15-12-2020, 09:03 PM
When is it?
15-12-2020, 09:04 PM
Tomorrow after the huns game.
15-12-2020, 09:12 PM
Assuming they don't get knocked out tomorrow, would you rather have rangers in the semi or the final?
15-12-2020, 09:13 PM
Final for me.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
15-12-2020, 09:14 PM
Take it as it comes. We'll beat them in either game :wink:
15-12-2020, 09:14 PM
Assuming they don't get knocked out tomorrow, would you rather have rangers in the semi or the final?
Semi for me. We've knocked them out at Hamden in the semi before.
15-12-2020, 09:15 PM
Cmon the pars
15-12-2020, 09:18 PM
I think we might've beat them at Hampden in a final before too :wink:
15-12-2020, 09:32 PM
That was the old team mate...
15-12-2020, 09:32 PM
I think we might've beat them at Hampden in a final before too :wink:
Not in this competition. I'd rather just avoid them in the semi though. They will be under a lot of pressure to win their first trophy and if they slip up in the League then and have Celtc putting pressure on it could work for us. We need to get through the semi first and as one of the teams targets was to get to a final it would be nice to reach at least one.
15-12-2020, 09:35 PM
Not in this competition. I'd rather just avoid them in the semi though. They will be under a lot of pressure to win their first trophy and if they slip up in the League then and have Celtc putting pressure on it could work for us. We need to get through the semi first and as one of the teams targets was to get to a final it would be nice to reach at least one.
That's a very good point. It's one thing playing well and getting to finals but another thing winning them. Rangers have a bit of a monkey on their shoulder with that.
Magpie
15-12-2020, 09:40 PM
Livi or County for me, we are due both revenge at hampden.
15-12-2020, 09:45 PM
County would be a good draw. St Mirren would be better
AdidasHibernian
15-12-2020, 11:39 PM
Anyone apart from Rangers in Semi for me.
Hopefully they wobble if they get through in league before Semi is due to be played which might cause an upset in cup and knock them of there stride.
16-12-2020, 01:45 AM
Ross County would be amazing. Super Js hard Rangers shan Livi we would lose by a pen you can guarantee it.
SingaporeHibs
16-12-2020, 02:45 AM
1991, no one gave us a chance in the Semi final against the Rangers and that really was a very good side. Absolutely no reason we can’t beat this team whether it’s the semi or the final. Believe in ourselves and have proper go at them.
16-12-2020, 06:25 AM
Avoid Rangers if they win tonight which think will be a hard game for them. Winner of Livi Ross county tie would be ideal.
16-12-2020, 06:26 AM
St Mirren plzzzzzzzzzzzz
16-12-2020, 08:04 AM
I think we have only lost to rangers at Hampden once since 1979
Edit: neutral venue, rather than Hampden
baker1959
16-12-2020, 08:08 AM
When was that?
16-12-2020, 08:13 AM
When was that?
October 1993
jonny
16-12-2020, 08:18 AM
October 1993
That game was at Celtic Park mate.
16-12-2020, 08:18 AM
That game was at Celtic Park mate.
Ah well even better :greengrin
16-12-2020, 08:21 AM
And we're unbeaten against the new club.
16-12-2020, 08:24 AM
The final would be after their 2nd leg in the Europa league
Newry Hibs
16-12-2020, 08:25 AM
We've not done too well in the 'revenge at Hampden' stakes though....
16-12-2020, 08:26 AM
Surprising as it sounds, Hibs have an incredible record against Der Hun* in semi-finals (I think 7 wins and 1 defeat)
* In all their various forms
16-12-2020, 08:48 AM
If the draw is after the game tomight, it will be close to 22:30 before we know
Magpie
16-12-2020, 11:33 AM
If Rangers lose we will be the bookies favourites to win and I still wouldn’t feel confident 😕
tynehibs
16-12-2020, 11:52 AM
Surprising as it sounds, Hibs have an incredible record against Der Hun* in semi-finals (I think 7 wins and 1 defeat)
* In all their various forms
If you include dryborough cup its 9 out of 10 wins since 47/48, only loss being 70/71 SC, and that was after a replay !
16-12-2020, 12:02 PM
If you include dryborough cup its 9 out of 10 wins since 47/48, only loss being 70/71 SC, and that was after a replay !
After 2 replays, and as blatant a penalty as you will see not given, and the agony of an own goal from my hero
baker1959
16-12-2020, 12:20 PM
After 2 replays, and as blatant a penalty as you will see not given, and the agony of an own goal from my hero
You're getting the 1979 final mixed up with the 1971 semi-final
16-12-2020, 12:38 PM
You're getting the 1979 final mixed up with the 1971 semi-final
So I am. I thought we were talking finals. 🙄
16-12-2020, 07:44 PM
That's a great stat
We’ll get the huns in the semi
16-12-2020, 08:43 PM
We’ll get the huns in the semi
They have to win yet 2 1 down and 5 mins to go
Spoke too soon
16-12-2020, 08:55 PM
Let's win the ****er.
16-12-2020, 08:56 PM
Is the draw on the radio?
16-12-2020, 08:56 PM
Hibs will now be favourites, an unusual position at this stage.
Lovely [emoji4] some reverse psychology worked finally [emoji1787]
Topographic Hibby
16-12-2020, 09:01 PM
Hibs will now be favourites, an unusual position at this stage.
Much as I welcome an OF exit, Hibs being favourites at SF stage is not really a position that brings much joy. A sense of dread of Livi 04 all over again...
green with envy
16-12-2020, 09:03 PM
Much as I welcome an OF exit, Hibs being favourites at SF stage is not really a position that brings much joy. A sense of dread of Livi 04 all over again...
Deary f....n me
Newry Hibs
I suspect premier sport might just post the draw on twitter at some point if they can be bothered now their two pets are out.
HibbyDave
Are we the warm ball or the cold one?
Spoke too soon
Spoke too soon about speaking too soon!
Don’t want livi in the final bad memories from that day [emoji24]
16-12-2020, 09:07 PM
craig LeVain on sportsound the now has spoiled my night a tad
16-12-2020, 09:08 PM
We were favourites in the 2007 ST stage and we won that.
Cat Stanton
16-12-2020, 09:10 PM
craig LeVain on sportsound the now has spoiled my night a tad
He's such a pathetic big wean.
16-12-2020, 09:10 PM
First time for a semi-final draw there is no real preference who we get.
Get some good January additions and we have a great chance to win a cup. All other teams will be thinking the same
16-12-2020, 09:11 PM
IF Hibs are favourites, I don't think it's by much. All the other sides have done well and have just as good a chance of winning it.
Still have to get past the semi-final.
16-12-2020, 09:12 PM
Are we going to get a draw any time soon?
Davy Mac
No class Levein, Craig you are prize plum.
The cup is now anybody’s. I thought Rangers name was on it. Exciting.👍
berwickhibee
I want Livi, then st mirren in final.
16-12-2020, 09:13 PM
WTF has happened to Radio Scotland? Seems to have gone off air?
Whats he said/done now? Or was that just a general comment :greengrin
What did he say?
16-12-2020, 09:14 PM
So long as we avoid hearts. 😁💔
IF Hibs are favourites, I don't think it's by much. All the other sides have done well and have just as good a chance of winning it.
We're at least 10 points ahead of all the other side's, with a positive record against all them recently. We're definitely favourites.
SQHib
What did levain say ?
16-12-2020, 09:15 PM
Have a word of course we are the favourites. We are by far the best team of the 4 left in the competition and its ours to win going by the form book.
I'm not saying we will win it but we are deffo now the favourites and we need to make the most of this opportunity now
Davy Mac
16-12-2020, 09:16 PM
Whats he said/done now? Or was that just a general comment :greengrin
On the Beeb just now he was asked who are the favourites to win and he talked about the three other teams and he admitted he couldn't say Hibs. No class
Is this semi final draw ever happening or have Premier Sports gone in the huff?
Magpie
We're at least 10 points ahead of all the other side's, with a positive record against all them recently. We're definitely favourites.
Definitely. I will be disappointed if we don’t go on to win it from here.
Magpie
Is this semi final draw ever happening or have Premier Sports gone in the huff?
Where’s slippy G?
16-12-2020, 09:17 PM
I want Livi, then st mirren in final.
I am happy with A team in the Semi and A team in the Final, and A big whopping party after.. A Mass Zoom party if we are still in the shaft with Covid?
16-12-2020, 09:17 PM
Have a word of course we are the favourites. We are by far the best team of the 4 left in the competition and its ours to win going by the form book.
I'm not saying we will win it but we are deffo now the favourites and we need to make the most of this opportunity now
Yes, but the Huns were thinking the exact same before 90+2 :greengrin
16-12-2020, 09:18 PM
SFA have gone home now there team is out..no draw tonihht
Cat Stanton
What did he say?
Just juvenile twattedness. "Craig, are you tipping Hibs?" "Sorry, I think the line's gone dead".
Ha ha ha. Nurse, nurse, my sides etc. Hardly a big deal but as a paid pundit, he should be able to rise above childishness and give a sensible, informed, opinion.
He's a very, very immature individual.
On the Beeb just now he was asked who are the favourites to win and he talked about the three other teams and he admitted he couldn't say Hibs. No class
Hahaha the bitterness just rips out of him. We are still a thorn in his side clearly and the mere mention of hibs has him foaming at the mouth :greengrin
Beautiful!
GIRFUY ya classless loser :na na:
To be fair he did talk about us as well.. but it was clear he wanted to avoid admitting we are favourites for it now.
16-12-2020, 09:20 PM
To be fair he did talk about us as well.. but it was clear he wanted to avoid admitting we are favourites for it now.
He couldn't just remember the name of those round shiny things that winning players get on a lanyard if they win a cup. Never seen one before in his life.
No, we're Hibs, and Hibs are never favourites in cups.
It's a very dangerous position to be in.
WTF has happened to Radio Scotland? Seems to have gone off air?A Weedgie huff
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
16-12-2020, 09:21 PM
Who do we all all want?
All 3 very difficult teams to beat and will likely try and catch us on the counter with chucking 10 men behind the ball.
We’ve got to fancy our chances though. Hopefully it sparks some players to up their game too now knowing there’s a real chance of a trophy - they’ll be desperate to get in the team.
Would you accept that we are the bookies favourite?
SJNB Hibby
Don’t want livi in the final bad memories from that day [emoji24]
Oh come on, we couldn't possily lose to them twice in finals:boo hoo:
We really have to centre on Slippys ego for another couple of minutes before we get the ****ing draw.
Sportsound down?
16-12-2020, 09:22 PM
SFA have gone home now there team is out..no draw tonihht
[emoji23]
Was the wee greeting faced hun masquerading as the SFA head of security for the cup final scheduled to do the draw and meet Slippy afterwards?
16-12-2020, 09:22 PM
Sportsound down?
They've gone in the huff now that Der Hun are out.
SJNB Hibby
16-12-2020, 09:23 PM
Who do we all all want?
All 3 very difficult teams to beat and will likely try and catch us on the counter with chucking 10 men behind the ball.
We’ve got to fancy our chances though. Hopefully it sparks some players to up their game too now knowing there’s a real chance of a trophy - they’ll be desperate to get in the team.
Livvy...dont know why, but we've beaten them easily. Got a Buddies friend, so would like to see them reach the final....ergo, Hibs v Livi, Sainties v Sainties
Hibs v Buddies final
16-12-2020, 09:23 PM
Yes, we were favourites in 2007 and won 5-1. It's not dangerous at all. It's ****ing brilliant.
16-12-2020, 09:24 PM
Hurry up, draw folk. My phone's almost out of battery.
Santa Cruz
Sportsound down?
I think so. Hibs for the cup anyway
SJNB Hibby
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/808314257024630784/2mUg_6Jh_bigger.jpg
(https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweet embed%7Ctwterm%5E1339331836510658561%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ct wcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F55288268)Tom English
@TEnglishSport
(https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweet embed%7Ctwterm%5E1339331836510658561%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ct wcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F55288268)
No offence to Celtic and Rangers, but that semi-final line-up is absolutely tremendous for Scottish football
6:09 PM · Dec 16, 2020 (https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1339331836510658561?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1339331836510658561%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F55288268)
16-12-2020, 09:25 PM
Draw after the break.
Just juvenile twattedness. "Craig, are you tipping Hibs?" "Sorry, I think the line's gone dead".
Ha ha ha. Nurse, nurse, my sides etc. Hardly a big deal but as a paid pundit, he should be able to rise above childishness and give a sensible, informed, opinion.
He's a very, very immature individual.
awk that sounds harmless enough to be fair. Not Leveins biggest fan but a bit of hearts banter is no big deal.
Wakeyhibee
Who do we all all want?
Any really, St Johnstone are probably the toughest. But you're right we have a great chance if we take it.
16-12-2020, 09:26 PM
No. We most definitely will be favourites to win the league cup now.
It’s not arrogance or complacency. Just a fact.
green with envy
16-12-2020, 09:26 PM
Yes, we were favourites in 2007 and won 5-1. It's not dangerous at all. It's ****ing brilliant.
And when beat Dunfermline.
16-12-2020, 09:27 PM
The game finished half an hour ago, where the **** is the draw?
After the break.
Any Hibs fan with maturity and experience knows it.
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/808314257024630784/2mUg_6Jh_bigger.jpg
(https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweet embed%7Ctwterm%5E1339331836510658561%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ct wcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F55288268)Tom English
@TEnglishSport
(https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweet embed%7Ctwterm%5E1339331836510658561%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ct wcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F55288268)
No offence to Celtic and Rangers, but that semi-final line-up is absolutely tremendous for Scottish football
6:09 PM · Dec 16, 2020 (https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1339331836510658561?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1339331836510658561%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F55288268)
Two-faced, smarmy Jambo barsteward. Who’s interested in his opinion?
16-12-2020, 09:28 PM
The best part of all this is how raging the absolute cowboys @PremierSportsTV will be that they have to show three matches not involving Rangers or Celtic.
Rather enjoyed this tweet. 😄
awk that sounds harmless enough to be fair. Not Leveins biggest fan but a bit of hearts banter is no big deal.
Still makes him a smelly, jakey, charisma free, weak stomached, never won a thing in his life, latte drinking, Simply Red listening, shat his pants at Dens Park Jambo tramp though.
No slippy G interview ?
How long does it take to draw 4 baws out of a bag?
Any Hibs fan with maturity and experience knows it.
How much maturity?
16-12-2020, 09:29 PM
They’re having to cool down and change the balls.
Has anyone got access to the Mickey Mouse Channel with televising rights?
Half an hour had passed without a hint of what is going on.
On now.
It’s not dangerous really. It’s better than being out or playing someone better than us. We don’t have a great record, on the whole, from either of those positions either. 😄
16-12-2020, 09:30 PM
Livingston v St Mirren
Hibs v St Johnstone
16-12-2020, 09:30 PM
Livi v St M
St J v Hibs
16-12-2020, 09:31 PM
A Rangers pundit would never say it about Celtic or vice versa. The BBC pundits NEVER joke like that but with every Hibs/Hearts discussion their pundits are like ****ing court jesters.
The tie we didn't want.
The game finished half an hour ago, where the **** is the draw?They're just retrospectively introducing VAR to Scottish football and checking on slippy Steve's phone to see if St Mirrens 3 goals can be chalked off for offside, and to find out WTF happened to Sevco's penalty.
ABZHFC
St J, I'll take that
16-12-2020, 09:32 PM
St Johnstone always a tough one for us. Fingers crossed M
St Johnstone always a tough one for us. Fingers crossed!
The tie we didn't want.
Really?
a winnable but very tough game, st.johnstone will fancy it as well....mon the cabbage
The tie we didn't want.
Didn’t we?
Santa Cruz
Who did hearts get
16-12-2020, 09:33 PM
We are 100% favourites now.
Every Hibs fan will still be nervous though, probably even more so as if it was a Celtic or Rangers it’s a free hit as they say.
You don’t need to go back too far to when we played Ross County in the final and they got a last minute goal. We were a championship side but still favourites imo.
Really hope Jack and the boys can pull it out the bag. That plus Europe would be unbelievable.
mayo hibee
The tie we didn't want.
Don't think it's any better or worse than St Mirren who were excellent tonight and will go on and have a decent season. Might have marginally preferred Livingston but not much in it really.
The tie we didn't want.
Disagree. St Mirren will be flying with confidence and very much fancy our chances on a big pitch Vs St J. Bring them on.
Should beat them but it's the toughest draw we could have got.
St Johnstone's often a difficult game for us.
Livi v St M
St J v Hibs
The toughest of the games possible but we’ll have a chance if we are on form.
That's the one I didn't want - doesn't make a blind bit of difference really, but they'll think they're due us one after the 2007/2016 semis.
16-12-2020, 09:34 PM
The tie we didn't want.
Why?
Magpie
If we beat St Johnstone we are playing Livi or St Mirren in a cup final. Here’s hoping.
If our next three league games were Livingston, St Mirren and St Johnstone we would be disappointed if we didn't take 9 points.
Livingston v St Mirren
Hibs v St Johnstone
Woohoo!
We managed to avoid Rangers, Celtc, Aberdeen and Hearts in the next round!
SJNB Hibby
The tie we didn't want.
If Der Hun had beaten the Buddies, we'd be quite happy
Definitely. I will be disappointed if we don’t go on to win it from here.
Been a Hibs fan long have you? [emoji3] BTW I agree with your comment.
16-12-2020, 09:35 PM
The tie we didn't want.
we’ll be fine. Relax.
Hardest game we could have got. Bring it on.
The tie we didn't want.
???? Great to get any of those teams in a semi final.
The tie we didn't want.
Surely we can beat st Johnstone to a final, surely !!
Despite hibs being hibs, with the right preparation and attitude surely hibs will come out on top.
Wakeyhibee
The tie we didn't want.
Wouldn't say that, will be a tough one no doubt but we are well capable on our day. It's down to us.
At Tynie please
16-12-2020, 09:36 PM
Well I have good memories of a Semi-Final against St Johnstone.
I would prefer St Mirren in the Final to Livingston.
St J.
7th best team in the league.
Wonder if Ron will allow us to bring a new player during the window to give the team a wee boost for the Semi Final
Hopefully Magennis and Murphy at full pelt by then.
DJ HIBBY
Surely we can beat st Johnstone to a final, surely !!
Despite hibs being hibs, with the right preparation and attitude surely hibs will come out on top.
Last 2 league cup finals we have reached we have beaten st Johnstone in semi final
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/131896736_3874728875873517_1688669278649184576_n.j pg?_nc_cat=101&ccb=2&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=eNz3xAyhJQAAX85VH2L&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=e31355cad72b5339cfccc007ccc71abc&oe=6000A50C
Wasn’t fussed who we got. Never get a better chance of a trophy than this.
SJNB Hibby
Interesting fact....we've lost more LC finals than the other 3 have been in 7-6:confused::confused:
16-12-2020, 09:37 PM
At Tynie please
Why? Won't be any fans wherever it is.
Cat Stanton
Will semis (and final?) only be on Premier sports?
Having overdone the hospitality I have largely no memory of it.
16-12-2020, 09:38 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/131896736_3874728875873517_1688669278649184576_n.j pg?_nc_cat=101&ccb=2&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=eNz3xAyhJQAAX85VH2L&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=e31355cad72b5339cfccc007ccc71abc&oe=6000A50C
Craig David's aged badly.
SJNB Hibby
At Tynie please
:wink::wink:
If you were told at the beginning of the season you were playing St Johnstone in the LC semi and if we win it would be either St Mirren or Livi in the final I think we would have been delighted. Every tie is hard but I’ll take that 👍
Disagree. St Mirren will be flying with confidence and very much fancy our chances on a big pitch Vs St J. Bring them on.
I fancy us too, but I just point out that the pitches at Hampden and ER are smaller than at MacDermidden Park! ER and Hampden have exactly the same size pitch.
Couldn't care less who we got in the draw.
They're all potentially tough games in different ways, not convinced any one is tougher than the other, but they're all preferable to Celtic, Rangers or Aberdeen.
I'd want Hibs in the semi finals of a competition with St Mirren, St Johnstone and Livingston every day of the week.
The tie we didn't want.
We are the one that the rest didn't want
16-12-2020, 09:39 PM
Get it right roond him. Dirty hun *******!
Hopefully we can bookend Celtic's 12 trophies in a row.
16-12-2020, 09:40 PM
Can we play it at Tynecastle? We’ve beat them there in at least two league cup semi’s I can think of.
Interesting fact....we've lost more LC finals than the other 3 have been in 7-6:confused::confused:
We've also won more league cups than all 3 combined.
Craig David's aged badly.
If that’s his puss when Rangers have just equalised, I wonder what it was like at the final whistle.
St Johnstone is a tough game, but probably good in a way that we drew them because i think, of all the teams left, they’re the ones we were least likely to take lightly.
SJNB Hibby
16-12-2020, 09:41 PM
We've also won more league cups than all 3 combined.
Hopefully thats still true in April:agree:
Is the game definately at Hampden or will it be moved to Tynie like our last two against them? Suspect the former as unlikely to be fans allowed at the game in any case.
16-12-2020, 09:42 PM
If that’s his puss when Rangers have just equalised, I wonder what it was like at the final whistle.
Got caught price fixing on Monday
Watched the Hibs go through on Tuesday
We got pumped out the cup on Wednesday
And Thursday and Friday and Saturday
Chilled on Sunday
Prefer to think of it as sharing every available trophy with them since mid 2016.
Knockout fixtures of Dundee, Alloa and now St J in the semi-final with a potential final against either St Mirren or Livi .... go and grab it Hibs. Don’t let us down again
16-12-2020, 09:43 PM
It would be fabulous if at the end of the season we were still one of only three teams to win a major cup in Scotland since 2016.
EuanH78
That's the one I didn't want - doesn't make a blind bit of difference really, but they'll think they're due us one after the 2007/2016 semis.We're a funny lot as fans.
On the one hand we have some going on about historically failing as favourites re: livvy, Ross county.
On the other it's, St Johnstone are due us one after we've put them out in two semi finals previously.
Is there any circumstances where we're not looking for the harbingers of doom?
Sent from my J8210 using Tapatalk
Please can this happen.
Chance for Lewis to add to his League Cup winners, Scottish Cup winners and Scotland cap?
Suppose the semi will be at Tinycastle giving Budge another 5 minutes in the spotlight.
16-12-2020, 09:44 PM
Well, as dark winter Wednesday nights go that was pretty good!
16-12-2020, 09:45 PM
We're a funny lot as fans.
On the one hand we have some going on about historically failing as favourites re: livvy, Ross county.
On the other it's, St Johnstone are due us one after we've put them out in two semi finals previously.
The Covid vaccine might be a dud. Will that do?:greengrin
16-12-2020, 09:45 PM
We are Hibs fans. I wouldn’t expect anything less.
Can’t relax until the trophy is lifted by SDG.
16-12-2020, 09:46 PM
We'll need to be on it in the semi. St Johnstone played us well at ER and might feel a bit aggrieved not to have won the game. They have had a good run of late. We are favourites and rightly so but it's no gimme and neither will the final be should we get there.
It's a great chance to win a trophy and as fans we can get as carried away as we like. I'm sure the manager will have the players feet well on the ground though. Tonight is proof that you have to earn every victory.
Argylehibby
Our record against St. Johnstone at homes not great but away from home it's been better. 4-1 after Hecky was sacked, 1-0 earlier in the season with last minute penalty. We were drawn as the away team :wink:
It would be fabulous if at the end of the season we were still one of only three teams to win a major cup in Scotland since 2016.
Who’s the third?
16-12-2020, 09:47 PM
Beating Livingston in the final would put a few ghosts to rest. Still hurts.
16-12-2020, 09:49 PM
Should we still have a virtual squabble over ticket allocation numbers if no fans are allowed in, to try and keep it as real as possible?
16-12-2020, 09:50 PM
St Johnstone/Hibs League Cup Semi Final
Always reminds me of the game in 2007, when we won 3-1 but it's not the score line that springs to mind.
Who remembers the streaker who rang out from the St Johnstone end but when running back, mistimed his jump and landed a leg each side of one of the crash barriers - I think the whole crowd winched lol
Really, Ross County and Livingston were in better positions than us in those finals I think.
Since I’ve been going to finals we’ve largely won against teams lower placed in Dunfermline and Kilmarnock, won once against a team better placed - Rangers and lost against Celtic twice, Hearts, Aberdeen, Ross County and Livingston who were higher placed.
Why? Won't be any fans wherever it is.Because weve beaten them there before
SJNB Hibby
16-12-2020, 09:51 PM
Who’s the third?
Ross County----odd statistic to raise
16-12-2020, 09:52 PM
Should we still have a virtual squabble over ticket allocation numbers if no fans are allowed in, to try and keep it as real as possible?I'll do time if I don't not get a ticket and some fairweather fan who only turns up for cup finals in a half and half scarf doesn't get one before I don't.
16-12-2020, 09:53 PM
Ross County----odd statistic to raise
Oh yeah, prefer to start the count after that!
Santa Cruz
16-12-2020, 09:53 PM
Sorry if I’ve missed this but when are the games played
16-12-2020, 09:54 PM
Sorry if I’ve missed this but when are the games played
Weekend of 23rd January
Should we still have a virtual squabble over ticket allocation numbers if no fans are allowed in, to try and keep it as real as possible?
I'm sure our resident hibs.net logistics coordinator can run some virtual buses too
Santa Cruz
Weekend of 23rd January
Thanks
16-12-2020, 09:57 PM
get those loyalty points sorted before you leave leeann hen
Criswell
16-12-2020, 09:59 PM
I am not sure we did get the toughest draw. I don't think there is much difference between the 3 other teams. Although, St Mirren must feel their name's on the trophy after beating Aberdeen and Rangers. We've got a chance but it won't be easy.
16-12-2020, 10:00 PM
The talk about who we wanted and got in the semi final is understandable but at the end of this pleasant evening, I’m just delighted to be one of the four diddy clubs left in the diddy cup. Up you ...... Rangers, Celtic and Hearts.
16-12-2020, 10:01 PM
I am not sure we did get the toughest draw. I don't think there is much difference between the 3 other teams. Although, St Mirren must feel their name's on the trophy after beating Aberdeen and Rangers. We've got a chance but it won't be easy.
We beat Celtic and Rangers en route to the Livi final.......
St Johnstone/Hibs League Cup Semi Final
Always reminds me of the game in 2007, when we won 3-1 but it's not the score line that springs to mind.
Who remembers the streaker who rang out from the St Johnstone end but when running back, mistimed his jump and landed a leg each side of one of the crash barriers - I think the whole crowd winched lol
Thing I remember about that semi at tynie was how small the turnstiles were in the main stand never mind how cramped and claustrophobic the stairwells were, before I even wedged myself into my seat and I’m only 11stone [emoji23] Lloyd Quinnan was a good sport at half time gave us a few chuckles [emoji2960] and I got to say hi to old mae! Good memories [emoji1]
16-12-2020, 10:05 PM
Last time we won the league cup, hearts were the Scottish cup holders....
:duck:
16-12-2020, 10:06 PM
I think tonights result will do Celtic the world of good for Sunday
It's a great opportunity to give SDG and DMc to become dual cup winners if we are 3/0 up with 15 mins to go in the final to join Louis the legend. 💚
16-12-2020, 10:08 PM
I’ve never believed in omens.
gaz1875
16-12-2020, 10:09 PM
All 4 semi finalist are inform teams at this present time, so anyone's cup.
16-12-2020, 10:09 PM
It's a great opportunity to give SDG and DMc to become dual cup winners if we are 3/0 up with 15 mins to go in the final to join Loius the legend. 💚
Maybe not joining as Lewis would move to 3...
Edit: Ignore, see what you mean in winning both.
It's a great opportunity to give SDG and DMc to become dual cup winners if we are 3/0 up with 15 mins to go in the final to join Louis the legend. 💚
+Paul our Captain of course.
16-12-2020, 10:10 PM
Paul Hanlon deserves to be in this select group🤞
gaz1875
16-12-2020, 10:10 PM
I think tonights result will do Celtic the world of good for Sunday
That came to mind with me, big boost as the Huns looked likely treble winners.
16-12-2020, 10:11 PM
Paul Hanlon deserves to be in this select group🤞
Or 3 brothers to win a cup for the same club ...
16-12-2020, 10:11 PM
+Paul our Captain of course.
And Boyle
And Boyle
Could be Marv that becomes a dual cup winner.
16-12-2020, 10:16 PM
We should get 3/4 of the empty seats...we have more cut outs than the other 3 combined
16-12-2020, 10:21 PM
Last time we won the league cup, we beat St Johnstone in the semi final 👍😁
Pilrig_Sauzee
16-12-2020, 10:25 PM
My other half was so excited when I explained the semi-final news that she almost stopped eating her bag of crisps. This evening could herald a significant change of fortunes for Hibs and myself.
16-12-2020, 10:26 PM
I’ve always believed in omens👍
16-12-2020, 10:27 PM
Last time we lost in the final we also beat St Johnstone in the semi final :greengrin
Magpie
16-12-2020, 10:28 PM
My other half was so excited when I explained the semi-final news that she almost stopped eating her bag of crisps. This evening could herald a significant change of fortunes for Hibs and myself.
HibeesLA
16-12-2020, 10:30 PM
We should get 3/4 of the empty seats...we have more cut outs than the other 3 combined
Imagine if they actually took the cutouts along to the national stadium for the game!
16-12-2020, 10:34 PM
Is the game definately at Hampden or will it be moved to Tynie like our last two against them? Suspect the former as unlikely to be fans allowed at the game in any case.
There's no chance of fans being at the game, it's being played next month.
It will be at Hampden.
Radge70
16-12-2020, 10:39 PM
Worthwhile mentioning that the Huns result also removes the possibility of Jamie Murphy having to sit it out against his parent club. Similar style to when we unexpectedly had Hendo and Stokes available for the 2016 Scottish Cup final.
16-12-2020, 10:40 PM
Why?
We haven’t beaten them this season, two draws. A decent team and a tough tie, winnable but no certainty, we’ll have to be at top of our game.
Superfurry72
16-12-2020, 10:46 PM
We haven’t beaten them this season, two draws. A decent team and a tough tie, winnable but no certainty, we’ll have to be at top of our game.
We beat them 1-0 in Perth
16-12-2020, 10:47 PM
We beat them 1-0 in Perth.
16-12-2020, 10:47 PM
Yes we have, we won 1-0 at McDiarmid. Looking more positively, we are unbeaten against St J since 2018, winning 3 and drawing twice.
Yes we will have to be at our best to win, but we should be positive and confident.
16-12-2020, 11:07 PM
Surely these games aren’t on Premier Sports?!?
Please tell me they are on a proper channel.
HibeeHibernian4
16-12-2020, 11:17 PM
Sadly not. Almost zero media or fan scrutiny of the SPFL's decision to sell the rights to a behind paywall channel that almost nobody in Britain has.
Disgraceful stuff really. Another three or four years of it too I think.
16-12-2020, 11:19 PM
I've been quite happy with the Premier Sports coverage on the whole.
Plenty of Hibs games to the pound.
Better pundits than elsewhere.
I'd have no issues with them doing the semi.
Thought I'd be cancelling my subscription after watching the one game I wanted to see in October, have left it on and watched loads since then.
uwxm07
16-12-2020, 11:30 PM
IF we play to our capability and so does everyone else WE WIN this trophy. If we take it like we did 20- 70 mins last night we will loose . It’s about confidence , belief and focus .
JR get it sorted ! No excuses ! We have better players and if we perform over two games we win GGTTH
( but then again .......I’m scared ....)
16-12-2020, 11:32 PM
Looking at Twitter, the feeling amongst St Johnstone fans at drawing us is pretty happy.
Would’ve thought we’d be the last team any of them would’ve wanted to draw. Guess they have nothing to fear really
16-12-2020, 11:34 PM
They hold exclusive rights for the League Cup now.
CloudSquall
16-12-2020, 11:37 PM
Quote from Kickback,
""We’ve missed out on a chance of playing these *******s again and winning this this trophy for the first time in most of our lives. You know who will be getting the blame if they win it.""
Don't tell me we're in with a chance of ending Robbie's Hearts run again? :greengrin
16-12-2020, 11:40 PM
Looking at Twitter, the feeling amongst St Johnstone fans at drawing us is pretty happy.
Would’ve thought we’d be the last team any of them would’ve wanted to draw. Guess they have nothing to fear really
Last week's defeat aside they're in pretty good form, we also don't have the best of records against them so I'd have thought they might fancy their chances.
I'm sure they would have preferred either Livingston or St Mirren though.
plhibs
16-12-2020, 11:44 PM
At Tynie please
Gee i hope you'r joking.
16-12-2020, 11:55 PM
Jamie Murphy will be able to play. Shame his parent club were knocked out. Hopefully we will be playing our nursery team in the final.
16-12-2020, 11:55 PM
Gee i hope you'r joking.Why. We have a great record against them there. I was there
16-12-2020, 11:59 PM
Why. We have a great record against them there. I was there
Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkTwice
17-12-2020, 12:00 AM
It's a semi final with a shot at a winnable final as the reward for the winners and the two teams in the other semi will feel exactly the same. St Johnstone will be well up for it, we have to match their determination and enthusiasm on the day, this is far from a gimmie. Do I really have to remind folk what club they support? Nothing is ever a certainty for us.
I hope the game is at Tynecastle, it's a lot nearer to not go to than Hampden.
King Cosell
17-12-2020, 12:01 AM
I've been quite happy with the Premier Sports coverage on the whole.
Plenty of Hibs games to the pound.
Better pundits than elsewhere.
I'd have no issues with them doing the semi.
Thought I'd be cancelling my subscription after watching the one game I wanted to see in October, have left it on and watched loads since then.
If you click on Cancel Subscription it won't cancel immediately, they'll probably offer you a 3 months for half price deal, that's what I got.
King Cosell
17-12-2020, 12:07 AM
It's a semi final with a shot at a winnable final as the reward for the winners and the two teams in the other semi will feel exactly the same. St Johnstone will be well up for it, we have to match their determination and enthusiasm on the day, this is far from a gimmie. Do I really have to remind folk what club they support? Nothing is ever a certainty for us.
Our wide men won't be as effective on a Subbuteo pitch, Hampden for me.
17-12-2020, 12:14 AM
Our wide men won't be as effective on a Subbuteo pitch, Hampden for me.
Maybe so mate .... but on the other hand Tynecastle is a lucky ground for us when it comes to semi finals.
17-12-2020, 12:47 AM
No they weren't, we had emptied them by then. :agree:
They're the old Irish mafia mob that was sentana. Only interested in the the uglies
but guess what both of them out😂😂😂.
17-12-2020, 01:38 AM
100% this. Worst thing we can do is get over excited. St Johnstone will be a hard game. With the OF out the road there is a massive opportunity for everyone to actually win the cup. They will be massively up for it and we have to be too.
Underestimate anyone at our pearl. This is Hibs we are talking about here after all lol!
17-12-2020, 05:17 AM
It may have been covered elsewhere, but when was the last time that neither of the OF were in the semis of the LC or SC?
17-12-2020, 05:39 AM
It may have been covered elsewhere, but when was the last time that neither of the OF were in the semis of the LC or SC?
LC was 2014 and SC was 2006
17-12-2020, 05:40 AM
Worthwhile mentioning that the Huns result also removes the possibility of Jamie Murphy having to sit it out against his parent club. Similar style to when we unexpectedly had Hendo and Stokes available for the 2016 Scottish Cup final.
Yep potentially very important that.
17-12-2020, 05:40 AM
League Cup was 2013-14 when Aberdeen beat Inverness on pens. Inverness pumped the jambos at ER in the semi 😀
Celtic beaten by Morton, the Huns by Forfar in the 1st round.
17-12-2020, 05:43 AM
:faf::faf:
17-12-2020, 05:56 AM
No cup matches are gimmes, as Hearts and Rangers found v Alloa and St Mirren.
We are comfortably the best side left in the competition but that doesnt mean we will win through to the final or the cup itself.
I am happy that JR and the team will be well prepared, will have considered how St J play and come up with a plan to beat them.
Very dangerous to look too far ahead but there is a huge prize for us if we managed to win the league cup - Hibs winning 2 trophies over the last 5 year period would be visible success and put us further in front of any other club apart from Celtic over the recent period.
That would increase the pressure on the likes of Aberdeen and McInnes and would only be good for us.
17-12-2020, 06:01 AM
LC was 2014 and SC was 2006
League Cup was 2013-14 when Aberdeen beat Inverness on pens. Inverness pumped the jambos at ER in the semi 😀
Celtic beaten by Morton, the Huns by Forfar in the 1st round.
OK Cheers. :aok:
Decent draw for both teams.
We need to go out and show them we are better and win the game.
Something to look forward to though but first it is back to league games.
17-12-2020, 06:30 AM
Kickback -
'Our record in the league cup really is a tad depressing. We really have blew some decent opportunities*in the past so assuming we had beaten Alloa I’d say we were far from a shoe in. The final against st Mirren is the obvious one but didn’t we lose a semi to them 10*year or so ago? Then not to mention the second semi*against Cally*😩'
'We've meekly raised the white flag in quite a few LC semis. Some at ER, Fir Park and Hampden.
Its an appaling record'
King Cosell
17-12-2020, 06:53 AM
Hibs - Evens
Livingston 7/2
St Mirren 7/2
St Johnstone 11/2
17-12-2020, 07:01 AM
i do hope it's at hampden, footballers deserve the chance to play a semi-final/final at the national stadium not a small ground like tinycastle on a subbuteo pitch
17-12-2020, 07:05 AM
A Rangers pundit would never say it about Celtic or vice versa. The BBC pundits NEVER joke like that but with every Hibs/Hearts discussion their pundits are like ****ing court jesters.
yep. More drip, drip, drip big team pish propaganda.
it’s only banter if it’s two ways.
17-12-2020, 07:08 AM
I agree. There should be room in football, especially Edinburgh football, for craic like that.
17-12-2020, 07:10 AM
Seen Hibs make a James Blunt of it too many times to get too excited. St Mirren beat the best side in the country and Aberdeen so they'll fancy their chances againt the remaining teams. St Johnstone are a tough nut to crack as we know all too well. Our chances are obviously better with Rangers out but three trophies in my lifetime is keeping my feet firmly on the ground.
seanshow
17-12-2020, 07:11 AM
Is there a case to speculate financially for an increased chance of a Trophy?
if Mathie/Ross/Gordon have any potential superstar transfer targets lined up :) ... they'll have 22 days in January to get it sorted out.
One CB and One Striker would do it for me.
17-12-2020, 07:19 AM
Is there a case to speculate financially for an increased chance of a Trophy?
if Mathie/Ross/Gordon have any potential superstar transfer targets lined up :) ... they'll have 22 days in January to get it sorted out.
One CB and One Striker would do it for me.
Similar situation when we lost to hearts in the SC in January 2018. We needed strikers prior to that game as we had Shaw and Murray with Stokes on the way out after Portugal incident. We didn’t do anything until later in the month with Kamberi/MacLaren and lost the tie
17-12-2020, 07:43 AM
Woohoo!
We managed to avoid Rangers, Celtc, Aberdeen and Hearts in the next round!
We even managed to avoid Dundee