20-12-2019, 08:17 PM
Rocky just boots the ball out the park
Quelle surprise
At least Daz is fit again.
Weegreenman
What an absolute disaster of an evening from a Hibs prospective.
Yup! I don’t see this lot taking anything from Tynie next week either.
I'm probably being rude without intending to be but a tackle like that just hammers home that we have an older clientele on here.
3 or 4 comparitvely younger guys call it as a sending off, which it was, and everyone else piles in saying it was a 'strong challnege'.
It's not 1975, that's a red card.
Hey who you calling older, I liked my 1975 football 😊👌
It's not a red card.
Hang the Hibs player out to dry though. Crack on.
The ref reacts to the hun players. He'd given a throw for **** sake.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Yip have to agree just another hun ref at Easter Road doing what they have done for years, if it was a real red the guy would not have got back up.
20-12-2019, 08:18 PM
Quelle surprise
To be fair its the closest we've come to scoring all night.
Gallows humour its all we've got tonight.
Don’t need Specsavers,just don’t agree it deserved the punishment it got. He got the ball and nailed the player, let him know he was there.
When are you ever allowed to nail the player ?
I'm probably being rude without intending to be but a tackle like that just hammers home that we have an older clientele on here.
3 or 4 comparitvely younger guys call it as a sending off, which it was, and everyone else piles in saying it was a 'strong challnege'.
I’m quite young :greengrin and I don’t think it was a red
Neither did my Grandad, who is pretty old :greengrin
I think Hibs should appeal that red.
So do I.
jackdinners
[QUOTE=Pretty Boy;6021491]I'm probably being rude without intending to be but a tackle like that just hammers home that we have an older clientele on here.
It's not 1975, that's a red card.[/
I’m an older guy and you are 100% right, red all day. He’s a young player who will come good.
I'm sorry, age does't come into. He plays the ball. His foot's not lifted at all. It's not even a foul.
He wins the ball but it’s dangerous play. It’s a red card. The club won’t even appeal because they know it. Porto just not learning.
**** yer gallows you shower of filth
20-12-2019, 08:19 PM
Even if we appeal, they will just say excessive force and throw it out.
It’s a red. Reckless and dangerous.
I watched it back about 10 times now...you’re right no contact at all. We must be able to appeal it. Many on here saying red but what makes it a red...he wins the ball and doesn’t connect with the man. I get that it was rash but if you get the ball and not the man, what is wrong with it (genuinely asking)?
Just a good auld fashioned hard tackle in a man's game, nothing wrong with the tackle or his commitment.
Tomsk
Question... if an opposition player tackled a Hibs player like that would you be happy???
Course not. That still doesn't make it a red.
It's not a red card.
Hang the Hibs player out to dry though. Crack on.
The ref reacts to the hun players. He'd given a throw for **** sake.
Why am I hanging him out to dry... Ryan our himself in that position. He didn’t need to but he did.
Even if we appeal, they will just say excessive force and throw it out.
But if we appeal he might be available for the derby as doubt they’ll have time for a hearing between now and then
St.Kristopher
He didn’t nail the player the ball did.
20-12-2019, 08:20 PM
Quelle surprise
Maxwell has been unfairly scapegoated on here recently, and Rocky's weaknesses are on show tonight. Bogdan or Maxwell would both be preferable replacements.
gerry
Keeper gave goal away ,rangers are a decent side ,wrong shape first half ,Porto got the ball naughty follow through yellow card at most we make it hard to win these games I’m sure the manager will sort things out by the summer and be a much better side next season hands are tied with the players we have
According to BBC stuff getting thrown from the home stands, abd Tom English having a field day.
Yup! I don’t see this lot taking anything from Tynie next week either.
Careful, I got shot down in flames for that!
andyf5
20-12-2019, 08:21 PM
Absolutely, can only assume some have green tinted specs on. No where in Europe is that not a sending off. Happening too often with porteous.
Spanish waiters in bar im in agree with red card so maybe you are right....
Course not. That still doesn't make it a red.
Tell you what I’d be after a red card and do would most on here
Just_Jimmy
Why am I hanging him out to dry... Ryan our himself in that position. He didn’t need to but he did.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNo. He won the ball. He didn't make contact and he's been sent off by a ref who played to the gallery.
Hibs will appeal it. They might not win but that's a different argument.
I'm sorry, age does't come into. He plays the ball. His foot's not lifted at all. It's not even a foul.
it would cost us £1k to have him maybe playing against heartz but he will be out against Livi i would think after losing the appeal
According to BBC stuff getting thrown from the home stands, abd Tom English having a field day.
Someone should throw him from the stands
20-12-2019, 08:22 PM
Not seen the tackle back but impartial Burnley supporting mate said if you could give two red cards for a tackle that would be it.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
No. He won the ball. He didn't make contact and he's been sent off by a ref who played to the gallery.
Hibs will appeal it. They might not win but that's a different argument.
He shouldn’t have even made the tackle in the first place. Poor touch/control.
Just_Jimmy
20-12-2019, 08:23 PM
He shouldn’t have even made the tackle in the first place. Poor touch/control.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThat's another argument again. You're probably right.
He still won the ball and didn't touch the player though.
20-12-2019, 08:23 PM
Red all day long for me Its 2019 not 1972 you simply cant dive in like that. Games gone and now he's got himself suspended. We all know hes prone to be a bit rash, that was a prime example, what was he thinking trying to clear him out 3-0 and in that position on the pitch. Sorry fellas bit midless for me and he needs to learn.
****ing nonsense, get a grip man! [emoji23]
Rumble de Thump
20-12-2019, 08:24 PM
Firm but fair tackle. What punishment did Ian Murray get when he tackled Fraser Fyvie?
Maxwell has been unfairly scapegoated on here recently, and Rocky's weaknesses are on show tonight. Bogdan or Maxwell would both be preferable replacements.
Bogdan is the best keeper at ER imho
You are using my turn of phrase against me but it is quite natural and quite common to go hard into a tackle that you know you’ll win and let the opponent know you are there and tough in the tackle.
gogsy23
Its not a red for me but reckless. We were not at the races and was clear to see when boyle was fouled and no booking we were getting no decisions tonight. Very poor all over tonight and well beaten
Just seen it. The hun boy got up so it was a poor tackle.
Porteous is going to ruin any potential he has by doing stupid things like that - let himself his teammates the club and the supporters down again
But it wasn’t stupid, he did nothing wrong
Not seen the tackle back but impartial Burnley supporting mate said if you could give two red cards for a tackle that would be it.
That’s the Burnley way
Chorley Hibee
20-12-2019, 08:25 PM
Bet they haven't heard the sectarian singing though, and will they comment on the amount of Rangers fans clearly in excess of what they were allocated?
We all know the answer.
That's another argument again. You're probably right.
He still won the ball and didn't touch the player though.
Sorry my post disappeared when I pressed reply.
I think it’s a red and you don’t. We shall have to agree to disagree. We could be here all night!
20-12-2019, 08:26 PM
Well done Doidge. McGregor gets away with so much **** against us. Seriously sick human being.
If you go through the ball and the man ends up in the stands then thats a very good fair tackle in my books, you would be way to young to have ever seen Big John MacNamee or Roy Barry or even John Madsen make a tacle not to mention Sloop, who also liked a hard but fair tackle.
thegaffer12
Doidge throws McGregor into advertising board 😂
Thief
Watched the tackle a few times, certainly full blooded, but I’m just wondering what the reaction on here would be if Ryan didn’t go for that ball?
Was there to be played and he knew he was getting to it first [emoji848]
If you go through the ball and the man ends up in the stands then thats a very good fair tackle in my books, you would be way to young to have ever seen Big John MacNamee or Roy Barry or even John Madsen make a tacle not to mention Sloop, who also liked a hard but fair tackle.Those names have gone way over my head!
He didn’t nail the player the ball did.
The other poster said he nailed the player but that was okay. I asked when are you ever allowed to nail the player? P.S. It is a red you simply can't go in with that force and end the tackle with a kick out whether you make contact or not.
20-12-2019, 08:27 PM
Behave yerself. 1975 or 2019 it’s a fair tackle never a card. You see worse in semi pro or amateur. As someone said earlier the ref was itching to get a hibs man sent off ( not reason for defeat)
I think Hibs should appeal that red.
Hopefully do
Bet they haven't heard the sectarian singing though, and will they comment on the amount of Rangers fans clearly in excess of what they were allocated?
We all know the answer.
The answer would have to be no, sevco dont do sectarian stuff anymore do they.
I’m quite young :greengrin and I don’t think it was a red
Neither did my Grandad, who is pretty old :greengrin
Let Jonnyboy decide
We've taken a hammering fellas its not worth us falling out over. Got our tactics and formation wrong from the start, started the second half a bit brighter but Rangers grabbed the third, game over sending off, a long last half hour.
We'll have better days than this.
Stevenson gets sponsors man of the match
Not even sure I’d have picked him today!
Mind you not sure who else they could have picked
timewilltell
20-12-2019, 08:28 PM
Its not a red for me but reckless. We were not at the races and was clear to see when boyle was fouled and no booking we were getting no decisions tonight. Very poor all over tonight and well beaten
Thats a contradiction. RECKLESS IS RED
Those names have gone way over my head!
An if you know your history...........
i think this is our heaviest home league defeat against the filth since august 2010..0-3... sack the f reakin board
we've regressed, BADLY no wonder the filth signing so ******* easy
Stevenson gets sponsors man of the match
Not even sure I’d have picked him today!
Mind you not sure who else they could have picked
Think I'd have given it to an unused substitute.
20-12-2019, 08:29 PM
i think this is our heaviest home league defeat against the filth since august 2010..0-3... sack the f reakin board
we've regressed, BADLY no wonder the filth signing so ******* easy
Rangers have also improved massively tbf.
Just_Jimmy
20-12-2019, 08:29 PM
Sorry my post disappeared when I pressed reply.
I think it’s a red and you don’t. We shall have to agree to disagree. We could be here all night!
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYup. No issues with that.
I agree that if his touch had been better it's not even a tackle he has to make.
Yup. No issues with that.
I agree that if his touch had been better it's not even a tackle he has to make.
[emoji106]
20-12-2019, 08:30 PM
We've taken a hammering fellas its not worth us falling out over. Got our tactics and formation wrong from the start, started the second half a bit brighter but Rangers grabbed the third, game over sending off, a long last half hour.
I think Marciano had a major say how the game unfolded. That was a shocker.
Rumble de Thump
I know youth players at Hearts and Sevco. They are taught to try to win the ball but ensure they take out the player, as are the senior players. Some players just rake their studs down the back of people's legs and the refs are fine with it.
Barker is a *******
20-12-2019, 08:31 PM
Rangers have also improved massively tbf.
There is no such football club called rangers.
20-12-2019, 08:31 PM
blow the whistle early ffs, it's a hunfest
MikeyS
20-12-2019, 08:32 PM
I'm still on the fence as to red or yellow but I can understand why the ref gave it as Porto does this all too often. He purposely uses excess force in some tackles and until he cuts that out he's going nowhere (which I'm no that fussed about obviously, good player I'd like to see stay blong but needs to learn fast!
20-12-2019, 08:32 PM
Barker is a *******
He always had the ugly look of a hun sure enough.
20-12-2019, 08:33 PM
I know youth players at Hearts and Sevco. They are taught to try to win the ball but ensure they take out the player, as are the senior players. Some players just rake their studs down the back of people's legs and the refs are fine with it.
Who teaches them that? Do the club's share good practices :greengrin
Just DOH !
20-12-2019, 08:34 PM
I'm still on the fence as to red or yellow but I can understand why the ref gave it as Porto does this all too often. He purposely uses excess force in some tackles and until he cuts that out he's going nowhere (which I'm no that fussed about obviously, good player I'd like to see stay blong but needs to learn fast!
How can someone say he uses too much force when he tackles, how is he meant to tackle if he does, hard but fair it's a mans game and contact is part of that man's game.
20-12-2019, 08:35 PM
How can someone say he uses too much force when he tackles, how is he meant to tackle if he does, hard but fair it's a mans game and contact is part of that man's game.
It’s an absolute joke these days, it’s a bloody contact sport, you need some cover for players, but it’s getting ridiculous
20-12-2019, 08:36 PM
blow the whistle early ffs, it's a hunfest
I have lost count the number of times we have gone to Ibrox and won 3-0, so given the vast gulf in finances (and to be fair Gerrard seems to have them well fired up right now), the smelly poo Huns are due a win against us -- I suppose --. Buggers to it, we will get another chance one day, and in the meantime, they still haven't - ever - won a senior trophy!
Must sort our heeds out for the next few games....
wonder if ross jack will learn, his predecessor didn't
Bring on the Jambos!
20-12-2019, 08:37 PM
It’s an absolute joke these days, it’s a bloody contact sport, you need some cover for players, but it’s getting ridiculous
Always helps if you have a hun ref and I think there may be a fair few of them in the GFA
St.Kristopher
The other poster said he nailed the player but that was okay. I asked when are you ever allowed to nail the player? P.S. It is a red you simply can't go in with that force and end the tackle with a kick out whether you make contact or not.
Kick out?
Oh please tell me he will
I left on 80 min. In the house, rewound the match and that is never a red in 100 years. I've now rewound it about 10 times and I can't fathom how anyone says that should be a red. It's not even a foul
To be fair I responded already.
Always helps if you have a hun ref and I think there may be a fair few of them in the GFA
Very true
20-12-2019, 08:38 PM
BT Sport suggesting a scuffle in the tunnel now :rolleyes:
gerry
I think we have a manager who will learn and come summer we will have a very different side to the one tonight especially in defence
We were poor but Marciano gave a mountain to climb when the game had only just kicked off.
Just seen the Porteous red card that's 100% never a sending off.
Oh please tell me he will
i'l tell you by the end of january if he will or not :greengrin
Not surprised given the reaction from the benches at the red card.
20-12-2019, 08:39 PM
That will be another red for us, certainly won’t be they’re fault
Tomsk
20-12-2019, 08:40 PM
Kick out?
Fantasy. It didn't happen. A well-timed perfectly executed tackle.
Rumble de Thump
Jack Ross
Just seen the Porteous red card that's 100% never a sending off.
why are most surprised that he was sent off, the ref coudnie get his cards out quick enough, hun bassa that he is.
Kick out?
How would you describe the end of the tackle ? Just because he did not make full contact does not hide the fact it was a very ill judged tackle.
gogsy23
He won the ball and was reckless in the follow through.
Chorley Hibee
20-12-2019, 08:41 PM
90 minutes too late!
Good, cool headed summary. Ross got set up all wrong from the off, you just cannot play 3 attacking mids and 2 up front against a flying Sevco - especially when you then gift them a goal of a start. I'm more annoyed at losing Porteous for the derby match than this hammering by the Huns. The Yam match is more important.
Jack Ross
?
20-12-2019, 08:42 PM
That will be another red for us, certainly won’t be they’re fault
They have a fair bit of history when it is never their fault and now the bbc trying the best they can to be allowed back into Ipox.
I think we have a manager who will learn and come summer we will have a very different side to the one tonight especially in defence
goodbye to the old guard then
We were poor but Marciano gave a mountain to climb when the game had only just kicked off.
i did say game over after 3 mins :( rocky can be just so carelessly lazy when he likes to take a few wee touches first
Jack Ross
...is the head coach?
NC1875
I left on 80 min. In the house, rewound the match and that is never a red in 100 years. I've now rewound it about 10 times and I can't fathom how anyone says that should be a red. It's not even a foul
Correct. Doesn’t even touch the player
If he doesn’t win the ball, fair enough it’s a red. But he gets 100% of the ball and doesn’t even touch Barisic
Rumble de Thump
20-12-2019, 08:43 PM
We were given 5 yellows and one red. Sevco got one yellow. We weren't allowed to tackle and you won't be allowed to compete in games like that. We see it time and time again against that club.
GonzoReturns
20-12-2019, 08:43 PM
Eh Ross Jack no need I get that from mates who are Hertz
Rumble de Thump
20-12-2019, 08:45 PM
...is the head coach?
Yes. Ross Jack isn't.
20-12-2019, 08:45 PM
Nope. According the laws of the game a reckless challenge results in a yellow card, excessive force results in a red card.
http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-12---fouls-and-misconduct
20-12-2019, 08:46 PM
Can't believe people are defending that "tackle". Was an absolute shocker. Straight leg, out of control, high and studs showing.
Easiest red Nick Walsh will show. Porto a complete idiot.
Wasnt a shocker at all,he won the ball, the rangers boy made a meal of it
We were given 5 yellows and one red. Sevco got one yellow. We weren't allowed to tackle and you won't be allowed to compete in games like that. We see it time and time again against that club.
Once a hun always a hun it never changes.
I’m sick to the back teeth of this, but what the fk can we do? Why don’t clubs speak out about the obvious bias? It’s went on all the years I’ve followed Hibs, but now we have cameras everywhere, no excuse to allow it
20-12-2019, 08:47 PM
Wasnt a shocker at all,he won the ball, the rangers boy made a meal of it
The sevco boy is a ****in wimp
20-12-2019, 08:48 PM
The Rangers have improved, but the rest of the league which includes us has gone backwards in quality big time.
20-12-2019, 08:50 PM
Jack Ross
Sticks the heid on Gerrard?
20-12-2019, 08:50 PM
https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1208131697746890752?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1208131697746890752&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F50811901
Hibs have lost the plot on the pitch, in the dugout and in the stands. Apart from that they’re having a great night. Only three down. So far
Left early as it wasn't good for my blood pressure.
Very disappointed with the over team performance, I'm not going to pick out any one player as I thought generally they were all poor. We seem to be a team scared to press, tackle and generally get stuck in and are without any leaders on the pitch.
We cannot now compete with the old firm as their financial clout is getting too big again, we can be the best of the rest but hald=f this team is just not good enough.
Referee was shocking and the Porteous sending off was a disgrace, it should be appealed asap.
Mallan is atrocious at the second. Track him ffs you lazy useless fud
Our first 4 yellows were for almost identical tackles to the one that Barisic did initially & he was only warned. In today's world Porteous tackle is probably a red but the hysteria from the Rangers' players & bench gave the ref the opportunity to give it.
20-12-2019, 08:51 PM
https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1208131697746890752?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1208131697746890752&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F50811901
Hibs have lost the plot on the pitch, in the dugout and in the stands. Apart from that they’re having a great night. Only three down. So far
Another top journalist! Showing his unbiased reporting
20-12-2019, 08:51 PM
Eh Ross Jack no need I get that from mates who are Hertz
i can't make out what you mean
20-12-2019, 08:52 PM
Mallan is atrocious at the second. Track him ffs you lazy useless fud
It was stevenson who left him
20-12-2019, 08:52 PM
Another top journalist! Showing his unbiased reporting
he used to be quite complimentary towards us in the past....wonder why he's changed
Willis1875
20-12-2019, 08:54 PM
he used to be quite complimentary towards us in the past....wonder why he's changed
Was he not utterly disgusted at Hibs fans behaviour at the final whistle of that magical day in May
20-12-2019, 08:56 PM
Naismith= Yellow
porteous= Red
Stevenson= Yellow
Hallberg= Yellow
Boyle= Yellow
Horgan= Yellow
wow, i can't remember a hibs team picking up so many cards in just one game, i didn't watch it, were we that dirty ? :confused:
20-12-2019, 08:56 PM
The difference in ability was as wide as Sydney Harbour, and plain to see.
While it pains me to say it, Rangers were quicker in both thought and action, and we were comprehensively out played.
Just the way it is, more money buys better players.
On that performance A reasonable person could claim that not one Hibs player, with the possible exception of Boyle, would get a start with either of the Old Firm, and many wouldn’t even make the bench of either of them.
Not a whinge, just a statement of belief.
Rumble de Thump
20-12-2019, 08:57 PM
Our first 4 yellows were for almost identical tackles to the one that Barisic did initially & he was only warned. In today's world Porteous tackle is probably a red but the hysteria from the Rangers' players & bench gave the ref the opportunity to give it.
It's a toxic club from top to bottom. Sevco won and I'm delighted to be a Hibs supporter. And Tom English is a pretendy intellectual bawbag.
Mcpakeisgod
Tbf we always have a moan that we never go attacking enough against old firm. Done it twice the last two games and it’s certainly showed how we’ve been picked apart
Was he not utterly disgusted at Hibs fans behaviour at the final whistle of that magical day in May
i'l need to google sometime after i've got over this result...few days yet :(
20-12-2019, 08:59 PM
Naismith= Yellow
porteous= Red
Stevenson= Yellow
Hallberg= Yellow
Boyle= Yellow
Horgan= Yellow
wow, i can't remember a hibs team picking up so many cards in just one game, i didn't watch it, were we that dirty ? :confused:
Most were for a few daft fouls, not one really bad foul(depends on your own thoughts about the sending off)
20-12-2019, 09:01 PM
Most were for a few daft fouls, not one really bad foul(depends on your own thoughts about the sending off)
it's the only highlight i'l be wanting to see
20-12-2019, 09:02 PM
it's the only highlight i'l be wanting to see
I personally didnt think it was a red but plenty others will
20-12-2019, 09:03 PM
The Rangers have improved, but the rest of the league which includes us has gone backwards in quality big time.
Correct, I haven't paid much attention of football outside of us but they are a decent team now, not what we have come to expect over the last few years
thegaffer12
20-12-2019, 09:04 PM
I haven't heard any more about this supposed incident in the tunnel?
20-12-2019, 09:04 PM
I personally didnt think it was a red but plenty others will
just looked at the foul count
9 v 7 one yellow for a sevco player, they must have been harmless fouls
one day maybe...
20-12-2019, 09:05 PM
While it pains me to say it, Rangers were quicker in both thought and action, and we were comprehensively out played.
On that performance A reasonable person could claim that not one Hibs player, with the possible exception of Boyle, would get a start with either of the Old Firm, and many wouldn’t even make the bench of either of them.
Correct...
Just a gulf in class at the moment between the Old Firm and everyone else. What is Defoe on wages wise a week (£30k or more) and he barely plays.
20-12-2019, 09:07 PM
oh well, a fine coming our way...well done you dumb *****r
20-12-2019, 09:11 PM
You can’t set up like that v Them. And you can’t give them a goal start. Basics. They also work much harder than us.
1875godsgift
20-12-2019, 09:11 PM
:agree: must have been. That's the only way to explain 5 yellows and a red for Hibs players.
20-12-2019, 09:12 PM
My God it gets worse it was clearly thrown by Boyler
20-12-2019, 09:16 PM
The
Agree, it’s the biggest skelping for as long I can remember from another Scottish team (we got away with 0-3). Shot ourselves in the foot with the first goal but we weren’t even 2nd best in the whole game. Rangers looked very good, it pains me to say it but they really could win the title this year. However, the cheating *******s are again paying and playing players they can’t afford and are way out of context of our league. Unfortunately our only hope is they go bust again or we start doing the same. 😡
20-12-2019, 09:17 PM
My God it gets worse it was clearly thrown by Boyler
looks like the photo was taken by a BBC ran gers fan from the away end :wink:
20-12-2019, 09:18 PM
An improvement on buckfast, but still shouldn’t have thrown it
20-12-2019, 09:18 PM
Swansea fan view of the second half.
Why are you scared of Rangers?
Red was beyond harsh. That’s a quiet word with the player in the championship. Is the ref on commission?
Where are your fans?
20-12-2019, 09:20 PM
Swansea fan view of the second half.
Why are you scared of Rangers?
Red was beyond harsh. That’s a quiet word with the player in the championship. Is the ref on commission?
Where are your fans?
You dont need to be a Swansea fan to come to the same conclusion.
20-12-2019, 09:22 PM
Agree, it’s the biggest skelping for as long I can remember from another Scottish team (we got away with 0-3). Shot ourselves in the foot with the first goal but we weren’t even 2nd best in the whole game. Rangers looked very good, it pains me to say it but they really could win the title this year. However, the cheating *******s are again paying and playing players they can’t afford and are way out of context of our league. Unfortunately our only hope is they go bust again or we start doing the same. 😡
If they are at it again, then this would be brilliant!!
20-12-2019, 09:22 PM
Attendance:19,540
and a full house at the Budge Arena the other night v sellick
Attendance:17,297
hhibs
20-12-2019, 09:23 PM
It's a toxic club from top to bottom. Sevco won and I'm delighted to be a Hibs supporter. And Tom English is a pretendy intellectual bawbag.
Agree on all counts.
Tom English is a total tosser.
Ah, well, at least the myth that 2 up front was the panacea for all our ills, has been well & truly debunked!
20-12-2019, 09:25 PM
Ah, well, at least the myth that 2 up front was the panacea for all our ills, has been well & truly debunked!
Indeed
hhibs
He now knows his place.tosser
I generally find that referee's are more inclined to book players for a foul when that team is playing badly. Dont know exactly why, but when we are playing well, refs seem less inclined to book our fouls.
20-12-2019, 09:26 PM
He now knows his place.tosser
awk he's just as bad tbf
:)
20-12-2019, 09:26 PM
Amazed to see BBC possession stats at 50/50.
20-12-2019, 09:27 PM
I generally find that referee's are more inclined to book players for a foul when that team is playing badly. Dont know exactly why, but when we are playing well, refs seem less inclined to book our fouls.
frustration maybe ?
20-12-2019, 09:37 PM
It should be obvious now that the spine is the rebuilding required.
Until that’s done, there’s certain rules to follow.
Hallberg and Slivka got split up after building an understanding together, to accommodate Mallan. That needs correcting.
Mallan is the deputy of Allan
Bogdan is the keeper.
In Scotland, you don’t get away with having no steel in your side.
20-12-2019, 09:40 PM
Forget the referee, the red card etc. That was as bad as I’ve seen all season. Really bad.
Steve88
20-12-2019, 09:42 PM
That was worse than being 2-0 down against livi earlier in the season
20-12-2019, 09:42 PM
Probably the most boring game I've been to in years at Er camped in our half for 90 mins, brutal.
20-12-2019, 09:43 PM
Hallberg and Slivka got split up after building an understanding together, to accommodate Mallan. That needs correcting.
Bogdan is the keeper.
Mallan is unfortunately a luxury we cannot afford in a footballing sense (in this side as it is).
Midfield lacks balance and more importantly industry. This team needs two 'holders' to allow Allan, Boyle and the attack-minded players freedom to play. To ask the likes of Mallan (or) Allan to defend is like asking Billy Bunter to avoid the pic n mix aisle.
20-12-2019, 09:44 PM
It's the old story. The Old Firm and the rest of us.
20-12-2019, 09:47 PM
Mallan is unfortunately a luxury we cannot afford in a footballing sense (in this side as it is).
Midfield lacks balance and more importantly industry. This team needs two 'holders' to allow Allan, Boyle and the attack-minded players freedom to play. To ask the likes of Mallan (or) Allan to defend is like asking Billy Bunter to avoid the pic n mix aisle.
That was the grand plan PH cooked up though. All of his midfielders would be able to defend and attack, even if it’s not their game. No need for players in specialised positions, we’ll just fit square pegs in round holes and hope for the best.
Minimum two defensive midfielders, a left back and a left winger in January please. Vela, James and Middleton first out the door.
20-12-2019, 09:49 PM
Bogdan is the keeper.
This...
Though I actually think Allan has been playing really poor for a while - he has chipped in with a few assists. But not even sure I would start him in Derby..Mallan has been chucked onto the left of midfield and can’t play there. But he has looked good coming on as a sub.
Have I missed something but where is Joe Newell disappeared to ?
Boyle Vela Hallberg Slivka ??? Could have been a more stable midfield tonight.
??? Being we don’t have another left sided player as Middleton has been a poor signing / or someone we haven’t got best from / couldn’t play against parent team.
RossScott1991
20-12-2019, 09:49 PM
Tonight is the perfect example why 4.4.2 is not always the answer. As much as I love seeing a strike partnership, it will beat most teams at ER. However the old firm will always murder us playing that way. Was predictable they were going to murder us down the sides, we don’t have the athleticism either to get across and shift in the diamond.
Tonight due to the midfield being dragged about the shop we had no base or platform to build attacks. 4.2.3.1 against the better sides should be the way. With option of 2nd striker to go on if needed. But against superior sides we need to set up in a way we can remain in the match
Dolce7
20-12-2019, 09:51 PM
It's the old story. The Old Firm and the rest of us.
this is the reality and sadly don’t think it’s ever going to change
20-12-2019, 09:51 PM
A simple question for press conference to Ross..
Did you watch the 6-1 game at Ibrox ?
We basically had a similar awful set up that day.
20-12-2019, 09:54 PM
That was the grand plan PH cooked up though. All of his midfielders would be able to defend and attack, even if it’s not their game. No need for players in specialised positions, we’ll just fit square pegs in round holes and hope for the best.
Minimum two defensive midfielders, a left back and a left winger in January please. Vela, James and Middleton first out the door.
Not sure we need another winger, but agree we need the other positions filled - I think we need another striker too personally.
20-12-2019, 09:54 PM
For those who are asking, Newell returns to training next week.
20-12-2019, 09:58 PM
We need to put this behind us and get back on track. We could do with playing a right tinpot outfit from near the bottom of the league next.
20-12-2019, 09:59 PM
That Rangers side is our kryptonite.
They are extremely fit, quick and work very hard. They can dominate in the final third and ruthlessly exploit that gap between our defence and midfield.
We have no midfielders with any defensive qualities, chose to play 2 with the worst defensive attributes as part of a 4 and were unsurprisingly mauled.
There was a limit to what Ross could have done much differently there. I just hope he was watching closely, getting an idea of what we need to do to sort that midfield. We’ve got enough about us to beat the worst teams in the league but we’re a million miles off giving Rangers and Celtic a game.
20-12-2019, 10:06 PM
That was very poor from Hibs. Only consolation was I'd been out from 12.30 and was slightly pished by kick off time which made the next 90 minutes a bit more bearable.
20-12-2019, 10:16 PM
Short and sweet from the gaffer:
Hibernian head coach Jack Ross: "We were a long way short of where we needed to be. The start of the game makes it very difficult for us, particularly against one of the top two sides in the league.
"It made it a long and difficult evening, but we need to be better in the basic part of the game to produce a better result."
CloudSquall
20-12-2019, 10:21 PM
How much funds do we have available for Ross? Should be open checkbook season..
tonyrougier123
20-12-2019, 10:38 PM
Rangers are a very decent side,painful but true.
I took one look at the lineups and knew what kind of game we were going to have.
Rangers have a good balanced squad pool,pace strength,overlapping full backs hard working strikers.defoe getting on abit but dangerous in the box.
We need to use that formula to build this squad up to that potential again.
Giving us a fighting chance to be competitive in these games again.
If we dont recruit smarter not better even,just a wee bit smarter we will be miles of it with the rangers and celtic.
Tavernier who is garbage at defending played without danger,and in past games he has been a target to bring us some joy but recently the guy has been playing with a cigar and slippers against us.
tonyrougier123
20-12-2019, 10:42 PM
We need to put this behind us and get back on track. We could do with playing a right tinpot outfit from near the bottom of the league next.
😂👍
Peanut Shaz
20-12-2019, 11:12 PM
First time that I can remember leaving a game early,left with 15 minutes to go. Couldn't bear to listen to their end having a party. We were never at the races tonight and I was bored rigid. Pains me to to say I Lost interest after 20 minutes. Men against boys tonight.
21-12-2019, 12:06 AM
First time that I can remember leaving a game early,left with 15 minutes to go. Couldn't bear to listen to their end having a party. We were never at the races tonight and I was bored rigid. Pains me to to say I Lost interest after 20 minutes. Men against boys tonight.
You lasted longer than me. The game was over after 8 minutes.
mcfly
21-12-2019, 08:09 AM
Last night proved the club/owner/manager have to be brave and get rid of the players that offer nothing.
Our defence is constantly under pressure due to a powderpuff midfield,
Mallan, Hallberg are just not good enough.
Whether it’s loan players in jan I don’t know. But we desperately need 2 new strong midfielders.
21-12-2019, 08:18 AM
They are extremely fit, quick and work very hard. They can dominate in the final third and ruthlessly exploit that gap between our defence and midfield.
So noticeable. They were so much more powerful than us and completely bullied us, all over the park. It’s a mental thing as well, we were intimidated by them. It’s been said many times but there is a complete lack of leadership on the park, with senior players letting us down badly. There is no arrogance or belief in us any more and nobody setting any standards.