View Full Version : Isolation purchases

29-03-2020, 11:30 AM
Have you bought anything you wouldn't have under normal circumstances?

I think I went a bit mad last week.

I'm awaiting delivery of a PS4 with FIFA 20 and Call of Duty.

I've also ordered a JLL treadmill which won't be with me for at least another month, and I've finally got around to replacing my old running shoes which I left in Australia last December.

Mind you, I've been tracking the delivery of the shoes and they've been out for delivery then returned to depot every day since Wednesday.

I have to admit that I'm experiencing a modicum of buyer's regret. I'm sure I have time to cancel the treadmill, and I've got 14 days to return the PS4 if I change my mind.

Andy Bee
29-03-2020, 11:57 AM
A breadmaker, seems I'm not the only one either as it took me over a week to find one for sale, everywhere is out of stock.

29-03-2020, 12:00 PM
A breadmaker, seems I'm not the only one either as it took me over a week to find one for sale, everywhere is out of stock.All you need now is the flour, no sign of a single packet down here for the last fortnight, regularly make my own bread but not now.

I guess the hoarders are mixing it with bog roll and pasta by the bathload.

Andy Bee
29-03-2020, 12:08 PM
All you need now is the flour, no sign of a single packet down here for the last fortnight, regularly make my own bread but not now.

Luckily I know a man with a lorry. :greengrin

I'm also thinking of buying chickens if I can source them although the rest of the household think I'm going off my head. I'm only allowed 2 hours a day on the internet for the moment, I really need to get out the house. :greengrin

29-03-2020, 12:10 PM
Loads of paint. Whole house getting a makeover while I’m stuck here.

29-03-2020, 12:13 PM
Luckily I know a man with a lorry. :greengrin

I'm also thinking of buying chickens if I can source them although the rest of the household think I'm going off my head. I'm only allowed 2 hours a day on the internet for the moment, I really need to get out the house. :greengrinChicken's we have down here, when darkness descends I'll go on a raid and get some, chickens for flour is the new post apocalypse currency[emoji6]

Andy Bee
29-03-2020, 12:15 PM
Chicken's we have down here, when darkness descends I'll go on a raid and get some, chickens for flour is the new post apocalypse currency[emoji6]

Done deal :faf:

29-03-2020, 12:22 PM
An Xbox One. Due for delivery tomorrow with Fifa and Madden.

I was told it was 'a waste of money', 'we have a child', 'we have a wedding to pay for' etc etc for as long as I can remember. 2 days of shut in and someone discovered you can get Disney+ through it so it became an essential purchase.

Now I know we can get Disney+ directly through the TV and on at least one other device but I somehow forgot to pass that information on.

29-03-2020, 12:34 PM

I was told it was 'a waste of money', 'we have a child', 'we have a wedding to pay for' etc etc for as long as I can remember. 2 days of shut in and someone discovered you can get Disney+ through it so it became an essential purchase.

Now I know we can get Disney+ directly through the TV and on at least one other device but I somehow forgot to pass that information on.

We got the boy one for his birthday last year and we were so impressed by the non gaming entertainment capabilities that we bought another one for ourselves. Fantastic bit of kit.

patch1875
29-03-2020, 12:44 PM
We got a badminton set for the garden.

Also waiting on a Vax carpet shampoo thingy coming nearly as cheap as hiring one.

29-03-2020, 12:48 PM
All you need now is the flour, no sign of a single packet down here for the last fortnight, regularly make my own bread but not now.

In an ideal world (ie not this one) is there any specific flour you should look for when baking bread?

I appreciate I’m not going to be able to lay a hand on it anytime soon but I fancy giving bread making a bash and may have a nosey when at the supermarket, just in case.

29-03-2020, 12:51 PM
In an ideal world (ie not this one) is there any specific flour you should look for when baking bread?

I appreciate I’m not going to be able to lay a hand on it anytime soon but I fancy giving bread making a bash and may have a nosey when at the supermarket, just in case.I tend to use strong white flour, Allinsons is okay as are most supermarkets brand names. All good for making it by hand.

There's usually some very good high end stuff in M & S, but not at the moment.

EI255
Just bought hair wax online. Usually buy from my Turkish barbers but unable to do so right now (clipper cut coming it's way soon fae the missus..... first "home cut" in years!)

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

EI255
Loads of paint. Whole house getting a makeover while I’m stuck here.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAt least its not pot plants

29-03-2020, 12:54 PM
Where is all the flour?

29-03-2020, 12:55 PM
Not recently but I once bought a chainsaw after too much alcohol.

29-03-2020, 12:59 PM
Where is all the flour?In garages and lofts around the country, right next to all the pasta and hand sanitizer.

29-03-2020, 01:20 PM
Where is all the flour?

O' flour of Scotland, when will we see your like again?

29-03-2020, 01:25 PM
O' flour of Scotland, when will we see your like again?[emoji23]

The Fleur de Lys is the symbol of Lincolnshire.

We really should have more flour....

God, I'm bored.

29-03-2020, 01:28 PM
sweets to see me through. 3kg bags each of imperial mints, meerkats, and sour dummies.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/kingsway-sweets/s?k=kingsway+sweets

My teeth are going to be shot, but at least i'll have some crap to chew while working from home.

Plenty flour - made some pizzas last night. Rolls never turn out right and bread-maker loaf is passable but im sure it can be done better.

Currently minecrafting on the xbox one with my son. we'ev a right farm going - plenty of potatoes, beetroot and hay. Cows and Sheep are multiplying. Bring on the apocalypse!

29-03-2020, 01:32 PM

Let us know how you get on with Madden. A jet sweep works well in most situations.

I bought a firepit. I didn't know what it was till last week.

29-03-2020, 01:35 PM
Xbox one x, got it yesterday. Not got a clue what I’m doing with it though 😂

29-03-2020, 01:37 PM
A dartboard.

I’m really keen to get one, any recommendations for a decent starter set? With darts and things?

stuart-farquhar
29-03-2020, 01:44 PM
A model car kit.

Jay
29-03-2020, 01:59 PM
sweets to see me through. 3kg bags each of imperial mints, meerkats, and sour dummies.

My teeth are going to be shot, but at least i'll have some crap to chew while working from home.

Plenty flour - made some pizzas last night. Rolls never turn out right and bread-maker loaf is passable but im sure it can be done better.

Currently minecrafting on the xbox one with my son. we'ev a right farm going - plenty of potatoes, beetroot and hay. Cows and Sheep are multiplying. Bring on the apocalypse!

I'm craving tangfastics and cant get out for any!

29-03-2020, 02:01 PM
About to order a bin type incinerator thing that I can burn all this excess garden waste I am producing, brown bin is rammed.

29-03-2020, 02:02 PM
A breadmaker, seems I'm not the only one either as it took me over a week to find one for sale, everywhere is out of stock.

Don’t use a bread maker but I have just run out of yeast. There’s none available anywhere!!

29-03-2020, 02:03 PM
Martini glasses to make espresso martinis. Not the same in a wine glass.

Also got a thing that turns your toilet into a bidet for when the bog roll runs out :wink:

29-03-2020, 02:07 PM
I'm thinking about getting a few window boxes. We don't have a garden so thinking that would be a good wee project for the bairn to keep her entertained. She keeps saying she wants to go to nursery or go and see granny so I'm trying to think of new ways to keep her entertained.

We've done baking, done painting and worked our way through the toy box. Trying not so exhaust every option in the first week.

Jay
29-03-2020, 02:14 PM
I'm thinking about getting a few window boxes. We don't have a garden so thinking that would be a good wee project for the bairn to keep her entertained. She keeps saying she wants to go to nursery or go and see granny so I'm trying to think of new ways to keep her entertained.

We've done baking, done painting and worked our way through the toy box. Trying not so exhaust every option in the first week.

That's a great idea try and think of things that grow at different rates so she can watch out for different things. Cress seeds on cotton wool in an eggshell and cup with a face on it is the quickest and will give her an understanding of things growing. Veg and herbs are good too

29-03-2020, 02:33 PM

:greengrin Watch out with the sweets, I had a whole filling come out last night eating a sweet :doh::grr::brickwall :greengrin

29-03-2020, 03:21 PM
Flour found. Morrisons at The Gyle.

29-03-2020, 03:41 PM
Flour found. Morrisons at The Gyle.

As Colr said, yeast is nowhere to be found.

29-03-2020, 04:01 PM

Don’t need that for pancakes 👍

29-03-2020, 04:41 PM

Beer bread.

29-03-2020, 04:43 PM
I made soda bread and brown sugar bread as I couldn't get yeast. Both done the job.

I've also made banana loaf, Victoria sponge and chocolate brownies. I'm destined to come out of this as an obese alcoholic.

29-03-2020, 07:04 PM
Our Tesco had 2 packs of self-raising flour today, which was welcome.

I bought a large order of Paolozzi from the Edinburgh Beer Factory a couple of weeks ago...another order will be going in shortly.

I've also bought a chimnea so I can sit outside and growl into the fire with a whisky...

29-03-2020, 07:33 PM
V Bucks, and more V Bucks.

29-03-2020, 07:34 PM
Online beer order. 12 bottles of Lawless IPA from the Bellfield Brewery. Beautiful.

29-03-2020, 07:42 PM
Already overdue a haircut, I’ve just ordered a clipper set.

29-03-2020, 07:44 PM
Already overdue a haircut, I’ve just ordered a clipper set.

I'm growing a coronabeard and I'm embracing a return to my emo-look from my teenage days - if this keeps up, I'll be buying black nail varnish and returning to work in full goth appearance :greengrin

29-03-2020, 08:02 PM
Crafting stuff including paints etc for the wee yin as it’s sold out in all shops.
A basketball hoop and stand to use with the lad.
An exercise bike
And I’m toying with FIFA20

29-03-2020, 08:56 PM
Crate of wine from BerryBros and Rudd

29-03-2020, 09:02 PM
A dartboard.

I’m really keen to get one, any recommendations for a decent starter set? With darts and things?

I've got a winmau blade 5 which is excellent. Set of Gary Anderson darts too. Which sadly don't make you score like Gary but they do make you miss lots of doubles...

I've been playing against my brother, firstly by having our kids hold the phone at the board so we could see the scores but it was becoming dangerous for them so we ended up playing 'honestly' over speakerphone.

He won 5-4. I'm convinced he was standing right in front of his board 🙂

Looking to get a wee tournament going next week and got 5 in so far. Play 8 legs, 2 points for the win and count legs difference. Better than no darts at all.

29-03-2020, 09:06 PM
I made soda bread and brown sugar bread as I couldn't get yeast. Both done the job.

I've also made banana loaf, Victoria sponge and chocolate brownies. I'm destined to come out of this as an obese alcoholic.

Post me some banana loaf. Happily pay the going rate 😁

29-03-2020, 09:20 PM
I've got a winmau blade 5 which is excellent. Set of Gary Anderson darts too. Which sadly don't make you score like Gary but they do make you miss lots of doubles...

I've been playing against my brother, firstly by having our kids hold the phone at the board so we could see the scores but it was becoming dangerous for them so we ended up playing 'honestly' over speakerphone.

He won 5-4. I'm convinced he was standing right in front of his board 🙂

Looking to get a wee tournament going next week and got 5 in so far. Play 8 legs, 2 points for the win and count legs difference. Better than no darts at all.

Thanks Dave, that’s magic. I take from what I’ve seen that’s a premium board? There’s a few for around the £40 mark i was thinking about.

29-03-2020, 09:32 PM
Thanks Dave, that’s magic. I take from what I’ve seen that’s a premium board? There’s a few for around the £40 mark i was thinking about.

To be honest, I don't know if it's premium but it's a decent board (I got it as a birthday gift).

Im on it every day now. Not ******g improving my doubling though 😔

29-03-2020, 09:35 PM

I appreciate I’m not going to be able to lay a hand on it anytime soon but I fancy giving bread making a bash and may have a nosey when at the supermarket, just in case.

Farm shops, assuming they are open are a better bet for flour at the moment. Tesco checkout lady gave me that tip.

29-03-2020, 09:38 PM
Crafting stuff including paints etc for the wee yin as it’s sold out in all shops.
A basketball hoop and stand to use with the lad.
An exercise bike
And I’m toying with FIFA20

👍 If anybody is looking for wool for knitting. #justsaying 😉

1875godsgift
30-03-2020, 12:25 AM
Martini glasses to make espresso martinis. Not the same in a wine glass.

Also got a thing that turns your toilet into a bidet for when the bog roll runs out :wink:

A hosepipe?

30-03-2020, 07:07 AM
A hosepipe?

A water pistol?

lugz
30-03-2020, 11:29 AM
Bought a basketball jersey, never owned one before and will probably never wear it haha.

30-03-2020, 01:30 PM
Bought a basketball jersey, never owned one before and will probably never wear it haha.

Still got my LA Lakers jersey i got in Orlando in 2003 wtih Kobe Bryant's name and number. Doesn't fit me now. :greengrin

30-03-2020, 01:44 PM
Trying not to buy anything I don't need as ultimately it will be some underpaid over worked warehouse team having to sort it all out in a manky industrial unit somewhere. Then some drivers going to have to hand a parcel into you thats been potentially handled by another 10 folk who is equally underpaid and over worked.

My neighbour asked if i could sign for summit if she's out on her "daily exercise". No bother at all I said, food is it? "No paint brushes for the hall". Bolt.

Sergio sledge
30-03-2020, 02:44 PM
I bought a drone. Probably not the best purchase as you have to be outside to use it, but we're only a few minutes walk from the countryside so I'm going to take the kids out later and have some fun with it on our daily exercise.

30-03-2020, 02:47 PM
I bought a boomerang on Amazon, the guy has delivered it 12 times

30-03-2020, 02:51 PM
Finally bought Logic Pro X for making music for the duration of being locked down with my plan being to get an EP worth of material by the end.

lugz
30-03-2020, 03:17 PM
Still got my LA Lakers jersey i got in Orlando in 2003 wtih Kobe Bryant's name and number. Doesn't fit me now. :greengrin

Definitely worth keeping that. 8 or 24? I ended up buying an Iverson sixers jersey.

30-03-2020, 04:33 PM
Just bought a new vacuum cleaner the other day. Great purchase.

30-03-2020, 07:05 PM

What a great birthday present for mrs c 1 very thoughtful

30-03-2020, 07:24 PM
Definitely worth keeping that. 8 or 24? I ended up buying an Iverson sixers jersey.

It was number 8 mate. It’s now up in my atic.

30-03-2020, 09:42 PM
Been buying fencing from Wickes and the only product I cannot get is the postcrete concrete mix.
Can't build my bloody fence without it.
Can't get it anywhere either .

1st world problems and that.

30-03-2020, 09:46 PM
Been buying fencing from Wickes and the only product I cannot get is the postcrete concrete mix.
Can't build my bloody fence without it.
Can't get it anywhere either .

1st world problems and that.

Tradepoint (B&Q) had pallets of the stuff last week.... it's click and collect at the mo :-)

KdyHby
30-03-2020, 09:59 PM

Bought a Shark battery vacuum, and raise you an electric hedge trimmer 🙄

30-03-2020, 10:01 PM
How safe will it be ordering things from Amazon for example?

30-03-2020, 10:10 PM

In what sense?

Amazon are trustworthy and you've got a record of your purchases.

There's every chance that deliveries will take longer than usual, but they will arrive.

30-03-2020, 10:13 PM
Tradepoint (B&Q) had pallets of the stuff last week.... it's click and collect at the mo :-)

Its only click and collect for essential items on there I think.
I can get product in my basket online but no option for click and collect . Says it available for delivery but when I try to check out , it says not available .

30-03-2020, 10:43 PM
Our Tesco had 2 packs of self-raising flour today, which was welcome.

I bought a large order of Paolozzi from the Edinburgh Beer Factory a couple of weeks ago...another order will be going in shortly.

I've also bought a chimnea so I can sit outside and growl into the fire with a whisky...

Thistly Cross Cider are selling Paolozzi with 20% off plus free delivery.

30-03-2020, 11:35 PM
Its only click and collect for essential items on there I think.
I can get product in my basket online but no option for click and collect . Says it available for delivery but when I try to check out , it says not available .Ah nightmare, it was all sitting there as well!

31-03-2020, 06:53 AM

Related to covid-19 i'd say not very. A quick google shows it can live on cardboard for upto 24hrs and plastics even longer. Staff have no gloves or masks on. Your package can easily be handled by 12+ people before it even reaches your delivery driver. At reception you'd think they're taking it seriously as they do have social distancing measures in place but away from the public eye there's **** all in place. Can't social distance 'cos if you did you wouldn't make your targets. Don't make your targets they're on you like a ton of bricks. Off today, will then work til Friday as that will give me 2 weeks wages then they can ram it.

500 Asos staff walked out yesterday aswell for similar reasons.

31-03-2020, 06:59 AM
In what sense?

Amazon are trustworthy and you've got a record of your purchases.

There's every chance that deliveries will take longer than usual, but they will arrive.

My son ordered a dart board from amazon to pass the time. Arrived a day early.

goosano
31-03-2020, 07:14 AM
Trying not to buy anything I don't need as ultimately it will be some underpaid over worked warehouse team having to sort it all out in a manky industrial unit somewhere. Then some drivers going to have to hand a parcel into you thats been potentially handled by another 10 folk who is equally underpaid and over worked.

My neighbour asked if i could sign for summit if she's out on her "daily exercise". No bother at all I said, food is it? "No paint brushes for the hall". Bolt.

Totally agree. Best not to order anything. The less people haring around the country delivering non essential items the slower the spread of the virus will be and the less time the restrictions will last. And as ever it is people on low wages and little savings who will end up infected and isolated.

The risk from.packaging is low. However it exists and wiping it down with a dilute solution of bleach is sufficient
along with the usual careful hand hygiene

31-03-2020, 12:30 PM
Ah nightmare, it was all sitting there as well!

Local fencing business had them and delivered them thus morning along with fence posts and beams.
£100 cheaper than Wickes too with no delivery charge.
Well pleased.
One fence getting built at the weekend :greengrin:

31-03-2020, 12:37 PM
Local fencing business had them and delivered them thus morning along with fence posts and beams.
Well pleased.
One fence getting built at the weekend :greengrin:I've got a sore back or I'd offer to help.... 'onest! :greengrin

31-03-2020, 01:40 PM
Related to covid-19 i'd say not very. A quick google shows it can live on cardboard for upto 24hrs and plastics even longer. Staff have no gloves or masks on. Your package can easily be handled by 12+ people before it even reaches your delivery driver. At reception you'd think they're taking it seriously as they do have social distancing measures in place but away from the public eye there's **** all in place. Can't social distance 'cos if you did you wouldn't make your targets. Don't make your targets they're on you like a ton of bricks. Off today, will then work til Friday as that will give me 2 weeks wages then they can ram it.

500 Asos staff walked out yesterday aswell for similar reasons.

It seems ridiculous to me that we are still allowing the virus to travel the length of the country :confused:

31-03-2020, 01:59 PM
It seems ridiculous to me that we are still allowing the virus to travel the length of the country :confused:

Totally. We should just ban the virus and be done with it!!

Or at the very least revoke its bus pass.

31-03-2020, 03:10 PM
Today I purchased a Harris heavy duty tungsten carbide wood scraper, works a treat alongside a heat gun.

Stripping back multiple layers of gloss on my staircase.

31-03-2020, 03:34 PM
I've had to buy a wireless router as #2 son being back from uni with multiple extra devices seems to have tipped our virgin media hub over the edge. Kept getting packet drops for no good reason. Day 2 of the new router and all is well so far. Phew.

Fuzzywuzzy
31-03-2020, 05:02 PM
I've got paint getting delivered and spent free time stripping the vinyl off the kitchen cupboard doors. If it works it works. Got kitchen flooring coming as well so got spare time pretty much taken up.

Youngest got a card game called 'go find it' so been great fun when out walking. Also hunting for golf balls at the course is keeping them surprisingly entertained

And the wife bought a big jar of Nutella. Normally it wouldn't make it into the trolley

31-03-2020, 06:06 PM
Well pleased.
One fence getting built at the weekend :greengrin:

Which company, one of my neighbours is looking for stuff.

31-03-2020, 06:52 PM
27 inch iMac.

CloudSquall
31-03-2020, 06:54 PM
Finally gave in and bought "American Truck Simulator" on Stream, was discounted to 4.99 EUR which made me feel better about it :greengrin

Skol
31-03-2020, 07:08 PM
Renewed my Season Ticket :flag::agree::thumbsup::gwa::greengrin

31-03-2020, 07:10 PM
Finally gave in and bought "American Truck Simulator" on Stream, was discounted to 4.99 EUR which made me feel better about it :greengrin

I'm not the only one playing it :greengrin

31-03-2020, 09:04 PM
Last week, I ordered 2 boxes (48 bottles) of Paolozzi from the Edinburgh Beer Factory (early birthday present to myself). The delivery was last Tuesday, and I didn't notice at the time that only one box (24) bottles had been delivered. I noticed today when I placed another order and the amount/quantity made me realise I hadn't received the full order last week - I quickly got in touch, and sure enough, they hadn't sent both boxes, so tomorrow I'm getting 96 bottles of beer delivered to my house - the missing box, my new order (48 bottles of various EBF beers) and another box as an apology.

I might open a bar :greengrin

CloudSquall
31-03-2020, 09:10 PM
I'm not the only one playing it :greengrin

One afternoon in and I hope this quarantine lasts forever :greengrin

31-03-2020, 10:07 PM
Which company, one of my neighbours is looking for stuff.

D Stewart in East Mains Industrial estate in Broxburn.
Brocks Way, East Mains Industrial Estate, Broxburn EH52 5NB
01506 858282

Great guy , really helpful.

31-03-2020, 10:23 PM
My son ordered a dart board from amazon to pass the time. Arrived a day early.

Sounds like bull. :cb

HendoDelivered
31-03-2020, 10:35 PM
I’m in need of a mountain bike as getting bored of going running for exercise. Anyone selling one or know anyone who is/where I could get one? Already tried gumtree and facebook marketplace but no luck in finding anything decent for what I’m looking to pay.

Cheers.

31-03-2020, 11:04 PM
27 inch iMac.

New shiny, always good to get a new shiny thing. Been mulling over a new desktop gaming PC for a while.

So far I’ve resisted and only got a 4K fire stick, but I’m always finding myself online looking at “stuff”.

31-03-2020, 11:09 PM
If anyone is worried about deliveries being contaminated, you should take the parcel(s) in, put them somewhere safe, wash your hands thoroughly, and don't touch them again until you feel safe to open them.

01-04-2020, 08:42 AM
I’m in need of a mountain bike as getting bored of going running for exercise. Anyone selling one or know anyone who is/where I could get one? Already tried gumtree and facebook marketplace but no luck in finding anything decent for what I’m looking to pay.

Cheers.

Hendo, I’ve got a mountain bike I never use and have been looking to get rid of. Only wanting £50. It’s an appollo paradox and needs a bit of tlc but it’s yours if you want it.

01-04-2020, 09:26 AM
If anyone is worried about deliveries being contaminated, you should take the parcel(s) in, put them somewhere safe, wash your hands thoroughly, and don't touch them again until you feel safe to open them.

I've been washing hands after signing (if needed) then take parcel to garage, discard outer packaging to recycle or landfill bin, wash hands again, then retrieve inner package.

The "surfaces study" found traces of virus on cardboard after 24 hours but it does start deteriorating immediately so I don't think anyone's very sure if it is really a risk and how big if so?

01-04-2020, 10:23 AM
Just bought the programme for Hibs v St Johnstone from 14th March.

hibeesjoe
01-04-2020, 02:31 PM
I've got a craving for buying an xbox one-x. They seem to be sold out everywhere though so maybe not a bad thing. I had one in my basket on a website but got buyers regret instantly and cancelled it. I know I won't be so lucky next time I see one though.

Sent from my MI 8 using Tapatalk

01-04-2020, 03:36 PM
Bought

- Powerwasher
- Lawnmover
- 24 beers from St Andrews Brewing Co
- New Trainers

Pending

In the Cart - holding new shoes, polo-shirt and a t-shirt .. have walked away for a day or two

Aff ma heid with all this :greengrin

Just_Jimmy
01-04-2020, 04:21 PM
Does anyone know who would deliver me black anti weed lining, and a ton of garden chips to cover some ground?

I'm finding even though I'm still working as normal, I have more time to do stuff when I'm off because I'm not out. So I wanted to get stuff done.

For the above I could find a company still delivering. Obviously it's not critical but why waste the time if someone will deliver?

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Andy Bee
01-04-2020, 07:04 PM
160 Five Guys Hotdogs, 48 8.5" brioche hotdog rolls, a rather large Stornoway black pudding, 5 x 1.5kg of 00 flour, 5 x 1.5kg strong white flour, 5 x 1.5kg wholewheat bread flour, 5 x 500g yeast, a muckle big fillet steak to be cut into slices yet and half a pig in the form of smoked bacon. The whole neighbourhood are having hotdogs for dinner tonight. Sometimes truck driving really ****** me off, this isn't one of them. :greengrin

*WANTED* A chest freezer :greengrin

02-04-2020, 05:00 AM
Samsung tablet

Virgin Media Super Hub 3

Thinking of a new router to up my WiFi speeds, as apparently the Super Hub 3 isnt cut out to deliver. Anyone any experience with SH3?

02-04-2020, 06:18 AM
Sounds like bull. :cb

He's struggling to hit the board never mind the bull. The wall is taking a hammering. :greengrin

02-04-2020, 10:35 AM
Samsung tablet

Virgin Media Super Hub 3

Thinking of a new router to up my WiFi speeds, as apparently the Super Hub 3 isnt cut out to deliver. Anyone any experience with SH3?

Yes, it's pish.

It was mostly ok for us with only a few devices, say less than 10, connected. Although even then, you would get short periods where devices would appear connected to the wifi fine but would have no internet connectivity.
With both my kids at home in this lockdown, and me working from home, it ground everything to halt. I don't think the bandwidth is the problem, it's having more devices connected. When that got up to 15, there'd be random packet drops all over the place.

I got a new Asus router last Friday and put the VM Hub 3 into modem mode and it's been flawless all week. So fingers crossed it's sorted.

This is the router. I think it's fine for general home use and probably not worth spending more unless you're a hardcore gamer or have a massive house.

https://www.ebuyer.com/874919-asus-ac2400-dual-band-gigabit-wi-fi-router-rt-ac85p

Getting the full 200Mbps I'm supposed to and a wee bit more now:

https://www.speedtest.net/result/9224720187.png

Andy Bee
02-04-2020, 11:33 AM
*WANTED* https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E41kFAL0UUo

02-04-2020, 11:46 AM
Yes, it's pish.

It was mostly ok for us with only a few devices, say less than 10, connected. Although even then, you would get short periods where devices would appear connected to the wifi fine but would have no internet connectivity.
With both my kids at home in this lockdown, and me working from home, it ground everything to halt. I don't think the bandwidth is the problem, it's having more devices connected. When that got up to 15, there'd be random packet drops all over the place.

I got a new Asus router last Friday and put the VM Hub 3 into modem mode and it's been flawless all week. So fingers crossed it's sorted.

This is the router. I think it's fine for general home use and probably not worth spending more unless you're a hardcore gamer or have a massive house.

https://www.ebuyer.com/874919-asus-ac2400-dual-band-gigabit-wi-fi-router-rt-ac85p

Thanks for the info, and recommendation.

I only get 100Mbps in my area, so had been looking at the cheaper ASUS ac57u

https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/RT-AC57U/

It does up to 800Mbps, so I thought that’d be more than enough for the time being?

02-04-2020, 11:54 AM
Are bike shops open, was getting one for my daughter for summer but the summer holidays seemed to have arrived early for some reason.

02-04-2020, 11:54 AM
*WANTED* https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E41kFAL0UUo

Personally I can go deeper underwater than 5 feet for 30 seconds so I'll give it a miss. Nothing at all to do with the $80,000 price tag mind.

02-04-2020, 11:56 AM
Thanks for the info, and recommendation.

I only get 100Mbps in my area, so had been looking at the cheaper ASUS ac57u

https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/RT-AC57U/

It does up to 800Mbps, so I thought that’d be more than enough for the time being?

Yeah, that should do the job fine.

speedy_gonzales
02-04-2020, 03:53 PM
Are bike shops open, was getting one for my daughter for summer but the summer holidays seemed to have arrived early for some reason.
Hart's cyclery at Corstorphine is open, albeit reduced hours. The guy that owns/runs it is sound and will tailor the right bike to your daughter's needs, unlike the big chains that will sell the pinkest bike with a basket (unless that's what you're in to).

02-04-2020, 04:20 PM
160 Five Guys Hotdogs, 48 8.5" brioche hotdog rolls, a rather large Stornoway black pudding, 5 x 1.5kg of 00 flour, 5 x 1.5kg strong white flour, 5 x 1.5kg wholewheat bread flour, 5 x 500g yeast, a muckle big fillet steak to be cut into slices yet and half a pig in the form of smoked bacon. The whole neighbourhood are having hotdogs for dinner tonight. Sometimes truck driving really ****** me off, this isn't one of them. :greengrin

*WANTED* A chest freezer :greengrin
I’ll be down tonight Andy.😂😂👍

Andy Bee
02-04-2020, 04:51 PM
I’ll be down tonight Andy.😂😂👍

I wish you would mate, the neighbours have nearly cleaned me out but my freezer is still bursting at the seams, the hotdogs are fantastic. :greengrin

02-04-2020, 05:02 PM
On the strength of the @Westbeer tweet from earlier (chinning off Wetherspoons). I thought I’d order a case of beer and a pint glass to make up any lost business from Wetherspoons. Never tried their beer before but looking forward to trying it. #lockdown #weekendbeer

https://twitter.com/jamie_bryce/status/1245446010891112448?s=21

02-04-2020, 06:30 PM
On the strength of the @Westbeer tweet from earlier (chinning off Wetherspoons). I thought I’d order a case of beer and a pint glass to make up any lost business from Wetherspoons. Never tried their beer before but looking forward to trying it. #lockdown #weekendbeer

https://twitter.com/jamie_bryce/status/1245446010891112448?s=21

St Mungo is a lovely tipple :agree:

03-04-2020, 10:09 PM
Philips beard trimmer.

03-04-2020, 10:12 PM
I got a miniature schnauzer puppy on Tuesday.

We’ve wanted a puppy for a while, our holiday to Zimbabwe was cancelled due to corona, so it seemed as good a time as any.

04-04-2020, 08:01 AM
After a discussion with StevieC on the tablet recommendation thread I bought his and her Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1 x2.

Our old tablets were close to the end of their lives so this just brought forward the inevitable purchase.

They arrived yesterday and so far I'm delighted.

My wife got a letter from the CMO during the week so she is in shielding mode. Among all the other stuff we have to basically socially distance from each other in the house so we've had to buy a second bed! We're not so delighted with this.

04-04-2020, 08:05 AM
New Philips soni-care, Amazon, £300 price tag marked down to £100. Awesome. Excellent upgrade on the old model and highly recommended

04-04-2020, 08:18 AM

We’ve wanted a puppy for a while, our holiday to Zimbabwe was cancelled due to corona, so it seemed as good a time as any.

I’ve agreed to get a puppy. My family were nagging the hell out of me.

Not getting her for 10 weeks. A Sprocker Spaniel.

04-04-2020, 08:32 AM
Two sourdough bread proving baskets....

-Jonesy-
04-04-2020, 08:35 AM
St Mungo is a lovely tipple :agree:

Aye their wheat beer Hefeweizen is lovely too, tastes and smells like spiced banana bread

04-04-2020, 10:17 AM
Just bought a Dewalt reciprocating saw along with a decent Makita drill driver.
Fence panels just been delivered too.

I just need to start now :greengrin:

04-04-2020, 11:33 AM
Yes, it's pish.

I get about 50 average for my 200 package. I had all sorts of issues with the Virgin router. Sticking it in modem mode and getting a tp link router has made it much more stable, but is my tp link the thing limiting my speed?

04-04-2020, 12:40 PM
A recommendation from Matty and I've spent a small fortune at Buffalo Farm (delivery) to stock up the freezer.
Similar with Campbells meat, two weeks between deliveries.

peckish just thinking about it.
Trying to stay away from large purchases........

wpj
04-04-2020, 12:44 PM
Slippers, been needing a pair for ages no cold feet anymore. Sent my daughter an encyclopedia, she lives with mum and absolutely loves it. Oh, and bogroll, luxury these days, local coop totally amazing, staff are wonderful

Jay
04-04-2020, 12:54 PM
A recommendation from Matty and I've spent a small fortune at Buffalo Farm (delivery) to stock up the freezer.
Similar with Campbells meat, two weeks between deliveries.

peckish just thinking about it.
Trying to stay away from large purchases........

Campbells delivered ours a day late and we had some different stuff to what we ordered . Two packs of lamb mince anybody? :rolleyes:

04-04-2020, 12:58 PM

I picked up my labrador puppy (born 13.11.19) on the 9th of February. Best decision ever. He's now old enough to go on semi long walks and we're making the most of it by exploring our immediate area with lots of lake and forest walks. Even my 11 year old is excited about getting out the house for an hour or 2 every day. Love the dog to bits already.

Congratulations on the arrival of your new family member.

04-04-2020, 01:22 PM
I get about 50 average for my 200 package. I had all sorts of issues with the Virgin router. Sticking it in modem mode and getting a tp link router has made it much more stable, but is my tp link the thing limiting my speed?

Could be. It’s most likely to be the wireless connection between the device and the tp-link. What is the device, a PC?

LK1
04-04-2020, 02:59 PM
I bought myself some parts and built a gaming pc. Keeping myself entertained with Call of Duty and Flight Simulator.

04-04-2020, 03:13 PM
2 new window blinds. Just fitted them, wish I hadn't started, away for a sit down and a big drink. They've managed to stay up for 10 mins so I'm calling it a success.

That's my DIY done for the rest of this isolation period.

04-04-2020, 03:15 PM
Couple of Dormeo mattresses.

04-04-2020, 03:21 PM
Campbells delivered ours a day late and we had some different stuff to what we ordered . Two packs of lamb mince anybody? :rolleyes:

Make burgers with it.

I’ve not made them for a while and I can’t remember exactly how but years ago I had a card with a Nick Nairn lamb burger recipe on it.

They were phenomenal.

04-04-2020, 03:33 PM
Could be. It’s most likely to be the wireless connection between the device and the tp-link. What is the device, a PC?

I’m getting similar average speeds on the laptop and phones in the house. Certainly not getting close to the 200 at any stage.

04-04-2020, 03:47 PM
I’m getting similar average speeds on the laptop and phones in the house. Certainly not getting close to the 200 at any stage.

wireless will bomb out at lower speeds. if you want a guaranteed stable connection over 50mb wired is the way to go.
What is the router itself getting?

04-04-2020, 04:37 PM
wireless will bomb out at lower speeds. if you want a guaranteed stable connection over 50mb wired is the way to go.
What is the router itself getting?

If you’re paying for up to 200 there surely isn’t the expectation that you can connect all your laptops, TVs and certainly not phones by wire to get close to it?

I’ve no idea how to test what the router is getting!

04-04-2020, 04:40 PM
I picked up my labrador puppy (born 13.11.19) on the 9th of February. Best decision ever. He's now old enough to go on semi long walks and we're making the most of it by exploring our immediate area with lots of lake and forest walks. Even my 11 year old is excited about getting out the house for an hour or 2 every day. Love the dog to bits already.

Congratulations on the arrival of your new family member.

I've now got my name on a waiting list for a pet hedgehog. Would prefer a girl hoglet as male hedgehogs can pleasure themselves and that's not something I'm cleaning up...

However they sleep during the day which is perfect for when we're at work, they respond after a while to human contact and affection (though they can still be grumpy) and generally are adorable little things.

04-04-2020, 04:43 PM
I’ve had my household warned that we might have tough times ahead financially so we should cut all unnecessary spend.

My wee girl has decided that her favourite thing is dancing with me, which she wants to do whenever any music comes on.

Inspired by the sight of this my other half ordered a glitter ball for the living room earlier.

I’ll tell you how it tastes in about 6 months.

Jakhog1
04-04-2020, 05:16 PM
Really thinking about getting a inflatable hot tub for the garden, think it was lazy spa they are called, anyone used one before?

04-04-2020, 05:17 PM
A Microsoft Surface Go tablet

have an old Lenovo windows tablet that’s creaking a bit now, so decided to upgrade :greengrin

04-04-2020, 05:31 PM
If you’re paying for up to 200 there surely isn’t the expectation that you can connect all your laptops, TVs and certainly not phones by wire to get close to it?

I’ve no idea how to test what the router is getting!

Ah yes, but wireless has an limit on how fast it can work, depending on the adaptors/technology ie wired you might get the full 200mb. switch the wifi and you might get 56mb. wander away from the router and it drops further to 18mb.
WiFi 'g' (802.11g) technology gets up 54Mbps for example.
802.11n gets up to 450Mbps
802.11ac gets up to 1300Mbps
But thats theoretical top speeds and I've never seen any adaptor get near them. The further from your router you go, the weaker the signal and the slower the speed.

Most recent laptops have 1Gb adapters network adapters, so you'd easily get the 200Mb on a wired connection (if you needed it).

100Mb should easily cater for a standard family of 4, even if all of them were streaming tv. the quality of the stream would depend on the connection each device has.

04-04-2020, 05:35 PM
I've now got my name on a waiting list for a pet hedgehog. Would prefer a girl hoglet as male hedgehogs can pleasure themselves and that's not something I'm cleaning up...

However they sleep during the day which is perfect for when we're at work, they respond after a while to human contact and affection (though they can still be grumpy) and generally are adorable little things.

If I were to get a pet, I think I’d want a w*****g hedgehog.

04-04-2020, 05:37 PM
If I were to get a pet, I think I’d want a w*****g hedgehog.

It's not its hands that it uses.

04-04-2020, 06:07 PM

I've heard they make good football forum admins.

pontius pilate
04-04-2020, 08:20 PM
Nothing exciting but new charging cables for mobile and tablet but did purchase a pair of wireless ear pods very impressed, need to wait till next pay day and get the front garden started, I am looking at getting artificial and it needs weeded and stones with led lamps in it, anybody with any tips would be helpful the area would be about 4msq for the artificial grass

Jay
04-04-2020, 08:30 PM
I saw some particularly hideous underwear on a fb ad last night after a few wines and thought I'd buy some :greengrin

05-04-2020, 12:03 AM
Got money for my Birthday. Want to spend it on ***** but would prefer to wait. As Heaven 17 said, Temptation???

05-04-2020, 02:00 PM
Some new aftershave and another pair of Adidas trainers. :cb

05-04-2020, 02:11 PM
I've heard they make good football forum admins.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ig9JdjGhso8

Fuzzywuzzy
06-04-2020, 06:03 PM
More mouse traps and the plug in things

06-04-2020, 07:04 PM
Had a look about Amazon and Ebay but my depression is annoying me last few days as feel guilty a bit that I still working getting paid and as not going out I am better off.

I'm sure I will get back to buying more pish soon. Enjoying reading some of the purchases though 😂

The Pointer
06-04-2020, 07:19 PM
Ordered some beer from **** Ales, 40 mins drive away. Took 6 days to be delivered!

06-04-2020, 07:53 PM
Ordered some beer from **** Ales, 40 mins drive away. Took 6 days to be delivered!

The horse must be f——d knackered

06-04-2020, 08:15 PM

Trying to guess a brewery that would be swear filtered.

Edgy branding :greengrin

06-04-2020, 08:57 PM

I think it's ****, but it could also be ****, **** or ****.

06-04-2020, 09:24 PM
Atari retro games console.

Frogger
Space Invaders
Missile Command
Asteroids
And many more

Only thing missing is Galaxians.

06-04-2020, 09:35 PM

It was Castlemaine that made that, was it not?

06-04-2020, 11:01 PM
It's taking every ounce of will power that I posses to not order a Nintendo Switch, especially since my gaming laptop died a couple of days into lockdown.

I've bought a remote control helicopter for £20 instead. 🤦

The Pointer
07-04-2020, 06:42 AM

It begins with an 'F' too! They brew my favourite beer (although I would just about include Stewart's 'Edinburgh Gold' and Lomond Breweries 'Southern Summit' in that category) but I ordered a box of 330cl bottles of small batch stuff.

07-04-2020, 07:13 AM
It's taking every ounce of will power that I posses to not order a Nintendo Switch, especially since my gaming laptop died a couple of days into lockdown.

I've bought a remote control helicopter for £20 instead. 🤦

Mate just bite the bullet. No point in delaying the inevitable!

I’ve re-downloaded farming simulator on my phone.

And I’m still working from the office 😂

07-04-2020, 08:28 AM
I have just bought a 2 tier keyboard stand for my synth and laptop, help with the tidy up I am trying to do :agree:

07-04-2020, 09:22 AM

07-04-2020, 10:07 AM
keyboard cleaner. theyre ****ing manky

07-04-2020, 10:57 AM

😂 I won a XXXX gold coloured badge which was awarded after you bought XX pints of the stuff. Circa 1987?

07-04-2020, 11:00 AM
https://youtu.be/XRJwJc6Yppo

32 years ago 😳

07-04-2020, 11:17 AM
😂 I won a XXXX gold coloured badge which was awarded after you bought XX pints of the stuff. Circa 1987?

I drank gallons of the stuff when I was at Uni - £1.40 a pint in the union in Dundee in 1995.

pollution
07-04-2020, 11:31 AM

Vile liquid. As bad as Skol.

07-04-2020, 12:17 PM
Vile liquid. As bad as Skol.

Made me laugh when I went backpacking in Australia after Uni. My impression of XXXX and Fosters was shot down. Think I drank mostly Tooeys New when I was out there.

Every time I go out (my Brother-in-law lives out there) we have different session beer.

Last summer it was Furphys.

When we were there in 2009 it was Pure Blonde.

hibs#1
07-04-2020, 02:44 PM
Ps2 from Ebay,still a good console.

07-04-2020, 04:35 PM
I’ve been thinking of resurrecting my DJing again from way back....I’ve still got my Technics turntables and mixer (plus plenty vinyl) but I’m trying to work out what I need to do with regards laptops and controllers.

Anyone that has any knowledge they could share would be very much welcomed :cb

07-04-2020, 06:40 PM
Tenants brought out a special in about 83. It coincided with a couple of things. Me being made redundant with quite a tidy sum and the Compact Disc taking off. They produced a card that took 40 stamps to fill it. One stamp per pint. Once filled you took the card to Menzies ( might have been Woolies) and exchanged it for a CD. I lost count of the number of cards I filled that Summer but my CD collection really took off. The beer was relatively strong and was dispensed from a bar tap with a black “T” on it. With no word of a lie my memory, particularly short term, was shot to bits. I was never the same. Was never a particularly sharp guy but it turned me into a right dullard. :rolleyes:

07-04-2020, 09:15 PM
A dozen or so Hue lightbulbs when pissed...never let the Mrs know how much they cost. Do I regret buying them? Absolutely 🙄

EI255
07-04-2020, 09:26 PM
Bought a lot of gardening stuff

07-04-2020, 09:30 PM
Mate just bite the bullet. No point in delaying the inevitable!

I’ve re-downloaded farming simulator on my phone.

And I’m still working from the office 😂

Haha I wish I could justify it! My PC repairs might end up costing as much as a Switch Lite so I'm holding fire until I hear back from MSI.

I've been getting slightly interested in agriculture recently, **** knows why - but farming simulator might be a shout. 🤣

07-04-2020, 11:19 PM
Beard brush and beard oil, I've not shaved in nearly a month for the first time ever :greengrin

07-04-2020, 11:47 PM
I’ve been thinking of resurrecting my DJing again from way back....I’ve still got my Technics turntables and mixer (plus plenty vinyl) but I’m trying to work out what I need to do with regards laptops and controllers.

One of these and Serato software will be a good start.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/401632546181

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

wpj
08-04-2020, 12:57 AM

Been going through my vinyl, some good tunes and some total rubbish, may have to check out Discogs, may make a few bob

MagicSwirlingShip
08-04-2020, 03:44 AM

I'd personally recommend Traktor, alongside a reasonably powerful laptop (Macbook Pro is pretty much standard)

Once you have the timecoded vinyls and soundcard from Traktor you can switch between downloaded music and your vinyl collection really easily.

Wouldn't bother with a controller, half the fun of mixing tunes is through using records.

08-04-2020, 05:23 AM
Been going through my vinyl, some good tunes and some total rubbish, may have to check out Discogs, may make a few bob

That's exactly what I did. Got rid of a stack of albums to Vinyl Villains the day before the lockdown and got a decent price. Was a bit of a wrench but I never play them.

wpj
08-04-2020, 05:38 AM
That's exactly what I did. Got rid of a stack of albums to Vinyl Villains the day before the lockdown and got a decent price. Was a bit of a wrench but I never play them.

Vinyl Villains still there? Loved that shop way back

08-04-2020, 06:18 AM
Vinyl Villains still there? Loved that shop way back

Still there. Fingers crossed they can get up and running once this is over, great shop.

08-04-2020, 06:41 AM
I drank gallons of the stuff when I was at Uni - £1.40 a pint in the union in Dundee in 1995.

I drank K Cider back in the day. Think was about 8% a can.

08-04-2020, 07:00 AM
I'd personally recommend Traktor, alongside a reasonably powerful laptop (Macbook Pro is pretty much standard)

Once you have the timecoded vinyls and soundcard from Traktor you can switch between downloaded music and your vinyl collection really easily.

Wouldn't bother with a controller, half the fun of mixing tunes is through using records.

The plan is to get a four channel controller, that way I can connect the 1210s up on the two spare channels and still use them too. Rekordbox or Serato to then organise everything else once I’ve converted all the CD tracks I have to digital on a laptop. I’ve probably got something like 8000 tracks between vinyl and CD so it should keep me busy for a while :greengrin

Pioneer DDJ SX looks like the controller I’ll try and get, but it will all depend on price.

MagicSwirlingShip
08-04-2020, 08:36 AM
The plan is to get a four channel controller, that way I can connect the 1210s up on the two spare channels and still use them too. Rekordbox or Serato to then organise everything else once I’ve converted all the CD tracks I have to digital on a laptop. I’ve probably got something like 8000 tracks between vinyl and CD so it should keep me busy for a while :greengrin

Pioneer DDJ SX looks like the controller I’ll try and get, but it will all depend on price.

Sounds like a class isolation project on your hands there. Enjoy!

10-04-2020, 07:55 AM
Today I purchased a Harris heavy duty tungsten carbide wood scraper, works a treat alongside a heat gun.

Stripping back multiple layers of gloss on my staircase.

Finished stripping the staircase, it was a mammoth task and a serious workout.
I'm delighted to have achieved this 😁

10-04-2020, 08:22 AM

Frogger
Space Invaders
Missile Command
Asteroids
And many more

And Track & Field 🏃*♂️

10-04-2020, 09:25 AM
A shark hoover, been needing a new hoover for a while and they currently have £100 off so bit the bullet and in a show of real rock n roll rebellion I bought one

My life is full of excitement right now

10-04-2020, 10:04 AM
A shark hoover, been needing a new hoover for a while and they currently have £100 off so bit the bullet and in a show of real rock n roll rebellion I bought one

I've probably alienated my wife by messaging her and asking if she wants a new vacuum.
Henry is on offer at £99

Rumble de Thump
10-04-2020, 10:10 AM
Vacuum cleaners suck.

10-04-2020, 10:49 AM
So far I've bought my 11 year old his first personal smart phone to keep him in contact with his school buddies and football pals.

A Linksys router that allows us to give every device in the house it's own personal VPN. TV is on a UK server, Netflix is either in India or the USA and the boy's Xbox is in Germany for example.

A 3.5m diameter trampolin for the garden with a weight restriction that's high enough for my six foot heavy frame to bounce my little heart out when the wife and kid aren't enjoying weightlessness with the dog.

Oh yeah, a dog although he was in the planning pre crisis.

10-04-2020, 12:48 PM
Bought some firm ground Adidas Preadators. Was sick of my boys absolutely lacing shots and I have virtually a pair of slippers to kick a ball with. Adidas sale on with 25% extra off at the checkout. Bargain.

Also bagged a pair of running shoes in the Nike sale, again with 30% off at the checkout.

Bought a couple of bottles of Gin, Brighton Gin & a new local one near me called Chew Valley Gin.

The Chew Valley one is distilled by a friend of a friend so wanted to support a local business. He hand delivered it the next day, which was great of him.

10-04-2020, 09:10 PM

Been looking at those let me know how it is please? Ffs did I really ask that? Yup I did jeez.

10-04-2020, 09:13 PM
Been looking at those let me know how it is please? Ffs did I really ask that? Yup I did jeez.

10-04-2020, 09:14 PM
CANDURE Dental Sticks for Oral... https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01EUZTRU4?

Stay at home protect the NHS. I'm asking for trouble buying that.

11-04-2020, 01:09 AM
And Track & Field 🏃*♂️

Yip good shout.

patch1875
11-04-2020, 06:40 AM

Frogger
Space Invaders
Missile Command
Asteroids
And many more

I’ve still got my original’woody’ Atari and a few cartridges might need to get it down from the loft again.

not sure any of the TVs will have the right connections now!

speedy_gonzales
11-04-2020, 11:58 AM
I’ve still got my original’woody’ Atari and a few cartridges might need to get it down from the loft again.

not sure any of the TVs will have the right connections now!
I found an old "Grandstand" video game console in my parents attic a few years back, I didn't have a TV that had an analogue UHF connection so I fed it through an old VHS player that happened to have a Scart/Peritel connection.
Although it was 35 years old, it still worked and the gameplay was surprisingly satisfying!

EI255
11-04-2020, 12:05 PM
Found a Paperboy hand held arcade game from the 80's. Loved that game in the arcades and on the Commodore 64.

11-04-2020, 01:13 PM
30% off on BoohooMan so I've optimistically ordered some summer gear. Remains to be seen whether I'll just be wearing it around my living room or no.

RC helicopter arrived today so there's a decent way to obliterate time.

Still haven't bought a Nintendo Switch, but it's getting more difficult to resist.

patch1875
11-04-2020, 01:15 PM
30% off on BoohooMan so I've optimistically ordered some summer gear. Remains to be seen whether I'll just be wearing it around my living room or no.

Still haven't bought a Nintendo Switch, but it's getting more difficult to resist.

The switch is great!

Bangkok Hibby
11-04-2020, 03:58 PM
Vacuum cleaners suck.

I got rid of mine. Well it was only gathering dust!

12-04-2020, 06:28 AM

Equally as bad as the fannys standing around in parks having BBQ's IMO. Getting a courier to deliver something to your house or flat for something you don't need, warehouse teams having to pick and process it for minimum wage.

Then secondly why do people feel the need to order "summer clothes" for summer? I don't know what the rest of you's are wearing between September and May but i'm generally wearing trainers, t-shirts, polo's and shirts and believe it or not, there is nothing to stop you wearing those items between June and August aswell.

12-04-2020, 08:30 AM
Equally as bad as the fannys standing around in parks having BBQ's IMO. Getting a courier to deliver something to your house or flat for something you don't need, warehouse teams having to pick and process it for minimum wage.

Then secondly why do people feel the need to order "summer clothes" for summer? I don't know what the rest of you's are wearing between September and May but i'm generally wearing trainers, t-shirts, polo's and shirts and believe it or not, there is nothing to stop you wearing those items between June and August aswell.

Not sure why the wage of the workers is relevant but seeing as you mentioned it those workers will be relieved that their industry hasn’t been affected and they are still able to earn thorough this crisis unlike many others who have lost their source of income.

12-04-2020, 08:42 AM

I feel that that is a bit harsh.

For a start the folk with the bbq were blatantly ignoring all of the lockdown rules. Particularly on social distancing which seems to be rule number one. Somebody ordering clothes is not. They have ordered from one company which is allowed to continue operating under the government's guidelines and the items are delivered by another company which is also permitted to continue it's operations. All above board so to compare the two examples you did is unfair.

Now when this first started people at my work were questioning the wisdom of sending compost or exercise equipment to houses when the important things we handle might be uniforms and ppe for hospitals or stock for pharmacies. However, once people became locked down what is essential effectively changed. If DIY equipment or gardening things or home exercise equipment is what it takes to keep people at home then they play an important part.

Summer clothes might be a stretch to imagine as essential but when a lot of what is talked about is people's mental wellbeing then I personally don't see an issue with people looking forward or even planning for a time when we're past this. And, as I said, these clothing warehouses are legitimately in operation.

12-04-2020, 09:06 AM
Not sure why the wage of the workers is relevant but seeing as you mentioned it those workers will be relieved that their industry hasn’t been affected and they are still able to earn thorough this crisis unlike many others who have lost their source of income.

I'm in that boat. I need the routine and am happy that I've enough work to be getting on with. I see the news about being furloughed and claiming this and that and just feel well off out of it.

It is surreal though, having seen our pay and conditions worsening over the past decade, to now have the CEO tell us every week how important we all are. That said I must love the job because I keep turning up!

12-04-2020, 09:09 AM

It's the king of hoovers, I've never looked so forward to hoovering the house before :faf:

5 minutes to set it up, quiet and lots of power, you would think I had never cleaned my house before with the amount of things it picked up

Now pretty pleased that my old hoover packed in last week and I was forced into getting a new one

**** how my life has changed in 4 weeks and not for the better :faf::faf:

12-04-2020, 09:10 AM
It's the king of hoovers, I've never looked so forward to hoovering the house before :faf:

5 minutes to set it up, quiet and lots of power, you would think I had never cleaned my house before with the amount of things it picked up

Now pretty pleased that my old hoover packed in last week and I was forced into getting a new one

You're not drinking enough mate :agree:

12-04-2020, 09:13 AM
You're not drinking enough mate :agree:

Not had a drink in 5 weeks even though the house is rammed full of the stuff, proof that it's Hibs that make me do it :faf:

When this is all over or when they get relegated it's all getting tanned!!

12-04-2020, 09:39 AM

I paid £250ish for a Dyson, bout 9 months ago, and it’s never been worth it. Battery lasts about 38 seconds. Does my head in.

12-04-2020, 10:18 AM
Not had a drink in 5 weeks even though the house is rammed full of the stuff, proof that it's Hibs that make me do it :faf:

When this is all over or when they get relegated it's all getting tanned!!

Get over to the coronavirus thread, you'll be tanning all your stash in no time.

12-04-2020, 11:20 AM
I paid £250ish for a Dyson, bout 9 months ago, and it’s never been worth it. Battery lasts about 38 seconds. Does my head in.

I got a cordless one a few years back and other than being good for hoovering the stairs and upholstery is a piece of plastic junk. It's been relegated to the caravan as a travel Hoover.

12-04-2020, 11:38 AM

I got a cordless one a few years back and other than being good for hoovering the stairs and upholstery is a piece of plastic junk. It's been relegated to the caravan as a travel Hoover.

We've had our Dyson cordless for just over 3 years and really like it. The original battery would last about 25 mins on normal mode. It gave up about 3-4 months ago and the new one (not made by Dyson) lasts about 30 mins.

12-04-2020, 11:42 AM

My work used to be an approved trade retailer for Dyson so I got a V10 for cost price. Absolute piece of junk, anyone paying £350+ for one needs their head examined. Shark, Vax and Bosch all do better machines with a similar spec at a cheaper price point.

patch1875
12-04-2020, 11:44 AM
We've had our Dyson cordless for just over 3 years and really like it. The original battery would last about 25 mins on normal mode. It gave up about 3-4 months ago and the new one (not made by Dyson) lasts about 30 mins.

Ours is great also sure it’s a V7 and does the whole house with ease, sure I only paid about £120 from the Dyson outlet.

12-04-2020, 11:48 AM
Ours is great also sure it’s a V7 and does the whole house with ease, sure I only paid about £120 from the Dyson outlet.

We’ve got aV6 great piece of kit, only issue we had was when it started pulsing but soon solved that via google advice, it’s so versatile with different fittings that the missus swears by it.

12-04-2020, 12:44 PM

Are you for real? Companies that are operating are doing so regardless and should have distancing measures put in place. But I'm a fanny for staying home and paying for clothes, which I do need by the way (not that I owe you an explanation)?

**** me for needing some shorts right enough.

12-04-2020, 10:03 PM
SecretLab Titan OG chair seeing as I'll be spending more time than normal in my home office.

13-04-2020, 01:29 AM
Found a Paperboy hand held arcade game from the 80's. Loved that game in the arcades and on the Commodore 64.

Great game.

Donkey Kong was my favourite, probably because I was really good at it.

13-04-2020, 04:53 PM

Remember the Spectrum rip-off version called Trashman.

13-04-2020, 07:24 PM
Just bought a Casio keyboard off eBay for £20. When I was made redundant back in 2012 I kept myself sane by learning to play ukulele. Now I'm furloughed, figured it would be a good way to keep my mind occupied.

Also signed up to a free stand-up comedy course online. Will do an open mic night once lockdown is over in order to set a difficult challenge.

13-04-2020, 08:01 PM
Anyone recommend a decent shark hoover?
Had a dyson for about 15 years and it’s really done a great job however it weighs a ton.

I have no idea how much a decent hoover would cost having only every bought a couple of these things in my lifetime 😂

13-04-2020, 10:36 PM
Had a dyson for about 15 years and it’s really done a great job however it weighs a ton.

I have no idea how much a decent hoover would cost having only every bought a couple of these things in my lifetime 😂

https://sharkclean.co.uk/product/shark-lift-away-upright-vacuum-cleaner-nv601uk/?gclid=Cj0KCQjwm9D0BRCMARIsAIfvfIYf4VzdGs8YLC86iPa JkxM79WBrREvg13fllKmJLGue_-z9oHESCAUaAoJXEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Here is the one I got, I don't know much about hoovers either, but used it twice now and does the jobs I need it to do, wouldn't want to fully recommend it without spending a while with it but if you have the cash then I would give it a bash

13-04-2020, 11:17 PM
You know things are bad when the chat turns to what hoover to buy! [emoji2957]

Still it’s one of those things that gets used almost every day so you may as well choose a good one!! [emoji106]

14-04-2020, 06:57 AM
My work used to be an approved trade retailer for Dyson so I got a V10 for cost price. Absolute piece of junk, anyone paying £350+ for one needs their head examined. Shark, Vax and Bosch all do better machines with a similar spec at a cheaper price point.

That's a pretty strong opinion. What makes you say "junk"?

14-04-2020, 07:24 AM

https://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/numatic-henry-hvr160-cylinder-vacuum-cleaner-red-currys-including-free-delivery-3440484

Henry coming in at £99 at the moment. I believe amazon offering the same price. I bought one of these about a decade ago and it has served me well ever since. Since my purchase I understand that due to an EU Regulation they’ve had to power down the motor slightly but I’m sure it’s still fairly powerful. Great piece of kit.

14-04-2020, 07:58 AM
https://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/numatic-henry-hvr160-cylinder-vacuum-cleaner-red-currys-including-free-delivery-3440484

Henry coming in at £99 at the moment. I believe amazon offering the same price. I bought one of these about a decade ago and it has served me well ever since. Since my purchase I understand that due to an EU Regulation they’ve had to power down the motor slightly but I’m sure it’s still fairly powerful. Great piece of kit.

Think £99 in tesco also

14-04-2020, 08:15 AM
I got a Tassimo happy at Christmas was £29 although the pods are not the cheapest coffee some of the flavored ones are nice like Baileys. Maybe worth buying if you fancy some coffee.

14-04-2020, 08:54 AM

Still it’s one of those things that gets used almost every day so you may as well choose a good one!! [emoji106]

Almost every day? Do you live in a lab making electronic wafers or summin?

14-04-2020, 09:29 AM

14-04-2020, 09:52 AM

Can't go wrong with a G-Tech.

14-04-2020, 10:41 AM
Just received a delivery of garden furniture. If I'm likely to spend most of my summer in the home, may as well sit in the garden with a few beers.

Rocky
14-04-2020, 11:45 AM

It's not Shark obviously but I got a Vax Blade 4 a few weeks back and it's absolute night and day compared to my previous Dyson cordless.

14-04-2020, 11:52 AM

I got the powered lift away duo last year and it's been good.

When I first went cordless I thought I'd never go back, but I just didn't find the one I had was strong enough, and having to charge became more of a hassle than just plugging in is.

14-04-2020, 01:36 PM

I have a Dyson hand held cordless thing...it does indeed get used most days for a quick whizz around the kitchen, hall and living room. It’s brilliant for that.

The big corded behemoth makes it out less often to be fair but that’s only because the hand held does it bit to maintain the required standards [emoji2957]

14-04-2020, 02:26 PM
It's not Shark obviously but I got a Vax Blade 4 a few weeks back and it's absolute night and day compared to my previous Dyson cordless.

How is that on hard floors and carpets? I have both at home. I currently have a Vax older model but it has been very good so would consider an upgraded Vax.

Rocky
14-04-2020, 03:10 PM
How is that on hard floors and carpets? I have both at home. I currently have a Vax older model but it has been very good so would consider an upgraded Vax.
It's cracking - can hardly even use it on the Max power setting on my carpets or it practically lifts the carpet itself! Powered brush head can be turned on or off with an electronic button on the handle if you prefer not to use brushes on hard floors. I got it direct from Vax website for £220 and they chuck in a £50 tool set for free that I don't think you get if you buy it elsewhere (and when I looked on Amazon the tool set actually did retail for around £50 as opposed to that price just being made up to make it seem like a bargain). Big fan of the light on the front of it too, it had never crossed my mind that such a thing would be useful. The battery charges separately so you can have a couple on rotation (although they're £80 each so I'm making do with one for now to see how it goes).

14-04-2020, 03:26 PM
Does anyone actually own a “Hoover” branded hoover these days 😉

Rocky
14-04-2020, 03:35 PM
I can never even hear the word Hoover without recalling the South Park line "Buy her a hoover, chicks love hoovers". Obviously wrong on so many levels but still has me in bits every time I think about it. Maybe it's just me...

14-04-2020, 03:54 PM
I can never even hear the word Hoover without recalling the South Park line "Buy her a hoover, chicks love hoovers". Obviously wrong on so many levels but still has me in bits every time I think about it. Maybe it's just me...

14-04-2020, 03:58 PM

That's like when Alan Partridge goes nuts as Tannoy is a brand name for a public address system :na na:

14-04-2020, 04:01 PM
That's like when Alan Partridge goes nuts as Tannoy is a brand name for a public address system :na na:

Yes one of many brands that have become known as the actual name for the product, I have a dyson hoover, others may have a dyson vacuum cleaner 😉

14-04-2020, 05:23 PM
It's cracking - can hardly even use it on the Max power setting on my carpets or it practically lifts the carpet itself! Powered brush head can be turned on or off with an electronic button on the handle if you prefer not to use brushes on hard floors. I got it direct from Vax website for £220 and they chuck in a £50 tool set for free that I don't think you get if you buy it elsewhere (and when I looked on Amazon the tool set actually did retail for around £50 as opposed to that price just being made up to make it seem like a bargain). Big fan of the light on the front of it too, it had never crossed my mind that such a thing would be useful. The battery charges separately so you can have a couple on rotation (although they're £80 each so I'm making do with one for now to see how it goes).

Cheers mate I will let the wife know :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

I will look into it anyway but sounds what i am looking for from a company that have been good.

14-04-2020, 05:35 PM
So everyone has a new Hoover/vacuum cleaner!

Anything else?

lol

pollution
14-04-2020, 05:39 PM

Not me. I am still waiting for my free flights from 1992 !

14-04-2020, 06:00 PM
Bosch cordless strimmer is my new best friend.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-04-2020, 06:07 PM
Mrs just ordered a Vax-U85. £99 from Argos online. Decent reviews so happy with that.

Also just bought a SilverCross pram. I had no idea these things were that expensive, away for a lie doon

14-04-2020, 06:22 PM
Mrs just ordered a Vax-U85. £99 from Argos online. Decent reviews so happy with that.

Also just bought a SilverCross pram. I had no idea these things were that expensive, away for a lie doon

You’ll never fit in

14-04-2020, 08:31 PM
You’ll never fit in

Well...I thought that was funny 👍

MagicSwirlingShip
14-04-2020, 09:22 PM
You’ll never fit in

Like into the pram physically? In with the Dyson crew? Or the Hibs.net cleeky crew :wink::greengrin

14-04-2020, 09:39 PM
Yes one of many brands that have become known as the actual name for the product, I have a dyson hoover, others may have a dyson vacuum cleaner 😉

Topps lemonade I believe was the original draught lemonade available in pubs, hence a lager topps.

14-04-2020, 10:15 PM
I have a Dyson hand held cordless thing...it does indeed get used most days for a quick whizz around the kitchen, hall and living room. It’s brilliant for that.

Vacuum cleaners shouldn't be used for picking up liquids, no matter how bad your domestic hygiene is.:greengrin

14-04-2020, 10:20 PM
Topps lemonade I believe was the original draught lemonade available in pubs, hence a lager topps.

Never heard that one before, every day’s a school day as they say.

15-04-2020, 06:59 AM

I've heard that before (I think on here so may have been you :greengrin) but I think it's an urban myth. Do you know what era we're talking?

SideBurns
15-04-2020, 07:22 AM
I've heard that before (I think on here so may have been you :greengrin) but I think it's an urban myth. Do you know what era we're talking?

I always thought 'tops' meant the pint was 'topped up', and so if the lemonade went in before the lager (usually nearer to the half pint mark) that was a shandy. HutchyHibby does seems to have a fair bit of experience in this field though, so I would be hesitant about doubting him 😁