know this and it’s not just media chat.

13-03-2021, 02:06 PM
It must be the most wore third strip we have ever had

We win more games in yellow compared to other away strips

Ross quoted saying biggest game of the season. Hope the players know this and it’s not just media chat.

Christ, I hope he’s no bothered telling the players that

Chance for Cadden. Very poor attempt.

What a miss.

K-Zazu

Can’t we just play in green?

13-03-2021, 02:07 PM
Michty me how’d he miss that?!

Amatuer stuff from Cadden. He has to hit the target.

We seem to need more chances to actually score than anyone else

1875Sean

How many times we wore our grey away strip?

Deja Vu already

1875Sean
13-03-2021, 02:09 PM

You ever notice on IPTV the jobs stream is always 50-60 seconds behind the other stream

13-03-2021, 02:09 PM
Very fast out the traps today and playing well.

Mikey_1875
13-03-2021, 02:10 PM
Get lost Beaton

Look like they got the message so far , going for it . Wish he could get us playing like this all the time

Beaton is a ****ing clown.

Stupid b****d John Beaton.

13-03-2021, 02:11 PM
You ever notice on IPTV the jobs stream is always 50-60 seconds behind the other stream

Yep annoying when on here too when everyone goes GOAL and I've not seen it yet. :greengrin

Shocking refereeing by Beaton never a booking

How was that a booking?

Mikey_1875
Has to be someone getting in there

Some ball from Doig, no takers.

13-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Beaton is a ****ing clown.

Some context for those of us not watching ?

That's a great ball in, why is no one gambling

2 strikers standing parallel and not one anticipated the ball in, poor.

13-03-2021, 02:13 PM
That was a bloody diabolical decision to book Gogic.:rolleyes:

nice low ball across the box from josh...no takers

Fantastic ball in by Doig. Hate to say it but it's the kind of ball Nisbet thrives on. Nobody gambled on it.

SiinDubai
Terrible refereeing
Beaton is a clown

13-03-2021, 02:14 PM
How the **** is Beaton still refereeing at this level, brutal.

Why is MB taking the dead balls? It’s not really his game.

Well Beaton had ruined the game for Gogic and set a benchmark for cards...

pathetic freekick from boyle

Basildon Hibs
13-03-2021, 02:15 PM
If Ross likes and rates Doidge perhaps we need a new manager.
Big game today for both.

Correct. Doidge is murder.

13-03-2021, 02:17 PM
Chance for Cadden. Very poor attempt.

As poor as drey Wright when it comes to shooting

13-03-2021, 02:17 PM
As poor as drey Wright when it comes to shooting

Weird comment.

13-03-2021, 02:18 PM
Fantastic ball in by Doig. Hate to say it but it's the kind of ball Nisbet thrives on. Nobody gambled on it.
Exactly what I thought. We could easily be two up here

Beaton is a throbber

sean04
Hibs getting 400k for the young keeper going to wolves

Mikey_1875
Might have to end up taking Gogic off at HT now

13-03-2021, 02:19 PM
Ross will have to think about hooking Gogic due to a clueless referee

Some context for those of us not watching ?

Gogic accidentally clips the heels of another player. First foul. Booking.

Who

ehf
Might have to end up taking Gogic off at HT now

Beaton will send him off before then - next challenge.

i'm fearing beaton will be giving Gogic a 2nd yellow

13-03-2021, 02:20 PM
Beaton is a throbber

Scottish refereeing at it’s best inconsistency.

Weird comment.

Cadden has had lots of chances to score and has yet to take one Given our strikers are going through a difficult patch we really need other players to be scoring is my point

sean04
Who

Johnstone? Spent time training with Man City but decided to go to wolves

We’ve no scored before the 20th minute? Ross county or draw then haha

13-03-2021, 02:21 PM

EH?

13-03-2021, 02:22 PM
Unlucky Doig

EH?

That used to be his postcode but it’s probably WV now

newell fools everyone with that fresh air attempt

Only a matter of time until Doig curls one of those into the top bin

13-03-2021, 02:23 PM
Good play from Doig again.

Good effort by Doig. Clever link up play.

The snarky digs at our players in these match threads are really tiresome

K-Zazu
Who lets craigan near the tele

That used to be his postcode but it’s probably WV now

Still none the wiser, who's Johnson?

Edit. Murray Johnson, just looked on Hibs site. :aok:

:grr::grr: I’ve just this minute given Ross County £15.

You'll be pleased to hear the Betfair stream is showing the wrong match. Sal v Cos whoever that is.

Good play from Hanlon and Doig an another shot off target. Doig has a very good right foot for a left footer, unusual

13-03-2021, 02:24 PM
You'll be pleased to hear the Betfair stream is showing the wrong match. Sal v Cos whoever that is.

Phew!

Hibdan12
13-03-2021, 02:25 PM
Playing a lot of through balls today been unlucky a few times not to unleash boyle

Yeah it’s all some people come on for. It’s pathetic.

There's are big gaps all over the county backline and they are playing a high line.Should only be a matter of time before we get the right ball and run.

13-03-2021, 02:26 PM

13-03-2021, 02:27 PM
Playing a lot of through balls today been unlucky a few times not to unleash boyle

Getting closer

Hibdan12
13-03-2021, 02:28 PM
Doesn't look offside to me

that looked like an elbow in the back of porteous

We are showing a bit more urgency but there is no pattern of play from what I can see from us. Boyle running about up front seems to be our best chance as usual. Nisbet needs to screw his head on and get involved as we are honking up front

13-03-2021, 02:29 PM
that looked like an elbow in the back of porteous

Weird place to have an elbow if you ask me.

13-03-2021, 02:30 PM
Doesn't look offside to me

Didn't thinks so either 1st time but thought it probably was on the replay. Crap camera though to be sure.

13-03-2021, 02:32 PM
Need to get a goal. Totally dominating. Just need to take a chance.

13-03-2021, 02:32 PM
all hibs the last several minutes

Wull
13-03-2021, 02:33 PM
We playing some neat fitba but no near an end result

13-03-2021, 02:33 PM
Cliff Pike commentates like he is telling you a secret.

Davy Mac
13-03-2021, 02:34 PM
Final ball is rotten, I wish they would try and pick a a player out rather than aimlessly just crossing it in.

13-03-2021, 02:35 PM

🤣🤣🤣

13-03-2021, 02:35 PM

Made me laugh :greengrin:

13-03-2021, 02:36 PM
Doidge has played well so far.

Like he’s commentating on the 18th hole at the Masters.

😂😂😂

13-03-2021, 02:37 PM

He is commentating from Dingwall Library.

Better from Doidge, decent lay off and then a good run and turn. Poor finish though

Steviethebear
This is dire, Doidge blasts over the bar, no intensity to our play, slow and predictable 😴

Final ball is rotten, I wish they would try and pick a a player out rather than aimlessly just crossing it in.

Trying to play it forward too quickly.just hold on to it for a second.

13-03-2021, 02:38 PM
Seem to be in control without actually looking dangerous, have we had a shot on target yet? All half chances and sclaffs.

This is dire, Doidge blasts over the bar, no intensity to our play, slow and predictable 😴

It really hasnt

It's just now approaching the time where County take the lead with their first meaningful attack.

Have County scored yet?

I've got them down for a 2-0 win so I wish they'd hurry up.

Slow and predictable? I think we’ve been knocking it about well at a decent tempo.

We need something like some Scotty Allan magic to break down their defence.

13-03-2021, 02:39 PM
We seem to have dominated the first half an hour but has Laidlaw had a save to make?

I'd still like to see someone in the middle pick the ball up and actually run at someone, try and take them on

Good possession but not doing too much with it as of yet

Like he’s commentating on the 18th hole at the Masters.

TBF there's not a lot to get excited about is there.

13-03-2021, 02:40 PM
I personally blame the yellow kit for this performance.

Have County scored yet?

I've got them down for a 2-0 win so I wish they'd hurry up.

They don’t look like scoring

I personally blame the yellow kit for this performance.

Yellow kits should be banned. Don’t think we’ve ever had a nice one.

Green Reaper
Can somebody please give Cliff some Strepsils

13-03-2021, 02:41 PM

Neither do we sadly

Don't say that, you'll jinx it!

We seem to have dominated the first half an hour but has Laidlaw had a save to make? Rocky has had more to do having a couple of crosses to deal with. We seem to be playing the percentages by just getting the ball into the box. Unfortunately you tend not to score when you get zero percent of chances on target

Can somebody please give Cliff some Strepsils

Or a massive mug of coffee before he nods off.

Steviethebear
13-03-2021, 02:42 PM
Slow and predictable? I think we’ve been knocking it about well at a decent tempo.

Knocking it about doesn’t win you games...get nothing for having more possession...been easy for Ross County to break up our play, we either go long or wide to Boyle or Doig, as I said predictable

Mutu
13-03-2021, 02:43 PM
Same turgid percentage football.

Irvine playing this far forward does not suit him.

13-03-2021, 02:44 PM
Seem to be in control without actually looking dangerous, have we had a shot on target yet? All half chances and sclaffs.

Yup.

We are crying out for a creative player or someone to dribble past a player rather than pass pass pass cross repeat.

Better 1st half than last week BUT we need to score.

Same turgid percentage football.

Irvine playing this far forward does not suit him.

Irvine and Newell doesn’t work but we keep playing it.

Boyle needs to give himself a yard when making runs. No need to be so close to the offside line with his pace

13-03-2021, 02:45 PM
all we are saying
is give us a goal

More likely Easter Rd

Wow.

RossScott1991
I’d be giving Scott Allan the second half tbh

all we are saying
is give us a goal

A shot on target would do for starters

13-03-2021, 02:46 PM

Absolutely. The creativity here is non existent.

Long overdue

Knocking it about doesn’t win you games...get nothing for having more possession...been easy for Ross County to break up our play, we either go long or wide to Boyle or Doig, as I said predictable

We’re knocking it about, going wide AND going long?

County are getting a lot of players behind the ball - making it really hard to get in behind them.

Wonder if punting it might be an option to try

13-03-2021, 02:47 PM
Keep this going and we will get a break. Boyle will beat the offside trap at some point.

Mutu
13-03-2021, 02:48 PM

We have just tried this for 45 minutes.

Our tactics are: long balls to try and win possession in their half then look to 1) get a cross in 2)in behind for boyle.

A shot on target would do for starters

indeed

shots

0-3

on target

0 v 0

:(

corners 0 v 4

fouls 5 v 4

HT

Poor stuff. Struggling to create is becoming a worrying trend lately and looks like it’s continued into today

Boring to watch

13-03-2021, 02:49 PM

Have we really? Didn't notice

Sounds more like Dingwall swimming baths. The players are making more noise than him.

Played the majority in there half but with very few passes.

Needed someone with a bit of a creative spark, Allan or Nisbet on for Gogic/Newell and put Irvine back one.

We need to actually pass the ball

hibee62

Given the desperate desire for a “shot on target”, a punt from the half way line will keep plenty people happy...

Good to see us being more aggressive and working hard off the ball. Forcing mistakes all over the pitch and not giving Ross County any time on the ball. We just need to turn our possession in to chances and ultimately goals. Easier said than done given County are being pegged back.

Another snore fest of a performance. We are the better side by a mile but have been dreadful in the final third

Allan and Nisbet on at halftime, will he make any changes?

Yep, pass it around with no penetration, no drive from midfield, it then goes back to Porteous/Hanlon who punt up into the channels for Boyle to run onto of Doidge to hopefully get a flick on. Gogic sits deep but then we Newell who tend to sit deep also with Irvine b2b, we need an attacking mid to get hold of the ball and link up play to the strikers. I still think if we play 3 at the back we don't need Gogic, play a back 4 and bring on Allan.

13-03-2021, 02:50 PM
Poor yet again.

A win today puts us in the driving seat for third. If we don’t manage a win then it’s pretty much a toss up between us and Aberdeen as our record at Pittodrie is appalling.

Mikey_1875
13-03-2021, 02:50 PM
Been in total control and a lot better than the last couple games. Not sure I would change anything at half time my only concern is that I can’t imagine county posing as little a threat in the second half as they did there. Might leave a couple of gaps for us to exploit though

Hibdan12
13-03-2021, 02:51 PM
Would prefer irvine deeper and newel a little further forward. Overall been the better of the two with good tempo if not a little frantic

It never fails to surprise me how so many people an be so impatient and find so many things to criticise our team for, especially when they are running their socks off for us.

Lacking in the final third. We get there plenty but lack of quality when we do.

Too reliant on Boyle.

Cliff says the same thing every half time about “maybe get something stronger” ffs

Jack Ross will probably be content with how we are playing even though we don’t look like scoring.

Yogi will not be happy and go through them at half time.

Ross country will therefore up there game.

I suspect we will be lucky to get a draw and predict a 1-0 loss from a set piece.

13-03-2021, 02:52 PM
Poor yet again.

A win today puts us in the driving seat for third. If we don’t manage a win then it’s pretty much a toss up between us and Aberdeen as our record at Pittodrie is appalling.

On what planet have hibs been poor

It never fails to surprise me how so many people an be so impatient and find so many things to criticise our team for, especially when they are running their socks off for us.

You’re surprised that people criticise the fact we’ve had zero shots on target against a relegation candidate. This coming off the back of two defeats to other teams in the bottom 6?

How's Oli Shaw looking? Do people still want him back?

Hibs season seems to be just drifting away. Waiting on events happening to us rather than forcing the issue

We have a great opportunity to push on and put third place out of sight for others but the players seem to be coasting.

JR needs to inject some drive in to the team

Our tactics are: long balls to try and win possession in their half then look to 1) get a cross in 2)in behind for boyle.

That was Butcher's tactics, long punts into the corner channels and looking to win 2nd ball or pin them back, that never worked out well.

13-03-2021, 02:53 PM

Whoosh!

How's Oli Shaw looking? Do people still want him back?

On the bench mate.

On what planet have hibs been poor

On what planet have we not been?

We’ve not managed a shot on target against one of the relegation candidates.

Another snore fest of a performance. We are the better side by a mile but have been dreadful in the final third

Agree. Laidlaw had nothing to despite all our possession.

I'm pleased we are playing on the front foot but we are cack when it matters most.

The Captain....
Dozed off after first 10 mins so missed most of that half, obviously we're saving our goals for second half. (hopefully). Sounds like we had the better of it but just not getting a clear cut chance yet.