View Full Version : Hibs Vs St Mirren Official Match Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23-12-2020, 06:08 PM
I'm one of Porteous's biggest fans, but he is starting to throw himself to the ground a little too often for me, rather than just defend well and stand strong.

Not sure it's something you can work on rather than an inbuilt thing but Doidge really needs to work on just taking a chance that someone will miss the ball or taking a chance

Is magennis a bit injury prone? Off again tonight with another

Not sure how he got injured, he never did anything?

Not enough for me. Sponsors put better players on the pitch and we have been lacking in that dept over the last few years. Quite a significant improvement recently.

Indeed with another announced today!

23-12-2020, 06:09 PM
That was far too easy there. Hanlon just stands and watches it what’s he doing?

Would be good if Newell / Hallberg chipped in with a goal every so often.

Say what you want about Mallan but he does score occasionally.

Should have been 1-1 - sitter header missed by Saints.

Sitter missed by them.

Breakdown in communication between Hanlon and Porteous and guy walked between them.

Wright for MOTM

Done nothing wrong so far! :greengrin

P.S. Don't fix by removing 'wrong so far'. ;)

Not sure how he got injured, he never did anything?

Might be feeling a bit of muscle tightness somewhere. Not worth the risk if so.

St Mirren should score there. 6 yards out and heads wide.

Theres the warning shot.

Wow what a miss. :greengrin

Dreadful miss thankfully. Doidge passed up a chance to control and finish a minute earlier

Huge chance missed by St Mirren.

23-12-2020, 06:10 PM
Dreadful miss thankfully. Doidge passed up a chance to control and finish a minute earlier

Very difficult chance.

This ref man

Certainly looks like it.

His career has been heavily disrupted by injury so far. Folk can point out how he’s ‘just’ back from a long term injury but he’s been back a while now and still keeps picking them up. It’s a bit concerning.

Players who aren’t injury prone - see SJM, Lewis Stevenson etc usually just come back and seamlessly fit back in.

23-12-2020, 06:11 PM
Very difficult chance.
yep he wasn't expecting it. The dreadful miss I referred to was by the Buddies not Doidge.

23-12-2020, 06:11 PM
Not sure it's something you can work on rather than an inbuilt thing but Doidge really needs to work on just taking a chance that someone will miss the ball or taking a chance

No chance he can do anything about the one I think you are talking about. I did suspect someone would suggest otherwise though.

23-12-2020, 06:12 PM
Huns romping it 0-3
0-1 livvy
2-0 Utd
1-0 celtic

23-12-2020, 06:12 PM

Naw he is jist no back to full match fitness

23-12-2020, 06:13 PM
Stevenson playing very well.

No chance he can do anything about the one I think you are talking about. I did suspect someone would suggest otherwise though.

Some players take the chance that the ball will have missed the defender and are ready for it, as I said that's probably a more inbuilt instinct rather than something you can learn

Don't even need to be a top level player either, I know people who did it

Stevenson playing very well.

He is

Boyle milking that one.

We really need to get a grip here.

Control the game better and actually play some football.

This has been key all season no one dictating the tempo. Newell needs to get on ball and move it side to side.

Game is far too open right now.

23-12-2020, 06:14 PM
Think we defo need another goal here.

Another dive for that fk

Rocky coming off. Barnes stripped.

JXM73
Ofir going off

Rocky injured

Stevenson playing very well.The 20 minutes or so I've watched properly he's been excellent. He's been coming inside fairly often too.

Rocky off

23-12-2020, 06:15 PM
Rocky Off, probably a muscle injury as he tripped over the ball before booting it out of play

Ffs, how many injuries do we have now.

Keeper change for Hibs.

Wonder if he will be ok for Boxing Day ??

murray26
We must have the most unbiased commentators in the world.. fair play.

The 20 minutes or so I've watched properly he's been excellent. He's been coming inside fairly often too.

The pass to Hallberg was perfect and he’s getting all his passes down the line brilliant tonight too. Like a player on the darts who has found his range.

Like the look of Barnes. Big opportunity for him.

23-12-2020, 06:16 PM
We must have the most unbiased commentators in the world.. fair play.

Ken. If I was Goodwin launch it into Barnes 😂

23-12-2020, 06:16 PM
Like the look of Barnes. Big opportunity for him.

Me too.

23-12-2020, 06:17 PM
Marciano gets injured quite a bit for a goalie, is that his 3rd injury in 2 or 3 seasons?

Booking for a foul on Boyle. Pity as it was a great move

Should be a yellow for the foul and a yellow for booting the ball away.

23-12-2020, 06:18 PM
The ref is shocking giving us nothing

Has anyone ever stitched up a kipper?

Should be a yellow for three foul and a yellow for booting the ball away.

Should have been booked for his earlier foul on Boyle too, could be off

Waste of a free kick there.

23-12-2020, 06:19 PM
We constantly waste free kicks from great areas

Not an economical repair these days. I just buy a new one

I know a taxidermist I'll ask him.

23-12-2020, 06:20 PM
Not an economical repair these days. I just buy a new oneBuilt in obsolescence... [emoji848]

So a pull back there, then the player who commits the foul boots the ball away, has their ever been an incidence where 2 yellow cards have been issued in one passage of play?

A kipper is an old term for seamstress

This games getting that horrible feeling about it again!

Struggling to get going second half here. Middle of the park need to get on the ball.

23-12-2020, 06:21 PM
We need to start looking hungrier again. They’re getting far too much space

Front two living off scraps and not many at that!

A kipper is an old term for seamstressHaha. That's nice.

Marciano gets injured quite a bit for a goalie, is that his 3rd injury in 2 or 3 seasons?

He had surgery on a knee around 2016.

He’s had the rib injury which he was out for a while.

This looks like calf injury - cold Scottish winters probably not helping.

Lovely feet there from Newall.

Shankland and McNulty score for utd tonight.

23-12-2020, 06:22 PM

This looks like calf injury - cold Scottish winters probably not helping.

Did he not also have a wrist/finger/hand injury he needed surgery on?

This looks like calf injury - cold Scottish winters probably not helping.It was a finger operation that kept him out last time.

This is progressing eerily similar to as on Saturday.

A kipper is an old term for seamstress

Everyday is a school day on Hibs Net!

We arent creating much this half

23-12-2020, 06:23 PM
Struggling to get going second half here. Middle of the park need to get on the ball.

This is why I think a central midfielder is really needed - we don’t need Gogic on right now we need a player with energy to keep the ball and move it about - Mallan can do that but ideally someone better.

23-12-2020, 06:23 PM

My Dad was a fishmonger, as was his father before him and his father before him, and I can resolutely confirm that the phrase “Stitched up like a kipper” is an invention of speech created by and used only by Cliff Pike :greengrin

23-12-2020, 06:24 PM
The away video seems to be ahead of the home one. Very odd.

My Dad was a fishmonger, as was his father before him and his father before him, and I can resolutely confirm that the phrase “Stitched up like a kipper” is an invention of speech created by and used only by Cliff Pike :greengrinMaybe it's a Pike/Haddock grudge thing.

Porteous with the shocking passing again gives away a corner.

Keeper has done well there after a lapse in concentration from Porto.

Good save Barnes.

23-12-2020, 06:25 PM
Good save by Barnes after a terrible ball from Porteous gives away possession

23-12-2020, 06:25 PM
We need another goal here quick.

They seem to be coming back into this now.

23-12-2020, 06:26 PM
I’d really like us to get a second.

They still seem full of energy and nothing is sticking for us up top just now!

We arent creating much this half

We have no control of the game - as someone else said playing off scraps.

We need someone to get on ball or a leader to get players to actually get involved more as it’s all very passive and disjointed 2nd half.

Obika on and a chance straight away. We definitely need a second goal.

23-12-2020, 06:27 PM
hopefully hold out here

Keeper has done well there after a lapse in concentration from Porto.

it was a crap clearance from the keeper in the first place, then Porto messed up.

Oh ffs we should score

Glad that was offside, great move though

JXM73
Ffs sitter...wasnt offside...

Newell is trying to do everything on his own in the middle of the park here. He's hassling, trying to move the ball, running with it. He needs support in there.

Just as well that was offside

This is looking typical Hibernian all day long like. Griffiths with a great header for Celtic too.

Lucky he’s offside, if that had been Doidge he’d be getting rinsed here for that, offside or not.

omg nisbet missed a sitter there

pheeeeeewww offside

Horrendous miss from both wright and Nisbet

23-12-2020, 06:28 PM
Another sitter missed, albeit offside. Just not clinical enough. :boo hoo:

Porteous is getting forward an awful lot this game.

Newell is trying to do everything on his own in the middle of the park here. He's hassling, trying to move the ball, running with it. He needs support in there.

Can’t believe I’m saying it but I think he’s been great tonight.

23-12-2020, 06:29 PM
Just as well he was offside, was an awful miss...can’t see this finishing 1-0

Another sitter missed, albeit offside. Just not clinical enough. :boo hoo:

Tam said the linesman flagged but I think he just gave a goal kick. Wasn’t even close to offside.

Barnes done really well so far

Stevenson does the hard part then crosses it out the park

23-12-2020, 06:30 PM
St M decide there's a point or 3 to win here, so chuck on some forwards. Hibs midfield and backline to be tested again.

It was not even close to being offside. A horror miss from Nisbet.

A classic Stevenson Cross™. :greengrin

He did very well to get to the ball though.

hibee62
Are we sure Nisbet was given offside and it wasn’t just flagging for the goal kick. If the offside is given its one of the worst decisions I’ve ever seen...

This is why I think a central midfielder is really needed - we don’t need Gogic on right now we need a player with energy to keep the ball and move it about - Mallan can do that but ideally someone better.

Yep. These are the games we have all too often (win lose or draw) where we don’t dominate the middle of the park. Why we persist with 442 (which hinders the middle of the park) I don’t know, but where’s the energy and drive? We haven’t replaced McGinns ability to drive 15 yards forward with the ball. We’re still a work in progress, and getting there, but still lacking in midfield.

23-12-2020, 06:31 PM
5 out of 10 rating of this performance in the 2nd half so far.

Porteous is getting forward an awful lot this game.

Saints only have one up front so gives him a bit more freedom.

PH91
Looked well onside! A terrible miss regardless after a terrible shot!

St Mirren going for it with the subs, hopefully opens them up a bit for us.

23-12-2020, 06:32 PM
Tam said the linesman flagged but I think he just gave a goal kick. Wasn’t even close to offside.

Yup was flagging for goal kick.

newell never touched that guy

JXM73
Are we sure Nisbet was given offside and it wasn’t just flagging for the goal kick. If the offside is given its one of the worst decisions I’ve ever seen...

Clearly flagged for a goal kick...

Saints only have one up front so gives him a bit more freedom.

Odd that we wouldn’t push Stevenson up into midfield in that case.

5 out of 10 rating of this performance in the 2nd half so far.I'm quite enjoying the match.

Stevenson does the hard part then crosses it out the park

He’s been our best player this half.

23-12-2020, 06:33 PM
Here’s the chance for a Doidge scuff finish.

23-12-2020, 06:34 PM
newell never touched that guyHe was hanging off Newell like a Burton's kipper!

#freegullan

Thing is Dodge isn’t doing anything but he’s being left on as he wins headers defensively.

Boyle fouled about 6 times in 10 seconds there. Fair play to the ref for trying to play advantage.

23-12-2020, 06:35 PM
It’s fair to say Hallberg has been great this game. Kinda went unnoticed.

I'm quite enjoying the match.

Yeah me too. If there wasn’t only that nagging doubt of the sucker punch.

Scrappy stuff this.

He was hanging off Newell like a Burton's kipper!

and a cheap suit

Imagine this game with Scott Allan in the middle...hopefully he’s back soon 🤞

Didn’t he get subbed 20 mins back?

23-12-2020, 06:36 PM
This has got the hallmarks of Saturdays game as it stands. Hopefully no sucker punch tonight though.

We really do need to make this ball stick a bit more in final 3rd and try and create something and get a second!

I'm quite enjoying the match.

Seen us play worse but player ratings will all be average / above average. If you were scouting us you would say Nizzy goal and that’s about it.

He’s been good, tidy. So has Newall.

Saints used all their subs.

Saints make what feels like their 8th change of the game.

Great run by Newell. Really unlucky.

He's our MOTM imo.

Didn’t he get subbed 20 mins back?That was Rocky.

23-12-2020, 06:37 PM
That was Rocky.

Where’s he went then? His name has literally not been mentioned in 20 mins.

23-12-2020, 06:37 PM
Yep. These are the games we have all too often (win lose or draw) where we don’t dominate the middle of the park. Why we persist with 442 (which hinders the middle of the park) I don’t know, but where’s the energy and drive? We haven’t replaced McGinns ability to drive 15 yards forward with the ball. We’re still a work in progress, and getting there, but still lacking in midfield.

SJM is the exactly type of player we need but they are rare to find.

But somone who picks up the ball and runs with it / draws fouls / drives others on.

23-12-2020, 06:38 PM
Where’s he went then? His name has literally not been mentioned in 20 mins.Deep.

23-12-2020, 06:38 PM
Great run by Newell. Really unlucky.

He's our MOTM imo.

I’d wait till it’s finished just in case given he gave away the equaliser in the 90th minute v D Utd.

23-12-2020, 06:39 PM
Newell probably our best player today.

Hallberg and Newell done fine but fresh legs needed but he seems reluctant to make same sub mistake as Saturday bringing on Gogic.

That’s a pen

Time to replace Doidge.

Deep.

👍

Stonewall penalty.

Boyle chancing his arm there.

Stonewall penalty turned down for us.

That’s a penalty

Mikey_1875
Thats a pen!

That was a pen.

Decent claim for a pen there.

Good shout for a penalty.

That's a pen

That’s a penalty

How can neither the ref or linesman see that is a penalty?

JXM73
VAR would have given that

23-12-2020, 06:40 PM
How does the linesman not spot that? Stonewall penalty.

RossScott1991
Stevenson has been excellent tonight.

Red card St M

Was that a penalty

That didn’t need VAR, that needed eyes.

Any contempt match official would have too.

booo referee

and linesman

How does the linesman not spot that? Stonewall penalty.

Ref looked at him but linesmen are terrified to make big decisions most of the time.

Clear as day and that would have been a second yellow!

Edit: Bit late but Red card

BuT iT RUins ThE fLoW oF tHE GaME

Bye bye

Sent off at Mirren boy

23-12-2020, 06:41 PM
Wrong striker off for me.

Lovely 10 men for St Mirren. Well done Boyle.

Nice play from Wright.

St Mirren down to ten.

Mikey_1875
Superb from Boyle

Silly challenge when you’re on a booking

Off goes Mason for Saints, second yellow. Boyle diddled him.

Time to replace Doidge.

Why’s that? Odd comment after a brilliant bit of work holding it up and playing Boyle in for what should have been a penalty.

Nothing wrong with anything he’s been doing tonight.

Same linesman who flagged Nisbet offside (even though he missed the sitter) when he was a mile on...never giving us a pen.

Dirty ******* shouldn't have made it to 82 minutes.

Make it count Hibs.

Boyle has been very dangerous tonight and has really picked up his form recently. Big moment getting their RB sent off

Nice play from Wright.

St Mirren down to ten.

Wrights been good

Surely we see this out from here

Off goes Mason for Saints, second yellow. Boyle diddled him.... like a kipper!

same boy that fouled boyle in the box

murray26
23-12-2020, 06:42 PM
Deserved red card there.. ref had no choice

Justice done

I remember Craig Brown once saying that 10 men get an unfair advantage as they try harder. :rolleyes:

murray26
Joe newell has been excellent tonight

23-12-2020, 06:43 PM
I remember Craig Brown once saying that 10 men get an unfair advantage as they try harder. :rolleyes:It also removes the fear of getting a man sent off.

Doidge man the **** you doing there?

Doidge should’ve pulled him down earlier than he did

Right Hibs concentrate and let’s gets this ball moving

Deserved booking for Doidge. Poor play from him again to lose ball in their half and get booked giving away a free kick which will be slung in

Doidge has been poor.

RossScott1991
It’s soo late in the game they are still going to chuck everything forward anyway. Need to get ball and keep it

Joe newell has been excellent tonight

He has been yeah.

what the **** was doige doing there

doidge yellow card, he was all over the boy like a cheap suit

percy veer
Surely we see this out from here

You followed hibs for a while?

23-12-2020, 06:44 PM
Wrights been good

Stitched his defender up like a mackerel

Why’s that? Odd comment after a brilliant bit of work holding it up and playing Boyle in for what should have been a penalty.

Nothing wrong with anything he’s been doing tonight.
Never said he’s been poor but it’s clear he is blowing out his arse. Nothing odd at all.

I genuinely think Drey Wright might be a fullback

I would have taken Doidge off for Gullan too.

But as said before he’s useful for defensive set pieces.

Wrights been good

Been watching as much of him as I can. Tracks back well, been obfuscate where needed, neat passing.

That was poor there. They’ve managed a corner from our throwing on the other side

Poor end to a poor performance from Doidge.

Once again the masters of our own due fall at times.

What the Hell is Doidge doing there. We've got 11 v 10, he's got passes on but gets done and ends up hauling some guy down 50 yds nearer our goal.

And there we have it. Idiot Doidge !!!

JXM73
Are we in throwing it away time yet?

23-12-2020, 06:45 PM
I genuinely think Drey Wright might be a fullback He has the workrate to do it

Red card Hibs.

HendoDelivered
Oh god we are gonna concede arent we

how the **** could boyle not control that ;(

Magpie
Doidge out of the Rangers game.

23-12-2020, 06:46 PM
Doidge off.

Doidge, yer an erse.

Deserved booking for Doidege. Poor play from him again to lose ball in their half and get booked giving away a free kick which will be slung in

Again? It’s a strange thing to try and see fault in players of the team you support just to try and justify your negative thoughts on them.

Doidge off.

That’s ****ing stupid from him. Elbow in the face. Prat.

Doidge off. Poor game and crazy two bookings

Doidge off. ****ing idiot. Leaves us short for a big game Boxing Day.

Doidge out of the Rangers game.

Good

10 men on top

****ing idiot.

Soft red card. But unlucky tbh

WTF is Doidge thinking there? Absolutely mental thing to do.

Does he miss the Rangers game now?

man this is pish why did Ross leave doige on he has been rubbish

**** sake. Bit unlucky from Doidge, see about 20 of those a game.

What the Hell is Doidge doing there. We've got 11 v 10, he's got passes on but gets done and ends up hauling some guy down 50 yds nearer our goal.

And there we have it. Idiot Doidge !!!

To be fair, he’s done what he should, block the guy. Left his arm flailing though, and it’s caught the boys face.

Absolutely crazy from Doidge, terrible discipline.

23-12-2020, 06:47 PM
Again? It’s a strange thing to try and see fault in players of the team you support just to try and justify your negative thoughts on them.

There was fault there. That is why I am seeing it. It has now cost us

Good

Bolt

fs doidge eh, two stupid bookings, is he going home at xmas ?

WTF is Doidge thinking there? Absolutely mental thing to do.

Does he miss the Rangers game now?

Yep.

**** sake. Bit unlucky from Doidge, see about 20 of those a game.Exactly. Didn't look like he struck the guy.

Can we please sign someone who can actually keep the ball under pressure.

Lazy from Doidge- wasn’t an elbow as such just a high arm in the face.

That Doidge and Marciano missing against the Huns ?!

Bolt

No, Doidge can though.

Doidge off.

He should be FINED for that. Complete idiot.

BoltWell said.

No, Doidge can though.
Stop being an arse.

Yep.

Sake. That's a huge blow.

23-12-2020, 06:48 PM
Not been great this. Let’s just hold on before the Rangers game.

5 mins added

Ridiculous from Doidge.

5 minutes added

Need to make a sub here. Get the bus parked

Doidge being out for Ibrox isn't a disaster. We'll have one up front anyway

He should be FINED for that. Complete idiot.

lol what

5 minutes? Where did that come from?

Sort of make the substitution of Nisbet a poor one, should have been Doidge in my opinion. Although we have been playing as if we had the 10 men since their sending off. :rolleyes:

Bolt

I’ve got him on ignore but still see the ****ing nonsense he posts when folk reply, so gonnae no 😂

Doidge off.

It wasn’t an elbow.

Commentators said that but they have to quite a bit wrong during the game like the offside sitter earlier.

23-12-2020, 06:49 PM
Squeaky bum time

5 mins added, for what?

Wright's done well since coming on

It wasn’t an elbow.

Commentators said that but they have to quite a bit wrong during the game like the offside sitter earlier.

Nothing like an elbow

No, Doidge can though.

Usane or what?

Where is 5 mins coming from?

Gogic for Hallberg.

PH91
**** sake. Bit unlucky from Doidge, see about 20 of those a game.

I'm with you, can see why it could be given but very unlucky, he was just trying to hold the guy off.

Wright's done well since coming on

He has. It always feels hes inches away from playing a cracking ball as well. Lively.

23-12-2020, 06:50 PM
Where is 5 mins coming from?

All the freeking subs thats where

23-12-2020, 06:50 PM
easy saying it after the event but...doidge should have been subbed 10 mins before that 2nd card