View Full Version : Match Updates St Mirren 1 - 2 Hibs (Porteous, Boyle)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

02-02-2021, 06:19 PM
Wasn't there goalie a mile out the box there when we thew that out?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

02-02-2021, 06:19 PM
BBC got us winning both games

GOOD SAVE!Aberdeen 0-2 Hibernian

Aberdeen are continuing to press and Lewis Ferguson tries his luck again.

However, the midfielder's low drive is straight at Max Stryjek and the goalkeeper is able to push it clear.

6 pointer

02-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Must have been a big queue at half-time.

Went for a half time fag lol and mums homemade lentil is the best.

I’d like to see magennis on now, give him a bit more time

Wasn't there goalie a mile out the box there when we thew that out?

Looked like it, his toes were on the line and released the ball miles in front of him.

Missed the goal heating some soup up, hopefully can push on now and get a second.
What kind is it 😊

02-02-2021, 06:21 PM
mon the eleven men

02-02-2021, 06:22 PM
Doidge nearly making it 2-0, good save from the St Mirren keeper

Could doidge have done better there? Was a hard chance

Big Doidge unlucky. Great save by the keeper

Unlucky Doidge.

What kind is it 😊

Mums homemade lentil soup and some scotch bread.

02-02-2021, 06:23 PM
That's really good work from Boyle and Doidge there.

Good save, unlucky.

Doidge just needs a bit of luck again or a trade mark sclaff and I think he'll go on another scoring run. Could do with it happening now

Why are we hitting hopeful long balls?

02-02-2021, 06:24 PM
Douche just needs a bit of luck again or a trade mark sclaff and I think he'll go on another scoring run. Could do with it happening now

Can save it for Saturday.

Bangkok Hibby

He had plenty time, nobody near him. Could have let the ball come to him for an easier chance rather than rush and get under it.

He did well to hit the target. He needs a goal then hopefully can go on a run like last season.

Wull
02-02-2021, 06:25 PM
Daz lookin comfi in the standing, so hopefully just a sub to save him for the sheep :flag:

Cracking pass Porto

That's what he's added to his game

Pen hibs.

U like the balance of Gogic and Irvine in the middle, both plenty of energy.

Where does Newell fit in.

0-2

02-02-2021, 06:26 PM
And that’s what Murphy gives you.

badabing67
Are we playing better now

Mikey_1875
Good running there Murphy

Magpie
Brilliant! Come on the boys

Superb Jamie Murphy

Get in!

Foul or Murphy, no complaints from saints

Was gonna say Murphy as been anon too

Boyle to take

Penalty. Clever play by Murphy.

2-0 Boyle

02-02-2021, 06:27 PM
Boyle playing well...Great run from Murphy..Penalty!

Yaaaaas

Superb Martin Boyle. Great result presuming we hold on :agree:

Yes, 2-0

You wee dancer. This is a great result.

I'd get Murphy off for Scotty.

wtf do i know? :greengrin

Yes ! Great run by Murphy, perfect pen.

Our new striker is on fire. 2 in 2 games.

St Mirren have lost this game through very poor individual mistakes.

OtleyHibs
Excellent, sets us up nicely for Saturday

Side note: why in the hell am I paying for a stream others are seeing ahead of me for free?? 😁

Jakhog1
Well done Murphy, thats what you want, your players running at the defence

Paul1642
Boyle and his set-pieces 🙄

02-02-2021, 06:28 PM
Much better this half. Murphy and Boyle doing well once again.

Magpie

We’ll take it.

EI255
Excellent night's work so far.

Sent from Columbia

Murphy finally going on his left side and wins a pen. Hes had a good game for me, nothing special but kept the ball well when needed and worked hard.

woop :flag:

Get in!

02-02-2021, 06:29 PM

It's how most games are won it lost. Individual skill or individual mistakes.

On top, more space, good run from Murphy and a good pen, strolling the game now.

Brilliant Hibs, that’s more like it.

1-2

sair one for Nisbets foot

The Captain....
Much better second half...stretching St Mirren down either wing, Boyle especially put some lovely balls in second half.

A wee bit behind him. Did well to get it on target.

EI255
FFS

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

02-02-2021, 06:30 PM
Bit slack there at the back hit on the counter.

That goal was embarrassing.

2-1 poor.

Boyle involved in everything sending off , cross for first goal and scores second

Aaaaaaargh.

Horrendous defending.

Good counter from St Mirren that. Game on again.

Also, how far ahead are some streams? I’d read Hermits post and then watched about another 20 seconds of play before it went in.

That is awful defending

1-2

JXM73
Ffs...

EI255
15 mins left

SBT

Sent from Columbia

Shocking defending

02-02-2021, 06:31 PM
Shocking goal to lose, concentrate FFS.

We do absolutely nothing the easy way ffs. Hold on.

FFS man. Never make it easy for ourselves. Really poor game management that, there was no need to commit so many body’s forward

1-2

HC, As you are way ahead it might be better if you don't spoil it :thumbsup:

Poor goal to concede.

That all started with a ***** pass from Doidge or Nisbet. Terrible

Murphy hits post.

Dreadful defending

Poor goal. Then off the post

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Unlucky Murphy off the post.

OtleyHibs
Almost 3-1, Murphy hits the post

Murphy hits the post

Mikey_1875
Close, good move

Murphy hits the post.

Good counter from St Mirren that. Game on again.You reckon?

Was one long punt

Murphy hits post, good effort

flippin heck McGinn

We need another to win this.

You couldnae make it up!

02-02-2021, 06:32 PM
F’n unbelievable.

All we needed to do was keep it tight for next 10 mins.

McGinn has been rank. Rotten all night.

off the post ;(

Wull
Paul Mcginn no havin a good night, slow and very poor passing

Dear dear. That was poor. From easy street to squeaky bum time. Cmon Hibs keep it tight!

02-02-2021, 06:33 PM
You reckon?

Was one long punt

Boy beat Gogic, played a decent pass forward and the other boy played a good ball to the other boy is the way I seen it, wasn’t an aimless punt imo.

Can you tell I don’t pay much attention to the opposition players btw? :greengrin

02-02-2021, 06:33 PM
We didn’t have to commit so many forward. Annoying as ****. Typical hibs making it hard for themselves

Allez Hibs
02-02-2021, 06:34 PM
Hibs have looked good going forward in second half but deary me Paul McGinn has been poor. Roasted for the goal.

Paul Mcginn no havin a good night, slow and very poor passing

It’s been obvious all night. Can’t understand why he stayed on and Cadden went off? He’s been murder.

This is ridiculous, we should be absolutely strolling this.

F me was this a 6pm ko? I’ve missed almost the whole thing 😂

For their goal there is no need for us to be so stretched. we are the team 2-0 up.... its just stupid.

Hibs have looked good going forward in second half but deary me Paul McGinn has been poor. Roasted for the goal.

Against 10 men mind. Uninspiring until the red card.

02-02-2021, 06:35 PM

😂 😂

You reckon?

Was one long punt

It was but the defending at it was shocking.

Still in control.

senseless fk to give away gogic when we're pressuring them

For their goal there is no need for us to be so stretched. we are the team 2-0 up.... its just stupid.

All about game management, your manager should be screaming at the players to settle things down

badabing67
Pitman just hit the post

Cmon Hibs nae sucker punch please

dchibs
02-02-2021, 06:36 PM
Have they scored?

Pitman just hit the post

Wrong game

You’ve had a mare 😂😂😂

badabing67
Have they scored?

Still 0-2 Livi

All about game management, your manager should be screaming at the players to settle things downYou reckon Mr reserved ultra defensive Jack Ross was urging the team forward?

[emoji23]

Have they scored?

It's 2-1.

Have they scored?

Yes

02-02-2021, 06:37 PM
We've all seen this movie before!! Hopefully Hibs don't follow the usual script

All about game management, your manager should be screaming at the players to settle things down

Is he not telling the players what to do, ffs i'd sack him now.

You’ve had a mare 😂😂😂

Im now relying on hermit crab to tell me what’s gone on :aok:

02-02-2021, 06:38 PM
If we blow this, I'm gonna go into the Ross Out campl

We've all seen this movie before!! Hopefully Hibs don't follow the usual script

Let’s hope we don’t.

Im now relying on hermit crab to tell me what’s gone on :aok:

He's getting a feed from the future.

You've changed, probably drinking foraged herbs from a kuksa

02-02-2021, 06:39 PM
10 men St Mirren are causing us problems. Our ability to retain possession is absolutely shocking.

He's getting a feed from the future.

Just don’t sugarcoat it for me, I need to know the pessimistic angle on things n aw

Miss Newell so much in games like this where we can't keep the ball.

Connellys pace is a threat and now they are throwing on forwards and going fir equisetum

dchibs
02-02-2021, 06:40 PM
It's 2-1.

Than **** thaught all the moaning at Hibs players that they got a second goal.

02-02-2021, 06:40 PM
Connellys pace is a threat and now they are throwing on forwards and going fir equisetum

Don't give it to us in Latin

02-02-2021, 06:41 PM
You've changed, probably drinking foraged herbs from a kuksa

non essential trip to margiotta for wine. Thought I’d put my feet up and watch the game with a wee drinkie:rolleyes:

Some of our passing and decision making is terrible.

Come on Doidge 3-4 good passes and all you had to do was play the ball in, not lose it that easily

02-02-2021, 06:42 PM
non essential trip to margiotta for wine. Thought I’d put my feet up and watch the game with a wee drinkie:rolleyes:

You haven't missed too much to be honest

Don't give it to us in Latin

Horse tail grass. Good in a winter herbaceous border.

what’s the score nurse?

We shouldn’t be sitting here feeling nervous when we were 2-0 up against ten men but here we are

Come on Doidge 3-4 good passes and all you had to do was play the ball in, not lose it tat easily

He's been rotten tonight.

Making this tough against 10 men

Falling out of this a bit here

02-02-2021, 06:43 PM
Why is Boyle all of a sudden on set plays? Surely Murphy couldn't hit a better dead ball?

I'm rapidly going from a Happy Clapper to a Doom 'n Gloomer

Please don't blow it, Hibs

Some of our passing and decision making is terrible.

Some? Almost all of it is. Certainly passing and decision making in final third is.

Lendo
FFS! Just finished work, settled on the sofa, ready to buy St Mirren PPV.

6pm kick off!!!

Irvine playing well at the moment.

Why the **** do we seem to be hanging on 😂

I actually thought we’ve dealt with playing against 10 really well apart from one daft moment. Still time yet but we’ve been very comfy and creating plenty chances.

02-02-2021, 06:44 PM
We don't half make things tough for ourselves.

You can see the players are not confident of seeing the game out. We should be in total control here.

Doig just boots it to the opposition.

He's been rotten tonight.

Most folk know my feelings re Doidge, I know he generally works hard for the team but his skill levels are brutal at times.

Gogic booked

Magpie
02-02-2021, 06:45 PM
Why the **** do we seem to be hanging on 😂

Probably low in confidence from our poor form over the past month. Winning this would give us a lot of motivation going into Saturday.

Gogic bookedAfter being blatently pushed, then pulled back

Gogic with his obligatory yellow card.

FFS! Just finished work, settled on the sofa, ready to buy St Mirren PPV.

6pm kick off!!!

Join the club mr calrissian.

Just use extra man to find space and keep
Passing and keep possession ffs

Hibs players cacking themselves now. Hoof to a St M players, no composure. Need to hang on.

02-02-2021, 06:46 PM
Please just end this game now!

Have they actually had a chance apart from the goal?

And yet here I am, puckering [emoji23]

How long to go??

Groundhog day sure enough ffs why.

badabing67
How much added time does anyone know

what on earth was Gogic thinking there

02-02-2021, 06:47 PM
FFS this is a stroll, Rocky has not had one shot to save apart from their goal. Good job the players dont panic as much as some of the folk on here.

3 minutes

2 left to play

Probably low in confidence from our poor form over the past month. Winning this would give us a lot of motivation going into Saturday.

yup, this would be a really great time to get a wee run going :agree:

Outstanding defending Porto.

badabing67

Thanx

FFS this is a stroll, Rocky has not had one shot to save apart from their goal. Good job the players dont panic as much as some of the folk on here.
Exactly. The joys of being a fan.

02-02-2021, 06:48 PM
We really need Newell back.

Surely we take a short free kick there!!!

Magennis on for Murphy

02-02-2021, 06:49 PM
What the **** wis that from a free kick?

Magpie
We really need Newell back.

Hopefully he be back involved Saturday.

FT 1-2 Hibs.

02-02-2021, 06:50 PM
FT.

Phew.

Ft

YES! Up to 3rd.. Well done Hibs.

at least magennis got 16 seconds :)

That’ll do Hibs that’ll do

EI255
Superb 3 points at a tough ground.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Full time - 1-2.

Thank god for that.

Phew!

Magpie
02-02-2021, 06:51 PM
Well done boys.

Woop woop. Good win at a team who have been playing well and move up to 3rd. Good stuff Hibs

Lendo
YES! Up to 3rd.. Well done Hibs.

3 points off second place. Mon Killie!

That was Hibs ball down in the corner there good play from Diog

FT 1-2 Hibs.

Phew!

Two wins in a row, the beginning of a winning streak

......and up to third we pop.:thumbsup:

livingston win at todders for the first time since 2004

badabing67
Were ahead of the sheep

Great result well in

3 points away from home to a team in form.

Delighted.

Great win, poor performance. Would never know they had ten men.

Job done, wasn't always pretty but they have been on a good run 10 men or not

Another good result after Saturday.

Dire game though again.

Puts us right in the driving seat for a third place finish now. :agree:

Great 3 its against a form team. Our away record this season is outstanding. Well done, Hibs.

Mikey_1875
Job done

Allez Hibs
Well done Hibs 👏

A goal coming from a corner two games in a row.

But Boyle is terrible at corners. Weird.

pollution
A six pointer. Well done Hibs !!

FFS this is a stroll, Rocky has not had one shot to save apart from their goal. Good job the players dont panic as much as some of the folk on here.True story although I was hibs fan nervous [emoji23]

dmc1875
02-02-2021, 06:52 PM
That was a slog and not exactly a great performance thankfully they had the man sent off.

A win is a win though and we’ve had many of those kind of performances this season but got the 3 points. Not pretty at all and horrid to watch but points are points.

What upset McGinn at the end

To think that someone stated yesterday that Hibs had given up on 3rd place - here we are the following day...... :greengrin

Were ahead of the sheep

Still are.

Should’ve won that a lot easier than we did. Can’t complain with the 3 points, on to a massive game on Saturday.

Looking forward to signing Jamie McGrath soon

We are rubbish but it's a rubbish season all round really.

rossevenil
Had to work hard for that but got there in the end.....another great 3 pts away from home.

I'm sick to death about this poor run of form we are on, we will never catch the sheep playing like this.

Well it is all aboot the 3 points but just so turgid against 10 men an awe.

Crunchie
02-02-2021, 06:53 PM
Great 3pts roll on Saturday and the sheep.

THESHIP
02-02-2021, 06:53 PM
Good 3 points however another uninspiring performance. Thought Murphy played really well in the second half.

GRA
02-02-2021, 06:54 PM
So that's us up to 3rd at this stage of the season having beat the team who just won at Celtic Park... and a NINTH away win of the season. Time to credit the team

Pleased with the result but jeezo how to make hard work of it. McGinn had his worst game for Hibs tonight so hopefully we can all be up for the Sheep at the weekend. GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Good 3 points for us and nice to have a bit of momentum again. A decent second half, despite making it harder than it needed to be.

A big chance on Saturday, we've got to start taking them in matches against Aberdeen.

Should’ve won that a lot easier than we did. Can’t complain with the 3 points, on to a massive game on Saturday.

Looking forward to signing Jamie McGrath soon
I'm sure you'll give it a good go

We need to do the sheep on Saturday. Point proven to Nisbet that we don't always need him to win games as well. He needs to knuckle down and start scoring again.

Thank god that’s over. Better 2nd half but made hard work of it nearer the end.

Hopefully we’ll be up for the sheep this Sat.

A win is a win.

You can pick out all kinds of faults with that performance but after the semi final we had to bounce back and we did with 6 points. Tonight was always going to be tough and we won, that's all that matters.

Saturday is another hard game but we should go in with a fair bit of confidence now.

2 points infront of Aberdeen and 7 infront of Livi

Cannie believe we've given up on third though https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210202/71fe056294e3ef9c7136933daa5bb763.jpg

Good 3 points however another uninspiring performance. Thought Murphy played really well in the second half.

😂😂😂

02-02-2021, 06:55 PM
Did the ref have a bet on that or something? What was with the extra 90 seconds he felt like adding?

Not like there wasn't a break in play, there were easily 3 phases of attacks after we went past 3 mins, unreal

02-02-2021, 06:55 PM
2 points infront of Aberdeen and 7 infront of Livi

Cannie believe we've given up on third though https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210202/71fe056294e3ef9c7136933daa5bb763.jpg

Only 3 behind Celtic

ElginHibbie
02-02-2021, 06:56 PM
Not pretty but another 3 points can only increase confidence with 3rd a real possibility now

Crunchie
02-02-2021, 06:56 PM
We are rubbish but it's a rubbish season all round really.
Really? Go have a look at the league table, I don't think I've seen an away record like that in my years supporting Hibs.

hibIBZ
02-02-2021, 06:57 PM
I'm sick to death about this poor run of form we are on, we will never catch the sheep playing like this.

Yeah I really can't stand winning 2 in a row away from home and being third in the league. How can this be allowed to continue?

Are we not on the best run of away games since the 60s or something now?

That was pretty painful apart from a decent spell in the 2nd half which ended by us conceding a needless goal.

With Irvine miles off the standard he's set, we didn't have a midfield. Missed Newell so much and Doidge was dreadful. Ross has got to get them passing the ball, we were going long far too often in the first half. Big improvement when Boyle moved wide, he's never a central striker.

Santa Cruz

And they’ve got a game in hand. Why do we never go for a game in hand

Don’t know anything about the game tonight other than the score but a good 3 points. A goal and an assist from Boyle, seems like he’s finally finding form at just the right time. Particularly with Nisbet not having started the last two games.

Crunchie
Did the ref have a bet on that or something? What was with the extra 90 seconds he felt like adding?

Not like there wasn't a break in play, there were easily 3 phases of attacks after we went past 3 mins, unreal
Was thinking that too, that was blatant cheating. Would love to hear why he did it.

02-02-2021, 06:58 PM

We can all log-off now till the weekend.

Well done Hibs.

beat Aberdeen at the weekend and we’re suddenly favourites for 3rd.

We need to do the sheep on Saturday. Point proven to Nisbet that we don't always need him to win games as well. He needs to knuckle down and start scoring again.

We only started playing when he came on!!

Another struggle to watch, miserable stuff to be honest, but I think that's the case for fans of every club at the moment with no crowds.
Much better to endure awful 90 mins, after awful 90 mins when you are winning though.

We've got an exceptional away record this season, which makes the two utter failures at Hampden, in the matches that mattered the most all the harder to understand.

Magennis came on during injury time.

02-02-2021, 06:59 PM
Good win but made it harder than it should have been, didn't need 3 at the back tonight unless you play a playmaker in there instead of Gogic.

02-02-2021, 06:59 PM
Magennis came on during injury time.

Win and appearance bonuses.

02-02-2021, 07:00 PM
Another great 3 points on the road. We are becoming pretty good at grinding these out :aok:

They just scudded United 5-1 and won at Celtic Park. It isn't a good win it's an excellent win.

Pilrig_Sauzee
Brilliant, well done Hibs. A rank night, 6-pointer type game, exactly tge sort of game we lose. Ross out.

JJP
Great result against a team that has been in really good form. Well done Hibs. Fingers crossed we get a result against Aberdeen at the weekend.

02-02-2021, 07:01 PM
They just scudded United 5-1 and won at Celtic Park. It isn't a good win it's an excellent win.

Precisely.

02-02-2021, 07:02 PM
And they’ve got a game in hand. Why do we never go for a game in hand

It’s against Celtic away, so guaranteed 3 points

02-02-2021, 07:02 PM
That was pretty painful apart from a decent spell in the 2nd half which ended by us conceding a needless goal.

With Irvine miles off the standard he's set, we didn't have a midfield. Missed Newell so much and Doidge was dreadful. Ross has got to get them passing the ball, we were going long far too often in the first half. Big improvement when Boyle moved wide, he's never a central striker.

Cheer up we're in the driving seat for Europe and our first 3rd place finish in donks. If we are getting results but playing poorly we cant really be that fussy

02-02-2021, 07:03 PM
Magennis or Allan should have been on as soon as we went 2 goals up. Our insistence on playing a defensive mid when we should be on the front foot is really frustrating.

nice to get the 3 pts, but you should expect 3 against a team with 10 men. :flag:
3rd place.

Fairly pleased to be in 3rd right now given we've gifted Aberdeen a 6 point hear start with our head to heads.

A win on Saturday v them would be well deserved, although I feel like I go into every game v the sheep feeling that way, very rarely do we come away feeling satisfied.

Magpie
02-02-2021, 07:04 PM

I agree, always expect to get something from the game when you are playing 10 men but we got the win and we are now in 3rd. Aberdeen is the big one for me.