View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Motherwell

Pages : 1 [2] 3

15-08-2020, 05:28 PM
Not been impressed by Gogic in the 2 matches i've seen of him so far. Is he more suited to playing as a deep defensive midfielder with two in front of him rather than a central midfielder as part of a two?

Seriously? He’s keeping us in the game here?

Just_Jimmy
15-08-2020, 05:29 PM
Doig off for Allan for me. 3,5,2. Newell and Boyle wingbacks with gogic and Allan behind the two up top. We're crying out for passing the ball.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Poor 1st half but we've had just as many chances as them. Need an extra body in middle of park tho - Newell has not done much for me either Tues or 1st half today

We've not been very good first half. The defence has been strong again. 'Well have won the midfield so far. Their tactics are putting them on top not their players though to be fair they look hungrier. Still confident we will take this if JR makes the necessary changes.:greengrin

Dan Sarf
We all need to get our jollies somewhere

Anyway, I'm off to the pie stall. Hope the queue's not too long.

Hey excuse me Pal I was here first.

Nice wife by the way. 😎

15-08-2020, 05:30 PM
He does in a 442

Not when he’s our only creative force. I agree the formation needs changed though. I would change to a diamond and hook Boyle tbh.

SweetDreams

Perhaps I haven't been paying too much attention but majority of the times I've seen him on the ball he's lost it.

Not been impressed by Gogic in the 2 matches i've seen of him so far. Is he more suited to playing as a deep defensive midfielder with two in front of him rather than a central midfielder as part of a two?

Seriously you must be watching a different game to me.

Yes he said in his Hibs interview that he likes to win the ball and give it to the creative players, all he's doing is running around sticking his leg in trying to stop their players, when he gets the ball he's no one to give it to.

Agreed. He doesn't offer much going forward but he's covered a lot in front of the back 4.

jonny
15-08-2020, 05:31 PM
Can’t believe we’ve persisted with the same shape for the whole first half. Crying out for an extra body in the middle of the park.

I'd be concerned about a back 3 because they've got decent wingers but agree the midfield is being overrun. Might have to drop one of the strikers a bit deeper or alternatively go to 3 in the middle and go with a front 3 - 2 of which being wide

Someone needs to tell Tanner that its the Happy Hibee draw not the Happy Hibbie draw.

Was Thinking the same. Have done a screenshot for future reference 😂

Always said he makes mistakes. He’s just magnificent for 90% of the time. 😂

I wasn’t a big fan of his, and wasn’t impressed by his signing...he’s been good today though!

I enjoy that he likes to get his head down and attack. I think it's quite evident he has a lot to learn defensively though.

He's been great going forward but has been lucky with a couple of bad decisions in and around our box. Still one of our better performers though.

Motherwell seem better organised as a team and more structured than us to me
They had two really good opportunities, we also had a few and should have made more of them.
Evenly balanced I guess - I'd bring Allan on - seems to me more creativity is required.
Should be an interesting second half, but we need to step up the pace and take some control of the game ...

Is it possible you and I are looking at two different players? I like what he's done so far in his games.

the tornadoe
15-08-2020, 05:32 PM
Not when he’s our only creative force. I agree the formation needs changed though. I would change to a diamond and hook Boyle tbh.

Boyle looks like he is trying very hard not to get injured !

15-08-2020, 05:32 PM
Perhaps I haven't been paying too much attention but majority of the times I've seen him on the ball he's lost it.

I haven’t been paying much attention? Dearie me.

15-08-2020, 05:33 PM
Not great but probably had as many if not more chances than Motherwell. Red to pass it a bit better this half. Could do with Allan on possibly for Horgan.

15-08-2020, 05:33 PM
Agreed. He doesn't offer much going forward but he's covered a lot in front of the back 4.That's exactly what's happening, we need someone to feed Doidge and Nisbet early, not happening yet and are a bit lucky to be drawing.

15-08-2020, 05:35 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Nl-Clarence_Seedorf.ogg

It’s Saydorf and Nisbet FFS

15-08-2020, 05:35 PM
I think Doig has been one of our better players, he looks more composed than most of them.

Going forward he's a breath of fresh air, but there's been several occasions where he's lost possession by trying to overplay from the back against Seedorf.

15-08-2020, 05:36 PM
boyle switched wings

15-08-2020, 05:39 PM
This is brutal. Manager has to change jt

15-08-2020, 05:39 PM
Defence is toiling a bit

15-08-2020, 05:40 PM
Are we the home team? wouldn't think it the way we're playing.

Motherwell are going to score soon if this carries on.

The longer this goes on the less confident I am that we can get a grip of this game.

15-08-2020, 05:41 PM
Boyle looks like he is trying very hard not to get injured !

So he won’t be signing any new contract then in your opinion
Should of scored Form needs to be consistent if he is to win a decent move away

we're supposed to be at home

I'd be tempted to take Newell off but not sure who would be a decent replacement, TBH. We have some creativity on the bench but would lose the ability to defend.

I thought Hanlon was superb on Tuesday but he is having a nightmare today. Just seems to be aimlessly punting long balls when he is in possession and looks dodgy when defending

I feel like we're suffering from trying to play two wingers and two strikers in the same system. We don't seem to have any creativity in the middle of the park.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Nisbit is honestly pretty poor at holding the ball. Has to do better.

Midfield have went back to not being able to put a foot in and defence have went back to ****ting themselves when the balls anywhere near them. Not good enough

Davy Mac
15-08-2020, 05:42 PM
No leadership on the pitch, no voice.

We’re losing every 50:50 and most of the 60:40s as well

tonyrougier123
Every loose ball falling to a well player,it's no clicked in to place yet

I thought Hanlon was superb on Tuesday but he is having a nightmare today. Just seems to be aimlessly punting long balls when he is in possession and looks dodgy when defending

Na, a nightmare is 2 own goals and a red card. He is doing fine but with no one to pass to, of course he is hoofing it.

the tornadoe
15-08-2020, 05:43 PM
So he won’t be signing any new contract then in your opinion
Should of scored Form needs to be consistent if he is to win a decent move away

He will be.... but for whom ?

Allan and Hallberg on soon.

On for Newell and Horgan.

movement on the hibs bench :eek:

whiskas
Think we’re definitely being outmuscled in the midfield. Hall berg for Newell to shore things up?

15-08-2020, 05:44 PM
Come on then Scotty boy

15-08-2020, 05:45 PM
If this is the football we're going to see regularly, it'll be long season.

Changes at last.

whiskas
15-08-2020, 05:45 PM
Horgan unlucky to be subbed but not a bad sub to bring on!

15-08-2020, 05:48 PM
First decent bit of football we've played there.

Allan involved heavily.

mcohibs
15-08-2020, 05:48 PM
Extra man in midfield with more energy in Mallan. Newell towing a caravan. Allan to play in Boyle/Nisbet. Not many other options is there?

You weren't far wrong to be fair mate 😂 thought Horgan was unlucky to be subbed though, one of our better players in first half. Hopefully Scotty lights things up

15-08-2020, 05:51 PM
Jeez, Porteous and Hanlon have been murder tonight. So disappointing after their recent form.

15-08-2020, 05:51 PM
On the plus side it’s not costing us £20 on PPV for this

15-08-2020, 05:52 PM

Last Saturday all 3 away teams won. So far today, all 3 away teams have won. I'm not sure if there is much of a home advantage the now.

15-08-2020, 05:52 PM
Great chance. Allan making a difference.

15-08-2020, 05:53 PM
Wasting Nisbet out on the right.

Dr_Regal
Where is Boyle suppose to be playing?

chasitup
JR has clearly gone one up top now with Nisbet dropping back to midfield. Not convinced by that.

15-08-2020, 05:54 PM
Second to every ball!

Jeez, Porteous and Hanlon have been murder tonight. So disappointing after their recent form.

Porteous has been far the worse of the two

thebausburst
Hibs still defending way too deep here

You weren't far wrong to be fair mate 😂 thought Horgan was unlucky to be subbed though, one of our better players in first half. Hopefully Scotty lights things up

Better but still nowhere near enouhh

15-08-2020, 05:55 PM
i think the away side will be rightly p*ssed if they take nothing from this game

Boyle has been honking

The Captain....
This is a tough watch but I wont be bothered a bit if we manage to sneak a winner.

We need a bit of gegenpressing.

15-08-2020, 05:56 PM
Got to go to a tight diamond, try and control the midfield area and keep 2 up.

Andymac85
I have no idea what Boyle was trying to do there.

Boyle's shot there sums up him and Hibs right now, poor.

tonyrougier123
We look like we could play all night an no score!!😡.

15-08-2020, 05:57 PM
Better but still nowhere near enouhh

Can’t see us getting any more than a scrappy draw.

Davy Mac
15-08-2020, 05:57 PM
So lazy Hibs

15-08-2020, 05:58 PM
Nisbet can't seem to get the ball into the box.

Though he's not the only one.

mcohibs
Nisbet offering nothing out on the right

another motherwell corner

thebausburst
So much better with Allan on the pitch

We look like we could play all night an no score!!😡.

On the contrary, I think a goal is coming.

Boyle should be hitting that with his left foot.

Scott Allan has breathed new life into us.

Much better going forward now, even if it isn’t quite coming off in the final third.

15-08-2020, 05:59 PM
**** me...

That's it, I'm leaving early to beat the traffic.

What Hallberg doing there? All the time in the world to watch the ball, win the header basically unchallenged, just lets it hit his head and go wherever. Nae attempt to play it, just lets it bounce off his head.

Andymac85
Ryan man what the hell.

porteous for the luv o god

JammyDoidger
This is Absoloutely brutal!

Feel a goal coming for us.

Defending very deep now

Absolute garbage Hibs.

Jesus Ryan wtf was that?

Great forward run from Nisbet

tonyrougier123
15-08-2020, 06:00 PM

Hopefully🙏

Porteous what a waste.

Oh dear

15-08-2020, 06:01 PM
That miskick by Porteous sums up his night too, very poor on the ball.

Has the Motherwell goalie had a save to make yet?

Who for though.

away side bringing on two strikers, they don't really need defenders here

That was a decent ball by Allan, everyone sleeping.

15-08-2020, 06:02 PM
Who for though.

If Hibs win this it will be a smash and grab.

Hope so though 😁

I'd have gave him a red , yellow for pull back yellow for booting ball away, stale game though

For crying out loud.

Poooor

15-08-2020, 06:03 PM
Second to everything all game never wins you anything.

Boyle hit his 1on1 at him.

Hibs of old

Looks like we're still a bog standard SPFL team.

hibee62

The same number as Marciano I think...

Dr_Regal
15-08-2020, 06:04 PM
Beaten to every ball, all afternoon.

Why can’t we get them on the back foot the way they are doing to us You would think they were the home team

This is the hibs of last season we were used to. Incredibly poor. Hype maybe going to their heads a bit.

more performances like this will bring more attendances like this

Well are the team in ascendency. We look spent of ideas.

Andymac85
15-08-2020, 06:05 PM
We have been honking here. Deserve to lose tbh.

LeithMike
I don't really see how McCrorie improves the team. It's a ball carrying energetic midfielder we need.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Looks like we're still a bog standard SPFL team.

Almost as if Rome wasn't built in a day

Lewis coming on, who for?

Holding out for a draw. Oh dear.

15-08-2020, 06:06 PM
Lewis coming on, who for?

Doig

Sometimes it’s better to not win every game so that it takes away the fear of not winning every game.

Bringing on a defender ffs

Our points total is very healthy for this stage of the season but it is a concern that we've only had one really good performance. The other 3 games we've looked very average.

It's great that we are grinding out points but not sure how long that will last.

15-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Poor performance and we are lucky to be level. If we can nick it, it's a huge bonus.

Doig

Yes it was. Seems a bit of an odd one.

Andymac85
I though Hallberg threw himself to the floor there, but it’s a bad challenge to be fair.

FFS holding out for a draw rather than stepping up and going for the win. GTF

Bringing on a defender ffs

Think doig is maybe struggling a bit, good sub

We have been honking here. Deserve to lose tbh.

Draw, no?

Just_Jimmy
Absolute dross

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

15-08-2020, 06:08 PM
much like the horrible performance at home to killie, without the two goal start

Andymac85
15-08-2020, 06:08 PM
Draw, no?

Draw would be a good result for us given how we have played.

15-08-2020, 06:09 PM
Mallan to come on and score the winner plz

Come on Hibs!

The Manager saying he was t interested in attaining the record seems to been taken literally by the team
Just doesn’t look like we want the win

Boyle’s been dreadful today.

Lot of games in short space of time after such a long lay off maybe taking it’s toll on players.

15-08-2020, 06:10 PM
Still surprised to see the cardboard cutouts still in their seats.

Jeez, Boyle has been brutal tonight, why he stayed on and Horgan went of baffles me.

Tenner on Hibs at 11/2 :greengrin

We are really awful.

Thank God we got 3 wins early, this feels like the past two seasons.

26% v 74% last 10 mins, awful, just awful

Andymac85
Boyle’s been dreadful today.

Lot of games in short space of time after such a long lay off maybe taking it’s toll on players.

Thought he was poor in both the Livi and Utd games.

Dr_Regal
15-08-2020, 06:11 PM
Weak sauce from Hanlon again.

Manager takes the blame IMO. Wrong set up from start. Slow to change it. Playing for a draw at home to Motherwell is pish fans or no fans

Davy Mac
Need a rocket up their arse if we want to push on. So lethargic its unreal.

Motherwell 74% possession in the last 10 minutes FFS HIBS

Jesus, Martin Boyle has had a stinker. The two full backs have been out best today

This game looks like Motherwell are at home not Hibs, not done enough and with the Reliance on the long ball we are turning into Hearts

15-08-2020, 06:12 PM
This is brutal, really, Well have been the better side, have we had a shot on goal this half

15-08-2020, 06:12 PM
Motherwell 74% possession in the last 10 minutes FFS HIBS

That’s woeful TBH.

That said we can still nick this.

15-08-2020, 06:13 PM
The standard of performance have fallen way short in the past 2 games for a club who wants to finish 3rd

Andymac85
15-08-2020, 06:13 PM
Better Boyler!

15-08-2020, 06:14 PM
If we get a point we have barely earned it

Better.

Corner Hibs, terrible.

Paul Hanlon MOM!!!! Better from Boyle there, more of that in the last five please

Dr_Regal
15-08-2020, 06:15 PM
Hanlon MOM? Crikey

15-08-2020, 06:15 PM
Really scrappy play

15-08-2020, 06:17 PM
Is underscore picking the man of the match?

Hanlon 😂

thebausburst
McGinn MoM for me not Hanlon

Mcginn MOM for me. Been the best for us on the park by miles

NC1875
Absolutely pish.

I don’t think Hanlon is a terrible option for MOTM. He misplaced a header in first half, but he’s played well in my opinion.

MOTM probably best to be voided today.

Andymac85
15-08-2020, 06:18 PM
McGinn best hibs player by a mile.

McGinn my motm

Spent most of the game bored. Crap.

sean04
Out gunned in midfield. Motherwells players happy to take the ball and control the game. Ours aren’t taking the ball, can’t keep possession if we’re missing the midfield 2 out all the time

Five minutes injury time

I don’t think Hanlon is a terrible option for MOTM. He misplaced a header in first half, but he’s played well in my opinion.

Definitely. Read the game well. Hanlon the least of our problems. Manager got it very wrong, Nisbit, Boyle and Newall all very poor.

Gogic or McGinn for MoTM

McGinn best hibs player by a mile.

Agree

Motherwells 46th corner

15-08-2020, 06:19 PM
Almost as if Rome wasn't built in a day

like watching Heckies team last year !

thebausburst
As Blobby Williamson would say if you want entertainment go to the cinema, oh wait......

McGinn was my man of the match too, hope McCrorie can hold onto the ball and dictate play as our midfield is far too rushed and has no composure

I’m starting to think that we might not be in the Champions League next season after all.

Just boot the ball anywhere tactics.

15-08-2020, 06:20 PM
Come on Hibs! Get a goal!

tanfield
15-08-2020, 06:20 PM
I’m starting to think that we might not be in the Champions League next season after all.

😂😂😂🥳

Davy Mac
15-08-2020, 06:21 PM
Can anybody in this team play fitba? We have no one who can start a move it's been hoof all the way. Lazy and fitness levels are evident.

15-08-2020, 06:21 PM
What does Hallberg actually offer us? poor player.

15-08-2020, 06:22 PM
42% v 58% possession

Why Boyle...

Is underscore picking the man of the match?

Hanlon 😂

Fresh from hacking underscore’s Hibs.net account and posting negative comments about Paul, Mrs Hanlon follows it up by hacking the motm award and giving it to Paul Hanlon.

This has been garbage today. Maybe they’re a better team than we’ve been used to playing but the set up of the team looked wrong, we’ve been outnumbered everywhere and second best in 50/50s.

I’m not convinced we’ve really wanted to win today and under the circumstances I suspect the draw that Jack Ross appears to have been after won’t be that bad a result.

Doidge has been really poor in the 2nd half

Andymac85
Football has been the real loser here.

whiskas
Tbh this game could go on till Christmas and there’d be no goals. My MOM is the 2x2 IPA I git yesterday from Staggs

jws1875
Has Boyle signed a contract with motherwell?

15-08-2020, 06:23 PM
Did Boyle just pull out of a tackle. Poor that.

What an awful game.

42% v 58% possession

2 shots on target to Motherwells 1.

Stats eh.

speedy_gonzales
Boyle has had a stinker today, very little came off for him.

Boyle frightened to put a challenge in waste of a jersey today

Turgid. Point gained but opportunity missed.

Pish

dmc1875
That was utterly horrific.

Bit of an off day for the champions elect but not a disaster

NC1875
Only caught the last 15 mins and glad I missed the other 75. Absolute garbage

15-08-2020, 06:24 PM
Utter *****!

It's going to be a long season watching sh ite like this.

Ah well rubbish, 10 points in 4 not bad,but we really need to play better than this if we have any hopes of Europe.

Clean sheet only positive today.

That was ****ing dreadful.

Boyle has had a stinker today, very little came off for him.

3rd one in a row. Our wins have masked it.

Thank god that is over. Lets never play 442 again please.

explain that one jack ross

Poor performance - we need to work a lot harder than that - disappointing ...

Undefeated and yet another clean sheet.

That’s two now.

However still top of the league so not all bad

That was utter garbage, just seemed to boot the ball up the park

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Jesus that was ****

mcohibs
Second to everything today. Point is a good result considering how ***** we were

The Captain....
15-08-2020, 06:25 PM
Thank **** thats over.

Davy Mac
Jack Ross cannae be happy with that, shirley?

Insipid performance, it's worked up to now because Ross mixed it up.

Livi must have been really poor the other week. We had so little to offer going forward and we're lucky to get away with poor defending.

Stole a point but hopeless performance. Second to every ball and couldn’t pass when we did get hold of the it. We move on.

hfcok
Look tired already

Auckland Hibs
That was brutal - can't believe I got up at 4.30am to watch that 🙄

Boyle looks like he's scared to get involved, possibly away soon.

hibee62
2 shots on target to Motherwells 1.

Stats eh.

Aw man, last minute equaliser for Motherwell there!

Poor performance, but defended ok despite what’s been written on here.

Top of the league 😅👍

Hibs4185
Had more fun at a funeral

Defence looks pretty solid, Boyle is wasted out wide and is better in the middle, the lack of service to the strikers is a worry and the midfield needs composure and to be able to put their foot on the ball, small signs of being a decent team but lots of work still needed

Very poor performance. We look so awful in possession and when we are in the opposition’s final 3rd.

Only positive is I’m glad we didn’t lose as we certainly didn’t deserve to win that game.

****in booooooooo. Not the best day at the office for bins but those are the kind of games that you at least need to take a point from. Big improvement yneeded though for the next game

15-08-2020, 06:26 PM
That was bad. I defended the performance on Tuesday from some of the criticism and OTT comments but that was really, really poor tonight.

A lot of hoofball, a lack of composure on the ball and far too slow to react to Motherwell obvious man advantage in the middle of the park. On the positive the defence still looks pretty solid and Gogic and Doig continue to impress.

That was absolutely dreadful viewing!

Honking display. Lumped it forward and second to most balls. Still a point gained so not a disaster. Motherwell wanted it more today but fortunately our defence is really defending well

JJP
10 points from 4 will do for me

Two pretty atrocious performances in a week but hey ho, still unbeaten.:thumbsup:

Riding our luck though.

Very poor, a good point in circumstances as they were much the better team.

Cheshire Hibby
2nd best today, take the point, the clean sheet and move on. Some work to do on the midfield to be better next time. GGTTH

15-08-2020, 06:27 PM
explain that one jack ross

Aye explain that Hibs are top of the league . Motherwell are a good team and at the moment, have a better midfield than us .

It wouldnt have been as bad if we hadnt been poor on tuesday too.

Midfield is still a big worry. Gogic is first pick, but Newell, Hallberg, Mallan & Allan (not anything like his previous spells IMO) meh.

Look tired already

Which is understandable, an odd preseason and 3 games in a week, can see why players may tire, but why not use all five subs to freshen it up as needed?

That was utter garbage far too many never turned up and we looked shattered in 2nd half. Happy with a point as that was as poor as we've been this season. Barely anyone gets pass marks for me other than Rocky and maybe Hanlon and McGinn. Boyle was pulling out of challenges all game too - a point gained defo

That was absolutely ****ing dreadful

Robbo6-2
Hanlon Mom

So one is at the wind up there.

Shocking disruption all day, terrible to watch that.

Forever_Green93
What a boring game of football:yawn2:

I'm happy with a point tho, after that poor performance.

Sky Sports must be hoping for another lockdown north of the border after that. Motherwell at least had a structure and game plan, goodness knows what Hibs were trying to do.

villahibs
Stole a point. Wouldn’t even start Boyle next week. Needs an absolute rocket... in saying that not many were any better possibly with the exception of McGinn. Doig really struggled and Gogic looks so slow.

AL-Qaholik
Absolutely brutal. 442 just doesn’t suit us. Boyle looks lost in that formation.
Porteous needs to screw the nut and stop being so reckless or he’s gonna cost us points.
Still no goals conceded from open play, though, which is a huge step in the right direction.

15-08-2020, 06:28 PM
We looked slow all over the park. Didn’t think there was a whole lot in it. Motherwell had plenty of the ball but there was very little goalmouth action for either team. We are definitely defending better.

twiceinathens
A chance for Scottish Football to put itself in the shop window south of the border!!

Jack Ross cannae be happy with that, shirley?

Well instead of bringing Gullan on who can play wide for Nisbet who was really poor, he brought on Lewis Stevenson to shore up the defence and settle for the point.

Maybe he is.

KingPat4
Well that's two hours of my life gone.....,

Nevermind. I'd have have taken 10 points out of twelve at the start of the season.

GGTHH

We need creativity and energy in midfield. Too many players kicking about doing the same thing.

Mostly aimless. V few plus marks.
Gogic put in a shift chasing a lot.
Rocky could take a tip or two from their goali I
on distribution.

Poor show. Looks like business as usual.

We badly need a leader.

Mutu
Football has been the real loser here.

2 Brutal game of football in a row.

Players petrified of taking a touch and playing the ball. Those long balls have to be coming from the manager.

Great that we're unbeaten but I can't watch an entire season of that.

Boyle looks like he's scared to get involved, possibly away soon.

Playing like he has the last 3 games if he does want away maybe best he goes soon as he looks completely disinterested

Honking.

Not sure if we need to change style, formation or sign several players.

But that, along with Tuesday, was garbage.