View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Dundee Utd
Lack of quality in this hibs team especially with Flo benched.
28-01-2020, 07:24 PM
Wasn't registered in time for the first game, so can't play in the replay.
Ah. Cheers.
28-01-2020, 07:24 PM
We need patience 😳😳😳
28-01-2020, 07:25 PM
Got to get a grip of Shankland getting too much room
28-01-2020, 07:25 PM
Uncle Ton might feel the pressure a wee bit if we cannot score with any of these chances
Jack Ross will be feeling pressure if we lose this.
28-01-2020, 07:26 PM
From who?
WillowbraeHibby
Think he will.
sean04
Need to bring flo on and go 2 up front. Same shape as we finished against Hamilton
I know there are still 50 minutes to go but we cannot lose this game this evening!
Didn't think you did positive though? 😉
After how many games? FFS :faf:
GTMRossaK3
We need patience 😳😳😳
We haven't signed him in time!
Moody Blues
Rightly so.
Should we be thinking about sacking another manager? Thought we all wanted someone to come in, build a team and stay for a few years like McInnes has done at Aberdeen
Place full of bed wetters.
28-01-2020, 07:27 PM
I missed the goal but the performance has been decent since I got in.
United should have scored there, Hibs players moaning to the ref about something but Shankland had crazy space.
They carved us open again there and we’re lucky Stevenson got a block in.
As for Doidge’s miss - if you play one up front you need your one to do better than that. I might try to articulate my true feelings later but that is a polite version.
Penalty’
Yas
The Captain....
28-01-2020, 07:28 PM
Jack Ross will be feeling pressure if we lose this.What's he supposed to do with the ***** thats at the club and the pathetic efforts of the recruitment team (again).
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
H18S NX
Utd having loads of space in our 18 yd box
Finally. Hopefully we pick up a bit now.
Contrary to popular opinion this has been dire.
Yes
OtleyHibs
Yaaasssss!!! 1-1
Superb from Boyle to win that.
Deserved.
Goal!
Thank ****. Kick on please.
28-01-2020, 07:29 PM
Neilson will be under pressure now
Allan sticking it to the United fans who have been giving him dogs abuse hahaha
Chill....goal is coming.
I'll take that, don't think it was a penalty though
CMON
Ronster117
28-01-2020, 07:30 PM
Ya Dancer:flag::flag::flag:
28-01-2020, 07:30 PM
Contrary to popular opinion this has been dire.I've seen a lot more dire than this. I think it's been OK.
28-01-2020, 07:31 PM
I've seen a lot more dire than this. I think it's been OK.
We've actually played well
Come on hibs kick on now
Absolutely gobsmacked clancy gave us a decision for the first time ever
Great cross Stevenson. Another corner.
No ****ing about now. Keep it going.
:faf::faf:
From whom? Which reactionary bedwetters will be applying this pressure?
what a team 😁 scott allan allowing the away fans to greet him 😁
28-01-2020, 07:32 PM
This thread has been an absolute hoot tonight :faf:
Contrary to popular opinion this has been dire.
Not sure what game you are watching.
Neilson will be under pressure now
😁
28-01-2020, 07:33 PM
Doidge wins the ball from both corners but can't get above the ball. Goal kick.
Sounds like some game . Keep it up we will beat them
I'll take that, don't think it was a penalty though
I must have my hibs specs on as i thought it was borderline assault.
That's now almost two and a half hours we've dominated against this team and we're still not ahead.
PompeyHibs
28-01-2020, 07:34 PM
Mon the cabbage
:faf::faf:
From whom? Which reactionary bedwetters will be applying this pressure?
You don't think that failing to beat a side from the division below you over 2 games wouldn't put pressure on the manager? Remember the cup draw thread? Some on here were predicting 3 and 4-0 nil wins for Hibs a Tannadice, easy game etc... Folk saying otherwise got shot down and called a bedwetter...
Clancy blows for HT as Hibs start a counterattack
HT. Whittaker can be bloody proud of that performance.
28-01-2020, 07:35 PM
Created loads in that half tbh. Should be 3 up at least.
Dundee United have Shankland to thank for still being in the cup.
Should be well ahead. Not been great but we should have 2 or 3 at least.
JimboHibs
Place full of bed wetters.
100 %
28-01-2020, 07:36 PM
I must have my hibs specs on as i thought it was borderline assault.
Agree that it was assault but don't think it was in the box, admittedly I'm high in the East, so don't have the best view of that area
You don't think that failing to beat a side from the division below you over 2 games wouldn't put pressure on the manager? Remember the cup draw thread? Some on here were predicting 3 and 4-0 nil wins for Hibs a Tannadice... Folk saying otherwise got shot down and called a bedwetter...
best ignoring the infantile 'bed wetting' comments tbf
I completely understand being annoyed or angry, especially when 1-0 down against a team in the division below us but the hyperbole on here gets worse and worse every season.
Has Newell been involved at all? Heard his name only once on the radio
sean04
28-01-2020, 07:37 PM
Over the 2 games Dundee Utd have created 4 chances and took 3 of them
Agree that it was assault but don't think it was in the box, admittedly I'm high in the East, so don't have the best view of that area
How did you sneak a joint past the security?
Man Down Under
Definite penalty. Even the defence didn't challenge the decision.
Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk
Over the 2 games Dundee Utd have created 4 chances and took 3 of them
Thats the difference though, had we taken even 50% of ours in Dundee we'd be safely through.
28-01-2020, 07:38 PM
should really be 4-2 @ HT :(
JCHibby
Think we have been rank this half. Movement, will to command the ball, energy have all been poor. Whittaker at least doing a bit, bit we are pretty dire
Played really well. I've given him some stick in recent time but he can be happy with the shift he's put in that half.
UTD have another goal in them, so we're gonna need 2 in the 2nd half IMO.
We continue to give space to their players at the edge of the box, a bit too easily and often.
Big 2nd half coming up really, if we go out, season is a sore one and as others said, chasing signings might make no sense in that case.
Has Newell been involved at all? Heard his name only once on the radio
He’s done alright imo. Not involved too much but keeping it ticking over.
Bangkok Hibby
😂😂😂
sean04
Thats the difference though, had we taken even 50% of ours in Dundee we'd be safely through.
We should easily have 3 maybe 4 goals in this half. Composure needed
Shanklands is only a half chance aswell
28-01-2020, 07:39 PM
I have my ways :greengrin:
bringbackbenny
A lot of decent football, a wee bit composure and the game would be in the bag already.
Shankland is too clever by half always looking to drop off for the shorter ball, if we keep him quieter then confident for the 2nd half.
An outstanding 45 minutes in tough conditions.
Sometimes you need your senior players to stand up and to lead and boy did he do that.
28-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Switch to 4-4-2 this half.
Horgan off, Kambo on.
Weird game, we've had 4 great chances and they had none
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
#persevered
I completely understand being annoyed or angry, especially when 1-0 down against a team in the division below us but the hyperbole on here gets worse and worse every season.
This x a million. He's not even through his first window, won half his games, getting more out of the players. "Under pressure" because we concede a goal early in a game where we're playing well is mad panic.
Think we have been rank this half. Movement, will to command the ball, energy have all been poor. Whittaker at least doing a bit, bit we are pretty dire
Opinions eh :greengrin:
H18S NX
We have created enough chances in this half to be 2/3 ahead,but.we really need to tighten up at the back.
28-01-2020, 07:41 PM
Switch to 4-4-2 this half.
Horgan off, Kambo on.
that might be the plan, I was thinking aboot that tae:thumbsup:
the 451 worked alright
28-01-2020, 07:41 PM
Really liking Joe Newell in that position too
Always looks for a positive pass but not afraid to stick his foot in
leith lynx
28-01-2020, 07:42 PM
Sitting in the west lower in line with it, stonewall ER.
28-01-2020, 07:43 PM
I disagree. On the contrary, I think the board will be feeling the pressure because they will know fine well that Ross is financially, severely restrained and can not compete for players that some of our competitors are able to attract.
I'm confident going into the 2nd half, creating the chances.
It’s ****in freezing. Tannoy speakers sound a lot better and apart from shambolic defending while McGregor is on the bench we should be winning. Aiden McGeady in the stand too.
28-01-2020, 07:44 PM
I disagree. On the contrary, I think the board will be feeling the pressure because they will know fine well that Ross is financially, severely restrained and can not compete for players that some of our competitors are able to attract.
Yep. They will also have to deal with a shortfall from a Scottish cup quarter final.
It’s ****in freezing. Tannoy speakers sound a lot better and apart from shambolic defending while McGregor is on the bench we should be winning. Aiden McGeady in the stand too.
You have seen Aiden McGeady is in the stand or have you seen him?
Oh really? That's an interesting one for sure. Can't imagine why he'd be at ER for any other reason.
leith lynx
Sitting in the west lower in line with it, stonewall penalty.
28-01-2020, 07:45 PM
You have seen Aiden McGeady is in the stand or have you seen him?
I’ve seen him in the stand.
28-01-2020, 07:46 PM
A lot of decent football, a wee bit composure and the game would be in the bag already.
Shankland is too clever by half always looking to drop off for the shorter ball, if we keep him quieter then confident for the 2nd half.
He’s a clever player who I really rate but that was a really poor effort when he was in acres of space at that corner.
Even though they’ve got a bad miss each so far I think he looks a few levels up from Doidge.
I don’t think it’s been dire, there have been a few positives, but there are a few matters of great concern. We look like we could lose a goal at any point and we look like we could miss pretty much anything we create, which is a dangerous combination.
They look absolutely terrible at the back and I don’t think we need to be near our best to win. This could easily slip into a nightmare though and they are dangerous going forward.
James has done ok in spells but he still gives me the fear.
28-01-2020, 07:46 PM
Fair enough interesting
28-01-2020, 07:47 PM
Hopefully he was just bored and fancied catching a game. Not what we need at all.
28-01-2020, 07:48 PM
I feel a bit hypocritical after criticising folk whinging about Paul McGinn but Aiden McGeady, ffs.
yerauldda
28-01-2020, 07:49 PM
So true. It’s ridiculous. Teams go a goal down, it happens. They have a fantastic player in Shankland who scored a ridiculous goal yet people are saying Ross is under pressure.
Madness.
McGeady is quality and I'd be delighted if we signed him
Hopefully he was just bored and fancied catching a game. Not what we need at all.
He’s very much what we need. Amongst other things we need.
28-01-2020, 07:50 PM
Sort of enjoyable game in a way despite our laughable defence. We have had several chances, but we lack any clinical finishers it seems, Shankland's goal was excellent, but he won't that much time on the ball in the Championship :rolleyes: - this cup tie is a long way from being over and I think United look decent going forward so we really do need one or two goals to make sure this doesn't end up going down to penalties - "funniest" moment was our defence marking everybody and completely forgetting to mark Shankland who wandered through our box and missed thankfully - comedy defending ... can only get better this half I guess.
28-01-2020, 07:50 PM
This x a million. He's not even through his first window, won half his games, getting more out of the players. "Under pressure" because we concede a goal early in a game where we're playing well is mad panic.
Some of these folk have been claiming Ross was under pressure after about three or four games with us. Best ignored.
28-01-2020, 07:51 PM
Sprightly start to the half.
28-01-2020, 07:51 PM
However, as the window enters its final week, McGeady remains a Sunderland player - albeit, ostracised from the first team and training with the under-23s.
But Parkinson told Sky Sports' EFL Matters Podcast that he expects the forward to move on this week.
He said: "With Aiden, I just wanted to give him and his agent plenty of time to find a move in the January window.
28-01-2020, 07:54 PM
You don't think that failing to beat a side from the division below you over 2 games wouldn't put pressure on the manager? Remember the cup draw thread? Some on here were predicting 3 and 4-0 nil wins for Hibs a Tannadice, easy game etc... Folk saying otherwise got shot down and called a bedwetter...
Anyone predicting we'd scud a high flying Dundee United team away from home needed to give their head a wobble. Going out to effectively a top flight team in waiting over 2 games shouldn't put pressure on Ross. Unless the lunatics really have taken over the asylum at ER
28-01-2020, 07:54 PM
Doidge has changed his boots at half time. Just in case you wanted to know.
28-01-2020, 07:55 PM
Talk of Ross being under pressure is silly, but he’s making the same mistakes that got Heckingbottom the sack.
28-01-2020, 07:57 PM
Doidge looking isolated again.
28-01-2020, 07:58 PM
Doidge looking isolated again.
Need to play 2 up top
28-01-2020, 07:58 PM
Boyle's replacement?
Mmmm!
28-01-2020, 08:01 PM
United back on top?
Horgan getting a lot of space right now.
How the actual **** was that offside?
Ronster117
28-01-2020, 08:02 PM
Boyle's replacement?
IMO ...Boyle not going anywhere this window
28-01-2020, 08:03 PM
IMO ...Boyle not going anywhere this window
Hope not
28-01-2020, 08:03 PM
United back on top?
They have never been on top
28-01-2020, 08:04 PM
2-1
Super football.
Doidge 2-2 Shankland
How the actual **** was that offside?I think he might have been just offside when the ball was played.
OtleyHibs
Ya beauty!!!!!!!!
Outstanding from Newell.
Yes Doidge you beautful man
one day maybe...
Yaaaaaaaas
Well deserved
Ronster117
28-01-2020, 08:05 PM
Get in.......yeeees:flag:
HibbySpurs
Boom 💥 goals been coming
Yay! We’ve signed a new sound system.
Doidge again, top man.
Brilliant move great from Newell.
Doidge 1 shankland 1
Doidge is one big sexy ******* of a man :greengrin
bringbackbenny
Newall is the new Messi
Doidge again. Brilliant!
Great stuff from Newell too.
Tell you what, Newell has been good again.
-Jonesy-
Doidge with a proper composed finish for once??
Get in there :thumbsup:
Sounds like the first leg. We have dominated. Utd lucky to have us still in sight.
28-01-2020, 08:06 PM
Brilliant move great from Newell.
Liking Joe Newell, looks like he's oozing confidence at the moment
Doidge 2-2 Shankland
Prick, I just shat myself at that. Though they'd equalised right away.:greengrin
one day maybe...
Rocky.....
Ross out!
Oops, sorry, didn't notice we're ahead.
Nearly missed the second, timed my trip to the gents perfectly
Doidge with a proper composed finish for once??He meant to mis hit it though [emoji6]
Great from Nessi
Should be 2.2 there immediately
Newell to doidge
Goal
Whodve picked that 2 months ago [emoji23][emoji23]
Prick, I just shat myself at that. Though they'd equalised right away.:greengrin
[emoji23][emoji23]
28-01-2020, 08:07 PM
He meant to mis hit it though [emoji6]
Still ***** though :greengrin
28-01-2020, 08:07 PM
Vegan Nish again. Some boy. In there 👍👍
28-01-2020, 08:08 PM
Me anaw!
Doidge seriously needs to stop scoring so many goals!!!
Get in. Let’s push on Hibs and get another couple!
All Doidge does is score. Sick of it. Can't even cover at RB
Doidge seriously needs to stop scoring so many goals!!!
Aye. Someone will come in with a huge bid 👍
28-01-2020, 08:09 PM
Lets get another one. Insurance goal. Better make that another 3 or 4 hibs. :greengrin
28-01-2020, 08:10 PM
All Doidge does is score. Sick of it. Can't even cover at RB
Or can he? :idea:
Newell having a good game.
Ffs
Two minutes of pressure again lol
**** off.
28-01-2020, 08:11 PM
2-2
oh come on tae ****
****s sake!
Why do we always toil v Utd.
I only remember pumping them once on a Boxing Day game about 15 years ago.
Every other game is tighter than a snare drum.
Midfield are just so slow to close anyone down. Change it or we are out.
Groundhog day.
C'mon Hibs.
****ing mental again.
This isn’t doing my health any good
The Captain....
Ffs any pressure at all on that defence and we concede. They are ****ing woeful.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
This defence needs sorted because it's ******* garbage.
28-01-2020, 08:12 PM
Really? WTF
Massive deflection. Not much keeper could do
This has penalties all over it
Now starting to feel like the Falkirk playoff.
one day maybe...
28-01-2020, 08:13 PM
Deflection ffs.... Kamberi to score the winner
Newell having a good game.Up until the OG...
yerauldda
Again look at these reactions.. it was a pure fluke. Some people need to get a grip. We have dominated this game.
We held the lead for 7 minutes......
This defence needs sorted because it's ******* garbage.
Sorted?? Ditched more like
28-01-2020, 08:14 PM
That's just Rotten luck there
That goal was scored by Adrian Sporle, which sounds like Ivan Sproule but from a parallel dimension.
Zambernardi1875
BTTS in both halves in both games
28-01-2020, 08:15 PM
We’re second best here.
What happened at the goal? I wasn’t paying attention and totally missed it.
28-01-2020, 08:16 PM
Bin the guests please.
28-01-2020, 08:16 PM
3-2 hibs
28-01-2020, 08:17 PM
3-2
Doidge again!
Murray and Flo on. Allan and Horgan off.
Thank Christ for Doidge.
What a header from the big man.
It's that effing Doidge guy again!
That goal was scored by Adrian Sporle, which sounds like Ivan Sproule but from a parallel dimension.
Sounds like Archie MacPearson trying to say Ivan Sproule
Pilrig_Sauzee
He scores when he wants...
OtleyHibs
Doidge again!!! Get in there Hibs
HibbySpurs
C’mon tae **** Hibs finish this mob off now
28-01-2020, 08:18 PM
Up until the OG...Nothing Newell could do
Still been our best player
All Doidge does is score belting strikers goals.
Dazzling
Doidge has been such a find.
Bin the guests please.
Who are the a***holes who come on here as soon as Hibs concede?
Yorkshire HFC
28-01-2020, 08:19 PM
Now starting to feel like the Falkirk playoff.
Is Ross under pressure now? I can't keep up
What a bullet from the big fella.
Best striker in Scotland does it again
3-2 Hibs
Wonder when Doidge will hit 20 this season, I’ll go for March.
EAZY-ME
28-01-2020, 08:20 PM
Dodge is a goal machine
28-01-2020, 08:20 PM
Nothing Newell could do
Still been our best player
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkI agree. Between Newell & Doidge for MoM for me (up until now anyway).
28-01-2020, 08:21 PM
Doidge 3-2 Shankland
I'm getting slightly worried someone will try and sign Doidge before Friday
Awesome! None of this floated ball pish. Whipped in with a bit of pace. Great cross from Newell and great header from Doidge.
James is ****ing awful.
KinchHibee
28-01-2020, 08:22 PM
C'mon Hibs - a wee Boyler goal will sort me out for 85 notes!
Who are the a***holes who come on here as soon as Hibs concede?
Kickbackers.
They've equalised! Ross out!
Damnit we're ahead again...
...though probably not by the time I've finished posting this.
:worried::worried:
steviehibsleith
Hibs TV commentators saying what I am thinking .... In front three times any chance Hibs can defend this time
Fuzzywuzzy
Has mcgeady been celebrating?
3-2 hibs
3-2 leeds
cud be a carlseburg tuesday
28-01-2020, 08:23 PM
3-2 hibs
3-2 leeds
Leeds winning now??
James is ****ing awful.Is he?
Doidge has been such a find.
Not how he was being described at the beginning of the season, both he and Newell were getting pelters.
We are Hibs
we are good
we have Dundee Utd on the run
3-2 in the Scottish Cup has a nice ring to it
28-01-2020, 08:24 PM
Is he?
Yup, he is.
I think there are still more goals in this game tbh!
28-01-2020, 08:25 PM
I think there are still more goals in this game tbh!
Big last 10 now. Cmon.
We held the lead for 7 minutes......
Held longer now.
PompeyHibs
Mon the Hibs🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Need to defend well
Murray has been bright.
28-01-2020, 08:26 PM
Hallberg on for Whitts. What a performance from the GOAT.
Big last 10 now. Cmon.
Indeed. Let’s do this Hibs!
3-2 hibs
3-2 leeds
And West Brom getting beat, Leeds top of table as it stands.
Take a bow Steven Whittaker
Hallberg on for Whitts. What a performance from the GOAT.
Nah the experts were saying he would be no good
28-01-2020, 08:27 PM
That was arguably Whittaker's best performance since he rejoined us.
Take a bow Steven Whittaker
👏👌
Whittaker outstanding tonight.
yerauldda
That was arguably Whittaker's best performance since he rejoined us.
He looks thinner, he was carrying far too much muscle before.
Take a bow Steven Whittaker[emoji106]
Another great performance.
28-01-2020, 08:28 PM
Yup, he is.Was that just a random thought as we were now winning again?
Was waiting for a clanger from him but it didn't materialise....
28-01-2020, 08:28 PM
Murray has been bright.
Some very intelligent runs. Ref is being a prick, does he want overtime?
28-01-2020, 08:29 PM
Was that just a random thought as we were now winning again?
Was waiting for a clanger from him but it didn't materialise....
What? Does the fact we’re winning mean everyone has played well? :confused:
28-01-2020, 08:30 PM
Stevenson our best defender today IMO.
28-01-2020, 08:30 PM
How the **** is that not a booking?
Cos it’s Clancy whose ref
Liam6270
28-01-2020, 08:31 PM
That’s my problem as well, far too ripped haha
28-01-2020, 08:32 PM
Quite incredible
Thought same at Tannadice. Played well there also IMO
10,273 attendance
28-01-2020, 08:33 PM
Leeds winning now??
yep, from 0-2, klich just missed open goal as well
10,273 attendance
about 8500 home fans then.
Dundee Utd will struggle next season without some significant investment. These two games have been far more one sided than the scores have suggested.
28-01-2020, 08:34 PM
yep, from 0-2, klich just missed open goal as well
Knew they were down 2-0, some turnaround!
Doidge or Shankland? Don’t make me laugh.
Christian Doidge owns Lawrence Shankland
HibbySpurs
28-01-2020, 08:35 PM
KA boom the big man!!!!!!
Doidge hat trick :greengrin
OtleyHibs
Game over, hat trick for Doidge