View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 3 - 1 Brora (Mallan x2, Hanlon)

Pages : 1 [2]

07-10-2020, 08:07 PM
What on earth does Drey Wright bring to the team? Genuinely terrible.

A truly baffling signing.

We're obviously not too interested after all.

Sadly not, no.

How many times in the last 3 seasons have we lost the 3rd goal when we were 2 goals up? Haven't felt comfortable with a 2 goal lead for a while now, regardless of the opposition.

07-10-2020, 08:08 PM
Welllp... time to put the foot back on the gas...

The foot should never have been off it.

Very disappointed by Wright so far, not overly quick, not many tricks and looks very average.

Wait, what is baffling about us signing a highly rated, proving winger from this league?

Seems folk learned nothing from Newall and Doidge....

No we weren't.It certainly wasn't almost exclusively 2nd choices like we started with tonight.

07-10-2020, 08:09 PM
Gullan hasn’t really been isolated.

Bar the opening 15mins when crosses were coming in, then yes he has. Punts up the park which he has been chasing down.

Very disappointed by Wright so far, not overly quick, not many tricks and looks very average.

That’s what everyone was saying in the Rangers game...oh wait.

Cmon Hibs... Hold on!

Wait, what is baffling about us signing a highly rated, proving winger from this league?

Rated by who? Had never really heard of him being any good at St Johnstone.

Let me help you. He's a wide player and JR felt we needed another option in that area.

07-10-2020, 08:10 PM
Did Brora travel down today ?

This has been awful. Ross will know it and it’s obvious starting team have never played together.

Felt Barnes should have saved the goal.

Midfield need to get the ball and play forward - too many safe passes.

07-10-2020, 08:12 PM
Really poor stuff

Likewise. Doesn’t look anywhere near good enough. Horgan offered so much more.

Hibs been absolutely dire since about 20 mins onwards. Giving ball away, sloppy and not working hard enough to find space. None of the fringe players other than mallan making any impression. Drey Wright has given the ball away about a dozen times.. so poor.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
Halberg has been decent. Wright was very poor

Highly rated haha hardly anyone on here knew much about him when he signed, most had to look at YouTube to try and remember him.

Let me help you. He's a wide player and JR felt we needed another option in that area.

Did JR actually sign him or was it our scouting team? Either way he's just not very good.

nae wurries there´s a third coming

Rated by who? Had never really heard of him being any good at St Johnstone.

I can assure you they thought he was their best player.

07-10-2020, 08:13 PM
nae wurries there´s a third coming

Or is there more chance of an equaliser? [emoji85]

07-10-2020, 08:14 PM
Poor stuff 2nd half and folk were slagging Hearts last night. We are toiling v a Highland league outfit.

Highly rated haha hardly anyone on here knew much about him when he signed, most had to look at YouTube to try and remember him.

Our manager rated him. So did Tommy Wright as one of his best signings. Far too early to be making these black and white judgements on him.

We've made more baffling signings this summer IMO.

I really think JR is the man for us but I think a poor performance and potentially a terrible result reflects badly on him. He should have had a team bursting to go out and stamp their authority on a game like this. He hasn’t done that.

skyhibs
Absolutely dug *****

Which one is the premier league team?

Wright is on par with Horgan tbh , prob a few good games in there

It’s the sort of game that can knock a team off a good run of form when the whole tempo of the season is disrupted. Lethargic and arrogant performances can linger. I hate when teams have attitudes like this, it does more harm than good.

None of our players look arsed at all

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Worst 2nd half performance of the season.

07-10-2020, 08:15 PM
Grim 2nd half.

And of course everyone on here was screaming at the board to sign Paul McGinn. Nobody was underwhelmed or had to check YouTube to find out more about him.

Our manager rated him. So did Tommy Wright as one of his best signings. Far too early to be making these black and white judgements on him.

Who?

And St Johnstone fans thought he was their best player and were gutted to see him leave.

He’s had an indifferent start but will be very useful over the course of the season. Hasn’t been any worse than Horgan already.

thank goodness this is just a friendly game

07-10-2020, 08:16 PM

I'm not baffled, so far in the games I've seen I dont rate him, a couple of flashes where he scored but looks bang average to me.

For 15 minutes we were doing everything you want to see against a lower league side, it looked like we were on for a cricket score.

Since then it has been pretty dire. Took our foot off the gas big time.

Well 3-0 against Hamilton and you would think we could see out a game.

2-1 against a bunch of painters who actually look a bit sharper than a few of our players...not ideal.

Lendo
Did Boyle actually come on to the pitch after the substitution?

Robbo6-2
Shocking performance

Who?

I'd say Stephen McGinn is more baffling than a desperately needed winger.

Do these games, if drawn, go to penalties?

Asking for a downhearted friend.😂

ShadesLongThrow
On the positive side, at least I didn’t have to venture out to watch this.

07-10-2020, 08:17 PM
Do these games, if drawn, go to penalties?

Asking for a downhearted friend.😂

Poor stuff 2nd half and folk were slagging Hearts last night. We are toiling v a Highland league outfit.

Agree but it's self inflicted to a degree due to a complete lack of effort since we scored our goals.

Not many of the squad players making a pitch for starting tbf. Mallan the only one.

I'd say Stephen McGinn is more baffling than a desperately needed winger.

Fair point. We still desperately need a winger though.

Don’t think Doidge has kept the ball since he’s been on the park.

07-10-2020, 08:18 PM
Do we look like scoring or conceding?? Asking for a friend btw!

Crap attitude here. Considering it’s largely boys who have had few opportunities, I’d expect a bit more from them.

Bedwetters paradise on here 2nite...calm doon

And of course everyone on here was screaming at the board to sign Paul McGinn. Nobody was underwhelmed or had to check YouTube to find out more about him.

I'd heard of P McGinn and thought it was a shrewd signing by Ross, good steady player like his brother Stephen.

07-10-2020, 08:19 PM
Bedwetters paradise on here 2nite...calm doonIts the attitude people are annoyed at. They can't be ****ed to be there by the looks of things.

H18S NX
We just haven't a clue how to break them down

Don’t think Doidge has kept the ball since he’s been on the park.

He's murder.

07-10-2020, 08:20 PM
We’ve had zero from our full backs tonight. Backed to our old flat back 4

Likewise. Doesn’t look anywhere near good enough. Horgan offered so much more.

Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a new scapegoat for the 2020/21 season!

Its the attitude people are annoyed at. They can't be ****ed to be there by the looks of things.

I’m not annoyed. Just not many of them will play very often for us and can have no complaints about that.

Lendo
Bedwetters paradise on here 2nite...calm doon

Dunno about bedwetting, but there is no denying we have been poor and they deserve the criticism.

Its the attitude people are annoyed at. They can't be ****ed to be there by the looks of things.

I agree but some of the comments are ott and ridiculous considering the start weve made to season - lot of these players have barely played for us so far this season its always risky making so many changes

Lendo
07-10-2020, 08:21 PM
Nisbet on

SJNB Hibby
Which one is the premier league team?

Just as well there's no fans. Nisbet on, Gullan has been disappointing

I'd heard of P McGinn and thought it was a shrewd signing by Ross, good steady player like his brother Stephen.

So Drey Wright was a bad signing because you don't know who plays for St. Johnstone?

I'll trust in Jack Ross that he's a worthwhile addition to our team.

AdidasHibernian
I’m not annoyed. Just not many of them will play very often for us and can have no complaints about that.

Regardless. They are full time professional football players. Should be playing to the whistle and giving 100%

It’s like watching Scotland v SAN Marino and I’m not sure which of those I would pick for us....appallling 2nd half

Wright is on par with Horgan tbh , prob a few good games in there

I wasn’t a big Horgan fan but Horgan was considerably better than Wright on what I’ve seen so far.

07-10-2020, 08:22 PM
I agree but some of the comments are ott and ridiculous considering the start weve made to season - lot of these players have barely played for us so far this season its always risky making so many changesExactly. It's also a huge match for the Brora players who are right up for it.

So Drey Wright was a bad signing because you don't know who plays for St. Johnstone?

Drey Wright looks like a bad signing based on his performances so far. Not cause people hadn’t heard of him.

thank goodness this is just a friendly game

But it’s not though, it’s a competitive cup game against a supposedly much inferior team at home who should be hear for target practice. Should have been at least 5, a good run out and confidence boost for some of our squad players. Oh dear!

Ross really needs to rip into them after this.

Unacceptable.

07-10-2020, 08:23 PM
Regardless. They are full time professional football players. Should be playing to the whistle and giving 100%

Agree and that’s why they can have no complaints. They didn’t do enough to take their chance on the whole.

Hallberg’s not that good eh? Brings us nout

No one is bedwetting, just annoyed at the way they are playing against a part time team, started off well, scored 2 and been honking since.

None of our players seem to be making off the ball runs to create space, it's not really that difficult!

07-10-2020, 08:24 PM
Blow the bloody whistle ref

Think I've counted 7 cardboard cut out fans leave early.

Ross really needs to rip into this after this.

Unacceptable.

Or does someone need to rip into Ross, 1 up front at home?

I wasn’t a big Horgan fan but Horgan was considerably better than Wright on what I’ve seen so far.

The money he brought in contributed to the exciting signings we’ve made recently, so even if Drey Wright turns out to be a bust I’ll still see the Horgan departure as a useful part of the rebuild.

Nope. Not good enough.

AdidasHibernian
Agree and that’s why they can have no complaints. They didn’t do enough to take their chance on the whole.

I possibly have picked you up wrong, I've took that as they aren't going to be given much chance so you can understand the performance.

My apologies 👍

07-10-2020, 08:25 PM
Sure one poster had coupon with Hibs -5 on it. :whistle:

The money he brought in contributed to the exciting signings we’ve made recently, so even if Drey Wright turns out to be a bust I’ll still see the Horgan departure as a useful part of the rebuild.

If that’s the case then it’s probably worked out better overall then :agree:

He’s one of two or three who did alright.

Folk need to chill with the Wright chat.

He was good against Rangers - he wasn’t great tonight but most of them haven’t exactly done much.

Wingers are hit or miss. Horgan was the same.

Like others in more annoyed with the unprofessional performance tonight and having to use 1st team starters to keep out of trouble.

He's murder.

Get rid of him.

07-10-2020, 08:26 PM

I had over 2.5 but didn’t expect this tbh HC.

07-10-2020, 08:26 PM

I knew who he played for but like a lot of people here knew little about him, he started with a clean slate like all signings but as far as I'm concerned he looks average at best.

07-10-2020, 08:27 PM

I have 2-0 on the predictor. At least I'm close!

HendoDelivered
07-10-2020, 08:27 PM
Second string team for a reason (majority)

Robbo6-2
07-10-2020, 08:28 PM
No sure what was worse, Pikes commentary or hibs performance

I knew who he played for but like a lot of people here knew little about him, he started with a clean slate like all signings but as far as I'm concerned he looks average at best.

If his brother was Keith Wright, you'd be calling him a shrewd signing :wink::greengrin

Why is Drey Wright always referred to as Drey Wright? Other players are often just 'Nisbet' or 'Hanlon' but Wright is almost always 'Drey Wright'.

It's really noticeable in the commentary at games and I see it on here a lot too.

Get rid of him.

Too late now. He is mostly anonymous in games.

He’s one of two or three who did alright.

You think? I thought he was rubbish

Their number 15 will need to get back up the road sharpish if he is to be on time for his paper round.

07-10-2020, 08:29 PM
They look more likely to score than us now.

Are we playing Aberdeen?

No sure what was worse, Pikes commentary or hibs performanceThe commentary. The "former xyz man" is doing my head in. There must be more interesting stats.

The number of out-and-out strikers on the pitch is not the arbiter of attacking intent. Bayern play one up front, are they a defensive team?

Why is Drey Wright always referred to as Drey Wright? Other players are often just 'Nisbet' or 'Hanlon' but Wright is almost always 'Drey Wright'.

It's really noticeable in the commentary at games and I see it on here a lot too.

It's Cockney Rhyming slang 😀

Orchard_Hibs
07-10-2020, 08:30 PM

There is only one Wright and his first name is Keith Keith Keith!

So we don't confuse him with Keith

McSwanky

It's really noticeable in the commentary at games and I see it on here a lot too.To distinguish him from Keith and Paul? [emoji848]

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

Goals with 1 stirker - 2

Goals with 3 strikers and boyle - 0

It's Cockney Rhyming slang 😀

Look at it this way, at least we’re all comfy and annoyed at home.

If his brother was Keith Wright, you'd be calling him a shrewd signing :wink::greengrin

I'd rather have Keith Wright, even at his age 😁

3-1 Hanlon

07-10-2020, 08:31 PM
Are we playing Aberdeen?

Nah, they don't have 10 defenders on the field yet.

supermcginn

Highly rated by a manager who managed to finish above us numerous times with far fewer resources than we have.

PH91
Our fullbacks can be very disappointed in their performance tonight.

We all know they are more defensively minded but against teams like this they should be offering an attacking threat. They have offered nowt.

Off the bar
There we go

Good header.

3-1

Good goal. Hanlon header from a Mallan corner.

Great header

And Hanlon gets his obligatory goal for this season.

07-10-2020, 08:32 PM
Na endlich!

and breath

McSwanky
HIBEES

Never in doubt, calm down the lot of you! [emoji1787]

Never in doubt.........

He scored against Hamilton...?!

Slim sub coming on.

we're gonna win the cup

and now you're gonna believe us

The number of out-and-out strikers on the pitch is not the arbiter of attacking intent. Bayern play one up front, are they a defensive team?

I’ve hardly seen any of the game tonight so lots of a general comment. However 1 up top with two defensive fullbacks who offer little in an attacking sense has seen us struggle to create for a number of years. Although do agree with your general point.

Thank ****. Even a 3-1 win is poor against this mob, Ross better not make the same mistakes v Cove Rangers.

[emoji848] that was Friday evening. He’s doubled said tally!

07-10-2020, 08:33 PM

Hanlon scored less than a week ago :greengrin

Who the **** is the big unit coming on for Brora?

We would be pish without Hanlon. 😂

Magpie
2 goals and an assist for Stevie

JXM73
Is that the coach driver they've brought on?

Who the **** is the big unit coming on for Brora?

There’s hope for some of us yet.

07-10-2020, 08:34 PM
Who the **** is the big unit coming on for Brora?Their number 5's been overdoing the salad dressing too.

Surprised they could still walk after wetting themselves......

I thought a fan was invading the pitch even the fat guy was subbed on.

Well played Brora , my MOTM was Gullan looked decent also played well out wide , job done 👏

Paul Hanlon actually scores a good amount. At least 2 goals in 9 different seasons.

It's been pretty crap but I can't say I've at any point been worried that we wouldn't win it.

07-10-2020, 08:35 PM
Paul Hanlon actually scores a good amount. At least 2 goals in 9 different seasons.Back to back goals this season

That's a shame. Gullan did really well.

That would have been a lovely goal from Gullan, unlucky.

Kudos to the Brora defender who went off, left the Orkneys this morning and will be back at work 11am tomorrow - maybe that's why he came off early!

Unlucky for Gullan, nearly got his goal

Gullane looked much better on left

Great run and unlucky for Gullan there.

2 goals and an assist for Stevie

A decent haul by anyone’s standards but he has been part of one of the most ineffectual team midfield performances I’ve ever seen from Hibs.

Gullan definitely plays better on the left up front.

Great run and still think he has potential.

07-10-2020, 08:36 PM
Well played Brora , my MOTM was Gullan looked decent also played well out wide , job done 👏

Not man of the match but much better this half. Think he’s more wide player than striker. Good run there.

[emoji848] that was Friday evening. He’s doubled said tally!

Hanlon scored less than a week ago :greengrin

Paul Hanlon actually scores a good amount. At least 2 goals in 9 different seasons.

3-1 ft

Magpie
Win is a win. Onto the next game 👍🏻

Awful second half.

Impressed by Mallans offensive contribution tonight. Was was off it defensively, though. Easily by passed many times. Unlikely to be fit, though. Promising signs. Corners very good.

McSwanky
07-10-2020, 08:37 PM
3-1 ftEASY EASY EASY EASY

3 points. On to the next game.

It’s been a while since I’ve enjoyed a good boo at full time.

Really disappointing from most of the fringe players and even the subs that came on. So sloppy and such a slow tempo after going 2-0 up. Too complacent, exact same as Hamilton on Friday.

GRA
Pretty dire for most of that game. File under instantly forgettable but job done and onto Saturday...

Thank Christ that’s finished, utter ***** for long periods and embarrassing for most of the 2nd half, Cove will be favourites now I think if we take this approach again

A stronger team against Cove please!

07-10-2020, 08:38 PM

I thought he was awful for 80 minutes then decent for 10.

Definitely looks better coming in from wide, he was lost up front on his own.

That was dire. Not many staked a claim for a 1st team spot. All credit to Brora though. Thought they showed up well.

I'm really looking forward to seeing this Hibs team score a few tonight. Promises to be fun .

Admin....how much more drivel do we have to put up with from this poster?

The Captain....
Glad thats over. We won and got minutes in players legs. Other than that instantly forgettable performance.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Impressed by Mallans offensive contribution tonight. Was was off it defensively, though. Easily by passed many times. Unlikely to be fit, though. Promising signs. Corners very good.

Mallan has always been good offensively but he couldn't tackle a fish supper, even when he was playing regularly

It’s been a while since I’ve enjoyed a good boo at full time.

You'd have been better enjoying a good book during it!

07-10-2020, 08:39 PM
Not the most entertaining watch but a win is a win and we keep winning.

He was much better further wide, would have like to see him as a 2 up top. However on that showing we could really do with a striker

A win and chance to see that back 4 again. All good.

A game that will soon be forgotten, biggest disappointment is that the fringe players who were given a chance,
mainly failed miserably.

Tam being a bit harsh in commentary imo.
A bit flat but solid enough and Brora put up a decent performance.

Also very much agree with earlier comments that no-one on the fringes has exactly made a strong case to get a start based on the 90 - that would be the disappointment

07-10-2020, 08:40 PM
Good game time for some of them. Yet another win

07-10-2020, 08:40 PM
Admin....how much more drivel do we have to put up with from this poster?
I blame his being raised in Teuchterville.........

07-10-2020, 08:41 PM
I thought he was awful for 80 minutes then decent for 10.

Definitely looks better coming in from wide, he was lost up front on his own.

Pretty much where he played for Development team and Raith Rovers.

Playing him on own doesn’t suit his game.

Decent effort from the highland mob - hopefully Murphy isn’t too badly injured.

Did Barnes even have much to do except pick the ball out the net ?!

That was dire. Not many staked a claim for a 1st team spot. All credit to Brora though. Thought they showed up well.

Thought stevie Mallan was really good but tired quickly 90mins would have done him great.
Keeper looked suspect for the goal seemed to get positioning wrong

Not many of the fringe players staked a claim.

Sometimes you need to give credit the opposition though. Brora worked their socks off and considering they haven't played many games, that was a solid performance.

Gullan showing that he’s a good option from the left if Murphy not available

Berwickhibby
07-10-2020, 08:42 PM
That's was dire... simply some players appeared not interested

Hulk1875
07-10-2020, 08:42 PM
Shanley probably missed out on a runout as we weren’t winning bit more comfortably

snedzuk
07-10-2020, 08:43 PM
You'd have been better enjoying a good book during it!

Hed have been better enjoying a drey wright book during it

I thought Brora played well, better than I expected. Once they settled down they made a real game of it.

a few decent players there, but we gave them too much time in the second half, should have gone for the kill, I'm sure JR will NOT be happy with that.

still, a win's a win...

Silky
Thank ****. Even a 3-1 win is poor against this mob, Ross better not make the same mistakes v Cove Rangers.

I think he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't. He's already down four regulars due to Internationals, so changes are inevitable. He could just throw out the big boys against Cove-but then what happens if Nisbet, Boyle or others get an injury - Ross gets it tight for "risking them". He can play a second string, and gets it tight for the inept performance. If anything, it probably shows we need another striker. None of us are managers, as can be sen because none of us have really shown a credible plan which would have us pumping Brora by 7 or 8.

07-10-2020, 08:44 PM
More questions than answers with regards to the fringe players given a start

Stevie Mallan came out of it pretty good with two goals and an assist

07-10-2020, 08:44 PM
A stronger team against Forfar please!

I agree, the whole philosophy and game plan this season has went out the window in one game. We need to keep playing the way we have been irrespective of who’s on the park. If the fringe players can’t do it then don’t bring them in. They had an opportunity to excel against a very lowly side of player way behind our level of fitness and blew their chance. Maybe harsh but the lethargic sideways passing and lack of penetration was poor.

We have to keep the high standards in all games otherwise complacencies set in. We shouldn’t let that happen again.

07-10-2020, 08:45 PM
A decent haul by anyone’s standards but he has been part of one of the most ineffectual team midfield performances I’ve ever seen from Hibs.

You’d only have to go back about 2 years to see worse.

07-10-2020, 08:46 PM
Not sure if we were just not at it enough or Brora upped their game to frustrate us but that’s a game I’ll not happily recall very quickly. Still. It’s a win and that’s all that counts.

seanshow
07-10-2020, 08:46 PM
Hope that Murphy is alright for future league games.

Yip the major highlight was the appearance of the Brora bus driver with 2 mins to go, goan yersel big man

07-10-2020, 08:48 PM
Hope that Murphy is alright for future league games.

Yip the major highlight was the appearance of the Brora bus driver with 2 mins to go, goan yersel big man

Ah thought Kris Boyd had signed for the Wee Rangers?

Wull
07-10-2020, 08:49 PM
I thought the times Magennis was on the ball he looked good, one positive tonight I suppose :flag:

SJNB Hibby
07-10-2020, 08:51 PM
I thought Brora played well, better than I expected. Once they settled down they made a real game of it.

a few decent players there, but we gave them too much time in the second half, should have gone for the kill, I'm sure JR will NOT be happy with that.

still, a win's a win...

True, how will they handle Dundee on saturday though, or vice versa. They did look good in patches, although we seemed detrermined to keep them in the game.
Good news from tonight, given we need to be one of the best four group winners, is that Ross dropped a point, and in the 'that was embarassing sweepstakes' St J only beat Keilty Hearts 2-1. And of course Killie 'lost' 3-0 yesterday

Souter96Mac
07-10-2020, 08:51 PM
Lacklustre after we scored the 2nd, but we take the win and move on. Hopefully Murphy is ok, and it was good to see Magennis and give Mallan more minutes. Cove on Saturday will pose more of a threat, but that might suit us if the game is more open.

07-10-2020, 08:52 PM
Utterly baffling that we didn't sign another striker in the window. Any injury to either of them and we will either have to play someone out of position or revert to one up front.
Other than that thanks for the memories SDG and Lewis.

hhibs
Drey Wright looks like a bad signing based on his performances so far. Not cause people hadn’t heard of him.

I am afraid I have to agree,looks out his depth,hope I am wrong but for whatever reason does not look ,if you pardon the expression .right.

EI255
Was always going to be a scrappy game vs the sheep. Job done. We move on [emoji16][emoji106]

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

07-10-2020, 08:53 PM
It was nice to see Gray and McGregor getting an outing but once they got the ball it became walking football and any uptempo disappeared.

07-10-2020, 08:53 PM
Stevenson was solid :agree:

EI255
07-10-2020, 08:54 PM
That's was dire... simply some players appeared not interestedThat was their chance to prove themselves too.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

loveofthegame
07-10-2020, 08:54 PM
Pretty much where he played for Development team and Raith Rovers.

Playing him on own doesn’t suit his game.

Decent effort from the highland mob - hopefully Murphy isn’t too badly injured.

Did Barnes even have much to do except pick the ball out the net ?!

This. He’s never played the lone striker role at all at youth level and when he moved out to the left he was liveliest player on the park, only missed scoring a wonder goal by a great save. Out wide he offered way more than Wright or even Murphy had until his injury.

Very harsh to judge him on first 60 mins playing out of position, and let’s be honest Doidge didn’t offer anymore (If anything got in less positions/made less clever runs) when asked to come on for 30 mins and take that position.

07-10-2020, 08:55 PM
It was nice to see Gray and McGregor getting an outing but once they got the ball it became walking football and any uptempo disappeared.

I’d probably argue it was the same with Stevenson. Always takes that extra touch the turns inside and goes square or back

07-10-2020, 08:55 PM
Brora can return up north with their heads held high. Fair play to them. Got my reservations about Gullan and said so on here before and was slaughtered for it. Hoping he starts against Cove and proves me wrong.

07-10-2020, 08:58 PM
Stevenson was solid :agree:

He was, but I thought a big part of our problems came from our inability to get the fullbacks into the game higher up the park. They were either content hanging back or not really contributing further forward.

Some serious questions have to be asked about why we created so little against a Highland League team for so much of the match.

Yes, Stevenson was solid, the defence in general were. But we need a bit more than that in a game like that.

Doig at Parkhead then Stevenson against Brora is a strange choice when you’ve got 2 decent LB’s with very different skill sets.

07-10-2020, 08:58 PM
I’d probably argue it was the same with Stevenson. Always takes that extra touch the turns inside and goes square or back

Yes I agree.They seem to have lost all their pace and can’t go past anyone.Neat and tidy but that’s about it.

07-10-2020, 09:03 PM
He was, but I thought a big part of our problems came from our inability to get the fullbacks into the game higher up the park. They were either content hanging back or not really contributing further forward.

Some serious questions have to be asked about why we created so little against a Highland League team for so much of the match.

Yes, Stevenson was solid, the defence in general were. But we need a bit more than that in a game like that.

Doig at Parkhead then Stevenson against Brora is a strange choice when you’ve got 2 decent LB’s with very different skill sets.

Stevenson was really the only option available at left back tonight but I agree with your wider point. A full back being ‘solid’ against Brora isn’t really a great endorsement of their performance.

Regarding chances, we really should have had at least four or five in the first half. There was some poor finishing.

Second half was down to bad attitude for me. Players happy to walk through the game, especially the back four.

hhibs
07-10-2020, 09:06 PM

Yep,it gets really annoying ,we know he will and the opposition also know.

07-10-2020, 09:07 PM
I thought we treated tonight as an opportunity to get a game for some players that needed it, and a chance to get a win while doing so.

In that respect, job done.

supermcginn
07-10-2020, 09:09 PM
Yes I agree.They seem to have lost all their pace and can’t go past anyone.Neat and tidy but that’s about it.

2 legends but their time is up.

07-10-2020, 09:10 PM
Brora can return up north with their heads held high. Fair play to them. Got my reservations about Gullan and said so on here before and was slaughtered for it. Hoping he starts against Cove and proves me wrong.

Spent the night running down blind alleys and his end product was poor though was denied a wonder goal at the death by a brilliant save

I thought Drey Wright looked like a St Johnstone player wearing a HIBS strip before he was hooked

hhibs
07-10-2020, 09:10 PM
Stevenson was really the only option available at left back tonight but I agree with your wider point. A full back being ‘solid’ against Brora isn’t really a great endorsement of their performance.

Regarding chances, we really should have had at least four or five in the first half. There was some poor finishing.

Second half was down to bad attitude for me. Players happy to walk through the game, especially the back four.

Where is Mackie ?

07-10-2020, 09:11 PM
Where is Mackie ?

On the bench actually. Forgot all about him!

07-10-2020, 09:13 PM
I thought we treated tonight as an opportunity to get a game for some players that needed it, and a chance to get a win while doing so.

How i seen it Matty

07-10-2020, 09:13 PM
Strong team needed on Saturday. Doidge Boyle Nisbet back in plus McGinn at full back

Was a struggle but never going to be smooth when so many changes. Thought Wright was poor gave the ball away so many times.

Need to be much better Saturday

07-10-2020, 09:15 PM

👍🏿

Have we heard from the manager yet? I hope his message is positive, 3 points and minutes in the legs for many. Mission accomplished.

Spent the night running down blind alleys and his end product was poor though was denied a wonder goal at the death by a brilliant save

I thought Drey Wright looked like a St Johnstone player wearing a HIBS strip before he was hooked

You're not wrong about Wright. What on earth was that performance? Expected so much more from him.

What a boring turgid game that was. Thankful it was free for St holders.

07-10-2020, 09:16 PM
Any early update on his injury

07-10-2020, 09:19 PM
Don’t get the negativity. Job done. Fringe players get minutes. I know it was lower league opposition but Gullane proved he will be decent enough as cover. Stephen McGinn was neat and tidy. McGregor was just McGregor. Gray got minutes in the old bones. Not spectacular by any means but hardly cause for concern.

gaz1875
07-10-2020, 09:20 PM
You're not wrong about Wright. What on earth was that performance? Expected so much more from him.

What a boring turgid game that was. Thankful it was free for St holders.

His touch is terrible, ball seems to cannon of his ankle when he traps it and overhits nearly every pass.

07-10-2020, 09:25 PM
Don’t get the negativity. Job done. Fringe players get minutes. I know it was lower league opposition but Gullane proved he will be decent enough as cover. Stephen McGinn was neat and tidy. McGregor was just McGregor. Gray got minutes in the old bones. Not spectacular by any means but hardly cause for concern.

We should have scored more and I never thought we were in any trouble. So in that respect, no cause for concern.

We let our standards drop and nobody really tried to get us going again. Players who should have been hungry to prove a point were happy to drift through the game. Thought that was poor.

07-10-2020, 09:25 PM
His touch is terrible, ball seems to cannon of his ankle when he traps it and overhits nearly every pass.
The new Kamberi?

07-10-2020, 09:26 PM

Maybe as a wide player but don’t think Gullan is really going to be great cover for either Doidge or Nisbet. Still think we needed another option there.

HFCdeb
07-10-2020, 09:26 PM
Drey Wright needs to step it up.

gaz1875
07-10-2020, 09:31 PM
The new Kamberi?

Haha possibly.

07-10-2020, 09:31 PM
We should have scored more and I never thought we were in any trouble. So in that respect, no cause for concern.

We let our standards drop and nobody really tried to get us going again. Players who should have been hungry to prove a point were happy to drift through the game. Thought that was poor.

True but how many times have we seen elite teams make a load of changes for a game against lower league opposition and then get embarassed?

No real complaints from me.

07-10-2020, 09:32 PM
Pretty dire for most of that game. File under instantly forgettable but job done and onto Saturday...
Glad I saved myself a tenner not paying for PPV and instead putting it into my kitty for the pub on Friday night.
Oh, hang on......

07-10-2020, 09:47 PM
First 20 minutes we were decent, last 70 we struggled to get out of second gear. Pluses were Mallan who has a big part to play this season and Magennis who looked hungry when he came on. A few changes for Saturday needed or we’ll toil.

07-10-2020, 09:52 PM

Slaughtered? Teeny wee bit exaggerated surely. Have you seen enough of him to have these reservations, what’s he played first team about three hours?

07-10-2020, 10:04 PM

I got slaughtered for criticising Gullan after the St J game when nothing came off for him. I thought he did well tonight and deserved a goal. Hopefully he gets his reward next game.

07-10-2020, 10:08 PM
I got slaughtered for criticising Gullan after the St J game when nothing came off for him. I thought he did well tonight and deserved a goal. Hopefully he gets his reward next game.

Gullan wasn’t great but he was one of the few who actually looked like he wanted to be there in the second half. Tried to be positive, was lacking a bit quality when he had chances though.

07-10-2020, 10:17 PM
Gullan wasn’t great but he was one of the few who actually looked like he wanted to be there in the second half. Tried to be positive, was lacking a bit quality when he had chances though.

He looked much better second half when he was moved out to the left.

07-10-2020, 10:39 PM
He looked much better second half when he was moved out to the left.

Yes agreed. He’s not a target man.

07-10-2020, 10:45 PM
Yes agreed. He’s not a target man.

I actually thought he did all right through the middle. As a team, we were better in the first half (not that we were brilliant). Thought Gullan stretched them when he could. Missed two good chances. Puts one of therm away there is a different perception of how he did in the middle IMO.

For all the ‘one up front’ type comments we should have been four or five up at half time.

Hulk1875
07-10-2020, 10:57 PM
Drey Wright needs to step it up.

Goal against gers everyone bigginf it up

MagicSwirlingShip
07-10-2020, 11:13 PM

This is bait surely

Dmas
08-10-2020, 04:50 AM

The poor finishing is down to lack of match sharpness, I can’t believe some of the comments on this, aye it wasn’t the greatest hibs performance but the vast majority of the squad have barely kicked a ball all season, those guys aren’t getting reserve games or anything at the moment there’s bound to be ‘rust’ and lack of match fitness which is probably the whole point in JR making so many changes.
Gullan for me was trying too hard, the laddy got himself in some good positions and was very unlucky on a couple of occasions, I don’t think we have a forward who’s game suits to be the lone striker and wish we would stop using that system to be honest but he done what he could and was unlucky not to score very early on

08-10-2020, 05:03 AM
Maybe as a wide player but don’t think Gullan is really going to be great cover for either Doidge or Nisbet. Still think we needed another option there.

I think he would be fine through the middle but with a partner.

08-10-2020, 05:38 AM
Any early update on his injury

Looked like a hamstring. Probably touch and go for semi final.

08-10-2020, 07:28 AM

Yep needs a run out next to Nisbet in the next game for me. Go 352. See how it goes. He got almost nothing from the wide players last night, and even less from the FBs

08-10-2020, 07:42 AM

I agree, I thought Gullan was impressive last night and is well worthy of another chance.

08-10-2020, 08:49 AM
I don't know why we are so bloody poor at playing 1 striker. Seriously. So many teams do it so well. We leave ours isolated every time.

08-10-2020, 10:39 AM
I don't know why we are so bloody poor at playing 1 striker. Seriously. So many teams do it so well. We leave ours isolated every time.

Wright was particularly poor and Murphy very quiet prior to his injury, add into that both Gray and Stevenson hardly getting past the halfway line therin lay the problem. Mallan and Hallberg both got forward to support Gullan but there was little coming from wide areas, so we didn't stretch their 10 man defence. Gullan seemed to play better coming off the left and it would've been nice to see him start there with Nisbet through the middle. We have the players to play a 4231/433 etc but for some reason they just don't seem to do it, works well for Rangers and Celtic.

08-10-2020, 02:00 PM
We do have the players for a 433 as you both say so maybe we will look at that. But the Rangers play that way all the time and Gerrard gets criticised for having no plan B. Horses for courses as always.