View Full Version : Match Updates Ross County v Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

17-10-2020, 03:38 PM
Red for County

Straight red for County. Boyle away and taken down.

JXM73
Cmon tae **** hibs, 10 men now....

Randall dirty cheating hearts ****

Boyle was away there

Stick on red.

skyhibs
We just don’t score enough goals..... don’t score don’t win.. someone want to tell jack ross that

****ing *****bag Randall. Took Boyle out.

Come on Hibs. Get the win now.

Boyle was away there. Defo red.

one day maybe...
They’ll just shut up shop now

red card former jamboid randall

Lendo
County Down to 10 men

17-10-2020, 03:39 PM
We just don’t score enough goals..... don’t score don’t win.. someone want to tell jack ross that

Tell that to his record this season then.

17-10-2020, 03:39 PM
We just don’t score enough goals..... don’t score don’t win.. someone want to tell jack ross thatTop scorers behind Rangers and Celtic. It's amazing the facts some people come out with.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

17-10-2020, 03:40 PM
Could be a massive 3 points if we Nick a goal here as the Sheep are still being held at Dundee Utd.

Come on Hibs!!

We also seem to not be able to take the great opportunities that we have throughout a season, we lack something for sure.

skyhibs
17-10-2020, 03:40 PM
What record is that
Is that 1 against Forfar or no shots on target agains smeltic

17-10-2020, 03:41 PM
Diving ****

What record is that

The record that we are the third highest scorers in the league.

What record is that

That’s very selective

need to see that again i thought that was a county penalty there, replay shows ref got it right

17-10-2020, 03:42 PM
Clear foul on Mallan missed there

What record is that
Is that 1 against Forfar or no shots on target agains smelticNothing like cherry picking statistics to back up a questionable argument.

Terrible dive by Stewart there and McGinn gave him a mouthful, I wonder if the ref will book him.

Apart from the first 10 mins and 2-3 chances this half we've not been great, all huff and puff with no end product, lack of width is telling.

Nisbet not having a great 2nd 45

Get Gullan on

17-10-2020, 03:43 PM
Come on Gullan get a goal.

I don’t think we’ve been that bad

I don’t think we’ve been that badNeither do I.

5 mins too late. Should’ve gone 3 at the back after they were down to ten.

What record is that

Hahahaha ffs. What a ***** argument 😂

17-10-2020, 03:44 PM

Aye but how can you say that when on the 25th February 2003 we got beat 3-0 by Dundee?

17-10-2020, 03:44 PM
Too slow moving the ball.

17-10-2020, 03:45 PM
I don’t think we’ve been that bad

Neither do I.
We haven’t. Wasteful in the final third but been solid so far.

They are a rubbish, dirty team. 3 points dropped if we don't win this.

5 mins too late. Should’ve gone 3 at the back after they were down to ten.Maybe Gullan wasn't stripped and ready to come on?

17-10-2020, 03:46 PM

Agree

How can we pass the ball across the back line so slowly when we have 5 mins left ffs, more urgency needed.

We've missed someone like Murphy today.

A bit of calmness, experience and incision in the final 3rd.

17-10-2020, 03:47 PM
We could play all day and not score.

How did Maggenis play?

Dreadful stuff.

17-10-2020, 03:48 PM
How did Maggenis play?

Thought he struggled to get involved after a bright start. Much like them all.

The Leith Dutch
Maybe Gullan wasn't stripped and ready to come on?

Any minute now skyhibs will be along to tell you Jack Ross should have predicted the red card and had Gullan warmed up in time for it happening.
S**t manager obviously :rolleyes:

How did Maggenis play?

Good strike against post early on but wasn't involved much.

We were 3 at the back the whole game. We’ve now gone 4 at the back.

How is that not a foul😂😂

Levein in the bbc sportsound studio now. Levein, Craig Thomson, Alan Preston, who next, Wallace Mercer’s zombie incarnate? Lord Kitchener? Shergar??

FFS.

How did Maggenis play?

Hard to say, 1 cracking shot off the post, tidy enough but severely lacking match sharpness.

Pish

17-10-2020, 03:49 PM
How did Maggenis play?

He needs five or six games to get match fit
So wouldn’t judge him get Looks like he will get us goals if played in S more forward position

Good strike against post early on but wasn't involved much.

Also the shot that was cleared off the line just after.

Clear foul on Boyle there.

That number 17 could have been booked 4 times over

Come on Hibs.

I'd like Ross to start fining players half a weeks wages every time they pass sideways and a full week wages for a backwards pass. Stevenson would owe the club about 100 grand a week

17-10-2020, 03:50 PM
We were 3 at the back the whole game. We’ve now gone 4 at the back.
I think you’re drunk Andy.

Should've done better there Doidge. He knows it.

Thought he struggled to get involved after a bright start. Much like them all.

Fair enough, hopefully he’s still just rusty having been out for so long. What kind of midfielder does he look like? Box to box? Haven’t managed to see him yet so curious.

Got to score. Missed the baw when he tried to header it.

Terrible miss by Doidge again

Levein in the bbc sportsound studio now. Levein, Craig Thomson, Alan Preston, who next, Wallace Mercer’s zombie incarnate? Lord Kitchener? Shergar??

FFS.Just for balance they should squeeze a few more chairs in for some of Hearts creditors.

If they offer him enough money big trudi might be tempted, or how about Kiwidug?

FFS came off Doidge's shoulder/back.

17-10-2020, 03:51 PM
That was poor by Doidge. Clear header opportunity

Should've done better there Doidge. He knows it.
Aye but do you?:greengrin

one day maybe...
How has the RC left back not been booked in this game

We've created so many chances, please snatch a deserved win here.

17-10-2020, 03:52 PM
Oh ffs Hanlon what a chance

That number 17 could have been booked 4 times over

Hammer throwers. Ref has been poor today.

NC1875
Not good enough. And why we won’t finish 3rd.

Chance after chance... Not good enough today.

Not good enough. And why we won’t finish 3rd.Rangers won't win the league because they drew with Hibs.

17-10-2020, 03:53 PM

FFS.Radio McRae's Battalion

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Bedwetter alert

cameronw-hfc
This place is hilarious after a draw, ffs

JXM73

Gullan just got elbowed in the face and nothing done.

Referee has been absolutely hopeless

AdidasHibernian

Nonsense.

We managed to grind a 1-0 out at Utd this season, the Sheep have just drew 0-0 there as well.

Every chance of 3rd. Sheep's going to drop points as well.

This place is hilarious after a draw, ffsThere's already a queue at South Queensferry

Pish

17-10-2020, 03:54 PM
so disappointing

Unlucky Hibs.

1 8 7 5
rubbish hibs!

Thought we were good there. Unlucky.

We should be winning today, missed so many chances. Aberdeen have drawn with Dundee United today when we beat them at Tannadice. Still plenty to go in the race for 3rd.

Nonsense.

We managed to grind a 1-0 out at Utd this season, the Sheep have just drew 0-0 there as well.

Every chance of 3rd. Sheep's going to drop points as well.No one else is going to drop points, just Hibs. Were you not briefed on this?

Absolute pish Hibs

Not good enough.

Porteous tripped at the end there, nothing given

FT 0-0

Could've be a valuable point but should've won that easily. We're a much better side than them. Doidge, Nisbit and Boyle should've all scored.

26 shots away from home and no goals. Wow.

If we continue to lose 18% of our league games, we'll be lucky to avoid relegation.

Really crap two points to drop. Especially with the sheep dropping points.

Very poor from all our attacking players.

17-10-2020, 03:55 PM
Should have won that. Referee was awful, County hammer throwers completely got away with their anti-tootball *****. Finishing was poor from us.

Well time to avoid the ludicrous hot takes on here

Very wasteful in front of goal today. That should have been a comfortable three points.

This place is hilarious after a draw, ffs

People are frustrated and rightly so. Gane should've been over after 20 minutes but missed chances.

Looks like Doidge has went back to pre goalscorer Doidge

2 points dropped , played ok though and a clean sheet

Hammer throwers. Ref has been poor today.

Some of there attacking play through Gardyne, Lakin and Stewart was decent but the rest of their team was brutal. Kicking anything that moved.

Chance after chance... Not good enough today.

Seen so many of these type of games, just drives me ****ing mental, the manager must be going ****in tonto at the end of this, just no good enough.

2 points dropped, not enough composure out there, didn't play that bad but never looked like scoring.

We absolutely battered them. Sometimes it doesn't happen and today is one of those days.

We move onwards and upwards. Bedwetters can go do one.

17-10-2020, 03:56 PM
Cue relentless bedwetting pish for the next few days. I’m offski, enjoy yourselves gentle people.

Just wasn't our day infront of goal, sometimes it happens, people need to calm down a tad, on another day it could have been 4 or 5

Never really in any trouble, but couldn’t take any of our chances.

We absolutely battered them. Sometimes it doesn't happen and today is one of those days.

We move onwards and upwards. Bedwetters can go do one.Measured intelligence is not allowed in this thread. Thanks in advance.

NC1875
Bedwetter alert

Glad you watched that and thought we were good. Along with the last 3 games. Not good enough for 3rd imo. Hardly a bedwetter.

I think you’re drunk Andy.

We played a 352 with Stevenson and Boyle as wing backs and Gogic, Newell and Magennis in midfield.

When Gullan came on he signalled 4 and Hanlon went to left back and Gogic to centre half.

2 points dropped today due to missed chances. Disappointing

Combination of unlucky and wasteful. Played well though and a point away at Ross County isn’t the worst result.

Magpie
17-10-2020, 03:57 PM
Not good enough. Simple as that.

AL-Qaholik
Very poor. Need to win these games if we’re serious about European spots.

I think we were unlucky. Just one of those days in front of goal.
Nisbet and Porto twice taken out off the ball in attacking positions too.

Curried
Frustrating...but no the end of the world. We've played heaps worse and scraped a point.. On On.

You would think that referees are under instruction not to give us free kicks just outside the box. We should have had 3 or 4 in the second half alone.

villahibs
McGinn was our best player again... Magennis looks promising. Martin Boyle has an absolute shocker. Couple of points dropped there.

northern-hibee
Slow, so predictable, and very poor performance

Green-Hibee-7
Frustrating. Apart from the first 10 minutes, never had any sort of constant pressure on their goal. Plenty of chances mind you to score but felt we were to slow for the most part.

Nothing lost but nothing gained in terms of points difference with Aberdeen.

Disappointing but time to avoid this place I think.

17-10-2020, 03:58 PM
Combination of unlucky and wasteful. Played well though and a point away at Ross County isn’t the worst result.

It's not the worst but we should be going there expecting to win

We played well today but I think we're already seeing how thin the squad is.

No proven attacking options on the bench to change the game.

We're in trouble if Nisbet gets a bad injury.

One of those days. Rueing Boyle’s missed 1-on-1 in the first half but we created plenty more decent chances. Back 3 were excellent and Rocky didn’t have a save to make. Newell played well too. We’ve played a lot worse and won this season.

17-10-2020, 03:59 PM
Glad you watched that and thought we were good. Along with the last 3 games. Not good enough for 3rd imo. Hardly a bedwetter.

A complete bedwetter im afraid and like a few other posters I'm outta here for a few days.

I simply do not know what to make of that today.:confused:

We really didn't play poorly today.

I'd like Ross to start fining players half a weeks wages every time they pass sideways and a full week wages for a backwards pass. Stevenson would owe the club about 100 grand a week

So Terry Butcher hoof the ball forward stuff?

17-10-2020, 04:00 PM
We played well today but I think we're already seeing how thin the squad is.

No proven attacking options on the bench to change the game.

We're in trouble if Nisbet gets a bad injury.

28 shots away from home.

Played well overall, some poor finishing, some bad luck. Not a place we’ve done brilliantly before so being disappointed at not winning is good progress.

EVENTUALLY
Doidge control is effing murder.

Agreed, the fact that we’ve played 3 lower league teams recently and picked up 0 points from them is disgraceful. **** sake Hibs so **** as always

I thought I was a good performance. Just didnt take chances. We were always in control.
Little disappointed in Magennis but hes been put for a long time

wasteful is the word, should have put a few of these chances away, to be honest this team on the pitch, as it is, is not good enough for third, unless they move up a gear, why bring Gullan on so late ffs, fresh legs an aw that. Before they had a player sent off, it didnae look like we had many chances either.Poor loss of 2 points today :yw:

A complete bedwetter im afraid and like a few other posters I'm outta here for a few days.

Good. Leave us moaners to sort this mess out 😉

We played a 352 with Stevenson and Boyle as wing backs and Gogic, Newell and Magennis in midfield.

When Gullan came on he signalled 4 and Hanlon went to left back and Gogic to centre half.
It looked pretty much like 442 or 4132. Went three at the back when Gullan came on with Hanlon left Porteous middle and Gogic right. Did Gullane not stick up three fingers? Don’t see why we would move to four at the back with them down to ten. I don’t think McGinn played right CB all game did he or Boyle never really showed defending?

Unlucky. Hindered by the ref.

A lot of chat about us and Aberdeen but Killie are 7 points behind with a game in hand. We need to be winning these kind of games.

17-10-2020, 04:01 PM
Missed chances....better not start making this a habit. Doidge looks well off it just now, maybe still bothered by that back injury.

Ref was horrendous mind you.

Not good enough.

The performance or the result?

Because if you mean the result, that’s like saying you demand maximum points from every game. Which would be unprecedented in football history. We got a point, seem to have had the best of the game, both strikers should have scored, move on.

Xavi in his prime would've owed Barcelona millions

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 04:02 PM
2 points dropped , played ok though and a clean sheet

Aye, 2 points dropped but as for played OK, not for me.

Good for 15 minutes, some terrible decision making coupled with some shocking shooting and passing.

Seriously lacking any creativity with Allan unwell and Murphy injured.

Really not good enough if we want to put in a serious challenge for 3rd spot.

As an aside, I was surprised how dirty Ross County were, a lot of off the ball stuff that was missed by officials.

17-10-2020, 04:03 PM
I thought some players looked tired today, not an excuse but it was a busy couple of weeks for some of our key players. Saying that we created more than enough to win and county got away with a lot.

The Leith Dutch
17-10-2020, 04:03 PM

We move onwards and upwards. Bedwetters can go do one.

Totally agree - sometimes it doesn't work out.
28 shots today. You keep doing that you'll pick up wins.

The other weird one is people who berate the team more because Aberdeen dropped points too.
It cuts both ways - yes, would have been great to pick up points on them but also it lessens the impact that they dropped points the same week we did.

If someone had said 21 points from the first 11 matches at the start of the season I'd have been happy with that.
23 points from that first 11 I'd have snatched their hand off.

17-10-2020, 04:04 PM

Good for 15 minutes, some terrible decision making coupled with some shocking shooting and passing.

As an aside, I was surprised how dirty Ross County were, a lot of off the ball stuff that was missed by officials.

We're already putting in a serious challenge for 3rd. 21 points after 11 games.

yerauldda
Played well. Should have won. Would be fair more worried if we weren’t creative.
Nick Walsh does know you can not have the ball and still be fouled, doesn’t he?

Paul McGinn is a superstar.

That was incredibly frustrating. You cant fault the defence, though perhaps I'm being a bit kind there, because we allowed too many clear sights of goal in the first half that a better team would have scored from, having said that I cant recall Rocky having a single save to make. The midfield got the ball forward, even if it was a bit too pedestrian for half the match ........... But FFS you just can't make that number of chances and not score !!!

It always seems to be the way with Hibs that whenever we are in a race with other teams we never take advantage when they slip up and its the same today. If we cant change that we have absolutely no chance of finishing 3rd.

NC1875

You’ll be called a bedwetter in a minute after those comments.

Apparently its ok to draw at Ross county and not take advantage of Aberdeen dropping points.

17-10-2020, 04:05 PM
Some of the reactions on here are frankly ridiculous. Bed wetting and over reactions galore.

Played ok, never looked like conceding and made enough chances to win 2 games. Frustrating but hardly worthy of some of the pish I'm reading.

Played well. Should have won. Would be fair more worried if we weren’t creative.
Nick Walsh does know you can not have the ball and still be fouled, doesn’t he?

Paul McGinn is a superstar.

We didn’t play well at all.

We are 3rd.

The team behind us also drew away to a team with the same points as the team we were playing. A team we won away at.

We will be making a serious challenge for 3rd if we carry on as we are.

17-10-2020, 04:06 PM
How this team not have a chance of finishing 3rd when we’re currently.. eh... 3rd after a full round of fixtures?

NC1875
17-10-2020, 04:06 PM
Some of the reactions on here ate frankly ridiculous. Bed wetting and over reactions galore.

Played ok, never looked like conceding and made enough chances to win 2 games. Frustrating but hardly worthy of some of the pish I'm reading.

You can make as many chances as you want. If you don’t take them you won’t finish 3rd.

It’s hardly bedwetting.

17-10-2020, 04:07 PM
That was incredibly frustrating. You cant fault the defence coz I cant recall Rocky having a single save to make and the midfield got the ball forward, even if it was a bit too pedestrian for half the match ........... But FFS you just can't make that number of chances and not score !!!

It always seems to be the way with Hibs that whenever we are in a race with other teams we never take advantage when they slip up and its the same today. If we cant change that we have absolutely no chance of finishing 3rd.

The defence in possession where slack as anything. Misplaced passes all over the place.
It’s been a worrying week or so leading up to a Scottish cup semi derby.

yerauldda
We didn’t play well at all.

That’s subjective. We played well enough to win the game. It wasn’t terrific but we created 7 or 8 clear cut chances and I can’t remember us being in any real danger of conceding.

I’d say we played well enough.

How this team not have a chance of finishing 3rd when we’re currently.. eh... 3rd after a full round of fixtures?

:top marksIts actually hilarious.

Because apparently Aberdeen would never do this.

Ignore the fact they did this today.

17-10-2020, 04:08 PM

17-10-2020, 04:09 PM
A point away from home on a day when we haven't lost any ground. Frustrating, but not the end of the world. Anyone who wouldn't have taken what we have now after one full set of fixtures is allowed to think that though.

17-10-2020, 04:10 PM
We are 3rd.

The team behind us also drew away to a team with the same points as the team we were playing. A team we won away at.

Well said Andy

Really frustrating result especially with Aberdeen dropping points.

A win today would have put us in a fantastic position.

Still 21 points from the first round of fixtures is excellent.

allmodcons

Your point is?

I don't need you tell me we've had a good start to the season but if you think we were good today...............

If we continue to play as we did today we will struggle to maintain our challenge for the 3rd spot.

It's not about where we are, more about where we want to be.

Potty78
21 points out of 33 will do me every quarter thanks. Enough chances to win the game today but just wasn't to be. The spl is like this every year, teams take points off each other. Not the worst result today !

17-10-2020, 04:11 PM
You seem determined to have the last word. From an admin - give it a rest right now please.Just catching up on this thread.

That's lol.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

17-10-2020, 04:12 PM
Your point is?

I don't need you tell me we've had a good start to the season but if you think we were good today...............

If we continue to play as we did today we will struggle to maintain our challenge for the 3rd spot.

Of course. But you could also just say if we played like we did at Livi we'll finish top. Its a marathon, not a sprint. We're doing well overall.

17-10-2020, 04:13 PM
Just catching up on this thread.

That's lol.

Made me laugh as well. Get told to shut the **** up and go the hell away and I get told to give it a rest :faf:

Have to be finishing our chances. Watched the last 20mins and our finishing was horrendous.

2 points dropped

allmodcons
We are 3rd.

I don't really care how Aberdeen played.

If we continue to play as we did today we'll not finish third.

17-10-2020, 04:14 PM
Your point is?

Every single football team in the world drops points at some point in a season.

What is it with Hibs.net making it sound like it exclusively happens to us?

Who will?

allmodcons
Have to be finishing our chances. Watched the last 20mins and our finishing was horrendous.

2 points dropped

Like old Stubbsy used to say, next time !we go again".

17-10-2020, 04:15 PM

That makes no sense but crack on.

17-10-2020, 04:15 PM
I do think we’ll definitely be challenging for 3rd come the end of the season.

We should’ve won today but not always an easy place to go.

17-10-2020, 04:16 PM

Aberdeen haven't completed the full round of fixtures. With two games in hand and only two points behind I fancy them for third. We have a chance but we need to take advantage when Aberdeen slip up.

28 shots away from home.

Played well overall, some poor finishing, some bad luck. Not a place we’ve done brilliantly before so being disappointed at not winning is good progress.

Some people are just nuts. We created loads. Some times you just don’t score.

Your point is?

If you think it will be Aberdeen then have a read of their match thread. Caution though their match day thread could be full of moaners.

http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/45493-dundee-united-0-0-aberdeem/page/8/#comments

17-10-2020, 04:17 PM
Hanlon did the work of 3 players in the 2nd half. Some were well off it.

Like old Stubbsy used to say, next time !we go again".

Where is he now. Gone again?

You can make as many chances as you want. If you don’t take them you won’t finish 3rd.

It’s hardly bedwetting.

Exhibit A 🤦🏻

17-10-2020, 04:21 PM
Where is he now. Gone again?

Ah dont know where he is, I just liked that quote that he used to say, a wee bit like "Persevere" or never give up sort of thing.
You dont like that, fair enough!

17-10-2020, 04:22 PM
The lack of understanding of some on here thinking we can just rock up at Dingwall and get 3 points is crazy.

Not an easy place to go and whilst we should have won the game and it’s disappointing it’s far from terrible.

3rd in the league
W6 D3 L2 = 21 points
League Cup - 3/3 wins

Yet we won’t be able to achieve 3rd as we drew 1 away game.....

17-10-2020, 04:23 PM
That’s subjective. We played well enough to win the game. It wasn’t terrific but we created 7 or 8 clear cut chances and I can’t remember us being in any real danger of conceding.

They are a poor side. We did create chances mainly through nothing. On a whole we didn’t play well in my opinion. We seem to be going through the motions a lot.

17-10-2020, 04:24 PM

So what if some thought we played well. We didnt win and we need to take our chances. Luckily Aberdeen drew too otherwise we might be in 4th position now

17-10-2020, 04:24 PM
I think the big difference for us in games like today is getting an early goal. I have zero doubt that if we’d finished one of our early chances we go on and win the game comfortably.

The longer we chase the game to try get a goal the harder we find it. Not the end of the world.

17-10-2020, 04:25 PM
Played well that’s all you can ask

17-10-2020, 04:25 PM
The lack of understanding of some on here thinking we can just rock up at Dingwall and get 3 points is crazy.

Not an easy place to go and whilst we should have won the game and it’s disappointing it’s far from terrible.

3rd in the league
W6 D3 L2 = 21 points
League Cup - 3/3 wins

Yet we won’t be able to achieve 3rd as we drew 1 away game.....

So we shouldn’t be disappointed for a flat performance on the whole against a side we have a much better squad than? Then you throw in the league cup games and it’s been flat. It has been since the first half against Hamilton and it’s pretty concerning with the games coming up.

Shouldn’t we strive to want more?

17-10-2020, 04:26 PM
I think the big difference for us in games like today is getting an early goal. I have zero doubt that if we’d finished one of our early chances we go on and win the game comfortably.

The longer we chase the game to try get a goal the harder we find it. Not the end of the world.

It seems if we don’t score early then we struggle.

17-10-2020, 04:26 PM
The defence in possession where slack as anything. Misplaced passes all over the place.
It’s been a worrying week or so leading up to a Scottish cup semi derby.

IMO most of the misplaced passes came from the midfield, Hanlon had a few, but all of them were near enough in their final third rather than in his own half.

I agree totally though that our performance was worrying, as I said, we allowed far too many clear shooting opportunities that were either wasted by poor County shooting or blocked by last ditch challenges ..... Like it or not the Yams had three similar chances from open play last night and blasted every one of them into the net. The other concern was our pedestrian play, if we show the same lack of urgency in the cup semi Hearts will run over us before we can even start playing, if the way they approached last night's game is anything to go by.

It may be that Dundee made Hearts look like world beaters last night, but the truth is probably somewhere in the middle, yes Dundee were poor in the first half especially, but Hearts moved the ball well and unlike us this afternoon they moved it quickly and it was far from hoofball either.

The only upside I can see from the last two days is that any thought of just turning up at Hampden to win has gone straight out of the window, so any complacent thoughts there may have been in our camp can be firmly put to bed. The other is that despite not scoring today we made countless chances, nothing is impossible but I simply cant believe we could do that again and not score at least once.

17-10-2020, 04:27 PM
Some of the reactions on here are frankly ridiculous. Bed wetting and over reactions galore.

Pretty much spot on another day we win by a couple. One of those days got a point and we move on. Squad have been all over the place a decent week training will help for next game.

NC1875
17-10-2020, 04:29 PM
So we shouldn’t be disappointed for a flat performance on the whole against a side we have a much better squad than? Then you throw in the league cup games and it’s been flat. It has been since the first half against Hamilton and it’s pretty concerning with the games coming up.

If you want more from Hibs after the last 4 performances, You’re a bedwetter apparently.

Anything negative after a 0-0 at Ross County and you’re a bedwetter.

17-10-2020, 04:30 PM
If you want more from Hibs after the last 4 performances, You’re a bedwetter apparently.

There’s not a prize for being top of the “How many times a day can I say bedwetter” leaderboard mate.

17-10-2020, 04:31 PM
We didn't look like were going to concede today but we were poor in the final third. Doidge with a few bad misses again!! Nesbit missed a few as well. We need to be more clinical in front of goal.

17-10-2020, 04:33 PM
We didn't look like were going to concede today but we were poor in the final third. Doidge with a few bad misses again!! Nesbit missed a few as well. We need to be more clinical in front of goal.

Nesbit’s passing was poor today, which is unlike him.

17-10-2020, 04:35 PM
It seems if we don’t score early then we struggle.

Not really, we scored late to turn the game/secure the win against the Rangers (Cove, Brora and Glasgow), Mallan scored a last minute winner in the 1-0 against St Johnstone and Doidge scored second half when we beat Dundee Utd 1-0.

17-10-2020, 04:36 PM

There’s a big difference between being disappointed (or as I said, frustrated) and some of the OTT reactions. I think every single one of us will be disappointed not to have won. It’s the mad extremes that I don’t get.

17-10-2020, 04:36 PM
Not a great result. Not a terrible result.

We are still very much in the driving seat for 3rd place.

17-10-2020, 04:37 PM
Since the Hamilton game its been a topsy turvy time for Hibs.

Three League Cup ties with a scratch side.

Players away on International Duty and others getting called up at short notice.

Players not fit for today and others not up to speed yet.

I'm glad there's not a game this midweek, gives them a chance to settle down again.

A draw at Ross County doesn't scupper the season despite what some on here think.

21 points from the first 11 fixtures a good return.

17-10-2020, 04:38 PM

Players away on International Duty and others getting called up at short notice.

I'm glad there's not a game this midweek, gives them a chance to settle down again.

A draw at Ross County doesn't scupper the season despite what some on here think.

Ach away with yer talking sense man, no place for it on here!

17-10-2020, 04:39 PM

28 attempts.

17-10-2020, 04:40 PM
One of the things that frustrates me about match threads is that a lot of posters are Hibs-centric.

”We should have done this, he was rubbish” etc etc

It ignores the fact that the opposition had a manager and coaching staff who were instructing their team how to play against us. They are top-flight too, they are not daft.

On the whole, we won the game - we made most of it and didn’t quite click, but that shouldn’t undermine County’s defending.

Obviously I wanted a win today but I can live with a clean sheet in a typically hard away game, with positive performances from a number of players.

2 points dropped. Opportunity missed but we reflect, learn and move on to the next game.

big gogs

2 points dropped
1 point gained,we never started the game with 3 points.

gaz1875
17-10-2020, 04:42 PM
Had Boyle taken any of the 2 really good chances I think we would have won quite easily, easy to say that now but they would have opened up even more. Some players were off the pace which didn't help, and the odd poor pass option was a bit frustrating. But it was a good performance overall and on another day we might have scored 2 or 3, **** happens.

17-10-2020, 04:43 PM
Not really, we scored late to turn the game/secure the win against the Rangers (Cove, Brora and Glasgow), Mallan scored a last minute winner in the 1-0 against St Johnstone and Doidge scored second half when we beat Dundee Utd 1-0.

We scored early against Rangers though. The others are part time sides the two late goals against Dundee Utd and St Johnstone extremely fortunate. We seem to start games extremely well at times and then lull for a lot of the game. The pattern continued today. It’s not bed wetting either it’s just my observation right or wrong.

17-10-2020, 04:44 PM
Aye, 21 from 12 would be the sort of scoring average usually needed for 3rd, so we are one match ahead of the game just now. Mind, the Sheep's average is currently a bit better.
Got to be satisfied with the points haul overall so far.

17-10-2020, 04:44 PM

I don’t think anyone at all as said it scuppers the season to be honest, just slight concerns being jumped on for some reason by posters getting called bed wetters.

17-10-2020, 04:47 PM
I thought we were ok and should’ve won, but we didn’t. It’s frustrating that Aberdeen drew and we didn’t take advantage of it, but overall it’s not the worst point we’ll gain this season. Killie next week is a big game now going into the semifinal.

17-10-2020, 04:48 PM
I don’t think anyone at all as said it scuppers the season to be honest, just slight concerns being jumped on for some reason by posters getting called bed wetters.

It was me who used the ‘bed wetter’ line and it was not aimed at anyone expressing ‘slight concerns’.

I think we were very unlucky today. It was a decent performance.

Slight concerns?

Read back over the thread and look at some of the comments, those criticising Doidge for example are way over the top.

17-10-2020, 04:50 PM
Aberdeen have two games in hand and will most likely win one and lose the other (against Celtc).

That's the equivalent of being one point behind Aberdeen after the first full round of fixtures.

Not bad ,but if we'd beat Ross County today (which we should have done, given the number of chances) it would have been one point ahead, not behind.

Anyway, on to next week.

17-10-2020, 04:50 PM
It was me who used the ‘bed wetter’ line and it was not aimed at anyone expressing ‘slight concerns’.

Cool 👍 as I’m about to reply to scoops I have read right back.

17-10-2020, 04:51 PM
Slight concerns?

Read back over the thread and look at some of the comments, those criticising Doidge for example are way over the top.

I’ll avoid it. Tbh I haven’t read back but trust your judgement.

Barman Stanton
17-10-2020, 04:55 PM
Slight concerns?

There are certain posters who can’t seem to wait for Doidge to have a bad performance so they can say they were right. When in reality his good performances massively outweigh the bad. Weird.

17-10-2020, 04:57 PM
Slight concerns?

Doidge seems to be getting most of the blame today. I think we need more from him. He doesn’t look like scoring at the moment. But Boyle was worse, for me, today. And Nisbet wasn’t on it at all either.

17-10-2020, 04:58 PM
I’ll avoid it. Tbh I haven’t read back but trust your judgement.

Don't blame you, it's a long read to be honest.

I couldn't see the game today, was relying on Flash Scores early on then when I got the chance I couldn't find the game on youtube.

I followed the match day thread on here in conjunction with the wee thingy on Bet365 which can be painful.

I felt the frustration and kept waiting for a "Yass" or "get in there" or "1 up" or similar on iSpy but unfortunately it never came.

Some peoples comments are quite frankly awful but I do get their frustration.

17-10-2020, 05:01 PM
We scored early against Rangers though. The others are part time sides the two late goals against Dundee Utd and St Johnstone extremely fortunate. We seem to start games extremely well at times and then lull for a lot of the game. The pattern continued today. It’s not bed wetting either it’s just my observation right or wrong.

Come on now. All goals are 'fortunate' to some degree. We still scored late after failing to score early in the St Johnstone and Arabs games. And the quality of Brora and Cove is irrelevant to your original point, we still had to score late on against them, and did.

We demonstrably do not have a problem this season with getting points from games in which we dont score early.

17-10-2020, 05:03 PM
Don't blame you, it's a long read to be honest.

I couldn't see the game today, was relying on Flash Scores early on then when I got the chance I couldn't find the game on youtube.

I followed the match day thread on here in conjunction with the wee thingy on Bet365 which can be painful.

I felt the frustration and kept waiting for a "Yass" or "get in there" or "1 up" or similar on iSpy but unfortunately it never came.

Some peoples comments are quite frankly awful but I do get their frustration.

Cool mate. I genuinely think it wouldn’t be as bad/stressful if there wasn’t a certain game two weeks away 👍

Silversand
17-10-2020, 05:04 PM
Not conceding is good, showing we are defensively strong this season.

We created too, just didn't score.

Not a disaster, we move on.

17-10-2020, 05:05 PM
Come on now. All goals are 'fortunate' to some degree. We still scored late after failing to score early in the St Johnstone and Arabs games. And the quality of Brora and Cove is irrelevant to your original point, we still had to score late on against them, and did.

We demonstrably do not have a problem this season with getting points from games in which we dont score early.

Okay doke matey I’m not wanting an argument or a heated discussion or anything. In the match thread I posted we needed a goal on top early on because we we seem to lull after. I’ll stick by the but respect your option too 👍

17-10-2020, 05:05 PM
There are certain posters who can’t seem to wait for Doidge to have a bad performance so they can say they were right. When in reality his good performances massively outweigh the bad. Weird.

As someone who likes Doidge, I don’t think the good has outweighed the bad lately. He needs to offer more of a threat.

I think it’s a bit of an issue that there isn’t really any competition for his place though.

17-10-2020, 05:08 PM
As someone who likes Doidge, I don’t think the good has outweighed the bad lately. He needs to offer more of a threat.

I think it’s a bit of an issue that there isn’t really any competition for his place though.

He needs a goal. He is still getting in the right places and more importantly working his arse off.

The Leith Dutch
17-10-2020, 05:09 PM

On previous seasons evidence 70 points is generally good enough for 3rd.

Assuming we match the seemingly shockingly poor first round of matches in the second and third rounds before the split we'd be on 63 points going in to the 5 post split matches. That's right in the hunt even if we keep up our, yknow, shockingly poor form......

17-10-2020, 05:11 PM
On previous seasons evidence 70 points is generally good enough for 3rd.

Assuming we match the seemingly shockingly poor first round of matches in the second and third rounds before the split we'd be on 63 points going in to the 5 post split matches. That's right in the hunt even if we keep up our, yknow, shockingly poor form......

Has anyone actually said the first round of matches have been poor let alone shockingly poor? Why do people want to consistently try to start arguments and out other opinions down?

17-10-2020, 05:12 PM
Okay doke matey I’m not wanting an argument or a heated discussion or anything. In the match thread I posted we needed a goal on top early on because we we seem to lull after. I’ll stick by the but respect your option too 👍

Nice one, good to have a difference of opinion without getting all :bitchy: about it :aok:

17-10-2020, 05:24 PM
Nice one, good to have a difference of opinion without getting all :bitchy: about it :aok:

100% :aok:

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 05:28 PM

That makes no sense but crack on.

What doesn't make sense to you?

My concern is Hibs and how we play. I don;t give a toss about Aberdeen.

I thought we were poor today and don't think we'll finish third IF we keep playing like that.

Poor finishing, poor passing and poor decision making against a mediocre side.

If we want keep pushing the ugly sisters or challenging for that third spot we can't afford to be as poor as we were today.

At the risk of repeating myself, we had little or no creativity in the team today.

17-10-2020, 05:29 PM
Why does everyone suddenly think we are absolutely indestructible and unbeatable? Massive sense of over-entitlement. We were the better team today, **** happens. Some of you are being completely pathetic.

17-10-2020, 05:31 PM

I thought we were poor today and don't think we'll finish third IF we keep playing like that.

If we want keep pushing the ugly sisters or challenging for that third spot we can't afford to be as poor as we were today.

At the risk of repeating myself, we had little or no creativity in the team today.

Who created our chances if we had little or no creativity?!

Barman Stanton
17-10-2020, 05:32 PM

I didn’t say lately. But in general I believe he has been a huge asset to us. Seems to be an easy target for some on here when there are others just as deserving (for those that feel the need to stick the boot into a Hibs player).

Agree we could have done with more competition up front.

17-10-2020, 05:32 PM
Why does everyone suddenly think we are absolutely indestructible and unbeatable? Massive sense of over-entitlement. We were the better team today, **** happens. Some of you are being completely pathetic.

Is there any chance you can reply and quote posters you feel are being "pathetic" please?

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 05:34 PM

I do hope that's not aimed at me?

I rarely spend any time on here these days and am definitely not a "bedwetter".

Just totally frustrated with our performance today. I've seen better shooting/finishing in the Highland League.

17-10-2020, 05:36 PM

This is where I am. He isn’t a poor player but first half today he was well off the pace. I think he needs a rest. I asked if he was injured. Is he?

17-10-2020, 05:37 PM

Nobody thinks that we're indestructible or unbeatable. The sense of entitlement is about right for where we're at and where we aspire to be. The only thing you got right is your username.

17-10-2020, 05:41 PM
What we learned?

Make no mistake, this was a major let-off for County. Though they had a settled patch in the second part of the first half, they were up against the ropes for the majority of the contest.

Only a mixture of poor finishing by Hibs and Doohan's outstanding performance earned them this point after they were cut open time and time again.

For the visitors, frustration will be the overriding feeling, but there were plenty of positives to take. Newell was once again outstanding in midfield and, on another day, this could have been a rout.

But there is no doubt Ross will look at this as two points dropped in the hunt for European football.

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 05:44 PM
One of the things that frustrates me about match threads is that a lot of posters are Hibs-centric.

”We should have done this, he was rubbish” etc etc

It ignores the fact that the opposition had a manager and coaching staff who were instructing their team how to play against us. They are top-flight too, they are not daft.

On the whole, we won the game - we made most of it and didn’t quite click, but that shouldn’t undermine County’s defending.

Obviously I wanted a win today but I can live with a clean sheet in a typically hard away game, with positive performances from a number of players.

Positive performances from a number of players? Who do you have in mind?

Robbo6-2
17-10-2020, 05:44 PM
If we want to finish third we need another striker badly.

When Diodge and Nisbet have games like today then we need someone else to come off bench to make impact.

17-10-2020, 05:48 PM
This is where I am. He isn’t a poor player but first half today he was well off the pace. I think he needs a rest. I asked if he was injured. Is he?

He was having back spasms before the Hamilton game and it was a late call that he played.

Playing in the League Cup ties wasn't ideal for him.

As I said earlier no game this midweek will help.

17-10-2020, 05:57 PM
Not scoring against a back line including Donaldson, K.Watson and Randall is worrying

Celtic took 5 and Aberdeen took 3 off them away from home

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 05:58 PM
Who created our chances if we had little or no creativity?!

I can't remember who put Boyle in early on but that was good ball over the top, that apart, I cannot recall anyone playing a killer pass.

We're missing (an on form) Scott Allan and Murphy has to start when he's fit. I did not the think the midfield 4 showed any creativity today.

For what it's worth, I thought Ross County were really poor which is why I am frustrated with our performance today.

17-10-2020, 06:10 PM
Not scoring against a back line including Donaldson, K.Watson and Randall is worrying

And but for wee things here and there we’d have done the same. Nobody could finish chances today, it’s as simple as that, it’s not a major worry. It was unlucky and that should be the end of it. We had 28 attempts at goal ffs.

17-10-2020, 06:11 PM

It would be worrying if you didn’t create anything against them. Getting past them wasn’t a problem. Our finishing was just extremely poor.

It happens sometimes, much as it was a crap two points to drop.

Mark05
17-10-2020, 06:13 PM
I thought hibs played well today, must admit after15 minutes I thought it was going to be one of those days. We have played worse this season and got 3 points, today was a good game. Yes its frustrating but overall I would be worried if we didn't create chances.As for the hearts game we will win the game if we take those opportunities today :flag:

17-10-2020, 06:17 PM

What doesn’t make sense is that you are saying we won’t finish third with results like today but yet you aren’t interested in Aberdeen who had a similar result today and against a team where we won away.

If you are going to say we wont then someone else will. Aberdeen for example.

I’m not that sure, to your other point, how we can have no creativity and have 28 attempts at goal.

17-10-2020, 06:29 PM
Very poor. Need to win these games if we’re serious about European spots.

mega lols.

17-10-2020, 06:33 PM
I can't remember who put Boyle in early on but that was good ball over the top, that apart, I cannot recall anyone playing a killer pass.

We're missing (an on form) Scott Allan and Murphy has to start when he's fit. I did not the think the midfield 4 showed any creativity today.

For what it's worth, I thought Ross County were really poor which is why I am frustrated with our performance today.

Mallan played a great ball to Diodge who controlled well but finished poorly. Hope Murphy gets fit soon. He looked to be forming a good partnership with Lewis

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 06:36 PM
What doesn’t make sense is that you are saying we won’t finish third with results like today but yet you aren’t interested in Aberdeen who had a similar result today and against a team where we won away.

If you are going to say we wont then someone else will. Aberdeen for example.

I’m not that sure, to your other point, how we can have no creativity and have 28 attempts at goal.

What I said right at the outset tonight is that IF we continue to play like we did today we won't finish third.

If Aberdeen were poor today that's their problem but, frankly, I don't want to get hung up on other teams.

What's acceptable about thinking we were poor today but it's OK because Aberdeen or some other team were poor too?

allmodcons
17-10-2020, 06:44 PM
Mallan played a great ball to Diodge who controlled well but finished poorly. Hope Murphy gets fit soon. He looked to be forming a good partnership with Lewis

You are correct that was a good ball too.

IMO Gogic is not at all creative simply because that's not his job but I thought Boyle was poor today, Magennis had one good moment and Newell was decent (no more) but he is not nearly as good as he thinks he is.

18-10-2020, 07:28 AM
What I said right at the outset tonight is that IF we continue to play like we did today we won't finish third.

If Aberdeen were poor today that's their problem but, frankly, I don't want to get hung up on other teams.

What's acceptable about thinking we were poor today but it's OK because Aberdeen or some other team were poor too?

But we created 28 chances? So we didn’t play poorly. We finished poorly.

The Leith Dutch
18-10-2020, 08:02 AM

Has anyone actually said the first round of matches have been poor let alone shockingly poor? Why do people want to consistently try to start arguments and out other opinions down?

Trying to be constructive here as I suspect you are too -
My problem is the polarization of opinions on here where there seems to be fewer and fewer people in the middle ground.

Two examples:
Today we had an unfortunate day, didn't score and there's some guy cherry picking the Celtic game and us scoring 1 against Falkirk to back up his argument.
Earlier in the season when Nisbet got a hat-trick and Doidge had scored a couple someone was on about them both getting 30 a season.

A lot of posters here don't seem to be looking at results or performances in the context of the season but just the immediate context of the match in question and setting unrealistic expectations for the future either positive or negative. We're not going to miss out on 3rd or the top 6 because we draw with Ross County and it's highly unlikely our strikers are going to hit 30 goals in a season since it's only happened about 3 times in the last quarter century.

The truth is we're a decent team rather than an exceptional one right now that's probably playing as better than the sum of it's parts - something we should all be happy about. We're going to have some bad results because of that but based on the season so far I'd expect us to be comfortably top 6 and if continue the general trend so far of being better as a team than perhaps individuals then I'd expect us to be solidly in the hunt for 3rd.

The players we have are good but won't perform week in / week out. That doesn't make them wage thiefs, imposters or waste of a jersey and there's inevitably a few threads on that line after a honking result - heaven knows there will be if we don't beat the jambos.

Should we strive for more? Of course. But we need to also take the inevitable bumps on the way with a bit of good grace and acceptance.

In terms of how we strive for more then for me it's getting some consistency to build on.

Aberdeen who - in results and league positioning rather than football style - should be our target have had McInnes in place since March 2013.
He has faced 6 different Hibernian managers in that time (Fenlon, Butcher, Stubbs, Lennon, Heckingbottom and Ross).
From a quick data pull of historical squad lists it's around 105 different outfield players in that time.

I think there are reasons to be hopeful as looking at those squad lists it feels like we're starting to break that cycle of needing a complete rebuild every transfer window.

18-10-2020, 09:11 PM

What you are missing is that if we don’t finish third another team needs to.

The Aberdeen result is relevant as Hibs don’t exist in isolation. You are saying that type of result won’t get us third. It is a bit of a daft comment in isolation because taken literally as you seem to be suggesting we are to do, if we are to draw every game 0-0 we won’t finish third. That’s true.

The more sensible interpretation of that type of comment is that you can’t draw that type of game through the season and finish third. This is where Aberdeen are relevant. They also drew away against a team on the same points.

Whoever finishes third, now get ready for this, will win, lose and draw all sorts of different games this season.

18-10-2020, 10:33 PM
Positive performances from a number of players? Who do you have in mind?

I thought everyone outfield, bar Boyle, Doide and Nisbet, had a decent game and I thought the three mentioned had a harder task because the opposition coaching was set up to negate them. It happens and will happen again. They still tried though, so I am not criticising them.

Ross made tweaks, it never panned out for us but we were making loads of chances and we dealt with theirs.

18-10-2020, 10:41 PM
I thought everyone outfield, bar Boyle, Doide and Nisbet, had a decent game and I thought the three mentioned had a harder task because the opposition coaching was set up to negate them. It happens and will happen again. They still tried though, so I am not criticising them.

Ross made tweaks, it never panned out for us but we were making loads of chances and we dealt with theirs.

They weren’t really negated in that they had five or six clear cut chances between them. Their finishing was just really poor.

I think a big problem for us is that if they have an off day, like they did yesterday, we don’t have enough goals in the rest of the team.