View Full Version : Isolation purchases

Pages : 1 [2]

15-04-2020, 09:24 AM
I've heard that before (I think on here so may have been you :greengrin) but I think it's an urban myth. Do you know what era we're talking?

I'm not too sure, 60s or 70s maybe.

15-04-2020, 09:38 AM
I'm not too sure, 60s or 70s maybe.

Was definitely referred to as tops/topps in the late 60s.

15-04-2020, 11:43 AM
Have you bought anything you wouldn't have under normal circumstances?

I think I went a bit mad last week.

I'm awaiting delivery of a PS4 with FIFA 20 and Call of Duty.

I've also ordered a JLL treadmill which won't be with me for at least another month, and I've finally got around to replacing my old running shoes which I left in Australia last December.

Mind you, I've been tracking the delivery of the shoes and they've been out for delivery then returned to depot every day since Wednesday.

I have to admit that I'm experiencing a modicum of buyer's regret. I'm sure I have time to cancel the treadmill, and I've got 14 days to return the PS4 if I change my mind.

How are you getting on with COD Dave? I’m ****ing hopeless at it!! Hats off to the young team that can play it haha

15-04-2020, 12:24 PM
I’ve finally bought a Karcher pressure washer.

15-04-2020, 12:26 PM

That's my next purchase, been thinking about it for a while now

15-04-2020, 06:51 PM
Never heard that one before, every day’s a school day as they say.

Me either. Love it.

15-04-2020, 07:19 PM
Tempted with a Weber Kettle BBQ 57cm bad boy.

Trying to find anywhere less than £130.

15-04-2020, 08:28 PM
Mrs just ordered a Vax-U85. £99 from Argos online. Decent reviews so happy with that.

Also just bought a SilverCross pram. I had no idea these things were that expensive, away for a lie doon

You can pick up a decent runabout for a lot less than a pram.

15-04-2020, 09:04 PM
How are you getting on with COD Dave? I’m ****ing hopeless at it!! Hats off to the young team that can play it haha

I'm useless. I've not bothered going on line cos it would be pointless as I can't work out how to beat the zombies 😂

15-04-2020, 09:13 PM
Log cabin for the garden. Should arrive in a week.

15-04-2020, 10:44 PM
Trampoline arrived yesterday. Beginning to regret trimming my hedge from 5m down to 2.5m. Guess I'll have to at least wear underpants when using it.

15-04-2020, 10:48 PM

Ooft, that's a dream.

16-04-2020, 12:08 AM

You not already suffering cabin fever? :greengrin

16-04-2020, 10:51 AM
That's my next purchase, been thinking about it for a while now

Karcher power wash in Lidl this week.

16-04-2020, 10:52 AM
You not already suffering cabin fever? :greengrin

Naw, have a big garden.

16-04-2020, 11:06 AM
I'm useless. I've not bothered going on line cos it would be pointless as I can't work out how to beat the zombies 😂

gegenpressen is the answer!

16-04-2020, 11:14 AM
Thinking of a book maybe oneong enough to get me through an ad break on TV. Maybe Craig Levein:Me and my Medals, mind you there will still be 4 or 5 adverts left.

17-04-2020, 09:29 AM
Tempted with a Weber Kettle BBQ 57cm bad boy.

Trying to find anywhere less than £130.

Bought one of these, it’s arriving Monday. It’s a bit rainy down here this weekend so not too miffed about having to wait.

https://www.weber.com/GB/en/barbecues/charcoal-barbecues/original-kettle-series-/1341504.html?cgid=217#start=1

Didn’t pay £190! Robbers.

17-04-2020, 02:34 PM
Bought one of these, it’s arriving Monday. It’s a bit rainy down here this weekend so not too miffed about having to wait.

https://www.weber.com/GB/en/barbecues/charcoal-barbecues/original-kettle-series-/1341504.html?cgid=217#start=1

Didn’t pay £190! Robbers.

Weber charge crazy money.

18-04-2020, 07:39 AM
Got new smart watch Huawei Gt2. Not bad piece of kit. Also known as the Chinese watch.

patch1875
18-04-2020, 07:47 AM
Just ordered an Ooni pizza oven.

18-04-2020, 08:17 AM

I’ve only got the free online version, warzone. No any zombies on that, still can’t kill anyone though 😂😂

18-04-2020, 09:16 AM

Great purchase that 👍🏼

stuart-farquhar
18-04-2020, 10:55 PM
700 quid on a sound system. For a guy who never watched tv before. Interesting times for all of us.

18-04-2020, 10:59 PM

Those look the business ...[emoji122]

wpj
19-04-2020, 03:16 AM
Granite mortar and pestle, damn heavy!

hibbybob
19-04-2020, 10:50 AM

Can I suggest that you try this method of making dough. It’s really easy and works well on the Ooni.
I’ve got the Ooni 3 but there are now a few updated models. It takes a few attempts to get perfect pizza and it’s fun trying. Best advice is to make sure your dough is at room temperature and your Ooni is hot enough before putting the pizza in. It’s worth investing in a laser thermometer.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=72+Hour+Pizza+Dough+%7C+Baking+Steel&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-gb&client=safari

Edit - sorry can’t work out how to post the link. Just google 72 hour pizza dough - baking steel.

EI255
19-04-2020, 01:57 PM
Karcher power wash in Lidl this week.How much for that mate?

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

19-04-2020, 02:10 PM
How much for that mate?

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

Assuming it’s this one

https://www.lidl.co.uk/en/p/garden-event/kaercher-high-pressure-washer/p31157

Good price for a K4 but does seem to be a version specific to Lidl so not directly comparable to the standard K4’s.

patch1875
19-04-2020, 06:22 PM
Can I suggest that you try this method of making dough. It’s really easy and works well on the Ooni.
I’ve got the Ooni 3 but there are now a few updated models. It takes a few attempts to get perfect pizza and it’s fun trying. Best advice is to make sure your dough is at room temperature and your Ooni is hot enough before putting the pizza in. It’s worth investing in a laser thermometer.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=72+Hour+Pizza+Dough+%7C+Baking+Steel&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-gb&client=safari

Edit - sorry can’t work out how to post the link. Just google 72 hour pizza dough - baking steel.

Thanks! will check that out , I’ve found quite a few sources online with recipes and tips.

22-04-2020, 01:45 PM

Everything has now been jet washed within an inch of its life :greengrin

I’ve got a couple of bike helmets coming now, the bikes we have in the garage have been unused for a while so we’ll be able to go for some different family exercise. We stay on the 75 cycle route so can hopefully build up the stamina to get out towards Caldercruix and Airdrie.

22-04-2020, 07:29 PM
700 quid on a sound system. For a guy who never watched tv before. Interesting times for all of us.

Funnily enough I’ve ordered a new subwoofer for my system: upgraded all speakers to Dali at the start of last year but never got round to replacing the existing Pioneer subwoofer with a Dali one: the Pioneer will now go on eBay :greengrin

Wasn’t an essential purchase but I’ve barely spent a penny on anything other than food for about six weeks now so decided a treat was in order!

22-04-2020, 08:05 PM
I had jump leads delivered yesterday from Amazon. I knew the driver and he was saying hes never been busier.

EI255
22-04-2020, 08:53 PM
Assuming it’s this one

https://www.lidl.co.uk/en/p/garden-event/kaercher-high-pressure-washer/p31157

Good price for a K4 but does seem to be a version specific to Lidl so not directly comparable to the standard K4’s.I actually borrowed one from a family member and did all the work I needed to do with the washer, so I won't need to buy one now [emoji16] (would never consider purchasing one for washing my car. No danger!)

22-04-2020, 09:59 PM
So far I’ve bought a mountain bike, 7 foot ladder, had an outdoor tap fitted and bought a fancy hose.
Next thing is a hoover. Sad times indeed 😂

22-04-2020, 10:02 PM
So far I’ve bought a mountain bike, 7 foot ladder, had an outdoor tap fitted and bought a fancy hose.

Henrys going for about £100 at the moment!

22-04-2020, 10:06 PM

23-04-2020, 11:03 AM
Henrys going for about £100 at the moment!

Had one years ago, they ain’t very practical for hoovering stairs! Got my eye on a shark one[emoji1303]

23-04-2020, 11:25 AM
48 bottles of various lagers at Sainsbury to replenish the beer fridge, got some funny looks off a few folk as not “essentials” but hey ho I can live wiith that.

MagicSwirlingShip
23-04-2020, 03:55 PM
Had one years ago, they ain’t very practical for hoovering stairs! Got my eye on a shark one[emoji1303]

We got this the other week, much cheaper than these Shark fellae's, and better than any Dyson we've had previously...

https://www.argos.co.uk/product/8109817?istCompanyId=a74d8886-5df9-4baa-b776-166b3bf9111c&istFeedId=c290d9a9-b5d6-423c-841d-2a559621874c&istItemId=ixwlilqam&istBid=t&&cmpid=GS001&_$ja=tsid:59157%7cacid:598-923-9094%7ccid:9549408456%7cagid:97028003759%7ctid:pla-884920917270%7ccrid:422748696125%7cnw:g%7crnd:1749 6203885042778625%7cdvc:c%7cadp:%7cmt:%7cloc:904688 8&utm_source=Google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=9549408456&utm_term=&utm_content=shopping&utm_custom1=97028003759&utm_custom2=598-923-9094&gclid=CjwKCAjw-YT1BRAFEiwAd2WRtn4U1KQfD1MYq2YXfPahaldD7cjpENsyRFp iNWlr04DPGYilXwK05RoCfaYQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

23-04-2020, 04:15 PM

I’m needing an outdoor tap. How did you find plumbers are coming out?

David_D
23-04-2020, 07:30 PM
Finally bought myself a smart tv.

23-04-2020, 08:55 PM
48 bottles of various lagers at Sainsbury to replenish the beer fridge, got some funny looks of a few folk as not “essentials” but hey ho I can live wiith that.

i had one comment that a case of beer is not essential. i looked at her trolley and told her that biscuits and trifles aren't either.

23-04-2020, 10:19 PM
I’m needing an outdoor tap. How did you find plumbers are coming out?

Local guy round where we stay was advertising his services. Kept our distance from him.

24-04-2020, 10:25 AM
I've went a bit radge buying home improvements stuff (paints mainly but also a fire pit) and almost bought a summer house yesterday.

Looking for inspiration as i'm just waiting on the perfect irrational purchase

24-04-2020, 01:29 PM
48 bottles of various lagers at Sainsbury to replenish the beer fridge, got some funny looks off a few folk as not “essentials” but hey ho I can live wiith that.

Alcohol is in the Essentials category for Covid shopping.

24-04-2020, 01:49 PM
Talking of which, I got a couple of vouchers/cashback things for Beer 52 so now my fridge is half full of craft ale for much cheapness, so far so good, not drank a bad one yet. Looking at maybe getting a few subscription box offers then cancelling before the first proper box comes through (which will no doubt cost a fortune)

MagicSwirlingShip
24-04-2020, 03:43 PM
2 x 12 packs of Camden Hells on the way, superb lager

24-04-2020, 04:40 PM
Anyone know about garden heaters or wood burners? For a small patio area.

24-04-2020, 04:43 PM
i had one comment that a case of beer is not essential. i looked at her trolley and told her that biscuits and trifles aren't either.

Someone actually passed comment on that?

Great response though! :aok:

24-04-2020, 05:39 PM
Green semi-permanent hair dye. We have weekly works pub quizzes online on zoom and one of my colleagues is a big Rangers fan and we give each other lots of stick. At home for the next few weeks so the hair and beard is going green for a bit :greengrin

Leith's finest
27-04-2020, 12:14 PM
A dartboard.

I’m really keen to get one, any recommendations for a decent starter set? With darts and things?

Red dragon is best pace online to buy anything to do with darts, flights/stems etc for 40p a set. To the extreme of designing your own darts at £££££€€€

27-04-2020, 12:51 PM
Fixed the outside tap in my garden yesterday. Been putting it off for nearly 2 years. Was going to get a plumber until my mates convinced me I was being a woose and just to watch some YouTube videos.

Feel very manly for it.

27-04-2020, 05:17 PM
A device for removing cat hair from furniture, actually very good.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07T2HVT6R/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=

patch1875
27-04-2020, 05:34 PM

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07T2HVT6R/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=

Cheers! Ordered

27-04-2020, 05:41 PM
Cheers! Ordered

Picked up a fair wack of cat hair from couch when i tried it today and defo better than the sticky rollers.

27-04-2020, 10:55 PM
Philips hue white and colour starter kit

Debating on what the cost and benefit is to a whole new back garden

28-04-2020, 06:47 AM
Philips hue white and colour starter kit

Debating on what the cost and benefit is to a whole new back garden

Oh I remember the day I got my hue white and colour starter kit. That was probably almost a grand ago :greengrin Now got basically a disco in my living room and further light strips in each bedroom!

MartinfaePorty
28-04-2020, 11:38 AM

That would be very handy for me, albeit their errant use of apostrophes puts me off a bit - 'sofa's' ffs :greengrin

The Pointer
29-04-2020, 10:51 PM
Bought a box of beers from Windswept in Lossie last week cause I was running out, then yesterday a box containing 24 of Stewart Brewing's finest appeared on my doorstep courtesy of my workmates.

I'm retiring on Friday!

Andy Bee
30-04-2020, 01:02 AM
Oh I remember the day I got my hue white and colour starter kit. That was probably almost a grand ago :greengrin Now got basically a disco in my living room and further light strips in each bedroom!

It's seriously addictive, I'm getting overrun with hubs now, Philips Hue, Smarthings, Hive and Google. "OK Google, night" the TV in the living room turns off, bedroom TV turns on, heating turns off, front, back and garage doors lock, bedroom lamp turns on, living room lights turn off. "OK Google, Hibs win" the whole house goes green, Glory Glory plays on the soundbar and every room flashing green, I'm in England at the time, I love Hue bulbs. :greengrin

30-04-2020, 01:13 AM
A big lot of masonry paint. Repainted two-thirds of the outside harling walls from oatmeal to a cleaner white. It is a 70s bungalow and the repaint isn’t out of keeping with where I live and certainly makes things look fresher. In fairness Mrs Mibbes has been making the hard yards, I am actually still working mostly indoors, but she has been enjoying the fresh air and opportunities to talk to tulips and jackdaws and that.

30-04-2020, 05:16 AM
It's seriously addictive, I'm getting overrun with hubs now, Philips Hue, Smarthings, Hive and Google. "OK Google, night" the TV in the living room turns off, bedroom TV turns on, heating turns off, front, back and garage doors lock, bedroom lamp turns on, living room lights turn off. "OK Google, Hibs win" the whole house goes green, Glory Glory plays on the soundbar and every room flashing green, I'm in England at the time, I love Hue bulbs. :greengrin

That sounds magical

30-04-2020, 09:17 AM
Have I won the saddest purchase prize? was quite excited sorting the cutlery.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/201557634535?chn=ps&var=500758328216&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=710-134428-41853-0&mkcid=2&itemid=500758328216_201557634535&targetid=876080352896&device=c&mktype=pla&googleloc=9046952&campaignid=9437867687&mkgroupid=96613768715&rlsatarget=pla-876080352896&abcId=1139366&merchantid=107374863&gclid=Cj0KCQjw7qn1BRDqARIsAKMbHDYQ6fhj4qLG7W--125F9o47jIFaRtJz_edbTGJM2_tUj-nv1OuSW58aAoJBEALw_wcB

30-04-2020, 11:48 AM

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/201557634535?chn=ps&var=500758328216&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=710-134428-41853-0&mkcid=2&itemid=500758328216_201557634535&targetid=876080352896&device=c&mktype=pla&googleloc=9046952&campaignid=9437867687&mkgroupid=96613768715&rlsatarget=pla-876080352896&abcId=1139366&merchantid=107374863&gclid=Cj0KCQjw7qn1BRDqARIsAKMbHDYQ6fhj4qLG7W--125F9o47jIFaRtJz_edbTGJM2_tUj-nv1OuSW58aAoJBEALw_wcB

Yes!!!

30-04-2020, 11:52 AM

Hard to judge without knowing whether you got the green or black insert.

30-04-2020, 11:53 AM
I was doing the shopping this morning and bought a Caramac!

In fact it was a pack of 3!!!

1, 2, 3 for me ... and none for Mrs Jackie lol

30-04-2020, 11:58 AM
I was doing the shopping this morning and bought a Caramac!

In fact it was a pack of 3!!!

1, 2, 3 for me ... and none for Mrs Jackie lol

Pity they just aren’t the same as they used to be.

30-04-2020, 12:12 PM
Pity they just aren’t the same as they used to be.

All sweets are the same. Pale imitations of their former glory.

I had a Yorkie the other night and it looked and felt small. A quick Google showed it has gone from 70g to 46g over the last few years. Also bought a packet of Starburst and they are totally tasteless now. Opal Fruits may have been full of all kinds of artifical flavourings but they tasted good.

30-04-2020, 12:35 PM
Funnily enough I’ve ordered a new subwoofer for my system: upgraded all speakers to Dali at the start of last year but never got round to replacing the existing Pioneer subwoofer with a Dali one: the Pioneer will now go on eBay :greengrin

Wasn’t an essential purchase but I’ve barely spent a penny on anything other than food for about six weeks now so decided a treat was in order!

Subwoofer has now arrived. I feel sorry for the neighbours...

30-04-2020, 05:21 PM

That is a thing of beauty! And value for money too!

30-04-2020, 05:24 PM
It's my birthday in a couple of weeks and a few people have had deliveries sent directly to me and text to say don't open before my birthday. I'll be 34 ffs.

30-04-2020, 05:31 PM
That is a thing of beauty! And value for money too!

I got the hertz version it has a wee compartment for a wooden spoon

30-04-2020, 05:53 PM
All sweets are the same. Pale imitations of their former glory.

I had a Yorkie the other night and it looked and felt small. A quick Google showed it has gone from 70g to 46g over the last few years. Also bought a packet of Starburst and they are totally tasteless now. Opal Fruits may have been full of all kinds of artifical flavourings but they tasted good.

I hate the shrinkage of confectionery, it offends me deeply.

Why not just stick a few pence on a Toblerone rather than gouge chunks out of it?

Scabby b******.

Good chocolate companies getting hoovered up by the likes of Nestle really bugs me too. I don't know how much the recipe actually changes but in my head I convince myself that it tastes inferior.

Proper, old school, Rowntrees or Cadbury's chocolate and in decent sized portions too please.

30-04-2020, 06:11 PM
Fire bowl for the back garden weeks and months ahead

https://www.castinstyle.co.uk/section.php/327/1/kadai-fire-bowls-pits

30-04-2020, 06:15 PM
Hard to judge without knowing whether you got the green or black insert.I'm thinking about getting the Anne Budge designer version.

A couple of million quid.Bargain. If you keep paying for long enough you might get to own it.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200430/6397f60310ab969a67ef2800547a7edf.jpg

30-04-2020, 06:24 PM
I’m doing an extension to the house. Do I win?

01-05-2020, 08:43 AM
Hard to judge without knowing whether you got the green or black insert.

Well I have let you sweat long enough and want you to get a good night's sleep so............... Black

01-05-2020, 09:06 AM
I’m doing an extension to the house. Do I win?

Not if someone builds a house onto their extension. :wink:

01-05-2020, 10:25 AM
Fire bowl for the back garden weeks and months ahead

https://www.castinstyle.co.uk/section.php/327/1/kadai-fire-bowls-pits

These are great. I have a cheapy one from ASDA. Have had it for a few years. Had a good fire the other night.

01-05-2020, 10:31 AM
These are great. I have a cheapy one from ASDA. Have had it for a few years. Had a good fire the other night.

Did you also get the tripod and swing? They look cool.

Did it look like it could be attached to any circular BBQ or only the Kadi it's made for?

01-05-2020, 10:31 AM
In anticipation of being let out in the not too distant future I have purchased a nice 3 piece continental style fishing rod capable of casting weights up to 200gr. I also got a cool bag for bait, bait elastic, baiting needles and am now seriously thinking about a beach bivvy.

01-05-2020, 01:32 PM
Bought a £200 bike for myself.

01-05-2020, 03:04 PM
A kitten, playmate for the current kitten.
This is not a euphemism

01-05-2020, 05:03 PM
Bought a £200 bike for myself.

What size engine?

01-05-2020, 10:01 PM
A kitten, playmate for the current kitten.
This is not a euphemism

So you’ve not gone all Kyle Walker on us then?

02-05-2020, 08:10 AM
So you’ve not gone all Kyle Walker on us then?

Haha,not quite.

02-05-2020, 09:35 AM

Did it look like it could be attached to any circular BBQ or only the Kadi it's made for?

No. Just the bowl for just now. The tripod and swing does look good. I can see a nice wee curry being kept warm in it.

02-05-2020, 09:40 AM
I bought 2 new pairs of running shoes. Nike Gravity for training and Asics Metaride for racing. When the latter will be used is another question of course.

02-05-2020, 11:59 AM
I bought 2 new pairs of running shoes. Nike Gravity for training and Asics Metaride for racing. When the latter will be used is another question of course.

The metarides get a load of good reviews. Would be interesting to know how you get on with them.

02-05-2020, 12:22 PM
The metarides get a load of good reviews. Would be interesting to know how you get on with them.

I was a swithering about going for the Metaracers but they are preorder only for June and the carbon plate has a shelf life of only about 100 miles. At £180 that's not justifiable. I have been using the Zoom Fly 3 and they gave about 300 miles before there was a real noticeable deterioration.

The Metarides get good reviews. The one criticism seems to be they are quite clumpy but I have used various Gel Nimbus models over the years and it's lighter than those so I don't see it being a huge issue.

04-05-2020, 10:29 AM
I was a swithering about going for the Metaracers but they are preorder only for June and the carbon plate has a shelf life of only about 100 miles. At £180 that's not justifiable. I have been using the Zoom Fly 3 and they gave about 300 miles before there was a real noticeable deterioration.

The Metarides get good reviews. The one criticism seems to be they are quite clumpy but I have used various Gel Nimbus models over the years and it's lighter than those so I don't see it being a huge issue.

My daughter flips between ASICS and Brooks for her trainers. Since she moved coaches last summer she’s been doing a lot more track sessions in trainers rather than spikes, so she uses them a lot more. She’s in Brooks at the moment.

Jay
04-05-2020, 11:34 AM
My daughter flips between ASICS and Brooks for her trainers. Since she moved coaches last summer she’s been doing a lot more track sessions in trainers rather than spikes, so she uses them a lot more. She’s in Brooks at the moment.

I love Brookes, they seem to fit my feet better than others , support my ankles well and last for ages.

04-05-2020, 01:07 PM
Bought a load of running clothes to motivate me in my Conquerer Events virtual challenge (1968 miles over a maximum of 78 weeks)

Also, contemplating purchasing a Pergola roofing kit to add to my decking, but that may (probably) be beyond my skillset albeit, looks simple enough

04-05-2020, 01:17 PM
Bought a load of running clothes to motivate me in my Conquerer Events virtual challenge (1968 miles over a maximum of 78 weeks)

Also, contemplating purchasing a Pergola roofing kit to add to my decking, but that may (probably) be beyond my skillset albeit, looks simple enough

I think running gear has been a popular purchase.

Early on in the lockdown you could spot the new runners with their baggy shorts, replica football tops and fashion trainers. Fast forward a few weeks and I see the same faces only their shorts have got shorter, their T shirts tighter and their trainers pricier. Good on them.

04-05-2020, 01:51 PM
I think running gear has been a popular purchase.

Early on in the lockdown you could spot the new runners with their baggy shorts, replica football tops and fashion trainers. Fast forward a few weeks and I see the same faces only their shorts have got shorter, their T shirts tighter and their trainers pricier. Good on them.

Aye, if there's positives to come from this period in time, hopefully its that people will have been experimenting more in the kitchen eating healthier foods and using what's in the cupboard (less waste) and utilising their daily exercise allowance so that going forward we become a fitter, healthier nation.

I noticed your above post RE running shoes, so i'm on the hunt now. I use New Balance for trails and Nike for normal road running just now, but need to upgrade the latter at the very least

04-05-2020, 01:59 PM
Aye, if there's positives to come from this period in time, hopefully its that people will have been experimenting more in the kitchen eating healthier foods and using what's in the cupboard (less waste) and utilising their daily exercise allowance so that going forward we become a fitter, healthier nation.

I noticed your above post RE running shoes, so i'm on the hunt now. I use New Balance for trails and Nike for normal road running just now, but need to upgrade the latter at the very least

The advice I always give with running shoes is to get a gait analysis done so you know if you have a neutral gait or otherwise. Run4it offer the service in Edinburgh. Obviously that isn't an option at the moment though.

I mentioned above I used the Nike Zoom Fly 3 most recently. At £140+ a pair they aren't cheap but they are based on the Vaporfly which is considered the undisputed best shoe at the moment and costs accordingly. They are sold as being suitable for all gaits due to the level of cushioning from the foam and the correction the carbon plate offers. At the lower end of the price scale the Saucony Guide Iso 2 claims to provide stability and cushioning and can be used by those with a neutral gait through to a severe probation. They will set you back about £60.

04-05-2020, 09:34 PM
I bought a pair of Saucony Ride ISO trainers as I plan to start jogging via the C24K app.

I called a place in York called Up and Running and, although the shop itself is shut, the warehouse is still delivering orders, and they were incredibly helpful over the phone.

I explained that I was basically starting from scratch, that I had prosthetic insoles for pronation and that I just needed decent quality, comfortable shoes which, at my age and ability, didn't have to be top of the range.

He gave me a few options at different prices, but recommended the Saucony because it was reduced from £140 to £50, but said to get a half size bigger than normal, so I ordered a pair.

They're perfect.

05-05-2020, 09:48 AM
The advice I always give with running shoes is to get a gait analysis done so you know if you have a neutral gait or otherwise. Run4it offer the service in Edinburgh. Obviously that isn't an option at the moment though.

I mentioned above I used the Nike Zoom Fly 3 most recently. At £140+ a pair they aren't cheap but they are based on the Vaporfly which is considered the undisputed best shoe at the moment and costs accordingly. They are sold as being suitable for all gaits due to the level of cushioning from the foam and the correction the carbon plate offers. At the lower end of the price scale the Saucony Guide Iso 2 claims to provide stability and cushioning and can be used by those with a neutral gait through to a severe probation. They will set you back about £60.

Cheers PB - i think i'll look in to a more expensive pair over the summer at which point i'd hope to be covering more miles per outing. The Saucony ones look good although having just had a swatch at the Zoom Fly 3's - WOW!

Other than C25K - the running options on this site are quite interesting i find for anyone looking for something t keep them motivated

https://www.theconqueror.events/

05-05-2020, 10:37 AM
I bought a pair of Saucony Ride ISO trainers as I plan to start jogging via the C24K app.

I called a place in York called Up and Running and, although the shop itself is shut, the warehouse is still delivering orders, and they were incredibly helpful over the phone.

I explained that I was basically starting from scratch, that I had prosthetic insoles for pronation and that I just needed decent quality, comfortable shoes which, at my age and ability, didn't have to be top of the range.

He gave me a few options at different prices, but recommended the Saucony because it was reduced from £140 to £50, but said to get a half size bigger than normal, so I ordered a pair.

They're perfect.

Good on you on starting the running, My left knee probably couldn’t take the pounding of running. Thankfully it’s holding up fine to the walking, not a massive distance to some I know but I have walked 6km every morning since lockdown and feel it’s a great routine to start my day. In fact me and the missus now look forward to our walk first thing every morning. Found some of the hills particularly Kaimes Road knackering at first but it’s amazing how walking every day has increased my fitness.

05-05-2020, 11:45 AM
Have got a cheap acoustic guitar arriving tomorrow - I have no musical ability at all and it's always been a regret, so lockdown gives opportunity / excuse to try it.

05-05-2020, 11:55 AM
Have got a cheap acoustic guitar arriving tomorrow - I have no musical ability at all and it's always been a regret, so lockdown gives opportunity / excuse to try it.

Where did you get it? I've always wanted to give it a go.

05-05-2020, 12:00 PM
Where did you get it? I've always wanted to give it a go.

Ended up buying off Amazon - tried looking at various places but so many had no stock or long delivery times. Have also been trying to find a swingball but think that's even more sought after than guitars! Next step now is to find a decent online tutoring app.

05-05-2020, 12:13 PM
I bought 7432 food items today.

Rocky
05-05-2020, 12:40 PM
Ended up buying off Amazon - tried looking at various places but so many had no stock or long delivery times. Have also been trying to find a swingball but think that's even more sought after than guitars! Next step now is to find a decent online tutoring app.
Fender Play is worth a look

05-05-2020, 01:27 PM

Na, it’s just a pit. Had a good fire a few weeks ago, nothing more relaxing than a few beers and staring at a fire.

Bought a Weber charcoal BBQ to slake my fire cooking appetite. Have smoked a pork joint and chicken and cooked “candied pork loin” on it so far.

patch1875
05-05-2020, 03:45 PM
Fender Play is worth a look

That’s what I’m using.

They were offering 3 months free not sure they still are now though.

05-05-2020, 04:54 PM
Justin guitar is free. Fender does charge

05-05-2020, 05:41 PM
I bought 7432 food items today.

Rice Krispies or Cornflakes?

05-05-2020, 05:47 PM
Rice Krispies or Cornflakes?

Spaghetti Numbers?

05-05-2020, 07:57 PM
PlayStation Store had Fifa 20 down to £17 so I've just bought that - not played it in a couple of years

05-05-2020, 09:29 PM
I bought a Vice today to go into my newly built shed.
Got some Racking coming too.

Andy Bee
05-05-2020, 10:03 PM
Bought this little fellow today to add to the collection......23284

06-05-2020, 08:18 PM
Just commited to full backgarden

24m2 decking with raised planter
26m2 artificial grass
About 90m2 of real turf
Some extra slabbing to extend path width
22m 6foot fencing
Retaining, leveling and chipping side of house

Can't wait to see it get going

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

13-05-2020, 12:03 PM
A brand new Orange McClaren 570S delivered to a house off the Drum Brae this morning from an enclosed truck, now that’s a lockdown purchase!

13-05-2020, 02:52 PM
New Dining table and chairs arriving in next few days, to match the new TV unit that arrived yesterday. Moving onto the bedroom furniture next, out with old. It’s amazing that with spending so much time in the house there has been many things that we look at and say how long have we had that, we hate it let’s get rid!

13-05-2020, 03:05 PM
New Dining table and chairs arriving in next few days, to match the new TV unit that arrived yesterday. Moving onto the bedroom furniture next, out with old. It’s amazing that with spending so much time in the house there has been many things that we look at and say how long have we had that, we hate it let’s get rid!

Know exactly what you mean, I've only been in this house a year and half, but already in lockdown I've bought a new vaccum, new TV for my bedroom and a new bed, restained my decking a different colour and put a new doorbell in

I really need to stop now but the garden fence is giving me funny looks!!

13-05-2020, 03:21 PM
Not very exciting but I bought a 'lucky dip' box from Eden Mill.

4 x bottled pre mixes, 2 x canned pre mixes, 1 x can Fentimans tonic and 3 flavoured gin miniatures.

For £12.50 that wasn't bad. The bottled pre mix are £3 each in Sainsburys.

13-05-2020, 05:33 PM
I never thought I'd get excited about getting a new hose for my Dyson. 😱

13-05-2020, 11:41 PM
A brand new Orange McClaren 570S delivered to a house off the Drum Brae this morning from an enclosed truck, now that’s a lockdown purchase!Aye but are they happy?

[emoji849][emoji23]

14-05-2020, 01:08 AM
Aye but are they happy?

[emoji849][emoji23]

Tenuous link but one of the funniest things I have seen in my life was the Australian comedy duo, Roy and H.G. They are essentially parody sports presenters. In the mid or late nineties they had airtime in the UK with a show.

It was set up as an interview show with various guests and features in between. The first time I saw them they had Martin Offiah on as a guest. At the time he was sport gold, one of the best players on the planet in his chosen career.

He gets introduced, the audience claps and he sits down. Roy or H.G. asks him what kind of wheels he drives. Martin Offiah responds that he has a Mercedes, can’t remember the model.

The next ten minutes are one of Roy or H.G. rambling on about the virtues of a Holden V8 ute, and how impressed Martin’s neighbours would be if he got one. Literally no interview, just this soliloquy about the beauty of the Holden V8 ute.

Been trying to find it on the internet for years but never found it.

17-05-2020, 12:06 PM
My washing machine exploded. (I may have put a pair of flip flops in the machine that lead to the glass exploding).

So I’ve bought a new washing machine.

TBF it was playing up a wee bit (randomly cycling full spin for with no end of the spin), so was reluctant to just get a repair. Plus, who knows when I could get it fixed.

19-05-2020, 07:48 PM
Garden starting to take shape....

Hopefully get some greenery down in a few days https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200519/5a7f7c75c45b0ed59d4273abf6b3cb58.jpg

19-05-2020, 10:03 PM
Got a case of wine from portugalvineyards.com First couple of bottles have been great and really good value.

19-05-2020, 11:22 PM
Dress shoes, far too many pairs.

Ach well, I now have an impressive Arsenal...and that's where the ladies look first.

Stairway 2 7
20-05-2020, 07:09 AM
Got a case of wine from portugalvineyards.com First couple of bottles have been great and really good value.

Just looked bottles for 1.90 is rediculous for anything other than vinegar any recommendation

20-05-2020, 08:29 AM
Dress shoes, far too many pairs.

Ach well, I now have an impressive Arsenal...and that's where the ladies look first.

I’ve got a pair of two tone oxfords from Loake that I’ve absorbed into my everyday wear otherwise I’d never get a chance to wear them. Particularly as it’s casual dress where I’m working (back in the days you went into the office). Also got a lovely pair of brown and white two tone oxfords but they’re a bit much for everyday so they’re just gathering dust 😢

20-05-2020, 08:42 AM
Has anyone gone the other way and just stopped buying stuff? I had no cash as waiting for clients to pay me. Now it’s finally coming in but anything i look at i talk myself out of. I do need to get clippers but can’t get a pair for love nor money. Anything else i would have spent cash on such as clothes just feels meh.

20-05-2020, 09:51 AM
Just looked bottles for 1.90 is rediculous for anything other than vinegar any recommendation

So far, have tried this one - https://www.portugalvineyards.com/en/promotions-wines/72-aveleda-alvarinho-white-2018-5601096401303.html as recommended here (https://www.winemag.com/buying-guide/aveleda-2018-alvarinho-vinho-verde/). Only available in 6s.

And this - https://www.portugalvineyards.com/en/staff-pick-wines/609-terra-dalter-touriga-nacional-red-2016-5600370484308.html

Both really good. Also got a 10yo tawny port, some sparkling and a couple of other random reds. Delivery is 14 euro for 12 bottles.

Stairway 2 7
20-05-2020, 10:40 AM
So far, have tried this one - https://www.portugalvineyards.com/en/promotions-wines/72-aveleda-alvarinho-white-2018-5601096401303.html as recommended here (https://www.winemag.com/buying-guide/aveleda-2018-alvarinho-vinho-verde/). Only available in 6s.

And this - https://www.portugalvineyards.com/en/staff-pick-wines/609-terra-dalter-touriga-nacional-red-2016-5600370484308.html

Both really good. Also got a 10yo tawny port, some sparkling and a couple of other random reds. Delivery is 14 euro for 12 bottles.

Thanks for that both wines you've chosen are fantastic value I'll be doing some isolation buying shortly

Rocky
20-05-2020, 10:57 AM

Wow those prices look incredible. May I ask how long delivery took and also do you know if it's 14 euro for each 12 bottles or does the delivery charge scale with quantity?

20-05-2020, 11:45 AM
Wow those prices look incredible. May I ask how long delivery took and also do you know if it's 14 euro for each 12 bottles or does the delivery charge scale with quantity?

About 3 weeks. Their processing is slow just now because of coronavirus measures in their warehouse, so it was a couple of weeks before it shipped then about a week to get here. The delivery charge goes up in steps.

1-3 bottles - 8 euro
4-6 - 10 euro
6-12 - 14 euro
12-24 - 28 euro
24-36 - 39 euro

etc

If you (or anybody) wants to PM me an email address, I can invite you and we both get a 5 euros voucher.

hibeesjoe
20-05-2020, 12:20 PM
About 3 weeks. Their processing is slow just now because of coronavirus measures in their warehouse, so it was a couple of weeks before it shipped then about a week to get here. The delivery charge goes up in steps.

1-3 bottles - 8 euro
4-6 - 10 euro
6-12 - 14 euro
12-24 - 28 euro
24-36 - 39 euro

etc

If you (or anybody) wants to PM me an email address, I can invite you and we both get a 5 euros voucher.Looks really good. I've used naked wines before which is brilliant but always looking for something different

Sent from my MI 8 using Tapatalk

20-05-2020, 07:05 PM
So our new Sproker Spaniel Libby (the Hibby) arrived today.

First dog for the family. My wife has always had dogs, but I have been fighting a rearguard for years.

She’s very cute.

Just_Jimmy
20-05-2020, 07:59 PM

First dog for the family. My wife has always had dogs, but I have been fighting a rearguard for years.

She’s very cute.

JWe've got a cocker. She's amazing. You'll love her mate.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

21-05-2020, 11:29 AM

She’s very cute.

Enjoy mate, dogs are wonderful, caring and loyal family members :)

Andy Bee
21-05-2020, 03:17 PM
Still on the subject of wine Buckfast is now selling for upto £25 a bottle, crazy :bitchy:

21-05-2020, 10:24 PM

She’s very cute.

JExcellent

If I can get wfh for 3 days a week or more I'd seriously consider adding a dog or the family again

22-05-2020, 06:32 AM
Excellent

If I can get wfh for 3 days a week or more I'd seriously consider adding a dog or the family again

That's a tough choice buddy.

22-05-2020, 07:26 AM
That's a tough choice buddy.Hahaahha. Not really [emoji57][emoji23]

23-05-2020, 10:59 PM
Took the plunge recently to get in to the podcast game. Bought myself a mic and some other equipment for it and forked out to get an A-Z plan on setting up

04-06-2020, 02:40 PM
I’ve got a pair of two tone oxfords from Loake that I’ve absorbed into my everyday wear otherwise I’d never get a chance to wear them. Particularly as it’s casual dress where I’m working (back in the days you went into the office). Also got a lovely pair of brown and white two tone oxfords but they’re a bit much for everyday so they’re just gathering dust 😢

That's a shame. Loakes are quite pricey but look great.

Personally, I've gone mid-range, and plenty of them over quality. I lost a lot of weight over the past year and my clothes literally didn't fit me any more so I had to buy a whole new wardrobe. So I asked myself if it was the same old Jean's and Polo tops I was going to get or was I going to start dressing for my age/a bit smarter. I chose the latter but with that came a new world of shoes.
I've got different coloured oxfords, double monks traps and all different types of brogues. A few pairs of chelsea boots too. Goodwin Smith are good value for money. I've a few of them and I'll try and figure out what I like/wear most before considering investing more money.

That's the good thing about this situation..deals everywhere.

-Jonesy-
04-06-2020, 02:54 PM
Took the plunge recently to get in to the podcast game. Bought myself a mic and some other equipment for it and forked out to get an A-Z plan on setting up

What kind of content you planning?

18-07-2020, 06:08 PM

Have you tried it yet?

My BBQ came with an extension ring between the base and lid with a gap that along with a pizza stone is meant to turn it into a pizza oven.

It looked really good. But after 6 mins when the cheese was nicely melted the base was black.

Not quite sure what I done wrong but I've a few theories of what it might be (pre cooked base, too hot, wet mozzarella, stone being directly above the heat source).

Now just waiting for la Favorita to save the day (you'd think I'd burnt it deliberately :wink: )

18-07-2020, 07:06 PM
Have you tried it yet?

My BBQ came with an extension ring between the base and lid with a gap that along with a pizza stone is meant to turn it into a pizza oven.

It looked really good. But after 6 mins when the cheese was nicely melted the base was black.

Not quite sure what I done wrong but I've a few theories of what it might be (pre cooked base, too hot, wet mozzarella, stone being directly above the heat source).

Now just waiting for la Favorita to save the day (you'd think I'd burnt it deliberately :wink: )

Sounds like your stone is just too hot as opposed to the oven itself being hot enough, For example the La Favorita oven heat comes from the side not directly underneath the stone meaning that the stones and the oven dome become equally hot. The base stone retains a massive amount of heat but the upper area is also hot. The pre cooked base won’t help either.

18-07-2020, 07:10 PM
Sounds like your stone is just too hot as opposed to the oven itself being hot enough, For example the La Favorita oven heat comes from the side not directly underneath the stone meaning that the stones and the oven dome become equally hot. The base stone retains a massive amount of heat but the upper area is also hot. The pre cooked base won’t help either.

I'm limited a little to what I can do with the BBQ but thinking next time I'll put all the charcoal as far back as possible and the pizza stone right to the front near the opening.

Hopefully that allows more heat to go up and over the pizza rather than it being concentrated below. :dunno:

18-07-2020, 07:16 PM
I'm limited a little to what I can do with the BBQ but thinking next time I'll put all the charcoal as far back as possible and the pizza stone right to the front near the opening.

Hopefully that allows more heat to go up and over the pizza rather than it being concentrated below. :dunno:

👍

03-12-2020, 06:02 PM
Bean to cup Jura coffee machine.

And a delivery of spuds from the potato-guys (https://www.potato-guys.com/) large (although the smaller ones have probably shoogled to the bottom of the bag), tasty and much better than the supermarket.

03-12-2020, 08:16 PM

And a delivery of spuds from the potato-guys (https://www.potato-guys.com/) large (although the smaller ones have probably shoogled to the bottom of the bag), tasty and much better than the supermarket.

I love my coffee machine, just reading your post has got me tempted to fire it up right now. Enjoy.

03-12-2020, 08:32 PM

Realise it’s not the time of the year now to be doing it (although in saying that I’m still using my Ooni a lot and can’t see me stopping :greengrin) but just seen this post.

I bought an Ooni during lockdown so have been playing around with that for a while and pre cooked bases won’t work at that kind of heat. They’re really just made for a house oven at no more than about 220c.

Making your own dough is a breeze and I’d definitely recommend it next time.

306g of flour (I vary between all 00 flour or 80% strong bread and 20% semolina - I find the bread and semolina mix much easier to stretch out and gives you a more NY style pizza rather than Neopolitan)
8 grams sea salt mixed into the dry flour
Mix 2 grams of IDY, 4 grams of EVOO and 200g of lukewarm water and then add to the flour
Mix dry and wet ingredients to combine
Rest for 15 mins
Kneed for a few mins until it becomes smooth
Split into 2 x 260g and form into dough balls
Rest at room temp for 4 hours or in a fridge for 24. If it goes in the fridge then let the dough warm up before attempting to use it, maybe 2-3 hours.
Stretch out, top and cook

There’s an app called PizzApp that works really well to help you work out the amount of yeast you’ll need if you can’t make it 4 hours before you use it as you’ll need to vary the yeast to stop it over/under proofing.

04-12-2020, 07:31 AM
Realise it’s not the time of the year now to be doing it (although in saying that I’m still using my Ooni a lot and can’t see me stopping :greengrin) but just seen this post.

I bought an Ooni during lockdown so have been playing around with that for a while and pre cooked bases won’t work at that kind of heat. They’re really just made for a house oven at no more than about 220c.

Making your own dough is a breeze and I’d definitely recommend it next time.

306g of flour (I vary between all 00 flour or 80% strong bread and 20% semolina - I find the bread and semolina mix much easier to stretch out and gives you a more NY style pizza rather than Neopolitan)
8 grams sea salt mixed into the dry flour
Mix 2 grams of IDY, 4 grams of EVOO and 200g of lukewarm water and then add to the flour
Mix dry and wet ingredients to combine
Rest for 15 mins
Kneed for a few mins until it becomes smooth
Split into 2 x 260g and form into dough balls
Rest at room temp for 4 hours or in a fridge for 24. If it goes in the fridge then let the dough warm up before attempting to use it, maybe 2-3 hours.
Stretch out, top and cook

There’s an app called PizzApp that works really well to help you work out the amount of yeast you’ll need if you can’t make it 4 hours before you use it as you’ll need to vary the yeast to stop it over/under proofing.

I think we have different ideas of what constitutes "a breeze" in the kitchen. :greengrin

I've tried to do my own dough before and it didn't come out great compared to the pre made ones (when they're popped in the oven) but I'll give that recipe a bash next time BBQ season comes around and see if I can get a decent dough out of it.

Thanks. :aok:

04-12-2020, 08:16 AM
I think we have different ideas of what constitutes "a breeze" in the kitchen. :greengrin

I've tried to do my own dough before and it didn't come out great compared to the pre made ones (when they're popped in the oven) but I'll give that recipe a bash next time BBQ season comes around and see if I can get a decent dough out of it.

It's a long time since I've made dough from scratch by hand, but the dough setting on our breadmaker is a decent shortcut - 45 minutes and it's ready to make into pizza. Haven't tried using semolina in it yet so that might be this weekend's new thing.

04-12-2020, 01:26 PM

A few goes at it and you’ll find it easy - trust me, I’m no chef:greengrin

You’ll be surprised how easy it is. If you stick to precise measurements then you’ll be fine. I had a few disasters when I was first starting out because I used a recipe which used cups as a measurement. When it comes to making dough, whether that’s bread or pizza or something else then you really want to be getting it spot on where as cups as just a bit of educated guesswork really. For info, the recipe is from Robertas pizzeria in NYC. There’s a video of the owner making it on the New York Times YouTube page :aok:

05-12-2020, 04:13 PM
A few goes at it and you’ll find it easy - trust me, I’m no chef:greengrin

You’ll be surprised how easy it is. If you stick to precise measurements then you’ll be fine. I had a few disasters when I was first starting out because I used a recipe which used cups as a measurement. When it comes to making dough, whether that’s bread or pizza or something else then you really want to be getting it spot on where as cups as just a bit of educated guesswork really. For info, the recipe is from Robertas pizzeria in NYC. There’s a video of the owner making it on the New York Times YouTube page :aok:

I'm no chef or keen baker but my Mrs has all different sizes of small metal measuring utensils & they are all sized as cup measurements. Cups I think is an American measure.

patch1875
06-12-2020, 11:44 AM
I made my own dough using Caputo Blue flour turns out great.

Ooni also sell made up dough balls which are much better than anything else I’ve tried from the shops.

06-12-2020, 08:16 PM
I made my own dough using Caputo Blue flour turns out great.

Ooni also sell made up dough balls which are much better than anything else I’ve tried from the shops.

I had been using Caputo blue but I switched over to a mix of Caputo Manitoba and the Caputo semolina for my last dough. Quite liked it for a more New York style pizza.

If you’re into the Caputo flour etc you should try A Di Maria. It’s an online Italian deli and it’s very decent. The pepperoni is incredible.

06-12-2020, 08:19 PM

And a delivery of spuds from the potato-guys (https://www.potato-guys.com/) large (although the smaller ones have probably shoogled to the bottom of the bag), tasty and much better than the supermarket.We looked at the E8 I think

How you finding it?

07-12-2020, 08:44 AM
We looked at the E8 I think

How you finding it?

I ended up with the S8 from hartsofstur.com. Basically for the touch screen instead of buttons. simple things :greengrin
I'm drinking far more than i used to because its too easy. I try to limit to one water tank refill (1.9l) per person. I dont take milk so not really using the frother/steamer much.
Cleaning the main unit is a doddle (tray slides out), although I am finding some coffee grinds piling up at the back of the tray. (they almost disappear when i turn the coffee strength down, but then its like drinking dirty water)
I am considering the milk cooler unit but its not cheap, and I dont think I could be bothered cleaning it :greengrin

It more than makes up for my starbucks habit and having it close by means im drinking twice as much.

I really need to find decent beans now.

It also came with the bluetooth adapter (which I wouldnt have ordered anyway). I dont really see the point in it (along with internet enabled kettles) as you need to be in front of it for the cup anyway!

07-12-2020, 08:49 AM
I bought a bean to cup machine (a Delonghi Magnifica) when I left home at 18 (making it 16 years old now!) to become a student and it's still in use to this day! It's a fabulous machine and I wouldn't be without it. I now have more coffee-making platforms in the house than necessary right enough - since working from home in March, I brought home my filters and funnel with grinder and my Nespresso machine from the office.

My father-in-law and I have been making homebrew beer the past few months and we've just bought a dispenser for kegs - who needs a pub when you can make your own draft beer taste this good :greengrin - you can also load in mini-kegs from commercial producers too, which is fab!

WeAreHibs
13-12-2020, 04:45 AM

I spent months looking at b2c machines with the Jura e8 being one. I decided on the Sage Barista Touch so I can still have presets bit still enjoying the ritual. Have to say, delighted with the purchase.

FifeHibs
30-12-2020, 10:50 AM
Has anyone ever purchased from stadium portraits ?

Our office is shut indefinitely and relocating all activities back to Essex looking to brighten up the home office with some Hibs framed pictures or canvas. Any recommendations much appreciated.

StevesFamau5
01-01-2021, 09:59 PM
So for the sake of it I have just been through my bank statements for the last 9 months.

It turns out that I have absolutely no self control at all.

Since lockdown has begun in March I have spent the following.

£545 on Nike Air Max 90 trainers. 5 pairs.
£320 on obscure football shirts
£280 on fitness clothing and equipment (most of which is still sitting in bags in the spare room.
£1178 on takeaways and fast food.
£631 on beer and beer related stuff.
£492 on Costa coffee

I can't seem to control my urge to spend. Does anyone have any tips on how to get over this? Even as we speak I am bidding on two shirts on ebay and a pair of trainers.

I need help!

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

02-01-2021, 12:18 AM
So for the sake of it I have just been through my bank statements for the last 9 months.

£280 on fitness clothing and equipment (most of which is still sitting in bags in the spare room.
£492 on Costa coffee

I can't seem to control my urge to spend. Does anyone have any tips on how to get over this? Even as we speak I am bidding on two shirts on ebay and a pair of trainers.

I need help!

You don’t say whether what you’re spending is out with your means, but either way have a look at this guide:
https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/family/stop-spending-budgeting-tool/

For me, travel is my biggest discretionary spend - I like to go away very regularly and with that curtailed for most of the past year or so I’ve made a couple of bigger ticket spends (a new subwoofer for my home cinema system; a PS5; and the best part of a new wardrobe - the TK Maxx sales came in handy!) but I’m now in the fortunate position where I can say there is nothing else material that I still have any desire or craving to own.

With that in mind I’m saving as much as I can and finding I get a bigger buzz from that than the odd random eBay purchase. That said, if something unusual came up that I was keen on I wouldn’t deprive myself of it!

02-01-2021, 06:31 AM
Pretty much the only thing I have baught in 2020 were joggers, couple of hibs/t shirts, running trainers and every game on PPV for Hibs.

02-01-2021, 07:22 AM

£492 on Costa coffee

I need help!

We’ve been through this around 2014/15. The MSE link in your first reply is very helpful. Some of the suggestions in it are a bit OTT but you will see the point.

Since we curtailed our (reckless) spending we have had enough money over the five years to take the kids to Disney Orlando twice and a range of other things, all for cash, no credit card debt etc. I actually look back pre 2014 with horror at the recklessness financially at that time.

02-01-2021, 01:36 PM
We’ve been through this around 2014/15. The MSE link in your first reply is very helpful. Some of the suggestions in it are a bit OTT but you will see the point.

Since we curtailed our (reckless) spending we have had enough money over the five years to take the kids to Disney Orlando twice and a range of other things, all for cash, no credit card debt etc. I actually look back pre 2014 with horror at the recklessness financially at that time.

Something to add to my earlier post - if you find you have a lot of stuff accumulated now that can’t be returned and which you have no need for, set up an eBay account and get it flogged. The buzz of having running auctions and seeing them end with £££ being returned as a consequence will hopefully countenance any endorphin loss created by any lack of new spending!

02-01-2021, 02:47 PM

£492 on Costa coffee

I need help!

Haha, you sound like me. Trainers and football tops.

TBF I have cooled it on the shirts (normally buy one when I travel away with Scotland, obvs not happened).

I’m more of an Air Max 1 man. Although I did cop the Infrared 90s, been after them for a while.

On the more productive side I’ve renovated my garage and turned it to my WFH office / studio. I also renovated our kitchen (new tops, tiles and sink).

I have been saving money with working from home (no commute and not eating at the work canteen, including less Costa coffees), and have been stashing cash and paying off credit cards.

02-01-2021, 04:05 PM
When it comes to budgeting I have a fairly simple plan.

After I get paid I transfer all the money for essentials into another account and they all come off by direct debit. The exception is food and fuel which I also transfer to that account but use it as a pay as you go. What's left is mine and I divide that by 4 to give myself a weekly budget. What's left over at the end of the week goes into my savings and gets used for luxuries, nights out etc as and when required. If I overspend one week it comes off the next weeks starting point. If there isn't enough in the savings for something I want then I don't get it. At the moment there isn't a whole lot left after essentials but being aware of it makes it easier to manage and budget accordingly.

02-01-2021, 04:38 PM
When it comes to budgeting I have a fairly simple plan.

After I get paid I transfer all the money for essentials into another account and they all come off by direct debit. The exception is food and fuel which I also transfer to that account but use it as a pay as you go. What's left is mine and I divide that by 4 to give myself a weekly budget. What's left over at the end of the week goes into my savings and gets used for luxuries, nights out etc as and when required. If I overspend one week it comes off the next weeks starting point. If there isn't enough in the savings for something I want then I don't get it. At the moment there isn't a whole lot left after essentials but being aware of it makes it easier to manage and budget accordingly.

Not a dissimilar approach to my own - some time ago I worked out how much my monthly outgoings were in terms of both (i) fixed monthly costs e.g. direct debits / standing orders for utilities, road tax etc and (ii) pro rata monthly costs e.g. 1/12 of my season ticket, 1/12 of the average for the last couple of years to get the car through the MOT. Most of (i) come out of my account on pay day and at the same time I transfer a fixed sum equivalent to (ii) to a savings “slush” account to cover these matters as they come up as the year goes on. I set myself a fixed weekly budget for food / fuel / other incidentals and the rest goes to savings.

I’m fortunate in that my employment has remained pretty solid (so far) in the face of the pandemic - but by doing the above I know exactly how much I need each month to survive and exactly how long the savings will sustain me for in the event that I face future unemployment.

I’m also always trying to maximise income through easy “wins” - for example I have a spare bank account that I regulatory transfer between banks to take advantage of joining bonuses. I should receive £125 from NatWest at some point in late Jan / early Feb in this regard. I also buy absolutely nothing online without checking whether Quidco / TopCashBank commission is payable.

Again, I suspect a lot easier to calculate and plan all of this as a single man living alone with no children than it will be for most.

Just_Jimmy
02-01-2021, 09:47 PM
Not a dissimilar approach to my own - some time ago I worked out how much my monthly outgoings were in terms of both (i) fixed monthly costs e.g. direct debits / standing orders for utilities, road tax etc and (ii) pro rata monthly costs e.g. 1/12 of my season ticket, 1/12 of the average for the last couple of years to get the car through the MOT. Most of (i) come out of my account on pay day and at the same time I transfer a fixed sum equivalent to (ii) to a savings “slush” account to cover these matters as they come up as the year goes on. I set myself a fixed weekly budget for food / fuel / other incidentals and the rest goes to savings.

I’m fortunate in that my employment has remained pretty solid (so far) in the face of the pandemic - but by doing the above I know exactly how much I need each month to survive and exactly how long the savings will sustain me for in the event that I face future unemployment.

I’m also always trying to maximise income through easy “wins” - for example I have a spare bank account that I regulatory transfer between banks to take advantage of joining bonuses. I should receive £125 from NatWest at some point in late Jan / early Feb in this regard. I also buy absolutely nothing online without checking whether Quidco / TopCashBank commission is payable.

Again, I suspect a lot easier to calculate and plan all of this as a single man living alone with no children than it will be for most.does top cash back etc work? if so what kind of returns? what's the catch?

02-01-2021, 11:01 PM
I bought a Sherpa lined Carhartt Bartlett jacket a few months back but only really worn it the last few weeks as temperatures dropped, and it’s the warmest jacket I’ve ever had. Shame there is no football to attend right now as it would be have been perfect spectating wear.

First Carhartt item I’ve owned and that impressed I’ll definitely look at more of their products. Great quality.
Managed to avoid any frivolous purchases during lockdown though.

03-01-2021, 12:19 AM
does top cash back etc work? if so what kind of returns? what's the catch?

Generally always works - the only time I’ve had transactions declined is where I’ve used a money off code or such like. It varies in terms of returns - I’ve had up to £100 or thereabouts for insurance policies / broadband contracts, through to 1%/2% for minor purchases. It all adds up though! See https://www.themoneyrange.co.uk/is-quidco-safe/ for more info.

StevesFamau5
03-01-2021, 08:09 AM
Something to add to my earlier post - if you find you have a lot of stuff accumulated now that can’t be returned and which you have no need for, set up an eBay account and get it flogged. The buzz of having running auctions and seeing them end with £££ being returned as a consequence will hopefully countenance any endorphin loss created by any lack of new spending!Aye that's exactly what I am going to do.

My wife is unfortunately too ill to work a normal job at present so we're going to set up an ebay account for all the stuff we've accumulated over the years.

Hopefully this will help curtail the rush of spending as we'll see a rush from selling.

Cheers for the advice all [emoji16]

03-01-2021, 09:22 AM
Aye that's exactly what I am going to do.

My wife is unfortunately too ill to work a normal job at present so we're going to set up an ebay account for all the stuff we've accumulated over the years.

Hopefully this will help curtail the rush of spending as we'll see a rush from selling.

Cheers for the advice all [emoji16]

Just remember that after deduction of fees you’ll only receive rougly 87% of the final sale price on eBay - so for some items it might be worth considering Facebook Marketplace (in a socially distanced manner of course)

03-01-2021, 08:13 PM
I’ve just bought one of those Noxu design corner lamps for the front room...The colours and patterns from it look amazing, though like anything advertised on facebook I’m slightly apprehensive, fingers crossed.

03-01-2021, 10:24 PM
I bought a Sherpa lined Carhartt Bartlett jacket a few months back but only really worn it the last few weeks as temperatures dropped, and it’s the warmest jacket I’ve ever had. Shame there is no football to attend right now as it would be have been perfect spectating wear.

First Carhartt item I’ve owned and that impressed I’ll definitely look at more of their products. Great quality.
Managed to avoid any frivolous purchases during lockdown though.

It’s fantastic gear.

For farmers in the states it’s an upmarket version of Dickies!

A farmer I know in Fife goes to America once every couple of years, buys his work gear for the next couple of years every time. Confused me slightly when I’d only ever seen it worn by farmers and it starts turning up at Easter road.

Do stone island do boiler suits?

StevesFamau5
04-01-2021, 06:07 PM
Just remember that after deduction of fees you’ll only receive rougly 87% of the final sale price on eBay - so for some items it might be worth considering Facebook Marketplace (in a socially distanced manner of course)Aye good call. Going to catalogue and check the value of all the stuff. Hopefully it'll reclaim some of the money back I've spent.

StevesFamau5
04-01-2021, 06:09 PM
It’s fantastic gear.

For farmers in the states it’s an upmarket version of Dickies!

A farmer I know in Fife goes to America once every couple of years, buys his work gear for the next couple of years every time. Confused me slightly when I’d only ever seen it worn by farmers and it starts turning up at Easter road.

Do stone island do boiler suits?Love Carhartt gear. Bought two pairs of jeans and they are rugged but still comfy.

I have a jersey as well I've owned since I was 14 and a skater. So 20 years later it still fits (barely) and looks like new.

If you want to try it but not spend ridiculous amounts on it. Go to Thrifted or The Fat Buddah on Instagram. Loads of bargains on old school clothes

04-01-2021, 08:02 PM
Led light ring and new surround for the dartboard.

Looks great and I can clearly see all my crap darts now 😂

Franck Le God
04-01-2021, 08:28 PM
I’ve just bought one of those Noxu design corner lamps for the front room...The colours and patterns from it look amazing, though like anything advertised on facebook I’m slightly apprehensive, fingers crossed.

Very tempted by these so would love to hear what you think of it when it arrives.

04-01-2021, 08:47 PM
I’ve just had a great couple of weeks sourcing around 20 albums that have been on my wants list for a decent amount of time...the pleasure of time off at Xmas..

My only concern is that if anything happens to me, the wife will sell them for what I said they cost ! [emoji6]

FifeHibs
12-01-2021, 07:48 PM

Did you receive the light? What is it like?

02-02-2021, 07:45 PM
I realised, that like a lot of people in this last twelve or so months, have been missing element of joy and excitement in life. I've been trying to think of something to bring a childlike joy that doesn't involve eating lots of ice cream and was struck at 3am - woke up and thought "a pair of heely's trainers".

Found out that they make heelys in adult sizes so a pair of those have been ordered to glide about the local streets and on the way to the shops :greengrin

02-02-2021, 08:18 PM
I realised, that like a lot of people in this last twelve or so months, have been missing element of joy and excitement in life. I've been trying to think of something to bring a childlike joy that doesn't involve eating lots of ice cream and was struck at 3am - woke up and thought "a pair of heely's trainers".

Found out that they make heelys in adult sizes so a pair of those have been ordered to glide about the local streets and on the way to the shops :greengrin

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

02-02-2021, 08:34 PM
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

My partner had a similar reaction :greengrin

02-02-2021, 09:23 PM

You sound as childish as me, google Otamatone or check out videos of them on YouTube, buy one and play it for your partner, they will love you even more :greengrin

02-02-2021, 09:38 PM
I’ve just had a great couple of weeks sourcing around 20 albums that have been on my wants list for a decent amount of time...the pleasure of time off at Xmas..

My only concern is that if anything happens to me, the wife will sell them for what I said they cost ! [emoji6]Its when you hit ebay after a few beers that you need to watch :greengrin

02-02-2021, 09:43 PM
I’ve went mental since March.

£1200 PC
One of those Race car style computer chairs
Two MSI curved computer monitors
Elgato HD60 S capture card
Elgato wave 3 microphone

I fancy trying out this streaming business but I keep stopping myself because I don’t know if anyone will watch me or if I’ve even got the personality for it :greengrin

Also bought an Oculus Rift S last week, the VR is unbelievable, would definitely recommend one.

02-02-2021, 10:13 PM
You sound as childish as me, google Otamatone or check out videos of them on YouTube, buy one and play it for your partner, they will love you even more :greengrin

We're not married yet and still I'd fear being divorced if I bought one of those :greengrin

03-02-2021, 01:04 AM

£1200 PC
Elgato wave 3 microphone

I fancy trying out this streaming business but I keep stopping myself because I don’t know if anyone will watch me or if I’ve even got the personality for it :greengrin

Also bought an Oculus Rift S last week, the VR is unbelievable, would definitely recommend one.

What language is this? It's not BASIC enough for me.

03-02-2021, 11:53 AM
What language is this? It's not BASIC enough for me.

A computer
A computer chair
Two tele’s for the computer
A recording thing for the computer
A microphone for the computer

A tele that goes on your head.

Hope this helps :greengrin

03-02-2021, 11:59 AM
Its when you hit ebay after a few beers that you need to watch :greengrin

Lol. I’m a Discogs man. Dangerous :)

03-02-2021, 01:48 PM
Lol. I’m a Discogs man. Dangerous :)I use discogs and have everything catalogued on there but there are some bargains to be had on ebay. Admittedly these are getting fewer but still some now and again.

Bridge hibs
03-02-2021, 04:49 PM
Purchased a tiny wee but ultra powerful Boss Katana amplifier for summer garden practice, that amp will sit beside my other large amps, a new Green (obviously) Gretsch Streamliner electric guitar and a Boss looper pedal. When time allows Im normally engrossed in music theory books, current one being the Circle of Fifths

Next on my compulsive purchasing list are a Ukulele a Banjo a gas cooker and a rolling pin

03-02-2021, 05:31 PM
A computer
A computer chair
Two tele’s for the computer
A recording thing for the computer
A microphone for the computer

A tele that goes on your head.

Hope this helps :greengrin

Much better! 😃

13-02-2021, 05:42 PM
Our kettle gave up the ghost so gotten a digital one off the Aldi website for £20. I know it's daft, but being able to heat the water to a set temperature that's comfortable to drink straight away is a joy.

13-02-2021, 06:52 PM

£1200 PC
Elgato wave 3 microphone

I just treated myself to a PC too but only bought 1 monitor. It is a 27" curved one though. :greengrin

No harm in giving the streaming a go I wouldn't worry about people watching. Just be yourself. Good luck.