View Full Version : League cup semi final draw - St Johnstone v Hibs
17-12-2020, 07:46 AM
Last time we had aemifinals of a Cup without The OF, Hearts or Aberdeen ?
17-12-2020, 08:00 AM
If we were offered this draw and either of the other two opponents in the final in any cup in any year we would be delighted. Yes Hibs can blow it but if we turn up on both days and play we win. We have a great chance to win the cup. I’m cautiously optimistic.
17-12-2020, 08:03 AM
2006-07 League Cup. Can't remember who won it that year, sorry.
17-12-2020, 08:03 AM
St.Johnstone is the trickiest draw we couldve got out of those 3. But we still should be winning it and should be winning the final. This is the kind of situation we havent done well in pre 2016 but since then that feeling of inevitability isnt as strong and has been replaced with more confidence. Winning 2 trophies inside 5 years and 2 finals back to back would be a tremendous achievement. Lets take this opportunity because who knows when we will get a better one than this.
King Cosell
17-12-2020, 08:04 AM
Not sure if it's the last time (think it probably is) but 1886/87 Scottish Cup semis were Hibs v Vale of Leven, Dumbarton v Queens Park.
17-12-2020, 08:37 AM
If we don't turn up we don't win. This is a tough game where victory will have to be earned.
17-12-2020, 08:39 AM
Will the games be at Hampden? I'm guessing hosting them elsewhere wouldn't really make sense given no fans.
17-12-2020, 08:39 AM
Seen Hibs make a James Blunt of it too many times to get too excited. St Mirren beat the best side in the country and Aberdeen so they'll fancy their chances againt the remaining teams. St Johnstone are a tough nut to crack as we know all too well. Our chances are obviously better with Rangers out but three trophies in my lifetime is keeping my feet firmly on the ground.
Have Hibs actually made a mess when we've been favourites for the cup going into the semi finals? Certainly not for decades I don't think. Only time we've been favourites going into semis I can remember was 2007. We won both games and an 8-2 aggregate.
17-12-2020, 08:41 AM
Similar situation when we lost to hearts in the SC in January 2018. We needed strikers prior to that game as we had Shaw and Murray with Stokes on the way out after Portugal incident. We didn’t do anything until later in the month with Kamberi/MacLaren and lost the tie
It’s not like that. We had Shaw and Murray then, we really needed a couple of first choice strikers. Now we have Doidge and Nisbet, a far superior couple of strikers and we only need a back up.
I’m not even that convinced we do need one all that badly - Boyle can play up top, Gullan can play up top. We can play one of Doidge or Nisbet up front, with Boyle and Murphy wide.
For me, we only become desperate for a striker if Doidge and Nisbet aren’t available, but that rings true for all positions. If Hanlon and Porteous are out, we need a centre half. If McGinn and Gray are out, we need a right back.
17-12-2020, 08:43 AM
Will the games be at Hampden? I'm guessing hosting them elsewhere wouldn't really make sense given no fans.
I'm not sure if it's been officially confirmed or not but I'm pretty sure they will be.
Livingston v St Mirren would have almost certainly been played at Easter Road if fans had been allowed.
Septimus
17-12-2020, 08:57 AM
Is there a case to speculate financially for an increased chance of a Trophy?
if Mathie/Ross/Gordon have any potential superstar transfer targets lined up :) ... they'll have 22 days in January to get it sorted out.
One CB and One Striker would do it for me.
Maybe we should just buy St. Mirren ?
17-12-2020, 09:01 AM
Maybe we should just buy St. Mirren ?
That's what we've been doing.
17-12-2020, 09:05 AM
Have Hibs actually made a mess when we've been favourites for the cup going into the semi finals? Certainly not for decades I don't think. Only time we've been favourites going into semis I can remember was 2007. We won both games and an 8-2 aggregate.
No but it's not specifically about being favourites at the the semi final stage that the poster was talking about though. We were favourites in the 2004 and 2016 League Cup finals and lost them both. We were favourites in the 2005, 2007 and 2015 Scottish Cup semis and lost them all. We were also favourites in the 2002 League Cup semi and lost that.
That's just in the last 20 years.
17-12-2020, 09:07 AM
No but it's not specifically about being favourites at the the semi final stage that the poster was talking about though. We were favourites in the 2004 and 2016 League Cup finals and lost them both. We were favourites in the 2005, 2007 and 2015 Scottish Cup semis and lost them all. We were also favourites in the 2002 League Cup semi and lost that.
Yup that's exactly the point I ws trying to make. History has tought me not to get ahead of my self (too much).
17-12-2020, 09:12 AM
Yup that's exactly the point I ws trying to make. History has tought me not to get ahead of my self (too much).
We'll be favourites and rightly so, and we're no doubt the opponent that the 3 other semi-finalists wanted to avoid, but each of the 4 remaining clubs are capable of winning 2 matches, thus the cup.
I don't think too many Hibs fans will be getting carried away.
17-12-2020, 09:13 AM
Oh yeah, definitely been disappointments. I don't really know why we were favourites in 2004 though. Livi were a better team than us easily.
I don't really get why folk are so scared though. None of the previous disappointments killed anyone did they. Get excited, we've got a great chance.
17-12-2020, 09:15 AM
Suspect that Livvy and St Mirren are happy enough with the way that the draw has worked out too.
17-12-2020, 09:31 AM
i do hope it's at hampden, footballers deserve the chance to play a semi-final/final at the national stadium not a small ground like tinycastle on a subbuteo pitch
Guaranteed to be at Hampden with no fans allowed. Had fans been allowed, would probably got moved to the PBS, same as the 07 semi against the same team .
17-12-2020, 09:36 AM
We should definitely be looking to add more strength / depth to the squad.
X2 players could really make the difference and be the difference between winning a cup and failing miserably.
January is always tricky to pick up players but surely they can identify players (even on loan ?) to help us win the semi / possible final.
ACLeith
17-12-2020, 10:12 AM
All 4 teams will fancy their chances. Which is great for Scottish football and a welcome change.
17-12-2020, 10:26 AM
On the Beeb just now he was asked who are the favourites to win and he talked about the three other teams and he admitted he couldn't say Hibs. No class
It is a joke of a programme and the fact this clown is even on it shows how puerile it is. Still it shows how much he is hurting after the jambos were pumped by Alloa. Big teams obviously would rather be fighting to win the championship obviously.😂😂😂
17-12-2020, 11:00 AM
With the way Cetic have dominated the cups since our win im sure Ross and the lads are well aware this is a golden opportunity . We blew it in the Scottish cup hopefully that provides the extra motivation to make the most of this .
18Craig75
17-12-2020, 11:26 AM
A few are a bit too sensitive when it comes to Levein. As much as I dislike the man I think he’s been ok on the radio. If you can’t have a bit banter with fans of your rivals then the games gone.
A few are a bit too sensitive when it comes to Levein. As much as I dislike the man I think he’s been ok on the radio. If you can’t have a bit banter with fans of your rivals then the games gone.There is a time and place for "banter". Refusing to talk about Hibs chances of winning this trophy on the national broadcasters main football show is selling Hibs fans short, again.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
17-12-2020, 11:41 AM
There is a time and place for "banter". Refusing to talk about Hibs chances of winning this trophy on the national broadcasters main football show is selling Hibs fans short, again.
Fans who pay a licence fee from which his BBC appearance money comes from. A little bit neutrality however false is required in broadcast. Unprofessional but then expect that from a serial loser like Levein...
17-12-2020, 12:41 PM
A few are a bit too sensitive when it comes to Levein. As much as I dislike the man I think he’s been ok on the radio. If you can’t have a bit banter with fans of your rivals then the games gone.
Totally agree with you, no harm done.
17-12-2020, 01:00 PM
Absolutely.
Fans who pay a licence fee from which his BBC appearance money comes from. A little bit neutrality however false is required in broadcast. Unprofessional but then expect that from a serial loser like Levein...
There's no way that Craig Levein has to show neutrality at all just cos he's on the BBC. You cannae possibly believe he has to fake praise Hibs, just cos some licence fee payers are Hibs fans...honestly...come on :faf:
The sensible solution is to stop paying your license fee
17-12-2020, 01:15 PM
Funny that st Johnstone is a tough draw when it would have been viewed as a cracking draw had sevco got through past st mirren. We’ve no divine right to win just because we are miles ahead of these teams in the league. As the old cliche goes these are one off ties and it’s who turns up on the day. Also you need a wee bit of luck too. We didn’t deserve to lose to Ross county but did so how we play is not as important as just getting the win. Gone from being pleased to be in the semis to now being nervous. Crazy.
17-12-2020, 01:19 PM
I’m all for banter but where is the hibs slant of the banter. There is absolutely zilch. No Craig pareson or Steve Cowan of old and we get Preston at hibs games. I’d love to hear banter but this unquestionably isn’t that and sounds like radio hertz at times. Haven’t listened at all this season and unlikely to again. Just an awful programme.
Brummie_Hibs
17-12-2020, 01:19 PM
Levein has been surprisingly good on the radio. He takes a ribbing from the other presenters (0-6-4), and he handles it and dishes it back.
He's honest and passionate, and I don't care if he can't mention Hibs. A lot of football fans are like that.
I certainly hated him as Hearts and Scotland manager, but there are a lot worse pundits in the media than him.
17-12-2020, 01:20 PM
Levein has been surprisingly good on the radio. He takes a ribbing from the other presenters (0-6-4), and he handles it and dishes it back.
He's honest and passionate, and I don't care if he can't mention Hibs. A lot of football fans are like that.
I cerianly hated him as Hearts and Scotland manager, but there are a lot worse pundits in the media than him.
I agree with that . He’s very listenable. Has taken me completely by surprise.
17-12-2020, 01:29 PM
You want to know about biased? Watch this from last night. Absolute embarrassment this fat state gets anywhere near the coverage of Scottish football.
https://twitter.com/TerenceMunrocfc/status/1339478318266114052?s=09
17-12-2020, 01:53 PM
Craig Levein is a secret Hibs fan.
There’s no way he didn’t mean to stand in front of the “Natural Order” banner and create the photo opportunity that he did.
Yorkshire HFC
17-12-2020, 01:54 PM
I think he's good on the radio - I like some humour and I like pundits who support their clubs.
As for being a loser......... he's played for and managed the team he supports, played for and managed Scotland - and now he gets paid to talk about football. I bet he's pretty happy with how it turned out.
But anyway - let's hope he gets to hear Sunshine on Leith at Hampden in the near future.
There is a time and place for "banter". Refusing to talk about Hibs chances of winning this trophy on the national broadcasters main football show is selling Hibs fans short, again.
Hardly
17-12-2020, 01:59 PM
I think he's good on the radio - I like some humour and I like pundits who support their clubs.
As for being a loser......... he's played for and managed the team he supports, played for and managed Scotland - and now he gets paid to talk about football. I bet he's pretty happy with how it turned out.
But anyway - let's hope he gets to hear Sunshine on Leith at Hampden in the near future.
If he's a Hearts supporter it's only since he played for them. He supported Raith Rovers in his youth.
17-12-2020, 02:01 PM
It would be great if Hibs won the League Cup. It would be crap if Hearts won the Scottish Cup.
andudare2
17-12-2020, 02:08 PM
Oh yeah, definitely been disappointments. I don't really know why we were favourites in 2004 though. Livi were a better team than us easily.
I don't really get why folk are so scared though. None of the previous disappointments killed anyone did they. Get excited, we've got a great chance.
Or the Ross County game as they were a division above us and had turned over Celtic? In semi final.
plhibs
17-12-2020, 02:12 PM
Why. We have a great record against them there. I was there
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
I don't like the smaller field i think it's built to smother good football. Most of all i don't want that mob getting any publicity for their new (half built) excuse of a stand. Lots of other reasons about them that i"m sick of hearing.:greengrin
percy veer
17-12-2020, 03:20 PM
Dont mind banter at all but him like kris boyd are fgood at dishing it out but seeth when it's not one way, Kris boyd is a joke at the moment it may aswell be rangers tv
17-12-2020, 03:36 PM
Can’t listen to him at all. Funnily enough I find derek Ferguson ok even with the accent. Has an interest in clubs outside the top half of the spl and is actually quite knowledgeable. Still the programme is a shadow of the one rob McLean used to host and even in comparison to many club forums is poor fair. Their dissection of hibs games is laughable and any praise is through gritted teeth. It has become so tedious to be not worth listening to.
17-12-2020, 04:29 PM
I certainly hated him as Hearts and Scotland manager, but there are a lot worse pundits in the media than him.
I agree. He doesn’t hide his allegiance and listening to the show last night and I took his reluctance to talk up Hibs chances in the spirit intended. I certainly couldn’t go on national radio and wax lyrical about Hearts!
One of the better pundits, but do agree it would be nice to have some proper Hibs minded guests.
17-12-2020, 04:37 PM
Absolutely.
There's no way that Craig Levein has to show neutrality at all just cos he's on the BBC. You cannae possibly believe he has to fake praise Hibs, just cos some licence fee payers are Hibs fans...honestly...come on :faf:
Eh, sorry but there actually is. Used to work for BBC - impartiality is in their OWN editorial guidelines and forms part of the Ofcom broadcast rules if you want to get pedantic about it. Maybe worth considering how public broadcasting actually works?
17-12-2020, 05:55 PM
Eh, sorry but there actually is. Used to work for BBC - impartiality is in their OWN editorial guidelines and forms part of the Ofcom broadcast rules if you want to get pedantic about it. Maybe worth considering how public broadcasting actually works?
Load of crap, it’s not political news, it’s football chat.
17-12-2020, 06:31 PM
Load of crap, it’s not political news, it’s football chat.
Very good. When it comes down to it with these biased clowns like Preston, English and Levein constantly trying to belittle and discredit Hibs through the BBC, I'm on Hibs side. How about you?
Davy Mac
17-12-2020, 06:57 PM
I agree. He doesn’t hide his allegiance and listening to the show last night and I took his reluctance to talk up Hibs chances in the spirit intended. I certainly couldn’t go on national radio and wax lyrical about Hearts!
One of the better pundits, but do agree it would be nice to have some proper Hibs minded guests.
Sorry, he is paid to comment on Scottish Football, he needs to keep his rivalry open and fair minded, I've met the guy in person numerous times and he's exactly the same - a fud.
Ferguson was the same last night and when he was asked who the favorites are he said - St Mirren, GTF, Paisley Road West is hun central and they are there baby team. No mention of Hibs.
Its still a Glesgie love in BBC Scotland Glasgow, **** BBC, **** Sevco and **** off jambo Levein. :-)
17-12-2020, 06:59 PM
**** the hertz, an **** the bbc
18-12-2020, 06:54 PM
Sorry, he is paid to comment on Scottish Football, he needs to keep his rivalry open and fair minded, I've met the guy in person numerous times and he's exactly the same - a fud.
Ferguson was the same last night and when he was asked who the favorites are he said - St Mirren, GTF, Paisley Road West is hun central and they are there baby team. No mention of Hibs.
Its still a Glesgie love in BBC Scotland Glasgow, **** BBC, **** Sevco and **** off jambo Levein. :-)
Paisley Road West isn’t in Paisley any more than the Glasgow Road is in Glasgow....think you’ll find a fair dislike of the Huns amongst them.
18-12-2020, 07:04 PM
Paisley Road West isn’t in Paisley any more than the Glasgow Road is in Glasgow....think you’ll find a fair dislike of the Huns amongst them.
There is exceptions to the rule. London Road is vastly populated with English bankers. :agree:
18-12-2020, 07:14 PM
Very good. When it comes down to it with these biased clowns like Preston, English and Levein constantly trying to belittle and discredit Hibs through the BBC, I'm on Hibs side. How about you?I do have to refer to the BBC charter from time to time, always a good laugh. A bit like mission statements.
SECTION 4: IMPARTIALITY
4.1 Introduction
4.2 Principles
4.3 Mandatory Referrals
4.4 Practices
Breadth and Diversity of Opinion
Controversial Subjects
News, Current Affairs and Factual Output
Drama, Entertainment and Culture
Contentious Views and Possible Offence
Consensus, Campaigns and Scrutiny
Elections and Referendums
Impartiality in Series and Over Time
Personal View Content
4.1 INTRODUCTION
Impartiality lies at the heart of public service and is the core of the BBC’s commitment to its audiences. It applies to all our output and services - television, radio, online, and in our international services and commercial
magazines. We must be inclusive, considering the broad perspective and
ensuring the existence of a range of views is appropriately reflected.
The Agreement accompanying the BBC Charter requires us to do all we can to
ensure controversial subjects are treated with due impartiality in our news and
other output dealing with matters of public policy or political or industrial
controversy. But we go further than that, applying due impartiality to all
subjects. However, its requirements will vary.
18-12-2020, 07:26 PM
You can cite the BBC Charter all you like but I don’t expect it will have any impact on Levein and Preston. I stopped listening to BBC Raio Scotland many years ago, long before Levein came on the scene and before English went ape****. I was sick of Alan Preston always doing the updates on Hibs matches while he was taking his script on Hearts direct from Vlad the Impaler.
If BBC Radio Scotland want to nail their colours to the Hearts’ mast they can do so without my listening in.
18-12-2020, 07:35 PM
You can cite the BBC Charter all you like but I don’t expect it will have any impact on Levein and Preston. I stopped listening to BBC Raio Scotland many years ago, long before Levein came on the scene and before English went ape****. I was sick of Alan Preston always doing the updates on Hibs matches while he was taking his script on Hearts direct from Vlad the Impaler.
If BBC Radio Scotland want to nail their colours to the Hearts’ mast they can do so without my listening in.I cited it for info and my view is exactly the same as yours.
As far as Scottish football is concerned they're falling short of their own mighty words.
Probably paid consultants millions to come up with them as well.
19-12-2020, 11:47 AM
BBC have been falling short of their own standards for years, look at the one sided biased attacks they do at the expense of the SNP. They dont even bother to have sly digs, in your face. They have already been called out by OFCOM they should also be called out for their pathetic biased football coverage in Scotland.
21-12-2020, 05:23 PM
Would this not be a good idea for the Betfred Cup Semis or finals?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55403324
LeithMike
21-12-2020, 05:59 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55403324Definitely. I think I would push back the final as late as possible and there must be a huge commercial interest in doing so.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
hibbytam
21-12-2020, 06:57 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55403324
Seems sensible. I'm not sure if Scottish football does sensible though
LeithMike
21-12-2020, 07:43 PM
Seems sensible. I'm not sure if Scottish football does sensible thoughThey gave the Scottish Cup final every chance. Surely makes sense with the League Cup too? Thr governing bodies need to sort it out
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
21-12-2020, 07:49 PM
For so many non-football reasons I hope this is wrong but I fear that the final would need to be played next season to have any chance of a decent crowd being allowed. :boo hoo:
21-12-2020, 11:07 PM
For so many non-football reasons I hope this is wrong but I fear that the final would need to be played next season to have any chance of a decent crowd being allowed. :boo hoo:
Agreed, there won't be many (if any) fans at football matches in Scotland for the foreseeable future.
Very good. When it comes down to it with these biased clowns like Preston, English and Levein constantly trying to belittle and discredit Hibs through the BBC, I'm on Hibs side. How about you?Well put. In the scheme of things its trivial because it involves hugely parochial personalities involved but as a matter of principal how you put it deserves saying.
22-12-2020, 06:21 AM
Think we will win it ( always say we will till we get knocked out of a cup ).
If Hibs bring in a couple of good signings during the transfer window and we play as we know we can, then why not us?
GGTTH.
24-12-2020, 08:11 AM
If I was a betting man I'd say we're going to get a chance to revenge 2004. Despite everything Hibs have put me through that's the worst I've ever felt walking out a stadium.
24-12-2020, 08:26 AM
Think we will win it ( always say we will till we get knocked out of a cup ).
If Hibs bring in a couple of good signings during the transfer window and we play as we know we can, then why not us?
GGTTH.
Even if we don’t bring anyone in, I’d still be saying why not us?
Yorkshire HFC
24-12-2020, 08:38 AM
If I was a betting man I'd say we're going to get a chance to revenge 2004. Despite everything Hibs have put me through that's the worst I've ever felt walking out a stadium.
Same here - that was a really bad day. It felt much worse than the Ross County final.
Not to worry - hopefully they can do it this year.
24-12-2020, 10:00 AM
I've never left a game early and that's still the only TV game I've switched off before the end.
24-12-2020, 10:10 AM
I've never left a game early and that's still the only TV game I've switched off before the end.
I left early partly to get my dad out easier as he has trouble walking. The amount of abuse we got from fellow fans as we did so was ridiculous.