View Full Version : Atlantic League

Pages : 1 [2] 3

chippy
14-12-2020, 01:39 PM
Is that not the kind of, I’m Alrite Jack, attitude we’ve been critical of Rangers & Celtc showing in attempts to join the premiership without a backwards glance for the rest of us.
So a 2nd tier wouldn’t be of interest? Nor B teams in spfl ?
Alternatively it’s more like the forward thinking Hibs of the 1950s-70s. Leading Scottish and British football into organised European football, floodlit games, etc

14-12-2020, 01:42 PM
Alternatively it’s more like the forward thinking Hibs of the 1950s-70s. Leading Scottish and British football into organised European football, floodlit games, etc

not comparable. Hibs leading British football into Europe was not at the expense of the Scottish game. I’m firmly opposed to B Teams in Scotland

14-12-2020, 01:44 PM

I’m not against something like this new league in principal, but one of my lines in the sand would be ensuring what’s left in Scottish football is catered for and looked after as well. I just read the bits I bolded in my previous post as you not caring about them as long as Hibs were alrite.

14-12-2020, 02:04 PM
I agree with you, that doesn’t mean we should jump straight into an Atlantic League. As it stands the status quo is more appealing than what is being proposed. Uninspiring fixtures and no away games for most of the season in return for more money isn’t worth it for me.

I’m not sure the Status quo will be an option though.

chippy
14-12-2020, 02:25 PM
not comparable. Hibs leading British football into Europe was not at the expense of the Scottish game. I’m firmly opposed to B Teams in Scotland

Despite your objections what if it happened ?

14-12-2020, 02:32 PM
I’m not against something like this new league in principal, but one of my lines in the sand would be ensuring what’s left in Scottish football is catered for and looked after as well. I just read the bits I bolded in my previous post as you not caring about them as long as Hibs were alrite.

I don't think it works as an invitational. It would have to involve promotion/relegation to national leagues below the supra-national setup. If it started next season, for instance, there's no way Hearts should be involved. :wink:

If it's not organised on an open competitive basis, then I can't see UEFA offering it Champs League places.

chippy
14-12-2020, 02:35 PM

A touch of playing the man rather than the ball above I actually do care about the Scottish National team, I support our clubs in Europe apart from ..ahem . I care overall for the grassroots game and all the upward leagues. You seem to have missed my points about a 2nd tier that could involve 8-10 Scottish clubs in an AL 1 and 2. Would enriching them destroy Scottish football or enhance it? Sure there’s a good debate to be had .Would that have a detrimental impact on the lower leagues or help them. Pros and cons of B teams . I’m personally for the 5-10 Scots clubs that might be involved to maintain a strong presence in Scottish and league Cups and spfl as well as an academy

14-12-2020, 02:40 PM
Surely Celtc & Rangers would only join it if they were to maintain the same kind of financial advantage weighted in their favour they enjoy now, and would be likely to win it between them most seasons. Otherwise what’s the appeal for them to join the league?

In that scenario I’d probably end up drifting away from football (which to be fair I’m already going to various degrees as I get older and family and life take more priority etc) once the novelty of playing these teams wears off.

More money from TV deals and sponsorship than they get in the SPFL and my understanding of the proposal was that all of the nations involved would pool thier champions league places meaning there would be 6 or 7 champions league places up for grabs

14-12-2020, 02:47 PM
Para 1 - SJM left us for an EPL team. On say 3k at Hibs , initially up to 15k at Villa. Fee much too low. I think we could have kept him with this AL money for a season or 2 more then got a bigger fee.
Para 2- The left behind are just that. What teams are you concerned about or is it the whole spfl. Just let’s hope we aren’t one of them. The proposal seems to suggest some promotion/ relegation but I’m not convinced by that unless there is a 2nd tier - that could be done regionally as the clubs involved currently have attendances in the 5-9k range. If they had a 2nd tier I think they would close the drawbridge at that. Any time Euro leagues or old firm to England are suggested the idea of B teams are floated . I think that’s what would happen. Spfl premier would contain 5-8 of our B teams depending if 1 or 2 tier AL. Meaning a home game every week and live streaming of AL away games. That I think would still be supported by fans and help some smaller clubs start pro or at least semi pro.
Ron could be in it for the dough and/or glory. If this comes to pass I’m sure he or perhaps some partners would be putting in decent investment into us. Huge potential for Hibs here. Sponsorship money would be more like 7 figures than 5 or 6. Sure he could sell on but we do have high fan shareholdings. Any buyer would have to have deep pockets. No one in Scotland fancied us credit to Ron if he had spotted a big opportunity as has Dave Cormack and I suspect Hearts too.

I suspect McGinn moved to Villa for more than 15k per week. However, that is still a huge leap for him and for HIbs. My point was that he saw Villa as a club that were likely to get promoted and I suspect the chance to play in the EPL ( once promoted) was a huge draw.

I'm concerned about all of Scottish football. So much tradition and history attached to our clubs and I very much doubt B sides hold much appeal or benefit, outwith the OF sides. There will be no coming back from this for many teams, so they will go bust. That's a huge loss to the communities they work for and can't be dismissed as tough luck for them. What if this Atlantic League went bust, then tough luck for us too?

Ron can be in it for dough and glory. |Not many make money in our game, but there is a potential new market on offer and we are after all a side from one of the best cities in Europe. That has appeal.

14-12-2020, 02:48 PM
Despite your objections what if it happened ?

for me? I’d spend my Saturdays doing something else.

14-12-2020, 03:11 PM
for me? I’d spend my Saturdays doing something else.

Like many, many others. All this supposed extra money we’d receive isn’t going to suddenly turn us into having some of the best players in the world 😂 sitting mid table in some Atlantic league that we have no emotional ties to, isn’t going to get people along to ER when every game is on tv at daft times of the week. The atmosphere would be honking, ST’s would plummet, no prospect of European football, and still zero chance of winning the league. I don’t support hibs as a business, or a money making exercise, I have great emotional ties to hibs within Scottish football, and as such support Scottish football from top to bottom. There’s no chance the majority of the country would support this, and neither they should.

14-12-2020, 03:26 PM
ok so you don’t believe the figures floating around. But hypothetically if these figures of 350 mill euros per season for 20 clubs were more or less accurate , would that change your thinking on the the proposal at all?

To be honest it leaves me cold regardless of budget.

14-12-2020, 03:51 PM
More money from TV deals and sponsorship than they get in the SPFL and my understanding of the proposal was that all of the nations involved would pool thier champions league places meaning there would be 6 or 7 champions league places up for grabs

No chance that Uefa would give 6 or 7 Champions League places to this fantasy league.

The biggest and most powerful leagues in Europe only get 4 places so they'd not allow that for a second. They'd be demanding they got similar number of places and Uefa would do whatever they say as they know it's the English,Spanish,German and Italian teams that drive the worldwide TV revenues for the Champions League not teams from Scotland,Ireland and the Scandinavian countries.

Uefa would give the league 2 or 3 places and split allocated the remaining places to the big leagues.

14-12-2020, 04:02 PM
Would this lead to the introduction of summer football?

chippy
14-12-2020, 05:05 PM
Would this lead to the introduction of summer football?

Good point , particularly if we would be involved in AL, Spfl and a Euro comp. The top leagues play virtually all year round now so why not if you’ve also got big squads

14-12-2020, 05:50 PM
Being the first allowed merger doesn’t seem sensible really, as inevitably it’ll open the door to more, or wider change, and we could find ourselves still in a small, less interesting league!

14-12-2020, 05:51 PM
I have to say this leaves me cold but I think we also need to look at the way football is going.

I know Sevco and to a lesser extent Celtic have improved our coefficient but does that help Hibs? I'm not convinced.

I see very little attraction in the current Scottish football set up longer term. And what is going to change? The Ugly Sisters will never give up any control. Its going to be us occasionally getting a game or two in Europe every few years, with a cup win every decade.

Maybe that's fine but we are losing ground on the rest of Europe and money is the only way to catch up.

mayo hibee
14-12-2020, 05:53 PM
Like many, many others. All this supposed extra money we’d receive isn’t going to suddenly turn us into having some of the best players in the world 😂 sitting mid table in some Atlantic league that we have no emotional ties to, isn’t going to get people along to ER when every game is on tv at daft times of the week. The atmosphere would be honking, ST’s would plummet, no prospect of European football, and still zero chance of winning the league. I don’t support hibs as a business, or a money making exercise, I have great emotional ties to hibs within Scottish football, and as such support Scottish football from top to bottom. There’s no chance the majority of the country would support this, and neither they should.

I don't think this would happen at all. You're suggesting that lifelong Hibs fans are going to ditch the club because they don't get to play league games against Ross County and St. Mirren anymore? No chance. If anything it would probably increase the home gate as people would no longer feel that they're stuck in a dead end league run by two clubs. I think the away trips might appeal as well to some supporters given what we saw with the Asteris Tripolis and Molde away games a couple of years ago.

14-12-2020, 06:47 PM
I don't think this would happen at all. You're suggesting that lifelong Hibs fans are going to ditch the club because they don't get to play league games against Ross County and St. Mirren anymore? No chance. If anything it would probably increase the home gate as people would no longer feel that they're stuck in a dead end league run by two clubs. I think the away trips might appeal as well to some supporters given what we saw with the Asteris Tripolis and Molde away games a couple of years ago.

Aye, one off trips once a year. Try it on a wednesday night. Lucky to have 50 away fans most weeks. Dreadful stuff it would be.

14-12-2020, 06:56 PM

What’s dead end about our league? There’s barely ever games with nothing at stake, fighting for the league, for Europe, to avoid the bottom half where you can get dragged into relegation, and then relegation spots. That’s not dead end. Chances to qualify for Europe to play new teams each year. I can tell you for a fact that many season ticket holders including myself wouldn’t be there. It would be dull, boring, and pointless. All for a bit more cash. It wouldn’t be the Hibs we all grew up supporting, in some fantasy league with nothing to play for in 90% of the games. Pre lockdown there wasn’t much room for more fans, but they may turn up for a few games, novelty value, but that’ll soon wear off when the reality hits and we find our place.

14-12-2020, 07:33 PM

It's more likely to shrink the gates as Hibs find themselves in the lower third of the league with little to play for.

The big teams in Norway/Sweden/Denmark/Finland aren't going to be interested in an Atlantic League where they're scrabbling to finish behind the five Scottish clubs, so it's realistic to expect some of them to regularly finish ahead of us. After all, they've got bigger budgets at present which will be boosted further by the same TV money that we're hoping to get.

I don't like the thought of our future being also rans in a dead end league run by half a dozen clubs.

And trips like the two you mention were special because they were out of the ordinary. This Atlantic League would see such games as routine league matches.

mayo hibee
14-12-2020, 07:47 PM
What’s dead end about our league?

Well there's only been two winners since 1986 for a start. Find me another league in Europe where that's the case.

14-12-2020, 07:57 PM
Well there's only been two winners since 1986 for a start. Find me another league in Europe where that's the case.

That doesn’t make it dead end though. You think going into this new league is going to improve our chances of winning it with the same two clubs still in the league? Behave.

14-12-2020, 08:03 PM
That doesn’t make it dead end though. You think going into this new league is going to improve our chances of winning it with the same two clubs still in the league? Behave.

More TV money can level things a bit. We can’t get 50,000 into Easter road but TV making up the majority of clubs income can change things slightly in favour of smaller clubs. Looking at the size of the clubs involved suggests it would be a fairly even league.

Juniper Greens
14-12-2020, 08:30 PM
I don't like it enough to want Hibs to drive these talks, however if it happens, what I am certain enough is that I wouldn't want to be left behind. Therefore it is crucial that we remain involved in talks

14-12-2020, 08:43 PM
I don't like it enough to want Hibs to drive these talks, however if it happens, what I am certain enough is that I wouldn't want to be left behind. Therefore it is crucial that we remain involved in talks

That’s my biggest fear. This sounds like just enough of a change to make a difference to the quality of player we get but not too big a change that Hibs are not invited.
We need to make sure we are shaping any change rather than just letting it happen to us. Which I’m pretty sure that’s what RG is doing.

14-12-2020, 08:51 PM
More TV money can level things a bit. We can’t get 50,000 into Easter road but TV making up the majority of clubs income can change things slightly in favour of smaller clubs. Looking at the size of the clubs involved suggests it would be a fairly even league.

They will still have 30k fans more week after week, an increase in tv money for us is the same for them, the gap still exists. The difference being even more sides with far higher budgets than us, continue to have far higher budgets than us in this league, therefore pushing us further and further down the tree, suddenly instead of fighting for third and a European place plus cup finals, were fighting for some lower end mid table with no cups. But hey, we might see a half decent player now and again. Thankfully I don’t see Hibernian moving away from their roots of being a community club, chasing the dollar in a nothing league.

14-12-2020, 08:56 PM
They will still have 30k fans more week after week, an increase in tv money for us is the same for them, the gap still exists. The difference being even more sides with far higher budgets than us, continue to have far higher budgets than us in this league, therefore pushing us further and further down the tree, suddenly instead of fighting for third and a European place plus cup finals, were fighting for some lower end mid table with no cups. But hey, we might see a half decent player now and again. Thankfully I don’t see Hibernian moving away from their roots of being a community club, chasing the dollar in a nothing league.

Why would we be involved in the talks if we had no interest?

mayo hibee
14-12-2020, 08:58 PM

Put it this way, if this Atlantic league ever happened I'd be very confident you wouldn't have the same two teams winning it for the next 35 years. Where as in the league we're currently in there's every chance that is exactly what will happen. Whether we could ever win it, well there's at least as much chance of that as there is of us winning the league we're currently in.

14-12-2020, 09:29 PM
Put it this way, if this Atlantic league ever happened I'd be very confident you wouldn't have the same two teams winning it for the next 35 years. Where as in the league we're currently in there's every chance that is exactly what will happen. Whether we could ever win it, well there's at least as much chance of that as there is of us winning the league we're currently in.

the league we’re in now is our league. It’s where we’re meant to be.

take last weekends opponents for example. They’ve been around since 1874, a year before us. We’ve been playing them since 1906.

next weeks league opponents, Dundee united. They exist because of us. Even carried our name for a couple of decades.

some (many?) of us happen to love that history, heritage and tradition. We’d be pissing over all of that to play teams we have nothing in common with. And yes, in a league we’d have little chance of winning.

I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but I’m honestly shocked by people wanting to embrace this, all for a bit of extra tv money

14-12-2020, 09:50 PM

Rangers and Celtic would still be a million times bigger than anyone else in this league. Nothing would change.

14-12-2020, 09:55 PM

Probably the best post in this thread.

14-12-2020, 10:03 PM

Whilst I agree with almost all the points you make, RG would take us there in the blink of an eye

14-12-2020, 10:05 PM
Whilst I agree with almost all the points you make, RG would take us there in the blink of an eye

Of course he would. As would the owners of the other 4 clubs.

14-12-2020, 11:15 PM
The Fish Heid League :rolleyes:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-K2DZojWi0&ab_channel=Just4YourReaction631 :aok:

Who wants to join the Fish Heid League
I don't
Who wants the Famous Five Fish Finger Stand
I don't
All I want is Scottish fitbaw

mayo hibee
14-12-2020, 11:17 PM
Rangers and Celtic would still be a million times bigger than anyone else in this league. Nothing would change.

I'm not so sure about that. There was only one team from the proposed leagues that would make up the Atlantic league in the Champions League group stages this season, and it wasn't either of those two.

And only one team made the last 8 of the Europa League last season, and again it wasn't either of those two.

15-12-2020, 03:24 AM
I'm not so sure about that. There was only one team from the proposed leagues that would make up the Atlantic league in the Champions League group stages this season, and it wasn't either of those two.

And only one team made the last 8 of the Europa League last season, and again it wasn't either of those two.

Which is why these clubs need this. Without increasing the domestic income, all the clubs are struggling to compete in Europe including Hibs.

15-12-2020, 05:54 AM
Cormack seems all over the place on this, talking about cross border leagues as well now - he is basically not wedded to any idea except increasing income but, rather disingenuously imo - suggests that this would benefit "all Scottish clubs".

I agree with a poster above who said its sensible for Hibs to remain in touch with this, but I wont get too excited until ideas start to firm up a bit.

This was what he said at last nights AGM -

At Aberdeen FC and all Scottish clubs, we’d be naive to ignore the drive towards cross border leagues and changes in UEFA’s club competitions. We believe they are inevitable. Whether it’s a European Super League with different divisions, or, as an example, Holland and Belgium forming their own league, the big clubs, broadcasters, and investors will win the day. The Slavic and Eastern European countries are making progress on cross border leagues too.
Looking at UEFA’s club competitions, you can get knocked out of the Champions League, get dropped to the Europa League, then get knocked out of it and still qualify for the new Europa Conference League! As each year passes storied clubs like Aberdeen are being marginalized and squeezed out to ensure the biggest clubs stay in UEFA’s club competitions as long as possible.
It’s therefore critical that all clubs in the SPFL discuss and contemplate what lies ahead. If a cross‐border league offers a significant uplift in commercial income that benefits all Scottish clubs, and it provides a level of competition that resonates with our fans, it should be worthy of serious consideration.

15-12-2020, 06:27 AM
I’m not really interested in this proposal as it stands, but some people are desperate to show a worst case scenario when knocking it. It’s possible as a club we’d do very well in this kind of set up. Edinburgh is an attractive place to come and play football and with an injection of money hibs could thrive in a new set up. I’m not convinced this proposal is the right one though.

15-12-2020, 07:08 AM
Cormack seems all over the place on this, talking about cross border leagues as well now - he is basically not wedded to any idea except increasing income but, rather disingenuously imo - suggests that this would benefit "all Scottish clubs".

I agree with a poster above who said its sensible for Hibs to remain in touch with this, but I wont get too excited until ideas start to firm up a bit.

This was what he said at last nights AGM -

At Aberdeen FC and all Scottish clubs, we’d be naive to ignore the drive towards cross border leagues and changes in UEFA’s club competitions. We believe they are inevitable. Whether it’s a European Super League with different divisions, or, as an example, Holland and Belgium forming their own league, the big clubs, broadcasters, and investors will win the day. The Slavic and Eastern European countries are making progress on cross border leagues too.
Looking at UEFA’s club competitions, you can get knocked out of the Champions League, get dropped to the Europa League, then get knocked out of it and still qualify for the new Europa Conference League! As each year passes storied clubs like Aberdeen are being marginalized and squeezed out to ensure the biggest clubs stay in UEFA’s club competitions as long as possible.
It’s therefore critical that all clubs in the SPFL discuss and contemplate what lies ahead. If a cross‐border league offers a significant uplift in commercial income that benefits all Scottish clubs, and it provides a level of competition that resonates with our fans, it should be worthy of serious consideration.

I don’t see what’s wrong with what he says here? It’s a fair assessment of what’s happening just now? Change is going to happen soon no matter what. I hope Hibs are in there shaping that change.

15-12-2020, 07:32 AM
I don’t see what’s wrong with what he says here? It’s a fair assessment of what’s happening just now? Change is going to happen soon no matter what. I hope Hibs are in there shaping that change.

You keep repeating over and over that change is happening soon as if it's a guarantee. It's not.

I'd say it's far more likely that we'll still be playing in the same league setup in the next 10 years than not.

15-12-2020, 07:58 AM
For years we’ve used analogue and now we’re on to digital. We evolve we adapt and we move on. Questions are do we move on as a club into a new league? Alternatively are we happy to stay stagnant in our league?

I used the term stagnant not because I think a new league would be good idea and move for us. I used it because I think if it’s happening then certain clubs will watch and certain clubs will stay and if we stay what clubs will be left in our league for TV companies to be interested in it to put a few pound in to screen our games.

If this league goes ahead at present we have numerous games on tv nearly every night of the
week, what is going to be more interesting to sponsorship deals. Games in the new league getting broadcast around Europe or Scottish games?

So for me, if this league goes ahead I think TV companies and sponsorship will want this rather than our Scottish league games. However I would expect Marketing and the
powers that be trying to get the new league up
and running will have done their homework and have a rough idea what they could get financially from a deal.

Last thought is would a player be more willing to sign for us in the new league or the one we’re in now? Not sure but I would guess the one were he can be seen by more viewers and heighten his profile.

15-12-2020, 08:00 AM
Nobody is interested in the Europa league once their team is knocked out, in fact I don’t watch any of the games in it other than HIbs games. We would still only be a few miles from the EPL, which would still be the league 99% of the world would want to watch, nobody wants to watch Hibs v Hammarby or Hibs v Norkopping apart from their fans.

I can see fans drifting away from Hibs in a daft league like this, imagine the costs if that happened on reduced crowds, not to mention the cost of travelling to away games.

No, not for me.

15-12-2020, 08:12 AM
Nobody is interested in the Europa league once their team is knocked out, in fact I don’t watch any of the games in it other than HIbs games. We would still only be a few miles from the EPL, which would still be the league 99% of the world would want to watch, nobody wants to watch Hibs v Hammarby or Hibs v Norkopping apart from their fans.

I can see fans drifting away from Hibs in a daft league like this, imagine the costs if that happened on reduced crowds, not to mention the cost of travelling to away games.

No, not for me.

The TV companies must be confident people will watch?

15-12-2020, 08:18 AM

And if they are wrong, they will drop it as quickly as they proposed it.

15-12-2020, 08:20 AM
For years we’ve used analogue and now we’re on to digital. We evolve we adapt and we move on. Questions are do we move on as a club into a new league? Alternatively are we happy to stay stagnant in our league?

I used the term stagnant not because I think a new league would be good idea and move for us. I used it because I think if it’s happening then certain clubs will watch and certain clubs will stay and if we stay what clubs will be left in our league for TV companies to be interested in it to put a few pound in to screen our games.

If this league goes ahead at present we have numerous games on tv nearly every night of the
week, what is going to be more interesting to sponsorship deals. Games in the new league getting broadcast around Europe or Scottish games?

So for me, if this league goes ahead I think TV companies and sponsorship will want this rather than our Scottish league games. However I would expect Marketing and the
and running will have done their homework and have a rough idea what they could get financially from a deal.

Last thought is would a player be more willing to sign for us in the new league or the one we’re in now? Not sure but I would guess the one were he can be seen by more viewers and heighten his profile.

Digital has largely succeeded analogue but analogue still sounds far superior when it comes to the listening experience. Quality over convenience, says the man who play records ( some of them in my possession for more than 40 years) on a turntable that is from the mid 80’s and who also plays his guitar through a valve amplifier.

For all the speculation on this thread, there’s been very little opinionating on what is happening in our game right now and what the immediate future holds. I suspect many clubs are teetering on the brink and not just ones from the lower leagues. Chick Young ( I know) hinted at this on Saturday and I suspect it’s going to be an interesting next six months.

15-12-2020, 08:39 AM
Digital has largely succeeded analogue but analogue still sounds far superior when it comes to the listening experience. Quality over convenience, says the man who play records ( some of them in possession for more than 40 years) on a turntable that is from the mid 80’s and who also plays his guitar through a valve amplifier.

For all the speculation on this thread, there’s been very little opinionating on what is happening in our game right now and what the immediate future holds. I suspect many clubs are teetering on the brink and not just ones from the lower leagues. Chick Young ( I know) hinted at this on Saturday and I suspect it’s going to be an interesting next six months.

im into records too rather than CD’s. Non as old as yours though.

15-12-2020, 08:59 AM

You must be on a retainer Ozy.

15-12-2020, 09:39 AM
You must be on a retainer Ozy.

Sadly no. I think it’s due to my constant willingness to spout **** for free. [emoji3]

15-12-2020, 10:05 AM
Sadly no. I think it’s due to my constant willingness to spout **** for free. [emoji3]

Am a member of that club too

15-12-2020, 10:19 AM
You keep repeating over and over that change is happening soon as if it's a guarantee. It's not.

I'd say it's far more likely that we'll still be playing in the same league setup in the next 10 years than not.
If your last sentence is proved correct it would certainly result in most clubs being predominantly part time.

15-12-2020, 10:27 AM

Agree with a lot of this. Not totally sold on this idea but remember we were only the first British club in Europe as others didn't think it would catch on!

I think IF (and its a big if) this was to happen, and the OF, Aberdeen and Hearts were all joining, would we say no?

I don't see why Hibs can't be a community club in a different competition. Maybe it's silly but I read about the clubs history and some of the teams we've beaten. My dad has programmes from Hibs vs Liverpool, Juventus etc in the 70s and it just makes me think how far we and Scottish football have fallen.

And I know the current set up doesn't work, and won't change.

15-12-2020, 11:19 AM
Still no proponents of this league offering any views on what happens to the rest of Scottish football if our big teams leave?

I see there is another thread mentioning the collapse of the French tv deal. Just imagining that happening with the Atlantic league, it couldn’t though, not with JP Morgan as it backers?

15-12-2020, 11:55 AM
Still no proponents of this league offering any views on what happens to the rest of Scottish football if our big teams leave?

I see there is another thread mentioning the collapse of the French tv deal. Just imagining that happening with the Atlantic league, it couldn’t though, not with JP Morgan as it backers?

What if it happens in Scotland now?

15-12-2020, 11:59 AM
What if it happens in Scotland now?

Well, I did mention earlier that the financial crisis in our game is perhaps more acute than folk realise. No one bothered to reply to that either,lol.

15-12-2020, 12:10 PM
Well, I did mention earlier that the financial crisis in our game is perhaps more acute than folk realise. No one bothered to reply to that either,lol.

Bad things can happen in either set up. I agree with you that there is trouble brewing in Scottish footy right now.

15-12-2020, 01:12 PM
There will always be a professional top flight football league in Scotland. There will no doubt be casualties in the lower leagues but there are enough big teams in Scotland to ensure we will always have a top league. That is on the basis that the 5 biggest clubs in the country stay here though.

If the clubs leave for this fairytale league and it goes bust then there is a genuine chance we'd not have a league to come back to.

Better the devil you know (especially in these uncertain financial times).

chippy
15-12-2020, 01:21 PM

re 1st para, I’ll bite. I have pointed out that the AL proposals suggest some promotion relegation , so I’d have thought the likes of Dundee United, Dundee, Dunfermline, Killie, Motherwell, St Js would be in the mix for that. Whether they would all have the aspiration to do so is perhaps another matter. As a personal opinion I’ve also said , I’d be in favour of a 2nd tier AL to accommodate our other full time Scottish clubs as named above- perhaps done on a regionalised basis. Again as a personal opinion I’d be ok to see the AL teams continue in the SPFL, probably in a reconstructed larger league. This would obviously be a mix of B and A team players much like the EPL teams who, participate in the ECL do. A home game every week, a season ticket for 1 or both. Proposal suggests staying in the Scottish cup, B team in the League cup?

Outside the full time pro clubs what is the worry? The semi pro smaller outfits won’t be any worse off indeed they might score victories against the B/A or more like B teams. Just like what happens in England in league and FA cups.

15-12-2020, 01:24 PM
There will always be a professional top flight football league in Scotland. There will no doubt be casualties in the lower leagues but there are enough big teams in Scotland to ensure we will always have a top league. That is on the basis that the 5 biggest clubs in the country stay here though.

If the clubs leave for this fairytale league and it goes bust then there is a genuine chance we'd not have a league to come back to.

Better the devil you know (especially in these uncertain financial times).

Not so sure about that. You wonder how financially secure teams are in the SPL? The likes of Hamilton, Livingstone, Ross County, Kilmarnock, St Johnston and Motherwell are all run on varying degrees of shoestring budget. Meanwhile the bigger sides have Rangers with massive debt, along with a Dundee Utd who’s finances are shaky.

Football is heading for a crisis here and I can’t see that it can be avoided, one way or another.

1 8 7 5
15-12-2020, 01:26 PM
Its good we are at the forefront of even talking about (real) change in scottish football.

The product is pretty awful.

The game is set for 2 Glasgow Clubs, even down to officials. Its a busted flush. No one has won a scottish flag outside the bigots for 35 odd years. It honks.

It might not get off the ground in its present form, but Id hate Hibernian not to be involved in progression.

15-12-2020, 03:15 PM
As things stand the whole concept seems far too flaky to progress.

The whole idea of National Leagues works well for the larger countries, although not that well for Spain recently, but is a disaster for the likes of Portugal, Holland, Belgium, and Scotland.

What were fairy strong leagues in Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union have broken up. Thus teams like Dinamo Zagreb, Red Star, Partisan, etc are no longer competitive at European level. Similarly teams from Scandinavia such as Malmö face similar problems. The biggest losers are the likes of Porto, Benfica and Ajax who used to win European competitions regularly but now cannot compete at the top level. Even the vast wealth of the PSG owners have not been able to push them into the very top tier. Micro-nations such as the Baltic Republics will always struggle to produce a functioning competitive League structure.

I don’t know what the answer is. An incremental approach might see the formation of a Benelux League and a Scandinavian League could be formed. These have been talked about for years but nothing has happened. Could Portuguese teams join La Liga?

Could Scottish teams join the English League system? Or could they join with teams from Ireland (North and South). I am not convinced by either solution. The problem with any solution other than going to England is that the Ugly Sisters would continue to dominate.

15-12-2020, 03:20 PM

The whole idea of National Leagues works well for the larger countries, although not that well for Spain recently, but is a disaster for the likes of Portugal, Holland, Belgium, and Scotland.

What were fairy strong leagues in Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union have broken up. Thus teams like Dinamo Zagreb, Red Star, Partisan, etc are no longer competitive at European level. Similarly teams from Scandinavia such as Malmö face similar problems. The biggest losers are the likes of Porto, Benfica and Ajax who used to win European competitions regularly but now cannot compete at the top level. Even the vast wealth of the PSG owners have not been able to push them into the very top tier. Micro-nations such as the Baltic Republics will always struggle to produce a functioning competitive League structure.

I don’t know what the answer is. An incremental approach might see the formation of a Benelux League and a Scandinavian League could be formed. These have been talked about for years but nothing has happened. Could Portuguese teams join La Liga?

Could Scottish teams join the English League system? Or could they join with teams from Ireland (North and South). I am not convinced by either solution. The problem with any solution other than going to England is that the Ugly Sisters would continue to dominate.

Porto have won both the Champions League and Europa League on the last 20 years. Ajax reached the semi final of the Champions League 2 years ago and Benfica reached the final of the Europa League in 2014.

They clearly can complete, maybe not as regularly as the top English and Spanish sides but they have shown it can be done.

15-12-2020, 03:46 PM
Porto have won both the Champions League and Europa League on the last 20 years. Ajax reached the semi final of the Champions League 2 years ago and Benfica reached the final of the Europa League in 2014.

They clearly can complete, maybe not as regularly as the top English and Spanish sides but they have shown it can be done.

A semi final every ten years isn’t really competing in the same way Ajax did in the past?

15-12-2020, 03:49 PM

My personal preference would be a two tier Atlantic league set up with the Dutch and Belgian teams included as well.
There would be big money attracted to that, and different teams winning the league each year. No doubt Hibs would spend some time in 2nd tier but no reason we can’t compete in the top tier as well.

chippy
15-12-2020, 03:59 PM
My personal preference would be a two tier Atlantic league set up with the Dutch and Belgian teams included as well.
There would be big money attracted to that, and different teams winning the league each year. No doubt Hibs would spend some time in 2nd tier but no reason we can’t compete in the top tier as well.

I agree , would be best option.

Not So Young
15-12-2020, 04:49 PM
When I went to the football I really enjoyed away games as well as home games. There was always a different feel away from home, they were a good days out.

What happens to them with an Atlantic league. How many ordinary fans can afford to travel to Europe every other week.

Also European games become less special a bit like playing the OF four times a season instead of twice

15-12-2020, 04:57 PM
When I went to the football I really enjoyed away games as well as home games. There was always a different feel away from home, they were a good days out.

What happens to them with an Atlantic league. How many ordinary fans can afford to travel to Europe every other week.

Also European games become less special a bit like playing the OF four times a season instead of twice

Spot on. 10/10

15-12-2020, 05:46 PM

Porto’s win in the Champions League was rather before the financial disadvantage of Portuguese teams was fully exposed.

Ajax exceeded all expectations last season but aren’t a patch on the teams of their past which would not just win European tournaments but dominate them for successive years. I miss Ajax and Benfica at the top of European Football.

I did once get a ticket for a European Cup Final. It was at Wembley in 1968, and I got my ticket from Benfica and supported them. Their team with Eusebio were a joy to watch.

I don’t expect to see a Portuguese or Dutch or Scottish team in a Champions League final any time soon!

15-12-2020, 05:57 PM
Personally I wouldn't fancy this. Is part of supporting Hibs not being part of the Scottish game? Without being in the Scottish league would we not lose part of our identity? Yes we might be able to afford better players but so will everyone else involved. Champions league teams can afford the absolute best players out there but so many folk have switched off from it because its kinda soulless now (I have no stats to back this up :wink:)

15-12-2020, 06:03 PM
Personally I wouldn't fancy this. Is part of supporting Hibs not being part of the Scottish game? Without being in the Scottish league would we not lose part of our identity? Yes we might be able to afford better players but so will everyone else involved. Champions league teams can afford the absolute best players out there but so many folk have switched off from it because its kinda soulless now (I have no stats to back this up :wink:)

I'll be your first stat of someone who used to watch the Champions League but now rarely watches even the final.

chippy
15-12-2020, 06:03 PM
Spot on. 10/10

4 Scottish away games to go to and only once per season, not 2 as currently which was a complaint of yours. I’d be watching the TV or it live streamed. I’ve only ever bought into TV football packages once-from Setanta when I lived in England , but I definitely would if Hibs were in a 1 or 2 tier Atlantic League with or without The Dutch or Belgians. I don’t go to away games anyway now but would be tempted to take in some lovely Scandic cities for the odd weekend or 2 day city break. Soon be loads of ferries heading that way post Brexit too. Oh and if it does come to pass I’d happily pay a season ticket to watch our B/ A team in a reconstructed spfl

15-12-2020, 06:12 PM
I'll be your first stat of someone who used to watch the Champions League but now rarely watches even the final.

In the name of balance I love the Champions league. I love football and its Europes finest going toe to toe.

15-12-2020, 06:32 PM
In the name of balance I love the Champions league. I love football and its Europes finest going toe to toe.

Me too. It's the highest level of the game in the world and as a football fan that's something I want to see.

15-12-2020, 06:55 PM
Me too. It's the highest level of the game in the world and as a football fan that's something I want to see.

OK so its 50/50 so far :wink: Maybe I just want a bit of connection to something but an atlantic league cobbled together to bring in telly money doesnt do it for me.

15-12-2020, 07:01 PM
4 Scottish away games to go to and only once per season, not 2 as currently which was a complaint of yours. I’d be watching the TV or it live streamed. I’ve only ever bought into TV football packages once-from Setanta when I lived in England , but I definitely would if Hibs were in a 1 or 2 tier Atlantic League with or without The Dutch or Belgians. I don’t go to away games anyway now but would be tempted to take in some lovely Scandic cities for the odd weekend or 2 day city break. Soon be loads of ferries heading that way post Brexit too. Oh and if it does come to pass I’d happily pay a season ticket to watch our B/ A team in a reconstructed spfl

Which is your choice, it’s not for me.

chippy
15-12-2020, 09:06 PM
Which is your choice, it’s not for me.

What if it became a success?

17-12-2020, 11:58 AM

What do you class as a success for Hibs, and overall for Scottish football? Supporting Hibs is far more than just how much money we can bring in through the door and how much RG can make out of us.

17-12-2020, 12:04 PM

we would have away games against the other Scottish teams

17-12-2020, 12:18 PM
Will Brexit not affect any combined league proposal?

17-12-2020, 12:21 PM
we would have away games against the other Scottish teams

True, but the majority of season ticket holder’s still wouldn’t be able to watch us away from home given we get about 1,000 tickets against the Old Firm and probably not far off that at Aberdeen. We’d still get 3,500 at Tynecastle, and not all of our season ticket holders want to go to away games now, but I’d bet a higher percentage than now would want to go to those games given the lack of viable away games a season there would be.

17-12-2020, 12:28 PM
True, but the majority of season ticket holder’s still wouldn’t be able to watch us away from home given we get about 1,000 tickets against the Old Firm and probably not far off that at Aberdeen. We’d still get 3,500 at Tynecastle, and not all of our season ticket holders want to go to away games now, but I’d bet a higher percentage than now would want to go to those games given the lack of viable away games a season there would be.

Apart from Tynecastle, the majority of our season ticket holders don’t want to watch us away from home.

17-12-2020, 12:40 PM
Apart from Tynecastle, the majority of our season ticket holders don’t want to watch us away from home.

Maybe the majority want to but can't.

17-12-2020, 12:49 PM

I acknowledged that in my post, but imagine the number of seasons ticket holders interested in Tynecastle, Pittodrie, Ibrox & Parkhead would increase when those fixtures are the only realistic chance to watch Hibs away each season.

I don’t mean to always be a downer on the the idea as I’m open to persuasion even if my natural inclination is that it’s probably not for me. No one answered my post about what atmospheres would be like at most games when there’s only a couple of hundred away fans against teams we have no history with or feelings about either way.

17-12-2020, 12:58 PM
I acknowledged that in my post, but imagine the number of seasons ticket holders interested in Tynecastle, Pittodrie, Ibrox & Parkhead would increase when those fixtures are the only realistic chance to watch Hibs away each season.

I don’t mean to always be a downer on the the idea as I’m open to persuasion even if my natural inclination is that it’s probably not for me. No one answered my post about what atmospheres would be like at most games when there’s only a couple of hundred away fans against teams we have no history with or feelings about either way.

Novelty would ensure an all right atmosphere to start with.

Then, if you did well, the atmosphere would be good. If you didn’t, it would be poor.

As someone who goes home and away, this idea doesn’t appeal to me. The last few months have shown me that watching Hibs on a stream isn’t for me. If I was having to watch a third of our games on a stream, I’d become less engaged. Folk can talk about change coming etc, I still don’t see it happening any time soon.

17-12-2020, 01:36 PM

Can you describe what would be a success.

17-12-2020, 01:55 PM
Who is this shelbourne owner who is up for this anyway?

shelbourne have spent most of the last 15 years in Ireland’s second flight and got relegated again last season

17-12-2020, 01:59 PM
It’ll probably be a while but it will happen. There are clubs who are potentially very big in smaller north European counties who have been usurped by nothing clubs who have grown simply by virtue of TV money in their domestic leagues in more populous nations.

It’s obviously not in their interest -and I certainly include Hibs in this- for such a situation to continue. The solution is to band together.

We don’t play Napoli, Juventus, Barcelona, Liverpool etc in Europe now, but this happened largely due to financial/structural reasons rather than footballing ones.

17-12-2020, 03:33 PM
I would only really be in favour of the Atlantic League if if supplemented, rather than replaced, the domestic league season.

If there was a practical way of competing in both (maybe at the expense of the league cup) then I'd be all for it - good exposure, more money, a bit of variety, increase the standard - there are a lot of positives from it.

If it was that or the Scottish League though, I would not want to see it. I think we have a responsibility to the game in Scotland. The point about being able to get to away games is very valid and as well as that, Hibs should very much be part of the set up in Scotland.

17-12-2020, 04:28 PM
I would only really be in favour of the Atlantic League if if supplemented, rather than replaced, the domestic league season.

If there was a practical way of competing in both (maybe at the expense of the league cup) then I'd be all for it - good exposure, more money, a bit of variety, increase the standard - there are a lot of positives from it.

If it was that or the Scottish League though, I would not want to see it. I think we have a responsibility to the game in Scotland. The point about being able to get to away games is very valid and as well as that, Hibs should very much be part of the set up in Scotland.
Giving up the League Cup is a dumb idea for a team like Hibs. All bar one of the major Trophies won since the early 1950s are in the League Cup.

Besides how many matches would binning the League Cup save four or five matches. Hardly enough to fit in a whole new League competition. To make a new competition possible would involve dropping the SPFL Premiership down to 22 matches.

I can see benefits from match less against Hamilton and two less against Rangers but replacing them with matches against Scandinavian or Belgian teams hardly excites. I doubt if the TV companies would pay a great deal.

I remain convinced that the whole concept will work. I would hope that the Scandinavian countries could form a combined League as could Belgium and Holland but beyond that I don’t seem many changes coming.

HibeeHibernian4
17-12-2020, 05:16 PM
Throwing away over a century of tradition for what exactly? :confused:

17-12-2020, 05:25 PM

Mid table obscurity and regular pumpings off unpronounceable teams.

BS44
17-12-2020, 05:29 PM

That's the same as most Scottish clubs, and the clubs that carry an away support are involved in Atlantic league discussions.

17-12-2020, 05:40 PM
Novelty would ensure an all right atmosphere to start with.

Then, if you did well, the atmosphere would be good. If you didn’t, it would be poor.

As someone who goes home and away, this idea doesn’t appeal to me. The last few months have shown me that watching Hibs on a stream isn’t for me. If I was having to watch a third of our games on a stream, I’d become less engaged. Folk can talk about change coming etc, I still don’t see it happening any time soon.

mayo hibee
17-12-2020, 05:45 PM

It continually amazes me how people can look at a league that has only had the same two winners for the last 35 years, where half the teams can't get a home gate over 5000 and where no side outside the two continually dominant clubs has made the group stages of a European competition for a decade can look at pretty much any other option put forward and say no, I just love what we already have too much to want to change it.

It's like people have been brainwashed by a combination of tradition and the Glasgow based sports media.

HibeeHibernian4
17-12-2020, 05:49 PM
It continually amazes me how people can look at a league that has only had the same two winners for the last 35 years, where half the teams can't get a home gate over 5000 and where no side outside the two continually dominant clubs has made the group stages of a European competition for a decade can look at pretty much any other option put forward and say no, I just love what we already have too much to want to change it.

It's like people have been brainwashed by a combination of tradition and the Glasgow based sports media.

There are better ways to go about changing the above problems than to abandon the tradition of a Scottish league. A salary cap (which make no mistake I am sure is coming soon from FIFA) is one such thing.

chippy
17-12-2020, 06:01 PM

Duolingo can help with the pronunciations. 9/10 in an Atlantic league tier 1 would mean we’ve had some decent results, possibly against some of higher up clubs. Maybe even in contention for Top end of season play offs for a European place possibly. Most home games sell outs probably vs Malmö , Gothenburg, Rosenberg, Hearts, Aberdeen , Rangers , Copenhagen , Celtic. Need bigger stadium. What a crap idea not worth exploring

17-12-2020, 06:04 PM
Duolingo can help with the pronunciations. 9/10 in an Atlantic league tier 1 would mean we’ve had some decent results, possibly against some of higher up clubs. Maybe even in contention for Top end of season play offs for a European place possibly. Most home games sell outs probably vs Malmö , Gothenburg, Rosenberg, Hearts, Aberdeen , Rangers , Copenhagen , Celtic. Need bigger stadium. What a crap idea not worth exploring

We've played Brondby, Malmö and Molde in a European knockout competition in recent years and none were close to a sell out. Why would a run of the mill league game against the same teams be sell outs?

17-12-2020, 06:09 PM

There is one thing that makes Easter Road sell out (or be near to a sell out) and that is Hibs winning. The two seasons after the cup win show that. We were getting 18k against Dunfermline and the like, because we were winning. It would be the exact same in any Atlantic league, where I think we’d be less likely to be competing at the top end.

There is too much fantasy around it. Oh it’ll be a sell out every week, increasing capacity, paying players tens of thousands a week. And it’s all based on not very much.

17-12-2020, 06:12 PM

Pretty much where I am. Scottish football needs revamped however let's not through out the baby with the bath water Scottish football has a lot going for it. Games against middling European teams in a league basis do absolutely nothing for me to be honest.

chippy
17-12-2020, 06:32 PM

17-12-2020, 06:50 PM

again we hear about these mythical sellouts when we actually have no idea how much fans will take to this. Our fans weren’t particularly interested when we played these teams before.

17-12-2020, 06:53 PM

I am wi this guy and he has saved me typing, change will happen, it needs to happen.

17-12-2020, 07:25 PM
Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how Hibs will benefit from having the money to afford better players, when the entire league will have the same money to spend on better players?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how Hibs will benefit from having the money to afford better players, when some teams in that league will have far more money to spend on far better players?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how often they see Hibs challenging for the title, because the Ugly Sisters will still be there?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how often they see Hibs challenging for the title, because the best clubs from Scandinavia will be there?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how often they see Hibs finishing in the top half, because the Ugly Sisters and the best clubs from Scandinavia will be there?

17-12-2020, 07:42 PM

I don’t think anyone, literally not anybody, is saying they don’t want to change Scottish football.

Maybe climb down off your high horse?

17-12-2020, 07:43 PM
We've played Brondby, Malmö and Molde in a European knockout competition in recent years and none were close to a sell out. Why would a run of the mill league game against the same teams be sell outs?

League games covered by season tickets sell better than early round cup games. They were also in July.

17-12-2020, 07:45 PM
Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how Hibs will benefit from having the money to afford better players, when the entire league will have the same money to spend on better players?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how Hibs will benefit from having the money to afford better players, when some teams in that league will have far more money to spend on far better players?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how often they see Hibs challenging for the title, because the Ugly Sisters will still be there?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how often they see Hibs challenging for the title, because the best clubs from Scandinavia will be there?

Can any of those in favour of this Atlantic League explain to me how often they see Hibs finishing in the top half, because the Ugly Sisters and the best clubs from Scandinavia will be there?

Yes, last thing we want is to be watching better quality players on both sides every week.[emoji849]

17-12-2020, 07:47 PM
League games covered by season tickets sell better than early round cup games. They were also in July.

so people will go because they’ve already paid for their season ticket... rather than any real extra interest in Scandinavian teams?

17-12-2020, 07:48 PM

Molde was in the middle of August. There was also a genuine belief we had a chance of making the group stage on the back of Asteras. A bit more appealing than sitting watching them when it’s -4 in the middle of December, in a run of the mill league game.

HibeeHibernian4
17-12-2020, 08:05 PM
Yes, last thing we want is to be watching better quality players on both sides every week.[emoji849]

I care about watching eleven players who run out onto the pitch at Easter Road wearing green tops with white sleeves.

Anything beyond that (including the quality of our squad) is a bonus to me.

If you want to see good matches maybe just stick to watching the Champions League instead of trying to take a sledgehammer to one of the oldest national footballing heritages in existence.

17-12-2020, 08:44 PM
I care about watching eleven players who run out onto the pitch at Easter Road wearing green tops with white sleeves.

Anything beyond that (including the quality of our squad) is a bonus to me.

If you want to see good matches maybe just stick to watching the Champions League instead of trying to take a sledgehammer to one of the oldest national footballing heritages in existence.

So your saying so long as Hibs are playing, you don’t care?

17-12-2020, 08:59 PM
So your saying so long as Hibs are playing, you don’t care?

More or less.

mayo hibee
17-12-2020, 09:21 PM
I think that's the thing though. In the end I doubt if a single true Hibs fan would abandon the club if they joined the Atlantic League or some other new cross border competition. As long as Hibs are there the fans will be too, whether it's Motherwell or Midtjylland that are the opposition.

So, in the context of the Atlantic league, I wouldn't be too concerned about the doubters and Ron and the club won't be either. If they think something like this would be a goer they'll jump at it.

17-12-2020, 09:23 PM
I think that's the thing though. In the end I doubt if a single true Hibs fan would abandon the club if they joined the Atlantic League or some other new cross border competition. As long as Hibs are there the fans will be too, whether it's Motherwell or Midtjylland that are the opposition.

So, in the context of the Atlantic league, I wouldn't be too concerned about the doubters and Ron and the club won't be either. If they think something like this would be a goer they'll jump at it.

It’s not a goer. I’m sure Ron and the club knows this and the dreamers who think it is will accept that.

17-12-2020, 09:27 PM

I'll accept that as your answer to my first two questions, although it doesn't explain what benefit there is to Hibs.

Now, about my other three questions ....

17-12-2020, 09:27 PM

The Motherwell or Midtjytlland point is true. But only if we are winning. It took a once in a 114 years event to get us to the level of support we did. We backed that up by getting promoted then having a good season. Then when the performances started to dip, you started to see more empty spaces appearing.

Hibs will never be in a position where they can be unconcerned about losing an element of support.

mayo hibee
17-12-2020, 09:30 PM
It’s not a goer. I’m sure Ron and the club knows this and the dreamers who think it is will accept that.

I agree in that the proposals being discussed here look dead in the water at the moment. But not because a few fans don't like them.

Something along these lines is inevitable at some stage in the future though. The softening of UEFA's position brings league mergers into play all over Europe.

17-12-2020, 09:38 PM

Well I haven’t been to Tynecastle for 20 years (League Cup Semi-Finals excluded). I have been to many other grounds in Scotland since then.

I don’t expect to travel over to Malmö or Odd.

17-12-2020, 10:02 PM

i will not be following Hibs into an Atlantic league. I guess I’ll leave that to the “true” Hibs fans.

17-12-2020, 10:03 PM
I agree in that the proposals being discussed here look dead in the water at the moment. But not because a few fans don't like them.

Something along these lines is inevitable at some stage in the future though. The softening of UEFA's position brings league mergers into play all over Europe.

The few fans who don’t like them, on this site, appear to be the majority.

There’s nothing that makes a Scottish/Danish/Swedish/Finnish/Belgian/whatever hybrid league inevitable.

17-12-2020, 10:24 PM
i will not be following Hibs into an Atlantic league. I guess I’ll leave that to the “true” Hibs fans.

It may be Hibs by name, but it certainly wouldn’t be the same Hibs by actions, by principles and beliefs. The fact the main driver for this is purely revenues based and how much our owner can take from us. shows how far people are happy to take us from our roots.

17-12-2020, 10:31 PM
The few fans who don’t like them, on this site, appear to be the majority.

There’s nothing that makes a Scottish/Danish/Swedish/Finnish/Belgian/whatever hybrid league inevitable.

Atlantic league is not inevitable but I think change is. Just no idea what it will look like. One thing for sure is that the clubs are looking.

I wonder if the new laws to establish a UK single market will allow Scottish teams to seek entry to any UK competition? Surely if we really are to have a single UK market then Hibs are as entitled to play in the English leagues as Cardiff are?

17-12-2020, 10:34 PM
It may be Hibs by name, but it certainly wouldn’t be the same Hibs by actions, by principles and beliefs. The fact the main driver for this is purely revenues based and how much our owner can take from us. shows how far people are happy to take us from our roots.

Hibs are one of the biggest blocks to enlarging the premier league, were all for the original breakaway to form it from the old div 1 and generally are well capable of acting selfishly. And that was before we got an American owner who surely has to be here looking for a return on his investment.

18-12-2020, 05:13 AM
Atlantic league is not inevitable but I think change is. Just no idea what it will look like. One thing for sure is that the clubs are looking.

I wonder if the new laws to establish a UK single market will allow Scottish teams to seek entry to any UK competition? Surely if we really are to have a single UK market then Hibs are as entitled to play in the English leagues as Cardiff are?

Even if that were true we'd have no entitlement to leapfrog any teams. We'd be starting in the bottom league of the English pyramid which is the 10th tier in English football. That is where the phoenix club of Bury have had to start.

That would be even worse than the "Atlantic" league. A minimum of 8 years playing absolute crap before we got to the Championship. And there's no guarantees at all we'd be getting out league 1 and league 2 at the first attempt. Our TV revenues would be zero for the first 4 or 5 years, our crowds would be dreadful,next to no away fans, no o European football probably ever again. Horrendous idea.

18-12-2020, 05:28 AM
Even if that were true we'd have no entitlement to leapfrog any teams. We'd be starting in the bottom league of the English pyramid which is the 10th tier in English football. That is where the phoenix club of Bury have had to start.

That would be even worse than the "Atlantic" league. An minimum of 8 years playing absolute crap before we got to the Championship. And there's no guarantees at all wee be getting out league 1 and league 2 at the first attempt. Our TV revenues would be zero for the first 4 or 5 years, our crowds would be dreadful,next to no away fans, no o European football probably ever again. Horrendous idea.

And most, if not all of our good players would be gone. No guarantee we'd even get out the bottom pyramid leagues. Don't think Kevin Nisbet or Gogic would fancy playing Squires Gate away on a Tuesday night.

chippy
18-12-2020, 07:58 AM
If there’s going to be. UK league set up (there won’t be), it would surely be by negotiation and amalgamation. Celts, Rangers, Hibs etc will not be starting at the bottom of the English pyramid.

How will the cross border leagues start, if at all? I think it will be a top down approach. No big clubs will move ( Celtic, Ajax etc) until the top tiers of any new Euro Super league are decided. I thought it was interesting as Dave Cormack spoke the other day in terms of multiple Super league divisions. Maybe just maybe that’s what Celtic are looking at as I’d imagine them being a tier 2 Euro super league candidate. If there ends up 3 or 4 divisions, then who’s left behind will have to make their choices whether to join forces with other similarly sized clubs/ leagues or not.

18-12-2020, 07:59 AM

That would be even worse than the "Atlantic" league. A minimum of 8 years playing absolute crap before we got to the Championship. And there's no guarantees at all we'd be getting out league 1 and league 2 at the first attempt. Our TV revenues would be zero for the first 4 or 5 years, our crowds would be dreadful,next to no away fans, no o European football probably ever again. Horrendous idea.

And most, if not all of our good players would be gone. No guarantee we'd even get out the bottom pyramid leagues. Don't think Kevin Nisbet or Gogic would fancy playing Squires Gate away on a Tuesday night.

I agree, I wouldn’t be interested in joining the English set up. League 1 and 2 would be particularly hard to get past as they have the salary cap now and we would need to get rid of players to get past it.

JimboHibs
18-12-2020, 08:19 AM
I agree, I wouldn’t be interested in joining the English set up. League 1 and 2 would be particularly hard to get past as they have the salary cap now and we would need to get rid of players to get past it.

Think it's long overdue we need to be given the chance to find our level,there is no growth within the current set up and doubtful the powers that be are willing to drive through any change within our current league set up.Let teams find theyre level,in my opinion I think the growth is there for quite a few clubs in Scotland but it's the current set up that stunts it,it's all too familiar.Look at Bournemouth and what they achieved i reckon it's perfectly reasonable that given that oppertunity teams in Scotland could match that.

18-12-2020, 08:29 AM
Think it's long overdue we need to be given the chance to find our level,there is no growth within the current set up and doubtful the powers that be are willing to drive through any change within our current league set up.Let teams find theyre level,in my opinion I think the growth is there for quite a few clubs in Scotland but it's the current set up that stunts it,it's all too familiar.Look at Bournemouth and what they achieved i reckon it's perfectly reasonable that given that oppertunity teams in Scotland could match that.

For every Bournemouth there’s a Forrest or Leeds. What if our level ends up below where we expect it to be? You only have to look at us getting stuck in the championship for 3 seasons to see that a few bad years and it’s difficult to get out of the downward spiral. I think there’s more chance of us growing than the downward spiral but recent history shows us we’re very capable of making tough work of all our advantages.

James Stephen
18-12-2020, 08:33 AM

Why would they want to though? Swap the (already too remote) possibility of winning things and playing in europe for it never happening, ever. Unless we sold our soul to some dodgy billionaire who wanted to bankroll us for a few seasons.

Hibs in England is an awful possibility.

I want to watch Hibs win things, and have good seasons every now and again. Bumming about in the english lower leagues with almost zero propsect of that ever happening again does not appeal to me in the slightest.

I would be watching whatever breakaway club emerged and started again at the bottom of the scottish pyramid, if that were to happen.

JimboHibs
18-12-2020, 08:50 AM
For every Bournemouth there’s a Forrest or Leeds. What if our level ends up below where we expect it to be? You only have to look at us getting stuck in the championship for 3 seasons to see that a few bad years and it’s difficult to get out of the downward spiral. I think there’s more chance of us growing than the downward spiral but recent history shows us we’re very capable of making tough work of all our advantages.

Its not about finding instant success,slim chances of that happening.Its about having the chance to find our level,i don't see any growth in Scottish Football just my opinion.

James Stephen
18-12-2020, 08:52 AM
Its not about finding instant success,slim chances of that happening.Its about having the chance to find our level,i don't see any growth in Scottish Football just my opinion.

Because Hibs have found their level?

18-12-2020, 08:59 AM
Why would they want to though? Swap the (already too remote) possibility of winning things and playing in europe for it never happening, ever. Unless we sold our soul to some dodgy billionaire who wanted to bankroll us for a few seasons.

I want to watch Hibs win things, and have good seasons every now and again. Bumming about in the english lower leagues with almost zero propsect of that ever happening again does not appeal to me in the slightest.

I would be watching whatever breakaway club emerged and started again at the bottom of the scottish pyramid, if that were to happen.

I’m definitely not advocating joining the English set up. I’d rather stay where we are but RG may feel differently if the opportunity presents itself. There are massive amount of money available in their game and RG will be looking to maximise his return.

18-12-2020, 09:01 AM

I agree with this position completely. Look at this season for example, we have a very real chance of finishing third, qualifying for Europe and winning at least one trophy. That’s enough for me. As a Hibs fan I’m accustomed to not winning titles though I hold out the hope that one day we might push for one. But here in Scotland, not in England or a Scandinavian league I don’t care about.

I would also get behind any breakaway Hibs team in Scotland if we were to abandon our roots.

18-12-2020, 09:23 AM

No sure Bournemouth is a great example of what you can achieve.

Obviously benefitted from the TV money on offer in the EPL but their sole objective was to survive every year. They never took cups seriously because all that mattered was staying in a rich league, where they were never going to achieve anything. Is that really something to aspire to?

James Stephen
18-12-2020, 10:47 AM
I’m definitely not advocating joining the English set up. I’d rather stay where we are but RG may feel differently if the opportunity presents itself. There are massive amount of money available in their game and RG will be looking to maximise his return.

Apologies, I misunderstood your post.

Agree, and its always been the concern about Gordon's involvement - what does he think is in it for him?

I think if he made such a move and it had the fans backing, then I could accept I was in a laggard minority and put up with it. If he made such a move against the wishes of the fans, it would be uproar and I would not support it.

I'm not against looking at different ideas, and I wouldn't be against looking at some kind of North Sea Cup (in addition to, not instead of existing competition) - there used to be regional European tournaments decades ago, the Mediterranean Cup (I think?) and the Mitropa Cup, early precursors of European competition. Or just a radical reshaping of European competition, to have it more regional and more suitable for medium and smaller clubs - lets face it, the current structure serves only the really big clubs and has badly increased inequality in football.

18-12-2020, 11:36 AM

I'd be a bit wary of throwing those kind of comments around. It makes RG sound mercenary, I genuinely think he'd be for it but he would also listen to the supporters who would not be and go with them rather than chase riches.

18-12-2020, 12:04 PM
I'd be a bit wary of throwing those kind of comments around. It makes RG sound mercenary, I genuinely think he'd be for it but he would also listen to the supporters who would not be and go with them rather than chase riches.

There would def be consultation but it looks like half the supporters are already open to change so it won’t take much of a sales job to get a majority in favour of any plan that comes forward.

18-12-2020, 12:11 PM
There would def be consultation but it looks like half the supporters are already open to change so it won’t take much of a sales job to get a majority in favour of any plan that comes forward.

You’d make a good MP with that spin Ozy.

18-12-2020, 12:14 PM

I have doubts whether profit for RG has anything to do with it. The reality of things now is that a gulf is growing between, Aberdeen-Hearts-Hibs and the other non OF teams. Unless we want to see a league year in year out from next season on which sees no change in the top five spots in the league then we will have to go for change.

18-12-2020, 12:17 PM
I have doubts whether profit for RG has anything to do with it. The reality of things now is that a gulf is growing between, Aberdeen-Hearts-Hibs and the other non OF teams. Unless we want to see a league year in year out from next season on which sees no change in the top five spots in the league then we will have to go for change.

Hearts aren’t even in the top league, never mind the top 5 places.

18-12-2020, 12:29 PM

When was the last time the top 5 places were filled by those 5 clubs?

18-12-2020, 12:39 PM

we finished 7th last season and hearts were relegated. Come to think of it hearts haven’t been top 5 since 2017. And back then we were in the championship. If you mean financially then you’ve got a point, but there’s no sign of the top 5 positions being solidified by the teams you mentioned.

18-12-2020, 12:42 PM

2004/05

24-12-2020, 12:13 PM
https://www.goal.com/en/amp/news/death-of-football-super-league-war-between-uefa-fifa-control/wwo0r3rerodd1tj4qoxul91uh?__twitter_impression=tru e

Interesting article on latest moves for Euro super league.

24-12-2020, 01:39 PM
https://www.goal.com/en/amp/news/death-of-football-super-league-war-between-uefa-fifa-control/wwo0r3rerodd1tj4qoxul91uh?__twitter_impression=tru e

Interesting article on latest moves for Euro super league.

Interesting and in depth read. It relates to the wider picture and has nothing to do with the North Sea League talk.

JP Morgan again part of the financial planning. However, critics saying the proposed 6billion funding won’t sustain the hypothetical European Super League for more than a season.

Clear and naked greed behind these proposals. The cartel that dominate football can’t afford wee teams like Leicester or Atalanta to take their entitled places at the trough that is the Champions League. They don’t want competition nor can they afford it.

Huge clubs that are run as appalling business models are in deep trouble ( it mentions Barca, Roma, Dortmund as examples). Football in Europe seen as a cheap way to buy into a sport with a global profile, so attracting the international money that we see so obviously in England.

Anyone in any doubt as to what football has become should have a look.

chippy
25-12-2020, 06:38 PM
Interesting and in depth read. It relates to the wider picture and has nothing to do with the North Sea League talk.

JP Morgan again part of the financial planning. However, critics saying the proposed 6billion funding won’t sustain the hypothetical European Super League for more than a season.

Clear and naked greed behind these proposals. The cartel that dominate football can’t afford wee teams like Leicester or Atalanta to take their entitled places at the trough that is the Champions League. They don’t want competition nor can they afford it.

Huge clubs that are run as appalling business models are in deep trouble ( it mentions Barca, Roma, Dortmund as examples). Football in Europe seen as a cheap way to buy into a sport with a global profile, so attracting the international money that we see so obviously in England.

Anyone in any doubt as to what football has become should have a look.

A good read. Jist of it and another couple I’ve read suggests UEFA will have expanded ECL to accommodate up to 6 English clubs. A bit more space for smaller nations champs. Change format of ECL to a type of conference format ensuring 10 games prior to round of 16. Top 16 from I think 36 in a single ‘league table’ qualify, 17-24 got to Europa Cup. Seems to me to be the bones of a 3 tier league set up under UEFA, and maintenance of domestic leagues for qualification purposes. Wonder if the Europa League and the new conference league will be structured similarly if this is true? Could work if promotion / relegation between the 3 tiers possibly?

21-01-2021, 10:17 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210121/85e3bae5f35b97f6e129f4b70b024bd7.jpg

UEFA obviously taking recent chat seriously. Empty threat in my opinion but it will give them time to work out how to give the big clubs what the want anyway within their own set up. A Euro league is not far away, probably by stealth of turning the Champions league into it. Eventually they will move it to the weekends and the clubs will withdraw from their domestic leagues.

21-01-2021, 10:24 AM

UEFA obviously taking recent chat seriously. Empty threat in my opinion but it will give them time to work out how to give the big clubs what the want anyway within their own set up. A Euro league is not far away, probably by stealth of turning the Champions league into it. Eventually they will move it to the weekends and the clubs will withdraw from their domestic leagues.

A good thing IMO, a Euro league for us would be *****.

21-01-2021, 11:19 AM

Outstanding news that. They can shove their Super league and the likes up their hoops.

21-01-2021, 11:22 AM

Your takeaway from that text is - a euro league isn’t far away?

Is there another bit to it I haven’t seen??

21-01-2021, 12:13 PM

I was thinking the same thing.

Ozyhibby sees what he wants to see, seemingly

21-01-2021, 12:23 PM

Have you got the rest of the text?

21-01-2021, 12:56 PM

No. I think that this happens almost every year now and every time UEFA give the big clubs more and more in order to make the threat of a breakaway go away. It doesn’t go away though. The champions league is getting more like a European super league every year and it won’t be long before certain big team are guaranteed entry every year.

21-01-2021, 01:38 PM
Think this statement was aimed at the likes of Liverpool, Barcelona & Juventus etc and their chat of a closed shop super league and not the Atlantic league. What it does mean though is that any proposed set up involving Scottish & Scandinavian clubs would have to include proposals on a relegation/promotion mechanism and no ‘closed shop’

21-01-2021, 02:27 PM

I was thinking the same thing.

Ozyhibby sees what he wants to see, seemingly

I think the point is that UEFA wouldn’t be issuing threats unless it considered the proposed breakaway league to be a serious possibility.

21-01-2021, 02:46 PM
Hopefully this puts an end to it. Nonsense idea. Players definitely will not be in favour of it now.

21-01-2021, 03:05 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;6428500]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210121/85e3bae5f35b97f6e129f4b70b024bd7.jpg

Really hope/wish they mean it, stopped watching European footie a while back because of the naked corruption & closed shop nature of the 'product.' Used to love watching Barca in particular but don't miss it at all now.
Absolutely nothing in it for the teams outside the big 4/5 (?).

21-01-2021, 06:51 PM
Hopefully this puts an end to it. Nonsense idea. Players definitely will not be in favour of it now.

That would depend on how badly players want to play for their country instead of collecting the inflated wage packets offered by the closed shop league.

21-01-2021, 06:54 PM
That would depend on how badly players want to play for their country instead of collecting the inflated wage packets offered by the closed shop league.

They are perma banned though, meaning if they played in the super league for a year, they could never return to a domestic league. Thats huge.

21-01-2021, 07:25 PM
They are perma banned though, meaning if they played in the super league for a year, they could never return to a domestic league. Thats huge.

Only if that is how the rule is enforced, and I'm not convinced that it could be sine die when you look at the bans on dopers and gamblers.

It's more likely that young players would play in the officially recognised leagues to make their names and get a few caps, then disappear for the money. No different to a young player leaving their first club for a bigger salary sitting on the bench at the Ugly Sisters.

09-02-2021, 01:22 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210209/6fe45864944165c378fff7a6dec75ce8.jpg

This is Uefa’s new proposals for the champions league. This is how a European super league will happen. Slowly, season by season incremental changes so that moving the games to the weekend seems sensible by the time they suggest it and the clubs are already fielding weaker teams domestically.

09-02-2021, 01:30 PM

This is Uefa’s new proposals for the champions league. This is how a European super league will happen. Slowly, season by season incremental changes so that moving the games to the weekend seems sensible by the time they suggest it and the clubs are already fielding weaker teams domestically.

A money fest. Not for me.

09-02-2021, 01:32 PM

It us a certainty to happen and the main reason is the final sentence. Increased revenue. This is not about winning trophies it's all about making money

09-02-2021, 01:32 PM
A money fest. Not for me.

nor me.

if it is slow and incremental we probably don’t need to worry about a crap Atlantic league setup for maybe another couple of decades.

09-02-2021, 01:37 PM

Yeah, thin end of an ever growing wedge.
The big teams will become massive and the EPL will fall backwards and their TV contracts will fall away.
Might help Scotland by making the non Euro League English teams much poorer.

09-02-2021, 01:48 PM
The second bullet point on the list is the one that’s really worrying and why all these proposals to consolidate power and wealth in the hands of the big clubs needs to opposed at every turn. People need to be united on it rather than just saying ‘aw well it’s going to happen we may as well make the best of it’.

Regardless of whether people think they would prefer trips to Scandinavia every other week as opposed to Motherwell, surely most people can agree that “elite clubs” just being given spots that they haven’t earned is just plain wrong?

09-02-2021, 01:50 PM
Wonder who decides and more importantly what makes you an elite club.

09-02-2021, 01:53 PM

Money

09-02-2021, 01:56 PM
So clubs who fail to qualify on merit will be given special dispensation because they will carry elite status. I wonder what will make them elite clubs..? If, and it’s not a very big if, it’s financial status that’s the whole thing humped.

09-02-2021, 01:58 PM
The second bullet point on the list is the one that’s really worrying and why all these proposals to consolidate power and wealth in the hands of the big clubs needs to opposed at every turn. People need to be united on it rather than just saying ‘aw well it’s going to happen we may as well make the best of it’.

Regardless of whether people think they would prefer trips to Scandinavia every other week as opposed to Motherwell, surely most people can agree that “elite clubs” just being given spots that they haven’t earned is just plain wrong?

That ship sailed when they made the champions league the league for champions and other clubs who could actually have finished as far down the league as fourth. All about cash and UEFA are terrified that the big clubs would just up and leave anyway if they stopped this. It is definitely not what I feel an attachment to and I honestly thing in the last ten years I've not watched more than a dozen champions league matches

09-02-2021, 02:00 PM
So basically the likes of Man Utd, Real Madrid and Juventus will get into the revamped Champions League every year regardless of whether it is on sporting merit?

Ok you can argue no one is missing out because they are 4 additional teams but it makes a bit of a mockery of the whole thing.

09-02-2021, 02:01 PM
Is this been confirmed by Uefa? That image looks like a cheap mockup that someone's put together.

09-02-2021, 02:03 PM
That elite club line sums up modern football. It doesn't matter how well you play, it comes down to the budget you have at your disposal. Who wants to bet that those 'chosen' as elite clubs will be the richest clubs in Europe? Oops Real Madrid, you came 5th in your league this year, don't worry, you're an elite club, you get to enter anyway. All elite clubs will be from the top 4 leagues in Europe.

09-02-2021, 02:12 PM
Money

Aye but is it just the case that there is a list of clubs or is that list added to every year.
Will England have more clubs on that list than the currently have champions league places.
Liverpool for example can just play a reserve team in EPL every week. Even if they finish 10th their still getting a champions league spot.

09-02-2021, 02:16 PM
How long before the elite clubs are then guaranteed a quarter final space if they get put out. I know Scotland have benefited from it but all these new tournaments and the likes of the latest proposal will push me away from football more than anything.

09-02-2021, 02:18 PM
That elite club line sums up modern football. It doesn't matter how well you play, it comes down to the budget you have at your disposal. Who wants to bet that those 'chosen' as elite clubs will be the richest clubs in Europe? Oops Real Madrid, you came 5th in your league this year, don't worry, you're an elite club, you get to enter anyway. All elite clubs will be from the top 4 leagues in Europe.

plus Hearts obviously.

09-02-2021, 02:19 PM
So basically the likes of Man Utd, Real Madrid and Juventus will get into the revamped Champions League every year regardless of whether it is on sporting merit?

Ok you can argue no one is missing out because they are 4 additional teams but it makes a bit of a mockery of the whole thing.

Who are the elite clubs though. England will claim to have 7 or 8 elite clubs. They getting 8 champions league every year then :confused: Are half those clubs really bigger than the top 5/6 Italian or Spanish clubs.

09-02-2021, 02:27 PM
So clubs who fail to qualify on merit will be given special dispensation because they will carry elite status. I wonder what will make them elite clubs..? If, and it’s not a very big if, it’s financial status that’s the whole thing humped.

It was humped as soon as corporations, investors and even governments realised there was lots of money and power in football and set about the task of getting it.
I stopped watching European football games not involving a Scottish team more than 5 years ago and stopped watching the EPL this season.
Neither holds any interest. Who wants to watch the Saudi Govt against McDonalds. It has no soul.

09-02-2021, 03:57 PM
Who are the elite clubs though. England will claim to have 7 or 8 elite clubs. They getting 8 champions league every year then :confused: Are half those clubs really bigger than the top 5/6 Italian or Spanish clubs.

There was an interview with a UEFA official a few years back discussing this very point. He waffled on about historic contributions and so on. He then came out and said Man Utd or AC Milan were arguably more deserving of a Champions League place than Leicester despite the latter actually being league champions at the time.

I think the basis for the choice will be any clubs from the old G14 group who fail to qualify. Perhaps with the likes of Man City, Chelsea and Atletico Madrid added to the mix.

EI255
09-02-2021, 04:09 PM
If its as boring as the CL then no thanks.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

09-02-2021, 04:18 PM
There was an interview with a UEFA official a few years back discussing this very point. He waffled on about historic contributions and so on. He then came out and said Man Utd or AC Milan were arguably more deserving of a Champions League place than Leicester despite the latter actually being league champions at the time.

I think the basis for the choice will be any clubs from the old G14 group who fail to qualify. Perhaps with the likes of Man City, Chelsea and Atletico Madrid added to the mix.

They might base it on the old G14 but I think it would need a tweek. The original G14 were as follows:

Real Madrid
Barca
Man Utd
Liverpool
Inter
Juve
Milan
Marseille
PSG
Bayern
B. Dortmund
Ajax
PSV
Porto

With Arsenal Leverkusen Lyon and Valencia added later.

A few surprises in there I think in the context of today.

Personally I love football and cant even pass by a kids game in the park without stopping to watch. I love watching the Champions League the EPL and all the big leagues around Europe. It doesnt detract in anyway my support for Hibs. As someone put in an earlier post supporting Hibs (and others supporting our contemporaries) is soulful doesn't mean I cant enjoy football played by the best players at the top of the game.

09-02-2021, 04:55 PM

a plaza

09-02-2021, 05:49 PM
They might base it on the old G14 but I think it would need a tweek. The original G14 were as follows:

Real Madrid
Barca
Man Utd
Liverpool
Inter
Juve
Milan
Marseille
PSG
Bayern
B. Dortmund
Ajax
PSV
Porto

With Arsenal Leverkusen Lyon and Valencia added later.

A few surprises in there I think in the context of today.

Personally I love football and cant even pass by a kids game in the park without stopping to watch. I love watching the Champions League the EPL and all the big leagues around Europe. It doesnt detract in anyway my support for Hibs. As someone put in an earlier post supporting Hibs (and others supporting our contemporaries) is soulful doesn't mean I cant enjoy football played by the best players at the top of the game.

The thing about that list is that there are no Man City, Chelsea or even spurs on it. No Atletico Madrid or Roma on it. I'd also argue that Benfica are just as big if not bigger than Porto.

09-02-2021, 05:52 PM
The thing about that list is that there are no Man City, Chelsea or even spurs on it. No Atletico Madrid or Roma on it. I'd also argue that Benfica are just as big if not bigger than Porto.

Exactly what I was alluding to in saying it would need tweeking.

09-02-2021, 06:05 PM

Why would Spurs be on it anyway? They never win anything?
No matter what, there will be big clubs not included.

09-02-2021, 06:10 PM
Exactly what I was alluding to in saying it would need tweeking.

Tweaking, they need to rip it up and start again. Add in the teams I mention and that's 24 teams. That's leaves only 12 places for everyone else, other countries and that isn't even taking into consideration that a different team from England or Spain.
They maybe get away with a list of 8 or 10 elite teams but no one is ever agreeing on who they 10 teams should be.

09-02-2021, 06:26 PM
The thing with the group of elite teams is the vast majority on any hypothetical list are irrelevant because they will qualify the traditional way. It's all about who that 4 additional teams will be.

Of the 14 team list above how many won't qualify for the CL this year? Marseille and Dortmind are the most likely. Of the other clubs mentioned the likes of Man City and Chelsea go close most years. Benfica are in the running.

Those additional 4 places are always going to go to one of the traditional big guns that miss out. In a year where they all qualify then the likes of Spurs might get a look in. If it's a toss up between Man Utd and Spurs and there's one place left then it's going to Manchester regardless of just about any other factor, including league position.

09-02-2021, 06:51 PM
The thing with the group of elite teams is the vast majority on any hypothetical list are irrelevant because they will qualify the traditional way. It's all about who that 4 additional teams will be.

Of the 14 team list above how many won't qualify for the CL this year? Marseille and Dortmind are the most likely. Of the other clubs mentioned the likes of Man City and Chelsea go close most years. Benfica are in the running.

Those additional 4 places are always going to go to one of the traditional big guns that miss out. In a year where they all qualify then the likes of Spurs might get a look in. If it's a toss up between Man Utd and Spurs and there's one place left then it's going to Manchester regardless of just about any other factor, including league position.
If Benfica are in the running Celtic will fancy their chances.

09-02-2021, 07:12 PM
Everyone talking about who should and shouldn’t be in the elite group rather than whether it should be happening at all shows how easily it will go through.

09-02-2021, 07:13 PM
It’ll be funny as f*** if Celtic get in and Rangers don’t though.

09-02-2021, 08:24 PM
Why would Spurs be on it anyway? They never win anything?
No matter what, there will be big clubs not included.

They shouldn't. Bet your bottom dollar there will be someone somewhere pushing them through as elite though.

Wakeyhibee
09-02-2021, 10:03 PM
Hate the idea, but if they do pass it, it will implode within 20 years. I cant see fans of an elite side watching when they're failing in the competition and a domestically de valued league.

If it switches off fans, the TV revenue goes with it.

09-02-2021, 10:11 PM
I suspect the only reason to offer the elite club carrot is because they know it'll never get agreed by the clubs. If they're determined to trying squeeze more non champions clubs in they should treat it like the cycling grand tours tennis and golf tournaments and offer up wildcard places.

09-02-2021, 10:20 PM
Hate the idea, but if they do pass it, it will implode within 20 years. I cant see fans of an elite side watching when they're failing in the competition and a domestically de valued league.

I think it would get stronger and stronger. The fans of individual clubs won't matter compared to the global audience and the colossal money which will be on offer.

09-02-2021, 10:37 PM
I think it would get stronger and stronger. The fans of individual clubs won't matter compared to the global audience and the colossal money which will be on offer.

Yip. It’s where the very best players will be and it will be on TV globally. Kids will grow up supporting these teams hundreds of miles away from where they live.

09-02-2021, 11:11 PM
Yip. It’s where the very best players will be and it will be on TV globally. Kids will grow up supporting these teams hundreds of miles away from where they live.

That is a sad thought.
Corporate global product.

franck sauzee
09-02-2021, 11:43 PM
The proposal I read was that the semi finalists of each competition would automatically qualify for next year's competition. The details were very sketchy but my presumption was that their slot would then go to the next team in their league

Wakeyhibee
09-02-2021, 11:51 PM

I can see it going almost franchised and soulless which will be attractive worldwide regardless. Kids already support Eurooes teams wirldwide. What I dont see is the support structure underneath. You might even see a total split.

10-02-2021, 01:54 AM
I can see it going almost franchised and soulless which will be attractive worldwide regardless. Kids already support Eurooes teams wirldwide. What I dont see is the support structure underneath. You might even see a total split.

It’s a total split that UEFA are trying to avoid which is why every year they give them more and more and to make sure this keeps happening the big clubs leak rumours of a split every few months.
The end game is a Euro league which elite clubs can’t be relegated from.

10-02-2021, 07:57 AM
If Benfica are in the running Celtic will fancy their chances.

Nah, Benfica are bigger than Celtic by about every measure. It's only the Glasgow based media here that try to make us believe otherwise.

10-02-2021, 08:03 AM

TBh i dont think there is any stopping it. It wont be long until MSL teams join in.

10-02-2021, 08:37 AM
It’s the American influence on European football. The number of Americans and other mega rich individuals buying clubs want a return. American sport does not have relegation and has little appetite for clubs wining their way into their top leagues. But as Oz posted on another thread TV audiences are dropping for their sports so European football clubs should take heed. Don’t try and fix something that’s not broken. If top clubs don’t qualify on the pitch through their performance then tough. Football needs to be careful that it does not disenfranchise it’s core support.

10-02-2021, 10:40 AM

How can you have a 36 team league but only be guaranteed to play 10 games?

10-02-2021, 10:50 AM
Automatic qualification is the beginning of the end for me. I won't watch it.

Wakeyhibee
10-02-2021, 06:47 PM
TBh i dont think there is any stopping it. It wont be long until MSL teams join in.

I agree with yourself, Ozyhibs etc..on the motives and money will probably drive this thru.

My point is that, you may well find it becomes a TV league worldwide and loses the emotional attachment people feel for their clubs. That to me is the sticking point. God forbid this situation becomes more frequent but financial events happen, seen plenty in my lifetime. TV subscriptions are usually a first to go.

UEFA already spreading losses of £500m over 5 years in prize money apparently.

Theres a lot of big clubs in England, Germany & Italy who wont get a look in with this set up, there may also be a split in European football if this "elite" ring fencing gets hold over time.

10-02-2021, 07:00 PM
Bring back the original Fairs Cup instead ! No Manchester clubs at all, no Bayern, no Real Madrid and a guaranteed place for at least one Edinburgh club !

11-02-2021, 12:37 PM
How can you have a 36 team league but only be guaranteed to play 10 games?

As I understand it, it's one big league table but each club plays nine other teams (randomly drawn? seeded?) – the overall table represents the points you get from your games, even though you may have had harder/easier games than the teams around you. Pretty odd.

I guess you can argue that in the current setup, it's also down to the luck of the draw that some teams get an easier group and therefore an easier path to the knockout stage. But it still feels like a contrived format where the starting point was "how can we increase profit" and "what makes a good sporting contest" was a minor secondary concern.

HibeeHibernian4
11-02-2021, 12:49 PM
Great news. Let elite football eat itself and don't get drawn into it. Keep the Scottish game alive and well by avoiding this nightmare that's built on sand.

11-02-2021, 01:15 PM
As I understand it, it's one big league table but each club plays nine other teams (randomly drawn? seeded?) – the overall table represents the points you get from your games, even though you may have had harder/easier games than the teams around you. Pretty odd.

I guess you can argue that in the current setup, it's also down to the luck of the draw that some teams get an easier group and therefore an easier path to the knockout stage. But it still feels like a contrived format where the starting point was "how can we increase profit" and "what makes a good sporting contest" was a minor secondary concern.

Seems it wouldve been far more sensible to just increase the group sizes, to say 6 groups of 6, with 6 group winners going through and 2 best runners up.

Bizarre that you would have a league where you only play some of the teams. Is there any precedence for a set up like that?

11-02-2021, 09:56 PM
Seems it wouldve been far more sensible to just increase the group sizes, to say 6 groups of 6, with 6 group winners going through and 2 best runners up.

Bizarre that you would have a league where you only play some of the teams. Is there any precedence for a set up like that?Guessing NFL/AFL. You play the teams in your group and some/not all of everyone else.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

11-02-2021, 10:14 PM

I wasnt looking at the past we were discussing the future

15-02-2021, 09:09 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210215/850214b3504c47b52067cf674d3f99d1.png

From Celtic’s statement today.

15-02-2021, 09:35 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210215/850214b3504c47b52067cf674d3f99d1.png

From Celtic’s statement today.

All to do with recent murmurs of Champions League entry changing. Nothing at all to do with domestic leagues.

15-02-2021, 09:44 AM
All to do with recent murmurs of Champions League entry changing. Nothing at all to do with domestic leagues.

The entry requirement for Champions league looks to be getting harder for Scottish teams? That paragraph does not hint at Celtic looking at the changes as being a negative?

15-02-2021, 09:46 AM
The entry requirement for Champions league looks to be getting harder for Scottish teams? That paragraph does not hint at Celtic looking at the changes as being a negative?

‘Structure of European competitions’ - nothing to do with domestic leagues.

15-02-2021, 09:53 AM
‘Structure of European competitions’ - nothing to do with domestic leagues.

I agree with that. The changes at European level is what will drive change elsewhere. The top clubs are pushing uefa season by season towards a Euro super league. The knock on from that is what is interesting for Hibs.
I really don’t think that Celtic withdrew from recent Atlantic league talks because they have a new found belief in the SPFL. I think they think something better might come up.

One Day In Time
15-02-2021, 10:12 AM
It’s the American influence on European football. The number of Americans and other mega rich individuals buying clubs want a return. American sport does not have relegation and has little appetite for clubs wining their way into their top leagues. But as Oz posted on another thread TV audiences are dropping for their sports so European football clubs should take heed. Don’t try and fix something that’s not broken. If top clubs don’t qualify on the pitch through their performance then tough. Football needs to be careful that it does not disenfranchise it’s core support.

Is our owner not American? :devil: I'm not sure about everyone else but I'm already fed up with most football. I used to watch the EPL and the CL matches but now I just can't be bothered. I'm happy to watch the highlights if by chance I manage to catch them but I've got better things to do with my time than spend 90 minutes watching two teams trying to out manoeuvre each other in a football chess match. Throw in some of the ridiculous salaries being played to some pretty mediocre players and hearing how some of them behave, I feel I'm disengaged already.

Great news. Let elite football eat itself and don't get drawn into it. Keep the Scottish game alive and well by avoiding this nightmare that's built on sand.

I agree. I think we'll get a huge take up when fans are allowed back into grounds in this country. The clubs though have to make sure they have a plan to not only capitalise on that but to sustain it.

15-02-2021, 10:45 AM
Is our owner not American? :devil: I'm not sure about everyone else but I'm already fed up with most football. I used to watch the EPL and the CL matches but now I just can't be bothered. I'm happy to watch the highlights if by chance I manage to catch them but I've got better things to do with my time than spend 90 minutes watching two teams trying to out manoeuvre each other in a football chess match. Throw in some of the ridiculous salaries being played to some pretty mediocre players and hearing how some of them behave, I feel I'm disengaged already.

I agree. I think we'll get a huge take up when fans are allowed back into grounds in this country. The clubs though have to make sure they have a plan to not only capitalise on that but to sustain it.

The more commercialised leagues become the less engaged I am. I used to watch all games that were on tele and Match of the day religiously, and even used to watch the games on sky sports when they showed them for full on a Saturday night (the non televised ones), now I can’t be arsed with any of it. I watch the big games on tele purely for fantasy football purposes, and the same about scores coming in for coupon and fantasy football purposes, but have no interest at all anymore.

Champions league I’ll watch some games to see certain players, but overall no interest in the games.

I watch nearly every Scottish game I can, and sportscene every night, even tune into the championship games and go and watch Preston in the non leagues. Just feels far more real and engaging, hence why I couldn’t ever get behind an Atlantic league.

15-02-2021, 12:55 PM
Remember when European football used to be special?

A real treat on a midweek night?

you never realise what you’ve got till it’s gone.

15-02-2021, 12:59 PM
Automatic qualification is the beginning of the end for me. I won't watch it.

I don't watch it now and haven't for years - what were once juicy ties are now meaningless and commonplace - sporting integrity has long since gone oot the windae.

I could not give a flying one for so called "elite clubs" and find it disgusting that they are being given a wholy undeserved free meal ticket.

17-02-2021, 10:28 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210217/e6bda2cafec824d473a293f023182c31.jpg
Interesting he doesn’t want less Champions league games. This is how it will happen.

17-02-2021, 10:45 AM
Interesting he doesn’t want less Champions league games. This is how it will happen.

What does he even mean when he say too many games are harmful? That there are too many games to play or that there’s too many run of the mill games? Another club motivated out of self interest rather than the greater good I would suspect.

17-02-2021, 11:19 AM
What does he even mean when he say too many games are harmful? That there are too many games to play or that there’s too many run of the mill games? Another club motivated out of self interest rather than the greater good I would suspect.

Absolutely. He’s speaking for all the big clubs. They only want to play each other for the really big dollars.

17-02-2021, 12:13 PM
It’s an inevitable consequence of the sums involved, you pay some guys a fortune a week to play football, it’s in your interest to have them play less games that generate more revenue, than have them get knackered, or worse, injured playing a ‘little’ team.

I’m not saying that’s right of course, but you can see where they’re coming from. Pretty sure there was a suggestion to cap top divisions to 18 teams from UEFA years ago that the likes of England resisted at the time.

17-02-2021, 12:54 PM

Have they got a tv deal yet (Ligue 1)? If I was him I would be more worried about that.

If your making the champions league 36 teams and say giving 18 of them elite status (guaranteed entry every year), would Marseille be one of them teams.

17-02-2021, 01:20 PM
Have they got a tv deal yet (Ligue 1)? If I was him I would be more worried about that.

If your making the champions league 36 teams and say giving 18 of them elite status (guaranteed entry every year), would Marseille be one of them teams.

They'd make it in by virtue of being the second biggest team in France and the potential huge viewing figures that country brings.

If they were Spanish or English for example they'd have next to no chance of getting in.

17-02-2021, 02:50 PM

“not good for fans” 😂

and a superleague is?

17-02-2021, 02:55 PM
If there’s one club I’m not going to listen to regarding what’s right for the game and it’s fans it’s that one. Arse fell out of Marseille back in ‘93.

strangely I still prefer them to PSG, which shows how much I hate that club.

09-03-2021, 03:19 PM
https://amp.theguardian.com/football/2021/mar/09/the-fiver-big-cup-about-to-get-even-bigger-blame-the-man?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true

18-04-2021, 01:48 PM
Seen this a short while ago. Not sure if there is anything in it or just more nonsense

https://twitter.com/tariqpanja/status/1383768402091671568?s=19

18-04-2021, 01:48 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/ae0d55387196dc7517112c27dcc2d556.jpg

18-04-2021, 02:07 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/2d39d5893f3ece47ed6d04bc1e5d8ebd.jpg

18-04-2021, 03:33 PM
Sky Sports

https://twitter.com/SkySportsNews/status/1383804169832697859?s=19

18-04-2021, 03:36 PM
Players going to be banned from European and international fixtures, including the world cup and Euros if they participate

18-04-2021, 03:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/b914891d643988eebe6d1e6f9fb2e4ca.jpg

Fun times.[emoji23]

18-04-2021, 03:37 PM
Give me Scottish football any day over that. Rarely pay attention to champions League football as it is never mind this.

18-04-2021, 03:40 PM
Give me Scottish football any day over that. Rarely pay attention to champions League football as it is never mind this.

There are loads of people like you but the clubs know loads more will tune in.

mayo hibee
18-04-2021, 03:41 PM
There will be a lot of politics in this, ultimately these teams want guaranteed Champions League access regardless of league performance and to be honest they hold power over UEFA at this stage.

If it gets to stage where UEFA are willing to give them that, and I think we're almost there, then it would be as well for them to head off and do their own thing.

The average football supporter these days would rather watch Liverpool play PSG instead of watch them play Everton, Leeds or Brighton. At our level it makes little difference, regardless of whether you think Scottish football would be better or worse off without the Glasgow two, something like this will probably have no impact on our league anyway.

The Count
18-04-2021, 03:45 PM
No mention of Hearts.Bit suprised.

18-04-2021, 03:49 PM
Players going to be banned from European and international fixtures, including the world cup and Euros if they participate
That’s a bit harsh on the players, it’s not like they have a choice in the matter.

ABZHFC
18-04-2021, 03:50 PM
Let them all go and do not let them back in when it goes to the wall. **** modern football, we will be better off without them

18-04-2021, 03:50 PM
There will be a lot of politics in this, ultimately these teams want guaranteed Champions League access regardless of league performance and to be honest they hold power over UEFA at this stage.

If it gets to stage where UEFA are willing to give them that, and I think we're almost there, then it would be as well for them to head off and do their own thing.

The average football supporter these days would rather watch Liverpool play PSG instead of watch them play Everton, Leeds or Brighton. At our level it makes little difference, regardless of whether you think Scottish football would be better or worse off without the Glasgow two, something like this will probably have no impact on our league anyway.

Without Celtic or Rangers, Hibs would have to seriously cut our overheads. Training centre would not survive.

18-04-2021, 03:51 PM
That’s a bit harsh on the players, it’s not like they have a choice in the matter.

Course they do. Refuse to play if clubs go ahead. 100% does not happen if players all refuse. Would likely be big time legal battles because they've signed contracts to play for Liverpool in the premier league, not the atlantic league (for example)

18-04-2021, 03:51 PM
I’ve been posting on here and elsewhere for years that this was inevitable. I’m convinced the end game is an NFL style system or similar. I won’t be paying a subscription for it.

18-04-2021, 03:52 PM
Course they do. Refuse to play if clubs go ahead. 100% does not happen if players all refuse.

Players will go where the most money is.

Without Celtic or Rangers, Hibs would have to seriously cut our overheads. Training centre would not survive.

Take it you mean without the same size of TV deal. As Celtic and Rangers don’t bring much income to Hibs.

https://www.uefa.com/insideuefa/mediaservices/mediareleases/news/0268-12121411400e-7897186e699a-1000--statement-by-uefa-the-english-football-association-the-premier-/

mayo hibee
18-04-2021, 03:53 PM

I don't see the giants of European football kicking down the doors at Parkhead and Ibrox to get those two involved to be honest.

Keyser Sauzee
18-04-2021, 03:54 PM

Not really harsh, they have a choice to make, stay with the club knowing the implications of doing that or find another club where they can play international football. If they are under contract then they can just relinquish any money due from the contract and sign for someone else. It probably isn’t as easy as that for all players but will be for the majority.

18-04-2021, 03:54 PM
Take it you mean without the same size of TV deal. As Celtic and Rangers don’t bring much income to Hibs.

Yes. TV money, sponsorship money would all drop dramatically if they are not there. There is no future that is better for Hibs in a smaller league with a bigger league operating in Scotland.