View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Motherwell

Pages : 1 2 [3]

rotherhamrob
15-08-2020, 06:29 PM
That was as bad a game as you can get.
All you can say is it's a point gained because in no way did we deserve it.
Shocker but hey Ho, we move on undefeated.

hibIBZ
Frustrated. Pretty poor performance.
Positives- clean sheet. Marciano did well for me, good save in the first half. Gogic, without his work in the midfield today we would of lost imo.

Negatives- slow and stuffy in possession when we got the ball, which wasn't that often. Players looked off the pace a little. Totally overwhelmed in the midfield first half. A few poor performances today.

10/12 points to start the season is a good return and with a week to recover for the next game hoping for a positive performance

They’ve earned enough bonus points for that display to be forgiven, but that was absolutely brutal, long aimless punts up the pitch and shocking passing and decision making. All our big players didn’t turn up.

HendoDelivered
Horrific there. Playing without fans there maybe helped us on this occasion towards the end as they would have started getting aggy, and rightly so.

Boyle looks like he's scared to get involved, possibly away soon.

Was just thinking, looks like his heads been turned

Aye explain that Hibs are top of the league . Motherwell are a good team and at the moment, have a better midfield than us .

Doesn’t help when you go a 2v3 in CM

Hardly any teams play 2 in CM these days. Outnumbered and why we hardly retain the ball.

Positives for me are that we seem to have tightened up a lot at the back.

But we've been poor in 3 out of 4 games now. I'm hopeful we're just a couple of attacking players away from being a very good team.

I'd have been delighted with 10 points after 4 games at the start of the season.

I'm not sure what Mcrorie would have done for us today though.

my left peg
15-08-2020, 06:30 PM
Was surprised when Horgan was subbed,but we were poor middle to front,Motherwell dominated possession,but looked a bit toothless upfront.

Poor show. Looks like business as usual.

We badly need a leader.

What does that mean? Business as usual?

The “business as usual” since Jack Ross came in has been gaining the most points out of everyone outside the old firm.

We were bad tonight, really bad but the business as usual stuff is a lot of pish

Really bored for almost the entire 90 minutes.

Pleased to be back top of the league, pleased to remain unbeaten, pleased still not to have conceded from open play.

Zero creativity today though and that's worrying. Needs sorted pronto.

We're still 3 or 4 players light.

Ross has had a shocker tonight.

Wrong shape in the first half. Answer was to move three players out of position at half time. Boyle left, Nisbet right and Horgan central. Really bad from him IMO.

15-08-2020, 06:31 PM
Absolute rubbish today. A point earned as opposed to two points dropped. We surely can’t play worse than that. Motherwell must be wondering how they didn’t earn three easy points. Only bad finishing stopped them from giving us a pumping. A team at the top of the league shouldn’t be putting in a performance like that at home.

That was a very poor performance from Hibs. Motherwell had most of the play and created the better chances; they will be thinking they allowed the victory to slip away. Once again our midfield couldn't get enough possession; this needs addressing. On the bright side, it's a point we didn't really deserve, with a clean sheet and we remain unbeaten. Not the end of the world, but that wasn't good enough today. A slightly better team would have beaten us.

Happy with the point given our performance. It’s clear we’re still lacking a bit of quality. We need a Docherty type. I also thought Well were physically stronger in many of the 1 to 1s.

15-08-2020, 06:32 PM
Absolutely awful.

15-08-2020, 06:32 PM
Only 199 passes completed for us all game? That’s absolutely woeful

Kaff
15-08-2020, 06:33 PM
Think Jack showed his hand there, happier defending the point than pushing for the win in last 15.
That is playing for 3rd rather than being confident there's an ability in the squad to break into top 2, probably the correct mindset but it's disappointing to watch.
Motherwell will probably be a main threat for 3rd so staying 8 pts ahead of them is wise and everyone else has dropped plenty points so far.
Have to avoid this becoming one of those runs without a win now as definitely flat performance.
Distribution and movement was worst feature, thought defended relatively well but Motherwell showed us how to move the ball and a bit more adventure is required, Scott Allan made a difference and think he is still main key for us to be dynamic

SweetDreams
15-08-2020, 06:34 PM
I haven’t been paying much attention? Dearie me.

Apologies if that upset you.

There still wasn't much in the second half from Gogic that caught my attention other than giving the ball away several times.

15-08-2020, 06:34 PM
Frustrated. Pretty poor performance.
Positives- clean sheet. Marciano did well for me, good save in the first half. Gogic, without his work in the midfield today we would of lost imo.

Negatives- slow and stuffy in possession when we got the ball, which wasn't that often. Players looked off the pace a little. Totally overwhelmed in the midfield first half. A few poor performances today.

10/12 points to start the season is a good return and with a week to recover for the next game hoping for a positive performance

Marciano punched too often for me today and Gogic had his poorest game so far imo. Still think we need more energy in the midfield and two in the middle doesn’t work. Thats two games we’ve lost the midfield playing that formation. Hanlon and McGinn our best two today for me.

Myweebruv
15-08-2020, 06:35 PM
2 shots on target for both sides in a dire match, where huff and puff and sheer will power led to an inevitable draw.
One to put behind us and move on quickly.
Top of the league for at least another 24 hours.

15-08-2020, 06:36 PM
That was a very poor performance from Hibs. Motherwell had most of the play and created the better chances; they will be thinking they allowed the victory to slip away. Once again our midfield couldn't get enough possession; this needs addressing. On the bright side, it's a point we didn't really deserve, with a clean sheet and we remain unbeaten. Not the end of the world, but that wasn't good enough today. A slightly better team would have beaten us.

Motherwell certainly had more of the ball but did nothing with it. Chances created I’d say were about even, Boyle should’ve scored for us.

15-08-2020, 06:36 PM
Only upside is no long drive home. That said, 10 points from 12 is a good start to the season. Heads up, work hard and go again next time.

hibee1875
15-08-2020, 06:38 PM
Changed to a 3 in the middle but it was ineffectual as Hallberg offers nothing. Shy in the tackle and too many misplaced passes. Hopefully McCrorie comes in this week

Dr_Regal
15-08-2020, 06:38 PM
Turnbull and Campbell took the absolute piss out of us today.

15-08-2020, 06:39 PM
Absolute rubbish today. A point earned as opposed to two points dropped. We surely can’t play worse than that. Motherwell must be wondering how they didn’t earn three easy points. Only bad finishing stopped them from giving us a pumping. A team at the top of the league shouldn’t be putting in a performance like that at home.
We were poor i agree but a pumping?? Your having a laugh Rocky had 1 save to make all match

NC1875
15-08-2020, 06:39 PM
Did Mcafadden just call Hanlon aggressive ? 😂

15-08-2020, 06:40 PM
Well that was pretty ****.

15-08-2020, 06:41 PM
Aye explain that Hibs are top of the league . Motherwell are a good team and at the moment, have a better midfield than us .

We were utter sh i t @

15-08-2020, 06:43 PM

Did they? They had more of the ball and did nothing with it. We were poor but some of the overreaction on here is brutal.

15-08-2020, 06:44 PM
I thought we were totally toothless going forward. The defence was absolutely fi e, and I was also quite impressed with young Doig, but the manager should have made changes a lot earlier and he made some very strange tactical decisions that didn't come off. Personally I thought Boyle was really poor and reverted back to his one dimensional not being to cross past the first man days. He is better than that.

15-08-2020, 06:46 PM
Changed to a 3 in the middle but it was ineffectual as Hallberg offers nothing. Shy in the tackle and too many misplaced passes. Hopefully McCrorie comes in this week

Well that’s two games now when we have no played very well, but on the plus side we have taken 4 points, Don’t think Boyle fancied it much today against big Lamie.
A few other less than average performances, so imagine what will happen when we really play good.

Currie Hibee
15-08-2020, 06:47 PM
For me that was a decent point at the end of the day. 10 points out of 12 and not dropping a point to a team we will be fighting against this season is ok. Don’t get me wrong the performance wasn’t great and we got rag dolled in midfield and need another winner in there (I.e. McCrorie). Hallberg for me just doesn’t offer very much. Again 10 out of 12 is a brilliant return with some winnable fixtures coming up.

15-08-2020, 06:47 PM
Dire !

Andy Walker was urging Motherwell to go on and score the winner

I don’t think he likes us much 😃

15-08-2020, 06:49 PM
Ach, I think it could be the end of .net for the evening for me. 10 points out of 12, too of the league, undefeated, two clean sheets in a row, no goals lost from open play, a team still looking to sign players, team improving under a relatively new manager. But a poor performance has the usual suspects pissing and moaning about everything

sean04
15-08-2020, 06:50 PM

I agree, they look full off energy and wanted the ball. Closed us down and retained possession really well

Kaff
15-08-2020, 06:52 PM
I thought we were totally toothless going forward. The defence was absolutely fi e, and I was also quite impressed with young Doig, but the manager should have made changes a lot earlier and he made some very strange tactical decisions that didn't come off. Personally I thought Boyle was really poor and reverted back to his one dimensional not being to cross past the first man days. He is better than that.

Unfortunately his adjustments were ultimately to prevent losing the game rather than going for the win.
The judgement for that and the point gained will probably be at the 20 game mark when we see where we are then, 5th or lower and I think it should be classed as a mistake as without doubt Motherwell were there for the taking and 2 home points have been lost. Sitting safely 3rd or 4th and we'll probably look back thinking it was an important part of it.
Time will tell and tbh next 2 games are big now as no win in them will harm the good start we made

Edit.
Even if everyone wins all their games in hand we'll be 2nd equal!

15-08-2020, 06:53 PM
Was surprised when Horgan was subbed,but we were poor middle to front,Motherwell dominated possession,but looked a bit toothless upfront.

Shocking decision to take him off. He was rightly raging.

Cagney & Lacey would have taken the piss out of us tonight.

Happy with a point against them tbh. Again it’s a game we would have lost last season. Onwards.

Campbell looks fantastic.

15-08-2020, 06:54 PM
Jeezo, that was absolute torture, watching on the TV is going to see me have a bloody heart attack, it's far harder than actually being at the game.

What can you say about that 'performance' ? SKY will be looking to cancel the next two games they are booked to show because Hibs were absolutely shocking. We allowed Motherwell to own two thirds of the pitch, just as we did Killie .... how the absolute 'F' we have gotten out of these two games and only lost one goal is baffling, Motherwell must have set an SPFL record for corners today.

Boyle stunk the place out apart from one good run and cross, his decision makings was amateurish at times, but to be honest I'm just picking on Boyle because I expect better from him, in all honesty nobody outside of the back 4 was worth even a 5 out of 10 ..... The back 4 deserve massive credit for not conceding a goal from open play in two home games where our baffling tactic of giving up 65 yards of the pitch and allowing cross after cross after cross into our box has had them under 75 minutes of constant pressure both times.

If we do this home or away against either arse cheek we will get absolutely slaughtered ... that today was unacceptable, it might still be a point more in the bag if you want to clutch at positive straws, but the truth is only good luck and heroic defending achieved it.

15-08-2020, 06:55 PM
Maybe RM will add what we need.

Nevi_SOL
15-08-2020, 06:55 PM
That’s exactly the type of game Mallan can change with a shot from range imho. Anyways on to Sunday.

15-08-2020, 07:00 PM
Is the Motherwell manager really trying to say the goal should have stood? :hilarious

15-08-2020, 07:01 PM
Happy with a point against them tbh. Again it’s a game we would have lost last season. Onwards.

I know what you’re trying to say but the same fixture last season was a 3-0 win. It was a win that flattered us as they’d threatened us plenty during the game.

Yes, there are positives to take from today but we were largely garbage and created very little. Our attacking play was abysmal.

I don’t think we’re far off having a good side/ strong squad but we’re maybe a player or two short. Jack Ross has generally impressed me tactically but I didn’t think he had his best game today, starting line-up, tactics or subs-wise.

15-08-2020, 07:03 PM
That’s exactly the type of game Mallan can change with a shot from range imho. Anyways on to Sunday.

Another tough game on Sunday, Ross needs to do some thinking to set out a more attacking performance with some speed added. Keep the ball on the deck.

15-08-2020, 07:03 PM
That's it, I'm leaving early to beat the traffic.

That's me finally home. Wasn't worth the journey.

15-08-2020, 07:04 PM

Two cardboard cut outs passed me.

15-08-2020, 07:04 PM

It is, and I thought we looked marginally better going forward once Allan went on.

These aren’t players to change a game when you’re already losing the midfield though.

The way the first half went I thought it was a day for 1 up front, to help us get some sort of foothold in midfield. We struggled to get anything that could be described as service to Nisbet and Doidge.

15-08-2020, 07:07 PM
Motherwell manager doesn’t think the goal should’ve been disallowed cos their player wasn’t affecting the play!

Clown

Kaff
15-08-2020, 07:10 PM
I know what you’re trying to say but the same fixture last season was a 3-0 win. It was a win that flattered us as they’d threatened us plenty during the game.

Yes, there are positives to take from today but we were largely garbage and created very little. Our attacking play was abysmal.

I don’t think we’re far off having a good side/ strong squad but we’re maybe a player or two short. Jack Ross has generally impressed me tactically but I didn’t think he had his best game today, starting line-up, tactics or subs-wise.

Agree with you generally.
Gullan on for Nisbet or Boyle last 10 just to see what he could do wouldn't have lost us any shape.
That said we were very poor in possession and Gullan wouldn't have been given much to work with so not sure it would have made any difference.
I'm glass half full but we can't go to McDiarmid and play like that with those tactics as it will then be more points dropped.
Fwiw I thought Motherwell would be difficult to beat with them wanting to stop their poor run but think we were the main reason for not winning in the end

15-08-2020, 07:11 PM
Ach, I think it could be the end of .net for the evening for me. 10 points out of 12, too of the league, undefeated, two clean sheets in a row, no goals lost from open play, a team still looking to sign players, team improving under a relatively new manager. But a poor performance has the usual suspects pissing and moaning about everything
Spot on

15-08-2020, 07:12 PM

I’m still stuck in the stadium, naebody either side of me has moved an inch yet. Must be cardbored stiff.

15-08-2020, 07:12 PM
Is the Motherwell manager really trying to say the goal should have stood? :hilarious

what do you expect the opposition manager to say about a goal being ruled out

15-08-2020, 07:13 PM

That he can’t complain when his players obviously offside.

Kaff
15-08-2020, 07:15 PM
I do think Hallberg was the wrong sub, he's not effective enough breaking the lines, Newell should have been given 10 mins on the pitch with Allan, also think Horgan should have stayed on and Boyle off instead
That's the problem with the 5 subs and doing 2 together so it's only 1 break in play

15-08-2020, 07:15 PM

It's not even debatable though. If it was 50/50 or even 30/70 I get it, but it was clearly the correct decision.

15-08-2020, 07:27 PM
Anyone else think Easter Road looked 1m dollars ?

What was the statement put on the West Stand?

15-08-2020, 07:29 PM

Could not read it all but a statement of hope that ended with the auld Leith motto of "Persevere"

Andymac85
15-08-2020, 07:30 PM
Motherwell manager doesn’t think the goal should’ve been disallowed cos their player wasn’t affecting the play!

Clown

He is a clown though isn’t he. Every time I hear him speak I think I’d be embarrassed if he were our manager.

15-08-2020, 07:33 PM

So with the darkest days behind our ship of hope will steer, and when in doubt just keep in mind our motto, persevere.

Hibs posted it on their Instagram story earlier.

15-08-2020, 07:36 PM
So with the darkest days behind our ship of hope will steer, and when in doubt just keep in mind our motto, persevere.

The Count
15-08-2020, 07:39 PM
Ok that was not good.However being positive we did not get beat,we defended well and have 10 points from 12.When we all calm down tomorrow and we are all sober our league start overall has been good.Yes we have to improve but its not as bad as being portrayed on here this evening.

EVENTUALLY
15-08-2020, 07:43 PM
I do think Hallberg was the wrong sub, he's not effective enough breaking the lines, Newell should have been given 10 mins on the pitch with Allan, also think Horgan should have stayed on and Boyle off instead
That's the problem with the 5 subs and doing 2 together so it's only 1 break in play

Thought Martin was soft and hid a wee bit tonight. Their goalie was effectively a sweeper because they played such a high line and there was a lot of room to run in behind. Usually Martin runs in diagonally and takes advantage of these situations pretty well.

The midfield/attack blend is wrong and needs to be changed too.

15-08-2020, 07:47 PM
Delighted with the points return but struggling to get round how poor we were today. We weren’t that good on Wed but a few players still put in good performances. Not the case today. That said, we still had the best two chances of the game.

Didn’t really see what we were trying to do, and despite a strong looking bench, couldn’t see what changes could be made to address the balance. Think 3-5-2 has to be the way forward.

If we play like that against either of the OF, we’ll get destroyed.

15-08-2020, 07:51 PM

👍🏿

15-08-2020, 07:57 PM
We were garbage a decent team would have destroyed us, thought after the first half we would be fired up for the second, Jack Ross has to take responsibility for that performance, Boyle should have been subbed ,the shape is still not right and the build up play was so slow, yes we have 10 points but it was like watching a heckingbottom team

Not having a go personally, but you mean a Heckingbottom team that had us on 4 points and gubbed 0-3 by 'Well after 4 games into the season (last year) you mean ?

I'll go with the Jack Ross formula - it's working :aok: we'll have games where we misfire, every side does.......top of the league, unbeaten, positive goal difference, strikers scoring, and defence not conceding........I'll take that :aok:

15-08-2020, 08:11 PM
Just boot the ball anywhere tactics.

Yep and straight back to them This game was a step backwards if they had won we couldn’t of complained too much
Whete was the desire to drive forward and try and win the game

15-08-2020, 08:16 PM
Top of the league?

15-08-2020, 08:18 PM
Top of the league?

And the lowest we can go tomorrow is 2nd.

#2 Double Tap
15-08-2020, 08:19 PM
Not having a go personally, but you mean a Heckingbottom team that had us on 4 points and gubbed 0-3 by 'Well after 4 games into the season (last year) you mean ?

I'll go with the Jack Ross formula - it's working :aok: we'll have games where we misfire, every side does.......top of the league, unbeaten, positive goal difference, strikers scoring, and defence not conceding........I'll take that :aok:

i dont care if we concede goals as long as we score more than we concede. the second half of our first season back in the prem, when we was playing pressing, passing and attack minded football, thats the stuff i want to watch at easter road, not structured defending, hoofing the ball and playing for a draw. we looked more like a hearts team than a hibs team tonight, that is depressing.

15-08-2020, 08:23 PM
i dont care if we concede goals as long as we score more than we concede. the second half of our first season back in the prem, when we was playing pressing, passing and attack minded football, thats the stuff i want to watch at easter road, not structured defending, hoofing the ball and playing for a draw. we looked more like a hearts team than a hibs team tonight, that is depressing.

You'll care we are top of the league though eh ? I certainly care that we don't concede goals :aok: means we have a fighting chance of winning games of football by any means.

Or do you free flowing football, lose, and be mid table ?

15-08-2020, 08:23 PM
‪If hibs played like that the final 33 games I’d be raging.‬

15-08-2020, 08:26 PM

You're not allowed to be honest (moan) on here.

Fully agree. Home match and it was total rubbish.

SideBurns
15-08-2020, 08:31 PM
Thought Martin was soft and hid a wee bit tonight. Their goalie was effectively a sweeper because they played such a high line and there was a lot of room to run in behind. Usually Martin runs in diagonally and takes advantage of these situations pretty well.

The midfield/attack blend is wrong and needs to be changed too.

I don't think Boyle's had a particularly good start to the season, and I include the Killie game in that (in terms of his overall performance) despite his two goals. The problem with taking him off is that it is difficult, if not impossible, to replace his lightning pace and so removing Martin just encourages the opposition to push up and subsequently Hibs begin to sit further back.

Until we sign or develop a player with similar speed then he's invaluable, even when not on top form.

#2 Double Tap
15-08-2020, 08:37 PM
You'll care we are top of the league though eh ? I certainly care that we don't concede goals :aok: means we have a fighting chance of winning games of football by any means.

Or do you free flowing football, lose, and be mid table ?

i hear yah but some level of criticism is required or improvement will never happen, happy clapping gets you nowhere.

going to the games and being thrilled for 90 mins but losing is somewhat acceptable, especially when you feel every player has given their all. It never feels as bad as losing when you have been sat in frustration or bored out your skull does.

You cant watch that tonight and be happy, so many errors, from manager and players......

I thought horgan, doidge and mcginn played decent again. boyle was hopeless (and he is my favourite hibs player, but tonight he shoulda been hooked)

HendoDelivered
15-08-2020, 08:47 PM

Will get punished heavily against the OF playing like that.

15-08-2020, 08:50 PM
i hear yah but some level of criticism is required or improvement will never happen, happy clapping gets you nowhere.

going to the games and being thrilled for 90 mins but losing is somewhat acceptable, especially when you feel every player has given their all. It never feels as bad as losing when you have been sat in frustration or bored out your skull does.

You cant watch that tonight and be happy, so many errors, from manager and players......

I thought horgan, doidge and mcginn played decent again. boyle was hopeless (and he is my favourite hibs player, but tonight he shoulda been hooked)

I'm all for criticism, and agree today we were off it, but it's the start of a strange season, we find ourselves top of the league, not conceding as readily, our strikers are scoring, and putting things in perspective it's a fantastic unbeaten start to a season. It builds confidence and builds resilience and gives the players (still) something to hold onto. I'm sure your points - which are valid - won't be lost on Jack and the team.

15-08-2020, 08:54 PM
Same players 3 games in a row within the week, no wonder they looked tired, it's literally still pre season.

15-08-2020, 08:54 PM
i think the players had a few £££ on the draw, it's the only feasible excuse

:)

HendoDelivered
15-08-2020, 08:55 PM
i think the players had a few £££ on the draw, it's the only reasonable excuse

I

:)

I blame Ron for jinxing it!!

15-08-2020, 08:57 PM
I blame Ron for jinxing it!!

no more gowf for him :grr:

JammyDoidger
15-08-2020, 08:58 PM
We've got away with it this week. Two rotten performances which we could easily have walked away with no points. We've came away with 4 and learned we need to play with 3 in the middle of the park. I can't see us being as poor in an attacking sense again. With boyle, nisbet and doidge we will score more often than not. If we can keep being solid defensively we will be just fine. Look on the bright side. Wouldn't exactly say killie and motherwell at home, livi and United Away is an easy start. 10 points out of 12 with lessons learned. Can see us moving on quickly and gubbing the saints next week!

15-08-2020, 09:04 PM

I think that view is a bit unfair. We should consider that Motherwell have a bigger squad in numbers and physique. Couple that with a very shrewd manager and our formation and eleven unchanged on three games which means they know now how to play us, they played very well and better than us. Ross saud before game started he didnt know how Well would set up so they had advantage straight away. I was impressed by MWell their number 4 looked in control they r huge but can play a bit too making them now the team to beat outside the OF. Our personnel still have a sting in their tale but truth is Boyle is ineffective against them and Gogic isnt as physical as about half of them he also needs to change his boots as he has more slips than a netball team. Nesbit had to drop back and Doidge hardly got a touch not bcos we r bad but bcos Well r good up to final shots.

15-08-2020, 10:15 PM

👍

15-08-2020, 10:16 PM
I think that view is a bit unfair. We should consider that Motherwell have a bigger squad in numbers and physique. Couple that with a very shrewd manager and our formation and eleven unchanged on three games which means they know now how to play us, they played very well and better than us. Ross saud before game started he didnt know how Well would set up so they had advantage straight away. I was impressed by MWell their number 4 looked in control they r huge but can play a bit too making them now the team to beat outside the OF. Our personnel still have a sting in their tale but truth is Boyle is ineffective against them and Gogic isnt as physical as about half of them he also needs to change his boots as he has more slips than a netball team. Nesbit had to drop back and Doidge hardly got a touch not bcos we r bad but bcos Well r good up to final shots.

We have a much bigger budget than Motherwell. Let’s not pretend they should have a better squad than us. Our youth policy for the last 15 years has been shocking though since the Parks left. We bring nobody through ever.

jonny
15-08-2020, 11:01 PM
We have a much bigger budget than Motherwell. Let’s not pretend they should have a better squad than us. Our youth policy for the last 15 years has been shocking though since the Parks left. We bring nobody through ever.

Except Porteous, Gullan and Doig of course.

16-08-2020, 07:10 AM

I really don’t get this ‘boo hoo, some folk disagree with me which means I’m not allowed to say my piece’ stuff.

The site is chock-full of folk moaning after yesterday but, in a public forum, if you give any opinion, expect some people to disagree with it and tell you so. Best not to get precious and take it personally.

16-08-2020, 07:36 AM
I really don’t get this ‘boo hoo, some folk disagree with me which means I’m not allowed to say my piece’ stuff.

The site is chock-full of folk moaning after yesterday but, in a public forum, if you give any opinion, expect some people to disagree with it and tell you so. Best not to get precious and take it personally.

Fair enough,

It's great to see a Hibs side not leaking goals and looking genuinely solid, but they need to improve a lot with the ball and hopefully it will come.

16-08-2020, 07:46 AM
If I was Ross I would have taken Boyle off early, any player in my team that 5hit5 it in a tackle like he did would be howked. If any manager has been watchin him recently they would have come away thinking wtf, overvrated.
We all know he is a good player, but the last games he has been wanting.

16-08-2020, 08:14 AM
If I was Ross I would have taken Boyle off early, any player in my team that 5hit5 it in a tackle like he did would be howked. If any manager has been watchin him recently they would have come away thinking wtf, overvrated.
We all know he is a good player, but the last games he has been wanting.

The Boyle from the last 3 games is night and day from the Boyle on the opening game, what has happened to turn him from an exciting attacking wide player to a headless chicken, bottling 50/50's and wearing the boots of a sunday league player. If he's wanting a move then his game play will not get him it and if his head has been turned then a hopeless Boyle is no good to us.

16-08-2020, 08:30 AM
The Boyle from the last 3 games is night and day from the Boyle on the opening game, what has happened to turn him from an exciting attacking wide player to a headless chicken, bottling 50/50's and wearing the boots of a sunday league player. If he's wanting a move then his game play will not get him it and if his head has been turned then a hopeless Boyle is no good to us.

Agreed. Thought he bottled one yesterday which is never good to see.

h1bs4life
16-08-2020, 09:11 AM
On paper it was an attacking formation with Doidge and Nisbet up front Horgan and Boyle out wide.
Motherwell aware of that and flooded midfield and controlled it for a fair bit of the game. Gogic battled as best as he could but was overrun
Don't really get the hype about Newell cant remember many decent moves ,crunching tackles also poor set pieces. Horgan and Boyle not renowned for there defending.
Front 2 deprived of service Doidge battled away, Nisbet when the ball at his feet few decent passes.
Saying that Boyle scores with the best chance of the game things could have been different.
The plus point this season so far has been the defence given very little away although distribution from the back could be better but not much showing in midfield.
Could do with the addition of a couple of strong powerful midfield players who are comfortable on the ball to give us flexibility on how we set up but they are
not cheap.
Last 2 games pretty grim but we have goalscorers in our team defence has been solid , unbeaten and top of the league so not going to complain too much but we need to sort out midfield Livingston shows the team have good performances in them.

16-08-2020, 09:45 AM

Thats not what I said. I said that they have a bigger squad and they do. We could debate all day what should be but that diesnt change what is. If Well start scoring then they will finish third bcos their defence and midfield is the business. Its up to Hibs now we know where the bar is McRorie alone wont do it and we need a replacement for Jackson.
d.

16-08-2020, 09:53 AM
On paper it was an attacking formation with Doidge and Nisbet up front Horgan and Boyle out wide.
Motherwell aware of that and flooded midfield and controlled it for a fair bit of the game. Gogic battled as best as he could but was overrun
Don't really get the hype about Newell cant remember many decent moves ,crunching tackles also poor set pieces. Horgan and Boyle not renowned for there defending.
Front 2 deprived of service Doidge battled away, Nisbet when the ball at his feet few decent passes.
Saying that Boyle scores with the best chance of the game things could have been different.
The plus point this season so far has been the defence given very little away although distribution from the back could be better but not much showing in midfield.
Could do with the addition of a couple of strong powerful midfield players who are comfortable on the ball to give us flexibility on how we set up but they are
not cheap.
Last 2 games pretty grim but we have goalscorers in our team defence has been solid , unbeaten and top of the league so not going to complain too much but we need to sort out midfield Livingston shows the team have good performances in them.
They had the confidence to close us down at the back using a full pitch press making us rush it. That takes away composure and makes us ragged. Boyle not effective against them bcos requires crunchers in mid field to win midfield battle but his pace causes all teams some problems. I agree with your view on the game.

16-08-2020, 10:15 AM

What a load of pish

16-08-2020, 11:51 AM
We have a much bigger budget than Motherwell. Let’s not pretend they should have a better squad than us. Our youth policy for the last 15 years has been shocking though since the Parks left. We bring nobody through ever.7 of the 20 named yesterday came from our youth system. That's not too bad.

Robbo6-2
16-08-2020, 09:09 PM
A draw at home to Motherwell in isolation isnt a bad result.

It was the manner of our performance that was most worrying. I dont think we managed to string more than 3 passes together in second half. Long balls punted forward, negative tactics and playing players out of position. It did have hecky feel to it.

Got to say really disappointed in Hallberg when he came on. That was his chance to stake a claim for a start and he was miles off it.

Doig was excellent again as was Mcginn.